Page 56

U.T.A. The winner was Miss Carleen Mayo; she received a $150 scholarship for her efforts. During the year, four men crossed the sands into Alphadom; those Brothers were Darryl W. Brewer, Lorenso B. Evans, Larry Kemp and Glenn McDuffie. While sphinxmen these Brothers gave service by lending a hand at the Boys Club and held a rap session with high school students about college. Brothers Lorenso and Glenn attend Texas Christian University where Eta Psi Chapter is inactive. It is our desire to initiate Brothers to reactivate Eta Psi T.C.U. Zeta Chi applauds our Brothers who are moving to higher heights such as Jimmy Bailey, upon graduation will begin working for the Dallas Police Department. Roy Dewalt, All-American Quarterback is the sixth round draft choice of the Cleveland Browns football team. Thomas Hopson is now a sales representative for Proctor and Gamble. Upon graduation William Hulley will be moving to better things. On July 1 1 , 1 2, & 18, Zeta Chi held its local convention in the Hertford Student Center. During the convention we plan the events for the upcoming school year, which will include Founder's Week, Miss Black U.T.A., Black play, family and fun outings, the Alpha Classic, Reby Cary scholarship fund, Greek show, Alpha Cabaret and other projects. The officers for 1980-81 are as follows: B. Leon Horton, President; Jimmy Bailey, Vice-President; Larry Baty, Treasurer; James Hawthorne, Recording Secretary; Darryl Brewer, Corresponding Secretary; Rodney Lewis, Dean of Pledges; Lorenzo Evans, Asst. Dean of Pledges; Glenn McDuffie, Chaplain; and Larry Kemp, Chapter Historian. We, the Brothers if Zeta Chi, wish everyone a great year in Alpha, and welcome all Brothers to the "Frat House" — 503 Oak, Arlington, Texas.

u of central arkansas The Spring of 1980 represented very joyous times for the Theta Psi chapter in that it carried over its largest line since its arrival at the University of Central Arkansas in December, 1973. Ten distinguished young men aspiring to become the most they can in life proudly crossed the "burning sands" into the fraternal bond of Alpha Phi Alpha. The new Brothers of the Theta Psi chapter are Herman Allen, Darryl Arbor, George Bryant, Michael Cala54

Showing that they're "numero uno" are the Brothers of Theta Psi Chapter. Kneeling (L-R) are Dante James, Michael Calmese, Ricky Fuquay, Jerry Malone and Herman Allen. Standing are Johnny Simpson, Alfred Jarrett, Darryl Arbor, George Bryant and Carl Frazier.

mese, Carl Frazier, Rickey Fuquay, Dante James, Alfred Jarrett, Jerry Malone and Johnny Simpson. As these new Brothers go out and begin their work we know that they will be striving to keep Alpha Phi Alpha the greatest fraternity ever and work diligently to help it grow and prosper even more. Other Brothers of the Theta Psi chapter includes: Brothers Greg Adams, Michael Coleman, Charles Ford, John Graham, Terry Hall, Paul Kimbrough, Larry Lanes, Willie Morris, Dennis Rice and Charles Thomas. Though we are aware that there will be times in our new Brothers' lives when they will feel that is lost, we know that they will work in the "spirit of Alpha" to overcome these moments of hardship. In bidding these new Brothers in a warm and hearty welcome into Alpha Phi Alpha, we wish them and all men of Alpha continued success in all of their endeavors as they continue to march "onward and upward toward the light."

u of houston The Brothers of Eta Mu Chapter, Houston, Texas extend warm fraternal greeting to all of our Brothers in Alpha. Eta Mu Chapter was founded on April 17, 1971 by these seven young men: Brothers Terry Hughes, Darron Ingram, Roy Johnson, Earl Newsome, Record Sampson, James Self and

Lemuel Smith. These Brothers have made numerous contributions to the fraternity and community. Since the birth of our chapter, fourty-five men have been initiated into Eta Mu Chapter. The last line, "Seven Entities of Esquire" was initiated into HM during the spring of 1980. Eta Mu has always insisted that our members be outstanding and not mediocre. We are proud to announce the initiation of these seven gallant young men: Brothers Micheal Fain, Steve Greg, Dexter Jones, Ron Russell, Paul Stivers, Merrill Wade and Cecil Ward. The chapter began the spring semester by celebrating Black History Month. Brother Greg Nixon spearheaded a "March for Unity." This solemn occasion was followed by a Black Student Rally. This march was given to promote unity between Black students at the University of Houston and Texas Southern University campuses. During the course of the spring semester, the Brothers sponsored a dance to raise money for the Million Dollar Fund Drive. We also sponsored a Blood Drive for the Blood Center of Houston on our campus. Both of these events were successful. To close out the spring semester, we held our chapter's Ninth Anniversary Banquet. The following awards were presented: Outstanding Brother The Sphinx / Fall 1980

The SPHINX | Fall 1980 | Volume 66 | Number 3 198006603  

Stewardship is the highlight feature in General President James R. Williams' speech. Chicago is the host city for the 74th General Conventio...

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you