Texas Midwest 2022 Visitors Guide

Page 124

ROSCOE

Population 1,307 (page 74) Roscoe, settled in 1889 and incorporated in 1907, serves area ranchers and cotton farmers and for over 75 years was the home base of the highly successful Roscoe, Snyder & Pacific Railway. Originally an 1881 water stop for the Texas & Pacific Railway called Katula, it was later re-named Vista in 1889 by its first settlers. Then in 1891 when it got a post office, it was re-named Roscoe because there was already another Vista. A prosperous little town until it was bypassed by I-20 in 1959 and US 84 twenty years later; it suffered the loss of most of its local businesses in the 1980s and 1990s. However, in 2003 it became the center of a major wind turbine boom and over the past decade has rebounded to once again become a vital, thriving community. Since 2008, the national media has designated Roscoe the “Wind Capital of the World” because of its huge wind farms, a focus of attention in the international press, NPR, PBS, film documentaries and others. City Hall, 325-766-3871, cityofroscoe@yahoo.com

SAN ANGELO

Population 100,119 (page 76) San Angelo began in the late 1860s across the North Concho River from Fort Concho, which was established in 1867. Originally San Angelo was named after the wife of Bartholomew DeWitt who bought 360 acres opposite Fort Concho for $1 per acre. The town had been spelled San Angela but that spelling was rejected by the postal authorities for its “ungrammatical construction.” They would accept Santa Angela or San Angelo; the easier to pronounce version won. San Angelo has always had a diverse economy, developing a sheep raising industry in the 1870s and the railroad appeared in 1888. San Angelo’s rich history weaves together centuries of Native American, Texas and pioneer culture and today San Angelo’s history is very much alive and proudly on display. From the historic structures to culturally sophisticated museums and galleries to the natural beauty of the community, San Angelo is an oasis in west Texas, off the beaten path. San Angelo Convention & Visitors Bureau, 418 W. Ave. B, 325-6554136 or 800-375-1206, cvb@sanangelo.org

SANTA ANNA

Popualtion 1,075 (page 79) The twin mesas in Coleman County were a landmark to early surveyors and settlers. One of the earliest maps of Texas shows mesas near the center of the state with the notation “Santa Anna’s Peaks”. The mountain and later the town were named for the Comanche Chief Santa Anna. Using the peaks as an observation post, Texas Rangers camped in the area long before it was settled. With the construction of the Santa Fe Railroad through the town in 1886 and the sale of a 200-acre tract of railroad land for town lots, Santa Anna began to grow rapidly. Among prominent early residents was John Riley, a Texas Ranger and county sheriff, and his wife, Emma Banister, who became the first woman sheriff in Texas after her husband’s death. Visitors now frequent the town for its unique shopping; art, photo gallery, antiques, custom-made furniture from native wood, custom ironwork, metal art and boutiques. Traditional platforms of agriculture and oil are giving way to outdoor recreational and heritage tourism. Santa Anna EDC, 325-348-3177, saedc@web-access.net

122

Texas Midwest Community Network