__MAIN_TEXT__
feature-image

Page 1

Y ALPHABET? THE MAIN DRIVER’S BEHIND GOOGLE’S RESTRUCTURE

WWW.BUSINESSREVIEWUSA.COM

OCTOBER 2015

TECH-BASED INNOVATIONS AND THE PEOPLE WHO RUN THEM

Snapchat’s

Evan Spiegel

COMPANY OF THE MONTH KALEIDA HEALTH Oishei/ Flickr.com Children’s Hospital Project TechCrunch

The evolving role of the retail CIO. Bonus: How TARGET embraces the new c-level trend.


DIRECTOR’S LETTER

CORPORATE RESTRUCTURING IS not a new trend, nor is it an uncommon

occurrence in the business world; however, the introduction of Alphabet, Inc., Google’s new parent company, seemed to take us all by surprise. We dissect the restructure in this month’s leadership piece, looking to determine what inspired the global tech leader to the launch Alphabet, how this change can benefit each individual brand and what other businesses can learn from this leader. Innovation is an ongoing theme in business, and the role of the digital landscape within corporations continues to increase, causing some companies to undergo an internal restructure: The C-level suite is expanding its focus on digitization, and with this expansion comes the growing role of the CIO. In this month’s technology feature, we not only examine the global impact of retail-based CIOs but also take a close look at Target, and the role of the CIO within of the nation’s largest retailers. In this issue, we also list 10 of the top tech-based innovators across the globe, looking at the products they’ve provided and the impact of each, as well as feature a report on Marken, the logistics and supply chain-company that is delivering solutions for the life sciences industry worldwide.

Jennifer White

Director of Content jennifer.white@wdmgroup.com

3


CONTENTS

FEATURES TECHNOLOGY

6 LEADERSHIP Alphabetic order

CIOs: The new drivers of tech-based innovation

14

22 TOP 10 Tech-based innovations

COMPANY PROFILES HEALTHCARE 30 Marken

64

30 Marken

TGR - George V. Voinovich Bridge Project

CONSTRUCTION 46 Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission 56 Nutmeg Companies 64 TGR - George V. Voinovich Bridge Project

5


LEADERSHIP

ALPHABET

TAKING A DEEPER DIVE INTO THE BENEFITS OF THE LAUNCH OF

W R I T T E N B Y: E


TIC ORDER

F GOOGLE’S CORPORATE RESTRUCTURING AND ALPHABET, INC.

ERIC HARDING


LEADERSHIP GOOGLE WAS FOUNDED as a company that specialized in Internet search. Over time, it has broadened into other areas from drones, pharmaceuticals and venture capital to advertising, hardware, and even artificial intelligence. Today, Alphabet Inc., formerly known as just plain old Google, has arms that reach far beyond just the worldwide web. The tech giant is separating its moneymaking search and advertising businesses from the other “moonshot” subsidiaries. Alphabet is now the parent entity, and houses several companies, with Google the biggest among them. Under Alphabet, subsidiaries such as Google (the search engine) will be run autonomously, with each being able to focus on its own particular business. This would be a significant shift from the original setup, which had Google as the parent company in charge of a number of diverse verticals. Now, the various businesses will operate independently and be folded into Alphabet, while Google’s stock will also convert into Alphabet stock. Reasons for the change Google co-founder and Alphabet 8 October 2015

Upon announcing the creation of Alphabet, Sundar Pichai was announced as the next CEO of Google (Photo courtesy of Google)

CEO Larry Page claims that the move will allow for cleaner operations and more accountability. Still, some suspect the restructuring was an attempt to please investors annoyed by Google’s wild investments. The split would allow the founders more time to pursue new game-changing technology, while also increasing operational independence between businesses that are unrelated to each other. This will improve focus and


accountability, and create a house of brands as a catalyst for innovation. Only a few Alphabet businesses — namely Nest and Fiber — currently generate significant revenue. Some estimate those units will bring in about $500 million in total revenue in 2016, with about $100 million to $150 million in gross profit. The rest of the Alphabet businesses, many of which are still in early stages — such as the self-driving cars that are part of Google’s X lab

— consistently operate in the red. Alphabet’s non-Internet-related businesses could be hemorrhaging up to $4 billion a year, risking having a negative value when they are spun out into separate businesses under the Alphabet holding company. Perks to the shake up One overlooked aspect is how the new structure stops forcing subsidiaries to work dependently. 9


LEADERSHIP

The new Google logo accompanied the launch of Alphabet. (Photo credit: Nito / Shutterstock.com) Since everything doesn’t have to report through corporate, Alphabet’s businesses may begin competing against each other or overlap in ways that may have once seemed like conflicts of interest. This has happened even before the recent shakeup. When Google was working on a ride-sharing app, finance experts pointed out the competition with Uber, notable because Google Ventures had invested roughly $250 million in Uber back in 2013. Today, a situation like that 10

October 2015

wouldn’t have to face the same criticism. Sidewalk Labs, Alphabet’s subsidiary project to improve cities, could potentially find ways to foster connectivity without being obligated to partnering with Google Fiber, the super-fast internet subsidiary. Alphabet companies may even be able to seek investments from other outside sources, such as other corporations or financial entities, to jump-start projects that don’t fit with Alphabet’s corporate priorities or strategic interests. The rules will


SMART BUILDINGS COMBINE TECHNOLOGY WITH HUMANS

be completely different than in the old days under Google, and that could have a big impact across the technology industry. Who’s afraid of the big bad data collector? The new separation could also reduce some of the suspicions people have about what Alphabet plans to do with all the data it collects and stores from its various services. Look at how Nest, most known for its smart thermostat, has expanded

into other gadgets. Although the company insists it doesn’t share information with Alphabet, people still worry about it. After the change, there’s a much clearer divide between those two companies, and it gives Alphabet a little more cover from some of the criticism. Putting stock in it Investors are hopeful this move will mark a new era of transparency at Alphabet, which has kept a tight lid on the financials of YouTube, 11


LEADERSHIP

Eric E. Schmidt, Sergey Brin and Larry Page believe that innovation is key to the company’s continued success. (Photo credit: Flickr)


ALPHABETIC ORDER

Android, and other properties. Calico, Alphabet’s research company dedicated toward increasing lifespan, has quickly acknowledged new collaborations with scientists and institutions; however, it has disclosed almost nothing in the way of financial details. In fact, much of Calico’s operation is being kept under wraps. Analysts at Macquarie Securities said this new structure will give investors a better understanding of key metrics driving core Alphabet, but how much of a better understanding is still unknown. Alphabet continues to trade below its all-time high, even after the restructuring announcement. A new set of divisions, broken out more visibly, will not mitigate the slowing growth of its main business. As Wall Street picks apart the new Alphabet figures, it still will look primarily at the search division. Aside from decelerating revenue growth, the issue of rapid employee additions will be part of the calculation. Investors have been wary of Google’s habit of adding thousands of employees a year without saying what these people will do. Alphabet shares had lagged behind other technology companies for most

of the year, until the company reported better-than-expected second-quarter results and signaled plans to rein in spending on ancillary projects. The decision may not be enough to move the stock much higher. That will depend on the company’s slowing revenue, and whether Alphabet can milk that revenue for more profits. On average Alphabet is trading on average moderately below its all-time high, at $634 against its top of $678. Road mapping the future Restructuring and renaming the company so far have not produced a tangible, compelling strategy for the overall enterprise. On the other hand, if this move helps inspire corporate flexibility, the reasons for owning the stock would dramatically improve and increase. For years analysts and investors have scratched their heads at the company’s collection of businesses and ventures because they couldn’t see how these reflected or comprised a coherent strategy. Perhaps now the master plan is beginning to unfold.

13


T ETCE H C NN OO L OL GO Í AG Y

CIOs The new drivers of tech-based innovation

Why today’s CIOs are required to take a larger role in business growth and customer engagement WRIT TEN BY: GIN A RUBELLO

14

October 2015


INTELIGENCIAS EMPRESARIALES

15


TECHNOLOGY A STUDY BY Tata Consultancy Services (TCS) shows that retail CIOs are primed to lead the innovation agenda. In an era of digital Darwinism and evolving consumer behavior, there is a critical need for retail CIOs to transition from a focus on the ‘back office’ to driving innovation as C-level strategists, according to the findings from the study titled ‘The Global Agenda Of Retail CIOs.’ In today’s rapidly changing, consumer-centric retail landscape, CIOs must take a larger role in their company’s technological advancement, according to a study released today by TCS, (BSE: 532540, NSE: TCS) a leading IT services, consulting and business solutions organization. TCS commissioned Forrester Consulting to conduct the December 2013 study, “The Global Agenda of Retail CIOs,” to evaluate the state of IT within the global retail industry and CIOs’ attitudes and plans toward key trends and ever-more disruptive, challenging technologies. In-depth interviews with senior business and IT executives at global retailers found that the potential 16

October 2015

for CIOs to embrace disruptive technologies are far too often hampered by a lack of key resources and business alignment. This is illustrated through the fact that almost two thirds (64 percent) of global retailers consider cost reduction as a major focus over the next few years, compared to only two-fifths (38 per cent) citing innovation. “Retail CIOs are uniquely positioned with an enterprise-wide perspective to overcome operational silos and become


In today’s rapidly changing, consumer-centric retail landscape, CIOs must take a larger role in their company’s technological advancement

true change-agents, critical to future cross-channel customer engagements and business growth,” said Pratik Pal, President of Retail, CPG, Travel, Transportation and Hospitality for TCS. “They are primed to expand their leadership role in the dynamic new world of retail by spearheading the digital and innovation agenda.” Retail business executives’ core priorities remain revenue growth — with 87 per cent listing it as a top priority — underpinned by

multichannel integration and digital customer engagement. Retail CIOs believe that the disruptive technologies of mobility, social media, cloud, and big data will continue to radically transform the retail industry status quo, yet they are not staffed or structured adequately to take full advantage. Mobile – At the forefront of innovation that will continue to disrupt retail over the next years • CIOs plan to rapidly implement 17


TECHNOLOGY There is a critical need for retail CIOs to transition from a focus on the ‘back office’ to driving innovation as C-level strategists.

an array of mobile technologies, with context-aware tech (32 per cent), mobile payments (28 per cent), digital signage (24 per cent), and mobile POS (22 per cent) leading the way. • Retail CIOs in the United Kingdom are global leaders in implementing forms of mobile payments (73 per cent), while German retailers interestingly buck the global trend, with 60 per cent having no mobile plans at all. • Perhaps with an eye toward further improving customer service and logistics, six out of 10 (59 per cent) retailers plan to invest in mobileenabling their partners and vendors over the next three to five years. 18

October 2015

Cloud – Frees up IT teams from traditional core functions to allow greater innovation • While 41 percent of retail CIOs currently use SaaS (software-asservice) for back-office functions such as supply chain and product life cycle management or ERP, more than half (52 percent) intend to do so over the next five years. Big Data – Not yet being used to its full potential to drive actionable insights • Almost seven out of 10 (68 percent) retail CIOs report that they collect data, but agree they are not maximizing its full value. • Only 47 percent have invested in


CIOs plan to rapidly implement an array of mobile technologies, with context-aware tech, mobile payments, digital signage and mobile POS leading the way.

cross-channel analytics, a critical enabling technology for deriving multichannel insights and enhancing the company’s ability to reach consumers effectively through their channel of choice. • Additionally, only a fourth (25 percent) of retailers have plans to invest in big data analytics to support customer service. Social – Looking to expand the reach and application of social media intelligence • Not surprisingly, eight out of 10 (80 percent) retail CIOs leverage social media for sales and marketing, with customer service and recruitment the next most common functions.

• However, almost half (46 percent) of retailers plan to link social insights to research and development (R&D) and product design during the next three to five years — unlocking customercentric product designs. • Canadian firms are far ahead of other countries and regions, with 67 percent already leveraging social media for R&D. Talent Shortage – Lack of technical skills a key obstacle in implementing critical technology strategies • Almost seven out of 10 (67 percent) retailers surveyed consider attracting and retaining talent a critically important challenge over the next three to five years. 19


TECHNOLOGY

The potential for CIOs to embrace disruptive technologies are far too often hampered by a lack of key resources and business alignment.

• In the specific area of mobility, onethird (34 percent) report struggling to obtain the necessary talent. • Similarly, four out 10 CIOs turn to SaaS solutions (39 percent) and are compelled to leverage external partners with emerging mobile expertise (equally 39 percent) to support internal teams as they build mobile strategies and applications. “Savvy CIOs will continue to drive cost savings while accessing the latest technology innovations and leveraging partners to provide not only commodity services, but high value and hard to find capabilities like mobile development, architecture 20

October 2015

and business requirement definition,” added TCS’ Pratik Pal. “In doing so, CIOs can concentrate their internal resources on strategy, business alignment and partner governance, while partners concentrate on technical excellence.”

Bonus:

Spotlight on TARGET Target named Mike McNamara as its new CIO in February of this year, marking a shift in the retail giant’s corporate strategy. Still recovering from the a significant data breach in 2013, Target stands to benefit a great deal from McNamara’s background in


T E C H - B A S E D I N N O V AT I O N

strategies for supply chain technology. McNamara’s appointment came at the same time as Target’s announcements to refocus its efforts on increasing domestic profits by reallocating resources previously funneled to Canadian businesses. McNamara, a graduate of the University College Dublin, joins Target after a 15-year stint at British grocer and retailer Tesco. As Tesco’s CTO, McNamara headed up much of the company’s online expansion, including Tesco Direct, an online general merchandise vertical. In a brief interview released by Target Corporate in July, McNamara conveyed his enthusiasm for his new role. “It’s a brilliant time to be in retail technology. Now more than ever, technology plays a major role in inspiring guest loyalty, so it’s exciting to be working at the front of the business,” he said. McNamara could be the ideal hybrid for Target’s information needs, given his education in engineering and his extensive experience with retail, and seems to have a firm grip on what is required for his new position. “My role as leader is to support, not direct. It’s the engineers and others on the front

line who create the true value,” he said. “My job is to get them the resources they need, remove the roadblocks and give them freedom to operate within a framework.” Target’s previous CIO, Bob DeRodes, had a background not in retail, but with the U.S. Department of Defense. “Bob joined Target during a very challenging but important moment for the company,” Target CEO Brian Cornell said in a press release earlier this year. “I’m grateful for the progress that Bob and his team have made, and for the foundational IT work that’s been done to set Target up for future success.” “I’m thrilled to join Target at a time when Brian and the leadership team are intensifying their investment in technology and prioritizing its role in Target’s future success,” McNamara said when Target made the announcement. Cornell pointed to McNamara as perfect fit for the company’s needs. “Technology is critical for Target’s future success, so finding the right leader for this role was one of my absolute top priorities. Mike has been a driving force for technology innovation throughout his career. He’s got a stellar track record,” Cornell said. 21


TOP 10


TOP 10

TECH BASED INNOVATIONS It can often take more than a good idea to succeed in the competitive world of technology yet these innovative entrepreneurs are prime examples of how to do it right.

Written by: Cutter Slagle

23


TOP 10 In business, there are never any guarantees, and it often takes more than just a good idea and a can-do attitude to achieve that high level of success; in fact, for an entrepreneur to thrive in the increasingly competitive environment of global business, he or she will more than likely need to stray from the traditional approach and be willing to take risks that could radically change the “norm.” The following innovations, created by industry-leading entrepreneurs, are prime examples of what can result from taking these risks. Ranked alphabetically, these are our top 10 industry-leading innovations and the innovators behind each.

recognition service. Barton originally founded the company in the UK, but was quick to expand to other territories including the U.S., Germany, Japan and Australia. In Europe, he was able to use new technology—Premium SMS—to get the design launched, proving that with a little resourcefulness goes a long way for making a good idea a reality. Understanding that the world changes fast and that mobile is a large part of how society interacts, Shazam now has 100 million monthly active users and has been used on more than 500 million mobile devices.

10

Clef has proven to be quite popular among bitcoin, as well as gaming

Chris Barton— Shazam

09

Brennen Byrne Clef

Barton and his co-founders successfully created Shazam by turning a concept into groundbreaking pattern recognition technology, resulting in the world’s first mobile music Brennen Byrne –Photo Cred Clef 24 October 2015


T O P 1 0 T E C H - B A S E D I N N O VAT I O N S

and developer tool sites, because it offers a safer and easier way to log into a website without the hassle of entering a password. Clef currently powers logins for more than 40,000 sites across the web and is continues to grow steadily. Though co-founder and CEO Byrne originally came from the development side of mobile apps, he’s proven that expanding skill sets and being able to wear many different hats is essential in the world of business. Bryne has now moved on to the strategy, distribution and business development side of Clef.

08

Joel Gibbard – Open Bionics

Gibbard didn’t just set out to create an innovating product that people would want, but one that people would actually need—not to mention be able to afford. Gibbard dramatically reduces cost to manufacture prosthetics by taking advantage of 3D printing technology. With an early experience in robotics, Gibbard has explored

Joel Gibbard –photo Cred TEDxExeter

other alternatives as well, including off-the-shelf components. This strategy reduces the cost of production to just under $1,000, a significant savings compared to traditional models that can cost upwards of $100,000.

07

Travis Kalanick – Uber

Uber, an American international transportation company, is a classic case of a good idea striking at the least expected time. Inspiration for Uber came when Kalanick found himself stranded on the streets of San Francisco; from there, he and his co-founder Garrett Camp set out to solve the 25


TOP 10

Jan Koum – Photo Cred catwalker

Travis Kalanick– Photo Cred JD Lasica

taxi problem in the busy city. With a little bit of innovation, Kalanick was able to take a traditional but flawed model and improve upon it. Though the company hasn’t been without controversy and criticism, it has still managed to become a $50 billion company in just six years.

06

Jan Koum – WhatsApp

A dropout of San Jose State University, Koum is the Internet entrepreneur and computer engineer who founded WhatsApp, a mobile messaging application. 26 October 2015

WhatsApp was acquired by Facebook in 2014 for $19 billion. Koum wanted a product that allowed the exchanging of messages without having to pay for SMS. Knowing the market and the need to be diversified, Koum launched his app in 2009. WhatsApp Messenger is available for iPhone, BlackBerry, Android, Windows Phone and Nokia and reached 900 million users in September 2015, justifying Koum’s argument for the need for diversity.

05

John Lewis— JLAB

It was less than one year ago that John Lewis officially revealed JLABS—a technology incubator that will reward a winning start-up


T O P 1 0 T E C H - B A S E D I N N O VAT I O N S

with a large investment in return for an equity stake. Already an innovator in retail, Lewis recognized the need to support tech start ups from inception to completion. Ultimately, Lewis has the business mind to risk venturing into a new area in order to stay relevant and compete with the competition, a key characteristic for anyone that wants to make a name as an innovator.

04

Evan Spiegel— Snapchat

A video messaging application, Snapchat allows users to take photos, record videos, add text and drawings and then send them to a restricted list of friends or recipients. These messages are known as “snaps” and users can

Spiegel – Photo Cred TechCrunch

determine how long a person is able to view these snaps before they disappear (from one to 10 seconds). Spiegel originally proposed Snapchat as a class project while studying design at Stanford. Then, in 2012, he left school before graduating to completely focus on the venture. Facebook offered to acquire the company for an easy $3 billion, but Spiegel turned down the offer, allowing himself the liberty to remain a creative free agent.

03

Kevin Systrom— Instagram

A graduate of Stanford University, Systrom and his co-founders came up with the online mobile photosharing, video-sharing and social networking service Instagram

Systrom – Photo Cred JD Lasica 27


TOP 10

(derived from the words “instant” and “telegram”) in an attempt to create a new form of communication that was a perfect fit for a society that is constantly on its smartphone. Following the popular trend of “sharing,” Instagram allows the development of web profiles, connecting accounts to Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr and Flickr. Instagram has set many trends that are now common terms, including Throwback Thursday and the selfie, which in 2013 was the Oxford English Dictionary’s “word of the year.”

02

William Zhou— Chalk.com

Chalk.com, developed to assist teachers is currently used in over 20,000 schools worldwide. This collection of productivity apps for K-12 educators aids with lesson planning, assessments, collaboration, attendance and more. William Zhou, co-founder and CEO of Chalk.com, has credited the idea to visiting his high school 28 October 2015

teachers and seeing their struggle with overwhelming amounts of work. Returning to his roots proved to be sound business strategy, as the company has over 100,000 educators as users.

Zhou – Photo Cred Chalk.com

01

Mark Zuckerberg—

Facebook

A household name thanks to the ongoing popularity of social media and the blockbuster film The Social Network, Zuckerberg is an American computer programmer


T O P 1 0 T E C H - B A S E D I N N O VAT I O N S

and Internet entrepreneur. Due to Facebook’s success, he became a billionaire at the age of 23. Now 31, he remains CEO of arguably one of those most

successful companies worldwide, proving that you don’t always need a college degree to flourish in the business world, just plenty of determination and a viable idea.

Zuckerberg – Photo Cred Frederic Legrand - COMEO

29


Mar

Delivering solutions industry w

Supporting over 49,000 investigator sites in more than 15 temperature-sensitive and life-saving pharmaceutic

Written by: Stephanie C. Ocano


rken

for the life sciences worldwide

150 countries, Marken globally transports and distributes cals, clinical trial supplies, and specimen collections

o

Produced by: Jason Wright 31


MARKEN

Marken

T

o remain a world leader in supply chain logistics for 35 years, it takes determination, experience, the right team, and continuous innovation, all of which Marken has no shortage. By integrating depot and logistics services into solutions that extend the reach of clinical trials to even the most remote regions of the world, Marken has bridged the distance between the patient and the essential resources of life science companies. “Over the last four years, we have continually remained ahead of our competition,� said Wes Wheeler, 32

October 2015

CEO of Marken, citing technology, investments and personalized services as the driving factors during a recent interview. Having been in the business of operating facilities and companies for over 35 years, Wheeler knows more than just a thing or two about successfully running an organization. With GlaxoSmithKline and Exxon Mobile on his impressive resume, Wheeler was initially attracted to join Marken because of its positive reputation, global positioning and efforts for expansion. These were also influencing factors for Ariette van Strien to join


S U P P LY C H A I N D I G I TA L / H E A LT H C A R E G L O B A L

Bio System Boxes

Marken, CCO, and Dan Bell, VP for Regulatory Compliance and Technical Affairs. “The initial attraction was the potential, and the continued attraction is the success that we have,” said van Strien, whose primary responsibility is to drive Marken forward with the right clients. “Marken is the best company around for specialized logistics, and I wanted to work for the company at the top of the list and apply my own knowledge,” said Bell. All three executives take pride in working for a specialized logistics and supply chain provider that is solely dedicated to pharma and the life sciences industry. Identifying themselves as a vital link to transport pharmaceuticals to patients, Marken as an organization plays an important role within the clinical research industry for supply

“We don’t just speak logistics, we speak pharma; we are not just transportation people, we are pharma people” – Wes Wheeler, CEO

w w w. m a r k e n . c o m

33


Global Temperature-Controlled Packaging Solutions

imperium

pallet Shipper solutions Imperium™ Elite ● 144 hour 2-8˚C universal design ● Advanced phase change materials for robust thermal protection ● Vacuum-Insulated panels for maximum performance duration

Imperium™ Plus ● 120 hour 2-8˚C universal design ● Advanced phase change materials for robust thermal protection ● Economical EPS insulation

Imperium™

● 96 hour 2-8˚C seasonal design

Patent Pending

● 120 hour 2-25˚C universal design ● Economical water-based refrigerants ● Economical EPS insulation

FORTIS

PCm six Shipper solutions

● Universal pack-outs for 2º to 8ºC shipments ● Designed with PCM6 refrigerant brick cassettes ● Domestic and international solutions ● Multiple payload sizes ● Pre-qualified to ISTA 7D ● All refrigerants are pre-conditioned at a single temperature ● Neopor® coolers for added insulation and stability ● Global availability

Inmark Headquarters 675 Hartman Road Suite 100 Austell, Georgia 30168, USA Tel: +1 770 373 3300 Sales@InmarkPackaging.com

Europe Office Inmark Europe BV Lissenveld 49 4941 VL Raamsdonksveer Netherlands Tel: +31 (0)162 748 100 InmarkEU@InmarkPackaging.com

For more information, visit www.InmarkPackaging.com

Asia Office Inmark SG Pte. Ltd. 17 Tuas Avenue 9 Singapore 639197 Tel: +65 6861 7108 InmarkAP@InmarkPackaging.com @InmarkPackaging Company/InmarkPackaging InmarkPackaging


MARKEN

S U P P LY C H A I N D I G I TA L / H E A LT H C A R E G L O B A L

chain services related to drug development and disease control. With over 50,000 temperaturecontrolled shipments each month, and a staff of 600+ individuals across the globe, how does one company answer the needs of a global population while consistently advancing amidst a hypercompetitive market? Step 1: Pursue innovation Marken constantly reviews technology and new services to ensure they are meeting the needs of clients and the industry trends.. Marken consistently and

SUPPLIER PROFILE

constantly evaluates the technology of the market’s packaging solutions. As a global provider, entering geographic locations with high or inconsistent temperature ranges can pose a threat to the quality and efficacy of materials being shipped. It’s important to seek out packaging solutions that offer longer duration of temperature stability as well as higher payload capacity. In order to maintain the stability of drugs, blood samples and other biologic materials, thermo-isolating materials are integrated into specialty outer packaging so that clients can rest assured knowing

INMARK PACKAGING

Inmark Packaging was incorporated in 1975 with a focus in the distribution of glass, plastic and metal containers for various industries, including: food, beverage, cosmetic, chemical and coatings. In the ensuing four decades, while our original focus remains a core aspect of our business, we have expanded greatly to meet evolving needs in the marketplace. Currently operating out of six (6) locations in the United States, one (1) location in Singapore and one (1) location in the United Kingdom, Inmark has distribution across North America, Asia, United Kingdom and South America. Website: www.inmarkpackaging.com

w w w. m a r k e n . c o m

35


We’re more than a cool box. We’re your partner. our packaging experts are ready to solve your most urgent cool chain needs

Advanced insulation & PCM

temp

Frozen | 2-8°c | crt

Prequalified protection

Modular design

Universal pack-out Optimized size & weight

With your specific payload and shipment requirements in mind, we offer custom and off-the-shelf packaging solutions utilizing advanced technologies. - Reliable package performance – works every time - Designed to be simple – easy to use - Efficient – optimized size and weight - Low total cost of ownership – AeroLoop reuse program www.americanaerogel.com | +1 585 328 2140 | info@americanaerogel.com


MARKEN

S U P P LY C H A I N D I G I TA L / H E A LT H C A R E G L O B A L

their materials will sustain their temperatures for longer periods of time without interruption. “More efficient insulating materials used in thermal packaging also allows for a higher payload by placing more product in less boxes. This can maintain or reduce shipping costs,” said Bell. Significant investments have also been made to internal IT systems. With two main software platforms— Marken Solo and Marken Maestro— managing the inventory of drugs and tracking shipments is truly state of the art. “Managing shipments from start

SUPPLIER PROFILE

to finish is critical, not just to us but to our clients as well,” added Bell. “Today’s technology includes integration of remote GPS devices into the IT systems.” Bell explains that Marken incorporates GPS tracking systems to remotely monitor not just the location of a shipment, but the environmental factors such as temperature, humidity, pressure, shock, and vibration as well. “We are constantly looking for what’s going to make our clients’ lives easier, giving them the assurance that their shipments are being handled in an appropriate

AMERICAN AEROGEL

More Than a Cool Box. A Partner. American Aerogel provides life science companies with high quality insulated packaging solutions for the protection of temperature sensitive payloads. Since the beginning, we set out to revolutionize temperature sensitive shipping with our high performance products. In addition to a standard product range, we have a team of dedicated engineers ready to solve your most difficult shipping challenges by designing, building and qualifying custom solutions for your specific needs. Our customers have been consistently amazed at how well our products protect their contents from unpredictable, harsh, and seasonal ambient conditions – a track record we are proud of. Website: www.americanaerogel.com w w w. m a r k e n . c o m

37


C O M PA N Y N A M E

Marken’s kit production service is a turnkey solution allowing your biological samples to be processed with the speed, service and quality your clinical trial demands.

“[Finding a solution] has become a part of our DNA” – Ariette van Strien, CCO

38

October 2015

manner,” said Bell. “In the case of software, Marken and our clients have complete visibility both in real time and in terms of metrics,” he added. “Both of our systems allow us to extract data and make quicker, more meaningful decisions about our operations.” While the pharmaceutical industry in general is behind in integrating the latest technology trends, Marken separates itself from competition by maintaining the leadership role in driving the


SECTOR

industry forward to offer the best services possible. “We want to make sure that Marken remains ahead of the curve, and using technology allows us to make smart decisions and deliver the best value,� concluded Bell. Marken is a leader in direct to patient shipments for the pharmaceutical industry so that shipments can be handled without compromising a clinical trial protocol. Patient recruitment and retention are two of the biggest challenges, but bringing the

Ariette Van Strien

w w w. m a r k e n . c o m

39


Reusable thermal packaging solutions protecting your products and patients Next Generation VIP Thermal Packaging •

Product line: from small modular boxes to double pallet containers • Suprior thermal performance without any external energy supply • Passive temperature control for ranges from less than -50C to CRT • Qualified performance from 24 to 230 hours

va-Q-tec USA Inc . 1 Meadowlands Plaza . Suite 200 . East Rutherford . New Jersey Tel. 201-340-2727 . Fax 201-340-2601 . www.va-Q-tec.com . usa@va-Q-tec.com


MARKEN

S U P P LY C H A I N D I G I TA L / H E A LT H C A R E G L O B A L

trial to the patient’s home increases willingness to participate and may provide better retention and compliance. “Marken will continue to grow, adapt, and evolve our Direct to Patient services for the industry. Client feedback indicates that the patient-centric focus is on a fast pace of growth. In fact, Marken was recently granted permission by the government to deliver the first direct to patient shipment of clinical drug product in Korea. This precedent-setting shipment has allowed several patients in South Korea to continue receiving their clinical trial drugs during the outbreak of Middle East Respiratory System (MERS),” Van Strien said

Dan Bell

Step 2: Operate with excellence

SUPPLIER PROFILE

VA-Q-TEC AG

va-Q-tec AG is a global high-tech company operating in the field of thermal insulation. The company’s mission is “Creating energy efficiency for a clean environment”. Located in Germany, UK, USA, Korea and Latin America they serve global customers in the pharmaceutical, logistics, construction, automotive and home appliance industries. For 15 years, va-Q-tec has been the global leader in providing innovative next generation insulating solutions. The company focuses on energy efficiency, space reduction, and environmentally friendly vacuum insulation panels solutions. va-Q-tec also manufacturers high-performance thermal packaging, passive airfreight containers, sophisticated phase change materials. Website: www.va-q-tec.com w w w. m a r k e n . c o m

41


a strong case for rethinking your cold chain strategy

An optimAl cold chAin strAtegy requires A fit for purpose SingLE-USE

REUSABLE

Affordable one-way shipments

Wide range of reusable shippers

Chronos™ Advance

Credo Cube™

Reusable and single-use cold chain shipping containers each offer compelling value propositions. For most companies, an optimized supply chain requires strategic use of both options. Pelican BioThermal offers the most comprehensive range of both single-use and reusable temperature-controlled shippers from 2L to 96L (pallet shipper). Just as important, our cold chain consultants can help you develop an optimized strategy that results in the lowest total cost of ownership — and the best product quality outcomes. We’ve got every cold chain challenge covered.

To learn more about our newest products and services, call 877.537.9800 to speak with one of our knowledgeable Sales Team Members, or go to: www.pelicanbiothermal.com

The Global Name in Cold Chain


MARKEN

S U P P LY C H A I N D I G I TA L / H E A LT H C A R E G L O B A L

Marken has its own operational excellence program that is based on LEAN and Six Sigma principles. Towards the end of 2014, key charters, quality control issues and interactions between global functions were evaluated to determine what could be improved. The result was the creation of a welldefined program that could monitor and measure targeted areas on specific accounts. “I believe in the principles of applying very stringent tools on how you measure your business, how you can streamline activities by leaning them out and reducing the number of steps,” Wheeler said. “We are applying that in a very rigorous way here that extends all the way into new IT systems and how we can reduce certain staff and steps by integrating systems across the company. There are multiple projects and Dan [Bell] is at the center of that, measuring them every month.” “The industry itself has done a very good job of identifying what key performance indicators should be,” explained Bell, “but I believe we lead in developing those.”

In addition to looking internally, Marken has also developed a key account management program to build client satisfaction. “We meet with [our clients] on a very regular basis in order to understand the strategy they need, align our goals and develop services,” said Van Strien. “We make it easy for our clients to work with us.” Maintaining the quality of staff and recruiting fast enough to support the company’s growth has been a challenge for Marken—but not one that couldn’t be overcome. After almost doubling their staff from 375 employees four years ago to 600 employees now, Marken realized there are key valuable attributes shared amongst their employees. “We realized that there was a willingness to create and a drive to take ownership,” explained van Strien. “Those are the kind of people we are attracting and who are very successful within our company. When it comes down to it, we are the ones who will be called for any of the complicated supply chain challenges that happen every day w w w. m a r k e n . c o m

43


MARKEN

throughout the world, so we need to attract a very specific mindset of strong, creative employees worldwide, and I think we do it really well.”

despite airline closures, Marken has always found a solution for success. “We remember that there’s always a patient behind each shipment, and you become very creative not to give up and to find the best solution,” van Step 3: Continue to Surpass and Strien said. Improve “It’s become a part of our DNA,” Marken ensures the delivery of she added. “We have always been shipments on time thanks to the extremely good at that and it’s our company’s knowledge of life passion to make sure everything is science, regulatory experience, a done on time.” global depot network, and at times, just sheer determination of its Step 4: Plan for future growth employees. Wheeler, van Strien, Bell and the From traversing through an entire team at Marken have spent earthquake in Chile to delivering the past four years building a medicine to a sick child in Australia strong foundation for success. 44

October 2015


S U P P LY C H A I N D I G I TA L / H E A LT H C A R E G L O B A L

Company Information INDUSTRY

Logistics and Supply Chain HEADQUARTERS

4307 Emperor Blvd, Suite 210 Durham, NC United States 27703

Now, as Wheeler puts it, the company is ready to “make a lot of noise.” As the supply chain industry continues to evolve, becoming more direct-to-patient, Marken will be there to set the standards of excellence. With 10 established depots worldwide and plans to expand portfolio services, is there really anything this company can’t do? “We have the edge on technology, the knowhow, the service and have global and regional agreements with almost all of the key players on the clinical side,” said Wheeler. “We don’t just speak logistics, we speak pharma; we are not just transportation people, we are pharma people. We are 100 percent dedicated to this industry.” “We’ll continue to make a lot of progress over the next 12 months,” he concluded.

FOUNDED

1980 EMPLOYEES

600

w w w. m a r k e n . c o m

45


Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission

Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission Celebrates 75 Years On its 75th anniversary, what is in store for the future of America’s first superhighway? Written by: Sasha Orman Produced by: Tom Venturo


47


P E N N S Y LVA N I A T U R N P I K E C O M M I S S I O N

Southern Section

I

n 1940, the landscape of the United States was vastly different than today’s. The advent of the automobile lifestyle and the interstate highway system changed everything, and it all started with America’s first “superhighway”— the Pennsylvania Turnpike. On the 75th anniversary of this historic roadway, the Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission (PTC) is taking a fond look at its past while looking ahead to new improvements and projects that will bring a brighter future to Pennsylvania commerce and commuters.

48

October 2015

Celebrating 75 Years When the Pennsylvania Turnpike first opened, it changed the face of transportation and business capabilities for the region. “The first thing that comes to mind when you think about the PA turnpike is the truck traffic, the commerce we move through the Keystone state,” said PTC Chief Engineer Brad Heigel. “Regionally, the connection between Ohio and New Jersey really began with the Turnpike, and it continues to be a commerce pipeline from the Midwest to the Atlantic Seaboard— especially between New Stanton and Breezewood where we have


CONSTRUCTION

Pier View Looking North

I-70 designation. We have truck volumes in those areas that are well over 12 percent of the vehicles in that stretch.” But the Turnpike’s impact is not simply regional. “We were the first superhighway,” noted Heigel. “We preceded all the other interstate highways in the United States. A lot of the design criteria and design issues that Pennsylvania Turnpike faced and resolved as it was constructed became the basis of the interstate highway program as we know it across the nation.” The Turnpike reaches 75 years officially on October 1, 2015, and this year the PTC is celebrating its contributions to the region with several events to commemorate the occasion. “We have already been celebrating throughout the year leading up to our October event, the day

“We’re excited to say we’re now over 100 miles of reconstructed turnpike across the state” – Brad Heigel, Chief Engineer

w w w. p a t u r n p i k e . c o m

49


New Enterprise Stone & Lime Co., Inc.

B

ld ui

in

g

l Va

ue

o Fr

m

e Th

Gr

ou

nd

Up

QUALITY INTEGRATION CONSTRUCTION SPECIALIZED SAFETY

Ph: 814-766 -2211 Fx: 814-766-4400

w w w.nesl.com

CONGRATULATIONS Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission 75th Anniversary Building For The Next 75.. Proudly Providing Construction Managment and Inspection To The Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission We at ALCM are committed to producing projects of high value to Owners and Taxpayers while being cognizant ot the project’s environmental constraints, the needs of the host communities and the safet y of the traveling public.

Carlisle MP 215 to 227

BU ILDI NG THE PATH WAY TO A BET T ER TOMORROW Mon River Bridge

• • •

Beaver River Bridge

• • • • • • •

Administration, Management and Construction Inspection Construction Progress Documentation Construction Coordination, Submittal Approval and Project Record Documentation Contractor Payment Review for Current and Final Estimates Change Order Preparation Coordination of Right of Way Access and Utility Relocations Weekly Schedule Coordination and Monthly Progress Meetings Safety and E&S Walk Thru Inspections Material Testing and Documentation Project Close-Out Activities

Somerset Maintenance Facilit y

350 AronA roAd new StAnton, PA 15672

Ph: 724.925.2034 Fx: 724.925.2640 www.Al-cm.com


PENNSYLVANIA TURNPIKE COMMISSION C O N S T R U C T I O N the turnpike opened to traffic in 1940,” said Renee Colborn, Manager of Media and Public Relations at the Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission. This has included events like a classic car show at the Sideling Hill Service Plaza, where 300 classic cars were on display along with memorabilia and concessions at 1940s prices. The main commemoration event will commence in October at the State Museum of Pennsylvania. “What they’re doing is opening a new turnpike exhibit which features an original tollbooth rebuilt inside the museum,” said Colborn. “It’s a part of the bigger transportation exhibit—the PA Turnpike is featured with the tollbooth, turnpike memorabilia and fully operational traffic signs.” This memorabilia, including an operational center used in the 1940s and 1950s, will be unveiled for

Setting Modular Dam

Last Deck Placement w w w. p a t u r n p i k e . c o m

51


American Geotechnical & Environmental Services, Inc.

Congratulations Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission 75th Anniversary !

One of the largest specialty geotechnical engineering design firms in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania has been a proud teaming partner with the Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission since 1995. This year we are celebrating our 20th anniversary and we would like to thank all our clients and friends for their support!

Surveying and Construction Inspection Monaloh Basin Engineers is a Disadvantaged Business Enterprise with experience in providing the following ser vic es to the t r a n s p o r t ation industry: survey, right-of-way, utility coordination and construction inspection. www.mbe-eng.com

724-916-0300 / www.AGESINC.com Canonsburg, PA, Hollidaysburg, PA King of Prussia, PA & Baltimore, MD

www.pcc-pgh.com

PITTSBURGH OFFICE 300 Business Center Drive Suite 304 Pittsburgh, PA 15205 (P): 412-788-2433

www.protectionservices.com

MECHANICSBURG OFFICE 5020 Ritter Road Suite 101 Mechanicsburg, PA 17055 (P): 717-795-4621

toll free: (866) 489-1234

Lighting Your Way Since 1979 Heavy Highway | Industrial | Commercial

With over 35 years in the electrical field, Power Contracting Company is dedicated to providing quality work, competitive prices and skilled craftsmen, to owners and contractors throughout the industry. P: 412.278.0889 F: 412.278.0989

1011 Mumma Road Suite 101 Lemoyne, PA 17043 tel: (717) 236-9307 fax: (717) 236-1281 toll free: (866) 489-1234

Protection Services Inc. (PSI) has been a leader in the maintenance of traffic and horizontal construction industries for more than 50 years thanks to you, our customers. Our strength lies in our ability to serve customers like no other company in the industry with the impressive volume and diverse variety of products that PSI offers.


PENNSYLVANIA TURNPIKE COMMISSION C O N S T R U C T I O N the public starting October 1st. Investing in modernization The world has changed a lot in 75 years, and the Pennsylvania Turnpike must continually change and grow with it to keep up with the needs of those who travel its roadways every day. This can take several forms, from commuter outreach and tech investments—like its award-winning Trip Talk app—to roadway construction. Over the past 15 years, the PTC’s largest initiative has been its sweeping total reconstruction program. Since 2000, the highway commission has been removing road bed down to subgrade, upgrading surfaces and replacing drainage systems, and in many cases widening the original 4-lane 10 foot median model to a more modern 6-lane, 26 foot median setup equipped to handle today’s traffic. “We’re excited to say we’re now over 100 miles of reconstructed turnpike across the state,” said Heigel, noting that the commission reached an all-time high of 22 miles under construction this summer. “We have about another 130 miles in design, moving through at different levels of completeness and preliminary design, as we continue to maintain a very robust capital plan exceeding about $600 million of investment into our highway on the fiscal year.” A more recent major project for the PTC is an expansion to I-95 that had been long discussed and is now underway, including contracts to construct ramps that will connect northbound

Toe Bench Constr

Abut 2 Pile Driving

w w w. p a t u r n p i k e . c o m

53


P E N N S Y LVA N I A T U R N P I K E C O M M I S S I O N

I-95 to eastbound Pennsylvania Turnpike and westbound Turnpike to southbound I-95. With these contracts in production, PTC expects to have I-95 fully connected from Maine to Florida by 2018. These projects are ambitious— the reconstruction program alone accounts for half of the commission’s yearly budget—but the benefits of these updates and upgrades promise to be massive. “By adding additional capacity we’ll be able to better able to maintain the roadway, and by bringing it up to criteria it will be 54

October 2015

safer,” Heigel explained. “We’re really excited. Everyone knows the areas of the turnpike we’ve rebuilt and widened, and it’s a much different driving experience than on a facility that was built 75 years ago. That’s definitely at the forefront of our daily initiatives here at the Turnpike.” Planning for the future While the PTC is busy with current projects, the commission is always looking ahead to new projects in the future. One major project on the horizon is actually an extension


CONSTRUCTION

of projects first started to support industry and economic development in the mid-1980s through Act 61, known as the Mon/Fayette Expressway and the Southern Beltway. “A number of miles of those roadways have been built from Maryland to Pittsburgh, but they stalled due to lack of funding,” said Heigel. Two years ago, with the approval of Act 89 through the efforts of Former Secretary of Transportation Barry Schoch, funding will make the progress of these roadways possible once again. “We’re excited to say that we’re moving ahead with next section of the Southern Beltway. It’s away from the mainline Turnpike, but as we maintain our reconstruction focus on the mainline, what I would say is in store for us in the future is the ability for us to continue our expansion on those projects,” he added. With every project today and in the future, the goal is the same as it was when the Turnpike first opened three-quarters of a century ago: to improve commerce and increase convenience for commuters in Pennsylvania and beyond. “Being a toll facility, we want the customer that rides our roadway today to come back tomorrow,” said Heigel. “We always have that in the back of our mind. We’re trying to make that experience to be as good as possible, and we take a lot of pride in that. So we’re constantly looking at our level of service and making sure we’re providing the best level of service, the best ride we can do.”

Company Information INDUSTRY

Roadway infrastructure HEADQUARTERS

P.O. Box 67676 Harrisburg PA, USA 17106 FOUNDED

1940 EMPLOYEES

Not Disclosed REVENUE

Not Disclosed

w w w. p a t u r n p i k e . c o m

55


Nutmeg Companies, Inc.

Diversity leads to success Thanks to its hard work and reliable team, this construction company continues to make quite the name for itself Written by: Cutter Slagle Produced by: Tom Venturo


57


N U T M E G C O M PA N I E S , I N C .

Focusing primarily throughout the northeast, the Nutmeg Companies is proficient in design-build and bid-build projects

“

When we were first starting out, we used to invite our friends over and make them add up spreadsheets with calculators at the dining room table,� said Jason L. Bugbee, owner and vice president of Nutmeg Companies, Inc. Since its start in May 1988, Nutmeg Companies, Inc. has changed significantly. The fully licensed general contractor now has a corporate office in Norwich, Connecticut, as well as satellite offices in both Massachusetts and Rhode Island, a substantial upgrade from the company’s beginnings in the home basements of Bugbee and 58

October 2015

co-owner and vice president Evert L. Gawendo more than 27 years ago. Focusing primarily throughout the northeast, the company is proficient in design-build and bid-build projects, with the ability to perform all general trade, carpentry, plumbing, and fire protection duties in-house. In a recent interview, both vice presidents along with Director of New Development Robert Godiksen discussed how the company has been able to find success due to its hardworking team, one that exemplifies quality workmanship, reliable service and commitment to excellence.


CONSTRUCTION

Nutmeg involves each of its team members in all aspects and cross-train employees

It’s a team effort “We maintain a very strong relationship with our employees, subcontractors and vendors,” said Bugbee. “We strive to be a company that everyone wants to work with.” Since the very beginning, this has been Nutmeg’s goal. The company offers a family-oriented environment and prides itself on having a close relationship with its employees. “We have an extremely low employee turnover rate,” said Gawendo. “Most of our employees are long-term employees.” With team-building events like bowling parties and season tickets

to local sporting events, it’s no secret that Nutmeg’s employees feel close to the company and its executives, which Bugbee believes has helped to set them apart from others in the industry. Working with a range of clients in the local, state and federal government agencies, as well as private sectors, Nutmeg involves each of its team members in all aspects of the trade. “Our employees are cross-trained in all facets of the business, from finance to project management to estimating and engineering,” noted Bugbee. “Even our field employees

w w w. n u t m e g c o m p a n i e s . c o m

59


N U T M E G C O M PA N I E S , I N C . get the opportunity to handle multiple disciplines, working with owners, architects and other design professionals. “ Furthermore, all of Nutmeg’s field employees are OSHA 10- or 30hour trained, as safety is one of the company’s top priorities. A variety of projects Nutmeg is currently working on the Camp Edwards build, a twopart project consisting of one 25,900-square foot educational

Randy Schaen 860-625-6226

Glenn Coughlin 860-625-3997

Proudly Supporting Nutmeg Companies

Licensed & Insured CT El # 187989

Electrical Contractor 1069 Voluntown Rd. Griswold, CT 06351 PH: 860-376-2851 | FX : 860-376-0396

building plus an additional 32,000-square foot billeting facility. With steel frames, masonry exterior and metal siding, Camp Edwards will be a training center for the Massachusetts National Guard. The project was awarded to Nutmeg after the company’s technical and price proposal provided the best value to the government. Camp Edwards is currently on-track to be completed in April of 2016. The build hasn’t been without its


CONSTRUCTION

challenges; in fact, there was a rather large issue early on that Nutmeg had to address. “One of the buildings was going to be located within eight feet of existing high voltage power lines, making it impossible to proceed,” Bugbee said. Nutmeg was able to successfully work with the government to come up with a no cost solution that had the electrical wires placed underground, allowing the project to stay on schedule and within budget. Nutmeg is currently involved in quite a few other programs with the government, working with Navy MATOC—Multi Area Task Order Contract— for northeast responsibility. The company has a total of four different projects in the Newport naval station area, two projects with its GSA IDIQ contract (Indefinite Delivery and Indefinite Quality) and is involved with an on-call program with the University of Connecticut that prequalifies Nutmeg to handle ongoing construction needs. One project that Nutmeg is particularly proud of is the Marine reserve center in Brunswick, Maine. For this build, the company needed to meet the U.S. Green Building Council LEED requirements for a silver certification. The entire project team worked together to help Nutmeg secure a gold certification from the council.

Nutmeg Companies, Inc. is a fully licensed general and mechanical contractor firm with over 27 years of industry experience

“We strive to be a company that everyone wants to work with” – Owner and Vice President Jason L. Bugbee

Going – and staying – green Nutmeg knows the importance of going – and staying – green. When it comes to recycling, w w w. n u t m e g c o m p a n i e s . c o m

61


N U T M E G C O M PA N I E S , I N C .

The Nutmeg Companies’ team has expertise in commercial, medical, industrial, major mechanical, education and federal government construction

the company is proactive: a high percentage of all contents get recycled including demolition materials, steel, sheet rock, block, brick and concrete. “We recycle as much as we can,” said Godiksen. “We even install and use energy efficient equipment.” The company has made sure that its new office building promotes a greener environment, adding LEED lights to reduce energy consumption, occupancy censors in all rooms and high efficiency water heaters.

62

October 2015

Strategies for success Keeping shares in each market that includes local, state, federal, private and healthcare, Bugbee noted that it’s hard to predict when one particularly industry is going to stop spending money. “It’s our philosophy to keep as much of balance in as many different markets as possible,” he said. “We don’t want to be caught with no markets to work in.” Bugbee believes that just having good construction skills isn’t enough to stay relevant in this industry.


CONSTRUCTION

“You must be able to contribute positively to the client’s business goals,” he said. “A business must be able to enhance during our construction process.” It is through communication with the client that Nutmeg ensures construction doesn’t interrupt a business’ day-to-day activities. Whether that entails working late nights or weekends, it’s imperative to have no surprises. Bugbee gives credit to their highly experienced team for being able to accomplish this essential goal. “Without our employees, numerous subcontractors and vendors, our success wouldn’t be possible,” said Bugbee.

Company Information INDUSTRY

Sector HEADQUARTERS

1 Ohio Avenue Norwich CT, USA , 06360 FOUNDED

1988 EMPLOYEES

The future As for the future of the company and the construction industry as a whole, Nutmeg Companies, Inc. is very hopeful, believing that the outlook is promising. “We believe that the private market will start coming back in the northeast,” Bugbee, Gawendo and Godiksen all agreed, from looking at population and business growth in the area as indicators. With its quality workmanship, reliable service and commitment to excellence, Nutmeg is set to tackle whatever challenges and victories the future holds.

45 REVENUE

$25 million

w w w. n u t m e g c o m p a n i e s . c o m

63


Trumbull-Great Lakes-R

George V. Voinovic Building George V. Voinovich B

Ohio’s newest bridge promises a smoother, s thanks to careful manag Written by: Sasha Orman

P


Ruhlin (TGR) Innerbelt

ch Bridge Project Bridge: A Historic Joint Venture

safer commute across the Cuyahoga River, gement and planning

Produced by: Tom Venturo 65


C O M PA N Y N A M E

A rendering of the completed bridge shows a view of the city motorists can look forward to seeing upon project completion

A

s years progress, even the most solid infrastructure begins to show signs of wear and age. This was the case with Cleveland’s I-90 Innerbelt Bridge, which carried thousands of commuters and goods across the Cuyahoga River every day. Built in 1959, the truss bridge began to succumb to corrosion and structural deterioration. After 66

October 2015

studies to determine the best course of action, the Ohio Department of Transportation made the decision to demolish the existing bridge and replace it with twin bridges to usher eastbound and westbound commuters with unprecedented efficiency. With the westbound bridge already built, the joint venture group Trumbull-Great LakesRuhlin (TGR) was selected to


SECTOR

move forward with a design build plan for the eastbound George V. Voinovich Bridge Project. The project at hand Trumbull-Great Lakes-Ruhlin joined together in 2013 to commence work on the Innerbelt/George V. Voinovich Bridge Project, along with designer URS who designed the new bridge from ODOT’s concept drawings. The project consists of two key parts: demolish the original existing bridge, and rebuild a new bridge in its place, owned by the

“The success of a job is to do it safely—and if you do it safely, you’re going to do it efficiently and with a high level of quality as well” – Jason Tucker, construction project manager

w w w. i n n e r b e l t . o r g

67


www.facebook.com/foundationsteel

Proud Partners with tGr GeorGe V. VoinoVich BridGe Project

www.foundationsteel.net 12525 Airport Hwy. P.O. Box 210 Swanton, Ohio 43558

Ofc: 419-402-4241 Fax: 419-402-4248

Partnering together for the success of the project.


CONSTRUCTION

Ohio Department of Transportation. With demolition complete, the project is now in its building phase, constructing a 4,000 ft bridge in a Delta Girder style. “Its primary design—the main span over the river and the valley—is 2,800 ft long,” says Jason Tucker, TGR construction project manager. “It is a 10-span structure that is a Delta Girder modified design. It will be five lanes and with full shoulders, so it’s about 100 ft wide. The approach span is a four-span conventional girder bridge with similar width, and the length of that is 1,200 ft.” The bridge delivers motorists to

Cleveland’s busy Central Business District, while the approach side travels near the homes and businesses of the Tremont neighborhood. Construction on each side commands its own challenges, as do the slopes of the Cuyahoga River itself. “Another part of the reason we replaced the 1959 bridge is that the foundations didn’t go down to bedrock on the original structure,” says Adam Belasik, TGR project manager. “We changed that on this bridge so that we could secure it to help stabilize the slope.” To guarantee quality, TGR and the

Crew members are nearly 90 feet above ground tying rebar inside the cap form of a pier. Some of the rebar was tied together at ground level and lifted into the form but much had to be done in place w w w. i n n e r b e l t . o r g

69


Two flat girders were joined together with cross bracing before being lifted on top of the delta structures. Two cranes are needed to make the lift


CONSTRUCTION

Ohio Department of Transportation have contracted a third party on site to keep a watchful eye on developments. “The monitoring contractors have two masters, so to speak—they worked for us and also worked for ODOT. They are out there independent of us, but they monitor everything that goes on and document all the testing, et cetera for the owner,” says Belasik. Along with ODOT watching over the project for quality assurance, many eyes on the project promise a meeting of high standards at every point of construction. Focusing on safety “Safety is key to everything,” says Tucker. “The success of a job is to do it safely—and if you do it safely, you’re going to do it efficiently and with a high level of quality as well.” Safety is top priority on the Voinovich Bridge Project. Similar to the firm on site to monitor quality, TGR also appoints staff devoted to the upkeep and consistency of safety measures throughout the project. “The joint venture has two onsite, full-time safety supervisors. They act as support for the crews

out there to get them the tools they need, the equipment they need to do the job safely,” Tucker continues. He notes that the joint venture heavily promotes meetings and programs to ensure that all staff are emphasizing safety whenever possible, from daily analysis with foremen to monthly allhands-on-deck discussions. “On top of that, we are charged with a safety snapshot program,” says Belasik. “We do a certain amount of just stopping to look at an operation and follow a checklist of: are our workers wearing proper safety equipment? Are they operating the equipment properly? Are they in the right locations? Each person on the job has to complete a certain amount of snapshots each week, and our safety folks compile that information to determine the more at-risk activities that are noted.” With these activities identified and examined, TGR is able to ensure safety for its workers, surrounding Cleveland citizens, and commuters using the bridge in the future. A better bridge for Cleveland commuters w w w. i n n e r b e l t . o r g

71


T R U M B U L L - G R E AT L A K E S - R U H L I N ( T G R ) I N N E R B E LT / G E O R G E V. V O I N O V I C H B R I D G E P R O J E C T

The steel piles used in the river valley are the largest manufactured in the United States. And even at 90 feet long, two had to be used spliced together in order to reach bedrock, nearly 200 feet below ground

72

October 2015


CONSTRUCTION

What’s in store for Cleveland once the Voinovich Bridge Project is complete? A much more comfortable and functional commute across the Cuyahoga River, starting with the promise of five full lanes in each direction plus two full shoulders and entrance ramp lanes to facilitate the flow of traffic onto the bridge.

Company Information INDUSTRY

Construction HEADQUARTERS

“The existing bridge had four lanes in each direction and limited shoulders, so you didn’t really have a breakdown lane to pull off if something happened. We had daily backups on the structure previously, and it had short ramp merges to come onto the mainline. It was very difficult in rush hours for traffic to merge in, and it slowed traffic all through downtown corridor,” says Tom Hyland, ODOT’s project manager for construction. “We’ll have full lanes and dedicated entrance ramp lanes—so once the bridge gets in there, it will be full traffic running through to get in and out of downtown.” The new bridge will also be outfitted with aesthetic upgrades, from historic renderings and plaques to plaza areas and aesthetic lighting that can be coordinated with the westbound sister bridge for holidays and events. On track to be open to the public by October 2016, TGR’s joint venture project is paving the way for an efficient and more beautiful Ohio.

1441 West 25th Street Cleveland OH, USA, 44113 FOUNDED

2013 BUDGET

$273 million PRODUCTS/ SERVICES

Bridge construction joint venture project

w w w. i n n e r b e l t . o r g

73


Profile for Business Chief USA

BRUSA October 2015  

BRUSA October 2015