CQ 2013 03 dreams

Page 4

CAPA NSW Executive and Staff President Gina O’Neill president@capa.asn.au Vice-President Ebinepre Cocodia vicepresident@capa.asn.au Secretary Linda Newcomb secretary@capa.asn.au Treasurer Juliana Triml treasurer@capa.asn.au Ethics Chair Tara Gulliver ethics@capa.asn.au Membership Chair Linda MacKay membership@capa.asn.au Regional and Rural Liaison Chair Jo Fleet regional@capa.asn.au Professional Recognition Chair Ebinepre Cocodia recognition@capa.asn.au Marketing and Communications Chair Alison Hood marcomm@capa.asn.au Website Development Chair Barry Borham webdev@capa.asn.au Executive Member Tim Harvey shoalhaven@capa.asn.au PD Coordinator Juliana Triml pde@capa.asn.au Consultant Operations Manager Jane Ewins com@capa.asn.au Membership Coordinator Melissa Neve membershipcoordinator@capa.asn.au Administrative Assistant Freddy Ortega office@capa.asn.au

Contents Welcome

1

Editorial ~ Roberta Parrott

CAPA News 3

From the President’s Desk ~ Gina O’Neill

Features 4 6 8 10 12 14

The Neurobiology of Dreaming ~ Robert Hoss Dreaming in the Psychotherapeutic Space ~ Judith Pickering Reflections on Dreams and Dream Sharing in Dreamgroups ~ Susannah Benson Big Dreams in Childhood: A Jungian Approach ~ Kelly Bulkeley Calling for Change: Working with Nightmares to Facilitate Healing ~ Margaret Bowater Working with Pain and Trauma: Dreams and the Embodied Imagination ~ Robert Bosnak

In the Therapy Room 16 Taboo or Not Taboo? ~ Jewel Jones Professional Development 18 Clinical Hypnotherapy: A Demonstration ~ Review by Juliana Triml 19 Professional Development Events Modality Profile 34 Person-Centred Approach ~ Ebinepre Cocodia Noticeboard 35 Classifieds 36 Calls for Contributions & Ad Rates Back Cover Conference Calendar

CQ: The CAPA Quarterly Editor Roberta Parrott editor@capa.asn.au Advertising Coordinator Roberta Parrott advertising@capa.asn.au

CQ: The CAPA Quarterly respectfully acknowledges the Cadigal people of the Eora Nation, the traditional owners and custodians of the land on which the CAPA NSW office is located; and the traditional owners of all the lands through which this journal may pass.

Cover art by Jim Frazier Design by Cheryl Ward Printed by Unik Printing

2

© CAPA NSW 2011. Copyright is held with CAPA NSW and individual authors. Please direct permission requests to the editor. Opinions expressed in CQ: The CAPA Quarterly do not necessarily represent those of the Editor or of CAPA NSW. While all reasonable care has been taken in the preparation of this publication, no liability is assumed for any errors or omissions. Liability howsoever as a result of use or reliance upon advice, representation, statement or opinion expressed in The CAPA Quarterly is expressly disclaimed by CAPA NSW and all persons involved in the preparation of this publication. The appearance of an advertisement in CQ: The CAPA Quarterly does not imply endorsement of the service or approval of professional development hours from the service. Advertisers are advised that all advertising is their responsibility under the Trade Practices Act.

CQ: The CAPA Quarterly