Issuu on Google+

T3SC/ACTION&IMPACT

AnnualReview

08-09 Tameside 3rd Sector Coalition


T3SC/ACTION&IMPACT

Positive feedback Some of the positive feedback that we’ve had during the year:

‘Tameside 3rd Sector Coalition provides strong leadership to the third sector’. Department of Health National Support Team for health inequalities report to NHS Tameside and Glossop, Spring 2009

‘Until attending a workshop like this you think you know it all but in practice you don’t.’ Keith Taylor, Rifle Club, Raising your profile, Marketing Training, September 2008

‘Just a note to thank everyone at T3SC for all their support and assistance given to Mossley AODS throughout the year. Cheers’ John Buckley, Hon Secretary, Mossley Amateur Operatic & Dramatic Society

‘I am in charge of funding bids and this will help me to fill in any funding forms.’ Feedback from ‘Top tips on making funding applications’, September 2008

‘The newsletter has clear and informative articles, which will help our group to develop. I look forward to receiving it regularly in the future.’ ‘I will use T3SC more because a I know they can help’ Training participant


1

2

Message from the T3SC chair

4

Director’s Report

6

Our aims & achievements 6 Aim 1: To improve the capacity and quality of third sector groups in Tameside 8 Aim 2: To enable third sector groups to widen their access to information, practical support services and facilities 11 Aim 3: To facilitate liaison and collaboration within the third sector and between the third sector and the public and corporate sectors 14 Aim 4: To identify and prioritise the needs of local communities and develop appropriate responses 19 Aim 5: To further develop T3SC as an efficient and effective local infrastructure agency

20

T3SC people

22

Financial information

24

Our priorities

08-09/ANNUALREVIEW

Contents


2

T3SC/ACTION&IMPACT

Message from the T3SC chair

Over the course of 2008-09, T3SC has gone from strength to strength, and after reading our annual report I hope that you will agree. I am very proud to be Chair to such a dynamic organisation that is making a real and positive difference to Tameside’s third sector organisations and local communities.

Rebuilding on solid foundations, and demonstrating T3SC’s impact, was a major priority during the year. I believe that we have achieved this, and these solid foundations are even more important given the financial challenges that face T3SC, and the wider sector, over the next few years as a result of the recession and the outcome of the public spending review in 2011.

There will always be challenging times ahead. However, we are very fortunate to have a dynamic director leading an excellent team of committed staff and volunteers supported by a dedicated and forward thinking Board of Trustees, and together we will continue to develop the organisation and move forward.


3

Neil Chaisty Chair

Neil Chaisty

08-09/ANNUALREVIEW

We have continued to develop strong relationships with a wide range of partner organisations, from the third and public sectors and I hope you enjoy reading our annual review which demonstrates this. I would like to take this opportunity to offer my personal thanks to everyone who has made this possible and look forward to your continued support.


4

T3SC/ACTION&IMPACT

Director’s report

2008-09 has been another successful, and busy, year for T3SC, during which we have further enhanced our reputation with voluntary, community and faith groups and partner organisations across Tameside. During the year we invested significant time in improving the quality of the work we deliver, including reconfiguring our organisational structure and undertaking a number of changes to Voice, the voluntary sector network structure. I hope that you have seen the benefits of these changes. There were a huge number of highlights across the year, many of which are detailed through this report. However, there is one that deserves mention here - T3SC’s national umbrella body, NAVCA (National Association for Voluntary and Community Action,) awarding T3SC the prestigious Quality Award in May. I think this acknowledges our commitment and desire to providing a high quality, service, and would not have been possible without the skills and determination of our highly competent staff team and trustees. I am struck, on a daily basis, by their commitment and enthusiasm. During the year we all became aware of the very real effects of the recession on individuals and communities, nationally and in Tameside. The effects of the recession will be felt for many years to come, but the third sector has an enormous role to play in helping those in crisis. T3SC’s part is to help support third sector organisations and raise awareness of their work, something we will continue to do. The effects of the recession on public


5

finances is also becoming clearer, and in the medium term this is likely to mean less money available for public services and third sector delivery - a concern not only for the work that we undertake, but also the wider sector. Going into the next few years we all therefore need to be more inventive about how we deliver, seeking more partnerships and collaboration with other third sector organisations and across sectors. There will be a challenging few years ahead, but I am confident about our ability to weather the storm. Thank you for your support during the year, and if you have any comments or feedback about our work, or this report, please get in touch. Tony Okotie Director

08-09/ANNUALREVIEW

Tony Okotie


6

T3SC/ACTION&IMPACT

Our aims & achievements T3SC’s mission is to build a strong, clear and independent voice for the voluntary and community sectors in Tameside, through increasing capacity and skills of groups and individuals. T3SC has five clear strategic objectives to help achieve this, and this review highlights progress during the year against those objectives. In summary, 2008-09 has been a period of solid achievement, further service development, and internal reconfiguration and consolidation for T3SC.

1

AIM 1: TO IMPROVE THE CAPACITY AND QUALITY OF THIRD SECTOR GROUPS IN TAMESIDE In the year, T3SC worked directly with 142 groups (134 groups in 2007-08), helping them to access £1,493,163 of funding – three times higher than the previous year. Overall, the level of new groups seen by T3SC has also increased dramatically – in the final three months of the year the Support and Development Team started work with 47 groups, compared to 30 in the corresponding period in the previous year. This demonstrates the growing awareness of voluntary and community groups in the borough of T3SC, and also the growth in the sector itself.


7

Assisting small organisations to become good employers During the year, T3SC has also provided specialist and in-depth support and guidance to more organisations involved in recruiting and managing staff. T3SC provided an intensive support package between Tameside Elders Association and Khush Amdid who have come together to successfully bid for funding to employ a Development Worker, assisted by T3SC. We provided a series of briefing and training sessions for both committees on recruitment, selection and managing a worker prior to the recruitment process. Both groups are now continuing to progress with the extra support provided by Ammer Ali, their new Development Worker. We also undertook similar work with Hyde Community Action:

‘T3SC have provided HCA with a variety of support ranging from helping to recruit the post of manager, providing training to staff and volunteers, highlighting potential funding streams and giving advice when preparing funding bids…which has enabled us to really start to make a positive difference in our community.’ Jusna Begum, Chair, Hyde Community Action

In 2008-09 T3SC supported 41 groups in the area of commissioning and procurement which has increased their understanding of the commissioning process. Eight voluntary and community groups received one to one support to become tender-ready, with five groups going on to secure tendered work during the year In the year, T3SC also delivered 19 training sessions, attended by a total of 79 groups, on various topics including bookkeeping and accounts, becoming more enterprising, measuring outcomes and marketing, all designed to help group members build their skills and knowledge.

08-09/ANNUALREVIEW

T3SC/ACTION&IMPACT


8

T3SC/ACTION&IMPACT

T3SC/ACTION&IMPACT Supporting TASCA Local MP David Heyes put TASCA (Tameside Action for Social Communication and Austism) in touch with T3SC. TASCA supports families who have a child or children with autism. TASCA required assistance with securing funding to celebrate World Autism Day with a Tameside wide conference. The T3SC Support and Development Team helped with the funding, and the Health and Social Care Policy and Participation Officer helped the group organise a fantastic event, attended by over 300 people, helping to raise awareness of autism. TASCA were overwhelmed by the positive response they received, with a number of families coming to them for support, and they have produced a conference report that they then presented to the TMBC Children with Disabilities Strategy Group.

‘Just to let you know T3SC has been added to TASCA’s heroes page’ (on their website) Valerie and Neil from TASCA

2: TO ENABLE THIRD SECTOR GROUPS TO WIDEN 2 AIM THEIR ACCESS TO INFORMATION, PRACTICAL SUPPORT SERVICES AND FACILITIES T3SC recognises that practical services and quality, timely, information continue to be important to help build the capacity of the sector locally. To this end 2008-09 saw the organisation secure funding to improve the environment in our resource and training rooms, and to redevelop our website to contain increased information and downloadable resources, funding guides and fact sheets. We introduced regular ‘policy briefings’ to the thematic networks, providing information on national, regional and local policy that is of relevance to their field of expertise.


9

T3SC/ACTION&IMPACT

Promotion of VCOs in Droylsden 55 Voluntary and Community Organisations (VCOs) have been supported with advertising their activities by giving them marketing advice and assisting them with producing marketing materials via the development and production of the The Droylsden Directory. The Directory contains details of all these VCOs describing their activities. We are now in the process of distributing these in key locations around Droylsden and at events and meetings. This in itself will help raise the profile of VCOs in Droyslden but we also hope it will lead to increased numbers of local people joining the groups and increasing their membership which in turn will enhance their sustainability.

08-09/ANNUALREVIEW

During the year we undertook a major workforce development survey around the common core of knowledge and skills for those working with children, families and young people. This enabled us to assess the learning needs of volunteers and paid workers across the sector and ensure that they have good access to the integrated learning programme that is made available by the children and young people’s strategic partnership.


10

T3SC/ACTION&IMPACT

Small grants continue to be an important source of revenue for community and voluntary groups in Tameside as in the rest of the country. To reflect this, T3SC have been directly involved in the administration of two grants, Youth Action Grants and Prevention Fund, and were also heavily involved in advisory roles with other local grant schemes such as Health is for Life and Partnerships for Older People’s Projects (POPPS) during the year.

T3SC/ACTION&IMPACT Benefiting children and young people and the sector through managing grants programme In November 2008 the Children and Young People’s Executive commissioned T3SC to administer and manage the ‘Prevention’ funding to Tameside’s Voluntary and Community Sector, totalling £120,000 in grants to be distributed with a maximum grant of £15,000 per organisation per year for up to two years. T3SC worked with the commissioners to develop a fair and transparent process that helped demonstrate how the sector contributes to the Prevention agenda. The Support and Development Team worked with a number of organisations in preparing their bids and evidencing the outcomes that they were required. A total of 10 completed applications were received, totalling over £200,000. T3SC chaired the panel, including a commissioning officer, a representative of the voluntary sector and a young person, and five applications were approved for funding which has enabled the delivery of some exciting and innovative provision for children and young people in the Tameside area.

‘Working in partnership with T3SC on developing and supporting voluntary sector organisations to deliver outcomes focused prevention services has been a major success. We’ve been able to harness the skills, experience and knowledge of local voluntary sector providers to support us in the delivery of our Prevention Strategy. Whilst at the same time ensured that providers have the right systems in place to ensure they can strategically align their services to local priorities and therefore support sustainability.’ Jane Forrest, Service Unit Manager - Commissioning Services for Children and Young People, Tameside MBC


11

3

AIM 3: TO FACILITATE LIAISON AND COLLABORATION WITHIN THE THIRD SECTOR AND BETWEEN THE THIRD SECTOR AND THE PUBLIC AND CORPORATE SECTORS T3SC facilitates and supports Tameside Voice and its associated thematic networks, developing both individual representatives and the networks as a whole. Voice is the mechanism which brings together representation from community and voluntary organisations in Tameside to help the sector influence decision making structures, policies and programmes affecting their work and local communities. Voice and the networks elect a total of 24 representatives to the local Tameside Strategic Partnership (TSP) and thematic partnerships, and with the move to Comprehensive Area Assessment (CAA) in 2009, it provides an important opportunity to show the contribution of the sector to life locally. The networks also provide opportunities for members to share information and concerns, receive relevant policy information from T3SC and provide a vehicle for consultation from statutory services. During the year, T3SC undertook a major ‘change programme’ with Voice, including introducing improved support and training for representatives, better marketing of the benefits of the networks and improved tracking of issues raised, improving the election process to TSP as well as opening membership of Voice to all voluntary and community groups. This work culminated in a re-launch event in May 2009. Support for representatives has continued to be a major investment for T3SC as it is central to the sector’s voice being heard. This has continued through regular briefings with reps before partnership meetings, and is now being developed within a training package available to reps to increase their knowledge and skills. T3SC has been part of a national NAVCA pilot in delivery of training to reps as part of this increased support.

08-09/ANNUALREVIEW

Voice relaunch event, May 2009


12

T3SC/ACTION&IMPACT

Other highlights of Voice and network activity during the year include: • Facilitating an important strategic consultation event for community and voluntary groups/organisations organised by the Health and Social Care Network to comment on Tameside and Glossop NHS five year plan for commissioning services. T3SC continues to work with partners to address health inequalities in Tameside delivering a range of work including facilitating the Health and Social Care Network, working with 25 voluntary and community groups to participate in the Health is for Life Festival and contributing to the Tameside Disability Conference attended by over 100 people. • The Tameside Community Union (children, families and young people’s network) helping deliver Play Day in Stamford park in August enjoyed by 2000 people. • Bringing together over 50's groups providers/organisers for recognition of the importance of their work with over 30 people attending meetings and the merging of this network with the established Tameside Older People's Action Group (TOPAG) to form Community Action for Tameside Seniors (CATS). Across Voice these are just some of the examples of members and networks making local life better through their joint activities supported by the specialist team at T3SC. 2008-09 also saw increased membership and participation of VOLCON (the Voluntary Organisations’ Chief Officers’ Network, facilitated by T3SC) and the introduction of the ‘Big Cheese’ (a new network for Chairs of organisations). These demonstrate the appetite for organisations to work together and learn from each other, partly driven by increased demand for services provided by third sector organisations and financial pressures of the economic downturn. VOLCON and ‘Big Cheese’ saw involvement from over 40 organisations in the year. As part our Community Development Work in Droylsden, we launched a new network called Droylsden Together in February with over 23 people and nine groups attending. The event was a huge success with many groups meeting each other for the first time with contacts and ideas for joint-working exchanged.


13

T3SC/ACTION&IMPACT

Enhancing partnership work on the water In November 2008, the head of Tameside’s Sports development contacted T3SC regarding developing canoe trails along the River Tame from Gee Cross to Ashton and from Gee Cross through to Reddish Vale and Stockport. The British Canoe Union had offered their support but as Mark said ’without voluntary sector support to drive it forward. it’s a non starter. T3SC sent the message out and through good partnership work a new canoeing club was formed and the work is well underway!

‘We are grateful to T3SC who have been the critical catalyst for initiating a canoeing development project which has thus far resulted in the formation of a newly constituted canoe club. Plans going forward include further work with partners to reinstate the Tameside Mark Tweedie Head of Sports Development, TMBC canoe trails’

08-09/ANNUALREVIEW

During the year the organisation has also been successful in raising the profile and contribution of the voluntary and community sector with statutory sector partners, with the aim of enabling effective partnership working. T3SC represents the sector in relation to Tameside’s Local Area Agreement (LAA) and CAA Action group, and continues to co-chair the Cross Sector Policy group. A visit to NHS Tameside and Glossop by the Department of Health National Support Team for health inequalities in Spring 2009 reported that ‘Tameside 3rd Sector Coalition provides strong leadership to the third sector’. At a strategic policy level T3SC have been active, for example in helping to present the interests of the sector and local communities in relation to the development of the Working Neighbourhood Fund and World Class Commissioning. Demand from partners for this strategic policy involvement continues to grow.


14

T3SC/ACTION&IMPACT

4: TO IDENTIFY AND PRIORITISE THE NEEDS OF LOCAL 4 AIM COMMUNITIES AND DEVELOP APPROPRIATE RESPONSES During the course of the year the organisation won the tender to become the host for the Tameside Local Improvement Network (LINk), aimed at getting local people involved in having their say about health and social care services in their local area. This work has a clear fit with T3SC’s core purpose, is funded for three years, and is the main reason for the increase in income and expenditure during the year. The LINk contract has necessitated an increase in staffing levels, with a new team being employed to deliver this work. The Black Minority Ethnic (BME) Network, facilitated by T3SC, worked with The Greater Manchester Police Positive Action Team in running a successful recruitment event, attended by 25 people from the local community and focused on anyone interested in starting a new career as a police officer with particular focus on under represented groups such as BME communities and women.

Interfaith fun day, July 2008


15

08-09/ANNUALREVIEW It included advice on filling in application forms and will be followed up with a workshop about this. In 2007, similar partnership work led to two people successfully recruited by GMP. Similar work is being undertaken with Greater Manchester Fire and Rescue in the current year. A successful interfaith fun day held by Faiths United (the Tameside interfaith network) in the summer with 200 people attending. A wide range of faith groups were represented thanks to the active engagement of groups in the network. The positive and pro-active engagement of the network is often highlighted by partners as an example of excellent partnership work. During the year, T3SC provided intensive community development work in three priority areas of the borough – Micklehurst (completed in August 2008), Droylsden and Denton South. This community development work provides community and voluntary organisations with intensive capacity building support and also aims to facilitate and strengthen community engagement and influence in local partnerships and networks.


T3SC/ACTION&IMPACT 16

T3SC/ACTION&IMPACT

Walking for IDAHO, May 2009

Supporting a ‘Proud Tameside’ A major focus in 2008-09, working in partnership with the Manchester based Lesbian and Gay Foundation, was to raise awareness of LGBT (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender) issues in Tameside and promote the lesbian and gay community in the area. This culminated in a successful conference to promote IDAHO (International Day Against Homophobia), and the subsequent development of ‘Proud Tameside’, a new group for the LGBT community, supported by T3SC, which already has over 30 members. ‘The lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender communities in Tameside have much to thank T3SC and LGF for. The research and consultation undertaken by LGF, and the local capacity-building done by T3SC, laid excellent foundations for a network of LGBT residents of Tameside, working as a community group, with the very clear aim of identifying, promoting and improving services for all the LGBT people of the Borough.’ ‘The support, guidance and hospitality offered by T3SC to the fledgling group is deeply appreciated and will hopefully equip Proud Tameside to develop in its mission to ensure that the LGBT voice is heard, and that our opinions are consulted, wherever decisions are made which affect the lives of a minority community which is steadily emerging on the equalities map.’ ‘If Proud Tameside succeeds in bringing about change, much of the credit will go to the initial vision, planning and support of T3SC.’ Philip Jones, Chair of Proud Tameside - the LGBT Network


17

Like other parts of the country, the impact of the recession is being felt within Tameside’s voluntary and community sector. In early 2009 T3SC were commissioned to develop a local recession resilience action plan for the sector, including collecting evidence of the downturn locally. This plan, well received by partners, identified actions from an array of partners to help the sector meet the challenges that the downturn presents, and resulted in a local, independent grant funder making an extra £150,000 available to sector organisations seeing increased demand for their services because of the recession. In the year ahead, T3SC will be working to ensure that the actions within the recession action plan make the sector stronger. The LINk has developed and established its governance structure and a LINk Board has been elected from the membership of over 750 individuals and local groups. A survey of Tameside residents was undertaken. The majority of the 688 respondents rated their health and social care services as either ‘good’ or ‘very good’ but individual services were identified where people felt that improvements should be made. This survey and other consultation data have helped the LINk Board to identify priority work areas for 2009/10. T3SC ended the financial year with ‘Are We All Equal’, a conference organised in partnership with the Equality and Diversity Centre,

08-09/ANNUALREVIEW

We have continued to deliver a specialist drugs and alcohol project, targeted at BME communities, and increased its remit to include other areas of substance misuse, most notably alcohol. These examples demonstrate our commitment and desire to provide practical support to diverse communities.


18

T3SC/ACTION&IMPACT Are We All Equal conference workshop

focused on equality and diversity legislation, how this affects the work we do in the community and voluntary sector and how we can create fairer society where everyone can participate and have the same opportunity to fulfill their potential The conference also highlighted the need to create a culture in our communities that practices and recognises, respects and values differences and harnessing a potential to create a productive environment in which the equally diverse needs of the local community can be met in a creative environment. In August 2008 our three year community development project, funded through Fairshare, finished in Micklehurst. Community development work often leaves a legacy of skills and contacts, and has benefits beyond the end of the project – for example Micklehurst Estate Residents Association, with partners, recently secured £30k over two years from TMBC Prevention Fund following advice from T3SC after the project in Micklehurst had finished, but using networks, skills and contacts made during the life of the project.


19

In May 2008 T3SC achieved the Quality Award from NAVCA (National Association of Voluntary and Community Action – T3SC’s national body). The Quality Award is currently held by less than 10 percent of Local Infrastructure Organisations (like T3SC) nationally. The externally accredited award demonstrates the quality of T3SC’s work in supporting the needs of local communities and voluntary and community groups. During the autumn T3SC went through a reconfiguration to underpin and support the activity highlighted earlier. The trustees agreed a new management and Team structure to enable the organisation to respond to increasing demands for strategic level, partnership working with statutory stakeholders. As a consequence, the Health and Social Care Team and Representation and Participation Team were merged to form the Policy and Participation Team, and there was the introduction of more senior management roles.

08-09/ANNUALREVIEW

5: TO FURTHER DEVELOP T3SC AS AN EFFICIENT 5 AIM AND EFFECTIVE LOCAL INFRASTRUCTURE AGENCY


20

T3SC/ACTION&IMPACT

T3SC people None of T3SC’s achievements would be possible without dedicated and talented staff, volunteers and trustees. During 2008-09 we developed a new Learning and Development Plan and increased our budget for learning and training activities, demonstrating T3SC’s commitment to our staff and volunteers. During the year, every member of staff undertook completed some formal learning activity and over half undertook an accredited course – for example 10 members of staff from across T3SC gained the City and Guilds Accredited Award in Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector (PTLLS), delivered in a new partnership with Tameside College.

Staff away day, July 2009


21

Staff Team Director Tony Okotie Deputy Director Liz Windsor-Welsh

Central Support Team Office and Finance Manager Helen Tallents Central Support Workers Sam McNicholls Lilian Peace

Support and Development Team Manager Naomi Creed Development Worker Ruth Madden Development Worker Dawn Acton Development Worker Stuart Vaughan Information and Marketing Officer Hannah Powell Community Networker Denton South Rachael Atkin

Policy and Participation Team Policy and Participation Manager Ben Gilchrist (from 1/12/08) Policy and Participation Officer - Health and Social Care Anna Hynes (from 1/7/08) Policy and Participation Officer - Drugs and Diversity Azzam Sheikh Policy and Participation Officer - Children and Young People Veronica Hyde Policy and Participation Officer Colin Kirby Policy and Participation Officer - BME Hakeel Qureshi Policy and Participation Officer - Interfaith Mohamed Seedat Team Leader Health and Social Care Team Hameed Khan (to 30/9/08)

LINk Team LINk Co-ordinator Kevin Peel (from 21/10/08) LINk Policy and Research Officer Tahmena Khan (from 21/10/08)

LINk Community Networker Fouzia Shaikh (from 3/11/08)

Board members Chair Neil Chaisty Deputy Chair Stuart Eyres Treasurer Bill Ormsby Board Members Maria Bailey Margaret Downs Roger Farnworth Bill Johnson Hanif Malik (appointed 14/10/08)

Mohammed Masud (resigned 14/10/08)

Amrit Mistry (appointed 14/10/08)

Pat Ousey James Pinder Stephen Young

08-09/ANNUALREVIEW

T3SC collecting their PTTLS awards, with staff from Tameside College


22

T3SC/ACTION&IMPACT

Financial information The turnover of T3SC has increased substantially on the previous year from £821,775 (2007/8) to £955,780 (2008/9) due to increased revenue from sale of services from £127,509 (2007/8) to £209,780 (2008/9) and increased income from the LINk Project increasing overall grant funding from £590,383 (2007/8) to £644,693. Expenditure has also increased in line with income, because of the associated costs of delivery of the projects.

T3SC income and expenditure 2008/09 Year

Income £ 821,775 955,855

2007-08 2008-09 0

100k

200k

Expenditure £ 761,494 923,845 300k

400k

500k

600k

Net movement in funds £ 60,281 32,010 700k

800k

900k 1000k

Total income Total expenditure Net movement in funds KEY

2007/08

2008/09

A copy of our full audited accounts can be found at www.t3sc.org or obtained by calling 0161 339 4985 or email helen.tallents@t3sc.org


23 £

TMBC

95,000

PCT

90,000

LINk

107,305

Working Neighbourhood Fund

148,000

Big Lottery Fund Grant: BASIS

120,779

Capacity Builders

18,866

TMBC - Diversity Post

38,475

Fairshare Projects

26,658

TMBC - Interfaith Network

35,000

TMBC/CWDC - Children and Young People’s Network

42,000

NAVCA Holding Grants Other

T3SC expenditure 2008/09

3,000 987 14,878

£

Project Work

244,724

Staffing

524,952

Office Costs/Overheads

137,422

Professional / Audit Fees

16,747

Auditor Alan Bolton Bolton & Co. Chartered Accountants 14 Warrington Street Ashton-under-Lyne OL6 6AS

08-09/ANNUALREVIEW

Funding received


24

T3SC/ACTION&IMPACT

Our priorities for the current year (2009-10) In the year ahead, our priorities include: • Developing a new three year strategic plan, including consulting a wide range of stakeholders, to cover 2010-2013 • Mapping the ‘State of the voluntary and community sector in Tameside’, with a detailed and rigorous study to show its size, shape, economic and social benefit • Embedding the new structure of Voice and the support to representatives to attract increased participation in Voice and its associated networks and to demonstrate its impact on decision making locally • Developing an environmental/sustainability action plan, to minimise the carbon footprint and environmental impact of T3SC, and a ‘work place well being’ programme for staff • Introducing a range of informal learning tools for staff, volunteers and trustees of local groups, including shadowing, mentoring and action learning opportunities, to help them improve their skills • Increasing the levels of grant management that the organisation undertakes • Providing additional support to voluntary and community groups locally to help them cope with the impact of the recession • Increasing the support available to local organisations on commissioning, procurement and becoming more enterprising, to enable them to secure tenders and contracts to deliver services • Achieving the PQASSO quality standard • Supporting the LINk in delivering its work plan, particularly in the four key areas of: Personalisation of Adult Social Care; Community Based Mental Health Services; Access to GP Services; and Access to NHS Dental Services.


Some of the positive feedback that we’ve had during the year:

‘Just to say thanks for including me on your mailing list… I can see that it is an excellent newsletter and provides plenty of useful information.’ Jeff Mellor, Secretary, Davaar Patient Help Group

‘I actually did the outcomes training a few years ago, but found it quite confusing. I felt I learned more today in a half day session’ Outcomes training, November 2008

‘We would not have known where to start filling in the application form had it not been for Ruth’s’ knowledge and expertise. I have learned that funding applications aren’t the scary things I once thought they were and would not be as daunted if we have to fill in one again.’ Littlemoss War Memorial Garden

‘The Interfaith Network has enabled me to be more accepting of other faiths, and to want to share that with others in my faith community.’ ‘The main thing for me has been networking which has paid dividends in so many ways, helping me to find out what help is available in the fields I work in, and also what contribution the project I am involved in can make to the wider community.’ Voice member explaining what Voice had done for them

08-09/ANNUALREVIEW

Positive feedback


We are grateful to our funders and strategic partners for their continued support during the course of the year:

Great lives, excellent services

Tameside & Glossop Primary Care Trust

Tameside 3rd Sector Coalition St. Michael’s Court St. Michael’s Square Stamford Street Ashton-under-Lyne OL6 6XN Children's Workforce Development Council

Printed on recycled paper Print & Design Indigo Lithoprint 0161 877 7938 www.indigo-litho.co.uk

T F E W

01613394985 01613390881 info@t3sc.org www.t3sc.org

Registered charity no.1094744


T3SC Annual Review - 2009