Experience the culture of Central Virginia
Areas to Explore: Chesterfield County Colonial Heights Fort Lee Hopewell Petersburg Prince George County Richmond
Special Supplement to News~Patriot, The Hopewell News, and Trading Post
America’s Bodyshop® Collision Repair and Auto Painting
Two Convenient Locations
11820 JEFFERSON DAVIS HWY CHESTER, VA 23831 804•748•9872 40 SEYLER DRIVE PETERSBURG, VA 23805 804•861•4330
PRICE PER PERSON
PICK-UP POINTS ARE: RICMOND, CHARLOTTESVILLE & STAUNTON NOTE: *RICHMOND ONLY I **STAUNTON ONLY I ***RICHMOND & CHARLOTTESVILLE ONLY
VA DMV PERMIT NO. 180
4430 Cleburne Boulevard • P.O. Box 2149 • Dublin, VA 24084
FOR A FREE CATALOG OF TOURS, PLEASE CALL TOLL FREE
www.gosunshinetours.com Prices shown are for Double (2 to a Room) Occupancy. Quad (4 to a room) and Triple (3 to a room) Occupancy is Available at a slightly Lower Per Person Price. Single (1 to a room) is also available at a Slightly Higher Per Person Price. All Tours Include Roundtrip Transportaion by Modern, Air-Conditioned, DVD and Restroom Equipped Deluxe Motorcoach, Hotel Accomodations and Admission to the Listed Attractions. Baggage Handling is provided at each night’s lodging as indicated in the catalog. Cancellation Insurance is NOT REQUIRED on any Sunshine tour, as we will REFUND ALL PAYMENTS (FLY TRIPS 45-DAYS PRIOR TO DEPARTURE) FOR ANY REASON WHATSOEVER if you find it necessary to cancel your reservation AT ANY TIME before the tour leaves.
4 EXPLORE 2017
Chesterfield County Magnolia Grange Magnolia Grange, a Virginia Historic Landmark and is on the National Register of Historic Places, was built in 1822 by William Winfree. It is a Federal-style plantation house named after the circle of magnolias that once graced its front lawn. It was originally part of a large land grant to John Worsham in 1691. Here also were a tavern and gristmill in addition to the residence and its dependencies. Magnolia Grange contains elaborate ceiling medallions and sophisticated carvings on mantels, doorways, and window frames. Careful paint restoration has been executed through wood graining and marbleizing. Scenic wall-
paper and carpeting of the period combine with authentic furnishings returns the house to the 1820s. Magnolia Grange Plantation House is located at 10020 Iron Bridge Road, Chesterfield. Magnolia Grange is located on the north side of Virginia Rte. 10, at 10020 Ironbridge Rd., in Chesterfield Court House. It is open daily for tours. An admission fee is charged. Please call 804796-1479 or visit the Chesterfield Historical Society for further information. Castlewood Plantation Built circa 1817-1819 by Parke Poindexter. Poindexter was Clerk of the Court at Chesterfield County from 1812 until 1847. The original landowner was Henry Winfree, who received the prop-
EXPLORE 2017 5
erty as a land grant in 1754. Castlewood is one of the finest Federal period houses in Chesterfield County, featuring a formal five-part design with molded plaster ceilings in the main rooms, two stairways to each adjacent wings and beautiful carved mantels with King-ofPrussia marable surrounds. Castlewood currently serves as the headquarters for the Chesterfield Historical Society and research library. Castlewood is located at 10201 Iron Bridge Road, Chesterfield on the south side of VA Rte. 10 in Chesterfield Court House between Richmond and Hopewell. It is open to visitors but tours are unavailable as it is not restored and accomodates offices. The research library is available to the public and is
free of charge. For further information, please call 804-777-9663 or visit the Chesterfield Historical Society. Point of Rocks Point of Rocks was home to the Appamattuck tribe of the Powhatan Confederacy. During the Civil War, Union General Benjamin Butler and his army of the James has their headquarters here. This 176-acre park features several athletic facilities and a diverse natural area. Athletic and picnic areas are concentrated in the upper areas of the park, and access to the lower areas is provided by a system of trails including a floating boardwalk through a freshwater tidal marsh. This area also has historical
www.fordag.com 111 W. Poythress Street Hopewell, Virginia 23860 Independent Insurance Agency Full Service Real Estate Brokerage
Servicing the Tri-Cities Area for all of your insurance and real estate needs.
LINDSAY’S AUTOBODY & PAINTING, INC. Owner: Rickey Lindsay 8715 Oakview Avenue Richmond, VA 23228
804-262-1435 Fax: 804-262-6120
• Free Estimates • All Insurance Claims Welcome • LIFETIME Warranty on All Repairs
“ If you’re a complete wreck.... Call Lindsay’s”
EXPLORE 2017 7
significance, as the land was the southern end of the Union position during the Bermuda Hundred Campaign. Remnants of Union earthworks can be seen along the park road and trails. Hours: Sunrise-Sunset Point of Rocks is located at 201 Enon Church Road, Chester. For more information, call (804) 751-4946, email firstname.lastname@example.org or visit www.chesterfield.gov/parks. Henricus Commemorating 400 years, Henricus Historical Park re-creates everyday 17th century life in the second successful English settlement in North America and resides on the original site of the Cities of Henricus. Due to its prime lo-
cation as a military outpost on a bluff overlooking the James River, the site also boasts rich Civil War history which visitors may experience through special events and programs during the Sesquicentennial. Surrounded by the Dutch Gap Conservation Area, the living history museum offers exceptional Pre-K12 and adult education programs, including indoor and outdoor meeting and special event space available for rental. Henricus Historical Park is a nonprofit 501(c) (3) organization which operates in partnership with the Henricus Foundation and the counties of Chesterfield and Henrico. Henricus Historical Park is located on 32 acres along the scenic and historic James River and is surrounded by the
8 EXPLORE 2017
810-acre Dutch Gap Conservation Area. The living history museum is located at 251 Henricus Park Road, Chester. For more information about Henricus Historical Park visit www.henricus. org or call (804) 748-1611. Pocahontas State Park Pocahontas offers boating, picnicking, camping, camping cabins, hiking, and interpretive and environmental education programs. The Aquatic Center offers seasonal water-based activities for the entire family. It has a kiddie pool, fountain wet deck, three-foot and five-foot-deep leisure pools, an activity pool and two tubular water slides. Rowboat, paddleboat, kayak and canoe rentals also are available at the 200-acre Swift Creek Lake during the summer.
The parkâ€™s two fishing lakes have crappie, largemouth bass, bluegill and catfish. The park has more than 80 miles of trails throughout 7,925 acres open to hiking, bicycling and horseback riding. The Civilian Conservation Corps Museum, dedicated to the Depression-era workers who helped build the state park system, is one of a handful in the nation. The parkâ€™s Heritage Center is available for meetings, events and seasonal performances. Group facilities with meeting space and primitive overnight cabins also are available. Hours are 7 a.m. - dusk. Pocahontas State Park is located at 10301 State Park Road, Chesterfield. www.dcr.virginia.gov/state-parks/pocahontas.shtml For more information, call 804-796-
Burial, Cremation, Pre-Planning & AfterCare Hopewell Chapel Chesterfield Chapel 820 W. Broadway 3050 W. Hundred Rd. (804) 458-8516 (804) 748-2500 Petersburg Chapel 103 S. Adams St. (804) 733-8511
Dinwiddie Chapel 6616 Boydton Plank Rd. (804) 479-8881
We gladly accept contracts from other funeral homes.
EXPLORE 2017 9
4255 or email email@example.com. gov.
Colonial Heights Swift Creek Mill Theatre The 350-year-old building was originally used as a gristmill in 1663, and was converted into a theatre in 1965, which it has remained since. Swift Creek Mill Theatre is located at 17401 Jefferson Davis Highway, Colonial Heights (southern Chesterfield). For more information, call (804) 7485203 visit swiftcreekmill.com or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
The Keystone Tractor Works Museum The 90,000 square feet museum houses 225 restored tractors, classic automobiles, road trucks and vintage advertising. Keystone Tractor Works is located at 880 W. Roslyn Road, Colonial Heights. The museum is open Monday through Saturday 10 a.m. - 6 p.m. and Sunday 11 am. - 5 p.m. For more information, call 804-5240020 or visit www.keystonetractorworks.com. Appomattox River Trail System The Colonial Heights Appomattox
TRAILER OUTLET We Stock Cameo RV Parts & Supplies We Stack’em Deep and Sell’em Cheap!
UTILITY TRAILERS SINGLE & TANDEM AXLE CAR HAULERS
www.TrailerOutletVA.com 5555 County Drive Disputanta, VA 23842
BELLWOOD FLEA MARKET EVERY SATURDAY & SUNDAY (weather permitting) (804) 275-1187 or (800) 793-0707
Outdoor Shopping at Its Finest Virginia’s Largest, Most Convenient, and Popular Outdoor Flea Market Exit 64 on I-95 South of Richmond or Jeff-Davis Hwy. at Willis Road
10 EXPLORE 2017
River Trail System runs along the Appomattox River through the city. The park features restrooms, picnic tables and benches, a gazebo, fishing areas, 10,000 feet of hard-surfaced trail, a small boat launch at Roslyn Landing Park, a canoe launch area and spur trails and linkages to various points of interest, including adjacent developments. For more information, visit www. colonialheightstrails.org. Violet Bank On July 30, 1864 Confederate General Robert E. Lee was at his headquarters at Violet Bank Farm on the north shore of the Appomattox River overlooking Petersburg. There, he received word that Union troops had detonated over 8,000 pounds of gunpowder be-
neath Confederate defensive lines in what became known as the Battle of the Crater. Today, the home is a superb example of Federal design and American interior decorative arts. The museum interprets the period from 1815 to 1873 and displays a wide array of Civil War era artifacts: guns, furniture, glass, ceramics, textiles, accoutrements, books, swords and others. It boasts some of the most sophisticated and beautiful Adam-style ceiling moldings in the country. Admission is free, donations are accepted. Allow 30 to 45 minutes to visit. Open Tuesday through Saturday from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. and Sunday from 1 to 6 p.m. Closed Monday. Violet Bank Museum is located at 303 Virginia Ave., Colonial Heights.
Serving the Health Needs of Hopewell and Tri-Cities since 2012 Locally Owned & Operated Great Service & Great Prices • Free Delivery & Mailing Services Free Flavoring for Liquid Prescriptions
• NO INSURANCE, NO PROBLEM •
We Take Your Insurance! Mon-Fri 9am-7pm • Sat 9am-5pm
Moving in March to 2508 Gray Street, only 3 blocks away!
MIGNOGNA WAREHOUSING LLP 220 Battersea Lane, Petersburg, VA 23803 l43”
x 43” Wire Baskets lCutters lFork Lifts lMetal & Woodworking Equipment lMachine Shop Purchased •Machine & Tooling Available
business opportunities, work space available
Call Steve 804-490-3462
12 EXPLORE 2017
For more information, call (804) 5209395.
tober 31) and 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. (November 1 - March 31).
White Bank Park The 22-acre park overlooking Swift Creek features a disc golf course, grills, boat ramp, drinking fountain, fishing pier, horseshoe pits, a playground, restrooms and a volleyball court. The park has two rentable pavilions that can accommodate up to 200 people each. There are also eight individual picnic shelters and several multi-purpose play areas. White Bank Park is located at 400 White Bank Road, Colonial Heights. For more information, call (804) 5209392. Hours 7 a.m. to 9 p.m. (April 1 - Oc-
Fort Clifton Fort Clifton was a Confederate stronghold on the Appomattox River, serving as an important link in the line that defended Richmond and Petersburg in 1864 and 1865. Located on a high bluff at the junction of the Appomattox River and Swift Creek, the fort controlled navigation on the river north of Petersburg and was a formidable defensive bastion that wasn’t taken by Union forces until the fall of Petersburg on April 3, 1865. The Fort Clifton Festival is held at the park annually. Free admission. Open year round from 7:00 am to dusk.
Located on historic grounds, in Chester, VA. Just minutes south of downtown Richmond, and 1 mile from I95. Come visit our tasting room to sample succulent wines and delicious tapa’s. Open Wednesday - Sunday 11-6pm. Call ahead for info on live music and special hours, or visit our website. ashtoncreekvineyard.com • 804-896-1586 14501 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Chester, VA 23831 • Like us on Facebook!
EXPLORE 2017 13
Fort Clifton is located behind Tussing Elementary School, 5501 Conduit Road, Colonial Heights. For more information, call (804) 520-9390. The Old Brick House Built in 1685 by Richard Kennon, an English gentleman, it is considered the oldest brick house in the region, and thought by some to be the oldest in Virginia. The house is located on the promontory between Swift Creek and the Appomattox River, and was simply called “Brick House.” The peninsula on which it stands is often referred to as “Conjuror’s Neck,” because an old Indian conjuror used to live there. The property is owned and operated by the Old Brick House Foundation.
Tour groups may arrange to have historic presentations. There is no admission fee for interior tours to the site or for exterior visits. Exterior views open dawn to dusk. Interior tours by appointment. The Old Brick House may be rented for special occasions, such as weddings, wedding parties, family reunions, and other public events. The Old Brick House is located at 131 Waterfront Drive, Colonial Heights. For more information, call (804) 520-9476.
RANDOLPH MARK E T Hopewell, VA 23860
Corner of 6th Ave. & Broadway
HOURS Mon. -Fri. 7AM - 8PM ATM Sat. 7AM - 7PM Sun. 8AM - 6PM (804) 458-8543
“Your Hometown Store”
We only sell the finest beef available, Certified Angus!
OUR REPUTATION IS AT STEAK!
14 EXPLORE 2017
Fort Lee Quartermaster Museum Since 1957, the Quartermaster Museum has preserved the history and heritage of the U.S. Army Quartermaster Corps, the Army’s oldest logistic branch. From the Revolution to the Persian Gulf, America’s secret weapon
is the one that keeps soldiers supplied with food, water, clothing, fuel, shelter and other things they can’t survive combat without. This weapon is the Quartermaster Corps, and at the Quartermaster Museum, you’ll see how it’s sustained American soldiers since 1775. The Quartermaster Museum is located at 1201 22nd Street, Fort Lee. For
Tri-Cities Tradition of Peace of Mind for Those We Serve Specialized Therapy Services Cardiac Care Pulmonary Services Advanced Wound Care Peritoneal Dialysis IV Therapies On-site Clinical Assessments
ASK ABOUT OUR SYNCHRONY SYSTEM
(804) 541-1445 201 Eppes Street • Hopewell www.riverview-rehab.com
EXPLORE 2017 15
more information, visit www.qmmuseum.lee.army.mil or call 804-734-4203. The museum is open Monday - Friday 10 a.m. - 5 p.m., weekends 11 a.m. - 5 p.m. It is closed on Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years Day. U.S. Army Women’s Museum The museum’s expert staff of curators, archivists, historians and educators is an excellent source for information about the service of Army women from 1775 to present. The Museum’s archive has one of the most comprehensive and expansive collections in the world of primary and secondary documents pertaining to the history of U.S. Army women. Aaron’s Approved Cash Advance Boost Mobile C & A Clothing Store Citi Trends Crazie Overstock Dollar Tree Dragon Palace Restaurant Firestone Headquarters Barber H & R Block Jackson-Hewitt Tax Service K&L Barbeque Metro PCS Oyama’s Karate Studio
The U.S. Army Women’s Museum is located at 2100 A Avenue, Fort Lee. Exhibits are open to the public Tuesday - Friday 10 a.m. - 5 p.m. and Saturday 11 a.m. - 5 p.m. For more information, visit www. awm.lee.army.mil or call 804-7344327. Visitor’s Center Fort Lee’s Welcome Center is adjacent to the Lee Gate, just off Route 36, named in honor of Major General Harry L. Dukes. The Visitor Center is adjacent to the Lee gate, just off Route 36. The staff can help visitors find a destination on post and answer general questions about installation services and events. The Visitor Center hours of operation are 7 a.m.
Peebles Roses Save-A-Lot Sherwin-Williams Shoe Show Spa and Nails Tyler’s Consignment Wash Inn Laundromat WingTown
327 Cavalier Square, Hopewell
For immediate leasing opportunities, please call Susan Davis
16 EXPLORE 2017
to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday (closed holidays). Numerous military displays are on post such as Anzio Annie, a historic railway gun used by the Germans in World War II to attack Allied troops in Italy. The visitors center is located at 500 Lee Ave, Building 5228. All visitors will be required to show a Common Access Card, a military identification card, or approved government-issued identification such as a state driver’s license or state-issued identification to gain access onto Fort Lee. All adults are required to possess valid ID. All juveniles without valid ID must be accompanied by an adult family member. Drivers must be able to show a valid driver’s license, current vehicle registration and proof of insurance. For more information, visit www.
lee.army.mil or call (804) 734-4593.
Appomattox Plantation The land that surrounds Appomattox Manor on City Point was patented in 1635 by Francis Eppes and remained in the Eppes family until 1979. The area was first settled in 1613 and was first known as Bermuda City and later as City Point. During the American Revolution, British soldiers commanded by Benedict Arnold marched through area. Appomattox Manor was used in the Civil War as the Union headquarters during the Siege of Petersburg. It is now part of Petersburg National Battlefield. In June 1864, Gen. Ulysses S. Grant arrived at City Point several months and one bloody campaign after PresiCELEBRATING 90 YEARS! dent Abraham Lincoln made him commander of 800,000 Union troops. As Union forces were tightening their grip around Petersburg, Lincoln visited Union Headquarters at Appomattox Manor, spending three weeks of the 113 HOPEWELL STREET * HOPEWELL last month of his life watching the war OPEN Monday thru SATURDAY 5:30am -2:30pm come to an end. DAILY BREAKFAST & LUNCH SPECIALS The site is now owned by the Na(804)458-6256 tional Park Service as part of Petersburg National Battlefield. FIRST RESPONDER PRICING AVAILABLE Appomattox Plantation is located at the corner of Cedar Lane and Pecan Avenue in Hopewell. For more information, GUNS GEAR AMMUNITION We Buy, Sell & Trade call (804) 732-3531.
M-F 9am-6pm SAT 9am-5pm
3541 Courthouse Road • Richmond, VA
EXPLORE 2017 17
St. John’s Episcopal Church St. John’s Episcopal Church is steeped in history at its location on Cedar Lane in City Point. As City Point began to grow, the Rev. Malcolm MacFarland arrived and the church was first organized in April 1840. The Eppes family, which owned Appomattox Manor, donated the land upon which the church sits and the building was finished and consecrated as the first church in City Point in June 1842. The church bell, which was purchased in 1843 for $84 (about $1,900 in 2008 dollars) and now sits on a brick pedestal in the churchyard, once hung from an oak frame in the yard and was later attached to the roof of the church. It was later taken down when it was de-
termined that the roof could not support its weight. During the Civil War, the church took on a a different use. As Union forces shelled City Point, slaves took refuge in the church cellar. After Gen. Ulysses S. Grant captured the town, the church became a signal station, a theater and also a dance hall. Once the war was over, the building was in disrepair. In 1867, the building was restored and services resumed that June 30. Nearly 30 years later, several changes were made to the building and, in 1919, the transepts were added along with electric lights donated by the Tubize Silk Co. The stained glass windows were added around the same time. The historic church is located at 505
The Handy Man That Can!
I DO IT ALL!!!!
M.L. Johnson & Son’s 804.241.2760 CALL FOR AN ESTIMATE
18 EXPLORE 2017
Cedar Lane and the church offices may be reached at 804-458-8142. City Point Early History Museum The City Point Early History Museum is located in the St. Dennis Chapel in the National Historic District of Hopewell. The chapel was constructed in 1887 as a Catholic chapel for Navy personnel. In 1981, the private home was deeded to the Historic Hopewell Foundation. It was restored and opened to public in 1995. Currently the exhibit called â€œSeeking
Freedom Where the Rivers Meet: Contraband, Colored Troops and City Pointâ€? is there until 2015. The museum is located at 609 Brown Avenue and is typically open by appointment only. For information, call 804458-4682. The Beacon Theatre Built in 1928, the historic Beacon Theatre is located at the intersection of North Main and East Cawson Streets in Hopewell. The art-deco, 650-seat theater showed its last movie in the 1950s.
EXPLORE 2017 19
Information on concerts can be found at http://thebeacontheatreva.com or by calling (804) 446-3457. The Hopewell/Prince George Visitor Welcome Center The Hopewell/Prince George Visitor Welcome Center, open 7 days a week, is located at 4100 Oaklawn Blvd., Hopewell. www.visithpg.com. The center is a one-stop resource for locals and tourists, providing maps, state-wide tourism literature, hotel coupon books, details on local restaurants, hotels, meeting space, catering, recreation, special events, entertainment, business, employment. The staff at the center works closely with PART, our regional tourism
marketing organization www.petersburgarea.org, building the “Love the Best Part of Virginia” brand. The center is a Comcast “hotspot” and our staff are travel counselor specialists. For more information call 804-541-2461 or email@example.com. Hours are Monday – Saturday from 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. and Sunday 10 a.m. – 4 p.m. Hopewell City Marina The Marina is operated by the Department of Recreation and Parks and is located at 1051 Riverside Road in Hopewell. The Marina offers rrecreational boaters and fisherman a variety of amenities on the Appomattox River. The Marina features both covered and
SPOUSES SELLING HOUSES!
Pam & Tom Land, Realtors
Cell: (804) 898-1606
Office: (804) 458-9873
3302 Oaklawn Blvd, Hopewell
East End Wholesale, LLC NEW & USED APPLIANCES 804-308-8730
Hours: Mon - Thurs 11 - 6 & Fri - Sat 10 - 5
20 EXPLORE 2017
open slips, transient vessel temporary docking, a four-vehicle boat ramp, canoe and kayak launch, marina store, ample parking, ice machine, restroom facilities, and propane exchange. The Marina is managed by Fish Tales 2. Please call (804) 541-6417 for additional information regarding the Hopewell City Marina. Weston Plantation The main house was built in 1789 by William and Christian Eppes Gilliam near the Appomattox River and now serves as the headquarters of the Historic Hopewell Foundation. It is a classic example of Virginia Georgian architecture. The three-story home is furnished with antiques and reproductions.
In 2008, two new structures were added to the site after extensive archeological research: the summer kitchen and the laundry. Weston Plantation is located at 400 Weston Lane, Hopewell. Guided tours of the house and grounds are available year round. For information call 804-458-4682 or visit www.historichopewell.org. City Point National Cemetery City Point National Cemetery is the final resting place for nearly 6,800 veterans, most from the Civil War. The cemetery has a large marble monument dedicated to the Army of the James and a superintendent’s lodge built in 1928. Seven hospitals operated in the area
Cavalier Square Shopping Center, Hopewell
Serving Lunch, Dinner and Carry-out Since 1994
Owners Kenneth & Linda J. Purdie Open Monday - Friday 11am - 8pm
EXPLORE 2017 21
during the Civil War and the need came for a centralized cemetery. In July 1866, the federal government established City Point National Cemetery. Many of those buried here were transferred from other cemeteries. The cemetery closed to new burials in July 1971. City Point National Cemetery is located at 10th Avenue and Davis Street, Hopewell. For more information, call (804) 795-2031.
suitable for hiking, bicycling and horseback riding. The Eastern Front Unit of Petersburg National Battlefield is located at 5001 Siege Road in Petersburg. Petersburg National Battlefield was created in order to commemorate the campaign and siege and defense of Petersburg in 1864 and 1865. The park staff is committed to preserving and protecting the historical, cultural, and natural resources within the park in a manner that will provide interpretation, education, and enjoyment for the visitors. Petersburg National Battlefield is open every day of the year except for Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years. Visitor Center and Contact Stations hours of operation are 9:00 am
Petersburg National Battlefield The Eastern Front Unit of Petersburg National Battlefield is the location where Union troops made their first major attacks on the City of Petersburg in mid-June, 1864. Today, visitors can and Detail learn more about the his- KEEP IT CLEAN AT KEEP IT CLEAN! military sundays $5 Off Mondays tory of the site by touring the museum, viewing the 17 minute video, or travelling the Unit’s four-mile, seven-stop 2 convenient locations tour road. There are also 2199 COUNTY DR., PETERSBURG, VA 26003 COX ROAD, RICHMOND, VA 804-733-7222 10 miles of nature trails 804-324-4541 • 804-832-3676
KEEP IT CLEAN CAR WASH
Aperion Bail Bonds • Confidential Bail Bonds • Collect Calls Accepted • Accept All Major Credit Cards • Payment Plans Available Nathaniel (Mr. Nate) Lewis, Jr. DCJS # 99-203571 1 CALL FROM FREEDOM
24 Hour Service
22 EXPLORE 2017
- 5:00 pm. Grounds open at 8:00 am. For more information, visit www.nps. gov/pete/ or call (804) 732-3531. Centre Hill Museum Built in 1823 by Robert Bolling IV, Centre Hill Mansion remained an opulent Petersburg residence until 1936. Through guided tours, visitors learn about the history of Centre Hill, including its role during the Civil War and the two presidential visits to the house. Visitors can also view the tunnel, constructed in the 1840s that led from the back of the house to nearby Henry Street. The Greek Revival style porch with Ionic columns was added during an extensive remodeling by Robert Buckner Bolling in the 1840s. The basement gal-
leries in Centre Hill feature permanent and temporary exhibitions on the history of Petersburg. Permanent exhibits include memorabilia and photographs from Centre Hillâ€™s archives, a turn-ofthe-century aviary of stuffed birds from Australia and church furnishings from First Baptist Church, Harrison Street, Petersburg, the oldest African-American congregation in the United States. The Petersburg Museums central gift shop is located in Centre Hill Museum. Centre Hill Museum is located at 1 Centre Hill Court, Petersburg. For more information, call (804) 733-2401. Free Parking is available on the Court in front of the Mansion and in the lot behind (on the North side) of the Man-
TWO SHOPS! ONE STOP! 804-732-0707
Located In The Heart Of Old Towne
246 North Sycamore Street Petersburg, VA 23803
Abigailâ€™s Antiques and other Diversions
EXPLORE 2017 23
sion. The Museum is not handicapped accessible. Blandford Church and Cemetery Blandford Church was built in 1735 as the seat of worship for members of Bristol Parish. The church building was abandoned in 1806 when membership in its congregation dwindled as a result of the consecration of a new church building in downtown Petersburg. In 1901, work began to restore the building for use as a Confederate Memorial chapel. As part of the restoration project, the
Ladies Memorial Association solicited funds from each former Confederate state for the creation and installation of a stained glass window in memory of the Confederate soldiers from that state. Louis Comfort Tiffanyâ€™s studio was commissioned to design the fifteen memorial compass windows. The cemetery adjacent to Blandford Church has been used as a burial ground since the early eighteenth century. The oldest marked grave dates from 1702. Among the more noted individuals buried within the cemetery is one foreigner, Major General William Phillips, British citizen and commander of the British
Kelly Heating & Cooling
HVAC Specialist Basil C. Kelly Sr. Owner
Servicing Richmond, The Tri-Cities and Surrounding
7007 Cox Road Ford, Virginia 23850 (804) 265-3888 firstname.lastname@example.org www.kellyheatingandcooling.com
24 EXPLORE 2017
troops during the April 25, 1781 “Battle of Petersburg.” In June 1866, the first Memorial Day was celebrated in honor of the 30,000 Confederate soldiers buried on Memorial Hill inside the burial ground. The Blandford Visitors’ Reception Center is located at 111 Rochelle Lane, Petersburg. For information, call (804) 733-2396. Battersea Historic Battersea is a beautiful eighteenth century Neo-Palladian style home built in 1768 by founding father Colonel John Banister, a signer of the Articles of Confederation and the first mayor of Petersburg. Battersea is located on Upper Appomattox Street and
Battersea Lane in Petersburg. For information, call 804-733-2400 or (800) 368-3595 or visit www.petersburgva. gov. Siege Museum Housed in the ca. 1839 Exchange Building, the Siege Museum interprets civilian life in Petersburg before, during, and immediately after the Civil War. Through artifacts, documents and photographs, emphasis is given to the ten-month siege of Petersburg (June 1864 - April 1865) - the longest period of time that an American city has been under a military siege. The exhibition illustrates how the siege impacted civilian life in Petersburg. In addition to the permanent exhi-
to Welc Tri om -C e iti es !
MATTRESSES & BOX SPRING
Twin - $35 & Up Full or Queen - $50 & Up or $99 Set King - $150 & Up • Bunk Beds - $159 & Up
Frank Parker Store Manager
Cavaliar Square ~ Hopewell
New & Used Tools & Lawn Equipment
804-651-3809 216 Jefferson Davis Hwy. - Richmond, VA 23224
COMMUNITY FOOD MART and Deli
Call-In Orders Welcome (804) 458-7266 325 S. Mesa Drive Hopewell
TRY OUR WIDE VARIETIES OF FOOD: FROM SUBS TO BURGERS & PIZZA TOO!
*We also carry household furniture.
EXPLORE 2017 25
bitions, visitors to the Siege Museum can view the film, “The Echoes Still Remain” narrated by the late film star and Petersburg native Joseph Cotten. The 18-minute film shown on an hourly schedule explores Petersburg’s involvement in the Civil War. The Exchange Building, built between 1839 and 1841 is an excellent example of Greek Revival architecture. The building was commissioned by a group of merchants to create a trading center where graded and certified samples of agricultural products could be shown to prospective buyers. The Siege Museum is located at 15
Refrigerators & Freezers $99 & Up Washers $99 & Up • Dryers $75 & Up We also carry New & Used household furniture. Tools & Lawn Equipment
216 Jefferson Davis Hwy. - Richmond, VA 23224
W. Bank St., Petersburg. For more information, call (804) 733-2404.
Prince George County Parks Prince George County has three recreation parks. • Scott Memorial Park is located at 6680 Courthouse Road, Prince George. This park offers 10 acres with a large pavilion and picnic tables, restrooms, a tot’s playground and a softball field. • Temple Recreation Park is located at 14307 Prince George Drive, Disputanta.
CARR BROTHERS EATERY est. 1983
3100 Jackson Farm Rd. Hopewell
BEST BURGER IN TOWN! (804)458-4144
Open Mon. - Sat. 3-11 • Sun 3-9
26 EXPLORE 2017
This park offers 32 acres with one large and one small pavilion with picnic tables, restrooms, a nature and jogging trail, tennis courts, a softball field and a basketball court. • Appomattox River Regional Park is located at 800 Folar Trail, North Prince George. The Appomattox River Regional Park is located between I-295 and the Riverside Regional Jail on River Road. This park offers 48 acres of wooded trails with an observation pier, an education center/pavilion, restroom facilities and additional green space on the Appomattox River. Each park is available to citizens from dawn to dusk each day. Alcoholic beverages are prohibited.
CLARK’S AUTO CARE CENTER INC.
~FOR ALL YOUR AUTO CARE NEEDS~
County residents, businesses and organizations may reserve pavilion facilities through the Parks and Recreation Department. Park reservations must be made in the Parks and Recreation office. Pavilions are reserved for a half day either from dawn to 3 p.m. or 3 p.m. to dusk, in an effort to accommodate as many groups as possible. Full-day reservations exceptions may be made upon request. Self-cleanup required. Alcoholic beverages are prohibited. Call (804) 458-6164 for more information. Prince George County Regional Heritage Museum Set on Courthouse Square in the Prince George County Historic Courthouse District, the Heritage Center
24/7 TOWING TOWING SERVICE SERVICE
3290 Prince George Dr. • Prince George, VA 23875 Monday - Friday 7:30am-5:30pm
STATE INSPECTION WITH THIS AD.
EXPLORE 2017 27
brings together centuries of artifact and stories. Its artifacts and stories uniquely present the society and cultures of those who have settled and lived in Prince George: the natives to the land, the English settlers along the James River, the African –Americans, the Czech-Slovaks, and many others, all contributing to the story of the County. Open 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday, 1 to 4 p.m. Saturday and Sunday. The Heritage Center is located at 6406 Courthouse Drive. For information, call (804) 863-0212 or email PGHistory@aol.com No admission charge. Additional information about the history of Prince George County can be obtained from the Prince George County Historical Society at www.princegeorgevahistoricalsociety.org.
antebellum homes. The Park is also the site of The Breakthrough Battlefield of April 2, 1865. For more information, call 804-861-2408 or visit www.pamplinpark.org. Poplar Grove National Cemetery In July 1862, Congress passed legislation giving the President of the United States the authority to purchase land for the establishment of cemeteries “for the soldiers who shall die in the service of their country.” This legislation effectively began the National Cemetery system. At Petersburg, implementation of this system did not begin until 1866. During the siege, Union soldiers who were killed in battle were hastily buried near where the fighting took place, some in single shallow pits, others in mass graves. Identification was as simple as a
Pamplin Historical Park & The National Museum of the Civil War Soldier One of Virginia’ s Best Places to Visit according to the Travel Channel, and designated as a National 257 E. Bank Street, Suite B Historic Landmark, Pam- Petersburg, VA 23803 plin Historical Park & The National Museum of • Massage • Couples the Civil War Soldier is a • Body Treatments 422-acre Civil War cam- • Facials pus located in Dinwiddie • jane iredale County, Virginia offering a • Lampe Berger combination of high-tech museums and hands-on (804)722-1720 experiences. The Park has TMC-and-boutique.com four museums and four EmoryTMC@aol.com
Therapeutic Massage Center & Boutique
28 EXPLORE 2017
name carved on a wooden headboard, if there was time to leave even that. In 1866, Lt. Colonel James Moore began his survey of the Petersburg area to locate land for a National Cemetery. Eventually, a farm just south of the city was chosen. This tract of land had been the campground for the 50th New York Volunteer Engineers. During the war they constructed a gothic-style, pine log church called Poplar Grove. With the cemetery now established, work began to move approximately 5,000 Union soldiers from nearly 100 separate burial sites around Petersburg. Bodies were moved from nine Virginia counties, reaching as far west as Lynchburg. The burial corps worked for three years until 1869. In that time they reinterred 6,718 remains. Only 2,139 bodies were positively identified. $5995
2002 MERCEDES CL500 2008 KIA RIO LX 4DR, SEDAN, 2 DR, NEW INSPECTION, NEW AT, GREAT ON GAS, 130K, RUNS TIRES, LOADED, BLACK GREAT, 90 DAY 3,000 MILE WARRATY
Poplar Grove National Cemetery is located at 8005 Vaughan Road, Petersburg (Dinwiddie County).
Richmond The Bellwood flea market The Bellwood Flea Market has been in continuous weekend operations since 1970. It has grown to become the largest facility of its kind in Virginia. The Bellwood Flea Market is open every Saturday and Sunday for outdoor shopping enjoyment. Both new and used merchandise is displayed by hundreds of merchants on any given day. Items of interest range from tools to fresh produce. You may even find some antiques and collectables hidden among the furniture, jewelry, toys and sporting goods. Come browse and shop the Bellwood Flea Market. We have a lot of people to
BUY • SELL • TRADE
HIGHLANDER AUTO SALES
601 E. Nine Mile Road • Highland Springs, VA 23075
*Prices Exclude Tax, Title, Tags & $100 Processing Fee*
2004 CHEVY TRAIL BLAZER 2003 GMC SONOMA 2005 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER 3DR CAB, SLS, 4X4, WIDE STANCE CONV. TOURING EDITION, GARAGE LS 4X4 P KG ., 140K, 90 D AY W ARRANTY KEPT, CHARCOAL W/ BLACK 4 DOOR SUV, GREEN
2009 CHEVROLET AVEO LT 4 DOOR, YELLOW, AUTOMATIC
2004 FORD EXPEDITION EDDIE BAUER, SUNROOF 166K MILES, 3RD ROW SEAT
1998 DODGE DAKOTA SLT EXTENDED CAB, AUTOMATIC, LOW MILES, 118K
2001 MAZDA MIATA 5 SPEED, 70K ORIGINAL, GARAGED
1999 FORMULA T-TOPS S.7, V-8, 125K, EXCELLENT
EXPLORE 2017 29
make you feel welcome. Open Saturday and Sunday year round at 6 a.m. till 4 p.m. weather permitting. Located at 9201 Jefferson Davis Hwy. or Exit 64 on I-95 south of Richmond. For more information 804275-1187 or 1-800-793-0707. NATIONAL BATTLEFIELD PARK Richmond’s story is not just the tale of one large Civil War battle, nor even one important campaign. Instead, the park’s resources include a naval battle, a key industrial complex, the Confederacy’s largest hospital, dozens of miles of elaborate original fortifications, and the evocative spots where determined soldiers stood paces apart and fought with rifles, reaping a staggering human cost. We recommend that you start your visit to our park at the Civil War Visitor Center at Tredegar Iron Works located at 470 Tredegar Street. Park Rangers will provide maps for touring the battlefields. Park battlefield areas are open sunrise to sunset. Visitor Center Hours: • Tredegar Visitor Center: Open daily 9
IF YOU’RE STUCK, CALL US!
a.m. to 5 p.m. Exhibits, two short films. • Chimborazo Medical Museum: Open daily 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Surgical and medical displays, 17 minute film. • Cold Harbor Visitor Center: Open daily 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Walking trail, electric map programs. • Fort Harrison Visitor Center: Open early June- early August, WednesdaySunday, 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. • Glendale/Malvern Hill Visitor Center: Open early June-early August, Wednesday-Sunday, 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. • Shelton House at Rural Plains: Open afternoons on Saturday and Sunday from April through October, 1 p.m. to 4 p.m.
3701 Woodlawn Street • Hopewell, Va 23860
GUNSMITHING Hot rust blue transfers New & used guns ammo & Accessories
3501 Woodlawn St., Hopewell
24 - 7 Towing Since 1979
(804) 458-0880 www.taylors-auto.com
Stick Shift, PW/PL/PS, AM/FM CD, AC & Heat, Sunroof, 2DR Coupe
AT, AC, Fully Loaded
PW, PL, PS, Rear DVD, Leather Seats, Sunroof & Navigation
TOWN & COUNTRY
• • 2 0 1 0 C H RY S L E R • •
GT, 3.0 V6, Auto
Sunroof, Leather Seats, PW, PL, PS
AM/FM, LEATHER SEATS, 4DR, SUNROOF 130K
4500 CASH/OBO $
4WD, PW, PS, PL, AM/FM CD
Hyundai SANTA FE
4DR, Manual Windows, AM/FA/CD, AC/Heat
Leather Seats, PW, PL, Sunroof
PW, PL, AM/FM/CASS., AC/HEAT
LS Model • Silver
Mercury GRAND MARQUIS
Work Truck • White
Most Monthly Payments Range from $200 - $250 per month • Down Payments Range from $500-$1500 • GUARANTEED FINANCING!
BUY HERE! PAY HERE!
Nine Mile Road EASY 300 W.Highland Springs VA 23075 FINANCE
USED CARS TRUCKS & SUV’S
*804 737 6273
AUTO SALES INC.
LXT, 5.4, 4x4, Auto
PW/PL/PS, 2 Sliding Doors, AC/Heat, AM/FM/CD,Low Miles
PW, PL, AM/FM/CD, AC, Heat, Sunroof •••••2001•••••
TALIAFERRO & MALLORY, LLP ATTORNEYS AT LAW “The Little Firm With BIG RESULTS”
GUARDIAN / CONSERVATOR LAW
WILLS AND ESTATE / ADMINISTRATION REAL ESTATE
Contracts, Deeds, Litigation
CRIMINAL LAW • FAMILY LAW
ALL KINDS OF COMPLEX LITIGATION Including Appeals In State & Federal Courts
PRACTICING IN COURTS THROUGHOUT VIRGINIA
(804) 520-4822 320-C Charles Dimmock Pkwy. Colonial Heights, VA 23834
www.TandMLawVa.com Tracy L. Taliaferro, Esq. Is Responsible For The Content Of This Advertisement
Groomers: Nikki Sayre & Linda Emroy