Page 1

ISSUE 5 / JULY-AUGUST 2011

Video Games


CONTENTS ISSUE 5 / JULY-AUGUST 2011

08 10 God of War 3 22 On The Front

23

Assassins Creed Brotherhood

38 54 Uncharted 2 68 Mass Effect 2 Gears of War 3

ceiga.co.uk

74 58

5


EDITORS LETTER:

“Press Any Button�

T

he topic of video games is one that I’ve wanted to cover ever since this magazine was started. It is an industry I am very interested in and have a great passion for. Games provide a highly interactive form of entertainment, and tend to immerse the player in a completely different world giving them the ability to do things they would not otherwise do in reality, such as; leaping off high buildings, tacking on a barrage of enemies, or even driving recklessly alerting to law enforcement. This issue will focus on five popular games and show some of the hard work that artists have put into them which many players may have overlooked. Although only the artist of the image is credited, the whole team behind these games deserve as much credit. Finally, there are those who question whether video games can be categorised as art, I hope this issue can change their mind.

R.Bray

Richard Bray Editor

ceiga.co.uk

7


On The Front S

tarkiller is now the first male to grace cover of the Ceiga, partly because it was nearly impossible to find a strong female game character on an artist’s website, but also because I believe it was about time for a change.

Even though this character was in the likeness of the actor Sam Witwer, Manny Llamas has done a great job of modelling the whole character and all the accessories that go with him. Starkiller is one of the many characters that were created exclusively for a video game from a major franchise, in this case ‘Star Wars’.

.

Manny Llamas www.artbymanny.com

8

© LucasArts. All Rights Reserved


9


.

Katon Callaway www.cobracaptain.com

Š Sony Santa Monica. All Rights Reserved


.

Katon Callaway www.cobracaptain.com

Š Sony Santa Monica. All Rights Reserved


.

Katon Callaway www.cobracaptain.com

Š Sony Santa Monica. All Rights Reserved


Ty l e r B r e o n www.tylerbreon.com

.

Š Sony Santa Monica. All Rights Reserved


Ty l e r B r e o n www.tylerbreon.com

.

Š Sony Santa Monica. All Rights Reserved


Ty l e r B r e o n www.tylerbreon.com

.

Š Sony Santa Monica. All Rights Reserved


Ty l e r B r e o n www.tylerbreon.com

.

Š Sony Santa Monica. All Rights Reserved


Ty l e r B r e o n www.tylerbreon.com

.

Š Sony Santa Monica. All Rights Reserved


.

Kevin Anderson www.kevinanderson3d.com

Š Sony Santa Monica. All Rights Reserved


.

Kevin Anderson www.kevinanderson3d.com

Š Sony Santa Monica. All Rights Reserved


Erik San Juan www.eriksanjuanart.com

.

Š Sony Santa Monica. All Rights Reserved


Erik San Juan www.eriksanjuanart.com

.

Š Sony Santa Monica. All Rights Reserved


.

Nicolas Collings nicolascollings.com

Š Ubisoft MontrÊal. All Rights Reserved


.

Nicolas Collings nicolascollings.com

Š Ubisoft MontrÊal. All Rights Reserved


.

Nicolas Collings nicolascollings.com

Š Ubisoft MontrÊal. All Rights Reserved


.

Nicolas Collings nicolascollings.com

Š Ubisoft MontrÊal. All Rights Reserved


.

Nicolas Collings nicolascollings.com

Š Ubisoft MontrÊal. All Rights Reserved


.

Marc Antoine Senecal senecal3d.com

© Ubisoft Montréal. All Rights Reserved


.

Marc Antoine Senecal senecal3d.com

© Ubisoft Montréal. All Rights Reserved


.

Marc Antoine Senecal senecal3d.com

© Ubisoft Montréal. All Rights Reserved


.

Michel Thibault miketibo.com

Š Ubisoft MontrÊal. All Rights Reserved


.

Michel Thibault miketibo.com

Š Ubisoft MontrÊal. All Rights Reserved


.

Michel Thibault miketibo.com

Š Ubisoft MontrÊal. All Rights Reserved


.

Michel Thibault miketibo.com

Š Ubisoft MontrÊal. All Rights Reserved


.

Kevin Lanning www.epicgames.com

Š Epic Games. All Rights Reserved


.

Kevin Lanning www.epicgames.com

Š Epic Games. All Rights Reserved


.

Kevin Lanning www.epicgames.com

Š Epic Games. All Rights Reserved


.

Kevin Lanning www.epicgames.com

Š Epic Games. All Rights Reserved


.

Kevin Lanning www.epicgames.com

Š Epic Games. All Rights Reserved


Michael Buck michaelbucksart.blogspot.com

.

Š Epic Games. All Rights Reserved


Michael Buck michaelbucksart.blogspot.com

.

Š Epic Games. All Rights Reserved


Michael Buck michaelbucksart.blogspot.com

.

Š Epic Games. All Rights Reserved


.

Michael Spano www.mikeyspano.com

Š Epic Games. All Rights Reserved


.

Michael Spano www.mikeyspano.com

Š Epic Games. All Rights Reserved


.

Kevin Johnstone kevinjohnstone.com

Š Epic Games. All Rights Reserved


.

Kevin Johnstone kevinjohnstone.com

Š Epic Games. All Rights Reserved


.

Kevin Johnstone kevinjohnstone.com

Š Epic Games. All Rights Reserved


.

Kevin Johnstone kevinjohnstone.com

Š Epic Games. All Rights Reserved


.

R ich Diamant www.rd3d.com

Š Naughty Dog. All Rights Reserved


.

R ich Diamant www.rd3d.com

Š Naughty Dog. All Rights Reserved


.

R ich Diamant www.rd3d.com

Š Naughty Dog. All Rights Reserved


.

R ich Diamant www.rd3d.com

Š Naughty Dog. All Rights Reserved


.

Darcy Korch www.dkorch.com

Š Naughty Dog. All Rights Reserved


.

Darcy Korch www.dkorch.com

Š Naughty Dog. All Rights Reserved


.

Darcy Korch www.dkorch.com

Š Naughty Dog. All Rights Reserved


.

Hanno Hagedorn www.hannohagedorn.com

Š Naughty Dog. All Rights Reserved


.

Hanno Hagedorn www.hannohagedorn.com

Š Naughty Dog. All Rights Reserved


.

Hanno Hagedorn www.hannohagedorn.com

Š Naughty Dog. All Rights Reserved


Mike Murrill www.mikemurrill.com

.

Š Naughty Dog. All Rights Reserved


Mike Murrill www.mikemurrill.com

.

Š Naughty Dog. All Rights Reserved


.

Ja e mu s Wu r z b a ch www.jwurzbach.com

Š Bioware. All Rights Reserved


.

Ja e mu s Wu r z b a ch www.jwurzbach.com

Š Bioware. All Rights Reserved


.

Ja e mu s Wu r z b a ch www.jwurzbach.com

Š Bioware. All Rights Reserved


.

Ja e mu s Wu r z b a ch www.jwurzbach.com

Š Bioware. All Rights Reserved


Ken Finlayson www.kenfinlayson-art.com

.

Š Bioware. All Rights Reserved


Kolby Jukes www.kolbyjukes.com

.

Š Bioware. All Rights Reserved


Kolby Jukes www.kolbyjukes.com

.

Š Bioware. All Rights Reserved


Kolby Jukes www.kolbyjukes.com

.

Š Bioware. All Rights Reserved


Kolby Jukes www.kolbyjukes.com

.

Š Bioware. All Rights Reserved


.

Rion swanson rion-art.com

Š Bioware. All Rights Reserved


twitter.com/ceiga


ceiga.co.uk/blog


STUDIO LIST

(UK only)

Aardman www.aardman.com

Brandt Animation www.brandtanim.co.uk

Eurocom www.eurocom.co.uk

Absolute Post www.absolutepost.com

Bravo Games bravogames.com

Fluid Pictures www.fluid-pictures.com

Absolutely Cuckoo www.absolutelycuckoo.com

BreakThru Films www.breakthrufilms.co.uk

Foundation CGI www.foundationcgi.com

Air CGI www.air-cgi.com

Burrows Nvisage www.burrows.info

Framestore www.framestore.com

AKQA www.akqa.com

Busty Kelp www.bustykelp.com

Full Moon Studios fullmoongamestudios.com

Animatic Media animaticmedia.com

Cinesite www.cinesite.com

Gameloft www.gameloft.co.uk

Annix Studios www.annix.com

Climax Group www.climaxgroup.com

Glassworks www.glassworks.co.uk

Artillery www.artillery.tv

Codemasters www.facebook.com/codemasters

Glowfrog Studios glowfrog.com

Atticus Digital www.atticusdigital.com

Colonel Blimp www.colonelblimp.com

Golden Square www.goldensq.com

Atticus Finch www.atticusfinch.tv

Criterion Games blog.criteriongames.com

Hot Knife Digital Media www.hotknife.co.uk

Axis Animation www.axisanimation.com

Darkhorse VFX www.darkhorsefx.com

ICube www.icube3d.co.uk

Barefoot VFX barefootvfx.com

Darkside Animation www.dsanim.com

Ignition Entertainment www.utvignition.com

Base Black baseblack.com

Dinamo Productions www.dinamo.co.uk

I love Dust www.ilovedust.com

BE Animation beanimation.com

Distant Future Animation Studios www.distantfuture.co.uk

Image Metrics www.image-metrics.com

Black Rock Studios www.disney.co.uk

Double G Studios www.doublegstudios.com

Infinite Realitites www.ir-ltd.net

Blink Productions www.blinkprods.com

Double Negative www.dneg.com

Ink Digital www.inkdigital.co.uk

Blitz Game Studios www.blitzgamesstudios.com

Drive CGI www.drivecgi.co.uk

Jagex www.jagex.com

Blue Bolt www.blue-bolt.com

Eggbox Studios www.eggboxstudios.co.uk

Jellyfish Pictures www.jellyfishpictures.co.uk

Blue Zoo www.blue-zoo.co.uk

Envy www.envypost.co.uk

Jump Design www.jumpdesign.co.uk


Kazoo Creative www.kazoo-creative.com

Neon www.neon.tv

Rumble Studios www.rumblestudios.com

Kettle Studios www.kettlestudio.co.uk

Neoscape www.neoscape.com

Rushes www.rushes.co.uk

Keframe Studios keyframestudios.co.uk

Nexus Productions www.nexusproductions.com

Saddington Baynes www.saddingtonbaynes.com

Kuro Dragon www.kurodragon.com

Ninja Theory www.ninjatheory.com

Slide slidelondon.com

Lab 10 Studios www.lab10.com

Not to Scale www.nottoscale.tv

Smoke & Mirrors www.smoke-mirrors.com

Lionhead Studios lionhead.com

NSC Creative www.nsccreative.com

Speed Shape www.speedshape.com/

LipSync Post www.lipsyncpost.co.uk

Nvisible nvizible.com

Studio AKA www.studioaka.co.uk

Locomotion locomotionpost.wordpress.com

OG International www.og-international.net

Sumo Digital www.sumo-digital.com

Lola www.lola-post.co.uk

Passion Pictures www.passion-pictures.com

Superglue www.wearesuperglue.com

Loose Moose www.loosemoose.net

Peanut FX www.peanutfx.com

Taylor James www.taylorjames.com

Mainframe www.mainframe.co.uk

Peerless www.peerless.co.uk

Ten 24 www.ten24.info

Man Vs Machine www.manvsmachine.co.uk

Pitbull Studio www.pitbullstudio.co.uk

Territory Studio www.territorystudio.com

Masquerade Digital www.masquerade-digital.com

Plowman Craven www.plowmancraven.co.uk

The Creative Assembly creative-assembly.com

Matinai www.matinai.com

Prime Focus www.primefocusworld.com

The Foundry www.thefoundry.co.uk

MDI Digital www.mdi-digital.com

Quay Studios www.quaystudios.com

The Mill www.themill.com

Method Studios www.methodstudios.com

Qurios www.qurios.com

The Senate www.senatevfx.com

Molinare www.molinare.co.uk

Realtime UK www.realtimeuk.com

The Works www.worksltd.co.uk

Motion Imaging wearemi.com

Realise www.realisestudio.com

Tigrex www.tigerx.co.uk

Monumental Games www.monumentalgames.com

Relentless Software www.relentless.co.uk

TT Games www.ttgames.com

MPC www.moving-picture.com

Rockstar North www.rockstarnorth.com

We Are Seventeen www.weareseventeen.com

Munky www.munky.uk.com

Realtime Technology www.realtime-technology.com

Zoo zoovfx.com


Search for Ceiga on

Ceiga Issue 5  

The topic of video games is one that I’ve wanted to cover ever since this magazine was started. It is an industry I am very interested in a...

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you