Old Towne Orange Plaza Review | Issue 113 | Jan-Feb 2023

Page 1

CLOCK SHOPS 1610 North Tustin St. Orange, CA 92867 (714) 921-83 97 Best Clock Store in So Cal! Best Clock Store in So Cal! 1610 North Tustin St. Orange, 92867 (714) 921-83 97 CLOCK SHOPS 10% OFF Any Anniversary Clock in Stock or any Clock Repair. CLOCK SALES & REPAIR S PLAYS 36 MELODIES PLAYS MELODIES • CLOCK SALES & REPAIR S • Available for Private Events 260 North Glassell St. Wed-Fri: 1 1 - 6 / Sat: 9 - 5 / Sun: 1 1 - 4 Tel: 714- 289-4689 Explore Your Creativity in the New Year! Check Out Our Calendar for Current Classes: dragonflyshopsandgardens .com January / February 2023 “News for the Neighborhood” “ To be or not to be a Vegetarian ” 264 North Glassell St. 714-633-3260 A Healthy Alternative to Traditional Restaurant Offerings. Mon - Wed: 10:30 am - 5 pm Thu - Sat: 10:30 am - 8 pm Comprehensive Eye Care Husband & Wife: Dr. Alex Romero & Dr. Ly Nguyen 227 East Chapman Ave #C Old Towne Orange, CA 92866 / 714- 53 8- 6424 Celebrating 10 Years in oT o ! “I am optimistic for what 2023 holds for our proud city. Cheers to new beginnings, and to health, happness and prosperity to you and your loved ones.” Mayor Dan Slater Reach out to Mayor Slater to share your Hopes, Goals & Concerns for the city at: dan @ danslater.com (714) 744-2202 “Happy New Year, Orange!”

INSIDE ART: Story on page 24

“ Journey to Cheyenne ” by Yoko Mazza, 2015

Oil on Canvas / 37.125” x 61”

Gift of the Hilbert Collection to the Hilbert Museum of California Art.

On view through May 6 at The Hilbert Temporary , in the exhibition “ All Aboard : The Romance of California’s Railroads. ”

3 www. Orange Review .com /advertisers January / February 2023
4 Old Towne Orange P LAZA R EVIEW Find out What’s Happening in towne at:
Saturday & Sunday Brunch : 10 am - 2 pm / 114 North Glassell St. Enjoy “Brunch at the Brewery” Bottomless Mimosas Offering Several Brunch Options! A full 3 course brunch, brunch ala carte & our famous 1886 Brunchuterie . “Happy New Year” from Our Family to Yours! Smoqued BBQ for all of your BBQ & Catering Needs 128 North Glassell St / 714.633.7427 SmoquedBBQ .com www. Orange Review .com /advertisers 5 January / February 2023
6 Old Towne Orange P LAZA R EVIEW Find out What’s Happening in towne at:
www. Orange Review .com /advertisers 7 January / February 2023 dougw@sevengables.com • swillits@sevengables.com • benw @ sevengables.com * Results based on production from office located in zip code displayed. Data provided by California Regional Multiple Listing Service and its member Associations of REALTORS, who are not responsible for its accuracy. Analysis dates are 12/01/19 though 11/30/2020. Does not reflect all activity in the Marketplace. Analysis results © 2020 Real Data Strategies, Inc., under license to Lalapoint, LLC and named MLS member firms. All rights reserved. License #00745605 Visit us at our Old Towne Orange Location at 229 North Glassell St . for Professional Representation . Call us today: 714- 315-8120 Buy / Sell / Lease Specializing in Orange & Surrounding Communities # 1 BROKERAGE IN ORANGE * DOUG WILLITS / CALBRE #01787611 SUSIE WILLITS / CALBRE #01852527 BEN WILLITS / CALBRE #0185881 Your Neighborhood Realtors

From the Publisher

Welcome to 2023! I always find the beginning of a new year to be an exciting time filled with promise, purpose and potential. A fresh start offers opportunities for new beginnings, new perspectives and best of all, new stories.

At this time of year, I also find myself reflecting on what makes publishing the Old Towne Orange Plaza Review so enjoyable. I wish to express my appreciation and gratitude to you, our dedicated readers. It is for you that we publish each issue.

I would also like to offer a big thank you to our advertisers. If it weren’t for their continued support, the Plaza Review wouldn’t be the publication it is today. I am grateful that so many new and long-time advertisers have entrusted us to spread the word about their products and services. Those businesses featured in the Plaza Review represent the best of what our cherished community of Orange has to offer.

I would also like to offer a heartfelt thank you to those generous individuals who take the time to share their interesting and uplifting stories within these pages. The experiences of the article subjects come alive thanks to the collaborative efforts of a highly creative team of writers, photographers and designers (page 9). Through their collective, creative lens, you readers are given the opportunity to read about the missions of dedicated local individuals and merchants, as well as step into the homes and lives of Old Towne property owners.

With your continued readership, I look forward to another wonderful year publishing the Plaza Review. I wish you and those you love a happy and prosperous new year!

Sincerely, Mike Escobedo

What’s Happ e ning

JANUARY 2023

Tue / Jan 10 / 10:30 - 11 am

Orange Public Library Morning Storytime (ages 3-5) Children can her stories & build early literacy skills with songs & fingerplays. Taft Branch Library 740 East Taft Ave / 714-288-2400 www.OrangePublicLibrary.org

Tue / Jan 10 / 6 pm

City of Orange City Council Meeting

Find out what’s happening in our city & be involved with the future of Orange. Agendas released on the prior Thursday.

Orange City Hall: 300 East Chapman Ave 714-744-2225 / www.CityOfOrange.org

Sat / Jan 14 / 10:30 - 11:30 am

Orange Public Library Fun with Firefighters (ages 3-12) Sound the alarm, hear stories, learn about the new fire station, visit fire trucks & pick-up fire safety tips from our friends at the Orange Fire Department. Orange Public Library & History Center 407 East Chapman Ave / 714-288-2400 www.OrangePublicLibrary.org

Sat / Jan 14 / 3:30 - 5 pm

Orange Public Library

Discover Your State Parks Series: Basic Outdoor Survival Skills Enjoy the outdoors with confidence & safety in mind in this park ranger-led survival skills course. (age 18+)

Orange Public Library & History Center 407 East Chapman Ave / 714-288-2400 www.OrangePublicLibrary.org

Sat / Jan 14 / 6 pm

Orange Chamber of Commerce Miss Orange Scholarship Pageant Support these worthy young ladies, enjoy the pageant & see who will be crowned Miss City of Orange 2023. Chapman University Memorial Hall MissCityOfOrange.com / 714-538-3581

Sun / Jan 15 / 5:30 pm

Old Towne Preservation Association 37th Annual Membership Meeting Member reception & preview of the Richland Hotel, with briefings by Mayor Slater, Councilwoman Barrios & Interim City Manager Tom Kisela. RSVP at: www.OTPA.org / 714-639-6840

Find out What’s Happening in towne at: 8 Old Towne Orange P LAZA R EVIEW
. . . 134 South Glassell St. / Orange, CA 92866 714 - 771 - 6919 Mike@OrangeReview.com Old Towne Orange Plaza Review © 2023 Mike Escobedo Design All rights reserved. The material herein contained cannot be reproduced in whole or in part without the written permission of Mike Escobedo Design. www. Orange Review .com “ News For The Neighborhood ” Old
PLAZAREVIEW
Towne Orange
Since 2001

Around the Plaza!

FEBRUARY 2023

Wed / Jan 18 / 11:45 am - 1 pm

Orange Chamber of Commerce Lunch Business Networking Group

A great opportunity to share information about your business and get to know other local businesses.

Zito’s Pizza 2036 North Tustin St 714-538-3581 / OrangeChamber.com

Wed / Jan 25 / 5:30 - 7:30 pm

Orange Public Library Teen Game Night (Grades 7-12)

Drop in & play games on the Nintendo Switch & Playstation 4. Tabletop games are also available.

Orange Public Library & History Center 407 East Chapman Ave / 714-288-2400 www.OrangePublicLibrary.org

Sat / Jan 28 / 10 am - 5 pm

Country Roads Antiques & Gardens 30th Birthday Party

Join us to celebrate 30 years in Old Towne Orange, with raffles, refreshments & more. See article on page 21 & Facebook for more information. 216 West Chapman / 714-532-3041 Facebook.com/CountryRoadsAntiques

Mon - Sat / Feb 1 - 14 / 10 am - 6 pm

Orange Public Library Drop-In Valentines (ages 3-12) Holiday crafting fun. Create a valentine for someone special. El Modena Branch Library 380 South Hewes St / 714-288-2400 www.OrangePublicLibrary.org

Thu / Feb 2 / 11:30 am

Town & Gown Lunch at the Forum “Dinosaur Remains in California: The How, Where and How Rare” Hear about basic geology, how dinosaur remains were preserved, how we know where to look for these remains & how we extract them for study & display.

Chapman University, Beckman Hall 714-744-7608 / Chapman.edu/tglatf

Sun / Feb 5 / 2 - 4 pm

SEEDS Full Circle Gallery, Artist Reception

The OG West Coast Graffiti Girl presents “The Sacred Art of Love.” Free exhibit & open to the public through Apr 30. Full Circle Meaningful Marketplace 140 South Glassell St / 909-929-1390 www.SeedsFineArt.org

Fri & Sat / Feb 10 & 11 / 6 pm

Chapman University

Chapman Celebrates: Grand Finale! Experience a thrilling night showcasing student talent in music, theatre & dance Musco Center for the Arts 415 North Glassell St / 714-628-2750 Chapman.edu/chapman-celebrates

Mon / Feb 13 / 7 - 9 pm

Orange Art Association General Meeting

Meet artist & view the finest artwork by members of the Orange Art Association. Community Christ Church 395 South Tustin St / 714-538-8069 www.OrangeArtAssociation.org

Tue / Feb 14 / 6 pm

City of Orange Council Meeting

Find out what’s happening in our city & be involved with the future of Orange. Agendas released on the prior Thursday.

Orange City Hall: 300 East Chapman Ave 714-744-2225 / www.CityOfOrange.org

Sat / Feb 25 / 1 - 4 pm

Orange Public Library Happy Birthday, Dr. Seuss (all ages) Dive into the imaginative world of Dr. Seuss as we celebrate with our friends from the ALOrange Blossoms. Each child will receive a free book. 407 East Chapman Ave / 714-288-2400 www.OrangePublicLibrary.org

134 South Glassell St / Orange 92866

Jan/Feb 2023 Publishing Team

Publisher Mike Escobedo

Mike@OrangeReview.com

Editor/Writer Julie Bawden-Davis julie@juliebawdendavis.com

Writer Karen Anderson 123karen@earthlink.net

Writer Nathan Carter nathan.travis.carter@gmail.com

Writer Yuki Klotz-Burwell klotz105@mail.chapman.edu

Writer Sheri Ledbetter sledbetter@socal.rr.com

Writer George A. Paul BritPopGeo@sbcglobal.net

Writer Mary Platt platt@chapman.edu

Photographer Kristin Smetona info@smetonaphoto.com

Digital Artist Clyde San Juan crookedtrails@hotmail.com

Web Developer Chase Higgins chasehiggins@me.com

Printed by Reed Printing estella@reedprinting.com

Processed by Mailing Pros, Inc. MPI@MailingProsInc.com

Distributed by the US Postal Services www.usps.com

9 www. Orange Review .com /events
January / February 2023 CONTINUED ON PAGE 29
10 Old Towne Orange P LAZA R EVIEW Find out What’s Happening in towne at:

Longtime diners in Orange have known Citrus City Grille as an Old Towne staple for more than 25 years. Though the previous owners have transferred ownership, the restaurant is in goodhands with new owners Charlie and Fabiola Cosmas, who started in June.

Cosmas himself had been a frequent patron at Citrus City Grille and owns several diners throughout Orange and Los Angeles counties. As a young boy in Greece, he started in the restaurant industry and worked his way up at various fine dining establishments.

“When this opportunity came up, I basically jumped at it because it was perfect for me,” he says. “I was really looking to get back into operating fine dining cuisine, and I was already a repeat diner at Citrus City.”

After officially taking the reins in July, Cosmas has only made a few minor shifts to the well-known menu. His primary focus is adjusting the cocktail menu, which he plans to transition to a full craft menu in the new year.

“We want to have all organic, delicious cocktails from our new cocktail bar,” he says. “Our drinks will have ingredients like fully organic honey and other authentic flavors.”

The food menu also remains relatively unchanged, but Cosmas wants to add a few seasonal dishes each year. The restaurant currently offers brunch, lunch, happy hour and dinner options, and Cosmas aims to introduce dishes to each that change with the seasons.

“Our menu will always stay fresh, and customers will be able

Welcoming You!

to try new things depending on the season, which I’m very excited about,” he says. “Orange is a place where you can offer new dishes all year round, so I’m working with our executive chef to do just that.”

In addition to its regular daily dining, Citrus City Grille is known for its annual pre-fixed dinners on Thanksgiving and Christmas. Cosmas and his team will continue to host a three-course Christmas Eve dinner at the restaurant, complete with an indulgent meal of options, including the signature Chilean sea bass, lobster ravioli, filet mignon and more.

“There’s something special about dining at Citrus City Grille and taking in its atmosphere,” says customer Shauna Sabet. “It always seems like a restaurant you’d want to celebrate in.”

As Cosmas and the Citrus City Grille team head into 2023, they aim to keep offering customers a well-rounded dining experience. With every glowing review, com-

pliment to the chef and returning customer, Cosmas feels rewarded and energized to keep staying in the restaurant business.

“It makes me smile every time I see a customer having a good time and enjoying the food,” he says. “The best feeling is when they tell us the food or service was great, and it always makes my day.”

Grille 122 North Glassell St. / 714-639-9600 / www. CitrusCityGrille .com

January / February 2023 11
www. Orange Review .com /articles/new-to-the-neighborhood
Citrus City Grille Head Chef Luis Garcia (left) and new owners Fabiola and Charlie Cosmas highlight the restaurant’s popular menu offerings, including updated organic craft cocktails. In the new year, Cosmas hopes to add more Greek-inspired dishes to the eatery’s existing menu. Citrus City
N EW T O T HE N EIGHBORHOOD by Yuki
As a new year arrives in Old Towne, members of the Orange community are excited to welcome neighbors to their restaurants in 2023. Read on to meet the new owners of Citrus City Grille and get introduced to Kalaveras and PUBlic Legacy.
Klotz-Burwell
PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA / SmetonaPhoto.com
“Thank You for your Continued Support” www. ByblosOrange .com 129 West Chapman Ave. / 714.538.7180 We d- Thu : 11 a m- 9 pm Fr i- Sat : 11 a m- 10 pm Sun : 11 a m- 7 pm - Tim Mahshi in Old Towne Orange! ” “Striving to bring an exceptional experience to life . . . STARBUCKS ®

Kalaveras

For the Brito family, success in the restaurant industry comes naturally. The family recently opened Kalaveras in Orange, which marks the Mexican restaurant’s 18th location.

The fast-growing, familyowned chain has locations across Southern California, but the Orange restaurant will be the first in Orange County, soon to be followed by Newport Beach and Fullerton.

“I grew up in Orange, and I felt like the area didn’t have an existing restaurant like the one we wanted to bring,” says Daniel Brito, who runs Kalaveras along with two of his cousins. “Our restaurants are lively and exciting, and we felt like that matched the culture and ambiance of Orange.”

Daniel’s cousin, Isaiah Ocampo, and his father and uncle started the Kalaveras legacy in 2016 and have since transformed it into a family empire. With 18 restaurants in just six years, the Britos make it look easy, but Daniel says there were years of hard work and discipline that went into even being able to open the first location.

“When my dad first came to the United States, he and his brother started as dishwashers at local restaurants,” he says. “He slowly started to work his way up and then owned a few small taquerias, but when he and his brother came up with the concept for Kalaveras, the entire family worked together, and we opened the first location in Bellflower.”

Each of the 18 restaurants is owned and run by different members of the Brito clan, and Daniel says he’s been able to work with his cousins and extended family more closely than he ever imagined.

“It’s been really special to get to do this with the people I love,” he says. “Not everybody gets to say they have such a good relationship with their family members that they can grow a business together.”

At Kalaveras, diners will find familiar Mexican classics like tacos and burritos, but the restaurant’s most popular dishes are the

molcajete, a sharable dish with marinated steak, chicken breast and shrimp, and the quesabirria tacos, a beef taco folded with melted cheese.

The eatery also has a full bar that offers craft cocktails and a wide selection of tequila and mezcal-based drinks.

“We use fresh ingredients for our cocktails and our dishes, and we’re really proud of that,” says Daniel. “We give customers quality products in the most authentic way we can.”

In 2023, the Britos plan to keep providing high-quality service to customers at their current locations and focus on opening new locations in Orange County and potentially outside of California.

“With hard work, anyone can accomplish anything, even if you’re coming from a different country without speaking English,” says Jeronimo Brito, Daniel’s cousin and a manager of Kalaveras Orange. “It’s really inspiring to see my family do this, and we’re excited to keep growing.”

Find out What’s Happening in towne at:
PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA SmetonaPhoto.com
178 South Glassell Open Daily 9:30am - 5:30pm 714- 633-3934 2 Stores / 100’s of Dealers / 1,000’s of Antiques Shop with Us for the Best Selection In Town! 155 South Glassell Open Daily 10 am - 6 pm 714- 516-1731 12
The Kalaveras restaurant crew settles into their Orange location, which marks the start of two additional Orange County restaurants the family plans to open. From the top, left, Bartender Jerry Brito, Manager Jeronimo Brito, Manager Lara Sanchez, CEO Daniel Brito, General Manager Hugo Cano, Chef Federico Arce and Manager Marzjele Holguin. From the bottom, left, Co-Owner Francisco Brito, Grandpa Jeronimo Brito Sr. and Co-Owner Jose Brito.
Old Towne Orange P LAZA R EVIEW
167 South Main St. /
/ www.
High Quality NEW Jewelry & Repairs “ Make Something Old, New Again ” with Custom Designs by Perry Pace • • • 138 North Glassell • Orange, CA 714-538-1956 Layaways Welcome / Cash, Check, Charge BIRTHSTONES: Ja n - Garnet (all colors ) / Fe b - Amethyst Celebrating 43 Years in Old Towne. Renée Jewelers Show YourLove Thank You. We Appreciate You & BusinessYour Happy Valentine’s Day N EW T O T HE N EIGHBORHOOD
Kalaveras
714-363-3581
Instagram .com/ Kalaveras .la

PUBlic Legacy

From the brains of multiple other iconic comfort food restaurants in Southern California comes PUBlic Legacy, a new eatery that opened in Orange in mid-November. PUBlic Legacy, which is owned by business partners Chad Dickey, Gerry Kent and Andrew Misner, marks the fourth restaurant in a series of pub-style businesses operated by the trio.

“Chad lives nearby in Villa Park, and he saw how Orange was a popular and exciting area,” says Misner. “We knew this would be an incredible opportunity to bring our style, concept and culture to a new city and see what we could accomplish here.”

The other restaurants owned by the business partners include PUBlic House in Temecula, Downtown PUBlic in Murrieta and the recently closed PUBlic 74 in San Juan Capistrano. Misner notes that each location has a distinct menu and atmosphere.

“Our restaurants all follow a similar concept, but each one has something different, from the interior to the design to the menu item s,” he says. “It’s a fun way to express ourselves more and personalize the restaurants for each city.”

At PUBlic Legacy in Orange, the menu is described as comfort food with a twist. Diners can opt for classics like the legacy smash burger or a ribeye with chefselected vegetables or try something original to the location, like

vegan mac & cheese.

“We’re excited about our ‘play on poké’ dish that features sesame tomato instead of tuna,” says Misner. “It’s already blown some minds because it’s unique, and it completely tastes like a tra-

ditional poké dish with togarashi aioli and rice chips.”

The restaurant also has a full bar, focusing on craft cocktails and homemade spirits like cucumber gin and espresso vodka. One of the most popular

PUBlic Legacy Owner Andrew Misner displays options from the new restaurant’s menu, including the popular “tomato addiction” appetizer with brie, sourdough and herb-seasoned tomatoes. Misner notes that the restaurant follows a chef-driven concept, with an emphasis on comfort food classics updated with the chef’s stylistic twist.

drinks is the Cafecito, a coffee liqueur-based drink with a craft banana maple syrup.

“We’re constantly trying new things that come directly from our chef and the kitchen,” says Misner. “We always say that great food and drink takes time, so we’re putting in the work and time to have incredible, high-quality products.”

In 2023, the PUBlic Legacy team wants to focus on crafting a hospitable, enjoyable atmosphere that welcomes more customers into their Orange location.

“We’d love for people to step out of their comfort zone and try us out,” says Dickey. “We’re much more than a gastropub, and we’ve evolved our restaurant to become pretty unique. We’re looking forward to the neighbors of Orange getting to know us.”

Above all, Dickey, Kent and Misner hope that PUBlic Legacy becomes a memorable experience for both guests and employees.

“We built this place to essentially be our new home, and we wanted it to be somewhere that makes us proud,” says Misner. •

13 January / February 2023 www. Orange Review .com /articles/new-to-the-neighborhood
PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA SmetonaPhoto.com
1547 West Katella Ave., #102 / 657-598-2450 / www. PUBlic-Legacy
N EW T O T HE N EIGHBORHOOD
PUBlic Legacy
.com

Danny K’s Billiards & Sports Bar

“We wanted a really nice place and had to borrow all kinds of money to open,” recalls Kuykendall. “We were bouncing checks and struggling but managed to cover everything.”

They initially only served beer and wine. “Once we got a liquor license, business picked up 20 percent,” he recalls.

After a challenging first few years, Kuykendall had turned Danny K’s into a success. In addition to the locals, people come from a distance, especially to play pool. There are 19 pool tables and 45 televisions to watch sports.

“We started with 25 pool tables but as sports became more popular, we made more room for seating,” says Kuykendall. “Pool

With a combined nearly 140 years in operation, these three Orange eating establishments have lasted the test of time. Their secrets to longevity are revealed below in a tribute to the varied tastes and styles of the patrons of Danny K’s Billiards and Sports Bar, The Hobbit and Hollingshead’s Delicatessen. Danny K’s Billiards & Sports Bar 1096 North Main St. / 714-397-2816 / http:// DannyKs .com AUTO / HOME / UMBRELLA / LIFE / HEALTH / BUSINESS / WORKERS COMP 12711 Newport Ave #C Tustin, CA 92780 ( 714 ) 978-4200 www. AdamGuss .com “NEW TUSTIN OFFICE” Visit Us in Tustin for a Free Comparative Quote , and Receive a $20 Gift Card. SkylineDr IrvineBlvd NewportAveto5Fwy Irvine Blvd North to 55 Fwy 17th St License #0G50204 See our overwhelmingly positive reviews on K ISTLER’S H AIR N AIL S TUDIO 31 Years in Old Towne Orange Hair / Mani-Pedi / Waxing / Facials Permanent Make-up / Lash Lift Brow Lamination / Spray Tan 714-288-0387 www. Kistlers .net (behind Hector’s, in Old Towne) 120 South Orange St / Suites A & B / Orange

popularity goes through cycles. Every seven years there’s a dip, and then another seven years, there’s a high point. Right now, pool is popular.”

Sharon Pegram has been coming to Danny K’s since it opened. “I worked in the area and started going for lunch,” she recalls. “Then I started going for happy hour. I was single back then, and it was a place I could go and watch football and feel safe. The environment was very welcoming, and the people were friendly. I even met my husband there, and we’ve been together for 23 years.”

Kuykendall is preparing to sell Danny K’s and has chronicled his adventures in a book he wrote called Open Bar. “I felt like it was an interesting story, especially the struggles in the beginning, and I hope that people will get something out of it,” he says.

Former billiards champ Danny Kuykendall used his PhD in psychology, combined with hard work and passion, to build Danny K’s Billiards & Sports Bar into the premier billiards parlor in Orange County.

With a PhD in psychology and decades of experience as an entrepreneur, Kuykendall is considering a future consulting for small business owners. “I was taught that the main thing in psychology is just to learn to be happy,” he says. “We train our employees to be happy. That’s all I want from them—to be happy and serve the customers, which ends up creating a happy place.”

14 Old Towne Orange P LAZA R EVIEW Find out What’s Happening in towne at:
PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA ELECTRONIC FILING / FAST REFUND H & H Income Tax & Insurance ANA Y CATALINA INCOME TAX SINCE 1983 480 South Glassell St Orange, CA 92866 Corner of La Veta & Glassell (714) 288-2088 The only office that can file taxes back to 1997
SmetonaPhoto.com $ 25 OFF with this ad. K NOW T HE N EIGHBORS Secrets to Longevity
by Sheri Ledbetter
Having a passion and sticking with it is what Danny K’s Billiards and Sports Bar owner Danny Kuykendall considers the secret to his success. Open since 1994, the building that was once a Gold’s Gym has become the premier billiards parlor in Orange County, and a staple in Orange.
There is plenty to do at Danny K’s besides pool and sports, with darts, shuffleboard and trivia nights.

The Hobbit

Back in 1972, chefs Howard and Beverly Philippi were seeking a location for their restaurant concept of a prefixed, one-seating meal, when they came across the 1930 farmhouse on Chapman Ave. that would become The Hobbit.

“The concept was very unusual for California at that time,” says son Michael Philippi, who now runs the fine dining establishment with his wife Debra. “My parents were Francophiles, and they loved the way people dined in Europe.”

It didn’t take long for Howard and Beverly to find success. Within a year of opening, The Hobbit became established as a go-to fine dining restaurant. “There were only a few fine dining restaurants in Orange County at the time: Chez Cary, Mr. Stox, The Cellar and Villa Nova,” notes Debra.

The Hobbit has served its patrons in three acts since its founding. Originally, the evening consisted of nine courses spanning fourand-a-half hours. They have since pared back to six courses lasting three-and-a-half hours.

“It’s a unique experience,” says Michael. “You start upstairs in the bar at 6 pm. Then you go down to the wine cellar and have a glass of Hobbit champagne and enjoy 14 different hors d’oeuvres while selecting your wine for dinner. Next, you come upstairs and eat a few courses. We have an

intermission where guests can visit the chefs in the kitchen or go to the patio before returning to their tables to enjoy the remaining courses.”

Because the building is a historic structure, the footprint remains the same as when it was built. “No rooms have been altered,” says Michael. “This includes the kitchen. The marble slab is low because the lady of the house was short.”

The wine cellar has always been a big focal point. “When we opened, there were only 68 bonded wineries and now there are thousands of them,” says Debra.

The Hobbit has 900 wine labels with several thousand bottles sourced worldwide. Sommelier Matt McKinney does the selection and helps guests with questions. The menu also has evolved over time.

“If we cook like we cooked in the 1970s, we wouldn’t be in business today, because the menu was very French influenced with heavy cream and roux-based sauces,” says Michael. “We still use French techniques, but reduced the number of courses, and we change the menu regularly.”

Former CEO of the Orange County Business Council Lucy Dunn, who considers Orange her hometown, has been going to the Hobbit for as long as she can remember.

“The coolest thing for me about the Hobbit is that when I invite guests they can’t believe it’s a house,” says Dunn. “And when they see the wine cellar, it’s amazing because homes in California generally don’t have basements. The French Sandwich and champagne are like going to heaven. I know of no other place like it in Southern California.”

Fifty years ago when Howard and Beverly were deciding on a name for the restaurant, they had read the Hobbit books by J.R.R. Tolkien, which were popular at the time. “The book said that hobbits loved to eat many courses of food for hours and have fine wines—so the name was born,” says Michael.

The Hobbit 2932 East Chapman Ave. 714-997-1972 / www. HobbitRestaurant .com

January / February 2023 15 www. Orange Review .com /articles/know-the-neighbors K NOW T HE N EIGHBORS
Michael and Debra Philippi run The Hobbit, a fine dining establishment founded by Michael’s parents 50 years ago in an original 1930 farmhouse.
P UT A LITTLE P ARIS O N- L INE IN YOUR C UP
Signature Brand Teas and French Imports.
Gourmet Goods from Near and Far
Exclusive Tea Wares
Exquisite Gifts Products delivered to your door or pick up at an Old Towne Orange location. WWW. P ARIS I N AC UP .COM VOICE: 714-538-9411 • TEXT: 714-318-4728 • EMAIL: ParisInACup @yahoo.com
• Elegant Estate Pieces • Vintage Chandeliers • Custom Lampshades • Custom Fabrics Offered from all Major Design Houses • Upholstery Services SummerhillAntiques .com 110 South Glassell St Old Towne Orange 714- 771-7782 Visit Us & Our ETSY store at SummerhillAntiques

Hollingshead’s Delicatessen

Hanging on the wall at Hollingshead’s Delicatessen are portraits of the establishment’s founders, Ken and Jackie Hollingshead. Known for its tasty sandwiches and wide selection of beers, the deli is now run by Ken Jr., his wife Charrion, their son Michael and his wife Ariel.

Founded in 1963, the deli’s original name was Hollingshead’s Finer Foods. Ken Sr. and Jackie moved to Orange County from Chicago where they were grocers and started the deli near the corner of Tustin and Katella in one of the few strip centers at the time.

Back then, customers were largely Villa Park residents who enjoyed the offerings of a wine cellar, a tearoom, imported jams and olives. “We had signature salad dishes like Jell-O salad, whipped cream fruit salad and ambrosia salad,” says Charrion.

In the mid-1980s, the deli moved across the street to the location currently occupied by Touch of Romance and changed the name to Across the Street Deli. A few years later, they closed until Ken Sr. found the current location where they reopened as Hollingshead’s Delicatessen in 1989.

“We tried to carry the menu to the new location but found that it wasn’t working,” recalls Charrion. “The clientele wanted the basics: their salad, their sandwich and a good beer.”

They lucked out when German and Belgian beer imports started picking up around that time. Microbreweries entered the scene shortly after, and Holllinghead’s Deli became an early adopter of craft brews on tap—fulfilling their niche of sandwiches and beer.

“Fun fact,” says Michael. “All the sandwiches at the original store were done with Miracle Whip. When we moved to the current location, no one wanted Miracle Whip, everyone wanted mayonnaise.”

They offer 32 sandwiches and have 23 beers rotating on tap at any given time. The only beer that doesn’t rotate is their bestseller,

Pliny the Elder from Russian River Brewing. The delicatessen has 500 different beers to-go that vary from week to week, depending on what’s seasonal. Regulars even have their own personal beer mugs with their names on them that live behind the bar until their next visit.

Customer Harry Asher is one of the original regulars and considers himself the “Mayor of Hollingshead’s.”

“I’m very outgoing, and so I invite people to sit at the mayor’s

368 South Main St. / 714-264-0403

table,” says Asher. “It’s like sitting in my living room having a beer with friends.”

Treating customers like family has always been part of Hollingshead’s Deli. Michael and Ariel’s kids play with the regulars, and there is a bucket of toys in the shop. “We’ll give customers sass in a fun way,” says Michael. “A lot of people say they feel like they’re at home, and that’s what we want.” •

Old Towne Orange P LAZA R EVIEW 16 IN THE ORANGE CIRCLE ANTIQUE MALL Vintage Platinum & Gold Jewelry BUY / SELL / TRADE 118 South Glassell St Old Towne Orange, CA 92866 714- 538-6305 www. RamblingRose .net Home of the 18 Month Layaway
Celebrating 60 years in Orange this year (from left), Michael, Ariel, Charrion and Ken Hollingshead, owners of Hollingshead’s Delicatessen, showcase their signature fare of beer and sandwiches. PHOTO BY WILLIAM WALLACE WilliamTWallace.com
Find out What’s Happening in towne at: K NOW T HE N EIGHBORS
Let Us Solve Your
Problems “Our Integrity is Our Promise” • Neat, Clean, Professional • New Roof • Roof Repair • Roof Certification Call today for a Free Estimate: 714-633-3619 www. GuardianRoofs .com Lic.847279, B1 & C39
Hollingshead’s Delicatessen
/ www. HollingsheadsDeli .com
Roofing
PHOTO
BY KRISTIN SMETONA SmetonaPhoto.com

A Midcentury-Moder n Aesthetic

BBuilt in 1953 on the edge of Old Towne’s historic district, the home of Michael Cecconi and Maryam Zahedi is one of the rare examples of midcentury-modern architecture in the area. Their gem of a home has also provided a canvas for the couple to express their appreciation of contemporary art and the midcentury-modern aesthetic.

Michael, a licensed architect, and Maryam, an architectural designer, purchased the house in 2008 after an exhaustive search throughout Southern California and even as far away as San Francisco. They had been living

and working in Irvine at the time.

“Maryam found this house for sale online after we swore we would take a break from looking for homes for a while,” says Michael. “We drove by and the owner happened to be there and invited us in. As an unexpected consequence of our impromptu visit, we had a wonderful chat with the eldest daughter Kay, one of three siblings who had inherited the house after their parents passed away. They had grown up in the house, which had been in the Schulenburg family for 30 years. They all three still live in Old Towne to this day.”

The personal connection they felt with Kay, along with the many attributes of the property, led Michael and Maryam to make an offer that same day. Despite the obvious TLC that would be needed to upgrade the property, they saw the potential and were excited about the possibilities.

Showcasing open spaces, postand-beam construction, floor-toceiling windows and a connection with the outdoors, the 1,500square-foot home epitomizes many of the characteristics of midcentury-modern design. Perfect for a family, the home has three large bedrooms and two

bathrooms, plus an enormous yard. Their teenage daughter Chiara, an aspiring actress, grew up in the home and currently attends Orange County School of the Arts in Santa Ana.

Before addressing some 1980sera additions like “country oak” accessories and floral wallpaper, the couple installed air-conditioning after their first summer there. Over time, they upgraded the electrical and plumbing, installed new track lighting and reconfigured the layout of the kitchen, to name a few.

“The old kitchen didn’t have any historical value to it, so we

January / February 2023 17 www. Orange Review .com /articles/old-towne-property O LD T OWNE P ROPERTY
Written
CONTINUED ON PAGE 18
Washed by landscape lighting at dusk, the large windows of the living/dining area open to the park-like front yard that serves as a forecourt to the house.

area adjacent to the kitchen, a large work by artist Dana Lovell is accompanied by a “found object” sculpture by local artist Pamela Grau, while an Alessi “Blow-up” basket adorns the coffee table that rests on a Persian rug.

The double-sided fireplace is a central feature of the home. An Eames rocking chair graces the den, while a 1950’s vintage painting, purchased at the Orange Antique Mall, hangs between the den and living/dining area.

Maryam, Michael and Chiara in front of their mid-century modern home. Michael often rides with Chiara on his Ducati Monster through the local canyons.

decided to re-do the entire space and add Caesarstone countertops and barstool seating,” says Michael. “Our home continues to be a work in progress. Two years ago, for example, we installed a new roof and added rigid insula-

tion because the original one didn’t have any insulation. We still joke about the old roof, recalling how on rainy days, it felt like being in a glorified tent when heavy rain pounded down and water would drip in.”

Eager to learn more about the property’s history, Maryam researched records at City Hall. Totaling a third of an acre, the lot itself is 60 feet wide and 250 feet deep. Back in the day, the property had been an orange orchard, as

evidenced by a heritage orange tree that still grows in the yard. They also unearthed a plethora of historic artifacts in the back.

“Our neighbor across the street grew up here and distinctly remembers the orange grove,”

Old Towne Orange P LAZA R EVIEW 18 Find out What’s Happening in towne at:
A Midcentury-Modern Aesthetic CONT. FROM PAGE 17 Professional Property Management • Thorough Tenant Screening • On-line Payments & Disbursements • Improve Property Value • 24 Hr Emergency Service for Tenants Real Estate Sales & Investments • Residential, Commercial, Industrial, Land Sales • Investment Strategies • 40 Years in Business 550 East Chapman Ave, Suite B, Orange, CA 92866 714- 7 4 4-5711 www. RealEstateEstablishment .com Find us on: General Contractor - Keith Misumi ( 949 ) 795-6812 www.BearFlagOC.com license #580269 Historic Restorations Remodels Kitchen and Bath Exterior Makeovers Siding Doors and Windows Patio Covers Decks Stairs Painting Termite and Dry Rot In
the den

A “satellite” chandelier hangs in the dining area that opens directly to a side yard seating area featuring a woodburning fireplace. A sculpture, nicknamed “Gaia” by the family, stands in the corner below a portrait of Chiara created by San Diego Artist Soudabeh Memarzadeh.

says Maryam. “We found bits and pieces from the old grove, such as light-gauge railroad track, sections of old, red clay pipe and other things related to the old irrigation system.”

Recently, the couple re-landscaped the front yard, creating a park-like setting and a “fore-court” to the entry where a frosted-glass French door opens to the living room. They soon embarked on a physically challenging project that was quite daunting at the time. Designed by the couple for entertaining, multiple seating niches provide cozy areas for gatherings, including a concrete

firepit with a midcentury look.

“For the gas piping for the firepit, we dredged a 150-footlong trench two-feet deep with a machine we could barely manage,” says Michael. “We fitted up all the gas pipes and got it permitted in anticipation of the next phase of work when we hired a landscape contractor to finish the job. We then converted a portion of the yard into a bocce court to reduce the amount of lawn and help animate the space. The court also has a personal meaning and is dedicated to my beloved relative Vittorio Costantini, a true Bocce champion, for the time I

spent with him and his family in Italy,” says Michael.

Maryam added: “The yard has become the core of the house, a place where we can relax and connect with our friends. We have hosted weddings and had a memorial to remember a loved one. Also, we have summer parties, outdoor movies nights, bocce games, and enjoy chilling out next to the fireplace. Our favorite is when we gather with friends on Thanksgiving as our extended family and celebrate together.”

Meanwhile, the interior showcases abstract art, plus pieces they’ve obtained from Old Towne

Orange antique shops. As a multicultural family (Italian/Persian), Michael and Maryam share similar tastes in art, architecture and travel. They first met in 2003 when they worked at the same architectural firm in Irvine and discovered their mutual appreciation for Alessi houseware products. They got married in 2007 in Florence, Italy after Michael proposed to her in Santa Barbara the year prior at the site of their first date.

“One of the many things we have in common is our love of coffeemakers from around the world that we started collecting

118 South Glassell St. Old Towne Orange 714- 538-8160 All Types of Roofs & Repairs C OMMERCIAL & R ESIDENTIAL License #663983 31 Years in Orange, Serving Southern California Roof Leak & Re-Felt Specialists. 714- 244-6567 www. GallaRiniRoofing .com
19 www. Orange Review .com /articles/old-towne-property January / February 2023 O LD T OWNE P ROPERTY
Artwork by longtime Orange County artist Suki Berg is prominently featured on the chartreuse entry wall. A glimpse of the family’s coffeemaker collection can be seen from the living room area.
CONTINUED ON PAGE 20 Solving Plumbing Problems for Our Valued Customers throughout Orange County since 1989 SEWER • WATER • GAS PLUMBING COMMERCIA L • INDUSTRIA L • RESIDENTIAL Family Owned & Operated Call for Free Estimate 714 ­ 974 ­ 9448 www.ShaferPlumbing.com 1307 West Trenton Ave Orange, CA 92867

A Midcentury-Modern Aesthetic

as travel souvenir s,” says Michael. “We keep our collection displayed on top of the tall cabinet that extends across the side of the kitchen.”

The couple has also acquired a number of artworks—mostly from local artists—that are displayed prominently in the house. They have also created their own artwork.

The incredible chandelier in

the living/dining area was gifted to them by a friend who found it slightly damaged and discarded in Los Angeles and thought it would look “cool” in their house.

“We happily had it repaired when we realized it was from acclaimed designer Jonathan Alder,” says Maryam.

Having grown up in a major metropolitan area, Maryam appreciates the walkable commu-

nity of Old Towne Orange with its shops, restaurants and historic neighborhoods. She and Michael frequently walk to Starbucks in the Plaza with their daughter. They also enjoy eating at Pandor Artisan Bakery and Café, as well Byblos Café, their favorite local restaurant. The friendly, smalltown atmosphere of Old Towne has yielded many friendships and acquaintances.

“We lived in Irvine for 10 years and never knew any of our next-door neighbors,” she says. “Now we have so many friends here in Old Towne. It’s the sense of community that we appreciate most about living here. The unique architecture and pride of ownership are just some of the things that make Old Towne so special.” •

“Located in Old Towne Orange.” 160 North Glassell St . Old Towne Orange , CA 92866 OPEN WED-SUN: 11 AM - 5 PM ( 714 ) 363-3996 Featuring • V INTAGE • C OLLECTABLE • • F URNITURE • R ECORDS • • J EWELRY • A RT G LASS • • R OCK & R OLL T - S HIRTS • & MORE ! VISIT OUR NEW STORE Old Towne Orange P LAZA R EVIEW 20 Find out What’s Happening in towne at:
CONT. FROM PAGE 19
The front yard features “spiral trees” found discarded at a local building supply yard that were purchased and refurbished by the couple. Obligatory, vintage pink flamingos stand guard.
O LD T OWNE P ROPERTY
Chiara prepares for another round of bocce, while Michael and Maryam await by the firepit. The sign “il campo di Vittorio” pays homage to Michael’s relative, who was an avid bocce player in Rome. A heritage orange tree stands proudly next to the bocce court.
Owner M IKE F RY is Ready to Help! Owner M IKE F RY is Ready to Help! Over 40 Years of Experience! • Computer Diagnostics • Brakes • Electrical • Suspension • 4-Wheel Alignment • Fuel Injection • Smog Certificate • Factory Scheduled • Maintenance • Foreign & Domesti c T ITAN A UTOMOTIVE (EST. 1976) 939 W. Chapman Ave. (at Batavia St.) Orange, CA 92868 714- 997-2311

30 Years in Old Towne Orange

Country Roads Antiques

It’s crazy to think about, but here at Country Roads, we are celebrating our 30th birthday this January! We are officially all grown up!

In all seriousness, we don’t know if our founder, Sue, imagined her shop still being here all these years later when she first opened the doors on January 1, 1993, but we hope we are making her proud. Thirty years is a long time to keep anything going, and in looking back over that time, a few reflections or observations stand out.

If you stand in one place long enough, you sure can see the world change! Old Towne Orange has changed and grown a lot over these past three decades. That’s life, of course—we wouldn’t appreciate the little things if nothing ever changed, right? But still, sometimes it’s pretty unbelievable to look at old photos or think about what was once here and there and is now gone. The bustling community of today is of course wonderful, but sometimes we sure do miss those old days of the slightly quieter town where parking was readily available!

Another sobering realization is “relativity” of time and what makes something vintage. For example, when we first opened in 1993, midcentury modern wasn’t nearly as popular as it is now, in part because it wasn’t seen as all that old. Something from the 1950s was, after all, only 40 years old in the 1990s. Now, as good Gen-X 1990s teenagers of that era, we loved midcentury antiques, and they seemed plenty old to us!

Flash forward thirty years, and not only is mid-century modern highly collectible and harder to find, but the “kids” today are all about things that are old to them, which, brace yourself, is all things 1980s and 1990s! This may or may not cause us to silently scream, “HOW CAN THAT BE OLD IF WE WERE ALIVE THEN?!?” The math adds up, but it’s a bitter pill to swallow! This isn’t to say that we really consider 1980s and 1990s to be all that “vintage,” but it does speak to how much things can change when you’ve been slinging antiques for three decades…including yourself!

If our time in business has taught us anything, it’s that a shop is more than a shop. It’s never just about the products or the place. It’s about the people who come with it. Families have been formed here, we’ve watched generations of kids grow up, and lifetime friendships have formed. We know our regulars and their stories and their pets and their families, and we laugh and cry with them. And that is, cheesy as it might sound, the biggest blessing and lesson of all.

Our mom left us not just a shop, but a legacy and a family. That was one of her greatest gifts to us—this community of people. Weird, quirky, funny, awesome people, all bonded by their love of “old junk.” We couldn’t have dreamt of a better legacy to continue.

We are throwing ourselves a birthday party on Saturday, January 28 from 10 am to 5 pm and are inviting everyone! More details to come, but it’s gonna be a fun day to celebrate this big anniversary.

Thanks for all the years of love. It’s been an honor to be a part of the OTO community. We look forward to the years to come!

PS: If you have any photos or stories from our shop over these years, we’d love for you to share them with us. We’re compiling memories for our website over this next year. You can email us at contact@CountryRoadsAntique s.com •

www.

CountryRoadsAntiques .com

216 WEST CHAPMAN AVE. / 714-532-304 1

Open Daily 10 am - 5 pm www.facebook.com/ CountryRoadsAntiques

Essraa Nawar

Since childhood, Essraa Nawar’s curious nature has caused her to ask many questions. The answers to those queries have allowed her to see the world through a kaleidoscope lens. For the Chapman University Leatherby Libraries Diversity and Development Librarian Chair, this view has empowered her to spread information and understanding.

The questions started when Nawar was a child in Egypt, her birthplace, and continued during formative years spent in culturally diverse Qatar.

“When I struggled with seeing people of different faiths and religions than myself and asked my mother about those differences, she would quote a verse from the Quran that clearly forbids interference in other people’s religious affairs and promotes interfaith dialogue and understanding,” says Nawar, who gave the TEDx talk, “Feeling Welcomed and Empowered,” in 2015 at the Technical University of Munich in Germany. “The promotion of equality and fairness between people of different cultures and ethnicities was something I grew up learning about.”

Third Culture Kid

At first, Nawar resisted being a “third culture kid,” referring to children who are raised in a culture other than their country of nationality during a significant period of their childhood. She spent kindergarten through middle school in Qatar, returning to Egypt for high school, where she was the valedictorian, and to attend college for an undergraduate degree.

“It took some time, but I came to accept and even love the opportunities resulting from living in such culturally diverse circumstances,” says Nawar. “I have found as an adult that I developed important skillsets from those early experiences that have enabled me to find something in common with people who may look or sound different than me or who follow a different

C OUNTRY R OADS A NTIQUES & G ARDENS
January / February 2023 21 www. Orange Review .com /articles/building-character
SMETONA SmetonaPhoto.com
U NIVERSITY
PHOTO BY KRISTIN
Building Character at C HAPMAN
CONTINUED ON PAGE 24
B IRTHDAY PARTY ! J ANUARY 28 , 2023 10 am - 5 pm J OIN U S A S W E C ELEBRATE 30 Y EARS I N O LD T OWNE O RANGE ! COUNTRY ROADS.COM

The Strength of Love

Since 2000, Chapman University has continued to run its Holocaust Art & Writing Contest through the school’s Rodgers Center for Holocaust Education, and this year marks the 24th annual contest.

Middle school, high school and international students can enter to compete for cash prizes, as well as an expense-paid trip for firstplace winners and their parents and teachers to visit the Los Angeles Museum of the Holocaust and other historical sites in the area. Last year, students from 32 states and 11 countries entered.

“One of the best things we’ve seen come out of the contest is the way students connect with each other,” says Jessica MyLymuk, Assistant Director of the Rodgers Center for Holocaust Education. “It’s a gift that keeps on giving because they get the full educational trip and experience, but also get to make lifelong connections they take with them afterward.”

This year’s theme is “The Strength of Love and the Will to Survive,” and participants have the opportunity to enter in the art, film, poetry or prose categories.

Old Towne Orange P LAZA R EVIEW 22 Find out What’s Happening in towne at:
T ALK O F T HE T OWN E by Yuki Klotz-Burwell

and the Will to Survive

“When people think of the Holocaust, they understandably tend to think of only dark and difficult times, but it’s incredibly important to draw lessons from the past in a way that is empowering and inspiring,” says Marilyn Harran, Director of the Rodgers Center for Holocaust Education. “What we do at the center and with the contest is important because we’re interacting with young people at a time when their minds can be shaped to make an impact on the future.”

As a yearly contest requirement, contestants must view a full-length survivor or rescuer testimony to inform their submission and draw inspiration. The testimonies give students a holistic view of the story they retell through art or writing and provide a sense of the survivor’s life before, during and after the Holocaust.

“When students listen to the full-length testimony, they hear

how the survivors were resilient and rebuilt their live s,” says MyLymuk. “It’s not just about the victimization; it’s about the entire human experience.”

says Harran. “It was magical to see the students meeting the survivors, and everybody would burst into tears at the same moment.”

The awards ceremony will take place in Chapman’s Memorial Hall and has often reached the 1,000-person capacity in previous years.

and the center share a mission of humanizing history. Every day, Harran, MyLymuk and the entire team share lessons from history that make Chapman’s center one of the most prolific and dynamic Holocaust programs in the country. Harran sees the center as a function to teach and inform the next generation of students.

In past years, students had the chance to meet survivors directly at the awards ceremony, which is taking place for the 24th annual contest on March 10th.

“Sometimes we’ve been able to have survivors join the ceremony, and they’re the ones about whom the students have done their work,”

“The contest’s content focuses on serious and difficult, but uplifting topics. At the ceremony, we try to highlight the uplifting aspects,” says Harran. “We have music from the Orange County Klezmers and Kosher food. It’s a chance for students and their educators to interact with survivors and second- and third-generation survivors.”

At their core, both the contest

“With the recent upswing of anti-Semitism happening, it’s incredibly important to not be silent when smaller prejudices and jokes happen,” she says. “A lot of the time, the Holocaust gets equated with numbers, but we want to remind everyone it’s about stories. We want to build a lifelong interest and maybe even love for history as part of the human story.” •

To enter, students must postmark their pieces by February 1st, 2023 , or submit online by February 3rd: www. Chapman .edu/research/institutes-and-centers/holocausteducation/holocaust-art-and-writing-contest/index.aspx

January / February 2023 23
www. Orange Review .com /articles/talk-of-the-towne
“What we do at the center and with the contest is important because we’re interacting with young people at a time when their minds can be shaped to make an impact on the future.”
Marilyn Harran

religion. That has allowed me to help erase misconceptions about myself and others.”

In addition to her position at Chapman, which includes overseeing Arts, Exhibits and Events for the library, Nawar promotes empowering Muslim woman, as well as overall diversity, cultural and religious intelligence and interfaith dialogue and understanding. She expresses her views and shares her story as a Muslim woman living in America through speaking and writing, such as for the Huffington Post. In 2017, she was honored by the Egyptian government as one of the top 30 expats who have changed the narrative surrounding how people view Egyptian women. “I consider myself a disrupter of long-held misconceptions and beliefs, but in a positive way,” says Nawar.

Immigrating to the United States

Nawar met her husband, also a Chapman University faculty member, Dr. Hesham El-Askary, through his sister. The two developed their relationship long distance while Nawar was in Egypt earning a bachelor’s degree in commerce from Alexandria University and El-Askary was a student at George Mason University in Fairfax, Virginia.

“We fell in love while talking online,” she says. “Hesham went to Egypt and proposed to my father, which is the culturally appropriate way, and we were married.” Soon after, Nawar moved to the United States.

“I was nervous to leave my family in Egypt and come to America. It wasn’t long after 9/11, and here I was a 21-year-old Muslim woman wearing a head scarf. As I explored the U.S. with all its cultures and subcultures, I began to ask myself, where is home? Today, I no longer ask that question. I have two software systems embedded in my head—American and Egyptian—and they are blended. I visit Egypt quite often, but I don’t compare anymore. I simply appreciate and am thankful for both cultures.”

When she first moved to America in 2002, Nawar got a job in Washington D.C. with The Royal Embassy of Saudi Arabia, while also working toward her MBA and giving birth to her two sons, who are a year apart. (She also has a daughter born in 2010.) Nawar returned to Egypt in 2004 for a time, where she worked at Bibliotheca Alexandrina, a library in Alexandria, Egypt. Then in 2009, her husband was recruited to Chapman University. When the family relocated to Orange County, Nawar began a volunteer position at the Leatherby Libraries cataloguing a collection of vintage children’s books in the library’s basement.

Generals

in the War on Ignorance

“As someone who greatly enjoys finding and sharing information, I had fallen in love with libraries and librarianship while working at Bibliotheca Alexandrina,” says Nawar, who has risen in the ranks at Chapman over the last 13 years, moving to a paid position in 2010 and becoming a member of administration in 2017. During this time, she also received a master’s degree in organizational leadership and another master’s degree in library and information science.

Nawar currently supervises the marketing and events teams at Chapman that bring exhibits, events and programs to the university, as well as manages marketing and outreach and diversity and fundraising efforts. To date, she has helped raise more than 5 million dollars in support of the Leatherby Libraries and has co-curated several exhibits, including “Empowering Muslim Women,” “Egypt, the Revolution Continues” and “A Country called Syria.”

Kevin Ross is Dean of the Leatherby Libraries and a librarian. He hired Nawar in 2009 and has worked with her over the years in various capacities.

“I think the world of Essraa, and I respect her as a colleague, librarian and friend,” he says. “She is an excellent representative for DEI, development and librarianship, and her leadership in the library has been vital to our success. Her contributions to the library profession are numerous and include active engagement and award recognition in library related professional organiza-

“All Aboard: The Romance o f

As Chapman University’s Hilbert Museum of California Art undergoes construction and expansion that will triple its size by the time of its planned re-opening in 2024, the museum has opened a temporary location in downtown Orange that is open to the public now and throughout 2023. The first exhibition in the Hilbert Temporary is “All Aboard: The Romance of California’s Railroads,” featuring nearly 40 paintings, illustrations and etchings by top California artists from the 1930s to today, selected from The Hilbert Collection.

“Almost everyone loves and is fascinated by trains, so this current exhibition should appeal to all age groups,” says Mark Hilbert, founder of the museum, who collected all the works on display. “But this show also invites visitors to consider exactly how vital the railroads have been in the modern history of California.”

California’s railroad history is unique. Its first railroad didn’t appear until the discovery of gold in 1848 brought the territory (which became a state in 1850) into the vast public consciousness. After the Gold Rush and with the completion of the Transcontinental Railroad, California’s railroad systems expanded quickly, encompassing more than 2,000 miles of rail by 1880.

Suddenly, this once-exotic far outpost of the United States, squarely facing the lands of the Pacific Rim, was brought closer to the rest of the country by the rails. By the turn of the century, railroads were carrying thousands of new residents to California from points east, as popular advertising campaigns lured people to the sunshine and untold promise of the Golden State.

Trains played a crucial role in Southern California’s citrus industry, making it possible for growers to ship their oranges and lemons directly to the Midwest and Atlantic Coast—and citrus packing houses sprang up along-

side the rails in Los Angeles, Orange, Ventura, Riverside, San Bernardino, Santa Barbara, San Diego and Imperial Counties. (Including the packinghouse here in Orange, now owned by Chapman University and soon to open as the Sandi Simon Dance Center.)

Railroad companies competed to corner the citrus-transport market, resulting in an extensive network of rails across this “orange empire,” and in technological innovations such as refrigerator cars and automated packing equipment.

Also, by the early twentieth century, the shipping of California’s “black gold” (oil) by train to the rest of the country had resulted in the development and refinement of steel tank cars. California’s railroads—beginning with Southern Pacific—also innovated by converting coalburning locomotives to run on this new, abundant fuel source: oil.

The artwork depicted on this issue’s inside front cover, Yoko Mazza’s “Journey to Cheyenne,” is a dramatic 2015 oil painting of a “Wasatch”-type locomotive, which were nicknamed “Big Boys” in the 1940s by an unknown Union Pacific employee. The name stuck to these behemoths, which hauled freight for many years until they were finally retired from service starting in the 1960s. Some of them were then donated to various city museums and train museums.

The Railway & Locomotive

Old Towne Orange P LAZA R EVIEW Find out What’s Happening in towne at:
CONT. FROM PAGE 21 CONTINUED ON PAGE 26 24
Essraa Nawar
Romantic Bridges , 1950s Emil Kosa Jr. (1903-1968) Watercolor / 34” x 40”
I NSIDE A R T by Mary Platt

California’s Railroads”

at the Hilbert Temporary

Historical Society received Big Boy locomotive 4014 in 1961, and it was displayed for the next 52 years at their RailGiants museum at the L.A. County Fairgrounds in Pomona, Calif. Union Pacific contacted the Society in 2013 about re-acquiring the 4014 to make her run again for the sesquicentennial celebration of the Golden Spike ceremony in 2019. Artist Mazza, working from a photo by Steve Crise, depicted Number 4014 as she left the museum in Pomona to make the run to Cheyenne, Wyoming. The locomotive is now part of Union Pacific’s historical steam heritage fleet.

“Locomotives tell stories,” Mazza says. “Their journey through deep canyons and tall mountains, along lakes and rivers and across deserts, all serve as backdrops to tell the story of their history and advancement of technology.”

When Mazza studies a train to paint, she says she always feels as if the locomotive is alive and eager to tell her its own stories, and she loves to listen to them.

“The Big Boy was a very complicated creature to paint,” Mazza says, “not only because of her massive structure consisting of hundreds of pipes, thousands of rivets and tubes, but also

complicated by the unique history of these bold machines. I was motivated to paint the Big Boy because of the difficult challenge of composing the complicated details of her outer beauty without forsaking the inner significance and history of who she was.”

From the earliest days of the railroads onwards, California artists have enthusiastically portrayed the many facets of the trains that traveled through the Golden State. From atmospheric depictions of engines wreathed in clouds of steam to dramatic nocturnes, from images of peaceful rural platforms and bustling urban train stations to representations of the people who worked and rode aboard the trains, these paintings now on display at the Hilbert Temporary are a vivid chronicle of the realities—and the romance—of California’s railroads.

The Hilbert Temporary is located at 216 East Chapman Ave. in Orange, across from Renata’s and the Elks Lodge. The museum is open to the public Tuesday-Saturday, 11 am to 5 pm.

Admission is free with an advance online reservation at www. HilbertMuseu m .org. Walk-ins are welcome if space is available. Information: 714-516-5880. •

The Hilbert Temporary 216 East Chapman Ave. / 714-516-5880 / Tues-Sat: 11am - 5pm

Admission free with advance online registration at; www. HilbertMuseum .org

Red Cap Gossip , 1939 James Patrick (1911-1944 ) Watercolor on paper / 24.75” x 25.25”
www. Orange Review .com /inside-art January / February 2023 25
Trainyard , 1950s Margaret Rogers (1872-1961) Oil on canvas / 19.75” x 25.625”
A Woun ded Chi ld Orp ha ned by War
View this and other fine works of art at: Marinus Welman Studio 2402 North Glassell St. #A Orange, CA 92865 714 998-8662 www.MarinusWelman.com 24” x 30” / OC
by Marinus Welman

Essraa Nawar

CONT. FROM PAGE 24

tions. She is also a chair or active member on several library committees and is of service to Chapman University in the Faculty Senate and on the Graduate Academic Council. She also conducts scholarly activities on local, regional, national and international levels. These activities include book chapters, articles, panels and presentations.”

The way Nawar sees it, libraries and librarians continue to be more relevant every day. “There are more libraries in the U.S. than McDonalds or Starbucks,” she says. “Librarians are warriors of social justice and generals in the war on ignorance. Our role is very important in building a creative and innovative society. Librarians have a special skillset to provide authentic, accurate information. Through public and corporate libraries, we continue to add vital metadata to the metaverse.”

Mentoring and Empowering

In addition to being a librarian, Nawar enjoys guiding young people, including Ruby Blakesleay. The two met in 2018 when Blakesleay was a Chapman freshman. Until recently, when Blakesleay began booking roles as an actress, she worked under Nawar as a Library Administration Assistant at the Leatherby Libraries.

“Essraa’s mentorship has been influential to my growth, and I will always be grateful for the opportunities she has given me,” says Blakesleay. “When we met, I was already an overachiever and confident, but she helped me shape my identity and take ownership of who I am. Essraa is a fierce, confident woman who influenced me to embrace my own confidence. At the same time, she also balances that confidence with vulnerability, which I love about her. Working for Essraa feels like working as the assistant to a CEO of a corporation, and it is! She is the CEO of Essraa Nawar, with a business to connect with others.” •

It’s the People at Country

Thirty years ago on January 1, 1993, Sue Jackson opened Country Roads Antiques on the corner of West Chapman Ave. and South Olive St. Three decades later, the Jackson children are keeping the Old Towne mainstay alive.

“My mom passed away a little more than two years ago now,” says Brande Jackson, Sue’s oldest daughter. She and her brother, Bryce, and sister, Katie, are sticking to the standards set by their mother.

With nearly 50 vendors, “there is a little bit of everything,” Brande says. “We strive to always keep the shop well displayed and stocked with a rotation of ‘new arrival’ vintage items styled in ways to inspire. We carry various styles, including primitive Americana, vintage industrial, mid-century modern, shabby chic, rustic ‘farmhouse,’ as well as bohemian (‘boho’) looks. You’ll also find vintage clothes, plants, candles and home decor.”

26 Find out What’s Happening in towne at:
T ALK O F T HE T OWN E by Nathan Carter
Old Towne Orange P LAZA R EVIEW
Brande Jackson (left), with sister Katie Jackson Guilino and brother Bryce Jackson. PHOTO BY KRISTIN SMETONA / SmetonaPhoto.com

Gardening in the New Year

John Mata has been a vendor at Country Roads Antiques since 2016. He believes Country Roads has lasted so long because of the uniquely curated antique collections and vendors.

“Becoming a part of Country Roads was a true honor when I first joined the store,” Mata says. “I had some experience with having a spot in another Orange Plaza antique store, but Country Roads had always been the elite vintage destination in the area in my mind for some time already.”

While there have been changes over the years at Country Roads, including Sue’s passing and the store downsizing in April 2021 after they lost the lease on one of the buildings, Mata says the family has handled the transition very well.

“Sue’s children and their families have been doing a great job of running the store since she passed away,” Mata says. “Losing one of our buildings and surviving that

strange transition to business as usual after those COVID days could’ve sunk any other business.”

Another unique feature of the store is its garden. Norm and Genie Yoder began the garden in the mid-1990s. After they retired, Brande took over. The signage out front entices pedestrians with the promise of “weird plants,” and Brande says the garden is a testament to the store’s longevity.

“The garden in particular is really cool because it’s such a collaborative effort in the store,” she says. “A lot of people over the years have helped us grow it, maintain it and expand it. There is a Chinese Elm in the garden that was chopped down twice. It’s a sapling that keeps coming back, no matter what we do, so we just try to maintain it and keep it in order.”

The staff of Country Roads Antiques has seen lots of changes in Orange over the decades. Brande says there has been a massive increase in foot traffic

As we usher in this new year, it seems like a good time to offer up a “to do” list for those who are gardening inclined. Less resolution, more in the style of “#inspirationvibes,” this is what we have on deck for our botanical aspirations in the upcoming weeks. Hopefully, it gives you some ideas, too!

1. Plant now for spring ! This is the time of year to plant sweet peas, poppies, larkspur, delphinium and the like. If you want a poppin’ garden full of color by early spring, get these types of plants into the ground now! Take care to avoid planting during a time of extreme seasonal weather—either really cold or during a heat wave—and make sure that where you plant has good drainage. If we (hopefully!) get a lot of rain this winter, you don’t want your plants to get too soggy and wet. You can easily improve drainage by adding in some compost and amendments. Lots of nurseries, including our own, will have these types of plants in stock in early January. What is more fun than plant shopping? (Spoiler alert: almost nothing!)

2. Read some gardening books ! Some recently published books we enjoyed include The Plant Rescuer. This is the book your houseplants want you to read by Sarah Gerrard-Jones. The book helps you stop killing your houseplants, which seems like as optimistic of a way to start off the new year as any, right? We like it for the stunning photos, and the way it’s organized. Not so much by plant name (which isn’t super helpful if you aren’t already familiar with names) and instead by indoor conditions like lights, pets and water needs. Another favorite this year was Garden Maker: Growing a Life of Beauty and Wonder with Flowers by Christie Purifoy, which does what, in our opinion, the best gardening books do: blend practical tips with some memoir and reflections and a bit of philosophy and inspirational photographs. We love a good garden book that brings us back to the fundamentals of why we are drawn to planting and growing things and inspires us to go outside and play in the dirt!

3. On that note, our third to do item is to “take it back to third grade.” Grow some seeds, propagate some houseplants, and make some garden inspired art with no expectations! Give yourself a bit of freedom to make stuff and grow stuff just for fun! The thrill of seeing seeds pop up from the soil never gets old, so give yourself that gift in the new year. Plant a few compostable paper cups with some herbs or veggies or flowers you’d like to grow in your garden later this spring, give them a bit of water, plunk them in a sunny window and wait for the magic to happen! There are lots of great how-to videos online. Bust out your watercolors and just paint for the sake of painting. It’s good for the brain and for the soul and can inspire even more creativity in the garden.

The new year is often associated with new starts…and then, the frustration of not sticking with it. We say you toss all that to the curb. Just get outside, grow some plants, read some books and make some art for the sake of having fun. It’s much more rewarding than any list of resolutions! •

Johnnye Merle’s Gardens

216 West Chapman Ave. / Old Towne Orange

27
Roads
January / February 2023 www. Orange Review .com /talk-of-the-towne
Brande Jackso n is the owner of Johnnye Merle’s Gardens, located in Country Roads in Old Towne Orange. @johnnye_merles_gardens. She can be reached at brande@johnnyemerles.com. She is also a teacher, and leads classes on art, creativity and gardening, as well as walking tours of downtown Los Angeles.
CONTINUED ON PAGE 28
Thu Mtg: Noon - 1:30 pm Tue Mtg: 7:00 - 8:30 am Wed Mtg: 6:00 - 7:00 pm J OHNNYE M ERLE’S G ARDENS

A Leap of Art at Chapman University

Leap of Art residencies started during the 2019-20 Musco Center for the Arts season as an outgrowth of Chapman University’s Master Classes. Visiting artists and companies conducted the classes —where students performed for them and were critiqued—while in town to do a public event at Musco.

Richard Bryant, Executive Director at the venue since its 2016 opening, thought residencies comprising classes, workshops and other activities over multiple days would further enrich the Chapman student experience.

Being in the presence of working artists who have toured all over and are “exemplars of what they do” ends up having “a profound effect on students,” explains Bryant.

Giulio Ongaro, Dean and Professor, Chapman College of Performing Arts, meets weekly with Bryant to discuss ideas and plan residencies.

“I felt it would be nice to bring in people who can connect with other disciplines,” explains Ongaro. He also wanted to “engage more people at the university and make them feel The Musco is not just for entertainment. The facility

got to interact with top-notch professional dancers.”

Last October, a residency by creatives of film series/ multimedia work about incarcerated youth, “The Just and the Blind,” provided technical help for students and went beyond that to initiate conversations, Ongaro says.

The artists hosted a small Q&A session. Their guest class with company dancer Drew Dollaz was “an opportunity to dive into a completely new style without the pressure of judgment or expectation,” says Chapman senior Lauren Bramlett, a Dance Performance and English Literature major.

Dollaz “taught us his signature ‘Flex’N’ style, a fusion-driven type of hip-hop/breaking/gliding that none of the Chapman dancers had been exposed to prior,” Bramlett continues. “He was “easygoing, focused on fun and effort as the primary goals of the class, rather than wanting us to emerge as pseudo-experts.”

Bramlett says the class was “a great reminder of how wide and

Upcoming Residencies (and public performances):

February 16 - Rosanne Cash Duo

Cash is a multiple Grammy-winning Americana recording artist and the daughter of Johnny Cash. She plays with guitarist, singer and husband John Leventhal.

February 23 - Pilobolus

The American modern dance company marked its 50th year in 2021.

March 1 - Lawrence Brownlee

The Ohio operatic tenor singer spotlights “Songs from the Harlem Renaissance.”

March 16 - Lucia Micarelli Quartet

The New York violinist/singer/actor has toured with Josh Groban and Chris Botti.

April 29 - Martha Redbone

A Native and African American folk, blues and gospel vocalist, Redbone presents “Bone Hill: A Staged Concert.”

Marybelle and Sebastian P. Musco Center for the Arts , Chapman University 415 North Glassell St., Orange, 714-997-6812.

Full event schedule at www.MuscoCenter.org

varied the dance world is beyond our typical collegiate training, and it gave us important practical experience in building our willingness to adapt to unfamiliar styles with open minds.”

Bryant notes he and Ongaro are careful to select artists who have a heart for this type of work, as not all do.

Georgia-based singer/songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Kishi Bashi, once a member of noted indie pop band of Montreal, has done more than one Leap of Art. The musician’s stint encompassed a panel discussion, and students from surrounding high schools were integrated into his performances. Classical/Hip-hop instrumental duo Black Violin invited students to play with them during one of their two residencies.

Having people like Kishi Bashi or actor/activist George Takei (“Star Trek”) talk about their

experiences as Japanese Americans during a Leap of Art week brings focus and visibility to Chapman, Bryant says. “Their engagement on campus is like a topic on steroids. It permeates and is effusive.”

Bryant compares the burgeoning popularity of residencies to a reactor. “It has all kinds of energy coming off it in different directions. We went from four residencies before COVID to 10 this year.”

For Bramlett, attending the residencies “did so much for me in bridging the gap between process and performance.” She thinks the primary benefit for students is “building connections, both with individuals in the industry, and within their own perceptions of rehearsal and performance.”

All told, the Leap of Art hosts “amplify and reflect the passions of Chapman across multiple fields,” says Bryant. •

It’s the People

and that the rise of Chapman University has been a big driver of that change.

“It went from being a small, private school to a much bigger university, and we definitely sense that in Old Towne Orange,” Brande says. “The area reflects the needs of students, as opposed to what it used to be. It was a big catalyst for the changes we have seen in Old Towne Orange over the last two decades.”

Despite these changes, Brande and the Jackson family are dedicated to keeping their mother’s store, and her spirit, alive.

“I think, to my mother, the value of Country Roads was not just that the business provided a sustainable income for the family,” says Brande. “Our history in the community and connections to our customers and the ‘vintage family’ formed over the past three decades is pretty unique, and like any business, it’s the people that make the place.”

Country Roads Antiques will have a 30th anniversary celebration on Jan 28. Details are still being worked out, but Brande has confirmed there will be raffles and refreshments •

28
February 16: Rosanne Cash Duo March 1: Lawrence Brownlee March 16: Lucia Micarelli Quartet
Find out What’s Happening in towne at: Old Towne Orange P LAZA R EVIEW
T ALK O F T HE T OWNE
27
Roads Antiques & Gardens 216 West Chapman Ave. 714-532-3041 / www. CountryRoadsAntiques .com
CONT. FROM PAGE
Country

What’s Happening

ONGOING

CONT. FROM PAGE 9

2nd & 4th Wed / 6 pm

Flag Lowering Ceremony

Honoring our veterans & active duty. Plaza Park, Old Towne Orange

Every Fri / 9:30 - 11:30 am

Orange Home Grown Educational Farm

Volunteer Farm Friday

Plant, harvest, compost, mend soil & more, as new and seasoned volunteers work together on farm projects. 356 N Lemon / OrangeHomeGrown.org

Every Sat / 9 am - 1 pm

Orange Home Grown, Farmers Market A great way to begin your day, with quality produce & fresh healthy foods.

1st Sat Knife Sharpening

2nd Sat Free Cooking Demo

3rd Sat Kids Club / Seed Lending 303 West Palm / OrangeHomeGrown.org

Every Sat & Sun / 10 am - 2 pm

1886 Brewing, Brunch at the Brewery Offering Several Brunch Options! 3-course brunch, brunch ala carte & our famous 1886 Brunchuterie. 114 North Glassell St / 714-922-8130 www.1886BrewingCo.com

Every Sun / 10 am - 3 pm

Citrus City Grille Buffet Brunch Reserve your table now for Bottomless Mimosas & Bloody Marys. A la carte brunch items also available. 122 North Glassell St / 714-639-9600 www.CitrusCityGrille.com

Rotary Club Weekly Meetings

Tue / 7-8:30 am Orange North Facebook.com/ OrangeNorthRotaryClub

Wed / 6 - 7 pm Orange Plaza OrangePlazaRotary.org

Thu / 12-1:30 pm Orange Rotary Orange-Rotary.org

This month’s coupon winner, Donna Banning, and her husband, Bob, hail from Spearfish, South Dakota. The couple moved to Orange in 1964 when Bob accepted a new position.

“Once settled, Bob, a metallurgical engineer, worked in the metal manufacturing industry, while I taught Visual Arts at El Modena High School for 33 years and Art Education at California State University, Long Beach for 14 years,” says Banning. Now retired, she remains interested in education for future generations.

As an artist, Banning also enjoys local art exhibitions. “I frequently visit the Hilbert Museum and Chapman University’s Guggenheim Art Gallery,” she says. “I recently went to CSULB’s new Kleefeld Contemporary Art Museum.”

The Bannings have four grown children, six grandchildren and four great-grandchildren. “Last summer we visited Spearfish, where our grandchildren and great-grandchildren learned about our upbringing and met extended family,” she says.

This is the first time Banning has won a contest. Delighted, she will use her winnings at Zito’s Pizza at the Orange Villa Shopping Center. “Zito’s is our favorite pizza place,” says Banning. “We are regular patrons and alternate between the Old Towne Orange and North Orange locations. My go-to combination is the 16” pizza with half sausage and half pepperoni.” •

29 www. Orange Review .com /events Circle in the Square by Kirk Sivertsen / www. OrangeReview .com /archive/circle-in-the-square WIN $ 50.00 OFF ANY PURCHASE from any Plaza Review advertiser featured in this issue. Entries must be postmarked by Februrary 15, 2023 NAME PHONE NUMBER E-MAIL COMMENTS, ETC. Mail to: Old Towne Orange Plaza Review 134 South Glassell St. #C, Orange CA 92866 Winner is selected randomly by an advertiser of the Old Towne Orange PLAZA REVIEW. January / February 2023 Professional, personalized funeral & cremation services; advance planning available. Family Owned & Operated Since 1933 ShannonFamilyMortuar y .com 1005 East Chapman Ave. Old Towne Orange, CA 92866 714.771.1000 FD #1772 C OUPON W INNER by Marianne Lauren
A Go-To Combination OrangeRevie w .com Contact: Mike @ OrangeReview.com (714) 743-6919 Advertise to 35,000 of your Closest Customers ! Mailed to 31,000 residential & business addresses in Orange Advertise to 35,000 of your Closest Customers ! Mailed to 31,000 residential & business addresses in Orange Contact: Mike @ OrangeReview.com (714) 743-6919 P Towne Orange LAZA Chap General Cosmetic Dentistry p July August 2022 News for the Ne ghborhood not to Vegetarian 264 North Glassell 714-633-3260 Healthy Alternative Traditional Offerings.am pm T10:30 pm 6 N Gla W-- 714-289-4689 to-Go!- O M P p K G e/eafd 1b 2 N h em t. W W hop re-ope soon & appreicategreatly you patience pport.

ANTIQUES & COLLECTABLES:

12 Antique Depot 24

155 South Glassell St (714) 516-1731

12 Antique Station 26 178 South Glassell St (714) 633-3934

21 Country Roads Antiques 33 204 West Chapman Ave (714) 532-3041

20 Golden Bear Antiques 11 160 North Glassell St (714) 636-3996

19 Orange Circle Antique Mall 30 118 South Glassell St (714) 538-8160

15 Summerhill Ltd 31 110 South Glassell St (714) 771-7782

ARTS & CULTURE:

4 Hilbert Museum of Calif Art . 2

167 North Atchison St (714) 516-5880

25 Marinus Welman - Artist C 2402 N Glassell (714) 998-8662

22 Naranjita Flamenco D 301 East Katella Ave (714) 400-2939

AUTOMOTIVE:

20 Titan Automotive J 939 West Chapman Ave (714) 997-2311

32 Villa Ford of Orange . . . . . . . E 2550 North Tustin St (877) 585-3090

DINING & PUBS:

5 1886 Brewing Company 5 114 North Glassell St (714) 922-8130

11 Byblos Cafe . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4 129 W Chapman (714) 538-7180

6 Citrus City Grille 6 122 North Glassell St (714) 639-9600

13 Hickory & Spice G 2143 North Tustin St www.HickoryandSpice.com

13 O’Hara’s Pub 9 150 North Glassell St (714) 532-9264

11 O Sea 22 109 South Glassell St (714) 362-3309

9 The Pizza Press 16 155 North Glassell St (714) 616-4425

DINING & PUBS: (cont)

1 Rutabegorz Restaurant 13 264 North Glassell St (714) 633-3260

5 Smoqued California BBQ . . . 7 128 North Glassell St (714) 633-7427

11 Starbucks Coffee 44 Plaza Square 32 (714) 288-9754

30 Zito’s New York Style Pizza 10 156 North Glassell St (714) 771-2222

EVENTS / ORGANIZATIONS:

8 Orange Farmers Market 1 303 West Palm Ave www.OrangeHomegrown.org

27 Orange Rotary facebook.com/Orange-North-Rotary OrangePlazaRotary.org Orange-Rotary.org

23 Partners 4 Wellness Partners4Wellness.org

HEALTH, FITNESS & BEAUTY:

16 Circle City Barbers 3 133 West Chapman Ave (714) 453-9765

14 Kistler’s Hair & Nails 21 120 S Orange (714) 288-9454

1 Orange Circle Optometry . . 18 227 East Chapman Ave (714) 538-6424

JEWELRY

16 Rambling Rose Jewelry 29 118 South Glassell St (714) 538-6305

12 Renée Jewelers . . . . . . . . . . 8 138 North Glassell St (714) 538-1956

REAL ESTATE:

10 Caliber Real Estate Group 28 134 South Glassell St (714) 988-6339

1 Orange Realty / Mayor Slater L 1537 East Chapman Ave (714) 997-0050

18 Real Estate Establishment 19 550 East Chapman Ave (714) 744-5711

7 Willits Real Estate Group 15 229 North Glassell St (714) 315-8120

SERVICES:

18 Bear Flag Construction (949) 795-6812 BearFlagOC.com

SERVICES: (cont)

26 Karl R Bonham Group 20 (714) 716-5028 www.BonhamConstruction.com

19 Galla-Rini Roofing (714) 244-6567 www.GallaRiniRoofing.com

16 Guardian Roofs I 1010 North Batavia St (714) 633-3619

14 H&H Income Tax Insurance 25 480 South Glassell St (714) 288-2088

1 Jadtec Security Services . . . A

3 1520 West Yale Ave (714) 282-0828

22 Old Towne Plumbing 20 (714) 213-5211 www.OldTownePlumbing.com

19 Shafer Plumbing Contractors B 1307 West Trenton Ave (714) 974-9448

29 Shannon Family Mortuary . . K 1005 East Chapman Ave (714) 771-1000

14 State Farm - Adam Guss M 12711 Newport Ave #C, Tustin (714) 978-4200

SPECIALTY RETAIL:

20 Army Navy Store 23 131 South Glassell St (714) 639-7910

1 Dragonfly Shops & Gardens 12 260 North Glassell St (714) 289-4689

1 Elegance in Time F 1610 North Tustin St (714) 921-8397

1 Full Circle Marketplace 27 140 South Glassell St (909) 929-1390

27 Johnnye Merle Gardens 33 204 West Chapman Ave (714) 532-3041

12 Matoska Trading Company 17 123 North Glassell St (714) 516-9940

15 Paris in a Cup (714) 538-9411 www.ParisInACup.com

TOURISM:

13 Orangeland RV Park H 1600 West Struck Ave (714) 633-0414

• • •

29 PUBLISHER: Mike Escobedo Design www.facebook.com/orangereview www.OrangeReview.com (714) 771-6919

PG ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE MAP
PG ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE MAP PG ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE MAP PG ADVERTISER / ADDRESS / PHONE MAP 30 Find out What’s Happening in towne at: Old Towne Orange P LAZA R EVIEW O RANGE P LAZA R EVIEW A DVERTISER I NDEX & M AP
Expires 2/28/23 Expires 2/28/23 Additional toppings extra Not valid with any other coupon. Must present coupon. $4.00 delivery charge. Restrictions apply. 5 16” Lg 1-Topping Pizza • Lg Dinner Salad Your choice of 2 liter of Soda or regular order of Garlic or Dessert Knots. Select toppings only Addit onal toppings extra One coupon per customer. Not valid with any other coupon. Must present coupon. $4.00 delivery charge. Restrictions apply.
31 www. Orange Review .co m /map January / February 2023 29 Rambling Rose Jewelry 25 H&H Income Tax & Insurance 28 Caliber Real Estate 15 Willits Real Estate Group 21 Kistler’s Hair & Nail Salon 31 Summerhill Ltd 11 Golden Bear Antiques 30 Orange Circle Antique Mall 3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING 3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING 3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING H 3 R U O P C I L B U P G N I K R A 3 HOUR PUBLIC PARKING Oran ge City Hall Co mm un i ty Ser i vces ALMOND AVENUE LA VETA AVENUE EAST CHAPMAN WEST CHAPMAN ORANGE STREET LEMON STREET CYPRESS STREET OLIVE STREET CENTER STREET GRAND STREET to 55 FREEWAY to 22 FREEWAY to 5 & 57 FREEWAY PLAZA PARK PLAZA PARK Citizens Business Bank Chase Bank Wells Fargo Bank MAPLE AVENUE PALM AVENUE Oran g e Ma i n L i brary & H i story Center to 91 FREEWAY 3 23 Army-Navy Store 20 Karl R Bonham Group Old Towne Plumbing H lbert Museu m of C a i forn ia Art 2 24 Antique Depot 22 O Sea 16 The Pizza Press PLAZA PARK PLAZA PARK Circle City Barbers 10 Zito’s NY Pizza 7 Smoqued BBQ 9 O’Hara’s Pub 13 Rutabegorz Restaurant 5 1886 Brewing Co 6 Citrus City Grille 4 Byblos Cafe 26 Antique Station 27 Full Circle Meaningful Marketplace 33 Country Roads Antiques Johnnye Merle Gardens 17 Matoska Trading Company 12 The Dragonfly Shops 1 Orange Farmers Market 19 Real Estate Establishment 18 Orange Circle Optometry NORTH GLASSELL SOUTH GLASSELL Old Towne Post Office 8 Reneé Jewelers 14 Ruta’s Old Town Inn FREE ALL DAY PARKING FREE ALL DAY PARKING GARDEN GROVE(22)FWY H C A E B T R O P W E N ( 5 5 ) Y W F SANTAANA (5)FWY E G N A R O ( 7 5 ) Y W F T E E R T S L L E S S A L G CHAPMANAVENUE ARTESIA /RIVERSIDE(91) FWY H T R O N ENWOTDLO NARO G E i s c e n te re d between the5,22,55, 57 & 91 F r e eways , in the Heart ofO ran ge C ou nt y oTo T U ST IN ST N EW P O RT B EA C H ( 55 ) FW Y MAIN ST WALNUTAVE GARDEN GROVE (22) FWY ST G LA SSE LL KATELLA AVE Titan Automot ve J Guardian Roofs I Elegance in Time F O RA N G E ( 57 ) FW Y ORANGEWOOD PLAZA REVIEW Advertisers outside the PLAZA SQUARE RETAIL DISTRICT. PLAZA REVIEW Advertisers outside the PLAZA SQUARE RETAIL DISTRICT. Orangeland RV Park H Or a nge Re a lty State Farm Adam Guss Agency L Sh a nnon F ami ly Mortu a ry K M Welman Art Studio Naranjita Flamenco C D E Villa Ford of Orange AVE A Jadtec Secur ty B Shafer Plumb ng G Hickory & Spice CHAPMAN AVE LINCOLN SA(5)FWY C HAPMAN U NIVERSITY 32 Starbucks Coffee DIGITAL ON-LINE PLAZA MAP
32 134 South Glassell • Orange, CA 92866 PRST STD U.S. POSTAGE PAID HUNT BCH, CA PERMIT 438 Old Towne Orange P LAZA R EVIEW