Page 1

South Valley Review

VOL. 1, NO. 1,

March 24, 2017

Better at knowing what matters to you. CISCO Technology Tour

Thursday, March 16 at 9 am the campus at CISCO SYSTEMS was over run with a highly energetic and inquisitive group of approximately 120 school kids. And they wanted answers. More about that later ... This incredible day was organized and cohosted by CISCO and the 100 BLACK MEN OF SILICON VALLEY. Our inside man who clearly worked hard to bring this off to everyone’s enjoyment was Peter Ashaolu, Technical Leader (CQE) Manufacturing Engineering - is his official title at the company - or “he is the nice man with the great smile” as he was

described by a group of the no nonsense kids. Peter has been with CISCO for 20 years and is really proud to show off the place where the things they do every day make our lives work better, faster and smoother. All those electronics in daily use by most people that stay cool to the touch, silent to operate and light to carry around are just a few of the reasons Peter is so proud of what he and the folks at CISCO are up to in all those buildings along Tasman Drive. Erich Shaffer, Peter’s boss and good friend, actually dipped into his budget to pay for the goodie bags given to each of the kids along with providing their breakfast and lunch - this was

Page 3

a useful move in keeping the audience engaged - as the CISCO team was a bit out numbered. Six department executives lead a discussion panel to encourage the kids to ask questions about educational background, training and life experiences that could lead to a job at a company like CISCO. And the questions did range from the obvious; like how long it takes to become an engineer to “do you ever get to blow stuff up?” This was a recurring topic during the tour stops in several of the labs and work spaces. PANEL PHOTO includes Robby Greenfield, (CISCO Software Engineer), Liz Perez, (CISCO Operation Manager, T&Q), Dennis Jaramilo, (CISCO Project Manager, T&Q), Andrea Simmonds-Kwakye, (CISCO Operation Manager, Customer Service), Justin Norman, (CISCO Manager Enterprise Data Science Office), & Chibuzor Ugokwe, (CISCO Product Manager).

Y1Z

Legendary Producers and Animators Floyd Norman and Leo Sullivan join Punch Animation, Inc.

Page 4 Story Time: Con Man by Terry Denevan

Page 10 FISH Food Pantry Project

Page 12 - 13 Local Photography What an experience for the kids, teachers, CISCO executives, volunteers and parents to get such an up close and truly personal opportunity to see how the people behind the Internet of Things touch our lives. Bravo to CISCO and their joint venture with the 100 BLACK MEN OF

SILICON VALLEY for making a point of opening young minds to the possibilities within - and the next great thing is just an idea away - but whose idea?


When...Where “Yaelisa’s Juerga” Community Flamenco Performance

SVR South Valley Review 2059 Camden Avenue Suite 299 San Jose, CA, 95124 (408) 898 - 7534 Minority Owned Business President: Richard Pugh Richard@southvalleyreview.com Publisher: Brigitte Jones Brigitte@southvalleyreview.com Executive Editor: Sonya Ruffin Editor@southvalleyreview.com Operations/Accounting: Dorothy Pugh Accounting@southvalleyreview.com Graphic Design Director: Amanda Faris Graphics@southvalleyreview.com

The Flamenco Society of San Jose will host “ Yaelisa’s Juerga” (Flamenco Jam Session). Presenting as a special guest World-renowned flamenco company “Caminos Flamencos”, featuring Emmy Awardwinning dancer and choreographer Yaelisa, along with Flamenco composer and virtuoso guitarist Jason McGuire “El Rubio”. Including a

huge cast of exciting dancers, singers and musicians. Fun and fiery flamenco time for all. The admission charge for this event is only $25 general admission, $20 for students/senior citizens and $15 for child. This promises to be a very special event. Feel the passion, power and emotion of flamenco in an intimate setting. Come see and hear the wonderful singing and beautiful dance of great artists.

Sunday, April 2, 2017 at 3:30PM at: Historic Hoover Theatre 1635 Park Avenue San Jose, CA 95126 For tickets contact: Brown Paper Tickets * Phone: 1-800-8383006 * on-line: http://theflamenco. bpt.me

Ruben Valles Jr for 2020

Great performance, full of excitement and passion.

Assistant to Publisher: Kal-el R. Pugh Editor at Large: Pearl Baeni

SVR welcomes letters to the Editor Please limit content to 200 words or less.

I am a 32 year old San Jose born native. I have witnessed the tech boom of the 1990’s, and seen the cultural diversity grow throughout Silicon Valley. Further, served 4 years in the U.S. Marine Corps and deployed once to Iraq, Ar Ramadi from 2005-2006. My dedication and passion for the American people, and our way of life is unequivocal. I swore an oath to “Protect and Defend the Constitution of the United States from all enemies, foreign and domestic.” I will not forsake my oath or the American people’s trust. Semper Fi!

Submissions are subject to scrutiny for content and grammar but all effort will be made to retain intended meaning of such letters. Anonymous letters will not be printed. Articles so published reflect the views of the authors - not necessarily those of South Valley Review. All submissions become the property of B & R Media Group, Inc. and cannot be acknowledged.

Announcing his 2020 Presidential run. Y2Z


A Lively Pair Legendary Producers and Animator Floyd Norman and Leo Sullivan join Punch Animation, Inc. Punch Animation, Inc. (OTCMKTS: URBT) is pleased to announce it’s recent hire of awardwinning, dynamic animation duo Floyd Norman and Leo Sullivan. The President of Creative Development for the new Punch Animation, Inc. is legendary producer Floyd Norman, an American animator, writer, and comic book artist. Mr. Norman is best-known for his movies Sleeping Beauty, Jungle

Book, Toy Story, 101 Dalmatians and Monsters, Inc. Mr. Norman actually worked with the man himself, Walt Disney and brings decades of experience in animation and production to Punch Animation, Inc. (OTCMKTS: URBT). Emmy Award winning  Animator/Filmmaker, Leo Sullivan is taking on the role as Chief Operating Officer. Mr. Sullivan is most-recognized for his movies Flash Gordon, Pac-Man,

Iron Man, Tiny Toons Adventures, ScoobyDoo and Flintstones. Mr. Sullivan has over 50 years of experience in the field of animation and is a credentialed teacher for the State of California in Vocational Education

We invite you to visit Holy Spirit School where our students, teachers, parents and staff discover faith, seek knowledge and experience community.

Teaching. He has taught at The Art Institute of California-Orange County, guest lecturer at UCLA and Compton College Animation Arts Departments, worked with numerous community organizations and has

taught and mentored youth who have gone on to work in major animation studios. This dynamic duo has pledged to breathe new life into the world of animation.

Rainbow Funding and Realty Morgan Hill $799,495

Hayward $519,000

Pleasanton $295,000

4 bed 3 bath 1900 sq feet

4 bed 2 bath 1800 sq feet

3 bed 2 bath 1,296 sq feet

Last Open House of the Y ear for PK - 5th Grade:

More than 35 years of experience.

8FEOFTEBZ "QSJM tQN

Classroom Observation:

Call the office that knows where the deals are.

'SJEBZ "QSJM tBN

www.rainbowfunding.com Pre-K to 8th Grade 1198 Redmond Avenue, San Jose, CA 95120 tXXXIPMZTQJSJUTDIPPMPSH 'JOEVTPO'BDFCPPL!IPMZTQJSJUTDIPPMTBOKPTF

1 (800) 782 - LOAN NMLS 340458 BRE 206510215

Y3Z


Story Time filled with the remains of several cigarettes. encountered friends, made small “How’s the day going? Where talk, and enjoyed his coffee. The are you from?” chief looked forward to retirement “Great! I’m from Nebraska.” and started each day by adding Everyone except me appeared to one more X to the wall calendar be quietly concentrating on their located to the left of his work work. With curiosity, I stared at space. the chief and the sailor. My desk was located at the far “Nebraska?” said the chief. He rear, right side, of our office. As I added, “I once knew a fellow from pounded away at my typewriter, Nebraska. Anywhere near Lincoln one by one, the other eleven or Omaha?” Underwood typewriters stopped The sailor’s face lit up with their clatter. After passing the pride. “Chalco, Nebraska.” carriage to the left, I also stopped The chief’s reply was warm, like what I was doing. Everyone he was addressing his own son. looked busy, but throughout the “Chalco, the heartland of America, room there was absolute silence. not far from Interstate 80. I’ll be Mischief was afoot, and it quickly darned. By now, my friend would got my attention. be in his late forties or early fifties. Moments earlier, a navy airman He lived in Chalco.” had been walking along the Throughout the office not a key adjacent passageway. It was easy stroke was heard. to identify the young man because “What was his name?” asked the his name was stenciled in one-inch sailor. letters on the back of his work I watched the chief put down his shirt and also just above the left paperwork. He briefly noticed with pocket. a glance that his coffee mug was Rizzo greeted the sailor, “Good empty. Without missing a beat, he morning.” lit up a cigarette. Caught off guard, but with “He was the nicest fellow I ever a smile, the airman apprentice met. We went to school together. respectfully answered, “Good His first name is just on the tip of morning, chief.” my tongue, but I’ll never forget his From the back of the office I saw last name. It was Long.” that Chief Rizzo held papers in his To me, the sailor’s boyish blank left hand and a coffee mug in his face looked like one big question right. I remember the mug as being mark. He cried out. “Ed Long?” almost part of his right arm. While Story continued it may have been early in the day, the chief’s ashtray was already on page 11

Con Man by Terry Denevan It was 0930 hours at Moffett Field Naval Air Station. The control tower informed waiting aircrews that the morning fog would burn off by 1030. There weren’t many flights scheduled for that December 24, 1959. The normally busy streets of the base were nearly empty. The few military personnel on duty were treated to Christmas music played over the base’s outdoor PA system. The stillness of the huge military facility and the lingering damp fog had a beauty all their own. Those still on base must have felt as I did—a sense of security and holiday anticipation. I kept busy with clerical duties and worked alongside 11 other sailors in one of the base’s three massive hangars. In our office was a chief petty officer by the name of Rizzo. Rounding out a 30-year navy career, the chief had been assigned light duty. Rizzo’s mornings started at 0800, but unlike the rest of us he called it a day by mid-afternoon and headed off base for his second job, where afternoons and weekends he worked at a used car lot in San Jose. My fellow office workers, yeomen, sat at individual steel desks situated along the three walls of our office space and behind Chief Rizzo. Rizzo’s desk faced an eight-foot wide passageway where daily he

Y4Z


SJ Now San Jose Winter Jazz Fest

Marketing Director Massimo Chisesi and Executive Director Brendon Rawson of San Jose Jazz

The San Jose Jazz Winter Fest 2017 showcased some of Jazz’s leading voices and emerging talents. Venue was Cafe Stritch in downtown San Jose, guests includes Donny McCaslin, The Cookers, Mary Stallings, Ben Allison & Think Free, along with many local Jazz youth groups including Santa Teresa High School’s Jazz Cambo.

Santa Teresa High School Jazz Cambo During SJ Winer Jazz Fest, these High School Cool Cats made hot sounds for the crowds at Cafe Stritch.

Rainbow Funding & Realty Best Mortgage Broker 2016

www.rainbowfunding.com

(800) 782 - LOAN Conditions apply

San Jose Public Library Tutor Training Help an Adult Improve Literacy Skills. More than 120,000 adults in San Jose do not have a high school diploma or GED. Half of these adults have less than a 9th grade education. You can help improve their live, literacy sills, and employment opportunities by volunteering as a tutor in the Partners in Reading adult literacy program of the San Jose Public Library. Share the gift of reading, writing, and critical thinking with another adult. All Training Sessions are free. For more information, call (408) 808 - 2361 or visit www.sjpl.org/par.

• 1% Down * • Conventional Financing 30 year, 20 year, & 10 year • Reverse Mortgage • Cash out refinance • FHA, VA, USDA, ARM • Investments, multi-unit loans

Call today!

NMLS 340458 BRE 206510215

Job Fair at San Jose City Hall

Tutor Orientation

Help Adults Improve Basic Reading and Writing Skills Partners in Reading offers FREE one-to-one tutoring, small group instruction, computer lessons, classes, workshops, family programs and more! Tutor Training Sessions: Saturdays, March 25 and April 8, 2017 9:00 a.m. — 4:00 p.m. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Library

WEDNESDAY, MARCH 22, 2017

6:30 p.m. — 8:00 p.m.

All 3 sessions are required to become a tutor. Contact Partners in Reading to register today! (408) 808-2361 par.sjpl@sjlibrary.org www.sjpl.org/par

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Library 150 E. San Fernando St. San José, CA 95112 (408) 808-2361

To arrange an accommodation under the Americans with Disabilities Act for library-sponsored events, please call 408-808-2361 or 408-808-2083 (TTY) at least three business days prior to the event.

sjpl.org/par

Y5Z

Career Fair held Saturday, March 18 at San Jose City Hall Rotunda


SV Accomplishments Dream Keeper’s Award

Boyd’s Tree Service

In January, administrators and Landscaping Maintenance Since 1984 teachers in the Oak Grove School District were www.Boydstreeservice.com asked to nominate African American students, Michael W. Boyd – Owner staff and volunteers Fully Insured PL & PD and Worker’s Compensation who have demonstrated Second Generation Experience exceptional commitment Contractor License #665121 to the promotion of the education of African American students. Albert S. Wright was Structural Pruning nominated for the James Tree trimming Beckwourth Trailblazer Stump removal Award. The ceremony was held on March 4, at Victory Outreach Church in San Jose. This awards boydstslm@gmail.com ceremony was the result of the work by a group of African American and Latino administrators (ALLIED) – dedicated teachers and community members. Those who BU N DL are committed to early IN G! recognition of students within their communities who are succeeding in school despite personal or economic challenges they may experience. BIO FOR ALBERT S. WRIGHT - is married now 33 years to Switch to DIRECTV and lock in your $ TV price at 50/month for 2 years when Marshanell and they have you have AT&T Wireless! three adult children. He currently works INCLUDES: at LAM Research SELECT All-Included Package – SAovVerE Over 145 Channels Corporation in Metrology Monthly fees for a Genie HD DVR 40%ˆ and 3 add’l receivers MO. Engineering and PLUS: Applications. “As a kid growing up in Gary, Indiana, I always CALL NOW and ask about Next Day Installation. had a knack for tinkering and creating something out of parts. It was after dropping out of college and joining the US Navy in 1983,

408-371-5040 RE

CT V

SU IN PE TE R RN FA ET ST

rv ide rov tp rne

e Int ed pe

h-S Hig

DI

OU A R SK N A AT B IO OU N T W ID E

ari

b es

ark

ym

et.

50

$

00

®

plus taxes for 24 months w/24-mo. TV agmt & qualifying AT&T Wireless*

IVS 844-360-9625

Reqs AT&T postpaid svc on elig. plan (excl. Lifeline & Residential Wireless) on a smartphone or phone (excl. Wireless Home Phone). Svcs: Svc addresses must match. To be elig. for 2nd-yr price guarantee both services must remain active & in good standing during 2nd year. Price Guarantee: TV pkg only. After 24 mos. Or loss of eligibility, then-prevailing monthly rate for All-Included TV Pkg applies, unless customer calls to cancel/change service prior to the end of 24 mos. Price excludes taxes, equipment upgrades/add-ons and other chrgs. Some offers may not be available through all channels and in select areas. See att.com/directv. DIRECTV SVC TERMS: Subject to Equipment Lease & Customer Agreements. Must maintain a min. base TV pkg of $29.99/mo. Add’l Fees & Terms: $19.95 Handling & Delivery fee may apply. Programming, pricing, terms and conditions subject to change at any time. Visit directv.com/legal or call for details. PREMIUM MOVIES OFFER: After 3 mos., then-prevailing rate for all four (4) premium movie pkgs applies (currently $53.99/mo.) unless canceled or changed by customer prior to end of the promotional period. Expires 4/21/17.

Y6Z

I studied Aircraft Avionic Electronics while stationed in Tennessee. Ah ... living in California became a reality when I was sent to NAS Moffett Field, attached to Squadron VP-31, where I performed maintenance on the PC3C Orion Aircraft’s Flight Station, Navigation and Communication Avionics Systems. Thus began my career in High Tech within Silicon Valley. I remember standing on the Flight Line at NAS Moffett Field, and seeing 2 men in civilian clothes– ‘Tech Reps’ i.e. Field Service Engineers– and knew that was the career for me. Honorably discharged in 1987, I worked at several High Tech companies as a Security Officer in order to maintain my TOP SECRET CLEARANCE. I finally landed my DREAM JOB, with Hitachi High Technologies America, as a Senior Field Service Engineer. This was installing and servicing Scanning/Transmission Electron Microscopes throughout the Bay Area.

At Hitachi I realized - what an opportunity that I had before me to introduce our local young people, more specifically African American kids, to the wonderful world of Technology.” That dream would not be realized for nearly 15 years, until 2016 through the 100 BLACK MEN OF SILICON VALLEY’S “CuBu Technology Tours!!” This program allows us to introduce African American, Hispanic or any of our children of color; whom we mentor as High Tech Professionals who “Look like them.” This is with the hope that they will be encouraged by the experience and exposure to our world innovators right here in their own backyard to create “that next big thing.”


Break Time A trick, sir. Only a trick

By Amanda Faris

Love is a chemical imbalance. It is not of the heart but of the mind. Two hearts cannot “Be as one”, Although they beat in time. Love is a chemical imbalance, As euphoric as it may seem. When juice goes up, love comes out, and, frankly, much stupidity. Love is a chemical imbalance. It makes us giddy and bright. “The heart is full” most would say, but, truth is, that’s not right.

Fresh Koulourakia

Love is a chemical imbalance. A trick, sir. Only a trick. Though “matters of the heart” are fickle, Please learn what makes them tick. Love is a chemical imbalance. It is not of the heart but of the mind. Two hearts cannot “Be as one”, Although they beat in time.

An elderly Greek man lay dying in his bed. While suffering the agonies of impending death, he suddenly smelled the aroma of his favorite sweet, freshly baked koulourakia, Aristea Pettis and Deborah Estreicher. .. up the stairs. He gathered his remaining strength and lifted himself from the bed. Leaning against the wall, he slowly made his way out of the bedroom, and with even greater effort, gripping the railing with both hands, he crawled downstairs. With labored breath, he leaned against the door frame, gazing into the kitchen. Were it not for death’s agony, he would have thought himself already in heaven, for there spread out upon waxed paper on the kitchen table were literally hundreds of his favorite koulourakia. Was it heaven? Or was it one final act of heroic love from his devoted Greek wife of sixty years, seeing to it that he left this world a happy man? Mustering one final great effort, he pushed himself towards the table, standing on his knees in a rumpled posture. His parched lips parted, the wondrous scent of fresh koulourakia were already teasing his mouth, seemingly bringing him back to life. His aged and withered hand trembled on its way to a warm koulourakia at the edge of the table, then suddenly WHHAACCKK!–his hand was smacked with a koutala by his wife. “Hands off ” she said sternly; “They’re for the funeral!” Y7Z


In The Know Making Healthy Food More Affordable: New Pilot Program Begins at Select Grocery Stores in San Jose and Gilroy Double Up Food Bucks Program Supports Low-Income Families and California Farms San Jose, CA – This morning, grocers, elected officials, and public health advocates announced the start of a new program that helps low-income families afford more fruits and vegetables and supports California farms. The program, called Double Up Food Bucks, allows families participating in

the CalFresh program (formerly known as food stamps) to double the value of their benefits when they buy Californiagrown produce. The program is available at three participating grocery stores in San Jose and Gilroy (see details below). These stores are the first in California to offer Double Up Food Bucks, which is modeled on a program pioneered in Michigan by the Fair Food Network. “As a grocer, I’m excited to offer Double

Awaiting AD 1 CALL NOW 1-844-232-0636

Up Food Bucks because I know that most of our customers want to buy fruits and vegetables for their families,” explained Alonzo Lopez, president and co-owner of Arteaga’s Food Center. “For some, though, their limited budgets makes it hard to afford the produce they’d like to buy. Double Up Food Bucks helps close that gap.” Charlie Hua, manager of Food Bowl 99, another of the participating stores, expressed a similar sentiment. “As a long time authorized SNAP and WIC vendor, we are proud to participate in the Double Up Food Bucks (DUFB) initiative and hope it develops greater individual awareness of healthier choices that may have otherwise been overlooked without DUFB. We look forward to bringing this to our community while also supporting our network of California growers who are making this program possible.” The program works by providing matching dollars, in the form of a coupon, when CalFresh customers purchase California-grown produce at the participating stores If a customer purchases $7 worth of California-grown fruits or

Y8Z

vegetables, they receive a coupon for $7 they can spend on fresh produce the next time they shop in the store. Customers can earn up to $10 in Double Up Food Bucks per day. The project, organized by the local non-profit SPUR, aims to distribute $200,000 to at least 2,000 families during the yearlong pilot. “We’ve launched Double Up Food Bucks to address one of the biggest obstacles to healthy eating – the affordability of healthy food,” said Eli Zigas, food and agriculture policy director at SPUR. “We aim to demonstrate that this program can reduce hunger, improve nutrition, and support California farms, all at the same time.” Santa Clara County Supervisor Ken Yeager also noted the benefits of the program, “When individuals have better access to healthier food, studies show they’re more likely to eat healthy, less likely to be obese, and less likely to have a diabetes diagnosis. We need more programs like this to promote community health and help residents avoid the need for complex, expensive health care services down the road.”

Jolene Smith, CEO of FIRST 5 Santa Clara County, a project partner and funder, highlighted the impact this will have for young children and families. “Parents and caregivers from our Family Resource Centers share with us that they would buy more fruits and vegetables if they could afford them. The Double Up Food Bucks pilot will increase the opportunity for families to purchase the healthy foods they want for themselves and their children.” By supplementing the CalFresh program, Double Up Food Bucks provides customers with more money to purchase fresh produce at a place where they’re already shopping for fruits and vegetables. “The more seamlessly we can help families access the healthy food they need, particularly in a place where they’re already shopping, the more effective we’ll be at addressing hunger in our communities,” explained Cindy McCown, vice president of community engagement and policy at Second Harvest Food Bank. “This program has the potential to scale to more grocery stores beyond this initial pilot so that we can have a broader impact—not just


A Life of Grace in our own community, but across the state of California.” “Increasing access to healthy food for low-income families in Santa Clara County is an integral part of the Public Health Department’s strategic approach to prevent chronic diseases and childhood obesity,” said Aimee Reedy, Deputy Director of the Santa Clara County Public Health Department. “Providing lowincome families in our county with more money to buy fresh, locally grown fruits and vegetables makes the healthy choice the easier choice.” Denise Boland, the director of the Department of Employment and Benefits Services at the Santa Clara County Social Services Agency, sees a similar benefit. “The County is happy to assist Santa Clara County families stretch their food benefits and make better more nutritional choices,” she noted. “We will be notifying CalFresh participants who live near these stores about the program so they can benefit.” The stores offering Double Up Food Bucks from now through December 31, 2017 are: San Jose Arteaga’s Food Center: 204 Willow Street Food Bowl 99: 1625 McKee Road

Gilroy Arteaga’s Food Center: 6906 Chestnut Street About Double Up Food Bucks: The Double Up Food Bucks program in Santa Clara County doubles the value of federal nutrition benefits so that families participating in CalFresh can bring home even more fresh fruits and vegetables. The program has broad benefits: It makes healthy food more affordable for low-income families and individuals, supports economic development through grocery stores, and increases demand for California-grown produce. The project is led by SPUR in partnership with FIRST 5 Santa Clara County, Santa Clara County Social Services Agency, Santa Clara County Public Health Department, Second Harvest Food Bank of Santa Clara and San Mateo Counties, Fair Food Network, Community Alliance with Family Farmers, and John Snow Inc. The project is made possible by a grant from the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Food Insecurity Nutrition Incentive Grant Program, as well as the generous support of FIRST 5 Santa Clara County, The Health Trust and the John & Marcia Goldman Foundation. For more information, see: www.DoubleUpCa.org

Remembering Robyn Selfies but Beyond - Pure…Raw and Real… Muscular Dystrophy Invisible By Aarica Gutierrez Mother

We found these selfies on my daughter’s phone, after her passing. It was like seeing into a new depth of her, where she was just “SHE”. Not a girl in a wheelchair. Not a girl struggling to fit in, despite the limitations her weakening body imposed on her, but a girl striving to be “HER” own self. They capture her essence. Enchantment. Innocence. Strength. Found treasures indeed! SHE gave my life more meaning in 14 years, than most find in 40. This vacancy in my heart, it’s like no other, for its emptiness will forever be full, with HER grandiose spirit. Her light. In loving memory of our sweet mermaid girl. Shine bright, sing loud, and swim sunrise to sunset.

Robyn Ashley Gutierrez (2002 - 2017)

Y9Z


Helping Hands FISH Food Pantry Project

I am a Life Scout with troop 318 in San Jose. I have been a Scout for as long as I can remember. I started as a Tiger Cub in Cub Scouts when I was 7. I still remember our Cub Maser telling us about the Scout ranks, and telling us Eagle was the highest rank. He asked us to look around at our fellow Pack members, and told us that statistically, only one of us would make it all the way to Eagle. I knew then that I wanted to be that one. As I moved through the ranks of Cub Scouts, I looked forward to becoming a Boy Scout, and the more I learned about Eagle Scout, I became even more determined to earn

that rank. Boy Scouts teaches me to be determined, to set goals, and reach them, to explore possible professions and hobbies, and see what sticks through the merit badges. Boy Scouts teaches me to be a good citizen, which means that I love my country, respect my family, and am aware of my community, locally, regionally, nationally, globally. It means I take care of myself, and those around me. It means I take care of my environment. I don’t think there is a better example of goal setting, service to community, discipline, determination, and strength of character than the Eagle Project. My Eagle Scout Project is to raise at least $ 500 and collect 4000lbs of food for the South Valley FISH Food Pantry. I thought a food drive for the food bank would be a really good idea, because eating is a most basic need that we all

have, and I can see that we have so many people in our community that are affected by hunger. I felt like getting food to people who really need it would make a bigger difference in their lives than building something nice for the church to enjoy. So far, I have met my goal of $500, but am still taking donations through GoFundMe, as the more I can raise, the more I can help. Donations are tax deductible and a tax ID number will be provided to all who donate to it. This money will help the food bank buy items they don’t get as much of through the food donations. https://www.gofundme. com/fish-pantry-supplyfund

Y 10 Z

I am concerned that I won’t meet my goal of 4000lbs of food by my deadline on 4/2/17. If anyone would like to help me reach this goal, and help feed those affected by hunger in our

community, you could bring a bag of food to the food bank on Sunday 4/2/17. I will be at the food bank to collect the donations from 9am until 1pm.


Story Time Cont... “Yea! Eddie Long. We once double-dated, he married the girl—sharp as a tack. I can’t quite remember her name, but I know for a fact that she was a real fine person, extremely attractive.” A question gushed from the sailor’s mouth. “Was it Martha?” “Yes! Yes, Eddie Long married Martha. I remember the wedding.” I watched the chief trying to hold back a laugh as little puffs of smoke burst from his lips. “What a day that was!” While having difficulty keeping his composure, the sailor exclaimed, “They’re my parents. Ed and Martha Long are my parents!” Rizzo flicked the ash off the end of his cigarette while keeping eye contact with the sailor. “Small world. Damn small world! So how is the family doing? Is Eddie still in the same line of work?” “For sure, Dad has been farming all his life.” Mesmerized, I watched as the chief again looked into his empty mug. “When the two of us were in high school, all he could talk about was corn and farming.” I can’t believe it! I can’t believe it,” blurted the sailor. “So how has farming corn in Nebraska treated my best friend, Eddie Long? Also tell me about those winters.” I grinned to myself as I watched the sailor. The man’s words got in the way of each other as they tumbled out of his mouth. “You

know about farming, some years it’s good and some years it’s not so good. I don’t have to tell you about the winters. They can be tough.” With what passed for sincerity, Rizzo looked intently at the sailor. “I spent all my early life there. I know Nebraska like I know my own back yard. Look, son, what was your first name again?” “Tom. Tom Long.” The chief held up a fistful of papers in his left hand. “Tommy, I’ve got work to do. You’ll be writing home to your mom and dad in the next week or so, won’t you? Here, I want you to take my card. Tell Eddie and your mother we met.” Lowering his voice and speaking slowly, the chief added, “Tell them that I said their boy is a special person, a chip off the old block, and that they should be proud of their son for honorably serving in the United States Navy. Tell you mom that I still remember when your father and I used to paint white farm fencing. God bless you and Merry Christmas.” “Chief, you made my day! Merry Christmas.” Disbelieving, I watched with a smile as the elated sailor vigorously shook Chief Rizzo’s hand. Seated 20 feet away, I was still able to see the sailor’s eyes misting up as he turned and left. While pretending to work, the office staff had taken it all in. Each of us quietly grinned and immediately the sound of twelve Y 11 Z

Let’s Clean Those Gutters! Storm Preparation / Cleaning Front / Backyard Clean ups Shed / Deck Removal

7 Days (408) 849-3134 Underwood typewriters filled the room. Rizzo, without expression, again peered into his empty coffee mug, and with a shrug he lit up a fresh cigarette. With no notable expression, he stood, left his desk, and got himself a coffee refill. It was no surprise when later I learned that the chief had never been to Nebraska. During the following six months, I repeatedly observed Rizzo cheering someone up in his own unique way. Six weeks after my discharge I saw the old chief one last time. Retired after 30 years with the Navy, he was working full time at the used car lot on the Alameda in San Jose. He had retired to the perfect job.


Local Photography

Respite From the Rain at Alamitos Creek By Ernie Lopez

Maui Sunset by Amanda Faris

The Heart of the Bay By Tracie Tanner

Jellyfish Haven By Amanda Faris

Misty Morning By Aarica Gutierrez

Creativity is Contagious, Pass it on� -Albert Einstein

Del Mar High School Drum Line by Mike and Julie Hoopes Y 12 Z


Local Photography

Golden Gate Glory By Aarica Gutierrez

Maleku by Dan Fenstermacher

Flower of Maui by Amanda Faris Wish to contribute to the South Valley Review Photography Page in our next issue? Send an email with your photo of choice, your name, and the title of your photo for a chance to be featured! graphics@southvalleyreview.com

Follow Your Tracks by Jay Perez Y 13 Z


New in the Valley Moving Lights Technology Added to Historic Heritage Theatre in Campbell preservation of the historic venue. It was reopened on February 14, 2004. Since that time FOHT has continued to work toward the Photos courtesy of Heritage Theatre improvement of the venue, their latest The Heritage Theatre effort resulting in the in Campbell was purchase and installation originally built in 1938 of a modern “moving as the Campbell Union lights” system that was High School Auditorium installed November 2016 with Work Project and is now in full use. Administration funds. The Heritage Theatre is After being shut down believed to be the smallest in 1982 due to structural public venue in Santa concerns, the once Clara Valley to have beautiful building was moving lights technology. “dark” for 20 years until The Moving Lights a group of committed package from Elation community volunteers Professional includes four came together to form moving lights that work as Friends of the Heritage Theatre (FOHT) dedicated part of the over all stage wash, and four moving to the restoration and

lights that work as Special Effects/spot lights. The computerized control board is a HedgeHog 4 from High End Systems. The lights feature color wheels within the fixtures that allow just about any color imaginable to be programmed and they save set up time because the crew does not have to hand set color gels and focus individual instruments for each production. The Tech Staff of Heritage Theatre did the installation. Production Manager Stephen Milligan said “the purchase of the moving lights brings the theatre into new waters. We are able to offer a brand new experience for our clients as well as audience members.

Blossom Hill

Printing Company BHPrinting.com

(408) 264 - 7500

Blossom Hill Printing Company is all about creating exactly what you want, customized to fit your needs, at really low prices. We pride ourselves on our commitment to quality and the best service anywhere. We are a full service commercial print design & brokerage serving South Bay Area businesses for over 42 years.

Business Cards • Stationery • Folders Fliers • Catalogs • Mailing Pieces Product Sheets • Door Hangers Brochures • Forms • Labels Specialty Items • And More Y 14 Z

The new moving lights have allowed us to up the production value on ALL of our performances.” Total cost of the project was $38,690. Friends of the Heritage Theatre raised $18,500 of that amount largely from the sales of concessions done by FOHT volunteers and secured another $4,000 from Campbell Community Fund, $2,500 from Richard Kaufmann & Family Trust, with additional donations from Joe Quilici and Silicon Valley Civil & Structural Engineers, Brian Brennan, Debra DeMartini, Jane Kennedy and Sue Rodrigues. The remaining $13,690 came from City of Campbell. Fundraising for the project was started in 2014. The beautifully restored theatre is Spanish Colonial Revival in design, 20,229 square feet and seats 800 for a variety of programming including plays, concerts, dance programs, community meetings and other events. FOHT President

Kereli Sengstack, had this to say of the new lighting. “The Friends of the Heritage Theatre is so pleased to be a part of the Moving Lights purchase for the Heritage Theatre. The lights provide enhanced state-of-theart lighting technology

to upgrade the patron’s theatre-going experience. We look forward to an ongoing partnership with the Heritage Theatre to assist with future projects and enhancements that benefit the theatre and the community.” ABOUT US: The Friends of the Heritage Theatre (FOHT) is a non-profit 501(c)3 organization dedicated to community awareness, community access, and fundraising on behalf of the Heritage Theatre. To contact the Friends of the Heritage Theatre, please email: foththeatre@gmail.com

Moreno Hauling

Same day Clean Up & Go Trash Hauling Residential/Commercial Trash Removal, Hauling, Garage, Hoarder Clean-outs, Home/Rentals Clean-ups, YARD SERVICE, Shed/Deck Removal. Fire safety! Moving Assistance In/Out. Senior/Military Discounts

(408) 729-0630

7 DAYS – RAIN OR SHINE!

We Take Everything! We Do All The Loading!


Valley Extra Our Corner of the Valley By Scott Taper competition with the VCTaskforce: Giving power to the voices of entrepreneurs for nearly 2 decades This is my inaugural column regarding all things concerning us, the denizens of the Valley. Every other week I will be talking about things that we should know or are curious about. I am also interested in what you, the reader has to say, please email me at the newspaper. This being my first column, I’d like to let you in on a resource that is available to each one of you. VCTaskforce, shortened for Venture Capital Taskforce, was the brainchild of June Riley, a longtime resident of Silicon Valley who had worked for Sun Microsystems, Digital Computers and others in marketing. June, an MBA from Boston University, decided in 2001 that there had to be a way for others to start their journey to entrepreneurship… and create a business for herself…and a flash of brilliance ensued: Why not create a way for all kinds of entrepreneurs to meet directly with investors from venture and angel funds? It was an idea that was unique because presenting entrepreneurs were independent of the investors’ organizations; therefore each investor attending was not in

Ad

other for the entrepreneur hopefuls. Since that insightful day in 2001, June has diversified the panels to all entrepreneurs to practice their pitches, greeting instant feedback from investors about what was needed to improve their offerings. One day workshops have also focused upon developing women and minorities’ investors to be a part of the Venture ecosystem, Family Offices, Finding Your First Investor, honoring the venture investor of the year, and many others. While most of the events take place in Silicon Valley at various law office locales, several also take place in San Francisco in One Embarcadero. The reputation of VCTaskforce has become well known beyond the borders of Silicon Valley and the Bay Area. Entrepreneurs and investors have travelled from Canada and the eastern US to take part in mini conferences and the pitch sessions conducted at the law firms that have long supported VCTaskforce’s mission. One such participant from the Washington, DC area was surprised to discover that he had been

approaching his business model wrongly and was glad he hadn’t signed up to pitch his business as he was advised by Riley to not pay the extra fee because he was not ready. Instead, June advised him to come and just listen. After the conference was over he thanked Riley and was even more enthusiastic because he had learned so much about what he didn’t know. Anyone may sign up to attend the presentation meetings of their choice by going to www. vctaskforce.com. If you become a member for an annual fee, you will be able to attend at a significant discount. You do not have to be an entrepreneur to attend. Plans are already underway to expand VCTaskforce’s reach to expand VCTaskforce’s educational programs and prepare entrepreneurs and investors for how business models and communications may be improved and expanded. Riley’s ultimate goal is to develop more accessible venture ecosystems that meet the new challenges, discover breakthrough ideas, and provide resources to those who can help make those ideas a reality.

Scott Taper VP, Business Development, VCTaskforce SciTech Commercialization and Licensing Consultants www.scitechcal.com

Y 15 Z

A Help Button Should Go Where You Go! To be truly independent your personal emergency device needs to work on the go. Traditional Help Buttons

At Home In the Car On a Walk On Vacation

Awaiting Ad1-888-358-6120 2 At the Park Shopping

Stop paying for a help button that ONLY works at home!

Call today and set yourself FREE!

$

29lu95 e Va

No Contracts, No Hidden Fees, No Risk Nationwide GPS Location Detection 24/7/365 Emergency Response Center

Order Now & Receive a FREE Lockbox!

Place your door key in this box so that emergency FDA Registered personnel can get help to you even faster.

Optional Fall Button™

*Service availability and access/coverage on the AT&T network is not available everywhere and at all times. Fall Button™ does not detect 100% of falls. If able, users should always push their help button when they need assistance. Current GPS location may not always be available in every situation. MobileHelp is a registered trademark and Fall Button is a trademark of MobileHelp. Patented technology. MobileHelp is a FDA registered Medical Device Manufacturer.

Finding Senior Housing can be complex, but it doesn’t have to be. Call A Place for Mom. Our Advisors are trusted, local experts who can help you understand your options. Since 2000, we’ve helped over one million families

“You can trust A Place for Mom to help you.” – Joan Lunden

find senior living solutions that meet their unique needs.

A Free Service for Families.

Call: (855) 407-7851 A Place for Mom is the nation’s largest senior living referral information service. We do not own, operate, endorse or recommend any senior living community. We are paid by partner communities, so our services are completely free to families.


THE

GOSS

REAL

E S TAT E

FOR SALE

GROUP

PRESENTS

6167 Heathercreek Way, Blossom Valley JUST LISTED! This fabulous Blossom Valley home is located close to the Santa Teresa foothills and features 4 bedrooms; 2.5 baths; 1,937 SF of living space; remodeled kitchen with granite counters, tile backsplash, breakfast bar & stainless steel appliances; living room/dining room combo; separate family room with fireplace; upstairs master suite with double door entry & dual closets; hardwood flooring; double pane windows; central forced air heating & A/C; ceiling fans; recessed lighting; 2 car garage; nicely landscaped with built-in pool & hot tub. Offered At $975,000

9620 Blue Heron Court, Gilroy

FOR SALE

JUST LISTED! Located on a large cul-de-sac lot, features of this fabulous Gilroy home include 6 bedrooms; 3.5 baths; 2,562 SF of living space; beautiful kitchen with granite counters, glass tile backsplash, loads of cabinets, breakfast bar, stainless steel appliances & recessed lighting; living room/dining room combo; separate family room with fireplace; upstairs master suite with ALMADEN NATIVE walk-in closet & vaulted ceiling; bedroom B R O K Edownstairs R ASSOCIA T E , M B Asuite with full bath; hardwood flooring; double pane windows; central 408-685-5990 forced air heating & air conditioning; ceiling BFBYNUM@ G M A fans; I L . C Orecessed M B Ylandscaped NUMREALE S T Ahuge TE.CO M yard. lighting; 2 car garage; nicely with rear

BRETT YNUM

Offered C a lAt B R $779,900 E #01728689

16185 LOS GATOS BLVD, SUITE 205 LOS GATOS, CA 95032 CalBRE #01526679 EACH OFFICE IS INDEPENDENTLY OWNED AND OPERATED

FOR SALE

18693 Carriage Hill Drive, Almaden Valley 5 Bedrooms | 4 Baths | 4,273 SF | $2,750,000 FOR SALE

FOR SALE

COMING SOON

2352 La Terrace Circle, Blossom Valley

21292 Bertram Road, Almaden Valley

2014 Admiral Place, San Jose

2 Bedrooms | 2 Baths | 1,138 SF | $525,000

Beautiful 2.02 Acre Lot | $699,000

5 Bedrooms | 3 Baths | 2,533 SF | $1,075,000

DOUG GOSS BROKER ASSOCIATE CRS,CRP,GRI,ABR 408-267-4663|800-591-1911 DOUG@AGENTSDIRECT.COM THEGOSSREALESTATEGROUP.COM CalBRE #01182111

LOS GATOS OFFICE

16185 LOS GATOS BLVD., SUITE 105 LOS GATOS, CA 95120

ALMADEN VALLEY OFFICE

5671 SANTA TERESA BLVD., SUITE 103 SAN JOSE, CA 95123 CalBRE #01526679 EACH OFFICE IS INDEPENDENTLY OWNED AND OPERATED

March 24 17  
March 24 17