5 minute read

ALUMNI NEWS Class notes, Sycamore Expressions


Frank Jozsa ‘63, GR ‘72, of Tega Cay, South Carolina, authored “The Making of Modern Baseball” (Meyer & Meyer Sport, 2020) and “The Making of Modern Football” (Kindle Amazon e-book, 2021).


Michael Phillips ’69, was honored posthumously in September 2021. The Lost Creek Grove Community dedicated its basketball court as the “Michael L. Phillips Memorial Basketball Court.”


Richard Pearson ’73, of Valparaiso, was inducted into the Michigan City Area Schools Wall of Fame for 2021.

Dennis Faulkenberg ’75, of Indianapolis, retired from APPIAN, Inc. after a 45-year career in government affairs and lobbying. He was owner and president for the past 14 years.

P. Gordon Sroufe ’76, of Omaha, Nebraska, released his first novel, “It Started On a Tuesday.”


Fred Bonewell ’80, of San Antonio, Texas, was promoted in June to the Chief Operating Officer of CPS Energy.

William “Bill” Neiderer

’85, GR ’88, of South Bend, retired from Elkhart Community Schools after 35 years of public school teaching in Indiana and Iowa.

Amy Ahlfeld ’87, of Pinehurst, North Carolina, retired in November 2020 from Stanley Black & Decker as Director of Global Sourcing. During her 21-year career, she was awarded the SBD “Eagle Award” her significant work.

Acel McDonald ’89, GR

’15, of Indianapolis, started in March 2021 as a Procurement Analyst, Principal at BAE Systems in Fort Wayne.


Gerry Dick ’90, of Indianapolis, will serve as President of Inside INdiana Business as a new division of IBJ Media. IBJ Media acquired Grow INdiana Media Ventures LLC and the INside Indiana Business platform in August after Gerry built the platform over the last 20 years.

David Meyer ’92, of Arlington, Virginia, retired from the U.S. Border Patrol main headquarters in Washington, D.C.

Leslie Bailey ’93, of Terre Haute, is the CEO for Slone Partners. In June 2021, the firm was named among the nation’s Top Workplaces for 2021 by the Washington Post.

US Navy Commander

David Clark ’99, of Virginia Beach, Virginia, was named Commanding Officer of the Naval Information Warfare Training Group Norfolk.


Jennifer Wright ’05, of Alamogordo, New Mexico, published her first novel, “If It Rains.”

Brian Lewis ’06, of Jasper, became an Assistant Commissioner of the IHSAA. He will administer the sports of boys and girls cross country, boys basketball, boys and girls track and field, and unified track and field.


Robert Tye Sullivan ’10, of Vevay, was named Executive Director for the Community Foundation of Switzerland County.

Dr. Jenalee Cooksey ’11, of Gary, is a general surgeon at IU Health West Hospital. She was honored in July 2021 with the hospital’s Physician Sanctuary Award.

Taylor Schaffer ’11, of Indianapolis, serves as the Chief of Staff and Chief Deputy Mayor of Indianapolis. She was named to the Indianapolis Business Journal 40 under 40 for the Class of 2021.

Trent Fox ’12, of Danville, was promoted to Vice President of Government Relations for the Indianapolis Hospital Association. He previously served as the association’s senior director of public policy and legislative relations and as chief of staff for Indiana Department of Health Commissioner Dr. Kris Box.

Robert DeFrance ’72, GR ’73, GR ’74, of Terre Haute and retired Indiana State assistant professor, has been a wood carver for many years. Most recently, he has been carving Sycamore leaves. ISU purchases the artwork for official gifts from the university to dignitaries.

Jeff Papa PhD ’16, of Sheridan, was appointed Editor-in-Chief of the Mensa Research Journal. The subscription-based Mensa Research Journal highlights scholarly articles and research related to intelligence from a diverse selection of nationally and internationally esteemed authors.

Brennan Hadley ’17, of Coatesville, was admitted to Tufts University Medical School in Boston for its accelerated Doctor of Physical Therapy Program.

Katie Jenner GR ’17, of Indianapolis, was named the Indiana Secretary of Education in January 2021. She was recognized by the Indianapolis Business Journal to this year’s 40 under 40.

Roland Wilson ’19, of Indianapolis, was named to the inaugural class of “Conexus Rising 30.” He serves as an Assistant Operations Manager— Variable Labor at GEODIS.


Dr. Aaron Baute PhD ’20, of Lafayette, was named Lafayette Campus Chancellor for Ivy Tech Community College.

Tiarra Taylor ’20, of Jeffersonville, was featured on an episode of HGTV’s House Hunters in June for the search for her first home.

Michelle White ’20, of Indianapolis, was named to the inaugural class of “Conexus Rising 30.” White serves as a Forecast Planner for Rolls-Royce. The new program by Conexus Indiana recognizes 30 advanced manufacturing and logistics professionals under the age of 30 who are distinguishing themselves as future stars of the industry.

Our alumni achieve remarkable successes every day.

Learning about your significant life events, such as marriages, promotions, awards, community involvement, and even the addition of new Sycamores into your family, inspires us. Do you have some good news to share?

We love highlighting our Sycamores—whether it be on social media, in STATE Magazine or on our website—but we can’t do it without your help! Let us know what’s happening in your life.

Share your personal and professional accomplishments by filling out the online form at indstate.edu/alumni.

Indiana State University University Communication 200 North 7th Street Terre Haute, IN 47809


Get Indiana State University news

delivered to your inbox. Keep up with what’s happening on campus with the same email newsletter students, faculty, and staff receive.

Subscribe to ISU Today by sending an email to listserv@listserv.indstate.edu with only the words subscribe ISU-COMMUNITY-L in the body of the message. Email signatures or attached vcards will prohibit the subscription process.

You will receive an email with a link to finalize your subscription. Click that link, and you should be sent one more email verifying your subscription to ISU Today.

Social icon


Only use blue and/or white.

For more details check out our Brand Guidelines.