Page 1

ISSUE 8 / JANUARY-FEBRUARY 2011

United States


3DTotal Publishing is an independent publishing house specializing in books in the digital art industry. Launched in 2010, the company has gone from strength to strength and is rapidly developing a reputation as one of the most exciting up-and-coming publishers in the digital art field.

20% OFF

WHEN YOU ENTER PROMO CODE:

ceiga20jan

Beginner’s Guide to Digital Painting in Photoshop Beginner’s Guide to Digital Painting in Photoshop is a brand new series dedicated to providing a truly comprehensive guide to the basics of digital painting in this versatile program. ISBN – 978-0-9551530-7-5 | Softback / Slipcase – 297mm x 210mm | 224 full color premium paper pages | £29.99 / $49.99

All books available now from: www.3dtotal.com/shop Get 20% off your order when you enter the promo code: ceiga20jan This offer will expire at the end of February 2012


Digital Painting Techniques: Volume 3 Digital Painting Techniques: Volume 3 presents another collection of inspiring and motivational tutorials for artists of all levels. A range of top industry professionals share the benefits of their years of experience in the digital art industry and offer tips, tricks and advice intended to help the next generation of artists reach new heights. ISBN – 978-0-9551530-4-4 | Softback – 216mm x 279mm 288 full color premium paper pages | £29.99 / $49.99

Digital Art Masters: Volume 6 Originally launched in 2005, the annual Digital Art Masters series continues to showcase the work of some of the finest 2D and 3D artists from around the world. The latest volume, Digital Art Masters: Volume 6 is our biggest book yet. It welcomes another 50 up and-coming and veteran artists, and follows the tradition of taking readers beyond the breathtaking images with detailed breakdowns of the techniques and tricks each artist employed while creating their stunning imagery. ISBN – 978-0-9551530-5-1 | Softback – 216mm x 279mm 320 full color premium paper pages | £32.00 / $52.50

The Art of Atomhawk Design Founded in 2009, Atomhawk Design has quickly developed a reputation for delivering exceptional concept art for the film, games and online industries. Boasting some of the most talented and cutting-edge artists in the industry, this young company has now teamed up with 3DTotal to bring together a collection of artworks that represent the very pinnacle of their work. ISBN – 978-0-9551530-4-4 | Softback – 216mm x 279mm 224 full color premium paper pages | Sale Price: £19.99 / $32.00

www.3dtotal.com | www.3dtotalpublishing.com www.facebook.com/3dtotal | www.twitter.com/3dtotal


contents JAN - FEB 2012

ceiga.co.uk

On the front

08

Life Tastes Good

14

The American Superhero

24

War Never Changes

32

The Big Apple

44

Howdy Partner

56


Put us in your Circle Or just give us a +1

on https://plus.google.com/118346246836671454511/posts


All the great CG videos

on one channel

on http://vimeo.com/channels/ceiga


THAT WENT FROM BARBARISM TO DECADENCE WITHOUT

CIVILIZATION IN BETWEEN.

AMERICA IS THE ONLY COUNTRY

- Oscar Wilde

W

ow issue eight already, it’ll be issue ten before you know it I’d have to think of something really big for that, oh bother. Back to this issue which is all about the United States of America, fifty states, a population of over 290 million and possibly the most powerful country in the world. This issue would have been a monster if everything America had done

was included in it, so it’s been narrowed down to five sections, some incredibly relevant, other’s not so much. I know there are some sections you’d expected to see in this issue that haven’t been included, like American sports, that’s simply because we couldn’t find enough images to create a section out of, so it’s not exactly our fault. But I believe the best was done with the resources that were gathered. I really hope you enjoy this issue, and even though I’m not an American citizen, I’m going to

R.Bray

end this letter with the famous three words, God Bless America.

Richard Bray Editor

ceiga.co.uk


On The

Front ‘Uncle Sam’ by Vlad Costin (costin3d.com). Modelled in 3D Studio Max & sculpted in ZBrush.

I

t took an incredibly long time find the right cover image for this issue, (as it does for most issues). However for this particular issue, the majority of the time was spent deciding on images instead of searching for them. The images in question were this one, and one of Obama in front of an American flag. The Obama image was good but far too cliché, and as Ceiga is all about being different, ‘Uncle Sam’ won the cover page.

This image is definitely a personification of America. The patriotism, the bravado, the tattoo on his left shoulder, I could go on. Vlad Costin did an amazing job with this image, great sculpture work on the anatomy and the creases on the clothes. The wrinkles on the face and the veins are spot on, and a really nice touch with the pocket watch. They really should make a toy of this model and sell it, or maybe a game, an Uncle Same game.

ceiga.co.uk


Sailin’ ‘round the worl Oh , to be back in the


“

ld in a dirty gondola land of C

Bob Dylan


w Bottle of Coca-Cola . . Yulia Goncharenko

wpanterka.kiev.ua

3ds max


w


Coca Cola Bottle . . Elmar Nieser

elmarnieser.com

3ds Max


Coke Rafael Mustaine

.

wix.com/refart/art

.

3ds Max


Vintage Store . Eugenio GarcĂ­a Villarreal

flickr.com/photos/artecnl/sets/72157603945789713

.

Lightwave 3D


20 Oz Coke Bottle . . Edward Dye, Artistic Image

artisticimage.com

3ds max


3rd person singular number . . Imranul Haque

whitescape.blogspot.com

3ds max


Robeo and Catet . . Juan Carlos JimĂŠnez Vadillo

anypixel.com

3ds Max


Desert gas station . Eugenio GarcĂ­a Villarreal

flickr.com/photos/artecnl/sets/72157603945789713

.

Lightwave 3D


THE AMERICAN SUPERHERO


Captain America . .

Tim Ness

timness.carbonmade.com

Maya, UDK


Captain America . . Sanket Tanak

tiger-1.cgsociety.org/gallery

Maya, ZBrush


Captain America . . Roman Samakovskiy

romans3d.ru

3dsmax, ZBrush


Pixologic Superhero . . Jeff Miller

thenewred.com

3ds max, ZBrush


ULTIMATES - Captain America . . Diego Maia

maia3d.blogspot.com

3ds Max, XSI, ZBrush


“

In my dreams I hear a the rattle of musketry, mutter of the battlefiel


gain the crash of guns, , the strange, mournful ld.

“

Douglas MacArthur


WAR NEVER CHANGES


Tsvetomir Georgiev

.

Soldier .

ceco.cgsociety.org/gallery

ZBrush


Gunnery Sergeant Thomas Highway . . Stanislav Klabik

slayercz.cgsociety.org/gallery

3ds max, Mudbox


Private Charlie . . Daniele Orsetti

dayno.it

Maya, ZBrush


Soldier . Paul Nelson

paul-nelson.com

.

3ds max, ZBrush


Soldier . Cyril Verrier

quadpilot.com

.

3ds Max, ZBrush


Blackhawk UH-60 . . Shuangyan Mike

mikeshuangyan.cgsociety.org/gallery

Maya, BodyPaint


Tuskegee Airmen . . Kurt Miller

kmistudio.com

3ds max, Bryce


American soldier (USAF) . . Raymond Yang

bignanfer.cgsociety.org

3ds Max


Sgt. Johnson . . Sven Juhlin

daybreakcg.com

Maya, Zbrush


The General . Teh Gene Erh

tenerh.cgsociety.org/gallery

.

Maya, Zbrush


Tank ( Merkava II ) . . Eric Zhang

cgeric.com

XSI


Wings over Vietman (no. 1-3) . . Anders Lejczak

colacola.se

Modo


THE BIG APPLE


New York street wintery scene Peter Mayer

.

petermayer.webs.com

.

3ds max


Urban Wonderland . .

Stefan Morrell

stefan-morrell.com

3ds max


New York Street . . Simone Vassallo

vass.cgsociety.org/gallery

Ligntwave 3D


The Great Station . . Dennis Latter

latter.cgsociety.org/gallery

3ds max


Subway . Benjamin Ziegler

bziegler.com

.

3ds max


Phone Booth . . Nicolas Wirrmann

nicolasw.com

3ds max


One Night In New York . . Martin Klein

mac-interactive.de

3ds max


“Get on, Ride hard,

and give it all you Cowbo


, Hold nothing back, u’ve got! Thats the oy Way!!!

Proverb


HOWDY PARTNER


Gennady Krimer

.

Revolver igl3d.blogspot.com

.

Maya


We named the dog Indiana . . Jon Berry

sl0511.com

3ds max, ZBrush


Santiago . . Kurt Miller

kmistudio.com

Bryce


Sassafras Sam . . Eric Lyman

eric3d.com

Maya, Mudbox


Seth Bullock . . Andrei Cristea

undoz.com

3ds max, ZBrush


I shot the sheriff . . Olivier Cannone

in-poculis.cgsociety.org

3ds max, ZBrush


Wild 338. going California . . Lo誰c e338 Zimmermann

e338.com

Maya, ZBrush


The Big Cowboy . . Gustavo Federico

eltavo.cgsociety.org/gallery

XSI, ZBrush


Duke - Carrot Crazy . Dylan VanWormer & Logan Scelina

dylanvanwormer.com - loganscelina.com

.

Maya


Wilderness . . Peng Bo

aropa.cgsociety.org/gallery

Maya, ZBrush


Take Your Best Shot . .

Stanislav Shcherbakov

sshcherbakov.co.uk

Maya, ZBrush


May The Hunt Begin . . Roumen Filipov Roumen Filipov

he-3d.cgsociety.org

3ds Max, ZBrush


Jack Stern . Patrick Beaulieu

squeezestudio.com

.

3ds max


Cowboy . . Jason Hill

jasonhillcg.com

Maya, ZBrush


On the watch . Matej Hradsky

matoh.cgsociety.org/gallery

.

3ds max, ZBrush


Wyatt Earp Bust . . Ryan Trammell

riliancg.cgsociety.org/gallery

Maya, Mudbox, ZBrush


And now

There’s finally something For you fans of print!

on http://www.magcloud.com/browse/magazine/277943


Aardman www.aardman.com

STUDIO LIST

(UK only)

Brandt Animation www.brandtanim.co.uk

Eurocom www.eurocom.co.uk

Absolute Post www.absolutepost.com

Bravo Games bravogames.com

Fluid Pictures www.fluid-pictures.com

Absolutely Cuckoo www.absolutelycuckoo.com

BreakThru Films www.breakthrufilms.co.uk

Foundation CGI www.foundationcgi.com

Air CGI www.air-cgi.com

Burrows Nvisage www.burrows.info

Framestore www.framestore.com

AKQA www.akqa.com

Busty Kelp www.bustykelp.com

Full Moon Studios fullmoongamestudios.com

Animatic Media animaticmedia.com

Cinesite www.cinesite.com

Gameloft www.gameloft.co.uk

Annix Studios www.annix.com

Climax Group www.climaxgroup.com

Glassworks www.glassworks.co.uk

Artillery www.artillery.tv

Codemasters www.facebook.com/codemasters

Glowfrog Studios glowfrog.com

Atticus Digital www.atticusdigital.com

Colonel Blimp www.colonelblimp.com

Golden Square www.goldensq.com

Atticus Finch www.atticusfinch.tv

Criterion Games blog.criteriongames.com

Hot Knife Digital Media www.hotknife.co.uk

Axis Animation www.axisanimation.com

Darkhorse VFX www.darkhorsefx.com

ICube www.icube3d.co.uk

Barefoot VFX barefootvfx.com

Darkside Animation www.dsanim.com

Ignition Entertainment www.utvignition.com

Base Black baseblack.com

Dinamo Productions www.dinamo.co.uk

I love Dust www.ilovedust.com

BE Animation beanimation.com

Distant Future Animation Studios www.distantfuture.co.uk

Image Metrics www.image-metrics.com

Black Rock Studios www.disney.co.uk

Double G Studios www.doublegstudios.com

Infinite Realitites www.ir-ltd.net

Blink Productions www.blinkprods.com

Double Negative www.dneg.com

Ink Digital www.inkdigital.co.uk

Blitz Game Studios www.blitzgamesstudios.com

Drive CGI www.drivecgi.co.uk

Jagex www.jagex.com

Blue Bolt www.blue-bolt.com

Eggbox Studios www.eggboxstudios.co.uk

Jellyfish Pictures www.jellyfishpictures.co.uk

Blue Zoo www.blue-zoo.co.uk

Envy www.envypost.co.uk

Jump Design www.jumpdesign.co.uk


Kazoo Creative www.kazoo-creative.com

Neon www.neon.tv

Rumble Studios www.rumblestudios.com

Kettle Studios www.kettlestudio.co.uk

Neoscape www.neoscape.com

Rushes www.rushes.co.uk

Keframe Studios keyframestudios.co.uk

Nexus Productions www.nexusproductions.com

Saddington Baynes www.saddingtonbaynes.com

Kuro Dragon www.kurodragon.com

Ninja Theory www.ninjatheory.com

Slide slidelondon.com

Lab 10 Studios www.lab10.com

Not to Scale www.nottoscale.tv

Smoke & Mirrors www.smoke-mirrors.com

Lionhead Studios lionhead.com

NSC Creative www.nsccreative.com

Speed Shape www.speedshape.com/

LipSync Post www.lipsyncpost.co.uk

Nvisible nvizible.com

Studio AKA www.studioaka.co.uk

Locomotion locomotionpost.wordpress.com

OG International www.og-international.net

Sumo Digital www.sumo-digital.com

Lola www.lola-post.co.uk

Passion Pictures www.passion-pictures.com

Superglue www.wearesuperglue.com

Loose Moose www.loosemoose.net

Peanut FX www.peanutfx.com

Taylor James www.taylorjames.com

Mainframe www.mainframe.co.uk

Peerless www.peerless.co.uk

Ten 24 www.ten24.info

Man Vs Machine www.manvsmachine.co.uk

Pitbull Studio www.pitbullstudio.co.uk

Territory Studio www.territorystudio.com

Masquerade Digital www.masquerade-digital.com

Plowman Craven www.plowmancraven.co.uk

The Creative Assembly creative-assembly.com

Matinai www.matinai.com

Prime Focus www.primefocusworld.com

The Foundry www.thefoundry.co.uk

MDI Digital www.mdi-digital.com

Quay Studios www.quaystudios.com

The Mill www.themill.com

Method Studios www.methodstudios.com

Qurios www.qurios.com

The Senate www.senatevfx.com

Molinare www.molinare.co.uk

Realtime UK www.realtimeuk.com

The Works www.worksltd.co.uk

Motion Imaging wearemi.com

Realise www.realisestudio.com

Tigrex www.tigerx.co.uk

Monumental Games www.monumentalgames.com

Relentless Software www.relentless.co.uk

TT Games www.ttgames.com

MPC www.moving-picture.com

Rockstar North www.rockstarnorth.com

We Are Seventeen www.weareseventeen.com

Munky www.munky.uk.com

Realtime Technology www.realtime-technology.com

Zoo zoovfx.com


Beginner’s Guide to Digital Painting in Photoshop is a brand new series dedicated to providing a truly comprehensive guide to the basics of digital painting in this versatile program. The best way to learn from the pros is to watch over their shoulders as they create a masterpiece. The next best way is to read this book. An essential resource for beginners and veterans alike, the techniques I’ve picked up here show that you’re never too old to learn! Highly recommended. Ian McQue ISBN – 978-0-9551530-7-5 | Softback / Slipcase – 297mm x 210mm | 224 full color premium paper pages | £29.99 / $49.99

available now from: www.3dtotal.com/shop Get 20% off this book when you enter the promo code: ceiga20jan This offer will expire at the end of February 2012

Ceiga Issue 8  

Fifty states, a population of over 290 million and possibly the most powerful country in the world. This issue would have been a monster if...

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you