Page 1

The RMBI – a mark of distinction ANNUAL REVIEW 2011–2012

Caring for older Freemasons and their dependants for over 160 years


RMBI ANNUAL REVIEW 2011–12


INTRODUCTION | 3

The RMBI seeks to offer high quality care, support and assistance to older Freemasons and their dependants. We are committed to ensuring that the individual’s right to dignity, respect, choice and control over their own lives is upheld and maintained.

Introduction

3

Introduction

Making life better for our residents

5

The RMBI offers person-centred care and support to older people living in our Homes and in the community.

A Charity we can be proud of

6

Higher standards of care

9

Contents

Improving and tailoring our services

10

Committed to improving end-of-life care

13

Aiming for exceptional standards in person-centred care 14 Our locations

17

Staff development – the key to improving our services

19

Creating a positive living environment

20

Excellent financial results in a difficult financial environment 22 Help support us

24

RMBI Festivals

25

Securing our future

26

Our Governing Body

27

We have 17 Homes throughout England and Wales with over 1,000 residents. Our Care Advice Team makes over 1,900 visits a year to Freemasons or their dependants in their own homes, providing advice and support, to help them continue to live independently and have a good quality of life. In this Annual Review we explain how we have improved our services in 2011-12, ensuring that they meet not only our internal and regulatory quality standards but also certain other external standards and accreditation. We have forged ahead with more staff training in dementia care and endof-life care, continued with our ambitious programme of re-building and refurbishing our Homes, and introduced new software systems to reduce paperwork and free up more staff time. All these developments are helping to improve the quality of life of the people living in RMBI Homes, while ensuring that we work as efficiently and cost-effectively as possible.

I feel that I’m free to do what I want to do.” A resident at Albert Edward Prince of Wales Court, Mid Glamorgan


RMBI ANNUAL REVIEW 2011–12


MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT | 5

Making life better for our residents Message from the President Willie E Shackell, CBE

Once again it is pleasing to report a successful year for the RMBI, with further improvements to the standard of our accommodation, consolidation in staff training on dementia and end-of-life care, the piloting of new IT systems for managing residents’ care plans and for staff management, and a record year for legacy donations. These are all part of our plans for making life better for our residents and reducing bureaucracy for our staff. We are now four years into our five-year plan for upgrading the Homes and improving fire safety – a plan that will have cost over £30 million, but one that will put us in the forefront of care home provision. By the end of 2012 the rebuilding of James Terry Court in Croydon will be complete and with it we will have 13 flats available for independent living. We very much hope that Masons and their dependants will wish to occupy them as their new home. Our staff continue to show great loyalty and commitment to the RMBI and to the residents. They have borne the brunt of the upheaval caused during the modernisation programme, have embraced the opportunity for training in dementia and end-of-life care, and are adapting well to the new IT systems. We are most grateful to them all. The Association of Friends groups at each of our Homes continue to enhance the lives of our residents with many imaginative projects and ideas. They are an essential element of the RMBI family and show the caring side of Freemasonry at its best.

The central Friends of the RMBI, through its Honour Roll and Annual Ball, regularly provides over £35,000 a year to fund the RMBI holidays for Annuitants. Our thanks are due to VWBro Brian de Neut who has chaired the Association with such skill for the last three years and is continuing for a further year. Donations have held up well this year with legacies of over £4 million. Such gifts are so important to the RMBI and your support in the future would be much appreciated. Our annual Festival was another resounding success this year with Leicestershire and Rutland achieving the magnificent total of over £1.7 million. Finally, a word of thanks to the Trustees who have the responsibility for the future of the RMBI. Their commitment, insight, knowledge, advice and experience in their various fields of expertise are vital to our work. Sincere thanks to you all for your support and generosity.

“ “

I feel as though everyone is a friend.” A resident at Barford Court, Hove

The staff are all polite and friendly and help in any way.” A resident at Prince George Duke of Kent Court, Kent


A Charity we can be proud of Message from the Chairman James Newman

The last year has, as ever, been a busy one for the Board of Trustees and all its sub-committees. The Trustees considered a number of new initiatives as well as ensuring that the finances, care facilities and services provided by the Charity were robust, compliant and up-to-date. The Committees of the Board – Care, Investment, Property, and Audit and Risk – have all contributed to the development of policies and implementation programmes, which the Trustees have supported. These have helped to ensure that the care services we provide are the best we can make them for all our residents and their relatives. The Trustees also approved a number of measures to improve efficiency in the Homes. A new computerised staff-rostering system was successfully introduced (see page 19). The Trustees have also been keen to take advantage of better business and IT systems now available, and have recently approved a trial of a system for computerising all care records in the Homes (see page 10).

As well as all these initiatives, the Trustees have approved a Corporate Plan for 2012-13 which ties into the financial budget and provides the Trustees with a more robust mechanism to monitor progress with the Executive Directors, for more information see page 26. The Nominations Committee held interviews for new Trustees during the year and I am delighted to welcome Sir Paul Williams as a Co-Opted Trustee. I also welcome Frank Nichol and Ian Newby, who have joined our Care Committee, and David Southern who has joined the Property Committee. All will be co-opted as Trustees at the AGM in October. And I welcome Adrian Webster to the Property Committee, Keith Knowles to the newly formed Fundraising Committee, and Simon White to the Investment Committee.

Sadly, David Seal, who has been a member of the Investment Committee for many years, has decided to retire and I would like to thank him for all his wise counsel and astute advice to the Committee. Our Executive Team, under the able leadership of David Innes, continues to deliver a Charity of which we can all be proud. Finally, can I thank my fellow Trustees for all their support and commitment and especially the President and Deputy President for ensuring that our Masonic connections continue to be strong.

I receive more care than would be available were I at home. There are plenty of activities available if I want to go to them and I enjoy meeting new people.” A resident at Queen Elizabeth Court, Llandudno

RMBI ANNUAL REVIEW 2011–12


MESSAGE FROM THE CHAIRMAN | 7


RMBI ANNUAL REVIEW 2011–12


CHIEF EXECUTIVE'S REPORT | 9

Higher standards of care Chief Executive's report David Innes

Operationally, the RMBI has had an excellent year during which the overall standard of care has risen, satisfaction levels have increased and several efficiency measures have been introduced to keep expenditure under control. The staff in our Homes have worked extremely hard to ensure that we provide the highest possible standards of person-centred care and are fully compliant with the new regulatory framework and best practice within the sector. In addition, 30 members of staff, including many Home Managers and their Deputies, have been undertaking a year-long Diploma in Person Centred Dementia Care which will enable us to provide even more support to the increasingly large number of residents with a dementia. Once again, I would like to acknowledge the commitment and dedication of all our staff and volunteers, without whom the RMBI would not be what it is today. During the course of the year, Phase 1 of our new Home in the grounds of James Terry Court in Croydon was opened (with 48 beds), and Phase 2 (with 28 beds) is scheduled to open in early 2013. Major refurbishment works have also been completed at Connaught Court in York and The Tithebarn in Liverpool, while similar projects continue at Prince George Duke of Kent Court in Kent, and Shannon Court in Surrey. I am acutely conscious that the majority of our residents and staff have had to endure considerable disruption over the last few years. However, I know that it has been worthwhile as our Homes are much improved in terms of both facilities and fire safety.

At a national level, there appears to be little political will to tackle the very significant funding crisis in the care sector, and the future of primary care trusts and GP commissioning is far from clear. Also, our main regulatory body, the Care Quality Commission (CQC), has not been particularly effective as the regulator and there have been further very disturbing revelations, by the BBC’s Panorama programme, about the CQC’s ability to monitor services appropriately. Against this backdrop, the RMBI has continued to contribute to the debate on all these issues through the National Care Forum. We have also taken part in a number of seminars and trials to help develop best practice. Our involvement has helped to enhance our status as a leading provider in the sector. Away from the Homes, we have expanded our Care Advice Team to eight members which will enable them to provide advice and guidance to even more Masons and their dependants. The team increasingly works on behalf of all four Central Masonic Charities and is closely involved with the Freemasonry Cares initiative.

Our sheltered housing complexes at Harewood Court in Hove and Robert Eliot Court in Cornwall continue to flourish, and Harry Priestley House in Doncaster, our home for adults with learning disabilities, has been recognised as a centre of excellence. Looking ahead to 2012-13, the global financial situation continues to be uncertain, the needs of our residents will undoubtedly increase, and maintaining occupancy levels at our Homes will be very challenging. However, with the support of our wonderful Associations of Friends and the wider Masonic community, I see no reason why the RMBI should not have another very successful year.

What I enjoy most about living here is the company, and the feeling of security and safety.” A resident at Connaught Court, York


Improving and tailoring our services In 2011-12 our focus was on offering the best possible service to residents with an increasingly wide range of care needs, while ensuring we were as efficient and cost-effective as possible. During the year we introduced a support role for two Care Services Facilitators. They are helping us to implement our care strategy, which focuses on meeting people’s individual needs, wants and wishes, and to offer more appropriate care to people with a dementia and those residents who need end-of-life care. As a result, our Homes are able to offer a more flexible service, and more residents are able to stay with us even when their needs become more complex. We have continued to introduce cost-effectiveness measures across our Homes, where possible without impacting on the quality of the service we offer. Reviews of the range of services we offer – including how these are delivered, and how much we charge for the different levels of care – have been carried out at a number of our Homes. Our Homes vary greatly in size, design and layout. During 2011-12 we made more places available for residents with a dementia

at Barford Court in Hove and Albert Edward Prince of Wales Court in Mid Glamorgan, and we introduced a service for residents with a dementia at our newly rebuilt James Terry Court in Croydon. We have also made plans to change the range of care services provided at a number of our smaller Homes, for implementation during 2012-13. These include plans to introduce a specialist dementia service at The Tithebarn in Liverpool, increase the number of places at Ecclesholme in Manchester, and make more places available for residents with a dementia at Queen Elizabeth Court in Llandudno. Underpinning all of this was the need to ensure we were compliant with all the relevant legislation we operate under. The pattern of inspections offered by our main regulatory body, the Care Quality Commission (CQC), has been variable and sporadic. For more on how we have dealt with this, see page 14.

The staff are very helpful and kind to me and I love them.” A resident at Prince Edward Duke of Kent Court, Essex

RMBI ANNUAL REVIEW 2011–12

Working closely with Provincial and Lodge Almoners, our Care Advice Team continues to offer much-needed support and advice to those members of the Masonic community who need some assistance but are not ready to go into a care home. The team has now been strengthened with the creation of an additional 2.5 posts. During 2011-12 we carefully analysed how we could streamline our paperbased residents’ care plans (the records of their care needs). We have identified a care-specific software system which we are confident will greatly help us with this, and will be running a pilot scheme in three of our Homes during 2012-13 to test this system in action. Ultimately it is envisaged that our staff will be freed up from spending lots of time on completing paperwork – time that can be spent with residents, which is where we want them to be.


IMPROVING AND TAILORING OUR SERVICES | 11


RMBI ANNUAL REVIEW 2011–12


IMPROVING END-OF-LIFE CARE | 13

Committed to improving end-of-life care Living through the later stages of life is a sensitive and emotional journey – not only for the person who is at the end of their life, but also for their family. This is why the RMBI is committed to doing all we can to improve the quality of the end-of-life care offered in our Homes, to ensure that our staff offer care which respects residents’ individuality and maintains their dignity. In 2011-12, staff at a number of our Homes began accredited training on end-of-life care. Some have obtained accreditation from the Gold Standards Framework (a national standard of care for people nearing the end of their life), and some have embarked on other equally prestigious accredited schemes. Every person has different needs, but some worries are common to most people at the end of their life. Concerns include fear of abandonment and fear of being a burden. People at the end of their life also have concerns about loss of dignity and loss of control. The period at the end of life is different for each person. The signs and symptoms people have will vary as their illness or condition continues, and each person has unique needs for information and support. Through enhanced training and support we are able to make sure that a person’s care continues, with the emphasis on improving their quality of life and that of their loved ones, and on making the person comfortable.

The RMBI places a great emphasis on ensuring that staff are appropriately trained and equipped to deliver care that is sensitive to meeting the needs of the individual and of their family. Staff are supported to ensure they have the confidence and know-how to help residents and their families with the medical, psychological, social, spiritual and emotional issues around dying. Communication about end-of-life care and decision-making during the final months of a person’s life is also important. Research has shown that, if a person is able to discuss his or her options for care early on, that person’s level of stress decreases and their ability to cope increases. Studies also show that people prefer an open and honest discussion about choices for end of life early on and are more satisfied when they have this conversation. Using the good practice methodology gained through their training, RMBI staff are enabled to support families and confidently address any questions and concerns that family members may have about the end-of-life care of their loved one.

The care and support my mum and our family have received at the Home have been outstanding and the true meaning of humanity, dignity and compassion is completely understood and part of the being of all staff there, especially her carers in these past few difficult weeks. Words cannot possibly express our heartfelt thanks and gratitude.” A relative of a resident at Prince Michael of Kent Court, Watford


Aiming for exceptional standards in person-centred care Achieving Dementia Care Matters ‘Butterfly Service’ status The RMBI is committed to making its dementia care service exceptional, and our substantial investment in dementia care training for staff over the last three years is now benefiting the ever-increasing number of people with the condition who are living in our Homes. We have been working closely with Dementia Care Matters since 2009, and with a number of other specialist dementia providers, to deliver our dementia care training. Dementia Care Matters works with care providers with the aim of improving the quality of the lived experience for people living in care homes – not only for those residents living with a dementia, but also for the other residents living in the same home. The Butterfly Service status is a nationally recognised kitemark, awarded by Dementia Care Matters, to identify dementia care homes that are committed to achieving good quality of life for people living in care homes. Unannounced visits by trained impartial auditors provide evidence of whether a care home providing dementia care focuses on the real everyday lived experience of people in lounges and dining rooms, rather than on policies, procedures and systems. The audits are carried out using a qualitative observational tool. Homes that meet level 3 or above achieve the Butterfly Service status, which means that the Home is demonstrating exceptional person-centred dementia care. Geoffrey Dicker House, the dementia support unit at Cornwallis Court in Suffolk, obtained its Bufferfly Service status in April 2011 and, following a recent annual audit, their kitemark has been renewed until 31 March 2013. Prince Edward Duke of Kent Court in Essex was also recently awarded Butterfly status, in July 2012. Over the coming years all RMBI Homes with a specialist dementia support unit will work towards obtaining the award and a further five of our Homes are due to be audited between July and September 2012. Debra Keeling, RMBI’s Deputy Director of Care said, “We have seen excellent outcomes for the residents from the holistic approach that the Dementia Care Matters model uses and we look forward to achieving even better results going forward.”

RMBI ANNUAL REVIEW 2011–12

Quality matters The pattern of inspections offered by our main regulatory body the Care Quality Commission (CQC) has been variable and sporadic. It has therefore been crucial for the RMBI to develop its own internal mechanisms to check and validate our Homes. Our new role of Internal Quality and Compliance Auditor has greatly helped with this work. All RMBI Homes in England have been assessed against the CQC’s 16 essential standards of quality and safety to establish a baseline of compliance and to identify areas where we need to improve. A similar approach is used for our Homes in Wales. Various quality measures have also been introduced, including a rolling programme of audits, observations and measurements against quality standards. This will help to make sure that RMBI Homes continue to maintain high standards in the delivery of care, both now and in the future.


AIMING FOR EXCEPTIONAL STANDARDS | 15


14

4 16

7

13

6 5 10 12

1

11

9

8 15

3

RMBI ANNUAL REVIEW 2011–12

17

2


Our locations | 17

Our locations 11 Albert Edward Prince of Wales Court, Mid Glamorgan

99 Lord Harris Court, Berkshire

17 17 Zetland Court, Bournemouth

Tel: 01656 785311 Email: albertedward@rmbi.org.uk

Tel: 01189 787496 Email: lordharris@rmbi.org.uk

Tel: 01202 769169 Email: zetland@rmbi.org.uk

2 Barford Court, Hove

10 10 Prince Edward Duke of Kent Court, Essex

Harewood Court, Hove

Tel: 01273 777736 Email: barford@rmbi.org.uk

Tel: 01376 345534 Email: stistedhall@rmbi.org.uk

3 Cadogan Court, Exeter

11 11 Prince George Duke of Kent Court, Kent

Tel: 01392 251436 Email: cadogancourt@rmbi.org.uk

Tel: 020 8467 0081 Email: pgdokcourt@rmbi.org.uk

44 Connaught Court, York

12 12 Prince Michael of Kent Court, Watford

Tel: 01904 626238 Email: connaught@rmbi.org.uk

Tel: 01923 234780 Email: princemichael@rmbi.org.uk

55 Cornwallis Court, Suffolk

13 13 Queen Elizabeth Court, Llandudno

Tel: 01284 768028 Email: cornwalliscourt@rmbi.org.uk

Tel: 01492 877276 Email: queenelizabeth@rmbi.org.uk

66 Devonshire Court, Leicester

14 14 Scarbrough Court, Northumberland

Tel: 01162 714171 Email: devonshire@rmbi.org.uk

Tel: 01670 712215 Email: scarbrough@rmbi.org.uk

77 Ecclesholme, Manchester

15 15 Shannon Court, Surrey

Tel: 0161 788 9517 Email: eccleshm@rmbi.org.uk

Tel: 01428 604833 Email: shannon@rmbi.org.uk

88 James Terry Court, Croydon

16 16 The Tithebarn, Liverpool

Tel: 020 8688 1745 Email: jamesterry@rmbi.org.uk

Tel: 0151 924 3683 Email: tithebarn@rmbi.org.uk

Tel: 01273 739515 Harewood Court has sheltered apartments for sale. To find out more, please contact our selling agents, Parsons Son & Basley, on 01273 326171.

Harry Priestley House, Doncaster Tel: 01405 814777 Managed on behalf of Masonic Care Limited by the RMBI, this Home accommodates a small group of adults with learning disabilities.

Robert Eliot Court, Cornwall Tel: 01726 75349 Robert Eliot Court provides sheltered housing on a leasehold scheme. To find out more, please contact the Scheme Manager Jenny Pappin on 01726 75349.

“

I am content and feel secure here. Everyone is very kind and there is always someone to pass the time of day with.� A resident at Shannon Court, Surrey


RMBI ANNUAL REVIEW 2011–12


STAFF DEVELOPMENT | 19

Staff development – the key to improving our services We have continued to invest in the development of our staff, and to expand and promote the provision of person-centred care services. Leadership in this cultural change is driven by the Homes’ Management Teams who have embarked on the accredited Diploma in Person Centred Care. Every RMBI Home now has at least one member of the staff team either qualified in or working towards this Diploma. In all our Homes, every member of staff has completed foundation learning in providing person-centred care. The interactive sessions involved in this facilitate discussion and debate through examples and understanding of people who experience care services. Through follow-on participative staff meetings, staff are encouraged to be actively involved in the design and delivery of local care practices to meet the needs of the individuals living at their particular Home. The learning and development of our staff on a wider scale remains our key focus. A review of learning and development commissioned by the RMBI in 2011-12 highlighted the need for staff training in an ever-growing range of topics, indicating that support for the local Management Teams could be better. The review also recommended the introduction of an Assistant Director, Learning and Development, and this appointment has now been made. This role will provide expertise to ensure that appropriate learning strategies are designed and then delivered consistently throughout all our Homes. Attracting and retaining a competent, stable workforce are vital, and during the year we have overhauled our recruitment and selection methods,

and candidates for all vacancies are identified and selected on the basis of their qualities and competencies and potential abilities. Once they are in post, we support their development and ensure they enjoy their time with us, and annual staff turnover at the RMBI is 12%. Although this represents a slight increase compared with the previous year, it is well below the overall staff turnover rate for the care sector of 22%. Historically, the RMBI has retained a large amount of manual administrative work related to staff. Following the launch of Snowdrop (an HR staff database system) some years ago, we are planning to expand and upgrade the system to ensure this continues to handle staff records efficiently. Further automation has been undertaken this year in respect of processing information about staff attendance. Two Homes took part in a trial of Kronos, a time and attendance system. This was enormously successful and we achieved about a 75% saving in time spent on administration and management approval systems, while improving the accuracy of information on working hours, and therefore pay data, for salary processing. Kronos was introduced to all our Homes during 2012. We plan

to introduce additional functions to the system so that all staff data and information on working hours can be transferred electronically across multiple staff computer systems. This will eliminate multiple data entry and therefore further reduce time spent on administration. Snowdrop and Kronos provide analysis tools to optimise staffing levels, and also provide valuable information on staff trends for both internal and external benchmarking.

There is always somebody around if I need them.” A resident at Devonshire Court, Leicester


Creating a positive living environment Age-related changes and impairments can make it more difficult for people to understand and navigate the built environment. Sensory, mobility or cognitive impairments, and sometimes a combination of these, can affect a person’s functioning, behaviour, independence, and ultimately their quality of life. Our challenge over the years has been to design ‘enabling’ buildings for our Homes. We base them on the needs of the people who will live in them – buildings that will allow them the freedom and confidence to use their abilities to the fullest extent in all things from the mundane to the creative. At the same time we have to keep them safe from dangers such as falls. We have incorporated the learning and guidance from the industry to create in our Homes positive living environments which are dementiafriendly. For example, our design features include: the use of contrast which plays a vital role in signposting different areas in the Home; use of

different lighting levels; and the use of memory prompts such as pictures or familiar objects to help with orientation and to aid memory in day-to-day living. Fire upgrade works have been carried out to bring the Homes up-to-date with the most modern standards. Lifts have been replaced and some new ones have been installed to improve overall access and ease of movement around the Homes. We have also embarked on refurbishing corridors and many of our communal areas. Bathroom renovations have been carried out, and in many cases en-suite facilities have been created within bedrooms.

We have also carried out extensive work to create positive outdoor spaces through the introduction of ‘sensory gardens’ which have beneficial effects on people’s well being. Colours, shapes, plants, vegetables and special textures and features have been introduced to help create innovative and stimulating environments for all the five senses.

I really enjoy the homely surroundings and the independence that I can have.” A resident at Lord Harris Court, Berkshire

RMBI ANNUAL REVIEW 2011–12


POSITIVE LIVING ENVIRONMENTS | 21


Excellent financial results in a difficult financial environment Treasurer's report

I am pleased to report that the RMBI delivered excellent financial results during 2011-12 in a very difficult financial environment. The operating efficiency of our Homes improved, charity income increased substantially, and our capital improvement and maintenance programme continued as planned.

The staff and residents make a happy and caring environment. One has ‘space to be alone’ if you wish it but companionship is always available.” A resident at Zetland Court, Bournemouth

RMBI ANNUAL REVIEW 2011–12

Our Homes performed well as our investments in property, systems and training began to bear fruit. Despite receiving no increase in funding from local authorities and primary care trusts, RMBI fee income was up by £1.3 million (4%) as we increased the number of rooms available and maintained high occupancy levels. The Homes’ operating costs decreased significantly due to our efforts to improve staff planning and scheduling. This not only saves money, but also results in more consistent and high-quality care for our residents. Total income rose to £40.4 million in 2011-12, an increase of 6%. In particular, there was a significant increase in legacy income totalling £4.4 million. Donations held up well, totalling £2.5 million. This includes a £180,000 grant received from the Masonic Samaritan Fund for the purchase of hoists and disability aids. We are thankful for the continued generosity of the Masonic community, which remains remarkably resilient in the face of difficult economic times. 2011-12 marked the third year of our capital improvement and maintenance programme, and the RMBI invested a further £13.1 million in our operating infrastructure.

While the largest single project is the rebuilding of James Terry Court in Croydon, major investments were also made in several of our other Homes. We are on track to complete this programme next year. These capital expenditures were funded by drawing on our investment portfolio which, as a result, decreased to £37.6 million. Withdrawals have now ceased and our current cash balance should be sufficient to fund capital expenditures in 2012-13. Looking ahead, the care sector and the RMBI will continue to face a challenging environment, and Government funding levels are unlikely to increase. In response, the RMBI will endeavour to further improve operating efficiency, maintain a strong balance sheet and, as always, we will rely on the tremendous support of the Masonic community.


EXCELLENT FINANCIAL RESULTS | 23

All figures are in millions

CHARITY INCOME £0.5

£1.3 £2.7

£2.5

2011-12

2010-11 £4.4

£2.2

£1.6

£1.8 Masonic donations

£2.7m

Masonic donations

£2.5m

Investments

£1.8m

Investments

£1.6m

Legacies

£2.2m

Legacies

£4.4m

Miscellaneous

£1.3m

Miscellaneous

£0.5m

TOTAL

£8.0m

TOTAL

£9.0m

CHARITABLE EXPENDITURE £0.4

£0.4

£0.6

£0.9

£0.5

2010-11

2011-12

£0.9 £3.8

£3.4

Charitable support

£3.8m

Charitable support

£3.4m

Central care

£0.9m

Central care

£0.9m

Governance

£0.6m

Governance

£0.5m

Fundraising

£0.4m

Fundraising

£0.4m

TOTAL

£5.7m

TOTAL

£5.2m

CASH AND OTHER ASSETS £12

£18.1

£56.1

£63.3

£37.6

£50.1

2011-12

2010-11

Care Homes and property

£56.1m

Care Homes and property

£63.3m

Investments

£50.1m

Investments

£37.6m

Net current assets

£12.0m

Net current assets

£18.1m

TOTAL

£118.2m

TOTAL

£119.0m


Help support us As a charity, we rely on the generosity and kindness of others to enable us to go on caring for our residents. Here are three examples from 2011-12 of how your support has made a difference. • George Watson was a resident at Zetland Court, Bournemouth until his death in 2005. His sister Mabel Sleight was so impressed with the care George received that she remembered us in her will. Last year Mabel bequeathed £175,000 to be used by Zetland Court for the care of its residents. • Many Lodges that are based close to our Homes like to ‘adopt’ their local Home. Springfield Lodge No 6052 has supported their local Home, James Terry Court in Croydon, to the tune of £100,000 over the past few years. This money has helped provide enhanced facilities for residents at the Home. • The ability to hear and therefore take part in activities and events held in our Homes is very important for many of our residents. The Provincial Grand Lodge of Hertfordshire donated £3,000 towards the costs of upgrading the sound equipment at Prince Michael of Kent Court in Watford. Although we appreciate receiving donations for specific uses, general donations are equally important as they help with the everyday costs of running our Homes.

I like living here because there is so much to do – play games, music and lots more.” A resident at Ecclesholme, Manchester

RMBI ANNUAL REVIEW 2011–12

There are several ways in which you can support the RMBI. • By cheque, CAF or KKL charity voucher, or via a Lodge/Chapter Relief Chest blue voucher. • By debit or credit card, using the RMBI website at www.rmbi.org.uk or calling us on 020 7596 2400. • If you are passing by our head office, we would be happy to take a cash donation. • By text message, texting ‘RMBI11’ and the amount you wish to donate (up to £10). • You can even sell items on eBay and donate some or all of the proceeds to the RMBI.

Leave a legacy Leaving a gift in your will is also an effective way of showing you care, and helps make sure the RMBI has the funds to continue its work. For further information on how you can leave a gift in your will to the RMBI, please contact us. You can also download our free booklet – A guide to leaving a gift to the RMBI in your will – from the RMBI website.


HELP SUPPORT US | 25

RMBI Festivals Every year the RMBI needs charitable support to the value of around £5 million in order to carry out its work. Much of this amount comes from the funds raised by RMBI Festivals each year. We rely on the money from Festivals to support people who are unable to pay their full care fees. For example, they may have run out of personal savings, or they may receive local authority support which covers only part of the total cost of their care and the RMBI needs to make up the shortfall. The RMBI helps around 400 older Freemasons and their dependants in this way and the valuable support from the Festival Scheme ensures that we are able to continue to do so. The Festival of Leicestershire and Rutland was launched in November 2006 with a target of £1.5 million. The committee for the Festival decided that the best way to achieve the target was to work with the 72 lodges in the Province and aim to raise £64 per member (including Gift Aid). An Events Committee was also established to coordinate the fundraising events programme.

A variety of events were organised, including raffles, craft fairs, golfing events, sale of Festival jewels and ties, sporting events and the notable bike rides undertaken by the bikers in the Province ‘Long Way Home’ which raised over £8,000. Also, Brethren were encouraged to save 20p pieces in Smartie tubes and this initiative raised the considerable sum of £45,972. The Festival’s concluding event was a banquet held at the King Power Stadium, home of Leicester City Football Club. The event was attended by the Lord Lieutenant of Leicestershire, the Chair of Leicestershire County Council, the High Sheriff of Rutland, the outgoing Lord Mayor of Leicester and the Chief Executives of two local hospices – LOROS and Rainbows. A thoroughly enjoyable evening was had by all.

Guests of honour also included: the Deputy Grand Master, Jonathan Spence and his wife; and Willie Shackell, the President of the RMBI. There was entertainment from the Chanterelles Choir and the evening was concluded when David Innes, Chief Executive of the RMBI, announced the magnificent Festival total of £1,700,850 – a truly superb fundraising effort by the Brethren of the Province of Leicestershire and Rutland. The RMBI is extremely grateful to the Province of Leicestershire and Rutland for all the generous support of the 2012 Festival, which will enable the Charity to continue and develop its important work.

From left to right: VW Bro. Willie Shackell CBE, President of the RMBI: W Bro. Peter Kinder, PDepGSwdB, Assistant Provincial Grand Master of Leicestershire and Rutland: RW Bro. Jonathan Spence, Deputy Grand Master: RW Bro. David Hagger, Provincial Grand Master for Leicestershire and Rutland and VW Bro. James Buckle, PGSwdB, Deputy Provincial Grand Master of Leicestershire and Rutland.


Securing our future The key themes for 2012-13 are: to complete the many initiatives we have been working on over the last few years; to ensure we have clear and deliverable plans for the next few years; and to work closely with the other Central Masonic Charities for the benefit of Freemasonry.

Strategic priorities The Board of Trustees has approved a Corporate Plan for 2012-13 and many of the details of the Plan are presented in this annual review. The Plan outlines the strategic context in which the charity operates and summarises the key work strands that will be undertaken within the RMBI under each of the following four strategic priorities. • Improving care standards The current major transition to person-centred care, the extensive staff training programme for dementia care and the investment in end-of-life awareness should all be largely completed by 2013. In 2012-13 we also need to identify and develop other new initiatives, such as day care, for the RMBI to implement in 2013-15. • Increasing operational efficiency Social care funding is under enormous pressure and research shows that spending on older people’s social care in England has fallen short even of maintaining the inadequate levels of provision that were in place when the Coalition came to power. Our objective is to offer a range of services that are care-effective and cost-efficient.

• Developing the workforce During the course of the year we will be formulating a competencybased Home management development programme. The aim of this initiative is to help Home Managers, Deputy Home Managers and selected other individuals further develop the skills needed to lead and manage a multi-million pound care-home business in today’s care environment. In addition, a comprehensive staff recognition scheme is to be developed to supplement the current awards for long service. • Creating 21st century facilities 2012-13 will be the penultimate year of our major capital works programme, with large projects continuing at James Terry Court in Croydon, Prince George Duke of Kent Court in Kent and Shannon Court in Surrey. In addition, a number of smaller projects are to be carried out over the next twelve months including a dementia extension at Cadogan Court in Exeter and repairs to the roof at Prince Michael of Kent Court in Watford.

2012-13 will be another challenging but rewarding year for the RMBI as several major initiatives are scheduled to be concluded, and by early 2013 we should be in a much stronger position as a care provider. It is likely that the care sector will continue to evolve in the coming years and the Masonic community is also changing. The RMBI must be prepared for the challenges that lie ahead and be ready to meet new requirements as they emerge.

I like to keep my independence but also know I can rely on aid at any time.” A resident at The Tithebarn, Liverpool

RMBI ANNUAL REVIEW 2011–12


| 27

Our Governing Body Grand President HRH The Duke of Kent, KG, GCMG, GCVO, ADC

Deputy Grand Presidents Peter G Lowndes Jonathan Spence David Williamson

Grand Vice Presidents Derek Buswell Peter Cornish Dr Alan Davison John Moore Russell Race Brian Smith Dennis Vine Roland J Wade

President Willie Shackell, CBE

Deputy President Chris Caine

Treasurer Randall Marks

Trustees James Newman, Chairman John Edgcumbe Ken Howe Sylvia Quayle Sushil Radia Dr John Reuther Mark Smith David Watson

Co-opted Trustees Dennis Vine Jonathan Weiss Sir Paul Williams Dr Mac Speake

The Management Team Chief Executive David Innes

Executive Director of Care Operations Kevin Harris

Executive Director of Finance Chris Head

Director of Properties Andrew White

Director of Human Resources Jo Ashton


For more information about any of the RMBI’s services contact: Royal Masonic Benevolent Institution 60 Great Queen Street London WC2B 5AZ Tel: 020 7596 2400 Fax: 020 7404 0724 E-mail: enquiries@rmbi.org.uk

www.rmbi.org.uk Registered charity 207360 | A review of the period April 2011 to March 2012 | Published in October 2012 RMBI ANNUAL REVIEW 2011–12


Annual Review  

Annual Review 2011-2012

Advertisement
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you