Sophisticated Settings - Lifestyle August 10 2013

Page 1

August 10, 2013 - August 16, 2013, The Afro-American

The winners: fourth princess, Souadou Drame, Miss Guinea; first princess, Alice Gyamfi, Miss Ghana; Miss Africa USA pageant winner, Kathy Onwu, Miss Nigeria; second princess; Lischen Peso Reeves, Miss Liberia and third princess, Jeneba Wanjah, Miss Sierra Leone


athy Onwu, a registered nurse who is studying for a master’s degree to pursue a career as a family nurse practitioner, was crowned Miss Africa USA 2013 on July 13. The Miss Africa USA Pageant, featuring 21 U.S. residents from 21 African countries, was held at the Fillmore Theater in Silver Spring, Md. Onwu, who currently lives in Nashville, Tenn. and is the reigning Miss Nigeria, is an Enugu State native. Special honorees included Obioma Liyel-Imoke, first lady of Cross River State, Nigeria; Leila Lopes, Miss Universe, 2011-2012 and Gina Paige, co- founder of African Ancestry. com. Photo by Rob Roberts

Community Empowerment Award being presented by Lady Kate (far left)

Gina Paige, Co-Founder of African being presented the Spirit of Africa Award by Lady Kate

King Peggy, Africa’s first female leader, from Ghana

Contestant showcasing African glamour fashion

Hope Sullivan Masters (left), honorary chair of the pageant

Sophie Dijey (left), the reigning Calabar Carnival Queen from Cross River State Nigeria and Genet Tsegay, The reigning Miss World Ethiopia is from Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

Farai Gundan, one of the judges (left) and Lady Kate Njeuma, the founder of the Miss Africa USA Pageant

Winner of the Miss Africa USA Pageant, 2012-2013, Kathy Onwu, Miss Nigeria

Blue, Red, Yellow...the colors of pageantry African Chiefs from Cameroon

Miss Africa USA 2011-2012 from the Republic of Cameroon, Ghyslaine Tchouaga

Three of the 2013 pageant judges

Unity Dance being performed by contestants Edgar Brookins, Lady Kate Atabong Njeuma , CEO/Founder, Miss Africa USA Pageant, Avis Thomas Lester and John Lester

Traditional African Dance

The five Miss Africa USA finalists

Dr. Kimberly Brown, former Miss Black Alabama, MC Commentator speaking with the audience

Over $80,000 was awarded to students pictured here who participated in this year’s scholarship program

D.C. Fire Chief Kenneth B. Ellerbe was the keynote speaker at the Prince Hall Freemason and Eastern Star Charitable Foundation’s 2013 Jurisdictional Scholarship Awards program at the Masonic Temple. This year, over $80,000

Grand Worthy Patron Thomas L. Coleman, Grand Worthy Matron Barbara E. Murray, Fidelity Chapter #10’s Worthy Patron H. LaRay Evans, II, Fidelity Chapter #10’s Worthy Matron Shirley Evans Cooley, Most Worshipful Grand Master John T. Doles, Sr., Foundation President George C. Lacy, and Foundation Vice President Kelli J. McCoy-Burkett. Worthy Matron Cooley and Worthy Patron Evans are pictured here awarding Fidelity Chapter #10’s scholarship to Ronald Scott, Jr.

John T. Doles, Sr., Most Worshipful Grand Master, congratulated the scholarship winners

was awarded to graduating seniors or continuing college students in the D.C. area in the program, which is conducted by the Prince Hall Grand Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, and the Georgiana Thomas Grand Chapter of the Order

Grand Worthy Patron Thomas L. Coleman, Grand Worthy Matron Barbara E. Murray, Scholarship Recipient Mariame Diallo, Electa Chapter #6’s Worthy Matron Shari L. McCoy, Most Worshipful Grand Master John T. Doles, Sr., Foundation President George C. Lacy, and Foundation Vice President Kelli J. McCoy-Burkett. Mariame is the recipient of Electa Chapter #6’s Henrine K. Gillis Scholarship

The Sons of the Spirit Youth Band provided music for the scholarship program

Courtesy photos

of the Eastern Star. Ellerbe is a 33rd degree Mason. Since its inception in 1957, the local Masonic organization has awarded more than $50 million in college scholarships.

Grand Worthy Patron Thomas L. Coleman, Grand Worthy Matron Barbara E. Murray, Scholarship Recipient Kayla Williams, Most Worshipful Past Grand Master J. Raymond Murray, Most Worshipful Grand Master John T. Doles, Sr., Foundation President George C. Lacy, and Foundation Vice President Kelli J. McCoyBurkett. Kayla, the granddaughter of J. Raymond and Barbara E. Murray, will attend Allegheny College

Phyllis S. Byrd Youth Fraternity Director Annette Scarboro, Princess Matron Jordan Jones and Prince Patron Arndre T.J. Hudson congratulate scholarship recipient Past Princess Matron Kayla Williams. The Phyllis S. Byrd Youth Fraternity is the youth outreach group of The Georgiana Thomas Grand Chapter, Order of the Eastern Star, PHA

Fire Chief Kenneth B. Ellerbe, a 33rd degree Mason, was the keynote speaker for the 2013 Jurisdictional Scholarship Program

August 10, 2013 - August 16, 2013, The Afro-American


Rays Of Hope awardees taking the pledge

Victor Lewis, 2011 awardee

Keith Snipes, keynote speaker

Rays Of Hope awardees, back row, Cleveland Epps, Ja Qwan Neuman-Mason, Jordan Jackson and Christian Stevens. Front row, Aaron White, Koran Harris, Calvin Alford, Matthew Reeds, Jahi Omari and Freeman McLean Photos by Anderson Ward

Victor Olalekan, 2011 awardee

As is their tradition, on the Saturday before Father’s Day, Black Professional Men held its 20th Rays of Hope Awards and Scholarship Breakfast, June 16 at the Sheraton Baltimore Hotel on Fayette Street. Scholarships were given to young men who show potential to become global leaders and recognition was given to those who excel in their professions and offer guidance and serve as role models to the young men. Delante DeSouza, 2012 awardee

Dr. Josephine Ball and Janet Jones

Black Professional Men, back row; Ken Morris, Scott Phillips, Brian Olds, Fitzhugh Alfred, Rod Carter, vice president; Nick Chidiac, O’Neill McDaniels Jr., Kyle Skinner and Kendrick Tilghman. Front Samuel Stackhouse

George Collins, Wanda Watts and Brenda Fletcher

While frequently recognized for football exploits, Jameel McClain was recently recognized by the Baltimore branch of the NAACP for the kindness he shows to local residents with his philanthropic work, his efforts to encourage young people and his ongoing assistance in the fight against hunger. At the June 28 event at Baltimore Hotel Monaco, branch president, Tessa Hill-Aston called him an “excellent role model to young people,” and thanked him for his dedication to “giving back to the community.”

Tribute to Ed Terry

Adrian Muldrow, 3rd. v.p. Balto. chapter NAACP, Jameel McClain, Balto. Ravens and Tessa Hill-Aston, Balto. chapter NAACP pres.

Photos by Anderson Ward

Photos by Anderson Ward

Harriet Ado, guest dancer with Mari Andrea Travis, artistic director Charm City Dance Theater, under the direction of Mari Andrea Travis, recently performed its annual company concert – Doxa - at the Howard County Center of the Arts. The dance troop is the resident company of Flair Dance Studio and is Baltimore’s “premiere preprofessional dance company.” Travis, who works with Flair Studios in Washington D.C. to organize college dance programs, will be attending Sarah Lawrence College in New York this fall.

Westley J. Henry and Westley Henry

Melva Eaton and Joyce Eaton

Gary Brooks, Joe Aston, Adrian Muldrow and Cedric Lowe

Mari Travis, artistic director, Alice Tucker, Judge Joyce Baylor -Thompson and Willia Bland, Flair Studio Maria Bernal, Diane Brown, Mona Hanson and Gwen Patillo L-R Doris Kelly, Joyce Harrell, Dana Senior, Pamela Massie, Trudy Booker and Clarence Kelly

Harriet Ado Maisy Johnson, left, Darryl Johnson, Maxwell Johnson, Chana Johnson, Cayla Kelly and Monae Johnson