Holly & Smith Architects 2021 in Review and Looking Ahead to 2022

Page 1

Holly & Smith Architects 2021 in Review AND LOOKING AHEAD TO 2022

Holly & Smith Architects had another successful year in 2021, completing numerous projects, including Delgado Community College

Advanced Technology Center, Mandeville High School Classroom Building and Gymnasium Addition, STOA Group Headquarters, Entergy Corporate Headquarters 7th Floor, McNeese State University Repairs, Entergy Corporate Headquarters 28th Floor, CHRISTUS Highland Breast Center Improvements, and H/S also named our next-generation leadership team at the beginning of 2021 and spent the entire year celebrating our 40th anniversary as a design firm.


Delgado Advanced Technology Center On August 16, 2021, Delgado Community College celebrated with a ribboncutting ceremony to open the new Advanced Technology Center at the West Bank Campus in Algiers, Louisiana. The Delgado Advanced Technology Center represents a significant expansion of the 15-acre footprint of the West Bank Campus. This center will house all academic STEM programs, labs, and faculty to serve academic and workforce programs for Algiers and the West Bank of New Orleans, specifically the healthcare, petrochemical, digital media, and transportation logistics industries. MAPP, Inc. was the General Contractor for the project. Consultants include Morphy, Makofsky, Inc. (Civil, Structural), Creative Engineering Group (Electrical), Crumb Engineering LLC (Mechanical), and Roy Dufreche & Associates (Landscape).

Mandeville High School Classroom Building and Gymnasium Addition Completed in June 2021, this new three-story classroom building nestled in Mandeville High School’s campus provides 38 classrooms that replaced 32 existing modular classrooms with a permanent building. The façade of this new building, while appearing random, is in fact a twist on the Fibonacci Sequence and will be used as a teaching tool in the classroom. Existing locker rooms were also renovated and the addition of a new wrestling practice facility cradles the outdoor collaboration courtyard. Thompson Construction Co., LLC was the General Contractor for the project. Consultants include Kyle Associates, LLC (Civil), Morphy, Makofsky, Inc. (Structural), Creative Engineering Group (Electrical), and Crumb Engineering LLC (Mechanical).


STOA Group Headquarters Completed in September 2021, the new office headquarters building for STOA Group is a 16,000 sq. ft., two-story structure in the heart of downtown Hammond, Louisiana. The majority of the first floor is designed as speculative office space for future tenants. STOA Group, a development company specializing in multi-family residential, occupies the entire second floor. Staff and executive offices, a large staff training classroom, and a staff breakroom with a “coffee shop” vibe comprise the interior spaces. The first floor beneath the training room is an open-air patio with outdoor seating. STOA Construction, LLC was the General Contractor for the project. Consultants include Kyle Associates LLC (Civil, Structural), and Salas O’Brien, LLC (MEP).

Entergy Corporate Headquarters, 7th Floor Completed in March 2021, the 7th-floor renovation of Entergy Corporate Headquarters in the New Orleans Central Business District modernized the space, providing an updated look and feel for this progressive space. The design concept was to pull all rooms off the exterior wall and use that exterior wall as a circulation path, providing every occupant with access to natural light and spectacular views of the city. Technology was incorporated in each space to elevate the ability to communicate both in-person and virtually. Kent Design Build was the General Contractor for the project with Lucien T. Vivien, Jr. & Associates, Inc. providing mechanical, electrical & plumbing, and AOS Interior Environments as the wall vendor.

McNeese State University Quad B, Hurricane Laura Repairs In October 2020, H/S was commissioned by the State of Louisiana to repair one-quarter of the McNeese State University campus and was challenged to get this portion of campus operational by January 2021. This encompassed a massive amount of hurricane repair work. With the assistance of M&E Consulting, Ritter Consulting Engineers, and Fox-Nesbit Engineering working diligently with the State & McNeese as a team, H/S accomplished that challenge.

Entergy Corporate Headquarters 28th Floor Completed September 2021, this interior renovation modernized the executive floor of this Class A office building. Last updated over 20 years prior, the space was in need of a facelift. The lobby was redesigned to incorporate a shared conference room and a digital directory while also doubling as a hospitality space. Other pubic areas received new finishes, ceilings, lighting, furniture, and artwork. Landis Construction was the General Contractor for the project with ADG Engineers providing mechanical, electrical & plumbing, and AOS Interior Environments as the modular wall vendor.

CHRISTUS Highland Breast Center Improvements Completed August 2021, this interior renovation included new finishes, furniture, and artwork for the waiting areas, corridors, and exam rooms of a breast center. The updated look created a calming, peaceful environment for patients and staff. Gene Nims Builder was the General Contractor for the project and Workplace Resource as the furniture vendor.

H/S Celebrated 40 Years of Design H/S celebrated its 40th anniversary as a design firm throughout 2021 by sharing the history of our firm and our people, spotlighting some significant projects, and contributing to service organizations that we found meaningful to our organization. After 40 years of practicing architecture in the region, H/S also appointed new leadership, setting the stage for the organization’s future. The Board of Directors appointed Kevin Morris as its new President, Ryan Faulk as CEO, and Pierre Theriot as Vice President in Charge of Design Direction. In addition, Michael Holly and Jeffrey Smith, the Founding Principals, will remain engaged in an advisory capacity, each in their respective roles, as Chairman of the Board and Design Principal, respectively.


H/S project received recognition for design H/S is committed to providing design solutions that are innovative, forward-thinking, and budget responsive. Our primary goal is creating purpose-driven, quality architecture, which is fundamentally focused on client satisfaction. Though it is not our goal of receiving awards, it is still gratifying when our peers recognize our design work. Our 2021 award recognition was for the FAULK RESIDENCE, which received an AIA Baton Rouge Rose Award.

Looking Ahead to 2022

Looking ahead to a successful 2022, H/S will see the completed construction of: • NOPD 4th District Police Station • LSU Studio Arts Building • Kentwood Library Branch • Entergy Metro Region Service Center • Hampton Inn Garden District interior renovations • Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter interior renovations • Hampton Inn Convention Center interior renovations • Ponchatoula High School Classroom Addition • Village De L’Est Multi-Purpose Building

H/S partners in the Revitalization of Historic Hammond H/S supported the Hammond Downtown Development District in the Revitalization of Historic Hammond with the purchase of a railroad park bench that will help make the new Hammond Railroad Park possible. This bench will be enjoyed by many generations to come. We have always been dedicated to Downtown Hammond and continue to support the Hammond DDD. The park will be complete in 2022. H/S EXPERIENCE As human beings, we spend our personal and professional time within the built environment. As Architects, we are privileged to create spaces where people can gather, live, learn, work, eat, sleep, and worship. Therefore, it is incumbent that we design spaces that enhance the quality of life and nurture a greater passion for living. Our design approach is influenced by the environment, culture, and community in which architecture exists. To take it further... We Design for Life. HOLLY & SMITH ARCHITECTS, APAC 208 North Cate St. , Hammond La 70401 985.345.5210

2022, will also see construction to begin on: • Southeastern Louisiana University D. Vickers Hall • Champ Cooper Elementary School Additions • D.C. Reeves Elementary School Additions • Lake Charles National Guard Readiness Center

2302 Magazine St., New Orleans La 70130 504.585.1315

hollyandsmith.com


Issuu converts static files into: digital portfolios, online yearbooks, online catalogs, digital photo albums and more. Sign up and create your flipbook.