Page 1

ISSUE 7 / NOVEMBER-DECEMBER 2011

Vroom Vroom


@Ceiga magazine is awesome! Escape Studios W0W! it really blow my min ZelfreimStudios

@Ceiga Embarrassed that i have only just found your mag.. great work.. Illumicdigital

Nice magazine I found o vimeo. If you ever want t storyboard artist in the f love to share some of my Jonathan Winbush

This is Sam from the Vimeo Staff. In case you're not aware, a bunch of us on the Vimeo Staff are big fans of your site. I personally check the Ceiga blog every day. Sam Morrill

Got Something

@Ceiga A great set of images for issue 6 I have signed up for more! Cheers. NJB2000

Greetings and keep poetoem@gmx.net

A #ff for the work of @Ceiga. If you're into 3D digital animation, check out this free online m jetsetnick

Enjoying the blog @Ceiga! ShrutiParulekar

I am very thankful for in The magazine looks grea Fabio Bautista


nd -->

I for one have added this to my list of things to check out in it's 'bi-monthly release'. Ian Davis

out about it from your info on to feature motion graphics future let me know I would y work.

@Ceiga This is truly wonderful... QualityLobster

I recently flicked through your latest issue of Ceiga – it looks great! Sarah Slee

g Nice To Say?

p up your good eye for awesome Art.

D artwork or magazine now.

I just like your site, great inspiration resource, thanks io.fotinos@gmail.com

This magazine is truly an inspiration to all, Even tho I am very new to the Maya world, I hope one day to be as good as the images depicted in this magazine. I aspire to be that good, with time, effort and a lot of tutorials I hope to be their in the next few years. Thanks Ceiga for this amazing mag :) Richard Jones

ncluding my work in this issue. at!

@Ceiga thx for the follow! Congratulations for the great magazine! Crekvenik


contents

37

NOV - DEC 2011

On the front Need For Speed

012 14

Post Apocolyptic 24

30

I’ll Race Ya!

34

Show Off

44

Corvette C1

56

64

47 ceiga.co.uk

20


And now

There’s finally something For you fans of print!

on http://www.magcloud.com/browse/magazine/277943


All the great CG videos

on one channel

on http://vimeo.com/channels/ceiga


NEW CAR OR A NEW WIFE. - Prince Philip

I

t’s been a whole year since the first issue of Ceiga and a quite a bit has changed since that time. The unexpected popularity of the blog, the ever-growing popularity of the magazine in the CG industry, the new design of the site, the new Vimeo channel and now, the ability to have a print version of the magazine thanks to Magcloud. Thank you to everyone who supported Ceiga by following me on Twitter, liking me on Facebook or simply viewing the magazine. Anyway back to the usual routine, this issue is all about CG cars. The topic of cars has been touched on in a previous issue so this might be a bit of a ‘deja

vu’ for regulars. CG cars are not too difficult to model but very difficult to render and light realistically, that’s why it’s always impressive to see an image of a realistic CG car, and that’s why I’ve decided to put this issue together.

R.Bray

Richard Bray Editor

ceiga.co.uk

WHEN A MAN OPENS A CAR DOOR FOR HIS WIFE, IT'S EITHER A


On The

Front ‘SLR Outdoor #1’ by EXIDGE (exidge.cgsociety.org). Modelled and in 3D Studio Max.

F

inding an image for the front cover of this issue took a while. There are so many good images of cars out there I was tempted to have multiple front covers. Then I came across this amazing image of a Mercedes SLR by EXIDGE.

The image somewhat invites you to take a look at the car with its doors open, its light on and its position in the image. It works perfectly on the front cover of the magazine, making the viewer wonder what is inside the magazine. Makes me want to jump into it and drive it away.

ceiga.co.uk


NEED FOR SPEED


Aniket Bhatkar

.

Audi .

warriormax@live.in

3ds max


370Z Drift Scenes . . Rhangga Adian Putra

fractalife.cgsociety.org

Maya


AUDI S5 GTR series . . Gunnar Assmy

gspotsimulant.deviantart.com

CINEMA 4D


BMW . Khrutskiy Yan

khrutskiy.cgarena.com

.

XSI


GT-40 In Vegas . . Luis Nieves

lendesign.comFordGT40

Maya


BMW X6 At Night City . . Darius Makowski

dariuszmakowski.com

3ds max


Mitsubishi LancerSL Drift Scene . .

Rhangga Adian Putra

fractalife.cgsociety.org

Maya


NOVITEC F430 . . EXIDGE

exidge.cgsociety.org

3ds max


Pagani Zonda R . . Johal Gow

johalgowcg.com

XSI


Buggy desert front . . Marek Denko

marekdenko.net

3ds max


POST APOCALYPTIC Suggested by - Alex Gregory @acGregore


Ravaged Vehicle . . Alan Van Ryzin

polygoo.com

3ds Max


The Duster . . Anton Turkin

zwilling.cgsociety.org

3dsmax


Open Road . Waldemar Bartkowiak

mancubus.cgsociety.org

.

Lightwave 3D


On Wheels . Anton Cherenko

cherenkoart.blogspot.com

.

3ds Max


Car Anton Cherenko

.

cherenkoart.blogspot.com

.

3ds Max


Once upon a time... . . Gustavo Groppo

gu.cgsociety.org

3ds Max


Wal-Mart 2161 . . Brano Florian

branoflorian.net

3ds Max


Civic 5d Postapocalyptic edition . . Alexander Neskoromyuk

neskoromyuk.com

3ds max


Top Secret Weapon . . Andrey Krygov

akd85@mail.ru

3ds Max


I’ll Race Ya


F1 2009 Scudería Ferrari F60 . . Juan Carlos Jiménez Vadillo

anypixel.com

3ds max


Aston Martin LMP . . LeeJaeBum

jbum.co.kr

3ds max


F1 Race Herner Quintero & Eisenheim Mark Duvj채nco

.

markduvjanco.cgsociety.org

.

3ds max


Ferrari F60 Felipe Massa 2009 . . Raymond Yang

bignanfer.cgsociety.org

3ds Max


Formula Renault 2.0 . . Kirill Kuzin

taurusx.cgsociety.org

3ds max


Renault R26 . . Raymond Yang

bignanfer.cgsociety.org

3ds Max


F1 Carlos Ortega Elizalde

.

ak.cgsociety.org

.

3ds max


Victory . Shamim Reza

razee01@yahoo.com

.

3ds Max


SHOW OFF King cobra 427concept Arturo Garcia

.

dessga.cgsociety.org

.

3ds max


450 GranTurismo S . . Artem Volchik

artemstudios.com

3ds Max


2012 CLS render 01 . . Jeff Patton

jeffpatton.net

3ds max


Aston Martin DBS . . Patrick Danneker

danneker.de

3ds max


Audi R8 Nurbs - iRay . . Andre Kutscherauer

ak3d.de

3ds max


Exterior Audi R8 . . Vladimir Akimov

beatframes.net

3ds max


Lamborghini Aventador . . Maurice Panisch

maurice-panisch.de

CINEMA 4D


Lamborghini Dream . . Flavio Silva

flaviosilva.cgsociety.org

3ds max


Lexus LFA . . Isaiah Takahashi

relatedgrey.com

3ds max


Mclaren MP4-12C . . Anas Yakoub

anasyakoub.com

3ds max


Mazda MX5 . Alejandro Albarracin

alejit0.cgsociety.org

.

3ds max


Corvette C1 All of the images in this section were created by artist Jakub Przybolewski (reflectvision.pl) modelled with 3D Studio Max.


C

M

Y

CM

MY

CY

CMY

K


The 4th ACM SIGGRAPH Conference and Exhibition on Computer Graphics and Interactive Techniques in Asia Conference: 12-15 December | Exhibition: 13-15 December

Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre

Celebrate the Excellence of CG at SIGGRAPH Asia 2011! This December, our stellar conference programs will explore new ideas, interactively engage, fascinate, and stimulate collaborations between the industry and academia. Join us at SIGGRAPH Asia in Hong Kong!

Register Now and Save Network with and reach out to the industry’s movers and shakers. Choose between Full Conference or Basic Conference passes with admission to all or a variety of programs. Trade visitors can enjoy free admission by registering onsite for the Exhibits Only pass.

Research and Development

Interactive Technologies

Trade and Networking Opportunities

State-of-the-art Courses

Digital Art

Animation and Visual Effects

Online registration at www.siggraphasia2011.com closes on 4 December, 23:59 Hong Kong time.

www.SIGGRAPH.org/ASIA2011


STUDIO LIST

(UK only)

Aardman www.aardman.com

Brandt Animation www.brandtanim.co.uk

Eurocom www.eurocom.co.uk

Absolute Post www.absolutepost.com

Bravo Games bravogames.com

Fluid Pictures www.fluid-pictures.com

Absolutely Cuckoo www.absolutelycuckoo.com

BreakThru Films www.breakthrufilms.co.uk

Foundation CGI www.foundationcgi.com

Air CGI www.air-cgi.com

Burrows Nvisage www.burrows.info

Framestore www.framestore.com

AKQA www.akqa.com

Busty Kelp www.bustykelp.com

Full Moon Studios fullmoongamestudios.com

Animatic Media animaticmedia.com

Cinesite www.cinesite.com

Gameloft www.gameloft.co.uk

Annix Studios www.annix.com

Climax Group www.climaxgroup.com

Glassworks www.glassworks.co.uk

Artillery www.artillery.tv

Codemasters www.facebook.com/codemasters

Glowfrog Studios glowfrog.com

Atticus Digital www.atticusdigital.com

Colonel Blimp www.colonelblimp.com

Golden Square www.goldensq.com

Atticus Finch www.atticusfinch.tv

Criterion Games blog.criteriongames.com

Hot Knife Digital Media www.hotknife.co.uk

Axis Animation www.axisanimation.com

Darkhorse VFX www.darkhorsefx.com

ICube www.icube3d.co.uk

Barefoot VFX barefootvfx.com

Darkside Animation www.dsanim.com

Ignition Entertainment www.utvignition.com

Base Black baseblack.com

Dinamo Productions www.dinamo.co.uk

I love Dust www.ilovedust.com

BE Animation beanimation.com

Distant Future Animation Studios www.distantfuture.co.uk

Image Metrics www.image-metrics.com

Black Rock Studios www.disney.co.uk

Double G Studios www.doublegstudios.com

Infinite Realitites www.ir-ltd.net

Blink Productions www.blinkprods.com

Double Negative www.dneg.com

Ink Digital www.inkdigital.co.uk

Blitz Game Studios www.blitzgamesstudios.com

Drive CGI www.drivecgi.co.uk

Jagex www.jagex.com

Blue Bolt www.blue-bolt.com

Eggbox Studios www.eggboxstudios.co.uk

Jellyfish Pictures www.jellyfishpictures.co.uk

Blue Zoo www.blue-zoo.co.uk

Envy www.envypost.co.uk

Jump Design www.jumpdesign.co.uk


Kazoo Creative www.kazoo-creative.com

Neon www.neon.tv

Rumble Studios www.rumblestudios.com

Kettle Studios www.kettlestudio.co.uk

Neoscape www.neoscape.com

Rushes www.rushes.co.uk

Keframe Studios keyframestudios.co.uk

Nexus Productions www.nexusproductions.com

Saddington Baynes www.saddingtonbaynes.com

Kuro Dragon www.kurodragon.com

Ninja Theory www.ninjatheory.com

Slide slidelondon.com

Lab 10 Studios www.lab10.com

Not to Scale www.nottoscale.tv

Smoke & Mirrors www.smoke-mirrors.com

Lionhead Studios lionhead.com

NSC Creative www.nsccreative.com

Speed Shape www.speedshape.com/

LipSync Post www.lipsyncpost.co.uk

Nvisible nvizible.com

Studio AKA www.studioaka.co.uk

Locomotion locomotionpost.wordpress.com

OG International www.og-international.net

Sumo Digital www.sumo-digital.com

Lola www.lola-post.co.uk

Passion Pictures www.passion-pictures.com

Superglue www.wearesuperglue.com

Loose Moose www.loosemoose.net

Peanut FX www.peanutfx.com

Taylor James www.taylorjames.com

Mainframe www.mainframe.co.uk

Peerless www.peerless.co.uk

Ten 24 www.ten24.info

Man Vs Machine www.manvsmachine.co.uk

Pitbull Studio www.pitbullstudio.co.uk

Territory Studio www.territorystudio.com

Masquerade Digital www.masquerade-digital.com

Plowman Craven www.plowmancraven.co.uk

The Creative Assembly creative-assembly.com

Matinai www.matinai.com

Prime Focus www.primefocusworld.com

The Foundry www.thefoundry.co.uk

MDI Digital www.mdi-digital.com

Quay Studios www.quaystudios.com

The Mill www.themill.com

Method Studios www.methodstudios.com

Qurios www.qurios.com

The Senate www.senatevfx.com

Molinare www.molinare.co.uk

Realtime UK www.realtimeuk.com

The Works www.worksltd.co.uk

Motion Imaging wearemi.com

Realise www.realisestudio.com

Tigrex www.tigerx.co.uk

Monumental Games www.monumentalgames.com

Relentless Software www.relentless.co.uk

TT Games www.ttgames.com

MPC www.moving-picture.com

Rockstar North www.rockstarnorth.com

We Are Seventeen www.weareseventeen.com

Munky www.munky.uk.com

Realtime Technology www.realtime-technology.com

Zoo zoovfx.com


Ceiga Issue 7  

The topic of cars has been touched on in a previous issue so this might be a bit of a ‘deja vu’ for regulars. CG cars are not too difficult...

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you