Page 16


FOUNDATION 3675 Arboretum Drive Chaska, Minnesota 55318-9613



2011/2012 BOARD OF TRUSTEES David F Maiser President Julie Hagen Showers Vice President John S. Helling Treasurer Julian Andersen Secretary Patrick Bailey* Donna Beck John M. Bryant* Gail Buuck Susan Campbell Julie Potts Close* David L. Cole* Megan Dayton Geoffrey J. Grassle Sally M. Hauser* Emily Hoover* James E. Johnson Sarah Lindahl Michele L. Martin Thomas O. Martin Nancy McCabe* Joyce McFarland Judy Mott, Ex officio Kathleen E. Murphy Susan Busch Nehring Chris O’Brien Kandi Osborn Gary M. Petrucci* Juliette Primeau Jeannine M. Rivet Todd Wagner Susan Bachman West*

100% Recycled with 50% Post Consumer Waste

2011/2012 Arboretum Top 12 Fast Facts

HONORARY TRUSTEES 2011/2012 Darrel R. Alkire J. Daniel Baasen Barbara K. Bachman Dale L. Bachman Gordon J. Bailey, Jr. Jo Bailey Ralph W. Bashioum, M.D., F.A.C.S. Eve Benesh Lloyd L. Brandt Priscilla Brewster Carmen D. Campbell Pat Carlson Katherine L. Coward Katherine P. Crosby Susan K. Cross Betty Jayne Dahlberg Sherry Ann Dayton Martha de Vos Bill Dolan W. John Driscoll Kay Erickson Lucius Fowler Gary M. Gardner, Professor Herbert R. Goldenberg Julie Hahn Helen Hartfiel Shadra Hogan James Hornig William F. Hueg, Jr., Ph.D.

*Appointed by U of M Board of Regents

Edward L. Schneider, PhD Ex officio Arboretum Director and Professor Allen Levine, PhD Dean, College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences

Rusty Huff Stephen D. Keating Dr. John E. Larkin, Jr. David M. Lilly D. Kenneth Lindgren Mary Agnes McQuinn Thomas E. Michaels Thomas P. Nelson Patricia Newton Catherine T. Nicholson Robert J. Odegard Peter Olin Margaret M. Ordway S. Bartley Osborn Charles W. Oswald Richard R. Owen, M.D. Clyde Reedy Darwin R. Reedy Carl J. Rosen, Professor Rita F. Shemesh Phillip H. Smith Richard Spiegel Mary Stanley Barbara Steiner G. Rolf Svendsen H.R. Swanson Barbara Thompson Frederick L. Wall III

1. Warmest winter since 1958 2. Rain and snow broke drought on Feb. 29 3. Early spring: Northern Sun forsythia blooming March 19 4. Fruit trees at Horticultural Research Center blooming April 8, with frost April 9-10 5. Membership households reached 22,622 6. Accepted into Center for Plant Conservation 7. Pine and Ornamental Grasses Collection approved by North American Plant Collections Consortium 8. 66,000 participants in adult and family plantbased education programs 9. Community summits: healthy foods, naturebased therapeutics, clean water, climate 10. Community outreach: Plantmobile, horticulture therapy, urban gardening programs 11. Organics composting, plant materials recycling 12. Geothermal heating and cooling

The Minnesota Landscape Arboretum. A premier national arboretum, is part of the College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences at the University of Minnesota. ©2012 Minnesota Landscape Arboretum. The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.

ANN U AL R E PO RT F Y 2 0 1 2


JULY 1, 2011 – JUN E 30, 2012

MN Landscape Arboretum Annual Report FY 2012  

MN Landscape Arboretum Annual Report FY 2012

MN Landscape Arboretum Annual Report FY 2012  

MN Landscape Arboretum Annual Report FY 2012