The Summit Magazine Spring 2022

Page 36

Hope Squad members are Aniya Woodard ’22, Lulu Murphy ’22, Oscar Loehrer ’23, Owen Kohlhepp ’24, Wes Brokamp ’24, Larkin Woodward ’23, Alaina Fisher ’23, Jerome Goodloe ’23, Lavina Grzymajlo ’23, Ana Leyendecker ’23, Lily Martin ’24, Cate Pilon ’22, Patrick McHugh ’23, Lauren Foley ’22, Leo Santamarina ’22, Nicky Luttmer ’22, Teddy Sumnar ’22, Rimel Kamran ’23, Liam Lakhia ’23, Owen McEachern ’23 and Shannon Dennemann ’23. Not pictured are members Savannah Brizendine ’22 and Mia Cavallo ’24. Advisors are Dr. Law and Mr. Fee.

Fighting the Stigma of Mental Health Hope Squad marks four years at The Summit By Tracy Law, PhD ’85 Describing Hope Squad, Summit’s peerto-peer support group, Cate Pilon ’22 summarizes the group’s purpose with directness and clarity: “Mental health is constantly overlooked because it’s not easy to see, like a broken bone. But 36

Spring Magazine 2022

physical and mental health are both important. Hope Squad members are outlets for students in need.” It was 2018, years prior to the mental health crisis blamed on COVID-19, that Upper School counselor Mike Fee brought the Hope Squad program to The Summit.