Page 1

South Valley Review

VOL. 1, NO. 7

June 16, 2017

Better at knowing what matters to you.

YMCA Summer Food Kick Off Celebration Special Assignment Brigitte Jones

Page # 3 District 2 June Address

Page # 7 CDFA Fashion Awards

Page # 11 Our Corner of the Valley

When school ends and summer begins, children are at risk of going hungry as they lose access to federal free and reducedprice lunch programs. Alarmingly, • 1 in 5 children in Silicon Valley are at risk of going to bed hungry. • Out of the 84,691 children eligible for the federal free or reducedprice meal program in Santa Clara County in

Continued on Page 4

SJ Giants Book Reading

Page # 15 Phillipino Wisdom to Live By

Children waiting to get their books signed.

Y1Z

SVR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95119 95123 95124 95125 95032 95008 *Coming Soon* 95037 + 95051


When... Where 4th of July at The Berkeley Marina

SVR South Valley Review 2059 Camden Avenue Suite 219 San Jose, CA, 95124 (408) 898 - 7534 Minority Owned Business President: Richard Pugh Richard@southvalleyreview.com Publisher: Brigitte Jones Brigitte@southvalleyreview.com Executive Editor: Sonya Ruffin Editor@southvalleyreview.com Operations/Accounting: Dorothy Pugh Accounting@southvalleyreview.com Graphic Design Director: Amanda Faris Graphics@southvalleyreview.com Assistant to Publisher: Kal-el R. Pugh Editor at Large: Pearl Baeni

SVR welcomes letters to the Editor Please limit content to 200 words or less. Submissions are subject to scrutiny for content and grammar but all effort will be made to retain intended meaning of such letters. Anonymous letters will not be printed. Articles so published reflect the views of the authors - not necessarily those of South Valley Review. All submissions become the property of B & R Media Group, Inc. and cannot be acknowledged.

Dragon Boat Rides at Fouth of July USAF Band of the Golden West – Mobility

BandBerkeley, CA – The Berkeley Marina hosts one of the best 4th of July parties from noon until 10PM. There are all kinds of free family fun in an alcohol-free environment culminating with fantastic fireworks.  Adventure Playground, where kids ride a zipline or use hammers, nails, saws, and paint with parental supervision is free and open until 8PM. Located right near a protected beach, it is great for a splash in the sun or building sand castles.  Looking Glass Photo sponsors the free photo booth where red, white and blue hats and boas are waiting for you to adorn yourself. They will also teach you how to take the very best photos of the fireworks that evening.  Berkeley Canoe Racing Club gives free Dragon Boat rides 125PM, although you might just find that you have to do a bit of the rowing.  Or bring a kite and let it fly over the northern area of the marina in Cesar Chavez Kite Park.

Live entertainment on several stages delights kids and adults as well.  Dance near the main stage to the Latin sounds of Bautista; New Orleans’ jazz with St. Gabriel’s Celestial Brass Band; the funky soul of the Funkanauts; groove on Lee Waterman & Jazz Caliente; and rock out with the US Air Force Band of the Golden West - Mobility.  In the evening, A Son of Liberty recites the Declaration of Independence to remind us of why we are celebrating on this very important day. Tucked into the southeast corner of the park is an AfroCuban drumming circle whose beats travel out over the water delighting the windsurfers.  And the food… all kinds of faire food stalls and gourmet food trucks… key lime calamari to hand-dipped corn dogs, BBQ oysters to organic ice cream, cobblers to kebabs… something for every palate.  While you’re enjoying the tastes of

Y2Z

summer, visit the Food Court stage and be delighted by jugglers, one-man bands, capoeira, clowns and more. Tons of fun to be had include live pony rides, a petting zoo, carnival rides, an inflatable bounce area, mini-train rides, a giant wavy slide, and walkon-water bubble balls.  Get your face painted, a henna tattoo, or a balloon animal. Hand made and international craft vendors make a bit of shopping therapy available.  The day culminates in the grand fireworks over the water near the end of the Berkeley Pier at 9:35PM presented by the City of Berkeley.  Viewing is best along Frontage Drive south of the Pier

or from Hs Lordship’s parking lot. Be sure to get some light-up swag on your way to the viewing area so you, too, can sparkle.  Vehicle parking in the marina is $15 for the day or ride your bike over the Berkeley bicycle overpass and use the free valet parking provided by Spokes near Adventure Playground.  Or join the people parade by walking into the marina over the overpass. Take AC Transit #51B from the Downtown Berkeley BART station and into the marina until 6PM only.  To leave on AC Transit after 6PM, walk out over the freeway overpass to University and 5th St.

31sst Annual Summer Jazz Concert Seiers Standford Shopping Center swings into summer with the return of Summer Jazz. 10 Week free concert series takes place in the Plaza. Thursdays from June 22 - August 24 6 PM ti 7:30 PM


Community District 2 June Address Dear neighbors, Budget season is on the verge of wrapping up and we are actively working with City departments and the Mayor’s Office to bring much needed resources to District 2. We are happy to announce that we will be bringing the open streets model to our district in hopes of activating and engaging the community like never before. Securing more funding for our parks is also something that our office has been heavily engaged in. I expect that funding for park maintenance is slated to get a decent size appropriation in this year’s budget. Similarly, we have been working to secure more funding for the RLEI (Responsible Landlord Engagement Initiative) program as we know the value it brings to our community. Over the course of the last few months, my team has also been working diligently on community-wide issues such as blight in our neighborhoods. The ever popular Dumpster Day has taken place around the community. We are still working on several additional events for those neighbors that have yet to host one. Lastly, we know transportation concerns impact all our lives. I am happy to report that after lengthy discussions with the High Speed Rail Authority, they are slowing down their time-line and allowing more community participation through their community working groups. I believe the additional time will allow residents and City staff to study alternatives to what has been proposed thus far. I feel confident that the project will finally take shape in a way that meets our community’s needs and desires. You may also have noticed some pavement repairs taking place. The passage of Senate Bill 1 earlier this year will guarantee approximately $17.5 million annually for City roads. Also, the passage of County Measure B will allocate approximately $19.4 million annually for San José. Suffice it to say that in time, we will all notice improvements to the conditions of our roads! As always, please let my office know how we can help and please stay engaged in our community. Together, let’s continue making our slice of San José a wonderful place to live. In community, Sergio Jimenez

Blossom Hill

Printing Company BHPrinting.com

(408) 264 - 7500

Blossom Hill Printing Company is all about creating exactly what you want, customized to fit your needs, at really low prices. We pride ourselves on our commitment to quality and the best service anywhere. We are a full service commercial print design & brokerage serving South Bay Area businesses for over 42 years.

Business Cards • Stationery • Folders Fliers • Catalogs • Mailing Pieces Product Sheets • Door Hangers Brochures • Forms • Labels Specialty Items • And More Y3Z


Summer Fun A Help Button Should Go Where You Go! To be truly independent your personal emergency device needs to work on the go. Traditional Help Buttons

At Home In the Car On a Walk On Vacation At the Park Shopping Stop paying for a help button that ONLY works at home!

Call today and set yourself FREE!

1-888-358-6120 $

29lu95 e Va

No Contracts, No Hidden Fees, No Risk Nationwide GPS Location Detection 24/7/365 Emergency Response Center

Order Now & Receive a FREE Lockbox!

Place your door key in this box so that emergency FDA Registered personnel can get help to you even faster.

Optional Fall Button™

*Service availability and access/coverage on the AT&T network is not available everywhere and at all times. Fall Button™ does not detect 100% of falls. If able, users should always push their help button when they need assistance. Current GPS location may not always be available in every situation. MobileHelp is a registered trademark and Fall Button is a trademark of MobileHelp. Patented technology. MobileHelp is a FDA registered Medical Device Manufacturer.

Finding Senior Housing can be complex, but it doesn’t have to be.

YMCA Summer Food Kick Off Celebration 2015, only 10% received free meals during the summer. • In 2016, through our year-round federally funded after school and summer meal programs, the YMCA of Silicon Valley provided a total of 489,625 healthy meals and snacks to children in lowincome areas, including more than 92,000 meals and snacks during the summer. This summer, the YMCA of Silicon Valley’s Summer Food Program is offered once again with support from our partners: Stanford School of Medicine, the California Summer Meal Coalition, Second Harvest Food Bank, Revolution Foods, San Jose Giants and numerous different local school districts and

SJ Giants Book Signing

libraries. On Friday, June 2, the YMCA hosted the Summer Food Kick Off Celebration at the Edenvale Branch Library, 101 Branham Lane East, San Jose, CA 95111. The celebration included a story reading with the San Jose Giants, an Iron Chef

cooking workshop, and a provided lunch. Mayor Sam Liccardo, Council Member Sergio Jimenez, City Librarian Jill Bourne, and YMCA of Silicon Valley CEO, Sandy Berlin Walker, all made an appearance and joined the families in a day of fun.

Call A Place for Mom. Our Advisors are trusted, local experts who can help you understand your options. Since 2000, we’ve helped over one million families

“You can trust A Place for Mom to help you.” – Joan Lunden

find senior living solutions that meet their unique needs.

A Free Service for Families.

Call: (855) 407-7851 A Place for Mom is the nation’s largest senior living referral information service. We do not own, operate, endorse or recommend any senior living community. We are paid by partner communities, so our services are completely free to families.

SJ Giants, Mayor Sam Liccardo, Council Member Sergio Jimenez, City Librarian Jill Bourne, and YMCA of Silicon Valley CEO, Sandy Berlin Walker

Y4Z


Summer Fun O

ee Sp hHig

DI

BUUR NASK ND ATIOABOU LI NWI T NG DE !

RE

dI

CT V

n te rne

ide rov tp

SU IN PE TE R RN FA ET ST

rv

e ari

sb e ark ym t.

Switch to DIRECTV and lock in your TV price at $50/month for 2 years when you have AT&T Wireless!

SJ Giants Book Reading

VE SA over 40%ˆ

50

$

00 MO.

plus taxes for 24 months w/24-mo. TV agmt & qualifying AT&T Wireless*

INCLUDES: SELECT™ All-Included Package – Over 145 Channels Monthly fees for a Genie and 3 add’l receivers

®

HD DVR

PLUS: ‡

CALL NOW and ask about Next Day Installation.

IVS 844-360-9625 Reqs AT&T postpaid svc on elig. plan (excl. Lifeline & Residential Wireless) on a smartphone or phone (excl. Wireless Home Phone). Svcs: Svc addresses must match. To be elig. for 2nd-yr price guarantee both services must remain active & in good standing during 2nd year. Price Guarantee: TV pkg only. After 24 mos. Or loss of eligibility, then-prevailing monthly rate for All-Included TV Pkg applies, unless customer calls to cancel/change service prior to the end of 24 mos. Price excludes taxes, equipment upgrades/add-ons and other chrgs. Some offers may not be available through all channels and in select areas. See att.com/directv. DIRECTV SVC TERMS: Subject to Equipment Lease & Customer Agreements. Must maintain a min. base TV pkg of $29.99/mo. Add’l Fees & Terms: $19.95 Handling & Delivery fee may apply. Programming, pricing, terms and conditions subject to change at any time. Visit directv.com/legal or call for details. PREMIUM MOVIES OFFER: After 3 mos., then-prevailing rate for all four (4) premium movie pkgs applies (currently $53.99/mo.) unless canceled or changed by customer prior to end of the promotional period. Expires 4/21/17.

Rainbow Funding and Realty Lunch Serving Crew

Morgan Hill $799,495

Hayward $519,000

Pleasanton $295,000

4 bed 3 bath 1900 sq feet

4 bed 2 bath 1800 sq feet

3 bed 2 bath 1,296 sq feet

More than 35 years of experience. Call the office that knows where the deals are.

www.rainbowfunding.com Lunch at the Summer Food Kick Off Celebration

1 (800) 782 - LOAN NMLS 340458 BRE 206510215

Y5Z


Join Us!

The Cambrian Branch Library invites You to our upcoming children’s events and more! Father’s Day Craft Friday June 16 4:00 pm Peter Apel – Music, Magic, Stories Thursday June 22 11:00 am Light Up the Night: Lightning Bugs Saturday July 1 11:00 am Rock Steady Juggling: ECO-TAINMENT!

Wednesday July 5 11:00 am

Charged Particles Saturday July 8 11:00 am Very Fairy Presents – Mr. Gumpy’s Outing

Thursday July 13 2:00 pm

Knitting Club - 3rd Saturday of every month from 11:00 - 12:00pm. June 17th will be our first meeting! All supplies are provided. Board Games for Grown Ups - A Euro style gaming meetup. A different Saturday every month, this month will be June 24th at 1:00pm Mystery Bookclub - 4th Wednesday of every month at 6:45pm

Cambrian Branch Library 1780 Hillsdale Ave San José, CA 95124 408-808-3080


Dressing Room CDFA Fashion Awards

Kate Bosworth Special Assignment Pearl Baeni

Each June, the international fashion community honors the best and brightest in American design at the CFDA Fashion Awards. Founded in 1981, they are the highest honor in fashion and recognize  the outstanding contributions made to American fashion in womenswear, menswear and accessories, as well as journalism, creative vision, personal style and lifetime achievement.

Amber Valetti

This year’s CFDA Awards were held at The Hammerstien Ballroom, Manhattan Center, 34th street. WHAT IS THE CFDA? The Council of Fashion Designers of America, Inc. is a not-for-profit trade organization of over 500 producers of America’s womenswear, menswear, jewelry and accessory designs. And the CFDA also offers many programs that support professional development with

Olivia Munn

scholarships, which is supported through membership of their many high-profile companies offering fledgling designers strategic opportunities. So basically, it’s the fashion world throwing itself a BIG PARTY ... celebrating all things beautiful, fascinating, outlandish,

Diane Von Furstenberg

Meg Ryan

Bella Hadid

and believe it or not -- somehow relevant. Creativity is hard work. 

Priyanka Chopra and Michael Kors

Place Your Ad Here! Email the South Valley Review at advertising@southvalleyreview.com Promote Your business with Us! Y7Z


Scouts Honor Boyd’s Tree Service

Annual Community Leadership Breakfast Supporting the Boy Scouts of America

Landscaping Maintenance Since 1984 www.Boydstreeservice.com

More than 300 guests attended a fun breakfast on Thursday, May 18th Michael W. Boyd – Owner and enjoyed a wonderful Fully Insured PL & PD and Worker’s Compensation address from Rick Barry. Second Generation Experience The event raised over Contractor License #665121 $70,000 to support the 13,500 youth served in Scouting in the Silicon Structural Pruning Valley Monterey Bay Council. Tree trimming Camile - So I joined Stump removal Crew 566 when I turned 14, and my most memorable experience was camping in the Presidio and bicycle boydstslm@gmail.com riding with my crew across the Golden Gate Bridge and taking the ferry back. I really also enjoyed camping in Angel Island and Kayaking in Monterey! I was secretary for 2 years and I’m 19 and still a member of the crew. The longest camp out I’ve ever been on was hiking the southern part of the Tahoe Rim Trail over the summer. Although I

408-371-5040

CALL NOW 1-844-232-0636

Scouts Tharun and Camile with Bob Wedig

was a Girl Scout since I was a brownie until I aged out at 18, I found that the activities of being a venture scout was much more satisfying (by way of example, over one overnight trip, we took a 200 foot zip line and did cavern explorations on the same day) which are things I never would’ve done in Girl Scouts. I’ve also collected every catholic religious medal available for the youth as a Girl Scout, and I got the Pope Pius XII award with Tharun. Tharun I have been involved in scouting since kindergarten, 12 years ago. Scout Tharun with I started boy

NBA Legend Rick Barry

Y8Z

scouts in fifth grade and it has been a huge part of my life ever since. I joined troop 476 from Cupertino and I couldn’t be happier with my experience as a scout. Over the years I have attended many backpacking treks and outings, but my favorite by far was my trip to Northern tier, a canoeing facility in Minnesota for scouts. From there I undertook a 6 day expedition where we canoed 90 miles around Canada, exploring untamed wilderness and sleeping on islands. I was struck by the untouched wilderness and the peace that came with it. I also received all four of scouting’s religious emblems during my time as a scout under the mentor ship of Bob Wedig, and I achieved Eagle Scout on 3/2/17.


Missions Dominican Republic Missions Trip By Albert Wright On a recent Missions Trip to the Dominican Republic as a part of Jubilee Christian Center, San Jose’s DR Missionary Team, headed by Pastor Michelle Bernal, along with Missionaries Joraine Flores Costales, Lisa Landavazo, Nydia Martinez Torres, Joanne Timmons, Irma Ellis, Nilda Rodriguez, and myself we were Blessed to serve God’s Children, in several locations. We spent 5 days, ministering and visiting with 50 Widows in a small village, 38 Orphans at Casa De Luz (House Of Lights), numerous adults inflicted with Leprosy at a Leper Colony, and served alongside in 2 Church Community Medical Clinics, hosted by and partnering with Drs. Francisco and Diane Sabado of, Corazon Del Siervo, Dominican Republic, a Full-Time Missions Organization, http:// www.corazondelsiervo. org/ At an Orphanage of 38 extremely deformed

Children, whom we held, sang to, fed lunch, and just loved on, our hearts were extremely touched by the joy on the children’s faces. Each child was given special time and attention. We visited a Leper Colony, and provided food like chicken, rice, beans, oil, etc. We surprised them all with a Birthday Party Celebration including cake and candles! They were excited as the Ladies on our Team, danced the “Electric Slide!”. Pastor Michelle Bernal has an incredible love for the Lepers, so medications were purchased and provided to the staff for them. In a remote Village that had 50 Widows, men as well as women, we served them a special lunch we had prepared. The women were treated like Queens, at our “PopUp Spa”. Headlining the Missions Trip, were two Medical Clinics at two separate Village Churches with local Pastors. Dr. Francisco and Diane Sabado, are American Doctors who live in the Dominican Republic, and lead visiting International www.stacyseymour.com Missionary Teams to minister in areas such stacy.seymour@cbnorcal.com

STACY SEYMOUR

(408) 960-9416

Y9Z

as these. The Drs. Collaborate with local Churches in remote villages, refugee camps, and the inner city, bringing much needed medical attention to the underserved communities.


Accomplishments Madelyn Rose Davis, California State Champion of Thematic Interpretation

My journey with the Archbishop Mitty Speech and Debate Team has been nothing but rewarding from the start. The familial culture of care and support, I believe, is

what has allowed us to achieve constant success. Last year, I attended the State Tournament as a Sophomore, and that same year, our team won its first State Championship ever—that is not something to be taken lightly! This year, coming back to the tournament, we knew we would have to work extremely hard to preserve that title, so practices were constant; I was spending everyday after school until 8pm working to improve my speech, but I never truly believed I would be able to come out on top out of over 300 competitors in my event. When I found

out that I made it to the Top 7, I knew that it was my opportunity to take it all. That final round was the most beautiful, passion-filled performance I have ever given of my speech. And then at the award ceremony, when my name was called and I was named the State Champion in Thematic Interpretation, I began to cry. All of my hard work as well as the unwavering support of my team and family allowed me to achieve a dream I never thought possible. I will be competing at Nationals in Alabama in June, and I hope I can make my team proud!

Game Night at the Community Center June 20, 2017 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM The El Toro Room Morgan Hill Community Center 17000 Monterey Rd. Come compete at games of skill and logic. Have fun and meet new people. The game of the night will change each month so come try a new game or show your skill at an old favorite. Our Game Night program is for local families in the Morgan Hill area who enjoy having fun and playing games of skill and logic. Open to everyone, but most games will be appropriate for children 8 to adult. Game Night meets the third Tuesday of each month.

Y 10 Z


SJ Finest Where is the Little Italy neighborhood in San Jose? - Special Assignment: Brigitte Jones who literally built the South Bay into the communities we enjoy today. My guide to this incredible heritage, is the one and only Helen Marchese Owens. She a proud Marchese Little Italy Street Entrance Marker granddaughter and currently a champion for the Little Italy Redevelopment Foundation. And Helen is so well known for her philanthropy throughout the Bay Area, but it is this impressive project Helen and Debbie in that she feels so front of BelBacio deeply about a lasting/living homage to This is where the all those who put in so original Italian farm much to the growth of this families settled in early city and valley. days of San Jose. Some We met at Bel Bacio of those family names cafe, run by her friend and are familiar to many co-Board member Debbie of us current residents; Zanotto, Lunardi, Biagini, Caminiti to tour the neighborhood and discuss Marchese, DiNapoli, the redevelopment plans Consentino, Dorsa are for this picture perfect just a few of the pioneers area of town. Currently

Our Best Deal Ever!

plans are for a cultural center/museum, a market, a church (more on that later) and an addition to the expansive park space. While visiting the area stop in and experience restaurant Paesano. A recent Italian immigrant to join our San Jose community is Free Streaming Free Installation Free HD-DVR wonderful tenor Pasquale Esposito. It is the dream of Pasquale to have a church built in this Little Every Channel + Recorded Shows Record 16 Shows at once On Up to 6 Rooms on all of your devices & 2000 Hrs of Storage Italy neighborhood in Call 1-877-929-1748 our very near future. As a board member for the foundation to redevelop these few precious blocks of Real Estate, Pasquale is using his considerable celebrity to bring attention to the project. So find out where in San Jose, Little Italy Best is ... it’s • 1% Down * just inviting Mortgage • Conventional Financing for you to Broker discover 30 year, 20 year, & 10 year what it has 2016 • Reverse Mortgage to offer. All offers require credit qualification and 24-month commitment and early termination fee with eAutoPay

Offer for new and qualifying former customers only. Important Terms and Conditions: Qualification: Advertised price requires credit qualification and eAutoPay. Upfront activation and/or receiver upgrade fees may apply based on credit qualification. Offer ends 4/5/17. 2-Year Commitment: Early termination fee of $20/mo. remaining applies if you cancel early. Included in 2-year price guarantee at $39.99 advertised price: Flex Pack plus one add-on Pack, HD service fees, and equipment for 1 TV. Included in 2-year price guarantee at $54.99 advertised price: America's Top 120 Plus programming package, Local channels and Regional Sports Networks (where available), HD service fees, and equipment for 1 TV. Included in 2-year price guarantee for additional cost: Programming package upgrades ($54.99 for AT120+, $64.99 for AT200, $74.99 for AT250), monthly fees for additional receivers ($7 per additional TV, receivers with additional functionality may be $10-$15) and monthly DVR service fees ($10). NOT included in 2-year price guarantee or advertised price (and subject to change): Taxes & surcharges, add-on programming (including premium channels), Protection Plan, and transactional fees. Premium Channels: Subject to credit qualification. After 3 mos., you will be billed $60/mo. for HBO, Cinemax, Showtime, Starz and DISH Movie Pack unless you call to cancel. Other: All packages, programming, features, and functionality are subject to change without notice. After 6 mos., you will be billed $8/mo. for Protection Plan unless you call to cancel. After 2 years, then-current everyday prices for all services apply. For business customers, additional monthly fees may apply. Free standard professional installation only. © 2016 DISH Network L.L.C. All rights reserved. HBO®, Cinemax® and related channels and service marks are the property of Home Box Office, Inc. SHOWTIME is a registered trademark of Showtime Networks Inc., a CBS Company. STARZ and related channels and service marks are property of Starz Entertainment, LLC. With PrimeTime Anytime record ABC, CBS, FOX and NBC plus two channels. With addition of Super Joey record two additional channels. Commercial skip feature is available at varying times, starting the day after airing, for select primetime shows on ABC, CBS, FOX and NBC recorded with PrimeTime Anytime. Recording hours vary; 2000 hours based on SD programming. Equipment comparison based on equipment available from major TV providers as of 6/01/16. Watching live and recorded TV anywhere requires an Internet-connected, Sling-enabled DVR and compatible mobile device. All new customers are subject to a one time processing fee.

Rainbow Funding & Realty

• Cash out refinance • FHA, VA, USDA, ARM • Investments, multi-unit loans

www.rainbowfunding.com

(800) 782 - LOAN Helen Marchese Owens

Renovated Homes in Little Italy Neighborhood

Conditions apply

Y 11 Z

Call today!

NMLS 340458 BRE 206510215


Extraordinary People Contributor Andy Nguyen

Article Text Andy Nguyen was born in Vietnam and raised in San Jose. He is an alumni of San Jose City College (SJCC). Currently, he is enrolled at San Jose State University as a BFA student majoring in Art and Photography. Nguyen has spent time exploring areas within and around the bay area for his photography; creating pictures which reflect and communicate the process in landscapes, nature and lifestyles of the people of various ethnicities in America and around the world. His latest exhibition features digital and traditional

color and black and white photographs showing the beauty of Vietnam and the merging of his motherland’s culture and the American culture. He has been communicating and socializing with people from many communities around the bay area, such as leaders and other artists; gaining more knowledge in arts and communication as a volunteering photographer. While Nguyen was attending at SJCC, he volunteered at SJCC’s City College Times newspaper as a photographer and photo editor for several semesters.  Photography is his passion, which he has been doing for more than 10 years. Andy loves to use his photography skills to work with the leaders and students on the community campus as well as with the City of San Jose Council members and other communities.                SJCC President Byron Clift Breland stated, “During college

Moreno Hauling

Same day Clean Up & Go Trash Hauling Residential/Commercial Trash Removal, Hauling, Garage, Hoarder Clean-outs, Home/Rentals Clean-ups, YARD SERVICE, Shed/Deck Removal. Fire safety! Moving Assistance In/Out. Senior/Military Discounts

(408) 729-0630

7 DAYS – RAIN OR SHINE!

We Take Everything! We Do All The Loading!

wide events, Andy Nguyen is like ‘TMZ’, shooting amazing photos of everyone and capturing the memories of some fantastic college events.” Nguyen was a highly organized student as he balanced his college work with his Associated Student Government’s activities, and he performed all these activities with his own brand of contagious enthusiasm and optimism. Nguyen made numerous contributions to the college culture and received a number of awards for his involvement across campus community. Nguyen is committed to bettering his art form by continuing in a rigorous program at SJSU working toward a BFA degree. His contribution to Santa Clara County revolves around his pursuing opportunities to document numerous ethnic and civic events of groups that are underrepresented in the mainstream society. Nguyen demonstrated determination to overcome adversity by engagement and civic activities for the children with disabilities in Vietnam and Kenya through his latest “Emerging in America” Exhibition held at Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Library from June to July 2016. Andy’s goal is to continue to make a difference by

Y 13 Z

connecting with people in the community in various venues such as community festivals and celebrations, school events, political events and assorted community services projects. He wants the audience to feel compassion and be moved to take action to help make the community and the world a better place for all. By telling a story through his photography,

his goal is to help generate resources to continue to assist vulnerable children, with special needs, locally as well as internationally. Nguyen realizes how important it is for him to receive his education and understands the sacrifices that have been made for him. Nguyen accepts these challenges with honor, dignity and great deal of pride.

Nurse Builders Academy

Your first step towards a career in Healthcare.

Become a CNA (Nursing Assistant) Contact: Linda Reyes (408) 970-5025 nursebuilders@sbcglobal.net www.nursebuilderacademy.com 1825 De La Cruz Blvd., Suite 105 Santa Clara, CA 95050

Now Enrolling

Sterile Processing Technician


Valley Extra Our Corner of the Valley By Scott Taper

Today was going to be a happy day as I prepared to travel to see my weekold grandson, celebrate father’s day with my daughter, her husband, and growing family. My son-in-law, a professional photographer is panning for the fathers-in-laws to take a picture together and, additionally, use me in a celebrity lookalike photo shoot as well. Just about everybody these days thinks Laurence Fishburne resembles me (I’m older, I maintain that he looks like me). I was going spend the day

packing and browsing TV for anything about the Warriors before my flight the next day. At least, that’s what I planned to do. I turned on the TV and BAM! : A mass shooting of Republican congressmen while the prepared to play a baseball challenge against their counterparts, the Democrats. Several republican congressmen shot by a man from Illinois who supported Bernie Sanders. He was killed. Then, in the midst of that breaking news story , BAM!, a mass shooting in San Francisco at the UPS sorting and

delivery center by a man who had a problem with his manager and several coworkers whom he executed before killing himself. Then there was news from London where an apartment was completely engulfed in fire that (looked very suspicious) killed 12, and displaced 74. And still later, a California military base is allegedly attacked. But that was a false alarm. But one thing was very obvious about everything that happened today; indeed, it was the elephant in the TV room…NONE of these mass shootings appears

Y 14 Z

to be perpetrated by immigrants or radicalized religious zealots. It was almost a relief to know that we are still our own worst, heavily armed enemies. I can only hope that my travels go well and I can return with my granddaughters for their

annual indulgent stay with Pop-Pop. It may be a welcome relief when they take over the TV and watch cartoons and the Disney Channel all day instead of CNN or local news. The world we will leave them will be theirs soon enough.

Scott Taper is a biweekly contributor. staper@scitechcal.com


Pass It On Ask about our 3.5% Total Commission!!!

Phillipino Wisdom to Live By By Shirley

Because none of us have many years to live, and we can’t take along anything when we go, so we don’t have to be too thrifty. Spend the money that should be spent, enjoy what should be enjoyed, donate what you are able to donate DON’T WORRY about what will happen after we are gone, because when we return to dust, we will feel nothing about praises or criticisms. The time to enjoy the worldly life and your hard earned wealth will be over! DON’T WORRY too much about your children, for children will have their own destiny and should find their own way. Care for them, love them, give them gifts but also enjoy your money or what is left of it, while you can. Life should have more to it than working from the cradle to the grave!! 50-year olds, don’t trade in - your health for wealth, by working yourself to an early grave anymore. Because your money may not be able to buy your health. When to stop making money, and how much is enough? (A HUNDRED thousand, One million, ten million, One billion?) Out of thousand hectares of good farm land, you can consume only three quarts (of rice) daily; out of a thousand mansions, you only need eight square meters of space to rest at night. So, as long as you have enough food and enough money to spend, that is good enough. You should live happily. Every family has its own problems.

Just DO NOT COMPARE with others for fame and social status and see whose children are doing better etc., but challenge others for happiness, health, enjoyment, quality of life and longevity. DON’T WORRY about things that you can’t change because it doesn’t help and it may spoil your health. You have to create your own well-being and find your own place of happiness. As long as you are in good mood and good health, think about happy things, do happy things daily and have fun in doing, then you will pass your time happily every day. One day passes WITHOUT happiness, you will lose one day. One day passes WITH happiness and then you gain one day. In good spirit, sickness will cure; In a happy spirit, sickness will cure faster; in high and happy spirits, sickness will never come. With good mood, suitable amount of exercise, always in the sun, variety of foods, reasonable amount of vitamin and mineral intake, hopefully you will live another 20 or 30 years of healthy life of pleasure. ABOVE ALL -Learn to cherish the goodness around... like your spouse and FRIENDS........... They all make you feel young and “wanted”... without them you are surely to feel lost !! Wishing you all the best for the years to come. Please share this with all your friends who are 50 plus and those who will be 50 plus after some time and also with your children.

JUST SOLD and we can Sell Yours Too!!

Beautiful 1208 sq foot 3/2 on quiet street with great schools in 95123. This home has it all with elegant granite kitchen, very new looking hardwood floors with a new driveway/sidewalk, and 2 year roof with copper repipe, as well as Tile bathrooms.

Y 15 Z

Tom Merigan Realtor/Altas Realty

Office: (408) 559 - 1069 Cell: (408) 329 - 3150 Email: tmerigan@yahoo.com BRE# 01319061

Tom is your 95123 Area Specialist!!


South Valley Review June 16 17  
South Valley Review June 16 17