Page 10

page 10 The Signal October 24, 2018

Editorial

Fall out of harmful stereotypes of women

Everyone loves the fall; it’s the start of cool, crisp weather, exciting holidays, bonfires, yummy pumpkin flavors and sweater season. What is frustrating about the fall, though, is the stigma that comes with it when it comes to women – if a girl likes fall, she is deemed “basic.” Society often chastises women for what they enjoy. Whether it be boy bands, UGGs, romantic comedies or drama novels, women are insulted constantly by both men and other women for liking these products and ideas. If a woman loves boy bands, she is deemed “crazy and obsessive,” if she loves UGGs she is called “basic and unoriginal” and if she loves romantic comedies or drama novels, that must mean that the content she likes lacks substance. The same goes for fall-themed products of activities. If girls want to have a fun time going pumpkin picking, purchase a pumpkin-spiced coffee or own an autumn-scented candle, they are ridiculed. As a whole, our patriarchal society wants to keep putting women down. Society wants women to feel bad, stupid and cheesy for liking what they like, yet it also shoves these products and ideas down their throats, because they market well and keep women feeling bad about themselves. Society in general pits women against each other, such as male attention and perfecting their bodies, and fall products are no different. Society wants women to buy these things, but also congratulates women who do not conform to “stupid girly stereotypes.” This results in a lose-lose situation for women; society markets feminine products and then berates women for buying them. My advice for women is to do what makes yourself happy. If you don’t like traditional fall activities, then don’t take part in them, but don’t make other girls feel bad for liking them. If you’re a woman who likes those aspects of the season, make yourself happy, because at the end of the day, who cares what society thinks? If you like a boy who makes fun of you for interests, then he is not the one, and if your friends make fun of you, then they are not true friends. As girls we have to deal with so much as it is, so if a pumpkin-spiced latte is going to make your morning, then drink that flavorful treat. — Lily Firth News Editor

Editorial Content Unsigned editorial opinions are those of the Editorial Board, which consists of the Editor-in-Chief, the Managing, News, Features, Arts & Entertainment, Opinions, Photo, Sports, Review and Social Media editors and the Business and Production managers, unless otherwise noted. Opinions expressed in signed editorials and letters to the editor are those of the author and not necessarily those of The Signal.

Flickr

Many women are ridiculed for their love of autumn.

Quotes of the Week tcnjsignal.net Email: signal@tcnj.edu Telephone: Production Room (609) 771-2424 Ad Email: signalad@tcnj.edu

Editorial Staff Michelle Lampariello Editor-in-Chief lamparm2@tcnj.edu Elizabeth Zakaim Managing Editor zakaime@tcnj.edu Miguel Gonzalez Lily Firth News Editors firthl1@tcnj.edu gonzam23@tcnj.edu Alexandra Parado Sports Editor paradoa1@tcnj.edu Emmy Liederman Features Editor liedere1@tcnj.edu Nadir Roberts Arts & Entertainment Editor robertn5@tcnj.edu Clare McGreevy Opinions Editor mcgreec2@tcnj.edu Gianna Melillo Nation & World Editor melillg@tcnj.edu Nicole Zamlout Reviews Editor zamloun1@tcnj.edu Meagan McDowell Photo Editor mcdowem4@tcnj.edu Danielle Silvia Production Manager silviad2@tcnj.edu Heather Haase Web Editor haaseh1@tcnj.edu

Mailing Address: The Signal c/o Forcina Hall The College of New Jersey P.O. Box 7718 Ewing, NJ 08628-0718 Alexandra Raskin Alyssa Louis Social Media Editors raskina1@tcnj.edu louisa1@tcnj.edu Katherine Holt Opinions Assistant holtk2@tcnj.edu Madison Pena Features Assistant penam9@tcnj.edu Camille Furst News Assistant furstc1@tcnj.edu Emilie Lounsberry Adviser lounsber@tcnj.edu Derek Falci Business/Ad Manager falcid1@tcnj.edu Brielle Bryan Business/Ad Assistant bryanb2@tcnj.edu

“This campus has done a tremendous amount of new building. There might be some new building in our future — no campus stands still — we’re always looking for opportunities that way… but once we’ve made an investment in an area, we want to make sure we’re keeping it up.” — Kathryn Foster College President

“We all deserve to be here. We all have to work to be who we are. We have to continue to strive in order to improve this institution so it becomes better than when we found it. We’re all capable leaders and determined visionaries. We are TCNJ.” —Brooke Chlebowski Executive president of Student Government

“Today we have the privilege of celebrating you,” Osborn said. “It can be a lot tougher being a queer college student — our community is strong and we are resilient.” — Alina Osborn

Senior biology major

Profile for TCNJ Signal

The Signal: Fall '18 No. 8  

The 10/24/18 issue of The Signal, The College of New Jersey's student newspaper

The Signal: Fall '18 No. 8  

The 10/24/18 issue of The Signal, The College of New Jersey's student newspaper

Advertisement