Page 1


A World of New Flavors just waiting to be discovered The internet is bursting with culinary inspiration, but only if you know where to look. When you want to know what foodies are excited about this season and for insight into current flavor trends, food blogs are a delicious place to start. In May, Saveur Magazine announced the winners of their annual Best Food Blog Awards. Starting with nearly 40,000 nominated entries, they narrowed the field to six finalists in 16 categories. We present 12 groups here with links to the winners and finalists. For the full list, just Google “Saveur Best Food Blogs 2012.” Whether you’re new to food blogs or you’ve been browsing them for years, these sites will open your eyes and your imagination to new items, flavors and culinary possibilities. Now grab your laptop or iPad, find a comfy chair and get inspired!

Blood Orange Pistachio Salad from Licking the Plate melinaphotos.blogspot.com


best cooking blog winner: Lottie & Doof www.lottieanddoof.com

finalists Cookie and Kate cookieandkate.com palate/pallette/plate alainasullivan.blogspot.com Seven Spoons www.sevenspoons.net Big Girls, Small Kitchen www.biggirlssmallkitchen.com The Year in Food theyearinfood.com

best single recipe, sweet or savory finalists Kiran Tarun: ‘Paneer Tikka Pizza’ kirantarun.com Luxirare ‘Crispy Penne’ luxirare.com thebestremedy ‘Zucchinitini’ thebestremedy.co (formerly eatmakeread) Food in Jars ‘Quince in Spiced Chai Syrup’ www.foodinjars.com Lucullian Delights ‘Polenta Tart with Lime’ www.luculliandelights.com

winner: Joy the Baker

‘Double-Battered Apple Doughnuts’


best baking and desserts blog winner: Butter Me Up Brooklyn www.buttermeupbrooklyn.com

finalists Chasing Delicious www.chasingdelicious.com Joe Pastry www.joepastry.com Willow Bird Baking www.willowbirdbaking.com Sprinkle Bakes www.sprinklebakes.com Poires au Chocolat www.poiresauchocolat.net

best food photography winner: Gastrofotonomia

www.gastrofotonomia.com

finalists La Buena Vida nicolefranzen.blogspot.com Pratos e Travessas pratos-e-travessas.blogspot.com Not Without Salt notwithoutsalt.com Seven Spoons www.sevenspoons.net Sunday Suppers sunday-suppers.com


best wine or beer blog winner: Pete Drinks www.petedrinks.com

finalists Wine Diarist winediarist.com Dr. Vino www.drvino.com Good Wine Under $20 www.goodwineunder20.blogspot.com Vinography www.vinography.com Cruisin’ for a Brewsin’ alesharpton.blogspot.com

best cocktail blog winner: This Girl Walks Into a Bar www.thisgirlwalksintoabar.blogspot.com

finalists There Will Be Bourbon therewillbebourbon.net 12 Bottle Bar 12bottlebar.com The Five o’Clock Cocktail Blog fiveoclockcocktails.com Alcademics www.alcademics.com Jeffrey Morgenthaler www.jeffreymorgenthaler.com


best restaurant / dining coverage winner: Tiny Urban Kitchen www.tinyurbankitchen.com

finalists Snap Food food.ericisaac.com Kevin Eats www.kevineats.com The Ulterior Epicure ulteriorepicure.com Judging Your Breakfast judgingyourbreakfast.com Paria Patisseries www.parispatisseries.com

best single food video winner: Kitchen Vignettes finalists Rick Mereki: Eat vimeo.com/27243869 Leaf: Avocado, Shrimp & Endive Salad vimeo.com/26140401 Tiger in a Jar: Mulled Apple Cider vimeo.com/32388877 The Kitchy Kitchen: S’Meaches (S’mores & Peaches) vimeo.com/28647609 The Perennial Plate: Mississippi Hand Grabbing vimeo.com/24670278

Baba Au Rhum kitchenvignettes.blogspot.com


best special diets blog winner: nom nom paleo nomnompaleo.com

finalists Roost www.roostblog.com Pure www.purevege.com My Darling Lemon Thyme www.mydarlinglemonthyme.com Tartelette www.tarteletteblog.com Sodium Girl www.sodiumgirl.com

best group blog winner: Honest Cooking honestcooking.com

finalists Punk Domestics www.punkdomestics.com Culinate www.culinate.com Nona Brooklyn nonabrooklyn.com Muy Bueno www.muybuenocookbook.com Acqtaste acqtaste.com


best regional cuisine blog winner: She Simmers Thai Home Cooking www.shesimmers.com

finalists Hungry Sofia (Latin) hungrysoďŹ a.com Muy Bueno Cookbook (Mexican) www.muybuenocookbook.com Taste of Beirut (Lebanese) www.tasteofbeirut.com Jun-Blog (Filipino) blog.junbelen.com Farmette (Irish) marriedanirishfarmer.com

best celebrity food blog winner: David Lebovitz finalists Aida Mollenkamp www.aidamollenkamp.com Gwyneth Paltrow www.goop.com Ree Drummond: The Pioneer Woman thepioneerwoman.com Anthony Bourdain blog.travelchannel.com/ anthony-bourdain Dorie Greenspan doriegreenspan.com

www.davidlebovitz.com


Best Food Blogs 2012  

compiled list of Saveur Magazine's annual awards

Advertisement
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you