Issuu on Google+

Celebrating everyday life

with Jennifer Carroll


Welcome Autumn Baking the Harvest Delicious Autumn Recipes

Halloween on the Porch Join us for Spook-tacular Treats and Vintage Charms... Ideas to Inspire Fireside Suppers Autumn Hideaways Velvet Pumpkins and more!

Mary Engelbreit

What inspired her success and what she still dreams of achieving September/October 2013

september • october 2013

hello Welcome to autumn! My most

favorite of all the seasons. I adore the spectrum of colors that are represented during this time of year — the warm rusts, chocolates, oranges and golds, to name but a few. I relish the layers of cozy sweaters and tweeds, pulling on favorite boots and trekking out on foot or on horseback to take in the sights, smells and sounds of the season... I live near the Blue Ridge Mountains and am always dazzled by the spectacular show of colors that blaze over these hills like a patchwork quilt. In this issue we celebrate this golden season and take you to a fireside suppper, a Halloween porch party, an autumn hideaway, inside beautiful homes and more! We share decorating projects, crafts and delicious recipes that help you bring the beauty you find on these pages into your own home. We are also inspired by amazingly talented women like Mary Engelbreit, "the Queen of Everything," and Michelle Joy of Primrose and Company, who both share secrets to running successful businesses and becoming all you are destined to be! It is my sincere hope that you will be blessed and inspired by all that you read, that within these pages, you will find ways to celebrate your everyday life, today. I wish you joy in this season and thank you from the bottom of my heart for purchasing this issue and joining me in my dream to share this magazine with creative women (and men) all over the world. This magazine is a big dream come true for me and one that would not be possible without you. So, thank you, dear reader. Thank you. Happy Celebrating!


photo: Jen Fariello

“There is a garden in every childhood, an enchanted

place where colors are brighter, the air softer, and the morning more fragrant than ever again.� Elizabeth Lawrence


September | October 2013


celebrate . everyday




16 8 Contributors

All the lovely ladies involved.

12 Products We Heart

A collection of products to help you celebrate every day.

14 On Our Bookshelf

Books to enjoy while sitting snuggled up with your favorite cuppa!

16 Faux Galvanized Metal Bunting Create the look of galvanized metal in your party decor!

18 Craft Stash Necklace

Turn bits & pieces of crafting leftovers into beautiful jewelry.

20 Plastic Pumpkin Planter

Transform a humble plastic pumpkin into a chic planter with Mod Podge!

22 Patchwork Pouffes

Learn how to make this versatile and extremely popular seat for your home.

24 Falling Gardens

Enjoy the smoky, deep, dark tones of fall in the garden this season.

28 A Velvet Harvest

Create your own pumpkin harvest ‌ with a twist!

31 Glowing Gourds

Illuminate your home this season with candles molded from squash harvested straight from your garden or grocer.

32 Keeping a Cozy Coop

5 tips to keeping happy, healthy chickens.

36 A Pioneer Birthday

A celebration filled with laughs and crafts inspired by the writing of Laura Ingalls Wilder.



September | October 2013

54 40 Business Is Bliss

Michelle Joy of Primrose and Company shares her expertise as a boutique business owner and offers tips for starting the business of your dreams.

44 A Fireside Supper

Gather around the fire with us as we enjoy a cozy dinner outdoors.

54 Halloween Porch Party

Celebrate this Halloween at a party on the porch filled with decor ideas with a literary twist.

62 Welcome Friends

Greet family and friends with a bountiful arrangement crafted from chicken wire, book pages, fall leaves, berries, roses and more!

64 In the Cool of the Evening...

A romantic & slightly spooky Halloween table. Yes, "love is kind of crazy," but who says Halloween can't be romantic? We've set a table for two that is sure to inspire a Spooky little romance!

68 A Collected Home

Step inside home-decor blogger Kim Nichols's beautiful abode, which celebrates the beauty and charm of both English Country and French Country styles.

72 Terrarium

Explore the beauty of tiny enchanted gardens under glass.

78 Pie Awareness

An essay on what to do when you find your fingers in too many pies.

82 An Autumn Hideaway

Step inside a rustic retreat, creating a romantic getaway.


celebrate . everyday

92 Nature's Palette

Soothing tones of cream & gray create a restful atmosphere in your home during a season that is otherwise ablaze in color.

96 Mary Engelbreit: “The Queen of Expression”

We chat with the celebrated illustrator about her journey of success and her hopes and dreams for the future.

100 A Season's Girl

An essay on one woman's love affair with the season.

104 Baking the Harvest: Apple Recipes

Delicious and simple dessert recipes to bake up one of this season's most enjoyed fruits: apples!

106 Blue-Ribbon Recipes!

The winning recipes from our 2013 Best Fall Recipes contest!

110 Pumpkin Pecan Ice Cream + Bourbon Sauce A deliciously decadent dessert featuring the beloved flavors of fall.

111 Candy Corn Rice Krispie Treats

A trick-or-treater's dream! These oversized snacks make sweet classroom treats too!

112 Grilled Pizza

Savor the last few hours of grill season with this deliciously simple roasted vegetable and salami pizza.

114 The Manual

Your source for recipes & instructions to all the inspiration featured in this issue!

133 Resources

Details on where you can find many of the items featured in this issue.

134 Next Time

A quick look at some of what’s coming up in the next issue!

82 32


What do you love most about Autumn?

Lucy Ancheta-Akins

Sussie Bell

Beth Bryan

Kelly Elko

My favourite thing about fall is the beautiful changing landscape that inspires me to paint. It makes me feel like a true artist.

Curling up in front of the fire while you can hear the wind and the rain lashing down outside the window.

Leaf-peeping in Vermont is my favorite thing about Fall.

Breaking out my boots and jeans is my favorite thing when summer turns to brisk fall days. Crunch, crunch beneath my Frye boots — there's no sound better!

Tracey Fisher

Jill Flory

Andrea Fowler

My favorite things about Autumn are the crisp air, incredibly blue sky, the crunch of fallen leaves and adding fun jackets and cardigans to my wardrobe!

I love the crisp air, the beautiful colors, and listening to squeals of laughter from my girls as they jump into piles of leaves!

photo: Lynne Brubaker

Jen Fariello

The crisp air and the rich colors. I love the over-the-top pumpkin and floral arrangements that grace the porches in my neighborhood of The Beach area in Toronto.

8 september/october 2013 |

photo: Rebekah Musser

Julie Haworth

Vanessa Hunt

Selina Lake

Dara Powers Parker

Apples... I'm a New England girl and grew up surrounded by u-pick orchards, apple-cider donuts and apple festivals... We named the tables at our fall wedding after apple varieties and used my favorite Macoun apples as centerpieces.

Everything! It's a sensory extravaganza and I love every single bit of it!

I love wearing cosy knit cardigans on those sunny but chilly days and admiring the warm tones of the changing leaves.

The scents! Chrysanthemums, pumpkins, apple orchards, woodsmoke, fallen leaves, and fragrant air.

Heather Patterson

Amy Renea


Karen Riley

Football. Football. Football!

I love the air so crisp and clear you can taste it like a fresh Granny Smith apple and the sounds of marching bands warming up every Friday night in anticipation of the BIG GAME.

My favorite thing about autumn is anticipation for all of the wonderful holidays ahead in the next few months.

I love the crisp, cool air that brings layered clothing, savory soups and the smell of hearth fires in the evening.

photo: Jen Fariello | september/october 2013 9


What do you love most about Autumn?

photo: Jen Fariello

Sherry Spencer & Pat Roberts

All the sights and smells of the Harvest season: the medley of colors in the trees, the crunch of fallen leaves underfoot, the scent of wood-burning fires in the air...

photo: Jen Fariello

Kelly Trout

It sounds strange, but Fall for me always signals a new start! I guess 20+ years of school reset my personal calendar so that Autumn is my own personal New Year! Goal setting, closet cleaning, planning for the coming holiday season... I love the feel of a clean slate and the promise of family time just around the corner!

Lisa TutmanOglesby Hands down, the vibrant colors of Autumn make waiting for this season well worth it. Mother Nature's spectacle along with her cool, crisp air is a welcome transition that always makes this my favorite time of year.

Karianne Wood I love Autumn with its brilliant hues and cool crisp afternoons with a cup of sparkling cider on the back porch.

Thank you for sharing your talent and creativity. I appreciate each of you!

10 september/october 2013 |

September | October 2013 Editor & Designer Jennifer Carroll Photographers Sussie Bell Jennifer Carroll Celebrating Everyday Life the magazine and Jen Fariello Celebrating Everyday Life the blog are divisions of Contributors Lucy Ancheta-Akins Jennifer Carroll Media, LLC. Beth Bryan

Kelly Elko Tracey Fisher Jill Flory Andrea Fowler Follow Julie Haworth Celebrating Everyday Life Vanessa Hunt online: Selina Lake Dara Powers Parker BLOG: Heather Patterson Amy Renea Reni Facebook: Karen Riley Pat Roberts Sherry Spencer Pinterest: Kelly Trout Lisa Tutman-Oglesby Karianne Wood Twitter: Proofreader Dara Powers Parker Hair & Makeup Stylist Lucinda Riley Director of Advertising & Marketing Janet Matthews Assistant Director of Advertising Natash Hayden Special Consultant Lisa Gladwell


Manuscripts and artwork can be accepted only on the understanding that Celebrating Everyday Life is not liable for their safekeeping. Unfortunately We Cannot Accept Any Unsolicited Manuscripts. Although we make every effort to quote the correct price of all merchandise, it is possible some prices may have changed since we went to press. While we always do our best to ensure that firms and organizations mentioned in the issue are reputable, the Editor can give no guarantee that they will fulfill their obligations under any circumstances. Celebrating Everyday Life is published bi-monthly (6 issues per year) by Jennifer Carroll Media, LLC. ISSN 2327-9028 (print); ISSN 2327-9044 (online); Š A Publication of Jennifer Carroll Media, LLC | september/october 2013 11

food, decor, and inspiration for

Purc h com ase the ple digi tal e te for o dition nly $

September|October 2013

for a 3.95 limi BUY ted time!



food, decor, and inspiration for

se the a h c r Pu lete comp tion i d e l digita nly for o

$ 3.95 ime! ited t m i l for a W



September|October 2013

food, decor, and inspiration for

September|October 2013

Purc h com ase the ple digi tal e te for o dition nly $

for a 3.95 limi ted time BU





Celebrating everyday life

with Jennifer Carroll

Want to see the entire 134 page issue? Click here to purchase a Digital or Print copy today!

follow us:

Blog: Facebook: CelebratingEverydayLife Pinterest: Advertising:

Purc h com ase the ple digi tal e te for o dition nly $

September/October 2013

for a 3.95 limi ted time BU





PREVIEW of September/October 2013 issue of Celebrating Everyday Life with Jennifer Carroll