Old Towne Orange Plaza Review | Issue 110 | Jul-Aug 2022

Page 1

General & Cosmetic Dentistry

We’re Temporarily Closed, due to fire. We hope to re-open soon & greatly appreicate your patience & support.

Celebrating 10 Years in

Eye Care

GoFund.me/eafd41bd

Husband & Wife:

121 North Lemon St.

Old Towne Orange, CA 92866 / 714 - 538-6424

Summer “Fun Kits”to-Go! Available on-line, for pick-up and play at home.

Our Most Popular Kits DragonflyShopsAndGardens .com

260 North Glassell St. Wed-Fri: 11 - 6 / Sat: 9 -5 / Sun: 11- 4

Tel: 714- 289-4689

Vegetarian”

A Healthy Alternative to Traditional Restaurant Offerings. Tue - Wed: 10:30 am - 5 pm

264 North Glassell St. 714-633-3260

Dr. Alex Romero & Dr. Ly Nguyen

227 East Chapman Ave #C

July August 2022

“To be or not to be a

oTo !

Comprehensive

Thu - Sat: 10:30 am - 8 pm

743 East Chapman Ave. 714-997-5495

Orange, CA 92866

www.smilesoforange .com

“News for the Neighborhood”


“ U n d e r P re s s u re ” by Bret Price

S m o ke R i n g B l u e

Cosmo

Slow Rotation

Compression Study #1

I N S I D E A RT: Tu r n A b o u t

22 Compression

Por tal


w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a d v e r t i s e r s

July / August

2022

3


4

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a d v e r t i s e r s

July / August

2022

5


Since 2001

Old Towne Orange PLAZAREVIEW

From the Publisher During preparation of this issue, I was reminded that the only constant is change. As we produced this issue featuring people and establishments that make up our unique community, some monumental changes surfaced. This included hearing from my long-time friend and advertiser, Cheryl Turner, that she had chosen to close Old Towne’s beloved Paris in a Cup. The following week, Adel and Zalfa Mahshi shared the fabulous news that they sold Byblos Cafe, with their son Tim retaining interest. That happened to be the morning after Taco Adobe caught fire, now rendering it closed for several months. At the same time we say goodbye to beloved businesses, it’s exciting to see newcomers entering Old Towne’s vibrant community. This includes the businesses in our New to the Neighborhood column (pgs. 9-11). We welcome Hickory & Spice, Palm Market & Deli and Skinsations Spa. As you read this issue, more eateries have moved in or will soon do so. These include BlkDot Coffee (formerly Spic’n Span Cleaners), Finney’s Crafthouse, Bluestone Lane Coffee (located in the old Amana Building on North Olive), Ojai Burger (formerly Buttermilk Fried Chicken) and Chipotle (most recently Aussie Bean Coffee). Counterbalancing these changes, we celebrate in this issue established businesses that have called Old Towne home for some time. This includes Smoqued BBQ (pg. 7) and Orange Circle Optometry (pg. 20), both celebrating a decade in the Plaza. The owners of Smoqued have enjoyed Old Towne so much that they more recently opened 1886 Brewing Co. Read about how the brewery’s Brew Master Shaun Morgan recently earned the title of World Beer Cup Champion (pg. 25). I hope this edition brings you cool relief during these hot summer days!

What’s Happening

. . .

JULY 2022 Sun / Jul 3 / 4 - 9 pm City of Orange 3rd of July Celebration Live music, children’s activities, food booths, with the evening’s grand finale featuring the Orange Community Master Chorale and a patriotic fireworks salute to America. Grijalva Park 368 North Prospect St. 714-744-7278 / www.CityOfOrange.org

Sun / Jul 10 / 2 - 4 pm SEEDS Full Circle Gallery Artist Reception: Katherine & Jason Leith Socially engaging art to find meaning and sacredness, with poetry reading by Steven Homestead. (Jun 6 - Jul 31) Full Circle Meaningful Marketplace 909-921-9390 / www.SeedsFineArt.org

Mon / Jul 4 / 10 am Orange Park Acres 4th of July Parade The 55th annual parade honoring the history of OPA. Come join in the parade or watch along the route. 6500 East Santiago Canyon Rd www.OrangeParkAcres.org

Mon - Fri / Jul 11 - Aug 5 / 9:30 - 11 am The Dragonfly Shops & Gardens Summer Camp for Kids Ages 8 & Up (adults are welcomed too) A fun-filled week of arts, crafts & gardening. Creating projects, utilizing techniques like painting, beading, wire wrapping, watercolors & planting. 260 North Glassell St / 714-289-4689 www.DragonflyShopsAndGardens.com

Thu / Jul 7 / 5:30 - 8:30 pm Orange Chamber of Commerce Board Installation & Dinner Gala Awards ceremony, opportunity drawings, performance by Odmoia & proudly premiering “Sweet Orange” a gift of song to our City! Woman’s Club Events Center 121 So. Center St / OrangeChamber.com

Sun - Thu / Jul 17 - 21 / 9 am - 12 pm Naranjita Flamenco Kids Flamenco Summer Camp For kids ages 6-12 years old. Camp includes dancing, singing, palmas and crafts mixed with a bit of history, culture & the Spanish Language. 301 East Katella Ave / 714-400-2939 www.NaranjitaFlamenco.com

Liquidation Sale begins July 8 at 11 am “It’s been our Pleasure to Serve You for 15 years. Your Friendship & Support have Meant the World to Us. We could not have done it without you.”

Sincerely, Mike Escobedo 134 South Glassell St. / Orange, CA 92866 714 - 771 - 6919 Mike@OrangeReview.com

“ News For The Neighborhood ” Old Towne Orange Plaza Review © 2022 Mike Escobedo Design. All rights reserved. The material herein contained cannot be reproduced in whole or in part without the written permission of Mike Escobedo Design.

www. OrangeReview .com 6

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

“With Grateful Hearts to All our Wonderful Friends.” Cheryl, Brandee, Staff & Family

Teas & Wares at “Paris in a Cup Online ” for Home Delivery. F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


!

Around the Plaza AUGUST 2022 Tue / Aug 2 / 5 - 7 pm Villa Park National Night Out Learn about VP Neighborhood Watch, service organizations & check out the interesting OC Sheriff & OC Fire Authority vehicles, their functions. Villa Park City Hall Parking Lot www.VillaPark.co/national-night-out Tue / Aug 2 / 5:30 - 8 pm Orange Police National Night Out A fun, free & interactive night with a Police K-9 demo, free raffle prizes, meet McGruff & more. Grijalva Park 368 North Prospect St www.CityOfOrange.org Sun / Aug 7 / 5:30 - 9:30 pm Musco Center for the Arts “Symphony in the Cities” The perfect end-of-summer event for the whole family. Pacific Symphony hosts this uniquely casual concert, sharing well-known music, sing-alongs & family-friendly activities for all to enjoy. Aitken Arts Plaza 415 North Glassell / 714-997-6812 www.MuscoCenter.org

ONGOING

134 South Glassell St / Orange 92866

Sat / Aug 13 / 6 - 9 pm Orange Home Grown Farmer's Market-to-Table Dinner An amazing dinner fundraiser featuring guest chefs to benefit OHG’s community outreach activities. Attallah Piazza / 714-397-4699 www.OrangeHomeGrown.org

Wed / 7 - 8:30 pm City of Orange Concerts in the Park Jul 13 Night Owl Productions, Dance Jul 20 80z All Stars, Hits From the 80s Jul 27 The Band Fresh, Latin, R&B Dance Aug 3 The Trip, Classic Rock, 60s-Today Aug 10 The Wise Guys, Big Band Swing Aug 17 Superlark, Classic Rock Hart Park Bandshell: 701 South Glassell 714-744-7274 / www.CityOfOrange.org

Sun / Aug 14 / 2 - 4 pm SEEDS Full Circle Gallery Artist Reception: Christine Lee Smith “Fall into the Sky” a reflection on pandemic solitude. (Aug 1 - Sep 31) Full Circle Meaningful Marketplace 909-921-9390 / www.SeedsFineArt.org

Every Thu / 11 am Hilbert Museum of California Art Guided Museum Art Tour Tour this superlative collection of 20th century “California Scene” paintings. 167 North Atchison St 714-516-5880 / HilbertMuseum.com

Sat / Aug 20 / 5:30 - 11 pm Santa Ana Zoo “Zoofari” Gala 2022 Raising funds for Zoo support. 1801 East Chestnut Ave, SA 714-953-8555 / www.SantaAnaZoo.org

Thu / 5 - 8 pm OC Parks Summer Concert Series Jul 21 The Aquabats Jul 28 Uptown Funk Irvine Regional Park: One Irvine Park Rd 714-973-6835 / www.OCParks.com

Photographer Kristin Smetona

Fri / 6 - 10 pm OC Parks Sunset Cinema Series Jul 29 Jungle Cruise Aug 5 The School of Rock Irvine Regional Park: One Irvine Park Rd 714-973-6835 / www.OCParks.com

Printed by Reed Printing

Jul/Aug 2022

Publishing Team

Publisher Mike Escobedo Mike@OrangeReview.com Editor/Writer Julie Bawden-Davis julie@juliebawdendavis.com Writer Karen Anderson 123karen@earthlink.net Writer Nathan Carter nathan.travis.carter@gmail.com

Tue - Sun / Aug 23 - 28 Chapman University Student Orientation We welcome incoming students, as they familiarize themselves with the academic & social aspects of our unique community. One University Dr / www.Chapman.edu 714-516-4600

Writer Yuki Klotz-Burwell klotz105@mail.chapman.edu Writer Marianne Lauren jmhss@aol.com Writer Sheri Ledbetter sledbetter@socal.rr.com

info@smetonaphoto.com Digital Artist Clyde San Juan crookedtrails@hotmail.com Web Developer Chase Higgins chasehiggins@me.com

estella@reedprinting.com Processed by Mailing Pros, Inc. MPI@MailingProsInc.com Distributed by the US Postal Services www.usps.com

Thank You for a Decade of Support!

www.SmoquedBBQ.com 128 North Glassell St / 714.633.7427 ~ Catering Available ~ w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

July / August

2022

7


Courtesy of Old Towne Plumbing We all use water daily. According to the EPA WaterSense, the average American family of four uses 400 gallons of water per day—about 30 percent devoted to outdoor uses. Due to the severe, ongoing drought, the State of California is requiring residents to cut water usage by 20 percent. To accomplish this goal, the City of Orange currently restricts landscape watering to Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays only between the hours of 6 pm and 8 am.

With summer in full swing, here are some outdoor water use Conservation Tips. Set Mower Blades to 3 inches This encourages deeper turf roots. Install Drip Irrigation and a Smart Controller Regularly check that the drip system is functioning properly. Hand Water Watering systems that spray every plant in your yard waste water. Hand water just plants that require irrigation. Mulch A 1- to 2-inch layer of mulch, such as shredded bark, on your planting beds and containerized plants cuts down significantly on the need to water. Use Waterwise, Drought Resistant Plants There are many beautiful plants that survive on less water.

www.OldTownePlumbing .com Historic Home Specialist, since 1980

(714) 213-5211 Lic # 396851

KARL BONHAM

8

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

CA R L S H I E L D S

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


!

NEW TO THE NEIGHBORHOOD

Indulge Yourself

by Yuki Klotz-Burwell

/ PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

opened barbecue restaurant, has arrived in Orange just in time for summer. The eatery has been open on Tustin St. since early May, run by owner Rick Mysse and his son, Luke Mysse. The Mysse family got their start in barbecue through the BBQ competition circuit in 2015. After a friend invited him to judge a competition, Rick was intrigued and encouraged to enter himself and his son in their first contest and was instantly hooked. At his second competition, Stagecoach’s BBQ Festival, Rick’s original brisket recipe took home first place. “I had never been involved in something else that provides so much instant gratification,” says Rick. “You set up on Friday, cook all night on Saturday, and by the end of the day, you’re holding cash and trophies.” Rick realized that if he continued to take barbecue competitions seriously, he would have a shot at winning top-tier contests. Now, he has traveled across the country and participated in hundreds of competitions, including The American Royal World Series of Barbecue, the world’s largest barbecue contest. His barbecue has won him more than 200 trophies, and beef brisket is now the most popular menu item at Hickory & Spice. After retiring from the national BBQ competition circuit, Rick spends his time curating all the restaurant’s dishes, including the brisket, which takes 22 hours to smoke. “It’s been incredible to see people’s reactions when they eat our brisket for the first time,”

SmetonaPhoto.com

This summer, Orange is brimming with new businesses ready to build out self-care experiences for the Old Towne neighbors. Whether self-care means indulging in your favorite cuisine or treating yourself to a massage, you’ll find it at one Hickory & Spice of the newly opened ventures featured here. Try award-winning barbecue from Hickory & Spice, visit the deli at Palm Street Market or relax with a facial at Skinsations Spa. Hickory & Spice, a newly

says Luke. “We’re looking forward to maintaining that level of highquality food and great taste.” Already, the restaurant’s barbecue has been an enormous success. Though Hickory & Spice officially closes at 7:30 pm, they often close early because they’ve sold out of everything. The menu is filled with traditional barbecue dishes like pulled pork sandwiches, smoked turkey and sides of tater tots and onion rings, which have earned Rick the nickname, “Lord of the Rings.” “I never thought I’d get this far with barbecuing,” says Rick. “Every day is another adventure. I’m constantly thinking, ‘how much better can this get?’”

Father-son duo Rick Mysse and Luke Mysse of Hickory & Spice display some of the restaurant’s most popular menu items, including beef brisket, onion rings and sides. Feeding others has always been in the Mysse’s DNA. Before opening Hickory & Spice, Rick took the time to cook for churches and nonprofits, donating thousands of meals per year.

At the end of the day, the Hickory & Spice team is passionate about two things: barbecue and family. Luke works a full-time job but continues to help at the restaurant to support his father’s dream, and his children and wife also lend helping hands. “We want to share our passion for barbecue with Orange,” says Luke. “Our goal is to be a place where people visit with their fam-

“To all our customers and friends, we sincerely thank you for your loving support over the past 33 1/2 years. We will miss you all as we embark on our next chapter.” 118 South Glassell St. O l d To w n e O r a n g e

ilies and feel the same sense of passion and community we feel.” Luke says the Orange community has already welcomed Hickory & Spice with open arms and a sense of curiosity toward barbecue culture. “The support the community has given us has been overwhelming,” he says. “People are so willing to connect us with the right vendors and get this business started.”

Hickory & Spice / 2143 North Tustin St. #6 / 714-202-5458 www.HickoryAndSpice.com

B y b l o s O r a n ge .com

God’s Blessings, Adel & Zalfa Mahshi

714- 538-8160 F O U N D E D I N 1 9 8 9 / R E - O P E N I N G J U LY 6

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a r t i c l e s / n e w - t o - t h e - n e i g h b o r h o o d

July / August

2022

9


Indulge Yourself! CONT. FROM PAGE 9

/ PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

The market at 608 East Palm Ave. is Old Towne’s longest continuously running business. Now under new ownership, this summer, the market is receiving a fresh new look and product line. Owner Tim Waterhouse hopes to officially reopen Palm Market this July. “I’m really happy with how the store turned out and the products we’ll be carrying,” he says. “I’m hoping the market can be an asset to the community because there isn’t another store like this around.” Originally from the East Coast, Waterhouse is used to seeing bodegas and delis on every corner. He’s recreating that neighborhood store atmosphere with Palm Market, while offering brand new items that take a different direction from the storefront’s previous tenants. Palm Market will offer specialty products like artisan pasta, olive oil and cheese, and an instore deli service preparing hot sandwiches and meat by the pound. “I’m excited to offer people neat products they can’t get at other grocery stores in the area,” says Waterhouse. “We’ll also have some outdoor seating so people can grab a coffee and a pastry and relax.” Later this year, Waterhouse has plans to bring recurring events to the market, including

SmetonaPhoto.com

Palm Market & Deli

monthly wine tasting gatherings and charcuterie lessons. The shop is wholly focused on the local community, and Waterhouse hires small Orange businesses for everything from electrical to plumbing services. He works directly with Orange Home Grown Farmers & Artisans Market to source fresh produce for his vegetables. “I want to make it known that I’m fully invested in the Orange community, and I’m here to stay,” says Waterhouse. “I’m serious about making an impact in this neighborhood.” Palm Market is already drumming up excitement from the neighbors who have seen the

Palm Market & Deli Owner Tim Waterhouse stands in front of the newly renovated market, highlighting upcoming offerings that will be available for customers. Waterhouse has plans to continue updating the look and feel of the building, including adding a nostalgic mural representing the history of Orange.

storefront shift ownership through the years. “Countless people come up to me and share that they used to come to the store when they were kids,” says Waterhouse. “I know this store means a lot to so many people, so I have an obligation to preserve it.” Though this is the first brickand-mortar store Waterhouse is running, he brings more than 30 years of restaurant experience. His most recent venture was a

Mexican-Asian fusion food truck complete with a full restaurant menu of more than 25 items. “Tim has spent more than a year perfecting this store to make it pleasant and driven by the customers’ needs,” says Alfredo Bautista, a previous business partner who has worked with Tim for years. “He cares about this community and has thought out all the details to ensure efficiency and satisfaction.”

Palm Market & Deli 608 East Palm Ave. / 714-602-7769 / www.PalmMkt.com

Shop with Us for the Best Selection In Town!

155 South Glassell

178 South Glassell

Open Daily 10 am - 6 pm

Open Daily 9:30am - 5:30pm

714-516-1731

714-633-3934

2 Stores / 100’s of Dealers / 1,000’s of Antiques 10

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


/ PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

This past November, an Orange County veteran business joined Old Towne’s roster of local offerings. Skinsations Spa, previously located in Tustin for 30 years, is now open on East Chapman Ave. “Old Towne Orange was always my dream business location,” says Skinsations Spa Owner Leaine Dehmer. “The community here is so loyal, and few other places provide that experience.” The spa sits in a historic Old Towne cottage. When Dehmer saw the location available, she stopped in her tracks to get in touch with the realtor. “I like to tell people that this house found me,” she says. “Now I’ve built a genuine community that has embraced me, and it’s one of the most magical feelings I’ve had.” Dehmer got her start in the skincare industry through paramedical makeup on burn survivors, supporting them by finding solutions for scars and discolorations. She created an ointment that brought patients both comfort and reduced redness, and it was then that Dehmer noticed the impact clinical research and products can have on skin. “I realized I wanted to know how to treat skin and improve people’s skin health, so I ended up learning what I could about this industry,” she says. Now, Dehmer takes that same approach with her clients and aims to educate each new customer who comes through her door. She

SmetonaPhoto.com

Skinsations Spa

Skinsations Spa Owner Leaine Dehmer has spent more than three decades in the skincare space dialing in on what is most important for her own business values. In addition to running an apprenticeship program at her spa, she’s starting a foundation to support victims of human trafficking with jobs and life transition assistance.

introduces them to her out-of-thebox thinking and styles, bringing in science-based methods that emphasize the importance of commitment. For six years, Dehmer perfected her research and development of a water-soluble moisturizer that eliminates the need for a traditional toner that dries out skin. “I realized I had to tell a new story to rewrite the book of skin health,” she says. “We have an advanced understanding of massages and facials and work to introduce that to all our clients.”

clients and introducing them to their new location, which has a homey atmosphere strategically made to feel comforting and inviting. “When clients come to the spa, they tell us they feel like they are in their own personal, comfortable space,” says Virginia Leyvas, Lead Esthetician and Admin Director at Skinsations Spa. “We’re looking forward to expanding to new clients and continuing to make people feel at home here and at home in their skin.” Skinsations Spa 1035 East Chapman Ave. / 714-731-7300 / www.SkinsationsSpa.com Skinsations Spa offers various self-care and skincare services, including massages, facials and waxing. Customers can choose from more than a dozen types of facial treatments, from a classic facial to a clinical glycolic peel. “We tell our new clients that they will see and feel their skin after their first facial,” says Dehmer. “It can completely transform the environment of their skin.” As they head into summer, the Skinsations team is excited to continue welcoming in new

Visit Us & Our ETSY store at SummerhillAntiques

• Elegant Estate Pieces • Vintage Chandeliers

Renée Jewelers

• Custom Lampshades • Custom Fabrics Offered from all Major Design Houses

Sharing the Love for 42 Years

• Upholstery Services

110 South Glassell St

SummerhillAntiques.com

714- 771-7782

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a r t i c l e s / n e w - t o - t h e - n e i g h b o r h o o d

O l d To w n e O r a n g e

138 North Glassell • Orange, CA 714-538-1956 Layaways Welcome / Cash, Check, Charge DESIGN & REPAIRS BY PERRY PACE

BIRTHSTONES:

July - Ruby / August - Peridot

July / August

2022

11


KNOW THE NEIGHBORS by Sheri Ledbetter

Craftsmanship in Orange From the roof to the pipes and everything in between, these three family-owned home improvement companies know houses inside and out. Craftsmanship is the name of the game and they take that seriously. Shafer Plumbing, Guardian Roofs and Bear Flag Construction have combined experience of more than 100 years of knowledge in their respective trades. Here they share their stories on everything from detailed restoration to the latest trends in “green” construction.

/ PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

As a general contractor for the last 40 years, Keith Misumi has seen and done it all. While Misumi’s company, Bear Flag Construction, does everything from complete remodels to smaller projects, his passion is carpentry and the craftsmanship of the historic homes in Old Towne. “I love what I do,” says Misumi, who does a lot of work in Orange. “I like to build things. I love the creative part of it and the skill part of it, but craftsmanship is my passion. When things are hand done, you can just tell.” Growing up in Claremont and starting out his career in Sierra Madre, Misumi learned to appreciate the craftsmanship of old homes from the beginning. “I learned from a craftsman who built custom homes,” says Misumi. “That contractor in Sierra Madre was Reg Tollefson. His work was a result of creative process.” In 2008, the recession hit and Misumi took the opportunity to found Bear Flag Construction the following year. Bear Flag is mainly Misumi, who has a bevy of subcontractors that he has filtered through over the years— all sharing the same passion for craftmanship in their trades. On one job in Old Towne, the customer showed Misumi a photo from the 1940s and said he wanted to restore the home to that era. The home had been altered over the years and Misumi enjoyed the challenge.

SmetonaPhoto.com

Bear Flag Construction

“On the front exterior, there was a porch and steps and nothing else,” he says. “I considered the columns on the sides of the porch. For the porch windows, I used a subcontractor who makes windows the old-school way.” Misumi places importance on getting to know his clients and begins each job with understanding the customer’s expectations. Orange business owner Bruce Sargeant has done half a dozen

Keith Misumi, owner of Bear Flag Construction, stands in front of one of his Old Towne Orange restoration projects. Misumi especially enjoys the craftmanship aspect of his work.

projects with Keith over the years and says his vision keeps him coming back. “What I like about Keith is once he really understands what you want and why, he’ll get a vision of what it will be,” says Sargeant. “When he gets like that, he goes to great lengths to

make sure that he does it right.” “I’ve done everything from the bottom up since 1978,” says Misumi, who is booked for the rest of the year. “I’ve done it all, so I’m qualified to supervise it all. The passion for what I do is there.” Bear Flag Construction 949-795-6812 / www.BearFlagOC.com

! "

#"!! " " " ! ! " " !"

" " # " !!

12

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


/ PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

When it comes to roofs, Steve Sudduth is the expert. Steve took over Guardian Roofs and Energy Solutions 36 years ago and has expanded over recent years. Steve’s son Justin Sudduth joined the family business at the age of 20. “My dad liked the idea of having a family run business where his employees and homeowners felt comfortable and know they will be taken care off,” says Justin. “He likes to treat his employees like family and not like just any other employee.” Based in Orange with locations in Los Angeles and San Diego, Guardian Roofs has much of Southern California covered. Paul Moen is a property owner who now only uses Guardian Roofs for his properties after years of working with other companies. “I met Steve on a plane, and he was an honest guy with integrity and really cared about his employees by the way he talked about his company,” says Moen. “Months later, I had a roofing situation and called Steve. The follow through and the honesty was fantastic. They were very communicative throughout the process. I learned a lot about roofing.” In California, most people want to make their homes more energy efficient. Guardian Roofs

SmetonaPhoto.com

Guardian Roofs and Energy Solutions

informs homeowners of all the different types of energy efficient roofs available to them so that they may select their best option. The latest roofing trends are the Green Shingles, also called “Cool Roofs.” “Cool Roofs is one of our specialties,” says Justin. “We are an Owens Corning Platinum Preferred installer, as well as GAF and CertainTeed.” Guardian Roofs takes pride in giving back to the community and has teamed up with Habitat for Humanity and Owens Corning to help a Navy Veteran get a brandnew roof.

At Guardian Roofs, covering customers with roofing solutions is top priority. Pictured here is the company’s team (from left) Hope Valdez, Helen Tredo, Owner Steve Sudduth and his son, Justin Sudduth, Diana Hughes and Mona Portilla.

“Not all roofs are the same,” “These men and women sacrisays Justin. “Homes shift due to fice their lives for this country,” weather conditions and earthsays Justin. “The least we can do quakes. Some roofs have different is make sure they have a roof thicknesses of plywood but what over their head for them and does stay the same is the quality their families.” workmanship we provide. We pride Justin points out that Old ourselves on protecting—that is Towne Orange has its own identity important to us. This is our town, because of the natural beauty in and we don’t want to disrupt that; the community and its historical we want to complement it.” homes. Guardian Roofs and Energy Solutions 1010 North Batavia St. / 714-633-3619 / www.GuardianRoofs.com

Professional Property Management • Thorough Tenant Screening license #580269

• On-line Payments & Disbursements

Historic Restorations

• Improve Property Value

Remodels

• 24 Hr Emergency Service for Tenants

Kitchen and Bath

Real Estate Sales & Investments

Exterior Makeovers Siding

• Residential, Commercial, Industrial, Land Sales • Investment Strategies • 40 Years in Business

Doors and Windows Patio Covers Decks Stairs

Find us on:

714- 744-5711

Painting

www. RealEstateEstablishment .com

Termite and Dry Rot

550 East Chapman Ave, Suite B, Orange, CA 92866 w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a r t i c l e s / k n o w - t h e - n e i g h b o r s

General Contractor - Keith Misumi

(949) 795-6812

www.BearFlagOC.com

July / August

2022

13


14

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


Craftsmanship in Orange CONT. FROM PAGE 13

ELECTRONIC FILING / FAST REFUND

H & H Income Tax $25 OFF

with this ad.

&

Insurance

/ PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

Steve and Ruthe Shafer moved into their new office in March 2020 after three decades of running Shafer Plumbing out of a home office. Considered an essential business during the pandemic, operations continued. Their warehouse and office in Orange are the cornerstone of this family-owned business. Shafer Plumbing does mostly commercial work—about 80 percent. Tenant improvement is a big part of the business. “If you rent a spot at the mall for your business and your plans call for ADA compliant bathrooms, we come in and make that happen,” says Steve. They do salons, office buildings, restaurants, gyms, hotels, food processing plants, factories, retirement homes—anything that requires plumbing. “We do a lot of work for the Diocese of Orange, for example,” says Ruthe. “We did all the plumbing in the renovation of Christ Cathedral in Garden Grove, an $82 million project that took two years.” Founded in 1989, Shafer Plumbing has 14 employees, most long-term. Steve and Ruthe met in 1988 on a Christian singles video dating service. Steve was already a plumber doing a lot of work in L.A. Once they got married, they chose to go into business for themselves and remain mostly in Orange County. Steve’s knowledge of plumbing

SmetonaPhoto.com

Shafer Plumbing

runs deep. He notes that most Old Towne Orange homes have cast-iron sewer pipes, which have been around since the 1800s. ABS is now used to replace or repair cast-iron pipes, which have a lifespan of about 40 years. Also common these days are copper, PVC and PEX. At Shafer they’re also up to speed on recent industry trends, including Calgreen codes that reference how much water can be used for different functions, such as showers and sinks. “The amount of water for toilets is getting smaller and smaller,” notes Steve. Another trend meant to be more environmentally friendly that they’re seeing at Shafer Plumbing is the move from traditional water heaters to tankless. The latter type of water heater features a burner with coil around it that the water runs through to heat it. “Tankless water heaters don’t supply instant hot water but they

Big Enough to Provide the Capacity Needed FAMILY OWNED & OPERATED

Small Enough to Assure Individual Attention

Known for creative solutions to just about any plumbing challenge, the folks at Shafer Plumbing work hard to satisfy clients. Pictured here in front of the company’s Orange warehouse and office are (from left) Jasmine Clemente, Shelley George, Julie Cordell, Owners Steve and Ruthe Shafer, Jackson (their dog), Mike Thomas, Deyvid Rodriguez and Marrie De Vesta.

do supply constant hot water,” says Ruthe. “Whereas with a 40gallon water heater you may run out with a lot of people taking showers.” Stacy Hudson with Finn Construction and Development has used Shafer Plumbing for the last decade. “They are not so big, but more family-oriented, so they are enjoyable to work with, and they’ve always had good service for us,” says Hudson. At Shafer, they know that plumbing has its fair share of unique pickles. Christ Our Savior Church in Santa Ana proved to be an unusual job for Shafer Plumbing. The church was newly built and had an infinity baptistry font holding a 5,000-pound stone

SINCE 1983

480 South Glassell St

www.ShaferPlumbing.com 1307 West Trenton Ave. / 714-974-9448

Young Enough to Use New Ideas

Old Enough to Have Profited by Experience

BUSINESS INSURANCE SPECIALISTS

(714)

288-2088

All Types of Roofs & Repairs COMMERCIAL & RESIDENTIAL License #663983

31 Years in Orange, Serving Southern California

Orange, CA 92866

The only office that can file taxes back to 1997

• Commercial Truck • General Contractor • Business Liability • Workers Comp • Home • Auto

ANA Y CATALINA INCOME TAX

Corner of La Veta & Glassell

for immersing people for baptisms. “We ended up doing a lot of onthe-fly engineering to make things work and keep the water from overflowing to the floor,” says Steve. “Steve is very good at coming up with creative solutions that often save a lot of money,” says Ruthe. “He finds alternates where otherwise they’d have to tear out a project and start over. So, he is called in a lot for that kind of consulting.” The office credos at Shafer Plumbing are respect and followup. “We also make sure our phones are answered by a live person, not a robot,” the Shafers add.

Serving you in Old Towne Orange since 1980 226 SOUTH GLASSELL STREET, ORANGE, CALIFORNIA 92866 WWW.KGIBINC.COM LIC. NO. 0F00752 T 714.744.3300 F 714.744.6537

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a r t i c l e s / k n o w - t h e - n e i g h b o r s

Roof Leak & Re-Felt Specialists.

714-244-6567 www.GallaRiniRoofing .com July / August

2022

15


O RANGE

P ROPERTY

In the living room, a designer mannequin stands adjacent to a plush-velvet chair re-upholstered by Laurie. On the wall hangs a framed photo of the Plaza fountain.

Laurie, Ron and their daughter, Sophie, strike a pose in the driveway next to a client’s award-winning custom-built 1955 Chevy. The car is named “Roxanne” after the “Roxanne Red” paint job.

H

A Hot Rod Family

Home is where the car is, especially if you’re ultimate car enthusiasts like Ron and Laurie Cambra. Built in 1961, their colorful residence on the outskirts of Old Towne Orange in the Cambridge Park neighborhood provides the perfect backdrop for their collection of vintage vehicles that includes everything from a 1947 Ford pickup and 1967 Camaro to a Super Comp Dragster and a Beatles-themed van with 1970sstyle crushed-velvet interior. When the couple purchased the property 26 years ago, they

immediately got to work renovating the backyard to accommodate their cars, as well as boats, a van and trailers. “It was an ugly duckling house with no lawn and a white-rock roof,” recalls Ron. “First thing we did was tear out the dual–sided basketball court that had tall lights like a professional court. We needed the space to build a bigger garage. Between myself, Laurie and our daughter, Sophie, we have at least seven vehicles in our garage at any given time. We also added a curved driveway, an electric gate, fencing and storage

AUTO / HOME / UMBRELLA / LIFE / HEALTH / BUSINESS / WORKERS COMP

Visit Us in Tustin for a Free Comparative Quote, and Receive a $20 Gift Card.

ne Dr

www.ShaferPlumbing.com ve

tA y

or

Fw

wp

5

ine Bl vd

Ne

Irv

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

714­974­9448

Irvine Blvd

License #0G50204

16

Family Owned & Operated

Call for Free Estimate yli

12711 Newport Ave #C Tustin, CA 92780 (714) 978-4200 www. AdamGuss .com

See our overwhelmingly positive reviews on

COMMERCIAL • INDUSTRIAL • RESIDENTIAL

Sk

Moving August 1, 2022

Gables Real Estate in Old Towne. Growing up in Newark, California, Ron was always a “car guy” into racecars and drag racing. He still drives his grandfather’s all-black 1960 Rambler wagon. “I’ve always been passionate about cars ever since I was a little kid,” he says. “Orange is a mecca for hot rods, street rods and vintage automobiles. It’s the ideal place for someone like me to live and have a business. A lot of the younger hot-rod crowd live the lifestyle of the Fifties and drive those old cars. Meanwhile,

Solving Plumbing Problems for Our Valued Customers throughout Orange County since 1989

17th St

to

“IS MOVING TO TUSTIN”

North to 55 Fwy

barns. It’s just taken off from there.” Owner of the venerable Cambra Speed Shop on 726 West Angus Ave. in Orange, Ron is well known in the industry for the award-winning cars, hot rods, racecars and dragsters that he has built, modified or worked on for clients through the decades. Laurie, who grew up in the area and attended Orange High School, was also been a car buff her entire life. She and Ron met in 1988 at the Labor Day Cruise in Costa Mesa. Laurie currently works as a Realtor at Seven

S E W E R • WAT E R • G A S P L U M B I N G

1307 West Trenton Ave Orange, CA 92867 F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


The Italian-inspired kitchen features a wrought-iron table, “Giallo Veneziano” granite countertops and a Mocha travertine tile backsplash.

Sophie’s bedroom reveals her talent for interior decorating. The cottage-style theme pays homage to her grandmother, who lived with the family until 2012.

A baby grand piano and standup bass take center stage in the family room. Ron once kept his prized motorcycle in the room, but their daughter made him take it outside.

Family meals take place in the dining area that features a brick fireplace. The artwork is by their friend Steve Vandemon, an acclaimed automotive artist who also painted their standup bass.

Written by Karen Anderson Photos by Kristin Smetona: www.smetonaphoto.com

the wealthier guys in Orange Park Acres have their expensive dream cars as well. There are a lot of car people in Orange, and everyone knows each other.” Initially, Ron built dozens of cars at his home garage before opening the original Cambra

Speed Shop on the corner of Maple and Pixley. In 2015, he incorporated to his present location on West Angus, where the shop employs 15 people who do everything from fabrication and engine work to final assembly and paint jobs.

With two bedrooms and two bathrooms, their 1,600-squarefoot home is just minutes away from the shop. Through the years, the Cambras have added interesting new features to the property inside and out, such as red brick exterior wainscoting, stained glass on the front doors and high-grade CONTINUED ON PAGE 18

Let Us Solve Your Roofing Problems “Our Integrity is Our Promise” • Neat, Clean, Professional • New Roof • Roof Repair • Roof Certification

Call today for a Free Estimate: www.GuardianRoofs .com

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a r t i c l e s / o l d - t o w n e - p r o p e r t y

Lic.847279, B1 & C39

714-633-3619 July / August

2022

17


O RANGE

P ROPERTY

Lifelong vintage-car enthusiasts, Ron and Laurie met at a car show in Costa Mesa. They have multiple classic cars at their property.

A Hot Rod Family laminate flooring throughout the interior. The couple describes their interior design style as “jewel-tone gypsy bohemian.” “The guest bathroom is suggestive of vintage cars with its subway tile, yellow paint and car photos,” says Laurie. “In the living room, we have an enormous, cushy red-velvet chair next to a mannequin. We love our upright bass and baby grand player piano in the living room, even though we don’t play them.” Showcasing a “rustic lagoon” theme, the backyard has a fire pit,

CONT. FROM PAGE 17

Ron worked closely with Dynasty Pools to create this outdoor oasis featuring a swimming pool, spa and waterfalls. A swinging bench hangs from the Japanese Oak tree above the pool. Ron is currently converting a vintage gasoline pump into a water feature.

outdoor seating and a dining area covered by a slatted pergola. Built by a fellow car-enthusiast friend, the tropical swimming pool and spa are surrounded by boulders, water features and palm trees. A swinging bench hangs above the pool adjacent to a vintage gas pump that is incorporated into the waterfall. “The backyard is our own little oasis,” says Laurie. “We have lots of gatherings with friends and family out there. Recently, we hosted Sophie’s graduation party from Cal State Fullerton. Sophie

IN THE ORANGE CIRCLE ANTIQUE MALL

• • • • • • • • •

AUTOMOTIVE

118 South Glassell St

18

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

Professional, personalized funeral & cremation services; advance planning available.

(EST. 1976)

Family Owned & Operated Since 1933

939 W. Chapman Ave.

ShannonFamilyMortuary.com

(at Batavia St.)

Old Towne Orange, CA 92866

Home of the 18 Month Layaway

Computer Diagnostics Brakes • Electrical Suspension 4-Wheel Alignment Fuel Injection Smog Certificate Factory Scheduled Maintenance Foreign & Domestic . . .

T I TA N

BUY / SELL / TRADE

714-538-6305

ago,” says Laurie, who previously worked in Old Towne in the beauty profession. “I ended up working for the same agency that sold us our home, Seven Gables Real Estate, located in a historic bungalow on North Glassell near Chapman. I’m a people person, and I love being part of this company and this community.” Both Ron and Laurie donate their time to as many activities as they can in the city. Ron helps with the Orange City Car Show every year. Laurie participates in fundraisers via Seven Gables.

Over 40 Years of Experience!

Vintage Platinum & Gold Jewelry w w w. R a m b l i n g R o s e . n e t

loves cars as much as we do. She started racing junior dragsters when she was seven years old. We trailer her racecar to the drag strip in Bakersfield or Irwindale.” Laurie recalls the days when she was a young girl Sophie’s age. Her first hot rod was a 1972 Plymouth Cuda. She purchased her beloved 1967 Camaro the year before she met Ron. They are currently in the process of refurbishing it to be more of a racecar. When she’s not driving her 1970 Chevy truck, Laurie uses a Jeep for work. “I became a Realtor 10 years

Orange, CA 92868 O w n e r M I K E F RY is Ready to Help!

714- 997-2311

1005 East Chapman Ave. Old Towne Orange, CA 92866

714.771.1000 FD #1772

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


Beneath a slatted pergola, the shaded outdoor dining area provides a relaxing retreat surrounded by palm trees and tropical landscaping. Designed for entertaining, the backyard includes a fire pit and barbecue area.

Whether walking to the Plaza for dinner, driving their 1955 Chevy around the neighborhood or biking around the block,

Laurie and Ron fully embrace their lifestyle in Orange. “We are proud of this community,” says Laurie. “We love the

Sophie with her Siberian husky, Jack. The puppy brings much enthusiasm and mischief to the homestead.

old homes, the architecture and the churches in our area. Even the water district building is cool. We also love the convenience of

living in Orange so close to everything we could ever need. We are very happy to be here. This is our happy place.”

Glassell Dental WELCOME HOME

to Quality Dentistry & Gentle Care

5

Additional toppings extra.

Trust us to provide a LASTING DENTAL HOME for you and your family

Not valid with any other coupon. Must present coupon. $4.00 delivery charge. Restrictions apply.

Expires 8/31/22

16” Lg 1-Topping Pizza • Lg Dinner Salad Your choice of 2 liter of Soda or regular order of Garlic or Dessert Knots. Select toppings only. Additional toppings extra. One coupon per customer. Not valid with any other coupon. Must present coupon. $4.00 delivery charge. Restrictions apply.

Expires 8/31/22

SCHEDULE TODAY! (714) 532­5600 Visit us in Old Towne Orange 245 North Glassell St, Old Towne Orange 92866 www.GlassellDental.com w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a r t i c l e s / o l d - t o w n e - p r o p e r t y

July / August

2022

19


by Nathan Carter

TALK OF THE TOWNE

www.spohnranch.com

TALK OF THE TOWNE

Visual provided for reference by Vince Onel, Spohn Ranch Skateparks

/

Seeing Clearly, for Ten

Is it Time for a City In 2005, the City of Orange set aside land at 368 North Prospect St. for development of a Skatepark. Upon learning this, Marc Conner, owner of Contenders Boardshop in Orange, began organizing an effort to see that skatepark completed. “We know a skatepark is a big investment and that it will take time,” says Conner, who has been setting aside profits from his store with the intent of using the funds toward building the park in the future. “We’re dedicated to the idea of a skatepark because it’s such a healthy outlet for our youth.” Amenities such as restrooms, parking and lighting on top of designing, developing and building the park puts the cost at an estimated $1.4 million dollars. It has currently taken three years for Conner to reach $28,000 through money dedicated from the profits of his store. With this in mind, Conner turned to his friends for help. One of those friends is Chuck Walstead, who has been skating since 1978. Walstead worked at the Big O Skatepark during its run in Orange from 1978 to 1981 on East Chapman. Prior to Big O Skatepark, Walstead says skating was more dangerous for skaters and pedestrians. “Skaters were building ramps in their backyards and skating in drainage ditches,” he says. Conner confirms. “If you don’t have a skatepark, your city is a skatepark.” Without a dedicated public skateboarding location, skaters tend to use architectural elements throughout the city that aren’t meant for skating. This increases the likelihood of hindering pedes20

by Marianne Lauren

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

Skate Park?

trian walkways and damaging public and private property throughout the city. A skatepark, on the other hand, provides kids with a safe space to get off the street and get some exercise. Skateboarding, which has made its way into the Olympics, can burn from 400-800 calories an hour and increases coordination. Even better, new research shows that involvement in skateboarding can reduce stress and increase confidence. Given the many benefits of the sport, skateboard parks are one of the best investments a city can make, says Jim Gray, a major driving force behind the development of Costa Mesa’s skatepark in TeWinkle Park. He helped assemble the resources for the Public Skatepark Development Guide. “Kids who skateboard spend every day on their skateboard,” says Gray. “My kids played baseball and soccer. They went to the park to play once a week and that was it. Skateboarders are at the parks on their boards every single day.” Despite how good a skateboard park could be for kids, whether the project will be built is still up in the air. While the City of Orange set aside land, which Conner and Walstead are grateful for, it appears that no money has been earmarked for the project yet. If you want to get involved in the building of a skateboard park in Orange, donations and community participation are welcome. This includes the possibility of naming rights for an individual or business interested in leaving a legacy. Contact Conner at 714-516-9300, or go to Contenders Boardshop at 1419 North Tustin St. Also voice your support with the Orange City Council.

In the heart of Old Towne Orange across the street from Watson’s Soda Fountain & Café, you will find Orange Circle Optometry. The fullservice practice run by husband-and-wife team, Alex Romero and Ly Nguyen, is celebrating 10 years in the Plaza this August. Serving all ages, the optometry practice provides vision examinations, evaluations and treatments with state-of-the-art equipment, as well as fittings for contact lenses and glasses. They carry a large selection of classic, hip, popular, vintage and top designer styles. During their time in Old Towne, Orange Circle Optometry has evolved. “We are grateful for our thriving business throughout the last decade,” says Romero, known by patients as Dr. Alex. “We survived the pandemic with the patronage and support we received from this special community.”

It was kismet that brought the couple together. Romero grew up in Orange and dreamed of being a dentist. Nguyen had her formative years in Anaheim and Upland. She knew she wanted to be an optometrist in sixth grade.

As far as Romero and Nguyen are concerned, business doesn’t have to always be conducted in a serious manner. They both graduated from UC Riverside but never crossed paths during that time. Though they once lived 15 minutes away from each other in Orange, it wasn’t until they attended optometry school in 2003 in Fort Lauderdale that they met. They married 2010 and in 2012 set down roots in Orange where they live and work.

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


Building Character

/

“By living in Orange, we expe“I wanted to appear professional,” rience conducting business and explains Romero. “As clients and participating as citizens of the patients got to know me, they town,” says Romero. “It’s amazing encouraged me to be myself. I to see patients who come to us as realized I could be taken seriously children grow up to be young as a doctor and express my adults and leave for college.” authentic self.” At Orange Circle Optometry, At leisure, Romero rides a Romero, Nguyen and their staff skateboard, listens to heavy metal strive to blend professionalism with music, and plays guitar. Nguyen inviting warmth and fun. Many of plays piano and drums. “We rock their clients and patients even refer out with our four-year-old son, to them as family and friends. Alex, in the studio above our “Our favorite compliment is office,” says Nguyen. when patients say, ‘I feel like this The company’s anniversary will is your house,’ and ‘I feel like I’m be celebrated with family, friends, at home,’” says Nguyen. patients and the community. Patients like Nancy Bills enjoy “We’re holding a raffle,” says the comfortable atmosphere. Nguyen. “So far we have a signed “Through the years I searched for skateboard from Christian Hosoi an optometrist who would be a fit and an autographed record from for me,” says Bills. “I found them The Aquabats. Parker Jacobs, here, steps away. I have been Dr. artist and friend, will create artRomero’s and Dr. Nguyen’s patient work for new promotional items since they arrived. I love how Dr. and new art for our office.” Romero educates us. He is honest As Nguyen and Romero look and doesn’t hold back. They are ahead, they hope the future an amazing couple and team. brings as much fun as the last Their assistants are courteous. I decade has. am in awe of what they do.” “We’ve been fortunate with a As far as Romero and Nguyen good 10-year run,” says Nguyen. are concerned, business doesn’t “We would like another 10 years at have to always be conducted in a this level in this location with our serious manner. The couple believe team members, Lindsey Locke, in everyone having an enjoyable Yarelly Rodriguez and Ana experience when they walk Barba. They are part of our sucthrough their doors. cess. Alex and I have fun working “When we first opened for with people we love in the town business, Alex cut his hair,” we love.” recalls Nguyen. www.OrangeCircleOptometry.com 227 East Chapman Ave. / 714-538-6424

PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

Alex Romero and Ly Nguyen (front) display some of their offerings at Orange Circle Optometry. The husband-and-wife team rely on their cadre of assistants to ensure the office runs smoothly. Pictured in the back row (from left) are Lindsey Locke, Ana Barba and Yarelly Rodriguez.

SmetonaPhoto.com

Years in Old Towne!

Jacqueline Deats,

Nurse Practitioner by Julie Bawden-Davis

When students go away to college, adulting becomes a reality. One of the tasks they are soon faced with is managing their own health care. As Director of Student Health at Chapman University, Jacqueline Deats enjoys helping guide students with their medical care choices. “For many students, this is the first time they have pursued medical care on their own without their parents overseeing,” says Deats. “This is our opportunity at the Student Health Center to help them navigate the health care system, learn to become their own health advocates and make healthy, informed decisions for themselves.” The mission of Student Health Services, which Deats has embodied since taking over as director in 2006, is to provide accessible health care in a caring, confidential, convenient environment for Chapman University students. The emphasis is on promoting self-care and health education while providing the highest quality standards of health care. “We know that physical well-being has a tremendous impact on academic performance,” says Deats, who is a Nurse Practitioner. “The goal of medical services is to provide the opportunity for academic success, while the focus is to offer students easy access to health care and disease prevention.” Challenges of Covid-19 When Covid-19 hit in early 2020, all the foundational work Deats and her team had accomplished over the years immediately came into play. It quickly became obvious how important the role of the Student Health Center was. “Prior to the pandemic, unless students had a health issue, CONTINUED ON PAGE 22

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a r t i c l e s / t a l k - o f - t h e - t o w n e

July / August

2022

21


Jacqueline Deats

I NSIDE A RT CONT. FROM PAGE 21

they didn’t come to the center, and faculty and staff didn’t use the facility, unless Workman’s Comp was involved,” says Deats. “When the pandemic arrived, the Student Health Center was considered essential, so all health staff remained on campus.” In response to the pandemic, Deats was asked to oversee a task force for screening, testing and tracing Covid for the Orange and Rinker campuses. “The Student Health Center is responsible for implementing mitigation measures to reduce the spread and exposure of Covid 19 on the campuses,” says Deats. She oversaw Covid screening in collaboration with other team players at the school and the Orange County Department of Health. This work included implementing a screening tool that Chapman is still using. “We have tested thousands of people, and our department oversees a whole contract tracing team,” says Deats. “Prior to the pandemic, I had a team of five. Now I manage 30 employees.” Deats and the IT department Strategic Marketing and Communications also oversee communication to the Chapman community regarding the pandemic. This includes Chapman’s CU Safely Back page on the university website. The page offers guidelines for keeping healthy based on recommendations from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and local health authorities. The site also indicates the current risk level regarding Covid-19. To date, Deats believes that the mitigation efforts achieved by the Student Health Center has helped keep the number of positive cases at the school relatively low. “The goal was and is not to be on the news because we have a student outbreak,” she says. “Fortunately, no one became seriously ill, and there were no deaths.” Growth Opportunities During the Pandemic The early days of the pandemic were particularly challenging for Deats and her team. “We did the best we could based on the information we had, but things changed so rapidly, so we were always on our toes. I think we did well considering that we had no playbook, and the work involved long hours with no end in sight. The entire Chapman community has been so supportive of our efforts. I’ve met and worked with so many amazing people over the course of the pandemic who I wouldn’t have met otherwise.” From his vantage point as President of Chapman University, Daniele Struppa feels that Deats and her team did a remarkable job during the pandemic. He expressed this sentiment when he nominated her for the Celebration of Heroes Award for supporting Chapman University through the pandemic, which she received this past April. “Jacqueline brings to Chapman many years of professional experience,” said Struppa. “She has been the front-face of Chapman's response to the pandemic. As the potential for Covid-19 coming to campus became an urgent concern, Jacqueline led and organized Chapman’s screening, testing and tracing effort for the entire campus community. Her commitment and exceptional leadership throughout the past several months have been a major factor in the overall good health and very low positivity rate of the Chapman campus community.” Aileen Andrion, Assistant Director of the Health Center, agrees. “Covid has shown how strong of a leader Jacqueline is through this difficult time. She is always thinking about what is best for Chapman and the Student Health Center and how we can help our Chapman community remain safe. Despite whatever challenges are thrown her way, she continues to fight through and keeps going. Working with her helps me grow to be a better Nurse Practitioner. Jacqueline has taught me so many things and is someone I admire greatly.” Orange County Beginnings Deats was born in New York and moved to California when she was five where she was raised in Seal Beach. Her mother was a nurse and her sister is currently a nurse.

by Julie Bawden-Davis

Applying Pressure with

There are those moments in our lives that may at first seem uneventful but end up being significant turning points. Such was the case for Orange sculptor Bret Price as he prepared to attend a faculty meeting at Chapman College in 1979. An instructor of ceramics and sculpture at the time, he was shutting down the kiln when something occurred that would change the course of his artistic history. “I noticed that a piece of rebar in the kiln used to push in the clay pieces also became soft at high temperatures,” says Price. “Though I loved working with clay, I had become frustrated with the size limitations in terms of what I could create. My mantra has always been to create pieces that have never been seen before. In that uplifting moment, it became clear that I’d shift to steel sculptures.” Price’s first metal sculpture, a 40-foot-wide twisted piece of steel, took three months to plan and make. “I bent the steel beam in the school’s faculty parking lot on the weekends when no one was around,” he says. “A trustee bought that first piece for the school.” That sculpture started the ball rolling for Price, who soon left academia to create fulltime. To date, he has made more than 1,000 sculptures, some reaching heights of 34 feet high and weighing 7.5 tons. His work is found in public and private collections throughout the U.S., Europe and Asia, including a piece in the Smithsonian American Art Museum’s permanent collection. Southern California Roots Price grew up in Los Angeles in the 1960s. He attended Pomona College, originally majoring in

premed and minoring in painting. “The premed program was rigorous. I did okay, but after two years working in admitting at a hospital, I decided the medical field wasn’t for me,” he says. “I went back to the college and took a ceramics course, soon becoming enmeshed in all things clay.” Price’s father, Harrison “Buzz” Price, a research economist specializing in how people spend leisure time and resources who consulted with Walt Disney, told his son he didn’t care what he did for a living, as long as he got up in the morning and loved what he was doing. “I grew up knowing how much my dad enjoyed his work,” says Price, who earned his MFA in 1975 from the California Institute of the Arts. “I didn’t know what I wanted to do, but I did know that I didn’t want to work five days a week just to enjoy the weekend. Once I found clay, I was all in and started working harder than I had ever worked in my life. I have enjoyed my career. I look forward to getting up each morning and going to the studio to make stuff.” Price, who has lived in the same house in Orange since 1979 with his wife Rae Lynn, had a couple of private studios in Orange from 1987 to 2014. Then he joined the Logan Creative, a compound for working artists in Santa Ana in 2014. “It’s a great place for artists to work. There’s a lot of energy, and everyone knows each other,” says Price, whose son, Gregory Price, a glass artist, has a studio there. The Prices also have a daughter, Erin Price Lewis. Transforming Metal in Ohio In 1999, Price had the opportunity to “bend metal in an Ohio cornfield.” That eventually resulted

CONTINUED ON PAGE 25

22

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


“Bret Price” in a sprawling sculpture farm in New Bremen, Ohio where he has space to create the large sculptures he is known for. “It’s a great facility in a beautiful Midwest town that reminds you of a Normal Rockwell painting,” says Price, who spends about 40 percent of his time in Ohio. He and Rae Lynn made the film, “Art in the Middle,” which chronicles his artistic journey, including the Ohio experience. In September 2021, he held the exhibition, “Large Scale Sculpture,” at the Pyramid Hill Sculpture Park and Museum in Hamilton, Ohio. Price’s next exhibition will run from July 21 to September 18 at the Muckenthaler Cultural Center in Fullerton. The show titled “Under Pressure,” which Price says is a nod to David Bowie, will feature 40 smaller than usual pieces. The Pyramid Hill show was a 25-year retrospective and weighed 30 tons,” he says. “In the Muckenthaler show, I can lift every piece by hand. The heaviest one weighs 60 pounds, and the tallest piece is 30 inches.”

Bret Price’s first metal sculpture, a 40-foot-wide twisted piece of steel, took three months to plan and make.

The sculptures in the Muckenthaler exhibit had their beginnings during the pandemic. “When we were in seclusion, I bought a 40-ton H press that puts 80,000 pounds of pressure on whatever you put underneath it,” says Price. “I had originally gotten the press to create bases for sculptures, but I soon discovered I could use it to make small pieces.” The sculptures displayed in the arrangement on the inside front cover of this issue will be in the upcoming exhibit. “The piece on the bottom left, ‘Turnabout,’ is a ring of steel about 6 feet in diameter,” says Price. “I just kept bending it and then manipulated it with the press to flatten it. The top middle piece is called ‘Cosmo.’ The top element in that piece is made from stainless pipe.” Endless Pursuit Fiona Lindsay Shen is Director

of The Phyllis and Ross Escalette Permanent Collection of Art at Chapman University’s Wilkinson College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences. She is also one of three authors of the catalogue for Price’s Muckenthaler exhibition. “I admire Bret’s ability to switch so seamlessly between monumental sculpture and the small, intimate pieces on display in the current exhibition,” says Shen. “His sculptures are muscular and cerebral at the same time. For example, his earliest steel piece created on Chapman’s campus, ‘Endless Pursuit,’ accomplishes what good sculpture does: it carves out its own sense of space and presence. It’s both a large, attention-grabbing artwork and quietly contemplative. Fittingly for its title, the piece is displayed outside the Chapman Leatherby Libraries. From a dis-

“Under Pressure” featuring selected works by Bret Price runs from July 21 to September 18 with the opening reception on Thursday, July 21 at 6 pm at the Muckenthaler Cultural Center, 1201 West Malvern Ave., Fullerton, 714-738-6595 or info@themuck.org. For more information about Price and his work, visit www.bretprice.com.

tance, his work is arresting; then when you get close, you become aware of his attention to the sensuous details of the surface.” Bob and Ann Myers live in Orange and are avid collectors of Price’s work. They own one of the pieces to be shown in the Muckenthaler exhibit. “We became familiar with Bret’s work in the late 1980s when we saw a large, twisted steel sculpture at Ruth Bacofners’s Gallery in Santa Monica,” says Bob. “We acquired our first work of his in 1998 at the Long Beach Museum of Art’s Annual fundraising auction. He is a unique artist with a brilliant ability to look at ordinary industrial materials and construct them into amazing monumental sculptures, as well as create intimate smaller jewels for your tabletop home display.” Ann adds, “We truly treasure Bret’s work in our collection. He absolutely loves what he does and is innovative, constantly reinventing his sculptural work. We’re always excited to see his latest creations.”

Life’s a Beach! Enjoy 60 Years of Paintings & Drawings reflecting the Beauty of the California Lifestyle by Artist Marinus Welman

Welman Art Studio 2402 North Glassell St. #A Orange, CA 92865 To See More Beach Paintings Call:

714 998-8662

MarinusWelman.com marinuswelman@gmail.com 24” x 36” / acrylic on canvas w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / i n s i d e - a r t

July / August

2022

23


Coffee Tins by Brande Jackson

One our favorite things to collect are vintage tins of all types. The cool old fonts and colors and artwork are inspiring reminders of design and utility of the past. Among the world of vintage tins, we have one particular favorite: old coffee tins! These collectibles can range dramatically in price, depending on the age, uniqueness and condition of the piece. We think this makes them a fun way to get a “budding antiquer” into collecting, as one can find really cool old coffee tins from the 1940s and 1950s for pretty cheap. As you expand your knowledge and the depths of your collection, the next step tends to be towards older and more rare examples. We are particularly fond of Victorian style tins and 1920s Art Deco ones. Tins for the purpose of packaging food are believed to have come into prominence during the 19th century—in particular around the time that there was more attention being paid to the link between cleanliness and illness, and in turn, how food handling practices could play a role in the spread of disease. The coffee tins we collect today, it could be said, were an unintentional byproduct of advancements in the understanding of medicine and disease! The tins are also linked to changes in behavior around buying and prepared food. In this case, roasted or perhaps even ground coffee, which began to emerge in the late 1800s, spurred in part by early forms of advertising. Vintage coffee tins and cans are a fascinating example of how the day-to-day objects we use for purely utilitarian purposes in the moment can one day become sought after and collected relics of the past. Lots of repurposing of old coffee tins happened when the coffee was consumed at the time, and that repurposing continues to this day. Less collectible tins, like, perhaps, 1960s Folgers cans, get reused as cool planters and even candles. They make unique desk organizers, too! The really old collectible pieces, though, can make for some great displays in a kitchen or dining room, especially when grouped by color and style. Like all vintage items, these pieces tell a story. Many of them are stamped with dates or other hints as to when they were made, and they almost always feature a name of a city reflecting their origin. Some collectors even focus on that element the most, looking for pieces from specific places! Next time you are roaming around Old Towne Orange, pop into some of your favorite antique shops and see if there are any cool old tins that spark your imagination. It might be the start of a new collection!

by Sheri Ledbetter

Just a year and a half since 1886 Brewing Company opened, head brewer Shaun Morgan’s brewing prowess is confirmed. For his Brown Porter, Morgan earned the title of Gold Medal Winner for the 2022 World Beer Cup Competition. The achievement is significant. This year’s competition saw 10,542 entries from 2,492 breweries representing 57 countries. “They call this competition ‘The Olympics of Beer,’” says Morgan. “The win still hasn’t hit me yet.” For Morgan, submitting a winning brew has been a goal from his beginning days of home brewing. “I first brewed this beer in my onebedroom apartment. It was a style of beer I always loved but was hard to find commercially, so I brewed it for me and my friends.” Morgan curated his interest in craft beer brewing while performing as a musician. “When out playing clubs in San Diego, I always had great beer on tap, so I got to learn a lot about beer styles,” he says. “I started reading

SmetonaPhoto.com

by Brande Jackson

World Beer Cup Champion

/

Featured Collection:

TALK OF THE TOWNE

PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

COUNTRY ROADS ANTIQUES & GARDENS

about how beer was made because I loved it and wanted to learn how and why it worked.” He continued learning from brewers at AleSmith and Pizza Port. Head Brewer at Docent Brewing in San Juan Capistrano, Bryan Giesen, first met Shaun on the flight home from the previous World Beer Cup competition back

www.CountryRoadsAntiques .com

7 1 4 -5 3 2 -3 0 4 1 Open Daily 10 am - 5 pm

2 1 6 W E S T C H A P MA N AVE . /

www.facebook.com/CountryRoadsAntiques

WIN $50.00 OFF ANY PURCHASE

from any Plaza Review advertiser featured in this issue. NAME PHONE NUMBER E-MAIL COMMENTS, ETC. Mail to:

Old Towne Orange Plaza Review 134 South Glassell St. #C, Orange CA 92866 Winner is selected randomly by an advertiser of the Old Towne Orange PLAZA REVIEW.

Entries must be postmarked by August 15, 2022

24

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


in 2018. They hit it off with their mutual love of beer and music. “Shaun is a competitive brewer for sure, and I know how much it meant for him to win,” says Giesen. “When he won, we cheered as loud as if we won.” Morgan began entering homebrew competitions from the onset. Within his first year at 1886, he was awarded three U.S. Beer Open medals, two San Diego International Beer Competition ribbons and a Great American Beer Festival medal—all before his win at the World Beer Cup. “I always try to brew the best beer I can, whether it’s a competition entry or not,” says Morgan. “Figuring out water profiles for different regions has been a huge challenge, and I am still trying to dial it in. I focus a lot on balance.” 1886 was the year the building that houses 1886 Brewing on Glassell in Old Towne Orange was built. “I met owner, Mike Hernandez, through a friend of a friend of a beer sales rep,” says Morgan. “I came up for a tour of the building before any development had been done and loved the look of the place. I knew if we had the

right vibe, the right music, the right food and the right beer, we’d do just fine.” Carrie Marcel and her husband, Bob, are locals who enjoy the beer and food at 1886. They watched the competition along with other regulars and the staff. “His win is fantastic and welldeserved,” says Carrie. “His beers are a good style and a good balance. It was fun to watch him win.” As a gold medal brewer, Morgan enjoys sharing the winning beer with patrons but stays true to his music roots, telling people he’s a musician first and a brewer second. “Whenever any new customer sits down at the bar and asks me what my favorite beer I brew is, I always say, ‘That’s like asking musicians which of their songs they wrote are their favorites.’ But then I finish with, ‘order a record beer.’” Morgan is keen to keep brewing and finds the real win is celebrating with everyone who made it possible. “It’s nice to walk onstage for your own recipe and see how happy it makes your employees and regulars,” he says. “I love this place and these people.”

1886 Brewing Company 114 North Glassell St. / 714-922-8130 / www.1886BrewingCo.com

Jacqueline Deats

CONT. FROM PAGE 22

“I followed in my mother’s footsteps and pursued a career in medicine,” she says. “I always admired the work that she and other family members did to help people, and I’m grateful to have been able to pursue my passion.” After becoming a Nurse Practitioner in 1993, Deats worked in the private sector in acute patient care in women’s health for a time. In 1998, she also began working at Chapman parttime in the Student Health Center. In 2006, she joined the university fulltime, after interviewing for the Student Health Center director role and being hired for the position. Deats and her husband, Doug, raised their three children in Huntington Beach. “All of my kids had the opportunity to attend Chapman, and my oldest daughter is also a nurse practitioner,” she says. Institutional Biosafety Committee Another way Deats keeps the university safe is serving as Alternate Chair of Chapman University’s Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC). Registered with the NIH Office of Biotechnology Activities, the IBC is responsible for the registration, review and approval of all research projects associated with the university that involve potentially hazardous biological materials. “I enjoy the alternate chair position, which I’ve held since 2019, because it allows me to dabble in a different arena,” says Deats. “It’s fun to have a finger on the pulse of research across the university and learn about the various projects that students, faculty and staff are proposing. I enjoy providing guidance and support in that area, as it falls on the academic side, when I’m usually working in student services. The position has further enhanced my Chapman experience.”

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / t a l k - o f - t h e - t o w n e

J OHNNYE

M ERLE’S

G ARDENS

What is a Gardener to Do in a Drought? by Brande Jackson

“To water or not to water?” has become the question on the gardener’s mind as we enter worsening drought conditions this summer. Those of us who plant and grow things know we play a role in our own little micro ecosystems (as well as the larger ones, too!) and it’s now more important than ever to think about how much water our gardens consume, and how we can better design them to need less while also giving back to the pollinators and other living creatures that use them. Over the years, we have worked with lots of people, helping them get their outside spaces more drought resistant. Based on those experiences, here are a few of our top tips: 1. Change your perspective. All things considered, the issue for many of us is adjusting to a new type of landscape. We have been conditioned to associate a house with a lawn, and the thought of not having that “sea of shining green” out front often catches us off guard. It can evoke images of a very specific type of 1980s-esque cactus and rock vibe, or endless slabs of concrete. The reality is that there are many, many ways to go drought tolerant and look good, and make it functional, too. 2. Take it in small steps. We don’t advise you rip out your lawn in one big swoop, but rather that you work in incremental stages, removing portions of your lawn or other water intensive landscaping at a time and replacing it with more drought tolerant materials. Then give the newly planted sections some space to see how the plantings take and grow, as well as how you like the results. This gives you room to make changes as you progress on your transformation, and this method will keep your outdoor space looking good during the process. 3. Explore your options! We recently wrote about some cool cottage garden style plants that are considered low water and drought resistant, but there are lots of other styles to explore. A drought tolerant landscape can use anything from cactus and succulents to California natives to plants native to Australia and other dry places. There are a tremendous number of options available waiting to be discovered with a bit of research! 4. Consider all the creatures that use your outdoor space! Making sure your two- and four-legged family members still have a place to run and play is important, but it doesn’t have to be a traditional grass lawn. We are always advocating for thinking about the birds and bees. Birdbaths can look neat, don’t use much water and help provide a cool drink to creatures that fly. It’s also important to give back to the local ecosystem and pollinators by planting drought tolerant native plants that the pollinators need to survive and work their magic. It can be frustrating to hear about water restrictions and conjure images of dead lawns and plots of endless dusty dirt, but with a little research and creativity, it doesn’t have to be that way. We can come up with creative solutions that are drought resistant, benefit the local environment, and look great, too!

Johnnye Merle’s Gardens 216 West Chapman Ave. / Old Towne Orange Brande Jackson is the owner of Johnnye Merle’s Gardens, located in Country Roads in Old Towne Orange. www.purtyplants.com. She can be reached at brande@johnnyemerles.com. She is also a teacher, and leads classes on art, creativity and gardening as well as walking tours of downtown Los Angeles.

July / August

2022

25


to 91 FREEWAY

1

PALM

C HAPMAN U NIVERSITY AVENUE

Orange Farmers Market

1886 Brewing Co

7

D

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

(55) FWY

CENTER STREET

GRAND STREET

26 Antique Depot LINCOLN

Shafer Plumbing

Jadtec Security

Villa Ford of Orange

C

D

Welman Art Studio

B

A

AVE

E Blaze Pizza

AVENUE

F

AVE

WALNUT

AVE

( 57) FWY

Titan Automotive

H

ORANGE

to 22 FREEWAY

CHAPMAN

SA

(5 )

I

J

K

AVE

GARDEN

NEWPORT BEACH (55) FWY

ORANGEWOOD

Dan Slater for Mayor

G

ST

Knox General Insurance

KATELLA

Guardian Roofs

Orangeland RV Park

27

20 Woman’s Club Events Center

PLAZA REVIEW Advertisers outside the PLAZA SQUARE RETAIL DISTRICT.

28

LA VETA AVENUE

Real Estate Establishment

TUSTIN

ALMOND

Army-Navy

25 Store

Shannon Family Mortuary

29

3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING

24 Paris in a Cup

Smiles of Orange

3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING

H&H Income Tax & Insurance

N E W P O RT B E AC H

TO

23 O Sea

19

Orange City Hall

ST

30

Antique Station

N O RT H

N G E i s ce nt e re d

21

to 55 FREEWAY

GLASSELL

31

Community Serivces

Old Towne Plumbing

32

Orange Main Library & History Center

CHAPMAN

ORANGE STREET

33 SOUTH GLASSELL

OLIVE STREET

O RA

EAST

22 Blaze Pizza

Caliber Real Estate

Y

18

Bonham Construction

Rambling Rose Jewelry

LEMON STREET

E WN

Wells Fargo Bank

PLAZA PLAZA PARK PARK

Orange Circle Antique Mall

GARDEN GROVE (22) FWY

FW

Orange Circle Optometry

5

Summerhill Ltd.

26

(5 )

Matoska 17 Trading Company

34

DIGITAL ON-LINE PLAZA MAP

A

6

CHAPMAN

3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING

A N

AV E N U E

Citizens Business Bank

Adam Guss State Farm

Country Roads Antiques Johnnye Merle Gardens

CYPRESS STREET

3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING

8

ST

Old Towne Post Office

Smoqued BBQ

N TA

MAIN

WEST

9

Byblos Cafe

4 to 5 & 57 FREEWAY

Reneé Jewelers

STREET

b et Circle City Barbers

10

NORTH GLASSELL

3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING

FREE ALL ALL DAY DAY PARKING PARKING FREE

of California Art Hilbert Museum

3 Taco Adobe

Laurenly

11

oTo

SA

OL

2

O’Hara’s Pub

C HA P M A N

ty

ORAN GE (57) FWY

we

ARTESIA / RIVERSIDE (91) FWY

C ou n

Zito’s

12 NY Pizza

ar

ge

AVENUE

He

ra n

MAPLE

2

GLASSELL

16 Glassell Dental

5,

7 & 91 Fr e ew a y s , i nt 5, 5 he

fO

13

e

5 2,

to

The Dragonfly Shops

14 th

Rutabegorz Restaurant

15

en

Ruta’s Old Town Inn

GROVE (22) FWY

FW

Y

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


Circle in the Square by Kirk Sivertsen /

www.OrangeReview .com/archive/circle-in-the-square

O RANGE P LAZA R EVIEW A DVERTISER I NDEX & MAP PG

ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE

MAP

ANTIQUES & COLLECTABLES: 10 Antique Depot . . . . . . . . . . . . . 26 155 South Glassell St (714) 516-1731 10 Antique Station . . . . . . . . . . . . 29 178 South Glassell St (714) 633-3934 24 Country Roads Antiques . . . . . 34 204 West Chapman Ave (714) 532-3041 9 Orange Circle Antique Mall . . . 32 118 South Glassell St (714) 538-8160 11 Summerhill Ltd . . . . . . . . . . . . 33 110 South Glassell St (714) 771-7782 ARTS & CULTURE: 4 Hilbert Museum of Calif Art . . . 2 167 North Atchison St (714) 516-5880 23 Marinus Welman - Artist . . . . . . C 2402 North Glassell St (714) 998-8662 AUTOMOTIVE: 18 Titan Automotive . . . . . . . . . . . . H 939 West Chapman Ave (714) 997-2311 28 Villa Ford of Orange . . . . . . . . . D 2550 North Tustin St (877) 585-3090

PG

ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE

MAP

DINING & PUBS: 24 1886 Brewing Company . . . . . . 7 114 North Glassell St (714) 922-8130 3 Blaze Pizza 101 South Glassell St . . . . . . . . 22 (714) 783-9845 2139 North Tustin St . . . . . . . . . . E (714) 408-7361 9 Byblos Cafe . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5 129 West Chapman Ave (714) 538-7180 10 O’Hara’s Pub . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11 150 North Glassell St (714) 532-9264 9 O Sea . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 23 109 South Glassell St (714) 362-3309 6 Paris in a Cup - Tea Salon . . . . 24 119 South Glassell St (714) 538-9413 1 Rutabegorz Restaurant . . . . . . 14 264 North Glassell St (714) 633-3260 7 Smoqued BBQ . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8 128 North Glassell St (714) 633-7427 1 Taco Adobe . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3 121 North Lemon St (714) 628-0633 19 Zito’s New York Style Pizza . . . 12 156 North Glassell St (714) 771-2222

PG

1

1

®

STARBUCKS

“Striving to bring an exceptional experience to life . . .

HEALTH, FITNESS & BEAUTY: 17 Circle City Barbers . . . . . . . . . . 4 133 West Chapman Ave (714) 453-9765 19 Glassell Dental . . . . . . . . . . . . . 16 245 North Glassell St (714) 532-5600 in Old Towne Orange!”

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / m a p

MAP

HEALTH, FITNESS & BEAUTY: (cont) Orange Circle Optometry . . . . . 18 227 East Chapman Ave (714) 538-6424 Smiles of Orange . . . . . . . . . . . . I 743 East Chapman Ave (714) 997-5495

JEWELRY 18 Rambling Rose Jewelry . . . . . 31 118 South Glassell St (714) 538-6305 11 Renée Jewelers . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9 138 North Glassell St (714) 538-1956 REAL ESTATE: 14 Caliber Real Estate Group . . . . 30 134 South Glassell St (714) 988-6339 13 Real Estate Establishment . . . 19 550 East Chapman Ave (714) 744-5711 24 Woman’s Club Event Center . . . 20 121 South Center St (714) 605-3753

8 13

15 EVENTS / ORGANIZATIONS: 20 Orange Farmers Market . . . . . . 1 303 West Palm Ave www.OrangeHomegrown.org

ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE

17

15

5

15

SERVICES: Bonham Construction . . . . . . . 21 (949) 532-6274 Bear Flag Construction (949) 795-6812 BearFlagOC.com Galla-Rini Roofing (714) 244-6567 www.GallaRiniRoofing.com Guardian Roofs . . . . . . . . . . . . . G 1010 North Batavia St (714) 633-3619 H&H Income Tax Insurance . . . 27 480 South Glassell St (714) 288-2088 Jadtec Security Services . . . . . A 1520 West Yale Ave (714) 282-0828 Knox General Insurance . . . . . 28 226 South Glassell St (714) 744-6537

PG

ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE

MAP

SERVICES: (cont) 17 Little Bookkeepers of Orange 2050 North Tustin St (714) 597-0150 8 Old Towne Plumbing . . . . . . . . 21 (714) 213-5211 12 Orange Coast Estate Planners 226 South Glassell St (714) 744-6537 16 Shafer Plumbing Contractors . . B 1307 West Trenton Ave (714) 974-9448 18 Shannon Family Mortuary . . . . . J 1005 East Chapman Ave (714) 771-1000 12 Sign Painter - Patrick Smith (714) 282-7097 pgsmithdesign.com 1 Slater for Mayor . . . . . . . . . . . . K 1537 East Chapman Ave (714) 997-0050 16 State Farm - Adam Guss . . . . . 6 60 Plaza Square (714) 978-4200 SPECIALTY RETAIL: 11 Army Navy Store . . . . . . . . . . . 25 131 South Glassell St (714) 639-7910 1 Dragonfly Shops & Gardens . . 13 260 North Glassell St (714) 289-4689 25 Johnnye Merle Gardens . . . . . 34 204 West Chapman Ave (714) 532-3041 7 Laurenly . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10 142 North Glassell St (714) 538-7567 17 Matoska Trading Company . . . 17 123 North Glassell St (714) 516-9940 TOURISM: 10 Orangeland RV Park . . . . . . . . . F 1600 West Struck Ave (714) 633-0414

July / August

2022

27


PRST STD U.S. POSTAGE

PA I D HUNT BCH, CA PERMIT 438

134 South Glassell • Orange, CA 92866

28

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W