Clifton Merchant â&#x20AC;˘ April 2015
Table of Contents
What’s Inside? 14 Before Yankee Stadium... Doherty Silk Sox Field on Main Ave.
27 A Guide to Neighborhoods Thanks to Author William W. Scott
32 American Beauty Rose Origins Our June edition will celebrate Clifton residents of the High School Class of 2015. Our July edition will focus on Mustangs who graduated 05, 95, 85, 75, 65, 55 and maybe even 1945!
14,000 were Cultivated in Nash Park
44 Before Corrado’s...FairyLand Electric Lights, Rides & Fireworks
68 Back to the Future at CHS This Season’s Crop of Mustangs
88 Juxtaposed—CHS Fine Art Featured at Clifton Arts Center
94 St. Andrew Gala & Award Meet the Distinguished Sr. Regina
1288 Main Ave., Downtown Clifton, NJ 07011
973-253-4400 • email@example.com © 2015 Tomahawk Promotions
Visit cliftonmerchant.com for current & past issues
4 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
16,000 Magazines are distributed to hundreds of Clifton Merchants on the first Friday of every month.
Editor & Publisher Tom Hawrylko
Subscribe Page 74 $27 per year $45 for 2 years
Graphic Designer Aly Ibrahim
Contributing Writers Irene Jarosewich, Tom Szieber Michael Gabriele, Jack De Vries
Art Director Ken Peterson
Business Manager Gabriella Marriello Editorial Intern Mariel Vazquez
Clifton Merchant â&#x20AC;˘ April 2015
If you’ve lived in Clifton your entire life, the events and personalities captured in words and pictures will make you smile. If you’re a newcomer, you’re in for a treat.
The great 1913 Silk Strike began in We’ll take you from the 1600s when Clifton, then a part of Paterson, at the the Lenni Lenape lived here, to 1776, still magnificent Doherty Silk Mill on when General George Washington Main Ave. To help mend the wounds retreated through what is today from the strike, owner Harry Doherty known as Clifton after seeing his ragbuilt a “field of dreams” behind his tag army bloodied near Fort Lee. mill, and a parade of baseball Hall of Washington would return, as Famers, including Negro League would his wife Martha, another future stars, played in Clifton against his first lady Abigail Adams, his aide team, the Silk Sox. Alexander Hamilton and General In one game, the one and only Babe Marquis de Lafayette. Ruth hit a mammoth home run that In the late 1800s, Scotto Nash grew caused a riot at the ball park, and the his prize American Beauty Roses in Yankees and the Bambino had to be what is now Nash Park. rescued by a fledgling police force The Clifton Race Track (built The late David L. Van Dillen, picfrom their adoring fans. where Clifton Schools Stadium is tured here, a helped us create this The NFL’s New York Giants today (ever wonder why our sports 300 year timeline of Clifton played an exhibition game in teams are called Mustangs?) would History, which begins on the folClifton, the beefsteak dinner was open, close, open again, and die in lowing page. Thanks are also in invented here by Hap Nightingale, scandal—much to the chagrin of its order to the Clifton Library staff, Sampler’ Clifton ‘A of authors the and the US Animal Quarantine sta10,000 daily patrons, many brought and historian Mark S. Auerbach. tion to inspect exotic animals operin by train and then aboard a Main ated on the grounds of what is now Ave trolley line from New York City. Clifton City Hall. America and Clifton went to war When the ponies were outlawed, they raced bicycles and the hundreds of our city sons who sacrificed their and motorcycles at the track, and Buffalo Bill and lives for our country are etched in eternal memory on Annie Oakley performed their Wild West shows on the the War Monument in Main Memorial Park, erected property. after the “war to end all wars” in 1918. The Morris Canal, the superhighway of its day, A generation and another world war later, Clifton meandered through Clifton, from the late 1820s to the began transforming itself from a quiet farming commu1920s, as did the trolley that brought visitors to nity to a thriving city, thanks in part to the GI Bill, a Fairyland Amusement Park. The amusement park on housing developer named Steve Dudiak, and a football Main Ave., about where Corrado’s is today, was a maze coach named Joe Grecco. But that’s a story for a future of electric lights, dance pavilions, circus attractions, edition. Enjoy Part I of Clifton’s history... and rides—all protected by Clifton constables. 6 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
The Clifton Theater at Main and Clifton Avenues, opened on December 30, 1937 and was demolished in February 2001. It is now a Walgreens.
1678: Hartman Vreeland buys Dundee Island in what is now the Market St. area of Passaic. He establishes a trading post for the exchange of goods with the local Lenni Lenape Indians. March 5, 1680: Two Labadist missionaries explore the Passaic River by rowboat from Belleville to the Great Falls. March 16, 1684: An agreement is reached between 14 Dutch patentees and the East Jersey Proprietors for the purchase of Acquackanonk. Fourteen estates were laid out in tiers between the Passaic River and Wesel Mountain. Dec. 4, 1692: Capt. John Bradbury establishes the first grist mill at present day Delawanna’s Third River. Dec. 4, 1693: The several counties in the East Jersey province are divided into townships. A new township in Essex County is Acquackanonk and New Barbadoes. It extends from the mouth of the Passaic River to the Ramapo River at the New York State border. In 1707, this township is separated into the separate townships of the two names.
April 10, 1693: King’s Highway is laid out along the Passaic River, from Newark north to Belleville, or to the ford of the Second River. 1707: The first road from Newark to the interior of the Province of East Jersey is laid out along the Passaic River as far as the Acquackanonk Landing (Passaic) and then along today’s Lexington Ave. through Wesel to Paterson. 1729: Stephen Bassett’s tannery and distillery is established on today’s East Clifton Ave. near Nash Park, then Wesel. 1740: A brownstone quarry is in operation in today’s City Hall complex near the Colfax Ave. entrance.
1745: A schoolhouse is built at Lexington and Clifton Ave’s. It serves as a meeting place for the Committee On Correspondence during the American Revolution. Nov. 17, 1755: Bloomfield Ave. is laid out though today’s Allwood from Acquackanonk Landing to Stonehouse Plains. 1774: The Hoffmeier property spans 44 acres, Pershing Rd. to Grove St. 1774: Abraham Godwin operates a stagecoach twice a week between Paulus Hook (Jersey City) and the Great Falls (Paterson) via Weasel Rd. in Acquackanonk Township. timeline continues on page 14
In 1736, the Gysbert Vanderhoff house and saw mill is constructed in today’s Weasel Brook Park. The homestead, pictured above, still stands. Clifton Merchant • April 2015
Lenni Lenape In the 1600’s, when the Dutch reached Acquackanonk, the first people they encountered were the Lenni Lenape tribe. Historian William W. Scott, who in 1922 wrote the History of Passaic and Its Environs, calculated that the Lenni Lenape, which means pure or original Indian, arrived in New Jersey around 976 A.D., after they had forced out A mural entitled, ‘Indians Trading with the Half Moon’ by Henry the Mengwe, a previous tribe. Schnakenberg which can be viewed in the Fort Lee Post Office. Scott writes that the Lenape were a strong shaped, pointing downstream with a sluice in the center and healthy nation when the Europeans first arrived, and where a woven basket was set to catch the fish. were willing to share Acquackanonk, which encomThe Lenapes also made use of the fertile land near the passed modern-day Clifton, Passaic and Paterson. Dundee Dam where they grew maize and other crops. However, he stated, as a race, few lived past the age of In fact, the Passaic River offered so much to these peo60. The Passaic River was bountiful and the area near ple that it was home to a permanent settlement, covering today’s Dundee Dam—between Garfield and Clifton— most of the land east of Second St., into present-day was a place for religious services and also a prime fishPassaic. They often lived in 7x24 foot longhouses, ing location. He also noted that the Lenape regarded the which accommodated up to a 12-person family. turtle as ‘creator of all things’. To the east of Sixth St., where Passaic and Wall Sts. They taught the Dutch how to use the so-called Lenape are located today, was where the homes of about 500 fish dams (called slooterdam by the Dutch) which was VLenape. There was a trail from the river to the Great Notch and on to present day Rifle Camp Rd. where they had a spot to replenish their arrows. The greatest of all the Lenape meeting places where they gathered after the harvest was the dancing grounds along the Third River in Delawanna. Eventually, the new settlers took their toll on the Lenape. The Dutch introduced alcohol and disease, which sent the population spiraling, and by around 1700, the Lenape migrated west. 8 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
Clifton Merchant â&#x20AC;˘ April 2015
Industrious & Crafty
the Dutch Settlers After the purchase of the area known as Acquackanonk from the Lenni Lenape Indians in 1684 for a parcel of blankets, kettles, powder and other various goods, the 14 Dutch proprietors from Bergen (now Jersey City) who had bought the land each laid out their own homes and farms along the Passaic River. These houses were at the current location of Rutt’s Hutt to the bridge that crossed the river to Wallington. These first settlers were attracted to this region for the same reason the Lenni Lenape were: the natural resources. With a majority of the first settlers coming over being farmers, it only made sense to start a community on the fertile land in between the Passaic River and Wesel (Garret) Mountain, which formed the natural boundaries of the Acquackanonk territory. The woods around the settlement provided fuel for fire and were perfect for building the one-room homes where the Dutch lived, if field stones were not present. The Passaic River was also important to their lives, offering fish, another staple of the early Dutch settlers, as
Early Dutch settlers were welcomed by the Lenni Lenape and became trading partners with them.
well as providing the fastest means of transportation to neighboring areas. That is, when the Dutch weren’t tending to their land, which often was a sunrise to sunset job. The one-room homes featured a large fireplace, which was used for warmth, as well as cooking. Early diets included a lot of saltpork, beef, potatoes, cornmeal and cabbage, as well as deer, turkey and fish, which was mostly cooked in large iron kettles over the fire. Fruits and vegetables were also common in warm months, as were springhouses, where goods that may spoil in heat were kept cool in the ground. For the winter, the smokehouse was often used, where meat could be preserved for a later time. Items and food that were to be stored were either kept in the barn, which also housed all the livestock, or in the home’s cellar. Life for early Acquackanonk settlers was certainly not easy.
10 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
Clifton Merchant â&#x20AC;˘ April 2015
Weichert Million Dollar Club
Weichert Ambassador’s Club Alma Billings NJAR® Circle of Excellence Sales Award® 2014 - Silver Weichert Sales Club, Marketed Club
Kaitlyn Barbagallo Paula Benus Weichert Marketed Weichert Sales Club Club
Deborah ‘Debby’ Bland Weichert Sales Club
Angela Dallesandro Weichert Sales Club
Mary Pat Holt Weichert Sales Club
Susan ‘Sue’ McFarlane Weichert Marketed Club
Weichert Executive’s Club Lesia Wirstiuk NJAR® Circle of Excellence Sales Award® 2014 - Silver
Mary Jean Cetinich Weichert Sales Club
Weichert Sales Club, Marketed Club
Weichert Director’s Club Carlito Chi Weichert Sales Club Marketed Club Hilda Ferro NJAR® Circle of Excellence Sales Award® 2014 – Bronze Weichert Sales Club
Marianna Gozdz Weichert Sales Club
Tania Hernandez Faria Weichert Sales Club
Kathleen ‘Kathy’ Perow Weichert Marketed Club
Arthur ‘Artie’ A. Rubin Weichert Sales Club
Jerry Sanders Weichert Marketed Club Gregorio ‘Greg’ Manalo Weichert Sales Club
James ‘Jim’ L. Steccato Weichert Sales Club, Marketed Club Valdemar Studzinski NJAR® Circle of Excellence Sales Award® 2014 – Bronze Weichert Sales Club Marketed Club
12 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
Elena Schwartz Weichert Sales Club
Meghan Russo Weichert Sales Club
Sandra P. Vasquez
Rasen ‘Ras’ A. Saadah Weichert Sales Club
Pearl C. Wang Weichert Sales Club
Ellen Weiner Our 2014 Weichert Pride Award Winner “Knowing that the dreams that you dared to dream really did come true”
Our Friend, Our Colleague, Forever in Our Hearts...
February 2015 Award Winners
Agent of the Month
More great Clifton homes to see...
CLIFTON This charming, 3BR Col features a FDR, hd flrs, gorgeous woodwork, walk-up attic, large bsmt, drwy. MLS #3200052 $274,900
CLIFTON This immaculate 2BR, 2BA Custom Condo features an open flr plan, gas frpl, terrace & great amentities. MLS #3200515 $364,900
CLIFTON This lovely, tri-level Twnhs features 2BRs, 2.5BAs, Family Rm, 2 frpls, deck, patio, & 1 car gar. MLS #3205689 $364,500
Tony Sanchez, Manager
If you’re interested in a career in real estate, call me at 973-779-1900 (office) 973-801-9497(cell) firstname.lastname@example.org Clifton Merchant • April 2015
Nov. 22, 1776: Gen. George Washington and the Colonial Army retreated from Acquackanonk Landing through what is today’s Delawanna en route to Newark, Elizabethtown, New Brunswick and the Delaware River at Trenton. Essayist Thomas Paine may have accompanied the troops. Nov. 27, 1776: Speertown (now Allwood) is pillaged by Red Coats. July 10, 1778: Gen. Washington, Alexander Hamilton and aides visit the Great Falls, pass through Acquackanonk en route to Preakness.
1726: Notch Rd. is laid out across Acquackanonk Township from the Passaic River to Wesel Mountain, now known as Garret Mountain. The illustration on page 20 was rendered in about 1857; the photo below is of the Notch Brook in 1922 when a tavern and gathering place existed and above is the location as it appears today as Gensinger Motors.
Oct./Nov. 1780: The Colonial Army camped at Totowa and George Washington had his headquarters at the Dey Mansion. Their AWOL soldiers were rounded up in Acquackanonk. Oct. 23, 1780: Marquis de Lafayette leads a Pennsylvania Line of the Colonial Army through the Notch and to Stone House Plains Road (Allwood Road) on a sally toward Staten Island. The thrust fails; the troops return to Totowa. Aug. 21, 1781: The Colonial Army passes through Acquackanonk on Wesel Rd. (now Lexington Ave.) for the last time en route from the Hudson Highlands to Yorktown, Va. 14 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
Sept. 10, 1786: Kingsland Rd. is laid out, starting from the Kingsland Paper Mill on Yantacaw Pond to Bloomfield. 1796: Acquackanonk Township School 1 is erected on Franklin Ave. (now Main Ave.), near Stone House Plains Rd. (Allwood Rd.)
May 13, 1796: Bloomfield Rd. (now Broad St. in Richfield) is laid out from Paterson to Notch Rd. (now Van Houten Ave.) to a point 100 feet west of the log schoolhouse on the south side of Notch Rd. (near today’s Richfield Farms) and became a major roadway.
Once located behind the former silk mill at 1550 Main Ave., across from the Passaic Valley Water Commission, the Doherty Oval was probably the finest diamond in the nation until Yankee Stadium was built in 1923. Turn to page 58 for more on this Field of Dreams.
May 13, 1796: Hazel Rd. laid out. Aug. 3, 1801: Essex County Road Orders vacate, alter and relocate Notch Rd. and present-day Van Houten Ave. Paterson Plank Rd. (now Main Ave.) is also laid out. 1810: Melville Curtis starts a paper mill beside Yantacaw Pond in today’s Delawanna section. May 1, 1813: James Shepherd builds the first cotton bleachery in New Jersey, at a pond along
Garritse Lane (now Clifton and Main Ave.). It is sold in 1830. 1818: The Van Riper general store established on present: day Broad St. near Hepburn Rd. and Bloomfield border. 1820: The Isaac Sip (Doremus) house is built on Broad St. An original wing may have been erected as early as 1740. Dec. 17, 1824: Speertown (Allwood) and part of Bloomfield
are united in a special school district. Children from both municipalities attended school in Bloomfield. 1824: The Morris Canal is extended into Acquackanonk Township along Broad St. and put into early use as constructed—local businesses open. 1826: A Centerville real estate development called Canalville is laid out near Broad and Grove Sts. 1828: Wesel School is moved from Lexington to Lakeview Ave.
ACCURATE, FRIENDLY, AND GUARANTEED! Present this flyer to your tax preparer at Liberty Tax Service, and we will prepare your return to your satisfaction, guaranteed!
3 30% OFF TAX PREPARATION
For new customers. Valid at participating locations. Cannot be combined with other offers or used toward past services. One coupon per customer and per return. Other exclusions may apply. Void where prohibited by law. Valid 3/1-4/10/2015.
Liberty Tax-Allwood 1344 Clifton Ave. Richfield Center (Next to Boston Market) Clifton NJ 07012 973-778-0700
Liberty Tax-Union City 4414 Park Ave Corner Fulton St at 45th St (3 Blocks North of Pathmark) Weehawken/Union City 201-295-1040 Clifton Merchant • April 2015
1831: Long before automobiles & airplanes, there was the Morris Canal... Aug. 16, 1831: The 102-mile Morris Canal is finally completed. May 28, 1832: The Paterson & Hudson River Railroad is put into service between Paterson and Passaic. During this time, it was considered a luxury to ride a train. The fare fluctuated, ranging from 15 to 25 cents, with children under 12 riding half off. The train’s coaches often jumped track, but since they were so light, it was not of concern. Passengers would get out to lend a hand and put it back on. Trains ran from 7 am to 7 pm, beginning in Paterson. In 1834, the first steam engine appeared on the roads and from there, everything expanded. The line then extended to Jersey City and Suffern as a part of the Erie-Lackawanna Railroad.
Nov. 6, 1833: The Postville School opens in South Paterson, then part of Acquackanonk, not Paterson. Feb. 7, 1837: New Jersey Legislature establishes Passaic County, by removing it from Essex County. 1837: William P. Ackerman establishes New Jersey’s earliest cotton tannery on a pond near Clifton and Main Aves. A new chemical process is used in the tanning. Oct. 6, 1837: Henry F. Piaget acquires and begins to operate the 18th century tavern at Notch, first licensed in 1797. It is named: “The Union Hotel at Great Notch.” 1840: The first Sunday School is opened in Van Winkle’s barn at Broad St. & Van Houten Ave. 1847: A great pearl “rush” for pearls from fresh water mussels occurs along Pearl Brook below the Notch. Some quality pearls are found but the largest is destroyed by cooking.
Dec. 23, 1847: B’nai Jeshurun congregation acquires from Dr. Joseph W. Ashman two small lots in Centerville for use as a Jewish cemetery, perhaps North Jersey’s earliest. 1849: A Methodist chapel, used primarily by circuit riders, is opened on Van Houten Ave., west of Grove St. (near the present Clifton Masonic Temple site). The earlier Van Wrinkle barn Sunday School moves here but services were discontinued in 1855. April 20, 1859: The cornerstone of the Dundee Dam across the Passaic River near Botany Village is set in place by Gov. William Newell. Joseph Scott, father of author/historian William Scott, is chief engineer for the project, which includes the Dundee Canal, a water power source for Passaic’s mills. 1861: The Minette Varnish Co. at 132 Delawanna Ave. is opened and hires many workers. The building and ovens are razed circa 1955.
history continues on page 21
An undated photo of the Morris Canal. The section above is located where Route 19 today runs into Paterson.
16 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
Your homeowner’s policy does not cover flood damage. Electricity Don’t stand in water and turn off electrical switches. Even if flood waters are not reaching electrical outlets, the risk of electrical shock to someone working in a flooded area is high because of electric motors in the furnace, freezer, washer, dryer and other appliances. If the ground is still dry, shut off electrical breakers or unscrew fuses. If wet, contact the power company to have the electrical supply disconnected. Sewers Install check valves in sewer traps to prevent floodwater from backing up into the house drains.
April Showers... Get Your Umbrella! Floods and Hurricanes? The Passaic River is known for chronic flooding problems during periods of heavy rainfall or snowmelt—and it is not just upcounty that gets hit. Many Clifton neighborhoods are getting soaked. Flooding can happen for reasons other than rainfall, including hurricanes, sheet flows and seiches. Whether or not you live in a flood zone, you should take precautions to help prevent flood damage to your home. Tell your insurance agent if you implement flood damage preventative measures to take advantage of any applicable premium credits or discounts.
Elevate for Prevention Make sure your furnace, water heater, and electric panel are elevated. If a flood is imminent: • Shut off appliances at the breaker panel. • Put freezers, washers, dryers and other appliances up on wood or cement blocks to keep the motors above the water level. • If large appliances can’t be moved, wrap them in polyethylene film, tying the film in place with cord or rope. The water may still get in, but most silt will be blocked. • Move hazardous materials to higher locations – including paint, oil and cleaning supplies. • Move tax records, insurance policies, photos and other important items off the bottom shelves in the lower level of your home. Barriers In areas where water is not expected to rise above the slab or floor level, have materials on hand to quickly construct barriers (sandbags, levees, beams, flood walls) to stop floodwater from entering the building. Seepage In basements or crawlspaces, seal the walls with water-proofing compounds to avoid seepage.
Term Life Insurance the best way to Invest your IRS Return! may be
Call Jamie Nielsen 973-256-6000 x5956 to find out more Clifton Merchant • April 2015
Fix Concrete Cracks in 5 Minutes with...
The Athenia Mason Supply Team can suggest the best Quikrete Product for your next project. The QUIKRETE® Companies offers hundreds of products for do-it-yourselfers and professionals. These include concrete mixes, mortar mixes, cements, concrete repair products, stuccos, waterproofing products, tile setting systems, hardscapes, blacktop products, floor underlayments, sand and aggregates and other seasonal items. QUIKRETE® products can be found at Athenia Mason Supply. The experts pictured here can help homeowners and contractors alike select the best product for your next project.
Hablamos español 18 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
Quikrete’s Hydraulic Water-Stop Cement
Is water seeping through a mortar joint or crack in your basement block? Even if it’s raining and water is leaking into your basement you can use Quikrete Hydraulic Water-Stop Cement to seal the crack. Apply it below ground where moisture is typically present or outside and above ground, as shown above. Then seal the patch and make it look great with Quikrete Masonry Coating,
Quikrete Hydraulic Water-Stop Cement is a high strength repair material that plugs leaks instantly in concrete and masonry. It is perfect for repair projects like patching these cracked steps. The difference is that it will set in 5 minutes whereas mortar takes much longer. Quikrete Hydraulic Water-Stop Cement will seal water leaks instantly in pools, fountains, around pipes, conduits—anywhere where water is an issue.
Quikrete Hydraulic Water-Stop Cement will stop a leak up to 8 FEET UNDERWATER!
Clifton Merchant • April 2015
The Pearl Rush in the Notch...
A Tale of the $25,000 Mussel In 1847, a Paterson shoemaker named David Howell, a collector of wildlife from neighborhood streams, gathered some fresh water mussels from Notch Brook. He carried home his shellfish and deep-fried them. One of the mussels contained a pearl that weighed nearly 400 grains (about one ounce). Unfortunately, the luster and the value was completely destroyed by the heat and the grease of deep-frying. Had the pearl been found in time, its value might have been about $25,000. Following this experience, David Howell and others who heard of his story, began extensive mussel collecting. People arrived at Notch Brook from all parts of northeastern New Jersey. The Pearl Rush in the Notch resembled, in a small way, the gold rush which took place in California at about the same time. The pearl rush lasted some 10 years, and then the pearls were gone.
During 1857, pearls from North Jersey streams were sold for a total of $15,000. Most were small and of average quality. Only one was found that weighed as much as 93 grains. This was purchased by Tiffany & Company of New York for $1,500. Later, this pearl from Clifton was sold to a French dealer and eventually passed into the possession of Empress Eugenie of France,
Sirlene Oliveira Realtor/Associate 201-592-1400
201-600-3587 email@example.com Details at my website
Sirlenesellshomes.com 310 Main Street Fort Lee, NJ 07024 20 April 2015 â&#x20AC;˘ Clifton Merchant
a consort of Napoleon III. Because of its remarkable luster, it became known in the industry as the Queen Pearl. Notch Brook now flows through a pipe under Route 46 in the Notch and emerges into Montclair Heights in Clifton. It then flows into Essex County at Grove St. as Pearl Brook, a name the stream earned in the middle of the 19th century.
I am now with Weichert Fort Lee. While I have changed offices, my approach to marketing your home remains the same: a customized campaign for each client. My solutions are never one-size-fits-all!
Go to my website to learn more about my services and capabilities. Call or send an email when you are ready to buy a new home. I can visit you for a free consultation when youâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;re ready to sell.
1880: Second Census of Acquackanonk counts 1,732 people. March 28, 1865: The 90-acre Cedar Lawn cemetery is formally opened. Burials and reinterring of Sandy Hill removals happen as early as September 1857. 1865: George V. DeMott builds the Clifton Grove Hotel at the corner of Main and Madison’s Ave’s. He also opens a real estate office on the corner of Madison and Getty Ave’s. Oct. 1867: The Clifton Landing & Building Association commences the development of the Clifton section of Acquackanonk Township, west of Main Ave. from Weasel Brook to Union Ave. 1868: The Lotz Brothers’ Dairy is established on Piaget Ave. March 31, 1868: Litte Falls is removed from Acquackanonk Township at the steep rocks facing Wesel Mountain on the east. 1868: A branch of the Pennsylvania Railroad system is constructed from Newark through Highland (Allwood) and Athenia to Paterson. June 8, 1869: The Ninth Ward (South Paterson) is separated from Acquackanonk Township to become part of Paterson. 1870: Acquackanonk Township’s weekly newspaper, The Item, begins publication. 1870: The Clifton Union Sunday School (interdenominational) is organized above the variety store at 99 Florence (Getty) Ave. July 3, 1870: Wesel School relocates to 99 Florence Ave.
Where Clifton Schools Stadium and Main Memorial Park are today, the Clifton Race Track began its first horse racing season on May 1, 1875.
1870: The Delaware, Lackawanna & Western’s Boonton branch begins operations through Delawanna, Passaic and Athenia. March 21, 1871: The village of Passaic splits from Acquackanonk Township. Passaic becomes a separate city in 1973. July 19, 1871: Delawanna residents vote down annexation by the City of Passaic. Sept. 30, 1871: A railroad depot is opened in Arlington Ave. The Clifton depot on Madison Ave. was already opened in 1870. 1871: The Morris Canal is sold to the Lehigh Valley Railroad. 1871: George Hughes, a linen manufacturer, and his brother, John, land developers from Cranford, purchase land in Athenia, lay out streets and build 14 homes with a characteristic mansard roof. Six are still in use
across from the Boys Club. Oct. 21, 1871: Engine Co. #1 opens in a barn at Main & Madison Ave’s. Feb. 24, 1872: Lakeview Ave. links the Erie Railroad depot near Clifton Ave. to Market St., Paterson. June 20, 1872: The Paterson, Newark and New York Railroad reorganize through Allwood and Athenia as a branch of the Erie. Sept. 21, 1872: Residents of Clifton form a village band. Aug. 3, 1872: Orrin Vander Hoven starts the Passaic Herald, a county temperance weekly newspaper. 1872: A two-room school is built in Richfield, west of Broad St. to replaces a one story frame building. 1872: Acquackanonk School #1 on Franklin Ave. is rebuilt on Allwood Rd. It later becomes part of St. Clares’s R.C. Church. Clifton Merchant • April 2015
1872: The Fritzsche Co., manufacturer of aromatic oils, is established on Weasel Brook near Third St. 1872: Albion Place is named by John R. Gourley, a resident of Dolly Mount, a prestigious home on Valley Rd., now the Classical Academy Charter School of Clifton. 1873: The Hughes Brothers erect railroad depots around Athenia for both the Erie Newark Branch and Lackawanna railroads. May 10, 1873: Henry A. Hudson’s hotel in Delawanna opens. 1873/74: The 1740 brownstone quarry on today’s City Hall site on Colfax Ave. is leased to Abbott Marble Co. of Passaic. 1874: Clifton’s third (William Davidson) and fourth (George DeMott) postmasters serve offices in the Variety Store at Florence (Getty) Ave.
S. V. in 99
May 9, 1874: Allwood is named Peru by Erie Railroad. 22 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
In 1892, silk baron Catholina Lambert builds his castle, Belle Vista, on Valley Rd. at the Paterson Clifton border. The view at the top of the page is of the Italian Garden. Below, is the observatory which he had constructed in 1896, The Castle is now the home of the Passaic County Historical Society and both properties have been restored by Passaic County government.
1874: Acquackanonk’s School #3 is built at First St. & Clifton Ave. Aug. 1, 1874: Clifton Driving Park is in the planning stage at the “toll” Road and Kip’s Lane (Piaget Ave.). A half-mile track for horse racing is to be constructed on 25 acres.
Nov. 21, 1874: Getty Ave. is opened from Clifton Ave. to Crooks Ave. Main Ave. ceases to be a toll road. Too many cross streets hinder collection. 1875: Acquackanonk Township census following removal of Little Falls in 1868 and Passaic in 1871: 1,631.
Quality Products • Great Prices • Expert Advice • Corrado’s True Value!
• Fruit & Flowering Trees • Shrubs & Mulch • Perennials & Annuals • Sod & Soil • Stone & Pavers
• Statues & Fountains • Patio Furniture • House Plants • Hanging Plants • and much more...
$79.99 Sale Price -$20.00 Mail-In Rebate =$59.99 Final Price
Clifton Merchant • April 2015
1876: Capt. Joseph’s wife and a Selling child are buried in B’nai Jeshurun Cemetery in Centerville. 1877: The Birch Lumber Co. opens at 38 Oak St., Delawanna. May 11, 1877: Joe Goss, champion pugilist, fights all-comers at the Passaic County Fair Grounds held at the Race Track in Clifton. May 11, 1877: A part of Centerville takes the name Richfield to get its own Post Office at Kesse’s Hotel. The Athenia part of Centerville didn’t get a Post Office until 1883. 1880: Tyldsley’s Tavern opens on Elm St. at the Lackawanna Railroad tracks in Athenia. A grade crossing which extended Fornelius (Central Ave.) toward Passaic existed. In 1922, an underpass was constructed to complete Clifton Blvd. between Clifton Ave. and the Passaic border.
24 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
1880: Peter & Israel Bennigan’s Broadsilk and Ribbon Mill opens on Hazel Rd. at today’s Garden State Parkway ramp.
1884: Clifton Hard Rubber Co. replaces a lace mill on Clifton Blvd. on Post property opposite the Lackawanna depot.
Winter 1881: Clifton Methodist Chapel and Clifton Union Sunday School building at Clifton Ave. and First St. burns to the ground.
1883: Ferdinand Grossenbacher lives in a large home on Clifton Ave., which became the Elk’s first home. He operated a silk mill on Post property opposite the depot of Lackawanna Railroad at Athenia. In 1887, that mill burned in a fire.
Aug. 13, 1882: The new chapel at Centerville in Athenia opens for worship services. It is decided on Oct. 5 to be renamed the Reformed Church of Centerville. 1883: Names change: The land between the Lackawanna Railroad and the Newark Branch of the Erie Railroad along Claverack Road (now Clifton Ave.) takes the name Athenia in order to secure a Post Office. 1883/84: Isaac Van Dillen opens a general store in Athenia.
1886: George, William and John Engemann, with approval of the Acquackanonk Township Council, expand their Race Track, complete with a hotel, betting ring and glass enclosed grandstands to seat 10,000 fans. An Erie Main Line railroad runs directly up to the entrance to the racetrack, bringing in thousands of horse racing fans. timeline continues on page 36
Clifton Merchant â&#x20AC;˘ April 2015
Early Neighborhood Names Story by William W. Scott, as published in 1922
William W. Scott was the author of the History of Passaic and Its Environs, a thick and tedious three-part series which was published in 1922. The encyclopedic books detail the history of the region, and offers his thoughts and observations on a variety of topics. What follows are accounts of how various sections received their monikers, as it was written by Scott. Weasel, taking the Weasel Brook locality, was settled by Hollanders in the early part of the eighteenth century. The first prominent settler was Gerrit Gerritse. The land originally was used for farming; many of the old farm lanes are now streets, such as Crooks Ave. A grist mill once was located along the Weasel Brook on the old Post Farm, later taken over by the Van Winkles. The Vreelands also exercised considerable influence in this locality. The brook also boasted on its banks at various times a distillery, a bleachery and a factor in which hoop skirts were made. A portion of the Weasel locality now lies covered by the waters of the Dundee Lake, under which lies the remains of old houses. The lake was created by Edward T. Christianson, a New York tea merchant, who surrounded the artificial lake with trees, shrubs, flowers and palms. Water fowl then disported on the surface of the lake, while at night, the surrounded gardens were illuminated by Japanese lanterns. The old race track, on which property (Christopher Columbus Middle School) stands, was originally a part of a Weasel farm tract. Negro slaves were used to do the 26 April 2015 â&#x20AC;˘ Clifton Merchant
rough work on these farms; one farm alone, owned by Elias Vreeland, who lived at Lexington and Hamilton Aves, maintained twenty-five negroes. A physically fit male negro slave cost him about $400; a wench, a little less that $300. It sometimes happened that the slaves were whipped on the bare back fro such offenses as pilfering, but as a rule, the Dutch masters were generally kind to their slaves. At Christmas time, they were given a weekâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s vacation and allowed to go visiting in the neighborhood. Albion Place, a part of the Notch, was formerly known as Postville, owned for the most part by the Post family. In 1833, it boasted a schoolhouse on Hazel St. (The Driftway). Beantown and Bricktown were also names formerly applied to the northern section of this region. The descendants of John R. Gould, an Englishman and owner of much property here, named the development Albion Place in honor of their native land, Albion (England). Most of the names of the streets in this section are of English origin, such as Gillies St., in honor of John Gillies, Scotch historian; Lambert St., in honor of
William W. Scott in 1922.
John Lambert, English General; and Warren St., for Samuel Warren, London lawyer. The Notch should not be confused with Great Notch in Little Falls; it is rather the land of the mountains along Valley Rd. Farming was always done here, as well a trap rock quarrying. The Pearl Brook is named because of the fact that a pearl was once found in a mussel shell in the brook (see our story on page 20). A history of the Notch would be incomplete without the mention of the Old Notch Tavern. The tavern was built in 1783 by Cornelius A. Vreeland, for team-drivers and travelers and often as a court house. During the Revolutionary War, homes there were looted by the British. A lookout station was at the southern end of the mountain and huge stones were collected at the top to roll down on the British should they attempt to pass through.
When ‘oldtimers’ discuss Clifton’s neighborhoods, genealogy or landmarks of historical significance, the name William W. Scott often comes up. That is because he is the authority on the history of the region, most specifically the area known as Acquackanonk, which incorporates Clifton, long before it became a city on April 26, 1917. It was Scott’s opinion that the old names of these localities were far more significant than “the present meaningless designations.” He points out, for example, that Weasel, “a corruption of Wesel”, a town in Holland, refers to the old World home of the first settlers and “means infinitely more than the present name, Lakeview.” Scott holds that Claverack, meaning clover fields, is “superior to the utterly meaningless, Athenia.” What follows are the words of the author, which some of today’s readers may not find politically correct. But reading the story will help further identify Clifton’s neighborhoods, which are mentioned by several different names in our timeline.
Oct. 16, 1867: “There are the cliffs and the name shall be Clifton.” Clifton proper received its name from a development project which was named in an open air meeting held under a tree on property now occupied by St. Paul’s School, at Main and Washington Aves. The meeting was held on Oct. 16, 1867. After considering then disposing of the suggested names of Acquackanonk, Claverack and
Weasel, Clifton was finally adopted on a suggestion made by Mrs. Charles D. Spencer. When asked where the cliffs were, Mrs. Spencer came out from under the boughs of the apple tree and with a branch in her hand pointed to Weasel Mountain (Garret Mountain), saying: “There are the cliffs and the name shall be Clifton.” Clifton Merchant • April 2015
First called Speertown because of the predominance of the Speer name among its inhabitants, then Highland, then Peru, then Somerset, this locality received its present name, Allwood, in 1882. A mineral spring in this locality gave rise to the establishment of a sanitarium known throughout the east. The first road through this section was Bloomfield Ave., laid down in 1755, which was then changed somewhat in 1803. Kingsland Rd. was laid out in 1786 and Stone House Plains Rd. in 1795. The Newark Branch of the Erie was put through in 1868. The development of this locality is due in no small measure to the work of William L. Lyall, under whom the Brighton Mills were build, houses erected, streets laid out and a model community begun. As Claverack, Athenia was a region of clover fields from the early 18th century to the time of the Civil War, when the Sip family changed the name to Centerville because the settlement was in the center of their farms. The Hughes family secured much property here and had the Erie Railroad Station erected, as well as the station on the D. L and W. Houses on Clifton and Colfax Aves.
Baked Stuffed Shells
Grilled chicken, mushrooms, green peas & onions in a white wine cream sauce
Ricotta filled pasta shells baked with marinara & mozzarella cheese
Linguine with Sunday Sauce Meat ball, sweet sausage & marinara
Penne ala Vodka
Eggplant Parmigiana Breaded eggplant cutlets baked with marinara & mozzarella cheese
Grilled chicken breast with a tomato vodka cream sauce
Eggplant Rollatini Thinly sliced eggplant stuffed with ricotta with marinara & mozzarella cheese
Cavatelli & Broccoli Sautéed broccoli with garlic & olive oil tossed with cavatelli pasta
Cheese and Meat Ravioli Baked with marinara & mozzarella cheese
Italian classic meat & tomato sauce
Penne ala Nonna Diced eggplant, olives, tomatoes, garlic & onions topped with fresh ricotta cheese
House Wines Cabernet, Merlot, Chardonnay, White Zinfandel
Broccoli, sausage, cannelini beans, garlic, olive oil and rosemary
28 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
The property changed hands in the panic of 1874, and a new resident, Hugh Cheyne, treasurer of the Singer Sewing Machine Company, suggested that the name Centerville be changed so that a post office might be established. Previous applications for a post office had been refused because there were already too many Centervilles in New Jersey. The name Athenia in honor of the Greek goddess, Athene, was accepted in 1882. There was once a popular tavern located on the banks of the canal, a stopping place for boats. Hereabouts a settlement sprang up from the time that the Morris Canal and Banking Company put through the waterway in 1831. much joviality and some carousing marked the days of the old tavern, which is no more. A whipping post was located here in the slavery days, with instances of cruel punishments being recorded in the local annals. Richfield’s name is appropriate, for this region was reputed to be the richest truck farm land in New Jersey. The protection of the high cliffs on the northwest and the southern exposure permitted year-round gardening. Vegetables were raised here by farmers and then transported for Newark and New York City markets. These vegetable gardens were started by German settlers around the late 1800’s. Foremost among the early gardeners was George Plog. The Indian name Kantacaw, also spelled Yantacaw, meaning a dancing pace, was applied to this locality hundreds of years before whites came. The present name, Delawanna, was applied by the Delaware, Lackawanna and West Railroad in 1868, the new name a combination of Delaware and Lackawanna; 14 farms made up the original white settlement. The Yanticaw River provided power for grist and paper mills. The Whiting Paper Company and other paper manufacturers, including Melvin Curtis, whose descendants owned the Saturday Evening Post, made paper at the old mill, which was destroyed by fire in 1861 and was never rebuilt. The reef neighborhood of Delawanna, on the river bank between the Rutherford Bridge and the Lackawanna Railroad, was the scene of much activity during the Revolution, because of the old river and the fording place. Tradition tells of one settler who was hung from a sycamore tree for assisting the British across.
Shook Funeral Home remains an elegant facility with three spacious chapels, a comfortable lounge and ample parking. Serving all faiths, Shook Funeral Home specializes in pre-need and at-need funeral arrangements, cremation services and memorial gatherings for all of Northern New Jersey. A funeral director is available 24 hours a day, 365 days a year to answer any questions or requests for service. Joseph M. Shook, Sr., Founder 1924 - 2008
Allow the Shook and Garretson families to honor your loved one with respect and dignity by calling
in your time of need.
Nancy Shook Garretson, President NJ Lic. No. 3657
Thomas J. Garretson, Director NJ Lic. No. 4988
Roy B. Garretson, Manager NJ Lic. No. 3550
Kevin V. White, Director NJ Lic. No. 4964 Clifton Merchant â&#x20AC;˘ April 2015
At the civic and political crossroads of a growing community... The Village of Clifton Proper, centered around the intersection of Clifton and Main Aves., witnessed rapid real estate development following the Civil War. Streets were laid out, a train station was built at Getty and Clifton Aves., and in 1869 a hotel was constructed at Main and Madison (where the new Clifton Post Office exists today). The Clifton Grove Hotel was popular with patrons of the nearby Clifton Race Track, and, with its picnic grove at Madison and DeMott Aves., it also served as a gathering place for locals as well. While fire destroyed the original structure on Jan. 25, 1895, proprietor Henry Hohenstein rebuilt and renamed the structure the ‘Clifton Hotel’ soon after. “Although smaller than the original structure,” historian William J. Wurst in A Clifton Sampler, “a stately and fashionable inn had emerged from the ashes. Three stories high and gabled and trimmed in the ornamental fashion characteristic of the latter part of the 19th century, the building contained a bar room, reading room, dining room, two parlors and private bedrooms.” With its hardwood floors, wood paneling, brass finishes and other accents, the Clifton Hotel was the place to do business for those conducting commerce with the nearby Botany Mills, or Forstmann Woolen Mills. Construction began for Acquackanonk Township Hall at the corner of Passaic (now Harding) and Main Ave’s in 1914. In April, 1917, this structure becomes Clifton’s first City Hall. Today it is an office building.
30 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
“The reading room was a favorite gathering place at the hotel,” Wurst continued. “There were strong feeling against alcoholic beverages (but) it was not uncommon for the younger men of prominent local families to spend a few hours in the reading room playing some euchre or whist while sipping a glass of birch beer or sarsaparilla. “Until Acquackanonk Township’s first municipal building was completed around 1917, meetings of the Township committee were often conducted in the meeting room as well.”
Clifton Merchant â&#x20AC;˘ April 2015
Imagine life along the Passaic River, back in the 1890’s...
Tropical Wonders of Scotto Nash Story by E.A. Smyk, Passaic County Historian
n Saturday, Aug. 25, 1894, Passaic City Herald readers couldn’t fail to notice an enticing news item featured on the front page. The “Tropical Wonders of Mr. Nash’s Aquatic Gardens at Clifton” were outlined and the public received an open invitation to see “...night flowers bursting out in all their glory.” Nowadays, Nash Park occupies the Lexington Ave. site where a century ago Scotto Clark Nash grew the deep pink, 50-petal longstemmed roses that earned Acquackanonk Township the sobriquet “Home of the American Beauty Rose.” Nash was born in Pittsfield, Mass., on Nov. 5, 1841, moved to Brooklyn, New York and 28 years later settled with his wife, Alice and son, George, in the farm community of Acquackanonk, now Clifton. At the time, Nash and his brother, Duane, operated a business in New York manufacturing farm machinery. They expanded and opened a branch in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, and Nash and his family lived in the Keystone State for a time. The business was dissolved in 1887 and he returned to Clifton, investing in real estate. In a masterful biography published in 1976, Clifton historian 32 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
William J. Wurst traced Nash’s astonishing career. He noted that the future rose grower was a devoted naturalist and voracious reader as well. Nash collected rare books: his library reflected eclectic tastes and, as Wurst indicated, the shelves contained “books running the gamut from art history to science.” Nash had capital available from previous business ventures, so he decided to turn his fascination with flowering plants into a profitable business. Eventually, the Nash holdings in Clifton near the Passaic River comprised more than 17 acres. A 12-room mansion completed the picture. Directly behind the house, Nash built 10 hothouses, each 100-feet long. In 1894, the glass-enclosed structures held 14,000 of Nash’s prized American Beauty roses. On a portion of the property, a disagreeable swamp offended Nash’s sensibilities. Gradually, he reclaimed the mosquito-infested area at the cost of several thousand dollars and created a sunken garden for tropical plants. Nash installed steam pipes that traversed the garden and connected to a boiler so the proper temperatures could be maintained. Although “Nash’s Pond” was operating by spring, 1892, the water garden was still a hobby. But the successful rose connoisseur
Scotto Nash created an aquatic and tropical garden at Dundee Lake and Lexington Ave., across from today’s Hot Grill.
had a good sense of what would turn a profit. In 1894, Nash and William Tricker (an Englishman who came to the U.S. nine years earlier) formed a partnership to raise and market aquatic plants. “Tricker and Co.” transformed the Clifton pond into the celebrated and soon nationally known aquatic garden. Tricker skillfully hybridized different varieties of water lilies and the results were amazing. But it was the huge water lily called “Victoria Regia” that captivated the public and caused newspapers such as the Herald to enthuse over the plant’s exotic beauty.
Clifton Merchant â&#x20AC;˘ April 2015
Native to the Amazon, the Victoria Regia flourished here in Clifton...
It appears the Victoria Regia supports Emma Porter Nash but one would have to look closely to see a board beneath her feet.
Native to the Amazon, the Regia had handsome, pad-like leaves that were a brilliant, deep green. The underside was a vivid crimson. When opened, the flowers of Victoria Regia measured nearly 12 inches and the petals of pure white graduated to shades of rose and red. The leaves were huge—six feet in diameter—floating on the pond’s surface, they resembled large green rafts. Local residents often gathered at the pond’s edge at sunset during the summer months to see the day flowers closing and the night ones opening. Nash reveled in the publicity his plants brought, and when people visited the gardens he was often available to answer questions. When Mrs. G.D. Rogert of Garfield heard about the huge plants she hurried over to the gardens on Aug. 28, 1894, and according to the next day’s Herald “...went wild on what she saw at the Clifton gardens.” Her husband “really had to drag her away…” 34 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
When Nash announced he would photograph his children standing on the giant water lily, the event made page one of Aug. 27th’s Herald. The plant probably could have supported the weight of a child unaided, but not an adult. When Emma Porter Nash, the rose-grower’s daughter, was photographed in 1894, it appears a board was placed beneath her feet. Nash’s biographer believes the aquatic gardens were irreparably damaged by the area floods of 1902 and 1903, and the delicate tropical plants probably did not survive. Scotto Nash continued to cultivate roses until 1909 when he retired and spent his declining years managing real estate. A quiet, genial man with a long flowing beard, Nash died of pneumonia on April 22, 1920. His name is immortalized by Nash Park. It was dedicated by Clifton Mayor Fred C. deVido on Sept. 14, 1950.
Clifton Merchant â&#x20AC;˘ April 2015
1886: The Morris Canal reduces the number of canal boats on waterway. Service ends in 1900. 1888: Thomas A. R. Goodlatte establishes an oil cloth factory on Central Ave. (Clifton Blvd.) & Highland Ave. By 1899, 1,800 yards of oil cloth are produced daily. In 1902, Goodlatte merges with Standard Oil Cloth, which takes over daily operations of the growing business. 1889: Acquackanonk Township School #5 is built on Gould St. 1889: The Botany Worsted Mills are established in Passaic. It originated in Leipzig, Germany and employed many immigrant workers. The Botany Mills became operational on Jan. 1, 1890. 1890: Acquackanonk Township School #6 opens in Athenia. 1890: The first trolleys operate through Clifton, starting with the Red Line, which ran along Main Ave. between Paterson and Newark. 1890: E. Keller’s Grocery Store opens. It is the first food store established on Main Ave. in what was Clifton Center. Jan. 9, 1891: The Clifton Race Track is closed by Court Order for permitting illegal gambling. Track president George Engemann is found guilty of running a gambling establishment, is fined and sentenced to a year in prison. Despite currying favors with politicians, the track’s ownership came under attack from an unlikely trio: a local newspaper, the efforts of local Protestant and Catholic churches 36 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
Aug. 15, 1895: St. Mary’s Hospital in Passaic is established. an New York City ‘pool halls’ where gamblers went to place bets, not play billiards. ca. 1891: Thomas Van Houten’s baseball field on Main Ave. and West Third St. is closed to permit the construction of Fairyland Amusement Park and Theater. Oct. 19, 1891: A Christian Endeavor Society is organized at the Clifton Union Sunday School Chapel on Clifton Ave.
1894: Acquackanonk Township Committee expands to 5 members. 1895: New Jersey Flour Mills opens at Chester St. & Getty Ave. Today, it remains as the only miller of western wheat in NJ. 1895: William B. Lyall establishes a mill community in Allwood for Brighton Cotton Mills workers with a school and fire company. Jan. 8, 1895: A meeting is held to consider forming the Delawanna Union Protestant Church.
June 1893: The Union Presbyterian Sunday School becomes Albion Place Presbyterian Township School 5 on Gould St.
1896: Waldrich Bleachery opens near Yantacaw Pond, Delawanna.
Oct. 28, 1893: Manhattan Rubber Company is incorporated. It began the manufacture of rubber products on Jan. 1, 1894. Manhattan Rubber Company closes locally in 1942.
Nov. 18, 1896: St. Peter’s Episcopal Church is organized in the same upstairs hall over the store on Getty Ave., which Clifton Reformed Church and School 3 were started.
1894: White Line Trolleys begins to operate from Paterson to the Hudson River via Crooks, Lakeview and Central Ave’s.
1896: Pitkin and Holdsworth Worsted Mill is established on Weasel Brook near Main and Highland Ave’s.
Clifton Merchant â&#x20AC;˘ April 2015
In 1897, Acquackanonk Township School 7 was opened on Parker Ave. 1897: Acquackanonk Township School 7 is built on Parker Ave. 1897: The Richardson Scale Co. was established in Athenia. Over a century later, this land was reviewed as a potential site for a new school.
1894: Belle Vista Methodist Church opens on Valley Rd. in Albion Place, pictured here. Belle Lambert is an early financial supporter.
1897: In Delawanna, land is purchased for the East and West Ridgelawn Cemeteries. 1897: Sacred Heart of Jesus, Roman Catholic Church, opens in Botany. It mainly serves Italianspeaking parishioners. 1897: Sisco Dairy Co. founded at Mt. Prospect & Colfax Ave’s. 1898: Acquackanonk Township School 2 in Richfield is rebuilt with additional rooms. The old 1872 building is moved and converted into a grocery store. 1899: Acquackanonk Township School 1 closes and the building is incorporated into the first St. Clare’s building. 1899: Fire destroys the grandstand of the Clifton Racetrack. Sept. 17, 1899: St. Peter’s Episcopal Church begins services in a sanctuary on Clifton Ave. 1899: Peter Vander Hay operates a dairy on Hadley Ave.
In 1897, Acquackanonk Township School 7 was built on Parker Ave. While the school served Botany children for decades, the photo above is of the demolition of the building, circa 1960. The area today is a small park. In the background is Sacred Heart Church, also constructed in 1897. Photo was provided by Jim Marrocco. 38 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
1900: Sam and Rosa Epstein open a department store for the sale of farm clothing on Van Houten Ave. 1900: Jacob Fishbach opens and operates a blacksmith shop on Broad St. in Richfield. The business operates for 40 more years.
1901: The US Government purchases 52 acres of farmland in Athenia. April 1900: Alexander Purcell is appointed superintendent of the Passaic Alms House on Mt. Prospect Ave., Athenia. 1900: Clifton Fire Brigade no. 1 builds a firehouse on Passaic (Harding) Avenue near Second Street. It later serves a Masonic Club, American Legion Hall and as a residence. 1901: The US Government purchases 52 acres of farmland in Athenia for a quarantine station for imported hoofed animals. Eighteen buildings are erected: homes, barns, workshop, garage and bungalow. August 1901: The Albion Place Chemical Fire Co. is organized. 1902: John Donkersloot & Son establish a truck moving company for dirt and rock on Second St. near Highland Ave. 1903: St. Clare’s Roman Catholic Church opens on Allwood Rd. 1903: William J. Vernay & Sons, Moving & Storage, is established. 1903: The Postville School in South Paterson is closed. Albion
Circa 1900: St. Joseph’s Hospital from a turn of the century postcard. Place children are transferred to School 5 on Gould St. 1903: Roy J. Schleich, Sr. opens a plumbing office in Clifton. 1903: Forstmann Woolen Mills opens on Randolph Ave. in the Botany. 1903: Clifton Fire Cos. No. 2 and No. 4 open in Botany and West Clifton. 1904: Gilbert Bird opens a fruit and vegetable wholesale business on Peach Orchard Rd. (Paulison Ave.) in Dutch Hill.
1904: International Veiling Co., which manufactures stockings and finishing of lace, opens in Bannigan’s Mill. (Hazel St.) May 15, 1905: Police Chief William J. Coughlan is appointed. Headquarters are in Acquackanonk School 10, which featured the newly opened Clifton HS upstairs. 1905: Henry Mohlenhoff purchases a farm at Broad St. and Colfax Ave. in Richfield to sell produce in markets in Paterson and Newark daily. timeline continues on page 48
You Don’t Have to Wait Until Friday to Eat Pirogies !!! Come to The Famous & Original (from Lexington Ave)...
HOMEMADE PIROGI Call for Hours
1295 Main Ave • Downtown Clifton Across from DeLuxe Cleaners
Varieties • Potatoes & Cheese • Potato • Sauerkraut • Pot Cheese • Mushroom • Pot Cheese & Potato • Broccoli • Spinach • Pizza • Apple • Prune • Cabbage • Apricot & Cheese • Broccoli & Spinach
NEW! Great for Parties... Hot, Homemade Empanadas! Clifton Merchant • April 2015
The first graduating class had just five students (pictured below)
The Evolution of Clifton High ––– Story by David Van Dillen –––
The Acquackanonk Township Board of Education announced a referendum in 1905 to purchase 16 lots on Clifton Ave. and First St. On this property, a two-story building would be constructed, with the elementary grades housed on the first floor and high school grades on the second. The referendum passed and construction of School No. 10 commenced. On June 22, 1909, CHS graduated its first class—Nellie Brown, Grace Burroughs, Mabel Libbey, Bessie Velders and Agnes Weller. (The school was named for the section of the township in which the school was located, not for the City of Clifton, which would not exist for another eight years.)
Clifton High School, circa 1912, at the corner of Clifton Ave. and First St.
40 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
During those early years, before a third floor and wings were added, gym classes took place in Thorburn’s Hall, just a short walk up Clifton Ave. The latter building still stands, at Clifton and Main Aves., and now houses a nail salon. School No. 10 was razed in 1964 in favor of municipal parking. In 1920, former Clifton Race Track property at Piaget and Main Aves. was sold to the city for school purposes and the construction of a ‘new Clifton High School’ subsequently began. On April 14, 1926, the formal dedication and opening of the building took place.
With Fuse Technology, these Clifton doctors get the full picture of your colon, and that means a more effective Colonoscopy.
Dr. Steven Gronowitz, MD, Dr. Howard B. Baum, MD, Dr. Boris Reydel, MD, Dr. Robert Lintz, MD
Dr. Andrew Boxer, MD, Dr. Natan Krohn, MD, Dr. Bharat Dasani, MD, Dr. Janardhan Bollu, MD
164 Brighton Rd., Clifton
It’s been 20 years since we’ve seen any real innovation in the medical exam known as colonoscopy. To date, standard scopes give the physician a limited 170 degree field of view. Fuse Full Spectrum Endoscopy is revolutionary in its ability to provide a full 330 degree field of view, giving your gastroenterologist the ability to see more of the colon and thus the ability to detect more pre-cancerous polyps.
Take Control — Act Early — Get Tested Today! Clifton Merchant • April 2015
The second CHS, now Christopher Columbus Middle School, was opened in 1926 and used as a high school until 1962.
Soon thereafter, on Oct. 4, 1927, the Clifton Board of Education donated to the City of Clifton a portion of the former race track property to be used as a park. Over the next few years, Main Memorial Park became a reality. As Clifton grew, so did the space needs for Clifton’s students. A north wing, including a new gymnasium, was added, circa 1945. And under the coaching of the legendary Joe Grecco, the CHS Fighting Mustangs became a football powerhouse—but the team did not have a homefield to play on. Thus, on Oct. 14, 1950, with much fanfare, Clifton Schools Stadium was dedicated. Seeing the need for an even greater expansion of school facilities, during the 1950s, the City began acquiring land for the construction of the present high school on Colfax Ave. In 1956, the city purchased 15.5 acres of United States Quarantine land and an additional eight acres
was acquired by Clifton in 1959 to increase the property to 23.5 acres, a realistic acreage for a modern high school campus. On Feb. 4, 1960, the Clifton City Council voted to authorize the issuance of $5.6 million in school bonds to finance the construction of a new 3,000 pupil high school on Colfax Ave. Voters approved the high school bond referendum on May 23, 1960. The current Clifton High School was formally dedicated on April 29, 1962. The southeastern, or the highest portion of the high school property, marks the top of an 18th century sandstone quarry from which brownstone for home building and other purposes was secured. Little evidence of this quarry exists today, but early writers documented it. One poem mentions a visit to the site a century ago, at which time the quarry walls were in evidence. This same location was used during World War II by local residents for victory gardens. A variety of vegetables was grown to conserve food in an effort to help with the war effort. A stairway was constructed over the Quarantine fence and small plots were laid out. In the early part of the 20th Century, there was no quarantine as this part of the property was not used. A grazing cow or two and some abandoned farm wagons dotted the landscape back then. And this writer remembers how neighborhood kids played cowboys and Indians on the rocky hillside. The ‘new’ CHS in 1964.
42 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
Clifton Merchant â&#x20AC;˘ April 2015
Fairyland Amusement Park Opening day on Saturday, May 27, 1905
––– Story by William J. Wurst from A Clifton Sampler • Postcards courtesy Mark S. Auerbach –––
Did you know that 110 years ago, Clifton (then Acquackanonk) was home to one of the nation’s first amusement parks? Fairyland Amusement Park, which was located where the Garden State Parkway crosses Main Ave., at where Corrado’s is today, opened its doors for the first time on May 27, 1905. This turn-of-the-century marvel was one of the first of its kind anywhere. Even more amazing was that it was not in New York or some other large city, but in Acquackanonk, which, with its 7,187 person population, was nothing more than a small farming town. Visitors came by the thousands on the Red-Line trolley that ran along Main Ave. to the state-of-the-art attraction. Upon arrival, guests would run into the blue and gold Fairyland Girls, who sold tickets for 10 cents. 44 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
Inside, Fairyland offered just about the best deal that you could get for a dime in 1905. One of the main attractions was the theater, a 1000-seat monstrosity that easily dwarfed other similar structures at the time and still had standing room for hundreds more. It even featured electric fans, something unheard of at the time. Performers were also treated well, with each receiving a very high wage and having their choice of 15 dressing rooms. On the forefront of technology at the time, Fairyland executives also purchased a projector and showed highly popular silent feature movies, which were changed three times a week. For the youngsters, there were plenty of rides, including very early versions of the Ferris wheel, roller coaster, circle swings and a merry-go-round.
Clifton Merchant â&#x20AC;˘ April 2015
Children and their parents could ride on the Fairyland railroad, a three-quarters of a mile track, which featured canopies on the cars. There was also other things for children, such as the various circus acts, donkey rides, a penny arcade and a skating rink. Nighttime brought about some awesome visual sights. Once the last rays of sunlight descended beyond Garret Mountain around 9:45 pm, Professor Rubino’s firework show began. For a full 45 minutes, roman candles, bottle rockets and larger and more flashy fireworks filled the sky, much to the delight of the crowd. Once the pyrotechnic display was over, the Prismatic cascades would awe the crowds once again. This man-made waterfall was one of the most scenic sights in the eye-opening park. According to the Paterson Daily Guardian, “it was made picturesque by thousands of vari-colored lights thrown upon it from various points.” Behind the aquatic light show were female entertainers who sang and danced. Guests always enjoyed their time at Fairyland and eagerly anticipated summer, when the park was open daily until Labor Day, after which it was only open on Saturday and Sunday. Fairyland’s attendance record was set on July 4, 1907, when people began lining up more than an hour before opening to get into the famous park. By 9 pm, some 11,764 people had entered the park—doubling Acquackanonk’s population for the evening—seemingly foreshadow46 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
ing years of good fortune for the amusement park down the road. However, it was not to be. In 1909, there was new ownership and a new name—Lakeview Park. For reasons unknown, attendance dropped, revenues were minimal and the new management couldn’t
meet expenses. On July 6, the park’s gates were closed and it did not open for the rest of the season. It was reported several months later that legal action had been taken against the owners for overdue bills, effectively ending the short life of Fairyland Amusement Park.
Clifton Merchant â&#x20AC;˘ April 2015
A period of rapid growth in Acquackanonk (1910 population is 11,869)... 1905: Edward Jewett purchases Westervelt’s grist mill located on Weasel Brook near Fourth St. in today’s Weasel Brook Park. 1906: Acquackanonk Township School 8 opens as a wooden school on Oak St. in Delawanna. 1907: Public Service Railway Co. is established as a subsidiary pf Public Service Electric and Gas Co. It operates a fleet of busses and trolleys. 1907: Thomas A. R. Goodlatte opens a new oil cloth factory in Delawanna, having sold his factory in Athenia. 1907: James G. Sanders & Sons Coal Co. opens in Allwood. Public School 11 is built on Merselis Ave. (Lakeview). Jan. 1907: Plans are made by Swedish residents of Athenia to open a rolling mill for flat steel. It becomes Athenia Steel Co. with 350 employees. Jan. 1908: The Acquackanonk Township Police Department adds patrolmen to its force. It also acquires two jail cells. Police Headquarters is in a storefront on Main and Madison Ave’s. March 25, 1908: Berger’s Drug Store at Main & Clifton Ave’s. is sold to Mr. John McHenry who runs it for over 40 years. 1908: Montclair Normal School opens on Valley Rd. in Upper Montclair. Land is deeded by Acquackanonk Township to the school to a Montclair address, so that Montclair’s services can be used. 48 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
1905: Shareholders purchase land for the establishment of the East and West Ridgelawn Cemeteries (the photo above by Bev Cholweczynski is of the cemetery entrance on Main and Delawanna Aves.) Jan. 4, 1909: Acquackanonk Township Fire Company 3 is established on Mahar Ave. 1909: Doherty Silk Mill is built on Main Ave. at the corner of West 4th St. It is the largest textile weaving mill in the US. Some 1,000 skilled textile workers are employed. Fall 1909: An airplane makes a landing at Lambert’s Castle on the Paterson-Acquackanonk border. 1909: Clifton Building & Loan is established in Clifton Center. June 1909: Clifton High School first class graduates five girls.
1909: Acquackanonk Township School 4 erected near West Third St. 1909: Clarence Finkle establishes Finkle’s Express for moving and storage on what is now Allwood Rd. It later becomes Passaic Terminal & Transportation Co. Nov. 27, 1909: The Italian American Family Association is incorporated in Botany Village and still operates today. It is a combination of two purchasers of commodities, the 52 Italian Pleasure Club and the Holy Name Society of Sacred Heart’s Clifton Corp. timeline continues on page 52
Clifton Merchant â&#x20AC;˘ April 2015
Our 15th year at the corner of Broad & Colfax
50 April 2015 â&#x20AC;˘ Clifton Merchant
Clifton Merchant â&#x20AC;˘ April 2015
Circa 1908: After the court-ordered closing of the Clifton Race Track, the 25-acre property was converted into a velodrome for bicycle and motorcycle races. The six laps-per-mile Clifton Velodrome burned down in 1914. By the 1920’s, the deteriorating facility—where Main Memorial Park and the Clifton Library stand today—was purchased, razed and used to build the ‘old’ Clifton High School (now Christopher Columbus Middle School). 1910: The Grieder Brothers of Albion Place, both butchers, build and fly their own homemade airplane from Delawanna.. 1910: The population of Acquackanonk Township is 11,869. 1911: The Acquackanonk Township Council grants permits for the showing of movies and the staging of Wild West shows. May 9, 1911: The Association of Exempt Firemen of Acquackanonk is organized and incorporated. March 14, 1912: Acquackanonk Police Headquarters relocates form a barn behind the Clifton Hotel to a rented store at 695 Main Ave. 1912: The Olympic Park Rangers Soccer Team win the Clan McDonald cup before 12,000 fans at the Olympic Park Oval on Main Ave. 52 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
1913: The Robin Hood Inn, at 1129 Valley Rd., opens. In 1990, it had undergone an extensive renovation and is now the Valley Regency 1912: Alexander Smith is a practicing mortician in Acquackanonk. 1912: Fire Companies merge into a single Acquackanonk department. May 1913: A Delawanna referendum rejects annexation by Passaic.
June 8, 1913: The first Mass celebrated in St. Paul’s parish (now on Union Ave. in Downtown Clifton) is celebrated by Rev. Father Flanagan for 250 parishioners in Acquackanonk Fire Co. No. 1 on Passaic Ave. (Harding Ave.)
AC Moore • Scrapbooking Arts & Crafts • Knitting & Crochet
Largo House Massage • Nails • Body Treatment
ervices at the All wo o es & s r o t d ts
AC Moore (973) 470-8885 Antonio’s Hair Stylist (973) 472-1011 Avant Garde Salon (973) 778-0557 Bertelli’s Liquors (973) 779-0199 C2 Education Center (973) 778-7300 Chiropractic Center at Styertowne (973) 777-6995 Cleaners 2000 (973) 614-1400 F.Y.E. (973) 778-8759 Corbo Jewelers (973) 777-1635 CVS Pharmacy (973) 778-7630 Dollar Tree (973) 249-7530 Dress Barn (973) 249-0233 Dunkin Donuts & Baskin Robbins (973) 473-9631 Footnotes Bookstore (973) 779-6122 GNC (973) 779-1500 Kim’s Nail Salon (973) 471-8118 Largo House Nail & Spa (973) 777-9784 Lucille Roberts (973) 249-2966 Moda Shoes & Co. (973) 777-4700 Modells (973) 779-5253 Morillo Eye Care (973) 594-0020 Muscle Maker Grill (862) 899-7111 Radio Shack (973) 777-7931 Sherwin-Williams (973) 773-1738 Styertowne Bakery (973) 777-6193 Subway (973) 685-9992 Taste of Tuscany (973) 916-0700 The Season’s Fine Chinese Cuisine (973) 777-8073 US Post Office (973) 473-4946 Valley National Bank (973) 777-6283
Offices at Styertowne
Corbo Jewelers Gold • Silver • Precious Metals & Gems
• Heat & A/C • Electric • Daily Janitorial • Free Parking • 24 Hour Access • Elevator
Available 2,800 Sq. Feet & Up: Monthly lease in our office suites on the 2nd floor include the amenities at the right plus easy access to Route 3 and Express Bus Service to NYC. On the ground floor, you are steps from great restaurants, shopping, banking and the Post Office. Call Jamie Wohr: 973-591-5222
Clifton Merchant • April 2015
At his Clifton Research Lab, He Prospered & Innovated
Dr. Jokichi Takamine 1915: Dr. Jokichi Takamine, a successful entrepreneur and developer of Adrenaline, opens the Takamine Laboratory of Clifton on Arlington Ave., on the Erie Railroad, having recognized Clifton as being at the forefront of industrial growth. Takamine, born on Nov. 3, 1854 in Takaoka City, Japan, had an extensive background in technology and fertilizer manufacturing, studying in schools in Japan and Scotland. A good entrepreneur in Japan, his success in the States was due to reversing the usual cultural flow of technology and adapting a Japanese idea to a western industry. In 1890, Takamine, pictured here, arrived at Illinois and demonstrated a more efficient way to distill liquor using mold as opposed to barley. Although his method was superior, he faced racism and the factory he worked at was burnt to the ground. However, through his method, he extracted the Aspergllus enzyme and bought a patent and licensed it to 1913: Clifton Reliable Moving and Storage opens on Loretta St. July 20, 1913: A Lakeview Ave. chapel is established as a mission of North Reformed Church of Passaic. This mission church becomes the Lakeview Heights Reformed Church. 1913: Clifton Sheet Metal Works opens for business. Oct. 22, 1913: Sts Cyril & Methodius Roman Catholic Church organized for Slovak worshippers 54 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
Parke, Davis & Company, which marketed it as Taka-diastase, a digestive aid for starch. Takamine was made a consultant and moved to New York, where he established an independent laboratory and learned how to extract Adrenaline in 1900. Adrenaline earned him enough money to found the Sankyo Pharmaceutical Company of Tokyo, the International Takamine Ferment Company of New York and the Takamine Laboratory of Clifton, which primarily dealt with the manufacturing of Salvarsan, the first true chemotherapeutic agent. Takamine died on July 22, 1922 after a life-long battle with a liver ailment. His Clifton property changed ownership several times before 1978, when the site was purchased by the Bayer Corporation, which eventually razed the lot and sold it for a sprawling suburban housing development.
in the Acquackanonk Fire Co. No. 2 building on Arthur Ave. and later at the Holden building. 1914: The large, six laps-per-mile Clifton Velodrome burns down. 1914: The Hope Reformed Church organized in Dutch Hill homes. 1914: A Town Hall is erected for Acquackanonk Township at the corner of Passaic (Harding) and Main Ave’s. In April of 1917, this becomes Clifton’s first City Hall. 1914: The Clifton Journal, a week-
ly newspaper of the Clifton Publishing Company, is founded. 1915: Delancy’s Men’s Store opens in Botany with entrances on both Parker and Dayton Ave’s. 1915: “Bub” Tramontin opens a bicycle and motorcycle shop on Lexington Ave. 1915: Clifton Boy Scout meetings are held in private homes near Clifton center. By 1917, 200 boys are scouts. In that year, Troop 1 schedules summer camping.
Stop in for your Holiday Flowers Whether it’s an elegant fruit tart, a luscious chocolate cake for a festive birthday celebration or a bagel tray for a business meeting, Manager Joaquin Diaz, Luz and Stefhania are ready to help at ShopRite’s Fresh Bake Shop... and we are open 7 days a weeks!
Look for Jersey Fresh Spinach later this month... Produce Manager Sandy Franco (at center) with Serafin and Eddie keep our shelves clean and well stocked with delicious fruits and produce at fantastic prices! Clifton Merchant • April 2015
Dec. 2, 1915: Clifton Lodge 203, Free and Accepted Masons, organized at Thorburn’s Hall, at Main and Clifton Ave’s. 1915: Clifton Bank & Trust Co. opens at Main and Clifton Ave’s. 1915: In April and May, ‘Billy’ Sunday’s Religious Crusade attracts 651,000 witnesses to Broadway Tabernacle in Paterson. 1916: David Sussman opens a furniture business in Paterson then relocates to Lexington Ave. 1916: Wittman’s Flower & Gift Shop opens on Van Houten Ave. between Grove St. and Valley Rd. in Richfield. 1916: James. H. Hilton is active in real estate in West Clifton, first in Lakeview and later at Main and Barclay Ave’s. 1916: The North Jersey District Water Supply is created by the State Legislature. It calls for the construction of Wanaque Reservoir. In 1923, it becomes Passaic Valley Water Commission. 1916: William B. Lyall, President of Brighton Mills, builds an English-style mansion on the Passaic-Allwood border. He names it Rosemawr, a name still in use for the part of Clifton in which it is located, off Bloomfield Ave. Oct. 15, 1916: A Slovak Catholic Sokol is instituted on Holden St. & Ackerman Ave. Founded at and sponsored by St.’s Cyril & Methodius Church, it is an early Clifton fraternal organization. March 20, 1917: Delawanna voters approve annexation by Passaic.
history continues on page 60 56 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
Clifton Merchant â&#x20AC;˘ April 2015
Bibbs Raymond was a standout player for the Doherty Silk Sox from 1915-1927. He hit the first home run at the Oval and was signed by the Yankees but quit because he was homesick for the fans of Clifton.
58 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
On May 20, 1917 the New York Giants beat the Silk Sox, 7-3, before 6,500 people. The photo above shows owner Henry Doherty jr. and brother Ray addressing the fans at the Doherty Oval before that game. The Doherty Oval is Clifton’s lost “Field of Dreams.” Once located behind the former silk mill at 1550 Main Ave., across from the Passaic Valley Water Commission, the Doherty Oval was probably the finest diamond in the nation until Yankee Stadium was built in 1923. Major leaguers who played there said it was superior to any big league ballpark field. Harry Fabian, head groundskeeper of the Polo Grounds, designed the field in 1915, and it was maintained and improved upon under Doherty’s watchful eye throughout the 1920s. By the mid-1920s, it held about 8,500 fans with standing room for more. A game in 1923 against Babe Ruth and the Yankees drew about 15,000 and ended after the Babe’s homer in the late innings caused a near riot. The Doherty Oval was a field built for the people. All gate receipts from Sunday games pitting the Silk Sox against all comers were given to the Red Cross. Every worker in Doherty’s mill was given a season’s pass to all games. Clifton High was also allowed to use the field free-of-charge for their football and baseball games, as did other schools and organizations. Doherty operated the Oval until 1928 when his business turned sour and he was forced to sell the Silk Sox. While the Doherty Mill building can still be seen on Main Ave., Getty Ave. soon cut through the center and right field portions of the Doherty Oval and a factory exists where most of the remaining diamond was located.
Our services are very personal and extremely confidential Below are some advantages of membership: • Higher interest rates on Savings, CD, and IRA accounts • Lower rates on Mortgage Loans and Business Loans • Lower rates on Car Loans and Personal Loans • VISA Credit Card with interest rate of 9.90% • Free Checking Accounts with interest paid monthly • Free VISA Debit Card • Free Online Banking • Free Mobile Banking • No monthly maintenance fee • Surcharge-Free ATMs (over 30,000 of them) • Personalized service in two branches • Free Notary Public Services • And Much More
Stop by one of our two conveniently located branches Botany Village - Branch Office: 237 Dayton Ave., Clifton, NJ 973-772-0620
Allwood Road - Principal Office: 851 Allwood Rd., Clifton, NJ 973-471-0700
Call us toll-free 1-888-BANK-UKE or visit us online at www.bankuke.com Clifton Merchant • April 2015
April 24, 1917: Acquackanonk Township residents vote to incorporate as a city. April 24, 1917: Acquackanonk Township residents vote to incorporate as a city. Clarence Finkle serves as Clifton’s first mayor. June 30, 1917: Andrew Borneman and David Van Dillen sell their plumbing business to Louis Weigele & Jacob Van Houten. 1917: A branch of the American Red Cross opens on Main Ave.
1917: The New Apostolic Church opens on Clifton Ave. near Randolph Ave. in Botany Village. 1917: Nelson P. Nelson founds Nelson Iron Works Inc. in Allwood. 1917: Wittie Electric Co., Inc. is established on Lakeview Ave. 1918: Jeremiah P. Quinlan opens the Quinlan Funeral Home, Inc. on Van Houten Ave.
July 16, 1918: The Mayor and City Council establish a paid fire department in Clifton. Adam Ritter is named Fire Chief. 1918: The Clifton Laundry Company opens at 11 Second St. Nov. 11, 1918: Peace Chapter 98, Order of Eastern Star, is founded on the day World War One ends. It meets in Thorburn’s Hall at Clifton and Main Ave’s. Clifton High also uses the same hall for gym classes. Dec. 18, 1918: Clifton Lodge 65 Royal Order of Moose, is organized. Police Chief James N. Marsh, named Dictator. 1918: The Clifton Chamber of Commerce is established. 1918: Henry Hohenstein gives up management of the Clifton Hotel. 1919: Barnstorming pilots engage in air shows in Delawanna and at Clifton Blvd. and Highland Ave. on Dutch Hill. Nov. 11, 1919: Quentin Roosevelt Post 8, American Legion, is chartered after organizing in Aug. 1919. 1920: The Ernest Scheidemann Real Estate Agency opens at Main and Barkley Ave’s. It had been James Hilton St. Agency. 1920: The former Clifton Racetrack property at Main and Piaget Ave’s. sold to the City of Clifton for school purposes.
Located near the intersection of Market St. and Brighton Rd., Allwood Hose Co. No. 2 was organized in 1918, although this photo was taken circa 1932. In the early 1970’s, the building was restored by Bill Hansen and today houses a day care center and offices.
60 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
May 1920: August De Tone opens a Travel Bureau at 260 Parker Ave. May 18, 1920: The Clifton Council established a free public library.
Clifton Merchant â&#x20AC;˘ April 2015
1919: Barnstorming pilots aflight over Delawanna & Dutch Hill! 1920: A.G.L. Welding Supply Co., at Route 46 and Hazel St., opens. 1920: Stephen Gaal opens a paint store on Parker Ave. 1920: The Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Railroad depot in Athenia is destroyed by a derailed fright train. It is relocated to Clifton Terrace and an underpass is built. 1921: First National Bank of Clifton opens on Parker Ave. May 7, 1921: John Parian opens a jewelry store on Dayton Ave. 1921: The Ashley Homestead for the Aged is founded in Paterson by Nathan Barnert in memory of his wife, Miriam. This facility later becomes Daughters of Miriam Home on Hazel St. in Clifton. Jan. 3, 1922: A plan for sanitary sewers is presented and bids for construction are received May 4.
May 16, 1922: The Quentin Roosevelt Post 8, American Legion, and its auxiliary granted permission to conduct a poppy sale. 1922: Alfred C. Sinn Insurance Co. is established. 1922: Eastern Corrugated Container Corp. opens on Clifton Blvd. 1922: De Mattia, O’Brien Real Estate & Insurance Co. is opened. Feb. 7, 1923: Clifton purchases the Scotto Nash estate on Lexington Ave. at Passaic River for $24,000. 1923: Clifton Schools 13 on Van Houten Ave. and School 15 on Gregory Ave. are built from similar building plans. Dec. 20, 1923: The first meeting of Clifton Kiwanis is held in Brook’s Auditorium. It is chartered on April 2, 1924. Circuit Judge John C. Barbour is the first president.
Jan. 1924: Brighton Mills moves from Allwood to Athens, GA. 1924: Consolidated Bus Line established by Dennis J. Gallagher is to serve Allwood from Passaic. Feb. 5, 1924: Public Service Electric Railroad agrees to eliminate the “S” curve of the White Line Trolley, between Lakeview, E. Madison and Central Ave’s., as it was a traffic hazard. 1924: Thomas Coal Co., founded in Paterson in 1903, moves to Colfax Ave. near the Newark Branch of the Erie Railroad. 1924: The Clifton Volunteer Firehouse on Harding Ave. is sold to Clifton Masons for use as a Masonic Club.
People moving machines! Above, John Zegal’s Red Star bus line, circa 1920, on Clifton Ave near Sixth St.
62 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
Many Services One-Stop Career Center Board of Directors, Chair, Freeholder Bruce James Trustee Freeholder Hector Lora Trustee Rev. Randall Lassiter
Director of One-Stop Lauren Murphy WIB Director Chris Irving 200 Memorial Drive, Paterson, NJ 07505 973-340-3400 • pcwdc.org
Hire A Veteran
Computer Science Unemployed? Under Employed? Need Training? GET ON THE ROAD TO SUCCESS Call or Visit the Passaic County One-Stop Career Center. 973-340-3400 • Ext. 7335
Vocational/Technical For employers, One-Stop can provide a variety of Free Services & Custom Programs. Call Lauren Murphy to discuss details & learn about incentives for Passaic County Employers. 973-340-3400 • Ext. 7223 Clifton Merchant • April 2015
Clifton Boys of Summer, 1924... in the Fall, 1975.... A 1975 reunion held at the former Gene Boyle’s on Passaic Ave. brought out members of the CHS 1924 undefeated baseball squad. They are shown at right looking at an old picture of the team held by manager John Mikulik. In the front: Ray Smith, Ernest De Lorenzo, Emil Bednarcik, and Emil Bondinell. In the back: Ernie Tomai, Bill Dobbelaar, and Lou Cross. Dobbelaar (with glasses) might have been the best baseball player Clifton High ever produced. He batted .620 during the 1924 season as the team’s shortstop and ace pitcher. After high school, Dobbelaar had tryouts with the New York Giants and Yankees, gaining a handshake agreement with the Bronx Bombers to join them after finishing college. However, a sore arm ruined Dobbelaar’s career and he never made it to the major leagues.
64 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
What’s ironic about Dobbelaar’s playing career is that he was never a Clifton resident–he was from Lodi but played for the Mustangs because his hometown did not have a high school. He also played four games with Clifton’s Doherty Silk Sox as a senior. Dobbelaar later became head baseball coach at CHS.
Clifton Merchant â&#x20AC;˘ April 2015
1926: Rutt’s Hut opens for hot dogs on River Rd. in Delawanna. 1924: Givaudan Corp. opens an aromatic chemical plant on Delawanna Ave. Hexachlorophene and some medications are made. October 16, 1924: A new Clifton Fire Headquarters is opened on Mahar Ave., near the corner of Clifton & Lexington Ave’s. April 1, 1925: Main Auto Electric Co. opens at 397 Clifton Ave. April 25, 1925: Clifton National Bank opens on Main Ave. near Clifton Ave. It is moved to Main & Union Ave’s. in 1928. 1925: Bus Service from Clifton to New York City begins. Riders can reach both intercity (via Main Ave.) or Manhattan (via Lakeview and Lexington Ave’s.)
66 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
1925: Clifton Engine Co. No. 4 is established on Delawanna Ave. 1925: New York Sash & Door Co. opens on Caroline Ave., bordering the Erie Railroad. 1925: The Capitol Diner opens on Main Ave. near Memorial Park. 1925: N.P. Nelson Iron Works moves from Brooklyn, NY to Bloomfield Ave. in Allwood. Aug. 3, 1925: Reformed Church of Centerville, established 1882, is incorporated as Athenia Reformed Church. The parish then purchases a church house.
Dec. 14, 1925: Manhattan Bus Co. requests that the Clifton City Council allows four more pick-up and discharge stops in Clifton. Jan. 5, 1926: A diagonal street 60feet wide is laid out from Clifton and Lakeview Ave’s. to East. Madison and Central Ave’s. Jan. 25, 1926: Five hundred workers strike Botany Mills and five other textile mills, the first of 15,000 total strikers. April 14, 1926: The dedication of the new Clifton High School (now CCMS) on Piaget Ave. takes place.
Help us write this history.... In the future, we will continue this timeline and publish more historical photos. Have items to share? Send them along with your name and number to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Clifton Merchant â&#x20AC;˘ April 2015
Baseball • Softball • Track • Lacrosse • Volleyball • Tennis • Golf
Kneeling from left, Justin Bennion, Darwin Matos, Kyle Chupick, Christian Adamez, Back, Jason Rivera, Rey Reyes, Kevin Lord, Luis Torres, Miguel Delossantos, Jack Garruto, Carlos Pineda, Jose Severino, Kishan Patel, and Sean Lieshman. Mustang Sports by Tom Szieber
When you hear “youth” in conjunction with a high school sports team, you generally think, “rebuilding,” “growing pains” or “maybe next season.” But this edition of the Clifton baseball team, loaded with young talent, may be getting ready to shove aside all stereotypes and send Mustang baseball to places it hasn’t been in quite a while. The Mustangs may not be ready for championships in year one, but Clifton head coach Joe Rivera is excited, and for good reason. With the most talented sophomore class the school has seen in a while and enough leadership to keep the ship sailing straight ahead, the Mustangs feel like they are on the verge of something big. “This year, I am excited for our sophomores to get out there [on a varsity field,]” Rivera said. “And I am excited that I feel we are going to improve a lot from last year. And as far as the future, I just know that if they work hard enough, they can achieve a lot.” Amongst the promising tenth-grade contingent is catched Miguel Delos Santos, who was brought up to the varsity level eight games into last year. He showed flashes as a freshman, displaying a strong arm in throwing out three runners in a Passaic County Tournament game, and is a great runner, as 68 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
Baseball April 2 Teaneck April 4 PCTI
April 6 @ John F. Kennedy
April 8 @ Bergen Co. Tech
April 10 Eastside
April 13 St. Joseph Regional April 15 @ Lakeland
April 16 @ Harrison
April 17 @ Passaic Valley
April 20 Fair Lawn April 22 @ Wayne Valley April 24 Passaic April 25 @ Kearny April 27 @ PCTI April 29 John F. Kennedy May 1 @ Bergen Catholic May 4 Bergen County Tech
4:15pm 4pm 7pm 10am 7pm 4:30pm 4pm 4:30pm
May 6 @ Eastside
May 11 Wayne Hills
May 13 @ West Milford May 15 North Bergen
Clifton Merchant â&#x20AC;˘ April 2015
MUSTANG SPORTS Baseball well. As a senior, he has the potential to be a Division I prospect, and figures to fit into the Clifton lineup as a number six hitter this season. First baseman Christian Adamez and second baseman Jason Rivera are two more sophs who will man the Clifton infield, and each plays a more mature game than their ages would indicate. “Christian scoops up everything,” Rivera said. “His bat, as a freshman, was not bad, but with
70 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
more experience and more varsity pitching coming his way, I see him getting even better. And Jason just does everything right. He is so comfortable, has a great handle with the bat, rarely strikes out and is a great runner and fielder. He will be in our pitching rotation, as well.” Clifton’s fourth sophomore starter will be center fielder Jack Garruto a speedy fielder who was one of the 2014 freshman team’s top hitters. He is an exceptional contact hitter, as well as a strong defensive outfielder. Senior Kevin Lord will likely be the engine that makes the Mustangs go. As a third baseman and leader of the Clifton pitching rotation, he will be an integral piece of their offensive and defensive efforts. Lord was a starter last season, and has a solid bat. In addition, his top-notch leadership skills will be important for a team that is, again, very young. Jason Rivera and senior Luis Torres will be important pieces to the Clifton rotation, as well. In left field, Clifton will sport talents like junior Sean Lieshman, junior Ryan Murphy (who could also be a top pitcher next season) and sophomore Kage Lord (another future pitcher). Senior right fielder Kyle Chupick is a fast player with a great arm, while senior designated hitter Kishan Patel returns after a season in which he led the Mustangs in batting average. Junior Jose Severino will be the Mustangs’ short stop, while senior infielder Justin Benion, junior third baseman Carlos Pineda and senior utility player Ray Reyes will all be contributors, as well.
MUSTANG SPORTS Softball
Kneeling from left: Rachel Abill, Alex Espinosa, Jaclyn Hanrahan, Megan Ingwersen, Kimberly D'Agosta, Kayla Vance. Standing from left: Kimberly Finkler, Jazmyn Pareja, Jasmine Melendez, Rachel Plaskon, Karleigh Davila, Devyn Pitak, Ava Genardi, and April DiAngelo.
Year one of the Ish Falcon era is upon Clifton softball, and the first-year leader of the Mustangs is wasting little time developing as much depth as he can for his inaugural squad. Clifton is several players deep at many key positions, and seem ready to improve from last season’s disappointing 1013 year. “I am very happy with the way the team is working,” Falcon said. “They come and they work hard. I think one of the reasons all this depth is so good is that by creating competition at every position, it brings out the best in everybody. They push each other. I am looking to be two-deep at every position.” In a sport where it usually suffices to have one top-flight pitcher, the Mustangs have several starter-quality players in the circle. Junior Jaclyn Hanrahan and sophomore Kayla Vance lead that group both having been co-aces a year ago. Hanrahan possesses exceptional movement on her pitches, while Vance is more of a speed pitcher. “In essence, you are looking at two different pitchers in Jaclyn and Kayla,” Falcon said. “I am very happy with them and our group of pitchers as a whole.”
Softball April 4 @ PCTI
April 6 John F. Kennedy
April 8 Bergen Co. Tech
April 10 @ Eastside April 11 @ DePaul Catholic April 14 @ Holy Angels April 15 Lakeland April 17 Passaic Valley April 18 @ Paramus April 20 @ Fair Lawn
TBD 5:30pm 4pm 4:15pm 4pm 11am 4:15pm
April 22 Wayne Valley
April 24 @ Passaic
April 25 TBA
Apr 27 PCTI
Apr 29 @ John F. Kennedy
May 1 Immaculate Heart
May 2 @ St. Dominic
May 4 @ Bergen Co. Tech
May 6 Eastside May 8 @ DePaul Catholic
May 11 @ Wayne Hills
May 12 @ West Orange
Clifton Merchant • April 2015
MUSTANG SPORTS Softball Junior Samantha Wilk and freshman Lauren Brown add depth to the pitching corps. Senior Kim D’Agosta figures to be one of the team’s leaders, bring-
ing varsity experience and coming off a solid junior year. She has also had a productive preseason, and her fielding and hitting have improved a great deal.
973-772-8451 Roofing • Siding • Gutters Ventilation • Chimneys
72 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
The rest of the infield represents the depth of which Falcon is so proud. At first base, senior Rachel Abill and junior Hannah Hirst each figure to see time. The same is the case at second with senior Jasmine Melendez and junior Ava Genardi. Junior Jazmyn Pareja will play third, with Vance spelling her at times when she is not pitching. Left field will be occupied by senior Rachel Plaskon, while senior April DiAngelo and junior Alex Espinosa will vie for time at center. The right field position is wide open at the moment, though Falcon said he is considering senior Megan Ingwersen or sophomore Devyn Pitak. Senior Karleigh Davila, junior Ryley White and sophomore Erika Shyroky will compete for time behind the plate.
MUSTANG SPORTS Track
Front: Hailey Fusaro, Michelle Aplogan, Sofiya Nedelcheva, Samantha Abdelslame, Jessenia Roldan. Back: Yasmine Helwani, Sonia Shastri, Alaa Khalil, Olivia Rosenberg, Kiyaeh Irving
Both of Clifton High School’s spring track and field programs have similar tradition and records of success, but in 2015, they have very different identities. While the young but talented boys appear destined for a more modest rebuilding season, the girls figure to be contenders in Passaic County. Head boys coach Kareem West acknowledges that this group is green, but also notes that there is a slew of young talent ready to make an impact. “We had a lot lost to graduation,” West said. “There is talent here, but it is extremely young. We will expect some of our freshmen to do big things. The upcoming freshmen and sophomores will be looked at to do a lot. It might be a bit of a ‘learn as you go’ sort of thing, but we are looking forward to the challenge. ”
Junior Otto De Leon will lead the way for the boys specializing in a variety of different events. Adept in the 100m dash, the 4x4 100m relay, triple jump and 200m, De Leon has multiple ways in which he earns points for his team. He and senior Rory Houston (1600m, 800m, 4x4 100m relay) are among the team’s leaders, whose mentorship will be critical for a group with so much youth. “Otto is a hard worker, and he keeps everybody on track,” West said. “Everyone looks up to him. And Rory is probably the person on the team that is the most respected. Our athletes look to him for guidance.” Senior Arianit Sazimani will contribute at the 400 hurdles, high hurdles, pole vault and triple jump, while freshman Keven Heredia will
Track April 7 Bergen Co. Tech
April 11 @ Passaic Valley
April 14 PCTI
April 20 John F. Kennedy
April 25 @ Randolph
April 29 @ Passaic Valley
May 1 @ Wayne Valley
May 4 @ Passaic Valley
May 12 @ Wayne Hills
May 13 @ Wayne Hills
May 16 @ Indian Hills
May 18 @ Wayne Valley
May 22 @ Randolph
May 23 @ Randolph
May 29 @ Egg Harbor Twnp 2:30pm May 30 @ Egg Harbor Twnp June 3 @ S. Plainfield
be a cog at the 400, 4x4, 200 and 800. Seniors Jay Pathak and Bhargav Desai and freshmen Sonny Ruiz, Adrian Echeverria, and Augustin Riquelme will be major contributors, as well. Clifton Merchant • April 2015
MUSTANG SPORTS Track
From left front: Mike Zavaleta, Jayren DeGuzman, Neil Shah and Carlos Skerrit. Middle : Josh Stanford, Andrew Sanz, Jay Pathak, Rory Huston, and Arianit Sazamani. Rear: Ray Romanski, Cameron Hebron, Andre Johnson, and Peter Pagano.
The girls, meanwhile, are strong in distance events, and have several multi-event athletes that should have them competing for titles. Senior Michelle Aplogan will lead the way, bringing an uncanny versatility to the table. She primarily competes in hurdles, sprints and jumps, but can legitimately fare well in around eight different events if ever called upon. Junior Monika Glugosz, a returning North I, Group IV champion discus thrower, will also return as one of Clifton’s top athletes. “I think we are in a good position to be in the top three or four teams in the county,” said head girls coach Mike
Rogers. “We have got a small group of vets, and a ton of really good freshmen and sophomores. We could be competitive if things go our way.” Among the very deep group of distance athletes, are senior Sofiya Nedelcheva, senior Olivia Rosenberg, sophomore Meghan Jozefczyk (a Passaic County cross country champ that was injured during the indoor track season), junior Megan Davey and sophomore Anisah Khandakar. Juniors Allison Proszowski (pole vault, hurdles, and distance) and Kamila Ivashka (jumping events, hurdles) will be other important ingredients to the Mustangs’ success.
Have Clifton Merchant Mailed. $27/YEAR SUBSCRIPTION Mailed via first class to your home.
Name: __________________________________________________________________________ Address: ________________________________________________________________________ City: _______________________________________State: ___________________________________ Zip:______________________Phone:_____________________________________________ Email:________________________________________________________________________ PLEASE MAKE CHECKS TO TOMAHAWK PROMOTIONS, 1288 MAIN AVE., CLIFTON, NJ 07011
74 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
Come and see why over 145 students from Clifton are making PC their high school of choice!
• New Tablet Program & Online Classes • 143 Courses, Including - 27 Honors Classes & 19 AP Classes • New Track & AstroTurf Stadium Field • Full Music Program & Marching Band • Stable, Strong, & Future Focused • Cost Effective Tuition • Large School Offerings, Small Class Size • Fully Wireless Facility
Members of the Class of 2014 earned about $66 million in scholarships and grants. Clifton graduates earned over $3 million of those scholarships and grants.
Scan the QR code for information
Clifton Merchant • April 2015
MUSTANG SPORTS Boys Lacrosse
Kneeling from left: Steven Borthwick, Zachary Doka, William Gibson, Andy Toro, Standing from left: Michael Cervino, Rushabh Naik, Jurel Velardo, James Dejesus, Brett Ranges, Logan Peri, Michael Madrigal.
With a little bit of youthful exuberance, some veteran leadership and one optimisitic head coach, Clifton boys lacrosse seems poised to bounce back from a disappointing year that was hampered by untimely injuries and a roster that was just too young to be competitive. The Mustangs got off to a good start in their opener on March 25, pulling out a gritty 11-10 overtime win over Johnson, proving that even in a tough situation, they are ready to pick up some victories. “After watching the first game and how guys rallied throughout, I think we can do really good things this year,” said Cowan. “You feel that team vibe. When guys get along, they can accomplish big things. They took their lumps last year and they know what they have to do this time around.” One thing this team certainly has is toughness, a trait that is embodied by its corps of defensemen. Said group is led by senior Christian Duffy, who also plays hockey—not surprising when one witnesses his gritty style of play. Juniors Joseph Gebbia and Steel Leon round out the starting unit, both bringing athleticism and strength to the table. Along with Duffy, there is a host of other seniors that will see plenty of time on defense, 76 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
Lacrosse Mar 18 Paramus Catholic
Mar 25 @ Arthur L. Johnson
Mar 27 @ N. Valley-Demarest 4:15pm Mar 31 @ Newark Academy April 2 Morris Hills
April 4 Wayne Valley
April 9 @ Verona April 14 Morris Knolls
April 16 @ Nutley
April 18 River Dell April 20 @ Lakeland
April 22 West Milford April 25 St. Joseph Regional April 27 @ Pascack Hills
5pm 10am 4pm
April 29 @ Governor Livingston
May 5 Eastern Christian
May 7 @ N. Valley - Old Tappan
Clifton Merchant â&#x20AC;˘ April 2015
MUSTANG SPORTS Boys Lacrosse including Logan Peri (a base defender and longstick midfielder), Erique Cormel, James De Jesus and Zach Doka. The enforcer-like
defensive group will go to great lengths to protect sophomore goalkeeper Christopher Rapuano, a young 6’3” presence that put in a
lot of time with the varsity group during the offseason. “Chris spent plenty of time working at his position on his own and with his teammates,” said Cowan. “He is a good goalie, and we are looking for big things from him not just now, but in the future.” The midfield will consist of a talented first line in junior Patrick DePasque, senior Steven Borthwick and four-year varsity player Billy Gibson. Seniors Andy Toro, Brett Ranges and Michael Madrigal will be in the regular rotation, as well. Offensively, the Mustangs will rely on an attack group consisting of junior Anthony Rodriguez, sophomores Kevin Buttel, Tyler Gibson and Shawn Meneghin, and seniors Michael Cervino and Amauris Peralta.
Custom Made Wedding Cakes Engagement Cakes • Birthday Cakes Sweet 16 Cakes • Baby Shower Cakes
308 Lakeview Ave. Clifton 973-772-3837 • Se Habla Español
78 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
MUSTANG SPORTS Girls Lacrosse
Some of the varsity players include Angie Tejada, Cyarah Caranza, Shania Vergara, Krystal Vera-Tuedla, Gabby Garcia, Tatjana Petrovic, Madiaon Surgent, Victoria Petriella
With many components of last season’s Clifton girls lacrosse squad no longer on the team, there is no denying the Mustangs are young. Still, head coach Amanda Gryzkin sees some encouraging things from a squad that has a lot of new faces. “They realize we are in this together,” Gryzkin said. “About 13 freshmen came out, and we kept them all. I like what I see from them so far. There is great potential. This is the biggest freshman class we’ve seen in a while, and it is very promising. I want these girls to learn. Our morale has to be good, and they are ready to accept the challenge.” An opening day victory over Mary Help, 12-11, certainly gave the team something to be proud of. Leading the Mustangs’ effort from the midfield will be senior Tiffany Richards, a third-year varsity player. Richards boasts a great motor and superb field vision, and is often the first player at practice, eager to learn. “She is fit, and she is like the Energizer bunny,” said Gryzkin. “She has become a great leader on the field, helping the younger girls out. She goes to goal, too.” Junior Olivia DeMuro has evolved into one of the squad’s better players, as well, and has taken on a leadership role in the midfield. Seniors Gabby Garcia and Tatjana Petrovic and junior Shania Vergara will also be in the rotation.
Lacrosse Mar 19 @ Pascack Hills
Mar 23 Bergen Co. Tech
Mar 25 Mary Help Academy
Mar 30 @ Paramus
April 1 Glen Rock
April 6 Waldwick
April 9 @ Ramsey
April 15 DePaul Catholic
April 18 River Dell
April 20 Fair Lawn
April 23 @ Dwight Englewood
April 24 Passaic Valley April 27 Morris Hills
April 29 @ Wayne Valley
May 4 @ N. Valley - Old Tappan
May 7 Demarest May 9 @ Eastern Christian May 11 @ Holy Angels
4:30pm 10am 4pm
Clifton Merchant • April 2015
MUSTANG SPORTS Girls Lacrosse Offensively, the Mustangs will rely on an all-underclass group of forwards to put the ball in the cage. Petrovic will sometimes play up, and the corps will be led by juniors Victoria Petriella and Dana Wehmana. Sophomore Amanda Richards and freshman Amanda Ale will both see time, as well. The defense will consist of senior Diana Guillen, sophomore Angie Tejada and freshmen Madison Surgent and Krystal Vera-Tudela. Junior Camila Fermin is the starting goalie, though she will be spelled by senior Cyarah Carranga or sophomore Ashley Myers as she recovers from a back injury.
Good Neighbors, Great Rates
Thomas Tobin 973-779-4248
80 April 2015 â&#x20AC;˘ Clifton Merchant
Bill G. Eljouzi 973-478-9500
Clifton Merchant • April 2015
22 Varettoni Pl., Clifton • 973-772-2330 1293 Broad St., Bloomfield • 973-338-8300
rainbowmontessori.com Jackie Licata-Alectoridis & Jane Maffucci
-Dr. Maria Montessori
The Montessori Method “Whoever touches the life of the child touches the most sensitive point of a whole, which has roots in the most distant past and climbs toward the infinite future.”
Register for Summer and September. Classes are filling up!
Infants • Pre-School • Kindergarten • Full Day & Half Day
MUSTANG SPORTS Boys Volleyball
Volleyball April 6 @ John F. Kennedy
Front from left: Fredy Talavera, Steven West, Mike Guzman, Paras Mehta. Top: Nabil Jamhour, Abraham Zeidan, Patrick Kowalcyzk, Leon Simpson, Matt Miller, Bruno Frascolla, Kamil Garbowski. Not Pictured: Francis Ledesma, Andrew Pica, Oscar Oyolla.
Heading into his third season as the head coach of the CHS boys volleyball team, Nick Romanak has seen great success as well as a stretch of struggles. In his first year, the Mustangs went 15-6 and qualified for the state playoffs; last spring, a youthful group went 11-13 and missed the postseason. In year three, Romanak thinks he has the roster and the leadership to render 2014 a mere aberration. “Last year, our only returners were Nabil [Jamhour] and Kamil [Garbowski],” Romanak recalled. “This year, we have a lot of our core back. We lost 11 guys before last year to graduation. So, I actually think with what we were working with, 11 wins wasn’t bad.” This season, Jamhour and Garbowski are back again, and figure to lead the offensive effort for the Mustangs. Jamhour, a senior outside hitter, can play both the back and front rows, and had a strong ending to his junior campaign. The 6’6” senior middle hitter Garbowski, meanwhile, is a power hitter who is an intimidating scorer and blocker. 82 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
April 8 @ Bergen Co. Tech
April 9 Harrison
April 11 @ Bloomfield April 13 Bergenfield April 14 Bridgewater-Rariton
8:30am 4pm 4:15pm
April 15 @ Lakeland
April 17 @ Passaic Valley
April 18 @ Passaic Valley April 20 Fair Lawn April 22 @ Wayne Valley April 23 Eastside Paterson
TBD 4:15pm 4pm 4:30pm
April 24 Passaic
April 27 @ PCTI
April 28 @ Bayonne
April 29 John F. Kennedy
May 1 @ Bergen Catholic
May 2 @ Fair Lawn
May 4 Bergen Co. Tech May 6 @ Eastside
May 7 @ Bridgewater-Rariton 4:15pm May 8 @ Ramapo
May 11 Wayne Hills
From the Rozsa Family &
189 Parker Ave (half block from Botany Village) Passaic
M-Sat 8am-6pm â&#x20AC;˘ 973-473-1645
Our cases are filled with fresh Poppy Seed, Lekvar, Apricot and other Hungarian Spices!
Clifton Merchant â&#x20AC;˘ April 2015
MUSTANG SPORTS Boys Volleyball
View The Giblin Report Thursday at 9 pm Cablevision Ch. 76 & FIOS Ch. 40 Check with your Cable Provider for Other Listings
Proud to Represent Clifton Assemblyman Thomas P. Giblin 1333 Broad St. • 973-779-3125
84 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
“Nabil is a phenomenal athlete and a good, solid allaround player,” Romanak said. “He has put some time in during the offseason and has improved with knowing when to swing away and when to hit shots. Kamil is very athletic for a person of his height, and has good control of his body. He has gotten a lot more comfortable in his role as middle, which is a tough spot to play.” Junior outside hitter Steven West in another key returnee for Clifton, who has refined his game since last spring. West gradually saw more floor time throughout last season, and was the starter by year’s end. Middle hitter Patrick Kowalczyk, also a junior, is one of the Mustangs’ better blockers. Unlike Garbowski, he is not a real power hitter, though he does possess strong ball placement and court smarts. Clifton still has some work to do in the finesse portion of its game, but has some experienced setters in senior Andrew Pica and junior Matt Miller. The Mustangs’ Libero will be either junior Fredy Talavera or freshman Michael Guzman. Both are crafty defensive players, and one should emerge as the fulltime starter over the next several weeks.
MUSTANG SPORTS Tennis
Front from left: Sebastian Luna, Nishant Shastri, Kevin Kornecki, Patrick Bury, Milan Mandania, Donald Alburo. Rear from left: Tejesh Mehta, Shea Harris, James Caporaso, Heath Patel, Smit Rana, Rohan, Handiwala, Akshay Mandania, Ben Galan, Jonathan Ford
With a team full of veterans, Clifton head boys tennis coach Andrea Bobby likes her Mustangs’ chances at competing for some hardware this spring. A senior-laden group with quite a bit of varsity experience, Clifton appears to have the pieces in place to be more than competitive in both the Big North Liberty Division and Passaic County. “I feel pretty confident going into this season,” Bobby said. “These players are bigger and stronger than they were last year, and have the experience and I am looking to draw from. They have all dabbled on the varsity lineup in some aspect.” The Mustangs are anchored by senior first singles player Sebastian Luna, a serious player who brings tenacity and court smarts to each match. Luna is dedicated to improving each time he plays, and has honed his craft frequently at Maywood Tennis Club. He was the Mustangs’ second singles last year. That spot is now occupied by senior Akshay Mandania. A number three last year, he has worked on his consistency, but is quick and fit and can hit the ball. Seniors Giancarlo Osnato and Tejesh Mehta and junior James Caporaso will compete for the third singles spot. Seniors Jonathan Ford (a transfer from Queen of Peace), Ben Galan and Shea Harris will round out the Mustangs’ lineup. “This group isn’t new to all this,” Bobby said. “They know what other teams can do, and I think they are psyched and are where they should be. They’ll vie for some titles this year.”
Tennis Apr 2 Bergen Co. Tech April 6 @ Passaic
April 7 @ McNair Academic
April 8 PCTI
April 10 @ John F. Kennedy April 13 Eastside April 15 @ Bergen Catholic
10am 4:30pm 4pm
April 20 Fair Lawn
April 22 @ Lakeland
April 24 Passaic Valley
April 27 @ Bergen Co. Tech
April 29 Passaic
April 30 @ Eastside Paterson
May 1 @ PCTI
May 4 John F. Kennedy
May 8 @ DePaul Catholic
May 11 @ Fair Lawn May 12 @ Kearny May 14 TBA
4:15pm 4pm 8:30am
Clifton Merchant • April 2015
MUSTANG SPORTS Golf
From left front: Nick Belfondo, Jamila Basit, Bryan Cammerino, Dillon Keenan. Second row from left: Brian Kommer, Jordan Dunleavy, Jim Louer, Ed Castillo.
With eight juniors on his roster, veteran Clifton head golf coach Chad Cole knows there are two ways to look at the group that he will hit the links with. On one hand, relative inexperience will mean the Mustangs will have to work hard to keep up with some tougher opponents; on the other, there is enough talent and desire amongst the CHS golfers to give Cole some optimism that his team can both surprise doubters and prepare for the future. “They are really good kids, and they are going to keep getting better,” Cole said. “They are serious and although they have fun, they really want to learn.” Leading the way is Jordan Dunleavy, a player that has put in plenty of offseason practice and has even recruited additional athletes to join the team. Cole lauds the fact that Dunleavy has always had the “golf bug,” and says that he has shown great improvement at the range. Bryan Cammerino and Dillon Keenan are the other two returnees on the squad, and both have shown improvement this preseason. Three newcomers—Jim Louer, Brian Kommer and Nick Belfondo—have ignited the Mustangs, as well. All three have shown a knack for the game at the range, with natural long games that should go a long way as each evolves on the green. “I will be happy if by the end of the season this whole team can break 50 on a regular basis,” Cole said. I expect them to really improve and maybe by next season we can really vie for [bigger things]. Individually, I just want to see these guys get better.” 86 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
Golf April 1 Bergen Co. Tech April 6 Ridgefield Park
April 7 Eastside Paterson
April 8 John F. Kennedy
April 9 PCTI April 10 Wayne Hills
April 13 Passaic Valley
April 16 Hackensack
April 22 Wayne Valley
April 23 Ramapo
April 24 Fort Lee
April 27 West Milford
April 28 Passaic
May 4 TBA
May 5 West Milford
May 6 Lakeland
May 7 TBA
May 13 TBA
which means Tomahawk Jr. is trained and nationally certified in restorative water drying methods by the Institute of Inspection, Cleaning and Restoration Certification, also known as IICRC. Clifton Merchant â&#x20AC;˘ April 2015
Displaying their art which may be in the show at the Clifton Arts Center, from left: Michael Tejada, Chelsea Barile, and Samantha Gear. Alos pictured are Cristina D'Alessio and below Tianyi Sun.
The 2015 Clifton High School Fine Art Show, Juxtaposed, at the Clifton Arts Center, celebrates diversity in art, as represented by various styles, concepts, media, subject matter and designs by select students. Teacher and coordinator Katherine Karcz said the theme similarly recognizes the diversity in culture, language and religion found in Clifton, the 11th largest municipality in the state, and the school, (with over 3,300 pupils), has the largest student body in a single facility amongst high schools in New Jersey. The exhibit can be viewed April 8 to 25, with a reception for the artists open to the public on April 15, from 6 to 8 pm. Suggested donation is $3. For more info, go to cliftonnj.org or call 973-472-5499.
We Keep the Fleet on the Street Proud to serve the Clifton, Passaic & Nutley Police & Fire Departments
• • • •
Domestics/Foreign Automatic/Manual Commercial Fleets Differentials, Clutches
45 Atlantic Way (790 Bloomfield Ave)
• • • •
Light/Medium Trucks Antiques & Classics 4 Wheel Drive Service A/C Systems & more
Call 973-472-2075 ask for Mark or Brian
Present this ad and save $100 off any overhaul 88 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
Standing from left: Maria Santamaria, Cory Montiel, Ciara Sabaski, Jessica Nosal and Marissa Dianas. Seated from left: Elissa McMahon, Camille Gomera and Summer Zheng. Below: Joanne Villa Valentin.
Members of the CHS Mural Club were painting flags of the world on the walls outside of the soccer office by the upper gym on March 26. Members include Liana Vazquez, Nicolle Hiromoto, Tyler Rojo, CHS art teacher Barbara Mack, and Emily Termyna.
Clifton Merchant â&#x20AC;˘ April 2015
CAN THESE CLIFTON KIDS WIN THE
Costello Award? It’s the top prIze In the 2015 pC FIlm Fest
Three Passaic County Technical Institute students from Clifton are vying for the top prize in the 11th Annual Passaic County Film Festival on April 25. Entries by PCTI students Kimberly Lopez, Renee Nunez and Tarell Wright and about 50 others will be shown beginning at 10 am at the Fabian 8 Theater in downtown Paterson. Films are 10 minutes in length or less and were produced by students and independent filmmakers who live, study, or work in Passaic County. Categories include General Short Films, Documentary Films, Music Videos, and Public Service Announcements. Admission is free. Sophomore Kimberly Lopez submitted two entrees entitled “Dear You” (short film/PSA) and “Chandelier” (music video). “Dear You” chronicles the repercussions of losing someone due to driving while under the influence. It was filmed with a Canon camera and a cellphone. Her other entry reimagines Sia’s “Chandelier” and contrasts the innocence of a child against the bad influences of life. It was filmed in PCTI’s hallways. Renee Nunez is also a sophomore who entered a music video “Studios.” He was inspired by the scenery of the PCTI TV Production room, which he transformed to resemble a working studio. His entry chronicles being overworked and wishing only to return to the comfort of his significant other. Senior Tarell Wright’s PSA “A Helping Hand” sheds light on the stress teens experience. Through a montage depicting the difficulty of time management and relationships, his entry provides encouragement and ideas to minimize the negative ramifications of daily pressures. It is set to an instrumental version of “Take Me to Church” by Hozier. 90 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
The three students agreed that the technology and teaching staff at the PCTI School of Communication Arts TV Production encourages students to express their creativity through videography, sound and lighting, broadcasting, camera operations, as well as writing and other aspects of film or TV. Films were judged by members of the Passaic County Film Commission in February as submissions were due in Dec, 2014. One grand prize will be named as the best film of the festival with other awards given by category. The North Jersey Federal Credit Union (NJFCU) will present $1,000 to one film maker selected by NJFCU representatives. That film maker will also work with the NJFCU to create a 30-second commercial promoting the Credit Union. The Festival is funded, in part, by the PCCHC, the Passaic County Board of Chosen Freeholders, Bascom Corporation, investorsBank, Wells Fargo, ROSS International, and the PCCC Foundation. For info, call 973-569-4720 or write to email@example.com.
The One Person Can Make a Difference Club at Christopher Columbus Middle School, run by teachers John Callaghan and Jason Fieldhouse, strives to instill in their students that little acts of kindness are contagious. Projects include doing good things for the environment to raising funds for a good cause. This year members raised funds by asking fellow classmates and teachers for pennies, nickels, dimes and quarters during the Pennies for Patients campaign. The funds, collected during a three-week period, benefit the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. On Earth Day, April 22, members will go around Main Memorial Park and CCMS school grounds to pick up litter. Club members will also write essays for the school newspaper making peers aware how important it is to save this earth we all live in.
CCMS One Person Can Make A Difference Club members: Anthony Vitale, Emily Aldin, Batuhan Akbay, Yoshiki Nakui, Christopher Abraham, Yousef Sabri, Kailey Loarca. Not pictured, Anastasiya Skrynyk, Malack Jabarin.
The 11th Annual Relay for Life begins on May 30 at 2 pm at Clifton High School and concludes at 6 am on May 31. It is an overnight walking relay that turns into a party and a way to raise funds to help with cancer research. Presented by the American Cancer
society, RFL offers cancer survivors and their families a way to celebrate the lives of those who beat the disease or remember those who lost the fight. To get involved find out more or to register, go to relayforlife.org.cliftonnj or call Kristin Bruno at 201-285-8041
Clifton Merchant â&#x20AC;˘ April 2015
Today’s Youth Are
Tomorrow’s Future Golf, Dine or Be a Sponsor IN THE
Give the Kids Hope May 14 Outing The Sixth Annual David Harris Golf Invitational on May 14 at the Green Brook Country Club in North Caldwell will raise funds to help renovate the recreation facility for youth at Camp Hope in West Milford. Participants can expect to enjoy a great day of golf with David Harris of the NY Jets and other celebrity guests at a world class course, compete for tournament prizes, enjoy a fabulous cocktail party and dinner, and feel good about the charity they are supporting. Give the Kids Hope Foundation, Inc., a 501(c)3 charitable organization, directly benefits underprivileged children in New Jersey. The foundation has set a goal in 2015 to help with needed renovations at Camp Hope in West Milford, where over 2,700 underprivileged children from North Jersey attend at no cost every summer. The foundation was started in 2009 by Stephen Tilton Jr. and Judith Schumacher-Tilton of the Schumacher Chevrolet Auto Group to provide less fortunate children the opportunity for recreational and educational activities that they might not otherwise have, including a chance to go to summer camp and sing by a campfire, take a nature walk or enjoy an educational trip to the zoo. David Harris has become the face of the Give the Kids Hope Foundation, inspiring many less fortunate youngsters with his enthusiastic participation and 92 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
recalling that his own upbringing led him to join the group, saying with a smile, “we grew up with so much love, we never knew we were poor.” This year’s benefit Golf Invitational, which is named in his honor, will support needed funds for renovations to the Camper’s Lounge at Camp Hope in Passaic County and will be used in part for summer programs for disadvantaged youth at Turtle Back Zoo in Essex County. Give the Kids Hope Foundation President, Stephen Tilton Jr., commented, “We are very thankful to our celebrity chairman David Harris of the New York Jets, for his continued involvement and enthusiastic support of the foundation. We also want to thank Essex County Executive, Joseph N. DiVincenzo, Jr., and Passaic County Administrator, Anthony J. De Nova, III who have once again graciously volunteered to co-chair the event.” The combined efforts of the chairs will offer much to those who attend—and to help the kids.
Among the contests and About Give the Kids prizes planned for the 2015 Hope Foundation, Inc. David Harris Invitational are Give the Kids Hope a $10,000 (60â&#x20AC;&#x2122; putt) and holeFoundation, Inc. is a recogin-one prizes that include: a nized 501(c)3 non-profit 2015 Chevrolet Corvette and organization dedicated to a 2015 Chevrolet Camaro providing recreational and SS, sponsored by the educational opportunities to Schumacher Chevrolet Auto underprivileged children in Judith Schumacher-Tilton with her son Stephen Group of Little Falls, New Jersey. Tilton Jr., co-chairs of the David Harris Invitational. Clifton and Denville. Give the Kids Hope Many opportunities are Foundation was founded in available to support the David Harris Golf Invitational 2009 by Stephen Tilton Jr. and Judith Schumacherand its cause through participation as a player or by Tilton of the Schumacher Chevrolet Auto Group of supporting financially through a monetary donation or Little Falls, Clifton and Denville, NJ. providing an auction raffle prize. Participating corpoThe foundation is run by volunteers and funds raised rate sponsors to date are: Schumacher Chevrolet Auto are used to support educational and recreational proGroup, Lakeland Bank, Investors Bank, Comcast grams for underprivileged children in New Jersey. Spotlight, Verizon FIOS, and Cablevision. To contribute, makes checks to Give the Kids Hope For more about playing in or sponsoring the David Foundation, Inc. and send to Stephen Tilton Jr., Harris Invitational or to purchase tickets for the evening President, 8 Main Street, Little Falls, NJ 07424. dinner and awards ceremony, contact: Allison Lastfogel For more details on the programs as it supports at Schumacher Chevrolet 973-256-1065 or visit: Camp Hope here in Passaic County, write to GiveTheKidsHope.org. Find Us on Facebook. firstname.lastname@example.org or call 973-256-1065.
6) _ 6WRU\ 2IĂ&#x20AC;FH %XLOGLQJ ZLWK D 6WRU\ $WULXP /REE\ 6) _ 6WRU\ 2IĂ&#x20AC;FH %XLOGLQJ ZLWK D 6WRU\ $WULXP /REE\ Available Available Now Now Wayne
Clif Clifton 21
Ruth herford Rutherford
New York City
West Orange 95
Available 6XLWHV DYDLODEOH IURP 6) 6) Suites: 1,250 SF, 2,500 SF, 5,000 SF, and 10,000 SF Â&#x2021; 0LQXWHV IURP WKH *DUGHQ 6WDWH 3DUNZD\ 1- 7XUQSLNH Â&#x2021;Â&#x2021; 'LUHFW ZD\ 5RXWH LQWHUFKDQJH Â&#x2021; 0LQXWHV IURP WKH *DUGHQ 6WDWH 3DUNZD\ 1- 7XUQSLNH 'LUHFW ZD\ 5RXWH LQWHUFKDQJH , 5RXWHV DQG WKH /LQFROQ 7XQQHO , 5RXWHV DQG WKH /LQFROQ 7XQQHO Â&#x2021;Â&#x2021; *HQHURXV SDUNLQJ UDWLR *HQHURXV SDUNLQJ UDWLR
777 PPassaic assaic AAvenue venue Clifton, NeNeww JJersey ersey
Contact Bill Martini at 973-643-3333 95
â&#x20AC;˘ EORFNV WR 1- 7UDQVLW WUDLQ VWDWLRQ EORFNV WR 1- 7UDQVLW WUDLQ VWDWLRQ Â&#x2021;Â&#x2021; 7ZR QHLJKERULQJ KRWHOV FRQIHUHQFH IDFLOLWLHV 7ZR QHLJKERULQJ KRWHOV FRQIHUHQFH IDFLOLWLHV %XV WR 3RUW $XWKRULW\ DFURVV WKH VWUHHW â&#x20AC;˘ On-site security & FFRYHUHG SDUNLQJ RYHUHG SDUNLQJ Â&#x2021;Â&#x2021; %XV WR 3RUW $XWKRULW\ DFURVV WKH VWUHHW
www..777P www 777PASSAIC ASSAIC.com
Clifton Merchant â&#x20AC;˘ April 2015
St. Andrew Gala and Awards Distinguished Person to Sr. Regina Avard Imagine corralling 86 third grade boys as a first year teacher. That’s what Sr. Regina Avard faced when she was all of 21 years of age, and about the same height as many of those boys. The year was 1939, and kids listened a little differently back then. But the diminutive nun, now age 96, still recalls the challenges of being in charge of a classroom. She explained some of them in this vignette: “There was an issue... I don’t recall what it was exactly... but I had all 86 of those boys lined up in the hallway for two hours, and not one of them would rat on the other.” Today, sitting in St. Andrew the Apostle Church’s convent, she still gets a chuckle out of the fidelity and stubbornness of those boys. Their loyalty eventually transferred to Sr. Regina, and some seven decades later, on Oct. 19, 2014, 18 of those boys, now in their 70’s and 80’s, were among the guests at her 75th year anniversary of being a Presentation Sister of the Blessed Virgin Mary (PBVM). The PBVM is a teaching order with Jesuit influence. Regarded as a progressive order, its members are socially conscious and aware of worldly issues. When asked who her favorite saint is, Sr. Regina cites the Blessed Virgin Mary. She says it is so because she was born on Feb. 11, 1919. On that day in 1858, the Virgin Mary appeared to St. Bernadette in Lourdes, France. This day became one of the feast days of the Virgin Mary known as Our Lady of Lourdes. Throughout her entire life, Sr. Regina has felt a special connection to the Blessed Virgin Mary, who continues to be her inspiration. As both a former teacher and principal, Sr. Regina has touched the lives of thousands of boys and girls from St. 94 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
Francis of Rome School in the Bronx and St. Andrew the Apostle Elementary School in Clifton. She is one of five nuns who opened St. Andrew the Apostle School on Mt. Prospect Ave. in 1953. To celebrate her lifetime of teaching, she will be honored on May 12 with a Distinguished Person Award at the St. Andrew Gala Awards Dinner Dance. Also being honored at the Brownstone that evening are Clifton Recreation Director Debbie Oliver—she will receive the Gloria J. Kolodziej Community Enhancement Award—and members of the Knights of Columbus Regina Mundi No. 3969. They are named the 2015 Mayor James Anzaldi Community Service winners. Awardees ‘embody the values of St. Andrew’s community.’ By honoring Sr. Regina, it sheds light on Pope St. Francis’ new initiative, “The Year of the Consecrated Life,” which celebrates the past, present and future work of people like Sr. Regina, who devote their lives to God and those around them. One of the objectives for Catholics in 2015 is to gratefully remember the past, which Sr. Regina does when she looks back on her years of teaching. “The early days were great,” she recalls of the opening of St. Andrew the Apostle, “It was the opening of the school so everything was new at the time, but I loved every place I taught at.” The last two objectives of the Year of the Consecrated Life include passionately living in the present, and embracing the future, both of which Sr. Regina does as she prays daily in the St. Andrew the Apostle Convent Chapel, and inspires others around her. Tickets are $60. There is also an ad journal and other ways to support the program. For info, call 973-773-1371 or 973-473-3711.
Second Grader Amanda Lukasz donated her entire piggy bank which was a total of $256.22 at a School 9 Pennies for Patients program for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. During the first week of December, students were encouraged to bring in change to help raise money towards research and patient aid in support of the mission to cure leukemia, lymphoma, Hodgkinâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s disease and myeloma. With the blessing of her parents, Amanda wanted her savings to be donated for an important cause. This act of kindness from a courageous young girl shows what the season of giving is truly about. The students of School 9 raised a total of $1,031.16 and were proud to be part of the great cause.
Great Falls Park Ranger Ilyse Goldman was a recent guest of the Friends of the Clifton Library. Members also pictured include Fran Warren, President Vivian Semeraro, Treasurer Andrew Schwartz, and Joan Sanford.
The Friends of the Clifton Public Library seek new members during April 13-18, which is National Library Week and National Volunteer Week. The Friends raise funds to enhance library services such as special events for children and teens as well as cultural and educational programming for adults. Dues enable the Friends to host Musical Mondays, an Evening of Opera, a Museum Pass program and the first New Jersey Makers project. Individual membership is $5 per year or a one time $100 Lifetime. Friends invite the community to take part in a creative writing series with journalist Tom Sullivan at the Allwood Branch on April 20, 27 and May 4, 11, at 4 to 5 pm. Michael C. Gabriele, author of The History of Diners in New Jersey, will be the speaker at the April 29 meeting at the Main Library at 7 pm. There will be a book signing. To join, membership forms are at the Main Library and the Allwood Branch or for info, call Suzanne Sia at 973-979-7565.
Clifton Merchant â&#x20AC;˘ April 2015
Birthdays & Celebrations - April 2015
The Hawrylko brothers, Tom Jr. is 28 on April 16 and Joe turns 30 on April 27, with their pal Bob Marley who is 11 on April 4. Peter Chudolij is 20 on April 28. Happy 9th Birthday to Damian Calvo on April 13. Dana Aref turned 10 years old on March 10. George Sadiv celebrates a BIG birthday on April 7. Pete & Eileen Fierro will be married 39 years on April 18.
Birthdays & Celebrations
Send dates & names...email@example.com Karen Goldey..................... Timothy Hayes .................... Stephanie L. Magaster......... Hetal Patel.......................... Karen Schwartz .................. Raymond DeDios ................ Carl DiGisi ......................... Eric Homsany ..................... JoEllen Kenney-Illenye .......... Kevin John Lord .................. Greg Alexander..................
4/1 4/1 4/1 4/1 4/1 4/3 4/3 4/3 4/3 4/3 4/4
Happy 36th Anniversary to John & Donna Hawrylko on April 28 96 April 2015 â&#x20AC;˘ Clifton Merchant
Joey Scotto ......................... 4/4 Bo Franko .......................... 4/5 Sabrina Greco.................... 4/5 Wafa Othman .................... 4/5 Mark Peterson .................... 4/5 Bob Tanis ........................... 4/5 Joe Franek.......................... 4/6 Sharon J. Koribanics ........... 4/6 Jessica Mondelli.................. 4/6 Luke Kulesa ........................ 4/7 Donna Mangone ................ 4/7 Patricia Colman .................. 4/8 Sheryll Franko .................... 4/8 Jackie Henderson................ 4/8 Jeff Murcko......................... 4/8 Emma Gretina .................... 4/9 Kathy Krisinski .................... 4/9 Brian Firstmeyer ................ 4/11 Leila Gasior...................... 4/11 Felipe Rivera .................... 4/11 Erin Smith......................... 4/11 Debbie Tucker .................. 4/11 Alice Shanley Babinski ...... 4/12 Josh Ontell ....................... 4/13 William Parks III................ 4/13 Alexander John Mosciszko. 4/14
Roland & Lena Krygsman celebrate 62 years of marriage on April 24. Lisa Kulesa ....................... Adam Pienciak ................. Kurt Irizarry...................... Robert Monzo .................. Linda Humphrey ............... Joseph P. Koribanics.......... Peter Fierro....................... Jason Dubnoff................... Jennifer Oâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;Sullivan ............ Bryan Rodriguez............... John Anderson.................. Jeff Camp......................... Greg Nysk ....................... Alicia Rose Aste................ Lori Hart........................... Alyssa Tucker.................... Bobby Ventimiglia............. Danny Gorun ................... John Pogorelec, Jr. ............
Daniel Leigh Magaster April 7, 1985 - Oct. 16, 2003
4/15 4/15 4/16 4/16 4/17 4/17 4/18 4/19 4/19 4/19 4/20 4/20 4/21 4/22 4/22 4/22 4/22 4/23 4/23
Addison Victoria Leonard was born on Dec. 23. Marc Scancarella ............ 4/23 Katie Michelotti ............... 4/25 Brianna A. Pastore .......... 4/25 Klondike Tresca ............... 4/25 Buddy Czyzewski............ 4/26 Stephanie Magaster ........ 4/26 Jillian Mangone............... 4/26 Annie Pogorelec.............. 4/26 Elise Termyna .................. 4/26 Mike Grimaldi................. 4/27 Michael Press.................. 4/27 April Graham.................. 4/28 Stephen Camp, Jr. ........... 4/29 Paul Colman ................... 4/29 Heather Halasz ............... 4/29 Christine Klein ................. 4/29
Rudy and Frieda Gregg celebrate their 60th Anniversary on April 16. On April 6 Joe Franek will be 65â&#x20AC;&#x201D;the same day he and his wife Darlene celebrate their 40th wedding anniversary. Clifton Merchant â&#x20AC;˘ April 2015
Poolside with Cambridge: Safe, Beautiful & Maintenance-Free
Cambridge Pavingstones with ArmorTec® is the perfect product when designing a backyard poolside living area. With styles and colors from traditional to contemporary, Cambridge designs include pool coping, steps into the water, seating walls or bistro-style tables. The pavers can be installed in patterns or free-style random placements. Border, banding, circle treatments and pattern treatments can delineate areas or complement the pool and its shape. Styles, textures and colors of the pavers and wall units can be mixed or matched to suit your design objectives. 98 April 2015 • Clifton Merchant
Add a fire pit, a fireplace or an outdoor kitchen where food preparation, cooking and grilling are within arm’s reach in a custom configuration. Cambridge hardscape products need little or no maintenance and offer easy access to utilities around the pool (concrete pavers are set in sand without mortar). Cambridge Bullnose is specifically designed for pool coping and steps with ArmorTec® have a slip-resistant surface and colors are made to last. Coordinate your backyard poolside living area with a one-stop shopping trip with the experts at Athenia Mason Supply.
Tomahawk Promotions 1288 main avenue Clifton, NJ 07011
PRSRT STD U.S. Postage PA I D Phila Pa 191 PeRmiT No. 7510