Page 1

Wielkopolska the greatest tourist attractions


Wielkopolska Location Wielkopolska Province is located in the basin of Warta river, in the central part of WielkopolskoKujawska Lowland. Simultaneously, it is situated on the crossroads of the main European EastWest track leading from Berlin to Moskow (via Poznań, Konin and Warsaw) and the track from Prague towards the north (via Wrocław, Leszno, Poznań). As a result, the province has very favourable transportation connections with other European countries as well as the rest of the world.

Area The province occupies the area of 29.826 km2, which is 9,5% of the Polish territory.

Cover photos:

Population

Castle in Gołuchów PHOTO: T. K. MARCINKOWSKI MALESZKA

Wielkopolska is inhabited (approximately) by 3,4 million people, which is 8,7% of the whole population of Poland.

Steam Engine Show - Wolsztyn PHOTO: W.LIS

Monument of Boleslaw the Brave in Gniezno PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOURIST „SZLAK PIASTOWSKI” DISTRICTORGANISATION OFFICE IN GNIEZNO

Radolińscy Palace - Jarocin

The capital

PHOTO: D. BÓGDAŁ - WWW.FOTOZNIEBA.PL

„Return of the King” - Rydzyna PHOTO: K. STROIŃSKA

The capital of the province is Poznań, a city with population of 600 000 people. Due to its economic, commercial, scientific, cultural and tourist significance, the city is considered the centre of western Poland. Also, Poznań has its own airport (Ławica airport) performing both national and international functions.

The National Museum of Agriculture and the Food Industry in Szreniawa PHOTO: Z. SZMIDT

Sanctuary of the Blessed Mary of Licheń PHOTO: A. ŁĄCKI

Church of the Sacred Heart of Jesus in Turek PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN AND COMMUNE OFFICE IN TUREK

Important cities Gniezno, Kalisz, Konin, Leszno, Ostrów Wielkopolski, Piła.

PHOTO: A. CIEŚLIK

ISBN 978-83-61454-50-2

www.wielkopolska.travel www.turystyka-kulturowa-wlkp.pl WOJEWÓDZTWO WIELKOPOLSKIE

UNIA EUROPEJSKA EUROPEJSKI FUNDUSZ ROZWOJU REGIONALNEGO

Project co-financed by the European Union through the Regional Development Fund, as part of the Wielkopolska Regional Operational Program for the years 2007 - 2013 EUROPEAN FUNDS FOR INNOVATION AND DEVELOPMENT IN WIELKOPOLSKA


...and this is Wielkopolska after all...

PHOTO: P. SKÓRNICKI

Stanisław Wyspiański, Polish playwright and artist, once said: “...and this is Polska after all...” When thinking about Wielkopolska, one could paraphrase the artist’s words as in the above line with respect to the Wielkopolska region. This is where Poland began because this is the place where the first Piast rulers established the foundation of the Polish nation. To this day, it is not clear where exactly they were baptized, whether it was on Ostrów Tumski in Poznań (a small island on River Warta), or on Ostrów Lednicki (a small island on Lake Lednickie), or in Gniezno (a town north of Poznań).

PHOTO: W. LIS

Skansen of the Ethnic Architecture of Western Wielkopolska in Wolsztyn

PHOTO: R. PINKOWSKI

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN OFFICE IN KALISZ

Theatre in Kalisz

Wielkopolska enchants us with its landscape of slightly undulating plains and lusciously green open space with numerous lakes and forests. The most attractive among them are the Notecka and the Zielonka Forests. In this region are also the Wielkopolski National Park, a section of the Drawieński National Park, as well as 13 landscape parks with many nature preserves, including the Morasko Meteorite site in Poznań. It is in Wielkopolska that the world-famous and largest in Europe concentration of ancient oaks can be found in Rogalin, a village close to Poznań.

Awe-inspiring hills comprise three post-moraine ranges that are rather modest in altitude but rich in beauty. They stretch among the following towns: Leszno-Gostyń-Żerków, Gorzyń-Pniewy-Gniezno, and Piła-Wyrzysk. They along with numerous postglacial lakes are the reminders of the presence of a Scandinavian glacier in this region’s distant past. Wielkopolska also boasts large clusters of lakes located in the Międzychód-Sieraków lake region and near Wągrowiec, Gniezno, Poznań, Leszno and Wolsztyn. Archeologists have placed humans in this region around 12,000 years ago. Throughout centuries, the rich history of Wielkopolska has been reflected in the diversity of architectural styles dating from different periods of art history. The Romanesque Wielkopolska has been best documented along the Piast Route. The Gothic style visible in sacral architecture has left an indelible mark on the Gniezno and Poznań cathedrals, as well as on the Gostyń parish church. The Poznań Town Hall is a magnificent example of the Renaissance architecture. The Baroque structures built in this area have evolved into a regional variety of that style, including, for example, the town hall and churches in Leszno, the monasteries in Gostyń and Ląd, the Poznań parish church, and the Rydzyna castle. Classicism prevailed in secular buildings such as the Raczyńskich Library in Poznań and in the country palaces of Czerniejewo and Pawłowice. The Romantic style has been best captured in the Kórnik castle. Wooden architecture, both religious and secular, is another quite significant part of local history. For example, the wooden town hall in Sulmierzyce and a remainder of the Dutch settlers’ presence near the town of Nowy Tomyśl. The Wielkopolska Province covers the area of 29,826 km2 and is inhabited by over 3.3 million people. About 50% of the region is made up of farmland and up to 25% of forests. Poznań is the capital of Wielkopolska and the largest city whereas the town of Dolsk is the smallest. There are 109 towns and cities in Wielkopolska, and most of them are rather small but possess long histories. The greatest distance between the opposite edges of the province, i.e., between Okonek, the town farthest to the north, and Rychtał, the town farthest to the south, spans 292 km. Introduction

1


Poznań Old Market Square – the Heart of the City

The contemporary Poznań Old Market Square has become one great café with many of the buildings housing a variety of cafes, pubs and restaurants. Within the market, there are a few places of great historic interest: the palaces of the Działyński, Mielżyński and Górka families, the Museum of Musical Instruments, and the Museum of Henryk Sienkiewicz, a Polish writer and Nobel Prize laureate.

Old Market Square

PHOTO: P. SKÓRNICKI

The 16th-century homes of the less prominent merchants located near the Town Hall boast arcades, a rare example of old trade buildings in Poland. They appeared when the medieval merchants’ original wooden stalls were replaced by narrow, tall brick buildings that became their residences. The municipal weighing hall called Waga was rebuilt after WWII. Also nearby is the former guardhouse called Odwach, a Classicist structure built by Johann Christian Kamsetzer.

PHOTO: D. KRAKOWIAK

It was in 1253 when Poznań was still a town located just on the left bank of Warta River, that the Duke Przemysł I granted the town Magdeburg rights thus giving it an official status and providing a specific structure for its expansion. From then on the Market Square became the heart of the town. Each side of the square approximately, 140 m in length, had three streets leading to and from it. The first town hall was erected in the north-east corner and the weighing hall on the north-west side of the square. This arrangement has survived until today despite some changes made to other structures in the center of the market. Undoubtedly, the Renaissance Town Hall has been the most prominent edifice in the Old Market Square, having served in the past as an office for the municipal authorities. Most probably, the first town hall had been built in the second half of the 13th century. The fire that consumed it in 1536 prompted the construction of the current structure that garners the wide admiration for its unique beauty. It is the only one like that in Poland thanks to the work of an Italian artist Giovanni Battista di Quadro from Lugano. He gave the Poznań Town Hall the most original shape and Renaissance styling. The head-bucking goats atop the tower have added an entertaining aspect to the building having charmed Poznań citizens and visitors since the time of its construction. They were created by Master Bartłomiej Wolf of Gubin to mark a legendary event involving two little goats. Hence, in keeping with the legend the clock has their mechanical likenesses emerge every day at noon to mark the middle of the day.

Poznań billy goats

The Świętosławska street, branching out of the Old Market Square, leads to the parish church under the patronage of the Blessed Mary of Perpetual Help, St. Mary Magdalen and St. Stanisław the Bishop. It is the most beautiful Baroque church in Poznań, designed by Bartłomiej Nataniel Wąsowski, rector of the Jesuit College in Poznań. It has a three-nave layout with emporas over the aisles and monumental columns in the main nave attributed to the Rector’s creative design idea. The magnificent main altar and the entrance portal were designed by Pompeo Ferrari, an Italian architect. Typical for Baroque style were the many sculpted, stucco and painted decorations adorning the magnificent interior of this landmark structure.

Museum of the History of Poznań in the Town Hall 61-772 Poznań, Stary Rynek 1 tel. +48 61 852 56 13 www.mnp.art.pl Open: Tuesday, Thursday, Friday 9 a.m. – 5 p.m., Saturday 10 a.m. – 4 p.m., Sunday 10 a.m. – 3 p.m. Admission fee except on Fridays.

Fountain at the Old Market Square

2

Poznań

PHOTO: D. KRAKOWIAK

PHOTO: K. STROIŃSKA

Poznań Parish Church 61-834 Poznań, ul. Gołębia 1 (Parish Office ul. Klasztorna 11) tel. +48 61 852 69 50

Parish Church


Okonek

Jastrowie Złotów Gwda

Krajenka

Łobżenica

Wysoka

PIŁA

Wyrzysk Osiek nad Notecią

Kaczory

Szamocin

Ujście

Trzcianka

Chodzież

Drawieński Park Narodowy

Margonin Gołańcz

Czarnków

Wieleń

Noteć

Krzyż Wielkopolski

Tarnowo Pałuckie Łekno

Lubasz

Wągrowiec Puszcza Notecka Jaracz Warta

Sieraków

Sierakowski Park Krajobrazowy

Oborniki

Rokietnica

Poznań Lwówek

POZNAŃ

A2 Nowy Tomyśl

Opalenica Buk

Zbąszyń

Grodzisk Wielkopolski

Wolsztyn Obra

Stęszew

Wielichowo

Wielkopolski Park Mosina Narodowy

A2 Rychwał

Pr

Tuliszków

Dąbie

Turek

Dobra

Stawiszyn

na

Pleszew

os

Gębice

Koło

Zagórów

Jarocin

Żelazków Dobrzyca

Russów Gołuchów

Pępowo Krobia

KONIN Stare Miasto

Warta Pyzdry Żerkowsko-Czeszewski Park Krajobrazowy Żerków Śmiełów

Koźmin Pogorzela Wielkopolski

Rokosowo

Golina

Nowe Miasto nad Wartą

Borek Wielkopolski

Gostyń Pawłowice

Kłodawa

A2 Nadwarciański Park Krajobrazowy Ląd Miłosław

Środa Wielkopolska

Zaniemyśl

Książ Wielkopolski

Osieczna

Poniec

Przedecz Licheń

Koszuty Kórnik

Cichowo

Rydzyna

Sompolno

Ślesin Słupca

Krzywiń Dolsk Lubiń

LESZNO

Kleczew

Giecz

Kościan

Śmigiel

Powidz

Grzybowo Września

Park Śrem Krajobrazowy Gen. D. Chłapowskiego

Przemęt Przemęcki Park Krajobrazowy

Nadgoplański Park Krajobrazowy

Witkowo

Kostrzyn

Rogalin Rogaliński Park Krajobrazowy Czempiń

Rakoniewice

Gniezno Trzemeszno Powidzki Park Krajobrazowy

Park Krajobrazowy Uzarzewo Promno Czerniejewo Swarzędz

Luboń Puszczykowo

Szreniawa

Mieleszyn

Lednicki Długa Goślina Park Krajobrazowy Puszcza Zielonka Dziekanowice Murowana Goślina Pobiedziska

Szamotuły Pniewy

Mniszki Miedzichowo

Skoki

Ostroróg

Kwilcz

Pszczewski Park Krajobrazowy

Mieścisko

Obrzycko Słopanowo

Kłecko

Chrzypsko Wielkie

Międzychód

Rogoźno

Wronki

Kobylin

Raszków Miejska Górka Jutrosin Rawicz

Zduny Sulmierzyce

Koźminek

KALISZ Opatówek

Lewków

Krotoszyn

Bojanowo

Nowe Skalmierzyce Ostrów Wielkopolski Przygodzice

Odolanów Antonin Mikstat Park Krajobrazowy Dolina Baryczy Ostrzeszów

Grabów nad Prosną

Kobyla Góra Kępno Bralin

Church of Saint John of Jerusalem 61-113 Poznań, ul. Świętojańska 1 tel. +48 61 877 17 17 PHOTO: D. KRAKOWIAK

SS Peter and Paul Archdiocese, see Basilica 61-120 Poznań, ul. Ostrów Tumski 17 tel. +48 61 852 96 42 The cathedral is open to visitors throughout the whole year but it is not available for sightseeing during the Holy Mass and other church services. Admission to the cathedral is free. There is a fee, though, for visiting the exhibits in the basement area which are open only between April and October, it is just the downstairs exhibit area that remains closed between November and March.

Cathedral

Ostrów Tumski The cathedral named after Saint Peter and Saint Paul of the Apostles is a Gothic structure with a 15thcentury three-nave basilica plan, an ambulatory surrounding the presbytery, and a series of chapels around its perimeter. The cathedral has served as a necropolis to the Piast dynasty - Mieszko I, Bolesław Chrobry, Mieszko II, Kazimierz Odnowiciel, and Przemysł II. On the ground floor is the Chapel of the First Polish Rulers - Duke Mieszko I and King Bolesław Chrobry - also known as the Golden Chapel. While walking in the streets surrounding the Cathedral, visitors may see: a Church of the Blessed Mary erected in the 13th century; a late-Gothic psalterium; and several 19th-century canonries and the Archbishops' palace that have been designed by Juliusz Salkowski (1853 - 1854). A statue of John Paul II, carved by Krystyna Fałdyga-Solska, has been placed in front of the Metropolitan Curia building. Following a brief stroll along the Lubrańskiego street, visitors will reach the Lubrański Academy, a building that currently houses the Archdiocese Museum. (For more information, please refer to the section "This is Where Poland Has Begun.")

Royal and Imperial Route The Royal and Imperial Route follows Poznań’s history. The first rulers of the Piast dynasty resided in Ostrów Tumski. Later, the castle erected on the Przemysł Hill frequently hosted royalty. Poznań was visited by emperors several times. Otto II was the first of them, a German Emperor who came here on his way to Gniezno in the year 1000. In 1806, Napoleon Bonaparte made Poznań the capital city of Europe just for a few days. Another castle, erected in 1910, was built for Wilhelm II. This Royal and Imperial Route begins in the Śródka district and ends in the so-called “castle district”. ba

The Archdiocese Museum 61-108 Poznań, ul. J. Lubrańskiego 1 tel. +48 61 852 61 95 www.muzeum.poznan.pl It is open Tuesday through Friday 10 a.m. - 5 p.m., on Saturday 9 a.m. – 3 p.m. Last visitors are admitted 30 minutes before closing time. Royal Castle - the Museum of Applied Art 61-768 Poznań, Góra Przemysła 1 tel. +48 61 852 20 35 www.mnp.art.pl Open: Tuesday – Saturday 10 a.m. – 4 p.m., Sunday 10 a.m. – 3 p.m. Admission required except for Saturdays. Models of the Old Poznań 61-768 Poznań, ul. Franciszkańska 2 in the basement of the Franciscan Church (entrance from Ludgardy Street) tel. +48 61 855 14 35, mob. 602463028 Open: every day 9:30 a.m. - 7:15 p.m. (every 45 minutes) Admission fee. www.makieta.poznan.pl

ba

PHOTO: K. PRZYBYŁA

PHOTO: D. KRAKOWIAK

Historic Model of Poznań Church of Saint John of Jerusalem

It is one of the first brick Romanesque churches built in Poland at the turn of 12th and 13th centuries by the Order of the Saint John of Jerusalem. Later on it became subject to frequent alterations and reconstructions. Currently, it has a two-nave layout with a starry vault. Inside there are four items worthy of interest: a late Gothic triptych depicting the conversation between the Virgin Mary and Saint John the Baptist, a 16th-century sandstone baptismal font, a 15th-century lattice in the Chapel of the Holy Cross, and within this chapel a miracle cross that once used to mark the road to Śródka.

Historic Model of Poznań

PHOTO: D. KRAKOWIAK

Church of Saint John of Jerusalem

Royal Castle

Royal Castle In the 13th-century, two Piasts, Duke Przemysł I and later his son King Przemysł II erected a massive castle on the Przemysł Hill. It used to tower over the Market Square. To this day, only the Gothic basement remains of what used to be the oldest royal residence in Poland. What is standing today is the 18thcentury version of the castle rebuilt after WWII. Currently, it houses the Museum of Applied Art.

The Baroque Church of the Franciscan Order is located across the street from the castle. Its basement holds three models of the old Poznań. The first one represents the way Poznań looked during the reign of the first Piasts in early 11th century. The second model shows old Poznań enhanced with light and sound effects. It was created by the Poznań wood carver, Krzysztof Przybyła, and was based on the 1618 etching by Braun Hogenberg. It offers a glimpse into the Poznań past including some nolonger-existing buildings. The third one - a model of Ostrów Tumski and the Old Market Square - is intended for the visually impaired and is equipped with labels and descriptions in Braille. Poznań

3


Poznań Imperial Castle The residence of the German emperor was built between 1905 and 1910 according to the design of Franz Schwechten in the Neo-Romanesque style. The sprawling building resembles Medieval castles, especially the Romanesque landmarks of Germany and Italy. Following Poland’s liberation in 1918, the castle became the seat of a newly-created university the Poznań University. During the inter-war period in the early 20th century, it served also as one of the official residences for Polish presidents. Today, it houses a vibrant arts and culture center called "Zamek". ba

PHOTO: Z. SZMIDT

Raczyńscy Library

This is the oldest public library in Poland. It was founded by Count Edward Raczyński and opened in 1829 in a building constructed specifically for that purpose in the part of Poznań called “New Athens.”

PHOTO: D. KRAKOWIAK

Raczyńscy Library

Imperial Castle

Next to the library, there used to be a gallery of works by Atanazy Raczyński. The characteristic colonnade in the front of the library building slightly resembles the eastern façade of the Louvre. The statue of Hygea adorns the front of the building. Konstancja Raczyńska, the Count’s wife, served as a model for this sculpture. ba PHOTO: K. STROIŃSKA

Castle District PHOTO: K. STROIŃSKA

Polish Theater

Polish Theater The theater building constructed between 1873 and 1875 was designed by Stanisław Hebanowski. It is the only still existing theater hall from that period. Its interior has been beautifully preserved. An inscription over the entrance dedicates it to the citizens of Poland because it was built from their contributions. Early on, the theater was also supported by the income drawn from a no-longer-existing apartment building. 4

Poznań

It was built near the imperial castle following Joseph Stubben’s idea of combining garden areas with public buildings. The Mickiewicz square serves as the center of the complex. Collegium Minus (the office of the Rector of the Adam Mickiewicz University) is situated not far from Zamek across the Mickiewicz square. Collegium Minus is home to the imposing architecturally and perfect acoustically concert hall called Aula Uniwersytecka designed by Edward Furstenau. The Poznań Opera, built in 1910, at first served as a branch of the Berlin Opera. It was constructed according to the design of Max Littmann. The Opera building, also referred to as the Great Theater, bears the statue of Pegasus above the main

entrance. There are two monuments in the Mickiewicz Square: one of Adam Mickiewicz created by Bazyli Wójtowicz, and another of the Poznań Crosses commemorating the Poznań events of 1956, designed by Adam Graczyk. Collegium Iuridicum, located next to University Hall, is another building within the the Castle District. And across the street from it is the building of the Ignacy Jan Paderewski Academy of Music (previously the Evangelical Home) combined with a recently constructed modern concert hall called Aula Nova. Collegium Maius, a building next to the Opera House, was originally home to the Prussian Colonization Office. At present, Collegium Maius houses the offices of the Adam Mickiewicz University and of the University of Medical Sciences. Centrum Kultury Zamek 61-809 Poznań, ul. Święty Marcin 80/82 tel. +48 61 646 52 00 www.zamek.poznan.pl


It is here that Poland began Through the use of the latest methods in dating historical sites, the time of settling Ostrów Tumski has been moved to the turn of the 9th and 10th centuries. The first burg was small, about 40 meters in diameter, and its walls protected the residents from Warta river floods and from invaders. In the 10th century, the burg grew in size and it became home to the Duke, also a mission post was set up in the adjacent addition to the burg. During the reign of Mieszko I, the burg was further expanded and reinforced. Another section was added between 970 and 980 along the present Posadzego street. The hook-shaped fortification made out of wood, stone and dirt was 25 meters thick and about 10 meters high. The most recent research allows us to describe the size and plan of the ground floor of the palace as something exceptional, due both to its size and to the use of stone instead of wood, since up to that point wood had been the primary construction material for the older surrounding structures. There was a chancellory inside the palace, as evidenced by the seals and clay housings for the seal printer including an impression of the gemma with a representation of a dog (12th century) and a lead bulla of Duke Bolesław Krzywousty.

Ostrów Tumski Ostrów Tumski, surrounded by the Warta and Cybina rivers, is located in the oldest part of Poznań. Pope John Paul II once said “It is here that Poland began.” In the middle of the 10th century, Duke Mieszko I set up a burg in place of an earlier settlement. Soon after, it became the first episcopate. The first cathedral was constructed, the pre-Romanesque and Romanesque remainders of which are viewable in the basement of the current Gothic cathedral.

PHOTO: D. KRAKOWIAK

In recent years, Professor Hanna Kóćka-Krenz has helped amend the history of the beginnings of the Polish nation. Together with her team of collaborators she has discovered that the Church of the Blessed Mary has been built over a chapel and a palace. Ostrów Tumski

The museum includes the area of Ostrów Lednicki, the Small Ethnographic Skansen and the Wielkopolska Ethnographic Park (for more information, please refer to the section on Skansens). Ostrów Lednicki is an island about 7.5 hectares in size in the southern part of the Lednickie lake. In the past, it was one of the major defense posts and administrative centers for the Polan tribe, and later for the first Polish rulers Duke Mieszko I and King Bolesław Chrobry. The Small Ethnographic Skansen is a park-like area with several historical structures collected and brought in from different parts of Wielkopolska. A replica of the St. John of Jerusalem church stands next to the entrance, it contains an exhibit of the most valuable items found on Ostrów Lednicki (hence the name of the building “Treasury”).

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE DISTRICT OFFICE IN GNIEZNO WWW.TURYSTYKA.POWIAT-GNIEZNO.PL

Museum of First Piasts on Lednica

Historical sources helped to calculate only the date of April 14, 966 (Saturday before Easter) of the day when Mieszko I was baptized. As was a custom then, baptisms were scheduled once a year, and combined with communions and confirmations. Historians are not quite clear whether this event took place in Poznań or on Ostrów Lednicki or somewhere else. Based on recent discoveries, the palace on Lednica was built sometime later than this event. Besides, it was on Ostrów Tumski where Dąbrówka (the wife to Duke Mieszko I) had initially arrived with Bishop Jordan and where both the first mission post and a chapel for his Christian wife were erected. It might be that there are some remains of the baptistery within that compound. And confirming that would help support the hypothesis about the actual place of the Duke’s baptism.

Ostrów Lednicki

Museum of First Piasts on Lednica 62-261 Lednogóra, Dziekanowice 32 tel. +48 61 427 50 10 fax +48 61 427 50 20 www.lednicamuzeum.pl Open: Tuesday – Saturday 9 a.m. – 5 p.m., Sunday 10 a.m. – 5 p.m. (from February 1 to October 31) Admission fee.

PHOTO: A. PLENZLER

Ostrów Lednicki

It Is Here That Poland Began

5


Okonek

Jastrowie Złotów Gwda

Krajenka

Łobżenica

Wysoka

PIŁA

Wyrzysk Osiek nad Notecią

Kaczory

Szamocin

Ujście

Trzcianka

Chodzież

Drawieński Park Narodowy

Margonin Gołańcz

Czarnków

Wieleń

Noteć

Krzyż Wielkopolski

Tarnowo Pałuckie Łekno

Lubasz

Wągrowiec Puszcza Notecka Jaracz

Sieraków

Warta Wronki Sierakowski Park Krajobrazowy

Rogoźno Oborniki

Zbąszyń

Lwówek

POZNAŃ

First Piasts’ Burg in Giecz The burg in Giecz was built in the first half of the 10th century and was one of the strongest burgs in Poland during the reign of the early Piasts. The remains of the foundations of a Medieval church, the palace and the burg embankment are well preserved. The exhibit pavilion houses an exhibit of the burg’s history and the plans for future archeological research projects. In the northern area of the burg there is a wooden church built around 1767. Closer to the village, a 12th-century Romanesque church of St. Nicholas had been built that contains parts of another chapel dating back to the first part of the 11th century. 6

It is here that Poland began

Pleszew

Tuliszków

Dąbie

Turek

Dobra

Stawiszyn Żelazków

Dobrzyca

Russów Gołuchów

Kobylin

Raszków Miejska Górka Jutrosin Rawicz

Koźminek

KALISZ

Kalisz

Opatówek

Lewków

Krotoszyn

Bojanowo

Nowe Skalmierzyce

Zduny

Ostrów Wielkopolski

Sulmierzyce

Przygodzice Odolanów Antonin Mikstat Park Krajobrazowy Dolina Baryczy Ostrzeszów

Grabów nad Prosną

Kobyla Góra Kępno Bralin

Holy Virgin Mary Assumption Basilica 62-200 Gniezno, ul. Kanclerza Łaskiego 9 tel. +48 61 426 38 98 www.archidiecezja.pl Open: Every work day 9 a.m.-5 p.m., except for 12-1 p.m. during the service; in the months of April and October the Cathedral is closed at 4 p.m.; on Sundays and Holidays open 1-2:30 p.m. and 4-5:30 p.m.; groups must be accompanied by a guide. There is an admission fee to enter the Cathedral and additional charges for viewing: the Gniezno Doors, the basement, the tower, and the belfry. Museum of Poland’s Beginnings 62-200 Gniezno, ul. Kostrzewskiego 1 tel. +48 61 426 46 41 fax +48 61 426 48 41 Open: Tuesday – Sunday www.mppp.pl 9:30 a.m. – 5:30 p.m. Admission fee. Archeological Preserve in Grzybowo 62-309 Września, Grzybowo 10a tel. +48 61 427 50 17 Open: Tuesday – Saturday 9 a.m. – 5 p.m, Sunday 10 a.m. – 5 p.m., between February 1 and October 31. Admission fee The First Piasts’ Burg in Giecz and Archeological Preserve 63-012 Dominowo, Grodziszczko 2 tel. +48 61 285 92 22 Open: Tuesday – Saturday 9 a.m. – 5 p.m., Sunday 10 a.m. – 5 p.m. (between February and October 31. Admission fee.

ba

The Parish of the Ascension of the Blessed Virgin Mary 62-240 Trzemeszno, pl. Kosmowskiego 8 tel. +48 61 415 42 46

Basilica in Trzemeszno

Trzemeszno This town is also part of the Piast Route. This is where Jan Kiliński was born. He was a shoe repairman who became a hero during the Kościuszko insurrection and the town has erected a monument in his honor. The following buildings all comprise a complex of sacral buildings: a cloister, a basilica of the Blessed Virgin Mary, a presbitery, a seminary, and a belfry. It was built by Norberthan canons regular who were brought to Trzemeszno in the 12th century by King Boleslaw Krzywousty. At that time they erected the three-nave Romanesque basilica which kept on evolving in style during consecutive centuries according to the changing tastes and was hence transformed from Gothic to Baroque. It was consumed by fire in 1945 and later rebuilt as a Baroque church, with the layout of a cross and with a large dome. Everything that could be reconstructed of the older parts of the basilica was carefully included in the existing church, among them Romanesque and Gothic fragments of walls and two columns in the main nave. Based on the remaining documentation some furnishings and paintings by Franciszek Smuglewicz were reconstructed as well. The presbytery was later converted into the Abbott’s palace between 1843 and 1862. The late Baroque belfry dates back to the end of 18th century, and so does the seminary.

PHOTO: W. RĄCZKOWSKI

PHOTO: Z. SZMIDT

First Piasts’ Burg in Giecz

Gębice

A2 Rychwał

Jarocin

Pępowo Krobia

Koło

Stare Miasto Zagórów

na

ba

Rokosowo

Poniec

KONIN

Nowe Miasto nad Wartą Borek Wielkopolski

Koźmin Pogorzela Wielkopolski

Pawłowice Rydzyna

Golina

Warta Pyzdry Żerkowsko-Czeszewski Park Krajobrazowy Żerków Śmiełów

Gostyń

Cathedral in Gniezno

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN AND COMMUNE OFFICE IN TRZEMESZNO

This museum covers the beginning stages of Poland’s existence in the Middle Ages and focuses on the history of Gniezno as well as the surrounding area. It offers a multi-media exhibit that brings visitors closer to the times between the mid-10th century and the beginning of the 16th century.

Zaniemyśl

Cichowo Krzywiń Dolsk Lubiń

Kłodawa

A2 Nadwarciański Park Krajobrazowy Ląd Miłosław

Środa Wielkopolska

Książ Wielkopolski

Park Śrem Krajobrazowy Gen. D. Chłapowskiego

LESZNO

Przedecz Licheń

Koszuty Kórnik

Kościan

Śmigiel

Sompolno

Ślesin Słupca

os

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF MUSEUM OF POLAND’S BEGINNINGS

Museum of Poland’s Beginnings

Wielichowo

Kleczew

Giecz

Rogalin Rogaliński Park Krajobrazowy Czempiń

Rakoniewice

Grzybowo

Powidz

Grzybowo Września

Luboń Puszczykowo

Wielkopolski Park Mosina Narodowy

Nadgoplański Park Krajobrazowy

Witkowo

Giecz

Kostrzyn

Osieczna

St. Adalbert’s reliquiary

Museum of Poland’s Beginnings

Stęszew

Gniezno Trzemeszno Powidzki Park Krajobrazowy

Park Krajobrazowy Uzarzewo Promno Czerniejewo Swarzędz

Pr

ba

Szreniawa

Przemęt Przemęcki Park Krajobrazowy

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE DISTRICT OFFICE IN GNIEZNO WWW.TURYSTYKA.POWIAT-GNIEZNO.PL

The current Gothic church is a three-nave building with a typical for basilicas ambulatory surrounding the chancel. The main nave is separated from the presbytery by a rood screen, and the side naves boast 14thcentury arcades with rich Baroque ornamentation. Fourteen chapels are attached to the side naves, and so do two vestries, a library and a new chapter house. The stone portal at the southern end of the main nave that originated in late 14th century is worth seeing. It leads to the Gniezno Doors one of the greatest Romanesque treasures in Europe. They were created in 12th century as a gift from Mieszko III. Of the 24 panels decorating the doors, 18 summarize the history of St. Adalbert’s life. The Saint’s remains and relics are inside a Baroque reliquiary shaped as a coffin with his figure clad in bishop’s robes resting on its top. The Gniezno Doors are framed with floral designs, including human and animal figures, as well as scenes from work, hunts and battles.

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE DISTRICT OFFICE IN GNIEZNO WWW.TURYSTYKA.POWIAT-GNIEZNO.PL

Holy Virgin Mary Assumption Basilica and the Sanctuary of St. Adalbert in Gniezno

Wolsztyn Obra

Opalenica Buk

Grodzisk Wielkopolski

Trzemeszno

Lednica

Rokietnica

Ostrów Tumski

Mieleszyn

Gniezno

Lednicki Długa Goślina Park Krajobrazowy Puszcza Zielonka Dziekanowice Murowana Goślina Pobiedziska

Szamotuły Pniewy

A2

Nowy Tomyśl

Skoki

Ostroróg

Kwilcz

Mniszki Miedzichowo

Mieścisko

Obrzycko Słopanowo

Kłecko

Chrzypsko Wielkie

Międzychód Pszczewski Park Krajobrazowy

Burg in Grzybowo

Burg in Grzybowo The fortified settlement in Grzybowo was established in the beginning of the 10th century and it began to thrive in the later part of that century. What remains until today is a well preserved structure that slowly reveals its secrets thanks to archeological excavations conducted in early 1990s. Some of the items unearthed at this site are on exhibit in the Museum in Września. The burg in Grzybowo is under the curatorship of the Museum of the First Piasts located on Lednica.


Kalisz Kalisia 18 ½

PHOTO: R. BIENECKI

Claudius Ptolemy, a Greek scholar, had issued the birth certificate for Kalisz by mentioning it in his “Geography” in the 2nd century. Numerous cultural events have been scheduled for this celebration.

The phrase “Kalisia 18 ½” may be associated with the Federico Fellini movie “8 1” which it is not. It is a noble endeavor undertaken to celebrate the 1,850 years of this city’s existence scheduled for 2010.

Wojciech Bogusławski Theater

Wojciech Bogusławski Theater

www.diecezja.kalisz.pl

Theatrical traditions go back to the time of Wojciech Bogusławski who arrived with his theater company in 1800. The following year, buoyed by the admiration received from the audiences, he built - at his own expense - a building made of wood and timber. It fell apart 15 years later and a subsequent structure was destroyed by fire. In July 1900, the construction of the new theater began. This Neo-Renaissance structure with an impressive chandelier and modern theater equipment perished in a fire in 1914. The current building was designed by Czesław Przybylski. Its construction began in 1920 and ended in 1936. Its completion speaks to the resilience of the community despite the serious financial challenges the Polish nation endured in the 1920s. This theater continues to hold the yearly Kalisz Theatrical Festival.

Virgin Mary Assumption and Saint Joseph Basilica 62-800 Kalisz, pl. Św. Józefa 7 tel. +48 62 757 58 22 The Wojciech Bogusławski Theater 62-800 Kalisz, plac Teatralny 1 tel. +48 62 502 32 22 www.teatr.kalisz.pl ”Calisia” St. Adalbert Slavic Boat, Mieczysław Machowicz 62-800 Kalisz, ul. Górnośląska 18 tel./fax +48 62 753 43 29 mob.. 509 611 272 Zawodzie Archeological Reserve 62-800 Kalisz, ul. Bolesława Pobożnego tel. +48 62 75 71 608 www.muzeum.kalisz.pl

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN OFFICE IN KALISZ AUTHOR: M. HERTMANN

Cathedral of St. Nicholas 62-800 Kalisz, ul. Kanonicka 5 tel. +48 62 757 39 19

St. Joseph’s Sanctuary

Virgin Mary Assumption and Sanctuary of Saint Joseph Basilica

ba

It's a tourist attraction equalling Biskupin. During excavation works in Zawodzie, a construction of a bulwark was discovered, and inside the burg the foundations of St. Paul's collegiate, which was erected in the second half of the 12th century by Mieszko III, were found. Within the collegiate, the alleged graves of Mieszko III and his son, Mieszko Mieszkowic were discovered. Fragments of the bulwark were reconstructed in the reserve. Seven facilities were selected in order to present housing architecture. St. Adalbert's church is located in the vicinity of the reserve. The present church was founded by Sebastian Zieliński and constructed in 1798 by a carpenter named Jan Kejner. It is a onenave church with a corner-notched log construction.

St. Nicholas’ church

Church of St. Nicholas Church is located near the Main Square. It was elevated to the rank of a cathedral and serves as the episcopate for the Bishop of the Kalisz diocese. The church dates back to 13th century. It was sponsored by a local Count Bolesław Pobożny in 1253. It burned down twice. The current layout of the three-nave church with a Neo-Gothic tower includes further additions made in 19th century. The distinctly Gothic character of the presbytery is visible in the starry vault above it. The wall paintings and stained glass windows, created by Włodzimierz Przerwa-Tetmajer in 1909, decorate the Chapel of the Virgin Mary of Consolation. The baroque interior of the church contains a magnificent copy of the “Removal from the Cross” scene. The original came from the studio of Peter Paul Rubens in Antwerp and it most probably perished during a fire in 1973.

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN OFFICE IN KALISZ AUTHOR: M. HERTMANN

Kalisz Piast Settlement in Zawodzie

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN OFFICE IN KALISZ

PHOTO:ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN OFFICE IN KALISZ AUTHOR: M. HERTMANN

Kalisz Piast Settelment in Zawodzie

The Saint Joseph sanctuary is the Kalisz collegiate church of Virgin Mary Assumption. Its style makes it stand out among other religious structures in the area. It dates back to the 13th century and thanks to the support of Archbishop Jarosław Bogoria Skotnicki the sanctuary was converted to the Gothic style in 1353. In 1358 the church was elevated to the status of collegiate church. In 1790, the temple was reconstructed in a late-Baroque style. In 1978, the church was promoted to become a basilica minor. Inside we will find a number of precious works of the sacred art, including a Romanesque paten, a Gothic chalice which once belonged to King Kazimierz the Great, a late-Gothic polyptych by a Silesian artist known as the Master of Gościszowice. We should pay special attention to the painting of the Holy Family, a votive offering to Saint Joseph, offered in gratitude for a miraculous healing. The worshippers believed increasingly in the miraculous powers of the image, which was formally recognized in 1770 with a decision of the Primate of Poland. In 1796, the Kalisz image of the Patron of families received the papal crowns. ba

St. Adalbert’s boat ”Calisia”

St. Adalbert's boat ”Calisia” Prosna is a magical river, especially in Kalisz - the oldest city in Poland. In order to find out about this, it is worth walking along its shore or, better still, sailing in “Calisia”, St. Adalbert's boat. Leisure cruises begin and end at Wojciech Bogusławski's Theatre. The reversion takes place at the Most Bursztynowy (Amber Bridge). Educational cruises start with a meeting at the theatre. Then one sails in “Calisia” to the Zawodzie reserve, where visiting a church, the Archeological Reserve (exhibition pavillion) and reading legends about Kalisz are taking place. After visiting the reserve, the group returns to the theatre by boat. Kalisz

7


Railroad Tourism Wolsztyn - Locomotive Depot

PHOTO: W. LIS

The first railroad reached Wolsztyn in 1886 from Zbąszynek, and soon the town became a major center for the railroad network. An Engine House for eight engines was built in Wolsztyn in 1907. It looks and works the same to this day making it the only one of that kind in Europe. It boasts a moving turntable from 1908 which turns heavy locomotives and directs them to the engine house. There are about 30 engines on exhibit with 13 of them in working order. Among them is the pride and joy of Wolsztyn called “Beautiful Helena,” the fastest Polish steam engine (Pm 36-2 model) that reaches the speed of 130 km/h. While visiting the Depot it is worthwhile to step into the Museum as well.

Engine House in Wolsztyn

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN OFFICE IN WOLSZTYN

ba

PHOTO: J. ANDRZEJEWSKI

Gniezno Narrow-Gauge Railway

PHOTO: J. GOŁEBMECKI

Gniezno Narrow-Gauge Railway The trains connecting Gniezno and Anastazewo run from June 15 to August 31 on Saturdays, Sundays and holidays. The trains include a “restaurant car.” It takes three hours for the 30-km journey that starts in Gniezno and includes five stops along the way.

Wyrzysk Local Rail

Wyrzysk Local Rail

8

Railroad Tourism

PHOTO: M. CIESIELSKI

The Wyrzysk Railway Society (TWKP) has been able to preserve the oldest stretches of the Wyrzysk Local Railway that connect Białośliwie - Łobżenica as well as two branches connecting Industrial Center - Glesno and Czajcze - Wysoka. The activities of TWKP have spurred the construction of a vintage rolling stock station in Białośliwie. The train enthusiasts living in Białośliwie are also overseeing the starting point for the railroad, which - as the only one in Europe, and perhaps in the world - has a multileveled track that is also connectable to the main railroad allowing transitions to the standard gauge. The trains between Białośliwie and Łobżenica are running on certain occasions and only with prior arrangement.

Wyrzysk Local Rail

Gniezno Narrow-Gauge Railway


Okonek

Jastrowie Złotów Gwda

Krajenka

Łobżenica

Wysoka

PIŁA

Wyrzysk

Szamocin

Ujście

Trzcianka

Białośliwie

Osiek nad Notecią

Kaczory

Chodzież

Drawieński Park Narodowy

Margonin Gołańcz

Czarnków

Wieleń

Noteć

Krzyż Wielkopolski

Tarnowo Pałuckie Łekno

Lubasz

Wągrowiec Puszcza Notecka Jaracz Rogoźno

Warta

Sieraków

Wronki Sierakowski Park Krajobrazowy

Oborniki

Skoki

Ostroróg

Rokietnica

Pniewy

Lwówek

POZNAŃ

A2 Nowy Tomyśl

Opalenica Buk

Zbąszyń

Grodzisk Wielkopolski

Stęszew

Wielkopolski Park Mosina Narodowy

Grodzisk Wlkp.

Wolsztyn

Wielichowo

Przemęt Przemęcki Park Krajobrazowy

Zaniemyśl

Książ Wielkopolski

Gębice

Tuliszków

Dąbie

Turek

Dobra

Stawiszyn

na

Pleszew

Żelazków Dobrzyca

Russów Gołuchów

Pępowo Krobia

A2 Rychwał

Jarocin

os

Borek Wielkopolski

Koło

Zagórów

Pr

Rokosowo

KONIN Stare Miasto

Warta Pyzdry Żerkowsko-Czeszewski Park Krajobrazowy Żerków Śmiełów

Koźmin Pogorzela Wielkopolski

Pawłowice

Golina

Nowe Miasto nad Wartą

Cichowo

Krzywiń

Kłodawa

A2 Nadwarciański Park Krajobrazowy Ląd Miłosław

Środa Wielkopolska

Gostyń

Poniec

Przedecz Licheń

Koszuty Kórnik

Krzywiń Dolsk Lubiń

Rydzyna

Sompolno

Ślesin Słupca

Osieczna

LESZNO

Kleczew

Giecz

Kościan

Śmigiel

Powidz

Grzybowo Września

Park Śrem Krajobrazowy Gen. D. Chłapowskiego

Wolsztyn

Nadgoplański Park Krajobrazowy

Witkowo

Kostrzyn

Rogalin Rogaliński Park Krajobrazowy Czempiń

Rakoniewice

Obra

Gniezno

Gniezno Trzemeszno Powidzki Park Krajobrazowy

Park Krajobrazowy Uzarzewo Promno Czerniejewo Swarzędz

Luboń Puszczykowo

Szreniawa

Mieleszyn

Lednicki Długa Goślina Park Krajobrazowy Puszcza Zielonka Dziekanowice Murowana Goślina Pobiedziska

Szamotuły

Kwilcz

Mniszki Miedzichowo

Mieścisko

Obrzycko Słopanowo

Kłecko

Chrzypsko Wielkie

Międzychód Pszczewski Park Krajobrazowy

Kobylin

Raszków Miejska Górka Jutrosin Rawicz

Zduny Sulmierzyce

Koźminek

KALISZ Opatówek

Lewków

Krotoszyn

Bojanowo

Nowe Skalmierzyce Ostrów Wielkopolski Przygodzice

Odolanów Antonin Mikstat Park Krajobrazowy Dolina Baryczy Ostrzeszów

Grabów nad Prosną

Kobyla Góra Kępno Bralin

Locomotive Depot 64-200 Wolsztyn, ul. Fabryczna 1 tel. +48 68 419 17 68, 663 294 674 info@parowozowniawolsztyn.pl www.parowozowniawolsztyn.pl Open: Engine House, Monday - Sunday, 8 a.m. - 3 p.m.; Museum Hall, Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. - 3 p.m. Wyrzysk Railway Society 89-340 Białośliwie, ul. Kościuszki 5 tel. +48 606 339 343 zarzad@twkp.most.org.pl Gniezno Narrow-Gauge Railway 62-200 Gniezno, ul. Wrzesińska 2 tel./fax +48 61 426 11 30 www.gkw-gniezno.pl Krzywiń Trolley Railway tel. +48 600 292 454 kkd@krzywinskie.drezyny.com www.krzywinskie.drezyny.com Grodzisk Trolley Railway 62-065 Grodzisk Wielkopolski, Grąblewo 66 tel. +48 504 159 996 ww122@op.pl www.drezyny.kolej.pl

Krzywiń Trolley Railway

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF WIELKOPOLSKA TOURIST ORGANISATION

It must be reserved a month in advance in order to make the arrangements with the Polish Railroad Lines. Thanks to the contributions of the many supportive fans, plans are being made by the Krzywiń Trolley Railway to maintain and to expand the railroad all the way to Miejska Górka.

PHOTO: M. RZANNY

It is based in the town of Bieżyń (in Kościan province, county Krzywiń) which is close to the throughway Leszno - Środa Wlkp. This is where all tours and excursions begin. The trolleys run mainly between Bieżyń - Jerka or Bieżyń - Kunowo. This line has two trains, each of which can carry 30 passengers. It is possible to arrange for a trip beyond the Gostyń station reaching as far as the station in Krobia.

Grodzisk Trolley Railway

Grodzisk Trolley Railway Some of the local trains are 90 years old. Each can take 35 passengers. The trolley runs between Grodzisk and Kościan. The trip takes anywhere from 2 to 10 hours roundtrip. It is possible to arrange for a picnic somewhere along the route.

Krzywiń Trolley Railway

Railroad Tourism

9


Sanctuaries

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN OFFICE IN KONIN AUTHOR: A. ŁĄCKI

Sanctuary in Licheń

LICHEŃ

became a blacksmith. According to the legend, he escaped unscathed during the war thanks to the appearance of the Blessed Mary. He found her portrait and hung it in the Grąblin forest not far from Licheń. The face of the Blessed Mary has the expression of wistful reverie and grace. The clear eyes stare from under slightly lowered eyelids at a

Sanctuary of the Blessed Mary of Licheń The history of the Blessed Mary of Licheń began after the 1813 battle near Lipsk and is connected with the colourful biography of Tomasz Kłossowski, a land owner who lost his property and

white eagle spread on her chest. Between 1994 and 2004, a new basilica was built under the direction of Father Eugeniusz Makulski. The building with its cross floor plan has been capped with a dome adorned with a crucifix 103.5 m high. The church is 139 m long and covers the area of 23,000 m2.

ba

GÓRKA KLASZTORNA

Sanctuary of the Blessed Mary in Krajna The old Sanctuary of the Blessed Mary in Krajna, called Górka Klasztorna, is situated in a secluded oak grove on a small hill at the edge of the Krajna Forest.

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE DISTRICT OFFICE IN PIŁA

The image of the Blessed Mary, painted on linden wood is admired by the worshippers. There are two wings in the monastery adjacent to the Baroque Church of the Blessed Virgin Mary. The Romanesque baptistery contrasts sharply with the church’s Baroque and Rococo interior. Legend has it that the water in the courtyard well has healing powers. The church holds mystery plays during Lent.

Górka Klasztorna - interior of the church

10

Sanctuaries


Okonek

Jastrowie Złotów Gwda

Łobżenica

Krajenka

Skrzatusz

Łobżenica

Wysoka

PIŁA

Wyrzysk Osiek nad Notecią

Kaczory

Szamocin

Ujście

Trzcianka

Chodzież

Drawieński Park Narodowy

Margonin Gołańcz

Czarnków

Wieleń

Noteć

Krzyż Wielkopolski

Tarnowo Pałuckie Łekno

Lubasz

Wągrowiec Puszcza Notecka

Biezdrowo Sieraków

Jaracz

Wronki Sierakowski Park Krajobrazowy

Oborniki

Rokietnica

Lwówek

POZNAŃ

A2

GOSTYŃ - ŚWIĘTA GÓRA

Nowy Tomyśl

Opalenica Buk

Zbąszyń

Grodzisk Wielkopolski

Wolsztyn Obra

Książ Wielkopolski

Rokosowo

Gębice

Dobra

Dobrzyca

Russów

Raszków Zduny Sulmierzyce

Koźminek

KALISZ Opatówek

Lewków

Krotoszyn

Nowe Skalmierzyce Ostrów Wielkopolski Przygodzice

Odolanów Grabów nad Prosną

Kobyla Góra Kępno Bralin

Sanctuary of the Blessed Mary of Licheń 62-563 Stary Licheń, ul. Klasztorna 4 tel. +48 63 270 81 63, +48 63 270 81 61 www.lichen.pl fax +48 63 270 77 10 lichen@lichen.pl Information and Promotion Centre of Our Lady's Sanctuary in Licheń tel. +48 63 270 81 95, fax +48 63 270 77 00

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE COMMUNE OFFICE IN PIASKI AUTHOR: S. NOWAK

Missionaries of the Holy Family and the Blessed Mary in Krajna 89-310 Łobżenica, Górka Klasztorna tel. +48 67 286 08 48 Oratorium of St. Philip Neri - Our Lady of Święta Góra Sanctuary 63-800 Gostyń, Głogówko 15 tel. + 48 65 572 08 55, +48 65 572 00 14 www.filipini.gostyn.pl Sanctuary of Our Lady of Sorrows 78-930 Szydłowo, Skrzatusz 31 tel. +48 67 216 11 30

ba

SKRZATUSZ

Biezdrowo – Sanctuary of the Holy Cross 64-510 Wronki tel. +48 67 254 72 01

Sanctuary of Our Lady of Sorrows

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN AND COMMUNE OFFICE IN WRONKI

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE DISTRICT OFFICE IN PIŁA

Skrzatusz has had a long history and has attracted many Catholics. In 1438, the village received the same privileges as the town of Wałcz thus elevating its status. However, 1575 turned out to be an even more significant year in raising its status, because it was then that the statue of Blessed Mary was brought to the church. According to the experts, the miraculous figure of Our Lady of Skrzatusz originated at the beginning of the 15th century. The sculpture carved in linden wood shows the Blessed Mary holding the body of Christ after the removal from the Cross. Wojciech Konstanty Breza, a Poznan governor, built this church between the years 1687 1694. It is a Baroque structure with an arched cross vault. In 20th century, a discovery was made of 17thcentury frescoes. The church interior includes objects from 16th and 18th centuries.

Dąbie

Turek

Żelazków

Gołuchów

Kobylin

Tuliszków

Stawiszyn

Antonin Mikstat Park Krajobrazowy Dolina Baryczy Ostrzeszów

The imposing scale of the interior and the elaborate decorations have enchanted many visitors. The octagonal main nave is surrounded by chapels and covered with a dome created by Pompeo Ferrari. The painting of Our Lady with Child holding a rose in her hand decorates the main altar. The unknown artist placed her on a balcony covered with a rug. In the painting, views from the balcony include the church on the Holy Mountain on one side, and of the parish Church in Gostyń with the town on the other. Sanctuary on Holy Mountain

Pleszew

Gostyń

Miejska Górka Jutrosin Rawicz

For centuries, the hill near Gostyń was called the Holy Mountain. Already in the 11th century it became a center of worship of the Virgin Mary. The construction of a new church began in 1675 following the design of the Santa Maria della Salute church in Venice.

A2 Rychwał

Jarocin

Bojanowo

Koło

Zagórów

Nowe Miasto nad Wartą Borek Wielkopolski

Pępowo Krobia

KONIN Stare Miasto

Warta Pyzdry Żerkowsko-Czeszewski Park Krajobrazowy Żerków Śmiełów

Koźmin Pogorzela Wielkopolski

Pawłowice

Poniec

Golina

na

Gostyń

Kłodawa

A2 Nadwarciański Park Krajobrazowy Ląd Miłosław

Środa Wielkopolska

Zaniemyśl

Cichowo Krzywiń Dolsk Lubiń

Rydzyna

Przedecz Licheń

Koszuty Kórnik

Osieczna

LESZNO

Sompolno

Ślesin Słupca

Kościan

Śmigiel

Kleczew

Giecz

Park Śrem Krajobrazowy Gen. D. Chłapowskiego

Przemęt Przemęcki Park Krajobrazowy

Licheń

Powidz

Grzybowo Września

Rogalin Rogaliński Park Krajobrazowy Czempiń

Rakoniewice Wielichowo

Wielkopolski Park Mosina Narodowy

Nadgoplański Park Krajobrazowy

Witkowo

Kostrzyn

os Pr

Our Lady of Święta Góra (Holy Mountain) Sanctuary

Stęszew

Gniezno Trzemeszno Powidzki Park Krajobrazowy

Park Krajobrazowy Uzarzewo Promno Czerniejewo Swarzędz

Luboń Puszczykowo

Szreniawa

Mieleszyn

Lednicki Długa Goślina Park Krajobrazowy Puszcza Zielonka Dziekanowice Murowana Goślina Pobiedziska

Szamotuły Pniewy

Mniszki Miedzichowo

Skoki

Ostroróg

Kwilcz

Pszczewski Park Krajobrazowy

Mieścisko

Obrzycko Słopanowo

Kłecko

Chrzypsko Wielkie

Międzychód

Rogoźno

Warta

Sanctuary in Biezdrowo

BIEZDROWO Sanctuary in Skrzatusz

Sanctuary of the Holy Cross

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE DISTRICT OFFICE IN PIŁA

The worship of Crucified Christ in Biezdrowo dates back to the turn of the 15th and 16th centuries. In Father Zieliński’s Chronicle, we read “A blind girl from Zakrzewo was trying to draw water from a river but could not get it. When she reached out with her hand, water splashed on her eyes and she got her sight. She heard a voice say: ‘Go and be healthy.’ Having just been graced with the gift of vision she saw a Crucifix surrounded with beams of light. She ran home with great joy to share her experience.” This miraculous crucifix is now in the main altar. The church of the Holy Cross and St. Nicholas has been rebuilt many times. A tower was added on in 1784. A century later it received Baroque décor, and toward the end of the 19th-century two side chapels were erected. One is devoted to the Holy Family and the other to St. Stanislaus the Bishop. Górka Klasztorna - sanctuary

Sanctuaries

11


Sacral monuments

PHOTO: A. BEDNAREK

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN AND COMMUNE OFFICE IN CZARNKÓW

Church of St. Mary Magdalene in Długa Goślina

DŁUGA GOŚLINA

The church of St. Mary Magdalene in Długa Goślina sits on a hill in a grove of old trees. The first mention of a wooden chapel on that site was made in 1424. In 1621, the Benedictine nuns from Poznań purchased the village. Most probably, they were responsible for funding the construction of a new one when they officially took charge of their property in 1623. Soon after, in 1625, the current version of the church of St. Mary Magdalene was consecrated by Suffragan Andrzej Rybicki. It was also a wooden structure, with one nave and a narrower presbytery, covered with a shingled roof. A 20-meter tower with a zinc shield roof was added in 1770. The interior of this church originated in 17th and 18th centuries, including a rood beam with a crucifix. The church has two vestries: one made of wood and the other made of stone added in 19th century. Next door are an earlier presbytery (early 19th century) and a cave with a statue of the Blessed Mary.

Church of St. Mary Magdalene in Czarnków

CZARNKÓW

Church of St. Mary Magdalene This is a town located between river Noteć and nearby hills that boasts an old and beautiful Catholic shrine. A Gothic church of St. Mary Magdalene with two side chapels was erected by the town proprietors, the Czarnkowski family, between the years 1570 – 1580. It was frequently remodeled during the 16th and 18th centuries judging from the interior designs typical for those time periods. The paintings from the guild shop of Herman Han stand out in the church decor. Also worthy of attention are the tombstones of the Czarnkowski family that include an ornate pewter coffin of the governor general, Adam Sędziwoj Czarnkowski, created probably in 1628 by a Poznań craftsman Jakub Kanadej.

ba

KONIN

Church of St. Andrew the Apostle in Gosławice Gosławice was once a village which was attached to Konin. The Church of St. Andrew the Apostle is considered a pearl of Gothic architecture. It was founded and built in 1418 - 1425 by its proprietor, Andrzej Łaskarz, who was also a Poznań bishop. A column in the center supports a palm vault. A presbytery, two chapels and a vestibule are on both sides of the octagonal nave thus comprising the arms of the Greek cross floor plan. The interior, the roofs and the tower are Neo-Gothic in style. While in Gosławice, it is worthwhile to visit two other attractions the castle that houses a chapter of the Konin Regional Museum and a nearby ethnographic skansen.

PHOTO: A. ŁĄCKI

Church of St. Andrew the Apostole in Gosławice

12

Sacral monuments

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE DISTRICT OFFICE IN CHODZIEŻ

Church of St. Mary Magdalene

Church of St.Anne in Jaktorowo

JAKTOROWO

Church of St. Anne The village of Jaktorowo is located on the northern edge of a sprawling forest in the county of Szamocin, 8 km from the town of Szamocin. The church of St. Anne was built in 1763 - 1776, with a Baroque interior including 17th and 18th-century ornamental details. Jakub Łakiński sponsored the construction of this church. ba


Okonek

Jastrowie Złotów Gwda

Krajenka

Łobżenica

Wysoka

PIŁA

Piła

Wyrzysk Osiek nad Notecią

Kaczory

Szamocin

Ujście

Trzcianka

Jaktorowo

Chodzież

Drawieński Park Narodowy

Margonin

Czarnków Wieleń

Gołańcz

Czarnków

Noteć

Krzyż Wielkopolski

Tarnowo Pałuckie Łekno

Lubasz

Wągrowiec Puszcza Notecka Jaracz

Sieraków

Warta Wronki Sierakowski Park Krajobrazowy

Rogoźno Oborniki

Rokietnica

Lwówek

POZNAŃ

A2 Nowy Tomyśl

Opalenica Buk

Zbąszyń

Grodzisk Wielkopolski

Wolsztyn Obra

Obra

Skoki

Stęszew

Wielichowo

Wielkopolski Park Mosina Narodowy

Przedecz Kłodawa

A2

Golina

Nadwarciański Park Krajobrazowy Ląd Miłosław

Środa Wielkopolska

Zaniemyśl

Książ Wielkopolski

KONIN

Zagórów

A2 Rychwał

Nowe Miasto nad Wartą

Cichowo

Koło

Stare Miasto

Warta Pyzdry Żerkowsko-Czeszewski Park Krajobrazowy Żerków Śmiełów

Tuliszków

Dąbie

Turek

Lubiń

Jarocin

Leszno

Żelazków Koźmin Pogorzela Wielkopolski

Pawłowice

Rydzyna

Rokosowo

Dobrzyca

Russów Gołuchów

Pępowo

Poniec Krobia

Gębice

na

Pleszew

Dobra

Stawiszyn

os

Borek Wielkopolski

Pr

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF LESZNO-REGION TOURIST ORGANIZATION

Krzywiń Dolsk Lubiń

Kobylin

Raszków

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE DISTRICT OFFICE IN WOLSZTYN AUTHOR: A. SKORUPIŃSKI

Miejska Górka Jutrosin Rawicz

Koźminek

KALISZ Opatówek

Lewków

Krotoszyn

Bojanowo

LESZNO

Sompolno

Licheń

Koszuty Kórnik

Gostyń

Parish Church of St. Nicholas in Leszno

Ślesin

Słupca

Osieczna

LESZNO

Kleczew

Gosławice

Giecz

Kościan

Śmigiel

Powidz

Grzybowo Września

Park Śrem Krajobrazowy Gen. D. Chłapowskiego

Przemęt Przemęcki Park Krajobrazowy

Nadgoplański Park Krajobrazowy

Witkowo

Kostrzyn

Rogalin Rogaliński Park Krajobrazowy Czempiń

Rakoniewice

Gniezno Trzemeszno Powidzki Park Krajobrazowy

Park Krajobrazowy Uzarzewo Promno Czerniejewo Swarzędz

Luboń Puszczykowo

Szreniawa

Mieleszyn

Lednicki Długa Goślina Park Krajobrazowy Puszcza Zielonka Dziekanowice Murowana Goślina Pobiedziska

Szamotuły Pniewy

Mniszki Miedzichowo

Długa Goślina

Ostroróg

Kwilcz

Pszczewski Park Krajobrazowy

Mieścisko

Obrzycko Słopanowo

Kłecko

Chrzypsko Wielkie

Międzychód

Nowe Skalmierzyce

Zduny

Ostrów Wielkopolski

Sulmierzyce

Przygodzice Odolanów Antonin Mikstat Park Krajobrazowy Dolina Baryczy Ostrzeszów

Grabów nad Prosną

Kobyla Góra Kępno Bralin

Parish of St. Mary Magdalene 64-700 Czarnków, ul. Kościelna 1

tel. +48 67 255 25 18

Parish of St. Mary Magdalene 62-097 Długa Goślina 24

tel. +48 61 892 12 01

Parish of St. Anne 64-800 Szamocin, Jaktorowo 10

tel. +48 67 283 38 20

Oblat Monastery in Obra

Parish Church of St. Nicholas

OBRA

Oblat Monastery

This church situated near the Leszno Market Square is one of the most beautiful Baroque churches in Wielkopolska. The first records of its existence go back to early 15th century. During Reformation, it was transferred to the Bohemian Brethren for 100 years. It was destroyed during the Swedish invasion, and rebuilt in the second half of the 17th century according to the design of Giovanni Catenazzi. This three-nave building has a façade decorated with two towers. Its interior is filled with Baroque decorations. The main altar has a painting of the Holy Trinity by Adam Stiera of Rydzyna, whereas the side altars the paintings by Szymon Czechowicz. The Baroque tombstones of the Leszczyński brothers Bogusław, the bishop (dec. 1691), and Rafał (dec. 1703) the governor of Wielkopolska and father of King Stanisław Leszczyński, are a masterpiece well worth seeing. Both tombstones were most probably created by Pompeo Ferrari.

Parish of St. Andrew the Apostle 61-505 Konin, ul. Gosławicka 38 tel. +48 63 242 85 73

The history of the monastery and church in Obra has been tied to the presence of Cistercian monks who came to Obra from Łękno and established their quarters. The construction of the church and monastery began before 1655, the start of the Swedish invasion, and was delayed by it. The present church of the Immaculate Mary and St. Jacob was built in 1722 - 1757 according to the design of Giovanni Catenazzi. It has a single-nave plan with two short towers in the façade. The style of the interior is mostly Rococo and early Classicism. The walls are covered with wall paintings by Stanisław Brzozowski dating back to the time of its construction. Attached to the church is the monastery inhabited by the Oblat monks since 1926. At present, it houses the Higher Theological Seminary of the Missionary Oblates of Immaculate Virgin Mary. The monastery currently operates a missionary museum and the so-called Cistercian treasury. The whole Cistercian complex is surrounded by a garden established in 1757.

Parish Church of St. Nicholas 64-100 Leszno, ul. Kościelna 18 tel. +48 65 520 25 75 www.kolegiata.leszno.pl Benedictine Monastery 64-010 Krzywiń, Lubiń, ul. Mickiewicza 6 tel. +48 65 51 77 222, lubin@benedyktyni.pl fax +48 65 51 77 444 www.benedyktyni.net Higher Theological Seminary of the Mission Oblates of Immaculate Virgin Mary 64-211 Obra, ul. Szkolna 12 tel. +48 68 384 20 47, 384 12 23 obra@oblaci.pl fax +48 68 384 26 95 www.obra.oblaci.pl Church of St. Anthony 64-920 Piła, ul. Ludowa 20

tel. +48 67 35 11 262

ba PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN OFFICE IN PIŁA

LUBIŃ

Benedictine Monastery

Church of St. Anthony in Piła

PIŁA

Church of St. Anthony The monumental, seven-meter-high crucifix created by Bethold Müller - is the greatest attraction of this church. It harmonizes well with the modern style of the building designed by Hans Herkommer who was a member of the avant-garde Bauhaus group. It is a one-nave shrine made of reinforced concrete and cement. The four-story tower on the eastern façade, complemented by three arcades of equal height, creates an open-work structure comprising the vestibule. The interior illuminated by small windows is intended to resemble the catacombs. An interesting, two-story ceiling introduces an illusory division of the interior into two naves. There are two chapels next to the main altar.

PHOTO: Z. SZMIDT

The foundation of the Benedictine Monastery Lubiń took place in 1075 at the behest of King Bolesław Śmiały, hence its origin is closely connected to the Piast dynasty. For a certain period it served as a national necropolis, housing the tombs of Mieszko III Stary and his two sons Bolesław and Władysław Laskonogi in the monastery basement. The monastery complex includes: Church of the Birth of the Blessed Virgin Mary, two monastic buildings with a park and gardens, stone walls with seven gates, belfry, farm, St. Leonard parish church, pastor’s quarters, parish school, market square, and the statue of St. John Nepomucen. The design of the whole complex in its historical, religious and artistic diversity spans multiple periods in art history: Gothic, Renaissance, Mannerism, Baroque, Rococo, 19thcentury Historicism, ending in inter-war national style. The current church of the Birth of Blessed Virgin Mary was built in 18th century replacing the previous ones. It is well visible from a distance of more than ten kilometers. Its architectural design of both exterior and interior is mostly Baroque, but there are also some remainders from its Gothic and Renaissance past. The 13th-century church of St. Leonard on a nearby hill is also a remarkable site.

Benedictine Monastery in Lubiń

Sacral monuments

13


PRZEMĘT

Church of St. John the Baptist

Church of the Sacred Heart of Jesus in Turek

TUREK

Church of the Sacred Heart of Jesus The Neo-Gothic church of the Sacred Heart of Jesus was built in Turek in 1904 - 1913 following the designs of two Warsaw architects Konstanty and Jarosław Wojciechowski. During the inter-war period, Józef Mehoffer decorated the walls of the presbitery with wall paintings depicting Christ the Good Shepherd, Christ the Bridegroom, Christ the Pilgrim, and Christ the Gardener. In the last of which - rather unusually - Christ is dressed in a hat. The artist has painted the likeness of Christ the King above the main altar and 48 head portraits of angels on the presbytery ceiling. Józef Mehoffer has also designed the stalls and the stained glass windows depicting the Stations of the Cross in the presbytery and the side chapels. After the war and Mehoffer’s death, his son was persuaded to relinquish the design sketches of other stained glass windows and furnishings originally intended for the shrine. Inside the church are the 30-stop pipe organs built by the Rieger Brothers.

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN AND COMMUNE OFFICE IN SZAMOTUŁY

The parish in Przemęt was established by the Cistersians who had first built a wooden church of which nothing has remained. The construction of the sanctuary that we can admire today began in the middle of the 17th century but was interrupted by the Swedish invasion. It was resumed in 1680 under the direction of the Catenazzi family: Giorgio and Giovanni. The three-nave basilica has two towers on the western façade which were capped with open-work copper domes. The church interior enchants with Baroque and Rococo décor. What deserves special attention are the furnishings that include: stalls, altars, confessionals, baptistery and the abbot’s throne - all made out of the black oak wood obtained from the nearby bogs. The church has a one-story cloister and next to it a vestry with a section of the southern wing of the monastery.

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN AND COMMUNE OFFICE IN TUREK

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE DISTRICT OFFICE IN WOLSZTYN AUTHOR: K. OLESIAK

Church of St. John the Baptist in Przemęt

Monastery in Szamotuły

SZAMOTUŁY

Post-Franciscan Monastery and Church of the Holy Cross ŚMIŁOWO

Church of St. Margaret

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE DISTRICT OFFICE IN PIŁA

The church of St. Margaret and Our Lady of the Scapular is the pride of the village. Built in 1903 in the Neo-Gothic style, it boasts three Gothic portals on the western façade. Inside worthy of attention are: the cross-beam ceiling; the presbytery with two stained glass windows depicting the scenes from the Nativity and the Ascension; as well as the Gothic designs of the altars, confessionals, and the Stations of the Cross. The oldest is the 500-year-old figure of St. Margaret installed in the main altar. This parish is a center of worship for Our Lady of the Scapular. What still remains as the only organization of this kind in the Bydgoszcz diocese is the Sodality of the Carmelitan Scapulary, originally validated in its 1675 Charter of Foundation. Church of St. Margaret

14

Sacral monuments

The Church of the Holy Cross and the monastery, both erected in 1667 - 1682, are situated close to the main square and the Sama river. The builders adapted some fragments from the old Świdów castle. The Prussian authorities acquired the buildings after the liquidation of the Franciscan Monastery in early 19th century. The parish was revived after 1963. The one-nave sanctuary is crowned with a spherical cupola. An arched vault with spyglass windows covers the interior of the church. The cupola stretching over the octagonal chapel that is adjacent to the eastern side of the nave is topped with a lantern. Inside the church, visitors can see original 18th-century wall paintings chronicling the life of St. Anthony. The Rococo church furnishings date back to the 17th century. The buildings constructed after the closure of the monastery surround a rectangular viridarium, adjacent to which is a chapel dedicated to St. Maximilian Kolbe and Father Pio.


Okonek

Jastrowie Złotów Gwda

Krajenka

Łobżenica

Wysoka

PIŁA

Śmiłowo Wyrzysk

Osiek nad Notecią

Kaczory

Szamocin

Ujście

Trzcianka

Chodzież

Drawieński Park Narodowy

Margonin

Żoń Gołańcz

Czarnków

Wieleń

Noteć

Krzyż Wielkopolski

Tarnowo Pałuckie Łekno

Lubasz

Wągrowiec

Wągrowiec Puszcza Notecka Jaracz

Sieraków

Warta Wronki Sierakowski Park Krajobrazowy

Szamotuły Chrzypsko Wielkie

Międzychód

Rogoźno Oborniki

Kłecko

Rokietnica

Pniewy

Mniszki Miedzichowo

Lwówek

POZNAŃ

A2 Nowy Tomyśl Zbąszyń

Wolsztyn Obra

Skoki

Opalenica Buk Grodzisk Wielkopolski

Stęszew

Wielichowo

Wielkopolski Park Mosina Narodowy

Przemęt Przemęcki Park Krajobrazowy

Zaniemyśl

Jarocin

Tuliszków

Turek

Dąbie

Turek Dobra

Stawiszyn

na

Gębice

A2 Rychwał

os

Pleszew

Żelazków Dobrzyca

Russów Gołuchów

Pępowo Krobia

Koło

Stare Miasto Zagórów

Pr

Rokosowo

Poniec

KONIN

Żerków

Nowe Miasto nad Wartą Borek Wielkopolski

Koźmin Pogorzela Wielkopolski

Pawłowice

Golina

Warta Pyzdry Żerkowsko-Czeszewski Park Krajobrazowy Żerków Śmiełów

Gostyń

Rydzyna

Przedecz Kłodawa

A2 Nadwarciański Park Krajobrazowy Ląd Miłosław

Środa Wielkopolska

Książ Wielkopolski

Krzywiń Dolsk Lubiń Osieczna

LESZNO

Sompolno

Ślesin

Licheń

Koszuty Kórnik

Cichowo

Śmigiel

Kleczew

Słupca

Dębno n. Wartą

Kościan

Powidz

Grzybowo Września Giecz

Park Śrem Krajobrazowy Gen. D. Chłapowskiego

Przemęt

Nadgoplański Park Krajobrazowy

Witkowo

Kostrzyn

Rogalin Rogaliński Park Krajobrazowy Czempiń

Rakoniewice

Gniezno Trzemeszno Powidzki Park Krajobrazowy

Park Krajobrazowy Uzarzewo Promno Czerniejewo Swarzędz

Luboń Puszczykowo

Szreniawa

Mieleszyn

Lednicki Długa Goślina Park Krajobrazowy Puszcza Zielonka Dziekanowice Murowana Goślina Pobiedziska

Szamotuły

Kwilcz

Pszczewski Park Krajobrazowy

Mieścisko

Obrzycko Słopanowo

Ostroróg

Kobylin

Raszków Miejska Górka Jutrosin Rawicz

Koźminek

KALISZ Opatówek

Lewków

Krotoszyn

Bojanowo

Nowe Skalmierzyce

Zduny

Ostrów Wielkopolski

Sulmierzyce

Przygodzice Odolanów

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN OFFICE IN WĄGROWIEC

Antonin Mikstat Park Krajobrazowy Dolina Baryczy Ostrzeszów

Grabów nad Prosną

Kobyla Góra Kępno Bralin

Parish of St. John the Baptist 64-234 Przemęt, ul. Opacka 9 tel. +48 65 549 61 03

Parish Church in Wągrowiec

WĄGROWIEC

1595 by Mateusz Kossior of Poznań. Unfortunately, the original altar paintings have not been spared. Worthy of attention are the splendid pulpit from 1593 with inlaid woodwork and biblical quotations, and the Renaissance side altars. In early 20th century, Renaissance wall paintings were discovered on the ceiling of the chapel of Our Lady of the Rosary. In the front of the church is the bust of Father Jakub Wujek who was born in Wągrowiec. He was an accomplished translator of the Bible into the Polish language.

Parish Church of St. Jacob The Wągrowiec parish church originated in the 16th century as a late-Gothic structure with Renaissance gables. It is an oriented building made of brick with granite blocks. It has a three-nave interior of which the main nave and presbytery are capped with starry vaults. The shrine abounds with well preserved Renaissance and Rococo decorative details. The main altar in the shape of a triptych was created in

Parish of the Holy Cross 64-500 Szamotuły, ul. Franciszkańska 4 tel. +48 61 292 03 50 Parish of the Sacred Heart of Jesus 62-700 Turek, pl. Sienkiewicza 4 tel. +48 63 278 53 83 Roman Catholic Parish of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary 63-040 Nowe Miasto, Dębno nad Wartą 25 Tel. + 48 61 287 41 59 www.parafia.debnonw.pl parafia.debnonw@gmail.com Parish of St. Stanislaus the Bishop 63–210 Żerków, ul. Gorzeńskiego 13 tel. +48 62 749 21 22

ba

DĘBNO NAD WARTĄ

Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary

Parish Church of St. Jacob 62-100 Wągrowiec, ul. Klasztorna 16 Tel. +48 67 262 09 99

FOTO: ARCHIVES OF COMMUNITY OFFICE IN NOWE MIASTO NAD WARTĄ

Church of St. Martin in Żoń

ba

ŻERKÓW

ŻOŃ

Church of St. Martin

Church of St. Stanislaus the Bishop

The village is located in county Margonin among three lakes: Oporzyńskie, Zbyszewickie, and Żońskie. Even though it had at one point been granted the town rights, it reverted to the status of a small village. The wooden church of St. Martin, built in 1749, received a brick façade in early 20th century. The side chapels comprise a transept of sorts. All of the Baroque furnishings date back to 17th and 18th centuries.

FOTO: ARCHIVES OF URZĄD MIAST W ŻERKOWIE

The scenic area around Żerków draws many admirers with its unique beauty. The lovely church of St. Stanislaus the Bishop is a one-nave Baroque structure built in 1717 - 1718 according to the design of Giovanni Catenazzi. The interior is decorated with stucco ornamentation and wall paintings by Adam Swach. Outside of the town is a landscape park opened in 19th century. The entrance to it leads through an 18th-century Baroque gate with three arcades, topped with a triangular gable that bears the Radomicki-Kotwicz family coat of arms.

Parish of St. Martin 64-830 Żoń tel. +48 67 28 35 930

PHOTO: ARCHIVESFOTO: OF THE ARCHIV DISTRICT VONOFFICE KREISAMT IN CHODZIEŻY CHODZIEŻ

Its northern wall adjoins a sacristy and in the southern part there is a vestibule (added in the second half of the 19th century). The church interior was covered with a ceiling in the course of reconstruction works in 1900 – 1910. The sacristy retains the original barrel vault. In the main altar we can see an image depicting the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary by an artist from Poznań named Sarnecki; next to it there are statues of St. John and St. Mark. One of the side altars holds a noteworthy late Gothic painting of Vir Dolorum with Our Lady of Sorrows surrounded by busts of six prophets – the image was painted on a wood board in the early 16th century. In another part of the church there is an altar devoted to St. Rosalia (which is a rarity in Wielkopolska).

The single-nave Gothic church in Dębno nad Wartą was founded by Primate Bishop Wincenty Kot. It was built in 1444 – 1447.

Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Dębno

www.przemet.pl

Parish of St. Margaret and Our Lady of the Scapular 64-810 Śmiłowo, ul. Kościelna 1 tel. +48 67 283 87 14 www.malgorzata.smilowo.parafia.info

Church of St. Stanislaus the Bishop in Żerków

Sacral monuments

15


Castles, palaces and country PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE KALISZ CULTURE CENTRE

Palace in Antonin PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE COMMUNE OFFICE IN DOBRZYCA

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE KALISZ CULTURE CENTRE

Palace in Dobrzyca

Dobrzyca The spirit of the May 3rd Constitution and Freemasonry hovers over Dobrzyca because its owner, August Gorzeński, was a freemason. He was the one who in 1795 - 1799 built the palace in place of a fortified castle following the design of Stanisław Zawadzki.

Interior of the palace in Antonin

Antonin

16

Castles, palaces and country mansions

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE ECONOMIC UNION OF THE SREM REGION AUTHOR: Z. SZMIDT

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE DISTRICT OFFICE IN GOSTYŃ

Pheasant in the palace garden in Gogolewo

ba

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE DISTRICT OFFICE IN GOSTYŃ

The hunting lodge in Antonin was erected at the behest of Duke Antoni Radziwiłł according to the design by Karl Friedrich Schinkel. This four-story wooden palace has the plan of a Greek cross. Inside one hall spans all levels of the structure with two floors of balconies, it boasts an ornate ceiling supported by a massive column also acting as a chimney. Fryderyk Chopin was hosted here by Count Antoni Radziwiłł in 1827 and 1829. At present, the Antonin palace houses a stylish restaurant, but it is also well known as a venue for numerous concerts and festivals. There is also a parlor dedicated to Fryderyk Chopin and his bust graces the front of the building. The palace is surrounded by an elaborate park covering 13 hectares.

The palace has the floor plan with the two wings of the building perpendicular to each other. The fourcolumn portico leads to the palace entrance. The interior is decorated with wall paintings by Antoni Smuglewicz. The park with ethereal plants and buildings also reflects some elements of the Freemason decorative style; though in its layout it is reminiscent of the English gardens.

Palace in Gogolewo

Palace in Brodnica

Gogolewo

Brodnica

The palace in Gogolewo is currently the home of a horse stable Pępowo. It was built in 19th century and was appointed as a hunting lodge. The architectural design is most likely the work of the owner Marceli Czarnecki. He utilized parts of the earlier mansion. The main area has three levels, whereas the annex just one. The palace is surrounded by a park designed in the English court style that was created in the early part of the 19th century. Florentyna, the wife of Marceli Czarnecki, was responsible for its completion. It was filled with rare species of trees both deciduous and coniferous. At present, the palace has hotel accommodations available for overnight visitors, and the stable offers horse riding lessons apart from its operation as a horse-breeding stable. Wild animal trails run near the palace including deer, fallow deer, and boar. The center also has an aviary raising pheasants.

The eclectic palace sprung to life out of love. Wacław Mańkowski left his family grounds in Podole and came to Wielkopolska. At the request of his wife, Antonina Chłapowska from Szołdry who fell in love with Brodnica, he purchased it in 1885 and had a palace built there. It remained in his hands until 1939. More than a decade ago, the palace together with the park was returned to the family. It was acquired by Jerzy Mańkowski, son of the last pre-war proprietor. The palace currently hosts weekend guests, conferences etc. The past seems to mix well with modern life, and history of Poland with reminiscences from Africa. The hallway with an imposing wooden ceiling provides a perfect setting for the exhibit of souvenirs collected by Jerzy Mańkowski during his stay in Africa.


Okonek

mansions

Jastrowie Złotów Gwda

Krajenka

Łobżenica

Wysoka

PIŁA

Wyrzysk Osiek nad Notecią

Kaczory

Szamocin

Ujście

Trzcianka

Chodzież

Drawieński Park Narodowy

Margonin Gołańcz

Czarnków

Goraj

Wieleń Krzyż Wielkopolski

Noteć

Tarnowo Pałuckie Łekno

Lubasz

Wągrowiec Puszcza Notecka Jaracz

Sieraków

Warta Wronki Sierakowski Park Krajobrazowy

Rogoźno Oborniki

Zbąszyń

Rokietnica

Lwówek

POZNAŃ

Wolsztyn Obra

Opalenica Buk Grodzisk Wielkopolski

Rakoniewice

Stęszew

Wielkopolski Park Mosina Narodowy

Wielichowo

Zaniemyśl

A2

Jarocin

Rychwał

Pleszew

Dobrzyca

Dobra

Żelazków Dobrzyca

Russów

Zduny Sulmierzyce

Koźminek

Koźminek

KALISZ Opatówek

Lewków

Krotoszyn Raszków

Miejska Górka Jutrosin Rawicz

Dąbie

Turek

Stawiszyn

Gołuchów

Kobylin

Bojanowo

Tuliszków

Gołuchów

Jarocin

Pępowo Gębice

Zagórów

na

Rokosowo Krobia

Borek Wielkopolski

Koło

Stare Miasto

Warta Pyzdry Żerkowsko-Czeszewski Park Krajobrazowy Żerków Śmiełów

Koźmin Pogorzela Wielkopolski

Pawłowice

KONIN

os Pr

Gostyń

Golina

Nowe Miasto nad Wartą

Cichowo Krzywiń Dolsk Lubiń

Poniec

Przedecz Kłodawa

A2 Nadwarciański Park Krajobrazowy Ląd Miłosław

Środa Wielkopolska

Książ Wielkopolski

Park Śrem Krajobrazowy Gen. D. Chłapowskiego

Rydzyna

Sompolno

Ślesin

Licheń

Koszuty Kórnik

Osieczna

Gogolewo

Kleczew

Słupca

Kościan

LESZNO

Powidz

Grzybowo Września Giecz

Rogalin Rogaliński Park Krajobrazowy Czempiń

Śmigiel

Nadgoplański Park Krajobrazowy

Witkowo

Kostrzyn

Brodnica

Przemęt Przemęcki Park Krajobrazowy

Gniezno Trzemeszno Powidzki Park Krajobrazowy

Park Krajobrazowy Uzarzewo Promno Czerniejewo Swarzędz

Luboń Puszczykowo

Szreniawa

Mieleszyn

Lednicki Długa Goślina Park Krajobrazowy Puszcza Zielonka Dziekanowice Murowana Goślina Pobiedziska

Szamotuły Pniewy

A2 Nowy Tomyśl

Skoki

Ostroróg

Kwilcz

Mniszki Miedzichowo

Mieścisko

Obrzycko Słopanowo

Kłecko

Chrzypsko Wielkie

Międzychód Pszczewski Park Krajobrazowy

Nowe Skalmierzyce Ostrów Wielkopolski Przygodzice

Odolanów

Antonin

Antonin Mikstat Park Krajobrazowy Dolina Baryczy Ostrzeszów

Grabów nad Prosną

Kobyla Góra Kępno Bralin

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE COMMUNE OFFICE IN GOŁUCHÓW AUTHOR: T.MARCINKOWSKI

Hunting Lodge of the Radziwiłł Counts in Antonin 63-421 Przygodzice, ul. Pałacowa 1 tel. +48 62 73 48 300; 73 48 302 palacantonin@o2.pl fax +48 62 73 48 301 ckis@ckis.kalisz.pl www.chopin-antonin.pl www.ckis.kalisz.pl Palace in Brodnica 63-112 Brodnica tel. +48 61 286 37 89 fax +48 61 282 38 05 www.brodnicamansion.com Museum of the Landowners in Dobrzyca 63-330 Dobrzyca tel. +48 62 74 13 039 fax +48 62 741 34 86 www.dobrzyca-muzeum.pl

Castle in Gołuchów

Gołuchów

Horse Stable „Pępowo” 63-840 Krobia, Gogolewo tel. +48 65 571 25 42 (43) stadnina@stadnina.kmm.pl fax +48 65 571 25 44 www.stadnina.kmm.pl Castle in Gołuchów Branch of the National Museum 63-322 Gołuchów tel. +48 62 761 50 94 PHOTO: Z. SZMIDT

Gołuchów underwent an extensive renovation once its ownership was transferred to the Działyński family. At the request of Izabella Działyńska nee Czartoryska, the Renaissance elements of the structure were retained, and new facades were added that are reminiscent of castles in the Loire Valley. Also, other architectural details were added that originated in Italy and France. The Gołuchów castle is regarded as one of the most interesting examples of architectural historicism in Europe. From the start, Izabella Czartoryska intended to create a private museum. Some of the antique elements and collections have been brought in from Hotel Lambert, the Działyński residence in Paris, and from Kórnik. Since 1962, the castle houses a branch of the Poznań National Museum.

www.mnp.art.pl

Consortium of Forestry Schools - Castle Goraj 64-700 Czarnków, Goraj - Zamek 5 tel. +48 67 255 26 55 sekretariat@zsl-goraj.cil.pl fax +48 67 255 36 55 www.zsl-goraj.cil.pl

Castle in Goraj

Palace in Jarocin Public Library of the Town and District of Jarocin 63-200 Jarocin, ul. Park 3 bpjarocin@wokiss.pl tel/fax +48 62 747 23 46 www.biblioteka.jarocin.pl

Goraj

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN OFFICE IN JAROCIN

The first mention of Goraj dates back to 1377. The Neo-Renaissance castle, situated on a cliff next to the Notecka Forest was built in 1910 - 1911 according to the design by Wilhelm Bolek von Hochberg, who drew on his inspiration from the Varehnolz castle in Westfal, (Germany). Three massive towers crowned with decorative tops are a prominent element in this structure. The castle contains only part of its original furnishings and décor, among them a library. Currently it is home to the Consortium of Forestry Schools. A monumental beech tree grows near the castle.

Mansion in Koźminek Przedszkole (Kindergarten) 62-840 Koźminek, ul. Mielęckiego 4

Koźminek Palace in Jarocin

Jarocin

PHOTO: M. KACZMAREK

The English Gothic palace in Jarocin was built for Władyslaw Radoliński between 1847 and 1853. It was rebuilt and remodeled many times in the 19th century, the latest between 1911 and 1912. The palace has three floors, a flat roof and the rectangular floor plan. The central part of the building was elevated to act as a tower. During that remodel the western part of the castle was transformed and a new wing for living quarters was added. The palace is surrounded with a picturesque park. Currently, the Radoliński palace is home, among others, to a public library.

The Koźminek mansion, built in the second part of the 18th century, sits in a charming park covering 6 hectares. It was likely erected in 1759 for Józef Kiełczewski and his wife Salomea Walewska. Its present shape can be attributed to the remodel supervised by a Warsaw architect Jan Heurich the Younger at the beginning of the 20th century. This remarkable brick structure received Neo-Classical porticos, a cellar underneath a part of the building, and a mansard roof with attic windows in ornate frames. According to a legend, with a little luck visitors may encounter an apparition of a short man dressed in a general’s uniform. Some say it is Napoleon‘s ghost who is said to have spent a night in Koźminek on his way to Moscow. A kindergarten is now occupying the mansion.

Mansion in Koźminek

Castles, palaces and country mansions

17


Castles, palaces and country PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN AND COMMUNE OFFICE IN KÓRNIK

Interior of the castle in Kórnik

Kórnik

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN AND COMMUNE OFFICE IN KÓRNIK

Castle in Kórnik

ba

Lubasz

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE COMMUNE OFFICE IN KWILCZ AUTHOR: G. MELCER

The Lubasz palace was built in place of a former wooden manor. It is a Classicist structure with a Tshaped floor plan. The front wall has arcades supported by ten columns. The garden side is decorated with a four-column portico. The palace sits amid a scenic park with a dormitory that was constructed in 1835.

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE DISTRICT OFFICE IN CZARNKÓW

At the beginning of the 19th century, Tytus Działyński rebuilt the Kórnik estate in the English NeoGothic style following the design of Carl Friedrich Schinkel. This Romantic, lordly residence perfectly corresponded with the passion for collecting shared by father and son, Tytus and Jan Działyński, and by their successor, Władysław Zamoyski, who bequeathed the Kórnik estate to the Polish nation once he established the Zakłady Kórnickie Foundation. Presently, the castle houses a museum and a library that is overseen by the Polish Academy of Sciences. The interior designs of the Kórnik castle are very unique. There is also a remarkable variety of elaborate and exotic collections including: militaria and old weaponry, ethnographic artifacts, archaeological artifacts, numismatic exhibits, and Polish paintings. The castle, situated on an island and circled by a moat, is surrounded by a magnificent arboretum containing nearly 3,000 species of trees and shrubs.

Palace in Lubasz ba

Palace in Kwilcz

Kwilcz

18

Castles, palaces and country mansions

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE DISTRICT OFFICE IN CHODZIEŻ

Kwilcz has remained in the hands of the Kwilecki family for 550 years, something very rare and quite remarkable for a small village situated 60 km west of Poznań. At present, the whole complex comprising the palace and the park-like gardens is in excellent condition. The late Classicist palace was built in 1828 by Arsen Kwilecki who was nicknamed by his family “the great builder”. The complex also includes: farms with two farmyards; one of the first sugar mills in Wielkopolska; a distillery; and a steam-powered mill. Apparently, the palace was designed by Karl Friedrich Schinkel. It is a one-story structure with a rectangular floor plan, covered with a low hip-roof, boasting a very original set of windows that make the building exceptional. Thanks to the symmetries carefully maintained in the architectural designs, to the NeoRenaissance details, and to the minimalist treatment of the decor, the palace is regarded as one of rare examples of Romantic Classicism in Wielkopolska.

Palace in Margonin

Margońska Wieś This Neo-Gothic 19th-century palace is situated away from the center of Margonin. The building was erected between 1842 and 1843 for Carl von Schwichow following the prior renovation of the previously existing structure that had been completed by August

Stüler in late 18th century. Parts of the original manor may still be seen in the layout of the palace on its western side. The Neo-Gothic wings of the building were finished with different towers. The palace was remodeled again at the turn of the 19th and 20th centuries. Today it houses a Forestry Center. The grounds around the palace comprise a landscape park.


Okonek

Jastrowie

mansions

Złotów Gwda

Krajenka

Łobżenica

Wysoka

PIŁA

Wyrzysk Osiek nad Notecią

Kaczory

Szamocin

Ujście

Trzcianka

Chodzież

Drawieński Park Narodowy

Margonin

Wieleń

Margonin Gołańcz

Czarnków

Lubasz Noteć

Krzyż Wielkopolski

Tarnowo Pałuckie Łekno

Lubasz

Wągrowiec Puszcza Notecka Jaracz

Sieraków

Sieraków

Warta Wronki Sierakowski Park Krajobrazowy

Kwilcz

Rogoźno Oborniki

Rokietnica

Pniewy

Lwówek

POZNAŃ

Nowy Tomyśl

Opalenica Buk

Zbąszyń

Grodzisk Wielkopolski

Obra

Wielkopolski Park Mosina Narodowy

Wielichowo

Kórnik

Park Śrem Krajobrazowy Gen. D. Chłapowskiego

A2 Rychwał

Pr

Jarocin

Tuliszków

Dąbie

Turek

Dobra

Stawiszyn

os na

Pleszew

Żelazków Dobrzyca

Russów Gołuchów

Rokosowo

Gębice

Koło

Zagórów

Nowe Miasto nad Wartą Borek Wielkopolski

Pępowo Krobia

KONIN Stare Miasto

Pyzdry Żerkowsko-Czeszewski Park Krajobrazowy Żerków Śmiełów

Koźmin Pogorzela Wielkopolski

Rokosowo

Poniec

Kłodawa

Nadwarciański Park Krajobrazowy Ląd Miłosław

Środa Wielkopolska

Gostyń Pawłowice

Rydzyna

Przedecz Licheń

Golina

Warta

Cichowo Krzywiń Dolsk Lubiń

Osieczna

LESZNO

Sompolno

Ślesin

A2

Kórnik

Zaniemyśl

Książ Wielkopolski

Kościan

Pawłowice

Kleczew

Słupca

Rogalin Rogaliński Park Krajobrazowy Czempiń

Śmigiel

Powidz

Grzybowo Września Giecz Koszuty

Racot Przemęt Przemęcki Park Krajobrazowy

Nadgoplański Park Krajobrazowy

Witkowo

Kostrzyn

Rogalin

Rakoniewice

Gniezno Trzemeszno Powidzki Park Krajobrazowy

Park Krajobrazowy Uzarzewo Promno Czerniejewo Swarzędz

Luboń Puszczykowo

Szreniawa Stęszew

Mieleszyn

Lednicki Długa Goślina Park Krajobrazowy Puszcza Zielonka Dziekanowice Murowana Goślina Pobiedziska

Szamotuły

A2

Wolsztyn

Skoki

Ostroróg

Kwilcz

Mniszki Miedzichowo

Mieścisko

Obrzycko Słopanowo

Kłecko

Chrzypsko Wielkie

Międzychód Pszczewski Park Krajobrazowy

Kobylin

Raszków Miejska Górka Jutrosin Rawicz

Koźminek

KALISZ Opatówek

Lewków

Krotoszyn

Bojanowo

Nowe Skalmierzyce

Zduny

Ostrów Wielkopolski

Sulmierzyce

Przygodzice Odolanów

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF LESZNO-REGION TOURIST ORGANIZATION

Antonin Mikstat Park Krajobrazowy Dolina Baryczy Ostrzeszów

Grabów nad Prosną

Kobyla Góra Kępno Bralin

PHOTO: Z. SZMIDT

Kórnik Library 62-035 Kórnik, ul. Zamkowa 5 tel. +48 61 817 00 81 fax +48 61 817 19 30 www.bkpan.poznan.pl

Palace in Racot

Racot

Commune Office in Kwilcz 64-420 Kwilcz, ul. Wyszyńskiego 23 tel. +48 61 29 15 065, 61 29 15 400 fax +48 61 29 15 264

The Classicist palace in Racot was built in 1780 1790 for Duke Antoni Barnaba Jabłonowski. Dominic Merlini who designed it has also created the Royal Łazienki Palace in Warsaw. The main part of the two-story rectangular building is under a slanted roof and has a four-column portico. A new wing was added to it in 1902. The interior includes charming stucco and painted decorative elements, and the characteristic for the whole structure rounded off corners. Both the exquisite furnishings and the classicist tile stoves are in impeccable condition. The palatial complex includes two 18th-century utility buildings, as well as a stable, a coach-house with a collection of vintage sledges and carriages. Behind all buildings is a landscape park. The palace has frequently changed owners. In 1919 it became property of the State Treasury and was intended to become a residence for the President of the Republic of Poland. Since 1928 it houses a well known horse stable.

Palace in Pawłowice

Pawłowice A Classicist palace, built for Maksymilian Mielżyński between 1779 and 1792, was designed by Carl Gotthard Langhans who was the future creator of the Berlin Brandenburg Gate. The palace connects with two quarter-circle-shaped galleries. This fourstory building has a four-column portico topped with an attic and decorated with four allegorical statuettes. Jan Chrystian Kamsetzer who designed the palace interior was once affiliated with the court of King Stanisław August Poniatowski. The dance hall boasts 24 impressive marbled columns with Corinthian capitals, rich stucco decorations, and inlaid floor. ba

Lubasz Palace 64 -720 Lubasz, ul. Wiejska 34 tel. +48 67 25562 95 Palace–Forestry Center 64-830 Margonin, ul. Kościuszki 47 tel./fax +48 67 285 51 11 Institute of Animal Husbandry–National Research Institute 31-047 Kraków, ul. Sarego 2 Pawłowice Experimental Center 64-122 Pawłowice, ul. Mielżyńskich 14 tel. +48 65 529 91 92 www.zzdpawlowice.pl Horse Stable 64-000 Racot, ul. Dworcowa 5 tel. +48 65 511 79 58

European Integration Center 63-805 Łęka Mała, Rokosowo tel. +48 65 573 33 08, 65 573 11 56 www.rokosowo.pl fax +48 65 573 33 04 Advance arrangements are required for a visit to the castle. Opaliński Castle Museum 64 – 410 Sieraków, ul. Stadnina 3a tel. +48 61 29 52 392 www.muzeum-sierakow.pl

Sieraków

FOTO: ARCHIVES OF TOWN AND COMMUNITY OFFICE IN SIERAKÓW

FOTO: ARCHIVES OF NATIONALMUSEUM IN POZNAŃ AUTOR: P. NAMIOTA

Palace in Rogalin

Opaliński Castle Museum

PHOTO: Z. SZMIDT

The main attraction of Sieraków is the castle of the Opaliński family. The only remains of the original structure are cellars which were beneath a part of the building. In 1993 – 1995 that wing of the castle was reconstructed and a museum was established there. That is when five sarcophagi of the Opaliński family were relocated here from the vaults of the parish church. In fact, before they were brought here they were restored to their original splendour, and the cellars were transformed into a crypt with an altar. The sarcophagi of the former owners of the castle and town are real masterpieces and an object of envy from numerous museums. They bear witness to the history of an outstanding noble family, as well as the history of Poland and this region. The museum also holds temporary exhibitions.

After assuming the gubernatorial responsibilities in Wielkopolska, Kazimierz Raczyński decided to build a sumptuous residence in Rogalin, a village on the outskirts of Poznań. Between 1768 and 1776 a stan-dard, late Baroque palace and a park arrangement according to the idea of entre cour et jardin were created. The palace is comprised of the main build-ing and attached to it two quarter-circleshaped wings with galleries. Right behind it is a French gar-den and next to it an English one where visitors may enjoy viewing the legendary, ancient oaks named Lech, Czech and Rus. Further down, closer to river Warta is the largest in Europe concentration of monumental oaks that is also accessible to tourists.

www.palac-racot.pl

Branch of the National Museum in Poznań 62-022 Rogalin, ul. Arciszewskiego 2 tel. +48 61 813 80 30; 61 813 80 54 www.mnp.art.pl

ba

Rogalin

office@kwilcz.pl www.kwilcz.pl

Castle in Rokosowo

Rokosowo In the place of a fortified manor in Rokosowo, a castle was erected for Józef Mycielski in 1854. Its design inspired by Romantic Gothic architecture is attributed to Friedrich August Stüler. For several generations it remained in the hands of the Wielkopolska line of the Czartoryski family. It is a three-story edifice on a rectangular floor plan, with two four-story round towers in the front, and an addition to it built in 1885. This castle is surrounded with a moat and a landscape park that reflects the 19th-century style of garden design highlighting old trees. Castles, palaces and country mansions

19


PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF CASTLE WĄSOWO

Sczanieccy Palace in Wąsowo

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF CASTLE WĄSOWO

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF LESZNO-REGION TOURIST ORGANIZATION

Castle in Rydzyna

Rydzyna

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN AND COMMUNE OFFICE IN SZAMOTUŁY

The Rydzyna castle was built according to the design by Józef Szymon Belotti on an artificial island atop the ruins of a 15th-century fortified castle. Around 1700, it was further modified by Pompeo Ferrari. Its present shape (following the reconstruction in 1972 - 1982) resembles the one it had acquired in 1766 1796 with the help of Ignacy Graff. It is a four-story Baroque structure on a square floor plan with a courtyard inside and four square towers in the corners. The way into the castle leads through a late Baroque stone bridge with an ornamental gate built around 1750. A park extends towards the east of the building. The castle is open to visitors and houses a hotel and a restaurant. ba

Hardt Castle in Wąsowo

Wąsowo The complex in Wąsowo includes the Sczaniecki Palace and the Hardt Castle. The first one is older. Sylwester Sczaniecki, the mayor of Środa Wielkopolska, erected a late 17th-century residence quite typical in style for nobility of that time. The succeeding owner, Richard von Hardt, despite the existing building, erected in 1870 - 1872 an imposing castle, reflecting the Neo-Gothic style. The property is surrounded with an English park. Since 1995 this palace-castle complex has been in the hands of a private owner and has been operating as a hotel. ba

Halszka’s Tower in Szamotuły

SZAMOTUŁY

Castle of the Górka Family and Halszka’s Tower

20

Castles, palaces and country mansions

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN AND COMMUNE OFFICE IN ŻERKÓW

The history of the Górka Castle goes back to the 15th century. The structure changed its appearance many times with each successive owner and with the historical events of that region. It was towards the end of the 20th century that it regained its Gothic character. However, what remained were only parts of the moat, the dirt fortified embankment, and the 15th-century Halszka’s tower. The latter is the oldest part of the residence. It has a square floor plan and is four floors tall, covered with a steep slanted roof. Originally, it functioned as a defense tower, but in 16th century Łukasz Górka imprisoned his wife Halszka inside. Currently, it serves as a museum covering the history of the town. Today, the castle itself provides a peek into the elaborate interiors once inhabited by Polish magnates. Whereas the basement houses a large collection of religious Russian icons seized during an international smuggling attempt. A collegiate church is nearby and in it a painting of Our Lady of Kazań which has drawn many a pilgrim to the church altar in the past four centuries.

Palace in Śmiełów

Śmiełów Andrzej Gorzeński built a Classicist palace designed by Stanisław Zawadzki in a park by the Lutynia river. The founder’s connection to the Freemasons is visible in the architecture and the unusual interior design. In 1797, the two-story palace was connected to two half-circle wings thus forming a horseshoe shape, or as seen by others, the letter G symbolic of Freemasonry. The famous Polish poet

Adam Mickiewicz spent here several weeks in 1831 while he was attempting to get through to and to join in the November Uprising that was in progress in the Russian sector of partitioned Poland. The later interpreters of his literary work tried to connect the impact of his life in Śmiełów to the content of his epic poem Pan Tadeusz. The Adam Mickiewicz Museum has taken up residence in the palace starting in 1975.


Okonek

Museums and skansens

Jastrowie Złotów Gwda

Krajenka

Łobżenica

Wysoka

PIŁA

Wyrzysk Osiek nad Notecią

Kaczory

Szamocin

Ujście

Trzcianka

Chodzież

Drawieński Park Narodowy

Margonin Gołańcz

Czarnków

Wieleń

Noteć

Krzyż Wielkopolski

Tarnowo Pałuckie Łekno

Lubasz

Wągrowiec Puszcza Notecka Jaracz Warta Wronki Sierakowski Park Krajobrazowy

Rogoźno

Szamotuły

Sieraków

Międzychód

Wąsowo

Oborniki

Rokietnica

Lwówek

POZNAŃ

A2 Nowy Tomyśl

Opalenica Buk

Zbąszyń

Grodzisk Wielkopolski

Obra

Stęszew

Wielichowo

Wielkopolski Park Mosina Narodowy

Kórnik

Śmiełów

Jarocin

Russów

Raszków Miejska Górka Jutrosin Rawicz

Zduny Sulmierzyce

Dobra

Koźminek

KALISZ Opatówek

Lewków

Krotoszyn

Dąbie

Turek

Żelazków

Dobrzyca Gołuchów

Kobylin

Tuliszków

Stawiszyn

na

Grabonóg

Pleszew

os

Gębice

Bojanowo

A2

Rychwał

Nowe Miasto nad Wartą Borek Wielkopolski

Pępowo Krobia

Kłodawa Koło

Zagórów

Pr

Rokosowo

Poniec

Przedecz Licheń

KONIN Stare Miasto

Warta Pyzdry Żerkowsko-Czeszewski Park Krajobrazowy Żerków Śmiełów

Koźmin Pogorzela Wielkopolski

Pawłowice Rydzyna

Sompolno

Ślesin

Golina

Nadwarciański Park Krajobrazowy Ląd Miłosław

Książ Wielkopolski

Gostyń

Rydzyna

Kleczew

A2

Środa Wielkopolska

Zaniemyśl

Cichowo Krzywiń Dolsk Lubiń

Osieczna

GŁOGÓW LESZNO

Powidz

Słupca

Park Śrem Krajobrazowy Gen. D. Chłapowskiego

Śmigiel

Nadgoplański Park Krajobrazowy

Witkowo

Grzybowo Września Giecz Koszuty

Kościan

Cichowo

Przemęt Przemęcki Park Krajobrazowy

Gniezno Trzemeszno Powidzki Park Krajobrazowy

Kostrzyn

Rogalin Rogaliński Park Krajobrazowy Czempiń

Rakoniewice

Mieleszyn

Park Krajobrazowy Uzarzewo Promno Czerniejewo Swarzędz

Luboń Puszczykowo

Szreniawa

Wolsztyn

Lednica

Lednicki Długa Goślina Park Krajobrazowy Puszcza Zielonka Dziekanowice Murowana Goślina Pobiedziska

Szamotuły Pniewy

Mniszki Miedzichowo

Skoki

Ostroróg

Kwilcz

Pszczewski Park Krajobrazowy

Mieścisko

Obrzycko

Słopanowo

Kłecko

Chrzypsko Wielkie

Nowe Skalmierzyce Ostrów Wielkopolski Przygodzice

Odolanów Antonin Mikstat Park Krajobrazowy Dolina Baryczy Ostrzeszów

Grabów nad Prosną

Kobyla Góra Kępno Bralin

Rydzyna Castle 64-130 Rydzyna, pl. Zamkowy 1 tel. +48 65 529 50 40 www.zamek-rydzyna.com.pl tel./fax +48 65 529 50 26 Advance arrangements are required for a visit to the castle.

Soplicowo Movie Skansen - Marek Pinkowski 64-010 Krzywiń, Cichowo 11 tel. +48 65 517 71 77 www.krzywin.pl

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE DISTRICT OFFICE IN KRZYWIŃ

Adam Mickiewicz Museum in Śmiełów 63-210 Żerków, Śmiełów tel. +48 62 74 03 164 www.mnp.art.pl Górka Castle Museum 64-500 Szamotuły, ul. Wroniecka 30 tel/fax: +48 61 29 218 13 zamek@zamek.org.pl www.zamek.org.pl Palace and Park Complex 64-314 Wąsowo, ul. Parkowa 1 tel. +48 61 447 26 13, fax 61 447 26 19 www.wasowo.pl

Soplicowo Movie Set Skansen

Museum of First Piasts on Lednica Wielkopolski Ethnographic Park 62-261 Lednogóra, Dziekanowice 32 tel. +48 61 427 50 10 sekretariat@lednicamuzeum.pl fax +48 61 427 50 20 www.lednicamuzeum.pl

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE DISTRICT OFFICE IN GNIEZNO WWW.TURYSTYKA.POWIAT-GNIEZNO.PL

Soplicowo Movie Set Skansen

CICHOWO

Soplicowo Movie Set Skansen

Wielkopolska Ethnographic Park

DZIEKANOWICE

Wielkopolska Ethnographic Park The Wielkopolska Ethnographic Park is located by the lake Lednickie. It is regarded as one of the biggest in Europe. The buildings exhibited here date back to 17th through 19th centuries and have been brought in from various parts of Wielkopolska. For example, one can compare a home from 1602 to a home from 1932, both of which share the basic details of the roof construction. This site offers a fascinating confrontation of cultures from different epochs. Here one can imagine what life was like in a village hundreds of years ago. Besides farm buildings that come from different historical periods, the Skansen contains wind mills, a church, a granary, and a blacksmith’s shop. The buildings are arranged and equipped as if people were living in them and were about to return from the field any minute.

Adam Mickiewicz, the greatest poet of Polish Romanticism, spent some time in Wielkopolska between 1831 and 1832, among other places in the vicinity of Krzywiń and Kopaszewo. Let’s fast forward now to the 20th century. In late 1990s, Andrzej Wajda directed a movie based on Pan Tadeusz a masterpiece written by Adam Mickiewicz. One of the contributors to the movie, Marek Pinkowski, himself a resident of Cichowo and creator of the “Academy for Movie Animals,” acted as the trainer of storks that played a part in the movie. He followed up on his idea of opening a skansen on the set that was built for the movie and calling it “Soplicowo.” He managed to convince both the local authorities and the movie producers, and thus the skansen opened on June 26, 1999. It comprises a farm designed by Allan Starski exclusively for the movie set. The buildings are surrounded with a Zosia’s garden inhabited by animals consistent with the descriptions in Mickiewicz’s original Pan Tadeusz. The costumes, props, and the soundtrack composed by Wojciech Kilar are all part of the exhibit in the buildings on the set. The whole compound is well visible from the main road to the village of Cichowo situated near the lake Cichowo-Mórka, making it all even more charming and attractive.

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE DISTRICT OFFICE IN GOSTYŃ

Visits need to be scheduled in advance by contacting the School secretary.

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF SOPLICOWO MOVIE SKANSEN

Consortium of Agricultural Schools in Grabonóg 63-820 Piaski sekretariat@grabonog.pl tel. +48 65 573 91 46, 65 573 91 47 www.grabonog.pl

ba

Museum of Blessed Edmund Bojanowski

GRABONÓG

Museum of Blessed Edmund Bojanowski The Classicist manor in Grabonóg originated at the turn of 18th and 19th centuries. The beautiful front of the building has a decorative projection with wooden pilasters. This is the birthplace of the blessed Edmund Bojanowski, an educational and religious activist who was the first founder of orphanages in Poland. He was also the organizer of the Gathering of the Sisters of Service of the Blessed Virgin Mary. Since 1981, the manor is a museum of ethnographic artifacts. The ground floor contains archaeological exhibits from the Grabonóg area, including costumes, musical instruments, as well as a salon furnished in the biedemeier style. On the first floor is a room with memorabilia related to Edmund Bojanowski. The other resident of the manor was Professor Stanisław Helsztyński who donated a significant amount of documents, photographs, books and manuscripts, thus laying the foundation for a library and a reading room that now are located in the manor.

Museums and skansens

21


Museums and skansens OPATÓWEK

History of Industry Museum

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE COMMUNE OFFICE IN OPATÓWEK

Building of History of Industry Museum in Opatówek

Iron Bridge in Opatówek

The Stanisław Staszic Regional Museum in Piła occupies what is probably the most beautiful building in the town. Its character refers to the Italian villa architecture and it dates back to the mid-19th century. It is not surprising the villa was the seat of the Polish consulate during the two decades of the interwar period. The Regional Museum exhibits mainly archeological and ethnographic collections originating from the northern parts of Wielkopolska. The museum prides itself on its collection of elements retrieved from a wooden structure of a dam dating back to the middle of the third millennium before Christ, a part of a passage across the Noteć Valley in Żuławka Mała. All those interested in crafts will be impressed by the exquisitely beautiful collection of products created at the Stanisław Mańczak Faience Factory in Chodzież. 22

Museums and skansens

Stanisław Staszic house in Piła

ba

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE DISTRICT OFFICE IN PIŁA AUTHOR: M. FIJAŁKOWSKA

PIŁA

Stanisław Staszic Regional Museum

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN OFFICE IN PIŁA

FOTO: ARCHIWUM UM W PILE

Stanisław Staszic Regional Museum in Piła

Exposition in museum in Opatówek

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE COMMUNE OFFICE IN OPATÓWEK

In the village is also one of the oldest in Poland iron bridges that is located in the park near the ruins of an old palace. The bridge stretches over the canal that connects river Cienia with a pond, a remainder of a 14th-century moat. Another village attraction is the 17th-century statue of St. John Nepomucen carved in wood and originally situated on a bridge. Traditionally, statues of St. John Nepomucen have been carved in stone and placed near bridges or river crossings, but this one is now kept indoors inside a local church.

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE COMMUNE OFFICE IN OPATÓWEK

Adolf Gottlieb Fiedler, a businessman and merchant originally from Saxony, built in 1824-1825 a broadcloth factory here. What’s left of it is an imposing building at the corner of Poniatowskiego and Kościelna streets. It is a remarkable Classicist structure representative of the industrial architecture in mid19th century. Its well preserved interior includes wooden ceilings with huge beams reaching 14 meters in length and a cast-iron stairwell. This was a perfect place to demonstrate the 19th-century machinery and transport devices.

Museum of Folk Culture

PIŁA

OSIEK NAD NOTECIĄ

Stanisław Staszic's house

Museum of Folk Culture

Stanisław Staszic, a philosopher, natural historian, political activist, writer and priest, one of the most eminent brains of the times of Enlightment period in Poland, is the best-known citizen of Piła. The Museum devoted to him was created in 1951. It was opened in the house of the Staszic family, located in the part of the town called “Zamoście”. The Staszic family has a farm there. After the Second World War, the dilapidated house was all that was left there. The museum collection has around 1400 exhibits connected with the Enlightment thinker as well as those which illustrate his times. There are manuscripts, official documents, originals of the writer's letters. There are also images of Staszic (graphics, medals, plates). The museum owns a library with over 2700 volumes.

This museum comprises of two quite separate parts: archeological and ethnographic one. The former presents the exhibits gained during archeological excavations carried out in this area in the 1960s. The most interesting graves were displayed in three pavillions in their original basement soil. Nearby, an ovaltype village was created. Apart from the houses and farming facilities, you can also see in the skansen some windmills, a forge, a sawmill, as well as a house which contained teacher's flat and an elementary school room (mid-19th century). The buildings collected in the skansen originate from the Notec river central catchment area - Notecka Forest, Pałuki and Krajna.


Okonek

Jastrowie Złotów Gwda

Krajenka

Piła

Łobżenica

Osiek nad Notecią

Wysoka

PIŁA

Wyrzysk

Osiek nad Notecią

Kaczory

Szamocin

Ujście

Trzcianka

Chodzież

Drawieński Park Narodowy

Margonin

Noteć

Sieraków

Warta Wronki Sierakowski Park Krajobrazowy

Rogoźno Oborniki

Rokietnica

Lwówek

POZNAŃ

Opalenica Buk

Wolsztyn

Obra

Luboń Puszczykowo

Stęszew

Wielkopolski Park Mosina Narodowy

Grodzisk Wielkopolski

Wielichowo

Powidz

Książ Wielkopolski

A2 Rychwał

Tuliszków

Dąbie

Turek

Dobra

na

Stawiszyn Żelazków

Koźmin Pogorzela Wielkopolski

Dobrzyca

Russów Gołuchów

Pępowo Gębice

Zagórów

Jarocin

Gostyń

Koło

Stare Miasto

Warta Pyzdry Żerkowsko-Czeszewski Park Krajobrazowy Żerków Śmiełów

Pleszew

Rokosowo Krobia

Kłodawa

KONIN

os Pr

Borek Wielkopolski

Pawłowice

Poniec

Przedecz Licheń

Golina

Nowe Miasto nad Wartą

Cichowo Krzywiń Dolsk Lubiń

Rydzyna

Sompolno

Ślesin

A2 Nadwarciański Park Krajobrazowy Ląd Miłosław

Środa Wielkopolska

Zaniemyśl

Osieczna

LESZNO

Kleczew

Słupca Koszuty Kórnik

Kościan

Śmigiel

Nadgoplański Park Krajobrazowy

Witkowo

Grzybowo Września Giecz

Park Śrem Krajobrazowy Gen. D. Chłapowskiego

Przemęt Przemęcki Park Krajobrazowy

Gniezno Trzemeszno Powidzki Park Krajobrazowy

Kostrzyn

Rogalin Rogaliński Park Krajobrazowy Czempiń

Rakoniewice

Mieleszyn

Park Krajobrazowy Uzarzewo Promno Czerniejewo Swarzędz

Puszczykowo

Szreniawa

Rakoniewice

Skoki

Lednicki Długa Goślina Park Krajobrazowy Puszcza Zielonka Dziekanowice Murowana Goślina Pobiedziska

Szamotuły

A2 Zbąszyń

Mieścisko

Obrzycko Słopanowo

Pniewy

Nowy Tomyśl

Jaracz

Ostroróg

Kwilcz

Mniszki Miedzichowo

Wągrowiec

Rogoźno

Kłecko

Chrzypsko Wielkie

Międzychód

Tarnowo Pałuckie Łekno

Lubasz

Puszcza Notecka

Pszczewski Park Krajobrazowy

Gołańcz

Czarnków

Wieleń Krzyż Wielkopolski

Kobylin

Raszków Miejska Górka Jutrosin Rawicz

Russów

Zduny Sulmierzyce

Koźminek

KALISZ Opatówek

Lewków

Krotoszyn

Bojanowo

Opatówek

Nowe Skalmierzyce Ostrów Wielkopolski Przygodzice

Odolanów Antonin Mikstat Park Krajobrazowy Dolina Baryczy Ostrzeszów

Grabów nad Prosną

Kobyla Góra Kępno Bralin

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN OFFICE IN RAKONIEWICE

History of Industry Museum 62-860 Opatówek, ul. Kościelna tel. +48 62 761 86 26 www.opatowek.muzeum.pl Museum of Folk Culture 89-333 Osiek nad Notecią, ul. Dworcowa 10 tel. +48 67 286 60 90 www.muzeum.pila.pl Stanisław Staszic's Museum 64-920 Piła, ul. Browarna 18 tel. +48 67 21 31 567 biuro@muzeumstaszica.pl www.muzeumstaszica.pl Stanisław Staszic's Regional Museum 64-920 Piła, ul. Browarna 7 tel. +48 67 212 71 37/32 muzeum@muzeum.pila.pl www.muzeum.pila.pl

RAKONIEWICE

Wielkopolska Museum of Firefighting Rakoniewice has a characteristic for small town architecture. A particularly interesting building is the former evangelical church with brick and wood wall construction which now houses the Wielkopolska Museum of Firefighting. The building has a skeletal framework filled in with clay and/or bricks covered

Museum and Writer’s Studio of Arkady Fiedler 62-041 Puszczykowo, ul. Słowackiego 1 tel. +48 61 81 33 794 marekfiedler@pro.onet.pl www.fiedler.pl

with a plaster. It was erected in 1763 with a rectangular floor plan and a tower. Both sides of the nave have two-story balconies. The exhibits on the ground floor include fire engines, horse-powered extinguishers, motor pumps, etc. The second-floor balcony exhibits include uniforms, documents, orders of distinction, magazines, and the third-floor level displays posters.

ba

Wielkopolska Museum of Firefighting 62-067 Rakoniewice, ul. Kościelna 1 tel. +48 61 444 11 58 www.cmp-muzeum.pl/rakoniewice.htm Wojciecha Dutkiewicz Regional Museum 64-610 Rogoźno, pl. Karola Marcinkowskiego tel. +48 67 261 80 78 Skansen of the Kalisz Region Villages Manor of Maria Dąbrowska in Russów 62-816 Tykadłów, Russów tel. +48 62 769 12 65 www.muzeum.kalisz.pl

ba

Museum and Writer’s Studio of Arkady Fiedler This museum has opened in 1974 while the writer and world traveler was still alive. The author of “The Unit 303” amassed in his villa and garden mementos collected on numerous visits to exotic lands. Later on, his sons began to expand the family museum with their own souvenirs from their trips as well. Besides the exotic exhibit pieces, visitors may view the display of Arkady Fiedler’s books many of which have been published all over the world. The garden part of the collection, called the Garden of Tolerance, is comprised of original sculptures and totems as well as miniaturized versions of such monuments as the pyramid of Cheops, the Aztec Calendar Stone, the Gate of the Sun near Lake Titicaca etc. A replica of the Christopher Columbus ship Santa Maria built in the 1:1 scale has garnered the most attention.

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE REGIONAL MUSEUM OF KALISZ REGION

PUSZCZYKOWO

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE DISTRICT OFFICE IN OBORNIKI AUTHOR: B.A. JERAN

PHOTO: Z. SZMIDT

Museum in Puszczykowo

Manor in Russów Regional Museum in Rogoźno

RUSSÓW

Wojciecha Dutkiewicz Regional Museum

Skansen of the Kalisz Region Villages and the Manor of Maria Dąbrowska

The Regional Museum in Rogoźno was established thanks to the persistence of local town activists. They built on the earlier efforts of and items gathered by the regional chronicler Wojciecha Dutkiewicz who had focused on documenting the Wielkopolskie Uprising in 1919. The Regional Museum named after her opened in the old town hall on January 29, 1983. Visitors may learn about the history of Rogoźno and surrounding areas from the prehistoric times till the present. The old town hall is a one-story structure. Its main part, attributed to the design of J. Offendingen, was built in 1826-1828. What is left of the original furnishings are the 1914 doors to the town treasury and several late 19th-century chairs. .

The famour Polish novelist Maria Dąbrowska was born and raised in Russów near Kalisz. Sadly, she did not live to enjoy the rebuilding of her family residence in 1971 and the opening of a museum dedicated to her. This museum includes a room restored to reflect the character of the place during her childhood. There are also some memorabilia left by the author of A Wedding in the Country. The Skansen of the Kalisz Region Villages is situated nearby in which visitors may see the old folk architecture from 19th and 20th centuries. It includes a cottage from Takotomyśl, a barn from Godziesz, a workman’s cottage from Dobrzec, a wooden granary from Russów, and a granary from Kuźnica.

ROGOŹNO

Museums and skansens

23


Okonek

Jastrowie Złotów Gwda

Krajenka

Łobżenica

Wysoka

PIŁA

Wyrzysk Osiek nad Notecią

Kaczory

Szamocin

Ujście

Trzcianka

Chodzież

Drawieński Park Narodowy

Tarnowo Pałuckie

Margonin

Gołańcz

Czarnków

Wieleń

Noteć

Krzyż Wielkopolski

Tarnowo Pałuckie Łekno

Lubasz

Wągrowiec Puszcza Notecka Jaracz

Słopanowo

Sieraków

Warta Wronki Sierakowski Park Krajobrazowy

Rokietnica

Lwówek

POZNAŃ

A2 Nowy Tomyśl

Opalenica Buk

Zbąszyń

Grodzisk Wielkopolski

Wolsztyn

Wolsztyn

Skoki

Stęszew

Wielichowo

Książ Wielkopolski

Kościan

Krzywiń Dolsk Lubiń

Borek Wielkopolski

Gębice

Tuliszków

Dąbie

Turek

Dobra

Stawiszyn Żelazków

Dobrzyca

Russów Gołuchów

Pępowo Krobia

A2 Rychwał

Pleszew

na

Rokosowo

Poniec

Zagórów

Jarocin

Koźmin Pogorzela Wielkopolski

Pawłowice Rydzyna

Koło

Stare Miasto

Warta Pyzdry Żerkowsko-Czeszewski Park Krajobrazowy Żerków Śmiełów

Gostyń

LESZNO

KONIN

os

Osieczna

Golina

Nowe Miasto nad Wartą

Cichowo

Śmigiel

Kłodawa

A2 Nadwarciański Park Krajobrazowy Ląd Miłosław

Środa Wielkopolska

Zaniemyśl

Przedecz Licheń

Koszuty

Kórnik

Sompolno

Ślesin Słupca

Pr

Osieczna

Kleczew

Giecz

Park Śrem Krajobrazowy Gen. D. Chłapowskiego

Przemęt Przemęcki Park Krajobrazowy

Powidz

Grzybowo Września

Szreniawa

Wielkopolski Park Mosina Narodowy

Nadgoplański Park Krajobrazowy

Witkowo

Kostrzyn

Rogalin Rogaliński Park Krajobrazowy Czempiń

Rakoniewice

Gniezno Trzemeszno Powidzki Park Krajobrazowy

Park Krajobrazowy Uzarzewo Promno Czerniejewo Swarzędz

Luboń Puszczykowo

Szreniawa

Mieleszyn

Lednicki Długa Goślina Park Krajobrazowy Puszcza Zielonka Dziekanowice Murowana Goślina Pobiedziska

Szamotuły Pniewy

Nowy Tomyśl

Obra

Mieścisko

Oborniki

Ostroróg

Kwilcz

Mniszki Miedzichowo

Rogoźno

Obrzycko

Słopanowo

Kłecko

Chrzypsko Wielkie

Międzychód Pszczewski Park Krajobrazowy

Kobylin

Raszków Miejska Górka Jutrosin Rawicz

Zduny

Sulmierzyce

Sulmierzyce

Koźminek

KALISZ Opatówek

Lewków

Krotoszyn

Bojanowo

Nowe Skalmierzyce Ostrów Wielkopolski Przygodzice

Odolanów Antonin Mikstat Park Krajobrazowy Dolina Baryczy Ostrzeszów

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF SZRENIAWA NATIONAL MUSEUM OF AGRICULTURE AND AGRICULTURAL FOOD INDUSTRY

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF SZRENIAWA NATIONAL MUSEUM OF AGRICULTURE AND AGRICULTURAL FOOD INDUSTRY

Kępno Bralin

National Museum of Agriculture and the Food Industry 62-052 Komorniki, ul. Dworcowa 5 tel. +48 61 81 07 629 muzeum@muzeum-szreniawa.pl www.muzeum-szreniawa.pl Museum of Marcin Rożek 64-200 Wolsztyn, ul. 5 Stycznia 34 tel. +48 68 384 26 48 www.muzea-wolsztyn.com.pl Skansen of the Ethnic Architecture of Western Wielkopolska 64-200 Wolsztyn, ul. Bohaterów Bielinka 26 tel. +48 68 384 26 19 www.muzea-wolsztyn.com.pl

Museum in Szreniawa Museum in Szreniawa

National Museum of Agriculture and the Food Industry

Museum in Szreniawa

Skansen in Wolsztyn

WOLSZTYN

Skansen of the Ethnic Architecture of Western Wielkopolska

PHOTO: W. LIS

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF SZRENIAWA NATIONAL MUSEUM OF AGRICULTURE AND AGRICULTURAL FOOD INDUSTRY

Museums and skansens

Town and commune office in Osieczna 64 -113 Osieczna, ul. Powstańców Wielkopolskich 6 tel. +48 65 535 00 16 Sebastian Fabian Klonowicz Regional Museum of Sulmierzyce 63-750 Sulmierzyce, Rynek 1 tel. +48 62 722 34 80, 62 722 32 18 Nowy Tomyśl Town Office 64-300 Nowy Tomyśl, ul. Poznańska 33 tel. +48 61 442 66 12 www.olederskieosadnictwo.nowytomysl.pl Church of St. Nicholas Parish of St. Peter and Paul 62-105 Łekno, ul. Poprzeczna 3 tel. +48 61 261 60 84 (contact the organist)

ba

A sprawling exhibit of the regional architecture in Western Wielkopolska is located on the southwestern shore of Lake Wolsztyńskie, covering 3.5 hectares. There is a homestead that comprises: a 1706 inn from Nowy Solec, a late 18th-century barn, a 19th-century stable with a coach house and an alcove from Szarki, an 18th-century octagonal well from Jastrzębsk, and a 19th-century farmhand’s cottage from Nowa Tuchorz. Typically for a place like this, a blacksmith’s shop and a chapel are also part of the compound. All buildings seem to be inhabited, and in part they really are–by animals, but all of the exhibit areas have been arranged in the best way to reflect the lifestyle of the people who once lived and worked in them. Museum in Szreniawa

24

Church of St. Nicholas Słopanowo (Obrzycko Parish) tel. to the Słopanowo sacristan +48 61 291 34 54 tel. to the parish priest in Obrzycko +48 61 291 32 32

PHOTO: W. LIS

The museum complex in Szreniawa includes: palace, farm buildings, part of a park (10 hectares) with an herb garden, sample fields that demonstrate the four-field way of farming, i.e. interchangeable planting of various plant categories, e.g., root, spring grains, oleaginous etc. The palace, which dates back to 1853, houses the exhibits covering the history of the village, whereas exhibits occupying special pavilions cover thematic areas of various branches of agriculture: tools and machinery, animal husbandry, beekeeping and honey production, plant cultivation and horticulture, cultivation and processing of hop and wicker, hunting and freshwater fishing, ethnography, history and art. During numerous events held in Szreniawa, the exhibit that is a major attraction is the collection of machinery and vehicles used in Polish farming: seven steam locomobiles, tractors, wagons, and sledges. The National Museum of Agriculture and the Food Industry has five branches: Museum of Grain Milling and WaterPowered Farm Equipment in Jaracz (Tel. 67 261 05 15). Museum of Wicker and Hop Cultivation and Processing in Nowy Tomyśl (tel. +48 61 442 23 11), Museum of Nature and Hunting in Uzarzewo (tel. +48 61 818 12 11), Museum of Meat Industry in Sielinek (tel. +48 61 447 36 14) and Skansen and Museum of Bee-keeping in Swarzędz (tel. 61 651 18 17).

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF SZRENIAWA NATIONAL MUSEUM OF AGRICULTURE AND AGRICULTURAL FOOD INDUSTRY

SZRENIAWA

Grabów nad Prosną

Kobyla Góra

Muzeum of Marcin Rożek in Wolsztyn

WOLSZTYN

Museum of Marcin Rożek The town of Wolsztyn offers museum exhibits in two separate buildings dedicated to three outstanding citizens. The first one among them is Marcin Rożek an artist who returned to his family town in 1934. His home contains an exhibit covering his life and work as a sculptor, with some of his sculptures displayed in the adjacent garden. The exhibit dedicated to Józef Maria Hoene-Wroński, the second town honoree, is housed in two rooms of the same building. He was an accomplished philosopher and mathematician, born in Wolsztyn in 1776. Robert Koch, the third prominent citizen of Wolsztyn who discovered the tubercular bacterium has a museum in his honor in a separate building, a former hospital for the poor (ul. Roberta Kocha 12, Tel. +48 68 384 27 36).


Wooden architecture

PHOTO: Z. SZMIDT

PHOTO: Z. SZMIDT

Polychrome in the church in Słopanowo ba Church of St. Nicholas in Słopanowo PHOTO: Z. SZMIDT

SŁOPANOWO

Church of St. Nicholas

Windmill in Osieczna

OSIECZNA

Region of Windmills

Church of St. Nicholas in Tarnowo Pałuckie

TARNOWO PAŁUCKIE

Church of St. Nicholas

SULMIERZYCE

Wooden Town Hall The wooden town hall in Sulmierzyce is the only building of this kind in Poland. The first information about it dates back to 1647. The present town hall was built in 1743, but it was further altered in 1879 when the height of the tower was reduced, and the clock and the arcade gallery were removed. It is a twostory structure with corner-notched log construction. It has a rectangular floor plan and a shingled hip roof which on three sides forms arcades supported with wooden pillars. The center of the crest has a quadrilateral turret covered with a steel cupola. The whole building has been plastered. The interior has retained the original arrangement with the mayor’s office and the meeting room on the second floor. The building currently housing the Regional Museum of Sulmierzyce has been named after Sebastian Fabian Klonowicz who was a Polish poet born in Sulmierzyce.

This one-nave church has been built in late 14th century with the use of the corner-notched log construction method and has been considered to be the oldest wooden church in Poland. The presbytery has been narrowed and closed with a wall. On the southern side of the nave there is a small vestibule, and on the west side a tower with an entrance hall on the ground level. The nave has a flat roof whereas the presbytery has a faux beam vault. The wall paintings created by Walenty Podczosik of Kcynia in 1639 are one of many attractions of this church. They include the scenes from the lives of St. Nicholas and St. Margaret. The walls of the presbytery have beautiful paintings with the scenes from the New Testament, and the presbytery ceiling is decorated with floral designs. The altar includes three paintings: in the center a late Renaissance painting of the Ascension of the Blessed Mary, and on the two side altars Baroque paintings of St. Nicholas and of St. Margaret. The roof over the nave has the image of the Adoration of the Holy Trinity and a series of boxes with the portraits of the prophets.

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN OFFICE IN NOWYM TOMYŚL

PHOTO: Z. SZMIDT

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN OFFICE IN SULMIERZYCE

Church of St. Nicholas in Tarnowo Pałuckie

Wooden Town Hall in Sulmierzyce

There are three windmills in Osieczna situated along the road leading to Leszno. All of them representing the most popular type - the post mill - usually erected on hills. Inside the mill, its structural parts comprising the whole frame rest on a four-arm wooden post. It is turned towards the wind with the use of a long pole and a winch. The front part with the entrance stands out with its decorative architectural details. Its external wall opposite to the one with the wheel with the blades is called the wind side. Among the three windmills the one that dates back to 1763 and has been recently rebuilt whereas the other two are awaiting restoration.

PHOTO: Z. SZMIDT

This is most likely the only Catholic church in Poland where one can see an image of the devil. The wall painting located under the gallery shows the devil taking hold of a woman’s collar. Everything points to her being an innkeeper’s wife because she is holding a partly-filled beer mug. Her supposed sins of “not topping up the beer mugs” are written on an ox hide, and thus serving as a justification for the final verdict. The church of St. Nicholas was built in 1695 as a single-nave structure, with a narrowing presbytery and a semi-hexagonal closure. The whole church interior is covered with wall paintings completed in 1695-1701 by a folk artist. There are Baroque altars and above them on the 16th-century rood beam is a late-Gothic sculpture of Our Lady of Sorrow.

Dutch Settlements around Nowy Tomyśl

Nowy Tomyśl

Dutch Settlements Dutch settlers first came to the Nowy Tomyśl area in the 18th century and since then the architectural style of their dwellings has become a fixture in Wielkopolska’s landscape. They began to settle in Sękowo, Glinno and Paproć, and later also in Boruja Stara, Przyłęk, Jastrzębsko Stare, Grubasko, and Nowa Róża. Their settlements had characteristic features: the farms were scattered over large areas of land; the farmsteads usually consisted of a narrow house, a pigsty and a grain barn, and sometimes a tool shed and a wood shed; and had in the central area water well with a wellsweep. In this area homes had wide fronts and a rectangular plan. At present many of these farmsteads have been converted into agrotourist farms.

Wooden architecture

25


Worth seeing PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE DISTRICT OFFICE IN OBORNIKI AUTHOR: B. A. JERAN

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN OFFICE IN CHODZIEŻ

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN OFFICE IN CHODZIEŻ

Forest Education Cottage in Oborniki

„The Plate Mountain” in Chodzież

Weavers’ Homes in Chodzież

OBORNIKI

CHODZIEŻ

CHODZIEŻ

Weavers’ Homes

Ski Slope

The German clothiers and weavers arrived in Chodzież in two waves during the 16th and 17th centuries. They formed a new street initially called “New Town,” and later “Under the Linden Trees” (currently Kościuszki). What is left of that period are their homes which share the same features: gabled roofs facing the street, one-story buildings, and wood beam and brick walls. These residences included in the back yard both weaving shops and storage buildings in order to store the wool and the cloth. At present these homes are private residences and are not available to visitors.

„Góra Talerz” (“The Plate Mountain”) is the tallest formation within the town boundaries (132 meters above sea level). From a terrace on the top it offers a sprawling scenic view of Chodzież and its surroundings. In 2003 a group of skiing aficionados, members of the Chodzież Ski Club, built a 200meter long ski track which in the future is planned to reach the length of 500 meters. It is the longest track of this type in northern Poland. There is also a ski lift available during the ski season.

Forest Education Cottage The Oborniki Forest District, a Chapter of the Office of Forestry, maintains a Forest Education Cottage for the Notecka Forest. Inside the cottage visitors may enjoy viewing the large-scale illustrations as well specimens of different plant and animal species. The full tour takes one hour and is combined with an outdoor walk along an educational path titled “Nature Preservation versus Hunting.” For a different set of topics of these nature lessons visitors may go to Stobnica, a Research Laboratory of the Department of Zoology at the University of Life Sciences in Poznań. From there, visitors may choose between two paths: “The Kończak Valley Trail” that could take anywhere from one to four hours (subject to prior arrangement with the forester), and/or “The Oak Forest Trail” located in the Daniele Forest Range within the Oborniki Forest District.

ba

GOŁUCHÓW

Center of Forest Culture

PHOTO: A. ŁĄCKI

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE COMMUNE OFFICE IN GOŁUCHÓW

When Jan and Izabella Działyńscy took ownership of the Castle in Gołuchów, they began to create an arboretum that now covers the area of 154 hectares. In 1977, the whole park system including the nearby forests has been converted into an animal sanctuary that is open to the public. It shows the animals and the natural habitats of such forest creatures as: bison, boar, fallow deer and so-called Polish horses. Nature lovers may also visit the Museum of Forestry. The permanent exhibits have been installed in the buildings which formerly served as the Sheep Barn, Castle Utility building, and the Carriage House. In the pine forest a couple of kilometers to the south of the castle is the largest in Wielkopolska erratic boulder (3.5 m in height and 22 m in circumference) also called the Boulder of St. Kinga or St. Jadwiga. It’s a pink granite stone of medium-granulation now well covered with mosses that discolor it.

Roman Road Post in Konin

Center of Forest Culture in Gołuchów

26

The Romanesque road post made of sandstone was erected in 1151. It bears an inscription in Latin informing of its date and location, half-way between Kalisz and Kruszwica along an important, well travelled road. Outside the boundaries of the Roman Empire, it is the oldest road sign in Europe. It was originally installed by Piotr Wszebor, a prince and a local notable. In the past, the post was situated near the castle. Currently, it is on the grounds of a former cemetery close to the Church of St. Bartłomiej. The other attractions in the Konin Old Town include: a 19th-century Classicist town hall, a former synagogue, manor of the local writer Zofia Urbanowska, and old residential buildings around Wolności square. The Road Post is next to the St. Bartłomiej Church.

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE COMMUNE OFFICE IN GOŁUCHÓW AUTHOR: T. MARCINKOWSKI

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE COMMUNE OFFICE IN GOŁUCHÓW AUTHOR: T. MARCINKOWSKI

Bisons in the Center of Forest Culture in Gołuchów

Worth seeing

KONIN

Roman Road Post

Boulder of St. Kinga in Gołuchów


Okonek

Jastrowie Złotów Gwda

Krajenka

Łobżenica

Wysoka

PIŁA

Wyrzysk Osiek nad Notecią

Kaczory

Szamocin

Ujście

Trzcianka

Chodzież

Chodzież

Drawieński Park Narodowy

Margonin

Gołańcz

Czarnków

Wieleń

Noteć

Krzyż Wielkopolski

Tarnowo Pałuckie Łekno

Lubasz

Wągrowiec Puszcza Notecka Jaracz

Sieraków

Warta Wronki Sierakowski Park Krajobrazowy

Rogoźno

Oborniki

Mniszki Miedzichowo

Oborniki

Rokietnica

Pniewy

Lwówek

POZNAŃ

Opalenica Buk

Nowy Tomyśl

Nowy Tomyśl Obra

Rakoniewice Wielichowo

Kórnik

Książ Wielkopolski

Nadwarciański Park Krajobrazowy Ląd Miłosław

Pleszew

Tuliszków

Dąbie

Turek

Dobra

Stawiszyn

na

Gębice

A2 Rychwał

Jarocin

Żelazków

Gołuchów

Dobrzyca

Russów

Gołuchów

Pępowo Krobia

Kłodawa

Koło

Zagórów

Nowe Miasto nad Wartą Borek Wielkopolski

Koźmin Pogorzela Wielkopolski

Rokosowo

Poniec

KONIN Stare Miasto

Pyzdry Żerkowsko-Czeszewski Park Krajobrazowy Żerków Śmiełów Warta

Gostyń Pawłowice Rydzyna

Przedecz Licheń

Konin

Golina

Środa Wielkopolska

Zaniemyśl

Cichowo Krzywiń Dolsk Lubiń

Osieczna

LESZNO Leszno

Sompolno

Ślesin

A2

Jaszkowo

Kościan

Śmigiel

Kleczew

Słupca

Park Śrem Krajobrazowy Gen. D. Chłapowskiego

Przemęt Przemęcki Park Krajobrazowy

Powidz

Grzybowo Września Giecz Koszuty

Wielkopolski Park Mosina Narodowy

Rogalin Rogaliński Park Krajobrazowy Czempiń

Nadgoplański Park Krajobrazowy

Witkowo

Kostrzyn

os Pr

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF LESZNO-REGION TOURIST ORGANIZATION, AUTHOR: J. LEWIŃSKI

Wolsztyn

Stęszew

Gniezno Trzemeszno Powidzki Park Krajobrazowy

Park Krajobrazowy Uzarzewo Promno Czerniejewo Swarzędz

Luboń Puszczykowo

Szreniawa Grodzisk Wielkopolski

Mieleszyn

Lednicki Długa Goślina Park Krajobrazowy Puszcza Zielonka Dziekanowice Murowana Goślina Pobiedziska

Szamotuły

A2 Zbąszyń

Skoki

Ostroróg

Kwilcz

Mniszki

Mieścisko

Obrzycko

Słopanowo

Kłecko

Chrzypsko Wielkie

Międzychód Pszczewski Park Krajobrazowy

Kobylin

Bojanowo

Raszków Miejska Górka Jutrosin Rawicz

Zduny Sulmierzyce

Koźminek

KALISZ Opatówek

Lewków

Krotoszyn

Nowe Skalmierzyce Ostrów Wielkopolski Przygodzice

Odolanów Antonin Mikstat Park Krajobrazowy Dolina Baryczy Ostrzeszów

Grabów nad Prosną

Kobyla Góra Kępno Bralin

Airport in Strzyżewice near Leszno

LESZNO

Central Gliding School

This Baroque three-stories-high town hall has a rectangular floor plan and a tower in the middle. The top of the building has an attic with a decorative railing behind which is a pitched roof. The tower is capped by a tin cupola with an arcade trim framing the central opening. It was most probably Pompeo Ferrari who has given this building its current design in 1707 – 1708. An arcade portal with a Baroque stone cartouche is on the eastern side of the structure. The homes surrounding the Leszno town square date back to 17th and 18th centuries, but since then some of them have been further modified.

The airport situated on the outskirts of Leszno is home to the Leszno Airclub and the Central Gliding School. It is the biggest and very well known center in Poland for gliding enthusiasts as well as for ballooning and airplane modeling. It is also the place of international gliding and ballooning competitions. The Central School of Gliding offers training in flying both airplanes and gliders. ba

Center for Regional and Nature Education 62-421 Kamionna, Mniszki 2 tel. +48 95 748 81 18, 509 609 653 www.mniszki.pl Nowy Tomyśl Town Office 64-300 Nowy Tomyśl, ul. Poznańska 33 tel. +48 61 442 66 12 Center for Regional and Nature Education in Mniszki

MNISZKI

JASZKOWO

Equestrian Center The Jaszkowo palace together with the adjacent farm and a park was probably built by Stanisław Mieczkowski in 1912. Antoni Chłapowski, a descendant of the once-famous general Dezydery Chłapowski, set his sights on this palace planning to settle there and to open the Wielkopolskie Equine Center. At present this facility, besides breeding ponies, offers training in horsemanship, horse care including horse shoeing, and the basics of horseback acrobatics. It also houses a horse clinic and hotel, several indoor riding rings, a coursing track, and an outdoor parcourse. Guest accommodations depending on the price - are available both in the palace and in other buildings on the premises.

Center for Regional and Nature Education Mniszki once was a farm and now is a village. In 2007, after a renovation of the former farmstead, a center for education about the region and local nature was opened in this facility. The various buildings hold exhibits of and workshops in the now dying-down professions and crafts that are all open to the public. For example: blacksmithing, ceramics, shoe repair, basket weaving etc. Visitors may also view the original tools once used for everyday household and farming activities. Most of these artifacts have been contributed by members of the local community. During the stay in Mniszki, guests may join organized walking or bicycle tours to the Valley of Kamionka, and in the fall participate in mushroom picking.

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN OFFICE IN NOWY TOMYŚL

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN AND COMMUNE OFFICE IN MIĘDZYCHÓD

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE ECONOMIC UNION OF THE ŚREM REGION AUTHOR: Z. SZMIDT

Center for Regional and Nature Education in Mniszki

Equestrian Center in Jaszkowo

Center of Forest Culture 63-322 Gołuchów ul. Działyńskich 2 tel. +48 62 761 50 45, 62 761 50 46 www.okl.sisco.pl Admission fee is required. Konin Town Office 62-500 Konin, plac Wolności 1 tel. +48 63 240 12 27 City Office Leszno 64-100 Leszno, ul. Kazimierza Karasia 15 tel. 65 529 81 00 www.leszno.pl Central Gliding School AP in Leszno 64-100 Leszno, ul. Szybowników 28 tel. / fax +48 65 529 24 00 info@cssleszno.eu www.cssleszno.eu Equine Center 63-112 Brodnica, Jaszkowo tel. +48 61 28 37 556 info@centrumhipiki.com www.centrumhipiki.com

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN AND COMMUNE OFFICE IN MIĘDZYCHÓD

Town Hall

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF LESZNO-REGION TOURIST ORGANIZATION AUTHOR: A. FLORKOWSKI

LESZNO

Chodzież - Center of Tourist Information in the Town Public Library 64-800 Chodzież, ul. Kościuszki 32 tel. +48 67 381 81 38 Forest Education Cottage 64-600 Oborniki, Dąbrówka Leśna, ul. Gajowa 1 tel. +48 61 297 13 02 oborniki@poznan.lasy.gov.pl

Wicker Basket in Nowy Tomyśl

NOWY TOMYŚL

Largest Wicker Basket in the World The area of Nowy Tomyśl is famous for wicker willow cultivation and the weaving art, for local crafts men and women weave baskets, furniture and various accessories. In 2000, Maria Gawron, a member of the local Cultural Center suggested that the wicker weavers make the largest basket ever woven. After 55 hours of continuous work, 50 weavers finished a basket to a design by a Poznań artist Jędrzej Śtępak, made of 8 tons of wicker. In 2006, members of the local community beat their previous record by making a basket 19.8 meters long and 9.53 meters tall. And so it all began, followed with the wicker promenade on Mickiewicz street that leads to the Niepodległości square in the center of the town. Visitors may view there the basket that has made it into the Guinness Book of Records. Worth seeing

27


Okonek

Jastrowie

Złotów

Złotów Gwda

Krajenka

Łobżenica

Wysoka

PIŁA

Wyrzysk Osiek nad Notecią

Kaczory

Szamocin

Ujście

Trzcianka

Chodzież

Drawieński Park Narodowy

Margonin Gołańcz

Czarnków

Wieleń

Noteć

Krzyż Wielkopolski

Tarnowo Pałuckie Łekno

Lubasz

Wągrowiec Puszcza Notecka Jaracz Warta

Sieraków

Sierakowski Park Krajobrazowy

Oborniki

Rokietnica

Lwówek

POZNAŃ

A2 Nowy Tomyśl

Opalenica Buk

Zbąszyń

Grodzisk Wielkopolski

Wolsztyn

Stęszew

Grodzisk Wlkp. Obra

Wielichowo

Wielkopolski Park Mosina Narodowy

Kórnik

Książ Wielkopolski

Rokosowo

Zagórów

A2 Rychwał

Jarocin Pleszew

Tuliszków

Turek

Dąbie

Turek Dobra

Stawiszyn Żelazków

Dobrzyca

Russów Gołuchów

Pępowo Gębice

Koło

Stare Miasto

Warta Pyzdry Żerkowsko-Czeszewski Park Krajobrazowy Żerków Śmiełów

Koźmin Pogorzela Wielkopolski

Pawłowice

Kłodawa

KONIN

Nowe Miasto nad Wartą Borek Wielkopolski

Gostyń

Krobia

Kłodawa

Golina

na os Pr

Osieczna

Poniec

Przedecz Licheń

A2 Nadwarciański Park Krajobrazowy Ląd Miłosław

Środa Wielkopolska

Zaniemyśl

Cichowo

Rydzyna

Sompolno

Ślesin Słupca

Krzywiń Dolsk Lubiń

LESZNO

Kleczew

Giecz Koszuty

Kościan

Śmigiel

Powidz

Grzybowo Września

Park Śrem Krajobrazowy Gen. D. Chłapowskiego

Przemęt Przemęcki Park Krajobrazowy

Nadgoplański Park Krajobrazowy

Witkowo

Kostrzyn

Rogalin Rogaliński Park Krajobrazowy Czempiń

Rakoniewice

Gniezno Trzemeszno Powidzki Park Krajobrazowy

Park Krajobrazowy Uzarzewo Promno Czerniejewo Swarzędz

Luboń Puszczykowo

Szreniawa

Mieleszyn

Lednicki Długa Goślina Park Krajobrazowy Puszcza Zielonka Dziekanowice Murowana Goślina Pobiedziska

Szamotuły Pniewy

Mniszki Miedzichowo

Skoki

Ostroróg

Kwilcz

Pszczewski Park Krajobrazowy

Mieścisko

Obrzycko Słopanowo

Kłecko

Chrzypsko Wielkie

Międzychód

Rogoźno

Wronki

Kobylin

Raszków Miejska Górka Jutrosin Rawicz

Zduny Sulmierzyce

Koźminek

KALISZ Opatówek

Lewków

Krotoszyn

Bojanowo

Nowe Skalmierzyce Ostrów Wielkopolski Przygodzice

Odolanów Antonin Mikstat Park Krajobrazowy Dolina Baryczy Ostrzeszów

Grabów nad Prosną

Kobyla Góra Kępno Bralin

PHOTO: P. BOROWSKI

Underground Tourist Trail in the Salt Mine ba

Grodzisk Wielkopolski Town Office 62-065 Grodzisk Wielkopolski, Stary Rynek 1 tel. +48 61 44 53 000 grodzisk@grodzisk.wlkp.pl fax +48 61 44 53 017 www.grodzisk.wlkp.pl

KŁODAWA

Underground Tourist Trail in the Salt Mine PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN AND COMMUNE OFFICE IN TUREK

Cloth Weaver Homes in Turek

TUREK

Cloth Weaver Homes

PHOTO: M. TULIŃSKI

Well of Father Bernard of Wąbrzeźno

28

Worth seeing

The no-longer-working chambers inside the Salt Mine in Kłodawa have been open to sightseers for a few years now. The underground trail is 600 to 750 meters below the surface and is 2.5 km long. It leads through the unique deposits of pink salt. At the beginning of this trail, there is the St. Kinga chapel, named after the patron of the miners. Inside this chapel all statuary has been carved out of salt. During the tour one can learn about the history of the salt deposit formation and about the utilization of these resources. Another grotto contains a spook house exhibit that includes bats, the Dracula and other scary creatures. The salt mine in Kłodawa is the only one in Europe where the pink salt is still mined. It is used for making lamps and other decorative items.

Turek Town Office 62-700 Turek, ul. Kaliska 59 tel. +48 63 289 61 01 sekretariat@miastoturek.pl fax +48 63 289 61 11 www.miastoturek.pl Museum of Złotów Region 77 – 400 Złotów, ul. Wojska Polskiego 2a Tel. +48 67 263 28 72 www.muzeum-zlotow.pl poczta@muzeum-zlotow.pl

GRODZISK WIELKOPOLSKI

Well of Father Bernard of Wąbrzeźno The Medieval part of the town founded in 1303 was once surrounded with an embankment and a moat. Now it is connected to the other part of town with a wide road called Szeroka (Wide) street that has been in use since 1593. This Medieval town has been expanding outward into the area surrounding the square market from which eight streets branch out of it. There is a Town Hall in the center of the square that dates back to the beginning of the 19th century and a well named after Father Bernard of Wąbrzeźno. The Wielkopolski square and the Szeroka street serving as the main axis make up the center of the ”new town” according to a characteristic for Renaissance design pattern. The center of the square is occupied by a post-evangelical church built in 1905. The houses along the perimeter of the square are all sharing the crested ridge roof shape and were constructed in late 19th and early 20th centuries. For the town citizens the water well of Father Bernard of Wąbrzeźno, a Benedictine monk from Lubiń, has long been an important place. Initially, it was used by the Grodzisk breweries, but in the late 19th century, it was enclosed in a stylish structure. Ever since then it has become an unofficial town landmark and an important symbol of Grodzisk. In 2009 the town erected next to it a figure of Father Bernard holding a pitcher. Legend has it that centuries ago thanks to a blessing given by Father Bernard in that very spot water jetted out of the ground. It enabled the town brewery to operate their beer breweries and the town residents to prosper, since brewing beer had been the only source of income at that time.

FOTO: ARCHIVES OF TOWN OFFICE IN ZŁOTÓW

The weaving traditions reach as far back as the 16th century, but the still-standing homes on Żeromskiego and Kaliska streets go back to the early 19th century. All were built with a rectangular floor plan, approximately 15 by 8 meters. They face the street, were built with brick and included two rooms separated with the entry hall. The walls in most of them bear some Classicist ornamentation. In the back, there are usually gardens in which the owners have built their weaving studios or little manufacturing plants. The Regional Museum in Turek has an exhibit of the weaving traditions of that area.

Kłodawa Salt Mine SA 62-650 Kłodawa, Aleja 1000-lecia 2 Tourist Service Bureau tel. +48 63 273 33 04 bot@sol-klodawa.com.pl www.sol-klodawa.com.pl

Museum of Złotów Region

ZŁOTÓW

Museum of Złotów Region The Museum of Zlotów Region is located in an 18th century townhouse. It is home to three permanent expositions and a gallery holding special events. Visitors can see an extremely interesting exhibition depicting the history of the town and region of Zlotów, featuring a bourgeoisie style parlour from the early 20th century. Of note is also the part of the exhibition devoted to the history of the Union of Poles in Germany, as the Board of District V of the Union had its seat here. A considerable part of its ethnographic section is devoted to the culture of the Krajniacy people from Zlotów who over the centuries withstood Kashubian and then German influences. Similarly the archaeological exhibition depicts the history of Zlotów Region. We can see here artefacts and tools excavated in the archaeological sites in Maryniec, Stawnica and Stara Wisniewka. In addition to the permanent expositions the museum organizes temporary exhibitions.


Interesting events in the region Kaziuk Vilnius in Poznań

Archeological and Historical Picnic on Lednica

Kłodawa Holiday of Blooming Rape Plant

This picnic combines learning and fun. In the Small Skansen children and teenagers expand their knowledge and research skills under the guidance of the employees of the First Piasts Museum. After crossing the lake, they will arrive in a different world. The ”reenactment groups” allow them to travel into the past and to taste what life was like in the old times.

This holiday is on one side an effort intended to promote the cultivation of this plant, and on the other a presentation of the folk art around the town of Kłodawa. Partici-pants visit the nearby rape plant (also known as mustard plant) fields and join in the coronation of the King and Queen of the Rape Plant, followed by entertainment provided by different folk bands.

The Vilnius Kaziuk has traveled westward along with the refugees displaced from Lithuania, and it has taken root in the cultural landscape of Wielkopolska despite the relatively modest size of the immigrant population that has ended up settling here. The first Sunday after the St. Casimir day marks the day for this event with a Lithuanian-themed fair organized for over a decade now by the Society of Vil-nians. Kaziuk combines both secular and religious tradi-tions: the St. Kazimierz day on March 4 who has been a patron of Lithuania, and the celebration of the recently regained independence by Lithuania. The first one dates back to 1604 when Vilnius first celebrated the canonization of St. Kazimierz with a parade across the city of Vilnius.

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN AND COMMUNE OFFICE IN KŁODAWA

MAY

PHOTO: W. KUJAWA

MAY

PHOTO: R. PINKOWSKI

MARCH

Town and Commune Office in Kłodawa 62-650 Kłodawa, ul. Dąbska 17 urzad@klodawa.wlkp.pl tel. 63 273 06 22 www.klodawa.wlkp.pl

Museum of the First Piasts on Lednica 62 -261 Lednogóra, Dziekanowice 32 tel. +48 61 427 45 03 sekretariat@lednicamuzeum.pl www.lednicamuzeum.pl

JUNE, JULY, AUGUST MAY

The museum in Szreniawa carefully plans its calendar of events: in the spring organizing festivals and shows related to Easter and Whit Sunday; during the summer presenting the cultures of the minorities residing in Poland; in the fall showing traditions and customs connected with that season; whereas in December providing demonstrations of Christmas crafts and art as well as holding a Christmas fair. In August, though, the museum organizes a Polish wedding filled with details representative of the Polish folklore. The event includes a real bride and groom who choose to have their whole wedding party according to the local traditions and including spectators. They wear folk costumes and exchange their wedding vows in the Komorniki church.

PHOTO: NATIONAL MUSEUM OF AGRICULTURE AND THE AGRO-FOOD INDUSTRY IN SZRENIAWA

Wedding in Szreniawa

The manor of Maria Dąbrowska in Russów comes alive with many activities during the summer. There are thematic festivals one day of each of the summer months: June, July and August. The program always includes both classical and pop music, poetry recitations by actors and poets, and an art fair. At the Michalina Ostrzeńska School Fair, visitors may purchase, for example, the portraits of Barbara and Bogusław (characters from Dąbrowska’s novel Nights and Days) or Żarnecka’s lard (a specialty also featured in the novel). District Museum of the Kalisz Region 62 - 800 Kalisz, ul. Kościuszki 12 tel. +48 62 757 16 08 www.muzeum.kalisz.pl

MAY, JUNE

Steam Engine Show in Wolsztyn

PHOTO: W. LIS

Two Theatrical Events in Kalisz. The Kalisz Theatrical Festival is a landmark event taking place in May at the Wojciech Bogusławski Theater. This is the only festival of acting in Poland which is intended for the more discerning audiences. On the other hand, the June La Strada Festival involving street entertainers is on the opposite end of the spectrum in theatre arts. This is a festival that focuses on various street events intended for mass audiences, a gathering of street theatres, creators of happenings, and various improvised street performances. Wojciech Bogusławski Theatre 62-800 Kalisz, plac Bogusławskiego 1 teatr@teatr.kalisz.pl tel. +48 62 751 07 38 www.teatr.kalisz.pl Center for Arts and Culture 62-800 Kalisz, ul. Łazienna 6 tel. +48 62 765 25 01

art.@ckis.kalisz.pl www.ckis.kalisz.pl

PHOTO: A. TYLCZYŃSKI

Kalisz Theatre Festival (may) and Festival of Street Entertainers La Strada (june)

This folklore festival “The Bukowina Encounters” is held in two towns because it is Jastrowie that has been home to most of the immigrants from the town of Bukowina a town currently on the border between the Ukraine and Romania. The idea was to keep alive the Bukowina folklore and to present the richness of the cultural heritage of that area. This festival is also meant to integrate different ethnicities that have been part the very diverse population of that region. A region that over the centuries has become the second home to Armenian, Jewish, German, Polish, Russian, Rome and Hungarian citizens. The Piła Cultural Center 64-920 Piła, plac Staszica 1 tel. +48 67 210 50 00, 67 210 50 04

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN OFFICE IN PIŁA

International Folklore Festival „The Bukowina Encounters” in Piła

MAY, JUNE

MAY

PKP Cargo S.A. Poznań (the organizer) 60-717 Poznań, ul. Kolejowa 23 tel. +48 61 633 36 85, fax. +48 61 633 55 14 www.parowozowniawolsztyn.pl www.parowozy.com.pl

Sunday with the Niechcic Family

Goraj Castle sekretariat@zsl-goraj.cil.pl 64-700 Czarnków www.zsl-goraj.cil.pl www.muzyka.mysliwska.pl/konkursy/goraj

The National Museum of Agriculture and the Agro-Food Industry in Szreniawa 62 052 Komorniki, ul. Dworcowa 5 tel. +48 61 810 76 29 muzeum@muzeum-szreniawa.pl www.muzeum-szreniawa.pl

“...Heavy, huge and dripping with sweat...”. This quote from a poem written by Julian Tuwim best reflects the character of the steam engine show that takes place in early May in Wolsztyn. Old steam engines from all over Europe as well as their enthusiasts from all over the world come to partake in this event. The attractions abound and include museum exhibits showing the history of steam engines, displays of steam engine models, and steam engine rides. The parade is accompanied by an International Competition of Steam Engineers and the competition for the Miss World of Steam Engines.

The Wielkopolska Competition of Hunting Signalers is one of the oldest competitions for horn blowers in Poland. It takes place on the premises of the Consortium of Forestry Schools in Goraj. The first one was just for the local community and took place in 1995. Since 2000, it has become a national competition serving as a qualifying event for the country-wide Competition of Hunting Signalists “For Wojski’s Horn.” Other events organized along with the one just mentioned are: a show featuring family teams of hunting signalists, a National Competition for deer-luring, and a purebred hunting dog show held in Piła.

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE DISTRICT OFFICE IN CZARNKÓW

MARCH - DECEMBER

Competition of Hunting Signalers in Goraj

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF TOURIST INFORMATION CENTRE IN KALISZ

The Society of Vilnians, Poznań Chapter 61-772 Poznań, Stary Rynek 51 wilniuki.poznan@wp.pl tel. +48 61 866 78 95 www.tmwizm.republika.pl

pila@pdk.pila.pl www.pdk.pila.pl

Town and Commune Office in Jastrowie 64-915 Jastrowie, ul. Żymierskiego 79 tel. +48 67 266 22 11

Interesting events in the region

29


Interesting events in the region International Song and Dance Festival in Konin

Archeological Fair in the Kalisz Zawodzie

The Konin Cultural Center 62-510 Konin, plac Niepodległości 1 tel. +48 63 211 31 33

Each June since 1996, the Regional Museum of the Kalisz District has been organizing an archeological fair in Zawodzie. It is set up in the authentic scenery of an early Medieval burg on the premises of an Archeological Reservation. The scenic encounters with the past are designed to educate and bring visitors closer to understand the lifestyle of the people living here centuries ago. The exhibits showcase the no-longer existing or dying out professions as well as ancient techniques used in various crafts and trades. Among them visitors may learn how to work with flint, bones, horns, leather, or amber.

kdk@konin.lm.pl www.kdk.konin.pl

Regional Museum of the Kalisz District 62-800 Kalisz, ul. Kościuszki 12 muzeum@kalisz.info tel. +48 62 757 16 08 (-09) www.kalisz.info/muzeum

JUNE

JUNE

Jarocin Festival

Friends of the Poznań Parish Basilica Society 61-779 Poznań, ul. Klasztorna 11 fara.poznan.@wp.pl tel. +48 61 852 60 59 www.fara.archpoznan.org.pl

PHOTO: W. KUJAWA

For nearly 40 years now young musicians and jazz enthusiasts have been meeting and studying with the masters of this music genre in Chodzież. Jan Jarczyk has been overseeing it for a few years now. Only the best and most accomplished musicians within the Polish and foreign jazz communities join the faculty for each event. Nearly every serious jazz lover has participated in these work-shops. Following the master classes, both students and faculty perform for the Chodzież audiences, and afterward the musicians spend late nights in jam sessions. Chodzież Cultural Center 64-800 Chodzież, ul. Strzelecka 15 tel. +48 67 282 05 13

chdk@chdk.com.pl

. Museum of the First Piasts on Lednica 62-261 Lednogóra, Dziekanowice 32 tel. +48 61 427 45 03 sekretariat@lednicamuzeum.pl

Jarocin has had a long tradition in organizing this yearly festival. Between 1970 and 1979 it was called the Wielkopolskie Youth Rhythms. With the changing times the festivals kept on changing as well including their name which has kept on evolving from the National Overview of the Music of the Young Generation to the Festival of Rock Musicians (the last one in 1994). The festival was revived in 2005 as the Jarocin PRL (People’s Republic of Poland) Festival. Since 2006 its name reflects each consecutive year, i.e., “Jarocin 2006” etc. It is gradually reshaping itself acquiring new style, new face, and new character. One stage holds all performances of Polish and foreign bands, among them big stars and first-timers. Art Agency „Go Ahead" 61-705 Poznań, ul. Noskowskiego 24 tel./fax +48 61 852 40 68 tel. +48 61 852 43 10 agencja@go-ahead.pl

AUGUST

„Return of the King” Fair in Leszno and Rydzyna The region of Leszno boasts a noble history associated with the Leszczyński royal family line. The towns of Leszno and Rydzyna - in the past directly linked to this family - both host the staging of the return of the King Stanislaus Leszczyński who in 1707 had emigrated from Rydzyna to different countries in Europe, spending most of his time in Luneville and Zweibrücken. Leszno – Region Tourist Organization 64-100 Leszno, ul. Karasia 15 biuro@leszno-region.pl tel.+48 65 529 82 34 www.leszno-region.pl

PHOTO: J. LEWIŃSKI

Live Skansen on Lednica

Interesting events in the region

JULY

International Jazz Workshops in Chodzież

JULY

30

Braid of Magdalen The Friends of the Poznań Parish Basilica Society has initiated the organization of a contest for the longest braid among girls and adult women. It is connected to the tradition of showing the image of St. Mary Magdalen with long hair. It offers an occasion to promote the Poznań Parish Basilica which also has St. Mary Magdalen as a patron. Every year the local girls and women with excitement enter this contest to compete for the winner’s trophy. During this event there is lots of music both classical played on the 19thcentury Ladegast organs inside the basilica, and music performed by musicians and singers in the courtyard of the City Office.

JULY - AUGUST

Editorial Office of the ABC Newspaper 64-100 Leszno, ul. Słowiańska 63 abc@gazetaabc.pl tel. +48 65 529 25 40 www.gazetaabc.pl

The Wielkopolska Ethnographic Park in Dziekanowice comes alive on the first Sunday in July. The old households are inhabited by potters, shoe repairmen, blacksmiths and far-mers. The women createt colourful cutouts, embroider, spin wool, weave cloth, and make butter. The cottages are filled with people dressed in folk costumes who mill around per-forming their “duties.” Some of them are members of the folk groups playing music, singing and dancing. This fair includes a market arranged in the central area.

JULY

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN OFFICE IN CHODZIEŻ

The name of this event relates to the old custom of the Leszno citizens who to stroll around the town square and the surrounding streets on Sundays. It used to be that after the morning mass, the people of Leszno would go out on the town visiting cafes and showing off their Sunday glamour. The metaphoric expression of “cobblestone shining” refers to that activity. Currently, this fiesta is scheduled jointly with the cinder track motorcycle races. For the enjoyment of all who gather in the Leszno Old Town merchants set up their stalls, crafts people and artisans display their art and goods, and entertainers contribute their music.

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF LESZNO-REGION TOURIST ORGANIZATION

“Cobblestone Shining” in Leszno

Starting in 1991, the end of June and beginning of July is the time when Poznań hosts a fascinating international festival of alternative theatres that has been regarded as the most important of that kind in Poland. Performances take place in the area adjacent to Lake Malta, hence its name. Though most of the events may be watched in the Old Town Square or in the courtyard of the Imperial Castle called Zamek. The Malta Theatre Festival has taken on the goal of discovering new spaces where theatrical performances have been staged so far inside old manufactu-ring plants, at an ice rink etc. For some years now Malta has been linked not just to theatre but also to music, dance and other performance arts.

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN OFFICE IN JAROCIN

Leszno - Region Tourist Organization 64-100 Leszno, ul. Karasia 15 biuro@leszno-region.pl tel. +48 65 529 82 34 www.leszno-region.pl

International Malta Theatre Festival in Poznań

Foundation for the International Malta Theatre Festival 61-809 Poznań, ul. Św. Marcin 80/82 tel. +48 61 646 52 42, 646 52 85 office@malta-festival.pl fax.+48 61 646 52 84 www.malta-festival.pl

PHOTO: G. CELIŃSKI

“Leszno Open Wings” is the name of the traditional picnic for gliders in Leszno. Visitors may enjoy watching gliders and balloons in the air, as well as experience flying them while at the same time admiring the birds’-eye-view of the town.

PHOTO: B. MARCINIAK

Gliding Picnic “Leszno Open Wings ”

JUNE - JULY

PHOTO: A. JABŁOŃSKA

This event attracts the amateur group performers from Poland and other European countries who present different styles of modern dance: ballroom dance, disco dance, disco show, disco freestyle, bre-ak dance, hip-hop, funky and electric boogie dance. Young enthusiasts of modern dance perform short pieces and dan-ce productions following a central theme that is different for each year’s festival. This event is a member of the World Federation of Festival Organizations FIDOF.

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN OFFICE IN KALISZ AUTHOR: M. HERTMANN

JUNE

PHOTO: A. ŁĄCKI

JUNE


AUGUST

SEPTEMBER / OCTOBER

Poznań Bamber Day

International Assembly of Slavonic Warriors in Grzybowo

Festival of Oratorial Music Musica Sacramontana

The Society of Poznań Bambers 60-723 Poznań, ul. Mostowa 7/9 tel./fax +48 61 852 89 66 bambrzy@bambrzy.poznan.pl www.bambrzy.poznan.pl

Museum of First Piasts on Lednica 62 -261 Lednogóra, Dziekanowice 32 tel. +48 61 427 45 03 sekretariat@lednicamuzeum.pl www.lednicamuzeum.pl

AUGUST

PHOTO: G. KRYKWIŃSKI

At the initiative of the Zamek Arts and Culture Center staff undertaken in the 1990s, the November 11th holiday of St. Martin has been turned into a name-day celebration for the St. Martin’s street. It includes a mass in the Church of St. Martin and a parade of costumed characters one of whom is dressed as the saint. The group walks across the city to the imperial castle where the actor portraying the St. Martin character receives symbolic keys to the Poznań city gates. Center for Arts and Culture Zamek 61-809 Poznań, ul. Św. Marcin 80/82 tel. +48 61 646 52 00 www.zamek.poznan.pl fax.+48 61 646 53 08 sekretariat@zamek.poznan.pl

Center for Arts and Culture 62-800 Kalisz, ul. Łazienna 6 tel. +48 62 765 25 01

art.@ckis.kalisz.pl www.ckis.kalisz.pl

NOVEMBER

International Jazz Piano Festival in Kalisz This festival has been one of the leading competitions among the Polish festivals. It was created in 1974 and its unusual but very consistent format has been closely connected to the traditions of the Kalisz Piano Factory. The Jazz Piano Festival lasts three days, it includes 90 main concerts, as well as some other traditional accompanying events like the Night of St. Andrew Jazz Fiesta or the exhibit of jazz photography. Center for Arts and Culture 62-800 Kalisz, ul. Łazienna 6 tel. 62 765 25 01

PHOTO: A. SZYMAŃSKI

When the trees around the Antonin Palace begin to change colours, the music of Chopin and his contemporaries fills its interior. This international festival began in 1982 when a commemoration of the 155th anniversary of Chopin’s visit to Antonin prompted a concert in his honor. Since then, this event has expanded and blossomed. Among the pianists who have so far performed in this event are: Barbara Hesse-Bukowska, Kevin Kenner, Miłosz Magin, and Leszek Możdżer. This event also invites the participation of the youth who are musically inclined.

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF CENTER FOR ARTS AND CULTURE IN KALISZ

International Festival „Chopin in Fall Colors” in Antonin PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE DISTRICT OFFICE IN CZARNKÓW

Czarnków Cultural Center 64-700 Czarnków, ul. Kościuszki 60 tel. +48 67 255 26 51 www.mck.czarnkow.pl

This event brings to Nowy Tomyśl hundreds of people from all over Wielkopolska (last weekend in August). It is the place of the hop and wicker holiday, the plants for whose cultivation the region of Nowy Tomyśl is famous. During the fiesta, there are numerous games, musical and dance performances, and other activities.

St. Martin’s Day in Poznań

SEPTEMBER

AUGUST

The idea for this event is simple, after a hot summer towards the end of August all the sunburnt twins come to Czarnków. They have fun meeting, getting to know other twin pairs and together saying farewell to summer. Usually, they take a lot of twin pictures, parade through the town and join the contest called “Like two drops of water.” The day ends with a music concert in the amphitheatre.

www.jozefzeidler.eu

NOVEMBER 11

Hop and Wicker Fiesta in Nowy Tomyśl

Town Office 64-300 Nowy Tomyśl, ul. Poznańska 33 tel. +48 61 442 66 00 urzad@nowytomysl.pl fax +48 61 44 22 754 www.nowytomysl.pl

Parish of the Blessed Mary of Immaculate Conception 64-200 Wolsztyn, ul. dr Roberta Kocha 38 tel. +48 68 347 09 23 wolsztyn.festiwal@onet.pl

Day of the Sunburnt Twin in Czarnków

Holy Mountain 63-800 Gostyń, Głogówko 1 tel. +48 65 572 00 14

PHOTO: ARCHIVES OF THE TOWN OFFICE IN NOWY TOMYŚL

This festival began in early 1990s with an organ concerts held in the church of Christ’s Ascension in Wolsztyn. With time, it turned into a festival with an elaborate list of performances. Each Sunday during the summer visitors may listen to organ and chamber music. The Hartig organs and the excellent acoustics of the church make for a great quality of these concerts. So far, the festival performers hosted here have been part of the international elite of organ players. This festival is further promoted with a CD recording of the organ concerts by Sławomir Kamiński’s and trumpet solo of Roman Gryń.

The Józef Zeidler Association of the Enthusiasts of Świętogórska (Holy Mountain) Music of is attempting to continue the Philippine monks’ musical tradition of the Holy Mountain that originated in the 17th century. It is here that Józef Zeidler, referred to as the Polish Mozart, lived and composed his music. The monastery archives contain his manuscripts which thanks to this association are now starting their second lives by being published, played and recorded. The Association also organizes a festival in which most of the music composed here is performed, but not only as it also brings in the compositions of other artists.

AUGUST

PHOTO: W. SIEMIEŃCZUK

International Festival of Classical Organ and Chamber Music in Wolsztyn

Towards the end of August Slavonic warriors from all over Europe gather in Grzybowo (a village near Września). Each year a different theme is explored as the reason for this gathering. Participants exchange knowledge and experiences amongst themselves and also with the audience. The leading theme for 2010 was the process of preparing and constructing an early Medieval household. That way, in a joint effort the warriors have begun the reconstruction of a burg settlement which will serve as an addition to the already existing museum in Grzybowo.

PHOTO: A. SZOPA

PHOTO: W. ZAMIAR

On the first Saturday in August the Society of Poznań Bambers invites everyone to their holiday. It commemorates the day of signing the contract between the city officials and the German settlers who came to Poznań from Bamberg in early 18th century. During the ceremony, a copy of that contract is read out loud and the statue of a Bamber woman in the Town Square is festooned with flowers. This event also includes a food fair together with different games and contests inspired by old Poznań traditions.

PHOTO: J. WRZESIŃSKI

AUGUST

art.@ckis.kalisz.pl www.ckis.kalisz.pl

Association of „Wielkopolska Chopin Center in Antonin” 63-400 Ostrów Wlkp., pl. S. Rowińskiego 2 tel. +48 62 591 81 23 fax +48 62 736 70 27

Interesting events in the region

31


Tourist Information Wielkopolska in Internet www.wielkopolska.travel www.turystyka-kulturowa-wlkp.pl

Poznań

Leszno

Regional Tourist Information Centre Stary Rynek 59/60 tel. 61 852 61 56, 61 855 33 79 it@cim.poznan.pl

Tourist Information 64-100 Leszno ul. Słowiańska 24 tel. 65 529 81 91, 65 529 81 92 infotur@leszno.pl

City Information Centre ul. Ratajczaka 44 (entrance ul. 27 Grudnia) tel. 61 851 96 45, 61 856 04 54 centrum@cim.poznan.pl City Information Centre - Branch at Poznań International Fairs ul. Głogowska 14 tel. 61 869 20 84 centrum@cim.poznan.pl City Information Centre - Branch at Airport Ławica ul. Bukowska 285 tel. 61 849 21 40 lawica@cim.poznan.pl Tourist Information and Services „Glob-Tour FB” ul. Dworcowa 1 (at Poznań Railway Station) tel. 61 866 06 67 info@globtourfb.poznan.pl

Gniezno District Tourist Information Centre 62-200 Gniezno ul. Rynek 14 tel. 61 428 41 00 info@szlakpiastowski.com.pl

Kalisz Tourist Information Centre 62-800 Kalisz ul. Zamkowa tel. 62 598 27 31 it@um.kalisz.pl

Nowy Tomyśl Commune Tourist Information Centre 64-300 Nowy Tomyśl pl. Niepodległości 10 tel. 61 44 23 806 r.ratajczak@nowytomysl.pl

Piła District Tourist Information Centre 64-920 Piła al. Niepodległości 33/35 tel. 67 210 94 80 pit@powiat.pila.pl

Puszczykowo Ekoinfo Centre ul. Poznańska 1 62-040 Puszczykowo tel. 61 633 62 83, 61 898 37 11 promocja@puszczykowo.pl

Śrem Economic Union of the Śrem Region 63-100 Śrem ul. Okulickiego 3 tel. 61 283 27 04 unia@srem.com.pl

Wolsztyn Commune Tourist Information Centre 64-200 Wolsztyn ul. Roberta Kocha 12a tel. 68 347 31 04 gci@wolsztyn.pl

32

Tourist Information

Selected incoming travel agencies MARPOL TRAVEL 64-500 Szamotuły, ul. Dworcowa 1 tel./fax 61 292 38 21 www.marpoltravel.pl info@marpoltravel.pl Travel agency „ATUR“ 61-725 Poznań, ul.Mielżyńskiego 18/3 tel. 61 85 16 292, 61 85 60 881 fax 61 85 13 604 www.atur.com office@atur.com.pl Weiss-Travel Travel agency – Karolina Gnusowska-Weiss 61-062 Poznań , ul. Mścibora 62/9 tel. 61 65 33 650 fax 61 65 33 659 office@weiss-travel.com


Map of Wielkopolska Województwo Pomorskie

Szczecinek

Województwo Zachodnio-Pomorskie

Chojnice

Key to symbols

KOSZALIN

Museum Okonek

Heritage park

Województwo Kujawsko-Pomorskie

Jastrowie

Church

Złotów Gwda

Wałcz

Krajenka

Palace, castle, manor

Łobżenica

SZCZECIN Wysoka

PIŁA

BYDGOSZCZ

Wyrzysk

Kaczory

Trzcianka

Nakło nad Notecią

Osiek nad Notecią Szamocin

Ujście

Wooden architecture

BYDGOSZCZ

Chodzież

Drawieński Park Narodowy

Sanctuary

Margonin

Landscape park

Gołańcz Wieleń

Noteć

Czarnków

Krzyż Wielkopolski

Puszcza Notecka

Wągrowiec

Jaracz Warta

Pszczewski Park Krajobrazowy

Słopanowo

Ostroróg

Lwówek

POZNAŃ

A2 Buk Opalenica

Zbąszyń

Grodzisk Wielkopolski

Obra

ZIELONA GÓRA

Przemęt Przemęcki Śmigiel Park Krajobrazowy

Borek Wielkopolski

A2 Rychwał

Jarocin

Koźmin Pogorzela Wielkopolski

Tuliszków

ŁÓDŹ

Dobra

Gębice

Russów Koźminek Gołuchów

Kobylin

Raszków Jutrosin

KALISZ Opatówek

Lewków

Krotoszyn

Miejska Górka Rawicz

Sulmierzyce

Nowe Skalmierzyce Ostrów Wielkopolski

ŁÓDŹ Sieradz

Przygodzice Odolanów

WROCŁAW

Antonin Mikstat Park Krajobrazowy Dolina Baryczy Ostrzeszów

Grabów nad Prosną

Województwo Łódzkie

LUBIN Kobyla Góra

Województwo Dolnośląskie

Kępno Bralin

Oleśnica Wieluń

LEGNICA

KATOWICE

WROCŁAW

Dąbie

WARSZAWA

Turek

Stawiszyn

Dobrzyca

Pępowo

Zduny

GŁOGÓW

WARSZAWA

Żelazków

Rokosowo

Bojanowo

Ląd

Zagórów

Pleszew

Pawłowice

Krobia

Kłodawa Koło

Stare Miasto

Pyzdry Żerkowsko-Czeszewski Park Krajobrazowy Żerków Śmiełów

Gostyń

Poniec

KONIN

Golina

Nowe Miasto nad Wartą

Osieczna

Rydzyna

Wschowa

A2 Nadwarciański Park Krajobrazowy Miłosław

Środa Wielkopolska

Książ Wielkopolski

Krzywiń Dolsk Lubiń

LESZNO

Przedecz

Warta

Śrem

Sompolno Licheń

Koszuty

Park Krajobrazowy Cichowo Gen. D. Chłapowskiego

GŁOGÓW

Kleczew Ślesin

na os Pr

Województwo Lubuskie

Powidz

Słupca

Wielkopolski Park Kórnik Mosina Narodowy Rogalin Rogaliński Park Krajobrazowy

Kościan

Nadgoplański Park Krajobrazowy Lisewo

Witkowo

Giecz

Czempiń

Wielichowo

Trzemeszno Powidzki Park Krajobrazowy

Grzybowo Września

Stęszew

Rakoniewice

Wolsztyn

BYDGOSZCZ Gniezno

Kostrzyn

Luboń Puszczykowo

Szreniawa

WŁOCŁAWEK

Mieleszyn

Puszcza Zielonka Murowana GoślinaDziekanowice Czerwonak Pobiedziska Park Krajobrazowy Uzarzewo Promno Czerniejewo Swarzędz

Rokietnica

BERLIN

Kłecko

INOWROCŁAW

GDAŃSK

Lednicki Park Krajobrazowy

Długa Goślina

Baborówko

Nowy Tomyśl

Skoki

Oborniki

Szamotuły

Pniewy

Mniszki Miedzichowo

Mieścisko

Obrzycko

Międzychód Chrzypsko Wielkie Prusim Kwilcz

SZCZECIN BERLIN

Rogoźno

Wronki

Sierakowski Park Krajobrazowy Sieraków

Others attractions

Tarnowo Pałuckie Łekno

Lubasz

Województwo Opolskie Kluczbork


Editor:

Wielkopolska Tourist Organisation www.wot.org.pl

Text:

Stefan Drajewski

Translation:

Marzena Jarnot

Layout:

Wojciech Kuk

Print:

ZAPOL Dmochowski, Sobczyk Sp. j. www.zapol.com.pl

ISBN 978-83-61454-50-2 Poznań 2012

Brochures promoting Wielkopolska are supported by mobile technologies.

You can find a QR code reader at www.odkoduj.pl

www.wielkopolska.travel www.turystyka-kulturowa-wlkp.pl

Wielkopolska the greatest tourist attractions  

Wielkopolska the greatest tourist attractions

Advertisement