Page 3

BW STAFF PUBLISHER: Sally Freeman Sally@boiseweekly.com Office Manager: Shea Sutton Shea@boiseweekly.com EDITORIAL Editor: Rachael Daigle Rachael@boiseweekly.com Arts & Entertainment Editor: Amy Atkins Amy@boiseweekly.com Features Editor: Deanna Darr Deanna@boiseweekly.com News Editor: George Prentice George@boiseweekly.com Staff Writer: Tara Morgan Tara@boiseweekly.com Calendar Guru: Josh Gross Josh@boiseweekly.com Listings: calendar@boiseweekly.com Proofreader: Annabel Armstrong, Heather Lile Contributing Writers: Sarah Barber, Bill Cope, Andrew Crisp, Zach Hagadone Intern: Aaron Lang

ADVERTISING Advertising Director: Lisa Ware Lisa@boiseweekly.com Account Executives: Meshel Miller, Meshel@boiseweekly.com Jessi Strong, Jessi@boiseweekly.com Justin Vipperman, Justin@boiseweekly.com Lucas Wackerli, Lucas@boiseweekly.com Jill Weigel, Jill@boiseweekly.com Intern: Veronika Grewelding CLASSIFIED SALES Classifieds@boiseweekly.com CREATIVE Art Director: Leila Ramella-Rader Leila@boiseweekly.com Graphic Designer: Adam Rosenlund Adam@boiseweekly.com Contributing Artists: Derf, Mike Flinn, Nathaniel Hoffman, Steve Klamm, Jeremy Lanningham, Glenn Landberg, Laurie Pearman, E.J. Pettinger, Patrick Sweeney, Ted Rall, Tom Tomorrow CIRCULATION Shea Sutton Shea@boiseweekly.com Apply to Shea Sutton to be a BW driver. Man About Town: Stan Jackson Stan@boiseweekly.com Distribution: Tim Anders, Mike Baker, Andrew Cambell, Tim Green, Jennifer Hawkins, Stan Jackson, Barbara Kemp, Michael Kilburn, Lars Lamb, Brian Murry, Amanda Noe, Northstar Cycle Couriers, Steve Pallsen, Patty Wade, Jill Weigel Boise Weekly prints 30,000 copies every Wednesday and is available free of charge at more than 750 locations, limited to one copy per reader. Additional copies of the current issue of Boise Weekly may be purchased for $1, payable in advance. No person may, without permission of the publisher, take more than one copy of each issue.

NOTE BOB THEN, NOW AND NEXT WEEK In the very first edition of Best of Boise, which published way back in 1994, the winner of the “Best BSU Sports Team” was not the men’s football team. Gasp! What could it have possibly been, you ask? Try this: the women’s basketball team. You’ll have to wait until next week, when the Readers’ Choice edition his stands, to find out who won that category—which has evolved into the more inclusive “Best Local Sports Team”—this year. Two editions of Best of Boise is another big change from those first years of BOB. In fact, this is only the second year we’ve split the behemoth issue into two editions. This week, you might notice that what was known as the “Editors’ Picks” edition for many years is now called “Staff Picks.” It’s a simple change in words, not in philosophy or approach. And it’s an implied editorial staff. Neither the sales team nor their clients have any sway over who gets a Best of Boise Staff Pick seal of approval. And, of course, as everyone knows, Readers’ Choice is all up to the readers. As you thumb through this edition, you may notice some regular content is MIA. For example, columnist Ted Rall, who recently returned home after his trip to Afghanistan, is not printed in this issue, but you can log onto boiseweekly. com for your weekly fix. “This Modern World” will also return next week after taking a little breather. Major content sections—like Noise, Food, Rec, News and Arts—are all on hiatus for the week, but you will find our complete weekly guide to events. Picks, 8 Days Out and the Music Guide are all in print so that we don’t leave your social calendar totally high and dry for the week. Now, to leave you with one more oldie but goodie from years past ... In 1994, Rich Hazzard, who was a bartender at—get this—Joe’s All American Bar and Grill, was voted Best Bartender. Whether you know it or not, that particular category is a pretty heated competition this year, with several of Boise’s well-known bartenders trying to de-throne threetime winner Mark Allen at Red Feather Lounge. Will Allen take the title again? Check back next week to find out. And one nine-year winner is in the running for 10 years straight in one category. Oh the suspense. It’s killing you, right? —Rachael Daigle

SUBSCRIPTIONS: 4 months-$40, 6 months-$50, 12 months-$95, Life-$1,000. ISSN 1944-6314 (print) ISSN 1944-6322 (online) Boise Weekly is owned and operated by Bar Bar Inc., an Idaho corporation. TO CONTACT US: Boise Weekly’s office is located at 523 Broad St., Boise, ID 83702 Phone: 208-344-2055 Fax: 208-342-4733 E-mail: info@boiseweekly.com www.boiseweekly.com Address editorial, business and production correspondence to: Boise Weekly, P.O. Box 1657, Boise, ID 83701 The entire contents and design of Boise Weekly are ©2010 by Bar Bar, Inc. EDITORIAL DEADLINE: Thursday at noon before publication date. SALES DEADLINE: Thursday at 3 p.m. before publication date. Deadlines may shift at the discretion of the publisher. Boise Weekly was founded in 1992 by Andy and Debi Hedden-Nicely. Larry Ragan had a lot to do with it too. BOISE WEEKLY IS AN INDEPENDENTLY OWNED AND OPERATED NEWSPAPER.

WWW. B OISEWEEKLY.C O M

COVER ARTIST ARTIST: Adam Rosenlund TITLE: The Beast of Boise MEDIUM: Digital ARTIST STATEMENT: Drop by floodworks.net to check out more illustrations and comics by yours truly. Or you can look for my work every week in this fine publication, if you’re the lazy sort.

SUBMIT

Boise Weekly pays $150 for published covers. One stipulation of publication is that the piece must be donated to BW’s annual charity art auction in November. Proceeds from the auction are reinvested in the local arts community through a series of private grants for which all artists are eligible to apply. To submit your artwork for BW’s cover, bring it to BWHQ at 523 Broad St. Square formats are preferred and all mediums are accepted. Thirty days from your submission date, your work will be ready for pick up if it’s not chosen to be featured on the cover. Work not picked up within six weeks of submission will be discarded.

BOISEweekly | SEPTEMBER 22–28, 2010 | BEST OF BOISE: STAFF PICKS | 3

Boise Weekly Vol. 19 Issue 13  

Best of Boise 2010: Staff Picks

Boise Weekly Vol. 19 Issue 13  

Best of Boise 2010: Staff Picks