STATE magazine Fall 2021

Page 36

1960s Frank Jozsa ‘63, GR ‘72, of Tega Cay, South Carolina, authored “The Making of Modern Baseball” (Meyer & Meyer Sport, 2020) and “The Making of Modern Football” (Kindle Amazon e-book, 2021). Michael Phillips ’69, was

honored posthumously in September 2021. The Lost Creek Grove Community dedicated its basketball court as the “Michael L. Phillips Memorial Basketball Court.”

Acel McDonald ’89, GR ’15, of Indianapolis,

Jennifer Wright ’05, of Alamogordo, New Mexico, published her first novel, “If It Rains.” Brian Lewis ’06, of Jasper, became an Assistant Commissioner of the IHSAA. He will administer the sports of boys and girls cross country, boys basketball, boys and girls track and field, and unified track and field.




Richard Pearson ’73, of Valparaiso, was inducted into the Michigan City Area Schools Wall of Fame for 2021.

Gerry Dick ’90, of Indianapolis, will serve as President of Inside INdiana Business as a new division of IBJ Media. IBJ Media acquired Grow INdiana Media Ventures LLC and the INside Indiana Business platform in August after Gerry built the platform over the last 20 years.

Vevay, was named Executive Director for the Community Foundation of Switzerland County.

P. Gordon Sroufe ’76, of

Omaha, Nebraska, released his first novel, “It Started On a Tuesday.”

1980s Fred Bonewell ’80, of San Antonio, Texas, was promoted in June to the Chief Operating Officer of CPS Energy. William “Bill” Neiderer ’85, GR ’88, of South

Bend, retired from Elkhart Community Schools after


Amy Ahlfeld ’87, of Pinehurst, North Carolina, retired in November 2020 from Stanley Black & Decker as Director of Global Sourcing. During her 21-year career, she was awarded the SBD “Eagle Award” her significant work.


started in March 2021 as a Procurement Analyst, Principal at BAE Systems in Fort Wayne.

Dennis Faulkenberg ’75, of Indianapolis, retired from APPIAN, Inc. after a 45-year career in government affairs and lobbying. He was owner and president for the past 14 years.


35 years of public school teaching in Indiana and Iowa.

David Meyer ’92, of Arlington,

Virginia, retired from the U.S. Border Patrol main headquarters in Washington, D.C.

Leslie Bailey ’93, of Terre

Haute, is the CEO for Slone Partners. In June 2021, the firm was named among the nation’s Top Workplaces for 2021 by the Washington Post. US Navy Commander David Clark ’99, of Virginia

Beach, Virginia, was named Commanding Officer of the Naval Information Warfare Training Group Norfolk.

Robert Tye Sullivan ’10, of

Dr. Jenalee Cooksey ’11, of Gary, is a general surgeon at IU Health West Hospital. She was honored in July 2021 with the hospital’s Physician Sanctuary Award. Taylor Schaffer ’11, of Indianapolis, serves as the Chief of Staff and Chief Deputy Mayor of Indianapolis. She was named to the Indianapolis Business Journal 40 under 40 for the Class of 2021. Trent Fox ’12, of Danville, was promoted to Vice President of Government Relations for the Indianapolis Hospital Association. He previously served as the association’s senior director of public policy and legislative relations and as chief of staff for Indiana Department of Health Commissioner Dr. Kris Box.