Old Towne Orange Plaza Review | Issue 112 | Nov-Dec 2022

Page 1

Start a Tradition!

Available for Private Events

Celebrating 10 Years in

oTo !

Comprehensive

Eye Care

Classes make Great Gifts & Holiday Memories dragonflyshopsandgardens.com

or 10% OFF any other Clock or Repair.

260 North Glassell St. Wed-Fri: 11 - 6 / Sat: 9-5 / Sun: 11- 4

Tel: 714- 289-4689

(714) Husband & Wife:

Dr. Alex Romero & Dr. Ly Nguyen

227 East Chapman Ave #C Old Towne Orange, CA 92866 / 714 - 538-6424

“To be or not to be a

Vegetarian”

A Healthy Alternative to Traditional Restaurant Offerings. Mon - Wed: 10:30 am - 5 pm

264 North Glassell St. 714-633-3260

Thu - Sat: 10:30 am - 8 pm

Resident Old Towne Specialist

Since 1949

Orange’s #1 Home Seller O ra n g e R e alty .com Old To w n e O r an ge .com

714- 997-0050 x 101

100 OFF any G RANDFATHER C LOCK in Stock

$

921-8397

1610 North Tustin St. Orange Mantel / Wall / Cuckoo / Animated / Musical Desk / Kit Cat / Anniversary / Ship


I N S I D E A RT : S t o r y o n p a g e 2 4

“ A Q u i e t S e l f - C o n f i d e n c e ” b y J i m Ty l e r , 2 0 2 2 Soft pastel on sanded paper / Collection of the artist

On view through Dec . 3 at the H i l b e r t M u s e u m o f C a l i fo r n i a A r t at Chapman Univer sity, i n t h e e x h i b i t i o n “ Vo i c e s i n Pa s t e l : Pa s t e l S o c i e t y o f t h e We s t C o a s t ”


w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a d v e r t i s e r s

November / December

2022

3


Happy Holidays from Our Family to Yours! Smoqued BBQ for all of your Holiday Catering Needs

128 North Glassell St / 714.633.7427 SmoquedBBQ .com

Enjoy “Brunch at the Brewery”

Bottomless Mimosas Offering Several Brunch Options! A full 3 course brunch, brunch ala carte & our famous 1886 Brunchuterie .

Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 10 am - 2 pm / 114 North Glassell St. 4

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a d v e r t i s e r s

November / December

2022

5


Your Neighborhood Realtors BEN WILLITS / CALBRE #0185881

SUSIE WILLITS / CALBRE #01852527

DOUG WILLITS / CALBRE #01787611

# 1 BROKERAGE IN ORANGE *

Visit us at our Old Towne Orange Location at 229 North Glassell St. for Professional Representation. Call us today: 714-315-8120

Buy / Sell / Lease Specializing in Orange & Surrounding Communities * Results based on production from office located in zip code displayed. Data provided by California Regional Multiple Listing Service and its member Associations of REALTORS, who are not responsible for its accuracy. Analysis dates are 12/01/19 though 11/30/2020. Does not reflect all activity in the Marketplace. Analysis results © 2020 Real Data Strategies, Inc., under license to Lalapoint, LLC and named MLS member firms. All rights reserved. License #00745605

dougw@sevengables.com • swillits@sevengables.com • benw @ sevengables.com 6

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a d v e r t i s e r s

November / December

2022

7


Since 2001

Old Towne Orange PLAZAREVIEW

From the Publisher As 2022 comes to a close, I reflect on how grateful I am to have enjoyed another year of publishing the Old Towne Orange Plaza Review. For more than two decades now, I have with great pride shared in this publication the stories of the many individuals, businesses and organizations that make Orange such a pleasant and unique place to live. I am especially appreciative of the Plaza Review’s advertising friends. It is thanks to their support that we are able to bring the City of Orange and its numerous amenities alive within these pages. My heartfelt thanks go to those business owners who create a vibrant network of places where you can partake in excellent services, enjoy good food and drink and find one-of-a-kind items. For their continued support over the years, thanks go to Country Roads Antiques & Gardens, Knox General Insurance Brokers, Summerhill Ltd. Antiques & Design, Shannon Family Mortuary, Caliber Real Estate Group, Willits Real Estate Group, Jadtec Security, 1886 Brewing Company, O’Haras Pub, Orangeland RV Park, Titan Automotive, Villa Ford of Orange, Orange Home Grown Farmers and Artisans Market, Zito’s New York Style Pizza, and many more. As you enjoy this issue of the Plaza Review, consider using the services of our many advertiser friends. In this and all issues, you can find just about any merchant you may need. Frequenting these establishments helps our local Orange community and economy. With this year concluding and many holiday festivities and traditions to look forward to, I wish you and yours a season of renewed faith, hopes and dreams. Happy Holidays to you and yours,

What’s Happening

. . .

NOVEMBER 2022 Sat / Nov 5 / 10 am - 5 pm Country Roads Antiques & Gardens Annual Holiday Open House Join us in a celebration of the most wonderful time of the year! Holiday décor, refreshments, raffles, workshops, entertainment, good cheer & more! 216 West Chapman Ave / 714-532-3041 www.Facebook.com/CountryRoadsAntiques Sat - Sat / Nov 5 - 12 / 10 am - 8 pm Community Foundation of Orange Orange Field of Valor In support of our local veterans, active duty military & their families. Nov 5 / 3 pm - Opening Ceremonies Handy Park: 2143 East Oakmont Ave 714-288-9909 www.CommunityFoundationOfOrange.org Sun / Nov 6 / 2 - 4 pm SEEDS Full Circle Gallery, Artist Reception Muralist Moses Ball with the Christian Comic Arts Society. Free exhibit and open to the public through Dec 31. Full Circle Meaningful Marketplace 140 South Glassell St / 909-929-1390 www.SeedsFineArt.org

Tue / Nov 8 / 7 - 9 pm Chapman University Holocaust Lecture Series Fragments of Memory: New Lenses on the Holocaust. An Interfaith Service of Remembrance for Kristallnacht. Exclusionary Violence: Reflections on the Kristallnacht Pogroms. Fish Interfaith Center / 714-628-7377 www.Chapman.edu/holocausteducation Fri / Nov 11 / 2 pm City of Orange, Veterans Day Tribute Honoring all who served with patriotic music & inspirational speeches. Depot Park: 100 North Atchison St 714-744-7278 / www.cityoforange.org Sat / Nov 12 / 11 am - 5 pm 10th Annual OHS Pub Crawl All classes welcome, no cover, featuring special guest DJ Richard Blade & OC’s Best Cover Band “The Reflexx” LIVE. Afterwards, the Panthers will prowl to other local pubs until 7pm. 1886 Brewery Co. 114 North Glassell www.Facebook.com/events/ 1027369887958826

Sincerely, Mike Escobedo 134 South Glassell St. / Orange, CA 92866 714 - 771 - 6919 Mike@OrangeReview.com

“ News For The Neighborhood ” Old Towne Orange Plaza Review © 2022 Mike Escobedo Design. All rights reserved. The material herein contained cannot be reproduced in whole or in part without the written permission of Mike Escobedo Design.

www. OrangeReview .com Tue Mtg: 7:00 - 8:30 am

8

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

Wed Mtg: 6:00 - 7:00 pm

Thu Mtg: Noon - 1:30 pm

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


!

Around the Plaza DECEMBER 2022 Sat / Nov 12 / 5:30 - 7:30 pm Old Towne Preservation Association The Art of Wine: Wine Tasting Gala Wil Dee, owner of Old Towne’s Haven & Provisions restaurant & the Chapman Brewery, will serve as curator, creating a collection of interesting wines from California’s most exceptional vineyards. Hilbert Museum of California Art 213-215-5555 / www.OTPA.org Wed / Nov 16 / 5 pm Chapman University Winterfest & Doy's Tree-Lighting Live performances of holiday music, dramatic storytelling, tree lighting, Santa & snow. Free for the entire family. Attallah Piazza / 714-628-2750 chapman.edu/events/winterfest.aspx Sat / Nov 19 / 10 am - 11 pm 1886 Brewing Two Year Anniversary Celebrate with us, as we thank you, for your support in making our first two years in Old Towne Orange such an enjoyable success. 114 North Glassell St / 714-922-8130 www.1886BrewingCo.com

Thu / Dec 1 Miss City of Orange, Deadline to Enter Accepting contestant applications via website through Dec 1. www.MissCityOfOrange.com Thu / Dec 1 / 12 - 5 pm St. John’s Lutheran Church The Merry & Bright Christmas Market Shop for unique crafts, gifts & boutique items for Christmas. Walker Hall: 184 South Shaffer St 714-288-4406 / www.stjohnsorange.org

Fri & Sat / Dec 9 & 10 St. John’s Lutheran Church The Sounds of Christmas “Come and See the Shining Star!” Come and hear the beautiful story of the birth of Jesus, as told through glorious, epic and heartfelt Christmas music! 185 South Center St / 714-288-4431 stjohnsorange.org/events

134 South Glassell St / Orange 92866

Nov/Dec 2022

Publishing Team

Publisher Mike Escobedo Mike@OrangeReview.com Editor/Writer Julie Bawden-Davis julie@juliebawdendavis.com Writer Karen Anderson

Tue / Dec 13 / 3 pm Chapman University, Economic Forecast Hear James L. Doti, Ph.D. & his team of expert economists present what’s in store for inflation, the housing market, interest rates & other big economic issues in 2023. Musco Center: 415 North Glassell St 714-997-6812 economicforecast.chapman.edu

123karen@earthlink.net Writer Nathan Carter nathan.travis.carter@gmail.com Writer Yuki Klotz-Burwell klotz105@mail.chapman.edu Writer Sheri Ledbetter sledbetter@socal.rr.com Writer George A. Paul BritPopGeo@sbcglobal.net Writer Melissa Pinion-Whitt

Sun / Dec 4 / 3:00 - 7 pm City of Orange Tree Lighting Ceremony Evening of holiday cheer & family fun. Plaza Square / 714-744-5599 www.cityoforange.org Fri & Sat / Dec 9 & 10 / 8 - 9:30 pm Chapman University 58th Annual Holiday Wassail Concert A magnificent concert of holiday season favorites performed by Chapman University College of the Performing Arts Musco Center: 415 North Glassell St 714-997-6812 / events.chapman.edu

Sat / Dec 17 / 11 am - 5 pm Hilbert Museum of California Art Opening of The Hilbert Temporary Opening Exhibit “All Aboard: The Romance of California’s Railroads” 216 East Chapman Ave 714-516-5880 / www.HilbertMuseum.com

AuthorMelissaWhitt@gmail.com Writer Mary Platt platt@chapman.edu Photographer Kristin Smetona info@smetonaphoto.com Digital Artist Clyde San Juan crookedtrails@hotmail.com Web Developer Chase Higgins

Thu / Dec 22 / 7:30 pm Musco Center for the Arts, Nochebuena Ballet Folklórico de Los Angeles & Mariachi Garibaldi de Jaime Cuéllar 415 North Glassell St / 844-626-8726 www.MuscoCenter.org CONTINUED ON PAGE 29

chasehiggins@me.com Printed by Reed Printing estella@reedprinting.com Processed by Mailing Pros, Inc. MPI@MailingProsInc.com Distributed by the US Postal Services www.usps.com

129 North Glassell St w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

714.997.8697

TiddlywinksOC.com

November / December

2022

9


10

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


NEW TO THE NEIGHBORHOOD by Yuki Klotz-Burwell

A Season of Byblos Cafe

STARBUCKS

®

/

SmetonaPhoto.com

As the leaves change and fall quickly begins to settle in Orange, the businesses in Old Towne are also embarking on a season of change. Here we feature restaurants new and old, and share how Byblos Cafe, Chipotle Mexican Grill and Hector’s on the Circle are open to welcome new guests.

PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

After 33 years, Byblos Cafe owners Adel and Zelfa Mahshi have retired, but the longstanding and local favorite restaurant will continue to operate under new ownership. In July, Byblos Cafe reopened under a new partnership with the Mahshi’s son, Tim Mahshi, the owners of Bosscat Kitchen and Pedram Yazarlou, a longtime Bosscat employee. “In 2018, we were going to take the business in a different direction but it didn’t work out,” says Tim. “When my parents met John Reed from Bosscat, they immediately felt a connection.” After his parents retired, Tim wasn’t sure he would be able to carry on the restaurant by himself. Reed introduced him to Yazarlou to talk through how Bosscat could help him keep Byblos open and honor the original recipes and atmosphere the Mashis created. “Pedram and I ended up talking for about six hours straight,” says Tim. “We immediately hit it off, and I knew this was the right business decision.” Although Tim’s parents are no longer the official Byblos owners, the legacy they passed along remains primarily unchanged. The restaurant’s menu of authentic Mediterranean food has stayed the same, and the interior is getting a slight upgrade. “The entire Bosscat team is passionate about honoring the history of Byblos,” says Yazarlou. “We’ve kept the name, the recipes and the general environment; we’ve just dialed it up a bit.” The restaurant has also reopened for lunch, and customers can stop by for lunch or dinner weekly from Wednesday

Change!

through Sunday. The menu still includes classic Byblos dishes like kebabs, shawarma and pita wraps. “We realized that what we have is incredible, with our flavors and the variety of what we offer,” says Yazarlou. “We want to take our existing recipes and continue to add new Mediterranean food and really elevate our menu.” Tim and Yazarlou are also hoping to bring their Mediterranean dishes to other cities by opening up additional Byblos locations in the future. “We’re working on perfecting the consistency of our food here, and then we’ll strive to open new

Pedram Yazarlou (left) and Tim Mahshi (right) are carrying on the legacy Mahshi’s parents, who recently retired, started at Byblos Cafe. The restaurant reopened this summer, with Yazarlou and Mahshi leading a team that’s continuing to offer Mediterranean entrees like shawarma.

locations so everyone can experience incredible Mediterranean cuisine,” says Yazarlou. “If you have something great, like the culture and food at Byblos, why wouldn’t you want to share it?” Tim and Yazarlou have logged decades in the service industry and are looking forward to bringing that experience to the new generation of Byblos Cafe. The duo recognizes that longtime customers of the eatery may be

hesitant to see any changes, but Tim and Yazarlou want to show regular guests how the high-quality food and customer service aspects of the restaurant are staying the same. “We’d love for people in Orange to give us a chance and experience the service and menu we have here at Byblos,” says Yazarlou. “What we have is so special, and our customers are a big part of that.” Byblos Cafe 129 West Chapman Ave. / 714-538-7180 / www.ByblosOrange.com

“Striving to bring an exceptional experience to life . . .

“Thank You for your

Continued Support” - Tim Mahshi -

www. B y b l o s O r a n ge .com

129 West Chapman Ave. / 714.538.7180 Wed - Thu: 11 am - 9 pm Fri - Sat: 11 am - 10 pm Sun: 11 am - 7 pm

in Old Towne Orange!”

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a r t i c l e s / n e w - t o - t h e - n e i g h b o r h o o d

November / December

2022

11


NEW TO THE NEIGHBORHOOD

/ PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

Chipotle Mexican Grill’s headquarters is located in nearby Newport Beach, and the national restaurant chain is expanding its Orange County reach with a new location in Old Towne Orange. There are two other Chipotle restaurants in Orange, but this marks the first in Old Towne Orange. The location opened in mid-September where The Aussie Bean previously stood. “We’re always looking for communities where we can serve responsibly sourced food and establish new partnerships in the local area,” says Hugh Brown, Team Director for Chipotle Orange County. “Old Towne Orange has a great, vibrant neighborhood feel, and we felt like it was the perfect fit for us.” The eatery is known for its fastcasual Mexican food, including its popular burritos and burrito bowls. Diners can choose from pre-set menu items or build their entrees and can also now order garlic guajillo steak as a protein. A month into the new location’s opening, the team members are already hosting community fundraisers and finding additional ways to connect with Orange residents. “We’re proud to offer the opportunity to host fundraisers in Orange and give back to the neighbors of Orange, especially Chapman students,” says Chipotle Field Leader Luis Ramirez. “We’re eager to partner with the Chapman community to support students and their interests, and that’s our

SmetonaPhoto.com

Chipotle Mexican Grill

main goal for this year.” To further integrate into the community, the Chipotle team carefully maintained the building’s architectural history when constructing the new location. “We blended in both Chipotle and the historic piece together,” says Brown. “The outside of the building reflects yesteryear, but we also have protected the interior while still making it modernized and capturing the old-time charm of this city for our guests.” One significant change to the building is the addition of a new walk-up window, which will be the second Chipotle location in Orange County to have the feature.

Chipotle Restaurateur John Olivares poses with his new coworkers and a burrito, the fast-casual restaurant’s most popular dish. This Chipotle location will be the second in Orange County to feature a walk-up window, which the Chipotle team decided was a must for serving busy residents and college students in Old Towne.

Guests can place their orders online or via the app and pick up their food without entering the restaurant. “Our initial thought process for these windows was to make the pickup as convenient as possible for our guests,” says Brown. “Especially in a community with so many students, we wanted to offer a feature for them to easily pick up their orders on the go.” As more customers visit the

Old Towne Chipotle location, Brown and his staff look forward to meeting new guests. “As more people get to know us and realize that we’re here in Old Towne, we’ll have the opportunity to share our story and introduce them to our hospitality and nutritious food,” says Brown. “Orange is an incredible city to be a part of, and we’re very proud to be here.”

Chipotle Mexican Grill 112 East Maple Ave. / 714-912-8544 / www.Chipotle.com

Shop with Us for the Best Selection In Town!

155 South Glassell

178 South Glassell

Open Daily 10 am - 6 pm

Open Daily 9:30am - 5:30pm

714-516-1731

714-633-3934

2 Stores / 100’s of Dealers / 1,000’s of Antiques 12

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


/ PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

The building that previously housed Watson’s Soda Fountain and Cafe is now home to a new vibrant eatery: Hector’s on the Circle, a new Mexican restaurant that opened in September. The new location is owned by Hector’s Mariscos, which also operates three restaurants in Santa Ana and has been a staple in the city for more than 30 years. The Santa Ana restaurants are known for their live music, traditional Mexican seafood and expansive drinks menu, and the team hopes to emulate that same success in Old Towne. “We want to be a destination location for people looking for authentic and delicious Mexican food,” says Owner George Moran. “We understand that we have to earn our position here since we’re new in town, but we hope people realize we have decades of experience in Orange County and want people to experience our flavorful food.” Hector’s on the Circle offers traditional Mexican cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner, but the eatery’s specialty is seafood and steak, with an emphasis on traditional mole sauces. Popular items include the chicken in mole, a grilled chicken breast covered in the restaurant’s homemade poblano mole sauce, and the ceviche tostadas with shrimp, octopus or fish. “All the Mexican restaurants in the Plaza offer different flavors

SmetonaPhoto.com

Hector’s on the Circle

Hector’s on the Circle owners Maria Sebold and George Moran showcase the new eatery’s sprawling menu, from brunch offerings to traditional Mexican dishes to classic cocktails. Sebold has been running other Hector’s locations in Orange County for more than 30 years, and jumped on the opportunity to bring the authentic Mexican food concept to Old Towne.

and specialties, and we focus on seafood,” says Moran. “There’s something for everyone here, and customers will get traditional and original Mexican food.” The new restaurant also has two full bars, making use of the ample space that the old Watson’s Cafe location built. Guests can order classic cocktails, beer and wine, and try creative drinks like the Mexican Lollipop, a cocktail with different fruit juices, or the Horchatarita, a fun spin on a margarita using cream liquor. Moran opened Hector’s on the

Circle with Maria Sebold, who has been running Hector’s Mariscos restaurants in Orange County for 30 years. The two met while Moran was working for the City of Santa Ana and are thrilled about the chance to start a new venture in Orange. “We’re incredibly grateful for the opportunity to be here in the Plaza,” says Sebold. “We know it’s hard to get a spot here in this amazing location, so we want to use this opportunity and invite our neighbors to savor our dishes and Mexican cuisine.” After being open for a month

and finalizing their menu, Sebold and Moran hope to settle into Old Towne as a new staple of the community. They’ve already converted new customers into regulars and hope to do the same to more diners in Orange and beyond. “We want to give our customers a new place to feel comfortable, so we’re making sure our service and food is the best quality it can be,” says Sebold. “This is an exciting opportunity to share our great food and atmosphere and blow them away with what we offer.”

Hector’s on the Circle 116 East Chapman Ave. / 714-363-3717 / www.instagram.com/Hectors_On_The_Circle Visit Us & Our ETSY store at SummerhillAntiques

• Elegant Estate Pieces

Vintage Platinum & Gold Jewelry

• Vintage Chandeliers • Custom Lampshades • Custom Fabrics Offered from all Major Design Houses • Upholstery Services SummerhillAntiques.com w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a r t i c l e s / n e w - t o - t h e - n e i g h b o r h o o d

IN THE ORANGE CIRCLE ANTIQUE MALL

BUY / SELL / TRADE

118 South Glassell St

110 South Glassell St O l d To w n e O r a n g e

714- 771-7782

Old Towne Orange, CA 92866

714-538-6305

w w w. R a m b l i n g R o s e . n e t

Home of the 18 Month Layaway November / December

2022

13


KNOW THE NEIGHBORS

Celebrating the Season

by Sheri Ledbetter

With the holidays upon us, we look to some of our local establishments to check in on their seasonal offerings and favorite holiday memories. Bougie Twigs + Blooms talks flowers, wreaths and holiday décor, O Sea restaurant shares some exciting additions, and toy store Tiddlywinks celebrates a decade in Old Towne.

ELECTRONIC FILING / FAST REFUND

H & H Income Tax $ 25 OFF

with this ad.

&

Insurance

ANA Y CATALINA INCOME TAX SINCE 1983

480 South Glassell St

/ PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

After three decades in the risk management industry, in early 2020, Stacy Lemoine followed her heart and opened her floral business Bougie Twigs + Blooms. “A boyfriend once told me, ‘you’re really good at risk management, but nothing lights you up the way flowers do,’” says Lemoine, who began creating with flowers while in high school. She got a job with a florist, and the owners taught her everything they knew. She also learned from her artist grandma who was a trained painter. “My grandmother taught me art theory and color theory and that translates into flowers, which is my medium,” says Lemoine. No matter where life took Lemoine, she always did flowers. She would do flowers for the office, her friends and weddings, and began doing events for her church in Costa Mesa, including their annual outdoor 30-foot Christmas tree. While still working in risk management, Lemoine began freelancing for a florist in Newport Beach. “I needed to develop my skills in floral mechanics,” says Lemoine. “To know how to make flowers stand up and make them look the way you want—there’s a lot that goes into the mechanics. She helped elevate my aesthetic appeal.” A pivotal event came in late 2019 when she was asked to host a wreath-making workshop, where 100 people turned up. This success has led to wreath-making workshops every year since. Her next wreath workshop will be

SmetonaPhoto.com

Bougie Twigs + Blooms

Stacy Lemoine of Bougie Twigs + Blooms hosts annual wreath making workshops that have become increasingly popular.

December 3 (location TBD). With increased confidence, Lemoine was ready to make the jump full-time into flowers and filed her business license with the City of Orange for Bougie Twigs + Blooms in February 2020, a month before COVID hit. “Because people couldn’t travel during COVID, they started sending flowers,” recalls Lemoine. She built a cooler underneath her staircase to store flowers and began doing deliveries, which she continues to do all over Orange

Big Enough to Provide the Capacity Needed FAMILY OWNED & OPERATED

Small Enough to Assure Individual Attention

County and adjacent cities. Carolyn Cavecche, owner of Flowers from the Thicket, has been working with Lemoine for the past three years providing fresh cut local blooms and greenery for her arrangements. “I love to see Stacy’s enthusiasm when she is knee-deep in blooms creating the vision her client has laid out for their wedding or even a simple arrangement,” says Cavecche. “She always goes the

Bougie Twigs + Blooms 714-485-5140 / www.BougieTwigsAndBlooms.com

Young Enough to Use New Ideas

Old Enough to Have Profited by Experience

BUSINESS INSURANCE SPECIALISTS

(714)

288-2088

The only office that can file taxes back to 1997

14

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

All Types of Roofs & Repairs COMMERCIAL & RESIDENTIAL License #663983

• Commercial Truck • General Contractor • Business Liability • Workers Comp • Home • Auto 31 Years in Orange, Serving Southern California

Orange, CA 92866

Corner of La Veta & Glassell

extra mile for her customers.” Lemoine has been a one-person shop since she opened, though she has some freelancers that help with events and holidays. She still runs the deliveries every day herself, which is a task she loves. “There’s nothing like someone opening the door and gasping at an arrangement,” says Lemoine. “When your business gets big and a driver makes the deliveries, you don’t get to see that anymore.”

Serving you in Old Towne Orange since 1980 226 SOUTH GLASSELL STREET, ORANGE, CALIFORNIA 92866 WWW.KGIBINC.COM LIC. NO. 0F00752 T 714.744.3300 F 714.744.6537

Roof Leak & Re-Felt Specialists.

714-244-6567 www.GallaRiniRoofing .com F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


/

O Sea also began rolling out wine dinners with a master sommelier. “We’ll do a wine dinner each month where we’ll bring in a producer and showcase their wines,” says Flynn. “It’s six courses and seven wines.” O Sea also plans a wine retail club starting in January. Subscribers can pick up two, three or four bottles monthly curated around a particular theme or style. And yet another addition is large parties. “We have a beautiful dining room that entertains so well,” says Flynn. “It’s such a nice place to host a special occasion or business function.” Local resident Garrett Smith comes in four to five times a week, often bringing in clients from his real estate business. “There is no other restaurant in Old Towne with the same experience,” says Smith. “We have enjoyed everything from afternoons sending emails and working in a nice ‘change of environment’ to hosting family gatherings and afternoon happy hour.”

PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

O Sea Owner Mike Flynn continues to evolve the seafood restaurant in the Plaza and has some upcoming changes to share. “What guests will find is a further expanded menu with a greater number of premium seafood offerings, including California Spiny Lobsters, Santa Barbara Red Uni, and locally sourced Black Cod, Sanddabs and Fresh Squid Ink Pasta,” says Flynn. The second major change coming to O Sea is a build-out of the wine program. The restaurant opened with nine wines available by the glass and has expanded that to 16, as well as more than 80 wines by the bottle. O Sea also offers the wine by the bottle program at 50 percent off for Happy Hour every day from 2 pm to 5 pm. “We really want to build this restaurant as a destination for serious wine drinkers in Orange County,” says Flynn. “There’s so much beer in Old Towne Orange, and there’s a lot of cocktail bars. I want to really differentiate ourselves.”

SmetonaPhoto.com

O Sea

Glassell Dental WELCOME HOME

to Quality Dentistry & Gentle Care

O Sea Owner Mike Flynn displays one of his restaurants tasty offerings— Burrata cheese with golden beets, salsa macha and charred leek ash, along with a chilled glass of Rosé from Txakoli in the Basque country of Northern Spain.”

For the holidays, O Sea has a couple of things planned. On Christmas Eve, they will put together a Southern Italian tradition called “a Feast of Seven Fishes.” For New Year’s Eve, they are planning a kind of antiNew Year’s Eve New Year’s Eve

party, where guests must dress down for the occasion, instead of dressing up. “It’s been an incredible year for us,” says Flynn. “We feel like we’re really just starting to scratch the surface of what this restaurant can be.” O Sea 109 South Glassell St. / 714-363-3309 / www.EatOsea.com

Trust us to provide a LASTING DENTAL HOME for you and your family SCHEDULE TODAY! (714) 532­5600 Visit us in Old Towne Orange 245 North Glassell St, Old Towne Orange 92866 www.GlassellDental.com w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a r t i c l e s / k n o w - t h e - n e i g h b o r s

P UT A LITTLE P ARIS O N- L INE IN YOUR C UP • Signature Brand Teas and French Imports. • Gourmet Goods from Near and Far • Exclusive Tea Wares • Exquisite Gifts

WWW. P ARIS I N AC UP.COM

Products delivered to your door or pick up at an Old Towne Orange location.

VOICE: 714-538-9411 • TEXT: 714-318-4728 • EMAIL: ParisInACup@yahoo.com

November / December

2022

15


Celebrating the Season

KNOW THE NEIGHBORS

CONT. FROM PAGE 15

“Trucks have always been popular—we’ll never get rid of trucks,” she says. “Trains and dolls and unicorns and dinosaurs— those are still the tried and true.” Books are also a constant. “Books are my passion,” Jeanie says. “I love buying books, and the quirkier the better.” Old Towne Orange resident Kelli Kinley has enjoyed bringing her two daughters to Tiddlywinks over the years. Daughters Marley and Gwen are now in college and high school, respectively, and Gwen now works at the shop. “That’s what makes it so full circle,” says Kinley. “We bought all our gifts at Tiddlywinks for birthday parties. They got rid of Toys R Us, so it was really neat to have a toy store that the girls could grow up with.” Over the years, the store has hosted birth announcements, including one family who had been coming into the store for years and wanted to tell their children while at the shop that they were going to be welcoming a new sibling. “You don’t realize how much the store is a part of people’s families,” says Gil. “Maybe one day they will tell their own kids how they remember going to a little toy store.”

Tiddlywinks Toys and Games

PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

/

SmetonaPhoto.com

PHOTO BY WILLIAM WALLACE

/

WilliamTWallace.com

Tiddlywinks Toys and Games opened in October 2012, and owners Jeanie and Gil Viveros have experienced a lot in ten years. “We’ve seen families come and go and kids being raised, which is amazing to see,” says Jeanie. Gil came up with the name Tiddlywinks. Their two kids, now 20 and 17, have grown up with the store, too. The couple attributes the store’s longevity to the relationships they’ve built. One way they do this is by hosting exhibits at the Orange Home Grown Farmers & Artisans Market. “When we opened, we always wanted to be part of the community,” says Gil. “We also wanted to do more than just donate. Building relationships is important to us.” Their products also contribute to the store’s success. Jeanie works hard to find items that aren’t sold everywhere else. “Our mentality has always been, ‘we have to stay classic,’” she says. “As much as we tiptoe into trends, like fidgets and spinners when those were a thing, we have to pick and choose what we are going to keep here because we can’t compete with WalMart and Target, for example, so we look for items that are unique that people would still want.” Some things never go out of style.

During a decade in the Plaza, Gil and Jeanie Viveros of Tiddlywinks Toys and Games have learned that trucks, trains, dolls, unicorns and dinosaurs never go out of style.

Tiddlywinks Toys and Games 129 North Glassell St. 714-997-TOYS (8697) www.TiddlywinksOC.com

Let Us Solve Your Roofing Problems “Our Integrity is Our Promise” • Neat, Clean, Professional • New Roof • Roof Repair • Roof Certification

Call today for a Free Estimate: www.GuardianRoofs .com

16

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

Lic.847279, B1 & C39

714-633-3619 F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


O LD

T OWNE

P ROPERTY

Cherished Family & Traditions During the holidays, the Robbins family enjoys sitting by the fire watching classic Christmas movies. Painted white to match their coastal-style interiors, the fireplace is flanked by French doors that lead to the backyard.

C

Cherished family traditions are at the heart of the Robbins’ home in Old Towne Orange, especially during the holidays when Erik, Nicole and their three kids celebrate the season with creative flair. From fresh garlands and greenery to a crackling fire in the wood-burning fireplace, festive accents showcase elegant simplicity at their home on South Pixley, where Thanksgiving is their favorite holiday of the year. “We make Thanksgiving very special every year for ourselves and our extended family,” says Nicole. “We host Thanksgiving dinner in

our beautiful dining room, which is such a fantastic feature of our home. I’ll make my homemade green bean casserole, while Erik does most of the cooking from scratch. Our daughter, Claire, loves to bake desserts, and my mom brings homemade apple pie, which she bakes in a brown paper bag to retain the flavors. We have many Thanksgiving traditions that we’ve enjoyed for decades right here in Old Towne.” Built in 1926, the Robbins’ French Provincial Revival provides the picture-perfect backdrop for stylish décor any time of the year. The home showcases two front-

facing gables and a French-door entry flanked by paned sidelight doors. A classic brick walkway leads to the front entry. Hand built by Erik, the white picket fence surrounds the front yard. The couple purchased the one-story home in 2002 after previously renting in Old Towne on South Pixley a few blocks away from their current home, and later on North Cleveland St. They drove by the house many times when it went up for sale and just knew it would be the perfect place to raise a family. At the time, it was painted blue and obscured by large Cypress trees. CONTINUED ON PAGE 18

Written by Karen Anderson Photos by Kristin Smetona: www.smetonaphoto.com

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a r t i c l e s / o l d - t o w n e - p r o p e r t y

November / December

2022

17


The front-yard landscaping showcases white birch trees, iceberg roses, rosemary and lavender. Erik built the white picket fence and Adirondack chairs himself.

Cherished Family & Traditions Although the house was in pretty good shape when they first moved in, they did end up restoring the original red-oak floors after removing the old carpeting. In addition to painting the exterior, they added central air-conditioning,

as well as changed the tile in the kitchen. They also renovated the bathroom, installing wainscoting and a claw-foot tub. With three big bedrooms, the house is large enough for the family of five. Their sons, Jack

CONT. FROM PAGE 17

and Grant, both attend California State University, Fullerton, studying business and finance. Grant is currently working on his master’s degree, while Jack is in the middle of his junior year. Daughter Claire just turned 12 and attends

St. John’s Lutheran School in Old Towne, following in the footsteps of her brothers who both attended St. John’s from pre-school through 8th grade. The St. John’s connection continues with Erik, who is an elder on the church

Professional Property Management • Thorough Tenant Screening license #580269

Historic Restorations Remodels

• On-line Payments & Disbursements • Improve Property Value • 24 Hr Emergency Service for Tenants

Kitchen and Bath Exterior Makeovers Siding Doors and Windows Patio Covers Decks Stairs

General Contractor - Keith Misumi

18

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

(949) 795-6812

Real Estate Sales & Investments • Residential, Commercial, Industrial, Land Sales • Investment Strategies • 40 Years in Business Find us on:

Painting

714- 744-5711

Termite and Dry Rot

www. RealEstateEstablishment .com

www.BearFlagOC.com

550 East Chapman Ave, Suite B, Orange, CA 92866 F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


O LD

T OWNE

P ROPERTY

Countless holiday gatherings have taken place in the Robbins’ dining room through the years. The antique chandelier is from Shabby Chic in Newport Beach. Nicole lights candles to set the mood.

The coffee table came from George The Second antiques store in Old Towne, which was located in the building now occupied by 1886 Brewing Company. “The French pine antique table was one of our first furniture purchases. We still love it,” says Nicole.

board for the last six years, providing support to the senior pastor. Nicole currently teaches an afterschool arts program at St. John’s once a week. A former advertising sales representative at The Orange County Register for almost two decades, Erik currently works in direct marketing. Nicole’s interest in homes and interior design led her to pursue a career in real estate. She obtained her license this year and now works with Seven Gables Real Estate in Old Towne. Erik has lived most of his life

There’s also an antique cabinet, circa late-1800s, that Nicole bought for $20 from a woman on Shaffer Street. “She had written down the wrong price but agreed to sell it to me for $20 if I promised I would never part with it,” says Nicole. “She knew I was young and didn’t have much money at the time. I promised her I would cherish the piece, and I always have.” Although their South Pixley neighborhood is known for its award-winning Christmas decorating, plus Halloween Bash and Fourth of July block parties, Erik

Claire and Nicole prepare something yummy in the spacious kitchen, which includes a large breakfast nook complete with original built-ins. “We’ve made many gingerbread houses in that nook over the years,” says Nicole.

in Orange, graduating from Orange High School in 1991. Nicole grew up in Costa Mesa. They first met each other when Nicole’s mother moved across the street from Erik’s mother in Anaheim Hills. “We both had so much in common,” says Erik. “Nicole was the girl next door. We were both beachgoers and would go to the

beach every day. We both share the same style and taste. We love to do things around the house like gardening and decorating.” An airy, beach-cottage style defines the couple’s interior design choices. Several of their pieces were found at flea markets in Old Towne, such as the lovely painting in a driftwood-style frame that hangs at the entry.

CONTINUED ON PAGE 20

Enjoy a Colorful Collection of Kit-Cat Klocks, Anniversary Christmas Ornaments, and many other Clocks

& Clock Repair.

1610 North Tustin St. Orange, CA 92867

(714) w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a r t i c l e s / o l d - t o w n e - p r o p e r t y

921-8397 November / December

2022

19


O LD

T OWNE

P ROPERTY

Nicole’s mother’s famous brown bag apple pie recipe is something the Robbins family always looks forward to during the holidays.

The large olive tree in the backyard was planted only eight years ago. The family added a tree swing at daughter Claire’s request this past summer. Erik built the 10-foot table and bench set.

Cherished Family & Traditions and Nicole like to keep their own seasonal décor classic and simple. On Christmas Eve, however, the family makes an annual visit to Nicole’s uncle’s home in Anaheim Hills, where his Christmas décor extravaganza goes above and beyond the wildest imagination. “His career has been designing rides for Disney theme parks, so you can only imagine that there is a lot of festivity going on at his house

for as long as I can remember,” says Nicole. “Likewise, my mom is very creative. On Christmas Day, we have brunch at her house. Her name is Debbee Thibault, and she is known internationally as a designer of glass Christmas ornaments made in Germany. Her work is amazing and was previously featured at Roger’s Gardens. She’s now retired but thinking about coming out of

CONT. FROM PAGE 19

retirement to do something new.” With Christmas and New Year’s on the way, the entire Robbins family will be spending a lot of time in the kitchen doing what they love to do best: cooking. When not in the kitchen, they enjoy walking to their favorite shops and restaurants in Old Towne, including The Potting Shed, Tiddlywinks Toys & Games and Byblos Cafe.

“Our son worked at Byblos for four years and brought home a lot of ideas for cooking,” says Nicole. “We all love to cook, and we make a lot of stews this time of year. Claire bakes cookies, and our entire family makes gingerbread houses in our breakfast nook. There’s no better place to celebrate the holidays than here at our home in Old Towne Orange.”

24 Santa Discount Days before Christmas in Celebration of our 43nd Christmas

30% OFF ALL OUR FINE JEWELRY Dec. 1 thru 24, 2022

NEW STORE V IS IT O U R Featuring V INTAGE • C OLLECTABLE • • F URNITURE • R ECORDS • • J EWELRY • A RT G LASS • • R OCK & R OLL T - S HIRTS • & MORE !

A “N AME” YOU CAN TRUST

“Located in Old Towne Orange.”

Renée Jewelers

160 North Glassell St.

Serving the Community since 1980

Old Towne Orange , CA 92866

138 North Glassell • Orange, CA

OPEN WED-SUN: 11 AM - 5 PM

714-538-1956 20

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

(714)

363-3996

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


Building Character

COUNTRY ROADS ANTIQUES & GARDENS

Celebrating 30 Years in Old Towne Orange

CONTINUED ON PAGE 26

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a r t i c l e s / b u i l d i n g - c h a r a c t e r

/ PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

It’s doubtful anyone present could have imagined when we opened our doors on January 1st, 1993, that we’d be here doing the same thing 30 years later. But low and behold, here we are! And we can’t wait to celebrate our 30th birthday with you all! We might have a few gray hairs, but we feel we have earned ‘em! We passionately believe in the important role that small businesses play in communities and appreciate all the support that has been shown for ours over these many years. We have not one, not two, but THREE generations of family that have now made this place a big part of their lives. We are also very proud to provide an opportunity for our many vendors to get a chance to pursue their entrepreneurial dreams. Visiting the small businesses of Old Towne Orange is never about supporting just one business owner, but instead, an entire network of people who have carved out a living doing things that they love. For us, that is one of the many reasons Old Towne Orange is so special and precious, and why we are honored to have been a part of the community for all these years. As we reflect on three decades in Orange, we’ll be celebrating our birthday all month long in January! Join us on New Year’s Day, Sunday, January 1 from 10 am to 3 pm for one of our few storewide sales of the year! We’ll have snacks and refreshments and lots of great deals to celebrate the new year AND our 30th year in business. On Saturday January 28, we are going to throw ourselves a good old-fashioned birthday party. We’d love for you to attend!

SmetonaPhoto.com

by Brande Jackson

Roxanne Greitz Miller, EdD by Julie Bawden-Davis

Roxanne Greitz Miller decided she wanted to be a teacher her senior year of high school. While in elementary and middle school, Chapman University’s Dean of Attallah College of Educational Studies had been science starved. She saw teaching as a way to bring science to young students. Over Miller’s career spanning more than three decades, she has accomplished that goal and much more. Miller began her teaching career in 1990 in Miami-Dade County Public Schools in Florida where she worked as a secondary science teacher at the middle school and senior high levels for nearly a decade. In addition to teaching science, she coordinated efforts to identify, determine eligibility for and deliver special education and gifted education services to more than 400 students each year in a highly diverse, large urban Miami middle school. “I enjoyed my work teaching in Florida because I could help develop students’ passion for sciences,” says Miller, a firstgeneration student, who was born in New York and spent her middle school and high school years in Florida. “I feel it’s important for students to be scientifically literate.” Joining Chapman University Miller relocated to California in 1999 and in 2005 joined Chapman’s faculty. Today she holds the rank of tenured full professor with a joint appointment to Schmid College of Science and Technology. During her career, she has served as principal or co-principal investigator on state and federal research grants representing more than $4.2 million in funding, most of which has funded teacher professional development efforts. In 2014, she received the Outstanding Teaching Professorship at Chapman, the university's highest honor in teaching. Unlike some educators who leave teaching behind when they take on administrative roles, Miller has continued to instruct and interact directly with students throughout her career. She holds CONTINUED ON PAGE 24

November / December

2022

21


TALK OF THE TOWNE

by George A. Paul

A Crowning Achievement For more than 85 years, Miss Orange has been the face of the city. Starting in 2023, her presence will be more pervasive with some changes in the Miss Orange Scholarship Pageant. The community-based program is open to young women ages 17-24, who live, work full-time, or attend school (must be a high school senior) in the City of Orange or Orange Unified School District. Miss Orange serves as queen for the Orange May Parade, represents the city as an official ambassador, earns scholarship money for college and learns necessary skills to help excel in a future career. In addition to being a way to serve others, grow relationships in the community and to network, current title holder Victoria Johnson says, “Through becoming Miss City of Orange, I learned so much about myself and what I want to accomplish.” Johnson is a Human Resource Management major at University of Arizona completing a bachelor’s degree. She says the scholarship money “has been extremely helpful” in paying for student loans and books. No longer required to compete at the Miss California level, the next Miss Orange can completely focus on the local community. The May Festival started in 1933 and crowned a May Day Queen annually. That role eventually transitioned into Miss Orange. The festival ended in the early 1990s and resumed in 2019. A parade was held again last spring. May Queen and her court are expected to return in 2023. When Miss Orange’s year of service is over, “what has really made an impact is all of the local events that we do and the local people they’ve met and been able to network with,” explains Connie

Benson, Executive Director of the pageant since 2004. “These opportunities are what many of the pageant winners love the most.” No longer having to carve out extra time to prepare for the state competition alleviates a major burden for those who become Miss Orange. “There was a financial commitment and a lot of paperwork involved with the state competition,” says Benson. “This is all going away. We can focus more on local activities and building their resumes and interview skills. All of that has always brought me the most joy. I’m really excited about it.”

Miss Orange Scholarship Pageant will be held on January 14, 2023 and is accepting contestant applications through December 1. Another change finds the Orange Chamber of Commerce presenting the pageant. “We will reach out to our hundreds of members, tell them what the program is, and ask if they’d like to sponsor one of the candidates,” explains Elizabeth Holloman, Executive Director, Orange Chamber of Commerce. All funds raised—from event tickets to the sponsorships—go into the scholarship fund. “This is a perfect match because the Chamber is always promoting Orange and so is Connie Benson with Miss Orange.” Holloman, a former Miss Orange judge, feels a primary benefit for contestants is experiencing the mentorship of Benson. “Connie really does a wonderful job of

AUTO / HOME / UMBRELLA / LIFE / HEALTH / BUSINESS / WORKERS COMP

Visit Us in Tustin for a Free Comparative Quote, and Receive a $20 Gift Card. North to 55 Fwy

17th St

“NEW TUSTIN OFFICE” Sk yli ne Dr

y Fw 5

vd

Ne

Bl

to

wp

or

tA

ve

Irvine Blvd

ine

12711 Newport Ave #C Tustin, CA 92780 (714) 978-4200 www.AdamGuss .com

Irv

See our overwhelmingly positive reviews on

License #0G50204

22

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


for those who helping them become more poised, more professional, have more confidence and know how to dress. She elevates their game. That is worth more than anything else, rather than the title—this time spent with her.” Johnson feels the interview preparation for the pageant helped her land a position as director of a nonprofit despite no previous experience in the nonprofit sector. Among Johnson’s highlights from serving in the role of Miss Orange are, “getting to know the City Council, the Chief of Police and the Chief of the Fire Department. It’s been the most phenomenal experience.” All the pageant preparation also provided Johnson with a newfound appreciation for Orange itself. “It’s unlike any other city or community in the state of California or around the country,” she says. “I’m really excited to be a part of such a rich history that is so widely celebrated in the community.”

Aspire!

PHOTO BY AARON JACOBY

Miss Orange Pageant creates lifetime friendships and memories. Shown here are pageant winners (from left) Victoria Johnson 2022 Catherine Adcock 2020-2021 Madelyn Walker 2019 Rachel Berry Lohman 2010 Jennifer Lopez Weerheim 1991

Miss Orange Scholarship Pageant, 6 pm January 14, $25, $15 students and children under 12; Memorial Hall, Chapman University, One University Drive, Orange. Go to www.MissCityOfOrange.com for more information. The organizer is accepting contestant applications via the website through December 1. Send questions to: MissCityOfOrangeED@gmail.com.

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a r t i c l e s / t a l k - o f - t h e - t o w n e

November / December

2022

23


Roxanne Greitz Miller, EdD CONT. FROM PAGE 21

current teaching credentials in biology, chemistry, middle grades and gifted education in Florida and California. “I am a teacher first and foremost,” says Miller, who earned a Bachelor of Science with honors in biology and a minor in chemistry from the University of Miami and from Florida International University, a Master of Science in Science Education and a Doctor of Education in Curriculum and Instruction. Teacher of Teachers “I enjoy helping students gain skills and knowledge that takes them in directions they wouldn’t be able to go in on their own,” she says. “Now, as a university professor, I deal primarily with future teachers. My experience teaching enables me to clue students into and make transparent what it’s like to be on the other side of the desk.” One of Miller’s goals as a teacher of teachers is to stress the importance of teaching students from their vantage point. “You will often hear that teachers tend to teach the way they were taught, but that is not a recipe for success,” believes Miller. “The process of education is individualized and depends on instruction reaching students through their individual lenses. If you only teach in the manner you experienced as a student, you’re not going to meet the needs of all the students in the classroom. It’s my job to make sure that teachers are prepared to go far beyond their own personal educational experiences to meet their student needs.” Dr. Colette O’Bannion met Miller at Chapman in 2007 when O’Bannion was a graduate student. “Roxanne was looking for doctoral research assistants for two of her federal education research grants. I jumped at the chance, and it was one of the best decisions I have ever made,” says O’Bannion, who today is Head of School at Fairmont Private School - Anaheim Hills Campus. “Roxanne is one of the best in the field,” says O’Bannion. “She is a phenomenal and extremely contemporary educator, who does not subscribe to the age-old practice of hoarding all knowledge and experience so that she can remain at the top of the pyramid. Instead, she chooses to share all that she can in an effort to lift others up, particularly female academics. She is also very transparent about both historical and current struggles in education. She doesn't water down her teaching, but amps it up to inspire others to learn.” Facing Critical Teacher Shortages Head-On In today’s educational arena, Miller’s work couldn’t be more important. “Right now, we’re facing critical teacher shortages in multiple areas,” says Miller. “We’re working very hard to get our candidates into teacher preparation programs that will prepare them for the realities of today’s schools. There are currently a lot of stressors within the educational system, including social-emotional development and learning loss due to the pandemic. It’s important that we have responsive, supportive and knowledgeable teachers in classrooms.” Despite the shortage of qualified teachers, Miller isn’t in a hurry to sign just anyone up for the life of an educator. “Our teacher preparation pathways at Chapman acknowledge the fact that though there is a critical need right now for teachers nationwide, teaching is a complex endeavor that requires special training,” she says. “We’re seeing in some states the removal of training requirements and emergency credentialing to deal with the need for teachers. These responses don’t work in the long run, as those who fail to receive thorough, high-quality preparation don’t tend to stay in the teaching profession.” Chapman’s teacher education program graduates approximately 100 teacher preparation students each year, as well as prepares students to work as school counselors and psychologists; Chapman also has a PhD in education program. There are an additional 200 students in the Attallah College of Educational Studies’ undergraduate programs. (For those students who wish to attend Chapman’s educator preparation programs, the Golden State Teacher Grant Program of up to $20,000 can fund a significant portion of their education, notes Miller.) 24

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

CONTINUED ON PAGE 26

I NSIDE A RT

Voices in Pastel Exhibit Currently on view at the Hilbert Museum through December 3, the exhibition “Voices in Pastel,” on loan from the Pastel Society of the West Coast, introduces museumgoers to a painting medium they may not have experienced before. The exhibition is part of the final round of shows on display at the Chapman University art museum, located at 167 North Atchison St., before it closes down that location for about a year as construction begins on the museum’s expansion, which will triple its size. For the intervening year— roughly all of 2023—the museum will operate in a temporary popup location in downtown Orange, at 216 East Chapman Ave., a block and a half east of the Plaza in a building formerly occupied by US Bank. The Hilbert Museum of California Art at Chapman University is open Tuesday - Saturday, 11 am to 5 pm. Admission is free. The permanent museum location at 167 North Atchison St. in Orange is open through December 3, after which it will shut down for about one year as construction is carried out on the museum’s expansion, set to open in 2024. The Hilbert Temporary space at 216 East Chapman Ave. will open on Saturday, December 17 and will operate there until the museum expansion is completed. Hours will remain the same, admission will still be free, and the phone number and website will be the same: 714-516-5880 and www.HilbertMuseum.org

“Yes, we’re moving, but only temporarily!” says Mary Platt, director of the Hilbert Museum. “The museum will ‘camp out’ in a lovely new space on Chapman Ave., just the right size to showcase one exhibition at a time, while our spectacular new, expanded Hilbert Museum is under construction on Atchison St. We plan to open the temporary museum on December 17, just in time for families in town for the holidays to have a free place to visit to see some great art.” The opening exhibition at the Hilbert Temporary at 216 East Chapman will focus on railroad and train paintings from The Hilbert Collection. The expanded Hilbert Museum of California Art at Chapman University, on

Suburban Dawn by Kim Eshelman 9” x 12”

Atchison Street, will re-open in 2024, exact date yet to be confirmed. But until December 3, the permanent location will feature the pastel exhibition, along with “Disney’s Fantasia: When Music Became Magic,” “By Popular Request: Visitor Favorites from The Hilbert Collection,” “Playing to Win: Sports Art from The Hilbert Collection,” and selections from the museum’s permanent collection. “The Pastel Society of the West Coast’s exhibition came about because of a conversation I had at the Bowers Museum with Truman Hosner, a prominent pastel artist, who had some art in the California Art Club’s Gold Medal exhibition there,” says Platt. “Our move to our temporary location had been unexpectedly pushed back, and I mentioned that I was looking for exhibitions to go into the large galleries in the current museum.” Hosner told her that the Pastel Society was just wrapping up an exhibition in Morro Bay, and that perhaps the society’s leadership could arrange to send some of the art down to Orange. “We took a look at the art and were astonished by its beauty,” says Platt. “The club was able to send the show here on very short notice, and we are so grateful for their generous partnership in presenting this exhibition.” Pastels are an art medium, formed most often as sticks, made up of powdered pigment and binder. The exact contents vary by manufacturer and brand, and can include soft pastels, hard pastels, pan pastels, pastel pencils and oil pastels, among others. The pigments are similar to those in oil paints, and works done in F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


and a Temporary

Move for the Hilbert

After the Storm by Deborah Pepin 16” x 20”

pastel are referred to as paintings, rather than drawings. Pastels have been used by artists since the Renaissance. Prominent artists who created works in pastel include Chardin, Delacroix, Millet, Manet, Degas, Whistler, Cassatt and many others. The featured painting on this issue’s inside front cover, “A Quiet Self-Confidence” by Jim Tyler of San Luis Obispo, was the best-in-show winner in the Pastel

Main Street and Broadway by Bithia Bjurman 20” x 16”

Society’s Morro Bay exhibition. Says artist Tyler, “The woman featured in the painting came into the art gallery and asked to hang a poster for free COVID shots. She was wearing a mask, but even with part of her face covered I knew

New Growth by Doug Tweddale 20” x 24”

Deep in Thought by Debbie Patrick 12” x 16”

she would make a captivating model. So without knowing her at all, I asked if I could paint her and she agreed. She is a psychologist at the state mental hospital, and that is surely one reason for her quiet self-confidence.” The Pastel Society of the West Coast was founded in 1984 and is now the second-largest pastel club in the U.S. Its mission is to

encourage the use of pastels through education and competition. The group offers workshops, demonstrations and regional paint-outs throughout the country. They also hold two major competitions each year, awarding thousands of dollars to outstanding artists. (More info: https://PSWC.ws)

Hilbert Museum of California Art 167 North Atchison St. / 714-516-5880 / Tues-Sat, 11am to 5pm Admission free with advance online registration at www.HilbertMuseum.org

Distant Thunder

18” x 24” / OC

Museum

by Marinus Welman

2402 North Glassell St. #A / 714 998-8662 / www.MarinusWelman.com w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / i n s i d e - a r t

November / December

2022

25


Roxanne Greitz Miller, EdD CONT. FROM PAGE 24

“Chapman has a very strong history of teacher education,” says Miller. “The university’s teacher education program is the only program in continuous operation since the school was founded in 1861. We’ve been preparing teachers here for more than a century.” Students First Dr. Trisha Sugita is Director of Teacher Education and Assistant Professor of Special Education at Chapman University’s Attallah College of Educational Studies. She has worked with Miller for 11 years in various capacities. “Roxanne is an accomplished teacher, researcher, administrator and student advocate,” says Sugita. “At the Dean level, under Roxanne’s leadership, the Teacher Education and undergraduate programs have revised the programs to reflect the cutting edge practices that meet the needs of the ever changing field of education. Roxanne is dedicated to ensuring that all students reach their educational goals. She is a strong advocate for students at all levels, from Pk-12, undergraduate and graduate. She creates accessible pathways for education at all levels and is committed to creating equitable spaces.” Kimberly White-Smith, Dean of the School of Leadership and Education Sciences at the University of San Diego, agrees. “Roxanne helps ensure equity and access for students who are traditionally underserved. As a first-generation college student, she understands the challenges many of our students face firsthand. Her personal knowledge guides her decisions and actions to support students and community needs. She understands the power of education to transform lives.” For Miller, it is the students and their journeys that make her work so fulfilling. “Chapman is very student centered, and we continue to support our students beyond graduation,” she says. “For me, having long-term relationships with students is really rewarding.”

TALK OF THE TOWNE

by Nathan Carter

Only the Finest in

In the 1960’s, Orange City Fire Department’s Station No. 1 was considered a state-of-the-art facility. The two-story building had the newest architectural flares, a central location and every child’s favorite feature, the fireman’s pole. In recent years, however, the building required seismic modifications. The cost of retrofitting the building to remodel proved more expensive than building a new fire station.

Ground broke for a new fire station in January 2021 on East Chapman Ave. at the former location of the Orange County Fire Department Station No. 1. (The location hadn’t been used for a number of years.) During the design of the new facility, the Orange City Fire Department command staff traveled to several stations in the Los Angeles and Orange County

Celebrating 30 Years

CONT. FROM PAGE 21

We’ll have some awesome “party favors” for the first 50 or so guests who arrive, as well as raffles, a birthday cake, and maybe even a pinata—watch out! This and more is to come. Check out our website and social media for more details. We are looking forward to focusing on what matters most during this holiday season: family, friends and traditions. We hope you can do the same and are ever so grateful to have gained so many friends and contributed to so many of your traditions through our shop over all these years. Happy Holidays!

5

Additional toppings extra. Not valid with any other coupon. Must present coupon. $4.00 delivery charge. Restrictions apply.

Expires 12/31/22

16” Lg 1-Topping Pizza • Lg Dinner Salad Your choice of 2 liter of Soda or regular order of Garlic or Dessert Knots. Select toppings only. Additional toppings extra. One coupon per customer. Not valid with any other coupon. Must present coupon. $4.00 delivery charge. Restrictions apply.

Expires 12/31/22

www.CountryRoadsAntiques .com

7 1 4 - 5 3 2 - 3 0 41 Open Daily 10 am - 5 pm

216 WE ST CH APMAN AV E. /

www.facebook.com/CountryRoadsAntiques

26

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


J OHNNYE

PHOTO BY MIKE ESCOBEDO

/

OrangeReview.com

Orange area to see what features other fire stations had incorporated that could be of value for the new Orange fire station. A year and several months after ground broke, the new fire station was completed this year. The command staff moved into the new facility in early September, while the suppression personnel moved in afterward.

Now just a half mile east of their old location, the new amenities of the building make the job safer, easier and more comfortable for the firefighters. “At six o’ clock in the morning, the command staff and the firefighters who work at the station went down the street to the old station,” says Deputy Fire Marshall Ryan O’Connor. “We got all the rigs that were stationed at the old station and drove them down Almond with lights—no sirens. It was early in the morning, and we drove slowly. Just a personal ceremony for us. We drove the rigs into the new station and pulled them out onto the station apron and put the flag up. Five minutes later, we got our first call. Boom. Rescue One goes out and

Engine One goes out. That’s how quick it was.” Now just a half mile east of their old location, the new amenities of the building make the job safer, easier and more comfortable for the firefighters. Individual air-conditioners are available in every room, including the offices and sleeping quarters. They now have a fully automated alert system, and the sleeping quarters are closer to the trucks, making for quicker response time. “The space planning is a lot better at the new, state-of-the-art station,” says Matt Nelson, Administrative Captain. Being located directly on Chapman also allows the trucks to pull out more easily than before on account of the street being four lanes rather than the previous two-lane road they were located on. Additionally, they now have a drive-through station, which allows them to return to the station and pull directly through the back rather than having to reverse. “Backing is problematic for fire departments because of the risk of accidents,” O’Connor says. “Reducing having to back up is very helpful.” The new fire station building is located at 1176 East Chapman Ave. They can be reached at 714-288-2500 for non-emergency inquiries, or 9-1-1 for emergency situations

M ERLE’S

G ARDENS

Winter Gardening Tips by Brande Jackson

Winter has arrived! Thankfully, for most Southern California gardeners this doesn’t put a damper on our gardening plans, but, in fact, provides the opportunity to take advantage of planting winter loving plants and getting your garden in tip-top shape for spring! There are all sorts of things that can be planted this time of year: cool-season vegetables like beets, carrots, Swiss chard, kale and lettuces can go into the ground now, and can even be started by seed! This is also the season to start planting your cottage garden classics, ensuring bountiful blooms for spring. Sweet peas should go into the ground during these cooler months. We will have a big selection from Annie’s Annuals in stock this season. This is also a good time to plant delphiniums. We also like to start planting poppies now. The eschscholzia species grows very well here. You know that poppy as the “official California state flower” that comes in a vibrant orange, but we also have it available in some other really cool colors like rose, alba, yellow and even a new variety called ‘Champagne.’ Interesting fact: the species was named around 1810 by a German botanist exploring California and the Pacific coast. For all these winter plants, be sure you are planting them in soil that drains well, as you don’t want them to get waterlogged by winter rain, which can cause them to rot. You can ensure this happens and promote aeration in your soil a few different ways. One way is to add amendments designed to improve clay soil. Be sure to avoid mulch right now, as mulch can bog the soil down. Look for soil amendments specific to promoting better drainage. You can even add a few bags of cactus potting mix to your garden to achieve this. Another way is to literally poke holes in your flower beds! There are tools available to achieve this. Spike aerators can be found in hardware stores (shout out to Orange County Farm Supply, one of our favorite spots for all things tools!) for as low as about $25. Another method to improving drainage is to turn over the soil. If you don’t have a lot of material planted already in your garden, literally take a shovel, dig down and flip the soil. You can do this on a smaller scale with a hand trowel, turning the soil over in the area you are going to be planting. In fact, it’s a good habit to get into any time you plant, as it promotes healthier soil and prevents compaction. You don’t want to fertilize too heavily in the winter, as this is not the season that you want to promote a lot of growth. This is a good season to add amendments, though, especially those that are low in nitrogen. We like worm castings and bone meal for this purpose. Remember too, this is the time for cool-season bulbs! Though a bit of work, planting bulbs is a time-honored, fun tradition for many gardeners. We all have our favorites. You can also plant seeds for plants like nasturtiums and Larkspur during the winter. There is no rest for the active gardener! Get out there and make the most of these winter months!

Johnnye Merle’s Gardens 216 West Chapman Ave. / Old Towne Orange Brande Jackson is the owner of Johnnye Merle’s Gardens, located in Country Roads in Old Towne Orange. www.purtyplants.com. She can be reached at brande@johnnyemerles.com. She is also a teacher, and leads classes on art, creativity and gardening as well as walking tours of downtown Los Angeles.

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / t a l k - o f - t h e - t o w n e

November / December

2022

27


TALK OF THE TOWNE

Rotary International’s First Female President When Pat Buttress first moved to Orange in 1976, she kept hearing about the value of joining the Orange Rotary Club. Her demanding schedule as a public affairs professional prevented her from investigating further, but she faced an even greater obstacle. “I was female and not allowed to join,” she says. All of that changed 13 years later when the organization officially opened its doors to female membership. Buttress now serves as president of the Orange Rotary Club. And this year, Rotary International elected Jennifer E. Jones as its first female president. “Jennifer has outstanding leadership skills, and she is as thrilled as I am to see Rotary International rise to a new summit,” Buttress says. Rotary International formed in 1905 as a humanitarian service organization bringing professional leaders together to provide community service, promote integrity, advance goodwill and more. More than 46,000 clubs exist worldwide, with 1.4 million members. After decades of attempting to break down the gender barrier, Sylvia Whitlock of the Rotary Club of Duarte became the first female Rotary club president in 1987. This followed a U.S. Supreme Court decision that the club may not exclude women from membership. The organization amended its constitution two years later to

Celebrated in Orange

Tracey Curtis poses with Rotary “rosette” awards that her club received during her first term as president in 2012-2013.

Carolyn Cavecche sells kettle corn at a street fair with other Rotary members. She served as president in 2017-2018.

Pat Buttress speaks as president of the Orange Rotary Club. She was named president in July 2022.

eliminate the requirement that members be men. Tracey Curtis, who served as Orange Plaza Rotary Club president for three terms, said the organization’s inclusion of women helps Rotary as a whole by expanding the types of service projects available, including those focused on young girls, women in business and more. “It’s about time that a woman takes the reins of this great organization,” says Curtis. Orange has three Rotary Clubs—Orange, Orange Plaza and Orange North—all of which have had women as members and presidents for years. Carolyn Cavecche, former mayor and councilwoman for Orange, said she joined Rotary to continue her work in public service. “I just wanted to spend time

and work with people who care about our Orange community and who put service above self,” she says. “That’s the Rotary motto and something I see Rotarians in Orange living out every day.” Cavecche served as president of the Orange club in 2017, during which she led numerous projects, including the distribution of mini grants to Orange Unified School District teachers. “One teacher asked for trainer tricycles,” Cavecche says. “Many of her students had never had the opportunity to even ride a bike. The day I received a video from her class showing the kids with their new bikes was definitely a (proud) moment for me.” Buttress says she is most proud of working to expand her club’s exposure through the addition of a social media specialist. She brought on Pattie Cordova to share the club’s points of pride online. “Pattie taught me to add something special each week so she

could post a quick video, so I came up with President Pat’s Positivity Corner. I quote various positive thoughts to help us all through the week,” Buttress says. Curtis’ family has longstanding ties to the Orange Plaza Rotary, with members including her father Joe Colombo and husband Jason Curtis. She joined in 2007 after years of doing volunteer work with the Orange Plaza Rotary Car Show. During one of her terms as president, the Orange Plaza Rotary was named “Best Club in District 5320” out of 45 clubs in Orange County and part of south Los Angeles County. Curtis’ interest in public service stems from playing softball and being a Girl Scout as a child in Orange. She says team sports and the Girl Scouts shaped her into the woman she is today, and that Rotary helps her further develop her leadership skills. “This is something I am proud to model for my own daughters, Tiffany Jo and Jianna,” Curtis says.

Over 40 Years of Experience! • • • • • • • • •

Computer Diagnostics Brakes • Electrical Suspension 4-Wheel Alignment Fuel Injection Smog Certificate Factory Scheduled Maintenance Foreign & Domestic . . .

T I TA N

AUTOMOTIVE

Orange North Rotary

Tue Mtg: 7:00 - 8:30 am Facebook.com/Orange-North-RotaryClub-124842554201647/

Wed Mtg: 6:00 - 7:00 pm OrangePlazaRotary.org

COMMERCIAL • INDUSTRIAL • RESIDENTIAL

Thu Mtg: Noon - 1:30 pm Orange-Rotary.org

Family Owned & Operated

Call for Free Estimate

714­974­9448

(at Batavia St.)

www.ShaferPlumbing.com

Orange, CA 92868

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

Orange Rotary

Solving Plumbing Problems for Our Valued Customers throughout Orange County since 1989

939 W. Chapman Ave.

28

Orange Plaza Rotary

(EST. 1976)

O w n e r M I K E F RY is Ready to Help!

by Melissa Pinion-Whitt

714- 997-2311 S E W E R • WAT E R • G A S P L U M B I N G

1307 West Trenton Ave Orange, CA 92867 F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


Circle in the Square by Kirk Sivertsen /

What’s Happening ONGOING

COUPON WINNER

The Hawaiian, with Pineapple

CONT. FROM PAGE 9

2nd & 4th Wed / 6 pm Flag Lowering Ceremony Honoring our veterans & active duty. Plaza Park, Old Towne Orange Every Fri / 9:30 - 11:30 am Orange Home Grown Educational Farm Volunteer Farm Friday Plant, harvest, compost, mend soil & more, as new and seasoned volunteers work together on farm projects. 356 N Lemon / OrangeHomeGrown.org Every Sat / 9 am - 11 am Woman’s Club Events Center Open House Tours Tour an ideal Old Towne location to host your next event. 121 South Center St / 714-605-3753 www.OrangeWC.com Every Sat / 9 am - 1 pm Orange Home Grown, Farmers Market A great way to begin your day, with quality produce & fresh healthy foods. 1st Sat Knife Sharpening 2nd Sat Free Cooking Demo 3rd Sat Kids Club / Seed Lending 303 West Palm / OrangeHomeGrown.org Every Sat & Sun / 10 am - 2 pm 1886 Brewing, Brunch at the Brewery Offering Several Brunch Options! 3-course brunch, bruch ala carte & our famous 1886 Brunchuterie. 114 North Glassell St / 714-922-8130 www.1886BrewingCo.com

www.OrangeReview .com/archive/circle-in-the-square

by Nathan Carter

Sandy Anthony and her family were living in upstate New York when they first visited Orange in 1964 on a cross-country camping trip. “My family loved it here so much that we moved to Orange in 1967,” says Sandy. Today, her two brothers still live in the same family home. Sandy and her siblings all graduated from El Modena High School, which is near her current home in Orange. After high school, she attended University of California, Irvine, where she earned a biology degree and received her teaching credential. Most of Sandy’s teaching career, which spanned 37 years, was spent within the Orange Unified School District, though she did do a brief stint in the Inland Empire. “I spent the last 20 years at Jordan Elementary School, which is the same school my younger brother and sister went to.” Sandy met her future husband, Michael, in 2011, and they married in 2019, the same year she retired.

They enjoy walking around Old Towne Orange and eating at Zito’s New York Style Pizza, where they’ll be using their coupon winnings. “My favorite pizza is the Hawaiian with pineapple and Canadian bacon,” says Sandy. “I know not everybody likes it, but Mike indulges me.”

Professional, personalized funeral & cremation services; advance planning available.

WIN $50.00 OFF ANY PURCHASE

Family Owned & Operated Since 1933

ShannonFamilyMortuary.com 1005 East Chapman Ave. Old Towne Orange, CA 92866

714.771.1000 FD #1772

OrangeReview.com Advertise to 35,000 of your Closest Customers! Mailed to 31,000 residential & business addresses in Orange We’re Temporarily Closed, due to fire. We hope to re-open soon & greatly appreicate your patience & support. GoFund.me/eafd41bd

92866 Orange , CA Glassel l • 134 South

PRST STD U.S. POSTAGE

PA I D

General

CA HUNT BCH, PERMIT 438

Celebr ating

& Cosm eti

c Denti st

ry

10 Years in oTo ! Compre

hensive

Eye Care

121 North Lemo

n St.

Husband

& Wife:

Dr. Alex Romero

227 East Chapm & Dr. Ly Nguyen an Ave #C

Old Towne Orange, CA

92866 / 714 - 538-642

4

743 East Chapm an Ave. 714-997-54 www.

Orange, CA 92866

smilesoforange

July Augu st 2022

from any Plaza Review advertiser featured in this issue.

“News for the Neighborhood

.com

95

NAME

Rotary Club Weekly Meetings Tue / 7-8:30 am Orange North Facebook.com/ OrangeNorthRotaryClub Wed / 6 - 7 pm Orange Plaza OrangePlazaRotary.org Thu / 12-1:30 pm Orange Rotary Orange-Rotary.org

Summ er “Fun Kits ”to-Go!

Available on-line, for pick-up

Our Most Popuand play at home. lar Kits Dragon

PHONE NUMBER

flyShop sAndGa

289-4 689

E-MAIL

“To be or not to be a

COMMENTS, ETC. Mail to:

rdens .com

260 North Glass ell

St. Wed-Fri: 11 - 6 / Sat: 9-5 / Sun: 11- 4 Tel: 714-

Vegeta rian”

A Health y Altern ative to Traditi onal Restau rant Offerin gs.

Old Towne Orange Plaza Review 134 South Glassell St. #C, Orange CA 92866

264 North Glasse ll St. 714-63 3-3260

Winner is selected randomly by an advertiser of the Old Towne Orange PLAZA REVIEW. 28

Tue - Wed: 10:30 am 5 pm Thu - Sat: 10:30 am 8 pm

VIEW PLAZA RE e Orange O l d To w n

Contact:

Mike @ OrangeReview.com (714) 743-6919 Entries must be postmarked by December 15, 2022

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

November / December

2022

29


ORANGE PLAZA REVIEW ADVERTISER INDEX & MAP PG

ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE

MAP

PG

MAP

PG

ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE

MAP

PG

ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE

MAP

ANTIQUES & COLLECTABLES:

DINING & PUBS: (cont)

REAL ESTATE:

SPECIALTY RETAIL:

12 Antique Depot . . . . . . . . . . 27 155 South Glassell St (714) 516-1731

11 O Sea . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 25 109 South Glassell St (714) 362-3309

10 Caliber Real Estate Group . 32 134 South Glassell St (714) 988-6339

12 Army Navy Store . . . . . . . . 26 131 South Glassell St (714) 639-7910

12 Antique Station . . . . . . . . . 30 178 South Glassell St (714) 633-3934

1

Rutabegorz Restaurant . . . 13 264 North Glassell St (714) 633-3260

1

1

21 Country Roads Antiques . . 36 204 West Chapman Ave (714) 532-3041

4

Smoqued California BBQ . . . 6 128 North Glassell St (714) 633-7427

18 Real Estate Establishment . 22 550 East Chapman Ave (714) 744-5711

1 Elegance in Time . . . . . . . . . F 19 1610 North Tustin St (714) 921-8397

20 Golden Bear Antiques . . . . 11 160 North Glassell St (714) 636-3996

26 Zito’s New York Style Pizza 10 156 North Glassell St (714) 771-2222

6

1

30 Orange Circle Antique Mall 34 118 South Glassell St (714) 538-8160

EVENTS / ORGANIZATIONS:

SERVICES:

9

Orange Farmers Market . . . . 1 303 West Palm Ave www.OrangeHomegrown.org

18 Bear Flag Construction (949) 795-6812 BearFlagOC.com

Holocaust Education . . . . . 15 One University Dr (714) 628-7377 Chapman.edu/holocausteducation

23 Karl R Bonham Group (714) 716-5028 www.BonhamConstruction.com

13 Summerhill Ltd . . . . . . . . . 35 110 South Glassell St (714) 771-7782

7

ARTS & CULTURE: 5

Hilbert Museum of Calif Art . 2 167 North Atchison St (714) 516-5880

25 Marinus Welman - Artist . . . C 2402 North Glassell St (714) 998-8662 AUTOMOTIVE: 28 Titan Automotive . . . . . . . . . I 939 West Chapman Ave (714) 997-2311 32 Villa Ford of Orange . . . . . . D 2550 North Tustin St (877) 585-3090 DINING & PUBS: 4

1886 Brewing Company . . . . 5 114 North Glassell St (714) 922-8130

8

Orange Rotary facebook.com/Orange-North-Rotary OrangePlazaRotary.org Orange-Rotary.org

Willits Real Estate Group . . 17 229 North Glassell St (714) 315-8120

14 Galla-Rini Roofing (714) 244-6567 www.GallaRiniRoofing.com

Dragonfly Shops & Gardens 12 260 North Glassell St (714) 289-4689

Full Circle Meaningful . . . . 31 140 South Glassell St (909) 929-1390

27 Johnnye Merle Gardens . . . 36 204 West Chapman Ave (714) 532-3041 16 Matoska Trading Company 20 123 North Glassell St (714) 516-9940 15 Paris in a Cup (714) 538-9411 www.ParisInACup.com 9

Tiddlywinks Toys & Games 19 129 North Glassell St (714) 997-8697

HEALTH, FITNESS & BEAUTY:

TOURISM:

16 Circle City Barbers . . . . . . . 3 133 West Chapman Ave (714) 453-9765

14 H&H Income Tax Insurance 28 480 South Glassell St (714) 288-2088

12 Orangeland RV Park . . . . . . G 1600 West Struck Ave (714) 633-0414

15 Glassell Dental . . . . . . . . . 16 245 North Glassell St (714) 532-5600

1 3

27 Hello Optometry . . . . . . . . . 18 141 North Glassell St (657) 650-2020

14 Knox General Insurance . . 29 226 South Glassell St (714) 744-6537

30 Kistler’s Hair & Nails . . . . . 24 120 South Orange Ave (714) 288-9454

22 Old Towne Plumbing . . . . . 23 (714) 213-5211 www.OldTownePlumbing.com

1

20 Hickory & Spice . . . . . . . . . . E 2143 North Tustin St www.HickoryandSpice.com

JEWELRY

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

Orange Realty . . . . . . . . . . . K 1537 East Chapman Ave (714) 997-0050

16 Guardian Roofs . . . . . . . . . . H 1010 North Batavia St (714) 633-3619

11 Byblos Cafe . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4 129 West Chapman Ave (714) 538-7180

13 O’Hara’s Pub . . . . . . . . . . . . 9 150 North Glassell St (714) 532-9264

30

ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE

Orange Circle Optometry . . 21 227 East Chapman Ave (714) 538-6424

13 Rambling Rose Jewelry . . . 33 118 South Glassell St (714) 538-6305 20 Renée Jewelers . . . . . . . . . . 7 138 North Glassell St (714) 538-1956

Jadtec Security Services . . . A 1520 West Yale Ave (714) 282-0828

28 Shafer Plumbing Contractors B 1307 West Trenton Ave (714) 974-9448

K ISTLER’S H AIR N AIL S TUDIO 31 Years in Old Towne Orange Hair / Mani-Pedi / Waxing / Facials Permanent Make-up / Lash Lift Brow Lamination / Spray Tan

714-288-0387 www.Kistlers .net (behind Hector’s, in Old Towne) 120 South Orange St / Suites A & B / Orange

29 Shannon Family Mortuary . . J 1005 East Chapman Ave (714) 771-1000 19 Sign Painter - Patrick Smith (714) 282-7097 pgsmithdesign.com

118 South Glassell St. O l d To w n e O r a n g e

22 State Farm - Adam Guss . . . L 12711 Newport Ave #C, Tustin (714) 978-4200

714- 538-8160

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


to 91 FREEWAY

1

PALM

15

C HAPMAN U NIVERSITY Rodgers Center for Holocaust Education

AVENUE

Orange Farmers Market

7

Smoqued BBQ

6

1886 Brewing Co

5

Full Circle Meaningful Marketplace

31

Antique Station

30

ALMOND

en

(55) FWY

STREET

N O RT H

27 Antique Depot LINCOLN

Shafer Plumbing

Jadtec Security

Villa Ford of Orange

C

Elegance in Time KATELLA

AVE

WALNUT

AVE

G

ST

( 57) FWY

Titan Automotive

I

MAIN

ORANGE

to 22 FREEWAY

(5 )

F

H

CHAPMAN

SA

Hickory & Spice

Guardian Roofs

Orangeland RV Park

28

D E

AVENUE

ORANGEWOOD

LA VETA AVENUE

AVE

Welman Art Studio

B

A

Knox General Insurance

H&H Income Tax & Insurance

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / m a p

GLASSELL

PLAZA REVIEW Advertisers outside the PLAZA SQUARE RETAIL DISTRICT.

29 DIGITAL ON-LINE PLAZA MAP

ORAN GE (57) FWY

we N G E i s ce nt e re d

O RA

Army-Navy

26 Store

J

K

AVE

GARDEN

NEWPORT BEACH (55) FWY

3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING

3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING

Orange Realty

32

25 O Sea

Real Estate Establishment

ST

33

24

22

Orange City Hall

TUSTIN

Rambling Rose Jewelry

Kistler’s Hair & Nail Salon

Community Serivces

to 55 FREEWAY

Shannon Family Mortuary

34

23

ST

Orange Circle Antique Mall

Old Towne Plumbing

CHAPMAN

GLASSELL

35 SOUTH GLASSELL

Summerhill Ltd.

Caliber Real Estate OLIVE STREET

LEMON STREET

CYPRESS STREET

Country Roads Antiques Johnnye Merle Gardens

EAST

GRAND STREET

36

Orange Main Library & History Center

21

CENTER STREET

PLAZA PLAZA PARK PARK

CHAPMAN

3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING

Wells Fargo Bank

ORANGE STREET

Old Towne Post Office

Y

Orange Circle Optometry

4

3

GARDEN GROVE (22) FWY

FW

Matoska 20 Trading Company

Byblos Cafe

Circle City Barbers

WEST

(5 )

Citizens Business Bank

Chase Bank

to 5 & 57 FREEWAY

Tiddlywinks

19 Toys & Games

AV E N U E

N E W P O RT B E AC H

Reneé Jewelers

18

oTo

A

D

8

A N

C HA P M A N

TO

Laurenly

Hello Optometry

SA N TA

E WN

9

NORTH GLASSELL

3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING

FREE ALL ALL DAY DAY PARKING PARKING FREE

of California Art Hilbert Museum

O’Hara’s Pub

ARTESIA / RIVERSIDE (91) FWY

ty

10 NY Pizza

Zito’s

ar

C ou n

2

11

He

ge

Golden Bear Antiques

AVENUE

2

ra n

MAPLE

5,

7 & 91 Fr e ew a y s , i nt 5, 5 he

fO

17

Willits Real Estate Group

e

b et

12

th

16 Glassell Dental

5 2,

to

The Dragonfly Shops

13

3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING

Rutabegorz Restaurant

14

OL

Ruta’s Old Town Inn

GROVE (22) FWY

FW

Y

L State Farm Adam Guss Agency

November / December

2022

31


PRST STD U.S. POSTAGE

PA I D HUNT BCH, CA PERMIT 438

134 South Glassell • Orange, CA 92866

32

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W