Old Towne Orange Plaza Review | Issue 103 | May-Jun 2021

Page 1

C e l e b r a t i n g 8 Ye a r s in O l d Tow n e !

Enjoy a made-to-order Husband & Wife:

meal featuring fresh produce,

Dr. Alex Romero & Dr. Ly Nguyen C o m p r e h e n s i ve E ye C a r e

USDA premium Ranchero meats &

the season’s

freshest shrimp & fish. General & Cosmetic Dentistry

227 East Chapman Ave #C Old Towne Orange, CA 92866 / 714 - 538-6424

743 East Chapman Ave. 714-997-5495

Orange, CA 92866

www. smilesoforange .com

714.628.0633 Old Towne Orange / 11 am - 9 pm

121 North Lemon St.

OrangeReview.com Available for Private Parties

Sign up Now for

Summer Camps! dragonflyshopsandgardens.com

260 North Glassell St. Wed-Fri: 11 - 6 / Sat: 9-5 / Sun: 11- 4

Tel: 714- 289-4689

INTUITIVE BEAUTY FULL SERVICE SALON 280 N. Tustin St. • Orange 50% OFF (1) Hair Service* 15% OFF Facial or Waxing Service* * First time clients. By Appointment Only.

Jennifer H - Stylist

Molly M - Esthetician

714.766.1661

949.295.6016

Be Your Own Kind of Beautiful.

Resident Old Towne Specialist

Since 1949

Orange’s #1 Home Seller O ra n g e R e a lty .com Old To w n e O r an ge .com

714- 997-0050 x 101 •

May / June 2021

News for the Neighborhood


I N S I D E A RT : S t o r y o n p a g e 2 4

Migrant Family (1939) by George Samerjan (1915-2005)


w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

M ay / J u n e

2021

3


Professional Representation for Buyers & Sellers

Your Neighborhood Realtors Visit us at our Old Towne

Orange Location at 229 North Glassell St.

Call us today:

714-315-8120

Specializing in Orange & Surrounding Communities

Buy / Sell / Lease dougw@sevengables.com • benw @ sevengables.com 4

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

M ay / J u n e

2021

5


Since 2001

Old Towne Orange PLAZAREVIEW

From the Publisher After an uncertain and challenging year, it puts a smile on my face to see people out and about enjoying Orange and its many amenities. Most businesses have reopened and welcomed back neighbors, friends and visitors. I am as always impressed with the indomitable spirit of our city. In many ways, Orange and Old Towne have picked up where we left off prior to the pandemic. We had established the Plaza as a historic antique destination and go-to spot for fun, fashion and fine dining, and none of that has changed. We can now add the COVID-inspired Plaza Paseo to our inviting mix of hospitality. Outdoors in the Plaza, diners enjoy fresh air, good food and lively conversation. In this edition, read about businesses new to Orange. Ready to make their marks are Full Circle Meaningful Marketplace, Kiki’s Corner and O SEA (pgs. 9-11). We also share stories of longtime Orange businesses and how their courageous owners and employees persevered through the pandemic. Read the stories of CocoRose Boutique, Paris in a Cup, SunSpark Yoga (pgs. 13-15), Country Roads Antiques (pg. 28) and Carolyn Cavecche’s Orange micro-flower farm, Flowers from the Thicket (pg. 23). We’re also celebrating milestones in this issue like the 10-year anniversary of our beloved Farmers & Artisans Market and the opening of facilities designed to assist and inspire the community. These include a 60,000-square-foot mental health and wellness facility (pgs. 20-21) and an expanded Hilbert Museum of California Art. Spearheading the latter project is Chapman University’s Vice President of Campus Planning, Collette Creppell, featured starting on pg. 21. Wishing you a fantastic spring filled with fun, friends and adventures. Sincerely, Mike Escobedo 134 South Glassell St. / Orange, CA 92866 714 - 771 - 6919 Mike@OrangeReview.com

“ News For The Neighborhood ” Old Towne Orange Plaza Review © 2021 Mike Escobedo Design. All rights reserved. The material herein contained cannot be reproduced in whole or in part without the written permission of Mike Escobedo Design.

www. OrangeReview .com

6

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


Also available on-line at: www.OrangeReview.com/events

What’s Happening . . . 134 South Glassell St / Orange 92866

May/Jun 2021 Publishing Team Publisher Mike Escobedo Mike@OrangeReview.com Editor/Writer Julie Bawden-Davis julie@juliebawdendavis.com Writer Karen Anderson 123karen@earthlink.net Writer Yuki Klotz-Burwell klotz105@mail.chapman.edu Writer Melissa Pinion AuthorMelissaWhitt@gmail.com

MAY 2021 Sat / May 1 / 9 am - 1 pm Orange Home Grown 10th Anniversary Show your farmer’s market pride by dressing in the color we love, Orange!! 303 W Palm Ave / OrangeHomeGrown.org Thu / May 06 / 11:30 am Town & Gown Lunch at the Forum “How Music Affects Us” Professor Robert Becker will discuss the advantages of learning an instrument. On-Line Event events.chapman.edu/80765

Writer Mary Platt platt@chapman.edu Photographer Jeanine Hill jhillfoto@aol.com Digital Artist Clyde San Juan crookedtrails@hotmail.com Web Developer Chase Higgins chasehiggins@me.com Printed by Freedom Printing estella@freedomprinting.net Processed by Mailing Pros, Inc. MPI@MailingProsInc.com Distributed by the US Postal Services www.usps.com

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

Sat / May 15 / 1 pm Musco Center for the Arts Heartbeat of Mexico Mariachi Fest A free virtual Livestream event, connecting professional artists with the community. MuscoCenter.org Fri / May 21 / 11 am Orange Republican Woman Federated General Meeting & Luncheon Speaker: Trevor O’Neil, Anaheim Council Challenges & Solutions endured during the pandemic. $25. Reservations required. Santa Ana Elks Lodge #794 714-828-1289 / www.OrangeRWF.org

Around the Plaza

Through May 31 ALO Orange Blossoms Taste of Orange Purchase a passport & save 15% OFF your dine-in or takeout meal at participating Orange restaurants. TasteOfOrange.org JUNE 2021

!

ONGOING Every Fri / 9:30 - 11:30 am Orange Home Grown Educational Farm Volunteer Farm Friday Plant, harvest, compost, mend soil & more. All ages invited, as new volunteers are paired with seasoned volunteers to work on farm projects together. 356 North Lemon St / 714-397-4699

Jun 3 - Aug 6 / 7 am - 5:30 pm St. John’s Summer in the SON Summer Camp featuring on-site activities, special events & off-site field trips. 185 South Center St (714) 288-4431 / stjohnsorange.org

Every Sat / 8:30 am - 1 pm Orange Home Grown Farmers Market A great way to begin your day, with quality produce & fresh healthy foods. 303 West Palm / OrangeHomeGrown.org

Jun 14 - Aug 13 / 9 am - 2 pm Pacific Conservatory Arts Summer Camps Piano, Voice, Guitar, Drums, Ukulele, Arts & Comedy Improv. PacificConservatoryOC.com 714-744-2225

Every Sat / 10:15 - 11:15 am Naranjita Flamenco Absolute Beginners Classes Live-streamed, easy-to-follow instruction with Justine Grover. naranjitaflamenco.com 714-400-2939

Wed / Jun 16 / 5 - 6 pm Orange Chamber of Commerce Business Networking Group Share information about your business & hear about other local businesses. orangechamber.com / 714-538-3581

Dragonfly Shops & Gardens Monthly Workshops Including Mosaic Tiling, Kokedamas, Fairy Gardens, Baubles & more. 260 North Glassell St / 714-289-4689 www.dragonflyshopsandgardens.com

•••

M ay / J u n e

2021

7


CARRIE HALE DRE #01367554

CHARISSE OKAMOTO DRE #01865682

“Carrie & Charisse went above and beyond my expectations of selling and buying my house. My experience with Charisse was a very good one. She made me feel confident and informed. I will have her represent me again with future purchases.”

Amazing Real Estate Agent. “Carrie & Charisse helped my family get a great price on our condo and helped us purchase a bigger place for my family. They made the whole experience seamless. They are exceptional agents, and their clients stay loyal to them.” La Veta Seller/Buyer

North Ranchroad Buyer

Carrie & Charisse are the Best!!! “I had a great experience working with Charisse and the team on the sale of my condo unit. The process was so easy. My wife and I met with Charisse to build out a marketing plan. Three weeks later we put our unit on the market, and three days later we had an offer at our listing price. Then the deal closed in three weeks.” Walnut Seller

If you like working with the best... “When listing our home, we shopped several agents before Carrie & Charisse were recommended to us. Charisse and her team are the culmination of professionalism, market knowledge, and strategy. They utilize market data, strategize on the best path forward, are extremely communicative, and understand their client’s needs better than anyone we have worked with. Save yourself time and work with Carrie & Charisse and their team....seriously, don’t even bother looking elsewhere.” Wilson Seller

info@CaliberRE.net 128 South Glassell St, Orange, CA 92866 DRE #02070212 8

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


NEW TO THE NEIGHBORHOOD

Filled with Adventure by Yuki Klotz-Burwell

As local restrictions lift and the community makes its way to safety, Orange is ready for a summer filled with adventure. Kickoff the warm season by shopping for a new outfit at Full Circle Meaningful Marketplace, grabbing an iced latte at Kiki’s Corner or trying fresh seafood at O SEA. The new businesses here are delighted to jumpstart their connections to Orange and are ready to help customers find their new favorite destinations.

Full Circle Meaningful Marketplace If you’re looking for a creative and trendy way to give back this summer, stop by Full Circle Meaningful Marketplace, a cause-driven retail store with all proceeds supporting local youth. Full Circle initially opened as a pop-up shop in March, but after its overwhelming success in the community, it will stay in the Plaza location for another year. The marketplace was created by The HUB OC, an Orange nonprofit that partnered with Friends Church to receive donations and other items. Holiday Zimmerman, who founded The HUB and manages Full Circle, is looking forward to running the store and contributing to the Orange community. “I love empowering people to be all that they’re created to be,” she says. “We really want to see nonprofits in Orange be able to build unity and be self-sufficient.” All proceeds from the marketplace benefit the Youth Centers of Orange, a nonprofit that provides safe after-school care, mentorship and leadership skills to children in Orange. At Full Circle, shoppers can find new and gently used clothing, accessories, home goods and art. Zimmerman wants to promote young, local artisans just starting to sell their crafts, like entrepreneurs with handcrafted cheese boards and artists with original jewelry.

“We wanted to set up a store that empowers everyone,” says Zimmerman. “The market is holistic and organic, and a light in the city of Orange.” As residents and longtime supporters of Orange, the Full Circle Meaningful Marketplace team is passionate about focusing their efforts on causes based in the city. Their new goal is to raise $120,000 for the Youth Centers of Orange. “I love the fact that our profits all stay within the Orange community and help the most vulnerable,” says

We Sincerely “Thank You” Our Amazing Customers for Your Loyal Suppor t!

www. B y b l o s O r a n ge .com

129 West Chapman Ave. / 714.538.7180 Open Wed-Sat: 8 am - 9 pm

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

Holiday Zimmerman (front), who manages Full Circle Meaningful Marketplace, stands with team members (from left) Heidi Dillard, Tammy McMullen, Tricia McKee, Joy Ellis, Lisa Stoughton and Sophia Lee. The shop is stocked with new and used items, as well as original pieces. Zimmerman invites budding artists and young entrepreneurs to showcase their products.

Tammy McMullen, Local Outreach Director for The HUB OC. “We want everyone who walks in the store to know they’re part of the Full Circle family, and every dollar they spend goes straight back to help kids in Orange.” For those looking to get involved with Full Circle, Zimmerman recommends shopping at the

store or donating gently used items. They’re also looking for volunteers to help engage with customers and other general marketplace operations. “This is the time and season where we want to showcase people doing good,” says Zimmerman. “We want the store to be a happy, fun and empowering place.”

Full Circle Meaningful Marketplace 140 South Glassell St / 909-929-1390 / FullCircleOrange.com

Big Enough to Provide the Capacity Needed FAMILY OWNED & OPERATED

Small Enough to Assure Individual Attention

Young Enough to Use New Ideas

Old Enough to Have Profited by Experience

BUSINESS INSURANCE SPECIALISTS

• Commercial Truck • General Contractor • Business Liability • Workers Comp • Home • Auto Serving you in Old Towne Orange since 1980 226 SOUTH GLASSELL STREET, ORANGE, CALIFORNIA 92866 WWW.KGIBINC.COM LIC. NO. 0F00752 T 714.744.3300 F 714.744.6537 M ay / J u n e

2021

9


Filled with

NEW TO THE

Adventure CONT. FROM PAGE 9

Kiki’s Corner If you’re in need of a new place to grab your morning brew and baked goods, Kiki’s Corner has a handle on all things breakfast. Located in the iconic Watson’s Soda Fountain & Cafe, Kiki’s Corner has expanded and rebranded from the previous Rockwell’s Bakery. The eatery still serves Rockwell’s pastries, but widened its menu to bring in espresso, handcrafted lattes and other signature coffee drinks. Kendyl Skeffington, daughter of Watson’s owners Billy and Laurie Skeffington, developed the coffee shop’s vision and is managing the new business. She studied public relations and communications in college before working in the fashion industry, but as a self-proclaimed coffee lover and morning person, she’s eager to jumpstart the new venture. “I want to keep the menu fresh and creative, and it makes me proud to be an owner and follow in my parents’ footsteps,” says Kendyl, who never pictured herself in the business world. But when she got the opportunity to revamp the bakery at Watson’s and add a coffee shop, she saw it as a place to expand her creativity and innovation. “If you would have told me I would be managing a coffee shop a few years ago, I wouldn’t have believed you,” she says. “But seeing all the creativity I can put into Kiki’s Corner and all the love I can get from it is amazing.” Kendyl and the Kiki’s Corner team hope to stand out from

Kendyl Skeffington, owner of Kiki’s Corner, is proud to bring sweet treats to Orange residents. The bakery and coffee shop also serves organic tea and espresso, and Kendyl is proud to include sustainable ingredients on the menu.

other local bakeries by providing delicious alternatives for customers with food and diet sensitivities. In addition to classic Rockwell’s pastries like croissants, bear claws and cinnamon rolls, Kiki’s Corner has daily gluten-free, keto and paleo specials, including keto donuts and grain and gluten-free muffins. “All of our paleo items sell out really quickly, and we’re constantly having to restock,” says Kendyl. “I love being able to implement

healthy, yummy, handcrafted pastries that taste good and make you feel good.” Kiki’s Corner is primarily a coffee shop, and the Watson’s team is thrilled to finally have espresso on the menu. Customers

Over 40 Years of Experience! • • • • • • • • •

Kiki’s Corner 116 East Chapman Ave / 714-202-2899 / KikisCorner.cafe

Keep’n it Fun-ky! CLOTHING, JEWELRY, HATS, BELTS, SCARVES, PURSES & SHOES

T

purchase of any single item.

E H

AUTOMOTIVE (EST. 1976)

ONE COUPON PER CUSTOMER. VALID UNTIL JUNE 30.

939 W. Chapman Ave.

----

Tag, Like & Follow Us on IG & FB @ TheWhiteRabbitOC

146 Nor th Glassell St ( 949 ) 922-0009 10

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

Computer Diagnostics Brakes • Electrical Suspension 4-Wheel Alignment Fuel Injection Smog Certificate Factory Scheduled Maintenance Foreign & Domestic . . .

T I TA N

ITE RA WH BB IT

$5 OFF your first clothing

can choose from typical espressobased drinks like a flat white, or try a specialty drink like the honey cinnamon latte or the black cow mocha, filled with espresso and offered in chocolate and vanilla flavoring. “People ask all the time for cappuccinos and lattes, and now they’re so excited that we can offer those drinks,” says Laurie. “We needed to be more modernized, and it’s already really popular.” Since Kiki’s Corner is located inside Watson’s, customers will also be able to order coffee and pastries delivered to their table at the diner. The coffee shop also has its own indoor seating and an outside grab-and-go counter. Although the eatery has only been open for a few months, Kendyl has big plans to expand Kiki’s Corner and offer more experiences to customers. Her next venture is bringing housemade oat milk and almond milk to the menu as dairy alternatives. She also wants to work with Watson’s to create coffee cocktails, like a classic espresso martini. “Our aim is creating a charming space that brings people together where they can slow down from their daily routines and be transported to another era,” says Kendyl.

(at Batavia St.)

Orange, CA 92868 O w n e r M I K E F RY is Ready to Help!

714- 997-2311 F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


NEIGHBORHOOD

O SEA Orange is reeling in a new establishment with a fresh cuisine this summer: O SEA, a fine-casual restaurant that serves high-quality, affordable and responsibly sourced seafood is set to open at the end of May. O SEA Owner and Founder Mike Flynn, an Orange County native who graduated from Mater Dei High School in Santa Ana, kickstarted his passion for seafood after taking a summer job at Fish Camp, a Huntington Beach-based restaurant. Although he had planned to become an attorney, that summer job shifted his entire plan. “I had this lightning bolt moment and fell in love with the industry,” says Flynn. “On day one, I caught the proverbial bug.” After that summer, Flynn was hooked. He immediately made a plan for his future and set a list of goals for himself to stay in the seafood industry. His biggest goal was to open his own restaurant in Orange County to take care of his family and friends. Now, Flynn’s dream is finally becoming reality. O SEA is set to open in late May, bringing fine-casual dining to the Plaza. The menu centers around fresh seafood, shying away from the

O SEA Owner Mike Flynn (left) and Executive Chef David Yamaguchi toast to their restaurant’s summer opening. The O SEA menu is filled with eclectic and refreshing wines that are specifically made to complement the unique menu offerings.

traditional East Coast ideals of the cuisine—instead taking a contemporary approach emphasizing the seasonality and diversity of California cooking.

On the menu, you’ll find an udon noodle bowl with scallops, burrata cheese with spicy salsa macha, and Flynn’s summer favorite, a seasonally rotating dish that starts off with the Mexicali plate, featuring fresh fish, fire-roasted sweetcorn and cilantro pesto. “I’m really proud of the seasonal component we’ve built into the menu,” he says. “The restaurant and menu is very much a reflection of my background and my chef’s 109 South Glassell St /

background, and where we want to see seafood go, not just where it’s been.” To keep up with the seasonal ingredients, O SEA is partnering with Orange Homegrown in selling a weekend special with products grown in the nearby Orange Homegrown Education Farm. Executive Chef David Yamaguchi shares Flynn’s vision of a dynamic and original menu. He drew culinary inspiration from his family background; his father is Japanese, and his mother is Hispanic. “I went to my grandparents’ houses on both sides, and they were always cooking, so I got to see both sides. They’re very different but complementary,” says Yamaguchi. “For example, the texture of seaweed is similar to nopales, or cactus.” Yamaguchi finds it refreshing to work with more than just the basics of shrimp and fish, and he loves the fresh menu offerings like ceviche in coconut leche de tigre and steamed salt spring mussels in pho broth. Flynn and Yamaguchi are also proud to share that their seafood products are all responsibly sourced as a part of their mission of serving ‘Seafood for Thought.’ “The level of care and attention that we take for our products is one of the most important parts of the concept to me,” says Flynn. “I see myself as a product of my generation, and as a business, it’s important to consider how our choices impact the next generation.” O SEA 714-363-3309 / EatOSEA.com

Solving Plumbing Problems for Our Valued Customers throughout Orange County since 1989 COMMERCIAL • INDUSTRIAL • RESIDENTIAL

Let Us Solve Your Roofing Problems

Call for Free Estimate

“Our Integrity is Our Promise”

714­974­9448

• Neat, Clean, Professional • New Roof • Roof Repair • Roof Certification

www.ShaferPlumbing.com

Call today for a Free Estimate: www.GuardianRoofs .com

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

Lic.847279, B1 & C39

714-633-3619

Family Owned & Operated

S E W E R • WAT E R • G A S P L U M B I N G

1307 West Trenton Ave Orange, CA 92867 M ay / J u n e

2021

11


12

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


KNOW THE NEIGHBORS

Moving Forward in Old Like most Old Towne businesses, Courtney Colleary’s CocoRose Boutique flourishes on the pedestrian foot traffic along North Glassell Street–in this case, shoppers attracted by the latest fashions on display inviting them to step inside. So, what happens when mandates imposed to help slow a pandemic force your storefront to close for what turned out to be 110-plus days? You pivot, shifting from in-person shopping to fulfilling online sales via curbside pickup or the mail. There also were the matters of re-evaluating return policies, dealing with suppliers confronted with delivery problems of their own and an assortment of other issues. “It was definitely a roller coaster every day. You’re trying to please everyone, and at the same time trying to juggle and figure out everything on the back end,” recalls Colleary, who launched CocoRose in her hometown in 2013. “This store is my livelihood. Closing it was not even an option.” The store’s Instagram– @cocorosecollective–proved to be invaluable, says Jackie Gold, who started working at the boutique three years ago.

As we continue working our way through the coronavirus pandemic, the past year-plus certainly has been unlike any other with challenges that few could have predicted. We recently caught up with the owners of CocoRose Boutique, Paris in a Cup Tea Salon & Café and SunSpark Yoga to learn how they managed to keep their businesses afloat and also for a preview of their strategies as we all move forward.

“It’s a great way to communicate with the community,” she adds. “We’ll post try-on videos when new clothing arrives, showing what it looks like and how it feels. It helps build personal relationships with our customers.” While the majority of CocoRose fans are locals, the online presence has attracted customers from around the country, and even a few who live overseas. On the other side of the coin, this past year went on without several events that help drive business, including the Coachella and Stagecoach music festivals and sorority happenings at Chapman and other universities. And while those cancellations resulted in “massive” financial hits to her business, Colleary says she was touched by an outpouring of community support. “If people had the means to help, they would,” she says. “They came out of the woodwork to buy gift cards because they knew a purchase like that would make a difference. It was amazing.” Another important development was the start of the Orange Plaza Paseo, which opened large sections of Glassell for an alfresco dining experience and brought prospective shoppers to the area. “That was an absolute gamechanger,” Colleary says. “This past year was tough, but going forward I have a little more hope in terms of the business and the community.”

PHOTO BY JACK GOLD, COURTESY OF COURTNEY COLLEARY

CocoRose Boutique

Towne

Courtney Colleary says there were a couple times last year when she thought events would force her to close CocoRose Boutique. “But then there would be a really good weekend in sales, and I would think to keep going a little longer. It was a hard roller coaster to ride.”

CocoRose Boutique 160 North Glassell St / 714-383-3884 / CocoRoseBoutique.com

Featuring • V INTAGE • C OLLECTABLE • • F URNITURE • R ECORDS • • J EWELRY • A RT G LASS • • R OCK & R OLL T - S HIRTS • & MORE ! “Located in Old Towne Orange.”

208 East Chapman Ave Old Towne Orange , CA 92866 OPEN WED-SUN: 11 AM - 5 PM

(714)

363-3996

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

M ay / J u n e

2021

13


KNOW THE NEIGHBORS

Moving Forward in

Old Towne The team at Paris in a Cup Tea Salon & Café–Brandee, Courtney, Andrew, Gabe, Caitlin, Kat, David, from left; and Cheryl, seated–works to create a French-themed experience for their guests.

CONT. FROM PAGE 13

Paris in a Cup Tea Salon & Café After 13 years of welcoming countless guests to Paris in a Cup Tea Salon & Café–the beautifully decorated French-themed destination serving sandwiches, soups and specialty desserts like scones and crème brûlée–Cheryl Turner was ready to call it quits. With months of back-andforth restrictions put in place to slow the spread of COVID-19, Turner says the entire experience wasn’t easy. And in December, when the state imposed another wide-ranging shutdown, it was a particular challenge because the action forced her to contact 400 people who had reservations for Christmas teas. Instead of serving the delights on-site, staff packaged everything up, and tied each box with ribbon for the would-be guests to pick up. “Some of them posted photos on social media so we could see them enjoying the food,” says Turner, 71, who has been in business in Old Towne since 1993, when she purchased Someplace in Time, an antique mall with a tearoom. “If it were not for their support, it would have been a catastrophe.” While heartened by the kind gestures, Turner considered retiring.

IN THE ORANGE CIRCLE ANTIQUE MALL

In stepped her daughter, Brandee Youngdahl, who believed she could make everything work with the support of those many loyal customers. “For them, we really needed to give it one more shot, and not say, ‘We’re done.’”

Her predictions were realized in early April. After restaurants, gyms and other businesses in the state received the OK to return to indoor activities, Paris in a Cup announced on its website a special afternoon tea–and it sold out within 48 hours.

More offerings are being planned, including a Mother’s Day tea and evening teas on the Orange Plaza Paseo, which were a hit last summer. And Youngdahl hopes to expand the days of operation for Paris in a Cup, which for now is open Friday-Sunday. Turner, who plans to assist during special events, says a major take-away from the past year has been how much she missed personal interactions. “A lot of customers have become friends, almost family, and we liked to hug when we saw each other,” she says. “I’ve really missed the whole human contact. I’ll be thankful when we can get back to that.” As for Youngdahl, if there’s one word that describes what’s ahead, it’s “hopeful.” “Our customers enjoy coming here because they can sit and enjoy a nice, relaxing time with their friends or family,” she says. “We provide a semblance of normalcy, and everybody is hopeful they can get back to that.”

Paris in a Cup Tea Salon & Café 119 South Glassell St / 714-538-9411 / ParisInACup.com / ParisInACupTeaSalon.com

Professional Property Management • Thorough Tenant Screening • On-line Payments & Disbursements • Improve Property Value • 24 Hr Emergency Service for Tenants

Real Estate Sales & Investments

Vintage Platinum & Gold Jewelry BUY / SELL / TRADE

118 South Glassell St

Old Towne Orange, CA 92866

714-538-6305

• Residential, Commercial, Industrial, Land Sales • Investment Strategies • 40 Years in Business Find us on:

714- 744-5711 www. RealEstateEstablishment .com

w w w. R a m b l i n g R o s e . n e t

Home of the 18 Month Layaway 14

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

550 East Chapman Ave, Suite B, Orange, CA 92866 F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


SunSpark Yoga Yoga, Pilates and meditation may be perfect remedies for the stressors brought on by dealing with the coronavirus pandemic. Owners of SunSpark Yoga, Stacey and Ernie Schuerman, have been teaching those cures to clients at their South Olive Street studio since 2012. “We’re always going to have issues and distractions come our way, and it’s a matter of how we react, adjust and adapt to them,” says Stacey, who started practicing yoga a decade earlier. The Schuermans, like others, have certainly had many chal-

“The biggest challenge this past year was keeping our community together,” says Ernie Schuerman, with his wife Stacey at SunSpark Yoga’s outdoor space in front of the Orange Circle Antique Mall. “To us, the community we built is equal to the practice of yoga."

lenges come their way since early March 2020, when they voluntarily closed their cozy studio space five days before state mandates shut countless other businesses. They quickly shifted in-person classes to online. “Instead of competing with three other local studios, we were competing with 10,000 studios all across the country that were streaming on Zoom, Instagram and Facebook,” Ernie recalls. “For us, we looked at it as a way to keep our people together.”

During the intervening time, they adapted their business in other ways, including holding smaller in-person sessions outdoors at Hart and Killefer parks, on the patio of the Orange Woman’s Club and, most recently, on a specially built wooden stage–constructed by the couple, their friends and family–in front of the Orange Circle Antique Mall. They also did a five-week residency outdoors at the Segerstrom Center.

“As weeks turned into months, and the months turned into more than a year, it was certainly challenging to pivot to other revenue streams,” Ernie says. Both were heartened by the generosity of clients who continued making their automated monthly payments, in addition to Paycheck Protection Program loans, a GoFundMe and grants. “That all helped us make it through to the other side,” Ernie says. In early April, the Schuermans were able to re-open their studio for indoor classes. They also plan to continue offering sessions outdoors on the deck, for clients who prefer that option. And, they have an in-person outdoor event on May 14 at Bowers Museum in Santa Ana. (Sign up at bowers.org.) Despite the difficulties, closing SunSpark Yoga was never an option. “I don’t know if we’re stupid or stubborn, but we worked too hard to let this go,” Ernie says. “We’re proud of it and our community. It would have been tragic to give up, so we kept fighting.” Adds Stacey: “As far as a job or a career goes, this is the longest either of us has done anything. I can’t imagine doing anything else.”

SunSpark Yoga 139 South Olive St / 714-786-5994 / SunSparkYoga.com

Professional, personalized funeral & cremation services; advance planning available.

Renée Jewelers Family Owned & Operated Since 1933

ShannonFamilyMortuary.com 1005 East Chapman Ave. Old Towne Orange, CA 92866

714.771.1000 FD #1772

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

Specializing in Custom Designed Jewelry, Birthstone Rings, Pendants & More! Visit our ETSY store at “summerhillantiques ”

Vintage Chandeliers • Furniture • Mirrors • Lamps Custom Lampshades & Upholstery Services • Sconces Interior Design Services Available • www.Summerhill.com 110 South Glassell St / Old Towne Orange / 714-771-7782

Sharing the Love for 41 Years 138 North Glassell • Orange, CA 714-538-1956 Layaways Welcome / Cash, Check, Charge DESIGN & REPAIRS BY PERRY PACE

BIRTHSTONES:

May - Emerald / June - Pearl

M ay / J u n e

2021

15


O RANGE

P ROPERTY

The Penns removed their front lawn in early 2018 and replaced it with beautiful edible landscaping that includes vegetables beds, herb gardens and thriving fruit trees.

Written by Karen Anderson Photos by Jeanine Hill: jhillphoto.com

Orange Home

T

There’s no place like Orange for Megan and Travis Penn, whose house, work and lifestyle epitomize the “Orange Home Grown” spirit. An Orange native, Megan is Co-founder and Executive Director of the Orange Home Grown Foundation that operates the weekly Orange Home Grown Farmers & Artisans Market, established in 2011. Originally from Bellflower, Travis works in the aerospace industry. Together, the couple has recently completed a beautiful remodel of their

early-1950s ranch-style house they purchased in 2008 just outside of Old Towne. Megan—who worked for almost 13 years as a senior planner at an architectural firm in Irvine—knew exactly how to design, organize and oversee the remodel of their own home. She also inherited her instinct for beautiful interiors from her mother, a professional interior designer. The home’s vintage architecture was a natural fit for the concept they envisioned. “I have always dreamed of liv-

Grown

ing in a modern, farmhouse-style home, and it was an easy transition to achieve with this house,” says Megan. “We didn’t touch the original elevation but we did add features like a metal roof and board-and-batten siding. Downstairs, we eliminated some of the walls and transformed the interior into an open concept. Unfortunately, we had to gut the original fireplace because it was right in the middle of the house. I was sad to see it go.” Built in 1952, the home previously totaled 1,700 square feet

when Megan and Travis purchased it from the original owners (who also owned the landmark Palm Market in Old Towne). The house then only had two bedrooms and two bathrooms. With three small children, Megan and Travis eventually decided they needed more space to accommodate their growing family. In 2019, they added a second story that expanded the home to a total of 2,600 square feet. The addition took six months to complete and features a total of four bedrooms and three full baths.

ELECTRONIC FILING / FAST REFUND

H & H Income Tax $25 OFF

with this ad.

&

Insurance

ANA Y CATALINA INCOME TAX SINCE 1983

480 South Glassell St Orange, CA 92866 Corner of La Veta & Glassell

(714) 16

118 South Glassell St. O l d To w n e O r a n g e

714- 538-8160

288-2088

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


Travis and Megan are pictured here in the living room with their three young children. The recently completed additions to the home accommodate their growing family.

When remodeling their vintage ranch-style home, the Penns opened up the entire downstairs space to create a contemporary, open floor plan. “We spend most of our time as a family either outside, or in our downstairs great room,” says Megan.

Outdoor dining takes place in the front yard, which teems with flowers, fruit trees and foliage.

our son has the second bedroom upstairs next to our master suite. Our master wing is spacious, like an oasis.” In creating the second story, the couple situated the new addition so that it would push back 15 feet from the original first story on the front elevation, creating a sense of depth and avoiding the appearance of one big box. French doors open to the backyard, which features edible landscaping, avocado and citrus trees, and heritage rose bushes that are at least 50 years old. There’s also an outdoor seat-

Although the couple had briefly contemplated moving to a larger home rather than expanding, it was their love of the neighborhood that actually prompted their decision to “bloom where they were planted.” “We knew that our Orange home would be our forever home, especially because we have such wonderful neighbors here,” says Megan. “We wanted to maintain the original footprint of the home and the yard. Our two young girls now occupy the original master bedroom, while

ing area with a stand-alone fire pit, outdoor sofa and barbecue. The showplace of the house, the kitchen was entirely remodeled by Travis and Megan’s father seven years ago. “The kitchen has an open concept,” says Travis. “We tried to save the original wood floor but it wasn’t possible. We replaced it with flooring that replicates distressed barn wood. We had the stairs done in oak and stained them to match. The simplicity of the kitchen is really appealing to us. It feels so much bigger just by how we configured it. The kitchen

is a central gathering place that makes it fun for entertaining, and for watching the kids.” Travis also built a chicken coop for their family hens. Like their house, the coop has an upstairs addition as well. “We currently have one Australorp chicken and four Button quails,” says Megan. “The mama chicken lays one egg at least every other day. We have been pickling the Button quail eggs, which are small like the size of an olive.” CONTINUED ON PAGE 18

AUTO / HOME / UMBRELLA / LIFE / HEALTH / BUSINESS / WORKERS COMP

Visit Us in Old Towne for a Free Comparative Quote, and Receive a $20 Gift Card.

www. AdamGuss .com In the Heart of the Historic Orange Plaza.

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

to 55 Fwy

to 22 Fwy

Orange, CA 92866 (714) 978-4200

East Chapman to 57 Fwy

South Glassell

60 Plaza Square #200

See our overwhelmingly positive reviews on

to Chapman U

The most comprehensive policy for Historic homes.

License #0G50204

M ay / J u n e

2021

17


Megan designed the spacious upstairs closet featuring shelves and practical cabinets that make it easy to find things.

Orange Home “Homegrown” is the operative word in Megan’s life, both at home and at work. As Orange Home Grown’s Executive Director, Megan has witnessed the incredible growth of the organization over the last decade. Its non-profit foundation also operates an active

18

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

Grown

Adding a splash of color to the master bedroom, the vibrant yellow end tables belonged to Megan’s grandmother. CONT. FROM PAGE 17

Education Farm on property leased from Chapman University, in addition to the weekly farmers market located at 303 West Palm Ave. Fruits, vegetables, flowers and herbs are grown at the education farm by community volunteers, and free education classes are

offered throughout the year. Orange Home Grown also hosts a food literacy program, scholarship program, seed-lending library (in partnership with the Orange Public Library Foundation) and farm-to-table dinners. It comes as no surprise, there-

fore, that Megan and Travis also grow their own fruits and vegetables in their front yard. Enclosed by a hog wire fence designed and installed by Travis, their entire front yard is “all-edible,” showcasing raised vegetable beds built by Travis, watered with drip irri-

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


O RANGE

P ROPERTY

The gorgeous master bathroom features dual sinks, custom cabinetry and concrete tiles. “The tiles are soft and very porous,” said Megan. “They feel great to walk on.”

gartion, plus colorful sunflowers, poppies and salvias. All of their irrigation is drip. They also have compost bins right in their front yard. Their many fruit trees produce apricots, white peaches, plums, pluots and nectarines. Thriving citrus trees also grow

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

along the side of the house. Megan and Travis enjoy frequenting the antique shops of Old Towne, where they’ve purchased furniture, accessories and vintage kitchen items. They love the homegrown feeling of their neighborhood, house and yard.

“I grew up in this sweet city of Orange, so it’s fun to incorporate Old Towne into our home,” says Megan. “It’s the people, however, that make our community so wonderful. I have friends here whom I’ve known since grade school, and business owners we

Travis kicks back on the back patio where he ponders future projects as the kids play in the backyard.

visit often. We love sitting on the porch with our neighbors while enjoying a glass of wine. Orange is a big city with a small-town charm. It’s an incredibly special place to raise a family, and we feel fortunate to be a part of it.”

M ay / J u n e

2021

19


JOHNNYE MERLE’S GARDENS

TALK OF THE TOWNE

by Melissa Pinion

PHOTO PROVIDED BY IDEA HALL C/O BE WELL OC

60,000-Square-Foot Mental Health

Summer is Coming

...does your Garden have its ‘Beach Body’ yet? by Brande Jackson

The hours left in the school year are winding down, while the days are noticeably longer, and stores are already selling July 4th decorations. That can only mean one thing: summer is near! What does that mean for you and your garden? We’ve got a few tips on how to prepare for summer below. 1. Take advantage of that June gloom! Those overcast May and June mornings are PERFECT for getting your garden game on. Use that weather to prune, plant and get the heavy work done. Yes, you’ll feel better not laboring under a blazing sun, but what really matters is that you won’t be stressing out your plants, either. Get prepared early in the season, before the weather warms up. 2. Toughen up that garden! Prune before the hottest days of summer hit, and try to plant as early in the season as you can (though you can certainly plant year-round). Pull the weeds, throw down a layer of mulch (we like shredded bark the best), and start to do what is known as “deep watering.” This basically involves soaking your garden on a more infrequent basis. This will help it acclimate to hotter and dyer conditions. It doesn’t mean you won’t have to water in the heat of summer—you will—but deep watering encourages deeper root growth and ensures that water penetrates the top layer of soil, which is what you want. 3. Release the bugs! We like to release ladybugs into the garden around this time of year, as they help with aphids and other pests that begin to proliferate in summer months. While you’re at it, be sure to keep an eye out for mosquitos—they were bad last year! There are organic options for treating them. There are some geraniums you can plant that act as natural repellants. Also, be sure to treat any water features you have in your garden as a precaution. 4. Throw up some shade! Provide some temporary shade to the hottest parts of your garden during the summer. Even plants that are meant for full sun can get damaged when it’s really crazy hot. Pick up some market umbrellas and stagger them around your yard, or find some cool looking tapestries and tie them up as temporary shade cloth. You don’t need to construct anything permanent, nor does it need to be expensive, but temporarily shading parts of your garden during the hottest days of the year can go a long way towards keeping your plants healthy and happy. To figure out where your garden could use a “shade break,” look for plants that are wilting or looking kinda crispy when it’s hot, even after a good watering. Those are the ones that probably need it. 5. Get planting! There are all sorts of plants that thrive in the summer months. Salvias, sunflowers, succulents….and those are just the “S” plants! Veggies to plant this time of year include squash, corn, eggplant, tomatoes, swiss chard, pumpkin, most melons and cucumbers. Get growing! Late spring and summer is a fine time for getting outside and playing in your garden. Just take a few steps to get prepared, and you can enjoy your yard all season long!

At least one in three Californians has suffered from anxiety or depression during the pandemic, according to a study by the Kaiser Family Foundation. That number jumped to more than 40 percent nationwide in a December survey by the U.S. Census Bureau. But there’s a new organization in Orange that wants to help people suffering from these challenges. It’s called Be Well OC, a state-of-the-art facility that opened January 25 at 265 Anita Dr. The campus provides services by referral for all Orange County residents with mental health and substance abuse disorders. The county needed such a facility, says Be Well CEO Marshall Moncrief. Of the roughly 50,000 annual emergency room visits related to mental health in Orange County, around 80 percent

would be better served in a facility dedicated to mental health and substance abuse. “While we do not have current data on emergency department visits related to COVID-19, we do know the uncertainties associated with COVID-19 have triggered mental health needs in our community, and the pandemic has created a greater need for mental health services in general,” Moncrief says. Be Well OC is not a walk-in facility. Clients will instead be brought in by law enforcement or ambulance. They will be assessed by staff and receive immediate treatment and a plan for their next level of care, Moncrief says. Be Well primarily treats adults, but also provides limited services to children on-site and through partnerships with Children’s Hospital of Orange County and other com-

Shop with Us for the Best Selection In Town!

155 South Glassell

178 South Glassell

Open Daily 10 am - 6 pm

Open Daily 9:30am - 5:30pm

714-516-1731

714-633-3934

Previously published in the “May/Jun 2019” edition of the Old Towne Orange Plaza Review.

Brande Jackson is the owner of Johnnye Merle’s Gardens, located in Country Roads Antiques in Old Towne Orange at 204 West Chapman Ave. www.purtyplants.com. She can be reached at brande@johnnyemerles.com. She is also a teacher, and offers classes on art, creativity and gardening. www.brandejackson.com. 20

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

2 Stores / 100’s of Dealers / 1,000’s of Antiques F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


Building Character

and Wellness Facility

Opens in Orange! munity-based organizations. The Orange County Board of Supervisors began developing the Be Well OC concept in 2015 while examining the need for behavioral health services in the region. Around 20 percent of county residents experience mental health disorders every year, and the county has seen an eight percent increase in mental illness in the last three years, Moncrief says. Supervisors committed $16.6 million to the project, with additional investments from CalOptima, Kaiser Permanente, Hoag Presbyterian, Memorial Care and Providence St. Joseph Health. Supervisor Andrew Do says that Be Well OC will serve as a cornerstone in building a worldclass system of mental health care for the county. “COVID-19 has certainly exacerbated mental health struggles within our community, and I am deeply honored to be part of the ongoing endeavor to help ensure Orange County provides vital care to those who need it most,” Do says. The Anita Drive location is the first of three planned campuses. It includes a crisis stabilization center for mental health needs, adult residential treatment and a “sobering center” that provides a safe environment for intoxicated people to recover. There are 93

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

beds and capacity to treat about 100 people per day. Be Well teamed up with numerous organizations to provide mental health and substance abuse services, including Exodus Recovery, Telecare and the National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI). City of Orange Mayor Mark Murphy says that Be Well OC illustrates the power of partnerships. “This first Be Well campus is a significant stride forward in providing help to those who have nowhere else to turn,” Murphy says. The facility—the equivalent of an urgent care center for mental health and substance abuse needs—will help ER doctors refocus on physical health emergencies. And it will give people suffering from mental health and substance abuse crises immediate access to the right care. “No single organization, or even sector, can solve the pervasive challenge of mental health and substance use disorders alone, but Be Well OC can be part of the solution,” Moncrief says. Orange County residents experiencing mental health or substance abuse concerns may use NAMI’s 24-hour “Warm Line” for assistance at 877-9109276 or online at namioc.org/ocwarmline. Learn more about Be Well OC at bewelloc.org

Collette Creppell by Julie Bawden-Davis

As often happens with successful professionals, a thread tends to run through their lives tying all the pieces together. In Collette Creppell’s case, that thread is creating a sense of place within communities. Chapman University’s Vice President of Campus Planning and Design has accomplished that objective during a career spanning more than three decades as an architect and urban planner. Foundations For Creppell, her affinity to the importance of connectivity of public spaces started at a young age. She was born in Northern California the daughter of an Air Force fighter pilot. The family was stationed in various areas of the U.S. and internationally. That experience of living in many locations—all with their unique sense of place—gave Creppell the foundations for the work she has done, including as University Architect at Brown University in Rhode Island and University Architect and Director of Campus Planning for Tulane University in New Orleans. “My first years of school were spent in the Netherlands speaking Dutch and living in a tiny town,” says Creppell, whose mother insisted on living off base so that the family could fully experience each location. “From there we moved to another little town in Northern Texas.” Her family settling down in her mother’s hometown of New Orleans, Creppell did neighborhood planning for the Mayor’s Office of Planning even during high school. “It was an early commitment to the idea of places,” says Creppell. “I helped gather information, survey and write neighborhood profiles for the 72 neighborhoods of New Orleans.” She would later serve as the Executive Director of the New Orleans City Planning Commission, as well as spend eight out of 10 years at Tulane University rebuilding and renewing after Katrina. CONTINUED ON PAGE 22

M ay / J u n e

2021

21


GARDEN CLIPPINGS

CONTINUED ON PAGE 28

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

www.jhillphoto.com

Flowers from the Thicket

/

When it came time for college, architecture was the obvious choice. Creppell holds a Bachelor of Arts degree, cum laude, from Harvard College and a Master of Architecture degree with distinction from the Harvard University Graduate School of Design. Storied Career Creppell has traveled extensively and lived in locations internationally and nationally, including training in the architecture firm of Pritzker Prize winner Rafael Moneo in Spain. “The peripatetic life I’ve had has given me a rich storehouse of references on campuses, neighborhoods and cities,” says Creppell, also a city planner in New York City for a time. “My professional life is an interwoven set of passions for planning and architecture for public spaces. I am grateful to have a rich quilt of places from which to draw.” For Creppell, the experience of rebuilding at Tulane was satisfying. “It wasn’t a matter of replicating what was once there, but more about revisioning, rebuilding and awakening to opportunity. When you’re confronted by a crisis and shaken out of what you’ve been doing, you come to know there is no going back. So, you focus on building something stronger and better for the future based on lessons learned.” One project at Tulane University that Creppell is especially proud of is McAlister Place. Now a pedestrian walk and the “central spine” of the university, prior to Katrina it was a roadway. “That location was essentially the living room of the campus, so we decided to make it a broad campus pedestrian walk and close it to traffic,” she says. “Though the project was among the most modest in expenditure, it was one of the most transformational for the campus. Even former skeptics became fans.” Coming to Chapman When she had the opportunity to join Chapman as the Vice President of Campus Planning and Design, the move seemed a natural one for Creppell. “What engaging spaces, embraced by appealing architecture. At Chapman, you get this wonderful sense of the interlacing of the campus with the historic neighborhood. The second I saw the university and surrounding community on Google Earth, I was intrigued and wanted to come here. Chapman has embraced its setting within Old Towne Orange. There’s a lovely blurring of the lines between the campus and community.” The University’s leadership also weighed heavily into Creppell’s decision to come to Chapman. “My first conversation with President Daniele Struppa was delightful,” she says. “We spoke about my train station arrival and the dynamic connections of Chapman and the campus to Old Towne and the larger context. And Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer Harold Hewitt has been so thoughtful and engaged about the future of Chapman in the community.” Creppell also enjoys Old Towne and the University because she’s interested in the idea of how things appear to the eye at different speeds. “For the first four months I lived here, I didn’t own a car,” says Creppell, who is married to federal circuit judge Stephen Higginson, and lives just outside of Old Towne. “I wanted to see things up close at a slower speed, so I biked and walked (and still do). The scale at which you see things when you bike or walk gives you a different perspective of spaces and details. The walkability of Old Towne Orange is a delight.” Chapman Projects Since joining Chapman in December 2019, Creppell has greatly enjoyed working on the university’s many building projects. This includes projects underway such as the build-out of the north wing of the Keck Center for the Fowler School of Engineering and master planning for the Rinker Health Science Campus in Irvine. “The Rinker campus is a challenge, because it came to Chapman as a set of commercial buildings, each with its own surrounding parking lot,” she says. “We’re working to create connectivity on the campus through pathways and landscaped 22

by Julie Bawden-Davis

CONT. FROM PAGE 21

PHOTO BY JEANINE HILL

Collette Creppell

If there is one adjective that describes what Carolyn Cavecche grows in her Orange micro-flower farm, it would be joy. The local, fresh cut seasonal flowers she plants and tends always cultivate smiles. Cavecche’s family-run business grows and sells seasonal flowers for local florists and direct-toconsumer. Her eye-catching floral offerings include seasonal flowers that thrive in our climate and aren’t generally found at the grocery store. These include stunning spring and summer flowers such as Bells of Ireland, anemone, larkspur, sweet peas, ranunculus, statice, zinnias, cosmos, specialty sunflowers, godetia, mallope, honeywort (Cerinthe) and dahlias. Flowers from the Thicket is part of a groundswell of local flower farms popping up all over the country over the last several years. “The Field to Vase movement supports the production and purchase of local flowers, combatting the growing use of pesticides and chemicals in modern agriculture,” says Cavecche, who grows as close to sustainably as possible. While California’s mild weather lends itself to cut flower production, 80 to 90 percent of flowers sold in the U.S. are imported, mostly from South America. This trend began in 1991 due to a trade agreement that resulted in the collapse of the U.S. Cut Flower industry. In recent years, micro-floral farms such as Cavecche’s are helping to ensure that consumers have access to

local grown, fresh flowers that haven’t undergone the application of pesticides and chemicals and traveled thousands of miles. The result is fresh flowers with a longer vase life and a limited footprint. Floral designer Stacy Lemoine, who owns Bougie Twigs + Blooms in Orange, says that geographic proximity is key when it comes to flowers. “When I work with Carolyn, I get flowers fresh out of the field,” she says. “That translates to longer flower life for my clients. She also has uncommon colors, and her customer service is unparalleled.” Florists can expect to have longer lasting blooms when they purchase from Carolyn, agrees Gayle Ray. She owns Branches and Blooms by Beth, which provides creative floral design and local workshops. “There is a tremendous benefit to using cut flowers grown right here and cut that day versus purchasing from wholesalers, in terms of vase life and quality of the product,” says Ray. “Carolyn also has a wide selection.” While Cavecche has always enjoyed gardening and calls being in the garden in jeans and tennis shoes her “happy place,” it wasn’t until 2018 that she discovered her calling as a local cut flower grower. “One Sunday at church, our Pastor challenged the congregation to discover a blessing we could use to best serve God and his people,” says Cavecche, who served three terms as Orange’s mayor. “I immediately thought CONTINUED ON PAGE 29

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


SUPER HIGH EFFICENCY MINI AS LOW AS

$ 2,695

SPLIT

SAVE $1,000 Reg. $3,695

INSTALLED Fan Coil

Line Set

QUIET AND EFFICIENT

SAFER OPERATIONS

Because they move heat rather than convert it

Because there is no combustion of fossil fuels

LOWER CARBON FOOTPRINT

SAVE MONEY

No combustion means cleaner air and a lower carbon footprint

By saving on fuel costs

Condenser

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

M ay / J u n e

2021

23


I NSIDE A RT

GEORGE SAMERJAN:

Paris & Los Angeles by Mary Platt

A significant part of the mission of the Hilbert Museum of California Art at Chapman University is to bring renewed recognition to California figurative and representational artists of the past 100 or so years. Some of these artists had begun to slip from the larger public memory, due to changing tastes and fashions and the art world’s contemporary focus on non-representational art. But art is a very elastic thing, as is public taste and memory. Most of the artists in the Hilbert Museum’s collection existed side-by-side with the great non-representational (abstract) artists of their time. The heartbeat of traditional representational art went on—as it continues today. Heralded during their own lifetimes, the artists in the Hilbert Collection are now being recognized again and enjoyed by a whole generation of new admirers—even as new California artists take up the banner of traditional (and non-traditional) figurative and representational art, and as a renewed interest in realism and figurative art sweeps the art world in general.

George Samerjan (1915-2005) is one of the 20th-century California representational artists whose place in the Hilbert Museum’s collection is welldeserved. Museum founders Mark and Janet Hilbert have included paintings by Samerjan in their collection for many years. According to Mark Hilbert, “I could see that he captured the atmosphere and the look of the world around him—mostly of California, including many scenes

I had never seen painted before.” In a small exhibition running at the museum through June 26, 15 works by Samerjan will introduce his work to new audiences. These include watercolors and oil paintings he created during the 1930s, reflecting life around him in Southern California, as well as a remarkable series of watercolors he completed while serving as a U.S. Army medical corps officer during the Allied Liberation of Paris in 1944.

Samerjan was born in Boston, Massachusetts in 1915, and moved to California with his family in 1921. The family eventually settled in Hollywood, where he graduated from Hollywood High School. He studied under noted California artist Barse Miller at Art Center School, and then furthered his art studies at Chouinard and Otis Art Institutes. During the 1930s, Samerjan was art director at CBS Radio and painted murals in post offices

in Culver City, Maywood, and Calexico, California under the auspices of the Works Progress Administration. It was during this time that he created the oil painting featured on the inside front cover of this issue, “Migrant Family” (1939). In his memoirs, Samerjan writes of this painting: “Barely out of my teens, I painted a migrant family desperately attempting to reach California, in their jalopy ready to crumble and melt into

~ Online, Outdoor, Hybrid & Traditional Classes Available ~

1311 East Katella Avenue, Orange, CA 92867 (Tuskatella Shopping Center)

Discovery ARTS Summer Camps Piano / Voice / Guitar / Drums / Ukulele Arts / Comedy Improv Ages 3-12 June 14 - August 13, 2021 Mon - Fri: 9 am - 2 pm Zoom Performance every Friday at 1:30 pm! $250/weekly

714-545-1217 24

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

PacificConservatoryOC .com F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


the highway. One can’t imagine a sadder sight as the overloaded car made its hopeful way.” During the Great Depression, many American families fled the climate disaster of the Dust Bowl, heading to the golden land of California to try to find work and a new life. In Samerjan’s painting, the old car seems to float on an almost surreal field of dust, and the family leans forward as if in determination to reach their new world against all odds. The moon, like a heavenly overseer, illuminates their way westward. During the 1930s, the artist also taught at Occidental College and Otis Art Institute. He opened his own art studio in 1940 on Sunset Boulevard, while sharing the rent with his friend Fletcher Martin (another significant California artist well-represented in the Hilbert Collection). While serving in the Army medical corps in Europe during World War II, Samerjan painted many scenes of G.I. life in what spare time he had. His “Liberation of Paris” series of twelve small watercolors, on view at the Hilbert, documents the heady

w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

days following the Nazi surrender of the French capital, with Parisians celebrating and Allied soldiers taking a brief rest to enjoy the city’s sights. For Samerjan (and many other American soldiers) it was to be but a brief moment of respite. The war was not over yet, and the fighting soon entered a deadly new phase: The Battle of the Bulge. He suffered serious injuries in Liege, Belgium when the field hospital in which he was serving was leveled by bombs— but he managed to save several others from the burning rubble. For his courage, he was awarded both the Purple Heart and the Bronze Star. Following the war, Samerjan worked as art director at the Los Angeles Times for two years. Upon moving to New York City in 1947, he became creative director for Esquire magazine and taught at Pratt Institute. His works reside in many major collections and have been shown in the National Academy Galleries in New York City, the Los Angeles County Museum of CONTINUED ON PAGE 27

M ay / J u n e

2021

25


TALK OF THE TOWNE by Yuki Klotz-Burwell

Make Music Day Get ready to head to the streets and celebrate the summer solstice in a musical fashion this June. Orange is hosting its first Make Music Day, a global event open to any level of musician. Performers head out to parks, parking lots and other outdoor spaces to share their music. Make Music Day is a worldwide festival that began in France as Fête de la Musique and has since expanded to more than 120 countries. Many cities across Southern California, including Fullerton and Anaheim, have hosted their own celebrations, but this is Orange’s first year taking part. Kim Le, owner of the music school Pacific Conservatory, was inspired to establish Orange’s first Make Music Day when she randomly stumbled upon the celebration in Fullerton a few years ago. “We want to show Orange this is something the rest of the world is already doing, and they’re

doing it well,” says Le. She is teaming up with other Orange schools, Laurie Ann’s Music and B&B Music for the event. On June 21, people of all ages will be asked to perform and participate in front of City Hall and at other venues in Orange. “There’s enough of a music community here in Orange, and it’s getting stronger and stronger,” says Le. “We all have the same goals for our city, and we want more arts and culture.” Across the world, Make Music Day is known as an event where music floods the streets. Although many professionals do participate and perform, it’s open to any level of talent and is completely free. “It’s a day that celebrates music everywhere and the musician in everyone,” says Jonah Udall, Special Projects Manager at Make Music Alliance, a nonprofit that works to help cities build their own Make Music Day events. “It can take on a life of its own, and we want each city to decide for itself

Coming to Orange in June, Make Music Day is a global musical event featuring outdoor musical performances. Pictured are participants of Fullerton’s 5th Make Music Day, including students from Orange’s Pacific Conservatory. Also pictured are Fullerton Mayor Jesus Silva (back left) and Assemblywoman Sharon Quirk-Silva (far left).

how it’s going to look.” Fullerton has held its Make Music Day celebration since 2016 and has grown it into a community-wide event with more than 150 performances across musical genres at 40-plus venues across the city. In 2019, after Le’s music students participated at the event, Le saw how impactful the performance was and wanted to bring the experience back to Orange.

“The City of Fullerton painted piano keys at its center, and my students got to walk across the keys with Mayor Jesus Silva and Assemblywoman Sharon QuirkSilva before performing,” she says. “It was a great learning experience for them.” Le says that she eventually wants to build up the event to include more organizations in Orange, but for now, she’s excited to get the event off its feet and

8

Additional toppings extra. Not valid with any other coupon. Must present coupon. $4.00 delivery charge. Restrictions apply.

Expires 6/30/21

26

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

16” Lg 1-Topping Pizza • Lg Dinner Salad 2 Liter of Coke/Diet Coke/Sprite Select toppings only. Additional toppings extra. One coupon per customer. Not valid with any other coupon. Must present coupon. $4.00 delivery charge. Restrictions apply.

Expires 6/30/21

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


GEORGE SAMERJAN Art, the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts and other galleries and museums throughout the country. He also participated in group shows throughout the country for six decades, including exhibitions at the Smithsonian Institution and the 1964 World’s

Brilliant Color

CONT. FROM PAGE 25

Fair in New York, among many others. When George Samerjan passed away in 2005, he was buried at Arlington National Cemetery in recognition of his service and significant bravery during World War II.

See These Small Paintings & More at Welman Art Studio 11” x 16” / $250 each

Hilbert Museum of California Art 167 North Atchison St / 714-516-5880 / HilbertMuseum.com • • •

Make Music Day / June 21, 2021 raise awareness. “Make Music Day is a grassroots and community-centered celebration,” says Udall. “It’s a continuously growing process, and it can take on different shapes in different communities all around the country.” The pandemic stopped Le from introducing the event last year, but she’s determined to get the ball rolling and give Orange a musical tradition for years to come. “This event really has taken on such a life of its own,” she says. “We want it to grow organically

and be an alliance with us, the city and other music schools.” Le, along with Laurie Ann’s Music School leader Laurie Ann Fischer and B&B Music School head Briana Harley, hope to raise awareness for the Greater Orange Community Arts Theater project, a nonprofit spearheaded by Michael Short that supports arts in the city and aims to build a community theater in the open space at Orange’s Grijalva Park.

For more information e-mail Kim Le at kimthienle@me.com

Marinus Welman 2402 North Glassell St. #A Orange, CA 92865 www.MarinusWelman.com

714-998-8662 w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

M ay / J u n e

2021

27


Collette Creppell

CONT. FROM PAGE 22

campus spaces and to develop its own identity while bringing certain design elements from the Orange campus.” Two other Old Towne projects she’s excited about are the Hilbert Museum of California Art’s renovations, with the expansion of its existing footprint, as well as a new state-of-the-art, 32,000-square-foot space for the University’s highly ranked Dance Department. The museum will expand into the nearby dance center, and the dance center will move to the Villa Park Orchards Packing House as the Sandi Simon Center for Dance. “This is our opportunity to celebrate and share the packing house’s history and architecture,” says Creppell. “The interior features a sawtooth roof and northern facing, clerestory light. It’s a soaring, beautiful space. A dynamic design for its renovation will celebrate the space, the light and the movement inherent to dance.” Giulio Ongaro is Dean of Chapman’s College of Performing Arts. He comments on the high caliber of Creppell’s work. “I love what is being done on the new dance facility,” he says. “Collette has put together an awesome team at every level.” The museum will include a public courtyard space for the community to enjoy. The museum and its courtyard will serve as a gateway to the campus from the train station. With the museum, dance center and film and digital arts school all located on historic Cypress Street in Old Towne, Creppell notes how this has created an arts corridor. “Our aim in designing these projects is to reinforce their relation to the urban context, fabric and history of this distinctive area of Orange.” Sheryl Bourgeois is Executive Vice President and Chief Advancement Officer of University Advancement at Chapman. “Collette is bringing a much more expansive perspective to her role than it had previously,” says Bourgeois. “She is more concerned about the concept of community and the connections between spaces and creating a clear journey through the campus, rather than simply constructing or renovating buildings. I think this will result in a much more cohesive and welcoming place that will benefit Chapman and the entire community.” Janeen Hill, professor of Health Sciences and Founding Dean of Crean College of Health and Behavioral Sciences, agrees. “Chapman University has never had such a highly qualified architect able to bring to campus planning these multiple perspectives.” Creppell feels that she’s in the exact right place. “Chapman has a long history of growing with integrity and a strong academic trajectory,” she says. “Being in a real place with history and having an optimistic future is a great place to be.”

“We Thank All of You” for enjoying the bistro with us for 7 years! Bring in this ad, during May & June, to receive 20% OFF your entire food bill Tuesday through Saturday. (beverages not included.)

One Door Down

by Brande Jackson

As you probably noticed, things have been a bit of a mess around here lately! It’s been a rough year for us. As many of you know, we lost Sue, our matriarch, mom and Country Roads founder, somewhat unexpectedly just a few months ago, in November. The year 2020 was difficult for everyone, and running a small business—especially dealing with being closed for more than two months at the start of the pandemic—added all sorts of challenges and stresses we had never before faced…but nothing prepared us for losing Sue. Just two months (to the day) after her death, we were given notice on our lease in our main corner building. We have occupied this space since the day Country Roads opened on January 1st, 1993. We had no plan or anticipation of leaving it, and it pains us greatly to have to dismantle what Sue quite literally built so many years ago, especially knowing how much pride and joy she took in this shop, and how much she wanted her children and grandchildren to keep running it. We are NOT closing. We are downsizing to our two other adjoining buildings, where you may have noticed a lot of redecorating happening over the past few months. Our new address will be 216 W. Chapman, and our new door just one door down from our original one. We are excited about our remodel, and all the hard work our vendors have done to continue to “step it up” when it comes to antiques and home decor. Excited as we are about our new look, we are still very disappointed. We wanted to stay here, especially in the immediate aftermath of losing Sue. This building carries nearly 30 years of history for our Country Roads family. Our story isn’t unique, unfortunately. As Old Towne Orange has grown in popularity in the past decade, many other longtime small businesses have found themselves in a similar situation. As we look at what has happened over the past few months, we know how lucky we are to have generations of longtime customers, their children, and some of their grandchildren coming in to keep us smiling! To know you all, know your families, know your awesome dogs that come in to see us—it’s amazing! Our business is more than one family, it’s multiple generations of several families that work here, and it’s also dozens of vendors and antique dealers that generate income from what we do in these walls. We know many of you were heartbroken over losing Sue and have shown great support with our latest challenge. We are very thankful for that. Your support has quite literally gotten us through the past few months. So, as is our nature, we are forging on, doing what we do, and we’ll be seeing you still, just one door down, where things might look a bit different, but the spirit is still the same. We do have one last request… We don’t know what will happen to our beloved space. We know that you mean well when you ask us what is going to go in or happen to the building. But the truth is that it’s a pretty painful thing for us to talk about. We are losing something that was a constant in our lives for 28 years and four months and are grieving it. We appreciate your consideration in this regard.

2143 North Tustin St. Orange, CA 92865 (at East Meats Ave, next to Target)

714-633-8650 Open Tue - Sat: 4 pm - 9 pm for Dinner 28

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

www. CountryRoadsAntiques .com

714-532-3041 Open Daily 10 am - 5 pm

2 0 4 W E S T C H A P M A N AV E . /

www.facebook.com/CountryRoadsAntiques F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


TALK OF THE TOWNE

Bidding Adieu to Opera Chapman’s Director Not having live audiences has not slowed down the dancers, actors, musicians and singers at Chapman’s College of Performing Arts. Now through summer there are several scheduled virtual performances featuring dance, theater, music and opera. In June, Chapman Opera bids adieu to Peter Atherton in the performance, Twenty Years of Opera Chapman: a Gala Farewell Celebration. Under the direction of Atherton, Opera Chapman has grown and thrived since its inception in 2001. In his final act as director of the ensemble, Atherton has created a spectacular program of popular opera arias and duets filmed in Musco Center for the Arts. “After directing Opera Chapman for 20 years, I can’t think of a better way to say farewell than through these scenes with current students and alumni of Opera Chapman,” says Atherton. “I’ve been blessed with spectacular memories that will continue to touch my heart for years to come. I hope these performances give you as much pleasure as they have given me.” Drawn to opera at age 15 by his parents’ LP collection, Atherton recalls how hearing opera would “send chills down my back.” Recruited to teach by longtime Chapman Professor of Music and Orange County icon William Hall in the late 1990s, Peter was finishing up his doctorate at UCLA and accepted the adjunct position. Already an established performer, Atherton stayed for four years teaching only on Saturdays. Later, in 2001, Atherton was recruited back to Chapman—this time to create a full-fledged opera program —something the university had never had.

Dr. Peter Atherton

Dr. Peter Atherton (right) with Efrain Soliss, baritone and Class of 2011, after winning LA Metropolitan Opera Competition.

“I asked Bill, what is the budget?” says Atherton. “Bill pulled out a quarter, slid it across the table and said, ‘you can start with this and the rest is up to you.’” Atherton got right to work building the program, with seven weeks to audition, cast and stage the scenes for each performance —a challenge given they could only rehearse four hours a week. “As we developed the program, people in Orange County were starved for opera,” says Atherton. “Opera Pacific had closed, and people didn’t want to drive to LA.” That helped build an audience as attendance grew at Opera Chapman performances. The program developed a loyal and generous group of donors who helped to raise the bar on production assets, such as set designs and costuming. Atherton leaned into his industry contacts and began having “the best coaches in LA” come down and work with the students. “I wanted to do a more intimate program focusing on stage craft in addition to the vocal training, to help young singers not be nervous singing with a full orchestra,” he says.

Flowers from the Thicket about our 3/4-acre property. My husband, Rick, and I decided to build a large table where friends, neighbors and family could gather for food and fellowship in the garden.” While those gatherings brought great joy, as Cavecche looked out w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

by Sheri Ledbetter

Twenty Years of Opera Chapman: a Gala Farewell Celebration Peter Atherton, artistic director Available on demand June 14 – July 4, 2021 Tickets $10 In his final act as director of the ensemble, Atherton has created a spectacular program of popular opera arias, duets and ensembles, filmed in Musco Center for the Arts, featuring Chapman students and distinguished alumni, including Ashley Faatoalia, Kylena Parks, Efraín Solís, Emily Dyer Reed, Chelsea Chaves and Steve Pence, to name a few.

A few years later, Southern California homegrown opera star, the late Carol Neblett, came to do some master classes and teach advanced voice students. She worked alongside Atherton on Opera Chapman productions for ten years. In 2016 came the Musco Center for the Arts. “The acoustics and the design were amazing,” recalls Atherton. Chapman’s music program is an undergraduate program and regularly has about 100 students apply and audition each year. Students pursuing opera receive a degree from the music conservatory in vocal performance and music education. “Many want to sing opera and go to USC or Juilliard, and I tell them those our great programs, but you’ll only be in the chorus— it’s a rare opportunity for an undergrad to be cast for a solo part, and at Chapman the students get that opportunity, so it’s a big selling point.” He says he can tell how passionate they are. “In what other undergraduate curriculum are you working 1:1 with a student over four years?” says Atherton. And working with 25-35 students

each year to focus on what they are passionate about is what motivates Atherton. “There is an old saying, ‘if you can live without singing, you should pursue something else for your career,” he says. “You’ll always be able to sing—every community has a place to sing, but the number of years of training required to actually have a career singing opera, you are really just starting when you come as a freshman.” In his 20 years, Atherton has amassed alumni who are now with LA Opera and other opera companies all over the nation and Europe, including in Orange County, where several high schools have choral programs directed by Chapman alumnus or alumna. “I’m grateful to Chapman, Bill Hall and the donors for the opportunity to share my passion,” Atherton says. “And of course, I’m grateful to the students.”

thicket is a group of trees and plants growing close together that provide shelter and protection for anything that lives there,” says Cavecche. For Cavecche, being a local cut flower farmer is a lot of work and challenging, but it’s been one of

the most rewarding experiences of her life. “Growing flowers and sharing their beauty gives me great joy.” Find out more at Flowers FromTheThicket.com and on Instagram: FlowersFromThe Thicket

CONT. FROM PAGE 22

over unused land on the property, she became motivated to plant flowers. They cleared weeds, tested soil and began building the infrastructure required for a local cut flower farm. The name for the business sprang from the family’s nickname for their property. “A

M ay / J u n e

2021

29


Circle in the Square by Kirk Sivertsen /

When Peter Wetzel retired as a chemical engineer in Irvine, he and his wife, Martha, knew exactly where they wanted to live—Orange Park Acres. “We so much enjoy the city and the feel of being in a real community,” says this month’s coupon winner. Shortly after moving to the area in 1997, Wetzel discovered Friends of the Orange Public Library, an organization dedicated to raising funds for the library, including selling books through the Arline Minor Memorial Bookstore. Wetzel saw the value of the organization and soon became involved. “I’ve been a board member for many years,” he says. “I’ve also served as president and am currently treasurer.” Wetzel chose Citrus City Grille for his coupon, so he could enjoy a long-awaited night out with Martha. “The restaurant is a place we really enjoy,” he says. “We haven’t been there in a year because of COVID. This provides us a nice chance to get back there.”

Community

Wetzel does feel that COVID has offered a silver lining for small businesses in the Plaza. “I particularly love what they’ve done in the past year in response to the pandemic in terms of greatly expanded outdoor dining,” he says. “I hope it continues.”

WIN $50.00 OFF ANY PURCHASE

ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE

MAP

ANTIQUES & COLLECTABLES: 20 Antique Depot . . . . . . . . . . . . . 25 155 S Glassell (714) 516-1731 20 Antique Station . . . . . . . . . . . . 28 178 S Glassell (714) 633-3934 28 Country Roads Antiques . . . . . 34 204 West Chapman Ave (714) 532-3041 13 Golden Bear Antiques . . . . . . . 20 208 East Chapman Ave (714) 363-3996 16 Orange Circle Antique Mall . . . 31 118 South Glassell St (714) 538-8160 15 Summerhill Ltd. . . . . . . . . . . . . 32 110 S Glassell (714) 771-7782 10 The White Rabbit. . . . . . . . . . . 12 146 N Glassell (949) 922-0009 ARTS & CULTURE: 25 Hilbert Museum of Calif Art . . . 2 167 North Atchison St (714) 516-5880 27 Marinus Welman - Artist . . . . . . C 2402 North Glassell St (714) 998-8662 24 Naranjita Flamenco . . . . . . . . . . D 301 East Katella Ave (714) 400-2939 24 Pacific Conservatory . . . . . . . . . E 1311 East Katella Ave (714) 545-1217

from any Plaza Review advertiser featured in this issue. NAME PHONE NUMBER E-MAIL COMMENTS, ETC.

Old Towne Orange Plaza Review 134 South Glassell St. #C, Orange CA 92866 Winner is selected randomly by an advertiser of the Old Towne Orange PLAZA REVIEW.

PG

PG

“Striving to bring an exceptional experience to life . . .

ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE

MAP

AUTOMOTIVE: 10 Titan Automotive . . . . . . . . . . . . L 939 West Chapman Ave (714) 997-2311 32 Villa Ford of Orange . . . . . . . . . . F 2550 North Tustin St (877) 585-3090

7

3

9

26

28

27

7

30 ®

Enjoying a Real

Mail to:

ADVERTISER INDEX

by Nathan Carter

STARBUCKS

COUPON WINNER

www.OrangeReview .com/archive/circle-in-the-square

1

26

DINING & PUBS: 1886 Brewing Company . . . . . . 7 114 North Glassell St (714) 922-8130 Blaze Pizza 101 South Glassell . . . . . . . . . . 22 (714) 783-9845 2139 North Tustin St . . . . . . . . . . G (714) 408-7361 Byblos Cafe . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5 129 West Chapman Ave (714) 538-7180 Citrus City Grille . . . . . . . . . . . . 8 122 North Glassell St (714) 639-9600 Colleary’s Bistro . . . . . . . . . . . . H 2143 North Tustin St (714) 633-8650 Paris in a Cup - Tea Salon . . . . 23 119 South Glassell St (714) 538-9413 Smoqued Barbeque . . . . . . . . . . 9 128 North Glassell St (714) 633-7427 Starbucks Coffee . . . . . . . . . . . 33 44 Plaza Square (714) 288-9754 Taco Adobe . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3 121 North Lemon St (714) 628-0633 Zito’s New York Style Pizza . . . 13 156 North Glassell St (714) 771-2222

OrangeReview.com in Old Towne Orange!”

Entries must be postmarked by May 31, 2021

30

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W

F i n d o u t W h a t ’s H a p p e n i n g i n t o w n e a t :


to 91 FREEWAY

O RANGE P LAZA R EVIEW A DVERTISER I NDEX & MAP Orange Farmers Market

1

PALM

The Dragonfly Shops

CHAPMAN UNIVERSITY

15 College of the Performing Arts Summer Music Camps AVENUE

14 PG

16 Willits Real Estate Group MAPLE

3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING

7

3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING t he

He

Antique Station

Paris

23 in a Cup

3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING

24 Army-Navy Store

25 Antique Depot

PLAZA REVIEW Advertisers outside the PLAZA SQUARE RETAIL DISTRICT. LINCOLN

28

ar

MAP

PG

D

E

ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE

SA

ST

(5 )

MAP

HEALTH, FITNESS & BEAUTY: 14 Circle City Barbers . . . . . . . . . . 4 133 West Chapman Ave (714) 453-9765 1 Intuitive Beauty Salon . . . . . . . . K 280 North Tustin St (714) 766-1661 & (994) 295-6016 1 Orange Circle Optometry . . . . . 18 227 East Chapman Ave (714) 538-6424 1 Smiles of Orange . . . . . . . . . . . M 743 East Chapman Ave (714) 997-5495

H G Blaze Pizza

Colleary’s Bistro

AVE

Intuitive Beauty Salon

K WALNUT

Titan Automotive

(57) FWY

26

LA VETA AVENUE

EVENTS / ORGANIZATIONS: 12 Chapman University . . . . . . . . 15 One University Dr NeighborsOfChapman.com 6 College of Performing Arts . . . 15 One Universtiy Dr Tickets.Chapman.edu 18 CU Summer Music Camp . . . . 15 One University Dr Chapman.edu/summer-music-camp 25 Orange Farmers Market . . . . . . 2 303 West Palm Ave www.orangehomegrown.org w w w. O r a n g e R e v i e w . c o m / e v e n t s

H & H Income Tax & Insurance

Pacific Conservatory

J

ORANGEWOOD

F

Naranjito Flamenco

Guardian Roofs

Orangeland RV Park

MAIN

OL

ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE

I

27

ORANGE

N O RT H

Y

Villa Ford of Orange

C Welman Art Studio

KATELLA

to 22 FREEWAY

D

GARDEN GROVE (22) FWY

FW

AVE

AVENUE

Knox General Insurance

N E W P O RT B E AC H

(5 )

T

(55) FWY

STREET GLASSELL

ORAN GE (57) FWY

we b et N OW

A

B

A

ty

A N

oTo

AV E N U E

Shafer Plumbing

Jadtec Security

ALMOND

Real Estate Establishment

L

AVE

CHAPMAN

GARDEN

Orange Realty

29

19

Orange City Hall

Shannon Family Mortuary

30

Caliber Real Estate

20

Smiles of Orange

Rambling Rose Jewelry

SOUTH GLASSELL

OLIVE STREET

LEMON STREET

CYPRESS STREET

th

31

C ou n

N G E i s ce nt e re d

Orange Circle Antique Mall

ge

C H AP M A N

SA

TA

32

ra n

RA EO

91 Fr e ew a y s 57 & , in

Summerhill Ltd.

to 55 FREEWAY

Golden Bear Antiques

Old Towne Plumbing

fO

PG

3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING

CHAPMAN

21

33 22 Blaze Pizza

ARTESIA / RIVERSIDE (91) FWY

N

EAST

34 Starbucks Coffee

Orange Main Library & History Center

18

to

en

e

5,

5 5,

Wells Fargo Bank

PLAZA PLAZA PARK PARK

CHAPMAN

Country Roads Antiques Johnnye Merle Gardens

, 22

Orange Circle Optometry

6

ST

Old Towne Post Office

Citizens Business Bank

5

4

WEST

Adam Guss State Farm

Byblos Cafe

M

N

O

AVE

P Orange Dermatology

NEWPORT BEACH (55) FWY

1886 Brewing Company

17 Matoska Trading Company

CENTER STREET

8

ST

Citrus City Grille

TUSTIN

9

GRAND STREET

10

Smoqued BBQ

ORANGE STREET

11

Reneé Jewelers

Circle City Barbers

Taco Adobe to 5 & 57 FREEWAY

12

Laurenly

GLASSELL

3

The White Rabbit

3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING

FREE ALL DAY PARKING

Zito’s NY Pizza

NORTH GLASSELL

2

GROVE (22) FWY

FW Y

PG

ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE

MAP

JEWELRY 14 Rambling Rose Jewelry . . . . . 30 118 S Glassell (714) 538-6305 15 Renée Jewelers . . . . . . . . . . . . 10 138 N Glassell (714) 538-1956

8

1

MAP

REAL ESTATE: (cont) 14 Real Estate Establishment . . . 19 550 East Chapman Ave (714) 744-5711 4 Willits Real Estate Group . . . . 16 229 North Glassell St (714) 315-8120

AVENUE

13

Hilbert Museum of California Art

ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE

REAL ESTATE: Caliber Real Estate Group . . . . 29 134 South Glassell St (714) 988-6339 Orange Realty . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 1537 East Chapman Ave (714) 997-0050

SERVICES: 11 Guardian Roofs . . . . . . . . . . . . . J 1010 North Batavia St 714-633-3619 16 H&H Income Tax Insurance . . . 26 480 South Glassell St (714) 288-2088 5 Jadtec Security Services . . . . . A 1520 West Yale Ave (714) 282-0828 16 Kevin Groot Group Aron.groot.KGG@gmail.com (714) 270-0333 9 Knox General Insurance . . . . . 27 226 South Glassell St 19 Orange Dermatology . . . . . . . . . P 368 South Glassell St (714) 538-8556 23 Old Towne Plumbing . . . . . . . . 21 info@oldtowneplumbing.com (714) 213-5211 11 Shafer Plumbing Contractors . . B 1307 West Trenton Ave (714) 974-9448 15 Shannon Family Mortuary . . . . N 1005 East Chapman Ave (714) 771-1000 17 Sign Painter - Patrick Smith (714) 282-7097 pgsmithdesign.com 17 State Farm - Adam Guss . . . . . . 6 60 Plaza Square (714) 978-4200 SPECIALTY RETAIL: 13 Army Navy Store . . . . . . . . . . . 24 131 South Glassell St (714) 639-7910 1 Dragonfly Shops & Gardens . . 14 260 North Glassell St (714) 289-4689 20 Johnnye Merle Gardens . . . . . 35 204 West Chapman Ave (714) 532-3041 7 Laurenly . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11 142 North Glassell St (714) 538-7567 21 Matoska Trading Company . . . 17 123 North Glassell St (714) 516-9940 TOURISM: 21 Orangeland RV Park . . . . . . . . . . I 1600 West Struck Ave (714) 633-0414 M ay / J u n e

2021

31


PRST STD U.S. POSTAGE

PA I D HUNT BCH, CA PERMIT 438

134 South Glassell • Orange, CA 92866

32

O l d To w n e O r a n g e P L A Z A R E V I E W