Page 1

Applied Materials presents

Technology Benefiting Humanity 15th Annual Gala Thursday, November 12 San Jose McEnery Convention Center Grand Ballroom

2015 A signature program of The Tech Museum of Innovation

GALA MENU Passed Hors d’Oeuvres at Reception Spicy beef empanadas Tuna tartare with crème fraîche and wasabi caviar Stuffed marble potatoes with sausage, sage, cheese and peppers Snow crab in a cucumber cup with peppers, chili, parsley and citrus Eggplant crostini with oven-roasted cherry tomatoes and Boursin cheese with fine herbs

Dinner, 6:30 p.m. Small Plate Serrano ham carpaccio Tatsoi greens with shaved vegetable slaw and spicy almonds with verjus champagne vinaigrette

Main Course Sustainably harvested Pacific sea bass katsu-style with citrus beurre blanc and cilantro pesto Quinoa pilaf in roasted pepper Broiled asparagus with parsnip crisp

Main Course Vegan Option Roasted pumpkin risotto Autumn ratatouille with roasted red pepper coulis

Dessert Tres Leches de Coco with pineapple mint salsa

Wines J. Lohr Fog’s Reach Pinot Noir 2012 donated by J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines Light Horse Chardonnay 2013 donated by Jamieson Ranch Vineyards Wine curated by Executive Chef: Gilbert Hitzler

AWARDS CEREMONY Welcome, 7:45 p.m.

The Tech Museum of Innovation

Sam Liccardo, Mayor, San Jose

Tim Ritchie

The Tech Awards 2015 Laureates Lisa Diaz Nash, Gala Host

Audience Support Maria Evans, Washington Elementary School

Santa Clara University Michael Engh, S.J.

During this brief presentation, you can help The Tech by texting a pledge:

Intel Environment Award Richard Taylor, Intel

1. Text to: 56512 2. Enter: Tech (space) Pledge amount (space)

Amy Cagle, Patricia Compas-Markman, DayOne Response Lishu Li, WCS China Wildlife Guardian App

Microsoft Education Award

Your first name 3. Send You may pay your pledge tonight in the lobby or by phone when we call next week. Thank you!

Dan’l Lewin, Microsoft Andrew Cantino, Nick Lum, BeeLine Reader Traci Wolbrink, M.D., OPENPediatrics

Katherine M. Swanson Young Innovator Award Erica Swanson, The Swanson Foundation

Laureate Impact Award

Paul Mesarcik, Lumkani

Sponsored by PayPal

Ian Connolly, Lucy Topaloff, miraclefeet

James Barrese, PayPal

Sobrato Organization Economic Development Award

Jane Chen, Embrace

James C. Morgan Global Humanitarian Award Sponsored by Applied Materials Joe Pon, Applied Materials

John M. Sobrato, The Sobrato Organization Martin Aufmuth, Mathilde Iweins, OneDollarGlasses Chris Sheldrick, what3words

Tashia and John Morgridge, Global Humanitarians


Gift Books Ron Garan “The Orbital Perspective: Lessons in Seeing the Big Picture from a Journey of 71 Million Miles” with a foreword by Muhammad Yunus, The Tech Awards 2008 James C. Morgan Global Humanitarian. Sponsored by Berrett-Koehler Publishers Rick Smolan “Inside Tracks: Robyn Davidson’s Solo Journey Across the Outback” Sponsored by Rick Smolan and Jennifer Erwitt, Against All Odds Productions

Sutter Health Award Albert Chan, M.D., Sutter Health Martin Lukac, Nexleaf Analytics Eddy Horowitz, PrePex

Applied Materials presents

15th Annual Gala Multimedia production: Event Architects Music: San José State University Latin Jazz Ensemble; Jeff Lewis, Director Artistic Sponsor: Bank of America Laureate films: Advocate Creative Sponsor films: CreaTV Film Sponsor: Qualcomm Special thanks to staff and volunteers at The Tech and Team San Jose.

All net proceeds from The Tech Awards Gala benefit programs at The Tech.

TABLE SPONSORS Morgridge Circle Tables Morgan Family Foundation, Tashia and John Morgridge, Narayana Murthy, Skoll Foundation

Luminary Tables Asset Management, Sue and John Diekman, Barbara and Bill Heil

Visionary Tables Adobe Systems, Inc., Cisco Systems, EMC, First Tech Federal Credit Union, Legacy Venture, Deedee and Burt McMurtry, Salesforce, San Jose State University, SanDisk, SAP Labs, Archana and Shirish Sathaye, Silicon Valley Bank, Studio 9+, SunPower, SunTrust Robinson Humphrey, Synopsys, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Marva and John Warnock

Leader Tables Jimi and Ned Barnholt, Deloitte LLC, Lori and Joe Fabris, Connie and Jerry Held, IBM, Kaiser Permanente, Nvidia, Santa Clara University, ST Microelectronics, Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati Foundation

HONORARY COMMIT TEE Judy Swanson, Chair Kelly and Mike Abbott Mechelle and Emmanuel Barbara Jimi and Ned Barnholt Christina and James Barrese Suzie and Harry Blount Sally Hazard Bourgoin and John Bourgoin Ann S. Bowers Chris Boyd Jen and Chuck Boynton Teresa Briggs Mary Lee and Ed Cannizzaro Gloria Chen and John Kibarian Claudia and Bill Coleman Pattie and Dave Cortese Renee and David Crawford Kathy and James Deichen Susan and John Diekman Eileen and Christopher DiGiorgio Jennifer and J. Philip DiNapoli Michael Engh, S.J.

Lori and Joe Fabris Mauria Finley and Greg Yap Denise Foderaro and Frank Quattrone Raquel Gonzalez Joan Hackworth Barbara and Bill Heil Connie and Jerry Held Andrea and John Hennessy Esther John and Aart de Geus Cathie and Pitch Johnson Devyani Kamdar and Dave House Shannon and Joe Kava Neeru and Vinod Khosla Cathy and Kevin Kimball Michele and Steve Kirsch Patti and Michael Klayko Anne and Jim Koch Jennifer and Randy Krenzin Lata Krishnan and Ajay Shah Susan and Dan’l Lewin Marka and Bill May Kathy and Smith McKeithen

Dianne and Regis McKenna Deedee and Burt McMurtry Betty and Gordon Moore Becky and Jim Morgan Jami and Stephen Nachtsheim Sukanya and Om Nalamasu Josie and Dan Perez David Pratt Cathy and Roger Quinlan Renuka and Peter Relan Tony Ridder Christine and Tim Ritchie Jeanne and Sandy Robertson Amy and Matthew Sapp Archana and Shirish Sathaye Je Skoll Beverly Smolich and Craig Stephens Timi and John M. Sobrato Charmaine and Dan Warmenhoven Marva and John Warnock Barbara and Steve Young



Category Sponsors

James C. Morgan Global Humanitarian Award Sponsor The Swanson Foundation master QC logo

Laureate Impact Award Sponsor

Sponsor Reception Underwriter

Laureate Showcase Sponsor

General Reception Sponsor

Supporting Gala Sponsors

Film Sponsor

Charmaine and Daniel Warmenhoven

Artistic Sponsor

Principal Social Innovation Workshops Sponsor

Supporting Social Innovation Workshops Sponsor

In-Kind Sponsors

Amanda Greco

Rick Smolan and Jennifer Erwitt

Printed on recycled paper.

Printed by

Profile for The Tech Museum

The Tech Awards 2015 Gala Program  

The Tech Awards, a signature program of The Tech Museum of Innovation, honors 10 international innovators who are applying technology to con...

The Tech Awards 2015 Gala Program  

The Tech Awards, a signature program of The Tech Museum of Innovation, honors 10 international innovators who are applying technology to con...