Issuu on Google+

Baseball suffers

Linfield’s baseball team loses three out of four games in Idaho. >> Please see page 14

February 26, 2010

Linfield College

McMinnville, Ore.

115th Year

Well-known scholar denounces ‘War on Terror’ Chelsea Langevin Senior reporter An internationally renowned scholar spoke Feb. 24 to a packed audience in Ice Auditorium about Middle Eastern politics, religion and the “War on Terror.” Reza Aslan has provided scholarly commentary about the war on nationally recognized shows such as the “Leher News Hour” and “The Daily Show,” Professor of Political Science Dawn Nowacki said. The lecture centered on Aslan’s most recent book, “How to Win a Cosmic War,” which raises questions about how the war on terror is framed by discussing the origins and beliefs of Judaism, Christianity and Islamism, Nowacki said. “His point is that if we frame this struggle as a cosmic war, then people perceive it that way,” she said. Because the objective of a cosmic war is to get rid of evil, there is no end in sight, Nowacki said. So, Aslan’s conclusion is that the conflict must be understood as a political,

Paoline-Anne Abulencia/Senior photographer Reza Aslan, author of “How to Win a Cosmic War,” lectures Linfield students on foreign policy on Feb. 24. rather than social, problem. “I think Aslan takes on very large questions and doesn’t hesitate to answer them,”

Nowacki said. Aslan provides context in his book about Arab society and culture to help create a better understand-

Shelby Simmons

Sarah Spranger

ing of the current conflict, Nowacki said. At times he quotes Bin Laden to >> Please see Aslan page 5

Katie Patterson

The race for ASLC president and vice president begins Dominic Baez Editor-in-chief In a surprisingly low turnout, only three official candidates will be on the ballot for the ASLC elections in March: one for president, two for vice president. Junior Shelby Simmons, the current Associated Students of Linfield College secretary, is the only official candidate for ASLC president, and her name will be the only one on the ballot for president. “It’s kind of crazy [running unopposed],” Simmons said. “At first, I was glad because that meant I could focus on what I wanted to do as president, not so much on campaigning.” Simmons said she wants to broaden her campaign bubble to reach large campus groups, such as Greenfield and the Fellowship

Editorial .......................... 2 News ............................... 4 Features.............................7 Culture............................10 Sports .............................16

Issue No. 14

Trustees consider rate hikes amid renovations Shawn Fisher News reporter

Eeny, meeny, miny, ME!

INSIDE

of Christian Athletes, instead of just Greek life. Simmons is a Phi Sigma Sigma Sorority member. “It’s important to incorporate everyone on campus,” she said. “I want to find out what all students want.” Her main priority, Simmons said, is communication, whether it is with students, faculty or administration. “I want to see the bigger viewpoint,” she said. “I want to see what the majority wants.” Junior Sarah Spranger and sophomore Katie Patterson are vying for votes for ASLC vice president. “I’ve always been interested in ASLC,” Spranger said. “I was involved in high school government, and I liked knowing that I affected the community in a positive way.” Spranger, a Zeta Tau Alpha Sorority mem-

Read online! Videos, movie reviews and old editions of the Review are available online: www.linfieldreview.com

ber, said that while she enjoyed her experience as Panhellenic president, she wanted to expand her interests. “Senate, for example, while it runs great, there is always room for improvement,” she said. “I feel non-senators aren’t connected with the Senate. I would like to educate incoming freshmen and upperclassmen about what it is that Senate does.” One of the main responsibilities of the ASLC vice president is to chair the Senate. “Maybe we could put in a small blurb in the Review, or maybe have Hewlett-Packard senators,” Spranger said. The Review was unable to contact Patterson before publication. >> Please see ASLC page 6

Local woman looks for love A George Fox alumna is one of two finalists on “The Bachelor.” >> Please see page 7

It was warm and sunny in McMinnville last weekend, but the Board of Trustees was too busy to soak up the rays. The trustees spent the weekend indoors at several meetings and presentations. On Feb. 20, the board discussed topics such as the school budget, tuition and ways that Linfield can be improved. The renovation of Northup Hall is one of these improvements, according to Brian Winkenweder, associate professor of art history and visual culture. Winkenweder was elected to the board last spring. “Northup Hall was one of the major topics at the meetings,” he said. “They’re making strides in the renovation, and you can see the change taking place. Everything currently stored in there is in the process of being moved elsewhere.” But the renovation does spur some difficulties. “It’s an expensive process; they have to move out the asbestos before they can do anything else,” he said. Along with discussions about the cost of renovations, the board discussed annual tuition increases and the budget for the 2010 school year. The college will announce >> Please see Board page 4 Last week’s online poll question:

“What problems do you have accessing the Internet?” The top three results: “I can’t get past Clean Access” (34 percent). “I can’t get a Catnet wireless signal” (26 percent). “I’ve had problems this semester” (26 percent). Go to www.linfieldreview.com to take this week’s poll. The poll was answered by 35 people.

Pancake Trio The Halcyon Trio Oregon performed Norwegian music in Ice Auditorium. >> Please see page 10


2

www.linfieldreview.com The

LINFIELD REVIEW 900 SE Baker St. Unit A518 McMinnville, OR 97128

Phone: (503) 883-5789 E-mail: linfieldrevieweditor@gmail.com Web: www.linfieldreview.com

Opinions

EDITORIAL

‘Congratulations on probably graduating!’ Review office hours: Editor-in-chief Tuesday & Thursday 11:00a.m.-12:30p.m.

Editor-in-chief Dominic Baez

Managing editor Friday 8:30a.m.-10:30a.m.

Managing editor Kelley Hungerford Copy chief Septembre Russell

Or by appointment at: linfieldrevieweditor@ gmail.com and linfieldreviewmanaging@ gmail.com

News editor Joshua Ensler Culture editor Yin Xiao Opinion editor Braden Smith Features editor Lauren Ostrom Sports editor Grant Lucas Copy editor Amanda Summers Photo editor Megan Myer Senior reporter Chelsea Langevin Senior photographer Paoline-Anne Abulencia Illustrator Barrett Zetterberg Business/ads manager Ngoc Tran Online editor Aaron Cody Adviser Brad Thompson associate professor of mass communication The Linfield Review is an independent, student-run newspaper. The contents of this publication are the opinions and responsibility of the Review staff and do not reflect the views or policy of the Associated Students of Linfield College or of Linfield College. Signed commentaries and comics are the opinions of the individual writers or artists. The Review follows the Associated Press Managing Editors Code of Ethics and the Society for Professional Jounalists Code of Ethics. The Linfield Review is funded by ASLC and is produced in cooperation with the Linfield College Department of Mass Communication. The Linfield Review is published weekly on Fridays throughout the fall and spring semesters. Exceptions include the week before and of Thanksgiving and Spring Break and the week of final exams in both semesters. The Review is not published during the summer months or January Term. The Linfield Review is published by Oregon Lithoprint, Inc., in McMinnville, Ore. It is printed on recycled paper. A single copy of the Review is free from newsstands. Subscriptions are $35 for 24 issues a year and $20 for a semester. Memberships The Linfield Review is a member of the collegiate division of the Oregon Newspaper Publishers Association and the Associated Collegiate Press, a national college newspaper group. Awards 2009 ONPA second place General Excellence 2008 ONPA second place General Excellence Letters to the editor Letters to the editor must be signed with name, date and address. Students should include major and year. The Review reserves the right to refuse any letter and to edit letters for length. Letters must be received no later than 4 p.m. Thursdays to appear in the Review the following day. It is against Review policy to print publicity releases, petitions or advertising in the form of a letter. Letters may be submitted by mail or e-mail.

February 26, 2010

Those of you who read your last Senate report e-mail may have noticed a troubling bit of news: taking degrees out of Commencement for future graduating seniors. Apparently, faculty members feel that they do not have enough time to grade the final exams of graduating seniors before Commencement takes place. Their proposed solution is to hold off presenting diplomas until possibly a week (or whenever they finish grading) after Commencement, though you would still get a lovely, empty display case. The move would not affect this year’s graduating seniors. Opposition to the idea has been expressed by students, senators and even trustees. The Review would like to add its name to the list of dissenters. If this plan were to be implemented, would students be

expected to come back to school once their degrees are ready? This may work for students living in McMinnville, but many students live quite a distance away from Linfield, not to mention international students who may be graduating. Some people, as much as we all love Linfield, just want to get out of here as soon as possible once they finish. Let’s face it: Once you’re done with school, many just want to go home and relax or go on to bigger and better parts of their lives. Some people would need their degree to move on to said parts, as some jobs require proof of graduation. Not only would this new policy inconvenience many, it would impede them in some cases. Students are usually required to be off campus by the Monday following Commencement. So, even if a student wanted to stick

around and wait for his or her degree, he or she would not be able to do so. Putting the issues of impracticality aside, removing degrees from the commencement ceremony undermines the whole point of the ceremony. It would be like telling students, “Congratulations on probably graduating!” You can then proudly show off your empty case to all your family and friends who took the time to come all the way out to McMinnville. We imagine that some parents would break into a panic: “Where’s your degree? Did you graduate or not? Have you been failing classes?” No student wants to be in this situation. Family and friends come to see you achieve something during Commencement. If there’s no proof of this achievement, nothing to physically show for all

your hard work, what is the point of the commencement ceremony? Senate announced plans to formally write a letter against the idea, and we fully support this move. The idea is outrageously unfair to students, their futures and their families. As such, this idea must be condemned. While we sympathize with the faculty in its complaints, we feel its solution does not take student opinion into account. If faculty does not have enough time to grade finals, we need to collaboratively brainstorm a solution that is fair to all. The faculty certainly has rights, but these rights must not overshadow the rights of everyone else. Let’s instead look at ideas for changing the ways finals take place, whether it is changes to their form or timing. We hope the faculty considers this opinion, which seems to be widespread among students, before moving any further with this plan. To do so would only cause a storm of resentment and frustration to emerge among future graduating seniors. -The Review Editorial Board

OPINION

Try marching to an eclectic beat Braden Smith I push squares When I was a youngster and my musical tastes were first taking root, I had a fervent distaste for all rap music. I just thought it was stupid people talking about how rich they were, how many drugs they took or how they had a large following of “bitches and hoes.” Not to mention there didn’t seem to be much variety to the genre. This, however, would not remain the case. Though it was a long process, my opinion slowly started to change during the years. It started with Gorillaz, a group that certainly blends a variety of genres into its music. The first time I heard the group was when I saw the music video for its song, “Clint Eastwood,” on Cartoon Network. I was enthralled with the amazing visuals and the blending of various instruments to create a uniquely addictive sound, both of which combined to accentuate Del Tha Funkee Homosapien’s hard-hitting

raps. I was blown away, but not converted. Rather, I made an exception. “Rap is OK when Gorillaz does it,” I would tell myself. As the years continued, though, I started to make more and more exceptions. I started to discover instrumental hip-hop songs that I couldn’t help but enjoy. I fell in love with sampling. I started watching the hip-hop oriented anime, “Samurai Champloo.” I eventually concluded that perhaps rap isn’t all bad. This opened the floodgates. Once I started looking for rap, I found some amazing artists. What’s more is that I would often find underground rappers who hated and decried mainstream rap for the same reasons I denounced rap in the first place. As a result, rap and hip-hop music had more of a presence than ever in my musical repertoire. Now, what’s the point? The point is that, as a result of my musical journey with rap, I learned something valuable: It is impossible to dislike a genre in its entirety. I used to say that I hated rap, but that was only because I had never heard any good rap. Rap was only what I heard everyone playing on the radio and in mainstream media in general. Eventually, I learned that

the rap genre wasn’t what I hated; it was mainstream rap. Now, I could debate the issue of why I think mainstream rap is terrible, but that is an issue for another day. What I’m really trying to get at is, when you say you hate a musical genre such as country, do you really mean that? Or do you mean you only the hate the country songs you hear often? The music you hear on mainstream radio does not define the genre as a whole. This is why I have grown to love non-profit radio. It’s because it will play the music that commercial, profit-driven radio wouldn’t play in a million years. I used to hate country just as much as rap, and I similarly discovered that I only hated the country music constantly playing on the radio. I once went to a local concert in my hometown and discovered an amazing, local country singer/ songwriter. Upon this event, I realized there was good country music in the world; I just hadn’t been listening to it. I challenge you to broaden your horizons a bit. Don’t denounce a genre simply because you don’t like what you have heard so far. It’s impossible to hate an entire genre because you have no way of listening to every single song of

that genre and making a judgment based on it as a whole. I guarantee that if you truly appreciate the art of music, you can find good music in any genre. (Although my definition of good music may differ from yours.) I’m not saying you can’t prefer specific genres over others. I just mean that you can always like at least some part of every genre. Personally, I have some trouble picking favorites, since I’ve taken this idea to heart and have acquired a wide array of music. I think this is a good conflict to have because it makes you more well-rounded musically, something any true lover of music should strive to achieve. You may think you listen to a wide variety of music, but I bet there has always been one genre that you refuse to touch. There may be quite a few. No matter what you may be saying to yourself, I’m sure there is some music in that genre you will enjoy. With this in mind, go listen to some different music. I assure you that if you work at it, you can find enjoyable music from every genre out there, and trust me, there are many, many genres to choose from. Make music an adventure, not just an experience. I know that sounds cheesy, but just do it. You won’t be disappointed.


Opinions

February 26, 2010

ASLC Notes This is a paid advertisement

Katrina Peavey VP of programming Hello Wildcats, I am pleased to present your weekly update on ASLC Cabinet and the Linfield Activities Board. Ashlee attended a meeting with faculty during the week of February 8th. A discussion topic emerged which addressed whether seniors should be given diplomas on the day of graduation or receive one in the mail at a later date. What do you think? Email Ashlee at acarter@linfield.edu so she can share your thoughts with the decision-makers. The ASLC primary election will be on March 2nd, and the general election is on March 9th. The presidential and vice presidential candidates will present themselves at the preliminary debate at 7:30 p.m. on March 1st in the FML. Also, Cabinet applications are available in the ASLC office and due on March 12th at 1 p.m. on the secretary’s desk. If you are interested in a position, feel free to contact us at our respective emails located on the Linfield Web site (www.linfield.edu/aslc). Student leadership presents a host of opportunities and I urge you to consider applying. The Activities Council is looking for two representatives to attend meetings on Wednesdays at 6 p.m. in the clubroom. The positions are a great way to learn about student government at Linfield, as well as events around campus. Your role on the council would be to evaluate requests from clubs for monetary funds. For information, please contact Colin Jones at cojones@linfield. edu. Are you interested in sharing your ideas and thoughts concerning Linfield’s curriculum or the DCE program? Two students are needed for these committees, so if you’d like to join email Ashlee. This weekend Greenfield will host Power Shift Linfield, an event that empowers youth with skills and tools to address climate change and sustainability. Power Shift Linfield is sponsored by LAB and ASLC and will feature keynote speakers, workshops, panels and a capstone discussion with local politicians and take place on Friday, Feb. 26 and Saturday, Feb. 27. For information, visit www. linfield.edu/powershift or email powershiftlinfield@gmail.com. The Linfield Activities Board will present “The Road” on Saturday at 9 p.m. in Ice Auditorium. The film is based off Cormac McCarthy’s widely acclaimed novel and admission is free. Additionally, LAB will be giving away 20 “New Moon” posters at the showing on Saturday, March 6. LAB will also be taking students to volunteer at the Saint Barnabas Soup Kitchen on Wednesday, March 3. Please sign-up in the CIC to help our community. As spring-cleaning approaches, also consider donating old jeans, shirt and items to the homeless for ASLC Senate’s Clothing Drive. Contact me (kpeavey@linfield. edu) if you’d like to participate. Have a pleasant March.

www.linfieldreview.com

3

COLUMN

Pricey Dillin leaves students disenchanted Grace Beckett Guest column

I sincerely believe that I, as a Linfield student, am being done a great disservice by Sodexo dining services. I am consistently shocked by how seriously I am being, well, ripped off by Linfield dining. Not to start a pity party here, but I am a student who is able to go to Linfield only because of the scholarships I earned. I know this is true for many other students, as I am just part of the 97 percent of Linfield students who received financial aid from the college this year. Speaking as one of the many “poor, starving college students,” I can say that I try to hold on to my pennies whenever I can. I think that a significant amount of the student population is unhappy with the food served at Linfield and the price they are forced to pay for it. Many students aren’t aware that the cost of their meal plan includes pre-paying for 9 meals a week, and that each of these meals costs between $6.85 (for brunches) and $9.70. (The “special” dinners are $9.70. All other dinners are $8.90.) This means a minimum of $76 a week is spent at Dillin. OK, maybe that’s not too bad, but let’s think about what you’re getting out of that $76. I find it important to keep a couple of things in mind. First: There are very few people who actually eat all 9 of their meals. Many cannot put the time aside every day of the week to go to seven dinners and two brunches. Even more common than that though, is that they simply can-

OPINION

not stomach Dillin food nine times a week, four weeks a month, 7.5 months a year—it’s just too gross. This brings me to my second point: I don’t think I am alone in my opinion that the food served at Dillin is often seriously lacking in quality. With the exception of the brunches, I certainly wouldn’t say that I get my money’s worth for the caliber of food I’m receiving. Sure, occasionally there will be a tasty dinner. However, we’re all familiar with the “Wow, I’ve tried a bite of everything, it was all really gross, so I guess I’ll fall back on the dependably mediocre pizza AGAIN,” phenomenon. There have been times at an AYCE (all you can eat) meal where I have tried one of everything, found all of it unsatisfactory in some way or another, thrown away the food

thus wasting it - and left Dillin, still hungry. Thinking about all the food I’ve wasted at Dillin, just because I didn’t want to finish something that I thought tasted disgusting, makes me really sad. Of course, I feel guilty when I don’t show up for an AYCE dinner, as I know I’ve prepaid $8.90 for it. Every time I miss an AYCE meal, I’m essentially throwing away money. I was led to believe that if you miss one meal, and bring a guest to a meal the next day, it evened out. However, I read the fine print on the meal contract and found that this is untrue. You are actually charged $8.90 in food points for a guest, even if you haven’t used all your AYCE meals in a week. So, in essence, you can never make up a meal you’ve missed in order to get your mon-

ey’s worth. I know I’m not the only one upset with the food at Linfield. There are numerous facebook groups stating students’ unhappiness with the quality of food at Linfield. To name one: “We pay $35,000 a year and this is the best food you can come up with?” Indeed, Sodexo, is this the best you can serve us? I really do think that there are several possible solutions to the problems with Dillin food. 1. We could switch to an all points system, meaning there would be no pre-paid, buffet style meals. I know that a lot of other colleges have systems like this. Sure, all of the food would still be overpriced, but at least we would enjoy what we were eating, and there would be more room for a smaller meal plan if necessary. 2. Sodexo could improve the quality of the buffet style food. I know—it’s a shocking proposal, isn’t it? I’m just getting really tired of rarely enjoying what I’m eating. 3. Sodexo could not only improve the quality of their food, but not force us to prepay for 9 meals a week. There could be a meal plan option for, say, 7 meals a week. If someone ate more than 7, the money would come out of their declining balance points. I am attempting to speak for the Linfield students who believe they are not getting their money’s worth for the generally atrocious quality of food served at Dillin. I think it is high time we let Linfield know how unhappy we are. I, for one, get very upset when I pay for bad food.

Does making a difference make a difference? Lauren Ostrom Am I making a difference? I am standing in line at the Fred Meyer grocery store, waiting for the cashier to count my change. I look down and see a white-outlined paper by the clerk’s till that gawks, “Plastic bags will soon be charged 5 cents each.” I do not feel annoyed, but a bit of ease comes over me because this is just one more thing I can do to help, if that’s what I am really doing. I wonder: Is my 5-foot-3-inch little self really making a mark on the world? I have recycled for as long as I can remember, and it has come to the point where my panties get in a bunch if someone I know throws a piece of paper in a regular trash can. When they aren’t looking, I will quickly grab the crumbled tree and save it for a recycling bin I might see later. This may be borderline ridiculous, and I haven’t admitted it until now . . . oops. When I brush my teeth, I turn the faucet off and listen to whatever else instead of H2O running down the drain. I do this because I am constantly reminded by the media that this is what we should do, what “going green” is all about. Having said that, I refrain from

using a tray at Dillin every day. No, I don’t expect an award, but after discovering how much water we supposedly save by not using a tray, I make an extra trip in favor of our planet. I filter my water and never dare to use plastic bottles. If someone in my car sets a piece of garbage outside my car door, I refuse to drive until he or she picks up the piece of ignorance. I even switched to a better gas mileage vehicle that does not pollute as much as my last one. And the last straw may be that I even live in greenest state there is. But what am I actually doing by changing my ways and promoting energy efficiency? I do little things every day to make a difference, but I feel like I am one of about 50 students on campus who does these things. Maybe I am just naïve, but I don’t feel as though I am making a difference. The media have covered things we can do to step up to the plate, but are they telling us enough statistics or showing what progress we have made so far, since our economy has become tree huggers? Like the rest of the educated society, I have seen Al Gore lecture many times in his documentary, “An Inconvenient Truth,” and it convinced me to become a better citizen, if you will. I am just wondering what I am doing by reducing my disposals. Am I one of the ants on our planet who is reducing emissions? And if so, am I saving a polar bear that is stuck on a glacier somewhere in Antartica?

Organizations such as the U.N. need to step up their game and let the rest of the world know if we’re doing our part enough, or correctly, if anything. I will continue to use both sides

of a blank sheet of paper and buy LED light bulbs whenever I am caught in the dark. I just need some reassurance from the big guys. But whoever said that helping the earth was an easy task?


4

News

www.linfieldreview.com

February 26, 2010

Linfield hosts Chinese students in environmental debate Yin Xiao Culture editor A debate team from Xi’an Jiaotong University in China visited Linfield to partake in a public English-language debate with members of the Linfield Forensics Team on Feb. 23 in Jonasson Hall. The debate focused on the responsibility and independence of the environment pollution issue in both developed and developing countries, and followed the British Parliamentary Debate format, which breaks debaters into opposing and affirming sides. The Chinese debate team members were He Xiaoyu, Wang Wen and Li Shenggang. Linfield participants were junior Colin Jones and freshmen Kole Kracaw and Linh Tang. The Chinese team represented the side that views that developed nations have a responsibility for environmental pollution in developing nations. The opposing argued was that developing nations should be independent and solve their own environmental problems. Li opened the debate by criticizing the unequal relationship of exports between the United States and China — two prime examples of developed and developing countries — and claimed that the United States should be

Paoline-Anne Abulencia/Senior photographer Left to right: Li Shenggang, He Xiaoyu and Wang Wen, from Xi’an Jiaotong University debated the Linfield Forensics Team on environmental topics. responsible for the cost of environmental pollution in China based on American companies in China. Kracaw rebutted, saying that China should see the benefit of business trade and the cost of increasing gross domestic product. The second Chinese participant, He, indicated that China’s GDP per capita was divided by 1.3 billion of population, which cannot equal China’s level of national power. Linfield representatives Tang and Jones pointed out

that China should treat criticism of environmental pollution as international pressure instead of the responsibility of other developed countries, and success of environmental improvement of city’s “oddeven” traffic restrictions (car with odd code runs on odd dates, car with even code runs on even dates) in the Beijing 2008 Olympic Game proved that China can be left to sort out its issues. Wang explained that the opposing side should consider that Chinese citizens are able to suffer environmental

pollution rather than focusing on who has the responsibility of solving pollution, and developed countries still have a responsibility to help developing countries by transferring technology of treatment for the pollution. “All the debaters were very informed,” sophomore Marc Pereira, a spectator, said of the debate. “I don’t want to say we just give technology over to China for [solving] pollution, but we still have part of the responsibility.” Jones said the debate

<< Continued from page 1

dent insight of the various departments and to allow trustees to ask students questions,” Lynn Robinson, a sophomore representing the music department, said. “It was really informal. I was glad to be able to partake in the meeting.” The trustees also evaluated a June 2009 college report titled “The College of 2020: Students,” published by the Chronicle of Higher Education, a weekly newspaper. “It talks about what college students of 2020 will be like, and we discussed what Linfield will need to do to prepare for the change,” Winkenweder said. “Colleges are always in flux, so

seemed competitive, but he got different points of view from the respective country, even though he had no idea about China and Chinese students. After the debate, Chinese students talked with the audience. “We are glad to come to the United States to know more American culture,” He said. “Students here are active and easygoing.” Linfield is the fifth school of the tour for the debaters, but the first school in Oregon. Chinese debaters

also explored the campus and classes, including the Intercultural Communication class. The International Debate Education Association sponsored the month-long tour for the Chinese debaters. The Department of Theatre and Communication Arts, along with International Programs, the Department of Modern Languages, the Department of Political Science and the Office of Academic Affairs/Dean’s Speakers Fund also sponsored the debate.

Trayless Tuesdays: Board: Student meetings give feedback Now with more trays Joshua Ensler News editor

Linfield’s environmental awareness club, Greenfield, has reworked Trayless Tuesdays, and is distributing literature to invoke environmentally conscious behavior. Instead of taking away the trays before meals at Dillin, Greenfield has posted two large blue banners suggesting that students avoid using them. The trays will still be available for students to take. Greenfield also put flyers on the Dillin tables that explain how the washing machine works. “We feel it’s better to educate people about trays instead of taking them out from under them,” freshman Greenfield member Amy Krol said. Krol was in Dillin on Feb. 23, encouraging students to sign a petition to remove trays permanently. “We wanted it to be a conscious decision not to take a tray,” freshman Rachel Codd said. Codd was another Greenfield representative inside Dillin on Feb. 23. But students seemed to

not notice that it was Trayless Tuesday, grabbing trays sitting next to the large blue sign under the cafeteria counter. Krol said Greenfield hopes to save water and power from the washing machine and cited statistics that said using no trays decreased the overall food consumption of the students in the dining hall. Freshman Gabi Nygaard said she did not know that it was Trayless Tuesday, and said that it was easier to return dishes to the conveyer using the trays. Her friend, freshman Kaitlyn Tamashiro, said that it was easier to get her food using a tray. Dillin staff said students tend to leave their dishes on the tables when there are no trays. “Now that the trays are available, they’re not making as big a mess as before,” Dillin Supervisor Deb Waldron said. According to the fliers left by Greenfield, the Dillin washing machine uses 226.7 gallons of water per hour. The document cites information from the World Health Organization.

its tuition increases to students later this spring. “The budget is probably one of the most important things that the trustees do,” Winkenweder said. “We talked about generating revenue and how it’s going to be used.” Along with the board meetings Feb. 20, student committees gave feedback to trustees during the meetings Feb. 19. The committees contained students representing several different departments on campus. “The goal of the meeting was to get some stu-

Megan Myer/Photo editor we have to be strategic. “The board is trying to evaluate what Linfield is doing well and what it needs to work on,” he continued. “That was the nature of the conversation last weekend.”

Park Place Apartments (Close to campus) Short on cash? Work for us. Earn a $200 referral fee on approval. Apartments: $699/mo, 2 bed/2 bath, W/D in apt. Call: 503-435-1210 Email: park.place.apts. pdx@gmail.com

This was the second of three weekends selected for trustees meetings this year, ASLC Vice President Chris Norman said. The board’s final meeting will be in April during an off-campus retreat.


News

February 26, 2010

www.linfieldreview.com

5

New officers hired to fill Campus Public Safety openings Joshua Ensler News editor Linfield College Community Public Safety & Security has hired two new officers, returning to normal staffing levels for the first time since spring 2009. The new officers, Darrell Pratt and Jacob Blair, filled vacancies left by officer ter-

minations. CPS Chief Robert Cepeda would not say why, citing privacy issues. He said there was no prompt to hire new officers and that crime was low at Linfield compared with last semester, when Linfield was effectively shut down by a bomb hoax by former student Melissa Davaz. “We were a position

down,” Cepeda said. “It wasn’t a prompting. It was getting back to the staffing levels we were supposed to be at.” Students haven’t noticed the addition of the new officers, and they find Cepeda to be equal to or better than previous security directors. “I would rate them extremely high,” junior Ste-

phen Guttridge said. Guttridge said he did not notice any significant difference, but a few students had positive things to say about the campus security director. “They’ve gotten better since the new head of security,” junior Clayton Martin said. “He works more with the students. It’s more like

he’s not your enemy; he’s there to stop chaos at the school.” Martin said that while the school did not seem any safer or more secure because of Cepeda, the new chief of security seemed more competent than his predecessors, Mike Dressel and William Curtin. “He sends out warn-

ings for stuff around town, which I don’t think the previous guy did,” Martin said. Senior Wyatt Lee also spoke positively of Cepeda. “I think he has a good idea of understanding the students,” he said. “He listens to [student’s] opinion, and listens to their concerns.”

Aslan: Talk well-received

<< Continued from page 1

show how Jihadi leaders are actually ignorant about Islam, which is evident when they try to discredit traditional clerics. Instead of separating the religion from the social movement, the public ties peoples’ religious identities to groups that become political movements, Nowacki said about Aslan’s message. Junior Colin Jones said Aslan’s message is that religious language taints each group’s side, and neither group has material goals. “He talked about reli-

gious
 nationalism and how that’s very different from the Jihaddism movement,” Jones said. Aslan’s invitation to Linfield was part of the Edith Green and the Gordon Frazee endowments of both the psychology and religious studies departments, Nick Buccola, professor of political science, said. Nowacki, Buccola and William Millar, professor of religious studies, collaborated to bring Aslan to Linfield. “Aslan is very interdisciplinary with a broad appeal around campus,” Buccola said. Both Buccola and Nowacki

MARYLHURST UNIVERSITY

said Aslan is a young scholar who can relate well to college audiences because of his Web presence and appearances on popular TV shows. “We expected there to be a good turnout,” Buccola said. Jones said he suggests both of Aslan’s books, “No God, But God” and “How to Win a Cosmic War,” for students who are still trying to make sense of the conflict. “They went from flying planes into some of the tallest buildings in the country to a lone, depressed, 19-year-old lighting his crotch on fire — yeah, I think we’re winning,” Aslan said, giving hope for U.S. perseverance.

Paoline-Anne Abulencia/Senior photographer Aslan says the “War on Terror” is a political, not social, problem and that America must alter its tactics accordingly.

Will play for money Cole Weber, a student from Tillamook High School, warms up in a practice room at Competitive Scholarship Day on Feb. 20. Students from area high schools attempted to subsidize their college education with scholarships from Linfield. Each department has it own competitive scholarship grant.

Thinking abouti graduate studies? Consider a Master of Arts in Interdisciplinary Studies at Marylhurst University.

Examine a range of subjects while focusing on a concentrated area of study.

Experience intellectual growth and enhanced professional competence.

Engage with a supportive community of professors in a highly interactive learning environment. Concentrations include: Gerontology, Organizational Communication, Spiritual Traditions & Ethics and Liberal Arts Join us for an information session:

Saturday, April 17 at 10 a.m. Flavia Hall Salon Register for this free event at studentinfo@marylhurst.edu or 503.699.6268.

MARYLHURST

U N I V E R S I T Y Academic excellence since 1893 www.mar ylhurst.edu 17600 Pacific Highway (Hwy. 43), One mile south of Lake Oswego

Mary Campbell/Review staff photographer


6

www.linfieldreview.com

News

February 26, 2010

ASLC: Vice-presidential race may mimic ’09 presidential vote

Megan Myer/Photo editor Junior Sarah Spranger also takes the test. All candidates running qualified, including ASLC presidential hopeful junior Shelby Simmons. << Continued from page 1

Megan Myer/Photo editor ASLC vice presidential candidate sophomore Katie Patterson takes the ASLC Bylaws test Feb. 21. Candidates must pass the exam in order to qualify to run for vice president.

All three candidates were presented to the ASLC Senate on Feb. 22 after turning in the required paperwork Feb. 19 and passing the ASLC Bylaws test Feb. 21. At the Feb. 22 Senate meeting, ASLC Elections Committee Chair junior Bradley Keliinoi said some students had voiced frustration regarding the lack of publicity across campus concerning the coming election. However, while there wasn’t much paper publicity, ASLC sent out numerous campus-

wide e-mails, along with spot postings to StudentNews. The show of candidate apathy might work in their favor, though. As reported in the Review in years past (“What a difference a vote (or two) can make,” TLR, March 14, 2009; “Approachability reigns,” March 14, 2008), voter turnout is always slim in relation to the number of student body fee-paying students. Last year’s number decreased from 2008. This results in a smaller pool of voters to sway. However, that also means that there are fewer voters to go around, and the vote mar-

gin might be just as tight as it was last year, where senior ASLC President Ashlee Carter won by two votes. The debates will occur March 1 in Fred Meyer Lounge after Senate finishes its business. General elections will take place March 8, per Article V, Clause III of the ASLC Bylaws, which states that general elections must take place the second Tuesday of March as long as the college is in session. For more information regarding the ASLC elections, visit www.linfield. edu/aslc.

1 out of 3 college students experienced the illness or loss of a family member or close friend in the last year. Talk about loss and help your friends in need by starting a National Students of AMF Support Network Chapter at your school.


Features

February 26, 2010

www.linfieldreview.com

Newberg, will you accept this rose?

A George Fox graduate is one of two ladies in the finale of the hit TV show, “The Bachelor.”

T

he commercials begin. Viewers exhale as they wait for their room to get chatty. Two girls remain in the competition. Who will he choose? The hit TV show, “The Bachelor,” which airs on Monday nights, has swept viewers off their feet and onto a journey toward love. The bachelor, Jake Pavelka, is a pilot from Dallas, Texas, who was rejected on the last season of “The Bachelorette.” Pavelka began the season with 25 women and has narrowed them down to two. In each rose ceremony, Pavelka hands out roses to who he wants to keep and leaves the rest emptyhanded and broken-hearted. The interesting part: One of the two women left in the competition grew up near Linfield. Cruising down Highway 99 and through Newberg, you will come across a large sign in front of Chehalem Dance Academy that reads, “TEAM TENLEY.” Twenty five-year-old Tenley Molzahn grew up in the small town of Newberg, Ore. Molzahn danced at the dance academy since she was younger, so it is showing its support for her during the airing of the show. She graduated from Newberg High School in 2002, then attended George Fox University. Molzahn now lives in California, where she pursues her dream of becoming a professional dancer while working for College Admissions at a fashion school in Huntington Beach, Calif. Molzahn received her first impres-

sion rose in the pilot episode of “The Bachelor,” which guaranteed her spot in the first round of the competition. As Pavelka weeded his garden of women he could not see himself with, Tenley is one of the last flowers remaining. She has warmed the hearts of viewers with her lively spirit and sweetheart personality. If you enjoy eavesdropping, you may hear something along the lines of “Bachelor tonight!” from fans across campus. Monday nights are booked each week when it comes to the two-hour show, when homework is sometimes put off to watch a gorgeous man pick from his choice of stunning women. Of course, there have been a share of dramatic moments, from psychotic redheads to a contestant having an affair with one of the producers. All in all, the show has displayed bickering, lust, competitiveness, tears and love. It has not let viewers down when it has come to jaw-dropping moments. Sophomore Nikki White described the show as addicting. “I have watched the past seasons of ‘The Bachelor’ and ‘The Bachelorette,’ but this season has been my favorite,” she said. “You never know what is going to happen, and so many unexpected things have gone on. It’s the most intense [season] by far, but we will have to see how the finale turns out.” Girls are not the only crowd gathered around the TV to watch Pavelka hand out roses; the show attracts a male audience, too.

What: “The Bachelor” finale, featuring George Fox University graduate Tenley Molzahn When: 8 p.m., March 1 Where: ABC, channel 2 on Comcast

By Lauren Ostrom/Features editor

Freshman Eddie Lynn said he was sucked into the show by girls who live downstairs in his residence hall. “I like ‘The Bachelor’ because of all the drama,” he said. “When the girls

ing all the worth it.” Because is not live, informed competition. as well as the who appeared sign a contract won’t speak of the finale has to spoil the The 8 p.m. March Linfield stubooks away to ring, ensuring who cries her chauffeured Bachelor.”

bicker and talk behind each other’s back, it makes watchlovey-dovey stuff

“The Bachelor” many have been of who wins the Molzahn’s family rest of the cast on the show had to stating that they the outcome until aired. Who wants ending, anyway? finale will air at 1 on ABC. Many dents will put their see who receives a engagement, and heart out as she is home from “The

7


8

www.linfieldreview.com

Features

February 26, 2010

Linfield’s Web sit Then

1999

2001

re

a Jo

fiv an ne a

2001

2002

ph be 20 al su si

th w th

pe ev w

hi

iz m E to

re

Now

2010

2010


Features

February 26, 2010

www.linfieldreview.com

te: Then and now

L

infielders today are quite familiar with the photo slideshow on Linfield’s home Web page, but back when people were still asking, “The World Wide What?” the Web site contained only a single image. Since then, the world has come to

ely on the Internet for information, entertainment and communication. And Linfield’s Web site has evolved accordingly.

“When I got here in 1999, there was already Web site, and it was a mess,” Webmaster onathan Pierce said. The Web was in the public eye for barely ive years when Pierce was hired to enhance nd maintain Linfield’s site, but both the Internet and the college’s Web presence have come long way since that point. In 1997, Linfield’s Web site comprised one photo and a bunch of text. Two years later, it became graphics-based, Pierce said. Even in 000, the admission’s page contained almost ll graphics with one block of text. Web designs uch as that, Pierce said, make modifying Web ites difficult. But back then, when dial-up and AOL ruled he Web, people were still trying to figure out what to make of the “strange phenomenon” hat was the Internet. “It was a realm of geeks and hardcore people,” Pierce said. “It gradually focused into veryone’s consciousness that this was where we were going.” So to rev up the Wildcat Web site, Linfield hired Pierce. Back then, however, the Web was balkanzed, with different departments and groups maintaining their own Web pages, Pierce said. Even ASLC had its own Web site and students o manage it. But problems soon arose. In 1999, no one ealized the need to beware of security breach-

by Kelley Hungerford/ Managing editor es, Pierce said. Hackers were rare in the infant stage of the Internet, but before long, ASLC’s Web sites were being hacked constantly. Pierce said one of his jobs was to generate a secure, central site with content that met the desires of the people it represented. “I think there was an understanding that Web services really have to be centralized, and we couldn’t really leave ASLC with their own server,” he said. About a year and a half ago, the college hired Web Programmer Sean Ezell to help Pierce maintain the Web site. Ezell had already been working with the college as a programmer analyst to help build parts of Colleague and WebAdvisor. “Jonathan, working mostly alone, did not have a lot of time to focus on security, and he is not a programmer by trade,” Ezell said. “Since I have started in this position, Jonathan’s stress level has probably lowered.” Much of Ezell’s job involves using code languages, such as HTML and PHP coding, to work “behind-the-scenes” on Linfield’s Web site. Cleaning up and consolidating old, duplicated code makes managing security and upgrades easier, he said. Overall, this allows for a more reliable Web site. “A more stable and secure Web site means that students and staff have a better time using the site, and hackers cannot break in to

run rogue sites advertising black market medicines,” Ezell said. Creating a single, secure online hub for all of Linfield’s services was a leap forward in terms of ease of use and security. But there is another issue: How should Linfield present itself online? A few years ago, Linfield was trying to market itself as “hip, cool and attractive” to students, Pierce said. The Web site became a canvas of “colors a 17-year-old would like,” he said. “We’re a college, and it’s not our job to be cool,” Pierce said. “It’s our job to teach.” Implementing branding decisions is still a challenge for the college, he said. In fact, Linfield held a forum Feb. 23 about Linfield’s brand identity. Whatever branding decisions Linfield makes will affect the future look of its Web site. Senior Aaron Cody, the Review’s online editor, whose work-study job involves assisting Pierce and Ezell, is helping Linfield define its visual Web appearance. This past summer, Cody helped build the athletic Web site, including the front-page flash slideshow, and is working to upgrade the Linfield’s homepage slideshow. He’s also been helping Pierce move the Web site to a Content Management System. “This fall, I helped Jonathan move some departments over to a new CMS, a system

which allows people to update their department pages as easy as a Facebook page or blog post,” Cody said. “With the CMS, the school’s departments have been better able to keep track of their pages, and I think because of that, I’ve heard less about broken links.” Although this may seem like a lot of new changes, Pierce said the Web is always transforming. “We’re building the bridge while we’re driving over it,” he said. For instance, when Pierce got here, students were using desktops. Today, they’re using laptops and notebooks. And phones are getting smarter, which Pierce says will be the next hurdle for Linfield’s Web site. But whether people will be online using computers or phones is impossible to tell, Pierce said. “Where we’ll be in 10 years, we just don’t know,” he said. “The best thing I can say is that we do it as effectively as the media dictates.” There’s no doubt that Linfield’s Web site has changed considerably in the past decade. But don’t expect it to stay the way it is for long. As Pierce said, the Web is ephemeral and constantly rebuilding. “We’re not going to invent the new communication medium, and we don’t want to be the cutting edge of these things,” he said. “We like to be on the rear-garde of the avantgarde.”

9


10

Culture

www.linfieldreview.com

February 26, 2010

Senior recital evokes bittersweet responses Joanna Peterson Culture reporter The audience at senior Natalie Lindsey’s Feb. 21 student recital gave a standing ovation in the Vivian Bull Music Center, signaling the end of Lindsey’s performance experience at Linfield. Lindsey sang 13 songs, ranging from Italian and German pieces to musicaltheater numbers from “Into the Woods” and “Carousel.” “The selection of songs she sang reflected her classical training and her experience in musical theater,” Professor of Music Gwen Leonard said. Lindsey is the two-time winner of the National Association of Teachers of

Singing award in the musical theater category. “I love musical theater because the songs always have a story to tell, and it’s easy to find those stories,” Lindsey said. After teaching Lindsey, Leonard said she was proud of Lindsey’s final performance. “As an instructor, I live for this,” she said. “It’s the culminating event of what we worked on for the past few years.” Lindsey said she appreciated the large audience, which included members of the music department and nearly all of Lindsey’s Sigma Kappa Phi sorority sisters. “The recital was bittersweet,” junior Helen Kehoe

said. “After two and a half years of listening to Natalie sing and grow into her voice, it was good to see her be successful at something she loves. But at the same time, it’s sad that she won’t be on campus anymore.” During her time at Linfield, Lindsey said she was consistently involved in music through the women’s ensemble, concert choir, jazz choir and opera workshops. She studied voice with former Professor of Music Anne Reed before Leonard replaced her. “I hope she goes on,” Leonard said. “We tend to shut down, thinking the things we did senior year are over, but this should be just the beginning of her singing life.”

Megan Myer/Photo editor Senior Natalie Lindsey performs “Shelling Peas” in Delkin Recital Hall on Feb. 20.

Pancakes, Jesus and porn: a faculty recital Amanda Summers Copy editor

Halcyon Trio Oregon, comprising three Linfield music faculty members, performed a program titled “Of Praise, Passion & Pancakes!” on Feb. 19. The trio is made up of professors of the department of music Joan Haaland Paddock, on trumpet; Jackie Van Paepeghem, a soprano; and Deborah Huddleston, on piano and organ. One piece performed, written specifically for Halcyon Trio Oregon by composer Greg Bowers, was titled “Norwegian Folk Variations.” Paddock and Bowers are both of Norwegian descent and the piece was commissioned by the Scandinavian Heritage Foundation of Portland. Paddock said she sent recordings of some of her favorite Norwegian folk songs

Megan Myer/Photo editor Professor of Music Jackie Van Paepeghem performs in the “Of Praise, Passion, Princes & Pancakes” multimedia concert Feb.19. to Bowers to incorporate them into the piece. “Like Norwegians are prone to do — be creative — he created his own fairy tale

and added a pancake,” Paddock said. The pancake in the Norwegian Folk Variations solves the problems of many

of the other characters. Paddock said a local pastor later compared the pancake to Christ, saying that the pancake represents the

ultimate martyr. Another piece in the performance was Eric Ewazen’s “to cast a shadow again…,” which features poetry by Katherine Gekker. The poetry is provocative and was described by Paddock as being both beautiful and pornographic. Other pieces performed were “O sacrum convivium” by Archangelo Crotti with text by Thomas Aquinas; “Vaga Cintia” by Alessandro Scarlatti; and “Le Petit Prince” by Colin DeJong with text from Antoine de SaintExupéry’s book, Le Petit Prince. The piece by DeJong was composed specifically for Halcyon Trio Oregon. “It’s really cool that people are writing music for us because there’s not a lot of repertoire for trumpet, piano and voice,” Paddock said. Halcyon Trio Oregon was formed during the course of a few years, beginning with

a performance for a sampler recital in 2005, presented for guest artist Rolf Kristian Stang. In April of that same year, Paddock’s brother was diagnosed with cancer, and the trio organized a fundraiser concert. Shortly after, Halcyon Trio Oregon applied for the Neskowin Chamber Fellowship. It won the fellowship, which provided 10 days at the coast, all expenses paid, to rehearse and perform. “[We] learned that this marriage will work,” Paddock said. “Chamber music is about getting along.” In 2006, the trio toured in California, and in 2007, they toured for 21 days in Norway. In April this year, the trio will tour to perform in Windsor Hall in Maryland and to William and Mary in Virginia to perform and teach a workshop for three select music composition students.

Musical comedy makes FML lol

Paoline Abulencia/Senior photographer Senior Michael Nelson and junior Darren Valenta serve up a platter of laughs at the Feb. 25 Cat Cab.


February 26, 2010

200-year-old Torah donated to Linfield Jessica Prokop Culture reporter

A Torah, a sacred and ancient artifact, was donated to Linfield at the end of Fall Semester and is located in the Special Collections section of Nicholson Library. The Torah that Linfield received was donated from a woman residing in the Seattle, Wash., area. Although she personally delivered the Torah to Linfield, she wishes to remain anonymous, Library Director Susan Barnes Whyte said. The Antiquarian Manuscript Hebrew Sefer Torah Scroll contains the Five Books of Moses, which comprise Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy. These are the first books of the Jewish Bible and the Christian Old Testament. Although this Torah is considered retired, it was once used in a Jewish synagogue. During synagogue services, certain sections of the Torah are read and chanted. Many rituals accompany the readings. This particular Torah was valued by a professional appraiser in Los Angeles. The appraiser provided Linfield with the Torah’s appropriate documents. According to these documents, the manuscript is approximately 200 years old and originates from Yemen. It is scribed in an Arabian Jewish Scriptorium, completely handwritten in Hebrew by Yemenite Jews. “The Torah is the most sacred book in Judaism,” senior religious studies major Andrew Webber said. Evidently, the donor discovered Linfield while surfing the Internet. The exact reason she chose to donate the Torah is not clear. Whyte said she believes it

Culture

is simply the woman’s mission to donate these kinds of items to schools that she sees fit. “I think she chose Linfield because she wanted the Torah to be used, not just stored away somewhere,” William Millar, professor and chair of the religious studies department, said. The donor gave a choice of two Torahs, one from Yemen or one from Morocco. Millar said he chose the Yemenite one because the script was clear and was in better condition. Webber and senior ASLC Vice President Chris Norman were present when the Torah was delivered. Millar and Webber read and translated some of the script for others who were present. Linfield is not the only school that has received a Torah. The anonymous donor has also given similar relics to other small colleges and universities. George Fox and Northwest Christian universities are two other recipients. The Torah is made out of deer skin that was sewn together into one long document and scrolled to attach to two wooden rollers. At this time, Linfield is still looking for a case to display the Torah in. The display case will make it possible for students to unroll the scroll but will protect the manuscript from being touched or damaged. Millar said he plans to incorporate the Torah into future assignments for his students who are taking his Hebrew classes. “It is one thing to learn about, but another to actually see it and touch it,” he said. The Torah is available for students and classes to view by appointment only.

www.linfieldreview.com

‘When I grow up...’

Megan Myer/Photo editor Top: Linfield hosts a concert for all the high school students competing in the Small School Choir Festival in Linfield’s Ice Auditorium on Feb. 24. Left: Dayton High School student Abraham Navarro asks sophomore Jeremy Moll what it’s like to sing like Beyoncé.

Megan Myer/Photo editor

11


12

www.linfieldreview.com

Entertainment

February 26, 2010

‘You say I’m crazy? I got your crazy’ Dominic Baez Editor-in-chief

“Is it better to live as a monster or to die a good man?” Now that’s the million-dollar question, isn’t it? However, that’s not the only question that needs to be answered in the new movie, “Shutter Island.” From start to finish, “Shutter Island,” directed by Martin Scorsese and starring Leonardo DiCaprio, dives headfirst into insanity — and takes the audience along for the ride. In true Scorsese fashion, “Shutter Island” overemphasizes everything: the music, which screams in a highpitched, cello-esque manner at the most surprising times; the videography, which jumps fiercely from scene to scene at a nearly dizzying pace; the lighting, a blackgray color combination that leaves you feeling depressed and anxious. It all combines seamlessly to form a narrative that slowly threads you through the story. Taking place on Shutter Island in 1954, located some

Photo courtesy of Paramont Studios Leonado DiCaprio (right) and Mark Ruffalo star in “Shutter Island.” 30 miles off the coast of Massachusetts, Teddy Daniels (DiCaprio) and his partner, Chuck Aule (Mark Ruffalo), are U.S. marshals investigating a woman’s mysterious disappearance. The island plays host to a mental institution, the most perilous of its kind: Only the most dangerous patients, those no other

institutions will (or can) handle, reside there. And that’s only the start of this adventure into the mystery of the human psyche. The storyline progresses at what could be considered as a painstakingly slow, snail-like pace. However, that’s part of the beauty of “Shutter Island.” Unlike the

‘Health Care Summit’

blockbusters that have dominated the box office the last few months, “Shutter Island” only gradually explains the mysteries of the island, and most of the time you are left in the dark as to what just happened. Then, shining bouts of clarity pierce through, and you become all too certain of

what just happened. As the audience learns more of the intricate plot, it comes to light that Daniels is not as mentally sound as he first appeared. He’s haunted by the death of his wife, Dolores (Michelle Williams), in bloody, maudlin detail. The past comes back to haunt him in terrifying clarity, leaving

him with headaches, nightmares and intense paranoia. Or is that because of the drugs? Nothing is as it seems on the island. People who should be there are gone. People who should be gone are there. Nobody knows what is going on, yet it seems everyone is in on the secret. The marshals can trust no one, but they have no choice if they are to figure out the truth. You’re left wondering if maybe you missed something. Chances are, you probably did. The genius of the movie lies in the increasing shattering of preconceived notions of reality. As the marshals investigate, the boundaries of reality wane and eventually disappear altogether. As the saying goes, one man’s reality is another man’s nightmare. The movie makes you think, which is more than can be said for “Public Enemies.” The point goes to Mr. Scorsese. Well done. Rating: R (violence, swearing) Running time: 2 hours, 18 minutes

Wildcat Word Search

‘Whales and Government’

AFFECTION CHUM EMPATHY FRIENDLINESS

AFFINITY

BUDDY

COFFEE

COMPANION

FAVOR

FONDNESS

FUN

HONESTY

HONEY

MUFFINS

OMELETS

HAM

MARMALADE PANCAKES


Sports

February 26, 2010

www.linfieldreview.com

13

Misunderstandings stem from misprints

Sports Commentary Grant Lucas Sports editor The 2009 University of Oregon football season ended as one of the most memorable in school history. After what many called a “meltdown” at Boise State University in the first week of play, Oregon finished the season with fury in its eyes, winning the Pac-10 championship and a bid to the school’s first Rose Bowl in 15 years.

Heading into the offseason, the Ducks had high hopes and goals as they began preparation for, hopefully, a better season. However, team rules and police officers shot down Oregon’s dream. During January, two Ducks were accused of stealing laptops from a fraternity house, although no charges were filed. Four other players were arrested. Among them was sophomore star running back LaMichael James, who was charged with domestic violence after he allegedly grabbed his girlfriend’s neck and shoved her to the ground. Other players found themselves amidst campus brawls. One fight left sophomore kicker Rob Beard in intensive care for two days. According to a Sports Illus-

“As journalists, we are expected to provide truthful stories. This is the meaning of our existence.” trated article by Stewart Mandel, he was later cited for misdemeanor assault. This story, however, isn’t about the arrests and team rule violations that have occurred during the last two months. This is a focus on a situation involving sophomore wideout Jamere Holland. We’ve entered into an age where Twitter and Facebook updates have become foci of parents, bosses and, in this case, coaches. After a teammate was arrested Feb. 20 for driving under the influence, Hol-

land found it necessary to update his status. In the Facebook status, according to an Associated Press story, he “mistakenly concluded” that his teammate was kicked off the team. He labeled the action “unfair and damaging” to the football team. The AP story said the post was “expletive-filled,” which earned him a oneway ticket off the alreadysuffering Oregon team. This, however, is still not the issue. My problem arises from the AP story that broke this information.

As journalists, we are expected to provide truthful stories. This is the meaning of our existence. I’m not calling this article untruthful, just simply stating there is a hint of misleading. Near the top of the story is a short paragraph that bugged me: “Holland wrote in a later post: ‘I wish I could block all whites as friends and only have blacks LOL, cause apparently I’m misunderstood.’” Any person who reads this immediately judges and looks downs upon Holland. What readers may be unaware of is the actual post. On the status in question, Holland provided a clause: “What else can I put on my status to f--- with my readers’ heads: I wish I could block all whites

as friends and only have blacks LOL, cause apparently I’m misunderstood.” Now, I’m not necessarily defending Holland, but I am requesting all of the information. This post came after Holland found himself in trouble. Maybe his page was already being investigated. Perhaps he was poking fun at those who took statuses too seriously. The best part about this AP story? That short paragraph had little significance to the story but had a dynamic impact on the readers. The moral of the story is aimed at journalists or writers-to-be: Don’t try to juice up a story any more than it needs to be because colleagues such as myself will catch the extra nonsense and exploit it.

After two years of waiting, Brown shines at shortstop Septembre Russell Copy chief “I like to think of my injury as one of the better things that ever happened to me,” Brown said. “I think with [it], I’ve grown so much physically that now I’m at a different level than I ever thought I could be.” Sentiments such as these coming from an athlete are typically unheard of, yet senior baseballer Kelson Brown cannot help but remain optimistic when recalling his season-shortening injury. The senior from LaCanada, Calif., who has been playing baseball since he was eight years old, said that during his first two years on the Linfield baseball team, he sat on the bench. “I didn’t play at all, really,” Brown said. “I pitched a little, but I didn’t really have a position.” Earning a starting spot as shortstop his junior year, Brown played exceptionally until he was diagnosed with a lower back strain. The injury stemmed from overuse, Brown said. He partially attributes the onset of his back injury to fielding groundballs. He was on standby for 25 games — that’s more than half a season, he said. “Going to practice everyday and watching games from the bench, knowing that [I could not] contribute, was hard for me,” Brown

Sport

Duc Hoang/For the Review Senior shortstop Kelson Brown awaits the pitch from the Corban College pitcher during the ’Cats’ 11-6 win against the Warriors. As of Feb. 25, Brown is hitting .514 with three home runs and 14 RBIs. He has also pitched five innings for Linfield with seven strikeouts. said. Fortunately, his injury did not impede his sports career. Brown registered for summer baseball in January, before sustaining his injury. He was already on the roster, he said. Brown grappled with whether he should play or stay behind and improve his health. “I decided to tough it out, and it was big because I figured out how to use my body

drafted by the Clarinda A’s, an Iowa-based semi-pro team in the M.I.N.K. League, which includes teams from Missouri, Iowa, Nebraska and Kansas. The league provides an exposure venue for college players before the Major League Baseball Amateur Draft. In Iowa, Brown said working with people from across the country and witnessing varying weight room routines led him to dis-

cover his own rhythm. “I really started coming up with my own workout plans,” he said. With the A’s, Brown said he struggled slightly early on with the strain he still felt in his lower back. But sharing the field with Division I and other high-quality talent provided him with a competitive atmosphere, one which enabled him to flourish. Brown led the A’s to the

Wildcat sports schedule

Date

Baseball

Feb. 26

Men’s golf

Feb. 27

Men’s tennis

in a way that I wouldn’t get injured,” he said. “[The injury] opened my eyes to new ways of training, ways to keep my body in better shape. During the time he spent training, Brown said he increased his flexibility and, to refocus the pressure on his lower back, developed his core strength. His new training regime did not stem from his back injury, Brown said. He was

Feb. 27

Opponent or event

University of Puget Sound Pacific Invitational

Whitworth University

Location

McMinnville

Time

Banks, Ore. McMinnville

National Baseball Congress World Series in August; the team reached the final 14 and went 3-2 in the tournament. At the season’s end, Brown hit .313 and tallied 47 hits in 150 at-bats. Going semi-pro was comparable to traveling abroad, Brown said, but with a heavy interweaving of sports. “It was a new experience completely,” he said. “I went in all by myself, taken in by host families in a completely new environment.” Now, back at Linfield with the baseball season well underway, Brown said he recognizes that his perseverance through his injury, regaining his health and playing with the A’s was a journey worth taking. “I worked really hard this offseason,” he said. “It has been paying off so far.” The fruit of his effort comes in the form of elevated self-confidence and maintaining primary physical condition, Brown said. Everything he has observed and encountered since his injury can only aid him in the future as he said he aspires to be drafted in June and sign a professional contract. Brown mentioned that his favorite team is the Los Angeles Dodgers, but he said he doesn’t place heavy importance on which team bids on him. “I would love to just get drafted,” Brown said. “Any team would be fine.”

5 p.m. 8:30 a.m.

9 a.m.


14

Sports

www.linfieldreview.com

February 26, 2010

After rocky road trip, ’Cats secure home win Grant Lucas Sports editor Following a loss to No. 6 Lewis-Clark State College on Feb. 18, the Linfield baseball team fell to Division II Western Oregon University on Feb. 19. The ’Cats bounced back the next day with a rout of the Saint Martin’s University Saints that was followed by another loss to LC-State on Feb. 21. The Wildcats home-opener against the Corban College Warriors fared well, however, as Linfield came out victorious 11-6. With a 2-3 record during the previous week’s games, Linfield holds a 6-3 overall record. After a big inning downed the Wildcats on Feb. 18, they remained positive as they entered Feb. 19’s matchup against the Western Oregon Wolves. Linfield jumped ahead early when junior designated hitter Kevin Coleman drove in two runs in the bottom of the second inning. Junior rightfielder Cole Bixenman added to the ’Cats’ lead in the third, recording a two-RBI base hit that gave Linfield a 4-0 lead. After Wildcat sophomore pitcher Ryan Larson held the Wolves to two hits through three innings, Western Oregon came alive in the fourth with five runs. The Wolves strung together three consecutive hits to drive in their first run of the game. Larson then hit two batters, forcing in the second run. WOU junior firstbaseman Joe Pratt brought the Wolves closer with a sacrifice fly that brought in a third run. A wild throw on the play allowed the tying score to cross the plate. The scoring was capped off with an RBI single by senior leftfielder Devon Bouvier. WOU sophomore relief pitcher Kirk Lind entered the contest and held Linfield scoreless for the remaining four innings, striking out five Wildcat batters en route to

the win. Coleman, Bixenman and seniors firstbaseman Rhett Fenton and shortstop Kelson Brown led the way for the ’Cats, tallying two hits apiece. Linfield used its twogame losing streak as motivation during its game against Saint Martin’s University on Feb. 20. Brown stayed hot as he contributed five hits — two of which were home runs. The rest of the lineup proved to be just as effective as the Wildcats finished the day with 20 hits during their 11-3 win against the Saints. Fenton, Bixenman, Coleman, senior Tyson Smith and junior Dustin Smith all recorded three hits during Linfield’s rout. Linfield attained its largest lead of the game in the fifth when Coleman drove in a run soon after Brown smashed his third bomb of the season. Sophomore pitcher Casey Cameron earned his first victory of the season after striking out five batters through five innings of work. Before the weekend was out, Linfield faced LC-State once again in the tournament’s finale. This time, however, the Warriors left no hope for the ’Cats. LC-State scored nine runs off eight hits through the first three innings, knocking Brown out of the game after two innings. Warrior junior pitcher Tyler Knigge was credited with the win, throwing four scoreless innings. LC-State was also led by junior outfielder Bryan Abrey, who went 4-for-5 with two RBIs. But Brown didn’t let pitching woes slow him down at the plate, as he finished with three hits. The Wildcats held their home-opener against Corban on Feb. 25, and they struck early in the matchup. Tyson Smith led off the inning with a single to left field. Soon after, he stole second base. A few batters later, Bixenman skied a ball to cen-

All photos by Duc Hoang/For the Review Junior pitcher Evan Hilberg (above) delivers a pitch during Linfield’s matchup against Corban College on Feb. 25. The Wildcats (bottom left) are greeted as they come off the field and prepare to begin the bottom half of the inning. Senior catcher Mitch Webb (below right) awaits the pitch. The Wildcats pulled away from the Warriors early in the contest and eventually won 11-6, improving their overall record to 6-3. terfield that was deep enough for Smith to tag up and score. In the second, sophomore left fielder Zach Boskovich stole the third Wildcat base of the game after he was hit by a pitch. Senior catcher Mitch Webb then singled, driving in Boskovich. After Webb took second, Larson tallied a hit that

allowed Webb to score. Later in the inning, Brown recorded an RBI, making the score 4-0. The Wildcats added four more runs during the next three innings, including a solo home run by Fenton in the third. Junior pitcher Evan Hilberg shut down Corban through five innings, allow-

ing five hits and striking out six. Following four runs by the Warriors, junior Spencer Crepeaux came in for relief and promptly retired the next two Corban batters. After two Warrior eighthinning runs, Wildcat senior pitcher Kyle Mossbrucker entered the game, holding the Warriors to one hit during the

final two innings. Tyson Smith paced the ’Cats with three hits, two runs scored and four stolen bases. Boskovich added two hits of his own with one leaving the park. Linfield will continue play in the Jim Doran Classic when it hosts the University of Puget Sound on Feb. 26.


Sports

February 26, 2010

www.linfieldreview.com

15

Tennis splits matches Nic Miles Sports reporter

Duc Hoang/For the Review Junior Mark Magdaong unleashes a serve during the men’s 9-0 victory against the University of Puget Sound on Feb. 19. The following day, Linfield beat Lewis & Clark University at the Linfield Tennis Center. With the wins, the Wildcats improve to a 3-0 in Northwest Conference play and 3-1 overall.

The Wildcats played a bittersweet match against Lewis & Clark University on Feb. 20. On one of the first sunny days of the spring tennis season, the Wildcats hosted the Pioneers at the Linfield Tennis Center. The men’s team sent an early message by winning all three doubles matches in straight sets. It showed no signs of slowing down by winning all six singles matches, as well. The men’s team is ranked second in the Northwest Conference. Junior Mark Magdaong had a strong showing with a 6-4, 6-1 victory in singles and 8-1 win in doubles. “Doubles on Friday was very fundamental,” Magdaong said. “We didn’t let our opponents get any momentum to get into the match.” Magdaong has consistently been a prevailing athlete on the men’s team this season. “Last year, I had a really successful record, and that

definitely pushed me to become an even more competitive player,” he said. Although he seems to play equally well in singles and doubles matches, Magdaong said he enjoys playing doubles more. He said that he and his partner, junior Brent Kingzett, complement each other on the court and help each other out during matches. The rest of the men’s team also performed well. Senior powerhouse Kyle Anderson teamed with junior Tal DeWitt to bring home an 8-1 win at No. 2, and senior Matt Levering paired with freshman Zachery Lyons at No. 3 for an 8-3 win. Coach Carl Swanson is preparing his team to play well, both mentally and physically. Swanson said he believes that focus can help reel in the elusive conference championship. “This team is improving and playing at a higher level than we were last season,” he said. “This year’s team has huge upside if they continue to battle, work hard and play together and for

each other.” On the women’s side, the Wildcats faced their first loss this season. Beating the women’s team for the first time in nearly a decade, the Pioneers won 5-4 Feb. 20. Wildcat sophomore Abby Olbrich, the reigning ITA Pacific Northwest Region champion, was defeated by Pioneer junior Amalia Nilsson in a 6-4, 6-1 match at No. 1 singles. However, Linfield responded with three singles victories from senior Sallie Katter and juniors Sophie Larson and Sarah Click. Ranked first in conference, the Lewis & Clark women’s team bumped its record to 3-0. “The women are experienced and young,” Swanson said. “We need every player to work hard in practice, be ready to contribute in matches and to play for each other and make each other better.” The women’s team hits the road to take on No. 2 Whitworth University on Feb. 27, and the men’s team hosts Whitworth on the same date.

Women’s basketball shot down by Whitman, Whitworth Justin Derby Sports reporter The 2009-10 season ended on a sour note for the Linfield women’s basketball team. The Wildcats lost to Whitman College, 81-52, on Feb. 19, and to Whitworth University, 65-56, on Feb. 20. The Wildcats ended the season with a 4-12 league mark and 6-19 overall. The overall record was a threegame improvement of the previous season’s record. “I told the girls that last season was over and that their focus should be on

improving every day,” head coach Casey Kushiyama said. “If they could focus on improving a little bit every day, we would see an incredible amount of improvement at the end of the season, and I think that’s what happened.” Putting the ball in the hole was a problem that plagued the Wildcats in both games. “It was a difficult weekend when it came to scoring,” sophomore forward Lindsey Gummersall said. “Unfortunately, we could not hit a lot of the shots that we normal-

ly do. This happens every once in a while, and we got unlucky with this occurring two nights in a row.” Linfield began strong against Whitman, leading the Missionaries 14-11 with 13 minutes, 22 seconds to go in the first half. The Missionaries then went on an 18-0 run to go up 29-14 with 5:06 left in the first half. Whitman proceeded to take a 41-23 lead into halftime before coasting to its 81-52 win. Sophomore guard Gretchen Owens led the Wildcats in scoring with 20 points. “Whitman’s 18-0 run

was a direct result of their defense,” Kushiyama said. “They did a great job of making us take tough shots and took us out of what we wanted to do. They also couldn’t miss from three — bad combination.” The game against Whitworth was a competitive and defensive one. Linfield trailed 30-27 at halftime. Even though Owens had 15 points at the half, Whitworth’s many offensive rebounds kept it at an advantage. Down 36-34 with 15:38 to go in the second half, the

Wildcats went on a scoring drought that lasted eight minutes, leaving them down 49-38 with 7:42 remaining. The Wildcats managed to get within three of the Pirates, but Whitworth went on a game-ending 14-8 run to win 65-56. Owens finished with 24 points and eight rebounds, while senior forward Kelsey Forrest added 18 points for the Wildcats. “We lack depth,” Kushiyama said. “Teams go on runs against us because we don’t have a deep bench to keep people fresh through-

out the games. Combine that with Nadra [Evans] having to sit most of the first half because of foul trouble, and you get the picture of what happened.” Despite the low number of wins, the season was a memorable one for the team. “There are too many great memories to pick just one as my favorite,” Gummersall said. “We really got along well, and were able to have fun all of the time. It is rare to find a group of girls that gets along as well as we do, and I am really glad that I got to be a part of this team.”

All photos by Robert Lisac/For the Review Sophomore guard Gretchen Owens (left) goes up for a shot during Linfield’s game against Whitworth University. Senior forward Kelsey Forrest (right) drives by a Pirate defender. The Wildcats fell to the Pirates 65-56 Feb. 20 despite a game-high 24 points from Owens and 18 points by Forrest.


16

SPORTS

www.linfieldreview.com

February 26, 2010

Catline Close contest caps ’Cats’ season

Northwest Conference standings Men’s basketball Whitworth Linfield George Fox Lewis & Clark

17-0 (24-2)* 10-7 (12-13)* 10-7 (13-13)* 9-8 (10-15)*

Lewis & Clark Whitworth

65 89

George Fox Linfield

76 66

*Clinched NWC playoff spot

Duc Hoang/For the Review

Megan Myer/Photo editor

Women’s basketball George Fox 17-0 (24-2)* Puget Sound 15-2 (23-3)* Lewis & Clark 10-7 (16-10)* Whitworth 10-7 (14-12)* *Clinched NWC playoff spot

Whitworth Puget Sound

55 68

Lewis & Clark George Fox

57 98

Baseball Pacific Lutheran Linfield Puget Sound Wilamette Men’s tennis Whitman Linfield Willamette Pacific Lutheran Women’s tennis Lewis & Clark Whitworth Wilamette Linfield

0-0 (7-0) 0-0 (5-3) 0-0 (2-2) 0-0 (2-2) 3-0 (4-1) 3-0 (3-1) 3-0 (3-2) 5-1 (5-1) 3-0 (3-0) 3-0 (3-2) 4-1 (4-1) 3-1 (3-1)

Surprising standout

Senior shortstop and pitcher Kelson Brown began the 2010 season with a smash, hitting .514 with three home runs as of Feb. 25. This stunning start wasn’t given to him on a silver platter, however. Hard work and focus were factors. See page 13 >> ’Cats drop final two games The Linfield women’s basketball team ended its season with back-to-back losses to Whitman College and Whitworth University on Feb. 19-20, respectively, but the season was still a memorable one for sophomore forward Lindsey Gummersall. See page 15 >> Baseball teaser After losing three out of four games at the LC-State Tournament in Lewiston, Idaho, the Linfield baseball team bounced back with a victory over Corban College in the Wildcats’ home-opener Feb. 25. See page 14 >>

Megan Myer/Photo editor Senior forward Kris Rainwater (above left) goes up for a layup during Linfield’s Northwest Conference playoff game against George Fox University on Feb. 25. Senior guard Cody Tesoro (above right) takes a three-point shot from the corner. Tesoro finished with 15 points, and Rainwater added 10. The Bruins, however, notched the victory 76-66, as they celebrate the win (bottom).

Kurtis Williams For the Review With one of the largest crowds of the season looking on, the Linfield men’s basketball team secured the second seed in the Northwest Conference playoffs with a victory against Whitman College on Feb. 19 only to see championship hopes dwindle after falling to George Fox University on Feb. 25. With one of the best first-half performances of his career, senior guard Cody Tesoro scored 25 points by halftime against Whitman. “It was just one of those nights,” Tesoro said. “I was fortunate my team was finding me.” Tesoro ended with a game-high 30 points, hitting nine of his 14 shots, including six three-pointers. The team collectively shot 50 percent from three, while Whitman only hit 26 percent. Backed by junior center K.C. Wiser’s 18 points and eight rebounds, the Wildcats defeated the Missionaries 74-70 to secure a home game in the first round of

the NWC playoffs. The delight would not last long. Undefeated in the NWC and ranked No. 7 nationally, Whitworth University came to McMinnville on Feb. 20 looking to finish a perfect conference schedule. In an emphatic way, Whitworth followed through. With five players in double figures, the Pirates won 77-53, handing Linfield its worst loss of the season. “Let’s give Whitworth a lot of credit,” head coach Larry Doty said. “They’re 16-0 [in conference], 23-2 [overall], ranked seventh in the country. It was a really off night for us and a really good night for Whitworth.” Tesoro also felt Whitworth deserved to win the game and that Linfield was not up to the task. “We know that we got outplayed by a really good team,” he said. The senior guard went from hot to cold, as he shot 1-8 and finishing with five points. Wiser finished with 12 points and five rebounds. With the victory against Whit-

man, Linfield earned a playoff bid and faced George Fox University on Feb. 25. The game marked the third time the teams played, both narrow wins by the Wildcats. In both contests, the ’Cats jumped out to comfortable 15-point halftime leads, only to have the Bruins come back within four by the end of the game. Both games saw Linfield lead for more than 35 minutes of the 40-minute games. George Fox shot 9-22 from behind the three-point line in Feb. 25’s playoff match, while Linfield made just one three on 12 attempts. GFU seniors guard Jack Martin and forward Alex Stockner each scored a game-high 18 points, leading the Bruins to a 76-66 victory against the Wildcats. The game saw 11 ties and 13 lead-changes, with the largest lead being six points by Linfield. The Bruins, however, reclaimed the edge and, with a one-point advantage with seven and a half minutes remaining, took control. With three minutes left in the

game, George Fox went on a 10-2 run to take a 69-58 lead. Wiser led the ’Cats with 16 points, while senior guard Cody Tesoro added 15 of his own. The Wildcats were held to a mere 36.3 percent shooting from the field in the second half and 41.3 percent for the game. The Bruins, on the other hand, sank 44.8 percent of their shots. With the loss, Linfield was knocked out of the NWC playoffs and finished the season with a record of 10-7 in NWC play and 12-13 overall. This was the final game for Tesoro, Wiser, guard Jon Weber and forwards Kris Rainwater and Drew Schroeder, who are all seniors. George Fox improved to 10-7 in the NWC and 13-13 overall, and will face conference powerhouse Whitworth University for the NWC championship. Whitworth dismantled Lewis & Clark University 89-65 Feb. 25. The winner of the NWC championship will earn an automatic berth to the NCAA Division III tournament.


The Linfield Review - Issue 14