Page 41

NCAA REGIONAL: 2008 • 2009 • 2010 • 2011 • 2012 • NCAA CHAMPIONSHIP: 2009




Location Boone, N.C. Charleston, S.C. Chattanooga, Tenn. Charleston, S.C. Davidson, N.C. Elon, N.C. Greenville, S.C. Statesboro, Ga. Greensboro, N.C. Birmingham, Ala. Cullowhee, N.C. Spartanburg, S.C.

Member Since 1971 1998 1976 1936 1991 (1936-88) 2003 1936 1991 1997 2008 1976 1997

The Southern Conference, which begins its 92nd season of intercollegiate competition in 2011, is a national leader in emphasizing the development of the student-athlete and defining the league’s role in helping to build lifelong leaders and role models. The SoCon is the nation’s fifth-oldest NCAA Division I collegiate athletic association. Only the Big Ten (1896), the Missouri Valley (1907), the Pacific 10 (1915) and the Southwestern Athletic (1920) conferences are older in terms of origination. Academic excellence has been a major part of the SoCon’s tradition. League athletes have been recognized countless times on Verizon/CoSIDA Academic All-America and district teams. A total of 19 Rhodes Scholarship winners have been selected from conference institutions. The SoCon has sent three schools to regionals in three of the last six years with the Mocs leading the charge in 2009, 2010 and 2011 and with multiple individual berths including Emma de Groot in 2008. A SoCon school has qualified for the NCAA Championship four times since the turn of the century with the Mocs being the most recent entry in 2009. The Southern Conference office is located in the historic Beaumont Mill in Spartanburg, S.C. A textile mill that was in operation from 1880 until 1999, the Beaumont Mill was renovated in 2004 and today offers the SoCon a first-class meeting area and offices as well as a spacious library for storage of the conference’s historical documents.

Appalachian State Mountaineers

College of Charleston Cougars

Chattanooga Mocs

The Citadel Bulldogs

Davidson Wildcats

Elon Phoenix

Furman Paladins

Georgia Southern Eagles

UNC Greensboro Spartans

Samford Bulldogs

Western Carolina Catamounts

Wofford Terriers

2012-13 WOMEN’S GOLF

Alabama (1921-1932) Appalachian State (1971-present) Auburn (1921-1932) College of Charleston (1998-present) Chattanooga (1976-present) The Citadel (1936-present) Clemson (1921-1953) Davidson (1936-1988, 1991-present) - No women’s golf Duke (1928-1953) East Carolina (1964-1976) East Tennessee State (1978-2005) Elon (2003-present) Florida (1922-1932) Furman (1936-present) George Washington (1936-1970) Georgia (1921-1932) Georgia Southern (1991-present) - No women’s golf Georgia Tech (1921-1932) Kentucky (1921-1932) Louisiana State (1922-1932) Marshall (1976-1997) Maryland (1921-1953) Mississippi (1922-1932) Mississippi State (1921-1932) North Carolina (1921-1953) UNC Greensboro (1997-present) North Carolina State (1921-1953) Richmond (1936-1976) Samford (2008-present) South Carolina (1922-1953) Tennessee (1921-1932) Tulane (1922-1932) University of the South (1922-1932) Vanderbilt (1922-1932) Virginia (1921-1937) VMI (1924-2003) Virginia Tech (1921-1965) Wake Forest (1936-1953) Washington & Lee (1921-1958) West Virginia (1950-1968) Western Carolina (1976-present) William & Mary (1936-1977) Wofford (1997-present)

School Appalachian State College of Charleston CHATTANOOGA The Citadel Davidson Elon Furman Georgia Southern UNC Greensboro Samford Western Carolina Wofford


2012-13 Chattanooga Mocs Women's Golf Guide  

The best resource book on the internet for Chattanooga Mocs women's golf information.

2012-13 Chattanooga Mocs Women's Golf Guide  

The best resource book on the internet for Chattanooga Mocs women's golf information.