22 minute read

FOOTBALL

Next Article
CLASSIFIEDS

CLASSIFIEDS

WORST TO FIRST

The Most Serious Fouls Include a First Down

By Jeffrey Stern

There are aspects to penalty enforcement beyond the yardage. They include but are not limited to a loss-of-down provision, causing team A to forfeit the ability to repeat the down; fouls which include automatic ejection or disqualification; and some against team B which include an automatic first down.

Under NFHS rules, only three penalties include an automatic first down: roughing the kicker or holder, roughing the passer and roughing the snapper.

In NCAA, any live- or dead-ball personal foul by team B results in an automatic first down. Among the other penalties that result in a first down are defensive pass interference, unsportsmanlike conduct and fighting.

Play 1: Third and 10 on team A’s 35 yardline. A1 is sacked at his 25 yardline. After A1 is down, B2 (a)piles on, or (b) stands over A1 and taunts him. Ruling 1: In NFHS, in either case, it will be fourth and five on team A’s 40 yardline. The penalties do not include a first down. In NCAA, because the penalties in (a)and (b) include an automatic first down, it will be first and 10 on team A’s 40 yardline.

Another rule difference involves contact against an eligible receiver. If an eligible team A receiver is illegally contacted beyond the neutral zone and the foul does not qualify as pass interference, the penalty is 10 yards from the previous spot. Only in NCAA does the penalty include an automatic first down (NFHS 7-5-10 Pen., 10-1-7; NCAA 9-3-4e Pen., AR 9-3-4 I).

Play 2: Third and 20 on team A’s 24 yardline. A1’s forward pass

Don Douglass, Lake Forest, Calif., indicates a foul for roughing the passer. That is one of the penalties in both codes that includes an automatic first down.

falls to the ground untouched and incomplete at his 48 yardline. Before the pass was released, B2 was flagged for holding eligible A3 at team A’s (a)32 yardline, or (b) 20 yardline. The penalty is accepted. Ruling 2: In NFHS, in (a) and (b), enforcement is 10 yards from the previous spot and the down is repeated, third and 10 on team A’s 34 yardline. In NCAA, the penalty is 10 yards from the previous spot in both. In (a) and (b), the 10-yard penalty and automatic first down yields first and 10 for team A from its 34 yardline.

When both teams commit liveball fouls and team B’s foul would normally give the opponent an automatic first down, that part of the enforcement does not apply.

Play 3: Third and 10 at team A’s 20 yardline. A1 is roughed by B2. A3 is flagged for holding on the play. The pass is incomplete. Ruling 3: The penalties offset and the down is replayed. B2’s roughing foul does not give team A an automatic first down.

If the penalty for team B’s live-ball foul includes a first down and a deadball foul occurs after the down, both penalties are enforced and the first down is awarded.

Play 4: Third and 10 from team A’s 20 yardline. A1 is roughed by B2. The pass is incomplete. After the ball is dead, A1 curses B2. Ruling 4: The penalties are enforced in order of their occurrence. The penalty for B2’s roughing foul moves the ball to team A’s 35 yardline and yields first and 10. The penalty for A1’s unsportsmanlike act is then enforced, resulting in first and 10 from team A’s 20 yardline.

The automatic first down aspect is not the only major difference in codes. When some team B fouls occur behind the previous spot, the difference in penalty enforcement philosophy between the codes becomes stark.

Play 5: Third down and 20 at team A’s 30 yardline. A1 is dropped attempting to pass at his 10 yardline. B2 grasps and twists A1’s facemask while making the tackle. Ruling 5: Under NFHS rules, the 15-yard penalty is enforced from the end of the run. Because there is no provision for an automatic first down, it will be third down and 25 at team A’s 25 yardline. In NCAA, the penalty is enforced from the previous spot and includes an automatic first down. That yields first down and 10 for team A at its 35 yardline.

If a series has already ended and a dead-ball foul occurs, the automatic first down has no bearing on the enforcement.

Play 6: Fourth down and 10 at team A’s 30 yardline. A1 is downed at his 25 yardline. After the ball is dead, B2 piles on. Ruling 6: In both codes, after enforcement of the 15-yard penalty for the dead-ball foul, team B will begin a new series from team A’s 40 yardline. The automatic first down in NCAA does not apply since the series had ended. Jeffrey Stern is Referee’s senior editor. He officiated high school and collegiate football. *

Defenseless Players Are Not Created Equal

By George Demetriou

The one common trait defenseless players possess is the inability to protect themselves from contact. Nonetheless the rules do not protect defenseless players from all contact. If we take that a step further and consider only forcible contact (to the exclusion of incidental contact), only a few categories of defenseless players are protected from all contact.

A defenseless player is one who because of his physical position and focus of concentration is especially vulnerable to injury (NFHS 2-32-16;

SIDELINE

Thursday Night Lights

To address a shortage of officials, the Tennessee Secondary Schools Athletic Association (TSSAA) will require a majority of football teams across the state to play at least one Thursday game during the regular season. “We asked every school to move one game to Thursday night in order to ease the tension,” TSSAA Assistant Executive Director Richard McWhirter said. “Even though we have 13,000 officials, not every official can call every Friday night. I might have 11 weeks of football, but an official may only do eight weeks.” Having high school teams play a game on Thursdays this season may be a short-term solution, but if the referee shortage continues, it will only present bigger challenges in the future.

SOURCE: WKRN.COM

BY THE NUMBERS

The average length of a BCS football game has increased steadily the last two decades. Game times for selected years: 2008 3:09 2010 3:12 2020 3:24

SOURCE: NCAA

DID YOU KNOW?

Ben Tompkins, an NFL official from 1971-90, played on the first back-toback College World Series championship baseball teams while at the University of Texas. After serving in the military, he played in the Philadelphia Phillies minor league system. In 1953, he was an all-star, rookie of the year and MVP for the Class B Three-I League Terre Haute (Ind.) Phillies. His career ended in 1959. As an official, he worked Super Bowls XIV and XVIII.

TEST YOURSELF

In each of the following you are given a situation and at least two possible answers. You are to decide which answer or answers are correct for NFHS and NCAA rules, which might vary. Note: In kicking situations, K is the kicking team, R the receiving team. Solutions: p. 85.

1. Defensive tackle B1 is engaged with guard A2 on a sweep. B1 grasps A2’s jersey and pulls him to one side, which allows B3 to shoot a gap and make the tackle. a. No problem. b. Foul on B1.

2. Team K’s ball fourth and eight from its own 30 yardline. K1’s untouched punt comes to rest on team R’s 25 yardline when R2 kicks the loose ball. R3 then recovers the ball on the ground at team R’s 32 yardline. R2 is flagged for illegally kicking the ball. a. PSK applies; the penalty is enforced from team R’s 25 yardline. b. PSK applies; the penalty is enforced from team R’s 32 yardline. c. PSK does not apply; the penalty is enforced from team K’s 32 yardline. d. The ball should have been blown dead when it came to rest.

3. R1 leaps and has both feet off the ground when he grabs K2’s previously untouched free kick near the sideline. R1 lands out of bounds at team R’s 30 yardline with the ball in his possession. a. Team K has caused the ball to go out of bounds. b. Team R has caused the ball to go out of bounds.

4. All team A players are set as A1 is calling signals. End A2, who is wearing number 77 and is in a three-point stance, slowly lifts the hand that was on the ground and moves to a wider position. Team A has four players in the backfield and five other players number 50-79. a. No problem. b. Illegal formation; a player wearing an ineligible’s number may never be on the end of the line. c. Illegal shift. d. False start.

5. Third and seven at team A’s 30 yardline. B1 is flagged for roughing the passer. B2 intercepts the pass, and fumbles on the return. A3 recovers and is tackled at team A’s 35 yardline. a. First and 10 for team A at its own 45 yardline. Clock starts on the ready. b. First and 10 for team A at its own 45 yardline. Clock starts on the snap. c. First and 10 for team A at the 50 yardline. Clock starts on the ready. d. First and 10 for team A at the 50 yardline. Clock starts on the snap. NCAA 2-27-14). The NFHS provides eight examples of defenseless players while the NCAA puts forth 10. The two sets of examples are similar but not exactly the same. Both codes make it clear defenseless players are not limited to the examples provided so any player can be construed to be defenseless.

Under NCAA rules only, defenseless players are protected from forcible contact to the head or neck area (9-1-4) and all players are protected from forcible contact by the crown of an opponent’s helmet (9-1-3). In NFHS, all players are protected from all types of targeting and spearing (9-4-3i, 9-4-3m). In both codes, all players are protected from acts of unnecessary roughness (NFHS 9-4-3g; NCAA 9-1). Other than those, the type of protection provided depends on the type of defenseless player; there is no generic penalty for “a hit on a defenseless player” and a defenseless player gets no additional protection than otherwise provided for in the rules.

Passer. A potential passer is a runner by definition and can be tackled with any physical contact allowed by rule. However, contact cannot be made after it is clear a pass has been thrown (NFHS 9-4-4; NCAA 9-1-9). Judgment should be based on whether the defender knew (or should have known) the ball had been released when the rusher arrived at a point where he could not avoid contact. A commonly accepted rule of thumb is, “One step, no foul; two steps, foul.” Regardless of the number of steps, the use of extended hands on a passer after the ball is released is considered a foul in recognition of the fact a rusher has much greater control of his arms than his legs.

In NCAA, it is also a foul if the passer is forcibly driven to the ground and the opponent lands on the passer with action that punishes the player. Additionally, it is a foul to hit the player forcibly at the knee area or below (qualifications and exceptions apply) (9-1-9a-4, 9-1-9b). A quarterback (not necessarily one who has thrown a pass) is considered a defenseless player after a change of possession.

Kicker. Surprisingly, NFHS rules do not list the kicker as a defenseless player, but certainly punters with their leg in the air are unable to protect themselves (all types of kickers and holders receive the same protection). The kicker is protected from all contact that is not incidental before he has had reasonable opportunity to regain his balance.

If the kicker is blocked, tackled or charged in a manner that endangers him, it is roughing, a 15-yard penalty with an automatic first down. Running into may be called if the kicker is displaced from his position but not roughed. That is a five-yard penalty without an automatic first down. When in doubt, the penalty is roughing (NFHS 9-4-5 Pen.; NCAA 9-1-16a Pen.).

The location of the contact on the kicker may be a factor. Torso contact usually results in the most severe blow. A distinction can also be made for leg contact. Generally, contact on the kicker’s plant leg deserves a roughing call. The lesser foul may be appropriate for contact on the kicking leg, depending on the severity of the contact. When a defender rolls under the kicker, if the kicker is not substantially dislodged or knocked to the ground, running into should be the call.

Punt returner. A player who has given a valid fair catch signal cannot be forcibly contacted. A player who has not signaled and has completed a catch or recovery and has not had time to protect himself or has not clearly become a ball carrier is also vulnerable, but may be cleanly tackled. In NFHS, such a receiver loses his protection once the ball is touched (6-5-6). Under NCAA rules, a player who muffs the kick is protected as long as he still has an opportunity to complete the catch (6-5-1b).

Grounded player. A player on the ground at the end of a play is defenseless. Protection is provided from any significant contact under the piling on rule (NFHS 9-4-3c; NCAA 9-1-7a).

Player obviously out of the play.

There is no football value in hitting a player who is obviously out of the play and cannot influence the outcome. Protection is provided from all significant contact (NFHS 9-4-3b; NCAA 9-1-12).

Blindside blocked player. A player who does not see the blocker approach

cannot be attacked with forcible contact in the open field unless it is with open hands (NFHS 9-4-3n; NCAA 9-1-18).

Stopped runner. A runner in the grasp of a tackler and whose forward progress has been stopped is unable to protect himself. It is a foul to contact such a player if the contact is judged to be a late hit (NFHS 9-4-3b; NCAA 9-1-7a). NCAA rules stipulate the ball is dead when a runner obviously begins a feet-first slide (4-1-3r).

Pass receiver. A receiver attempting to catch a forward pass or in position to receive a backward pass, or one who has completed a catch and has not had time to protect himself or has not clearly become a ball carrier is especially vulnerable particularly if he is airborne. Such receivers are contacted not only with the intent of a tackle, but also in an effort to cause an incomplete pass. There are no other rules which pertain specifically to receivers. George Demetriou has been a football official since 1968. He lives in Colorado Springs, Colo. *

Cade Younie, Snohomish, Wash., must rule if the receiver was defenseless and if the contact by the defender was forcible enough to merit a flag. A receiver attempting to catch a forward pass is unable to protect himself and merits special attention.

DON’T PASS ON THIS CALL!

NEW INTENTIONAL GROUNDING RULE IS NO THROW-AWAY RULE CHANGE

The biggest rule change of 2022 is fully explored in this new quick and easy-to-read guide from the editors of Referee magazine. All aspects of the often-controversial rule are analyzed with accompanying caseplays and best practices, including: magazine. All aspects of

Judging Intent Grounding Exceptions Spiking a Pass Rolling Starts

Additionally, other illegal passes are explained and dissected with Referee’s signature signature MechaniGrams® and PlayPics® including including enforcements and proper signaling. enforcements and proper signaling.

DIGITAL PRINT $395* $595*

COMBO $795

SIZE: 5.5”X8.5” 16 PAGES

bulk pricing available

CASEPLAYS

Movement on the Line

Play: Center A1 has guard A2 to his right. Tackle A3 is to the right of A2. B4 enters the neutral zone, causing A3 to lift his hand from his three-point stance. B4 approached the neutral zone (a) immediately in front of A2, or (b) in the gap between A1 and A2. Ruling: In both cases, under NFHS rules, B4 encroached as soon as he entered the neutral zone (7-1-6). Under NCAA rules, B4 is guilty of a dead-ball offside foul in (a). In (b), it is a false start on A3 because he was not a threatened player. A maximum of three offensive players can be threatened by a defensive player. If the team B lineman enters the neutral zone directly opposite a team A lineman, that lineman and the two adjacent linemen are considered to be threatened. If he enters a gap between two team A linemen, only those players are considered to be threatened (7-14a-1).

Kick Try Comes Up Short

Play: Team K’s kick try comes up short. R1 catches the ball in the end zone and advances to team R’s 40 yardline. During the run, R2 clips in the end zone. Is that a safety? Ruling: In NFHS play, the ball was dead as soon as it broke the plane of the goalline and it was apparent the kick would fail (4-2-2d-2). If the game were played under NCAA rules, penalties for fouls other than flagrant personal fouls, unsportsmanlike conduct fouls, dead-ball personal fouls and live-ball fouls treated as dead-ball fouls that occur after a change of possession on a try are ignored (8-3-4a).

Pass Interference

Play: Fourth and goal on team B’s two yardline. Team A runs a pick play, in which the tight end blocks a defensive back and another receiver cuts inside the block to the end zone. A subsequent pass is incomplete. Team A is flagged for offensive interference. Ruling: Under both codes, team B will decline the penalty and begin a new series from the previous spot. There is no loss of down provision for offensive pass interference. Even though declining the penalty will leave team B with less-than-ideal field position to start a new series, that’s preferable to giving team A another chance to score.

Believe It: Two Wrongs Make One Foul

Several fouls are based on the idea that a forward pass was legal. But if the pass is illegal, what would otherwise be a foul may not be a foul.

An example is illustrated here. In PlayPic A, early contact results in an official throwing a flag for defensive pass interference. At the same time, an official rules the passer was beyond the neutral zone (PlayPic B). Because interference only applies to legal forward passes, only the penalty for the illegal forward pass is enforced. *

A

NEUTRAL ZONE

B

NEW ONLINE DIGITAL STUDY GUIDES AVAILABLE THROUGH YOUR PHONE OR TABLET football training on the go! THROUGH YOUR PHONE OR TABLET$1995 ONLY for the set of 8 Ref smarter all season long with the Insider Series! These quick-hitting multimedia guides feature video, interactive graphics and much more. For one low price, you’ll get a full year’s worth of up-to-theminute info delivered every few weeks throughout your season. Topics include:New 2022 Rule Changes What is and What Isn’t Pass Interference Interior Line Play In-Depth The Priorities of Sideline Management Much More!

ORDER TODAY AT STORE. /football

Observing Wingback on a Scoring Kick

When using NFHS five-official mechanics, who watches the wingback on the open side of the field to ensure any blocks he throws are legal?

The line judge and back judge are behind the goalposts to rule on the kick. The referee’s back is to the open side.

The linesman is responsible for watching the blocking by the widest players on the right side of the formation (the right tackle, tight end and wingback). The umpire must watch action on and by the snapper, as well as the left guard and tackle.

The referee watches the guards, then shifts focus to the holder and kicker.

That leaves the left tight end and wingback to the official under the posts on that side of the formation. In the MechaniGram, that’s the line judge. Although the look will not be ideal since the line judge is approximately 20 yards from the line, there are simply more players to watch than three officials can reasonably handle. The line judge must observe the two widest team K p layers on that side. *

5 MINUTES WITH STEVE MATARANTE

Communication skills to master along the sideline.

Resides: Long Beach Island, N.J. Age: 59 | Experience: College official since 1992. Worked Colonial Conference, Ivy and Patriot leagues before joining the Big East for six years. Moved to the Big Ten for four seasons before being hired by the Atlantic Coast Conference.

REFEREE: As a head line-judge, how much do you communicate with coaches on the sideline?

MATARANTE: I like to communicate with coaches so I do it a lot. But it’s not a requirement for everybody to do that. But I might hear something on the sideline from the assistant coach talking to another coach. Or maybe they yelled something out to one of my crewmates. And I want to see if I can fix that miscommunication or misinterpretation or misunderstanding. So I’ll sort of seek out communication sometimes. I don’t just wait to be addressed by a coach.

REFEREE: Sideline officials have their backs to the coaches. How often do you try to make eye contact with people on the sideline?

MATARANTE: A lot. Obviously you can’t do it during a play. In a game on television, you’re going to have commercial breaks and there are scores, so you have time to get over and communicate. But if it’s between plays and you’ve got a split second to make an impression, it’s good if you’re looking into their eyes.

REFEREE: At the amateur level, so many officials are reluctant to enforce the rules regarding the sideline, keeping people out of the white. How can you convince them to enforce those rules?

MATARANTE: I’ll remind them repeatedly. But if I’m in danger of making contact with any of them or them making contact with them making contact with me, it takes a much me, it takes a much more aggressive more aggressive approach. “Listen, if approach. “Listen, if I bump into you or I bump into you or you bump into me you bump into me during the course during the course of a play, it’s a foul of a play, it’s a foul for 15 yards.” for 15 yards.” Whether I’m Whether I’m saying something clever or funny or whatever, it’s something I’ve got to address. “I don’t think the head coach is going to be happy with you if you cost this team 15 yards,” something like that. The other thing I like to say to them is, “You might be in the white and I miss a call because I’m worried about running into you, that might hurt your team.” Never mind giving them a flag. So that’s another way that they seem to understand and they’ll adjust once you make comments like that.

REFEREE: Do you use a lot of verbal warnings?

MATARANTE: They might not require any verbal warnings, and then all of a sudden some coach comes out and he’s right in the way. You can’t allow certain things to happen without a penalty, depending on the act. But in certain situations I don’t mind waving them back, getting on them. It’s a high-intensity game. You’ve got to allow some latitude. At every level you’ve got to allow some latitude. But if the offense is bad enough, it’s a foul without warning.

REFEREE: Do you find get-back coaches to be effective?

MATARANTE: In most cases, yes. I’ll seek them out sometimes and say, “I need you to work with me.” But in a lot of cases they’re pretty effective, whether they’re telling a coach to get back or actually grabbing them by the belt and pulling them back.

REFEREE: If a get-back coach is failing miserably, will you report him to the head coach?

MATARANTE: One hundred percent. I don’t necessarily know that I’ll blame the get-back coach. I will tell the head coach we’re not very disciplined over here and it’s going to cost the team.

REFEREE: Do you have what we might call a hierarchy of tolerance — the leash is longer for the head coach versus assistants and athletic trainers, etc.?

MATARANTE: If we’re talking about communication absolutely. If we’re talking about getting on the field, it doesn’t really matter who it is. If the head coach is out there by the numbers screaming and yelling at us, we’ve got to have a flag. But from a standpoint of communication I definitely allow the head coach a lot more latitude. But an assistant coach or an athletic trainer I probably am less lenient.

This article is from: