20 minute read

SOFTBALL

Next Article
VOLLEYBALL

VOLLEYBALL

CONFERENCE CALLS

Know the Rule Differences, Track Them Accurately

By Brad Tittrington

Conferences occur in every game. It is extremely important for umpires to understand the rule differences between the codes to know what is and isn’t allowed. It is also just as important to track the conferences to keep everyone out of trouble.

First, let’s take a look at the rules regarding conferences, as some codes have changed rules over the past year.

Offensive Conferences

All four codes are similar when it comes to charged offensive conferences. A team is allowed a maximum of one charged offensive conference per half inning. Whether a team uses its conference to relay a message to the batter, a runner, both, or multiple coaches want to get together to talk strategy, only one conference may be used per half inning. Any subsequent request for an offensive conference in an inning shall not be permitted (NFHS 3-7-2; NCAA 6.12.18; USA Softball 5-7a; USSSA 4-8b).

NCAA rules have additional stipulations. In NCAA play, a team may have a maximum of seven combined offensive and defensive conferences involving team representatives per regulation game. In extra innings, a team is allowed one charged offensive conference per extra inning.

Defensive Conferences

NFHS, USA Softball and USSSA handle them similarly. A team is granted a maximum of three defensive conferences per seven-inning game. There is no limit on how many of those three a coach may use in any inning. For example, a team could use all three defensive conferences in one inning, without penalty. After a team has used its allotted three conferences, any additional conferences will result in the pitcher being removed from the pitching position for the remainder of the game. In extra innings, a team is granted one defensive conference per inning without penalty. Any additional defensive conference in the same inning requires the pitcher to be removed for the remainder of the game (NFHS 3-71; USA Softball 5-7b; USSSA 4-8a).

NCAA rules differ. A defensive team is entitled to only one charged team representative conference during the half inning. A team is allowed one additional conference for each pitcher entered into the pitching position who has not yet pitched in that inning. However, a team is still only allowed seven total charged conferences in a regulation game (defensive and

When coaches or players request a conference, it is important for umpires to mark it down in their lineup card. Umpires must know the differences in rules between codes and accurately track conferences in order to prevent penalties.

Mike Fingar, Woodinville, Wash.

offensive combined). There is never a penalty assessed to a pitcher if a team initiates an unallowed conference. Instead, the team representative or player who initiates the conference is immediately ejected (6.12.7 and Eff.). In extra innings, a team is granted one charged defensive team conference per inning, regardless of pitching changes.

Player-to-Player Conferences (NCAA Only)

This past season, NCAA adopted a rule to limit the amount of playerto-player conferences. In addition to the seven team representative conferences allowed, a team is allowed a maximum of two playerto-player conferences per inning, with a maximum of seven total in a regulation game. For each extra inning, a team is allowed a maximum of one charged player-to-player conference (6.12.9). The rule change was adopted to speed up pace of play. The other three codes have no rule restrictions on these types of conferences.

Tracking Conferences

It is imperative umpires track all conferences to avoid allowing a team to go over the limit. Umpires can use the back of each team’s lineup card to write down the conferences or they can create a sheet and carry it in their lineup card holder. Creating a sheet and keeping it in the lineup card holder allows umpires to have a “cheat sheet” that is easily reviewable in case the umpire forgets the rules regarding limits in that particular code for that day. At a minimum, the plate umpire should track the conferences. Some NCAA coordinators require at least a minimum of one base umpire to track the changes as well and some coordinators require all umpires on the field to track them. Having base umpires track creates a system of checks and balances, but it also allows base umpires to prevent unallowable conferences before they start if the plate umpire is otherwise occupied and may not see the request for a conference.

At the end of the day, the most important thing is to have everyone on the same page when it comes to conferences. Once a coach has used up all conferences in an inning or a game, the umpire should notify the team representative (or the player if it is a player-to-to player conference) the team is out of conferences for that inning or game. This preventive umpiring measure will help keep a team from having to remove a pitcher too early, potentially, or save a coach from being ejected. This is especially true in long innings when a coach may forget about taking a conference earlier in the inning. Stop a coach from taking an unallowed conference to prevent a lot of headaches. Brad Tittrington is an associate editor for Referee. He umpires D-I softball and officiates women’s college and high school basketball, college and high school volleyball and high school football. *

DID YOU KNOW?

Three states require pitchers and corner infielders to wear a protective facemask during high school competitions: Kentucky, Missouri and Montana.

QUICKTIP

Each umpire should take care of bringing his or her own refreshments to the field. Do not

rely on teams to provide you with water or Gatorade during

the game. While it is expected at some levels for the home team trainers to bring water between innings, it is better to be prepared by bringing your own than go an entire game without something to drink. Bring your own bottle and store it in dead-ball territory away from the teams to prevent getting dehydrated or constantly having to ask someone in the dugout to bring you water.

THEY SAID IT

“I don’t think I’ll fully understand and appreciate it until I’ve actually retired and stepped away. It’s a little bit surreal. Even going back and watching a replay of it through a different lens of not being right there in the middle of the action, it’s an incredible thing to see 12,000-plus people at a softball event. The thing that blows me away about that event — most of the time during the regular season, the home stadium is packed with home fans and there’ll be a scattering of visiting fans here or there. But at the World Series there in Oklahoma City, the majority of the fans there are just softball fans. They’re there from all over the country. It’s great for the softball community, and it’s an incredible showcase for the game at the highest level on that stage.” at the highest level on that stage.” –Chris Nabors, WCWS Nabors, WCWS umpire, on umpire, on what it means what it means to work on to work on the game’s the game’s biggest stage. biggest stage.

SOURCE: BRENTWOOD (TENN.) HOMEPAGE

TEST YOURSELF

Each of the following includes a situation and possible answer(s). Decide which are correct for USA, NFHS, NCAA or USSSA rules and which might vary. Solutions: p. 85

1. As F1 begins her windup, B1 asks the plate umpire for time. The plate umpire ignores the request. F1 releases the pitch and B1 backs out of the batter’s box. a. The plate umpire should call no pitch. b. The plate umpire should call the pitch a strike, no matter the location. c. The plate umpire should rule the pitch a ball or strike, depending on the location of the pitch. d. The plate umpire should call B1 out for disconcertion.

2. With no outs and R1 on first, B2 hits a sharp ground ball to F6. The ball takes a bad hop and hits off F6’s glove and travels inside the top opening of F6’s jersey. F6 immediately reaches into the jersey, retrieves the ball and tosses it to F4 at second base, ahead of R1 sliding in. a. The ball remains live and R1 is out on the force out at second base. b. The ball is immediately dead. R1 is awarded second base and B2 is awarded first. c. The ball is immediately dead. R1 is awarded third base and B2 is awarded second base. d. The ball is immediately dead and umpires will place runners at the bases they judge are merited.

3. With an 0-1 count, F1 delivers a second strike to B1. F2, thinking it was the third strike on the batter, throws the ball to third base. a. No penalty. b. The batter is awarded a ball, making the count 1-2. No other penalty is applied. c. The batter is awarded a ball, making the count 1-2, and the catcher is given a warning. The next time the ball is not returned directly to the pitcher, the offender shall be ejected. d. The defensive team is given a warning and the next offense shall result in a ball being awarded to the batter.

4. In the top of the third inning, a player arrives late to the game. The player’s head coach approaches the plate umpire and wishes to add the player to the eligible substitute portion of the lineup card. a. Legal. The player is listed as an eligible substitute without penalty. b. Legal. The player is listed as an eligible substitute, but the head coach is given a team warning. c. The player is ineligible to play in the game.

Catch and Release

No matter how long you’ve umpired, there is one specific play that most likely will give you pause when you encounter it.

The play involves a force out that is quickly followed by a collision, either with a runner or the base, and the ball pops loose. It is one of those plays that doesn’t happen in every game, but it happens enough that it is important to talk about the correct ruling on these types of plays.

The place where this play most likely will occur is at first base. Any time you have a pitcher or second baseman covering the bag on a ball fielded by the first baseman or you have a first baseman diving into first to beat a speedy runner to the bag, this situation may rear its head. It may also happen when a poor throw causes the first baseman to catch the ball behind them.

First, let’s take a look at a collision with a player. What is the correct ruling when this happens? The answer is it depends. The ruling is dependent on how the ball was released. In a situation where the fielder already possesses and controls the ball and is moving toward the base, the instant the fielder touches the bag, the runner is out. In a situation where the ball and runner are all arriving around the same time, the umpire must determine when the fielder lost the ball. If the umpire determines the fielder controlled the ball and showed control prior to losing the ball due to collision, the runner is out. However, if the ball is dislodged

On force plays when the fielder catches the ball and subsequently releases the ball because of a collision with the fielder or the bag, it is important for umpires to sell

the call. TC Castro, Fontana, Calif.

and release was not voluntary nor a secondary move, the batter-runner would be safe.

It is important for umpires to understand the likelihood coaches are going to question the out when they see the ball lying on the ground. Coaches will confuse the force out with the rules regarding a catch, in which a fielder making a catch on a batted ball must maintain control of the ball through contact with the ground, fence, another player, etc. When it comes to a force out, the fielder already had control of the ball and made contact with the bag. So the timing element is a little different.

5 MINUTES WITH ERNIE YARBROUGH

Georgia High School Association (GHSA) assistant executive director discusses rules regarding pitcher’s footwork.

Resides: Canton, Ga. Experience: Associate director for the GHSA since 2002; member of the NFHS Softball Rules Committee; involved with fastpitch softball for more than 50 years as a player, coach and administrator; serves as the Georgia State and Southeast Regional Junior Olympic Commissioner for USA Softball; inducted into the Georgia Softball Hall of Fame in 2016 and coached the USA Girls’ Junior National team in the 2019 Pan Am Games; former operator of the Georgia Academy of Softball for 30 years.

REFEREE: There’s been a lot of talk in all the codes about pitching rules. USA Softball and USSSA currently allow leaping. From your perspective, how does leaping impact a pitcher’s performance?

YARBROUGH: First of all, let me say the word that got everyone’s attention and always has is leaping, as opposed to disengagement from the playing field — which we hoped people would understand. If you want to call it leaping — the actual pushing off and leaping — there is no advantage. It’s been proven there is no or very little difference that a pitcher obtains once they push off from the pitcher’s plate, whether they keep the pivot foot in contact or both feet disengage. The term that people are fearful of is the replant. They establish a second point after they have left the pitcher’s plate … to push off a second time. That in itself is illegal and the one most people are most fearful of if we allow both feet off the playing surface during the delivery of the pitch.

REFEREE: There’s often confusion about leaping and crow hopping. What is the difference in layman’s terms?

YARBROUGH: The leap is when both feet are disengaged prior to delivery of the pitch. The crow hop is the replant. The crow hop, they push off, disengage and then prior to the pitch, establish a second point to push off a second time. That’s the crow hop that most people understand as a replant.

REFEREE: Is there a way umpires can quickly identify if a pitcher is leaping versus crow hopping?

YARBROUGH: I think there is. lt’s easy to tell. You can look at videos available on YouTube or other training material. It’s really easy to see when a replant takes place, than just the pivot foot and stride foot not in contact with the playing surface during delivery. Part of what we addressed a couple of years ago is many times by the second or third inning of a game, there is a discernible hole in front of the pitcher’s plate. It’s virtually impossible to leave the pivot foot down during the delivery. That’s why we established umpires should recognize that and not call it an illegal pitch.

REFEREE: As a former high-level pitcher and pitching coach, how difficult is it for pitchers to adjust between codes when one allows leaping and one doesn’t?

YARBROUGH: It will be difficult for them to adjust. The pitching coaches of this generation, they want pitchers to be aggressive with the lower part of the body. Most are teaching some form of mechanics where both feet are disengaged prior to delivery. It’s extremely difficult at the high school level. If you watched the (WCWS), a number of them there, by rule, could have been called illegal in that the majority of them were illegal at some point in time. Both feet disengaged with the playing surface prior to delivery of the ball. It will be difficult in states like Georgia. USA Softball allows it and wrote a rule and code that allows it to be permissible. In states like Georgia or Oklahoma that play in the fall, you’ve got pitchers playing in tournaments since February, and now 80-100 games later, now pitchers have to change their pitching mechanics.

REFEREE: Pitchers are very good and quick with their feet and illegal pitches can be hard to recognize. What is your recommendation to umpires?

YARBROUGH: If you are 100 percent sure, you’ve got to call whatever the rule is. Don’t be 5 percent sure; don’t guess. The term I used for years and used when I officiated college basketball and taught different officials — if you think it was, it wasn’t. You’ve got to know it was.

CASEPLAYS

Option Play?

Play: With R1 on first and one out, B3 bats with an 0-0 count. F1 steps onto the pitching plate with the hands together. During F1’s motion, but prior to delivering the pitch, R1 leaves first base early to try to steal second base. The pitch is delivered for a strike and F2 throws the ball to F6, who tags R1 out before R1 reaches second base. Ruling: In NFHS, USA Softball and USSSA, F1 is guilty of an illegal pitch, which is a delayed dead ball. However, the play is dead when R1 leaves first early. “No pitch” shall be declared and all action after that is canceled. R1 is ruled out for leaving early and a ball is added to B3’s count for the illegal pitch. B3 remains at bat with a 1-0 count and two outs (NFHS 6-1-1a, 8-6-18 Pen., 8.6.21; USA Softball 6A-1a, 6A-11, 8-7s Eff., March 2008 Interp.; USSSA 6-1a, 6-3, 8-18k, Feb. 2018 Interp.). In NCAA, this is an option play. The illegal pitch is addressed first, and the offense has the option of taking the result of the play (runner out and a strike on the batter) or taking the effect of the illegal pitch (a ball on the batter and the runner returned to first base). The latter is the obvious choice here. Next, the defense has the choice of enforcing the illegal pitch (since that is the option the offense took) or taking the penalty for R1 leaving early (R1 is out and the batter remains at bat with an 0-0 count). The latter is the obvious choice, so R1 is ruled out and B3 remains at bat with two outs and an 0-0 count (10.1.1a, 10.8, 12.14.2 Pen., AR 12-36).

Double First Base

Play: The umpires arrive to a turf field that has a double first base in place. Ruling: In NFHS, a double first base may be utilized by state association adoption. If the state adopts the double first base, the base may remain. If not, the safety base should be removed and the peg covered for safety (1-2-1 Note). In NCAA, the double first base may never be used and the safety base should be removed and the peg covered for safety (2.7, AR 2-5). In USA Softball, the double first base must be used for all levels (2-3h). In USSSA, a double first base may be used, but is not required. The umpires may leave it as is and would be covered by rule (1-2c, Feb. 2018 Interp.)

The only thing the umpire has to determine is whether or not the player had control of the ball prior to the collision. If the ball and runner all arrive at the same time, the odds are the fielder did not have control. However, if the ball enters the glove, and there is time between the catch and the collision, the runner is most likely out.

The same is true when a fielder dives to a bag to beat a runner. There have been several instances when a fielder fields the ball, puts the ball in the throwing hand and lunges for a bag. If a fielder has the ball in the hand, secures it and touches a base prior to the runner getting there, then the ball is dislodged after touching the bag, the force out still counts. At the exact moment the fielder touched the bag, the runner is out. The only thing the umpire must determine is if the fielder had control of the ball before touching the base. If the fielder did, the runner is out, and subsequent action doesn’t matter in terms of the runner being out or safe.

More than likely on these types of plays, a coach is going to ask the calling umpire to get help. There is no harm in this in that these plays don’t happen all that often and it is important to make sure all information is obtained to get the call right. Another umpire may have a different angle that shows the ball was never controlled by the fielder or that umpire may be able to confirm control was established by the fielder prior to contact, which the calling umpire may not have seen as the focus was on the fielder’s and runner’s feet and not the ball in the glove.

Either way, it is important for the calling umpire to sell this call. This is not an ordinary safe or out call and indecision on the call will lead to more discussion. Familiarize yourself with the rules on force outs and nail this call when it happens in your game. *

Batter-Runner Beware

When a batter hits the ball down the first-base line, a lot of things can happen. One of those things is interference. All four rule codes are clear on what constitutes the batter interfering with the fielder. In general, a batter-runner creates interference by denying a defensive player a reasonable opportunity to make a play (NFHS 8-2-7; NCAA 12.17.1.3; USA Softball 8-2f-1; USSSA8-18g).

One specific scenario where interference is likely to happen is on a batted ball up the first-base line and the first baseman comes in to field the ground ball (as shown in the PlayPic on the next page). The first baseman must be given the opportunity to make the initial play on the ball and the batter-runner must avoid the fielder. The batterrunner in this situation has a couple of options to avoid interference on this play. The batter-runner can run farther to the right or left to avoid the fielder or the batter-runner can slow down and wait until the fielder fields the ball before trying to advance toward first base. The one thing the batter-runner may not do is run through the fielder.

If the fielder is making an initial play on the ball, the batter-runner must avoid the fielder. Whether the act is intentional or not, if the batter-runner makes contact with the fielder trying to field the ball on the initial play, the batter-runner is out for interference and the ball is dead. In NFHS, USA Softball and USSSA, any runners on base must return to the last base legally touched at the time of interference. In NCAA, runners are returned to the base occupied at the time of pitch.

One area that often confuses umpires and coaches on this play is the three-foot running lane. The lane has no bearing on this play. The batter-runner is not protected on this play simply for running inside

the lane, nor is the batter-runner out for being outside of the lane in order to avoid contacting the fielder. The running lane only matters on a throw to first base and has no impact on this particular situation.

When umpiring this situation, the plate umpire most likely will be the one enforcing the interference and will have the best look down the line. If the contact occurs closer to first base, the base umpire may have a better look at it. In general, though, this type of play is going to happen either on a bunt or a weak ground ball up the line and will be closer to home plate. The base umpire (especially if there are runners on base) will have no angle to see the contact and accurately judge the play.

One final thing to judge on this play is the extent of the contact. If the batter-runner raises the arms or lowers the shoulder in an attempt to punish the fielder, the runner will also be ejected on top of being ruled out for the interference. *

SIZE: 5.5”x8.5” PAGES: 60

This article is from: