__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

MINING FOR A GREENER FUTURE


02

HUDSON RESOURCES: MINING FOR A GREENER FUTURE

NOVEMBER 2019


03

w w w.hudso nre so urc e sin c. com


HUDSON RESOURCES

HUDSON RESOURCES IS REALISING A UNIQUE OPPORTUNITY TO DEVELOP MULTIPLE REVENUE STREAMS FROM ITS WHITE MOUNTAIN ANORTHOSITE MINE IN GREENLAND

H

udson Resources celebrated the safe arrival of the first bulk shipment of anorthosite (calcium feldspar) from its

White Mountain (Qaqortorsuaq) Greenland mine in August this year. It’s set to be the first of many shipments taking advantage of a unique orebody 04

with a +100-year mine life. “The journey to the commencement of production of the anorthosite at White Mountain in February 2019 has taken seven years,” explains President and Director Jim Cambon. With a 50-year permit in place, we embarked on our 12-month plan to develop the mine site in 2018. The creation of the mine and associated infrastructure was a CA$45mn construction project utilising a modular approach, with 1200 tonnes of steel brought in to the remote Greenland location by barge. “That barge is now our dock at the deep-water port,” adds Vice President of Operations, Jerry Janik, who recalls the logistical challenges of commissioning the process plant during the Arctic winter. “It was -40°C when we first commissioned the site – 12 months earlier the plant was just a slab of concrete. The execution of the NOVEMBER 2019


05

2005

Year founded

40

Approximate number of employees

w w w.hudso nre so urc e sin c. com


HUDSON RESOURCES

06

“IT WAS -40°C WHEN WE FIRST COMMISSIONED THE SITE – LAST YEAR THE PLANT WAS JUST A SLAB OF CONCRETE. THE EXECUTION OF THE CONSTRUCTION PHASE WAS A GREAT SUCCESS AND MET ALL OF OUR EXPECTATIONS FROM A SAFETY, COST AND SCHEDULING PERSPECTIVE” — Jerry Janik, Vice President, Operations, Hudson Resources

construction phase was a great success and met all of our expectations from a safety, cost and scheduling perspective. It’s a great reflection of the excellent team we assembled, boosted by the skilled workforce here in Greenland and the engineering led by CWA Engineers in Vancouver.” Greenland is a self-governing administrative jurisdiction of Denmark with control of its mineral rights. With no land claim issues, Hudson deals directly with the Greenlandic people and has very strong support from the local communities. Greenland is a mining friendly jurisdiction with a competitive fiscal regime that provides a sound financial basis for the future of White Mountain. The Greenland School of Minerals and Petroleum Råstofskolen is also located near White Mountain; it has toured the facility. Anorthosite, which is 30% aluminum, offers Hudson the opportunity to develop products with multiple revenue streams. Hudson’s GreenSpar is derived from the igneous mineral plagioclase, which yields the hardest feldspar with the highest refractive index, and offers a distinct advantage as a premium mineral extender for

NOVEMBER 2019


CLICK TO WATCH : ‘HUDSON RESOURCES – ANORTHOSITE PIT 360º’ 07 interior paints requiring very good

agreement with a leading fiberglass

abrasion resistance. Its use can also

producer in a market expected to be

result in a stronger finish and cost

worth $17.4bn by 2024. It can offer

savings as resin filler in clear coatings.

significant technical, financial and

The paint, coatings and polymer

environmental advantages, including:

industries are forecast to become a

energy savings in excess of 10%;

US$31.8bn industry by 2023.

reduction of melt times by up to a third;

GreenSpar can also be used as a

a lower heavy metal content; reduced

replacement for kaolin in the production

wear and tear on refractories and

of E-glass fiber most commonly used

reduced NOx, SOx and CO2 emissions.

in the reinforced polymer composite

GreenSpar also offers a source of

industry in high-end fiberglass for

alumina and could be a replacement for

wind turbines, cars and boat parts,

bauxite, without producing any of the

and sporting equipment. Hudson has

associated waste and tailings. The

already signed a 10-year off-take

global high purity alumina market was w w w.hudso nre so urc e sin c. com


HUDSON RESOURCES

08

worth $1.8bn in 2015 and is expected

8km long, it’s massive, it’s homogeneous

to rise to $5.8bn by 2022. In addition to

and has very few contaminants –

this trio of established markets, Hudson

which is key for industrial mineral

has also discovered that, by adding

projects. We could deliver shipments

phosphoric acid to its anorthosite it

consistently for over 100 years with

can produce strong, heat resistant

this deposit. Even though Greenland

white cement (Anocrete).

is logistically challenged, being on

The White Mountain mine is the

tidewater offers excellent opportunities

source for all of these opportunities.

to bring anything in by ship and load out

“There are some competing minerals

to Western Europe or the US for $25

out there, potentially, but there are no

a tonne. It’s extremely cost effective.”

competing orebodies for anorthosite,”

Technology has played a big part in

reveals Janik. “White Mountain is

operations planning at White Mountain,

unique in its size, the orebody itself is

where the management team knew

NOVEMBER 2019


that the remote location would offer limited workforce resources. “The entire process plant is automated,” explains Janik, “to the point where you can run it off an iPhone or iPad. I could walk around the plant and see it fully controlled. You could actually be in a loader filling rocks into the plant feed hopper and still be able to monitor the plant and see how it’s running. We also have an internet link directly with our automation consultant in Denmark, so if we do have any issues, they’re able to log in from Denmark and help us troubleshoot online.

E XE CU T I VE PRO FI LE

Jim Cambon Jim Cambon, President & Director, Hudson Resources, has over 30 years’ international business development and project management experience in the mineral exploration, consulting and engineering industries with a focus on Arctic projects. He has held senior positions with engineering firms AMEC and Bateman. Jim was Co-Founder of Mongolian exploration company QGX Ltd., which was acquired for $300mn in 2008. Cambon served as the Honourary Consul for Mongolia for eight years, and obtained a Bachelor of Science (Geology) from the University of Western Ontario.

w w w.hudso nre so urc e sin c. com

09


SOLVING YOUR TOUGHEST OPERATING CHALLENGES. SAFELY, EFFICIENTLY & SUSTAINABLY. A global market leader providing trusted technology and services which make your mining operations more productive and profitable.

Learn more


Enduring solutions to last a mine’s life At Weir, our engineers have been solving the mining industry’s biggest operational challenges since 1871. Today we have 15,000 people in over 50 countries serving the mining sector alongside the infrastructure and oil & gas markets. We can improve the processes at your mine site with everything from slurry transportation, mine dewatering systems and classification & separation to wear lining & corrosion protection, tailings management and crushing & grinding.

Crushing & Grinding Our high capacity crushing and grinding equipment was conceived to process a wide range of applications from primary, secondary, and tertiary hard rock crushing. Weir’s Enduron equipment is tough, reliable and designed to maximise performance. Built for extra-long service life, our entire range of crushing and grinding solutions is backed by the Weir Minerals Service network operating in over 70 countries across the globe.

Conquering the mountain When Hudson Resources needed a tailored solution to meet its crushing and grinding needs at the White Mountain anorthosite mine in Greenland, Weir had the answer. Anorthosite’s dust can interfere with magnetic separation so Hudson commissioned Weir to deliver a crushing and fine grinding system using high pressure grinding rolls (HPGR). “The Enduron HPGR requires little to no water for size reduction and has 30% less power consumption versus standard crushing circuits,” explains Weir’s North American HPGR Manager Tim Lundquist. “Since Hudson is creating a dry product in a remote location both of these factors were vitally important to the success of the operation.” Hudson’s Vice President Jerry Janik was impressed: “What Weir provided was unique. It enabled us to generate sand and less dust during the second stage of crushing.” Used in mining applications for the last 30 years, HPGR reduce particles by compressing and crushing the feed between two counter rotating, parallel rollers with a small gap between them. This forces the rocks against each other and compresses the feed’s density to 80% of its solid volume, exceeding their compressive strength with equal pressure being applied to particles of all sizes.

WHY HPGR? Decrease your energy consumption by up to 30% Reduce recirculation and wear within your crushing circuits Enhance your downstream mineral liberation Reduce your maintenance requirements Substantially reduce your water consumption

With their excellent throughput capacity, low maintenance requirements and energy efficiency, high pressure grinding rolls are fast becoming a go-to for greenfield projects looking to maintain their margins despite commodity price pressures and declining ore grades. On average, 53% of a mine site’s energy consumption is attributed to crushing and grinding ores accounting for almost 10% of a site’s production costs. Where HPGR technology has replaced traditional methods of crushing and grinding customers have seen energy savings, and substantially improved mineral liberation. “Weir’s goal

is always to provide a solution and not just a product,” pledges Lundquist. “When the opportunity arises to work with a company like Hudson we take a look at the entire process as part of offering equipment. Additionally, we undergo testing to verify our solution will meet the client requirements and do not stop working until our promises have been met.” enduron@mail.weir www.global.weir


HUDSON RESOURCES

The green benefits of White Mountain are highlighted by the fact that

engaged Thor because we needed

Cambon believes it will be a zero-waste

help with ship loading,” explains

facility in the future. “We are running as

Cambon. “With our floating dock, we

lean as we can energy wise,” he says.

required a system to take material out

“We’re also looking at putting in a wind

of our warehouse, transfer it to the

turbine and solar panels in the future.

dock, and then into a ship’s hold. We

We’re even looking at tidal energy

worked with Thor to produce a simple

because we are on a fjord that has

system robust enough for the Arctic,

significant tides – there’s an opportunity

and it did an excellent job delivering

to harness that energy.”

a solution beyond the capacity of

Hudson has been able to quickly

12

component in the operation, we

what we need right now. It allows for

progress White Mountain to the

expansion – we can load a ship at

production stage with the help of some

a thousand tonnes an hour with the

key partners. “As it’s such a major

equipment Thor provided.”

CLICK TO WATCH : ‘HUDSON RESOURCES – ANORTHOSITE READY FOR FIRST SHIP’

NOVEMBER 2019


Weir was also commissioned to supply the in-plant crushers. “The ones we’re using are high pressure grinding rolls,” reveals Janik. “They’re somewhat different than what you’d normally expect. The fine dust can interfere with the magnetic separation. What Weir provides is unique, enabling us to generate sand and less dust during the second stage of crushing.” Elsewhere, Lillegaarden was employed to head up the electrical work at the plant. “I’ve been in this business for 30 years and can say it’s the cleanest, most high-quality layout I’ve ever seen,”

13

E XE CU T I VE PRO FI LE

Jerry Janik Jerry Janik, Vice President, Operations, Hudson Resources, has extensive knowledge in design, operation, management, and optimisation of industrial minerals facilities with a focus on paints and specialized mineral applications. Jerry began his industrial mineral career at the Nephton Nepheline Syenite operation in Ontario, which produces a product similar to Hudson’s GreenSpar. Janik was manager of the operation during a period of major capital expansion. Jerry holds diplomas in geology and mineral processing from Sir Sandford Fleming College School of Natural Resources in Lindsay, Ontario.

w w w.hudso nre so urc e sin c. com


THANK YOU HUDSON RESOURCES FOR CHOOSING THOR AND CONGRATULATIONS ON A SUCCESSFUL PROJECT!

MOVE MOUNTAINS! Thor global enterprises ltd. Is a leading manufacturer of bulk material handling equipment for applications ranging from mining, recycling and aggregate to agriculture, coal, mineral and port terminals. Founded in 1969, thor global has grown significantly over the years in order to provide innovative solutions with unparalleled service and technology worldwide.

LEARN MORE


Hudson’s Lunar Research White Mountain anorthosite is being tested by space agencies as a potential lunar simulant to be used for testing lunar equipment such as rovers, and as a potential building material using Hudson’s CO2 free Anocrete concrete. Future lunar missions are planned to travel to the Lunar Highlands and the Lunar Poles where the main geological environment is anorthosite (very similar to Hudson’s anorthosite in Greenland). Lunar anorthosite was collected by the Apollo missions in the early 1970s. Hudson is collaborating with lunar scientists at the University of Tokyo, who are at the forefront of space research. The University of Tokyo developed petrological sections and

conducted tests which confirmed that Hudson’s anorthosite is very similar to the Lunar Highland material in texture, grain size and constituent minerals. Hudson and the University of Tokyo are also in discussions with regard to collaborating on research and development on concrete applications using Hudson’s CO2 free Anocrete concrete. Hudson has provided material to NASA’s Johnson Space Center for evaluation to use in its testing facilities for rover simulations. The company has also held preliminary discussions with the European Space Agency regarding utilising Hudson’s anorthosite for lunar research.

c a na da .busi ne ssc h ief. com

15


Overall electrical contractor on the Hudson Plant Industrial plants in Greenland & Denmark · · · · · · · ·

Engineering, planning, logistics Power plant installation Grounding systems Plant power distribution Cable ways Plant machinery cabling Lighting indoor and outdoor Testing and commissioning LEARN MORE lillegaarden.dk +45 98557220

ring in

Enginee

tions fo

e solu novativ

dwide.

s worl r client

v

EXPERTISE. INNOVATION. RESULTS. Vancouver, BC (604) 637-2275 | Saskatoon, SK (306) 974-4110 | cwaengineers.com


“WE’VE GOT 14,000 TONNES OF PRODUCT SITTING IN A WAREHOUSE, SO WHAT WE’VE ACCOMPLISHED ON SUCH A SKINNY BUDGET IS REMARKABLE” — Jim Cambon, President and Director, Hudson Resources 17 confirms Janik. “In fact, they’re so

Savannah, so what we’ve accomplished

good we stole one of their project

on such a skinny budget with a small

managers to become our own site

team is remarkable.”

manager,” he laughs. Hudson has big plans to increase

Long-term, Cambon believes it’s important to have sustainable rare

capacity and grow the markets, as

earth supplies outside China and

Cambon believes demand will outstrip

suggests Hudson is well placed to

supply in the next 24 months. “We are

advance another of its Greenland

in discussions with a number of groups

projects with a high ratio of neodymium

about potential strategic partnerships

at Sarfartoq. “The Chinese have

going forward, which would give us

control of the market and are even

more horsepower. That’s something

investing in rare earth projects outside

we’ll look at as a way to grow the

of China to further control it. Because

company and add shareholder value,”

of the value of neodymium in creating

he says. “We’ve got 14,000 tonnes

these super magnets you need to have

of product sitting in a warehouse in

that supply outside of China. I think it’s w w w.hudso nre so urc e sin c. com


HUDSON RESOURCES

GREE N B E N E F I T S AT W H I T E M O U N TA I N

• The Greenland operation is a simple quarry with a crushing and magnetic separation facility • No water or chemicals are used to process the anorthosite • Minimal impact to the local landscape

18

• Reduced CO2 by up to 15% for every tonne used by E-Glass producers • Will make paints and coatings last longer • Ability to produce alumina without toxic red mud tailings • Ability to produce CO2 free white cement

NOVEMBER 2019


just a matter of time. We keep going through these cycles where exploration ramps up, but then the Chinese lower rare earth prices. Eventually they will run out of material, or will want to use it internally, and that’s going to be a huge problem for the rest of the world. Realising sustainable, green, environmentally friendly rare earth projects is an important challenge to meet and one where we’ll look at finding the right partners to tackle.” Next year, Cambon expects White Mountain to be producing material for paint and E-glass customers, and hopefully rockwool too. “We are in detailed discussions with a fair number of potential off-take partners,” he says. “I think by 2021 we’ll be sold out. We won’t have the ability to take on new customers until we can expand; it’s a nice problem to have. By year three we’ll be looking at doubling the size of the operation. I think that’s just the reality of the demands we’re going to see for anorthosite.”

w w w.hudso nre so urc e sin c. com

19


Suite 420 – 1639 West 2nd Ave, Vancouver, BC V6J 1H3 Canada T 604-628-5002 hudsonresourcesinc.com

Profile for Business Chief Canada

Hudson Resources Nov 2019  

Hudson Resources Nov 2019