Page 1

MARINE CORPS COMMUNITY SERVICES // IWAKUNI, JAPAN

Friendship Day Experience Everyone has a part to play Celebrating our Military Children Volunteering in Iwakuni Are you ready?

04 17


r e t s a E l a v i n r a C EGG 5 1 l i r p A 0-3 PM

12:3ade Deck Par

1) g d l B rom ternoon f s s o r (Ac t and enjoy an af searching

u hile Come o ntail w en o t t o C gs. Op er g t e e d P e l h l i wit al y f . Speci ul cand f w r o o l l e o c b for and er o gath h ages 12 w h t h u t o you to y ded to r a w a gs. prizes lden eg o g e h t

CYPยง253-5549/4803

AGE

TIME

0-2 3-5 6-7 Girls 6-7 Boys 8-9 Girls 8-9 Boys 10-12

12:30-12:50 PM 12:55-1:10 P M 1:15-1:35 PM 1:40-2 PM 2:05-2:20 P M 2:25-2:40 P M 2:45-3 PM

Bo

Ho u n c us e e!

s itivd K i t i e s! Ac


3

8

C ON T E N T S ARTICLES

15

3

Everyone Has a Part to Play

8

Volunteering in Iwakuni

15

Are you Ready?

18

Friendship Day Experience

41

Celebrating our Military Children

2

Where Were You?

3

MCX Promotions

5 SMP 6 Entertainment 10

IT&T Trips

12

Around Japan

14

Auto Resources

22

Health Promotion

24 Sports

40 FRIENDSHIP DAY EXPERIENCE

22

Wellness Services

32

Kids & Parents

41

DIRECTORY

18

DIGITALLY BRING THE PREVIEW WITH YOU!

MCAS IWAKUNI

This and older issues of the Preview Magazine are available online at MCCSIwakuni.com.

FOLLOW MCCS IWAKUNI MCCSIwakuni

MCCS Iwakuni

MCCSIwakuni Update

@mccs_iwakuni

MCCS Iwakuni

ISSUU

M C C S I WA K U N I . C O M |

APRIL 2017

1


MARINE CORPS COMMUNITY SERVICES // IWAKUNI, JAPAN

08 13

WHERE WERE YOU? Iwakuni hosted the 2017 Asia Military Overseas Fine Arts and Photography regional exhibit. 209 pieces were on display and 6 artists from Iwakuni were awarded as finalists for national level.

MCCS DIRECTOR John Kasperski PREVIEW Magazine is a monthly magazine published by Marine Corps Community Services’ Marketing to inform the community of events and programs offered by MCCS. The appearance of advertising and sponsors’ logos in this publication does not constitute federal government or Marine Corps endorsement. DIRECTOR OF MARKETING / EDITOR-IN-CHIEF J. Michael Browning DIGITAL MARKETING MANAGER Jacob Hatter MANAGING EDITOR Kristi Anderson PUBLIC AFFAIRS SPECIALIST Jessica McFarlane MARKETING COORDINATORS Ronald Netemeyer Zaneta Padilla Melissa Fuerst

"I really like art because it makes me feel relaxed and calm, so I really love to do it. - Angela (Age 12)

GRAPHIC DESIGNER Kristi Anderson DIGITAL MEDIA Adam McCambridge Eric Turner Aaron Roman Chris Inman MARKETING ASSISTANT Jenna West COMMERCIAL ENTERPRISES Kanji Niue Sus Fukushima Preview Magazine can be contacted via MCCS Marketing at 253-5284 or iwa.mrktg@usmc-mccs.org. For information on advertising your business or sponsoring MCCS events and programs, please call: 0827-794169 or DSN 253-4169. Uncredited photography provided by MCCS employees or stock photography websites. Interested in contributing images? Contact the Marketing Office at 253-5284.

この基地内月間情報誌「プレビュー」に広 告を掲載されませんか?電光掲示板やモ ニターなど基地内のその他の媒体による 広告や基地内イベントへの協賛および協 賛広告(スポンサーシップ)も募集してい ます。詳細はMCCSマーケティングの下記 連絡先にお問い合わせください。日本語 での対応も可能です。連絡先:基地外か ら: 0827-79-4169、基地内線253-4169. mccsiwakuni.com/sponsorship

"I like art because I can make my crazy ideas come to life!" - Jenesis (Age 8)

WHO WE ARE SHERI SURELS

POSITION: TALENT AQUISITION SPECIALIST HUMAN RESOURCES "My 6 years of employment with MCCS has provided me with the progress that I need to better myself and my career. Providing the same opportunity for our Military members and their dependents, in an ever changing environment, is a passion that will forever be instilled in me. I am Mission focused, Vision inspired."

2

MARKETING WELCOMES MELISSA TO THE TEAM AND WISHES KANJI ALL THE BEST!

P R E V I E W M A G A Z I N E | F I N D U S O N F A C E B O O K : M C C S I WA K U N I


APRIL SPECIALS

PARTICIPATING EXCHANGES: MCX Cherry Point, NC MCX Henderson Hall, Arlington, VA MCX Iwakuni, Japan MCX Kaneohe Bay, HI MCX Parris Island, SC MCX MCRD San Diego, CA MCX Twentynine Palms, CA MCX Yuma, AZ MCX advertising is part of your benefits as a member of the US military family. To opt in or out of receiving mailings or emails, please contact us by going to www.mymcx.com/mailings. Please visit our web page www.mymcx. com for additional information about MCX. OUR ADVERTISING POLICY Not all products are at all locations. Please check with your local exchange. This excludes limited offers and special purchase items not regularly available at your MCX. To maximize stock available to our customers, we may limit quantities. We are not responsible for printer’s or typographical errors. Special catalog pricing effective April 19 - May 2, 2017. No additional discounts on advertised items. Selection may vary by location.

©G&G Graphics and Promotions Inc. 0-9814B

689

12 PC SPRING TRUFFLES GIFT BOX

TO GET AN

EXTRA DISCOUNT

We Accept These Exchange Gift Cards in the Store & at the Pump

% 20off 1775 APPAREL FOR THE FAMILY

Visit our website: www.MyMCX.com LIKE IT? CHARGE IT!

Starting At

26999 Apple Watch® MNNH2LL/A

AppleCare+® for Apple Watch One Stop for Technical Support Global Repair Coverage Available at Select Locations

Thank You for supporting the Marine Corps Exchange

00Off 5 20 ©G&G Graphics and Promotions Inc. 0-9818B

10off %

10off %

%

your total purchase of $5000 or more when you present this coupon.

off

ENTIRE SELECTION IGLOO COOLERS

ENTIRE SELECTION WEBER & CHAR-BROIL GRILLS AND ACCESSORIES

ENTIRE SELECTION MR. BBQ GRILL ACCESSORIES Valid April 5 - 16, 2017 and may only be used once. Offer not valid on

pre-owned Rolex & Cartier, Pandora, video game hardware, Ugg, VitaMix, Advertainment Roadshows, Twin Towers Roadshows, Yeti, previous purchases, special orders, DLA and uniform items, gasoline, alcohol, tobacco, firearms, ammo, gift cards, consignment jewelry, phone cards, concessions, Keep It New warranties (N.E.W.) & stamps. Coupon must be presented at the time of checkout. Not redeemable for cash, nor accepted as payment on Military Star Card accounts. Discount will be removed for all items returned and only the customer’s actual amount paid will be refunded.

NEW!

IGLOO LUNCH & COOLER TOTES

Thank You for supporting the Marine Corps Exchange

1000Off

NEW! IGLOO HYDRATION

10” X 15” GRILLING GRID

94999

Reg. 98999 MacBook Air® 13.3” • Intel Core® i5 Processor • Intel® HD Graphics 6000 • Flash Storage • Up to 12 Hours of Battery Life1 MMGF2LL/A

Apple, the Apple Logo, Apple Watch, AppleCare+ and MacBook Air are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. Intel and Intel Core are trademarks of Intel Corp. in the U.S. and other countries. 1 Battery Life Varies by Use and Configuration. See www.apple.com/batteries for more information.

Includes Reversible Sleeve!

your total purchase of $10000 or more when you present this coupon.

BEER CAN CHICKEN ROASTER Outdoor Selection May Vary by Location

YOUR GIFT

Stainless Steel Travel Mug ( a $1999 Value) with the Purchase of this Brewer

20off %

% 20off

1299

RUBBERMAID ROUGHNECK CLEAR TOTES 19 QT – 66 QT

559 – 1039 Reg. 6

SHARK VACUUMS

99

Valid April 5 - 16, 2017 and may only be used once. Offer not valid on pre-owned Rolex & Cartier, Pandora, video game hardware, Ugg, VitaMix, Advertainment Roadshows, Twin Towers Roadshows, Yeti, previous purchases, special orders, DLA and uniform items, gasoline, alcohol, tobacco, firearms, ammo, gift cards, consignment jewelry, phone cards, concessions, Keep It New warranties (N.E.W.) & stamps. Coupon must be presented at the time of checkout. Not redeemable for cash, nor accepted as payment on Military Star Card accounts. Discount will be removed for all items returned and only the customer’s actual amount paid will be refunded.

TACLIGHT LANTERN

– 1299

Thank You for supporting the Marine Corps Exchange

1398

Not Available at Henderson Hall

5999

your total purchase of $20000 or more when you present this coupon.

135

MMX-MC2

Reg. 16999 ROCKET LIGHTWEIGHT UPRIGHT VACUUM

3499

TURBO SCRUB

HV301

TS-MC12/3

11999

Reg. 12999 K425 BREWER

400

1899

3499

1176

11399-6

TACLIGHT

119283

BURST JELLY BEANS

2000Off

MINI MAX CHARGER

99

TIN

or

USE YOUR

MCX COUPONS

Don’t Forget to Redeem Your Navy/Marine Coupons April 21 - 23

Valid April 5 - 16, 2017 and may only be used once. Offer not valid on pre-owned Rolex & Cartier, Pandora, video game hardware, Ugg, VitaMix, Advertainment Roadshows, Twin Towers Roadshows, Yeti, previous purchases, special orders, DLA and uniform items, gasoline, alcohol, tobacco, firearms, ammo, gift cards, consignment jewelry, phone cards, concessions, Keep It New warranties (N.E.W.) & stamps. Coupon must be presented at the time of checkout. Not redeemable for cash, nor accepted as payment on Military Star Card accounts. Discount will be removed for all items returned and only the customer’s actual amount paid will be refunded.

AIR DRAGON

31999

Reg. 36999 11.6” INSPIRON TOUCH 2-IN-1 NOTEBOOK • Intel® Pentium® N3710 Processor • HD LED Backlit Touch Display • 4GB Memory / 500GB Hard Drive • Wireless-N with Bluetooth® 4.0 • Windows® 10 i3168-3272GRWSL

Optical Drive Not Included

April 19 - May 2

No Fed

20% Off

MEN’S & CHILDREN’S NAUTICA,

LADIES’ ZAC & RACHEL APPAREL Pictures with the Easter Bunny! AND CHILDREN’S DRESSWEAR & DRESSES

FREE!

Easter

Photo April 8 & 15 Noon - 4 PM, MCX §253-5641

MCX IWAKUNI

Our Advertising Policy We try to have adequate stock of all advertised items. When out-of-stocks occur, we offer a substitute item of comparable value. This excludes limited offers and special purchase items not regularly available at your MCX. To maximize stock available to our customers, we may limit quantities. No additional discounts on advertised items. Call 253-5641 for details. MCX advertising is part of your benefits as a member of the US military family. If you would like to receive information about our sales and special events via email, please write us at mcxhelp@usmc-mccs.org.

M C C S I WA K U N I . C O M | A P R I L 2 0 1 7

3


S exual A ssault Awareness & Prevention Month Protecting Our People, Protects Our Mission

Self-Care Display

Visit the Library for a display of personal care and travel books

Ice Cream Social & Cornhole Toss

April 19, 11 AM - 1 PM Crossroads Pavillion

De-Stress Yoga Class April 11, 6:30-7:30 PM

IronWorks Gym North

April 12, 8:30-9:15 AM

IronWorks Gym

Denim Day April 26

Make a social statement with a fashion statement

Everyone Has a Part to Play:

What is Your Role in Preventing Sexual Assault? by Yasheka Robinson, Community Writer

The Sexual Assault Prevention and Response (SAPR) Program is dedicated to eliminating sexual assault through preventive education and supporting victims of sexual assault. The Marine Corps and Department of Defense (DoD) are observing the 13th annual Sexual Assault Awareness and Prevention Month with the theme “Protecting Our People Protects Our Mission.� This theme emphasizes that every servicemember and civilian has a role in understanding and upholding our core values, regardless of grade or occupational specialty, to eliminate sexual assault. Marines and Sailors can protect our mission by ensuring everyone is committed to advancing an environment where sexist behaviors, sexual harassment, hazing, bullying, and sexual assault are not tolerated, condoned, or ignored. Sexual assault hurts one, but affects ALL. What is your role in preventing sexual assault?

In the event of assault please contact the SAPR 24/7 Sexual Assault Support Line 080-5865-3566

4

P R E V I E W M A G A Z I N E | F I N D U S O N F A C E B O O K : M C C S I WA K U N I


SINGLE MARINE PROGRAM

The Single Marine Program (SMP) is open to single and unaccompanied servicemembers only. Authorized patrons of all abilities are welcomed. Please contact program staff if reasonable accommodations are necessary.

SMP IWAKUNI

UPCOMING EVENTS

MARINE LOUNGE // 2ND FLOOR CROSSROADS SUN-THUR: 10 AM - MIDNIGHT FRI, SAT & HOL: 10 AM - 2 AM 253-5368

SMP DAYS OF SERVICE

KINTAI CLEAN UP DAY APRIL 14, 10 AM - 4 PM Volunteers will receive an LOA for their time. Sign-up begins April 7 at Noon.

APRIL 17-21 Join SMP for the largest volunteer event. Lunch and LOA will be provided. For more details please contact the Marine Lounge.

WISTERIA TUNNEL DAY TRIP APRIL 28, 8 AM - 6 PM Sera Fuji En (Wisteria Park) is home to around 1,200 wisteria trees. Sign-ups start March 28 at Noon.

CLEAN YOUR PAWS DAY

IWAKUNI VOLUNTEER CLEAN UP DAY

APRIL 17, 10 AM 2 PM

CARE DAY

MAY 6, 8 AM - 2 PM Sign-ups start April 28 at Noon.

BEPPU OVERNIGHT TRIP JUNE 10-11, 8 AM - 10 PM Explore the eight spectacular hot springs for viewing in Bepu city. $90 fee covers transportation and lodging. Sign-ups start April 10 at Noon.

APRIL 18, 10 AM - 2 PM

FRIENDSHIP DAY VOLUNTEERS MAY 5, 8 AM - 5 PM SMP is looking for 50 volunteers to take pictures in uniform with our Japanese visitors during Friendship Day. Volunteers will receive an LOA for their time. Sign-up starts April 5 at Noon.

COUPON DAY APRIL 19, 10 AM - 2 PM

CHESS FOR SUCCESS DAY APRIL 20, 10 AM - 2 PM

CLEAN UP DAY APRIL 21, 10 AM - 4 PM

HORNET’S NEST // NORTHSIDE BLDG. 1347 OPEN 24/7 253-3585

COMMITTEE MEETING

INDOOR MOVIE NIGHT

PING PONG TOURNAMENT

APRIL 6, 3 - 4 PM Held the first Thursday of the month unless a Federal holiday falls on or near the date, in which case the meeting will be moved to the second Thursday of the month.

APRIL 12, 7 - 11 PM Enjoy the evening indoors watching an action packed movie on the big screen TV. Popcorn, snacks and beverages will be served.

APRIL 26, 7 - 9 PM Ping Pong Tournament! Registration begins at 6:30 PM and the tournament starts at 7 PM. Prizes will be awarded to first and second place winners. Refreshments will be provided.

PING PONG TOURNAMENT APRIL 3, 7 – 9 PM Ping Pong Tournament! Registration begins at 6:30 PM and the tournament starts at 7 PM. Prizes will be awarded to first and second place winners. Refreshments will be served.

UFC 210 AND BREAKFAST APRIL 9, 10 AM - 2 PM Watch UFC 210 on our big screen TV’s! Giveaways throughout the event. Breakfast and drinks will be served while supplies last.

SUPER SMASH BROS. VIDEO TOURNAMENT APRIL 11, 7 - 9 PM Come and compete in the Super Smash Bros. WiiU, Video Game Tourney. Registration begins at 6:30 PM. Chips and beverages will be served while supplies last. Prizes will be awarded to first and second place winners.

OSAKA UNIVERSAL STUDIO /KOBE OVERNIGHT TRIP APRIL 15-16, 5:30 AM – 9 PM Spend the day at Universal Studios and enjoy an evening of free time in Osaka. Spend the following day in Kobe. Fee: $87 covers transportation and lodging. Universal Studios Fee: approximately ¥7,400.

MORTAL COMBAT VIDEO TOURNAMENT APRIL 19, 7 - 9 PM Registration begins at 6:30 PM. Chips and beverages will be served while supplies last. Prizes will be awarded to first and second place winners.

RESTAURANT TRIP SANZOKU AKA "CHICKEN SHACK"

APRIL 18, 5:30 - 8:30 PM A unique Japanese restaurant experience. Transportation is free, just bring enough yen for dinner! Sign-ups begin March 13 at Noon.

8 BALL POOL TOURNAMENT APRIL 27, 7 - 9 PM 8 Ball Pool Tournament! Registration begins at 6:30 PM and the tournament starts at 7 PM. Prizes will be awarded to first and second place winners. Refreshments will be provided.

MAGIC THE GATHERING TOURNAMENT APRIL 28, 7 - 9 PM Winner will be decided based off of a match point system. Prizes will be awarded to first and second place winners. Refreshments will be provided.

BENCH PRESS CLUB APRIL 28, 11 AM - NOON Challenge yourself and compete in our monthly Bench Press Club. Men’s Club: 300lb, 350lb and 400lb /Women’s Club: 125lb & 145lb.


DINING & ENTERTAINMENT CLUB IWAKUNI 253-5416

CLUBS

§

OFFICER'S CLUB [OFFICERS]

BINGO

SOCIAL HOUR WITH FREE FINGER FOODS

PRIME RIB NIGHT JD'S GRILLE, THURSDAYS, 5-9 PM

APRIL 17, 6-9 PM

Gather your friends for a chance to win big!

FRIDAYS, 5-7 PM

VARIETY DJ

FRIDAY & SATURDAY 6 PM - MIDNIGHT

K-BAR [STAFF NCO] SOCIAL HOUR WITH FREE FINGER FOODS FRIDAYS, 6-8 PM

VARIETY DJ

FRIDAYS, 7 PM - 1 AM SATURDAY, 7 PM - 1 AM

MONGOLIAN NIGHT

253-3111

BALLROOM, WEDNESDAYS, 5-9 PM $.75/OZ ADULTS, $5.95 KIDS AGES 6-10

JD'S GRILLE

Create your own Mongolian-style dish.

BREAKFAST: MON-SAT 6:30-11 AM LUNCH: MON-SAT 11 AM - 2 PM

SUNDAY BRUNCH

DINNER: S UN-THUR 4:30-10 PM

BALLROOM, SUNDAYS, 8 AM - 1:30 PM $14.95 ADULTS, $5.95 KIDS AGES 6-10

Gather your friends for a delicious spread of your favorite brunch dishes.

JD'S APRIL SPECIALS* Apr 3-7: Yakiniku Philly Cheese Steak Apr 10-14: BLT Grilled Cheese Apr 17-21: Tortellini Chicken Pasta Apr 24-28: Asian Pork Chop and Cabbage

[JR. ENLISTED] VARIETY DJ

FRIDAY & SATURDAY 8:30 PM - 2 AM

SOCIAL HOUR WITH FREE FINGER FOODS

Rare, medium or well done? Customize your steak dinner.

CATERING

FRI & SAT 4:30-11 PM

LANDING ZONE

PRICE VARIES DEPENDING ON ORDER

*Menu subject to change

GRAND BUFFET BALLROOM, FRIDAYS, 11 AM - 1:30 PM

Serving a wide variety of salad, entrées, desserts, pastas and Asian dishes.

FRIDAYS - 8-10 PM

THEMED

SAKURA ASSEMBLY HALL

§ 253-4002

CHECK OUT MCCSIWAKUNI.COM

DJ NIGHTS

FOR THE MOVIE

Officer’s Club 7 PM - Midnight • K-Bar 7 PM - 1 AM • Landing Zone 7 PM - 2 AM

1 Friday

2 Friday

3 Friday

4 Friday

SCHEDULE AND

st

Latin Night

Country Night

Old School Night

Electronic Dance Music (EDM)

PREMIER DATES

nd

rd

th

SAKURA Have a party with us!

§253-5416

BIRTHDAY PARTIES / UNIT MOVIES AWARD CEREMONIES / SPECIAL EVENTS FOR RESERVATIONS CONTACT OMBIWASAKURA@USMC-MCCS.ORG §253-4067

6

P R E V I E W M A G A Z I N E | F I N D U S O N F A C E B O O K : M C C S I WA K U N I


Mother’s Day Brunch May 14, 8 AM - 2 PM Club Iwakuni Ballroom Adults $18 / Kids 6-10 $9 Call for reservations §253-3363

EASTER BRUNCH

BUFFET APRIL 16, 8 AM - 2 PM • CLUB IWAKUNI BALLROOM $16.95 Adults • $8.95 Kids Ages 6-10 Reservations strongly recommended. §253-3363 M C C S I WA K U N I . C O M |

APRIL 2017

7


Volunteering in Iwakuni by Zaneta Padilla, Community Writer

Photo by: James Seay

April is Volunteer Appreciation Month, and we’d like to take the time to thank the dedicated volunteers aboard the installation. MCAS Iwakuni could not run all the programs we do if it weren't for volunteers. In 2016, we had over 2,000 volunteers who contributed over 60,000 hours. This number is astounding! How exactly can volunteers make an impact? Let’s look at a few ways volunteers have made a difference in our community here on MCAS Iwakuni.

out to show their gratitude. But let’s not forget about the impact volunteers had on the orphanage visits. Those visits were full of joy, happiness and tons of smiles. Also, volunteers visited elementary schools and junior high schools, where they interacted with students by learning Japanese calligraphy and origami. Volunteers were able to experience Japanese opening and closing ceremonies at the schools performed by students.” - Oana Ivanoff, Single Marine Assistant Manager

MCAS Iwakuni could not run all the programs we do if it were not for volunteers. In 2016, we had over 2000 volunteers who contributed over 60,000 hours.

“SMP had over 600 volunteers from 19 Units who collectively gave 6,056 hours of service. Service members from Marine Corps Air Station Iwakuni, Japan collected over 700 trash bags during clean ups in Hiroshima, Hashirijima, Tsunoshima, Oshima, and Nijigahama just to name a few. Those areas consist mainly of elderly people who find it difficult to clean up the area especially with large items. Often we have locals come

8

“Volunteers are central to what we do here at MCFTB. Without them, there would be no Ninja show for our kids’ deployment “Junior Ninja Warrior Days,” and we wouldn’t be able to do work at the capacity we do with workshops and events without our office volunteers who help us while simultaneously working on their resumes.” - Angela Gerrits, Marine Corps Family Team Building Lifeskills and Deployment Readiness Trainer

P R E V I E W M A G A Z I N E | F I N D U S O N F A C E B O O K : M C C S I WA K U N I


“Volunteers directly affect the way we manage and run our Youth Sports programs. Without volunteer coaches, Youth Sports would not be able to properly divide the children into age specific, reasonable, and practicable teams. The programs thrive because of our volunteer coaches.� - Eduardo Almonte, Youth Sports Coordinator Volunteers are needed at MCFTB as LINKS Mentors to help new spouses adjust to the stresses of the mobile military life style; Coaches for Youth Sports, local beach cleanups with SMP or the Station Chapel, administrative support for Navy Marine Corps Relief Society, Scout Leaders, Special Events, and much more. If you are interested in volunteering go to MCCSIwakuni.com to register your name in our new Volunteer Database and be contacted when volunteer opportunities come up.

Iwakuni would not be the same with out YOU the volunteer. On behalf of all organizations aboard Marine Corps Air Station Iwakuni, we salute our volunteers for their selfless dedication and service to the community. Your work has made a difference in the lives of many. For all you do, your passion and hard work,

Thank You! M C C S I WA K U N I . C O M |

APRIL 2017

9


INFORMATION TOURS & TRAVEL Brochures and suggestions can be found in our office located in Crossroads Mall. Sign-ups for all trips start two months before event date. Sign-up is first-come, first-served, so sign up early. Prices vary per event. Stop by IT&T office to learn more about trip pricing and itinerary. TSUWANO YABUSAME HORSEBACK ARCHERY FESTIVAL APRIL 9

Explore Tsuwano’s beautiful old castle town and watch archers on horseback. The horseback archery festival starts at 2 PM. Enjoy the traditional annual festival!

UNIVERSAL STUDIOS JAPAN TRIP APRIL 15, OSAKA

Experience the thrills, excitement and magic of Hollywood in Osaka. Don’t miss their latest attraction “The Wizarding World of Harry Potter.” Admission tickets will be purchased upon entry.

IKEA SHOPPING TRIP APRIL 22, FUKUOKA

Enjoy shopping at the world famous furniture store "IKEA"! You will find tons of good quality products with tasteful design and reasonable price! Also there are a lot of stores nearby, such as Starbucks Coffee, Mr. Max, Japanese Antique Store and more.

10

HIMEJI CASTLE TRIP

MAY 13, HIMEJI CITY IN HYOGO PREFECTURE

Himeji castle is registered with UNESCO as a World Cultural Heritage Site. Two years ago, the castle completed a 5-year renovation project of the main tower. Enjoy views of the “White Heron Castle”, the most magnificent of the handful of Japanese castles that have survived in their original form. Also, watch the “Castle Festival” held here.

SPACE WORLD TRIP MAY 20, KITA KYUSHU CITY

Enjoy fantastic and thrilling rides at a space-themed amusement park located in Kyushu. Fun for all ages. The park will be closed at the end of 2017, so don't miss the chance to experience all the excitement! Also, you can visit Aeon Mall and the Dinosaur Museum nearby.

MEMORIAL DAY WEEKEND - TOKYO FUN TRIP MAY 27 - JUNE 1

You will enjoy lunch and shopping at Yokosuka Navy base. During your stay in Tokyo, IT&T will offer you optional tours for famous sightseeing places such as Tokyo Tower, Asakusa temple village, Odaiba shopping mall, and Tokyo Disneyland/DisneySea. Everything you want to do is avail-able in this megalopolis!

P R E V I E W M A G A Z I N E | F I N D U S O N F A C E B O O K : M C C S I WA K U N I


INFORMATION TOURS & TRAVEL ยง253-4377

IT&T UPCOMING EVENTS

BASEBALL GAME IN FUKUOKA JUNE 10 SIGN-UP STARTS ON APRIL 10

Let's have fun at a Softbank Hawks home game in Yahoo Dome. The game will start at 2 PM. Shop at Marinoa City Mall and have lunch at the various restaurants before the game starts.

ZEN MEDITATION EXPERIENCE ON SETODA ISLAND JUNE 3 SIGN-UP STARTS APRIL 3

You will have a chance to experience Zen meditation and learn how to write Buddhist scriptures followed by a traditional Zen lunch (vegetarian meal).

CHERRY PICKING AND WINERY JUNE 24, 8 AM - 4:30 PM SIGN-UP STARTS APRIL 24

Fresh sweet cherries await you at the all-youcan-eat farm. Enjoy picking in a green house. Visitors also may purchase cherries to take home. You will also have a nice lunch at BBQ restaurant and good chance to enjoy tasting fresh local wine in Miyoshi Winery. There are souvenir stores and kids playground too.

M C C S I WA K U N I . C O M |

APRIL 2017

11


CULTURAL ADAPTATION §253-6165 Offering local cultural tours, events and classes. Pre-registration for classes and tours is required. Stop by the Cultural Adaptation office at the Library in Bldg 411 for more information or to register. SURVIVAL JAPANESE CLASS

APRIL 4 - 7, 11:45 AM – 12:45 PM, BLDG. 411

This is a 4-day entry level class for beginners. Attending the course will help you learn how to communicate in simple Japanese phrases.

YOGURT FACTORY APRIL 21, 8:30 – 4 PM, HATSUKAICHI

Visit to a yogurt factory in Hiroshima that introduced yogurt to Japan for the first time. After that we will have lunch at a mall.

TEMPLE YOGA APRIL 28, 8:45 AM – 2:30 PM, OSHIMA ISLAND; FEE: ¥2,170

Experience Yoga inside a temple and have a healthy temple meal while having a spiritual experience. You will be refreshed, forget about busy days, and get to enjoy the temple atmosphere. Please bring your yoga mat.

12

TEA HARVESTING EXPERIENCE

MAY 2, 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM, HIROSE HIGH SCHOOL SIGN-UP STARTS APRIL 3 AT THE LIBRARY

A gift from nature, tea is a treasure! Green tea does more than quench thirst. There are many virtues, rich in vitamin C, also helps the body burn calories and facilitates weight loss. Its health and beauty benefits are widely recognized. Have you ever seen how tea leaves grow? Let's experience tea harvesting!

FLOWER LAND AND SWEETS FACTORY

MAY 26, 9 AM - 4:30 PM, YANAI FEE: ADULTS - ¥1,000, CHILDREN AGES 6-15 - ¥800

Come with us to Yamaguchi Flower Land, a botanical garden in Yanai City. Within the garden, we will create a flower craft, explore the many different flowers within the garden and enjoy lunch in serenity. Afterwards we will visit a Japanese sweets factory. Please bring your own lunch.

P R E V I E W M A G A Z I N E | F I N D U S O N F A C E B O O K : M C C S I WA K U N I


INFORMATION & REFERRAL §253-6161 Providing local services, resource information and language assistance. Listed below are local events so you can get out and have your own adventure. Call or stop by Bldg. 411, Rm. 101 for details. STRAWBERRY PICKING

YUDA ONSEN WHITE FOX FESTIVAL

THROUGH APRIL 30, 10 AM - 3 PM, ICHIGO LAND, TABUSE TOWN;

APRIL 8, 10 AM-9 PM & APRIL 9 10 AM-3 PM, YUDA ONSEN, YAMAGUCHI CITY

FEE: ¥200 FOR ADMISSION AND ¥160 PER 100G. AGES 5 AND UNDER FREE.

Visitors may use the 6 foot baths free of charge. The torch light parade of white foxes takes place from 7-8 PM on April 8.

You can eat strawberries there or take them home. There is a play area for little children inside. Morning is recommended. For weekdays, appointments are required. Please call 0820-52-5287 in Japanese or 253-6161 for assistance.

WALKING OVER FIRE RITUAL APRIL 15, 11 AM (SERVICE) & 2 PM (RITUAL), DAI-SHOIN TEMPLE ON MIYAJIMA

Walk barefoot over the hot ashes to pray for good health and fortune.

KINTAI BRIDGE BOAT RIDE WEEKENDS THROUGH MAY 31, 11AM-3PM, KINTAI BRIDGE

IWAKUNI JAZZ STREET 2017

Enjoy the beautiful view of the Kintaikyo Bridge and sakura (cherry blossoms). For ¥500 per person, you can enjoy a 20-minute boat ride on the Nishiki River. The service operates every day during cherry blossom season but once cherry blossom season is over, weekends only.

APRIL 23, NOON - 6 PM, DOWNTOWN IWAKUNI

JAPANESE CLASS (SPRING TERM)

KINTAI BRIDGE FESTIVAL

APRIL 4-JUNE 20, TUESDAYS 7-9 PM, IWAKUNI FUKUSHI KAIKAN

APRIL 29, 9 AM-3 PM, KINTAI BRIDGE

This course is comprised of 12 classes run by volunteer instructors. The one-time fee is ¥1,000. No sign-ups are required.

A procession of feudal lords starts at 1 PM from Iwakuni Elementary School, crosses the Kintai Bridge and finishes at Kikko Park. Gun demonstrations and a Japanese drum performance are scheduled under the bridge at 1 and 2:30 PM.

50 jazz bands will perform at 10 different locations and the US Air Force “Pacific Show Case” will hold a concert at Synphonia Hall starting 18:30. You can enjoy the whole event with a ¥1,000 pass-ticket that is available at Fuji Grand Iwakuni or call Mr. Hashimoto at 090-6544-2036 in English.

04 05 06 APRIL

CONCERTS

JUNE

MAY

CONCERTS

CONCERTS

4/10

The Lumineers // Tokyo

5/4-5

Davendra Banhart // Tokyo

6/6-7

Carlos Marin // Tokyo

4/11

Steven Tyler // Tokyo

5/20-21

Greenroom Festival // Yokohama

6/6-7

Sting // Tokyo

4/17-19

John Anderson, Trevier Rabin & Rick Wakeman // Tokyo

5/23

2Cellos // Tokyo

6/7-9

Maria Schneider Orchestra// Tokyo

5/27

Aso Rock Festival // Kumamoto

6/16

Dragonforce // Tokyo

4/21

The Stone Roses // Tokyo

5/27

Screen Music // Tokyo

6/18

Zayn // Yokohama

4/26

The Doobie Brothers // Tokyo

4/27

Carlos Santana // Tokyo

FESTIVALS/OTHER EVENTS

FESTIVALS/OTHER EVENTS 4/9

Yabusame Horseback Archery Festival // Tsuwano

4/15

Fire-Walking (Hiwatari) Ceremony // Miyajima

4/29

Kintai Bridge Festival // Iwakuni

FESTIVALS/OTHER EVENTS

5/3-5

Flower Festival // Hiroshima

6/1-9/10 Cormorant Fishing // Kintai Bridge

5/3-4

Hakata Dontaku Festival // Fukuoka

6/2-4

Toukasan Festival // Hiroshima City

6/18

Hydrangea Festival // Amidaji-Temple in Hofu-city

6/25

Innoshima Suigun Festival // Innoshima, Onomichi-city

4/15-5/10 Tulip Festival // Hiroshima Pref. 5/20

Flea Market // Hatsukaichi City

Dates and times subject to change. For additional information visit Information, Tours and Travel (IT&T) in the Travel Center at Crossroads. §253-4377

M C C S I WA K U N I . C O M |

APRIL 2017

13


HIROSHIMA AIRPORT TRANSPORT SERVICE 253-4377

Need a ride from/to the Hiroshima Airport? A two week reservation will be required for airport transportation. Payment is required to secure a seat.

AUTO

TITLE CHANGES

AUTO SKILLS CENTER

JCI LOANER VEHICLES

253-5325

Loaners are for JCI patrons and are limited to local usage within 50KM of base. Vehicles available on a first-come, first-served basis.

MON-TUES, & & FRI: NOON - 8 PM SAT & SUN: 8 AM - 8 PM (CLOSED WED & THU)

Whether you are looking to repair, restore or just clean your vehicle, the Auto Skills Center has what you need!

PROJECT BAY

Get your vehicle title changed for $45.

JCI INSPECTION Have your JCI Inspection performed by our professional mechanics at Typhoon Motors.

$8/DAY

VEHICLE PRE-PURCHASE SAFETY INSPECTION

Available on a first-come, first-served basis. We provide state of the art tools, engine hoist, hydraulic transmission jack and more.

New to Iwakuni or just buying another vehicle? We’ll check it over and provide any findings along with an estimate for needed repairs.

TYPHOON MOTORS

VEHICLE RENTAL

253-4385

253-4245

We offer a variety of services to keep your vehicle running smooth. Feel free to contact our knowledgeable and friendly staff about your automotive needs.

Our well maintained rental fleet consists of small pickup trucks, passenger vans and cars. Make reservations in advance. We also offer BBQ grills and propane tanks for rent.

MAINTENANCE SERVICES.

EARLY DROP OFF PLAN

Services include oil and filter change, brake and radiator work, stereo installation, diagnostic checks, tire work, troubleshooting, clutch repair, part and accessory orders and more.

Customers using the Early Drop Off Plan may return rental cars at any time prior to the date and time the vehicle is due back. Additional fees will be applied to vehicles without a full tank of gas. There is no early drop-off for vehicles involved in accidents.

TOWING SERVICES MON - SAT 8 AM - 4:30 PM

EXTEND 1/2 DAY FOR 1/2 PRICE

CLOSED SAT SUN & HOLIDAYS

Rent a car for at least one day and extend it for half day on the return day for ½ price. Offer not retroactive. Customers must sign-up for special at time of rental. Unless entire reservation is canceled there is no refund on this special.

Towing services are only available during business hours and within a 50KM radius of MCAS Iwakuni. If you are involved in an accident, make sure you call PMO first at 253-3303 (DSN), 0827-79-3303 (from off base or cell phone).

14

P R E V I E W M A G A Z I N E | F I N D U S O N F A C E B O O K : M C C S I WA K U N I


Are You Ready? Through Deployment, TAD, and TDY, MCFTB has what you need to stay ready, always.

Are You:

by Angela Gerrits, Marine Corps Family Team Building

Single or Unaccompanied:

Deployments. Here at MCAS Iwakuni, we should all be very familiar with these, whether you are active duty, a family member, or a civilian, as we are all forward deployed. This forward deployment to Japan comes with unique challenges and benefits. We are in an exciting new land full of travel and cultural experiences, but also far away from the support of home. Luckily, Marine Corps Family Team Building, among other resources on base, is here to help you and yours through every step of any deployment.

The Cycle of Emotions During Deployment: Anticipation of Loss

Reintegration

Homecoming

Detachment & Withdrawal

Emotional Disorganization

Recovery & Stabilization

Anticipation of Homecoming

Iwakuni sees frequent exercises, TADs, and TDYs that impact daily routines and add challenges and hardships to service members and their families. Deployments look and feel different here in Iwakuni. You may experience weeks-long and frequent TADs or exercises, but not a long term deployment. There may even be unique challenges that you have not faced before, such as your expectations of what theses separations will mean for you. Another challenge that typically follows military families is the dreaded “Deployment Curse.” Have you heard of it? It is when the service member leaves and two days (or two hours) later the kids and pets are sick, the car won’t start, and an ID card expires… luckily, real or not, you don’t have to fear the “deployment curse” here at Iwakuni! Deployment readiness workshops and events are offered throughout the year, due to the unique operations tempo to ensure you, and your family, are always ready.

Always Ready and Pre-Deployment briefs can help you ensure you have all of your paperwork ready to go. You will learn more about how to prepare your family and friends back home, how to prepare Powers of Attorney and wills, and how to make plans for your personal belongings and bills.

Married or a Spouse of a Servicemember? Self-Care workshops and events are a great resource for spouses to gain some at-home stress management tips and a place to network with other spouses. Family Care Plan 101 briefs clear up confusion on the requirements of a Family Care Plan, Wills, and POAs for service members with dependents. Reintegration workshops and Couple’s Date Nights are great opportunities to take a break from the demands of the military and focus on strengthening the most important relationship in your life.

A Parent? Pre-, Mid-, and Post- Deployment workshops are offered for both parents and kids. Parents learn typical child reactions, based on age group, to separation and how to help them adjust to changes in mom or dad’s schedule. Our bi-annual Junior Ninja Training Day allows kids to dress up like their favorite hero character(s) and beat their deployment worries! Kids meet other kids, discover that their worries are normal, and learn how to overcome these. For more information, to sign up to attend a workshop or event, or to schedule a brief for your unit, call § 253-3754.

M C C S I WA K U N I . C O M |

APRIL 2017

15


April 9th Sunday  11:00 ~ 14:00 ~

Visit our new English site: www.akioota-navi.jp/en/

Change your recreation style at

YamashiRo Region in iwakuni Relax & RefResh oR Challenge YouRself!

RiveR TRekking

Only one hour by car from MCAS Iwakuni Programs available for single servicemembers and families Experience Making Local Cuisine

Soba Noodles, Tofu, Dyeing with Plants and more! Guest Feedback:

sCan The Code

foR The map

For more information and inquiries see our webpage www.yama-shiro.info or e-mail info@yama-shiro.info Tourism Office in the Nishiki Branch Office of the Iwakuni City Government: 12-8, Hirose, Nishiki-machi, Iwakuni-shi


FRIENDSH AY

FR I

DS HI P N D E

JM

F SD



MC

JA PA N

MAY 5

NI, AS I WAK U

DAY Exp e


IP

p erience In 2015, I had just moved to Japan. At the time, I did not work on Iwakuni MCAS. I had another job doing other things in another life. I didn’t even know the installation was here. It was Golden Week in Japan and my wife really wanted to go to Friendship Day. She had gone to Friendship Day many times over the years and it was always a special treat for her to see the air station with her family and friends.

“What is Friendship Day?” I asked. What I got was someone explaining a magical experience as if they had gone to Disney World. There is a carnival like atmosphere, people from all over Japan come on to the base, eat the food, watch the air show, buy souvenirs, see the aircraft displays, and take pictures with the service members in uniform. Okay, sounds fun! So, we went to the May 2015 Friendship Day. We parked at a friend’s place near the base and walked in along with a few thousand other people. In the rain; with no umbrella. It didn’t matter,

by Cameron Mangels, MCCS Productions

we felt the excitement of the people as they chattered, laughed, pointed, and walked to the nationally known showcase of friendship between the United States and Japan. I don’t think I have ever seen so many people moving together at once as they proceeded through the main gate. Although it was raining, that didn’t seem to dampen anyone’s mood. They were still excited to be there, and so were we. We stayed until the end of the show and made our way off the base happily chatting along with the other few thousand people making their way out past the gate. For Friendship Day 2016, I was working on Iwakuni in MCCS. I can’t tell you much about it except for the small area I was in and watched those same thousands of people stream through in front of us. Now, we are on Friendship Day 2017 and I get to be a part of it on a planning level. This brought more questions to my mind. How did Friendship Day start? How are they able to keep it going? How many people show up to this thing?


The first Friendship Day was May 5, 1973. This year will be the 41st time the event has been held. It was cancelled only a couple of times throughout its history. The event in 1973 was the first public air show; however, there were many annual “Open House” events before then.

Eventually, groups sold souvenirs to help raise money for units to use for their fun activities. This led to allowing vendors to come in and sell food and merchandise. More food, shops, and displays brought even more recognition and more attendance. With the addition of the air show in 1973, we now have the Friendship Day that we are familiar with and an average attendance of about 250,000 people per year.

The first Open House Friendship Day does was put together in not exist simply 1956 in response to bec ause someone On December 8, 2016 the Dick Schram increased tension in once said, “Hey! I’ve Memorial Community Relations Award the Asia Pacific area. got an idea! Let ’s With World War II was presented to Iwakuni MCAS and do an air show!” If having only ended a Iwakuni MCCS at the International any thing like that decade before and were to be suggested Council of Air Shows Convention in the war in Korea going today, I think that Las Vegas, Nevada. This marks the on, there was a lot of p er s on would b e first time an international air show mis tr us t b e t we en laughed out of the Americans and earned this award. office. Our Friendship Japanese. Open House Day was created from was an invitation to all necessit y. It grew Japanese citizens to o r g a n i c a l l y. A n d meet with US service today, it is a destination for hundreds of thousands of members. It also gave our military members a chance people for a one-day chance to be a part of this job that to interact with the local Japanese population. It put a we do every day. It’s a chance for Japanese guests to human face on everyone. bring the family to “America” and eat American food As the Open House grew in attendance, it also started adding more static displays of aircraft on the base.

and talk to Americans. It’s also a chance to truly show our love and friendship back to those Japanese families who have welcomed us into their homeland.


HEALTH PROMOTION §253-6359 Health Promotion offers a wide range of of health & wellness programs, fitness classes and events.. Authorized patrons of all abilities are welcome. Please contact Semper Fit Health Promotion if reasonable accommodations are necessary. GET PAID TO DO WHAT YOU LOVE…HEALTH & FITNESS Health Promotion is looking for aestheticians, group exercise, dance & gymnastics and Tai Chi instructors to provide services. If you are certified and have a passion for working with others, please contact us at 253-6359.

FREE BODY FAT ASSESSMENTS

White Lotus

AVAILABLE BY APPOINTMENT - 253-5126

UNIT PT REQUEST

Massage & Spa

TO SCHEDULE A UNIT PT FOR YOUR UNIT, SHOP, PLATOON, COMMAND OR SECTION, PLEASE CALL 253-5126 AT LEAST THREE BUSINESS DAYS IN ADVANCE

HIGH INTENSITY TACTICAL TRAINING

AVAILABLE AT HEAD TO TOE SALON - 243-4708 AND IRONWORKS GYM - 253-6359

MONDAY - FRIDAY, 5:30 AM - 6:30 AM; IRONWORKS GYM HITT CENTER

ONLINE SCHEDULING NOW AVAILABLE AT WWW.MCCSIWAKUNI.COM

INSTRUCTOR LED SESSIONS, ACTIVE DUTY & RESERVES ONLY

Offering all new spa and massage services including exfoliation, glycolytic peels and hydration facials.

HITT is a comprehensive performance enhancement program proven to improve combat readiness. Programming emphasizes basic strength, explosive power, acceleration and top speed, agility, endurance, mobility and movement patterns.

PERSONAL TRAINING SERVICES

Massage & Spa services make great gifts! Gift certificates available for purchase at IronWorks Gym or IronWorks North front desk.

$30 per one-hour session, $15 per Microfit assessment. Call 253-5126 for more details.

22

P R E V I E W M A G A Z I N E | F I N D U S O N F A C E B O O K : M C C S I WA K U N I


APRIL

FITNESS SCHEDULES

IRONWORKS MONDAY X TABATA

THURSDAY

IRONWORKS NORTH

8:30-9:15 AM X GLUTES & ABS 9:15-10 AM POWER PUMP 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM CORE 5-5:30 PM KICK BOXING 5:30-6:30 PM

POWER YOGA 5:30-6:30 AM ZUMBA NOON - 12:45 PM ALIGN & FLOW 5:15-6:15 PM ZUMBA 6:30-7:30 PM

TUESDAY

FRIDAY

CYCLING 5:30-6:30 AM PILATES 8:30-9:30 AM ZUMBA 9:30-10:30 AM POWER PUMP 5:15-6:15 PM YOGA 6:30-7:30 PM

POWER STEP 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM POUND 5-5:30 PM ZUMBA 5:30-6:30 PM CYCLING 5:30-6:30 PM GLUTES & ABS 6:45-7:15 PM

X CYCLING

8:30-9:15 AM X ZUMBA 9:15-10 AM POUND 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM

THURSDAY

MONDAY

ZUMBA 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM POWER STEP 5-5:30 PM YOGA 5:30-6:30 PM CYCLING 5:30-6:30 PM GLUTES & ABS 6:45-7:15 PM

POWER YOGA 5:30-6:30 AM POWER PUMP 8:30-9:30 AM TABATA 9:30-10:30 AM PILATES 5:15-6:15 PM ZUMBA 6:30-7:30 PM

TUESDAY

FRIDAY

TABATA 5:30-6:30 AM X GENTLE YOGA Noon - 12:45 PM PIYO 5:15-6:15 PM

SATURDAY

WEDNESDAY PIYO 5:30-6:30 AM TABATA 5:15-5:45 PM ZUMBA 5:45-6:45 PM

WEDNESDAY

X YOGA 8:30-9:15 AM X GLUTES & ABS 9:15-10 AM ZUMBA 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM

POWER PUMP 8:30-9:30 AM YOGA 9:30-10:30 AM POUND 10:30-11:30 AM ZUMBA 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM

UNIT PT WORKOUT BY REQUEST SCHEDULE IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE NO CLASS ON U.S. FEDERAL HOLIDAYS

X: 45min Express classes

§ 253-5051

DANCE &

GYMNASTICS MOM/DAD & ME PRESCHOOL CREATIVE MOVEMENT & TAP/BALLET COMBO BALLET & CONTEMPORARY BALLET (ALL LEVELS/POINTE) JAZZ HIP-HOP GIRLS’ & BOYS’ GYMNASTICS TUMBLING CHEER TUMBLE PRIVATE LESSONS AVAILABLE

MARTIAL ARTS I WORKS & IRONWORKS NORTH AT RON

武 道

KICKBOXING & SPARRING AGES 16 & OLDER

For more information, or to register, please contact Semper Fit Health Promotion Authorized patrons of ALL abilities welcomed Please contact program staff if reasonable accommodations are necessary. IronWorks Gym Health Promotion §253-6359

BRAZILIAN JIU JITSU ADULT 14 & OLDER YOUTH AGES 5 -13 HOMESCHOOL PROGRAM

JUDO

ADULT 16 & OLDER YOUTH AGES 6-15

OPEN TO ALL BASE PERSONNEL HEALTH PROMOTION §253-6359 M C C S I WA K U N I . C O M |

APRIL 2017

23


AQUATICS

INTRAMURAL SPORTS

AMERICAN RED CROSS LIFEGUARD CERTIFICATION COURSE

RACQUETBALL TOURNAMENT

APR 3-7, 3-8 PM; APR 22,23,29 & 30, 8 AM - 4 PM FEE: $80 - OPEN TO AGES 15 AND UP Earn certifications for Lifeguarding, First Aid, CPR/AED for the Professional Rescuer, Oxygen Administration, and Blood Borne Pathogens.

April 15, 10 AM - 5 PM IronWorks Gym Racquetball Courts Sign-up from April 3-15

SOFTBALL TOURNAMENT

AMP-IT

April 22, 9 AM - 5 PM Penny Lake Softball Field #1

Mon-Fri, 5 AM - 4 PM

Sign up from April 10-19

Aquatics Maximum Power Intense Training Amp up your PT. Reservation required call for details.

TSUNAMI YOUTH SWIM TEAM

ยง253-3067

Tue & Thu from 5-6:30 PM Ironworks gym indoor pool Calling youth swimmers ages 6-17. Try out for the Tsunami Youth Swim Team by coming to practice and meeting with our coaches.

PRIVATE SWIMMING LESSONS Mon & Wed or Tue & Thu Choose one 30 minute time-slot between 9 AM - 5:30 PM Fee: $30 / 3 week session ($15 for active duty) Registration starts April 1 for the April 20-27 session Lessons are led by American Red Cross Water Safety Instructors and are open to students ages 6 months and older.

UNIT PT OR SWIM QUAL POOL RESERVATIONS Mon-Fri, 8 AM - 4:30 PM Reservation at least 24 hours in advance. The indoor IronWorks pool is available.

OUTDOOR REC SHIMANAMI BIKE TRIP April 22 & May 20

Sign up now for April Sign-ups start April 20 for May

YOSHINO WHITE WATER RAFT TRIP May 29

For unit physical fitness training. To reserve for Unit PT or Swim Quals, please contact the Aquatics office

Sign-ups start April 28

SHARK BAIT DIVE CENTER SCUBA LOCKER Mon-Fri, 8 AM - 5 PM Rent scuba diving gear year round. Scuba Certification is required.

ยง253-4966 ยง253-3822

24

P R E V I E W M A G A Z I N E | F I N D U S O N F A C E B O O K : M C C S I WA K U N I


THE 50TH MCAS

M A R AT H O N APRIL 16

FULL, HALF, & TEAM MARATHON IronWorks Gym CHECK-IN: 6:15 AM RACE START: 9 AM REGISTRATION FEES: $30 or ยฅ3,500

DIVISIONS: Both men & women ages 16-29, 30-39, 40-49, 50 & over

Sign up at IronWorks or IronWorks North ยง253-5654 or ombiwaathletics@usmc-mccs.org For up-to-date info: fMCCSIwakuniSemperFit

REGISTRATION DEADLINE: APRIL 7

YOUTH SPORTS NEEDS YOU!

BECOME A YOUTH SPORT S

CO ACH NOW RECRUITING MOTIVATED COACHES FOR OUR SUMMER CAMPS AND UPCOMING SOCCER SEASON Please volunteer for the rewarding experience of teaching children great skills and important life lessons.

Coaches will receive free training and will earn volunteer hours giving back to the community.

YOUTH SPORTS ยง253-3239 / 5777

OMBIwakuni.YouthSports@usmc-mccs.org M C C S I WA K U N I . C O M |

APRIL 2017

25


BEHAVIORAL HEALTH

Call 253-4526 to schedule a group class or unit education for Anger Management, Stress Management, Child Abuse/Neglect, Domestic Violence/Abuse, Parenting, Child Discipline or Couples and Relationship classes.

COMMUNITY COUNSELING PROGRAM 253-6553

CCP offers individual, couple, family, child and group counseling to promote the well-being of the MCAS Iwakuni community. CCP can help you address issues related to marriage/relationships, anxiety, stress, conflict resolution, grief/loss, and other life changes.

SUBSTANCE ABUSE & PREVENTION Our mission is to provide substance abuse counseling and education to all military members and eligible personnel. Contact unit SACO or Substance Abuse Counseling Center at 253-5260 if you need help with substance abuse-related concerns.

FAMILY ADVOCACY PROGRAM FAP focuses on providing prevention and treatment for families and individuals with domestic violence and child abuse related issues. After hours, please contact the Victim Advocate at 090-9978-1033.

VICTIM ADVOCACY 253-4526

Victim Advocates assist victims of domestic violence or child abuse by advocating for safety and providing crisis intervention services. Contact the FAP Victim Advocate 24/7 at 090-9978-1033.

SEMINAR: MULTIDISCIPLINARY APPROACH TO CHILD MALTREATMENT APRIL 26 & 27, 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM; SAKURA ASSEMBLY HALL

ANGER MANAGEMENT TUESDAYS & THURSDAYS, 9:30-11 AM

In this class, we will discuss when anger become a problem, what are some costs of anger, how do we effectively deal with stress, how to identify anger and stress triggers, as well as eight core Anger Management skills.

COPING WITH WORK AND FAMILY STRESS MONDAYS & WEDNESDAYS, 2-3 PM

Topics covered include increased use of social support, changes in the meaning of stressful events, increased use of a wider range of stress management approaches, prevention or reduction of alcohol and drug use, and prevention or reduction of psychological symptoms such as depression and anxiety.

26

SEXUAL ASSAULT PREVENTION & RESPONSE

SAPR offers services to service members, military dependents over the age of 18 and DoD civilians who have been the victim of sexual assault. SAPR provides advocacy and accompaniment services in the event of a sexual assault. Please contact the SAPR office or the SAPR 24/7 Support Line at 080-5865-3566, for a Uniformed or Civilian Victim advocate to provide services or to discuss reporting options.

EXCEPTIONAL FAMILY MEMBER PROGRAM 253-5601

EFMP is a mandatory enrollment program for military sponsors who have dependent family members with special medical or educational needs. Services offered include information and referral, non-medical case management, training and other forms of support.

MILITARY & FAMILY LIFE CONSULTANTS

090-6654-2351, 090-6005-8412 OR 080-4186-0194 CYBMFLC 080-4186-0188

MFLCs are licensed clinical counselors who provide short-term, situational, problem-solving counseling services to service members, family members and staff.

NAVY-MARINE CORPS RELIEF SOCIETY 253-5311

In partnership with the Navy and Marine Corps, NMCRS provides financial, educational and other assistance to members of the Naval Services of the United States, eligible family members and survivors when in need. NAVY-MARINE CORPS RELIEF SOCIETY IWAKUNI

VETERANS ASSISTANCE 253-6161

VETERANS’ AFFAIRS REPRESENTATIVE A VA representative is available for one-on-one appointments and specialty VA benefits briefings covering topics such as home loan guaranty, disability compensation, GI Bill, etc., as requested. To arrange briefings or for questions related to VA benefits, email iwakuni.va.rep@gmail.com

P R E V I E W M A G A Z I N E | F I N D U S O N F A C E B O O K : M C C S I WA K U N I


PERSONAL &

Professional Development EDUCATION SERVICES

P&PD

PERSONAL READINESS SEMINAR TUESDAYS, 7:30 AM - 3:30 PM, RM 123

The education office provides information, traditional and non-traditional off-duty education programs. Call for more information about classes or programs.

A course for Marines as they arrive at their first permanent duty station. The workshop will introduce the Marine for Life Cycle and provide resources to help Marines improve their personal and financial readiness.

TEST OF ADULT BASIC EDUCATION

TRANSITION READINESS SEMINAR

MONDAYS (EXCEPT FEDERAL HOLIDAYS)

The Transition Readiness Seminar provides training for transitioning servicemembers and their families on benefits and services to prepare for life after the military. Different pathways allow participants to focus on their goals, whether it is immediate employment, education, technical training or starting a business.

253-3855, BLDG 411 RM 127

10:30-11:30 AM

This reading comprehension test is required for first time Tuition Assistance users who have a GT score of less than 100.

DEFENSE LANGUAGE PROFICIENCY TEST 1ST & 3RD WEDNESDAY, 8 AM - 3 PM

ACCESSING HIGHER EDUCATION

The DLPT is used to measure a student’s proficiency in a foreign language.

Going to college after the military? This two-day course supplements the Transition Readiness Seminar by providing detailed, hands-on training to help you apply to a college or university.

ARMED FORCES CLASSIFICATION TEST 2ND WEDNESDAY , 8 AM - NOON

The test is only for active duty or personnel who need to raise their current ASVAB scores. Unit approval and confirmation documentation is required prior to testing.

RELOCATION SERVICES

DEFENSE LANGUAGE APTITUDE BATTERY

Your moving experience begins when you receive your Permanent Change of Station (PCS) orders. Knowing what to expect and who to contact will determine the success of your move. Please call for more information or to sign up.

4TH WEDNESDAY, 8 AM - NOON

The DLAB is used to measure the student’s ability to learn a foreign language.

253-6161/3357

PCS WITH SUCCESS WORKSHOPS (UNACCOMPANIED)

TRANSITION RESOURCES

PCS With Success is a brief where active duty servicemembers will learn information and tips to make the transition smoother.

Providing transition services and employment assistance programs to all active duty military personnel, military retirees, SOFA personnel and their family members. Call for more information about classes or programs.

PCS WITH SUCCESS WORKSHOPS (ACCOMPANIED)

253-6439, BLDG 411 RM 101

PRE-SEPARATION COUNSELING

Active duty servicemembers and their families will learn tips for make the transition smoother. There will be briefs on Tricare, Exceptional Family Member Program and School Liaison Program.

FRIDAYS 8:30-11:30 AM, BLDG 411 ROOM 122

The Pre-Separation Counseling meeting is for transitioning service members who will be attending the Transition Readiness Seminar.

SPONSORSHIP TRAINING Do you want to be a leader? Learn about your responsibilities as a sponsor as well as the things you can do to assist personnel relocating to MCAS Iwakuni. Advance sign-up is required.

M C C S I WA K U N I . C O M |

APRIL 2017

27


M C F T B Family Care Plan 101

April 7, 11 AM - Noon, Yujo Hall

The Marine Corps has a document which enables the Marine to select individuals who would care for his/ her dependents in their absence. Learn what a Family Care Plan is and how you and your family can ensure all of your family members are taken care of.

Color Your World

April 11, 10 AM - Noon, Crossroads Café

Playtime isn't just for kids! Coloring can help you recharge, relax, and also get creative. Enjoy conversations, learn something new, and unwind with art as you tap into you inner Picasso. Join Marine Corps Family Team Building for adult coloring, coffee, and conversations, to expand and Color Your World!

Keeping Our Kids Safe

April 11, 3 - 4:30 PM, Yujo Hall

One of the most important skills parents should teach their children is personal safety; things like safety with strangers, practicing the buddy system, how to be safe at home and even how to identify themselves if they are separated from an adult. This kid friendly event will open up these conversations for parents and their children to have. There will even be safety crafts games, and activities for kids of all ages! In partnership with Behavioral Health for Child Abuse Prevention Month.

Command Team Advisor/Family Readiness Assistant Training April 12, 8 AM - Noon, Yujo Hall

This training is mandatory if you are going to serve as a Command Team Advisor or Family Readiness Assistant. Command Team Advisors and Family Readiness Assistants are an important part of the family readiness program and assist in a variety of ways.

PII/OPSEC Training

April 12, 1:30 - 2:30 PM, Yujo hall

This workshop teaches you what PII is, how to successfully secure it, and how to maintain operational security. This training is a requirement in order to serve on you unit's Command Team.

Interpersonal Communications for Japanese Spouses

April 12, 10 AM – Noon, Crossroads Café April 19, 10 AM - Noon, Yujo Hall

Are you a Japanese spouse looking for an opportunity to improve your communication skills while practicing your English? Well, this interactive and fun class is for you! We are also looking for volunteer spouses to facilitate English conversation. Please contact MCFTB for details or to sign up as a volunteer. 日本人配偶者コミュニケーションクラス クロスロードカフェ&友情ホール 英語を学んで、 コミュニケーション力を高めません か?気軽に誰でも参加出来るような英会話やゲーム をして楽しめるクラスです。 また、英語を教えてくだ さるボランティアも募集しています。 クラスへの参加 希望、 またはボランティアに興味のある方、連絡をお 待ちしています。

Junior Ninja Training

April 13, 3-5 PM, Capodanno Hall

Calling all Junior Ninja Recruits! Join Marine Corps Family Team Building to learn how to be a good and ready Ninja kid! This even helps you be always ready for the challenges of the military, including moves and parent deployments or TADs/TDYs. You will get to meet ninjas, enjoy a ninja show, crafts, games, challenges, snacks and more! Come dressed as a ninja or as your favorite hero! In partnership with Behavioral Health for Child Abuse Prevention Month. Open to kids ages 5-10, accompanied by a parent. Reservations are required; space is limited to 25 Junior Ninjas.

LifeSkills for Marines

April 14, 8 AM - 4 PM, Capodanno Hall

The goal of the program is to enhance a service member's total fitness by increasing their awareness and understanding of a variety of “life skills” to include Anger Management, Stress Management, Transition Awareness, Healthy Relationships, Substance Abuse, Goal Setting and the Pros & Cons of their individual personality.

L.I.N.K.S. Mentor Training for Japanese Spouses (2-Day Course)

April 18 & 20, 9 AM – Noon, Yujo Hall

This is a great opportunity to help our new Japanese spouses assimilate into military life. Through this 2-day class, you will learn about how to use your experiences to support fellow spouses by becoming a L.I.N.K.S. Mentor. リンクスメンターとは、 リンクスプログラムで必要とし ているボランティアの事です。 ボランティアの内容は、 ご自身の軍生活での経験談や知識を生かし、 参加者 にプレゼンテーターとして教えたり、 クラスへ参加さ れてない日本人配偶者の方々に、 このプログラムへ の参加を促すサポーターのお仕事です。

Healthy Blended Families

April 25, 11 AM - Noon, Yujo Hall

Blended families, also known as step-families, are more common now than ever before. According to the American Blended Family Association approximately 2,100 new blended families are formed every day in the United States. This workshop will help families aboard MCAS Iwakuni gain a better understanding of the common emotional and practical issues facing blended families. Join Marine Corps Family Team Building and Family Advocacy program to learn about and share strategies to improve and solidify your family's unity.

L.I.N.K.S. for Marines

April 27, 8 AM - 4 PM, Yujo Hall

Marines, this L.I.N.K.S. workshop is all for you! We will provide the essentials that every service member needs to make the most of their military journey. You will learn about all of the wondrous resources and benefits available to you, pay and budgeting, potential career paths, volunteer opportunities, and much more. Talk to your Command or FRO today to request to join us!

MARINE CORPS FAMILY TEAM BUILDING §253-3542

28

P R E V I E W M A G A Z I N E | F I N D U S O N F A C E B O O K : M C C S I WA K U N I


Child Abuse Prevention Month

Pinwheel Planting March 30, 9-11 AM Cherry Blossom Triangle

Developing Healthy Blended Families April 25, 11 AM - Noon Yujo Hall

Keeping Our kids Safe Workshop April 11, 3-4:30 PM Yujo Hall

Multidisciplinary Approach to Child Maltreatment Seminar April 26 & 27, 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM Sakura Assembly Hall

Junior Ninja Training* April 13, 3-5 PM Capodanno Hall

Ice Cream Social & Movie on the Lawn April 28, 6-8:30 PM Crossroads Amphitheater

Zumba Glow for Kids* April 14 & 21, 7-8 PM IronWorks Aerobics Room Pre-Glow Party 6-7 PM Wellness Room

CLOTHING

p a w S April 21

Expecting parents, and those with children ages 5 and younger, bring out your 10 AM - 2 PM extra baby clothes to our Bldg. 411, Rm. 217 NPSP Clothing Swap Event. Learn about the many ages, stages and developmental New Parent Support ยง 253-5043 changes of your child. MCAS IWAKUNI

*limited spaces available

Parent & Child Yoga* April 22, 9-11 AM Sign-up starts April 10 IronWorks Aerobics Room

Family Advocacy ยง 253-5043

Personal Finance April

classes

Lending LOCKER temporar y loan of household goods

Million Dollar Sailor/Marine April 20-21, 8 AM - 4:15 PM

A 2-Day in-depth course on financial training in the areas of investing, budgeting , credit reports, home buying, car buying, TSP, insurance, consumer awareness, and referral services. E4 and E5 service members will receive a CFF designation if approved by Command.

Real Estate Investing April 26, 8:30-9:30 AM

Take a look at Real Estate Investment options. Learn more about converting your home to a rental property, purchasing rental property, and investing in Real Estate Investment Trusts (REIT).

Information Referral & Relocation Bldg. 411, Rm. 123 P&PD ยง253-6439

Monday - Friday โ€ข 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM Bldg. 411, Room 101 ยง 253-6161 This service is available to all personnel with in-bound and out-bound PCS orders. Loans are for up to 60 days.

M C C S I WA K U N I . C O M |

APRIL 2017

29


Welcome Kintai Bridge

IWAKUNI 2

Otake

NO CREDIT CARDS ACCEPTED

Fresta CAZL Mall

OPEN MONDAY - FRIDAY LUNCH 11 AM - 3 PM / DINNER 5-10 PM SATURDAY & SUNDAY 11 AM - 10 PM (no break)

Iwakuni Train Station

Reservation & Take-Out

Free refills on naan & Free parking

Indian Pasta, Vegetarian menu, Party menu Available U.S. dollar & credit cards accepted

2

P

Hotto Motto JR IWAKUNI STATION BACK GATE

FRONT GATE

188

MCAS Iwakuni

188

Iwakuni City View Hotel

MCAS Iwakuni

to

SET MENU (sales tax included) Lunch ¥800 - ¥950 Dinner ¥1,550 (starting from) § 0827-21-2926

1-10-5, Showa-machi Iwakuni-shi

Scan QR for directions


Onyasai

Gyu-Kaku JAPANESE STYLE GRILLED BEEF RESTAURANT

SHABU SHABU

THIN SLICES OF MEAT BOILED WITH VEGETABLES AND DIPPED IN SAUCE Open Every Day: 5 PM - Midnight All-You-Can-Eat starting at ¥3,218 (with tax) All-You-Can-Eat & Drink starting at ¥4,320 (with tax) Free Two Hour Parking • Credit Cards Accepted

www.onyasai.com (0827)24-7117

Route 2 Iwakuni City P View Hotel

a

Route 188

oshim

ir To H

Route 2

To JR S

tation

EDION

Onyasai

Bldg. 106

P

6 Chome 10-27, Marifu, Iwakuni

Iwakuni

OPEN DAILY, 5 PM - MIDNIGHT TEL: 0827-30-4129

All-You-Can-Eat & Drink Menu: Starting at ¥4,212 (tax included) English menu available • Free 2-hour parking • Credit Cards Accepted


YOUTH & Teen Center

Y&TC

§253-803/5549

SPECIAL EVENTS MONTH OF THE MILITARY CHILD APRIL 1, 1-4 PM

Kids serve too. April is the Month of the Military Child. Come help us celebrate at the Amphitheatre behind the Crossroads Mall. There will be plenty of entertainment, games, demonstrations, giveaways, and numerous things for parents and, most importantly, the kids to do. Fun food and water will be available.

EASTER EGG CARNIVAL APRIL 15, 12:30-3 PM; PARADE DECK

Children ages 12 and younger come out and enjoy a morning with Peter Cottontail while searching for colorful candy-filled eggs. It is sure to be a big hit with the youngsters.

UNIVERSAL STUDIOS TRIP APRIL 21, 5 AM - 11 PM

Enjoy a day during Spring Break experiencing the Magic of Hollywood. Thirty five spaces are available to youth ages 10-18. Sign-ups begin March 31 and end April 19. Admission: ¥3,600 for ages 10-12 and ¥5,400 for ages 13 and older.

MONTHLY ACTIVITIES TORCH CLUB MEETING APRIL 13, 2-3 PM

This club is for boys and girls ages 10-12 and is geared to youth working on activities in four core areas: service to club and community, education, health and fitness, and social recreation. Youth will plan and initiate ideas for trips, events and activities. What kinds of things would you like to do? Let’s get together, gather ideas and make our youth program better than ever.

SMART GIRLS MEETING APRIL 27, 2-3 PM

Smart Girls is a small-group health, fitness, prevention/education and self-esteem enhancement program designed to meet the developmental needs of girls ages 10-12. Field trips and mentoring opportunities are planned with mothers and adult female staff.

PASSPORT TO MANHOOD APRIL 28, 3-4:30 PM

Come out and address issues designed for young men ages 10-15. Passport addresses such issues as decision-making, wellness, cooperation and conflict. There will be food, plenty of fun and good friends.

WEEKLY ACTIVITIES TRIPLE PLAY HEALTHY HABITS WEDNESDAYS, 4-5 PM

TRIPLE PLAY ACTIVITIES MONDAY - THURSDAY 4-7 PM

MONTHLY BIRTHDAY PARTY APRIL 28, 3-4 PM

Come celebrate your birthday with cake and ice cream at the Youth & Teen Center. Join us as we honor embers born this month. Open to all youth ages 10-18 (youth age 18 must be enrolled in high school).

32

P R E V I E W M A G A Z I N E | F I N D U S O N F A C E B O O K : M C C S I WA K U N I

SAMURAI KEYSTONE MEETING/SOCIAL THURSDAYS, 5-7 PM


SCHOOL AGED CARE CENTER ยง 253-4769/3115

MONTHLY ACTIVITIES TRIPLE PLAY HEALTHY HABITS WEDNESDAYS, 4-4:45 PM Healthy Habits is designed to teach youth the benefits of healthy habits by eating right and being physically active. Youth will learn to adopt healthier habits through fun and engaging activities. With encouragement, participants will start to make positive changes in their personal health choices. Lessons include information on Kid's Food Pyramid, cooking and their body.

SPRING BREAK DAY CAMP

APRIL 3-7, 6:30 AM - 6 PM Many fun activities are planned. Call the Resource and Referral Office at 253-5064 for additional information.

MONTHLY EVENTS MONTHLY BIRTHDAY PARTY APRIL 28, 4-5 PM

Celebrate your birthday with cake, games and friends as we honor members born this month.

WOMEN, INFANTS & CHILDREN (WIC)

MC PERRY ELEMENTARY

253-4928

โ„ข

OUTSTANDING READERS KINDERGARTEN - MRS. ALLEN

Ariana Weyer FIRST GRADE - MRS. WOODLEY

Quinn Schaub SECOND GRADE - MRS. COLE

Senna Holladay THIRD GRADE - MRS. PAVEL

A nutrition education program providing supplemental food to help promote good health for pregnant, breast feeding, postpartum women and infants and children up to age five. Eligibility is based on family size and household income.

SCHOOL LIAISON 253-3691

MCAS IWAKUNI SCHOOL LIAISON

The Marine Corps School Liaison provides critical information and resources for military school-aged children, families and schools to ensure positive and effective educational experiences.

YOUTH SPONSORSHIP PROGRAM

Know the ropes of living in Japan? Become a Youth Sponsor. Make a positive impact of the life of another military youth or teen. New to Iwakuni? Make new friends and learn about your new duty station by participating in this rewarding opportunity.

Alex Dinh FOURTH GRADE - MRS. WILSON

Noah Stuckey FIFTH GRADE: - MRS. PRINDLE

Ethan Kowalski SIXTH GRADE - MRS. BILLUPS

Aruale Vasquez

M C C S I WA K U N I . C O M |

APRIL 2017

33


NEW PARENT SUPPORT PROGRAM (NPSP) 253-5043

MCCS IWAKUNI NEW PARENT SUPPORT PROGRAM

HOME / OFFICE VISITATION NPSP Home Visitors work with families in a one-onone setting. Call NSPS for more information.

LUNCH AND LEARN SERIES

LIBRARY 253-3078

FREEGAL Freegal music is free and legal and allows you to download five songs each week as MP3s to your computer, phone or music device, and stream a select number of hours each day. Also, the Freegal Music Service has over 15,000 popular music videos for download in the MP4 format.

1ST THURSDAY, NOON - 1 PM, BLDG. 411, RM. 231

ZINIO

This hour-long informal session gives parents and families the chance to learn more about resources and programs on base.

Download the current issues of your favorite magazines for free and read them on your computer, eReader, tablet or phone.

NPSP ORIENTATION

FAMCAM LOFT

1ST MONDAY, NOON - 1 PM, BLDG. 411 RM. 231

Family members may video chat with their deployed loved ones free of charge.

See what the NPSP has to offer. During the orientation you will have a chance to ask questions and sign up for classes.

PLAYAWAYS

1ST MONDAY, 11 AM - NOON, BLDG. 411 ROOM 231

Going on a road trip in Japan or TAD? A Playaway is a small digital audio player already pre-loaded with an audio book.

Join a discussion with a group of nursing moms with similar nursing challenges and success stories.

BABY INTO BOOKS

BREAST PUMP EDUCATION CLASS

MONDAYS, 10-10:30 AM

PERIOD OF PURPLE CRYING CLASS 2ND TUESDAY, 1-2 PM, BLDG. 411 RM.217

This interactive class provides information and coping mechanisms for your infant’s uncontrollable crying as well as a follow-up plan.

HOSPITAL TOUR WITH DR. SHOJI

Storytime for ages three and under. Babies NEED books! Reading to children early and often gives them the opportunity to develop a love for books, language and eventually, reading.

EARLY LITERACY STORYTIME TUESDAYS, 1-1:45 PM

Learn about available obstetrical services and tour the birthing facility in Iwakuni. Meet in Bldg 411 on the first floor.

Help your preschooler get ready for their first day of school! Have fun with stories, crafts, and activities that help your three - five year old build early literacy skills.

FREE MOVIE THURSDAYS

DANGEROUS KIDS CLUB

3RD TUESDAY, 1-3 PM, MEET IN BLDG. 411 LOBBY

3RD THURSDAY, 2 PM - 3:30 PM, SAKURA ASSEMBLY HALL

WEDNESDAYS, 2:45-4:15 PM

Join NPSP for a fun movie day where a kid can just be a kid.

An after school club for children in grades three eight to learn new things that are practical and fun from "The Dangerous Book for Boys" and "The Daring Book for Girls." Adventure awaits!

MUSICAL MONDAYS MONDAYS, 9 AM - 9:45 AM, BLDG. 411 RM. 231

A fun interactive play group that includes music and movement for both parent and child.

FREE PLAY TUESDAYS & THURSDAYS, 10 - 11 AM, BLDG. 411 RM 231

The center is open for one hour so that your child can play, or bring a friend for a playdate. Must register with NPSP.

SENSORY STORY TIME 2ND AND 4TH THURSDAYS, 11-11:45 AM

These sessions provide an opportunity for children ages two - five who find it challenging to participate in a large group or are prone to sensory overload to participate in storytime.

TODDLERS & TUNES WEDNESDAYS, 10:30-11:30 AM, CHAPEL NURSERY

Learn more about ages and stages, how to have fun with your child, games, songs, and other helpful topics.

34

P R E V I E W M A G A Z I N E | F I N D U S O N F A C E B O O K : M C C S I WA K U N I


Printer

ORIENTATION Fridays

6-6:45 PM Bldg. 411, Library

Want to use the 3D Printer for free? First, you have to go through an orientation to learn the basic safety and policy information; then, you may schedule a day to make your own creations! See you soon!

Excellent Professional Grooming* & Puppy Adoptions! We specialize in grooming small breed dogs under 5 kg or 11 lbs. *Sorry for not accepting medium or large sized dogs for our grooming services.

Meet adorable puppies at our shop and online at:

www.dog-comachi.com Open : 10 AM - 6 PM (Closed 1st Monday and on Tuesdays)

0827-24-9090

§ 253-3078

2

Shidax

P

Iwakuni • Business Hotel

 Base 188

Iwakuni station

Iwakuni Train Station

Business content

Station

188

Breeding

FUJI

Pet Grooming Services Shih Tzu

Golden Retriever

Child day care

were born!

Laugh,Learn and Play the Japanese Way! Iwakuni MCAS Iwakuni

Pet Hotel

Sheltie

Iwakuni Police Station

Dog Park

Iwakuni City Office

Animal Park Maltese

Beagle

Pet Funeral Services

ANIMAL FUREAI VILLAGE(Petting Zoo) 93-1 Higashi Migama Suo Oshima-cho Oshima-gun Yamaguchi-ken ↑Iwakuni ←Yanai Open/Wednesday-Monday, 10:00-18:00 Closed/Tuesday(with the exception of pet hotel services) R188 Animal park is open Saturdays, Sundays, and Japanese Holidays only. Oshima Bridge Visit our website For Pet Funeral Services, call 0120-127-530(24 hours a day)

☎0820-74-3474

h t t p : // w w w. f u r e m u r a . j p

Here

LITTLE ANGEL CHILD DAYCARE

au

JR Minami Iwakuni Station

Rt 188

Yanai

• Experienced & certified caretakers • Full day & hourly care available • Daily hands-on activities • Perfect opportunity for your child to have a multicultural experience • Evaluation visits welcome

Ohsyo YouMe Town

LITTLE ANGEL Nafco

MON - FRI 7 AM - 7 PM SAT & Japanese Holiday 8 AM - 6 PM

0827-31-8506

ging

sa Mas

Mobile Petting Zoo Parties Labrador Retriever

Since1987

Full day care Hourly care 2 months−5 years old

Monday-Friday

7:00AM- 8:00PM

Saturday

8:00AM- 8:00PM

(Toll Free) 0120-231-843 http://funkymomo.co.jp

by♪

a ba

Mother′s comment

Funky Momo provides quality and genuine care for my kids at an unbeatable price. ■Evaluation Visits Welcome(Reservation required) ■Payment in US Dollars Accepted ■Small Family-Like Surroundings


www.unimat-golf.jp/hiroshimanishi/course.html

Hiroshima-Nishi Country Club OPEN THROUGHOUT THE YEAR! HNCC

To Mikuradake 3 km Maronnosato Koryukan

R-289 2 km

R-289

2 km

R-186

8 km from Yasaka Dam

HOURS: 8 AM -5:30 PM FREE breakfast available everyday 7-9:30 AM (Sat. Sun & JPN Holidays) 7:30-9:30 AM (Weekdays) RESERVATIONS 0827-56-0311 Email: info-hiroshimanishi@unimat-golf.jp

R186

From MCAS, take R-2 for Otake and then R-186 for the Yasaka Dam. After passing the dam, drive 8 km further on R-186 and take R-289 for 4 km. At the T corner placed the sign board above, turn to the left for Hiroshima-Nishi CC. Total distance from MCAS to HNCC is about 40 km.

Try the fresh local produce available from road side stands along the way!

MCAS IWAKUNI SPECIAL DISCOUNT! (applied by showing your ID on check-in) GREEN FEE (TAX INCLUDED)

¥ 7,820 (weekdays) ¥ 11,380(Sat, Sun & Japanese Holidays) Open Hours 11 AM - 3 PM & 5 PM - 9 PM We accept credit cards:

(Parking for 17 cars)

Yanai Country Club Yamabiko Ramen

 Kintai Bridge

2

*Jeans, T-shirts or Sandals are not suitable for our course

FRESTA Supermarket

Only a 40 minute drive from MCAS Iwakuni Magnificent 27 hole course made on gentle slopes Reservation at 0820-28-1111 (English-speaking staff available.) or Email: dmizumoto@pacificgolf.co.jp

MCAS IWAKUNI SPECIAL PACKAGE

Scan for the MAP

2372-1, Hizumi, Yanai-shi

Please show your ID at check-in.

GREEN FEE including Tax ¥6,980 (weekdays), ¥10,900 (Sat, Sun & JPN holidays) Free lunch available everyday

SASAO DENTAL CLINIC General Practice: CAVITY, GUM DISEASE, DENTURE ... Specialization: SNORING and SLEEP APNEA

ENGLISH SPEAKING DOCTORS Moderate English (Mon-Sat) Fluent English (call for availability) RECEPTIONIST AVAILABLE Mon, Tue, Wed & Fri: 9 AM - 1 PM & 2:30-6 PM Thur & Sat: 9 AM - 1 PM Closed Sundays & Japanese holidays

BY APPOINTMENT ONLY (English available) 0827-21-0118: Mon, Tue, Wed, Fri: 9:30 AM - 6 PM For detailed information including treatment fee’s, scan the QR code or visit www.sasao-dc.com/english

Open Daily: 7:30 AM -5:30 PM T-shirts, Jeans, or Sandals are not suitable for our golf course

Sasao Dental Clinic

4 Corner Route 188

MCAS Iwakuni


Waxing Salon

Jeanne d A ’ rc IWAKUNI

FOR WOMEN, AND BY RESERVATION ONLY To Hiroshima

188

IWAKUNI STATION

To MCAS

188

50 HOTEL α-1

LIVEYELL

Jeanne d A ’ rc (2nd Floor)

50

NISSAN 2

Pola theBeauty

SHIDAX

2

makes your skin younger!

MCAS Beauty Package BR A ZILIA N WA X.....¥5 , 8 0 0 P LAYBO Y WA X..... . . ¥ 5 , 8 0 0 UND ER A R MS...... . . ¥2, 5 0 0 OTHER TYPES OF WAXING ARE AVAILABLE. Vi si t our w e b s ite f or w a x i n g se r v i c e s, r e se r v a t i o n s a n d d i r e c t i o n s ww w. y o s h iko jea n n ed a r c . j i m d o . c o m / e n g l i s h /

2nd Floor, 3-20-23, Marifu-cho, Iwakuni-shi § 0 9 0 - 5 6 9 9 -3 3 6 9 (Limited Eng l ish)

Relaxing high-class hotel beside Kintai Bridge

Iwakuni Kokusai Kanko Hotel

・Located at the historical castle town in Iwakuni ・Relaxing

and luxurious atmosphere with excellent seasonal views of Kintai Bridge

・Authentic

Szechuan and Japanese restaurants inside

・Outdoor public spa baths with views of Kintai Bridge or Iwakuni Castle

Japanese Restaurant

2F

Szechuan Restaurant

3F

open everyday 11:00~14:30(LO 13:45), 17:00~21:30(LO 20:30) hot spring day use

(11:00~22:00) FREE PARKING 60cars 1-1-7 Iwakuni, Iwakuni-shi TEL (0827)43-1111 www.iwakunikankohotel.co.jp

←Iwakuni Sta. Kintaikyo Bus Center Iwakuni Kokusai Kanko Hotel

Iwakuni IC ↓

30 Minute Facial ¥3,780 60 Minute Facial + ¥5,940 Basic Neck Massage 90 Minute Facial + ¥9,180 Premium Neck Massage

&

Esthetic Cosmetic

For Re s ervations:

mm17158@mail.pola.co.jp 0827-31-5522 (J a p anese only)

10 AM - 6 PM Closed: Sun & Japanese Holidays

188

Family Mart

Pola

Monzen Gate Credit Cards Accepted


CAR SHOP Open Hours:

Kounai Taxi Service will provide fast, secure, and efficient service to and from any location in the city.

Taxi to Hiroshima Airport & Long Distance Ride

9 AM - 7 PM

Best Affordable Cars Close Location

Closed Wednesdays & 1st Tuesdays of the month

Tel:

0827-32-5305 Family Mart

188

Monzen Gate

TOYO J I SYO Uhei Sushi

Hiroshima

SHIDAX

St ion

at

TOYO JISYO

Route 2

i un ak Iw

Open Everyday: 9 AM - 5 PM Phone: (0827)24-2468 Email: info@toyojisyo.co.jp

Honda

To

Houses and Apartments for RENT AIU Houses and Lands for SALE

River

Rental & Real Estate Agent

ARK-PLAN ABLE Network Iwakuni

Open Daily: 9 AM - 6 PM

188

Family Mart

Call: 0827-31-5141 E-mail: info@ark-plan.com http://www.ark-plan.com

English

information

available

Monzen Gate


CYCLING SALOON

HIROSHIGE

4 Floors of Bikes & Accessories PINARELLO • SPECIALIZED TREK • CANNONDALE MAVIC • SHIMANO 14-22 Tenjin, Yanai 0820.22.0645


Celebrating our Military Children Lisa Isaacson and Angela Hamill, Child Development Center Being a military child means many Military children are strong and resilient. They proudly stand behind and support things. It means having fun, traveling the their families during the toughest of times. world, making new friends, and living They carry on and persevere throughout the in unique and exciting faraway places. duration that a loved one isn’t present. These Military children can contribute to classroom children learn how to adapt and to thrive in discussions about their own personal unfamiliar and uncertain situations. experiences of having visited a castle when they lived in There are Germany or that approximately 1.9 time they climbed million military Mount Fuji while There are children around residing in Japan. approximately the world. This Being a military unique population 1.9 million child also means of our nation’s military children sacrifice with children should around the world. frequent moves, be recognized and some which include appreciated for all This unique population of our long plane rides of the changes and nation’s children should be overseas. They are challenges they face. recognized and appreciated all too familiar with Military children leaving muchfor all of the changes and have frequent loved friends and moves, transitions, challenges they face. family behind and and changes of experience long schools. It means separations from leaving close friends active duty parents behind and starting who deploy. over in a new place with a new house, school, teachers, and friends. This month marks the thirty-first year since the establishment of the Month of the Military Every year Marine Corps Air Station Iwakuni Child in April by then-Defense Secretary celebrates the Month of the Military Child with Caspar Weinberger. He felt that these amazing an event at the Crossroads Amphitheater. This young people, ranging in age from birth to activity boasts strong community support 18, deserved to have their very own month to from the Air Station and from local Japanese be celebrated. Every April, we celebrate our establishments and entertainers. military children!


DIRECTORY

MCAS IWAKUNI Calling 253 from cellular phones: 0827-79-xxxx (4 digits after 253-) Calling 255 from cellular phones: 0827-94-xxxx (4 digits after 253-)

RECREATION ATHLETICS Bldg 1010 Mon-Fri: 8 AM - 5 PM

Calling from the States to MCAS Iwakuni DSN: 253 - 011-81-82-779-xxxx 255 - 011-81-82-294-xxxx

ENTERTAINMENT CLUB IWAKUNI Bldg 600

253-5416

SPECIAL EVENTS Bldg 625

253-3727

STRIKE ZONE BOWLING CENTER Bldg 1333 253-3495 Sun-Thu: 11 AM - 10 PM Fri-Sat: 11 AM - Midnight STRIKE ZONE PRO SHOP Bldg 1333 253-3495 Daily 11 AM - 9 PM THE 11TH FRAME Mon-Thu: 5-11 PM Fri-Sat: 3 PM - 1 AM Sun: 3-11 PM SAKURA ASSEMBLY HALL Bldg 625 253-4002 Movie Line-up 253-4067 Opens 30 mins. before show time.

FOOD BURGER KING Bldg 410 Sun-Thu: 7 AM - 9 PM Fri & Sat: 7 AM - 10 PM CLUB IWAKUNI Bldg 600 Mon-Fri: 8 AM - 5 PM After Hours Catering Dept. CROSSROADS CAFE & BASKIN ROBBINS Bldg 410 Daily: 6 AM - 8:30 PM EAGLE'S NEST Bldg 600

253-5416

NO School Days: 9 AM-7 PM Federal Holidays: CLOSED 253-5460

AQUATICS Bldg 1010 Mon-Fri: 8 AM - 5 PM

COMMUNITY COUNSELING PROGRAM (CCP) Bldg 411 Rm 201 253-6553

253-4966

GROUP FITNESS Bldg 1010 Mon-Fri: 8 AM - 5 PM

253-5126

CULTURAL ADAPTATION PROGRAM Bldg 411, 3F 253-6165 Mon-Fri: 9 AM - 5 PM

HEALTH PROMOTION Bldg 1010 Mon-Fri: 8 AM - 5 PM

253-6359

INTRAMURAL SPORTS Bldg 1010 Mon-Fri: 8 AM - 5 PM

253-3067

IronWorks GYM FRONT DESK Bldg 1010 253-6578 Mon-Fri: 4 AM - 11 PM Sat, Sun & Hol: 7 AM - 10 PM IronWorks NORTH FRONT DESK 253-3611/3617 LIBRARY Bldg 411, 3F 253-3078 Mon-Thu: 9 AM - 9 PM Fri: 9 AM - 8 PM Sat, Sun & Hol: 9 AM - 5 PM OUTDOOR RECREATION 253-3822 GEAR ISSUE 253-3842 Bldg 1010 Mon-Fri: 10 AM - 6 PM Sat, Sun & Hol: 8 AM - 4 PM POOL - INDOOR Bldg 1010 253-5520 Mon-Fri: 5 AM - 9 PM Sat: 9 AM - 9 PM Sun & Hol: 11 AM - 9 PM (Closed: Tue & Thu: 1-3 PM)

253-3363 253-3111

RUNS & EVENTS Bldg 1010

253-4110

SEMPER FIT ADMIN Bldg 1010 Mon-Fri: 8 AM - 5 PM

253-4778

SHARK BAIT DIVE CENTER Bldg 1010 253-4966 Mon-Fri: 9 AM - 5 PM

253-4108

PIZZA HUT Bldg 410 Take-Out Orders 253-4915 Sun - Thur: 10:30 AM - 9:30 PM Fri - Sat: 10:30 AM - 10:30 PM Delivery Orders 253-3943 Sun - Thu: 11 AM - 9 PM Fri - Sat: 11 AM - 10 PM. SOBA EXPRESS Bldg 410 Mon-Fri: 10:30 AM - 7:30 PM Closed weekends SUBWAY Bldg 410 Delivery Orders Mon - Thu: 7 AM - 9 PM Fri: 7 AM - 10 PM Sat: 9 AM - 10 PM Sun: 9 AM - 9 PM TACO BELL Bldg 410 Sun: 10:30 AM - 9 PM Mon-Thu: 7 AM - 9 PM Fri & Sat: 7 AM - 10 PM

253-7827

253-3585

SMP MARINE LOUNGE Bldg 410, 2F 253-5368 Sun-Thu: 10 AM - Midnight Fri, Sat & Hol: 10 AM - 2 AM

YOUTH SPORTS Bldg 1010 253-3239/5777 Mon-Fri: 8 AM - 5 PM YOUTH & TEEN CENTER(YTC) Bldg 553 253-5549/4803 Mon, Tue, Wed, Fri: 2:30-7 PM Thu: 1:30-7 PM Sat: Noon - 5 PM, (Closed Sun & Holidays)

ACTIVE DUTY & FAMILY SUPPORT BEHAVIORAL HEALTH (Prevention, Education & Outreach) Bldg 411 Rm 219 253-4526 Mon-Fri: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM CAREER RESOURCES Bldg 411 Rm 101 253-6439 Mon-Fri: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM CHILD DEVELOPMENT CENTER (CDC) Bldg 637 & 636 253-5584 Mon-Fri: 6:30 AM - 5:30 PM CHILDREN, YOUTH & TEEN PROGRAM Bldg 553 Mon-Wed: 2:30-7 PM Thur: 1:30-7 PM Fri: 2:30-7 PM Sat: Noon-5 PM

INFORMATION REFERRAL & RELOCATION SERVICES Bldg 411 Rm 101 253-6161 Mon-Fri: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM MARINE CORPS FAMILY TEAM BUILDING (MCFTB) Bldg 1104 253-3542/3754/7090 Mon-Fri: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

253-5549

253-4715

FOUR SEASONS GIFT SHOP Torii Pines Town Ctr 253-3895 HEAD TO TOE BEAUTY SALON Torii Pines Town Ctr 253-4708 Mon-Sat: 10 AM - 7 PM (Closed Sun & Holidays) LAUNDERETTE Bldg 705 Open 24/7 Customer Service 253-4782 Mon-Fri: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM MARINE CORPS EXCHANGE (MCX) (Military Clothing Sales, Sight & Sound) Bldg 446 253-5641 Mon-Sat: 10 AM - 8 PM Sun & Hol:10 AM - 6 PM MCX WAREHOUSE Bldg 380 253-5255 Mon, Tue, Thu & Fri: 10 AM - 8 PM Wed & Sun: 10 AM - 6 PM Sat: 10:30 AM - 7 PM MARINE MART - NORTHSIDE Bldg 1350 253-4121 Mon-Fri: 6:30 AM - 10 PM Sat & Sun: 8 AM - 10 PM

NAVY-MARINE CORPS RELIEF SOCIETY Bldg 1100 253-5311

MARINE MART - MCX Bldg 446 253-4792 Mon-Fri: 6:30 AM - 10 PM Sat & Sun: 8 AM - 10 PM

NEW PARENT SUPPORT PROGRAM (NPSP) Bldg 411 Rm 219 253-5043

SERVICES + Torii Pines Town Ctr Mon-Sat: 10 AM - 6 PM

PERSONAL FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT PROGRAM Bldg 411 Rm 101 253-6439 Mon-Fri: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

SOFTBANK CELLULAR Bldg 410 253-5851 Mon-Sat: 10 AM - 6:30 PM Sun: 10 AM - 5:30 PM Hol: Noon - 5 PM

SCHOOL AGE CENTER (SAC) Bldg 558 253-4769 Mon-Fri: 5:00 AM - 7:00 PM

WOOD HOBBY SHOP Bldg 1345 253-5320 Mon, Tue, Fri, & Sat: Noon - 8 PM Sun: 10 AM - 8 PM (Closed Wed & Thu)

MOBILE CANTEEN Route Information

FAMILY MEMBER EMPLOYMENT ASSISTANCE PROGRAM Bldg 411 Rm 101 253-6439 Mon-Fri: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

253-5880

To Go

KNOCK DOWN ZONE Bldg 1333 253-7492 Sun-Thu: 10:30 AM - 9:30 PM Fri & Sat: 10:30 AM - 10:30 PM

FAMILY ADVOCACY PROGRAM (FAP) Bldg 411 Rm 219 253-4526

RETIRED AFFAIRS OFFICE Bldg 411 Rm 201 253-6439

SMP HORNET’S NEST Bldg 1347 Open 24/7

253-3363

EXCEPTIONAL FAMILY MEMBER PROGRAM (EFMP) Bldg 636/637 253-5601

253-5654

JD’S GRILLE Bldg 600 253-3363 Breakfast: Mon-Sat 6:30-11 AM Lunch: Mon-Sat 11 AM - 2 PM Dinner: Sun-Thur 4:30-10 PM Fri & Sat 4:30-11 PM Sunday Brunch, 8 AM - 2 PM KFC Delivery Orders 253-3943 Sun-Thu: 10:30 AM - 8:30 PM Fri & Sat 10:30 AM - 9:30 PM Delivery starts at 11 AM

EDUCATION OFFICE Bldg 411 Rm 127 253-3855 Mon-Fri: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

MILITARY AUTO SALES Bldg 446 Mon-Sat: 10 AM - 6 PM Sun: 11 AM - 5 PM

SCHOOL LIAISON Bldg 360 Rm 24

253-3691

SUBSTANCE ABUSE & PREVENTION Bldg 411 Rm 219 253-5260 TRANSITION ASSISTANCE Bldg 411 Rm 101 253-6439 Mon-Fri: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM VETERANS ASSISTANCE (VA) Bldg 411 Rm 101 253-6439 By Appointment VICTIM ADVOCATE PROGRAM Bldg 411 Rm 219 253-4526 24-Hour Helpline 090-9978-1033 WOMEN, INFANTS & CHILDREN (WIC) Bldg 411 Rm 110 253-4928 YOUTH CULTURAL PROGRAM Bldg 443 253-4803 Mon-Fri: 8 AM - 4:30 PM

SHOPPING & SERVICES CHUBB INSURANCE Torii Pines Town Ctr 253-3777 Mon-Fri: 9:30 AM - 5:30 PM (Closed Sat, Sun & Holidays) AMERICABLE Bldg 410 253-2288 24 Hour Tech Support 046-896-2288 Mon-Sat: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM BARBER SHOP (MAIN) Torii Pines Town Ctr 253-4728 Mon-Wed, Fri - Sun: 9 AM - 6 PM (Closed Thur & Hol) BARBER SHOP (NORTHSIDE) Bldg 1350 253-4747 Mon, Tue, Thu-Sun: 9 AM - 6 PM (Closed Wed) Sat & Sun: 8 AM - 5 PM "BARKING LOT" KENNEL Bldg 1009 253-3588 Mon-Fri: 8:30 AM - 6 PM (Closed Sat, Sun & Holidays)

253-4723

STARCH & STRIPES DRY CLEANERS/TAILOR SHOP Torii Pines Town Ctr 253-4742 Mon-Sat: 9 AM - 5:30 PM (Closed Sun & Holidays) STORAGE UNITS Bldg 1350 253-4385 Mon-Fri: 8 AM - 6 PM Sat: 8 AM - 4:30 PM Units open 24/7 THRIFT STORE 253-4711 TANAKA OPTICAL Torii Pines Town Ctr Tue-Sat 10 AM - 5 PM Sun & Mon Closed

253-3582

MCXTREME BIKES & MORE Torii Pines Town Ctr 253-2453 Mon-Sat: 10 AM - 8 PM; Sun & Holidays: 10 AM - 6 PM

TRAVEL & AUTO

AUTO SKILLS CENTER Bldg 1350 253-5325 Mon, Tues & Fri: 10 AM - 8 PM Sat & Sun: Noon - 8 PM (Closed Wed & Thu) GAS STATION Bldg 1351 Open 24/7

253-4517

24 HOUR CAR WASH Bldg 1350 Open 24/7 HIROSHIMA AIRPORT TRANSPORTATION SERVICE Bldg 410 253-4377 Mon-Fri: 9:30 AM - 6 PM Sat: 9:30 AM - 3 PM (Closed Sun & Holidays) IACE TRAVEL Bldg 410 253-3942/3841 Mon-Fri: 9:30 AM - 6 PM (Closed Sat, Sun & Holidays) INFORMATION, TOURS & TRAVEL (IT&T) Bldg 410 253-4377 Mon-Fri: 9:30 AM - 6 PM Sat: 9:30 AM - 3 PM (Closed Sun & Holidays)

TYPHOON MOTORS AUTO SERVICE Bldg 1350 253-4385 Mon-Fri: 8 AM - 6 PM Sat: 8 AM - 4:30 PM (Closed Sun & Holidays) VEHICLE RENTAL Bldg 1350 Daily: 8 AM - 8 PM

253-4245

LODGING TEMPORARY LODGING FACILITY (TLF) Inns of the Corps at Torii Pines Town Center

Open 24/7

253-3221

ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICES DESIGN Bldg 410 Mon-Fri: 8 AM - 4:30 PM

253-5147

EXECUTIVE OFFICE Bldg 410 253-3424 Mon-Fri: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM FINANCE Bldg 410 Mon-Fri: 8 AM - 4:30 PM

253-3336

HUMAN RESOURCES Bldg 410 253-3030 Mon-Fri: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM Employee Development Bldg 411 Rm 125 253-4841 Mon-Fri: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM MCCS MOTOR POOL Bldg 1350 Mon-Fri: 8 AM - 4:30 PM PREVIEW MAGAZINE Marketing Dept Bldg 410 253-5284 Digital Media 253-6229 Advertising 253-4169 (in Japanese) 0827-79-4169 Mon-Fri: 8 AM - 4:30 PM

STATION EMERGENCY On-Base 911/119 Off-Base/Cell 119/0827-21-7700 AFN (MUSIC REQUEST LINE) Bldg 370 253-1575 AIR TERMINAL Bldg 727

253-5509

BANKS Community Bank Navy Federal

253-4777 253-4797

BRANCH MEDICAL CLINIC Secure Message www.RelayHealth.com Doctor Advice Line 253-5572 Medical Appts 253-3445 Dental Appts 253-3174/3331 Medication Refills 046-816-4689 Pharmacy 253-3010 Marine Med Home 253-3233 CHAPLAIN Station Chapel Duty Chaplain

253-3371 080-6612-9244

COMMISSARY Bldg 450

253-5586

HOUSING Bldg 200 Kintai Inn BOQ 253-4908 Self Help Trouble Desk

253-5541 253-3181 253-3528 253-3131

IPAC Information 253-4529 MC PERRY SCHOOLS (DoDEA) Elementary 253-3327 High School 253-5448 PMO Desk Sergeant SJA

253-3303 253-5591

RED CROSS Bldg 1100 Rm 110

253-4525

VETERINARIAN Bldg 1009

253-6471

M C C S I WA K U N I . C O M |

APRIL 2017

41


Preview Magazine - April 2017  

Monthly publication produced by MCCS Iwakuni Marketing for military, civilian and family members stationed aboard MCAS Iwakuni, Japan.

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you