Issuu on Google+

Annual Review 2012-13

A year to remember

Great things we’ve been doing with your support


Welcome... ...to Friends of the Earth’s Annual Review for 2012-13. We’ve had a fantastic year and have some great successes to share with you. Every year we focus on the areas where we’ll have the most impact and this year, thanks to your support, we concentrated on working to save bees, clean up our energy system, and get companies to make products that don’t damage the environment. Plus there’s so much more to tell you...

To support Friends of the Earth England, Wales and Northern Ireland please telephone 020 7490 1555

Friends of the Earth Northern Ireland Email: foe-ni@foe.co.uk foe.co.uk/northern_ireland

Friends of the Earth England 26-28 Underwood Street London N1 7JQ Tel: 020 7490 1555 Fax: 020 7490 0881 foe.co.uk

Friends of the Earth Cymru Email: cymru@foe.co.uk foecymru.co.uk cyddcymru.co.uk

2

Editorial team: Dominic Murphy, Sarah Hanson, Adam Bradbury Creative Director: Glen Colegate Design and Art Direction: Jonathan Madden and Glynn Perkins Picture research: Amelia Collins


Contents

page

Nature

4

British bees are in a better place thanks to your support

Climate & Energy

8

Working for an energy system that puts wind, waves and the sun at its core

Economics & Resource Use

12

Exposing the destruction caused by everyday gadgets; working for an economy that doesn’t wreck the planet

People & Society

16

From staying warm in winter to South American soy – how we’re working to improve lives as well as the environment

Land, Food & Water

22

Why biofuels mean more Africans losing their land

Big Ideas Change the World

26

Major research to transform policy and practice

Where Your Support Goes

28

The figures

The Year Ahead

30

Executive Director Andy Atkins outlines our exciting plans

Get Involved

32

The many ways you can support Friends of the Earth

foe.co.uk facebook.com/wwwfoecouk

twitter.com/wwwfoecouk


Nature

4


Over the next decade we aim to build massive support for protecting the natural world, and rolling back the damage we've done to it, by restoring the connection between people and nature. And where better to start than with bees – beautiful creatures that are vital pollinators and in serious decline worldwide?

Friends of the Earth Annual Review 2012/13

5


A big victory for bees We launched The Bee Cause to raise awareness of the plight of bees and get everyone – the public, businesses and politicians – taking action to save them. Central to this was seeking Government commitment to a plan to save British bees. It launched with shocking research from the University of Reading that in a world without bees, it would cost an extra £1.8 billion annually to pollinate crops by hand. From the outset The Bee Cause captured the public’s imagination, and it’s becoming one of the most popular campaigns we’ve ever run.

Raising awareness Volunteers across England and Wales dress as bumblebees, make honey cakes, hold public meetings and take local councillors, MPs and bee lovers on bee-themed walks. Our Eastbourne and District group (right) even persuades their council to include the campaign in a seafront garden display.

“I am proud to support Friends of the Earth. They are a fantastic charity, always focused on positive solutions. I am confident The Bee Cause is going to have a huge impact for years to come” Oliver Swingler, Friends of the Earth supporter

18,000

new supporters as a result of The Bee Cause campaign.

Wales first

In July 2012 the Welsh Government says it will create a Pollinator Action Plan, adding further pressure for a UK-wide plan to save bees.

20,000

Bee Saver Kits, including seeds and information sheets, are sent to the public, creating precious habitats for bees.

6


Partnerships Groups working with us include the RSPB, Royal Horticultural Society (RHS) and Wildlife Trusts.

70 Bee Worlds Volunteers create 70 havens of wild flowers for bees to enjoy.

400%

increase in online donations.

Media

2 million

Train and washroom adverts are seen by 2 million people.

Our hard work pays off

inserts in magazines and newspapers.

In June 2013 our hard work paid off at the Bee Summit we organised with The Co-operative, Waitrose and the WI (National Federation of Women’s Institutes).

Business

From B&Q to M&S, dozens of major businesses get behind our campaign. Torfaen Friends of the Earth

Pesticides

In spring 2013 European states vote to restrict three pesticides linked to declining bee populations.

At this event we brought together more than 100 different organisations, including scientists, businesses and farmers, to discuss and agree how to reverse the serious decline in Britain’s bees. Meanwhile in the run up to the summit, 20,000 people signed a petition demanding strong Government action. All this pressure worked. At the summit, Environment Minister Lord de Mauley (pictured) recognised the massive public concern channelled through The Bee Cause and committed the Government to a National Pollinator Strategy – exactly what we’ve been asking for.

The future

foe.co.uk/thebeecause Friends of the Earth Annual Review 2012/13

Now our focus is to ensure the plan is a good one, and is ready for spring 2014 when bees come out of hibernation. 7


Climate & Energy

8


CLEAN BRITISH ENERGY

Fergus Gill/2020 Vision

We live on a beautiful planet and want to keep it that way. To do this we urgently need to tackle climate change, which means shifting rapidly to using a lot more clean, renewable energy. It also means using energy more efficiently, wasting less and an end to electricity made mainly from fossil fuels. This is a win-win situation: it’s not only good for the climate but good for people too, creating thousands of new, green jobs.

Friends of the Earth Annual Review 2012/13

9


International Climate We’re campaigning for the international community to commit to ambitious and fair emissions cuts, help people already affected by climate change and come up with the already promised finance to help the clean economic growth of developing countries. • Ahead of the Doha climate talks in late 2012 we produced a major report. Powering Africa Through Feed-in Tariffs showed how African countries could prosper with the right support for renewable energy.

Clean British Energy In the UK we’re campaigning for a genuine clean-up of our energy supply by 2030, to make us less reliant on fossil fuels. This will require the Government to invest billions of pounds in energy saving and renewable technology such as wind and wave power. • Our campaign this year focused on getting a “clean power” target in the new Energy Bill. This would remove almost all of the carbon from our electricity system and was recommended by the Government’s own advisers, the Committee on Climate Change. • Friends of the Earth worked with fellow campaign groups to send 90,000 emails to Government pressing for clean power.

• Our Clean British Energy campaign helped bring energy bills and the profits of the Big Six energy companies to public attention.

10

Sven Torfinn/Panos

• Our campaigning on the Energy Bill forced one of the biggest backbench rebellions of Liberal Democrats since tuition fees, and made the issue the defining test of the Government's environmental credibility.

cleanbritishenergy.co.uk

• We continue to work as part of the Big Seven on strategies ahead of the Paris climate talks in 2015, to ensure the international community comes up with a binding agreement to put us on the path to a low-carbon future.

So much is possible when solar panels are installed – these village school students can study once it's dark thanks to solar-powered lights and other electrical gadgets.

• We brought together a formidable coalition of more than 200 organisations calling for clean power and showing this is a mainstream issue, including businesses such as Microsoft, Aviva and Asda, investors, unions, academic institutions and charities.

• We’ve forced the Government to say it wants to go for clean power and it will revisit setting a target in 2016. Labour and the Liberal Democrats have committed to setting a target for clean power if elected in 2015.

• At Doha we brought together the so-called Big Seven to form a more powerful voice calling for climate justice. This consisted of ourselves, Christian Aid, Oxfam International, Action Aid International, Greenpeace International, WWF International and the International Trade Union Confederation.


A strong turn-out at an anti-fracking tea party in Balcombe, West Sussex. Residents fear Cuadrilla’s test drilling could lead to hydraulic fracturing, also known as fracking.

Fracking success Extracting shale gas through the controversial process of fracking will keep the UK hooked on fossil fuels and poses environmental risks such as water contamination. Yet the Government seems determined to press ahead. We are calling for no shale gas extraction – and promoting the need to cut energy waste and switch to clean renewable energy. • We’re supporting people near fracking sites, or facing fracking proposals, who oppose shale gas drilling. These communities are across the UK, from Northern Ireland to Balcombe, West Sussex. • We have leading UK experts on fracking law, planning and regulation. Together with regional campaigners and our network of community volunteers, this means we can monitor developments around the UK, directly challenge proposals and also support communities to do so. • We’re having success. Our planning, regulatory and legal interventions are slowing the development of the industry. We frequently engage with the relevant Government departments and the Environment Agency, the key regulator. We forced the latter to raise standards by successfully challenging its decision that Cuadrilla did not need permits for drilling in Balcombe.

•O  ur role was recognised by the Daily Telegraph which said Friends of the Earth had forced the Environment Agency to "reappraise" and "tighten up" their approach. Crucially there has not been any test-fracking since the Government lifted its moratorium in December 2012. •W  e are learning from global developments, liaising with and supporting colleagues in the United States and elsewhere. We have been advised by international toxics expert Dr Mariann Lloyd-Smith, an advisor to the UN and to Australian anti-fracking campaigns. She shared insight during meetings we arranged in Parliament and in campaign areas including Lancashire, Sussex and Northern Ireland. •W  e’ve shown that»fracking will not reduce fuel bills Caption needed as the Governmenthere claims. •W  e’ve given evidence to the House of Commons Energy and Climate Change Committee and the National Assembly of Wales Environment Committee.

“My message is to everyone, start paying attention to the environment. I was quite blind to it. It was my little girl that dragged me down here saying, ‘Dad they're going to poison our water’, and when your little girl is saying something like that you want to reassure her that everything is all ok"

“Ultimately human and animal health and the beauty of the world we live in shouldn’t be sacrificed for industry" Katy Dunn, Balcombe resident

Carl Lee, Balcombe resident

foe.co.uk/fracking Friends of the Earth Annual Review 2012/13

11


Economics & Resource Use

Ulet Ifansasti/Friends of the Earth

12


Over the next 10 years we want to see the UK and EU take big steps towards sustainable consumption. This means breaking the link between economic growth and depletion of natural resources. We’re aiming to get widespread support for a green economy that puts people and the environment first. On Bangka Island, Indonesia, miners often work in dangerous conditions.

Friends of the Earth Annual Review 2012/13

13


Campaign success with Make It Better

Ulet Ifansasti/Friends of the Earth

Central to our work this year was our Make it Better campaign. We’re pushing for European laws that require companies to come clean about their supply chains, with a view to tackling the way business puts a dangerous strain on our planet, and turning around the suffering this causes.

We launched the campaign by exposing the connection between a much-loved modern gadget, the smartphone, and the environmental and social destruction that results from mining for tin, which is used as solder in mobile phones and other electrical products. Our research found that tin mining is destroying tropical forests, choking coral reefs and devastating communities in and around Bangka Island, Indonesia, which produces nearly one third of the world’s tin. We found evidence that tin from Bangka almost certainly ends up in products sold by smartphone giants Samsung and Apple. • More than 24,000 supporters emailed Samsung and Apple asking if they used tin from Bangka.

foe.co.uk/makeitbetter 14

• The Bangka story made a major feature in the Guardian newspaper and subsequently won a journalism award. • We have taken our work overseas, with our sister groups and allies publicising the campaign in countries such as the US, Germany and Indonesia. Results include television documentaries into the impacts of tin mining on Bangka. • We have used the momentum generated by our investigation to build a coalition of organisations pushing for stronger reporting laws at the UK and EU level. • We’ve forged powerful alliances in the product design community including with the RSA's Great Recovery Project.


Ulet Ifansasti/Friends of the Earth

Our research found that tin mining is destroying tropical forests, choking coral reefs and devastating communities

Mining tin for our phones, Bangka, Indonesia. Febri, left, is a tin miner. Tin mining pays better than agricultural work and can be done with simple tools, but can be dangerous – police figures show that in 2011 an average of one miner a week died in an accident. Edi, opposite, is a sea tin miner. "I need money," he says. "I can make [£12] a day. If I work as a labourer the wages are low and it is difficult to buy food."

Getting results

Transforming finance

As a result of all this pressure nearly all the world’s leading makers of smartphones have publicly confirmed that they use Bangka tin in their products and are working to solve the urgent problems on the island. They include Samsung, Philips, Nokia, Sony, Blackberry, Motorola and LG.

In May we convened a major conference in the City of London on sustainable finance.

The future

We looked at solutions for ending damaging boom and busts, which lead to the scaling back of environmental and social protection. We want to see a massive increase in investment in low carbon, resource-efficient infrastructure, jobs and technologies. The dedicated Green Investment Bank (GIB), created after four years of campaigning by Friends of the Earth and its partners, will have a part to play in this.

Apple has refused to answer its own customers’ questions about Bangka – even though it almost certainly uses the island’s tin. While we’ll continue to keep up the pressure on Apple, we’ll also be using the story of Bangka to pressure the EU to strengthen laws to make sure that dirty supply chains are a thing of the past.

As a result of all this pressure nearly all the world’s leading makers of smartphones have publicly confirmed that they use Bangka tin in their products

The Transforming Finance conference brought together more than 250 delegates from academia, business and the voluntary sector to explore ways to make our financial system more sustainable, accountable and resilient.

A Transforming Finance Network is being created in which we will play a leading role.

transformingfinance.org.uk Friends of the Earth Annual Review 2012/13

15


People & Society

Working for people We know the wellbeing of people and the planet go hand in hand. And it is usually the poorest people, least responsible for environmental degradation, that face the worst environmental impacts.

Community leader Donya Flora and family, from Luz Bella, Paraguay – working with Friends of the Earth Paraguay to help rural communities protect their land. See page 20.

16


Friends of the Earth Annual Review 2012/13

17


Working with people We work with communities so they can have greater influence on the decisions that affect their lives. In the UK this year, we have been running training workshops to help people understand and influence planning decisions in their area. Key to our grassroots campaigning in England, Wales and Northern Ireland is our wonderful network of around 200 local volunteer groups. As well as supporting our national campaigns, these groups address environmental issues directly affecting where they live. For example, this year in Cumbria the County Council rejected a £12 billion nuclear waste store after a long campaign by the West Cumbria and North Lakes Friends of the Earth. We’ve also been busy providing legal advice that’s almost single-handedly delayed shale gas drilling, or fracking, in the UK (see page 11).

An end to fuel poverty We led work on the Energy Bill Revolution (EBR), a coalition of more than 100 organisations calling on the Government to end fuel poverty through making homes energy efficient. One in five households in the UK are now in fuel poverty, meaning they need to spend more than 10 per cent of their income on keeping their homes warm. On average, at least 7,800 people die every year from living in cold homes – more than four times the number of people who die on British roads. The coalition includes Save the Children, the National Children’s Bureau, National Pensioners' Convention, Netmums.com, Macmillan Cancer Support, companies such as the Kingfisher Group and Consumer Focus. Working together we aim to persuade the Government to provide the necessary funding and laws to increase the energy efficiency of our homes, and find a lasting solution to the problem of fuel poverty.

foe.co.uk/community 18


Connecting with people

• We made new friends by hosting a high-profile comedy show, Laugh or the Polar Bear Gets It, at the Hammersmith Apollo, London, with performers including Ed Byrne (left), Richard Herring and Stewart Lee.

The scale of the planetary problems that we’re facing means we need many more people working to protect the environment. Here are some of the innovative ways we've been raising awareness of environmental issues and getting more people behind our work: • From bees in Wales to fracking in Balcombe, our local volunteer groups continue to be tireless champions of our campaigns. • We’ve won plaudits across the charity sector for our excellent fundraising work for our bees campaign.

• Our Get Gobby competition invited students to tell us how they would get people to protect the environment by changing their diets.

•R  utland Friends of the Earth grabbed public attention when they organised a poetry competition judged by broadcaster Clive Anderson, poet Gillian Clarke and scriptwriter Jon Canter.

• Our Big Green Bike Ride fundraising event in the New Forest enabled supporters, friends and staff to raise £25,000 for our work.

•O  ur inspired menu at the Extraordinary Banquet fundraiser – with edible sand and passion fruit caviar – was highly commended in the Peer Awards for good business initiatives.

We’ve more than doubled our number of likes on Facebook and had more than one million video views on YouTube

foe.co.uk/community Friends of the Earth Annual Review 2012/13

19


Supporting people in Paraguay At an international level, we have continued to work with Sobrevivencia, our sister Friends of the Earth organisation in Paraguay, to support rural communities facing the massive expansion of intensive soy farming. This is not only destroying forests and grasslands, but ruining lives as local people are forced off their lands.

foe.co.uk/paraguay 20


In Luz Bella, community representatives acted immediately when a forest reserve was invaded – their intervention prompted the government to halt the issuing of new land titles and recognise the legitimacy of the community's ownership

Our work in Paraguay is tremendously important. A parliamentary coup in 2012, which ousted reformist President Fernando Lugo, has been followed by a wave of privatisation and increased support for agribusiness, while state support for local communities has reduced. Latest statistics also show a big increase in deforestation in the Paraguayan Chaco. Our partner communities remain resilient. They have grown in confidence at reporting environmental crimes and pursuing them with the authorities. In Luz Bella, community representatives acted immediately when a forest reserve was invaded – their intervention prompted the government to halt the issuing of new land titles and recognise the legitimacy of the community's ownership. Other communities are replicating what they’re seeing. A new agricultural secondary school in Luz Bella has prompted neighbouring Maracaná to look to opening its own. This is vital for enabling young people to learn sustainable farming skills. We brought our work to the attention of a European audience, hosting a tour by Sobrevivencia’s Director Elias Diaz Peña. Back in Paraguay, we used the opening of a new British embassy as an opportunity to raise awareness of our project. The new British Ambassador has requested a meeting with representatives from our partner communities in Paraguay, which we hope will be the start of a positive dialogue.

Top: Youth participants during sustainable agriculture workshops, run by Friends of the Earth Paraguay. Middle and lower: Paraguayan community leaders Don Parini, and Donya Flora, in Luz Bella, helped protect their forest.

foe.co.uk/paraguay Friends of the Earth Annual Review 2012/13

21


Land, Food & Water

Jason Taylor/Friends of the Earth International

22


We’re calling for better management of renewable resources – things like the food we grow, and our fresh water and forests – so they are not lost to us or future generations.

John Muyisha's story John Muyisha and his community in Kalangala, Uganda, have lost their land. One day, BIDCO, a Kenyan company, arrived and told him that the land was now theirs. Bulldozers came and flattened the ancient forest and John's coffee plants, to make way for a plantation of oil palm.

Friends of the Earth Annual Review 2012/13

23


Land grabs and biofuels, the shocking truth European thirst for biofuels is fuelling demand for land in developing countries, particularly Africa. As a result, small farmers are being forced off their farms in a process known as “land grabbing”, which leads to forests being destroyed to grow more fuel or food. We supported the launch of a new Friends of the Earth International report on land grabbing in

An uncertain future

Jason Taylor/Friends of the Earth International

Edison Musiimenta, Rosemary Nabukeera and daughter Maureen Nuwagaba are one of the larger charcoal producers in Kalagala. Uganda. But there are proposals to take over Edison's land for an oil palm plantation and the business he has built up over the past decade is now at stake.

24

Liberia and produced a study on the land grab issue in Uganda. We’ve uncovered evidence that some of our best-known financial institutions are bankrolling companies involved in land grabbing. And we’ve been working with Share Action to highlight to UK pension funds that they might be investing in land grabbing in foreign countries.


Adrian Brooks/Imagewise

The Eating Better Alliance is promoting sustainable diets, which means less but better meat and dairy, and less food waste. Top: children at a Feeding the 5000 event in November 2011 eat a hot lunch made entirely from ingredients that would have been wasted.

Growing the Eating Better Alliance Seventy five per cent of agricultural land is devoted to raising animals for food. Increases in meat and dairy production are therefore a major driver of the expansion of cropland in areas such as the tropics, as well as major consumers of fresh water. We brought attention to this issue in our Food Chain campaign, which aimed to highlight the expansion in South America of soy farming to produce animal feed. And in 2013 we were a founding member of the Eating Better Alliance. This is campaigning for sustainable diets that use less meat and dairy – not only good for the planet but good for our health too. The alliance consists of 25 organisations aiming for more policy impact by working together. It includes the RSPB and Compassion in World Farming, and is supported by world-renowned food experts Professor Tim Lang and Michael Pollan. Friends of the Earth annual review 2012/13

25


What do we need to do so that by 2050 a population of nine billion people can live healthy, fulfilling lives without wrecking the planet? It’s a massive question and we’ve come up with a suitably ambitious response.

Ethical money

CITIES

innovation & technology

POLITICS & GOVERNANCE 26


SUSTAINABILITY

Bioproductivity LOW CARBON ENERGY

Our Big Ideas project is a series of linked research pieces running over three years. We’re working with leading academics, businesses, non-governmental organisations, opinion-formers and the public on solutions to the environmental and social challenges we face. We expect this collaborative approach to generate new insights and creativity. History tells us change is possible. Without change women wouldn't have the vote, slavery would still be commonplace, and our National Health Service wouldn't exist. There would have been no industrial, green or digital revolutions. And people are doing some amazing things right now. Across the world we're rapidly increasing the use

of solar panels, beginning to mass-produce electric cars, and cutting deaths from malaria. Far-sighted companies are putting sustainability at their core. Digital technology is improving democracies and delivering efficiency and innovation. Leading cities are collaborating on real solutions. The coming decades will present opportunities as well as challenges and if we seize them we could produce a much more stable, equal and healthy society by 2050. Throughout the project we'll be working with others to put new ideas into practice, and at the end we aim to bring all the new thinking we generate together to set out what needs to change, why this must happen and how. Join the conversation #bigideas

foe.co.uk/bigideas Friends of the Earth Annual Review 2012/13

27


Where Your Support Goes

“The work of Friends of the Earth is vital to make the world a better place for future generations. That’s why I am leaving a gift in my Will” Adrian Foster Fletcher

Friends of the Earth Trust

h

Trustees Anthony Burton Appointed February 2013 Roger Clarke (Chair) Stewart Crocker Frank Green Jess Gold Hilary Griffiths Steve Hack John Halladay Victoria Harvey Bonnie Horsman Martin Price Appointed November 2012 Bill Rigby Resigned March 2013 Dr Tania Sayer John Tiller

a

g

Friends of the Earth Trust is committed to the conservation, protection and improvement of the environment and promotes sustainable development for public benefit. It furthers these objectives by campaigning, undertaking research, education and publishing, and providing an information service on solutions to environmental problems.

f e b d

c

Statement of Financial Activities for the year ended 31 May 2013 Friends of the Earth Trust Income Expenditure Surplus for the year

£

8,929,023 8,827,254 101,769

Breakdown a) Climate & Energy b) Land Use, Food & Water c) Economics & Resource Use d) Fair & Planned Transition e) Nature & Ecosystems f) Governance costs g) Cost of generating funds h) Supporter recruitment

2,452,483 642,657 1,539,882 881,975 1,431,850 64,573 976,325 837,509

28% 7% 17% 10% 16% 1% 11% 10%

Thank you Many thanks to everyone whose incredible generosity has helped make our work possible this year. Special thanks to: The 1970 Trust

Lisa Fairtlough

Pure Climate

The AIM Foundation

The Freshfield Foundation

Reed Foundation through the Big Give Challenge

The Miss RCR Angel Charitable Trust

Martin Gore

Roger Ross and all at Lots Road Auctions

Ariane Braillard

Ian Hall

Mike and Kathy Smyth

Stephen Brenninkmeijer

Antony Lewis, WordWeb Software

Oliver Swingler

Steve Brown

Robert Marten and Kit Oi Chung

Martin Taylor

The Barbara Cairns Trust

Melvita Fondation d'Entreprise

UK AID Civil Society Challenge Fund

Jacob and Miranda Cnattingius

Neal's Yard Remedies

The Underwood Trust

Community Foundation Lily Matthews Fund

Paper Round Ltd

The Waffle House, St Albans

The DG Charitable Settlement

Rosie Pearson

Nigel and Margaret Woodward

European Climate Foundation

The Roger and Ingrid Pilkington Charitable Trust

Zennström Philanthropies

These summary financial statements do not contain sufficient information to allow a full understanding of the financial affairs of the charity or company. Statutory accounts for Friends of the Earth Limited and Friends

of the Earth Trust Limited for the year ending 31 May 2013 were approved by the Boards on 9 November 2013 and have been delivered to the Registrar of Companies and to the Charity Commission. They were audited by

haysmacintyre who made an unqualified auditor’s report on them that did not contain any statement under Sections 498(2) or 498(3) of the Companies Act 2006. The statutory accounts are available at www.foe.co.uk

28


“The Earth needs friends. We support Friends of the Earth because it pushes politicians and people towards policies and actions that are kinder to our precious Earth” Robert Marten and Kit Oi Chung in memory of Henry and Briony Marten

Friends of the Earth Limited

b

c

Friends of the Earth Limited is a campaigning organisation and exists to protect and improve the environment through influencing political policies and business practices, inspiring individual personal and political action, and stimulating wide and intelligent debate.

Directors Simon Bernstein Appointed February 2013 Bonnie Horsman (Chair) Ben Jackson Retired July 2012 Jess Gold Martin Price Appointed November 2012 Frank Green Bill Rigby Resigned March 2013 Hilary Griffiths Dr Tania Sayer Steve Hack Simon Steeden John Halladay Victoria Harvey

a

Statement of Financial Activities for the year ended 31 May 2013 Friends of the Earth Limited Income Expenditure Deficit for the year

£ 1,826,542 1,960,674 (134,132)

Breakdown a) Campaigning & Info Provision b) Fundraising c) Management & Administration

1,750,684 166,545 43,445

89% 9% 2%

Legacy donors We would also like to pay tribute to the following supporters who have been kind enough to leave us a gift in their Will: Mr F Atherton

Mr P Crump

Miss M Green

Mr R Mills

Mr M Sinclair

Mr A Vincent

Mrs M Bazley

Mr K Crush

Ms J Henry

Ms C Milne

Miss D Smith

Mr A Wackett

Mr J Beasley

Miss K Curtis

Miss F Hills

Ms A Mullis

Mrs F Squire

Mr G Watson

Mrs K Beck

Ms G Davies

Mr R Hughes

Ms D Nicholson

Mr M St Clair Flett

Miss G Weigert

Mr P Betteridge

Ms S Davis

Ms I Irwin

Mr R Oakes

Miss R Stedman

Ms TB Wells

Miss U Birch

Mr J Drake

Ms L Jackson

Mrs R Outwin

Ms B Swanwick

Mrs AJ Wels

Miss W Boyle

Mrs K Ebbett

Mr A Jones

Ms C Palmer

Mrs S Taylor

J Whiting

Ms S Brady

Mr W Farley-Hills

Ms M Jones

A Pound

Miss P Taylor

Ms L Whittaker

Mr C Brown

Mrs B Freer

Mr C Kates

Ms D Powell

Ms E Thurlbeck

Mrs N Widdowson

Lady P Browne

A Frith

Mr P Kreeger

Ms M Pratt

C Tierney

Mr R Wight

Ms N Carmody

Mr P Gaggini

Miss D Leith

Ms M Pugh

Ms G Tonner

Dr A Williams

Mr E Clarke

Mr W Gillibrand

Mr D Lindsey

Miss L Richmond

Mrs J Tremaine

Miss H Wills

Ms M Comrie

Miss J Gooch

Miss M Lloyd-Davies

C Sainsbury

Mr M Turner

Miss A Wood

Ms J Craven

Mrs J Graham

Mr RP Miller

Mrs D Seammen

Mrs A Vallender

Friends of the Earth Annual Review 2012/13

29


The Year Ahead We’ve had a wonderful 2013 and can all be proud of some major successes. As for the year ahead, I’m hungry for more. By Andy Atkins, Executive Director. Friends of the Earth wants to see the UK and the EU firmly on the path to being low-carbon, low resourceuse economies, beginning to restore key aspects of the natural world. To this end in 2014, three areas of work will dominate. In spring 2014 we’re launching an exciting new climate project to give a huge boost to renewable energy. We’ll be aiming to make companies clean up the way they make products. And with a strong plan in place, this could be the year we start to turn round the decline of bees in the UK. One of the things that makes Friends of the Earth so unique and effective is our work at a local level. Nowhere is this better demonstrated than in the area of climate, as we work with communities on the front line of fracking through to international coalitions influencing the UN negotiations. In 2014 we’ll show how a future, free from fossil fuel dependence, is both possible and desirable. We'll do this by getting more renewable power generated in our communities. We’ll be supporting schools, councils and other groups to bring about a revolution in locally produced energy, rallying thousands behind the idea, and paving the way for power from wind, waves and sunshine to become the norm. Following our tremendous success in securing the National Pollinator Strategy, 2014 is the year when we can scale up efforts to turn round bee decline. We’ll be holding the Government to account in delivering its strategy, while joining forces with thousands of people around the country to create even more habitat for bees and nature. This is part of our long-term goal for the UK and Europe – to not only halt the tide of environmental decline, but to start restoring key ecosystems. So we’ll also be building on the momentum of our bee campaign to grow a broader movement to protect and restore nature.

30

Securing the commitment from the world’s biggest phone manufacturers to address the destruction caused by tin mining was a great success. In 2014 we’ll be calling for a European law that requires the world’s biggest companies in all sectors to clean up their supply chains – and our work in Indonesia will be a case in point. Such a law has the potential to revolutionise the way many of our everyday products are made, and ensure the products we love don’t cost the Earth. Next year will also see the build-up to the May 2015 General Election, so we’ll be working to make sure the environment is not forgotten in the heat of electioneering. And we’ll be doing all that we can to keep climate change solutions high on the global agenda in the run up to the climate talks in Paris 2015, where a new climate change agreement will be struck. We’re on a challenging but exciting journey, one in which the future of both people and our planet are at stake. Please continue with us, and bring your friends and family with you – we can't achieve any of this without your support. Thank you.


Ben Hall/2020 Vision

Friends of the Earth Annual Review 2012/13

31


For more than 40 years we’ve seen that the wellbeing of people and planet go hand in hand – and it’s been the inspiration for our campaigns. Together with thousands of people like you we’ve secured safer food and water, defended wildlife and natural habitats, championed the move to clean energy and acted to keep our climate stable. Be a Friend of the Earth – see things differently.

Thank you Your support makes our vital work possible. If you don’t already do so, please consider the following ways you can get involved.

Join Friends of the Earth Join us by setting up a regular donation and add your voice to thousands of others. See foe.co.uk or phone 020 7490 1555.

Make an inspirational gift We aim to build long-term relationships with individuals, charitable trusts and foundations who can support us with significant gifts. Please phone 020 7566 1700 to discuss how you can help us to make the biggest difference on the issues you care most about.

Take action Join Campaign Express and receive two packs a year with easy actions to put pressure on the right people at the right time. foe.co.uk/campaignexpress

Leave a lasting legacy Make a world of a difference and leave a gift in your Will to protect our future. Please contact Lesley Braden at lesley.braden@foe.co.uk, or on 020 7566 1667.

Volunteer Thousands of people give time with around 200 volunteer groups across the country. Find a group near you at foe.co.uk/get_involved or call 020 7490 1555.

foe.co.uk

32

Friends of the Earth Trust registered charity number 281681, company number 1533942. Friends of the Earth Limited company number 1012357. Our paper is totally recycled and our printers hold EMAS certification which means they care about the environment. December 2013


Friends of the Earth Annual Review 2013