Page 1

THE BEAM

On Wednesday evenings, at 6:30 in the Sanctuary, through October 16, Davis will dive a little deeper with a Bible Study. Invite a friend to join you!

For Men Only Dinner Tuesday, October 1, 6:30 pm, Haney Hall Dr. Davis Chappell will speak at the “For Men Only” dinner and special musical guests will be the Staff Notes. $10 per person. Confidential scholarships available. Register on-line at www.BUMC.net/FMO.

Sunny Day Annual Memorial Service Tuesday, October 1, 11:15 am, Prayer Garden (inside in case of rain) Last year, Sunny Day dedicated a beautiful garden finial given to the church in memory of past Sunny Day members. During the service, names of Sunny Day members and volunteers who had passed were read. Anyone interested is invited to attend as we continue this tradition on October 1. Sunny Day Club is a fellowship group for those who are experiencing the early stages of memory loss. Contact Rev. Erin Racine, 373-7244, eracine@bumc.net.

Go Home Team Tailgating If you’re going to the Titans game against the Chargers, be sure to stop by our Home Team Tailgating Headquarters in the LP Field parking lot! You’ll find our crew on the I-24 side of the stadium at the border of Lots A & B, directly out from the giant, Eddie George poster. Then look for our Home Team flag. And watch for more about our next tailgate on Oct. 6. We’ll be here at church and at LP field! Need more info? Contact Mike Schenck – mschenck87@gmail.com.

THE

em

RUN

LIVING like Jesus, bringing JOY to God

September 22-28, 2013

A Weekly Newsletter of Brentwood United Methodist Church

Luke: A Gospel for Everyone Dr. Davis Chappell continues his focus on the Gospel of Luke in worship through October 13.

POWER 10/12/2013

*

BENEFITTING

HARVEST HANDS

Nashville, TN * Register NOW!

Lace Up Your Running Shoes and Support Harvest Hands 1st Annual emPower Run 5K Run/Walk Saturday, October 12 Taking place in the Harvest Hands neighborhood, the proceeds from this race will benefit Harvest Hands. Overall male and female winner will receive a 1-year supply of Humphreys Street Coffee and WOW! Soap. Includes kids’ race on the field following the 5K as well as activities for the whole family. Sign up a empowerrun.racesonline.com.

New Attendance Pads Have you noticed the change in our attendance pad sheets? You now have an option to subscribe to our weekly Online Newsletter as well as to the Pastoral e-Note. And if you want to be contacted by one of our ministries, just check one of the ministry boxes. Visitors – please give us your contact information so we can stay in touch with you. Members – there’s no need for you to complete the contact information unless you’ve had a change or want to add new information.


STUDENTS 7th - 12th Grades

Sunday, September 22 9:45 am 7th-8th Sunday School – Jr. High Room 9:45 am 9th Sunday School – Tabernacle 9:45 am 10th-12th Sunday School Room A191 9:45 am 10th-12th Church Now 4:00 pm Yth Handbells - B164 7th-9th Grade Schedule 5:00 pm Snack Supper – Café 5:20 pm Worship & Small Groups – Tabernacle 6:45 pm Jubilation Choir – Jr. High Room 10th-12th Grade Schedule 5:00 pm Sonshine Choir – Jr. High Room 6:10 pm Snack Supper – Café 6:30 pm Worship & Small groups –Tabernacle Monday, September 23 6:45 am Manfest w/ Adam @ Dimple’s Deli 3:30 pm meet at BUMC for Harvest Hands Tuesday, September 24 6:30 am Tuesday Breakfast Club w/ Beth - Brueggers’ 6:15 pm Meet at BUMC for Game Night Ministry at Room in the Inn Wednesday, September 25 3:30 pm Meet at BUMC for 61st Ave. UMC’s after school program 6:00 pm Meet youth staff in Cafe to walk to dinner 7:00 pm Youth Bible Studies Friday, September 27 4:00 pm Merge fall retreat check-in Merge Retreat registration is now full! To be added to the waiting list, contact Beth at bseeley@bumc.net Tacky Christmas Dress Tonight as the youth choirs start learning Christmas music for the Advent Concert! High School Girls & Guys Overnight November 2-3. Girls, if you are interested in helping plan this, talk to Lindsay, Guys talk with Adam!

Paid Job Postings BUMC has 2 paid job opportunities: 1) Director of Missions & Outreach (full-time), & 2) Trinity UMC Director of Connections and Life Groups (part-time). See the job descriptions at www.bumc.net/employment. If interested, send the application (from the website) and your current resume to dstorey@bumc.net. Paid Nursery Workers looking for someone to cuddle with the babies and read with the toddlers . Must be at least 16. Contact Meredith Spencer at mspencer@ bumc.net or 324-7239. Singles In Fellowship: Register at www.bumc.net/register Bridge Class for Beginners, Saturdays, Sept 21 - Nov 9, 9-30 to 11:30 am Donna Young will be teaching. No experience required! Cost is $8 per class. Salsa Class, 2nd & 4th Fridays, 7-8 pm, $6 per class, Youth Choir Room Yoga Tuesdays, 6-7:15 pm, Singles Area. All are welcome. Donations encouraged. Art Hall Display Bob Ferguson and David Johnson, BUMC members and part of the late Sandy Schou’s Monday night painting group are having a joint Show and Sale of 40 pieces of their art work. Their Show will be in the Art Breezeway of the Church the months of September and October. 25% of the sale of their works will go to BUMC. Disciple III Bible Study Wednesday Evening, 6:30 - 8:30 pm DISCIPLE Bible Study is underway AND we have room for more people in Disciple III. DIII: ‘Remember Who You Are’ weaves together several themes - the call to remember; the call to repentance; the need for renewed vision; and the place of community. The prophets and Paul are continually calling hearers and readers back to their God and to a sense of who they are as a people “set apart”. Led by Bim Tudor. Register online at www.bumc.net.

Volunteer Opportunities BUMC’s Patient Advocate Ministry Patient Advocate Ministry helps senior adults and their families navigate the complex world of health care. Led by Executive Director, Dottie Campbell, RN, the ministry could use help in the following areas. If you have skills you would like to share, please contact Ron Young, ronyoung@advisory-group.com, 615-351-7117. Bookkeeper – prepare non-profit filings and quarterly filings and other financial tasks; IT Volunteer – perform website maintenance and set up scheduling software; Marketing Volunteer – help get the word out in our church community about PAM. Barnabus Friends Our recent high school graduates just left for their first year of college, and we need volunteers to help keep them connected while they are away. Barnabas Friends volunteers are asked to send the student monthly notes throughout the school year and keep them in continual prayer. If you are interested in “adopting” a new freshman contact Heather Dubuque at 615-300-7893 or HDubuque@InspireHealth.com. Home-Centered Visitation Team Caring Ministries is in need of some more volunteers to join our Home-Centered visitation team. This team visits and cares for members of our congregation who are no longer able to leave their home and come to church on a regular basis. Volunteers meet with their home-centered member once a month for an hour. Contact Rev. Allison Fasig at afasig@bumc.net for more information. Ways to Serve in Worship Come Sing with “Crossing!” Rehearsals are Sundays, 5 pm, adult choir room. Join as we sing with the Sonshine Choir, Awakening Band, or Chancel Choir on occasion. Contact Tim at tghhickman@gmail.com. Scripture Readers needed for 9:50 service. Contact Kelli Huston at khuston@bumc. net. (New readers are welcome!)


CHILDREN

Infants - 6th Grade

Missions & Outreach For more info on all missions call Lisa Alexander at 342-8211 TODAY! Room in the Inn Sunday School Coordinators Meeting Today, from 8:30-9:30 am and again from 11:00 - 11:30 am in room A281b, Haney Hall. Stop by to sign up your class or small group to host a night(s) or learn about other ways to help. New this year, every 1st Tuesday of the month we will host women only, and so will need a female inn keeper or a husband/wife team. At 7 pm on October 22 there will be a kick-off orientation meeting in the GYM, so make plans now to join us! For more info on RITI, contact Scott Gardner at scottgardner.us@gmail.com or (615) 595-0417. Thank you to Fall KidSALE Volunteers Thank you to our AWESOME coordinators and volunteers who made this season’s KidSale such a success! Mark your calendar now for 2014’s Spring’s KidSale dates, March 14-15. Save the Date! Mexico Mission Trip, January 2-12 Supporting Give Ye Them To Eat (www.gytte.org) an integrated ministry of the Methodist Church of Mexico. For more information, contact Dwight Armstrong (dwight_armstrong@ bellsouth.net) or contact the BUMC Missions Department. Mentors Needed for K-5th Graders at 61st Ave UMC Tutoring held Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday, from 4:00 - 5:30 pm. Contact Nita Haywood at nitahaywood@aol.com. Safe Haven Family Shelter Help support Safe Haven by furnishing a meal for their families on the second Thursday of each month. A great program for small groups and Sunday School classes. Families welcome! Book your second Thursday by contacting Jim White at 370-3277 or whitejr8@gmail.com. Safe Haven Family Shelter is a BUMC partner ministry, is one of the only programs in Nashville focused on ending family homelessness through proven educational techniques. Harvest Hands (www.harvesthandscdc.com) Elementary and Middle School After-school Program Volunteers Needed for 2013-2014 Program runs Monday-Thursday, 3:45-6 pm and Friday, 3:45-5 pm. We ask that volunteers make a once a week commitment. We are looking for individuals who care deeply for kids, want to help students learn more about Jesus and succeed in school. Contact Gabby at gabby@harvesthandscdc.com or 615-499-4963.

Sunday, September 22 Nursery 8am to 12pm for infants - 3 years. Sunday A.M. Opportunities 8:30 am Worship Godly Play 9:45 am Sunday school for Adults and Children 9:50 am Awakening Worship - Godly Play 11:00 am Worship Godly Play; Sunday school for Adults and Children Mark Your Calendars: Register online at www.bumc.net/register. • Preschool Bible Presentation & Lunch Sun., Sept. 29, 12 noon • 3rd Grade Bible Blast Sun, Oct. 6, 12 noon. Note date correction! Volunteers/Teachers Needed: 9:45: Male teacher needed for 4th grade boys’ class. Sunday School Materials Prep: Help prepare, copy, and set up supplies each week. Some prep-work, and a weekly commitment.

Laptop Donations Needed If you have a gently used, good conditioned laptop you no longer use, we would love to take it off your hands! Mac laptops are preferred, but PCs are accepted. Contact Abby at abby@harvesthandscdc.com or 615-499-4963. Sign Up Now for Harvest Hands 1st Annual emPower Run 5K Run/Walk The first 100 registrants will receive a free pair of Swiftwick running socks. All proceeds benefit Harvest Hands. Race is October 12 and will take place in the Harvest Hands neighborhood. Overall male and female winner will receive a 1-year supply of Humphreys Street Coffee and WOW! Soap. Includes kids’ races on the field following the 5K as well as activities for the whole family. Sign up at empowerrun.racesonline.com.

who to contact Adult Studies/Small Grps Judith Bone, 324-7258 jbone@bumc.net

Mission & Outreach Lisa Alexander, 324-7211, lalexander@bumc.net

To Get Connected Jeff Wilson, 324-8208 jwilson@bumc.net

Caring Ministry Laura Brantley, 373-3663 lbrantley@bumc.net

Single Adult Ministry Shebbie Shields, 324-7240 sshields@bumc.net

Worship & Music Shannon Garrett, 577-7267 sgarrett@bumc.net

Children’s Ministry Ellen Garrett, 577-7261 egarrett@bumc.net

Student Ministry Lindsay Brooks, 324-8212 lbrooks@bumc.net

Communications Carol Bumbalough, 324-7220 cbumbalough@bumc.net

H.I.G.H.W.A.Y. 56 5th & 6th Grades Sunday, September 22 Sunday School 9:45 am in the GYM Mileage 5-6 pm in the GYM Alleluia Choir 6-7 pm in the Adult Choir Room Wednesday, Sept 25 Extra Mile 6:15-7:30 pm, Rm 305 Created by God for 6th Graders October 24, 25, 26 Register online at www.bumc.net/register. Space is limited so sign up today!


Brentwood

UNITED METHODIST CHURCH

309 Franklin Road Brentwood, Tn 37027 615-373-3663 www.bumc.net

WORSHIP Saturday Evening 6:00 pm Casual Traditional Worship in the Chapel Sunday Morning 8:30 am Traditional/Blended Worship with Youth Choir 9:45 am Classes for Children, Students, and Adults 9:50 am Contemporary Worship with Worship Band 11:00 am Traditional Worship with Adult Chancel Choir 11:00 am Classes for Children & Adults

TRINITY CHURCH 3011 Longford Drive Spring Hill, TN 37174 Sundays 10:00 am Worship

WORSHIP ATTENDANCE September 14/15, 2013 2,719

CARING MINISTRIES

www.bumc.net/encouragement RESOURCES Adoption Support & Orphan Ministry Contact: Stephanie Walton, 891-2690 Cancer Support: Partners in Hope Contact: Jeanetta Fargo, 435-3716 ejaefargo@comcast.net Domestic Abuse Contact: Caroline Beavers, 371-2550. Email 24/7 Intercessory Prayer Team Contact: Bill Fleenor, bfleenor@outlook.com Emergency Financial & Food Assistance Contact: Lisa Alexander, 373-3663, ext. 211, lalexander@bumc.net Encouragement Cards: GraceNotes Contact: Beth Frankenberg, bethfrankenberg@me.com Financial Coaching (Trained Mentors) Contact: Rev. Laura Brantley, lbrantley@bumc.net Home-centered Visitation Contact: Rev. Allison Fasig, afasig@bumc.net Home Health Product Assistance Contact: Scottish Rite, 259-3434 Home Repairs: Handy Man Ministry Contact: 373-3690, x398, handyman@bumc.net Infertility Support Contact: Gretchen Voyles, gvoyles98@hotmail.com Memory Loss Caregiver Respite: Sunny Day Club Contact: Katie Anderson, 370-9467 Patient Advocate Ministry Contact: Rev. Laura Brantley, lbrantley@bumc.net Short-term Meals: Fishes & Loaves Contact: Katie Winstead katie_winstead@yahoo.com Spiritual Counseling with Pastors Contact: Julie Donley, 324-7254, jdonley@bumc.net or Carla Barrios, 373-3663 x252, cbarrios@bumc.net Brentwood United Methodist Church Counseling Center for children, youth & families. www.bumc.net/counselingcenter It is home to experts in helping families and individuals resolve real life problems.

HOSPITAL VISITATION AT BUMC The Pastoral Staff of BUMC visits area hospitals on a regular and rotating basis. Hospitals do not inform the church when its members are admitted. Please let the church know if you (or a family member) are hospitalized by contacting Julie Donley, jdonley@bumc.net, 615-324-7254.

GROUPS AA Groups 1 pm, Monday-Sunday, BH 102 9 am, Monday (For Women Only), BH102 8:30 am, Tuesday & Thursday, BH102 7 pm, Tuesday & Thursday, BH201 7 pm, Friday (For Men Only), BH 101 11:30 am, Mon, Wed, Fri, BH102 Adult ADHD/ADD Support Group 1st & 3rd Mondays, 6:30 pm, A392 Contact: Terry Huff, 627-4191 Adult ADHD/ADD Spouse Workshops Contact: Terry Huff, 627-4191 Al-Anon Tuesdays, 7 pm, Buchanan House 102 Alzheimer’s Contact: Barbara Jones, 373-1941 or Sue Dill, 970-8393 Career Transitions Each Monday, 6:30 pm - Haney Hall Contact: Hal Hassall, 972-5119 Divorce Recovery Contact: Shebbie Shields, 324-7240 Grief Support Contact: Alive Hospice, 963-4732. MS Self Help Contact: Sandie Mountz, 376-5395.

A Stephen Minister Could Make a Real Difference in Your Life! We all go through times in our life when we could benefit from a little extra care and attention. Stephen Ministers have been trained to provide confidential, one-to-one, Christian care and encouragement. To find out more, call Sheryl at 373-3690 ext. 394 or Rev. Allison Fasig at 373-3663.


BEAM - Sept 22 Issue  

BEAM - Sept 22 Issue

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you