Old Towne Orange Plaza Review | Issue 108 | Mar-Apr 2022

Page 1

General & Cosmetic Dentistry

C e l e b r a t i n g 9 Ye a r s in O l d Tow n e !

Enjoy a made-to-order meal featuring fresh produce,

Husband & Wife:

C o m p r e h e n s i ve E ye C a r e

USDA premium Ranchero meats &

Dr. Alex Romero & Dr. Ly Nguyen

the season’s

freshest shrimp & fish.

714.628.0633 Old Towne Orange / 11 am - 9 pm

743 East Chapman Ave. 714-997-5495

121 North Lemon St.

Orange, CA 92866

www.smilesoforange .com

227 East Chapman Ave #C Old Towne Orange, CA 92866 / 714 - 538-6424

Available for Private Events

“Celebrating 15 Years in Old Towne”

Explore Your Creativity at our New Workshops! Register on-line at:

dragonflyshopsandgardens.com

260 North Glassell St. Wed-Fri: 11 - 5 / Sat: 9-5 / Sun: 11- 4

Tel: 714- 289-4689

March / April 2022

“News for the Neighborhood”


I N S I D E A RT : S t o r y o n p a g e 2 6

“ H o l l y V- V # 6 ” b y B r a d f o r d S a l a m o n / D r a f t i n g P e n c i l o n Ve l l u m P a p e r / 9 5 ” x 8 4 ” Now on view at the Hilber t Museum of California Ar t F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

March / April

2022

3


Your Neighborhood Realtors BEN WILLITS / CALBRE #0185881

SUSIE WILLITS / CALBRE #01852527

DOUG WILLITS / CALBRE #01787611

# 1 BROKERAGE IN ORANGE *

Visit us at our Old Towne Orange Location at 229 North Glassell St. for Professional Representation. Call us today: 714-315-8120

Buy / Sell / Lease Specializing in Orange & Surrounding Communities * Results based on production from office located in zip code displayed. Data provided by California Regional Multiple Listing Service and its member Associations of REALTORS, who are not responsible for its accuracy. Analysis dates are 12/01/19 though 11/30/2020. Does not reflect all activity in the Marketplace. Analysis results © 2020 Real Data Strategies, Inc., under license to Lalapoint, LLC and named MLS member firms. All rights reserved. License #00745605

dougw@sevengables.com • swillits@sevengables.com • benw @ sevengables.com 4

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


Admission FREE with advance reservation: tickets.chapman.edu w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a d v e r t i s e r s

March / April

2022

5


6

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


An Evening of Holocaust Remembrance Fish Interfaith Center

| Chapman University

April 26, 2022

I

7 p.m.

MUSICAL TRIBUTES Cantor Chayim Frenkel Kehillat Israel Reconstructionist Congregation of Pacific Palisades Accompanied by pianist David Kamenir

LIGHTING OF CANDLES OF REMEMBRANCE SPECIAL MESSAGE The Jewish World of Raphael Lemkin and the Question of Genocide David M. Crowe, Ph.D. Presidential Fellow, Chapman University Author of The Holocaust: Roots, History, and Aftermath

REFLECTIONS Rev. Dr. Gail Stearns Dean of the Wallace All Faiths Chapel, Chapman University Rabbi Corie Yutkin Director of Jewish Life and Chaplain, Chapman University

Admission Free. An informal reception will follow the event. For further information, contact the Rodgers Center for Holocaust Education (714) 628-7377 or Chapman.edu/holocausteducation .

Per the new Visitor Guidelines effective as of January 2022, all visitors attending events on campus must show proof of vaccination or a negative COVID test (within the last 24 hours if a rapid test, within 48 hours if PCR). Off-campus and at-home test results will be accepted.

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a d v e r t i s e r s

For visitor COVID protocols, see cusafelyback.chapman.edu/chapman-visitor-policy

March / April

2022

7


Since 2001

Old Towne Orange PLAZAREVIEW

From the Publisher One of my favorite aspects of publishing the Old Towne Orange Plaza Review is sharing the inspiring stories of our community’s members. It is because of the people who call Orange home that our city is such a popular and cherished place to live. In each issue of the Plaza Review, we learn about longtime residents who have contributed to the fabric of Orange and from whom we can learn a great deal. In this issue’s property article starting on page 18, we visit with Rob and Gloria Boice. Dedicated to the preservation of Old Towne’s history, the couple restored their nearly 100year-old Craftsman when they moved in 40 years ago and were co-founders of the Old Towne Preservation Association in 1986. I’m also always pleased to include the stories of newcomers to Orange. I love seeing young families move here to lay down roots and raise their children in this connected community. It’s also always inspiring to watch the professional and creative aspirations of Chapman University students. As we head into spring, it’s exciting to see the return of many well-loved and anticipated events. We can look forward to the Country Roads Spring Garden Party on March 19, the Orange Plaza Car Show on April 10 and the Woman’s Club of Orange 83rd Annual Flower Show on April 21. Then in May, you can attend the Taste of Orange on May 1 (pg. 22) and the May Parade on May 7 (pg. 28). There is also a great deal to learn and remember at An Evening of Holocaust Remembrance on April 26 at Chapman University. Thank you. I am eternally grateful for your readership.

What’s Happening

. . .

MARCH 2022 Thu / Mar 3 / 11:30 am Town & Gown Lunch at the Forum Concussion: What Is It, What Happens After & What Can You Do? Dr. Mary Kennedy will discuss the most up-to-date research & what can be done to help those with lasting concussion symptoms. Chapman University, Beckman Hall 714-744-7608 / tickets.chapman.edu Tue / Mar 15 Chapman College of Performing Arts Music Camp Registration $100 early bird discount ends for Instrumental Music Camp, Jun 13-17 Choral Music Camp, Jun 20-24 Chapman.edu / 714-997-6871 Sat / Mar 19 / 10 - 11 am Orange Home Grown Education Farm Worm Composting Class Learn about worms, how to make, maintain & harvest a compost bin, and the benefits of composting in terms of waste diversion & improving soil quality. 356 North Lemon St facebook.com/events/747593759555790

Sat / Mar 19 / 10 am - 5 pm Country Roads Antiques & Gardens Spring Garden Party Our annual Spring Garden Party is back! Join us for raffles, a plant sale, giveaways, workshops, refreshments & more! 216 West Chapman Ave / 714-532-3041 facebook.com/events/296748769180330 Mon / Mar 21 / 7:30 am CHOC Jack & Jill Guild “Tee it Up for CHOC!” Golf Classic A great day of fun & creative golf challenges to benefit CHOC Children’s Foundation. Yorba Linda Country Club 714-393-1506 / jackandjillguild.org Wed / Mar 23 / 7:45 am Orange Chamber of Commerce City Council Appreciation Breakfast Join us in showing your appreciation to our City Council members at this year’s “We Love Our City Council” appreciation breakfast. View ad below. 6410 East Chapman Ave / 714-538-3581 www.orangechamber.com/city-councilappreciation-breakfast

Sincerely, Mike Escobedo 134 South Glassell St. / Orange, CA 92866 714 - 771 - 6919 Mike@OrangeReview.com

“ News For The Neighborhood ” Old Towne Orange Plaza Review © 2022 Mike Escobedo Design. All rights reserved. The material herein contained cannot be reproduced in whole or in part without the written permission of Mike Escobedo Design.

www. OrangeReview .com

8

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


!

Around the Plaza APRIL 2022 Sun / Apr 3 / 4 - 8 pm Assistance League of Orange Embrace Orange Dinner & Auction “Now is the Time” fundraising event. Balboa Bay Resort, Newport Beach 714-532-5800 / www.ALOrange.org Sun / Apr 10 / 8 am - 3 pm Orange Plaza Rotary Car Show More than 400 pre-1976 Street Rods, Custom & Classic vehicles on display. Old Towne Orange Plaza Square facebook.com/OrangePlazaCarShow Sun / Apr 10 / 2 - 4:30 pm Musco Center for the Arts Keb’ Mo’ Mostly Blues Festival A blues-lover’s celebration of a foundational American art form. 415 North Glassell St 714-997-6812 / www.muscocenter.org Sat / Apr 16 / 3 - 4:30 pm Orange Public Library Foundation STEAM for Teens & Tweens Archeology or Geology? Orange Public Library 407 E Chapman 714-288-2470 / oplfoundation.org

Thu / Apr 21 / 12 - 4 pm Woman’s Club of Orange 83rd Annual Flower Show No entry fee to exhibit & open to all amateur gardners. Enjoy plants & floral arrangements, shop vendor booths & refresh at the Garden Cafe. 121 South Center St / 714-836-5919 www.womanscluboforange.org Sat & Sun / Apr 23 & 24 / 10 am - 4 pm Floral Park Home & Garden Tour View magnificent custom built historic homes, showcasing a wide range of architectural styles & gardens. $50 per person. Victoria Dr. & Santa Clara floralparkhometour.com Tue / Apr 26 / 7 pm Chapman Rodgers Center An Evening of Holocaust Remembrance Musical tributes, lighting of candles of remembrance, special message & reflections. See ad on page 7 Fish Interfaith Center: One University Dr / 714-628-7377 Chapman.edu/holocausteducation

ONGOING 134 South Glassell St / Orange 92866

Every Fri / 9:30 - 11:30 am Orange Home Grown Educational Farm Volunteer Farm Friday Plant, harvest, compost & mend soil. 356 N Lemon / OrangeHomeGrown.org

Mar/Apr 2022

Publishing Team

Publisher Mike Escobedo Mike@OrangeReview.com Editor/Writer Julie Bawden-Davis

Every Sat / 9 am - 11 am Woman’s Club Events Center Open House Tours (view ad on page 28) Tour an ideal Old Towne event location. 121 South Center St / 714-605-3753

julie@juliebawdendavis.com Writer Karen Anderson 123karen@earthlink.net Writer Nathan Carter nathan.travis.carter@gmail.com

Every Sat / 9 am - 1 pm Orange Home Grown Farmers Market A great way to begin your day, with quality produce & fresh healthy foods. 2nd Sat Free Cooking Demo 3rd Sat Kids Club / Seed Lending 303 West Palm / OrangeHomeGrown.org Every Sat / 2 - 5 pm Marinus Welman Open Studio Visit the working studio of artist Marinus Welman. View ad on page 27. 2402 North Glassell St #A MarinusWelman.com / 714-998-8662 Dragonfly Shops & Gardens Monthly Workshops Including Mosaic Tiling, Kokedamas, Fairy Gardens, Baubles & more. 260 North Glassell St / 714-289-4689 www.DragonflyShopsandGardens.com

Writer Yuki Klotz-Burwell klotz105@mail.chapman.edu Writer Marianne Lauren jmhss@aol.com Writer Sheri Ledbetter sledbetter@socal.rr.com Writer Mary Platt platt@chapman.edu Photographer Kristin Smetona info@smetonaphoto.com Digital Artist Clyde San Juan crookedtrails@hotmail.com Web Developer Chase Higgins chasehiggins@me.com Printed by Reed Printing estella@reedprinting.com Processed by Mailing Pros, Inc. MPI@MailingProsInc.com Distributed by the US Postal Services www.usps.com

TASTE TA T OF O ORANG GE FEATURIN NG FOOD R & WINE FRO R, OM FOOD, BEER 40+ TOP LOC CAL RESTAURA ANTS & BREWERIES!

MAY MA AY Y 1stt

3P PM - 7 PM M

Rain a o or S Shine e • 124 South Sou Orange O a ge S Street, ee , O Old d Towne o e Ora O ange ge

Purchase tick kets at: TASTEOFORAN STEOFORAN NGE C OM NGE.COM All proceeds d benefit b fitt women and d children in need in th he City of Orange through programs ad dministered by: NONPROFIT TTA AX ID: 95-610 01256

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

Orange O

March / April

2022

9


10

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


NEW TO THE NEIGHBORHOOD by Sheri Ledbetter

Something Old, Something

New

Whether it’s something old, something new, or something to tickle your creative side, Old Towne Orange has it all. Looking to welcome some new and familiar faces, the Orange History Center has a new archivist, while Seeds Fine Art Exhibits has a new permanent home at Full Circle Meaningful Marketplace, and Vacation Nail Collective features artists specializing in nail art.

ELECTRONIC FILING / FAST REFUND

H & H Income Tax $25 OFF

with this ad.

&

Insurance

/ PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

Orange is one of a few cities to have its own library archivist. New to this role since last fall is Aida Cuevas. “I am both the archivist and local history librarian,” says Cuevas. “I preserve the history of Orange and everything that is donated, ensuring the materials are in order and properly preserved for future generations.” When Cuevas began working at the library, she quickly realized that Orange residents are very proud of their history. Apart from being one of the largest historical districts, the community has three organizations preserving history: the Orange Community Historical Society, the Old Towne Preservation Association and the Cypress Barrios Historical Society. Right now, her top priority is inventory. Anything that pertains to the City of Orange will be considered for a donation. “You never know how an item you decide not to throw out but instead donate to the library is going to impact a future generation,” says Cuevas, who has helped several people with research questions, noting that this service can be done in person, or via email or phone. Recently, a man came in looking for a garage that his dad used to work in. Cuevas couldn’t find that garage but was able to locate a different one. “He was so happy because his uncle used to work at the garage I found, and now he knows how his parents met. His dad had started working with his

SmetonaPhoto.com

Aida Cuevas, Archivist/History Librarian Orange History Center

Archivist and Local History Librarian Aida Cuevas stands between a cash register from the Higgins Furniture Store and a letterman sweater from the old Orange Union High School––donations on display at the Orange Public Library History Center.

uncle, who ended up introducing him to his mom. Things like that are just amazing. I was able to get that information because someone took the time to donate a 1930s or 1940s directory.” Cuevas has always been interested in history, stemming from her dad’s influence and a family trip visiting every mission in California when she was a child. A lifelong librarian and archivist, she found the Orange position when several friends sent her the

posting telling her it was the perfect job for her. She agreed. “This isn’t a job to me. I get to play with history every day,” she says. “Aida is enthusiastic about her work—it’s contagious,” says Roger Fitchen, editor for the Orange Community Historical Society newsletter. Now open Monday through Saturday, popular services at the History Center include residence

Orange Public Library & History Center 407 East Chapman Ave. / 714-288-2400 / www.OrangePublicLibrary.org

Big Enough to Provide the Capacity Needed FAMILY OWNED & OPERATED

Small Enough to Assure Individual Attention

Young Enough to Use New Ideas

Old Enough to Have Profited by Experience

BUSINESS INSURANCE SPECIALISTS

• Commercial Truck • General Contractor • Business Liability • Workers Comp • Home • Auto

ANA Y CATALINA INCOME TAX SINCE 1983

480 South Glassell St Orange, CA 92866

Corner of La Veta & Glassell

(714)

288-2088

The only office that can file taxes back to 1997

research and looking for old yearbooks and newspapers, which are digitized. Visitors can work on genealogy using the center’s subscription to Ancestry .com, which can be accessed for free while inside the History Center. There is also a database of digitized photographs, directories and newspapers, which can be accessed from home by clicking “local history” on the library web page.

118 South Glassell St. Serving you in Old Towne Orange since 1980

O l d To w n e O r a n g e

714- 538-8160

226 SOUTH GLASSELL STREET, ORANGE, CALIFORNIA 92866 WWW.KGIBINC.COM LIC. NO. 0F00752 T 714.744.3300 F 714.744.6537

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a r t i c l e s / n e w - t o - t h e - n e i g h b o r h o o d

March / April

2022

11


NEW TO THE

Something Old,

Something New CONT. FROM PAGE 11

Denise Weyhrich & Cindi Rhodes

/ PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

What began 18 years ago as an art ministry outreach effort shown at St. John’s Lutheran Church during the Orange International Street Fair has taken root into a unique venture combining art and shopping in a new location on Glassell called Full Circle Meaningful Marketplace. Curators Cindi Rhodes and Denise Weyhrich founded Seeds Fine Art Exhibits. Being established at Full Circle is their first permanent residence. “Normally, we are like the Israelites,” says Rhodes. “We’ve been traveling all over showing exhibits. This is the first time we’ve had a consistent brick-andmortar space.” Christianity was always a driver for Rhodes and Weyhrich. When they initially formed Seeds Fine Art Exhibits, the contemporary art world was not welcoming toward art of faith. “You would be laughed out of the gallery,” says Weyhrich. “Cindi and I realized that we were being called to create a venue for artists who’ve had to keep their artwork underground.” One day during COVID last February, the women began looking for a place in Old Towne

SmetonaPhoto.com

SEEDS Fine Art Exhibits within the Full Circle Meaningful Marketplace

SEEDS Fine Art Exhibits founders Denise Weyhrich (left) and Cindi Rhodes holding pieces from a recent exhibition by “The Godfather of tiki” LeRoy Schmaltz at their new permanent location within the Full Circle Meaningful Marketplace.

with the idea of leasing a space for one month. What happened next could only be called “divine intervention.” “When we found what ended up being Full Circle, we walked in the door and saw people coming in through the back door,” says

Weyhrich. “They were saying how elated they were at just having obtained the keys to the space.” The two parties learned they were both doing ministry to the

public, that both were non-profits and that they had a heart for the arts. “In about 10 minutes, the four of us were shaking hands,” says Weyhrich. “We were dumbfounded at God’s timing. “ Their new partners were from Friends Church in Orange, whose plan was to sell high-end secondhand goods with all proceeds going to the Youth Centers of Orange. Seeds Fine Art Exhibits is the gallery within Full Circle Meaningful Marketplace. Seeds chooses an artist for a solo exhibit every two months. “We’re artists and Christian,” says Weyhrich. “But not all of the artists that we show are Christian. It’s not a requirement.” The next exhibit is called “California Redemption Value,” featuring assemblage artist Leslie Cardera, who creates art from random items he finds during bike rides. “The tagline we use is ‘transforming galleries into sacred spaces,’” says Rhodes. “There is always more than what you see. It’s about the message, the concept, the person, their story—about the need at the moment.” “It’s been fun to finally bring our ministry home,” adds Weyhrich. “At Full Circle, we’re trying to give a good, warm hug to people.”

SEEDS Fine Art Exhibits / Full Circle Meaningful Marketplace 140 South Glassell St. / exhibits@seedsfineart.org / SeedsFineArt.org

Shop with Us for the Best Selection In Town!

155 South Glassell

178 South Glassell

Open Daily 10 am - 6 pm

Open Daily 9:30am - 5:30pm

714-516-1731

714-633-3934

UR LEASE” “ W E L O S T OSTOREWIDE!

30-50% OFF Featuring • V INTAGE • C OLLECTABLE • • F URNITURE • R ECORDS • • J EWELRY • A RT G LASS • • R OCK & R OLL T - S HIRTS • & MORE ! “Located in Old Towne Orange.”

208 East Chapman Ave Old Towne Orange , CA 92866 OPEN WED-SUN: 11 AM - 5 PM

2 Stores / 100’s of Dealers / 1,000’s of Antiques 12

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

(714)

363-3996

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


NEIGHBORHOOD

/ PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

Rachel Messick of Vacation Nail Collective is passionate about elevating the nail industry and empowering artists. “I had a vision of a cool and creative space, where artists can put down roots, create community and truly develop their own careers,” says Messick. “I wanted to change the way people not only view the salon experience but also the artists performing the services—as talented artisans devoted to their craft and skill.” Vacation Nail Collective opened in Old Towne last summer offering nail art—a collaborative effort between artist and client to create beautiful nail looks. In addition to traditional manicures and pedicures, Messick and four other artists offer a variety of specialized nail services, including soft-gel, traditional lacquer services, intricate hand-painted character art, Japanese-style nail art, nail extensions and Aprés Gel-X extensions, including one artist who only uses vegan and cruelty-free products. “The most popular service is the structured manicure,” says Messick. “This is a method of applying base gel in a way that adds strength and structure to the nail. It’s an absolute must if you want to grow out your natural nails or struggle to keep a traditional gel manicure.”

SmetonaPhoto.com

Rachel Messick Vacation Nail Collective

Nail artists (from left) Grazziela Barney, Marissa Asprer, salon owner Rachel Messick, Cindy Trieu and Nance Gonzalez provide specialized nail services at Vacation Nail Collective.

Messick started out as a makeup artist working in the entertainment industry and transitioned to the corporate business side of cosmetics. Although she still does session work, Messick’s passion

has been the entrepreneurial and artistic sides of her. “I come from a family of entrepreneurs, so I was raised with the example of business ownership,” she says. “When my

appointment waitlist started growing to a point that wasn’t feasible for me to maintain, it became obvious that it was time to take the next step into salon ownership.” Ashley Flinn has been going to Rachel and other artists at Vacation Nail Collective since before it opened. “I found Rachel on Instagram and booked an appointment,” says Flinn. “Meeting Rachel was a really cool experience. The new location is a total added bonus.” All the artists have complete control of their schedules and services. Because of the unique business model, Vacation Nail Collective does not take walk-in clients. “My husband and I are homeowners in Orange, so Old Towne was the only place I ever considered opening a salon,” says Messick. “Since we don’t have a storefront, we’re this little hidden gem nail oasis, and we like it that way. Clients can always expect a great one-on-one service experience and to be inspired by our creative space.”

Vacation Nail Collective 158 North Glassell St., #204 / 818-450-4692 / www.VacationNailCollective.com

Easter (April 17) & Mother’s Day (May 8)

Sharing the Love for 42 Years

Renée Jewelers Specializing in Custom Designed Jewelry, Mother’s Day Birthstone Rings, Pendants & More!

Let Us Solve Your Roofing Problems “Our Integrity is Our Promise”

DESIGN & REPAIRS BY PERRY PACE

138 North Glassell • Orange, CA 714-538-1956

• Neat, Clean, Professional • New Roof • Roof Repair • Roof Certification

Layaways Welcome / Cash, Check, Charge

Call today for a Free Estimate:

BIRTHSTONES:

March - Aqua Marine / April - Diamond

www.GuardianRoofs .com

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a r t i c l e s / n e w - t o - t h e - n e i g h b o r h o o d

Lic.847279, B1 & C39

714-633-3619 March / April

2022

13


14

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


KNOW THE NEIGHBORS

Imagination & Talent

by Yuki Klotz-Burwell

Erickson Surfaces

SmetonaPhoto.com / PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

Ginny Erickson is no stranger to building a business from the ground up. What started as a home garage project is now a fully formed enterprise situated at the North Glassell lot, and Erickson has brought her creativity to Orange for the past seven years. Her business, Erickson Surfaces, develops styling tools, including photography backgrounds, props and risers. “My husband, Doug, was building furniture in our garage as a hobby and we decided to open an Etsy shop,” says Erickson. “We were commissioned by a photographer to create a large-scale, double-sided surface for her studio. It wasn’t long before we created tabletop sizes, realizing there was a hole in the market because no one was making surfaces for culinary and product photography.” The timing felt right. After being laid off from her real estate job of 12 years, Erickson decided to pursue the side project full-time and has seen it blossom into a full business with a wealth of clients. “At first, it was a way for me to be home with the kids and bring in some income,” she says. “But it has turned into something that I am extremely passionate about and gives me a sense of fulfillment.” For Erickson, the best part of her work is seeing the ingenuity that comes from her designs. She and her team build hundreds of surfaces and styling tools each year. “It’s so fun to see creativity different from my own and to see what people go on to do with my creations,” she says. “The products have a whole life of their own once they leave our studio.” Erickson also created a rental studio at the North Glassell property, which offers hundreds of

Ingenuity comes in all shapes and forms, and the three creatives featured here use their imagination and talents to serve Orange in different ways. All tucked away at studios at 1650 North Glassell, Ginny Erickson, Christopher Jeffries and Kathryn Agresto work hard to showcase their extraordinary entrepreneurship through surface designs, glassblowing and creative gardening.

ready-to-go backgrounds, props and risers. Again, she took the opportunity to fill a need in the market. Los Angeles has several rental prop studios, but there weren’t any in Orange County. Although Erickson Surfaces started as just a husband-andwife duo, the business has grown to bring on additional artists and designers. Lilia Gonzalez, who works as a Studio Assistant and Artist, says that Erickson establishes an environment that doesn’t feel like work.

Erickson Surfaces Studio Assistant and Artist Lilia Gonzales (left), Founder Ginny Erickson (center) and Designer Ramon Gomez share customized backgrounds at their studio. Before expanding her business to an in-person office, Erickson emailed dozens of bloggers and cookbook authors to introduce her surface work and products.

in Orange and appreciates the business and personal relationships she’s been able to form within the city. “I’ve been able to work with so many neighbors, and it’s really great to get to see people in our community working together and supporting one another,” she says. Erickson Surfaces 1650 North Glassell St., Unit O / 714-348-1597 / www.EricksonSurfaces.com “Ginny is an inspiration to me and those around her, as she loves her family, cares for her creative team and powerfully runs her business,” says Gonzalez. “I instantly feel comfortable to be myself when I’m with her, and I’ve never felt more seen or valued at any other job, thanks to Ginny.” Erickson lives with her family

We Sincerely “Thank You” Our Amazing Customers for 33 Years of Loyal Suppor t! Open Wed - Sat: 8 am - 9 pm

129 West Chapman Ave. 714.538.7180 www. B y b l o s O r a n ge .com

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a r t i c l e s / k n o w - t h e - n e i g h b o r s

March / April

2022

15


Jeffries Glass Owner Christopher Jeffries has traveled across the world, from Seattle to Italy to the Czech Republic, to study the art of glassmaking. Today, he finds comfort in building out his practice in Orange. “There are so many hidden gems in Orange, and it’s inspiring to be in a complex with other creatives,” he says.

Imagination

& Talent CONT. FROM PAGE 15

/ PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

The art of glassblowing is challenging—artists use a blowpipe to inflate glass at a temperature around 2,200 degrees—but Christopher Jeffries has mastered it. He owns Jeffries Glass, a studio and company that produces alluring glass art seen in museums, private collections and businesses worldwide. Jeffries got his start at Chico State University in the school’s glass program before embarking on an apprenticeship with renowned glass artist Dale Chihuly in Seattle. After living and working in Seattle, often referred to as a hub for glassmaking, he moved to the Czech Republic to understand the history and tradition of European glassmaking. “Throughout my journey, I’ve worked with a lot of different professional artists to take what I’ve learned to make something new,” he says. “Now I’ve created my own voice, aesthetic and style.” Aside from his Orange studio, Jeffries operates galleries in Laguna Beach, Palm Springs and Colorado. He and his artists are known for their sculptural installations and have four signature designs: a rock series inspired by the rocks along Northern California’s Russian River; an intersection series based on human interactions; an

SmetonaPhoto.com

Jeffries Glass

island series, inspired by Jeffries’ travels to islands in the Pacific and a geometric series that utilizes empty space. “We’ve done commercial and residential installations, including medical buildings like Kaiser Permanente,” he says. “We collaborate directly with the client to

come up with something unique and specific for the location so everything is fully customized and personalized for them.” In 2022, Jeffries and his team will complete a suspended public piece of art for the City of Laguna Beach, which will contain more than 200 individual elements of

glass. Although the final piece will start in Laguna Beach, Jeffries has been working with a structural engineer to prep the installation to become a traveling exhibit to be reconstructed anywhere in the country. “We’re going to design this piece so it can be outdoors and sustain the natural elements,” he says. “It’s nerve-wracking but fun, and it’s really the focus of everything we’re working on now.” Back in the Orange studio, Jeffries has a team of two dedicated glassblowers, Deshaun Tyau and Emily Brasch, who he says have unbeatable artistic chemistry. “Everyone thinks we’re Christopher’s kids, so it feels like a family-owned business,” says Brasch. “We’ve helped him grow his business, and he’s created such great energy at the workspace.” Before joining Jeffries Glass, the pair attended California State University, Fullerton’s glass program. “In addition to us assisting him and becoming better glassmakers, we’ve become such a team,” says Tyau. “Christopher makes the time speed by, and it never feels like we’re working.”

Jeffries Glass 1650 North Glassell St., Unit S / 949-228-7898 / www.JeffriesGlass.com

Professional, personalized funeral & cremation services; advance planning available.

Family Owned & Operated Since 1933

ShannonFamilyMortuary.com 1005 East Chapman Ave. Old Towne Orange, CA 92866

714.771.1000 FD #1772

16

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


KNOW THE NEIGHBORS

/ PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

Orange County is lush with beautiful greenery and radiant weather, and culinary gardener Kathryn Agresto knows this better than anyone. A self-taught gardener, Agresto founded Native Soil Gardens to design and build edible gardens for restaurant and business clients. For almost 15 years, Agresto has built custom gardens and edible landscapes for some of the county’s premier restaurants. She got her love of all things nature from her father, a gardener who passed on his green thumb. When he passed away, Agresto took the initiative to leave her job in business management consulting and start fresh. “I decided to change up the dynamic of my life and do what I love,” she says. “I feel blessed to now be at the forefront of the farm-to-table movement in our urban oasis.” Agresto started by transforming the backyard space of Park Ave, a restaurant in Stanton, enabling the owners to grow their own vegetables and herbs for the menu. “We created an amazing space with 14-foot raised beds, and that became my calling card,” she says. “Chefs and restaurateurs started coming in, and now I’m able to work alongside them to make outside gardens for clients and

SmetonaPhoto.com

Native Soil Gardens

customers to enjoy the food on the menu and to visibly see where their food is coming from.” At Native Soil Gardens, Agresto offers a mix of culinary gardening services, including consultations, custom designs, installations and maintenance. But what she’s most proud of is the movement she’s started with her business and the generations of gardening her services will provide. “I’ve seen so many local restaurants embrace local produce, whether that’s through at-home or culinary growing, and it’s been great,” she says. “I’ve also created gardens where families will host events and have their kids start

When Native Soil Gardens Founder Kathryn Agresto isn’t preparing gardens for her clients, she loves continuing to spend time with nature. Right now, she and her son are working on two Organic Home Vineyards in Orange County, focusing on organic and sustainable winemaking.

working in the dirt years later, and that’s really special.” Among those following Agresto’s growth in Orange County’s culinary scene is Cathy Thomas, a cookbook author and Food Columnist for The Orange County Register who profiled the Park Ave garden Agresto designed. “Kat is both an artist and a pragmatic visionary,” says Thomas. “The garden at Park Ave was thoughtfully designed to include seasonal produce, and I was

amazed by her ability to forecast how plants would mature into a wondrous design.” Agresto hopes to continue encouraging others to utilize home gardens in the new year. “I think people have a lot of fear about growing food, but the beauty of gardening is that it’s never going to look the same every day,” she says. “It’s always therapeutic to connect with the earth and to be with nature.”

Native Soil Gardens 1650 North Glassell St. / 714-321-5853 / www.NativeSoilGardens.com

Relax in Your Own Personal Skin Care Spa Let’s face it, these past two years have been challenging. So, now’s the time to treat yourself to one of our relaxing custom facials in Old Towne’s only private spa setting. New clients who book online receive $20 off any Signature Facial. • • • • • •

Holistic Skin Care Anti-aging Facials Acne Treatments Microcurrent Toning Treatments Wellness & CBD Products Gift Cer tificates for the Holidays

Online booking available: www. SkinCarebyChristina .net 5-Star rated on YELP!

Visit our ETSY store at “summerhillantiques ”

Vintage Chandeliers • Furniture • Mirrors • Lamps Custom Lampshades & Upholstery Services • Sconces Interior Design Services Available • SummerhillAntiques.com 110 South Glassell St / Old Towne Orange / 714-771-7782 w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a r t i c l e s / k n o w - t h e - n e i g h b o r s

369 South Glassell St, Orange, CA 92866

( 714 ) 450-2878 March / April

2022

17


specifically for the church and also grew calla lilies for Easter,” says Gloria. “She shared her family history and told us they had always been very involved with the church. This property is a third of an acre. We purchased the lot next door shortly after we bought the home. The historical plaque on our house references an individual who was a spec builder at the time.” Back in 1981, Rob and Gloria valued the importance of maintaining the original elements of a historic home in Old Towne. Their process led them to co-founding the Old Towne Preservation Association, established in 1986. Rob was the organization’s second president and wrote articles for the OTPA’s newsletters. “I remember writing about how our front

Solving Plumbing Problems for Our Valued Customers throughout Orange County since 1989 COMMERCIAL • INDUSTRIAL • RESIDENTIAL

AUTO / HOME / UMBRELLA / LIFE / HEALTH / BUSINESS / WORKERS COMP

Visit Us in Old Towne for a Free Comparative Quote, and Receive a $20 Gift Card.

Family Owned & Operated

Call for Free Estimate

The most comprehensive policy for Historic homes.

714­974­9448 www.ShaferPlumbing.com S E W E R • WAT E R • G A S P L U M B I N G

18

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

porches here in Old Towne create a welcoming sense of neighborly friendliness, which I think is true to this day,” says Rob. A native of Orange, Rob grew up in neighborhoods near to where they live today. His parents lived just two blocks away on North Cambridge when Rob was born. In 1972, he bought his own place on Maplewood, four blocks away. It was there he met Gloria after she moved in next door. “I literally married the girl next door,” says Rob. “Our wedding cake had a bride and groom with a white picket fence between us.” Gloria was born and raised in Syracuse, New York. She moved out here in the early 1970s after finishing her master’s degree in math and education. She taught at the former Marywood High

1307 West Trenton Ave Orange, CA 92867

60 Plaza Square #200 Orange, CA 92866 (714) 978-4200 www. AdamGuss .com In the Heart of the Historic Orange Plaza.

See our overwhelmingly positive reviews on

to Chapman U

From their beautiful Craftsman bungalow on North Pine Street in Old Towne, Rob and Gloria Boice have been pioneers of the preservation movement in Old Towne since 1981 when they purchased the historic home and worked toward restoring it to its original glory. Remarkably, Rob and Gloria are only the second owners in the history of their Craftsman bungalow, which will be 100 years old this year. The couple purchased the home from Rhoda Kletke, a direct descendant of the home’s original owners, the Kletke family. When she lived there, Rhoda grew flowers on the lot next door and would bring them to Immanuel Lutheran Church, located just down the block. “She grew her gladiolas

East Chapman to 55 Fwy

to 57 Fwy

to 22 Fwy

F

Door

South Glassell

The Girl Next

The facade of this historic 1923 Craftsman bungalow on North Pine Street has changed very little during its almost 100 years in Old Towne.

License #0G50204

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


O LD

T OWNE

P ROPERTY

The vintage 1930s-era Marlboro Universal stove has been in use at the home since before the Boices moved in 40 years ago. It has functioned service-free this entire time.

Written by Karen Anderson

Restored original woodwork takes center stage in the living room, dining room and study. The oak floors are also original to the home.

Photos by Kristin Smetona: www.smetonaphoto.com & Chris Fox, Curb Appeal Visuals c/o Orange Realty

School in Orange and then got her degree in computer science at UC Irvine. She worked as an engineer for 30 years. Specializing in heating and air-conditioning, Rob started a company in 1972 with his brotherin-law and worked as a C-20 contractor doing service repair and installation. Naturally, Rob installed the AC and heating in their own house. “After I installed the duct system

in here, whenever we would turn on our AC, the lights in the house across the street would dim,” recalls Rob. “That’s how unprepared Old Towne was back in those days for upgraded appliances. Soon thereafter, they upgraded the electricity in town.” When renovating their house, Rob and Gloria put their respective skills to good use. One of the first things they did was to restore all of the original woodwork to its

natural state, as it had been painted over through the decades. To do this, they removed the cabinets, trim and doors so they could strip the old paint, refinish the surfaces and then protect the natural wood with seven layers of clear coat. They even built a special spray booth for the job. “We were a lot younger then but we got it done,” laughs Rob. “Our goal was to bring the house back to where it was when it was

first built. We hand-sanded and refinished the quarter-sawn oak hardwood floors ourselves, which luckily had been protected by carpeting. We also salvaged other woodwork that had been removed and stored in the garage, such as a big cabinet from the dining room. We were elated when we found the pillars up in the attic. We feel lucky that so many original elements of the home were still intact or in storage.” CONTINUED ON PAGE 20

Professional Property Management • Thorough Tenant Screening license #580269

• On-line Payments & Disbursements

Historic Restorations

• Improve Property Value

Remodels

• 24 Hr Emergency Service for Tenants

Kitchen and Bath

Real Estate Sales & Investments

Exterior Makeovers Siding

• Residential, Commercial, Industrial, Land Sales • Investment Strategies • 40 Years in Business

Doors and Windows Patio Covers Decks Stairs

Find us on:

714- 744-5711

Painting

www. RealEstateEstablishment .com

Termite and Dry Rot

550 East Chapman Ave, Suite B, Orange, CA 92866 w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a r t i c l e s / o l d - t o w n e - p r o p e r t y

General Contractor - Keith Misumi

(949) 795-6812

www.BearFlagOC.com

March / April

2022

19


Gloria met Rob in Old Towne in the 1970s when they were next-door neighbors on Maplewood.

The Girl

Next Door

The couple was able to figure out the original placement of some of these restored pieces after they removed the wallpaper from the main living areas. Once the original plaster walls were exposed, they could see the faint outlines of where each of the missing built-ins

20

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

CONT. FROM PAGE 19

had been, as well as the outlines of the old picture railings. “Most of the original picture railings were gone, but we did find a sample. We took it to a lumberyard in Anaheim and had them reproduce it. If you listen closely, an old house will talk to you as

Rob relaxes in his library replete with gorgeous wallpaper and distinctive bookcases. The vintage saddle came from Irvine Ranch.

you investigate. It was only after we removed those three layers of wallpaper that we determined the previous owners had taken the built-ins out of the house and put them into the garage.” In the bathroom, they uncovered an old mural depicting ducks and

reeds beneath the wallpaper. Unfortunately, the mural was so badly damaged from the glue, they were unable to save it, but they did take photographs of it. Meanwhile in the kitchen, vintage stencil designs were painted along the corners of the walls. To preserve

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


The patio built on the adjacent lot serves as a gathering place for many events and dinners.

The backyard pool offers a refreshing retreat on hot summer days.

the designs for posterity’s sake, the couple refused to whitewash the walls before installing beautiful Roycroft wallpaper from New York. They purchased a set of dishes with the same design and the Roycroft symbol to match. Incredibly, the 1930s Marlboro

Universal stove in the kitchen is in working condition after all this time. “The stove was here when we moved in, and we’ve used it for 40 years,” says Gloria. “It’s still got its match-lit oven. We have never had to replace the thermostat.” For Rob and Gloria, the joy of

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a r t i c l e s / o l d - t o w n e - p r o p e r t y

living in Old Towne comes from the friendships and alliances they’ve made through the decades. They can barely walk a block without running into someone they know. “It’s a close-knit neighborhood famous for its Christmas decorations during the holidays, and its block party on the Fourth of July,” says Rob. “After we got married,

I would drive home down Center Street across Maple, or down Pine Street across Maple. I knew I wanted to live on either of those two blocks. As soon as this house came on the market, we bought it. We raised our daughter here and now we have grandchildren. We couldn’t imagine living anywhere else but right here in Old Towne.”

March / April

2022

21


TALK OF THE TOWNE

Spring Flings: Making the Most of the Gardener’s Most Wonderful Time of the Year! by Brande Jackson

As the days get longer and warmer, and the scent of jasmine blooms fill the air, we can’t help but think about the glorious days of spring soon to come! We have a few ideas on how to make the most of all that spring has to offer this year. Get outside! Nature and sunshine are key to human health. This has long been one of those bits of “folk wisdom” passed down through time, but more recent research has proven this assumption. Being outside and around things that are green is good for you! This can be a walk on the beach or a hike in the woods, and don’t underestimate the power of the green spaces around your home. In her wonderful (and recommended!) book Nature Fix, journalist Florence Williams explores this idea, examining how scientists around the world have demonstrated that interacting with nature can literally alter our biology for the better. Nature is good stuff, so make some time to garden, go on a hike and get to the park this spring. Experiencing wildflower blooms is a great joy for all gardeners! If you like it, try it! Be willing to give those plants that you have never tried to grow a chance to prove themselves to you. So long as you aren’t spending a crazy amount of money on a very large, mature plant, you can’t go wrong with being a bit bold and ambitious with your plant choices this season. While you need to consider sun exposure when making your plant purchases this spring, we like to encourage gardeners to try out some “new to them” plants as well. Like reading a new author or listening to music you haven’t heard before, going a bit beyond your gardening comfort zone is a good way to expand your knowledge, and doing so might open you up to all sorts of new botanical possibilities! Use your five senses! Get your garden to help you engage them all, it’s good for you! A garden can be a “feast for the eyes,” but let us not forget about all the other ways we experience the world. Nothing quite says spring like the scent of jasmine blooms, at least for us! But a garden, of course, is not limited to smells: there are also sounds, things to touch and even things to taste. Stick a nice windchime out or a simple water feature to give your yard a bit more of a sonic experience. Try growing some plants you can eat, and don’t forget texture when planning out your spring garden. Get planting! We are often asked, “what should I plant this time of year?” Thankfully, Southern California gardening is quite forgiving when it comes to what season to plant what. That said, early spring is a great time to plant things like columbine, bachelor buttons, poppies, primrose, violas and foxgloves, among many others. If you are starting your veggie garden up, this is the time to plant beets, kale, carrots, leeks and onions. Check out gardeninginla.net for what to plant each month. Looking for more inspiration? Join us for our annual Garden Party, being held this year on Saturday, March 19th. We’ll have plant giveaways, workshops, a plant sale and more! We hope this spring brings you lots of time to get outside and get to work in the dirt! Johnnye Merle’s Gardens 216 West Chapman Ave. / Old Towne Orange

Brande Jackson is the owner of Johnnye Merle’s Gardens, located in Country Roads at 216 West Chapman Ave in Old Towne Orange. www.purtyplants.com. She can be reached at www.brande@johnnyemerles.com. She is also a teacher, and leads classes on art, creativity and gardening as well as walking tours of downtown Los Angeles. 22

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

Science, Safety & Enjoying As Southern California gradually moves toward a sense of normalcy, some popular annual events previously postponed due to COVID-19 are making muchanticipated returns. The 16th Taste of Orange, a major fundraiser for the Orange Blossoms (an Assistance League of Orange auxiliary), is a prime example. It features food, beer and wine tastings from local restaurants and breweries, a silent auction, drawings and live music for the entire family. “We’re looking forward to coming back better than ever, and the merchants seem really excited to participate,” says Orange Blossoms Chairman Kennedy Matsagas Schaal. “I feel confident the event will go forward. It is outdoors and one of the safer things you can do in a pandemic. We will be following all guidance from the California Department of Public Health.” While growing up in Belmont Shore, Kennedy’s mother was an active Long Beach Assistance

SmetonaPhoto.com

G ARDEN

/

M ERLE’S

PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

J OHNNYE

League member. She followed suit as a teen, eventually joining Orange Blossoms upon settling down in Orange. More than 50 businesses are usually involved in Taste of Orange. Schaal is optimistic a similar

Glassell Dental WELCOME HOME

to Quality Dentistry and Gental Care

Trust us to provide a LASTING DENTAL HOME for you and your family

$79 NEW PATIENT special

Includes: Comprehensive exam, x­rays and regular cleaning (in absences of gum disease)

Offer expires: 5-31-22

SCHEDULE TODAY! (714) 532­5600 Visit us in Old Towne Orange 245 North Glassell St, Orange CA 92866 www.GlassellDental.com F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


“We’re looking forward to coming back better than ever, and the merchants seem really excited to participate.” Kennedy Matsagas Schaal

Taste of Orange is a real family affair for Justin, with several cousins, aunts and uncles turning up—not only to raise funds for a good cause, but because “it’s such a fun event to participate in.” Justin is a third-generation Old Towne resident, attended Orange Lutheran High School and lives with his family on the same property where he was born. “I love the town. I think it’s a real unique place. It’s got a great spectrum of cultures, personality

types and politics.” Besides partaking in comfort food and drinks during Taste of Orange, some attendees will surely feel a sense of relief about more people getting vaccinated. When it comes to navigating the pandemic, Kennedy, a biologist/lab director at Genescient Corporation, the Fountain Valley biotech company she co-founded with some of her professors at UCI, suggests sticking to outdoor events and social activities. “It’s all about “being part of a community and realizing that none of us are in this on our own. We all need to depend on each other and work together.” Justin, an Assistant Professor of Research Pathology at USC Keck School of Medicine, where he earned a doctorate after obtaining a degree in Biological Sciences at UCI, urges people to make sure their “sources of information are accurate” and not rely on social media. “My hope for the future is that, as we reflect on the misinformation now, people are going to start realizing that maybe some of the messaging that happened earlier in the pandemic is inaccurate, especially in the context of the vaccines.”

Taste of Orange is Sunday, May 1 at 3 pm Assistance League of Orange, 124 South Orange St. For more information: 714-532-5800 assistanceleague.org/orange/orangeblossoms/thetasteoforange

IN THE ORANGE CIRCLE ANTIQUE MALL

Vintage Platinum & Gold Jewelry BUY / SELL / TRADE

118 South Glassell St

Old Towne Orange, CA 92866

714-538-6305

w w w. R a m b l i n g R o s e . n e t

Home of the 18 Month Layaway w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a r t i c l e s / t a l k - o f - t h e - t o w n e

/

number will be represented on May 1. She says every dollar goes “right back into our community” through various programs. Her husband, Justin Schaal, helps set up the location and often changes beer kegs. What he enjoys most about the event is an ability to “celebrate the diversity of foods we have here in Orange,” pointing out the “spectrum of different opportunities for the culinary experience. That’s quite unique.”

SmetonaPhoto.com

of Orange!

PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

a Taste

Building Character

Rick Turner by Julie Bawden-Davis

Rick Turner thrives when given the opportunity to rise to challenges. “I love making things happen,” says Chapman University’s Vice President of Facilities Management. “I get excited when someone says they have an unusual request.” COVID-19 gave Turner the chance to tackle a multitude of unprecedented challenges. “Facilities management was deemed essential during the pandemic, which meant that we remained on campus to work out the details of ensuring the university was safe from a facility’s standpoint,” says Turner. “This included prepping the campus with hand sanitizers, bringing improved air quality and air exchange rates, and ensuring that building occupants had 6-foot clearance.” Facilities management during the pandemic was especially demanding, says Collette Creppell, Vice President of Campus Planning and Design at Chapman University. She often works in tandem with Turner on the university’s various building projects. “During the past turbulent two years, Rick did an extraordinary job of bringing everyone safely back to campus (under the “CU Safely Back” campaign here at Chapman),” says Creppell. “He planned and executed our initial shut-down of campus and then our physical return. To accomplish this, he and his team orchestrated an infinite number of details, including informational signage, outdoor tents, new cleaning protocols, distributing masks and more. Rick has responded to every wave of the Covid/Omicron era with grace, can-do spirit and effectiveness.” Facilities Management often Goes Unnoticed Generally, when you enter a well-run facility, such as one of Chapman’s many buildings, you often don’t notice the results of the behind-the-scenes work of facility’s management—until something stops functioning properly. “People don’t tend to think of certain comforts until they’re no CONTINUED ON PAGE 24

March / April

2022

23


CONTINUED ON PAGE 25

24

SmetonaPhoto.com

longer working, such as when the air-conditioning in a building goes down during a heatwave,” says Turner, who began his career in maintenance at the University of Southern California (USC) in 1980 and joined Chapman in 2010. In his current position at Chapman, several departments are under his purview within facilities management, including mechanical, electrical, plumbing, HVAC, groundskeeping and property management. He also oversees the university’s mailing services and copy center. “Facilities management is the quiet work that keeps the entire university running, yet is an under-appreciated art,” believes Creppell. “In addition to directing the teams that handle the multitude of daily service calls, Rick engages at the high levels of the university administration to address the long-term view of the operation and maintenance of our facilities. As the facilities portfolio of the university is currently close to 3-million-squarefeet of building space and more than 120 acres among our campuses and properties, that is no small feat. He sets the tone and the standard, and there is not a detail his team misses, whether that be fixing a plumbing problem, replacing a compressor on a roof on the hottest day of the year, or cleaning gum off the pavement.” It is such attention to detail that impresses visitors, notes Gail Nishida, Chief Compliance Officer, Institutional Compliance at Chapman University. “Chapman has visitors from all over the world 365 days of the year. One of the first things visitors notice upon arrival is how well maintained the buildings and grounds are,” she says. “First impressions are important,” says Turner. “I’ve had parents fill out surveys and note that what helped sway them toward having their children attend Chapman was the cleanliness of the campus public restrooms. They see that level of detail as a sign that their children will get a high-quality education here.” Southern California Native Born and raised in Highland Park, a neighborhood in northeast Los Angeles, Turner spent his formative years there from the mid-1960s to the mid-1980s. “I had a typical childhood with two parents, who are still married and just celebrated their 62nd wedding anniversary,” he says. “Our roots run deep in Highland Park. I was a third-generation student at my high school.” After graduating in 1980, Turner went to trade school. At the time, he also began working at USC in the maintenance department where he had an apprenticeship in the electrical shop, which he did for four years. He continued in the maintenance and construction division of the university, becoming foreman of the electrical department in his early 20s and continuing to rise through the ranks. Eventually, he became Assistant Director of USC’s Mechanical Trades Division for their University Park and Health Sciences campuses. When Chapman was looking for a Director of Facilities Management, Turner got a cold call from a headhunter about the position. He decided to interview and was offered the job and accepted. “It's been a fun ride at Chapman,” he says. “The move was a great fit for myself and my family.” Turner’s wife, Lori, is an elementary school teacher. Their two children had the opportunity to attend USC or Chapman, and they both chose to go to school here in Old Towne. “My daughter earned her undergraduate degree in psychology and got a master’s in education and is now a special ed teacher, and my son majored in psychology and is embarking on a career in law enforcement,” says Turner. Steward of Chapman University Historic Buildings In addition to maintaining facilities for students, faculty and staff, Turner conducts needs assessments for the school’s buildings, including analyzing how to expand the life expectancy of the various structures. “Chapman is located in the middle of Old Towne Orange, an area that appears on the National Register of Historic Places,” O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

/

CONT. FROM PAGE 23

PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

Rick Turner

20 Years in by Yuki Klotz-Burwell

For two decades, the Pa Kua Orange studio in Old Towne has stood as a fixture in the community, providing a variety of martial arts classes for all. And this February, the studio celebrated its 20th anniversary. As a practice, Pa Kua is a Chinese martial arts and exercise system, which studio Owner and Master Trainer David M. Clawson says combines internal reflection and external activities. “In Northern China, Pa Kua was taught as a knowledge of ways to improve harmonization of all relationships,” he says. “At our studio, we offer classes that accomplish that and give people the opportunity to make the changes they’d like to see in themselves.” To celebrate, Clawson hosted an anniversary party during Chinese New Year, offering a meditation and exercise class for the entire studio. The festivities culminated in a belt ceremony for students recently promoted to a new belt. Students in yoga and archery were also promoted, although belt systems aren’t traditionally held in those types of classes at other studios. “Pa Kua is a sense of knowledge taught through different aspects,” says Clawson. “We teach students that all of the disciplines taught here are tools for knowledge that enable them to better understand and harmonize with themselves. We pride ourselves on being a holistic studio that has a variety of classes not typically seen in other places.” Unlike other martial arts studios, Pa Kua Orange hosts archery, kickboxing, acrobatics and edged weaponry courses. Clawson designed each class to emphasize students’ mental and physical abilities, including the weaponry class. With the latter practice, pupils practice discipline and precision, heightening their situational awareness skills while practicing an ancient art. Pa Kua is open to anyone interested in self-improvement and empowerment and teaches all ages. At the studio, you’ll find

Orange

regular students as young as three to students in their 80s. “It doesn’t matter where you are in life or what experiences you’ve had,” says Jennifer Martinez, a former Pa Kua yoga instructor and current member of the school’s administration team. “Pa Kua Orange is a place that you can be a part of, no matter what.” Martinez started as a yoga student in 2005 before transitioning to teaching Sintony classes, a type of Chinese yoga and meditation. After 17 years, she says the combination of infectious energy and the welcoming community has made her stay. “We’ve created almost a social network at Pa Kua,” says Clawson. “You’re still connecting spiritually with yourself, but people are so nice here, and they’ve connected to form a community.” In 2022, Clawson aims to grow that community by expanding the Pa Kua studio locations across Orange County. The Old Towne studio is the flagship location, with additional studios in Tustin and Huntington Beach. Already, Pa Kua Orange has transformed the county’s martial arts scene. Twenty years ago, only popular exercises like kung fu or tai chi were household names, but Clawson shares that he’s noticed a shift. “I was in Newport Beach recently with my Pa Kua sweatshirt on, and someone came up to me and recognized that we had Pa Kua in Old Towne,” he says. “Slowly, Pa Kua is becoming more popular, and people are understanding its effectiveness on our overall health. Pa Kua isn’t about dominating another person, but about selfdominance. It’s about improving your quality of life.” For those looking to learn more about the classes at Pa Kua, the studio offers a weeklong free pass for new members in hopes of imparting potential students with what they call ancient knowledge for modern times. More information: www.PaKuaOC.com

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


GARDEN CLIPPINGS by Julie Bawden-Davis

Grow Tasty, Organic Fruit (and nuts) in

Southern California

On a warm spring day in the 1970s when I was 9, after finishing my Saturday chores, I set out to explore the nearby pine grove in rural Massachusetts where I lived. With no cellphone tucked in my pocket, I left the world behind and entered the forest with its massive, towering trees. For the next several hours, the only sounds I heard were my moccasins padding on the spongy carpeting of pine needles and birds rustling in the underbrush. Mother Nature whispered in my ear as I roamed, directing me to wild blueberry bushes laden with ripe fruit. At the peak of perfection, the blueberries tasted sweeter than anything I’d ever experienced. I ate until my belly was full and my hands stained blue, then made my way to the sound of trickling water. Kneeling next to a stream, I drank from cupped hands, then gazed up at the blue sky, the sun caressing my face with its warmth. Surely, I thought, this is what it must feel like to be in heaven. When I moved into my Old Towne Orange home in 1987, while an avocado tree laden with fruit graced the backyard, there were many unplanted areas. As I surveyed the green canvas, my heart fluttered when I realized I could finally plant my own blueberry patch. I consulted books on growing my favorite fruits, soon discovering the information offered instruction on cultivating in cold climates. After wading through pages about spring rains and freezing temperatures, I decided to simply give it a go. How hard could it be to grow fruit in Southern California, with its strawberry fields forever? Unfortunately, the blueberry bushes I planted withered, and the strawberries petered out after producing very little fruit. When I told a friend about my failed crops, she suggested attending a garden club with her. I did so, eagerly soaking up information from members and guest speakers. Having graduated a couple of years before with a degree in journalism, I also started writing about gardening for the Los Angeles Times Home Design section, and other publications. I soon discovered why I was unable to get tasty blueberries and strawberries in my garden, and what changes to make so I could enjoy prolific crops. You’ll find the secrets to successfully growing strawberries and blueberries and much more in the second volume of the SoCal YearRound Gardening Series. Southern California Fruit Gardening teaches you everything you need to know to grow tasty, abundant, organic fruit (and nuts) in your SoCal garden. This comprehensive guide featuring full-color illustrations and photographs, shares growing tips for more than 40 fruits, as well as chapters on pruning, grafting, planting, mulching, watering, fertilizing and pests and diseases. Also learn about the nutrition packed into each fruit, and enjoy tasty recipes using your bountiful harvest. It is my intent with this book that you experience your very own blissful “blueberry” days. Southern California Fruit Gardening will be available in paperback and E-book on Amazon in late-March 2022.

Rick Turner

CONT. FROM PAGE 24

says Turner. “As such, I consider my department as stewards of the many historically significant buildings at Chapman. We look for ways to expand the life expectancy of the university’s buildings to ensure they are here and operational for decades to come. Chapman is contributing to the history of the City of Orange, and that is a commitment I take seriously and am quite proud of.” In addition to various historic buildings on campus, Chapman owns approximately 120 historic homes in the area, which the university has worked hard to restore and maintain. “The amount of energy and attention to detail that has gone into restoring the historic homes is incredible,” says Turner. “When you’ve been in the construction industry all your life like me, there is something extremely gratifying about being a part of bringing a home back from the brink of complete annihilation and restoring the structure to its former glory.” Cindy Graves is Assistant Director, Department of Business, Facilities Management. She believes that Turner has elevated the role of facilities management at Chapman. “Overall, I feel that Rick has given Facilities Management a higher place in the University by engaging in new building planning and renovations. (Which is a plus for maintenance because we have a say in building something that we will be tasked with maintaining). He has also brought a level of confidence with his knowledge and experience with higher education and facilities issues. Rick is a people person and has brought enthusiasm to the department, built relationships within the Chapman Community outside of Facilities Management and embraced partnerships within our group. I feel particularly blessed to have him as our team leader.”

www.OrangeReview.com/articles/building-character

5

Additional toppings extra. Not valid with any other coupon. Must present coupon. $4.00 delivery charge. Restrictions apply.

Expires 4/30/22

16” Lg 1-Topping Pizza • Lg Dinner Salad Your choice of 2 liter of Soda or regular order of Garlic or Dessert Knots. Select toppings only. Additional toppings extra. One coupon per customer. Not valid with any other coupon. Must present coupon. $4.00 delivery charge. Restrictions apply.

Expires 4/30/22

Julie Bawden-Davis is a garden writer and master gardener based in Old Towne Orange. She is the author of various garden books, including The Strawberry Story: How to Grown Great Berries Year-Around in Southern California. Reach her at Julie@JulieBawdenDavis.com w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a r t i c l e s / g a r d e n - c l i p p i n g s

March / April

2022

25


I NSIDE A RT

by Mary Platt

FORGING A HEAD with Bradford J. Salamon When a well-known artist holds a “retrospective” exhibition at a museum, it’s usually the artist looking back on the fullness of an entire career, its triumphs and all its waystations and landmarks. The exhibition “Bradford J. Salamon: Forging Ahead,” currently at the Hilbert Museum of California Art at Chapman University, is instead what could be called a mid-career show. “Hence the name of the exhibition,” says the show’s curator, Gordon McClelland. “Bradford is still in the midst of a highly popular and successful career, and if anything, he’s forging onward, with a ton of new ideas and actively experimenting with new techniques.” Salamon, a native of California, grew up in Huntington Beach immersed in the local surf culture and played drums in several punk rock bands. His father was an art dealer, so art was an important part of Bradford’s life since childhood. Beginning his serious art studies in the late 1970s, by his mid-20s

26

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

Salamon had embarked on a professional art career. During that time his art production focused on portraiture, which he sold through the two galleries he operated in Newport Beach. Salamon’s exhibition includes a well-chosen selection of his portraits, still lifes, figural scenes, depictions of food (such as a giant In-n-Out “animal style” cheeseburger, which could be taken both as a metaphor for appetite and as a Pop Art commentary on the commercialization of food—or is a cheeseburger sometimes just a cheeseburger?) and whimsical images of vintage objects: toys, robots, clocks, paperback books, aspirin bottles. His signature style of oil painting employs what the artist calls “hard, soft and lost edges,” with the paint itself a signature player in the drama. He lays paint on thickly, with texture created by impasto brushwork and palette-knife strokes and swatches, and with a dreamlike atmosphere arising from the misty edges, comb marks and

at the Hilbert

Museum of California Art

Sinisi Family Holiday oil on canvas / 2017 Private Collection

Vinage Disneyland, 1960’s oil on canvas / 2017 The Hilbert Collection

transparent shadows. Images emerge from a remembered past: nostalgic figures of boyhood friends, the girls next door, the dad Bradford and his brothers visited on weekends—ghosts of days gone by, appearing in a mist of fond recollection. But now the artist has embarked upon a new adventure, seen in public for the first time at the Hilbert Museum. Salamon has been working on an ongoing series of portraits he calls “Visages” for

many years, but his latest “Visages” are the largest and most striking of his career so far. Instead of painting on canvas, he turned to drawing on paper, using draughting pencils or charcoal. “I had injured my right hand,” he recalls, “and I wanted to use a medium I could easily apply with my left hand. So, drawings at a large scale, with soft pencils or charcoal, fit the bill.” The idea also arose from his sketchbooks. “The simple act of drawing on paper in

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


Indiana Summer oil on canvas / 2016 Private Collection

C-3PO oil on canvas / 2017 The Hilbert Collection

my sketchbooks felt visceral and even therapeutic. All kinds of random thoughts and quotes were showing up in my sketchbooks. Various mental patterns from somewhere in my subconscious became a potpourri of doodles and scribbles. Small portraits, of no one in particular, filled some of the space.” After a while, he says, those sketchbook pages started to feel like they were working in some strange kind of unison or orches-

tration. “I had an idea to transform what I was doing in the sketchbooks to a much larger scale. I bought several individual sheets of 30- x 22-inch Bristol vellum and decided to make them modular because the individual segments would reflect the sketchbooks. By putting these segments of vellum up against each other, I could then make any overall size I wanted.” “Holly,” featured on the inside front cover of this issue, is one of these very large-scale “Visages.”

The piece is now part of the Hilbert Collection and is planned to become a focal point in the visitor lobby of the expanded Hilbert Museum, scheduled to open in 2023. The drawing measures a majestic 95 x 84 inches and is constructed of multiple sheets of vellum paper laid out side by side on the wall. The model for “Holly” was one of the children in the Salamon family’s new neighborhood when they moved to the San Gabriel Valley in 2009. “As my daughters Lauren and Sarah got a little older, they made friends with a few of the neighbors across the street,” he says. “Holly was one of the kids in the neighborhood who liked to come over and play with our chickens. One day Holly came over with her hair in a style that reminded me of Princess Leia. I found her to be a very beautiful, smart young lady. There’s an aura of mystery about her face and her eyes. I see this portrait of her as an interesting metaphor for youth, optimism and opportunity.” Salamon is also doing live-art demonstrations at the Hilbert Museum on Saturdays through May 7, from noon to 2 pm, working in charcoal on a big

“Visage” drawing of the late Mexican artist Frida Kahlo. “Frida is an artist who has inspired so many people across the world,” Salamon says. “I picked her because she was a survivor in the face of incredible challenges—and she was still able to produce work that was raw and vulnerable. She’s still an icon for the Latinx community, the LGBTQ+ movement and feminists around the world.” If Bradford Salamon’s art doesn’t fit neatly into one category, it can be said that it always retains a sense of joy and optimism, while also opening doors to all kinds of personal interpretations. “I hope when you look at the artworks you will find your own way of seeing them and interpreting their meaning,” the artist says. “This way you can bring whatever you want to the work and decide what it is for you.” The Hilbert Museum of California Art is open Tues-Sat, 11 am to 5 pm, and is located at 167 North Atchison St., across from Ruby’s and the train station. Admission is free with an advance reservation (obtain online at tickets.chapman.edu). Information: 714-516-5880, or visit www.hilbertmuseum.com.

OPEN STUDIO! Every Saturday from 2 to 5 pm or by appointment

60 Years of Paintings & Drawings reflecting the changing face of beautiful California by Artist Marinus Welman See it all at:

Welman Art Studio 2402 North Glassell St. #A Orange, CA 92865 MarinusWelman.com marinuswelman@gmail.com

714 998-8662 w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a r t i c l e s / i n s i d e - a r t

March / April

2022

27


COUNTRY ROADS ANTIQUES & GARDENS

The Ultimate Spring Collection: by Brande Jackson

TALK OF THE TOWNE

The Return of the

by Nathan Carter

Orange May Parade The year 2019 saw the return of one of Orange’s oldest and most cherished events, the Orange May Parade. Once dubbed The May Festival Parade, the festivity celebrated the annual Valencia orange harvest—the heart of the local economy in years past. As the celebration grew, it became a weekend long festival, fully equipped with a carnival, keynote speakers and various competitions and events throughout town. “The parade went on from 1933 until about 1991 or 1992 when Orange had to stop participating, because at the time cities were experiencing an economic slide,” says Elizabeth Holloman, Executive Director of the Orange Chamber of Commerce. Holloman and her sister, Parade Co-Chair Barbara Burnett Brock, got the idea to bring the parade back to the public eye simply because they missed it. “I am so grateful to my sister, who had the vision to bring the parade back in 2019, and that I played a role in bringing so much joy and laughter to the community,” says Brock. “I attended the parade as a child, alongside my family. Though I never participated in it, we all looked forward to it so much! It was such a beautiful, innocent celebration of our beloved Orange. When we revived the parade, we couldn’t have imagined what a brilliant success it would be.” It was the pair’s first attempt to organize such a large event, so they reached out for help, and help turned out in force. Holloman says that nearly all of the area schools joined in, along with many local major non-profit organizations, 28

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

businesses and public figures, such as former mayors and winners of Miss Orange. “We had never done anything like this before,” says Brock. “As volunteers, we were very grateful for the support of the Orange Chamber of Commerce. Al Ricci and his staff were instrumental in the project. We worked with business owners, residents, nonprofits and local city officials. That was probably one of the most gratifying aspects of the work.” This year’s parade is expanding on the success of the 2019 parade, allowing businesses and participants from outside of Orange to join the fun as well. An adjudication panel will be present to judge the bands that attend, and prizes will be given to winners.

Watering Cans

Our featured vintage collection for this edition of the Old Towne Orange Plaza Review is one of our very favorites, and a perfect one for spring—old watering cans! The best thing about this type of collection is the range of possibilities. Sometimes you can find a very cheap but awesome looking old, galvanized metal one at your local garage sale, while other times you might find one that has great old paint, or maybe even the original label on the side. Vintage ones pop up in a variety of colors, too. We certainly see a lot of the tin metal gray ones, but have also had some delightful shades of pink, green and white pop into the store, too. There are distinct styles with the American, British and French cans—the differences being in the shape of the body and placement of the handle. The real joy of collecting watering cans, though, lies in the variety of nozzles. Yes, that IS the dorkiest thing we have said all week (and that is saying a lot!) But for reals. When you get into collecting watering cans, one of the coolest things you realize is how many varieties of nozzles there are! And once you have a few cans in your collection and start to display them together, those differences really stand out. When it comes to cost, the nozzle—or lack thereof—plays a big role in pricing.

Saturday / May 7 / 10 am “In the olden days before 1992, the parade was a much bigger production,” says Holloman. “Garden Grove would have a float, as well as the Santa Ana Chamber of Commerce. Bands from various schools would also attend. For 2019, it was strictly Orange, but now we’re expanding. More music, more bands, and we’re going to invite other Chambers if they want to join us.” Holloman and Brock are seeking volunteers for the parade, which will be organized by Love Orange, a local charitable organization. Love Orange can be found at www.LoveOrange.org. Businesses wishing to participate in the parade and learn more about sponsorship tiers can contact Holloman at Elizabeth@Orange Chamber.com or visit www. OrangeChamber.com.

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


Circle in the Square by Kirk Sivertsen /

www.OrangeReview .com/archive/circle-in-the-square

COUPON WINNER

. . .Watering Cans How to display watering cans? There are lots of ways! You can string them along a rope so that they act as a form of mobile garden art. You can group them together on an old bench or on a porch or mount them to a wall. Or, as we have done in our own garden, you can use them to make a fountain. Our founder, Sue, loved watering cans and had a big collection. Many of the cans that make up our fountain came from her. Our affection for them comes from her! If “vintage gardening” is your thing, other collection ideas include antique seed boxes and seed packets, old garden tools and vintage botanical prints—but that is an article for another day! Meanwhile, we are excited to enjoy the change in seasons and be able to bring back our annual Spring Garden Party this year. We’ll be celebrating on Saturday, March 19th from 10 am - 5 pm, and hope you can make it! Join us for a day of raffles and a plant sale, plus plant giveaways, workshops, refreshments and more. Happy spring. It’s the time of year when we make Orange green! www.CountryRoadsAntiques .com

714-532-3041 Open Daily 10 am - 5 pm

2 1 6 W E S T C H A P M A N AV E . /

www.facebook.com/CountryRoadsAntiques

by Marianne Lauren

A Dog Tale is Coupon winner Sarah Weston Siering knows serendipitous connections well. The native Londoner, who made her way from England to France to the U.S., met her husband, Ray, when friends in Orange County introduced them in 2003. Flash forward to 2021 when Sarah and Ray, who live in Orange, became parents of Annie, a feisty Irish Terrier. When Annie joined the family, the couple struggled with the dog’s adverse reaction to her leash. Her unruliness limited their walks to early mornings and late nights. “We provided dog care, training and sought solutions,” says Sarah, who finally contacted the Irish Terrier Club for help. “I was referred to another Irish Terrier owner, Jeri DeMartini. She invited Annie and me to join her and Seamus, her Irish Terrier, at Olive Hills Dog Park in Anaheim Hills.” Another kismet connection of the canine and human form resulted.

Brewing

While Annie and Seamus frolicked, Sarah and Jeri talked. The four have met at the park ever since on most weekend mornings. To celebrate their special bond, Sarah chose to use her winnings to benefit two advertisers, treating Jeri, her new friend and Jadtec Security buiness owner, to lunch at 1886 Brewing Company.

WIN $50.00 OFF ANY PURCHASE

from any Plaza Review advertiser featured in this issue. NAME PHONE NUMBER E-MAIL COMMENTS, ETC. Mail to:

Old Towne Orange Plaza Review 134 South Glassell St. #C, Orange CA 92866 Winner is selected randomly by an advertiser of the Old Towne Orange PLAZA REVIEW.

Entries must be postmarked by April 15, 2022 w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / a r t i c l e s / c o u n t r y - r o a d s - a n t i q u e s

March / April

2022

29


to 91 FREEWAY

Orange Farmers Market

1 DIGITAL ON-LINE PLAZA MAP

PALM

C HAPMAN U NIVERSITY Rodgers Center for Holocaust Education

AVENUE

15 Glassell Dental

13

The Dragonfly Shops

14

16 Willits Real Estate Group MAPLE

AVENUE

Zito’s

PLAZA PLAZA PARK PARK

36

35

LINCOLN

Y

OL

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

Garcia-Kincaid

32

ORANGEWOOD

AVE

WALNUT

AVE

Titan Automotive ST

(55) FWY

KATELLA

Skin Care

30 by Christina 31 Family Realty

LA VETA AVENUE

E

G

MAIN

FW

Knox General Insurance

H&H Income Tax & Insurance

D

Guardian Roofs

F

( 57) FWY

N O RT H

GARDEN GROVE (22) FWY

Villa Ford of Orange

C Welman Art Studio

B

Orangeland RV Park

ORANGE

D

T

(5 )

N E W P O RT B E AC H

STREET GLASSELL

ORAN GE (57) FWY

we b et OW

A

AVE

Blaze Pizza

33

ty

SA

A N

oTo

AVENUE

Shafer Plumbing

AVENUE

to 22 FREEWAY

th

29 Antique Depot

34

ALMOND

C ou n

N G E i s ce nt e re d

PLAZA REVIEW Advertisers outside the PLAZA SQUARE RETAIL DISTRICT.

A ge

O RA NE

28 Army-Navy Store

Jadtec Security

ra n

30

CH A PMA N

Woman’s Club Events Center

3 HOUR 27 Paris in a Cup PUBLIC PARKING

fO

ARTESIA / RIVERSIDE (91) FWY

N TA

Antique Station

21

24 of Orange

to

en

e

2

7 & 91 Fr e ew a y s , i nt 5, 5 he He ar

Taste

SA

(5 )

H CHAPMAN

GARDEN

FW

Y

I

J

K

AVE

GROVE (22) FWY

Appreciation Breakfast

Rambling Rose Jewelry

26 O Sea

L

M City Council

37

Old Towne Plumbing

NEWPORT BEACH (55) FWY

Orange Circle Antique Mall

Real Estate Establishment

Aces Bar & Grill

38

20

Orange City Hall

Golden Bear Antiques

23

to 55 FREEWAY

Dan Slater for Mayor

Summerhill Ltd.

Caliber Real Estate

25 Blaze Pizza

39 SOUTH GLASSELL

OLIVE STREET

LEMON STREET

CYPRESS STREET

3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING

Orange Chamber of Commerce

CHAPMAN

22

Bonham Construction

3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING

5,

EAST

40

Orange Main Library & History Center

19

Shannon Family Mortuary

CHAPMAN

Country Roads Antiques Johnnye Merle Gardens

5 2,

Wells Fargo Bank

5

Smiles of Orange

Old Towne Post Office

Orange Circle Optometry

6

ST

WEST

Citizens Business Bank

GLASSELL

Byblos Cafe

Circle City Barbers

Adam Guss State Farm

CENTER STREET

7

ST

1886 Brewing Co

18 Matoska Trading Company

TUSTIN

8

17 Hello Optometry

GRAND STREET

Smoqued BBQ

ORANGE STREET

9

3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING

Reneé Jewelers

4 to 5 & 57 FREEWAY

10

Laurenly

3 Taco Adobe

11

O’Hara’s Pub

NORTH GLASSELL

3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING

FREE ALL ALL DAY DAY PARKING PARKING FREE

Hilbert Museum of California Art

2

12 NY Pizza

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


O RANGE P LAZA R EVIEW A DVERTISER I NDEX & MAP PG

ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE

MAP

ANTIQUES & COLLECTABLES: 12 Antique Depot . . . . . . . . . . . . . 29 155 South Glassell (714) 516-1731 12 Antique Station . . . . . . . . . . . . 34 178 South Glassell St (714) 633-3934 28 Country Roads Antiques . . . . . 40 204 West Chapman Ave (714) 532-3041 12 Golden Bear Antiques . . . . . . . 22 208 East Chapman Ave (714) 363-3996 11 Orange Circle Antique Mall . . . 37 118 South Glassell St (714) 538-8160 17 Summerhill Ltd . . . . . . . . . . . . 38 110 South Glassell St (714) 771-7782 ARTS & CULTURE: 5 Hilbert Museum of Calif Art . . . 2 167 North Atchison St (714) 516-5880 27 Marinus Welman - Artist . . . . . . C 2402 North Glassell St (714) 998-8662 AUTOMOTIVE: 301 Titan Automotive . . . . . . . . . . . . H 939 West Chapman Ave (714) 997-2311 32 Villa Ford of Orange . . . . . . . . . D 2550 North Tustin St (877) 585-3090 DINING & PUBS: 20 1886 Brewing Company . . . . . . 7 114 North Glassell St (714) 922-8130 31 Aces Bar & Grill . . . . . . . . . . . . . L 3538 East Chapman Ave (714) 629-9404 3 Blaze Pizza 101 South Glassell St . . . . . . . . 25 (714) 783-9845 2139 North Tustin St . . . . . . . . . . E (714) 408-7361

PG

ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE

MAP

DINING & PUBS: (cont) 15 Byblos Cafe . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5 129 West Chapman Ave (714) 538-7180 12 O’Hara’s Pub . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11 150 North Glassell St (714) 532-9264 1 O Sea . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 26 109 South Glassell St (714) 362-3309 26 Paris in a Cup - Tea Salon . . . . 27 119 South Glassell St (714) 538-9413 20 Smoqued BBQ . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8 128 North Glassell St (714) 633-7427 1 Taco Adobe . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3 121 North Lemon St (714) 628-0633 25 Zito’s New York Style Pizza . . . 12 156 North Glassell St (714) 771-2222 EVENTS / ORGANIZATIONS: Holocaust Education . . . . . . . . 14 One University Dr Chapman.edu/holocausteducation 8 City Council Appreciation . . . . . M 6410 East Chapman Ave (714) 538-3581 26 Orange Farmers Market . . . . . . 1 303 West Palm Ave www.OrangeHomegrown.org 9 Taste of Orange . . . . . . . . . . . . 24 124 South Orange St www.tasteoforange.com 7

HEALTH, FITNESS & BEAUTY: 16 Circle City Barbers . . . . . . . . . . 4 133 West Chapman Ave (714) 453-9765 22 Glassell Dental . . . . . . . . . . . . . 15 245 North Glassell St (714) 532-5600 16 Hello Optometry . . . . . . . . . . . . 17 141 North Glassell St (657) 650-2020

Over 40 Years of Experience! • • • • • • • • •

PG

ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE

MAP

HEALTH, FITNESS & BEAUTY: (cont) Orange Circle Optometry . . . . . 19 227 East Chapman Ave (714) 538-6424 17 Skin Care by Christina . . . . . . 30 369 South Glassell St (174) 450-2878 1 Smiles of Orange . . . . . . . . . . . . I 743 East Chapman Ave (714) 997-5495 1

JEWELRY 23 Rambling Rose Jewelry . . . . . 36 118 South Glassell St (714) 538-6305 13 Renée Jewelers . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9 138 North Glassell (714) 538-1956 REAL ESTATE: 10 Caliber Real Estate Group . . . . 35 134 South Glassell St (714) 988-6339 21 Garcia Kincaid Real Estate . . 31 437 South Glassell St (714) 418-4104 19 Real Estate Establishment . . . 20 550 East Chapman Ave (714) 744-5711 4 Willits Real Estate Group . . . . 16 229 North Glassell St (714) 315-8120 28 Woman’s Club Event Center . . . 21 121 South Center St (714) 605-3753 SERVICES: 14 Bonham Construction . . . . . . . 23 (949) 532-6274 19 Bear Flag Construction (949) 795-6812 BearFlagOC.com 13 Guardian Roofs . . . . . . . . . . . . . G 1010 North Batavia St (714) 633-3619 11 H&H Income Tax Insurance . . . 32 480 South Glassell St (714) 288-2088

PG

6

11

14 29

18

16

15

1

18

ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE

MAP

SERVICES: (cont) Jadtec Security Services . . . . . A 1520 West Yale Ave (714) 282-0828 Knox General Insurance . . . . . 33 226 South Glassell St (714) 744-6537 Old Towne Plumbing . . . . . . . . 23 (714) 213-5211 “Orange is Hiring” . . . . . . . . . . 39 orangechamber.com/orange-is-hiring (714) 538-3581 Shafer Plumbing Contractors . . B 1307 West Trenton Ave (714) 974-9448 Shannon Family Mortuary . . . . . J 1005 East Chapman Ave (714) 771-1000 Sign Painter - Patrick Smith (714) 282-7097 pgsmithdesign.com Slater for Mayor . . . . . . . . . . . . K 1537 East Chapman Ave (714) 997-0050 State Farm - Adam Guss . . . . . 6 60 Plaza Square (714) 978-4200

SPECIALTY RETAIL: 13 Army Navy Store . . . . . . . . . . . 28 131 South Glassell St (714) 639-7910 1 Dragonfly Shops & Gardens . . 13 260 North Glassell St (714) 289-4689 22 Johnnye Merle Gardens . . . . . 41 204 West Chapman Ave (714) 532-3041 20 Laurenly Boutique . . . . . . . . . . 10 142 North Glassell St (714) 538-7567 29 Matoska Trading Company . . . 18 123 North Glassell St (714) 516-9940 TOURISM: 23 Orangeland RV Park . . . . . . . . . F 1600 West Struck (714) 633-0414

Watch the game and eat tasty food at the same time! Head over to one of the best neighborhood sports bars in Orange to enjoy your favorite food, drink beer and watch the sports team of your choice.

Computer Diagnostics Brakes • Electrical Suspension 4-Wheel Alignment Fuel Injection Smog Certificate Factory Scheduled Maintenance Foreign & Domestic . . .

T I TA N

AUTOMOTIVE (EST. 1976)

939 W. Chapman Ave. (at Batavia St.)

Orange, CA 92868 O w n e r M I K E F RY is Ready to Help!

714- 997-2311

TEL: 7 1 4 - 6 2 9 - 9 4 0 4

3538

East

Chapman Ave.

ORANGE, CA

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / m a p

92669

March / April

2022

31


PRST STD U.S. POSTAGE

PA I D HUNT BCH, CA PERMIT 438

134 South Glassell • Orange, CA 92866

32

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W