Page 59

Sunday October 28, 2012

Kaieteur News

15th Troy Humphrey Mem. Cycle Meet...

Page 59

Rastaff O’Selmo is tops in feature 25-lap race

(ABOVE) Members of the Humhrey’s family pose with the winners and top performers following yesterday’s annual memorial race meet at the National Park. (RIGHT) Rastaff O’Selmo is a comfortable winner of the feature race. He is followed to the line by Eric Sankar and Paul Choo-wee-nam. (Franklin Wilson photo) By Franklin Wilson Linden’s Rastaff O’Selmo of the Bauxite Flyers Cycle Club rode off with the feature 25-lap contest when the 15th annual Troy Humphrey Memorial Cycle Meet was held yesterday at the Inner Circuit of the National Park. Sponsored by Humphrey’s Bakery & Farm Products and Friends, yesterday’s event attracted 74 cyclists overall and the day’s activities were exciting as usual with the top finishers receiving attractive cash prizes. O’Selmo completed the race with an entertaining sprint home that saw him out pedaling Eric Sankar, Paul Choo-wee-nam, Raymond ‘Steely’ Newton and Orville Hinds in that order. Warren Mc Kay completed the top six. The top five riders broke away from the main bunch around the eight (8) lap and

never looked back. Hinds captured three of the eight prime prizes with two each to Sankar and Choo-wee-nam with O’Selmo taking the other. The host club, Roraima Bikers Cycle Club won the team time trials, the team of Mc Kay, Newton, Alonzo Greaves and Marlon ‘Fishy’ Williams clocking a time of 5 Minutes 46.28 Seconds. Second was Linden’s O’Selmo, Hinds, Delroy Hinds and Akeem Arthur who stopped the clock at 5 Minutes 52.02 Seconds. Team Coco’s – Michael Anthony, Paul DeNobrega, Raynauth Jeffrey and Raul L e a l c o p p e d third in 6 Minutes 03.66 Seconds. Continental Cycle Club’s quartet of Enzo Matthews, Geron Williams, Kestor Croal and Andre Abdool came next in 6 Minutes 04.03 Seconds. Berbician Marica Dick won the female contest from

Toshanna Doris. Jeffrey was unstoppable in the Junior/Juvenile 20-lap match-up also taking the 5primes on offer. Anthony was next in ahead of Leal. In the veteran Under-50 race, Junior Niles proved the better of the lot with victory over Ian Jackson and Kennard Lovell in that order while in the Over-50 contest; Virgil Jones prevailed ahead of Kenneth M e i j e a n d Walter Isaacs. The top Mountain bike rider was Keon Thomas who crossed the line followed by Nigel Jacobs and Julio Melville. In the BMX races, the winner of the 6 – 11 1-lap clash was Keon Harris who won from Rashidi Ceres and Tyrone Gharbarran in that order. Adrian Sharma won the 12-14 2-lap encounter from Jamal John and Raphael Leung. RBC presented special prizes to their riders that

GCA\Noble House Seafoods 2 day second division tourney...

Grovensor hits century in latest action Jermin Grovesnor smashed a stroked filled century as GNIC took first innings points from Vikings when play in the Georgetown Cricket Association\Noble House 2 day second division competition continued yesterday in the city. At YMCA, Vikings were bowled out for 137 after batting first, Brian Haynes top scored with 40 (3x4,3x6), Damien Ross made 25, and R. Sumair chipped in with 20. Premchan Sookdeo grabbed 7-47, while L. B i s s e s s a r t o o k 2-44. Grovesnor then slammed fifteen fours and six sixes in a well played 147 and got

support from Tevin Collins 47 (5x4,2x6) as GNIC closed day one on 291-7 off 49 overs. At GYO, DCC and the host were locked in a keen battle; DCC batted first and scored 245 all out in 55 overs. Opener Kemol Savory was their leading run getter with 58 (5x4,1x6), while Leroy Primo 37, Ronaldo Renee 36, Jahron Byron 25, and Cletus Johnson 23 supported well. Pravindralall Persaud captured 5-49. GYO closed day on one 139-4 in 28 overs with Shivnandan Roopnarine unbeaten on 78 (11x4, 1x6), and with him was Wazeer Mohamed not out on 18. Persaud had earlier made 27. At MYO, GCC grabbed

first innings points from the home team. The visitors took first strike and scored 215 before being bowled out in 45.3 overs. Fadil Umrow led with 56 (5x4), while Alex Ramalho contributed 39, Almando Doman 22 and Shamar Graham 22. Imtiaz Pooran and Parmanand Parsram claimed 3 wickets each for MYO who in reply were bowled out on the stroke of time for 181 in 33.2 overs. Mohamed Wazidally with 48(10x4,1x6), Saheed Gittens 34, and Abrahim Wazidally 24 were their principal scorers as Devon Lord bagged 6-31 and Kevin Plants 2-6. The competition continues tomorrow. (Zaheer Mohamed)

participated yesterday; Warren Mc Kay (Club Captain), Raymond Newton, Marlon Williams, Alonzo Greaves, Alex Mendes, Mario King, Virgil Jones, Mark Harris and Bochel Samaroo. The club has expressed thanks to all the riders who came out and competed to

ensure that the day’s activities were successful. Troy Humphrey, one of Guyana’s star riders died tragically by accident 15 years ago and ever since the Humphrey’s family has been keeping his name alive by hosting this event that is ranked as the most lucrative

cycling Meet in Guyana. Troy’s dad, George also expressed sincere thanks to all present for the support noting that the family and Troy’s five children are very grateful for the high level of support that continues for the event yearly.

Kaieteur News  

Sunday Edition