Old Towne Orange Plaza Review | Issue 109 | May-Jun 2022

Page 1

General & Cosmetic Dentistry

S o o n C e l e b r a t i ng 10 Years in

oTo !

Enjoy a made-to-order meal featuring fresh produce,

Husband & Wife:

C o m p r e h e n s i ve E ye C a r e

USDA premium Ranchero meats &

Dr. Alex Romero & Dr. Ly Nguyen

the season’s

freshest shrimp & fish.

714.628.0633 Old Towne Orange / 11 am - 9 pm

121 North Lemon St.

743 East Chapman Ave. 714-997-5495

Orange, CA 92866

www.smilesoforange .com

227 East Chapman Ave #C Old Towne Orange, CA 92866 / 714 - 538-6424

Available for Private Parties

Sign up Now for

Summer Camps! dragonflyshopsandgardens.com

260 North Glassell St. Wed-Fri: 11 - 6 / Sat: 9-5 / Sun: 11- 4

Tel: 714- 289-4689

“To be or not to be a

Vegetarian”

A Healthy Alternative to Traditional Restaurant Offerings. Tue - Wed: 10:30 am - 5 pm

264 North Glassell St. 714-633-3260

Thu - Sat: 10:30 am - 8 pm

“News for the Neighborhood” #109

May / June 2022


I N S I D E A RT : S t o r y o n p a g e 2 6

“ S a n t a B a r b a ra V i ew w i t h C a t ” by Rober t Frame, 1970s / Oil on Canvas / The Hilber t Collection

O n v i e w a t t h e H i l b e r t Te m p o r a r y , 2 1 6 E a s t C h a p m a n A v e , O r a n g e , b e g i n n i n g J u n e 1

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a d v e r t i s e r s

M ay / J u n e

2022

3


4

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


Your Neighborhood Realtors DOUG WILLITS / CALBRE #01787611

SUSIE WILLITS / CALBRE #01852527

BEN WILLITS / CALBRE #0185881

# 1 BROKERAGE IN ORANGE *

Visit us at our Old Towne Orange Location at 229 North Glassell St. for Professional Representation. Call us today: 714-315-8120

Buy / Sell / Lease Specializing in Orange & Surrounding Communities * Results based on production from office located in zip code displayed. Data provided by California Regional Multiple Listing Service and its member Associations of REALTORS, who are not responsible for its accuracy. Analysis dates are 12/01/19 though 11/30/2020. Does not reflect all activity in the Marketplace. Analysis results © 2020 Real Data Strategies, Inc., under license to Lalapoint, LLC and named MLS member firms. All rights reserved. License #00745605

dougw@sevengables.com • swillits@sevengables.com • benw @ sevengables.com w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a d v e r t i s e r s

M ay / J u n e

2022

5


LIC# 396851

WATER SAVING TIPS The precious water that many of us take for granted is becoming a major issue. Residents are currently being asked to cut back by 15%. By summer, we may have mandatory cutbacks on landscaping, followed by fines. Landscape Irrigation Landscape irrigation is the single largest water user. Some tips to save precious water in the yard: • Cut watering time to 5 minutes per station every other day. Monitor your landscaping closely and adjust as necessary. • Irrigate in the evening or early morning hours. • Redesign your landscape with drought tolerant plants.

KARL BONHAM

6

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

Cape Town South Africa with more than 4 million people ran out of water. Many cities have water pumps on for an hour in the morning and an hour in the evening. Let’s work together to avoid the same fate! Send your water saving tips to Karl@OldTownePlumbing.com. We will select tips to publish in the Old Towne Orange Plaza Review.

CARL SHIELDS

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a d v e r t i s e r s

M ay / J u n e

2022

7


Since 2001

Old Towne Orange PLAZAREVIEW

From the Publisher As we put the finishing touches on each edition of the Old Towne Orange Plaza Review, I’m always so satisfied and gratified to see how our community has evolved over the past few decades. At the same time, I’m constantly reminded how much more there is to learn about Orange and the wonderful people who live and work here. In this edition, we share a few landmark anniversaries. Blue Ribbon Trophy, O’Hara’s Pub and Orangeland RV Park celebrate 50 years in business this year (pgs. 15-17). I never knew that O’Hara’s Pub was once Kelly’s Bar, or that Orangeland was the first RV Park in California to offer Wi-Fi. We also welcome a new city manager, Rob Houston (pg. 28), and congratulate Chapman University’s Coach Scott Laverty on his many successes in baseball (pg. 23). While it’s nice to be reminded of the many positive aspects throughout our community, it’s equally important to address more serious concerns, such as the fact that Orange County is one of the largest sex trafficking destinations in the world. To support efforts to help victims and raise awareness, Craft for a Cause is occurring on June 2 (pg. 14) at Dragonfly Shops & Gardens. There is much to look forward to as we head into warmer months, including Springtime in Paris (in a Cup), on pg. 25, and the new temporary Hilbert Museum exhibit (pg. 26). Check out the Community Foundation of Orange’s “Give Where You Live” Gala (pg. 22) and the Old Towne Preservation Association’s May 15 Garden Party and more in our “What’s Happening” section (beginning on page 8) and on-line at www.OrangeReview.com.

What’s Happening

. . .

MAY 2022 Sun / May 1 / 3 - 7 pm Orange Blossoms Taste of Orange The premier food tasting event in Orange featuring food, beer & wine tastings from top local restaurants & breweries, a silent auction, opportunity drawings, music & more! 124 South Orange St. / 714-455-9399 www.TasteOfOrange.com

Sat / May 7 / 10 am Orange Chamber of Commerce The Orange May Parade A celebration of all that is unique about Orange and participation presents an amazing opportunity to further connect with the community. Historic Old Towne Orange 714-269-4589 / OrangeMayParade.com

Thu / May 5 / 11:30 am Town & Gown Lunch at the Forum Act Naturally: How Performance Techniques Taught Me to Be Myself Hear techniques created to help actors that are also surprisingly useful in responding to offstage challenges. Chapman University, Beckman Hall 714-744-7608 / Chapman.edu/tglatf

Sun / May 8 / 3 - 4:30 pm Musco Center Symphony “On the Lawn” An intimate afternoon of music, with “Pacific Symphony: On the Go” performing a free concert in the beautiful outdoor Aitken Arts Plaza. 415 North Glassell St 714-997-6812 / www.MuscoCenter.org

Sat / May 7 / 9 am - 4 pm West Floral Park & Fisher Park Open Garden Day Enjoy a variety of gardens, unique planting ideas & inspiring yard designs, with an art display, live music & more. West Floral Park & Fisher Park 949-683-8252 / OpenGardenDay.com

Fri / May 13 / 11 am - 7 pm KALMS Foundation Golf Tournament Your generous support helps to provide several local schools with the latest technology, along with funding to local kinship programs that assist relative caregivers & their children all over OC. Tijeras Creek Golf Club 714-323-6342 / CharityValet.com/KALMSgolf

Sincerely, Mike Escobedo 134 South Glassell St. / Orange, CA 92866 714 - 771 - 6919 Mike@OrangeReview.com

“ News For The Neighborhood ” Old Towne Orange Plaza Review © 2022 Mike Escobedo Design. All rights reserved. The material herein contained cannot be reproduced in whole or in part without the written permission of Mike Escobedo Design.

www. OrangeReview .com

8

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


!

Around the Plaza JUNE 2022 Sat / May 14 / 3 - 4:30 pm Orange Public Library Foundation STEAM for Teens & Tweens Upcycling vs Recycling. How does upcycling happen & how is it different from recycling? What can be recycled & what can be upcycled? Main Library: 407 East Chapman Ave, 714-288-2470 / OPLFoundation.org Sat / May 14 / 4 pm Seeds Fine Art Exhibits Artist Reception: Teri Shagoury “Celebrating Spring” with mixed-media artist, music & refreshments. Full Circle Meaningful Marketplace 140 So Glassell St / FullCircleOrange.com 714-225-5695 / www.SeedsFineArt.org Sat / May 21 / 9:30 - 11:30 am Drowning Prevention Task Force Orange County Water Safety Challenge A fun & interactive water safety day that helps parents identify their child’s pool strengths & weaknesses & teaches children important water safety. Hart Park: 701 South Glassell St 714-997-7870 / DrowningPreventionOC.org

Wed / Jun 1 / 11 am Hilbert Museum of California Art Opening Exhibit at the Hilbert Temporary View “By Popular Demand: Visitor Favorites from The Hilbert Collection 216 East Chapman Ave 714-516-5880 / www.HilbertMuseum.org Thu / Jun 2 / 6 pm Community Foundation of Orange “Give Where You Live” Gala Support the Orange community while enjoying friends, dinner, drinks, auctions & more. See article on page 22. Grand Gimeno: 146 North Grand St www.CommunityFoundationOfOrange.org Sat / Jun 18 / 2 pm Orange Public Library & History Center Film Screening & Panel Discussion Film screening of "Tales of a Golden State: The Mendez v. Westminster Story" plus a Q&A with Dr. David-James Gonzales, Beverly Guzman Gallegos & Mike Ramirez, moderated by Gustavo Arellano. Orange Main Library 407 East Chapman Ave / 714-288-2410 facebook.com/OrangePublicLibrary

Fri - Sat / Jun 10 - 25 Orange Public Library & History Center Social Media Contest #PlantWildFlowers Photo Contest Submit your best plant or wildflower with insect(s) photos to the Orange Public Library’s Instagram or Facebook page for a chance to win a tumbler cup or mug. OrangePublicLibrary.org / 714-288-2400

134 South Glassell St / Orange 92866

May/Jun 2022

Publishing Team

Publisher Mike Escobedo Mike@OrangeReview.com Editor/Writer Julie Bawden-Davis julie@juliebawdendavis.com Writer Karen Anderson

Sun / Jun 19 / 4 pm Musco Center for the Arts Gospel Voices of OC A multi-generational artistic celebration of African Americans through the lens & influence of gospel music. 415 North Glassell St 714-997-6812 / www.MuscoCenter.org Mon - Fri / Jun 20 - 24 / 9 am - 12:15 pm St. John’s Lutheran School Vacation Bible School Are You Ready to Go BIG?! A MONUMENTAL experience, celebrating God’s greatness with adventures through the colorful canyons & trails of the Southwest. 154 South Shaffer St 714-288-4405 / www.StJohnsOrange.org Tue / Jun 21 NAMM Foundation “Make Music Day” Celebrate the Summer Solstice with free live music throughout our city. www.MakeMusicDay.org/orange CONTINUED ON PAGE 29

123karen@earthlink.net Writer Nathan Carter nathan.travis.carter@gmail.com Writer Yuki Klotz-Burwell klotz105@mail.chapman.edu Writer Marianne Lauren jmhss@aol.com Writer Sheri Ledbetter sledbetter@socal.rr.com Writer Mary Platt platt@chapman.edu Photographer Kristin Smetona info@smetonaphoto.com Digital Artist Clyde San Juan crookedtrails@hotmail.com Web Developer Chase Higgins chasehiggins@me.com Printed by Reed Printing estella@reedprinting.com Processed by Mailing Pros, Inc. MPI@MailingProsInc.com Distributed by the US Postal Services www.usps.com

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

M ay / J u n e

2022

9


CALIBER REAL ESTATE GROUP

TEAM CARRIE & CHARISSE (714) 988-6339 | INFO@CALIBERRE.NET | CALIBERRE.NET | 128 SOUTH GLASSELL STREET, ORANGE, CA 92866

REAL. PERSONAL. SERVICE.

10

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


NEW TO THE NEIGHBORHOOD by Yuki Klotz-Burwell

A Few Things to Do &

Places to Go!

This summer, the new businesses in Orange have something to help you with every aspect of your to-do list. Whether that’s satisfying your dinner cravings at Aces Bar & Grill, supporting your real estate planning at Burris Law or preparing your lashes and brows at Roux Esthetics, the new Old Towne companies featured here are open to welcome in all neighborhood customers.

Aces Bar & Grill Owners George Lopez (left) and Eddie Martin pose with some of their original food and drink menu options. The pair have been friends and business partners for more than 25 years, working together on other ventures, but opening a bar has always been their top goal.

/

Before Aces opened, the restaurant Opus Dining & Cocktails occupied the storefront on East Chapman. Martin and Lopez completely remodeled the location to craft a new eatery with their own flair. “I love meeting people who haven’t been here since our dramatic remodel,” says Lopez. “I really enjoy getting to show them the new space and introducing them to our restaurant.” After celebrating their first year in business, the owners have two main goals in mind: to continue supporting the local community and to expand to more locations within the county. Already, they’ve made progress on the first goal— the duo has donated to local schools, police and fire departments and plans to do more supportive outreach. “Orange has this small, true American feel to it, and we’re so grateful for the community,” says Martin. “I’m looking forward to giving back even more.”

PHOTO BY BRITT SAMUELS JR

Although Aces Bar & Grill opened recently in October, the restaurant concept has been a goal for owners Eddie Martin and George Lopez for decades. The establishment, located on East Chapman Avenue across from In-N-Out, serves traditional American cuisine with a full bar. “I started bartending young, and by the time I was 25, I had already managed 24 restaurants,” says Martin. “My dream has always been to open up my own bar.” The atmosphere at Aces feels like a traditional American sports bar, and the owners aimed to create an environment where customers felt welcome to connect and watch their games of choice while choosing from a comprehensive menu of housemade drinks and dishes. The dining menu is also filled with traditional, comforting options combined with new homemade specialties from the Aces chefs. Some of the bestselling items are the shrimp tacos and the Aces burger, served with a side of original loaded tots. “I’m really proud of our menu and the dishes we create,” Martin says. “We use a lot of organic ingredients in our food, and everything we serve is made to order.” When Martin and Lopez first developed the concept for Aces, they never imagined they’d be

www.BrittsPhotography.com

Aces Bar & Grill

opening in Orange. After a retail “Even while we were building, spot opened up, they felt like they people kept stopping by to see lucked out. They took their time our progress and meet us,” says remodeling the space, crafting an Lopez. “The community has been environment they knew Orange phenomenal and so supportive.” residents would enjoy. Aces Bar and Grill 3538 East Chapman Ave. / 714-628-9404 / www.AcesBarAndGrillOC.com

Big Enough to Provide the Capacity Needed FAMILY OWNED & OPERATED

Small Enough to Assure Individual Attention

Young Enough to Use New Ideas

Old Enough to Have Profited by Experience

BUSINESS INSURANCE SPECIALISTS

• Commercial Truck • General Contractor • Business Liability • Workers Comp • Home • Auto 118 South Glassell St. O l d To w n e O r a n g e

714- 538-8160

Serving you in Old Towne Orange since 1980 226 SOUTH GLASSELL STREET, ORANGE, CALIFORNIA 92866 WWW.KGIBINC.COM LIC. NO. 0F00752 T 714.744.3300 F 714.744.6537

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a r t i c l e s / n e w - t o - t h e - n e i g h b o r h o o d

M ay / J u n e

2022

11


A Couple More Things to Do!

NEW TO

CONT. FROM PAGE 11

/ PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

Property and estate laws are complex, but luckily the partners at Burris Law are ready to help Old Towne neighbors out. Originally founded in 2015 by husband-and-wife duo Ariana and Jason Burris, Burris Law recently moved its office space from Santa Ana to Old Towne last summer. Before founding their own company, Ariana and Jason worked for big law firms and constantly stretched themselves to work long hours. “We decided to make a change and invest in ourselves to create our own destiny,” says Ariana. “At traditional firms, it never feels like you have a life outside of your practice, so we wanted to change that and still feel like we can enjoy ourselves while owning a business.” The couple met while studying at Chapman University’s Fowler School of Law, so when they were ready to make the move to start their firm, they decided to bring it back to where their adventure began: Old Towne Orange. “We felt a very strong tie to Orange because it’s been so formative to us,” says Ariana. “We feel so at home here.” The Orange spirit runs deep in the Burris Law group. Associate

SmetonaPhoto.com

Burris Law

Burris Law Partners Jason and Ariana Burris are already taking advantage of all that Old Towne has to offer, including bringing their German Shepherd, Max, into the office and around the neighborhood for walks. The couple isn’t fully new to Orange, however. They met as students at Chapman Law School, and Jason was born and raised in Orange.

Sarah Brewsaugh also went to Chapman’s law school with the Burrises and now specializes in estate planning, probate and trust administration at their firm.

“At Burris Law, I’ve loved being relaxed and flexible in my work,” says Brewsaugh. “I get to work with very smart people and

help out the city of Orange and people in the general Orange County area.” For Ariana, supporting the Orange community is also the most rewarding part of her career. “When I’m helping clients out with property or trusts after the passing of a loved one, I know I’m making a tangible difference in their lives,” she says. “I get to help them through something that otherwise would be so unclear and difficult for them.” The Burris Law team offers real estate, business, wills, trusts and estate law services. Though they mainly serve the greater Orange County area, Ariana hopes to expand across California, particularly Ventura and Monterey. Owning her own business and running the creative and organizational sides of the firm have been an unexpectedly gratifying addition to her regular law duties, and she’s enjoyed discovering new ways to grow the firm. “Especially for me as a female business owner, it’s essential to have confidence in myself and create a supportive environment around me,” she says. “I’ve found new strengths in myself, and I can tell that Orange’s support is important in that growth.”

Burris Law 488 South Glassell St. / 714 -790-9352 / www.Burris-Law.net

Shop with Us for the Best Selection In Town!

155 South Glassell

178 South Glassell

Open Daily 10 am - 6 pm

Open Daily 9:30am - 5:30pm

714-516-1731

714-633-3934

2 Stores / 100’s of Dealers / 1,000’s of Antiques 12

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


THE NEIGHBORHOOD Rouz Esthetics Owner Heather Cornelius has practiced esthetics for more than 15 years. She attended Fullerton College’s program and worked in cosmetics retail freelancing before making the move to owning her practice. When she’s not transforming clients’ lashes and brows, she enjoys spending time outdoors camping and hiking.

/ PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

If you’re looking for a new way to treat yourself this summer, stop by Rouz Esthetics, the newly opened waxing, brows and lash salon in the Plaza above Cafe Zocalo. Owner Heather Cornelius, who grew up in Orange and lives in Old Towne, has been in the esthetics industry for more than 15 years, supporting clients at stores in Newport Beach and Los Angeles before opening up her own location. Most recently, she worked at cosmetic company Anastasia Beverly Hills’ flagship location. When the pandemic caused salons to shut down, Cornelius left Anastasia and started working oneon-one with clients. She realized that she wanted to continue doing so even after the lockdowns were lifted, but in her own space. “In my job, I get to meet people from all walks of life, and I can’t wait to continue meeting people,” she says. “I’ve loved getting to know different cultures and learning how to communicate with all types of clients.” At Rouz, Cornelius created an environment welcoming to both new and returning clients. With waxing, she says there’s often a barrier to entry. Some clients are

SmetonaPhoto.com

Rouz Esthetics

too nervous to try it out, and others have had past traumatic experiences that make them hesitant to go back to another salon. “When people come in and have had a bad waxing experience before, I’m able to help guide them,” she says. “When they walk away from the table,

they have a completely different perspective.” After almost two decades of esthetics experience, Cornelius understands the ins and outs of what particular clients need. She’s known for offering gentle and painless waxing and brow

services, and prides herself on taking her time to make every customer feel better than when they came in. “Heather’s work is perfect every time, and she’s dedicated to her art,” says Vanessa Siravo, who’s been Cornelius’ client for five years. “She’s the best around in the brow game.” Currently, Cornelius’ services include custom brow shaping, full body waxing and lash treatments. After opening last September, she plans to bring in new options, like facials. Rouz Esthetics’ tagline is “awaken your beauty,” which stems from the meaning behind the salon’s name. Rouz is the phonetic spelling for rouse, a synonym for awaken. “I want people to open their minds, and if they’ve never tried waxing before, come in and check us out,” says Cornelius. “This is a safe space, and I want everyone to feel comfortable.”

Rouz Esthetics 134 South Glassell St. #K / 714-501-9980 / www.RouzEsthetics.com

Renée Jewelers Specializing in Custom Designed Jewelry, Birthstone Rings, Pendants & More!

Let Us Solve Your Roofing Problems

Sharing the Love for 42 Years

“Our Integrity is Our Promise”

138 North Glassell • Orange, CA 714-538-1956

• Neat, Clean, Professional • New Roof • Roof Repair • Roof Certification

Layaways Welcome / Cash, Check, Charge DESIGN & REPAIRS BY PERRY PACE

Call today for a Free Estimate:

BIRTHSTONES:

May - Emerald / June - Pearl

www.GuardianRoofs .com

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a r t i c l e s / n e w - t o - t h e - n e i g h b o r h o o d

Lic.847279, B1 & C39

714-633-3619 M ay / J u n e

2022

13


TALK OF THE TOWNE

J OHNNYE

M ERLE’S

G ARDENS

Spring Favorites by Brande Jackson

HELP...Craft for a Cause Chances are you’ve heard about human sex trafficking, and you may think it’s something that occurs somewhere else. The truth is that human trafficking is very common here. “Orange County is one of the biggest human sex trafficking destinations in the world due to the area being a tourist destination,” says TJ Peterson, a human trafficking victim advocate for Waymakers, a Santa Ana-based nonprofit focused on helping victims find their way. “We’ve helped more than 400 human trafficking victims so far this year.” Human trafficking may also look different than you might think. While trafficking is often associated with kidnapping, by far the more common scenario is victims manipulated and coerced into sex by people they know. The process may start online. Beth Davidson is TJ’s aunt and owner of Dragonfly Shops & Gardens in Old Towne. Along with her sister, Susan Peterson, Beth started the organization Shine the Light to benefit victims of sex trafficking. “I don’t think this crisis would have grabbed my attention if it weren’t for my nephew’s involvement,” says Beth. “The statistics are sobering. TJ’s clients are under the radar, and underserved. I knew the Dragonfly community would step up if they truly understood the needs of these victims, and they have.” TJ and his colleagues assist sex trafficking victims in a variety of ways designed to help them see their way clear to live their own 14

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

by Julie Bawden-Davis

lives. “We might get a call in the middle of the night from the police station because a victim requires an advocate and immediate assistance such as medical care, food or a place to sleep,” he says. “We also help them obtain legal aid, mental health counseling and drug rehabilitation, among other assistance.” Susan Peterson is TJ’s mother. She began volunteering at Waymakers in November 2021. “After hearing from TJ about the prevalence of human trafficking in our immediate area, my heart was drawn to see if I could do something to help, and the answer was yes,” she says. “Some of the ways the Dragonfly community is directly impacting TJ’s clients is with donations,” says Beth. “People have given gifts cards, money, backpacks, clothes, purses, and travel size soaps and lotions.” Shine the Light will also be holding a fundraiser, Craft for a Cause, on June 2. “Every donation helps,” says TJ, who notes that all donations go directly to the victims. “Even a $10 gift card for food is appreciated. Many victims haven’t even been able to choose where they would like to eat. This choice could be the first step toward giving them back control of their lives. We also use funds to get birthday gifts. It makes them feel special and valued to know that people care.” Beth and Susan also started Shine the Light to educate people about human trafficking, and TJ notes how vital that mission is. “Getting information out about CONTINUED ON PAGE 15

Spring is underway and our garden is blooming! For this edition of the Plaza Review, we are highlighting a few of our current favorite plants, all grown by one of our awesome vendors, Annie’s Annuals of Richmond, California! These were all picked for their vibrant blooms and low water requirements. Though they might not be traditional drought tolerant varieties, they nonetheless show a pretty good resilience when it comes to cutting back on water, making them what we call “drought resistant.” As we move into another year of drought and work to cut back on water usage, we want to remind you that there are ways to have a colorful, blooming garden while also limiting your water needs. Again, these all do need more water than succulents or cacti, but they are a lot less tender and tougher than some of the other plants out there. And as a bonus, they will keep the birds and bees happy, too! Delphiniums Delphiniums are in the category of cottage garden classics and reward the gardener with stunning blooms. In this case, they shoot up spikes of blooms that can reach four to five feet in height, much to the delight of hummingbirds and bees! Delphiniums typically are listed as requiring average water, but if provided with a bit of shade, they can get by being planted in a drought resistant garden. Some of our current varieties of delphiniums include ‘Morning Light’ and ‘Black Eyed Angels.’ Digitalis Another cottage garden classic to consider for its drought resistant abilities is foxglove. Like delphinium, this plant will bloom with a tall spike of color that is bound to stop traffic. The flowers come in shades of pinks and lavenders and creams and peach. And the blooms are beloved by bees and hummingbirds. Cut them back after blooming, and you should get another round of growth, too! Pelargonium Geraniums in general are very drought resistant. In fact, we’d go so far as to call them drought tolerant. They grow easily, bloom readily, make great cut flowers, and the birds and butterflies and bees love them. We think everyone should grow geraniums! The scented varieties are extra cool, with some types smelling like mint and lemon and citrus, and some species even keep mosquitos away! Right now, our favorite kind is the ‘Veronica Contreras’ variety, standing out with stunning pink blooms. Campanula celsii We are super excited about this new-to-us variety! Campanulas are generally a family of plants that need a pretty consistent amount of water, but this one is almost like a succulent in how it grows. According to Annie’s Annuals, the plant is native to coastal Greece and produces vibrant lavender blooms, with pretty low water needs. It doesn’t get as tall as some of the other campanulas we have highlighted, making it a great option for the edge of beds or containers. Salvia If it was possible to be a plant’s number one fan, we’d be in the running for that title when it comes to salvia! We sing its praises all the time, and with due cause, as they are such a great plant family! Birds and bees love them, they bloom consistently, are easy to grow, and once established, nearly every variety is drought resistant, with some even being drought tolerant. Our all-time favorite saliva is Pineapple Sage, grown for its awesome red blooms and amazing smell. But we are also big fans of ‘Hot Lips’ and ‘Mes Azur’ right now, too. CONTINUED ON PAGE 22

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


KNOW THE NEIGHBORS

SmetonaPhoto.com

If you’ve received a trophy in the last 50 years, there’s a good chance that it came from Blue Ribbon Trophy. The familyowned business on Glassell opened in 1972 and has evolved with the technology, engraving everything from clocks to knives, menu covers and signage. Susan Leedy has run Blue Ribbon Trophy since purchasing it in 1984 from Ralph Phillips, who founded the business in 1954 in Buena Park before opening a second location in Orange in 1972. “Mr. Phillips was in his 80s and he had purchased a cash register and hadn’t a clue how to run it,” recalls Leedy. “He had also bought the first engraving machine and didn’t know how to operate that either. Neither did I, but he hired me to figure out how to operate both.” Engraving machines were relatively new and Blue Ribbon was an early adopter of the new technology. “At that time, everything was done with a pantograph machine,” Leedy recalls. “Letters were put in manually to be able to engrave.” In the early days, clocks, plaques and trophies were the bulk of the products. With an engraving machine, the product line expanded. By 1991, her husband joined the team and laser machines had entered the picture, allowing nearly anything to be engraved. “The laser opened the door for so many more items and products,” says Leedy. “We do anything— wood, acrylic, glass, knives, swords, guns, wine bottles, cups.” With the improved technology came more sophisticated artwork. “There’s logos and laser photos,” says Leedy.

Turning 50 never looked so good. These three family-owned Orange establishments have stood the test of time. While Orange locals are likely familiar with O’Hara’s Irish Pub and Blue Ribbon Trophy, it’s the visitors who may harbor more memories of Orangeland RV Park. All three turn 50 this year, and the Old Towne Orange Plaza Review checked in to see what half a century looks like.

/

Blue Ribbon Trophy

Looking Good in Orange

PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

by Sheri Ledbetter

About 12 years ago, the Buena Park store closed and Orange became the flagship store. Apart from Susan and her husband, Don, there are five employees, including their daughter Jennie. Blue Ribbon has been the long-time service provider for the local schools, as well as several Orange County stalwarts such as CHOC, Chapman University and the Orange County Fire Authority. “OCFA commissioned a twin towers custom piece from

us,” says Leedy. “It has the names of all the firefighters who perished on 9/11 engraved on the sides.” Leedy enjoys the challenges of the different pieces. “People have brought in so many different items,” says Leedy. “People bring in things that are very meaningful to them and those can be challenging to engrave.”

COVID impacted the businesses, but schools were still giving awards and business from electricians who needed required signage for their buildings continued. Leedy attributes their longevity to good customer service, fair pricing and delivering on time. “Many people call and say, ‘repeat my order.’”

Blue Ribbon Trophy 1650 North Glassell St. #R / 714-998-2611 www.BlueRibbonTrophy.com

HELP...Craft for a Cause the realities of trafficking and dispelling some of the myths and misconceptions is so important,” he says. “Just talking with others about this topic raises awareness and creates a safer environment for victims to come forward and receive help.” Knowledge extends to younger

Proud to celebrate 50 years creating engraved awards and keepsakes at Blue Ribbon Trophy are longtime employees and family (from left) Pierce, Ashley, Jane, owner Susan, husband Don, daughter Jennie and Shan.

CONT. FROM PAGE 14

people, including children. “We are seeing an increase in cyber trafficking of minors, especially during the pandemic, when kids are spending far more time than before on phones and computers,” says TJ. He suggests that parents have an open dialogue with their children about the realities of

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a r t i c l e s / k n o w - t h e - n e i g h b o r s

human trafficking in all its forms. If you suspect trafficking is occurring, TJ urges following your instincts. “If something feels

wrong or off, it likely is. Call local law enforcement or the National Human Trafficking Hotline at 888-373-7888.”

At Craft for a Cause on Thursday, June 2 from 1-8 pm, participate in a variety of crafting projects with proceeds benefiting the cause. Information: www.dragonflyshopsandgardens.com/shine-the-light.html. Waymakers: www.waymakersoc.org. M ay / J u n e

2022

15


Looking

Good

CONT. FROM PAGE 15

/ PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

A teetotaling Canadian is where O’Hara’s Irish Pub’s history begins. Fifty years ago, original owner Gail Hewitt founded the classic dark pub serving only beer, wine, chili and sandwiches. There was a piano and a player named Red who performed for the patrons. And, every St. Patrick’s Day, they hosted a wake with a coffin, pallbearers and bagpipers who walked around the Plaza before returning to the pub. Current owner Christine Thompson, niece of Hewitt, who didn’t drink and lived with her parents (Christine’s grandparents), has run the pub for the past 20 years. “When my Aunt Gail bought the pub, my grandfather was the handyman, my grandmother was the cook and cleaner, and until they could afford a bartender, Gail tended bar,” says Thompson. Located in the same spot in Old Towne Orange, prior to O’Hara’s, the location originally housed a place called Kelly’s Bar, then the Mel-Dor, “which stood for Mel and Dorothy,” says Thompson. No one really knows how O’Hara’s got its name. “We were told it was a family name somewhere in the lineage, but I’ve been doing my own genealogy for

SmetonaPhoto.com

O’Hara’s Irish Pub

the last 15 years and I have yet to find an O’Hara,” says Thompson. Hewitt ran O’Hara’s for 30 years until her passing in 2001, when Thompson took over. “I was in dentistry for 25 years, and in her will, Aunt Gail left me a portion of ownership,” she says. “I made the decision to leave my career and run the pub because I wanted to preserve its history.” O’Hara’s 13 employees are all long-term, including the husband and wife who have been cleaning the pub for 30 years. While the look and feel of the pub hasn’t changed much, over the years the décor has accumulated.

Owner Christine Thompson raises a glass to O’Hara’s 50th anniversary with longtime bartender Jason Gardner.

Patrons have donated many items on the walls, such as all the football helmets hanging from the ceiling, and the 13 x 7-foot Irish mural painted for the pub’s 25th anniversary in 1997. “This history here is kind of layered,” says Thompson. There’s a Stetson poster between the TVs and the Wrigley Field sign from the 1970s that hangs behind the bar. But the street sign with mile markers for Irvine Park, Olive

and Tustin has sparked the most discussion over the years. “Where that street sign originally stood has never been resolved,” Thompson says. In the past 50 years, Thompson believes the best thing they have done is not change too much. “If you haven’t been here for 10 or 20 years, you’ll see something you remember,” she says. And, if you look hard, you’ll see the photo of Aunt Gail. O’Hara’s Pub 150 North Glassell St. / 714-532-9264

Professional, personalized funeral & cremation services; advance planning available.

Family Owned & Operated Since 1933

ShannonFamilyMortuary.com 1005 East Chapman Ave. Old Towne Orange, CA 92866

714.771.1000 FD #1772

16

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


/ PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

Orangeland RV Park, with its high-tech design and concierge service, is a family business that has evolved with the times. Since opening in 1972, hundreds of thousands of visitors have made memories at the only RV park in Orange. “Orangeland was dad’s vision and design. He wanted it to have an open feel,” says Owner Cindy Wimbish of the 8 1/3-acre parcel that was once an orange grove. “When you enter, you see a beautiful pool inviting you to come and have fun.” Orangeland started out with 212 spaces. “In 1972, you had your airstream or a little trailer,” recalls Wimbish. “Now, you have a motorhome or a fifth wheel with slide outs, so spaces needed to be longer and wider.” They redesigned the park to accommodate the larger rigs. Today there are 195 sites—both “dailies” and monthly sites, each with 50-amp full hook-ups. “We have also become very technological. Everyone wants everything now,” says Wimbish. Orangeland was the first RV park in the state of California to have Wi-Fi, which they installed back in the early 2000s. “Today, Wi-Fi is considered another utility, like water and electricity,” says Abe LaLand, who serves as tech consultant. “Now we have fiber, which is something you find in very few RV parks.” Most of the 18 employees live onsite and assist guests with questions. “We constantly fix,”

SmetonaPhoto.com

Orangeland RV Park

says Wimbish. “We are 50 years old but I don’t want us to look like we are 50 years old.” Rosemary Ford has lived at Orangeland for 41 years, moving there in 1980 when she and her husband were 60 years old and retired from their life in Columbus, Ohio. “We were just going to stay until we decided what we were going to do, but we became very comfortable and saw no point in leaving,” the 101year-old Ford says. For a long time, the demographics of visitors was predominately baby boomers. “The millennials and gen Xers would say ‘that’s

For 50 years, Orangeland RV Park longtime employees have welcomed visitors from all over the nation. Front row (from left) Elaine Ramos and Cindy Wimbish. Middle row, Abe LaLande, Rogelio Serrato-Perez, Sandra Slezak and Debbie Burkhart and back row, Luis Gomez, Hector Serrato-Perez, Paul Newton, Sean Newton and Larry Jordan.

what my parents did or what my grandparents did,’” notes Larry Jordan, who serves as general manager. But the folks at Orangeland say the younger generations are getting onboard with RVing. “Disneyland drives our business but the amenities are what attract people here,” notes Wimbish. Families swim, play miniature

golf or shuffleboard, use the exercise room and pool room. The clubhouse hosts bingo, bunco and poker. A special treat for guests is the 200 citrus trees, free for the picking. “I’ve had people say this place feels different to me. I feel welcome here,” says Wimbish. “That is the sense of community they feel.”

Orangeland RV Park 1600 West Struck Ave. / 714-633-0414 / www.Orangeland.com

Professional Property Management • Thorough Tenant Screening license #580269

• On-line Payments & Disbursements

Historic Restorations

• Improve Property Value

Remodels

• 24 Hr Emergency Service for Tenants

Kitchen and Bath

Real Estate Sales & Investments

Exterior Makeovers Siding

• Residential, Commercial, Industrial, Land Sales • Investment Strategies • 40 Years in Business

Doors and Windows Patio Covers Decks Stairs

Find us on:

714- 744-5711

Painting

www. RealEstateEstablishment .com

Termite and Dry Rot

550 East Chapman Ave, Suite B, Orange, CA 92866 w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a r t i c l e s / k n o w - t h e - n e i g h b o r s

General Contractor - Keith Misumi

(949) 795-6812

www.BearFlagOC.com

M ay / J u n e

2022

17


Lasting Memories I

family home. Built in 1926 on a 10,000square-foot lot, the landmark home resembles a Spanish colonial-style vacation villa with its expansive L-shaped balcony, swimming pool and distinguished exterior. It’s a natural gathering place for family and friends, says Grace. “We have a total of eight kids and 13 grandchildren,” she says. “Even with everyone grown and married, our kids drop in daily. It’s like an open door for all our

In 1983 when John and Grace Hills purchased their historic home on North Pine Street, it was decorated entirely in red, including upscale red carpet in every room, wall-to-wall red draperies throughout, and red velvet on the banister to match the carpet—all from the 1950s. Although the red carpet is long gone today, the couple never fails to roll out the red carpet—symbolically, of course— to welcome guests, neighbors and family members who enter their

AUTO / HOME / UMBRELLA / LIFE / HEALTH / BUSINESS / WORKERS COMP

Visit Us in Old Towne for a Free Comparative Quote, and Receive a $20 Gift Card.

www. AdamGuss .com In the Heart of the Historic Orange Plaza.

18

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

the lights. One year, we decorated our house in a Hotel California theme with a surfing Santa on the lawn. It really is like the Hotel California here. You never want to leave.” According to the county records, the original house was 2,600 square feet with three bedrooms upstairs and a fourth bedroom downstairs, plus a living room, dining room, kitchen, mail room and telephone nook. Orange trees grew in the backyard.

Let’s Get Started with your Health Journey!! • Weight Loss • Healthy Eating Habits • Personal Health Coaches • Community Support

TNT Healthy Habits to 55 Fwy

to 57 Fwy

Tom & Tammy Mielke

(714) to 22 Fwy

Orange, CA 92866 (714) 978-4200

kids and extended family.” The neighborhood itself is known for its annual Christmas decorating extravaganza. The annual Fourth-of-July block party was also a neighborhood tradition for many years. The best part of living on North Pine Street, says Grace, is the camaraderie with the neighbors. “There is continuity on our block. Many neighbors on North Pine have been here since we’ve been here. Every holiday season, everyone comes out to help put up

East Chapman

South Glassell

60 Plaza Square #200

See our overwhelmingly positive reviews on

to Chapman U

The most comprehensive policy for Historic homes.

The distinctive 1926 Spanish Colonial Revival home is located on North Pine Street in Old Towne Orange, within walking distance of the Plaza.

License #0G50204

308-9896

FREE HEALTH ASSESSMENT SCAN WITH YOUR SMART PHONE TO BEGIN.

BEFORE

AFTER

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


O LD

T OWNE

P ROPERTY

The home’s entry is adorned with decorative alcoves, a sweeping staircase and a mail closet.

The large and inviting living room includes high ceilings, an arched window and the original fireplace.

Written by Karen Anderson Photos by Kristin Smetona: www.smetonaphoto.com

Sometime in the 1970s, previous owners added an entire wing to the house for a total of seven bedrooms (one used as an office), five bathrooms, and a basement and a garage. Unfortunately, there was dark paneling in some of the rooms, plus several of the ceilings had been lowered. Grace and John changed things up after they bought the house. “I was curious about the original features, and I had a vision,” says Grace. “I started pulling out the ceiling in the dining

room one day and discovered beautiful cove ceilings underneath, which were original to the home. The office also had covestyle Spanish ceilings that had been hidden. I was curious what the floors looked like, so I pulled up the red carpet. The floors were gorgeous and had barely been walked on since the 1950s. Even after all this time, we are still doing improvements to the house. I just recently stripped the kitchen cabinets and sanded each of them. We recently re-painted

the exterior. Four years ago, we redid the pool and added a spa. We also installed new landscaping and a fire pit in the backyard. It’s where we spend most of our time.” The history of the home began with the Anderson family, who lived there from 1926 to 1949. William Anderson was a prominent orange grower and civic worker in town, while his wife was a well-known social worker. Beginning in 1949, the Godin family lived in the home until

1969. They owned the Orange Theater (now the Sunlight Christian Church on North Glassell), as well as the Plaza Theater formerly located across from the Army-Navy store. The Godins updated the kitchen, added a couple of bathrooms where the former upstairs balcony was, and installed a pool. It was only the second home in Old Towne that had a pool, according to the Godin’s daughter, Marge. Grace recalls the day Marge CONTINUED ON PAGE 20

ELECTRONIC FILING / FAST REFUND

All Types of Roofs & Repairs

H & H Income Tax

COMMERCIAL & RESIDENTIAL

$ 25 OFF

with this ad.

&

Insurance

ANA Y CATALINA INCOME TAX SINCE 1983

480 South Glassell St Orange, CA 92866

Corner of La Veta & Glassell

(714)

288-2088

The only office that can file taxes back to 1997

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a r t i c l e s / o l d - t o w n e - p r o p e r t y

31 Years in Orange, Serving Southern California

Roof Leak & Re-Felt Specialists.

714-244-6567 www.GallaRiniRoofing .com M ay / J u n e

2022

19


Lasting Memories

CONT. FROM PAGE 19

The spacious galley kitchen offers views of the backyard. The adjoining pantry houses Grace’s collection of vintage Coca-Cola memorabilia.

With its bubbling three-tiered fountain, the Flamingo Courtyard provides a relaxing retreat for enjoying morning coffee.

and her mother knocked on the door and told her they used to live there. “It was interesting talking to them and learning about the

house. Our daughter Sarah struck up a friendship with Marge, who grew up in the same bedroom. They owned the movie theater in town. One day, I found

old movie posters in the basement from their theater.” The next residents, the Brummet family, owned the home from 1969 to 1983. They

were antique dealers in town and incorporated some of their pieces into the home, including the stained glass window in the fireplace room, the hanging light

Glassell Dental WELCOME HOME

to Quality Dentistry and Gental Care

Trust us to provide a LASTING DENTAL HOME for you and your family

$79 NEW PATIENT special

Includes: Comprehensive exam, x­rays and regular cleaning (in absences of gum disease)

Offer expires: 7-31-22

SCHEDULE TODAY! (714) 532­5600 Visit us in Old Towne Orange 245 North Glassell St, Orange CA 92866 www.GlassellDental.com 20

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


O LD

T OWNE

P ROPERTY

John and Grace are proud to call Old Towne home after nearly 40 years nestled on North Pine Street.

in the dining nook, and the old-fashioned telephone in the telephone room. Having lived in or near Orange her entire life, Grace got to know John when she was a senior at Santa Ana High School. They both played volleyball at Portola Park. Their first date was a Guess Who concert in 1971, and soon thereafter, they became engaged. While living in Silverado Canyon, they decided to find a larger home in Orange for their growing family. John, who got his MBA from Chapman University, grew up in

The home resembles a Spanish Colonial-style vacation villa with a swimming pool, sunny balcony and shaded patios with arched walls.

Santa Ana and attended Servite High School in Anaheim. Before retiring 10 years ago, he worked for the County of Orange, the City of Anaheim and the Irvine Ranch Water District in the field of environmental water quality. He’s also a musician who started a rock n’ roll cover band after he retired. “We played around Orange County, including at the Rusty Pelican in Newport Beach, and at

restaurants in Dana Point,” he says. “We called ourselves the Pine Street Band. I also played in a duo at the Filling Station in Old Towne on Friday and Saturday nights up until about five years ago. It was a lot of fun.” Always prepared for visitors, John and Grace appreciate the large space their home affords, not to mention the proximity to the Plaza where their grandkids toss pennies into the fountain just

like John and Grace did with their own children through the years. “We love the stability of the neighborhood, to be able to smile at people we know and say hello as we’re walking down the street,” says John. “It’s very satisfying to host gatherings here for friends and family. Sometimes we have up to 50 extended family members come visit. The house and backyard are perfect for creating lasting memories.”

IN THE ORANGE CIRCLE ANTIQUE MALL

Vintage Platinum & Gold Jewelry Visit our ETSY store at “summerhillantiques ”

Vintage Chandeliers • Furniture • Mirrors • Lamps Custom Lampshades & Upholstery Services • Sconces Interior Design Services Available • SummerhillAntiques.com 110 South Glassell St / Old Towne Orange / 714-771-7782 w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a r t i c l e s / o l d - t o w n e - p r o p e r t y

BUY / SELL / TRADE

118 South Glassell St

Old Towne Orange, CA 92866

714-538-6305

w w w. R a m b l i n g R o s e . n e t

Home of the 18 Month Layaway M ay / J u n e

2022

21


TALK OF THE TOWNE

TALK OF THE TOWNE

Community Foundation of Orange

“Give Where You Live”

PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

/

SmetonaPhoto.com

by George Paul

A Natural Approach to by Marianne Lauren

Christina Martinez, owner of Skin Care by Christina, has built an impressive collection of 5-star testimonials that continues to grow as word of her natural approach to skin care and its effectiveness spreads. As a licensed skin care specialist, she is known and praised for her gentle, knowledgeable and professional manner. Soft-spoken Martinez blends old-world spa traditions with new-world, holistic modalities and techniques in a peaceful environment, where candlelight flickers, aromatherapy fills the air and etheric music plays. She sets the scene for your personal spa journey. “I’ve been coming to Skin Care by Christina since it opened in 2017,” says Lisa Blanc of Orange. “Christina’s facials and treatments are the best and leave my skin looking and feeling amazing. Skin Care by Christina is a hidden jewel in Old Towne.” Martinez offers customized facials and peels, skin-firming regimens, and clinical treatments for skin conditions such as: acne, mature skin and hyper-pigmentation. During treatments, she explains the process and answers questions, as well as guides clients with tips and advice on how to maintain healthy skin. In addition to offering gift certificates and natural pharmaceutical grade skin care products, Skin Care by Christina provides a full line of CBD products to help with pain management, sleep issues and stress.

Skin Care “More and more clients are requesting help with anti-aging,” Martinez says. “Microcurrent has quickly emerged as the numberone treatment designed for antiaging.” She points out that Skin Care by Christina was the first spa in Orange County to offer Neurotris Microcurrent Treatment, a holistic, non-surgical treatment that is clinically proven to tighten the facial muscles and help restore firmness. “I can’t say enough good things about the microcurrent results I have seen,” says Julie La Scalza, a longtime Orange resident. “I’ve already had numerous people say, ‘you look great’ or ‘you look so rested. What are you doing differently?’ The compliments are nice but the microcurrent truly makes me feel better about aging, and it has been nothing short of a miracle—without the high cost of a facelift.” When asked if microcurrent hurts, Martinez smiled. “You feel it working, but it doesn’t hurt,” she says. “As a matter of fact, clients say it’s relaxing.” Microcurrent facials have gained popularity—especially amongst celebrities. In an InStyle Magazine interview, Jennifer Aniston said, “Microcurrent facials are like a little workout for your face. If you don’t work out, eventually everything drops.” Of course, to firm skin, plastic surgery is an option, and there is a CONTINUED ON PAGE 23

22

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

The Orange Elks are this year’s Community Champion honoree at the Community Foundation of Orange “Give Where You Live” Gala. It was a natural choice. Members of the fraternal organization are extremely “visible in the community” and tirelessly support local veterans, youth and the hungry, explains Susie Cunningham, Executive Director, Community Foundation of Orange. “Whatever the need here in the community, the Elks step up.” The special honoree presentation is among CFO Board President Moira Singer favorite aspects of the annual gala, which also includes a cocktail hour and dinner, plus a live and silent auction. “I really enjoy celebrating those who have done so much in the community, and the Elks certainly have,” she says. Because the 2021 gala was cancelled due to COVID-19, gathering in person again will elevate the event’s importance. “This is a very relationship kind of community. Many of us have lived here a long time and really appreciate being together,” says Singer. CFO Secretary and gala committee member Lisa Blanc really enjoys seeing all the friendly faces and reconnecting with people doing admirable work around

Orange. “Once everyone is in the same room, the energy is always wonderful,” she says. Everyone is raving about the revitalized Grand Gimeno luxury event space in Old Towne. “Now it looks like something from Napa Valley with all the beautiful trees,” Singer says. “It’s just gorgeous, and we’re thrilled to be able to celebrate there.” Cunningham is especially pleased about returning home, having previously held the event at Anaheim’s Phoenix Club and elsewhere in Orange. “It’s a beautiful venue and different from what we’ve been able to do in the past,” she marvels about Grand Gimeno.

Spring Favorites

CONT. FROM PAGE 14

The trick to keeping these drought resistance plants happy with less water, in our opinion, is to number one: provide them with a bit of shade in the hottest times of the year, and number two: to do a deep water a few times a week, really soaking the beds or containers they are in, as opposed to more frequent shallow watering. It’s also important to remember that these plants will need some extra water as they are getting established, so in those first few weeks, pay them some extra love. Once established, though, you’ll find these plants can get by with less water as we all work to conserve. Though our inventory changes frequently, especially in the spring, these are plants we generally keep in stock, so if any of them sparked your interest, drop in and see what we have! Happy spring. Be sure to go outside and grow something!

Johnnye Merle’s Gardens 216 West Chapman Ave. / Old Towne Orange Brande Jackson is the owner of Johnnye Merle’s Gardens, located in Country Roads in Old Towne Orange. www.purtyplants.com. She can be reached at www.brande@johnnyemerles.com. She is also a teacher, and leads classes on art, creativity and gardening as well as walking tours of downtown Los Angeles. F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


Building Character

CFO Board President Moira Singer

“If a local business or restaurant wants to donate something, we want to highlight them as much as we can to try and drive more business to them,” says Cunningham. “We know it’s a struggle for some of them to donate.” For 20 years, CFO—a 501c3 public benefit entity—has provided more than $2 million to programs and $200,000+ in grants, entirely through fundraising events, as well as sponsorships and donations by individuals, corporations and other foundations. One of the monetary beneficiaries is KidsPlay, a program that helps children of low-income families with registration costs for joining youth sports programs and

Community Foundation of Orange Gala Thursday, June 2 at 6 pm, Grand Gimeno Events Center: 146 North Grand St. Information: 714-288-9909 www.CommunityFoundationOfOrange.org/foundation-gala-2022.html

A Natural Approach to Skin time and place for such treatment. However, there is something to be said about aging gracefully, owning the lines that mark laughter, tears and every emotion we encounter on our journeys through life. That’s where Skin Care by Christina comes in. Martinez focuses on providing her clients with relaxing, therapeutic practices that lead to glowing skin and a confidence boost. She

Care

CONT. FROM PAGE 22

notes that it’s her clients’ gratitude for her approach that drives and fulfills her. She enjoys how her many regulars say they love to support sole proprietor businesses in Old Towne Orange. She is a member of the Woman’s Club of Orange and donates products, gift certificates and proceeds to the organization, due to their support of charities near and dear to her.

www.SkinCareByChristina.net 369 South Glassell St. / 714-450-2878 w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a r t i c l e s / t a l k - o f - t h e - t o w n e

SmetonaPhoto.com

“This is a very relationship kind of community. Many of us have lived here a long time and really appreciate being together.”

/

Live auction items include a weeklong stay in Prescott, Arizona, a local firefighters barbeque and an Anaheim Ducks game suite with Orange Police Chief Dan Adams as guest. Various swag and vouchers for Old Towne restaurants and breweries are part of the silent auction.

visual/performing arts recreational classes. The program also promotes mental and physical health among K-12 students. “When our kids are able to play on sports teams and the like, it brings the community together because we’re trying to assist some kids who might not have an opportunity to participate otherwise,” affirms Singer. “Their whole families are really affected by that. It’s a very positive thing.” Blanc notes, “We’re increasing our [KidsPlay] focus on mental health—a huge issue surrounding children these days. There are so many different directions we want to take the programs.” CFO presents the popular Field of Valor event over Veterans Day week and a Memorial Day Flag Tribute. Additionally, the new Connect Orange CA (COCA) program brings Orange-based nonprofit organizations together during regular meetings to coordinate activities and share ideas. “I really love that our nonprofits are very collaborative and not competitive,” says Blanc. “They want to help each other. You don’t find that everywhere because people are competing for the same dollars.” Members of the Orange Elks were part of the first roundtable, and Cunningham says CFO was “absolutely blown away” by all the things they are quietly doing in the community while making such an impact.

C HAPMAN U NIVERSITY

PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

Gala 2022!

a t

Coach Scott Laverty by Julie Bawden-Davis

Successful baseball coaches and their players know that strategic moves are what knock a ball out of the park. That’s why Chapman University’s Head Baseball Coach, Scott Laverty, left his position at a Division 1 team in college to play with a Division 2 team. Laverty started his college baseball career at University of Arizona, where he was coached by Hall of Famer Jerry Kindall. “It was a great opportunity to play for a high-ranking school and well-known coach, but I wasn’t as highly recruited as some of the other players playing above me,” says Laverty. “Coach Kindall told me that since the other players were only a year older than me, he wasn’t sure how much opportunity I’d have to play.” After some consideration, Laverty decided to transfer to University of California, Riverside his sophomore year, where he played shortstop for the next three years. “While it seemed like I was taking a step down, I was able to play a lot at UC Riverside for another great coach, Jack Smitheran,” says Laverty. In 1994, his team made it to the Division II national finals. The experience also gave him what he needed to play professionally after college before transitioning to coaching. “Making it to the World Series when I was at Riverside is an experience I wouldn’t have had if I stayed at Arizona,” says Laverty, who led the Chapman Panthers to the 2019 NCAA Division III National Championship, which was Chapman’s third national title in baseball. Under his guidance, the Panthers also set the school record with 44 wins and the NCAA Division III record with 524 strikeouts, among other accolades. Northern California Beginnings Born in Northern California, Laverty grew up in Concord in the house where his parents still live. In addition to playing a variety CONTINUED ON PAGE 24

M ay / J u n e

2022

23


Coach Scott Laverty

CONT. FROM PAGE 23

of sports as a child and trying other pursuits, he spent summers in a small town in Iowa where both sets of grandparents had farms. “One of my grandfathers also owned a hardware store and did woodworking, which he taught me,” says Laverty. When it came time to apply to college, baseball was the obvious choice. “Baseball has always been my first love, so it was a pretty easy decision when I was looking at colleges,” says Laverty. “I was a good student with a high 3 GPA, so I had options.” Laverty enjoys baseball the most, because as he sees it, the game is different than other major sports. “With sports like football and hockey, for instance, it’s the team that plays the best game—due to being bigger or faster or stronger—that usually wins. But with baseball, it’s a more autonomous process that starts with the player and the often-split-second decisions the player must make. It’s the execution of the game that matters. If players take care of what needs to be taken care of and do what needs to be done, they can and will win.” Professional Career After graduating from UC Riverside with an undergraduate degree in business in 1995, Laverty played professionally for a few years in California, Australia, Pennsylvania and Indiana. It was in Indiana that he decided to stop playing and try coaching, which he did for a season in 1997 for the Evansville Otters of the Frontier League. After that, he returned to UC Riverside where he coached while earning his master’s in education and kinesiology from California Baptist. Alongside Smitheran, he coached at UC Riverside from 1997-1999. From there, he went to the University of Redlands where he was hired as head baseball coach in September 1999 at the age of 27. “I coached for 14 years at Redlands, and I loved it,” says Laverty. “When I joined, it was a young department with a lot of young coaches, and we built the program up.” Under Laverty’s direction, the Redland’s fledgling baseball program, which had a losing record from 1997-2004, became a contender. The Bulldogs went on to nine straight seasons of .500 or better. During his 14 years coaching at the university, the team amassed 298 wins, including winning two Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) championships. Aaron Holley played football and baseball at Redlands and is now the University of Redlands Head Baseball Coach and Assistant Director of Athletics for Event Management. “My first year of baseball at Redlands was the spring of 2001,” he recalls. “Scott was 28 years old and in his second year of coaching at Redlands. The team wasn’t very good at first. It took until the 2005 season to really turn a corner. In 2006, we had the school’s best year to date, winning 30 games and conference, and were the number 1 ranked team in the West region.” Holley attributes the team’s success to Laverty and his assistant coaches, who he says “brought knowledge and hard work. A lot was expected of us, and I think that pushed the team to improve, leading us to nine straight years (from 2005-2013) without a losing record,” he says. “Scott brought a winning culture and a positive attitude to the team. We were expected to succeed on the field and in the classroom. His assistant coaching CONTINUED ON PAGE 25

PEACE KEEPERS

by Sheri Ledbetter

ALL H.E.A.R.T. Back in 2016, Orange Police Department Corporal Mark Bailey found himself wanting to serve the Orange community in a different capacity from the high-speed proactive law enforcement career he experienced up until that time. “I’d spent the majority of my career in patrol. I was looking for a different challenge,” he says. Bailey found what he was looking for when he began working in the Orange PD’s Homeless, Engagement, Assistance & Resource Team (H.E.A.R.T.), established in 2013. As part of the Field Services Division, H.E.A.R.T. was formed with a sergeant, two officers, and a clinician to respond to transient related calls. The team quickly learned that a majority of the contacts with homeless were mentally ill persons. “Our unit also has a civilian clinician who rides with us and assists us with mental health programs, homeless programs, and mental health follow up for a proactive response for those in our city (homeless or not homeless),” says Bailey. “Our primary focus is a balance of both law enforcement and outreach. Sometimes that’s achieved through tough love with enforcement and other times with discretion and primarily outreach efforts.” H.E.A.R.T. works with several entities to help the homeless. As an example, a husband and wife’s

van broke down in a residential street full of retirees and families. With no resources, the couple lived in the broken-down van in the neighborhood. Typically, the response would have led to the vehicle being impounded for law violations and the owners being forced out to the street. While H.E.A.R.T. members assert that is sometimes the appropriate response, in this case, they approached it as an outreach opportunity.

“Our primary goal is to assist the homeless out of their current situation and away from homelessness.” Cpl. Mark Bailey, Orange Police Department”

They identified the occupants, built a rapport, and subsequently identified the wife as a possible fourteen-year army veteran. H.E.A.R.T. coordinated with a local church, a tow company, a soup kitchen, an auto mechanics shop and two different motels. The end result was that everyone chipped in and were able to assist the couple. “Our primary goal is to assist the homeless out of their current situation and away from homelessness,” says Bailey. Another success story involved two repeat offenders and drug

FACIAL INSTITUTE + MASSAGE CLINIC SPA HOUSE BOUTIQUE EXPERTS OF NON-SURGICAL FACELIFT

714-731-7300

1035 EAST CHAPMAN AVE. OLD TOWNE ORANGE

WWW. SKINSATIONSSPA .COM 24

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


Working through the H.E.A.R.T program at the Orange Police Department, Corporal Mark Bailey (left) and Officer Sean Feaze help homeless individuals who wish to change their lives.

users living at Hart Park. Both committed street crimes to support their drug habits. “Our team deliberately went out of our way to contact these individuals daily,” notes Bailey. Some of the contacts were with law enforcement with outreach and some simply involved outreach attempts and daily interactions to build a rapport. After working with both over time, the H.E.A.R.T. team acted as mediators between the two offenders and their family members. “When we felt that the subjects were serious about making a change, we negotiated circumstances where family unifications could occur,” says Bailey. The H.E.A.R.T. team used donated funds to fly the individuals to their out-of-state families and offered to fly them back if things

didn’t work out, because the goal of the program is to prevent the individual from relocating somewhere to simply continue being homeless. In a positive outcome, both individuals successfully completed drug rehabilitation programs, acquired employment and moved into their own places. One married and had a child. “We continue to get updates about their progress, says Bailey. The H.E.A.R.T. team not only conducts enforcement and holds people accountable, but they assist them out of their situation if possible. Says Bailey, “Who better to assist than the people who come in contact with the homeless daily and take the time to get to know them?” To contact H.E.A.R.T., call (714) 744-7599.

Coach Scott Laverty

hires during that time were key to helping him, and the team, reach their potential. He also continued to improve our team through his recruiting efforts.” Recruited by Chapman Though Laverty wasn’t planning to leave Redlands, when the opportunity to take over as head coach at Chapman came up, he considered his options and decided to take the position. One of the contributing factors was that he lives in Placentia and was commuting to Redlands. Another was the opportunity to coach at a growing school. “Chapman is booming academically, socially and athletically,” says Laverty, who joined the university in July 2013, becoming the 14th head baseball coach in Chapman’s history. “As I tell new recruits, it’s not often that you get to be at a university that is growing and expanding like Chapman.” As Holley sees it, Laverty’s success stems from his coaching skills. “Scott embodies what it means to be a college baseball coach. He believed in me as a coach and a player. If it wasn’t for him, I wouldn’t be the head coach at Redlands today, and probably wouldn’t be coaching at all. It goes beyond his success on the field. The lessons he instills into players have helped hundreds of young men be successful in their careers, as husbands, as fathers and as people.” Jarod Penniman played for Laverty at Chapman while a business major from August 2015 to May 2019 and echoes the same sentiments. “Coach Laverty has resurrected the historic Chapman program and brought it back to prominence amongst the DIII ranks. He has a unique way of getting his teams to play together, and he helps build a close-knit group. He cares deeply about his players and is always willing to do the right thing for them and their families. What he has built at Chapman is a phenomenal baseball program that has shaped lives for the better.”

5

Additional toppings extra. Not valid with any other coupon. Must present coupon. $4.00 delivery charge. Restrictions apply.

Expires 6/30/22

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a r t i c l e s

CONT. FROM PAGE 24

16” Lg 1-Topping Pizza • Lg Dinner Salad Your choice of 2 liter of Soda or regular order of Garlic or Dessert Knots. Select toppings only. Additional toppings extra. One coupon per customer. Not valid with any other coupon. Must present coupon. $4.00 delivery charge. Restrictions apply.

Expires 6/30/22

M ay / J u n e

2022

25


I NSIDE A RT

The Hilbert Temporary opens “By Popular Demand” Six years after its opening, the Hilbert Museum of California Art at Chapman University, now one of Orange County’s most popular art destinations, will begin construction this summer on an expansion that will add new space for enhanced exhibitions and programs. The expansion plans will triple the museum’s size, augmenting its gallery space and increasing its capacity to serve the community, Chapman students and K-12 students from throughout Orange County. The Hilbert Museum expansion will take the space from about 7,500 square feet to more than 22,000. The museum’s last day in its current location before construction begins will be May 7, 2022. During the approximately one year it will take to construct the new expansion, the museum will move to a new space, dubbed the Hilbert Temporary, at 216 East Chapman Avenue in Orange, opening there on June 1. The first exhibition in the Hilbert Temporary is “By Popular

Demand: Visitor Favorites from The Hilbert Collection.” One of the works in the show, depicted on the inside front cover of this issue, is Robert Frame’s oil painting “Santa Barbara View with Cat,” a work from the 1970s that has become beloved by visitors to the Hilbert. Frame’s paintings have a strong sense of design and symmetry, with a master’s intuitive understanding of color and its effect on the viewer. This painting is an engaging scene of a lovely sun-filled room, with doors open to the patio and the ocean beyond, and breakfast laid on the table. Off to the side sits an enigmatic cat, perhaps waiting for its own breakfast. The temporary space is located about one block east of Watson’s Drugstore in a building that used to house a branch of U.S. Bank. Hours in the temporary space will remain the same—TuesdaySaturday, 11 am to 5 pm—and admission will remain free with online reservation. The newly expanded Hilbert

Ben Abril “Angel’s Flight” c. 1960, oil on canvas The Hilbert Collection

Lee Blair (1911-1993) “Mary by the Sea” 1934, oil on canvas The Hilbert Collection

Museum at 167 North Atchison Street, across from the Orange Metrolink station, is scheduled to have its Grand Opening in the fall of 2023. Working with the Los Angelesbased architectural design firm Johnston Marklee and officials from the City of Orange, Chapman developed plans for the expansion that include more gallery space to exhibit works from the museum’s fine-art collection, as well as movie production art, animation art and works of American illustration.

In addition, the museum will add a Founders’ Gallery that will showcase major cultural artifacts of the American Southwest assembled by namesake founders Mark and Janet Hilbert, including Pueblo pottery and basketry and Navajo wearing blankets. “The Hilbert Museum is on the cusp of a transformational moment,” says Chapman University President Daniele Struppa. “We’re grateful to Mark and Jan Hilbert for their visionary leadership and to the City of Orange and its residents

Build Self-Confidence T h ro u g h E d u c a t i o n i n P i a n o , Vo i c e , G u i t a r, U k u l e l e , C e l l o D r u m s , F o re i g n L a n g u a g e & D i g i t a l R e c o rd i n g

Group & Individual lessons for all ages! • • • • •

Audition & Performance Preparation Theory, Sight Reading & Ear Training Certificate of Merit & National Guild Testing College Preparation Language Classes (French, Spanish, Italian & Farsi)

~ Online, Outdoor, Hybrid & Traditional Classes Available ~

1311 East Katella Avenue, Orange, CA 92867 (Tuskatella Shopping Center)

714-545-1217 26

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

PacificConservatoryOC .com F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


. . . and it’s opening on June 1

Barse Miller “If I had the Wings of an Angel” 1937, oil and canvas The Hilbert Collection

Frank N. Ashley “The Barefoot ‘60s: Enrico’s San Francisco” 1968, oil on canvas The Hilbert Collection

Jack Laycox “Chinese New Year, San Francisco” 1960s, watercolor The Hilbert Collection

for embracing our vision of Chapman as an important hub for the performing and visual arts.” “It’s wonderful to see how the Orange community, art lovers from throughout the region, and travelers to Orange County from across the nation and around the world have embraced the Hilbert Museum since our opening,” says Mary Platt, Director of the museum. “Thanks to the extraordinary generosity of the Hilberts and the support of Chapman University and our community, this expansion

will allow the museum to better showcase our growing collection, increase our space for community and campus events, and welcome more visitors to experience the power of art.” The expansion will unite the current museum space with the building next door, previously the home of Chapman’s Department of Dance. The redesigned historic Villa Park Orchards packinghouse on Cypress Street is the site of the new Sandi Simon Center for Dance.

The Hilbert Museum expansion plan revamps both buildings, combining them into two wings of a stunning new space that will also include a research library, conference room and community room for lectures, classes and events. In addition, a cafe and outdoor courtyard “will become great places for visitors to gather and relax,” says Platt. Perhaps the most striking feature of the new building will be a 640-square-foot mosaic designed and created by the heralded

California artist Millard Sheets (1907-1989). The mosaic, depicting a classic Southern California beach scene, was gifted to the Hilbert Museum by the owners of a former Home Savings Bank in Santa Monica, where it had been displayed from 1969 until the building was scheduled for demolition. Now it will grace the museum’s west-facing facade. Since its founding in 2016, the Hilbert Museum has certainly found its place in the sun, growing from 8,000 visitors in its first year to more than 30,000 in 2019. Through two years of COVID-19 impact, the museum largely remained open as an important resource to the community. Along the way, it has become a five-star-rated attraction on Yelp and Trip Advisor and was “Most Popular” in its category in the Los Angeles Times’ Best of the Southland, Orange County Awards. “When this expansion project is complete, the influence of the Hilbert Museum will only grow as it welcomes new visitors and greatly expands Chapman’s artistic community,” Struppa says.

OPEN STUDIO! Every Saturday from 2 to 5 pm or by appointment

60 Years of Paintings & Drawings reflecting the changing face of beautiful California by Artist Marinus Welman Have a REAL ART experience at:

Welman Art Studio 2402 North Glassell St. #A Orange, CA 92865 MarinusWelman.com marinuswelman@gmail.com

714 998-8662 w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a r t i c l e s / i n s i d e - a r t

M ay / J u n e

2022

27


TALK OF THE TOWNE

by Sheri Ledbetter

COUNTRY ROADS ANTIQUES & GARDENS

A Few of Our Favorite Things . . . by Brande Jackson

Spring Edition

Spring is here, the weather is fine, and we have lots of new favorite things that have arrived in the shop in recent weeks. Check out a few of our selections below, but remember, new goodies arrive daily, so come in and see for yourself and get inspired! We are totally enamored by this cute little display! The detail on those old books is so great, and we love the delightful floral candleholders.

Meet Rob Houston Orange’s New City Manager The City of Orange welcomed its new City Manager Rob Houston in March. Although he is new to Orange, he’s not new to city government, nor Orange County. Houston has worked in Newport Beach and most recently as City Manager in Fountain Valley. He looks forward to learning as much as he can about Orange and invites residents to learn what they can about local government. Born in Ohio and raised in Canada, Houston has enjoyed dual citizenship throughout his life. Upon college graduation in Vancouver, Houston’s first stop in his career was in the private sector where he worked as an assistant restaurant manager for a corporate McDonald’s in British Columbia. “I got some good training for two years,” he says. “How to run a business, how to make profits, inventory and all those pieces. But I just didn’t feel like that connected with who I was.” Houston then began what has become a career in public service when he took a position with the federal government in Canada. He transitioned next to provincial government—the equivalent of state government in Canada—where he worked in administration doing finance, budgets and contracts. He met his wife, Monica, while at college, and they had their daughter before relocating to the states, where they eventually had their son. “My wife and I didn’t like the winters of Canada,” he says. “My 28

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

daughter was five and going to start kindergarten the following year. My wife is a schoolteacher and said, ‘once our kids are in school, we’re not moving them. So, if we want to try this U.S. move, let’s try this year.’” In 2005, Houston and family relocated to North San Diego County, where he took a position in the Carlsbad city government as an analyst in Public Works. That’s where he learned that he wanted to one day be city manager. “I knew I wanted to be in a position that would require big picture, strategic thinking,” recalls Houston. After five and a half years, he had worked his way up to the city manager’s office as senior analyst but hit a ceiling in terms of continued advancement. “They said if you want to be assistant city manager or city manager, you will need more experience, and we don’t have that role here,” says Houston. He wanted to keep moving, so Houston landed the Assistant to the City Manager role with the City of Newport Beach. He commuted from Carlsbad for the next six and a half years, not wanting to disrupt the kids’ schooling. Eventually, he became the Deputy City Manager. At that point he had punched his card in all the right places. His next move was to become City Manager in Fountain Valley in 2017, where he served for four and a half years before taking the top role in Orange.

Look at this chair! It won’t last long, so act fast if it’s calling your name. The shape and the color are wonderful. It would look so cool in a vintage style study or office, or in a living room. We are all about the midcentury modern vibes of this cool collection! The color combo of the scale and necklace is great, and the old embossing stamps would make a great instant collection. Check out this nautical themed display. We adore how the painting “anchors” (pun kinda intended…) the whole thing. So many cute little goodies tucked into that shelf. Beachy vibes are here—just in time for the warmer weather. We love how versatile this style of decorating is. It works well with so many looks! We have looks to match all kinds of styles. Come in and see us soon!

www.CountryRoadsAntiques .com 216 WEST CH APMAN AV E.

7 1 4 - 5 3 2 - 3 0 41 Open Daily 10 am - 5 pm www.facebook.com/CountryRoadsAntiques

As City Manager, Houston oversees a staff of 750, including police, fire, community services, community development (planning), public works (water, sewer, maintenance, engineering and building), library, finance, HR, IT and the city clerk. “With local government, I enjoy the complexity of trying to balance the day-to-day needs of each of the departments with the demands and competing interests out there in the community,” says Houston. “We then work together to achieve what the council wants.”

Houston’s priorities are to listen and learn for now and to build on all the great pieces already existing in Orange. “In Orange, I enjoy the fact that what I’ve researched and what I’m seeing and hearing already is the great partnership that exists between so many active local groups that care about the community, and the city council and the staff,” says Houston. “Like any tightknit, passionate family, you’ve got energy and competing interests, but I think everybody ultimately wants a better Orange.”

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


Circle in the Square by Kirk Sivertsen /

What’s Happening ONGOING: Jun 1 - July 31 Seeds Fine Art Exhibits Art Exhibit:“Sacred Streets” with Artist Jason Leith Full Circle Meaningful Marketplace 140 S Glassell St / SeedsFineArt.org Every Fri / 9:30 - 11:30 am Orange Home Grown Educational Farm Volunteer Farm Friday Plant, harvest, compost & mend soil. All ages are invited, as new volunteers are paired with seasoned volunteers. 356 N Lemon / OrangeHomeGrown.org

www.OrangeReview .com/archive/circle-in-the-square

COUPON WINNER

. . .

Every Sat / 9 am - 11 am Woman’s Club Events Center Open House Tours An ideal Old Towne location to host your next memorable event. View ad on page 8. 121 South Center St / 714-605-3753 Every Sat / 9 am - 1 pm Orange Home Grown Farmers Market A great way to begin your day, with quality produce & fresh healthy foods. 2nd Sat Free Cooking Demo 3rd Sat Kids Club / Seed Lending 303 West Palm / OrangeHomeGrown.org

We Sincerely “Thank You” Our Amazing Customers for 33 Years of Loyal Suppor t! Open Wed - Sat: 8 am - 9 pm

129 West Chapman Ave. 714.538.7180 www. B y b l o s O r a n ge .com

Solving Plumbing Problems for Our Valued Customers throughout Orange County since 1989

Finding

by Nathan Carter

Something

Coupon winner Marla Lan Franco is a member of one of the oldest families in Orange. The first Lan Franco arrived in California in 1853. He owned and operated a city block named the Lan Franco Building in L.A. His son moved to a house on Yorba Street in Orange in 1884. Marla’s grandparents went on to own a dairy farm in Orange in the 1930s, while her father, Marsden Lan Franco, played professional baseball at Hart Park. It was at the park that he met her mother, Vera Lan Franco, nee Lemberg. Today, Marla carries on the tradition by remaining active in her community. “I volunteer at Saddleback Church in Lake Forest,” she says. “I’m also working a job fair in May at the Santa Ana Elks Lodge.” Marla is a Belly Dance performer, who danced a Tango in the 2019 film, “The Stooge.” She also paints custom walking sticks and enjoys working on her family history. Not surprisingly, Marla loves

Special

collecting antiques, so she chose Golden Bear Antiques in the Plaza to spend this month’s winnings. “I was looking for something unique and saw a cobalt blue Sevres planter at Golden Bear,” she says. “I’m always looking for something special.”

WIN $50.00 OFF ANY PURCHASE

from any Plaza Review advertiser featured in this issue. NAME

COMMERCIAL • INDUSTRIAL • RESIDENTIAL

Family Owned & Operated

PHONE NUMBER E-MAIL

Call for Free Estimate

714­974­9448 www.ShaferPlumbing.com S E W E R • WAT E R • G A S P L U M B I N G

COMMENTS, ETC. Mail to:

Old Towne Orange Plaza Review 134 South Glassell St. #C, Orange CA 92866 Winner is selected randomly by an advertiser of the Old Towne Orange PLAZA REVIEW.

1307 West Trenton Ave Orange, CA 92867 Entries must be postmarked by June 15, 2022

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

M ay / J u n e

2022

29


to 91 FREEWAY

Orange Farmers Market

1 DIGITAL ON-LINE PLAZA MAP

PALM

Rutabegorz Restaurant

14

The Dragonfly Shops

13

C HAPMAN U NIVERSITY AVENUE

15 Glassell Dental 16 Willits Real Estate Group

MAPLE

AVENUE

Zito’s

PLAZA PLAZA PARK PARK

22 Blaze Pizza

Rambling Rose Jewelry

31

Caliber Real Estate

30

LINCOLN

29

FW

Y

OL

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

(55) FWY

B

F

28

ORANGEWOOD

27

LA VETA AVENUE

CENTER STREET

D E

SA

KATELLA

AVE

WALNUT

AVE

G

Orangeland RV Park

Knox General Insurance

H&H Income Tax & Insurance

Villa Ford of Orange

C Welman Art Studio

Guardian Roofs

Titan Automotive

( 57) FWY

N O RT H

GARDEN GROVE (22) FWY

AVE

Blaze Pizza

ORANGE

D

T

(5 )

Shafer Plumbing

AVENUE

to 22 FREEWAY

OW

A

N E W P O RT B E AC H

STREET

b et SA

A N

oTo

AVENUE

GLASSELL

CH A PMA N

ALMOND

ty

N G E i s ce nt e re d

26 Antique Depot

A

C ou n

O RA NE

PLAZA REVIEW Advertisers outside the PLAZA SQUARE RETAIL DISTRICT.

Jadtec Security

ge

ORAN GE (57) FWY

we

ARTESIA / RIVERSIDE (91) FWY

N TA

Antique Station

ra n

30

2

25 Army-Navy Store

fO

en

e

5,

7 & 91 Fr e ew a y s , i nt 5, 5 he He ar

Woman’s Club Events Center

3 HOUR 24 Paris in a Cup PUBLIC PARKING

to

th

3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING

20

23 O Sea

(5 )

H CHAPMAN

GARDEN

FW

Open

Y

N

I

J K L

AVE

GROVE (22) FWY

NEWPORT BEACH (55) FWY

32

21

Smiles of Orange

Orange Circle Antique Mall

19 Real Estate Establishment

Old Towne Plumbing

ST

33

to 55 FREEWAY

Orange City Hall

GLASSELL

Summerhill Ltd.

SOUTH GLASSELL

OLIVE STREET

LEMON STREET

CYPRESS STREET

3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING

CHAPMAN

Bonham Construction

Country Roads Antiques Johnnye Merle Gardens

5 2,

EAST

34

Orange Main Library & History Center

18

M Aces Bar & Grill

CHAPMAN

Wells Fargo Bank

ST

Old Towne Post Office

Orange Circle Optometry

6

MAIN

WEST

Citizens Business Bank

5

4 to 5 & 57 FREEWAY

Adam Guss State Farm

Dan Slater for Mayor

7

ST

1886 Brewing Co

17 Matoska Trading Company

TUSTIN

8

Skinsations Spa

Smoqued BBQ

GRAND STREET

9

Byblos Cafe

Circle City Barbers

Taco Adobe

Reneé Jewelers

Shannon Family Mortuary

3

10

ORANGE STREET

Laurenly

11

3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING

O’Hara’s Pub

NORTH GLASSELL

3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING

FREE ALL ALL DAY DAY PARKING PARKING FREE

Hilbert Museum of California Art

2

12 NY Pizza

Garden Day

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


O RANGE P LAZA R EVIEW A DVERTISER I NDEX & MAP PG

ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE

MAP

ANTIQUES & COLLECTABLES: 12 Antique Depot . . . . . . . . . . . . . 26 155 South Glassell St (714) 516-1731 12 Antique Station . . . . . . . . . . . . 29 178 South Glassell St (714) 633-3934 28 Country Roads Antiques . . . . . 34 204 West Chapman Ave (714) 532-3041 11 Orange Circle Antique Mall . . . 32 118 South Glassell St (714) 538-8160 21 Summerhill Ltd . . . . . . . . . . . . 33 110 South Glassell (714) 771-7782 ARTS & CULTURE: Hilbert Museum of Calif Art . . . 2 167 North Atchison St (714) 516-5880 27 Marinus Welman - Artist . . . . . . C 2402 North Glassell St (714) 998-8662 4

AUTOMOTIVE: 31 Titan Automotive . . . . . . . . . . . . H 939 West Chapman Ave (714) 997-2311 32 Villa Ford of Orange . . . . . . . . . D 2550 North Tustin St (877) 585-3090 DINING & PUBS: 9 1886 Brewing Company . . . . . . 7 114 North Glassell St (714) 922-8130 31 Aces Bar & Grill . . . . . . . . . . . . M 3538 East Chapman Ave (714) 629-9404 3 Blaze Pizza 101 South Glassell St . . . . . . . . 22 (714) 783-9845 2139 North Tustin St . . . . . . . . . . E (714) 408-7361 29 Byblos Cafe . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5 129 West Chapman Ave (714) 538-7180

PG

ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE

MAP

DINING & PUBS: (cont) 12 O’Hara’s Pub . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11 150 North Glassell St (714) 532-9264 11 O Sea . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 23 109 South Glassell St (714) 362-3309 25 Paris in a Cup - Tea Salon . . . . 24 119 South Glassell St (714) 538-9413 1 Rutabegorz Restaurant . . . . . . 14 264 North Glassell St (714) 633-3260 9 Smoqued BBQ . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8 128 North Glassell St (714) 633-7427 1 Taco Adobe . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3 121 North Lemon St (714) 628-0633 25 Zito’s New York Style Pizza . . . 12 156 North Glassell St (714) 771-2222 EVENTS / ORGANIZATIONS: 16 Open Garden Day . . . . . . . . . . . N West Floral & Jack Fisher Park www.OpenGardenDay.com 20 Orange Farmers Market . . . . . . 1 303 West Palm Ave www.OrangeHomegrown.org

PG

Over 40 Years of Experience! • • • • • • • • •

MAP

HEALTH, FITNESS & BEAUTY: (cont) 18 TNT Healthy Habits (714) 308-9896 https://linqapp.com/xbl_doxtk56d JEWELRY 21 Rambling Rose Jewelry . . . . . 31 118 South Glassell St (714) 538-6305 13 Renée Jewelers . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9 138 North Glassell St (714) 538-1956 REAL ESTATE: 10 Caliber Real Estate Group . . . . 30 134 South Glassell St (714) 988-6339 17 Real Estate Establishment . . . 19 550 East Chapman Ave (714) 744-5711 24 A Real Estate Holding Co (657) 505-8265 5 Willits Real Estate Group . . . . 16 229 North Glassell St (714) 315-8120 8 Woman’s Club Event Center . . . 20 121 South Center St (714) 605-3753

6 HEALTH, FITNESS & BEAUTY: 16 Circle City Barbers . . . . . . . . . . 4 133 West Chapman Ave (714) 453-9765 20 Glassell Dental . . . . . . . . . . . . . 15 245 North Glassell St (714) 532-5600 1 Orange Circle Optometry . . . . . 18 227 East Chapman Ave (714) 538-6424 24 Skinsations Spa . . . . . . . . . . . . . K 1035 East Chapman Ave (714) 731-7300 1 Smiles of Orange . . . . . . . . . . . . I 743 East Chapman Ave (714) 997-5495

ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE

17

19

13

19

7

SERVICES: Bonham Construction . . . . . . . 21 (949) 532-6274 Bear Flag Construction (949) 795-6812 BearFlagOC.com Galla-Rini Roofing (714) 244-6567 www.GallaRiniRoofing.com Guardian Roofs . . . . . . . . . . . . . G 1010 North Batavia St (714) 633-3619 H&H Income Tax Insurance . . . 27 480 South Glassell St (714) 288-2088 Jadtec Security Services . . . . . A 1520 West Yale Ave (714) 282-0828

PG

ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE

MAP

SERVICES: (cont) 11 Knox General Insurance . . . . . 28 226 South Glassell St (714) 744-6537 6 Old Towne Plumbing . . . . . . . . 21 (714) 213-5211 29 Shafer Plumbing Contractors . . B 1307 West Trenton Ave (714) 974-9448 16 Shannon Family Mortuary . . . . . J 1005 East Chapman Ave (714) 771-1000 19 Sign Painter - Patrick Smith (714) 282-7097 pgsmithdesign.com 1 Slater for Mayor . . . . . . . . . . . . . L 1537 East Chapman Ave (714) 997-0050 18 State Farm - Adam Guss . . . . . 6 60 Plaza Square (714) 978-4200 SPECIALTY RETAIL: 13 Army Navy Store . . . . . . . . . . . 25 131 South Glassell St (714) 639-7910 1 Dragonfly Shops & Gardens . . 13 260 North Glassell St (714) 289-4689 14 Johnnye Merle Gardens . . . . . 34 204 West Chapman Ave (714) 532-3041 9 Laurenly Boutique . . . . . . . . . . 10 142 North Glassell St (714) 538-7567 12 Matoska Trading Company . . . 17 123 North Glassell St (714) 516-9940 TOURISM: 21 Orangeland RV Park . . . . . . . . . F 1600 West Struck (714) 633-0414 PUBLISHER: Mike Escobedo Design www.facebook.com/orangereview www.OrangeReview.com (714) 771-6919

Watch the game and eat tasty food at the same time! Head over to one of the best neighborhood sports bars in Orange to enjoy your favorite food, drink beer and watch the sports team of your choice.

Computer Diagnostics Brakes • Electrical Suspension 4-Wheel Alignment Fuel Injection Smog Certificate Factory Scheduled Maintenance Foreign & Domestic . . .

T I TA N

AUTOMOTIVE (EST. 1976)

939 W. Chapman Ave. (at Batavia St.)

Orange, CA 92868 O w n e r M I K E F RY is Ready to Help!

714- 997-2311

TEL: 7 1 4 - 6 2 9 - 9 4 0 4

3538

East

Chapman Ave.

ORANGE, CA

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / m a p

92669

M ay / J u n e

2022

31


PRST STD U.S. POSTAGE

PA I D HUNT BCH, CA PERMIT 438

134 South Glassell • Orange, CA 92866

32

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W