Old Towne Orange Plaza Review | Issue 105 | Sep-Oct 2021

Page 1

“Are You Ready to Unmask Your Smile?”

C e l e b r a t i n g 9 Ye a r s in O l d Tow n e !

Enjoy a made-to-order meal featuring fresh produce, USDA premium Ranchero meats &

Husband & Wife:

Dr. Alex Romero & Dr. Ly Nguyen C o m p r e h e n s i ve E ye C a r e

the season’s

freshest shrimp & fish. General & Cosmetic Dentistry

743 East Chapman Ave. 714-997-5495

Orange, CA 92866

www. smilesoforange .com

Available for Private Parties

714.628.0633 Old Towne Orange / 11 am - 9 pm

121 North Lemon St.

News for the Neighborhood

227 East Chapman Ave #C Old Towne Orange, CA 92866 / 714 - 538-6424

September / October 2021

Sign up Now for Fall Classes & Special Events! dragonflyshopsandgardens.com

260 North Glassell St. Wed-Fri: 11 - 6 / Sat: 9-5 / Sun: 11- 4

Tel: 714- 289-4689

ENJOY YUMMY TOWN THE FINEST SOUTHERN SCRATCH-MADE CHIX

149 North Glassell St Old Towne Orange

(714)

602-8220

JAXONSCHIXTENDERS.COM

OrangeReview.com

Resident Old Towne Specialist

Since 1949

Orange’s #1 Home Seller O ra n g e R e a lty .com Old To w n e O r an ge .com

714- 997-0050 x 101

News for the Neighborhood

July / August 2021


“ P i c n i c ” by H e n r i e t t a B e r k , e a r l y 1 9 6 0 s / Oil on Canvas

I N S I D E A RT : S t o r y o n p a g e 2 6

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

September / October

2021

3


Your Neighborhood Realtors SUSIE WILLITS / CALBRE #01852527

DOUG WILLITS / CALBRE #01787611

BEN WILLITS

CALBRE #0185881

Visit us at our Old Towne Orange Location at 229 North Glassell St. for Professional Representation. Call us today:

714-315-8120

Buy / Sell / Lease Specializing in Orange & Surrounding Communities #1 B ROKERAGE IN O RANGE *

* Results based on production from office located in zip code displayed. Data provided by California Regional Multiple Listing Service and its member Associations of REALTORS, who are not responsible for its accuracy. Analysis dates are 12/01/19 though 11/30/2020. Does not reflect all activity in the Marketplace. Analysis results © 2020 Real Data Strategies, Inc., under license to Lalapoint, LLC and named MLS member firms. All rights reserved. License #00745605

dougw@sevengables.com • susiew @ gmail.com • benw @ sevengables.com 4

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

September / October

2021

5


PRESER RVING, PROTEC P CTING AND ENHANCING ENHA ANCING THE HI HISTORIC ISTORIC C CHARACTER AND CHARM OF OLD TOWNE ORANGE FOR YEARS.

35

I

“ f we don’t do it, nobody else will,” declared Dale Rahn, co-founderr and first President of the Old To Towne Preservation Association. Towne Thhat was in 1986 when historic homes in Old To were being torn down. He set a meeting and filled Wa W atson’s Drug Store with neighbors who wanted to take action and stop the destruction — and the Old To Towne Preservation Association was formed.

Laterr,, the State of Califfoornia designated Old To Towne Orange as the state’s largest Residential Historic District.

Help prro otect Old To Towne! Join OTPA PA AT To oday! Check k us out online at otpa.org 6

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

September / October

2021

7


Since 2001

Old Towne Orange PLAZAREVIEW

From the Publisher As we head into September and October here in Orange, it’s exciting to know that we will soon be enjoying fall’s many highlights. It’s always a pleasure to see merchant storefronts and resident porches come alive with festive autumn holiday décor. At this time of year, the air is also abuzz with the promise of new beginnings as students head back to school. This year will be even more exhilarating for students and teachers in the Orange Unified School District. Read all about El Modena High School’s brand-new Fred Kelly Stadium and Orange High School’s STEM Complex (pgs. 27-28). Both facilities are ready and wellequipped to help students expand mentally and physically. As students fill the classrooms at Chapman University, there is a new face on campus. Internationally recognized scholar Norma Bouchard recently took the position as Executive Vice President, Provost and Chief Academic Officer. Learn all about Dr. Bouchard in our Building Character at Chapman University column (pgs. 23-24, 28). At the Hilbert Museum of California Art at Chapman University, you’ll find a host of inspiring new exhibits featuring California artists. This includes the work of Henrietta Berk, who we feature as this issue’s Inside Art subject (pgs. 26-27, inside front cover). You’ll also find new exhibits and enlightening programming at the Richard Nixon Library (pgs. 2223), located nearby in Yorba Linda. While the community gears up for an adventurous fall season, it’s also comforting to know that Orange has dedicated personnel working aroundthe-clock to keep the community safe. Read all about the leaders of the Orange Police Department and Orange City Fire Department in this issue (pgs. 14-15). Wishing you a fun fall enjoying all the time-honored traditions of the season.

What’s Happening

. . .

SEPTEMBER 2021

OCTOBER 2021

Fri - Sun / Sep 3 - 5 Orange International Street Fair Orange You Glad We’re Back? Enjoy food, music and entertainment of world cultures, with all proceeds going to non-profit organizations in Orange community. Old Towne Orange Plaza Square orangestreetfair.org

Fri / Oct 1 / 11 am Paris in a Cup WitchCraft Tea Let’s get crafty and kick-off All Hallows month with a Witch Hat Crafernoon Tea led by artisan Linde Clark. 119 South Glassell St 714-538-9411 / parisinacup.com

Tue / Sep 21 / 7 pm Chapman University Holocaust Lecture Series The Ravine: A Family, A Photograph, A Holocaust Massacre Revealed. Beckman Hall: One University Dr Chapman.edu/holocausteducation 714-628-7377 Sat / Sep 26 / 11 am - 2 pm Old Towne Preservation Association Old Fashioned Ice Cream Social Join your neighbors for some good old fashioned family fun, with ice cream, balloon art, a Barbershop Quartet, Magician and more. Pitcher Park: 204 South Cambridge St 714-639-6840 / otpa.org

Tue / Oct 5 / 9:30 - 11 am Orange Public Library Foundation It’s Your Estate Workshop “Living Trusts,” one in a series. 380 South Hewes St 714-288-2470 / cityoforange.org Sat / Oct 16 / 3 - 8 pm Cambra Speed Shop Block Party Sales, Shop Tours, Games/Prizes & more! 726 West Angus Ave / 949-584-5669 CambraSpeedShop.com Sat / Oct 16 / 5 - 10 pm American Legion Orange Post 132 100th Anniversary Celebration Dancing & Cocktails with local dignitaries & historical presentation. 143 South Lemon St / martinezjoseg@yahoo.com

“Voted Top 10 Ramen” by The Orange County Register

JAPANESE RAMEN

Sincerely, Mike Escobedo 134 South Glassell St. / Orange, CA 92866 714 - 771 - 6919 Mike@OrangeReview.com

“ News For The Neighborhood ” Old Towne Orange Plaza Review © 2021 Mike Escobedo Design. All rights reserved. The material herein contained cannot be reproduced in whole or in part without the written permission of Mike Escobedo Design.

www. OrangeReview .com

8

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

“ WELCOME BACK C HAPMAN U NIVERSITY! ” 15% DISCOUNT * For all Chapman Students, Staff & Faculty. Valid September 1st - 30th

* Simply show valid University ID at checkout.

Applies only to each individual’s meal.

ButatonRamen .com / 10 Plaza Square / Old Towne Orange / 714- 363-3212 F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


!

Around the Plaza ONGOING Sat / Oct 16 / 5:30 - 7:30 pm Old Towne Preservation Association 2nd Annual “Art of Wine” Gala Enjoy the best in boutique wines from California’s most interesting vineyards. Hilbert Museum of California Art 167 North Atchison St / 714-639-6840 Tickets are $75 per person. Order on-line at otpa.org NOVEMBER 2021 Sat / Nov 6 / 10 am - 5 pm Country Roads Antiques & Gardens Holiday Open House “Celebrate the Season” as our store will be stocked with Holiday Decor, Snacks, Raffles & more. 216 West Chapman / 714-532-3041 facebook.com/CountryRoadsAntiques Sat - Sat / Nov 6 - 13 Community Foundation of Orange Orange Field of Valor A patriotic sea of American Flags honoring all Veterans, Active Duty Military and their families. Handy Park: 2143 East Oakmont communityfoundation.org

Every Sat / 9 am - 1 pm Orange Home Grown Farmers Market A great way to begin your day with quality produce & fresh, healthy foods. 303 West Palm / OrangeHomeGrown.org 2nd Sat / Sep 11 & Oct 9 / 10 am - 4 pm Full Circle Makers Market Local artisans & small business crafts offered in a unique, once-a-month market. 140 South Glassell / 909-929-1390 FullCircleOrange.com Every Tue / 7 pm 1886 Brewing Company King Trivia Live Pub Quiz This weekly trivia challenge is all about having a good time, you simply have to show up. 114 North Glassell St 714-922-8130 / www.KingTrivia.com 2nd Tue / Sep 14 & Oct 12 City of Orange Council Meetings Find out what’s happening in our city and be involved with the future of Orange. Agendas released on the prior Thursday. CityOfOrange.org / 714-744-2234

134 South Glassell St / Orange 92866

Every Fri / 9:30 - 11:30 am Orange Home Grown Educational Farm Volunteer Farm Friday Plant, harvest, compost, mend soil & more. All ages invited, as new volunteers are paired with seasoned volunteers to work on farm projects together. 356 N Lemon / OrangeHomeGrown.org 1st & 3rd Fri / 9:45 - 10:45 am Orange Home Grown Educational Farm Little Sprouts at the Farm Nature inspired crafts, activities & garden fun for kids of all ages. 356 N Lemon / OrangeHomeGrown.org

Sep/Oct 2021

Publishing Team

Publisher Mike Escobedo Mike@OrangeReview.com Editor/Writer Julie Bawden-Davis julie@juliebawdendavis.com Writer Karen Anderson 123karen@earthlink.net Writer Yuki Klotz-Burwell klotz105@mail.chapman.edu Writer Nathan Carter nathan.travis.carter@gmail.com Writer Melissa Pinion authormelissawhitt@gmail.com

Dragonfly Shops & Gardens Monthly Workshops Including Mosaic Tiling, Kokedamas, Fairy Gardens, Baubles & more. 260 North Glassell St / 714-289-4689 www.dragonflyshopsandgardens.com

Writer Mary Platt platt@chapman.edu Photographer Sonserae Leese sonseraedesigns@gmail.com Photographer Kristin Smetona info@smetonaphoto.com

Through Nov 13 Hilbert Museum of California Art Art Exhibitions Henrietta Berk: In Living Color, The Disney Superstars, Joan Gladstone: Paintings of Laguna Beach, Fashion in American Illustration & Our Golden State: California Landscapes (through Jan 15) 167 North Atchison St 714-516-5880 / hilbertmuseum.org

Digital Artist Clyde San Juan crookedtrails@hotmail.com Web Developer Chase Higgins chasehiggins@me.com Printed by Freedom Printing estella@freedomprinting.net Processed by Mailing Pros, Inc. MPI@MailingProsInc.com Distributed by the US Postal Services www.usps.com

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

September / October

2021

9


CHARISSE OKAMOTO DRE #01865682

10

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


NEW TO THE NEIGHBORHOOD

by Yuki Klotz-Burwell

Bringing Change to

As summer turns into fall, the city of Orange continues to transition and bring change to its residents. New businesses represent growth within the community, and the establishments featured here, Bio-One of Orange, CostLess Wholesale and Wazabi Sushi, look forward to helping Orange neighbors through every stage of life.

Bio-One of Orange

/

SmetonaPhoto.com

Cory and Naomi Flores stand with protective gear for their trauma services cleanup company, Bio-One of Orange. Before entering the crime scene cleanup industry, Cory studied business at California State University, Fullerton and worked as a water treatment operator for various cities around Orange County.

PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

During the most challenging times, Bio-One of Orange is there for customers when they need it most. Bio-One, which opened last October, specializes in crime scene, contamination and biohazard cleanup. Although it may seem like a daunting profession, Cory Flores, who owns the Orange franchise, says he’s passionate about the industry because his focus is guiding people through challenges. “It’s all about helping people through their darkest days and getting involved with the community,” he says. “It’s about making a difference.” Cory originally got into the industry after responding to an ad that highlighted the potential to own your own business while supporting the Orange County area. After talking to other BioOne owners and learning about the company, he felt ready to start his own franchise location. “I knew I had the will to do the job and to help people get through difficult situations,” says Cory. “I love what I do, and I wouldn’t change it for the world.” The Bio-One team responds to calls, including traumatic deaths, hazardous waste and crime scene cleanup. They partner with local authorities and emergency services to ensure maximum safety for their clients. “We have a wide variety of services, and they’re all things that are fairly scary and dangerous for untrained people,” says Cory. “Whether people know it or not, we’re making a big impact in the community.”

Orange

Cory and his Bio-One crew also provide hoarding cleaning services and spend time working with clients to fully clean and declutter their homes. If you’re ever in need of Bio-One’s services, the team is open 24/7 every day of the year. Cory is passionate about serving the Orange

community and prides himself on his business’s customer service approach. “There’s so much character in Orange, and people really care about each other,” he says. “The community is always looking for any way they can help out.”

Cory and his wife, Naomi, lived in Orange for years before recently moving to Lake Forest. Now, Naomi handles the social media and outreach aspects of Bio-One’s business. She enjoys creating partnerships with other local businesses, like traditional house cleaning services, to develop a trusted network for all clients. “We definitely stick to our motto of help first, business second,” she says. “We really value our community and genuinely want to help out.” Recently, Bio-One of Orange hosted a blood drive and hopes to arrange more in the future. From donating to local fundraisers to providing complimentary cleanup services to in-need families, it’s clear that Cory and Naomi have constructed a business that centers around community support. “We’re a group of good people who just want to help, and we hope that eases people’s minds,” says Cory. “We’re all about making a difference.”

Bio-One of Orange 1439 West Chapman Ave. / 714-597-6948 / BioOneOrange.com

Big Enough to Provide the Capacity Needed FAMILY OWNED & OPERATED

Small Enough to Assure Individual Attention

Young Enough to Use New Ideas

Old Enough to Have Profited by Experience

BUSINESS INSURANCE SPECIALISTS

• Commercial Truck • General Contractor • Business Liability • Workers Comp • Home • Auto Serving you in Old Towne Orange since 1980 226 SOUTH GLASSELL STREET, ORANGE, CALIFORNIA 92866 WWW.KGIBINC.COM LIC. NO. 0F00752 T 714.744.3300 F 714.744.6537 w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

September / October

2021

11


/ PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

If you’re looking for all the best deals this fall, CostLess Wholesale is ready to help you save money. Opened in March, CostLess offers a wide selection of food and household goods at wholesale prices. “We’re a family-oriented company, and we want to support the community,” says Co-Founder and Chief Operating Officer Adel Khatib. “We get the deals and make sure we beat every competitor out there.” In 2016, Khatib opened the first CostLess location in La Habra. After its success, he knew he wanted to expand and serve more customers, especially those in south Orange County unable to visit the La Habra location. “We picked Orange because we think it’s the heart of Orange County,” he says. “We love the city.” At CostLess, customers can find anything from a wide range of departments, including apparel, food, electronics, home decor and more. After working in the wholesale and liquidation industry for years, Khatib says he has a knack for finding the best deals and categories for his shoppers. “We get amazing savings, and we want to pass that along to our customers,” he says. “If you come check us out, we guarantee we can keep saving you money.” In the months since CostLess has opened, Khatib has found satisfaction in developing intriguing

SmetonaPhoto.com

CostLess Wholesale

As the largest liquidators of Costco and Sam’s Club in the area, the CostLess store has shopping options from endless categories for customers. Posing with for-sale items from CostLess Wholesale’s extensive inventory are (from left) Orange Store Manager Gilbert Ortuno, General Manager Kevin Gonzalez and Co-Founder and Chief Financial Officer Dan Barraj.

new specials to keep his customers happy. Whether that’s a buy one, get one free sale or a limited special on one-dollar hand soaps, he’s constantly switching up the inventory to generate buzz. “It’s like a treasure hunt here,” says Khatib. “I would encourage everyone to come have that experience.” In addition to the store’s stellar prices, Manager Dona Melikian says customer service is another factor CostLess strives to perfect. She takes pride in creating personal relationships with customers and ensuring their shopping experience is exceptional.

“I have loved getting to know the community and watching them become regulars,” she says. “It’s been great to see how excited they get when they come in to buy one thing and see the variety we offer.” In their first year of business, Khatib and his CostLess team hope to reach Orange residents and inspire them to do their shopping at the store. “We’re taking one step at a time to grow our clientele within the Orange County community,” says Khatib. “We want to help

the neighborhoods of Orange and give back to others.” Throughout his years of business experience, Khatib says the shoppers are what push him to keep going. He takes the time to receive feedback and customize the CostLess experience for them. And he genuinely cares about the buyers’ experience. “The customers have been the best part of it all,” he says. “We want to be there for them as they save money and have a great experience.”

CostLess Wholesale 330 South Main St. / 657-223-9039 / CostLessWholesale.com

Featuring • V INTAGE • C OLLECTABLE • • F URNITURE • R ECORDS • • J EWELRY • A RT G LASS • • R OCK & R OLL T - S HIRTS • & MORE !

12

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

Visit our ETSY store at “summerhillantiques ”

“Located in Old Towne Orange.”

Vintage Chandeliers • Furniture • Mirrors • Lamps Custom Lampshades & Upholstery Services • Sconces Interior Design Services Available • www.Summerhill.com 110 South Glassell St / Old Towne Orange / 714-771-7782

208 East Chapman Ave Old Towne Orange , CA 92866 OPEN WED-SUN: 11 AM - 5 PM

(714)

363-3996

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


/ PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

Old Towne Orange is renowned for its impressive array of available cuisines. The Plaza is now adding another option: Wazabi Sushi, a Japanese sushi restaurant set to open this month. “The Old Towne community is great for small businesses,” says Owner Arthuro. “We saw the opportunity to serve the neighborhood and wanted to bring great sushi to the area.” This is Wazabi Sushi’s second location. The original restaurant opened in 2015 in Hacienda Heights. Arthuro previously worked at other sushi bars. After 15 years of experience, he decided to open his own business. Wazabi Sushi’s menu will feature a blend of traditional sushi, like authentic Sushi and Sashimi and inventive rolls and fusion dishes developed by sushi chefs. At the Hacienda Heights location, the “Awesome Roll” is a customer favorite. It features a sashimi roll wrapped with soy paper and topped with yellowtail, lemon, jalapenos and a homemade sauce. “We serve traditional dishes, but we also like to add our own creative fusion dishes to the menu,” says Arthuro. The chefs at Wazabi Sushi also set themselves apart by establishing a special omakase experience for customers. Omakase follows the Japanese tradition of letting the chef

SmetonaPhoto.com

Wazabi Sushi

Wazabi Sushi Owner Arthuro (left) and sushi chef Tee display some of their exclusive menu items. The restaurant’s fish is sourced from all over the world, which allows them to always have fresh options that can be substituted in any dish.

choose their order, and the employees are always excited to showcase their best off-menu items to diners. “We’re challenged to prepare impromptu dishes using our fresh fish of the day and the ingredients to serve the customers whatever they’d like,” says Arthuro. “It feels like being an Iron Chef.” If you’d like to fully customize your order instead, Wazabi Sushi also has a variety of substitutions available. Arthuro says many customers opt for the soy paper wraps instead of traditional

seaweed. There are choices of rolls with no rice on the menu as a healthier option, as well as various vegetarian dishes. Gluten-free soy sauce is also available upon request. Arthuro and his team pride themselves on using fresh, highquality fish for their sushi. “We bring fish from around the world to this restaurant,” says sushi chef Tee (AKA Mr. T). “We really care about the products we use, and you can taste the difference.” Looking forward, Arthuro and

Mr. T hope to build a camaraderie with Old Towne residents. When Mr. T managed another restaurant in Orange County, he developed daily relationships with customers who stopped by, even if they weren’t dining. He feels the Wazabi Sushi atmosphere will be similar. “I’m excited about introducing diners to Japanese food and making new friends,” he says. “People are very nice in Orange. I want to invite them to come in and say hi.”

Wazabi Sushi 240 West Chapman Ave. / 714-602-7375 / WazabiSushi.com

Let Us Solve Your Roofing Problems “Our Integrity is Our Promise” • Neat, Clean, Professional • New Roof • Roof Repair • Roof Certification

Call today for a Free Estimate: www.GuardianRoofs .com

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

Lic.847279, B1 & C39

714-633-3619 September / October

2021

13


KNOW THE NEIGHBORS

Safety First

Police Chief Dan Adams

/

SmetonaPhoto.com

Orange has hundreds of sworn officers and support personnel working every day to keep everyone safe. We recently caught up with two public safety leaders—Police Chief Dan Adams and Fire Chief Sean deMetropolis —to discuss the missions of their respective departments and how their jobs have evolved.

PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

Dan Adams never wanted to become a police officer when he was young; playing basketball was his dream job. “I received a lot of traffic tickets when I was a kid, and I had no interest in this,” he says, adding that his thoughts changed after suffering an ankle injury. “That’s when I started wondering what else I could do.” After someone suggested he check out the Orange Police Department (OPD), he did just that. Adams applied to become a reserve police officer, went on a ride-along…and was hooked. After starting with the department in August 1990, Adams worked his way up through the ranks and on July 4 became the city’s 35th Chief of Police. “The ultimate goals of policing —reducing crime and increasing and maintaining trust with the community—have never changed,” he says. “My commitment to the community is that the members of the police department will strive for excellence in policing by working hard to reduce crime, providing exceptional customer service and hiring great people.” With the recent national movement to reduce police funding, Adams admits he was concerned about the potential local impact. Instead, he noticed the level of support from local elected officials, community groups and others remained high. Additionally, Adams says there’s a growing number of officers working at agencies around the country applying to join the department. Six of the about 20 officers hired during the past year arrived from Los Angeles County or Northern California.

“Since people want to come here, we can be a little pickier when it comes to finding the right candidates,” says Adam Jevec, a Captain in the OPD’s Support Services Division. Fifteen years ago, Jevec also was an officer making a lateral move from another agency, but in his case, it was a homecoming since he was born and raised here. “This is my home and what I know and love, so I have a passionate desire to keep it safe

Keep’n it Fun-ky! E H

ITE RA WH BB

and represent the department through community involvement,” Jevec says. As for Adams, his family has even deeper roots in the city— literally. In 1974 when he was a child, he helped plant a magnolia tree at the southeast side of Plaza Park in honor of his great-grandmother. “I walked into this on a whim from a friend, and here I am 31

years later the leader of the Orange Police Department,” says Adams, who now is the third police chief to spend his entire career with the force, after Michael Parker and Tom Kisela. “The fact that I went from not being interested in law enforcement to here is really cool. It’s also very humbling. I’m absolutely honored to be in this seat right now.”

We Sincerely “Thank You” Our Amazing Customers for Your Loyal Suppor t!

IT

$5 OFF your first clothing purchase of any single item.

T

CLOTHING, JEWELRY, HATS, BELTS, SCARVES, PURSES & SHOES

“This is the noblest profession I believe there is,” says Police Chief Dan Adams, who leads a department with about 160 sworn officers and 120 support staff. “Everybody needs people working to keep the community safe.”

ONE COUPON PER CUSTOMER. VALID UNTIL OCTOBER 31.

Tag, Like & Follow Us on IG & FB @ TheWhiteRabbitOC

www. B y b l o s O r a n ge .com

( 949 ) 922-0009

146 North Glassell St 14

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

129 West Chapman Ave. / 714.538.7180 Open Wed-Sat: 8 am - 9 pm

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


“The great thing about this job is every day is different,” says Fire Chief Sean deMetropolis. “And since it’s different every day, we come in and adjust to whatever the day is.”

/ PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

Sean deMetropolis is nearing the end of his first year as leader of the Orange City Fire Department (OFD). He was appointed Fire Chief in October 2020, and has spent part of that time thinking about the decades to come. “That’s the way we need to do business here,” he says. “We can’t just focus on what’s happening now. We also need to look ahead at what’s going to happen in the future when we’re all gone.” The major reason for that forward-thinking is deMetropolis has seen a lot of changes in fire service since he was hired as a firefighter with the OFD in 1995. And he wants the department to be prepared for what’s next. As he rose through the ranks, which included a 2008 promotion to Fire Captain and another advancement to Battalion Chief in 2015, firefighters and paramedics have been tasked with many added responsibilities. In addition to structure fires, they respond to calls about vehicle accidents, hazardous materials, urban searches and rescues, and even active shooter incidents.

SmetonaPhoto.com

Fire Chief Sean deMetropolis

“Just about anything you can think of when you dial 911, you’re going to get the fire department,” he says. “We need to be wellversed in any discipline that society and the public can throw at us.” And in the past year-plus, they did all that amid a pandemic. Robert Stefano, the Deputy Chief of Operations, also has

observed many changes during his 27 years with the OFD. For one, wildland fires were a rarity when he started in the mid-1990s. But last year, there were 28 such calls, and during this summer, nearly a dozen firefighters from Orange spent several weeks battling blazes in Northern California and Oregon.

“The entire department trains for wildland fires, and some of our folks receive even more on-the-job training, as they can be sent out to battle these types of fires for 14, 21 or 28 days in a row,” Stefano says. “Truly, our wildland fire season is year-round now.” In another nod to the future, a new Fire Station 1 and Fire Headquarters is nearing completion at the corner of Chapman Ave. and Water St. Expected to open by mid-2022, the nearly 28,000-square-foot, $23 million facility will replace a station nearby that was built in 1968. In addition to a more spacious vehicle bay, equipment maintenance and storage areas, the new facility will offer space flexibility that will allow the Orange City Fire Department to meet current needs and better adapt for future missions, deMetropolis says. “It’s exciting—like getting a new house,” he adds. “You’re watching the house being built and you’re seeing all the technology and other things going into it that will make it easier for us to do our jobs.”

Over 40 Years of Experience! Professional, personalized funeral & cremation services; advance planning available.

• • • • • • • • •

Computer Diagnostics Brakes • Electrical Suspension 4-Wheel Alignment Fuel Injection Smog Certificate Factory Scheduled Maintenance Foreign & Domestic . . .

T I TA N

AUTOMOTIVE

Family Owned & Operated Since 1933

(EST. 1976)

ShannonFamilyMortuary.com

939 W. Chapman Ave. (at Batavia St.)

1005 East Chapman Ave. Old Towne Orange, CA 92866

714.771.1000 FD #1772

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

Orange, CA 92868 O w n e r M I K E F RY is Ready to Help!

714- 997-2311 September / October

2021

15


16

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

September / October

2021

17


The House of

Corky and Lisa Burnett—with deep, historic ties to Central Orange County—are creating history of their own at their vintage ranch-style home in Orange where they’ve resided since 1983. Built in 1963 in the Presidential neighborhood off Collins and Handy streets, the three-bedroom, 1,400-square-foot home offers plenty of space for the couple to pursue their favorite hobbies that include art and music. Having converted the third bedroom into a cozy art studio, Lisa paints her colorful still life illustrations and portraits that grace every room in the house— including in the dining room where her painting of a sliced watermelon hangs near the antique dining

table they purchased in 1978 when Corky worked at the former Antique Eye on South Glassell in Old Towne. For her day job, Lisa is the chief operating officer of an industrial pump company based in Anaheim where she’s worked for 30 years. Now retired from his longtime career managing homeowners’ associations, Corky is an accomplished musician who sings and plays guitar in a Classic Rock/Americana Roots band. He has performed for local charity organizations, including Make-AWish Foundation and Orangewood Children’s Home. Prior to his management career, Corky worked in the furniture industry and also operated a fur-

Solving Plumbing Problems for Our Valued Customers throughout Orange County since 1989 COMMERCIAL • INDUSTRIAL • RESIDENTIAL

Burnett

niture restoration business in Orange County. “I’ve refinished our dining table a couple of times through the years to keep it in good shape,” he says. “The mirror above our sofa is from the 1880s. When I opened the mirror to refinish the frame, I uncovered an original news article from the 1880s about a shipwreck in Portsmouth, England.” History plays a huge role in the Burnett family. Lisa is a native of Anaheim, where her family heritage dates back to Anaheim’s vintner era of the 1850s. Old-timers in Anaheim will recall her family’s landmark S.Q.R. Department Store on the corner of West Lincoln and Harbor.

AUTO / HOME / UMBRELLA / LIFE / HEALTH / BUSINESS / WORKERS COMP

Visit Us in Old Towne for a Free Comparative Quote, and Receive a $20 Gift Card.

Family Owned & Operated

Call for Free Estimate

The most comprehensive policy for Historic homes.

714­974­9448 www.ShaferPlumbing.com S E W E R • WAT E R • G A S P L U M B I N G

18

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

“My great-grandfather grew and sold walnuts and citrus in Anaheim and also had a sodabottling factory,” she says. “The S.Q.R. store was founded in 1905 by his son. My great-uncle’s store was in business until the 1970s. It was best known for the pneumatic tubes that shot coins down to the cash registers from the second story.” Corky’s heritage derives from Nanaimo, Canada. His ancestors moved to Los Angeles at the turn of the century. His father was a builder who relocated to Anaheim from LA when Corky was five. His family genealogy dates to the House of Burnett in Aberdeen, Scotland. Both Corky and Lisa’s fathers

1307 West Trenton Ave Orange, CA 92867

60 Plaza Square #200 Orange, CA 92866 (714) 978-4200 www. AdamGuss .com In the Heart of the Historic Orange Plaza.

See our overwhelmingly positive reviews on

to Chapman U

C

Written by Karen Anderson Photos by Sonserae Leese: www.Sonserae.com

East Chapman to 55 Fwy

to 57 Fwy

to 22 Fwy

The Burnett’s new exterior color of Midnight Blue brings a contemporary flair to the vintage, ranch-style home in Orange. The mustard-hued front door adds a splash of color at the entrance.

P ROPERTY

South Glassell

P RESIDENTIAL

License #0G50204

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


Lisa and Corky Burnett enjoy entertaining friends in their beautiful backyard, as well as relaxing with their dogs Parker and Timmy.

Corky plays guitar in front of the fireplace, above which hangs an original oil painting by Lisa featuring a quintessential Southern California scene.

Lisa’s choice of simple, colorful accents adds a fresh, fun look to the interiors.

fought in WWII. Lisa’s father fought in the Battle of the Bulge, where he was shot in the wrist and suffered from major frostbite during one of the coldest winters in the history of Belgium. He came back to California, finished college at USC and built their family home in Anaheim. Stationed at Schofield Army

Barracks on Oahu, Corky’s father was wounded at the bombing of Pearl Harbor on December 7, 1941. “He was scheduled to leave the Army the next day but fate had other plans,” says Corky. “He was at Hickam Air Force Base during the bombing and got wounded by flying shrapnel. There was always a long scar on

his face, and we never knew where it came from until late in his life when he finally talked about it. Because of my dad, one of our sons is a total WWII history buff, and in 2018, I traveled with our son Brad to Normandy. We were both overtaken by emotions after visiting those sites during the Band of Brothers tour.”

Meanwhile, the history of the Burnett’s 39-year marriage has definitive ties to Old Towne Orange. They first met through her sister when Lisa was 17. In 1979-80, they lived in and managed the historic Ehlen-Grote building, built in 1902 and located above Felix’s in the Plaza. During their CONTINUED ON PAGE 20

Professional Property Management • Thorough Tenant Screening license #580269

• On-line Payments & Disbursements

Historic Restorations

• Improve Property Value

Remodels

• 24 Hr Emergency Service for Tenants

Kitchen and Bath

Real Estate Sales & Investments

Exterior Makeovers Siding

• Residential, Commercial, Industrial, Land Sales • Investment Strategies • 40 Years in Business

Doors and Windows Patio Covers Decks Stairs

Find us on:

714- 744-5711

Painting

www. RealEstateEstablishment .com

Termite and Dry Rot

550 East Chapman Ave, Suite B, Orange, CA 92866 w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

General Contractor - Keith Misumi

(949) 795-6812

www.BearFlagOC.com

September / October

2021

19


P RESIDENTIAL The antique kitchen table sets the stage for contemporary accents that blend nicely with Lisa’s original still life oil painting of a watermelon.

With her talent for art and design, Lisa chose a vibrant-blue color for the kitchen island to complement the newly installed white countertops. The couple added custom cabinetry that surrounds the refrigerator.

The House of Burnett time there, they managed the 30 residential “Flats” units and 10 businesses below. Corky purchased Lisa’s wedding ring at Renee Jewelers in the Plaza. “We ended up buying this house in 1983 from the real estate company that owned the entire

20

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

CONT. FROM PAGE 19

Flats building,” says Lisa. “We wanted a nice yard and to be close to the schools. We raised our two boys here, and they went to Villa Park High School.” Through the years, the couple has upgraded the property as time and budget have allowed.

Recently, they re-did their entire kitchen—painting the cupboards, adding new lighting and a backsplash, and installing a porcelain slab on the island. This last year, they had the home’s exterior painted midnight blue, as well as worked on other DIY projects. A

welcoming sight, their colorful front door is painted mustardorange. “I just love interior design and got a lot of ideas from vintage editions of Architectural Digest,” says Lisa. “We also love gardening, and we can see our beautiful

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


P ROPERTY

An accomplished artist, Lisa likes to work with pastels and oils. She leaves her unfinished pieces on display in her art studio to help keep her inspired.

Touches of Midcentury Modern blend with Victorian-era antiques for an eclectic look.

Parker lounges in the master bedroom where calming, natural light flows in abundance.

backyard through the large slider and glass panels in the living room.” The yard showcases droughttolerant landscaping. Lisa planted every single plant in the front and back, such as the asparagus fern, dusty miller, morning glory, wisteria,

boxwood and striped agapanthus. “The prior owners had put a lot of cement in the backyard,” says Corky. “In fact, it was all cement. We sledgehammered it all out and repurposed the broken pieces of concrete into a foundation for a berm in the front, where we

dumped loads of dirt on top and added turf and trees.” For Lisa and Corky, life in Orange couldn’t be more idyllic. They especially enjoy taking long hikes in Irvine Park, Santiago Park and Peter’s Canyon. They frequent Francoli restaurant located

right below their old apartment, a full-circle experience. “Orange has this great, homey feeling about it,” says Lisa. “It’s a friendly town and quiet. Our kids grew up here, and I wouldn’t think of leaving, ever. Why go anywhere else?”

Build Self-Confidence T h ro u g h E d u c a t i o n i n P i a n o , Vo i c e , G u i t a r, U k u l e l e , C e l l o D r u m s , F o re i g n L a n g u a g e & D i g i t a l R e c o rd i n g

Group & Individual lessons for all ages! • • • • •

Audition & Performance Preparation Theory, Sight Reading & Ear Training Certificate of Merit & National Guild Testing College Preparation Language Classes (French, Spanish, Italian & Farsi)

~ Online, Outdoor, Hybrid & Traditional Classes Available ~

1311 East Katella Avenue, Orange, CA 92867 (Tuskatella Shopping Center)

714-545-1217 w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

PacificConservatoryOC .com September / October

2021

21


TALK OF THE TOWNE

J OHNNYE

M ERLE’S

G ARDENS

Fall Harvest by Brande Jackson

It’s almost pumpkin spice time! Regardless of if the weather cooperates with our #fallvibes or not, moving into the autumn months is one of my favorite times of the year. Maybe it’s the new school year, but I’ve always associated this time of year with new starts, new beginnings and potential. It’s also one of my favorite times of year as a gardener. With that in mind, for those with plants on the brain, there are three areas to focus on for the upcoming months: cleaning up your garden, replanting outside and making sure you are well stocked on houseplants for the winter months to come! Fall and early winter months are ideal times for getting your “garden house in order.” Think of it as spring cleaning…only in the fall, and you know, in your garden! This is the time of year we clean up our little nursery, as well as our clients’ gardens. Prune, round up leaves and other debris (compost ‘em but don’t let them rot in beds!) bring in some fresh soil amendments and do some general “sprucing up.” Rudbeckia, poppies and salvias are your standard cottage garden plants to put in the ground this time of year, setting up your garden for guaranteed blooms in the months to come. Hardy and tough, these are great additions and do well when planted in the fall and early winter months. Plus, these plants will continue to show up in your garden year after year. Let poppies go to seed and cut back rudbeckias and salvias in the winter so that they can look stunning in the spring. Looking for some indoor plant ideas? Indoor plants aren’t as dependent on seasons as outdoor plants are, though availability does differ based on the time of year. If you are looking to bring some blooms indoors, check out the trusty “Christmas Cactus.” Technically a cactus native to Brazil called Schlumbergera, this plant blooms near the end of fall and start of winter and is a great way to bring some cherry blooms indoors! We love Caladiums, too. Though they don’t bloom, they provide great color and are easy to grow. Are you in the “I want to grow houseplants but I don’t know where to start” club? There are three plants that you can’t go wrong with. Sansevieria (commonly referred to as snake plant) comes in all sorts of cool colors and shapes. This plant is super forgiving (couldn’t we all use some more forgiveness?) They are easy to grow, can tolerate a wide range of light conditions and don’t need much water. That description could also apply to the Pothos family. We love them for their color, hardiness and Instagramability! Rounding out our list of “you can totally grow this indoors” would be the always popular Philodendrom family. Lush, happy and easy to grow, they are a great addition to your houseplant family. Worried you don’t have enough sunlight in your place to grow houseplants? You can get a full-spectrum grow light that replicates the spectrum of light provided by the sun, and you don’t need a special light fixture. There are bulbs available that fit standard lamps. We have seen them at Home Depot for less than $5! We hope you get a chance to enjoy the changing season and all the promise that comes with it. We’re having a garden party as part of Country Road’s annual Holiday Open House on Saturday November 6th, during regular store hours. Join us! Enjoy the pumpkin spices and the sunshine!

Explore & Learn at the

Richard Nixon Library The Richard Nixon Library and Museum is not your average shrine to a former U.S. leader. Especially since a multi-milliondollar renovation in 2016 brought exhibits up-to-date with modern technology. “Every word in there was fact checked. Every photo and videoclip was reviewed by an independent panel of four historians,” explains Jim Byron, Executive Vice President for the Richard Nixon Foundation, the non-profit organization that runs the Yorba Linda facility alongside the National Archives and Records Administration. “You can’t find that at any other presidential library. We really put together an impartial display that continues to attract an influx of visitors under the age of 40. That’s really our target demographic and is the next generation—my generation. Old Towne resident Sandy Quinn served in various capacities at the foundation, including president, and is currently on the

Board of Directors. “We do more week-to-week programming than any other presidential library,” he affirms. “We are the performing arts center for public affairs in Orange County.” Byron, a Santa Monica native who lived in Old Towne while obtaining a Bachelor’s in Business Administration at Chapman University and now calls Costa Mesa home, first got involved with the Nixon Foundation at a young age. “Totally by accident,” he admits. “I’ve always been a history buff. I was bored during the summer between eighth grade and starting at Santa Margarita High School. I wrote a letter to the Nixon Library. Much to my surprise, I received a response from Sandy Quinn about an internship.”

Brande Jackson is the owner of Johnnye Merle’s Gardens, located in Country Roads Antiques in Old Towne Orange at 216 West Chapman Ave. www.purtyplants.com. She can be reached at brande@johnnyemerles.com. 22

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


Building Character

The Nixon Seminar, a program that convenes virtually, aims to “educate the next generation of policy makers and national security specialists,” says Jim Byron, Executive Vice President of the Nixon Foundation, which facilitates the monthly seminars.

A tour package is in the works with Chapman’s Hilbert Museum of California Art. Foundation membership is $95-$10,000. The Nixon Library is at 18001 Yorba Linda Blvd. Admission: $23 (18 and over), $19 (62 and over), $17 (ages 12-17), $13 (ages 5-11). Advance online ticketing is encouraged. Hours of operation: 10 am-5 pm daily, except for major holidays. More information: 714-993-5075 or nixonfoundation.org.

IN THE ORANGE CIRCLE ANTIQUE MALL

DESIGN NOW FOR THE HOLIDAYS Design & Repairs by Perry Pace

Renée Jewelers Specializing in Custom Design for Every Occassion!

138 North Glassell • Orange, CA 714-538-1956 Layaways Welcome / Credit Cards Accepted

BIRTHSTONES:

Sept- Sapphire / Oct- Opal or

Tourmaline

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

Vintage Platinum & Gold Jewelry BUY / SELL / TRADE

118 South Glassell St

Old Towne Orange, CA 92866

714-538-6305

w w w. R a m b l i n g R o s e . n e t

Home of the 18 Month Layaway

SmetonaPhoto.com

CHAPMAN UNIVERSITY

/

First opened in 1990, the Nixon Library boasts such popular attractions as replicas of the White House Oval Office and East Room (the latter can be rented for weddings and business meetings) and a Marine One helicopter. Quinn says it is rare for a U.S. presidential library to contain a former chief executive’s original birthplace, memorials, galleries and archives all on the same grounds. “Yorba Linda still has a lot of the same atmosphere that it had in 1913, including old homes and trees,” says Quinn. Last May, the facility reopened after a 14-month closure due to COVID-19 with some new exhibits: “The President’s Club” (friendships and rivalries) running through October, the outdoor “President and the Planet” (Nixon environmental initiatives) and “Evening the Odds” (Nixon’s efforts to advance women in athletics, politics and business). Looking ahead, the Nixon Library has “A Commitment to Hope,” an exhibit marking the 50th Anniversary of President Nixon signing the National Cancer Act, slated for fall. Byron says development of the mRNA technology used in COVID-19 vaccines can be directly traced to the initiative.

PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA

/

SmetonaPhoto.com

a t Quinn, Director of Marketing at the time, immediately saw potential in Byron. “He read everything he could about Nixon and would do anything you asked him to do,” recalls Quinn. “A lot of interns don’t do that. They want to play videogames. I also noticed Jim was an excellent writer and very well spoken.” Having worked part-time for the foundation throughout high school, Byron graduated from Chapman in 2015 and then moved through different positions at the foundation before ascending to Executive VP four years later. He was buoyed by the library and foundation’s impact on both the Yorba Linda and Southern California communities at large. The influence was acutely felt last year amid the height of COVID19 when the foundation helped distribute 700,000 face masks to local schools, businesses and first responders, as well as multiple blood drives with the Red Cross. A future Civic Education Center at the Nixon Library will “rededicate its educational programming efforts to encourage active citizenship among library visitors and program attendees— particularly our youngest Americans,” says Byron. “That process will unfold in phases over time.”

Norma Bouchard, PhD by Julie Bawden-Davis

As the new Provost of Chapman University, Norma Bouchard is right where she likes to be—on a “journey of discovery.” While some might be overwhelmed by taking the reins as chief academic officer of one of the West Coast’s highestranking universities, Bouchard revels in the adventure. “I’m enjoying learning all about Chapman and meeting so many supportive and friendly members of the university community,” says Bouchard, who took the position as Executive Vice President, Provost and Chief Academic Officer at the end of July. “I feel very welcome and am excited to be part of such a connected and talented team.” It is curiosity and the resulting learning that comes from exploring that marks Bouchard’s career. In addition to serving in university administrative positions, she is a professor and internationally recognized scholar. Bouchard holds a laurea in French and German literatures from the University of Turin, Italy, as well as a master’s and PhD in comparative literature from Indiana University-Bloomington. She has authored 11 books, 80 peer-reviewed articles and 60+ shorter publications. Her work lies at the intersection of literature and the arts, history, social sciences, philosophy, critical theory and aesthetics. Native of Italy Born and raised in northern Italy in the Piedmont region that borders France, Bouchard spent her youth hiking the foothills and skiing the mountain range near her home. Growing up in a border region inspired an interest in multilingualism, cultures and their traditions. “I was a first-generation student,” says Bouchard. “My parents were children of World War II, so education was a luxury CONTINUED ON PAGE 24

September / October

2021

23


Norma Bouchard, PhD

TALK OF THE TOWNE CONT. FROM PAGE 23

for them. Like many Italians following the war, they worked in factories to help rebuild the country.” Bouchard immigrated to the United States in the 1990s where she started a family and worked for a few years. Eventually, the call to continue learning became strong enough that she went back to school to earn a master’s and PhD in comparative literature from Indiana University-Bloomington. “When I returned to school, my youngest son was less than a year old and my older son was 4,” she says. “It was quite an adventure to go to school with them. At the time, it was a novelty to attend graduate school when you had young children, so I was fortunate to get a lot of help from other students. There was always someone to babysit for a couple of hours as I completed schoolwork. I also have a very supportive husband,” says Bouchard of her husband, Carl Lemp. Today, one of her sons is a physician and the other works in high tech. “When you are a first-generation student like I was, the impact is not only on the individual, but your actions also have a positive effect on the family and overall community,” she says. Rise Through the Educational Ranks After graduation, Bouchard’s first academic position was as visiting faculty at the University of Puerto Rico in the Department of Humanities. Following that year-long position, she was recruited by the University of Connecticut-Storrs for a tenure track position where she worked for 17 years until 2015. She rose through the ranks in Connecticut, including serving as Program Director, Department Head and Associate Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences. From there she spent four years as the Dean of the College of Arts and Letters at San Diego State University and then two years as Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences and Distinguished Professor of Global Studies at Drexel University in Philadelphia. When a recruiter approached Bouchard in 2020 about interviewing for the provost position at Chapman, she was a little hesitant because we were in the middle of the pandemic. But she knew of Chapman’s stellar reputation, so she decided to begin exploring the possibility. “The more I learned about Chapman, the more excited I became,” she says. “The university has a remarkable trajectory, while at the same time a strong sense of institutional purpose. I believe in the university’s commitment to educate and equip students with skills—both of which are needed to succeed and become future leaders and global citizens who make a positive impact on society.” Bouchard’s fresh perspective has been a welcome one, says Jerry Price, Chapman University’s Dean of Students. “While much of the senior leadership at Chapman has been here for quite a while, Provost Bouchard brings new experiences, perspectives and insights that will be invaluable to us as we chart the course for where we go next,” he says. “I also believe her way of engaging others with such warmth and positive regard will contribute greatly to the feeling of family and community that is such an important part of who we are at Chapman.” Roxanne Greitz Miller, Vice Provost for Graduate Education and Interim Dean, Attallah College of Educational Studies at Chapman University, agrees. “Provost Bouchard brings deep experience with a variety of academic programs at the undergraduate and graduate levels that will help us make judicious decisions about our academic operations in the future. As a female professor, I am also personally excited that Chapman has appointed its first female Provost.”

by Yuki Klotz-Burwell

Building a Stronger For the past century, the Orange Chamber of Commerce has served to enhance Orange’s business community. This August, the organization is celebrating its 100th anniversary, and those involved are eager to continue boosting local establishments. In 1921, the Chamber of Commerce held its first meeting at the local store Den O’ Sweets. The Chamber had almost 80 attendees and over the decades has continued to maintain a steady membership portfolio filled with businesses, individuals and volunteers—all working together to sustain Orange’s economy. “Every great business is built on community, and you can really feel that in Orange,” says Executive Director Elizabeth Holloman. “The Chamber members and volunteers are so committed to the city.” The community spirit is what pushes all Chamber members, individuals and businesses to work together. The organization’s mission is to enhance and promote Orange’s business opportunities

and advocate for each and every establishment. “Hundreds of businesses together have a loud voice, and that’s what we’re aiming for,” says Holloman. “Everyone is stronger together.” Chamber volunteers and employees work with the City of Orange to advocate for and express the needs of their members. Last year, they pushed for outdoor dining and constructed the Plaza Paseo to help businesses stay afloat during the pandemic. “Everyone, especially local businesses, have just come off a rough year, and we all need to be supportive of each other,” says Vice Chair Pat Buttress. “As a resident, I don’t think we can allow ourselves to not be concerned with the businesses that provide so much to our neighborhood.” Although travel brochures and visitor hubs have become increasingly rare as the world creates a digital shift, the Chamber of Commerce has remained a wealth of information

Lifelong Teaching and Learning Throughout her career, Bouchard has enjoyed teaching students as much as she has enjoyed learning. “My priority is to help create lifelong learners,” she says, noting that Chapman’s CONTINUED ON PAGE 28

24

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


E A R LY C H A M B E R O F F I C E

PHOTO PROVIDED COURTESY OF THE ORANGE CHAMBER OF COMMERCE, C/O ORANGE PUBLIC LIBRARY & HISTORY CENTER.

Community, for 100 Years! for all visitors and residents. Holloman says they often receive phone calls asking for all types of recommendations, including local hotels, carpet cleaners, dentists and more. “If someone reaches out to us, we know exactly who to refer them to, because we’ve vetted everyone,” she says. “We make personal references and connections, and it’s great visibility to strengthen your business.” Special events hosted by the Chamber, like the Orange May Parade and the State of the City, give residents a chance to connect and build a stronger sense of community. Although the organization’s main focus is to optimize the city’s business interests, Holloman says anyone, business owner or not, can be a member. To celebrate the 100th anniversary, everything is coming full circle for the Chamber of Commerce. The original Chamber office was located right next to Felix’s Continental Cafe. A century later after a few moves,

Homage to

their new office opened in almost the same location. “We’re back where it all started,” says Holloman. “It’s exciting to be in a building that’s more than 100 years old and to celebrate the history.” To kick off the new office, the Chamber hosted a ribbon cutting ceremony and celebratory event. But the festivities don’t stop there. The members plan to have a year-long celebration honoring the Chamber of Commerce’s centennial anniversary and rich history. From Orange trivia nights to partnerships with local elementary schools, Holloman says she’s excited to get the entire city involved. “The best part is the building of the community and the feeling you get when you’re all connected in Orange,” she says. Looking forward, the Chamber aims to continue working with city officials to strengthen the businesses around town. Before the pandemic, the group hosted in-person monthly breakfast

meetings, dubbed Eggs and Issues, as a way to connect local business owners with the City. The meetings have recently been remote, but Holloman hopes to expand to in-person events again to fully involve the community. “When you start a new century, you have time to reflect and see which direction you want things to go,” says Holloman. “It’s a great time to be involved with the Chamber.” At its heart, the Chamber of Commerce is a group of compas-

sionate and innovative members who volunteer their time to enhance the business community. Whether that’s by celebrating a business’s success or by lending a helping hand during difficult times, the Chamber is ready to support every facet of local businesses. “The Chamber is such a positive force in our community,” says Buttress. “We need to make sure that we’re helping our businesses. Supporting our Chamber is one of the best ways to do that.”

Orange Chamber of Commerce 34 Plaza Square / 714-538-3581 / www.orangechamber.com

“The Society of SIX”

by artist: Marinus Welman

Welman Art Studio 2402 North Glassell St. #A Orange, CA 92865 MarinusWelman.com marinuswelman@gmail.com

714 998-8662 Call for a studio visit to see a variety paintings.

Point Lobos 24” x 30” / Oil on canvas The last of the series of SEVEN.

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

September / October

2021

25


I NSIDE A RT

Henrietta Berk: In Living Color She was a typical 1950s housewife—until she wasn’t. California artist Henrietta Berk (1919-1990) had one of the most unique and dynamic career trajectories of any midcentury painter—and then faded from the spotlight. Now the Hilbert Museum of California Art at Chapman University brings Berk’s life story and her art back to light with a collection of her works on view from August 28, 2021 through January 15, 2022. “Henrietta Berk: In Living Color,” curated by Gordon McClelland, will introduce museum patrons to this gifted (and unjustly overlooked, until now) California artist whose paintings dazzle with bold, brilliant color and brash, vigorous application of paint. Berk had no formal professional art training at the outset. In a typical 1950s-era “traditional marriage” with two children and a husband who were ambivalent about her art leanings, she merely dabbled in painting at first. Then, increasingly entranced by the

medium, she began taking evening painting classes at California College of the Arts (CCAC) in Oakland, where she was twice the age of many of her classmates. At the time, she had no inkling of becoming a full-time professional artist. In fact, up until then she had merely been making a little extra money indulging her hobby by creating decorative wall murals for local interior designers. As she took part-time classes at CCAC while also raising her kids, Berk became bemused by the rampant “boys’ club” mentality of the professional art scene. She soon decided to sign her paintings “H. Berk,” using her first initial only—as had many women artists before her, obfuscating their gender to forestall any prejudice from potential buyers. At the school, she studied

at the Hilbert Museum under Bay Area icon Richard Diebenkorn and Henry Krell, among others. But her art, there and later, developed an individualism that was entirely her own. She also had a unique front-row seat to the artistic maelstrom of this “second generation” of Bay Area Figurative artists. Berk’s rise to prominence in this hothouse of talents, as she incorporated representational art into an Abstract Expressionist style, was sudden. She began winning numerous art prizes and had a solo show while still a student, which led to many more exhibitions, awards and a cascade of critical acclaim. “She uses a heavily laden, wide brush,” wrote art critic John C.

HILBERT MUSEUM OF CALIFORNIA ART AT CHAPMAN UNIVERSITY 167 North Atchison St., Orange. Open Tues-Sat, 11am to 5pm. Free admission. Free parking in front of museum and in the parking structure at 130 North Lemon St., one block east of the museum. More information: 714-516-5880 or www.hilbertmuseum.org.

by Mary Platt

Oglesby of the Sacramento Bee in 1962. “The effect is like abstract expressionism.” Alexander Fried of the San Francisco Examiner agreed that Berk “reflects the vigorous influence of splashy abstract expressionism. But her rugged thrusts of pigment and bold form clearly belong to the ‘New Image’ of landscape, figure and still life…Her outdoor scenes and her paintings of still life have an impressive temperamental and sometimes romantic impulse.” Miriam Dungan Cross of the Oakland Tribune, a critic who regularly championed Berk, wrote in 1962: “Energy released in interacting color and paint action expresses her concept of the inner dynamics of all things. This enormous vitality, skillfully contained within the composition, results not only from exuberant contemporary execution, with its

COUNTRY ROADS ANTIQUES & GARDENS

A Pretty Leaf by Brande Jackson

Our matriarch, Sue, was fond of telling a story about an elderly woman in her neighborhood. In fact, she wrote about her once or twice for the Plaza Review! Sue noticed the woman out with her caretaker on daily walks. There was a big maple tree on the parkway in front of her house. The kind with the “spikey balls” that you always seem to step on when barefoot! One autumn, Sue noticed that the two women would always stop in front of her home, pick up some of the fallen maple leaves and admire them. In response in 2010, Sue wrote: “She might pick up a favorite and put it in the bag her caretaker would carry for her. I was always in awe each time I saw this woman on her walks and how she was making the time to notice nature, to notice the little details and art that nature gives us each and every season. So many times, we are in such a hurry and there is always so much to do, we forget about these little, simple things in life. I haven’t seen this woman for the past few years, and my guess is she has passed on. I hope she knows, somehow, that she left me, a perfect stranger to her, a wonderful gift. Now, each fall morning when I go out to get my newspapers, I take a few minutes to notice the leaves on the ground.” As we move into this fall season, missing our Sue and thinking about what really matters, her story resonates more deeply than ever before. The things that really matter are often what we overlook— the simple moments, the color of a leaf, the time spent with someone who matters to us. Our goal is to slow down, look closely and appreciate more deeply. 26

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

www. CountryRoadsAntiques .com

714-532-3041 Open Daily 10 am - 5 pm

2 1 6 W E S T C H A P M A N AV E . /

www.facebook.com/CountryRoadsAntiques

We’ll be having a gathering on Saturday, November 6th, during regular store hours. We would love for you to join us in celebrating this season! May you find many a pretty leaf, and the time to appreciate.

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


TALK OF THE TOWNE

Other Exhibitions on View at the Hilbert Museum include:

Orange Unified School District

Aug. 28 - Jan. 15 “Our Golden State: California Landscapes from The Hilbert Collection,” curated by Jean Stern

Emerges from Pandemic with New Facilities

July 10 - Nov. 13 “The Disney Superstars: Mickey, Donald and Friends – Original Art from the Disney Studios”

by Melissa Pinion

While COVID-19 forced schools across the nation to shift instruction to a virtual format, that didn’t stop Orange Unified School District from working behind the scenes to upgrade multiple facilities in preparation for the return of students. Two major projects—El Modena High School’s Fred Kelly Stadium and Orange High School’s STEM Complex—rolled out in fall 2020 and have already been used by students and employees. Educators say these facilities will serve students and the community for many years to come. And with the passage of Measure S in 2016, more schools throughout the district will be getting makeovers, including updated classrooms, science labs and career-training facilities, as well as earthquake retrofitting.

July 10 - Nov. 13 “Dressed to Thrill: Fashion in American Illustration from The Hilbert Collection” Aug. 28 - Nov. 13 “Joan Gladstone: Paintings of Laguna Beach”

lush pigments and happy accidents, but from her vision, which suggests Kokoschka or Van Gogh. Mrs. Berk is evolving a personal expression.” Berk’s painting “Picnic,” featured on the inside front cover of this issue, dates from the early 1960s. Delineated by thick brushstrokes, the painting features a young couple, seemingly in a contemplative mood, seated in a sunny, colorful landscape. Some have speculated that this painting may depict a youthful Jackie and John F. Kennedy enjoying a picnic. Certainly, the timeframe is right, although no documentary evidence has been found to prove that was Berk’s intention. At the height of her fame in the 1960s, Berk’s paintings were avidly collected by celebrities and others. Movie stars Julie Andrews and Edward G.

Robinson were among those who purchased her paintings. She was profiled in art journals, in newspaper society pages and in popular women’s magazines. One of her paintings appeared in the hit 1967 movie “Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner.” However, Berk contracted diabetes and her eyesight failed, causing her career to wane and her work to plunge into unjustified obscurity. Her last major exhibition was at the Hoover Gallery in San Francisco in 1981. Nine years later in 1990, she died peacefully in her sleep. Now the Hilbert Museum reintroduces Berk’s life story and her passionate, color-drenched paintings to a new generation, with this exhibition of works from the Hilbert Collection and on loan from other museums and private collectors.

Shop with Us for the Best Selection In Town!

155 South Glassell

178 South Glassell

Open Daily 10 am - 6 pm

Open Daily 9:30am - 5:30pm

714-516-1731

714-633-3934

2 Stores / 100’s of Dealers / 1,000’s of Antiques w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

PHOTO BY AARON JACOBY

Henrietta Berk in her studio, 1969.

Fred Kelly Stadium Fred Kelly hurdled his way to gold in the 1912 Summer Olympics in Stockholm, Sweden, bringing hometown pride to his alma maters, Orange High School and the University of Southern California. That pride continues today as the Orange Unified School District celebrates the latest renovation of Fred Kelly Stadium at El Modena High School. It’s a facility that was first dedicated to Kelly in 1969 and has undergone various renovations, including in 2004 and 2018. The district celebrated the stadium’s reopening virtually in October 2020 and has since hosted more than 30 sporting events, says Scott Harvey, Senior Executive Director of Administrative Services for the district. “I believe Mr. Kelly would be very impressed with the new stadium,” Harvey says. “Being a champion Olympic hurdler, I think he would appreciate the new synthetic track and seeing his name written on every single hurdle in the stadium.” Alicia Seevers, Athletic Director for Orange High School, said all four high schools got the chance to play in the stadium last season. But with COVID-19 restrictions, they were unable to use the locker rooms, snack bars or pack the bleachers. “It was great to get in there and play, but it will be even better to have a fully operational stadium to give them that full experience,” Seevers says. The district spent $20 million on the project, which includes Americans with Disabilities Act accommodations, as well as food concessions, restroom facilities and expanded seating for visitors. The stadium now holds 3,400 fans on the home side and 1,700 on the visitor’s side—a 25 percent increase. “Previously, Fred Kelly’s food concessions were limited to the home side of the field, as were the restrooms,” Harvey says. “The new stadium has plenty of restrooms on both sides of the stadium and provides visitors with their own snack bar and ticket booth areas.” Other features include new lights and a state-of-the-art Bose sound system, a field that can accommodate football, lacrosse and soccer and a new scoreboard that is 17 feet high and 26 feet wide. It is the home CONTINUED ON PAGE 28

September / October

2021

27


educational climate fosters this goal. “There is an emphasis on personalized education for students here that is reflected in the curriculum. Students are supported by faculty mentoring and advising and are encouraged to pursue their own interests, training and education, which I find exciting. This atmosphere cultivates a broad base of knowledge and a nimbleness that prepares students for the world after graduation. Interdisciplinary knowledge is just as important as disciplinary knowledge. It allows students to engage in a journey of exploration, and that is the point where the greatest discoveries are often made.” Bouchard is also grateful for the inspiration and ideas she has gained from students. “I find that the best ideas often come from discussions in the classroom,” she says. “A student will ask a question that will spark curiosity and the pursuit of an answer. Further talk and exploration ignites even more passion about the topic. I’ve learned so much from students while instructing them.” In her current role as Provost and in other administrative roles, Bouchard has also learned a great deal about the inner workings of great institutions like Chapman. “As an administrator, you gain a completely different perspective. You also come to see how important it is that the administration works as a team, including the support staff, without whom nothing would run smoothly. From where I sit at this moment, this is a unique leadership opportunity. What is mission critical at this point is operational excellence and preparing the university for the 21st century. I think Chapman is well situated to navigate the moment and thrive.”

OrangeReview.com

5

Additional toppings extra. Not valid with any other coupon. Must present coupon. $4.00 delivery charge. Restrictions apply.

Expires 10/31/21

16” Lg 1-Topping Pizza • Lg Dinner Salad Your choice of 2 liter of Soda or regular order of Garlic or Dessert Knots. Select toppings only. Additional toppings extra. One coupon per customer. Not valid with any other coupon. Must present coupon. $4.00 delivery charge. Restrictions apply.

Expires 10/31/21

New Orange Facilities

CONT. FROM PAGE 24

CONT. FROM PAGE 27

field for El Modena, Orange, Villa Park and Canyon high school football programs. The team rooms include 40 gear lockers, trainer tables, showers and a referee locker room. The press box is now accessible via elevator, and the stadium includes a top deck for coaches and media. “CIF and other organizations are clamoring to partner with us and use the stadium for higher-profile athletic and community events,” Harvey says. The district hopes to hold an official opening ceremony during the 2021-2022 school year.

PHOTO BY AARON JACOBY

Norma Bouchard, PhD

Orange High School STEM Complex When crews first built Orange High School in the 1950s, the new classrooms, labs and other facilities likely brought excitement to the students and faculty members who used them. But seven decades later, that excitement faded with the challenges of teaching in aging and outdated classrooms. Christina Churney, a faculty member who heads the chemistry department at Orange High School, previously occupied the sole chemistry lab on campus, having to share her room with other chemistry teachers when they needed to teach experiments requiring gas and plumbing. “My chemistry classroom had old pipes, old lab benches and a configuration meant for a different time,” she says. But thanks to Measure S—a $288 million bond measure—the district was able to construct the $27 million STEM Complex, which opened in November 2020. It’s a two-story building that contains four chemistry and eight science classrooms, one general classroom and two living skills classrooms. The new facility has transformed the way students view the school, says Orange High School Principal Dennis McCuistion. “They know that high-level learning is going to happen there,” McCuistion says. “It’s really changed our entire campus.” Classrooms come with stations that can accommodate as many as 40 students. In addition to science instruction, the school will also be able to teach other subjects, such as math, in the complex. The living skills classrooms, containing equipment such as a kitchen and laundry facilities, will be used to instruct students with moderate to severe disabilities. The complex includes a “Maker Space” for students to innovate and a general space with roll-up doors for easy access to outdoor instruction. It’s a space that will be used for Orange High School’s career pathways, including instruction in CPR, handling patients on gurneys and more, McCuistion says. “We have some amazing students here at Orange High School and amazing teachers who have done fantastic things with limited space and tools,” McCuistion says. “We’re excited to get these (new) tools into their hands so they can expand opportunities for our students.” Churney agrees. “Our new building sets the tone for learning,” she says. “We have high expectations for students. Now as students enter their new classrooms, they see that this is a place where learning science happens.”

28

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

September / October

2021

29


Circle in the Square by Kirk Sivertsen /

COUPON WINNER

by Nathan Carter

The Family Loves A long-time employee in Chapman University’s financial aid department, Mary Ellen Hawken has spent a fulfilling career helping students navigate the difficult world of student financial aid. “It’s really rewarding to help students continue their education thanks to financial aid,” says Hawken, who has worked at Chapman University for nearly 20 years. Chapman is also where this issue’s coupon winner first learned about Zito’s Pizza, which is where she’ll use her coupon winnings. “I’ve been going to Zito’s since I started working at Chapman University,” she says. “One of my co-workers introduced me to the restaurant in 2002. I’ve been enjoying their food ever since.” The love for Zito’s has become a family affair. Hawken, her husband, Jon, and their three children visit regularly. She and the kids usually order pineapple on their pizza, while Jon orders the meat lover’s pizza.

OLD TOWNE ORANGE PLAZA REVIEW

Zito’s

The Hawken family currently lives on Grand St. in Orange, just outside of Old Towne. She and her family moved to the area after their second child was born so she could be closer to work and spend more time with the kids. One of Hawken’s children has moved out and is now employed at Fremont Elementary School in Santa Ana.

WIN $50.00 OFF ANY PURCHASE

from any Plaza Review advertiser featured in this issue. NAME PHONE NUMBER

www.OrangeReview .com/archive/circle-in-the-square

A DVERTISER I NDEX & MAP PG

ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE

MAP

ANTIQUES & COLLECTABLES: 27 Antique Depot . . . . . . . . . . . . . 28 155 South Glassell St (714) 516-1731 27 Antique Station . . . . . . . . . . . . 30 178 South Glassell St (714) 633-3934 26 Country Roads Antiques . . . . . 35 204 West Chapman Ave (714) 532-3041 12 Golden Bear Antiques . . . . . . . 22 208 East Chapman Ave (714) 363-3996 31 Orange Circle Antique Mall . . . 33 118 South Glassell St (714) 538-8160 12 Summerhill Ltd . . . . . . . . . . . . 34 110 South Glassell St (714) 771-7782 14 The White Rabbit. . . . . . . . . . . 12 146 North Glassell St (949) 922-0009 ARTS & CULTURE: 13 Clyde San Juan - Art Classes CityOfOrange.org/OrangeRec 5 Hilbert Museum of Calif Art . . . 2 167 North Atchison St (714) 516-5880 25 Marinus Welman - Artist . . . . . . C 2402 North Glassell St (714) 998-8662 20 Naranjita Flamenco . . . . . . . . . . D 301 East Katella Ave (714) 400-2939 21 Pacific Conservatory . . . . . . . . . E 1311 East Katella Ave (714) 545-1217

E-MAIL COMMENTS, ETC. Mail to:

Old Towne Orange Plaza Review 134 South Glassell St. #C, Orange CA 92866 Winner is selected randomly by an advertiser of the Old Towne Orange PLAZA REVIEW.

Entries must be postmarked by October 15, 2021

30

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

AUTOMOTIVE: 15 Titan Automotive . . . . . . . . . . . . J 939 West Chapman Ave (714) 997-2311 32 Villa Ford of Orange . . . . . . . . . . F 2550 North Tustin St (877) 585-3090

PG

9

3

8

14

24

1

12

21

9

1

28

ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE

MAP

DINING & PUBS: 1886 Brewing Company . . . . . . 7 114 North Glassell St (714) 922-8130 Blaze Pizza 101 South Glassell St . . . . . . . . 25 (714) 783-9845 2139 North Tustin St . . . . . . . . . . G (714) 408-7361 Butaton Ramen . . . . . . . . . . . . 24 10 Plaza Square (714) 363-3212 Byblos Cafe . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5 129 West Chapman Ave (714) 538-7180 Citrus City Grille . . . . . . . . . . . . 8 122 North Glassell St (714) 639-9600 Jaxon’s Chix Tenders . . . . . . . 18 149 North Glassell St (714) 602-8220 O’Hara’s Pub . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13 150 North Glassell St (714) 532-9264 Paris in a Cup - Tea Salon . . . . 26 119 South Glassell St (714) 538-9413 Smoqued BBQ . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9 128 North Glassell St (714) 633-7427 Taco Adobe . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3 121 North Lemon St (714) 628-0633 Zito’s New York Style Pizza . . . 14 156 North Glassell St (714) 771-2222

EVENTS / ORGANIZATIONS: 16 Holocaust Education . . . . . . . . 16 One University Dr (714) 628-7377 Chapman.edu/holocausteducation 6 Old Towne Preservation www.otpa.org (714) 639-6840 20 Orange Farmers Market . . . . . . 1 303 West Palm Ave www.orangehomegrown.org F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


to 91 FREEWAY

DIGITAL ON-LINE PLAZA MAP

O RANGE P LAZA R EVIEW A DVERTISER I NDEX & MAP Orange Farmers Market

1

PALM

The Dragonfly Shops

PG

ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE

MAP

C HAPMAN U NIVERSITY

16 Rodgers Center for Holocaust Education AVENUE

15 17 Willits Real Estate Group

HEALTH, FITNESS & BEAUTY: 15 Circle City Barbers . . . . . . . . . . 4 133 West Chapman Ave (714) 453-9765 1 Orange Circle Optometry . . . . . 20 227 East Chapman Ave (714) 538-6424 1 Smiles of Orange . . . . . . . . . . . . K 743 East Chapman Ave (714) 997-5495

Orange Circle Optometry

6

PLAZA PLAZA PARK PARK

33

Rambling Rose Jewelry

32

Caliber Real Estate

31

3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING

27 Army-Navy Store PLAZA REVIEW Advertisers outside the PLAZA SQUARE RETAIL DISTRICT.

28 Antique Depot LINCOLN

30

OL

ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE

MAP

SPECIALTY RETAIL: 13 Army Navy Store . . . . . . . . . . . 27 131 South Glassell St (714) 639-7910 1 Dragonfly Shops & Gardens . . 15 260 North Glassell St (714) 289-4689 22 Johnnye Merle Gardens . . . . . 35 204 West Chapman Ave (714) 532-3041 9 Laurenly Boutique . . . . . . . . . . 11 142 North Glassell St (714) 538-7567

ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE

SA

Pacific Conservatory

D

E

KATELLA

AVE

WALNUT

AVE

Titan Automotive ST

(5 )

F

Naranjito Flamenco

G Blaze Pizza

I

Orangeland RV Park

(57) FWY

PG

Villa Ford of Orange

Welman Art Studio

ORANGEWOOD

LA VETA AVENUE

AVE

C

Guardian Roofs

MAIN

Y

B

H

29

ORANGE

FW

Shafer Plumbing

AVENUE

Knox General Insurance

N E W P O RT B E AC H

N O RT H

GARDEN GROVE (22) FWY

ALMOND

to 22 FREEWAY

D

AV E NU E

A (5 )

T

oTo

(55) FWY

STREET

b et N OW

A N

CHAPMAN

ty

N G E i s ce nt e re d

Paris

26 in a Cup

A

C ou n

RA EO

Old Towne Plumbing

Jadtec Security

ge

ORAN GE (57) FWY

we

ARTESIA / RIVERSIDE (91) FWY

N TA

Antique Station

ra n

PG

7 & 91 Fr e ew a y s , i nt 5, 5 he He ar

Real Estate Establishment

J CHAPMAN

Orange Realty

Orange Circle Antique Mall

Blaze Pizza

21

Orange City Hall

Golden Bear Antiques

23

to 55 FREEWAY

Shannon Family Mortuary

34

SOUTH GLASSELL

3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING

Summerhill Ltd.

CHAPMAN

22

Bonham Construction

fO

SA

24 Butaton Ramen

25

OLIVE STREET

LEMON STREET

CYPRESS STREET

th

5

en

e

EAST

35

Orange Main Library & History Center

20

Smiles of Orange

CHAPMAN

3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING ,5

Wells Fargo Bank

5

Country Roads Antiques Johnnye Merle Gardens

2 ,2

Citizens Business Bank

K

L

M

AVE

GARDEN

NEWPORT BEACH (55) FWY

7

Adam Guss State Farm

CENTER STREET

1886 Brewing Co

19 Matoska Trading Company

ST

8

TUSTIN

Citrus City Grille

GRAND STREET

9

ORANGE STREET

Smoqued BBQ

3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING

11 10

Jaxon’s Scratch-Made

18 Chix Tenders

ST

Old Towne Post Office

12

Reneé Jewelers

4

WEST

13

Laurenly

Byblos Cafe

Circle City Barbers

Taco Adobe to 5 & 57 FREEWAY

The White Rabbit

GLASSELL

3

O’Hara’s Pub

NORTH GLASSELL

FREE ALL DAY PARKING

to

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING

Hilbert Museum of California Art

REAL ESTATE: 10 Caliber Real Estate Group . . . . 31 134 South Glassell St (714) 988-6339 1 Orange Realty . . . . . . . . . . . . . . M 1537 East Chapman Ave (714) 997-0050 19 Real Estate Establishment . . . 21 550 East Chapman Ave (714) 744-5711 4 Willits Real Estate Group . . . . 17 229 North Glassell St (714) 315-8120 SERVICES: 29 Bonham Construction . . . . . . . 23 (949) 532-6274 19 Bear Flag Construction (949) 795-6812 www.BearFlagOC.com 13 Guardian Roofs . . . . . . . . . . . . . . I 1010 North Batavia St (714) 633-3619 7 Jadtec Security Services . . . . . A 1520 West Yale Ave (714) 282-0828 11 Knox General Insurance . . . . . 29 226 South Glassell St (714) 744-6537 29 Old Towne Plumbing . . . . . . . . 23 info@oldtowneplumbing.com (714) 213-5211 18 Shafer Plumbing Contractors . . B 1307 West Trenton Ave (714) 974-9448 15 Shannon Family Mortuary . . . . . L 1005 East Chapman Ave (714) 771-1000 11 Sign Painter - Patrick Smith (714) 282-7097 pgsmithdesign.com 18 State Farm - Adam Guss . . . . . 6 60 Plaza Square (714) 978-4200

AVENUE

14 2

GLASSELL

JEWELRY 23 Rambling Rose Jewelry . . . . . 32 118 South Glassell St (714) 538-6305 23 Renée Jewelers . . . . . . . . . . . . 10 138 North Glassell St (714) 538-1956

MAPLE

Zito’s NY Pizza

GROVE (22) FWY

FW Y

MAP

SPECIALTY RETAIL: 22 Matoska Trading Company . . . 19 123 North Glassell St (714) 516-9940 TOURISM: 22 Orangeland RV Park . . . . . . . . . H 1600 West Struck Ave (714) 633-0414

118 South Glassell St. O l d To w n e O r a n g e

714- 538-8160

PUBLISHER: Mike Escobedo Design www.OrangeReview.com September / October

2021

31


PRST STD U.S. POSTAGE

PA I D HUNT BCH, CA PERMIT 438

134 South Glassell • Orange, CA 92866

32

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W