Byron Bay Film Festival 2012 Programme

Page 5




The BBFF judges bring their expertise to the Byron Bay International Film Festival’s Awards. We thank them for their support.

Dan Murphy’s Best Film

The BBFF 2012 Judges include: Josh Fox Director of Gasland

Face to Face Inuk Bombay Beach PressPausePlay On Borrowed Time

Claude Gonzalez – At the Movies

Coopers Best Dramatic Feature

George Papadopoulas of Accent Film Entertainment

Face to Face

J’aimee Skippon-Volke of BBFF


John Campbell of The Echo


Madeleine Faught of Rainforest Rescue

Area De Descanco

Madeline Palmer of ABC/Rage

The Echo Best Byron Film

Mike Vile of Rialto Distribution

All BBFF 2012 Northern Rivers’ Filmmakers are Nominees

Osvaldo Alfaro of GreenhouseFX Peter Thompson of Summer Films Simon de Bruyn of XYZ Films Stella Do of Arclight Films Jan Mallis of Tavarua


Byron Bay Coffee Company Best Short Film Normal People Come to Harm Tethered The Maestro Ollie

With sincere thanks We greatly appreciate the hard work, time and input that has helped create this event from: Alex Mankiewicz; Alex Taylor, Anouk Corolleur, Avikal, Brigitte Zeisig, Cassy Duell, Cathy Martin, Clint Styles, Dan White, Denise Prosser, Emma Cocks, Evan Walks, Frances Short, Helio Malahasi, Hugh Campbell, Indigo Rawson-Smith, Jan Mallis, Jeni Gonzalez, Jenny Grinlington, Jessica Chen Huang, Joy Barbar, Juanita Barea, Leilani Gaze, Luke Ryan, Mathew Sforcina, Mel Manar, Melina Goring, Michael Bates, Obi McDonald-Saint, Peter and Julie Ryan, Rick Jose, Robyn Downie, Ryder Saint, Sabine Muschter, Sarah Bray, Sonia Skuor, Stuart Amos, Sunita Bailey, Susie Forster, Tara Kai Hammond, Youngdone Lee, Ziggi Browning, Zvika Aloni, and all the BBFF crew, Community Centre Ushers and Volunteers.

Credits Patron: Paul Cox Executive Producer: Greg Aitken Festival Director: J’aimee Skippon-Volke Technology & Art Director: Osvaldo C. Alfaro Schools Manager: Madeleine Faught Submissions Co-ordinator: Jennifer Hamilton Media Manager: Rachel Bending Outdoor Event Producer: Jamie Hunter Workshops Producer: Kirsty Thompson Operations Co-ordinators: Dove Joans & Joy Barbar Volunteers Coordinators: Dan White & Tanya Smith

Tavarua Best Surf Film Manufacturing Stoke Going Vertical A Deeper Shade of Blue Come Hell or High Water Minds in the Water Byron At Byron Best Environmental Film Bimblebox Manufacturing Stoke Amongst Giants Minds in the water Waste Not eXtinction ScreenZone Inaugrual Byron International Documentary Prize Decadence Connected Bombay Beach On Borrowed Time PressPausePlay Cheese Please Best Music Video Brandt Rhapsodie Blue Sway Sometimes the stars Rugged Wilderness & Mountain Man No More - Dropping Feathers Have You Seen My Sister Evelyn Revival

Writers: Rachel Bending, Madeleine Faught, Tim WintonBrown, Mel Manar Website Content: Obi MacDonald-Saint, Susie Forster, Cassy Duell and Belinda Eslick Photography credits to: Caroline Fisher, Cathy Martin, Jeni Gonzelez, Johnny Abegg & Marina Banderia Programme Creation: The Echo Programme Editor: Rick Jose

GCD Best Cinematography Beneath the Waves Convento A Deeper Shade of Blue Press Pause Play Bombay Beach Fox Creek Wine Best Experimental Film Soulcatcher (please check spelling) Piercing Silence Luminaris Automata Ghost Of Old Highways Year Zero Best Young Australian Filmmaker All BBFF 2012 Australian Director’s Under 25 are nominees. GreenhouseFX Best Animation The Missing Key The Gloaming Erago Mondiale TM Mahahula the Giant Rodent of Happiness Història d’Este

About the Programme Every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of the programme. We apologise for any changes, errors or oversights since going to print. For continually updated information visit the festival website at

Performers: Garrett Kato & Ben Livermore Projection Team: Osvaldo Alfaro, Jamie Hunter, Dave Prudden, Ken Ford & Jahmin Lerum Décor: Lissa Coote Byron Community Centre: Paul Spooner, Becky Buckwell, Cherie Mamet & the BCC Team.

Sponsorship Manager: Kelly Morton

Pighouse Flicks: Kristin Ellis & Paul Macdonald

Design Branding Consultation: Underbrand

The Regent: Sandra Flannery and The Flannery Family

Graphic Design: GreenhouseFX & Ziggi Browning

Birch, Carroll & Coyle: Daniel McCabe & Lucy Verrall BBFF PROGRAMME GUIDE 5

Turn static files into dynamic content formats.

Create a flipbook
Issuu converts static files into: digital portfolios, online yearbooks, online catalogs, digital photo albums and more. Sign up and create your flipbook.