__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

Volume 2 • Issue 18

September 20, 2020

TBAR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95008 95032 95037 95051 95118 95119 95123 95124 95125 95126 95128

$14 Million Electric Vehicle Charging Station Incentive Project Launches

Starting December 16, 2020, businesses, commercial property owners, and multifamily residences in San José can apply for significant rebates on eligible electric vehicle (EV) Level 2 and DC Fast charging equipment and installation

costs. This opportunity is available through San José Clean Energy’s (SJCE) partnership with the California Energy Commission’s California Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Project (CALeVIP). Today, CALeVIP launched a new website (calevip.org/incentiveproject/peninsula-siliconvalley) to help prepare

interested participants for the application process, which opens on December 16. The new website provides specifics on eligibility requirements and eligible equipment costs, summarizes the application process, and provides a list of frequently asked questions.

CHECK OUR WEBSITE FOR VIDEO UPDATES!!! Go to TheBayAreaReview.com Local and statewide updates that matter.

[Continued on Page 5]

Fine Gardener Time to plant!

Boyd’s Tree Service

You Count Too!

See Page 3

See Page 17

See Page 20


September 20, 2020

When...Where?

Stanford Live Reimagines 2020 Fall Season

Minority Owned Business Publisher: Brigitte Jones Brigitte@thebayareareview.com Graphic Design Director: Amanda McElroy Graphics@thebayareareview.com Editor at Large: Pearl Baeni Editor - public Affairs Liaison: Pamela Gustava Curry Photographer: Andy Nguyen http://intramuralaffairs.wixsite.com/andyphoto

TBAR welcomes letters to the Editor Please limit content to 200 words or less. Submissions are subject to scrutiny for content and grammar but all effort will be made to retain intended meaning of such letters. Anonymous letters will not be printed. Articles so published reflect the views of the authors - not necessarily those of The Bay Area Review. All submissions become the property of Triple e Media Group, LLC and cannot be acknowledged.

Despite the ongoing restrictions on in-person performances, it remains Stanford Live’s core mission to highlight the work of critical and talented artists from across all genres, this time in a reinvented virtual space. Artists will return to the stage at Bing Concert Hall for Stanford Live’s transformed fall season which includes a series of short films shot at the Bing. Stanford’s ensemblein-residence the St. Lawrence String Quartet will kick off the film series on Sep. 27 in a collaboration with Stanford Live, Stanford Associate Professor of Documentary Film and Video Jamie Meltzer, Stanford student editors, cinematographer Frazer Bradshaw, and renowned digital arts producer Elena Park. “We’ve assembled an incredible group of artists and filmmakers to bring the magic of the Bing stage into living rooms throughout the Bay Area,” said Chris Lorway, Executive Director of Stanford Live. “While you can never replace the experience of live performance, we hope that seeing some of your favorite artists captured in film in our venue will bring you comfort and hope as we await our

collective return to the theater.” In their first appearance together since before the pandemic, the St. Lawrence String Quartet will play—in a masked and socially distanced performance—the entirety of Haydn’s String Quartet Op. 76 No. 5. The film will be more than a virtual concert, though. Through interviews with members of the quartet, behind the scenes footage, and a peek into the personal lives of the musicians, the film tells the story of how the quartet has had to adapt its creative process amid months of COVID-19 restrictions that have resulted in their longest hiatus in the quartet’s 30year history. “We’re hoping to make these challenges transparent in the video itself,” Associate Professor Jamie Meltzer said. “It won’t pretend to be a ‘perfect’ performance, but rather it will show how the quartet faces these challenges and

is able to create music that transcends the moment.” Alongside Associate Professor Jamie Meltzer, Stanford documentary film students will be involved in the film’s editing process. In addition to the short film, a performance of Debussy’s String Quartet (II. Assez vif et bien rythmé and III. Andantino, doucement expressif) was captured by the Facebook Oculus team to be shared in 180 in the coming weeks. Ticketed Events, Free Podcasts and Lectures, and More Stanford Live will also host a few ticketed events this fall, including comedian Colin Quinn in a virtual book tour stop and innovative theatermakers 600 Highwaymen. Free Stanford Live podcasts, lectures, and more will be announced later this fall. Lorway revealed these and other details about the new direction for the fall season in a webinar recorded on Sep. 3. For

the latest additions to the Stanford Live digital fall season, visit live.stanford. edu/fall2020. Access for Stanford Students and Stanford Live Members Access to the short film series and select screenings will be free for all current degree-seeking Stanford students and Stanford Live members at the $100 Patron level or above. Join as a member today to receive 12 months of exciting member benefits such as free access to exclusive digital content, preferred presale opportunities, and invitations to special events. Visit our support page to learn more about member levels and benefits. About Stanford Live Stanford Live presents a wide range of fine performances from around the world, fostering a vibrant learning community and providing distinctive experiences through the performing arts. From its home at Bing Concert Hall, Stanford Live functions simultaneously as a public square, a sanctuary and a lab, drawing from all Stanford University has to offer to connect performance to the most significant issues, ideas and discoveries of our time.


September 20, 2020

Page 3

Get Involved

Santa Clara Residents: Apply Today to Serve on the Salary Setting Commission The Salary Setting Commission sets the compensation for elected officials The City of Santa Clara encourages residents to apply to serve on the Salary Setting Commission. Pursuant to Charter Section

702, the Civil Service Commission is calling for applicants to serve on the City’s Salary Setting Commission which is charged with setting the compensation for the Mayor, Councilmembers, City Clerk and Police Chief. Currently, there is at least one vacancy on the commission. The Civil Service Commission appoints the Salary Setting Commission members who serve two-year terms. While serving on the Commission, members cannot work for a candidate for City of Santa Clara elective office nor run for a City

elective office. Dates and times of meetings are set by the Salary Setting Commission. Applications and eligibility requirements are available online at www.santaclaraca.gov/ salarysettingcommission or in person at the City Clerk’s Office, 1500 Warburton Ave., Santa Clara, Mon.-Fri. 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Interested applicants may apply by mail or in person to the City Clerk’s Office. Applications are due to the City Clerk’s Office by 5 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 15, 2020. Interviews will be conducted virtually via

Zoom at the 7 p.m. Oct. 22, 2020 Civil Service Commission meeting. For questions about the application process, email the City Clerk’s Office at clerk@santaclaraca. gov or call 408-6152220. For questions about the commission itself, email the Human Resources Department at humanresources@ santaclaraca.gov or call 408-615-2080. About the City of Santa Clara Located at the heart of Silicon Valley about 45 miles south of San Francisco, the City of Santa Clara truly is

“The Center of What’s Possible.” Incorporated in 1852, Santa Clara covers an area of 19.3 square miles with an estimated population of 129,498. Santa Clara is home to an extraordinary array of high-tech companies, including Applied Materials, HewlettPackard, Intel, Nvidia, Oracle, and Ericsson. The City of Santa Clara is also home to Santa Clara University, California’s Great America Theme Park, and Levi’s® Stadium, home of the San Francisco 49ers and SB50. For more information, go to SantaClaraCA.gov.

GUARANTEED

FINE GARDENER

up to $15,000.00

Design • Build • Irrigate

Life Insurance Modified Whole Life Insurance from Physicians Life Insurance Company

Cash to help pay your funeral, medical bills or other final expenses. • Guaranteed acceptance ages 45 to 85* • No medical exam, no health questions • Lock in your rate for life Call for your FREE Information Kit

1-855-440-8538

(408) 423 - 9488 www.finegardener.net

Smaller Projects Welcome! Spring is for planting: flower and veggie beds, drought tolerant/pollinator gardens, uncommon trees and shrubs.

or go to life55plus.info/svrev

 Plus — you’ll also get a FREE Final Wishes Planner!

*Ages may vary by state. Guaranteed for one of these life insurance policies. 6236 Benefits reduced first two years. Insurance Policy L770 (ID: L770ID; OK: L770OK; TN: L770TN).

We serve the Sunnyvale, Cupertino, Saratoga, Monte Sereno, Los Gatos, Campbell, West San Jose, and Santa Clara areas.


Page 4

September 20, 2020

For those with insurance, under the Affordable Care Act, a flu shot is available without cost parents to know that it is as a preventive service safe to take kids into the from your regular doctor doctor for vaccinations.” Staying Up to Date on Preventive or most pharmacies. For In the Bay Area, as Vaccines Even More Important those without health is the case across the during COVID-19 Pandemic insurance, or anyone who state and the country, the finds it more convenient, percentage of children up Board of Supervisors Health officials are free community clinics to date on immunizations President Cindy Chavez. asking the public to get has fallen as parents delay and the County offer “Santa Clara County vaccinated for influenza many opportunities to get routine visits to their wants to make it easy for right now. Each winter, a free flu shot. pediatricians, which is people sick with flu crowd our residents to get free Featured Locations: a serious concern. The flu shots at our County hospitals and urgent care County Health System County of Santa Clara Fairgrounds without an clinics, resources that no-cost flu shot services regularly communicates appointment starting this may be strained due to available to the public in with parents about Saturday through midCOVID-19. SEPTEMBER keeping kids up to date, December so we all can Early and timely No appointments are which is required for be protected during the flu shots can prevent a necessary. Masks are school attendance. An pandemic.” disease that hospitalizes required. All are welcome annual flu shot visit is “You need a flu shot 200,000 Americans every regardless of immigration a great time for kids to every year, and this is not year. To keep yourself status, and language catch up on vaccination. the year to skip it,” said and your family out of services are available. The flu vaccine offers Dr. Sara Cody, County of the hospital, doctors Santa Clara County Santa Clara Health Officer protection for many recommend an annual flu Fairgrounds, San José and director of the County months, but not forever. shot for everyone age 6 Saturdays starting months or older. Flu shots Public Health Department. Also, the strains of influenza circulating in the September 19, 2020, 9 “The flu shot is a safe, become widely available a.m. - 4 p.m. through midcommunity change over in September each year. effective way to reduce December. Car entrance time, so it is important to “This is the countdown your chance of ending up in the hospital with severe get the new vaccine every for general parking: Gate to the flu season,” said D, 2542 Monterey Road, year. flu. It is important for Santa Clara County San José, CA 95111. Age 3 years and older. Children age 3-17 must be accompanied by a guardian. Valley “Hi and thank you for stopping by to check us out here in this newspsper. My name is Zane Daugherty, certified personal trainer and CEO of ChiQuest Health Fitness. I’ve always been passionate about health and fitness and after working as a teacher and coach, I experienced and saw firsthand how busy Center professionals, caretakers, and educators often spend so much time taking care of others but not enough time taking care of their own health and Sunnyvale fitness. I set out to find creative solution to maximize fitness results with time for busy people. After partnering with certified trainers and a health Saturday, and wellness company for healthy, on- the-go exercise and nutrition solutions, we began to see lives transformed where hope was often nearly lost. September I am excited and happy to say that in the last three years of starting ChiQuest Fitness, we have seen dozens of clients health and fitness completely transformed. Our mission is to inspire a transformation of lifestyle fitness where you are! We provide mobile personal training with customized 19, 2020, 9 workout and nutrition programs that truly bring lasting results. If you are looking for personal training solutions for your health and fitness, let us a.m. - 4 p.m. know! You can call, text, or email us. You can also visit our website and complete our Contact form with a good time to reach out to you. We look 660 South Fair forward to hearing from you! We are only a phone call away!” Oaks Ave., - Zane Daugherty, Certified Personal Trainer and CEO of ChiQuest Fitness Sunnyvale, instagram.com/chiquestfit/ CA 94086. Age 12 years m.facebook.com/chiquestfit and older.

Public Health

County of Santa Clara Offers Free Flu Shots

1- 844-4GYMFIT (496348)

ChiQuestFit.com

Children age 12-17 must be accompanied by a guardian. Valley Health Center Moorpark, San José Saturday, September 26, 9 a.m. – 4 p.m. 2400 Moorpark Ave., San José, CA 95128. Age 12 years and older. Children age 12-17 must be accompanied by a guardian. Flu shot are also available at Valley Medical Center Pharmacies on weekdays starting September 22. More information: scvmc. org/immunizeflu. There are many additional sites from October to December. More information about flu shot locations and age requirements and other criteria to get a shot: sccphd.org/flu. Free flu vaccines are also distributed each year to non-profit organizations and other local public agency providers by the Public Health Department, which receives them from the State of California Flu is not COVID-19. Flu is a contagious respiratory illness caused by influenza viruses. Symptoms of the flu may be like those of the common cold but are usually more severe. Symptoms of the flu can be similar to early symptoms of COVID-19 as well, meaning that this year, people with flu symptoms will likely have to get a COVID-19 test and stay home from work and isolate away from their families while awaiting results. It takes about two weeks for the flu vaccine


September 20, 2020 to become effective after you get the shot, so getting vaccinated in advance of the arrival of severe flu in the Bay Area offers the best protection. While flu vaccine is recommended for everyone 6 months and older, it is especially important for pregnant women, children younger than 5, adults 65 and older, and those with chronic medical conditions, such as heart disease, asthma, and diabetes. Health officials advise individuals to take the following steps to protect themselves and loved ones from flu. • Get the flu vaccine every year. • Wash your hands often and thoroughly with soap and warm water or an alcoholbased hand sanitizer. • Cover your cough and sneezes. • Avoid touching your eyes, nose, or mouth. • Stay home when you are sick and keep your children home when they are sick. Symptoms of the flu include fever, cough, sore throat, runny or stuffy nose, muscle or body aches, headaches, and fatigue. For more information about flu, visit the County of Santa Clara Public Health Department flu web page, sccphd.org/flu. Find more locations near you that offer flu vaccine using the Vaccine Finder: https://vaccinefinder.org.

$14 Million Electric Vehicle Charging Station Incentive Project Launches [Continued From Page 1] Project funding is expected to be in high demand, so applicants are encouraged to prepare ahead of time and apply quickly. This $14 million investment ($4 million from SJCE and $10 million from the California Energy Commission) will add approximately 100 new DC fast charging ports and 1,400 level 2 ports – doubling the current level of charging infrastructure in San José. SJCE is committed to installing at least 25% of the charging stations in low-income and disadvantaged communities to improve access to this infrastructure and move the needle on EV adoption. CALeVIP’s program administrator, Center for Sustainable Energy (CSE), will also provide technical

assistance to multifamily residences and properties located in low-income and disadvantaged communities. “Improving access to EV infrastructure is imperative to bringing down San José’s greenhouse gas emissions – 60% of which comes from current transportation methods,” said Mayor Sam Liccardo. “We are committed to making cleaner air and a more livable planet for all San Joseans.” CALeVIP works to address regional needs for EV charging infrastructure throughout California, while supporting the state’s goals to improve air quality, fight climate change, and reduce petroleum use. San José’s investment is part of a regional Peninsula-Silicon Valley Incentive Project that totals $55 million in incentive funding in Santa Clara and San Mateo Counties.

Page 5

Changing the World San José residents can take advantage of extra discounts on EVs now through October 31 through Drive Electric San José (https:// sanjosecleanenergy.org/ drive-electric/). Five local dealerships – Capitol Chevy, Capitol Hyundai, Capitol Kia, Premier Nissan of San José, and Stevens Creek Kia – are offering up to $3,000 in discounts on seven EV models. Customers can stack these discounts on top of state, federal, and local EV rebates for up to $13,000 in savings. Income-qualified households can receive additional grants, affordable loans, and extra support to purchase or lease an EV, including used EVs. Those interested can learn more through free one-on-one counseling and financing workshops in partnership with Peninsula Family Service. “We are thrilled to offer these incentives to our community,” said Lori Mitchell, director of the Community Energy Department, which operates SJCE. “Making EVs more affordable and expanding the city’s charging network will help San José shift to an electric transportation system, which will lead to cleaner air and healthier communities.” Income inequality is a challenge in San José

and Silicon Valley, and many of our communities are disproportionately burdened by environmental pollution. As San José does more to ensure that low-income residents and disadvantaged communities have greater access to the benefits of our tech-centered economy, SJCE will focus on providing programs that are designed to increase equity and access to the benefits of electrification and renewable energy. Learn more about the benefits of EVs and SJCE’s EV programs at www.sanjosecleanenergy. org/ev. About the Community Energy Department San José Clean Energy is the new electricity generation service provider for residents and businesses in the City of San José, operated by the City’s Community Energy Department. Governed by the City Council, it provides over 330,000 residential and commercial electricity customers with cleaner, lower carbon power options at competitive prices, from sources like solar, wind and hydropower. For more information, please visit www. SanJoseCleanEnergy.org.


Page 6

September 20, 2020

Take a Ride

Blissful Biking Improvements Imagine yourself blissfully biking on 10th or 11th Street in San José. You’re headed out on a daily errand or getting to work, enjoying the ride, and not feeling stressed about the cars on the road. This is all thanks to the new and improved bikeway, which separates you and fast moving car traffic. You remember how it used to be: nothing but painted stripes between you and cars. You didn’t feel very comfortable biking on 10th or 11th back then. But with the new curbs and bollards, things are much better. You could even take your kids biking here now!

Yes, it’s true, this fall the City of San José will make a few modifications to 10th and 11th Streets to improve safety for people walking or biking – all while maintaining the existing two travel lanes. The City will replace the current buffered bike lane with a physically separate frontage lane and protected intersections. The frontage lane gives people riding bikes and local drivers a calm and safe travel environment. This will create an inviting place to ride a bike, similar to a slow residential street. It will improve the quality of life of people who live on the

street by slowing speeds of cars and allowing easier access to driveways. It will also improve the experience for people walking by calming traffic and reducing the distance people must cross on these busy streets. Initially, paint and plastic posts will be used to separate bikes from fast moving motor vehicles. Then in early in 2021, they will be replaced with more permanent concrete curbs and bus stop islands. These relatively minor and low-cost changes will be made to address safety concerns the City has heard over the years. The changes are being made on 10th and 11th Streets because of their importance in getting bicyclists across major barriers such as Highway 280. The City’s new draft bike plan (see below), identifies these improvements as priorities for 10th and 11th Streets. While the City has longterm plans to convert both these streets to two-way traffic, that is a significantly

0

more expensive project requiring major signal modifications, which are not currently funded. Learn more about this project online at https:// www.movesanjose. org/10th-and-11th-streetsproject-summary/. New Bikeways Under Construction We’re busy this fall building several new bikeways. They will be implemented with the City’s Pavement Maintenance program to save costs. Beyond 10th and 11th streets, we want to highlight four of these projects. • First, on Naglee Avenue (The Alameda to Bascom) we’re implementing a “road diet” that reduces the number of travel lanes to improve safety and create space for bike lanes. • Second, on Fruitdale Avenue (Southwest expressway to Bascom Avenue) we’re also implementing a “road diet”, adding bike lanes, sidewalk ramps and crosswalks. • Third, on San Antonio Street (17th Street

to Jackson Avenue) we’re installing traffic calming features and bikeway enhancements. • Finally, we’re enhancing the basic bike lane on Lean Avenue (Blossom Hill to Chynoweth) to add parking protected bike lanes for one segment and buffered bike lanes for another. Later this fall, get your bike out and try these improvements! New City Bike Plan Seeks Council Approval This year’s new bikeways are a preview of things to come! After two years in development an more than 40 public workshops and meetings, the City’s new draft bike plan is scheduled to go to City Council for adoption on October 6, 2020. Called Better Bike Plan 2025, the plan starts with this high-level vision for the future:

(? Bayside Pavers hardscape company -----------­ lie. #933876

Walkways & Steps Driveways Retaining Walls• Patios Pool Decks• Artificial Grass

FREE

r--------------- ,-------------------•

Demolition

and removal of your existing concrete (min. 300 sq.ft.)

$500 OFF:: Any proJ· ect

1 1 I I Must present coupon at time of bid. Cannot be combined with ott1er offers. : Expires 2/29/� 1 700 sq.ft. or more

-----------------------------------4

408.617.9337 • Accredited Contractor• BaysidePavers.com


September 20, 2020

Page 7

Take a Ride

BREAKFAST BAGEL W/CREAM CHEESE.........$3.00

An artist’s vision of the future design of 10th and 11th streets.

Vision: San José is a city where people of all ages, abilities and backgrounds can comfortably and conveniently bike for daily trips. To achieve this vision, the draft plan sets three goals: 1) Make biking safer 2) Increase % of all trips made by bike 3) Lead with equity The draft plan identifies policies and programs,

as well as a network of citywide low-stress bikeways (sometimes called “all-ages and abilities” bikeways). The bikeways network will consist of about 400 miles of separated bikeways on busier streets and about 100 miles of bike boulevards on calmer neighborhood streets. Separated bikeways include a physical vertical element (such as a curb or parked car) between the bikeway and car traffic. Bike boulevards

use calmer neighborhood streets to prioritize bikes by adding traffic calming features. What you can do • View the plan at the project website: https:// www.bikesanjose.com Email your Councilmember and share your thoughts. To find your Councilmember, go to https://www.sanjoseca. gov/your-government/ departments/city-council.

RICOTTACAVO BAGEL................$3.75 BREAKFAST SANDWICH BACON, CHORIZO, PESTO...............$4.50 OATMEAL BLUEBERRIES, NUTS, BROWN SUGAR..............................$3.00

PARFAIT GREEK YOGURT, STRAWBERRY, BLACKBERRY, GRANOLA.................$3.75

FRUIT CUP

ORANGE, APPLE, GRAPES................$3.00

LUNCH TURKEY SANDWICH.................$8.00 SOUP..........................................$3.50 SALAD........................................$8.00 WRAP

SPICY THAI CHICKEN.........................$6.00

VEGAN WRAP SPINACH ROTI...............................$5.00

LUNCH COMBO 1/2 SANDWICH & SOUP...........$8.00 PROUDLY SERVING

PASTRIES CROISSANT, CHOCOLATE CROISSANT, BLUEBERRY MUFFIN.................$2.25

Inside the SVBC: 1900 Camden Ave. San Jose, CA 95124

OPEN DAILY: 7:00am - 2:00pm

Home & Away...Help is on the way! MobileHelp is the premiere Medical Alert System that provides emergency coverage inside your home and throughout the USA.

FR GIFEE T

W/P URC HAS E

To get Life Saving Information and a FREE BROCHURE, call MobileHelp today! • No equipment to buy. • Sign up in minutes. Activation is simple. • No long term contract.

Optional Fall Button™ with Automatic Fall Detect ■ ■

Comfortable and lightweight Signals for help even when you can’t press your button*

Call for a FREE Brochure!

1-650-900-7973 $

DONATE TODAY!

https://gardeniasociety.org/musicians-in-crisis-dueto-coronavirus-cancellations/

Get your free Emergency Key Holder when you purchase a MobileHelp service plan.

$

$

MobileHelp Exclusive Offer

FREE Emergency Key Holder

Offer valid while supplies last.

29 95

$

VALU

E!

$

*Service availability and access/coverage on the AT&T network is not available everywhere and at all times. Fall Button™ does not detect 100% of falls. If able, users should always push their help button when they need assistance. Fall Button™ is not intended to replace a caregiver for users dealing with serious health issues. Current GPS location may not always be available in every situation. MobileHelp is a registered trademark and Fall Button is a trademark of MobileHelp. Patented technology. MobileHelp is an FDA registered company. MHP-06631A


Page 8

September 20, 2020

Touch Down

SAN FRANCISCO 49ERS AND U.S. BANK PARTNER ON SEASON-LONG COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT PLAN

Long-time 49ers partner U.S. Bank enhances role in 49ers community impact initiatives to increase positive benefits for the Bay Area community The San Francisco 49ers and U.S. Bank, the long-time official banking partner of the 49ers, today announced a season-long community partnership to positively impact the Bay Area community. Throughout the season, U.S. Bank will have an integral role in several of the team’s weekly Community Tuesday events. The partnership kicks off today with the team’s first Community Tuesday event of the season with an Operation HOPE Youth Workshop. In partnership with Operation HOPE, players joined high school

Yes! WE’RE

OPEN

Business Directory

athletes from Student Program for Academic & Athletic Transitioning (SPAAT) based in Oakland, California for a virtual financial coaching session to support their economic advancement, one of the three pillars of the team’s social justice efforts. Youth were taught that it’s never too early to start thinking about their financial wellness and were given tools to start their journey to financial independence and reach their personal aspirations. Operation HOPE and SPAAT are also recipients of the team’s Social Justice grants that were

range Sunrise Juices and Smoothies (408) 677-4144

www.intero.com

www.sanjoseca.gov

www.losgatoschamber.com

www.premieronecu.org

Contact us to be listed @ (408) 898 -7534

awarded last week as a part of the team’s $1 million commitment to organizations creating societal change. “The San Francisco 49ers are taking an incredible leadership role in addressing social and economic inequities, which directly aligns to our focus at U.S. Bank,” said Chris Lee, U.S. Bank head of sponsorship and experiential marketing. “We are especially excited to partner with the organization and Operation Hope on helping young people gain more confidence with financial education which we believe is an investment for our collective future.” The community partnership between the 49ers and U.S. Bank is a natural fit as U.S. Bank is already the presenting sponsor for one of the 49ers Foundation’s two direct programs, 49ers PREP. Thanks to the support of U.S. Bank, 49ers PREP has impacted more than 130,000 Bay Area youth since 2014. “We are very excited to further expand our partnership with U.S. Bank while extending our impact in the Bay Area,” said Jenni Luke, 49ers vice president of community impact. “They have been such

incredible partners over the years with our 49ers PREP program that we jumped at the opportunity to further integrate them into our work in the community during such challenging times.” This season, the 49ers with the help of U.S. Bank, will be focusing its community efforts on the following areas: social justice, Covid-19 and fire relief. To learn more about the 49ers impact in the Bay Area community, visit 49ers.com/community and follow @49erscommunity on Twitter. About the San Francisco 49ers The San Francisco 49ers, owned by Denise and John York, currently play in the NFC West division and have won five Super Bowl trophies including Super Bowl XVI, XIX, XXIII, XXIV and XXIX. The franchise also has seven conference championships and 20 divisional championships and was the first major league professional sports team to be based in San Francisco more than 70 years ago. Please visit www.49ers. com and follow the 49ers on Facebook and Twitter @49ers.

About U.S. Bank U.S. Bancorp, with more than 70,000 employees and $547 billion in assets as of June 30, 2020, is the parent company of U.S. Bank National Association, the fifthlargest commercial bank in the United States. The Minneapolis-based bank blends its relationship teams, branches and ATM network with mobile and online tools that allow customers to bank how, when and where they prefer. U.S. Bank is committed to serving its millions of retail, business, wealth management, payment, commercial and corporate, and investment services customers across the country and around the world as a trusted financial partner, a commitment recognized by the Ethisphere Institute naming the bank one of the 2020 World’s Most Ethical Companies. Visit U.S. Bank at www. usbank.com or follow on social media to stay up to date with company news.


Call us today for a free consultation whether you are looking to buy, sell, rent or invest!

Whether you are thinking about

buying or selling a home ...the time to act is now.

We’ll list any home for $9,500*

Real estate prices have climbed and interest rates have fallen.

Agents: Join BRG Realty & Make More Money!

We have an in-house mortgage option.

RESIDENTIAL BUY & SELL COMMERCIAL BUY & SELL INVESTING & DEVELOPMENT

Shannon Farrell VP of Operations & Realtor Extraordinaire

408-896-5351

Get all of your real estate questions answered with our incredible team of experts!

BRG

Realty Corp CA DRE # 00984218

Gregg Bunker President/CEO Real Estate Executive 408-781-1725

1900 Camden Ave., San Jose 95124

Call us: 408-558-3600

*Restrictions apply. Talk with us to see if your property qualifies for this $9,500 listing offer.

VISIT US ONLINE AT BRGREALTYCORP.COM


ph

e

e lif astro ES!

Call for Contractors!

Sa fr

Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley is hiring local contractors to repair roofs, perform plumbing and electrical work, carpentry, flooring and other special projects in homes throughout Santa Clara County.

om

a

a at T ng i a l c N U i I v t

E EV

I live

alone

po

te

n

RY

10

M

but I’m never alone. I have Life Alert.

If you are you a licensed contractor looking to expand your client base, please contact us! Minority and women-owned contractors are encouraged to apply. Learn more at:

®

One press of a button sends help fast, 24/7, even when you can’t reach a phone.

http://contractors.rtsv.org Qualifications: • Licensed General Contractor, HVAC, Electrician, Plumber, or Roofer • General Liability Insurance and Worker's Comp (if applicable)

Contact: Kevin McCarthy 408.578.9519 ext. 1007, kevin@rtsv.org

AS SEEN ON

TV

For a FREE brochure call:

1701 South 7th St., #10 San Jose, CA 95112

1-650-383-1263

www.rtsv.org

Prepare for power outages with a Generac home standby generator SCHEDULE YOUR FREE IN-HOME ASSESSMENT TODAY!

650-900-9379

FREE

7-Year Extended Warranty* A $695 Value! Offer valid August 24, 2020 - December 31, 2020

Special Financing Available Subject to Credit Approval

*Terms & Conditions Apply

Dental Insurance Get the dental care you deserve with dental insurance from Physicians Mutual Insurance Company. It can help cover the services you’re most likely to use —

Cleanings

X-rays

Fillings

Crowns

Dentures

Preventive care starts right away Helps cover over 350 services Go to any dentist you want – but save more with one in our network No deductible, no annual maximum

Call now to get this FREE

Here’s the information you requested on Dental insurance

Information Kit!

1-844-934-3212 dental50plus.com/svr l

Product not available in all states. Includes the Participating Providers and Preventive Benefits Rider. Acceptance guaranteed for one insurance policy/certificate of this type. Contact us for complete details about this insurance solicitation. This specific offer is not available in CO, NY; call 1-888-799-4433 or respond for similar offer. Certificate C250A (ID: C250E; PA: C250Q); Insurance Policy P150 (GA: P150GA; NY: P150NY; OK: P150OK; TN: P150TN). Rider kinds B438/B439. 6154-0120

FIRST


INSIDE STORY

SON GETS PARENTS BACK! EXCLUSIVE!

TEEN GIRL RESCUED! We’ve got the inside stories you haven’t heard.

Succe ss! REAL MEN GETTING HIGH ON LIFE!

AND

CARRYING THROUGH WITH RECOVERY

TEEN CHALLENGE INSIDE STORY VIRTUAL GALA Register Now: www.teenchallenge.net/inside-story Thursday, September 24th - 7:00pm (PDT) Friday, September 25th - 4:00 and 7:00pm (PDT)


Page 12

September 20, 2020

District 1 News

1 in 5 Have Not Completed the Census

As of this week, nearly 1 in 5 households have NOT participated in the 2020 Census. This means that 140,000 of the 701,000 households in the County of Santa Clara have not responded so far. Are you the 1 in 5 in your neighborhood? If so, please complete your 10-minute questionnaire

today. It is as easy as following the link below or calling 844-330-2020. The data collected from the Census is used to allocate over $800 billion in annual funding for vital services, including money for: • Schools • Healthcare • Housing

County Moves to the Red Tier (Tier 2) • Roads Census Deadline: September 30th, 2020. To complete the census, go to https:// my2020census.gov.

Animal Services Center Wins Award

The Santa Clara County Animal Services Center just won the Silicon Valley Business Journal’s 2020 Silicon Valley Structures award for the category of “Public/Civic Project.”

On September 18th, they will feature 22 real estate awards in print and online, as well as a virtual event on September 16th. Located at 90 Highland Avenue in San Martin and spanning approximately 4.5 acres, the new animal center will include a 37,000 square foot one-story building, a livestock barn and

pastures, dog play yards and a community multiuse center. The Animal Services Center cares for and homes approximately 4,000 dogs, cats, horses and livestock annually and has a no-kill live release rate of 94.3%, one of the highest in California for open intake shelters. To learn more, go to https://www.sccgov.org/ sites/faf/capital-projects/ animal_shelter/pages/ home.aspx.

Nurse Builders Academy

Your first step towards a career in Healthcare.

www.nursebuildersacademy.org

Become a CNA (Nursing Assistant) (408) 972-5025

Last week, the State of California moved Santa Clara County from the Purple Tier (Tier 1) to the Red Tier (Tier 2) on the State’s new COVID-19 blueprint. Counties assigned to the Red Tier are still experiencing “substantial spread” of COVID-19. The following businesses and activities are allowed to resume under the State’s framework, as well as the County’s Risk Reduction Order. Businesses and activities must be in compliance with all industry-specific mandatory directives set forth by the County and State, including having a Social Distancing Protocol on file and displayed. • Schools: K-12 schools can open after the County has been in the Red Tier for 14 days. All schools must follow mandatory guidance set by the County of Santa Clara ( and the State of California • Personal care services (hair, nail, massage, waxing, etc): allowed indoors with modifications

• Museums, zoos, aquariums: allowed indoors at 25% capacity • Gyms and fitness centers: allowed to open indoors at 10% capacity • Shopping malls: allowed to open indoors at 50% capacity (previously open at 25% capacity) Indoor dining, indoor movie theaters and indoor gatherings remain prohibited. Outdoor gatherings up to 60 people are still allowed. To maintain our hard-fought progress, I urge businesses and activities to follow the public health directives so that we can maintain our community’s progress in bringing down COVID-19 transmission. We must all continue our vigilance with social distancing protocols and mask wearing. If we don’t, the State will move us back to purple. To view the health order, go to https://www. sccgov.org/sites/covid19/ Pages/order-healthofficer-07-02-20.aspx.


September 20, 2020

Black Dems Prod California’s Elected Officials to Take Emmett Till Pledge

Page 13

Politics

Tanu Henry | California Black Media The California Democratic Party African American Caucus (CDPAAC) is calling on all elected officials in California at the local, state and national levels to take a firm stand against racism. By signing the Emmett Till Anti-Racism Pledge, the CDPAAC says politicians, who are the most important decision makers in California, can demonstrate in a public and symbolic way that they denounce racism and support a society for all Californians that is fair, just and safe. “The Democratic party and the people of California must never forget about the murder of Emmett Till. It ignited the first civil rights movement. He was that generation’s George Floyd and Breonna Taylor,” said Taisha Brown, chair of the CDPAAC. Brown, who lives in San Diego and was elected last year to lead the statewide group that represents Black registered Democrats across California, said standing up against Racism in all of its forms is one of the top priorities of the caucus. “The Black Caucus continues to serve in its historic role as the conscious of the California Democratic Party,” Brown told California Black Media. “Many in this country

and around the state of California are trying to find out what they can do to contribute to this historic time in our nation’s history. The caucus wanted to assist individuals and elected officials in doing their part to fight against racism. It is a public health crisis.” In California, about 73% of all likely Black Voters are registered Democrats, according to the Public Policy Institute of California. Named for the 14-year-old African American boy who was brutally lynched in Mississippi in 1955 after being accused of offending a White woman, the Emmitt Till Pledge calls on elected officials to direct their “energies to combat bigotry and hate in our great state.” “We are committed to standing up for equality, safety, and justice for ALL of the citizens of California,” the pledge continues, before asking the politicos to sign. “We pledge to take the bold and aggressive steps to combat bigotry and racism throughout our state to ensure that every individual is able to claim their ‘unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty, and the pursuit of Happiness’ as our Declaration of Independence states.” “The cruelness, barbarism, and brutality of his murder were

heartbreaking,” a statement the CDPAAC released said of Till’s murder. In 2017, Till’s accuser, Carolyn Bryant Donham, told Timothy B. Tyson, an author and Duke University professor, that she lied when she reported that Till of assaulted her 65 years ago. After a five-day trial, a jury in Sumner, Miss., acquitted Till’s killers. The CDPAAC pledge asks elected officials to make seven affirmations, which include not allowing racist conversation in their presence; protecting all people who face discrimination; contracting with Blackowned businesses and vendors for campaign and governmentrelated events; enacting policies that promote all Californians; among other positive actions. “The Black Caucus

will work with the Democratic party to email the petition to elected officials and encourage our members to request that their elected representatives at all levels sign it,” said Brown.   The California Democratic Party African American Caucus (CDPAAC)’s Mission It will be the purpose of this caucus to promote and encourage full participation of all registered African--American Democrats in the Democratic State

Central Committee of The Democratic Party of California and its affairs at all levels. Further, to initiate and support the party policies and issues which reflects the interest and welfare of the African---American community and to act as the vehicle for the implementation of these policies in the African--American community and to give guidance and/or advice regarding the African---American communities concerns to the Democratic Party structure.

https://www.losgatoschamber.com/vote-lg


Page 14

September 20, 2020

Through the Flames

Community Amid Fear still threaten people’s homes and businesses in Southern Oregon. I “Be prepared!”… it’s am 25-years-old, newly something we have all married, and am one of heard. We’ve watched the many people who the videos and read the suffer from anxiety and articles that give us panic attacks. When I the “tools we need to got up the morning we get through a natural had to evacuate, I was disaster”. We are told that ready for a lazy day of the more prepared we binge watching “Young are, the better equipped Sheldon” on HBO Max. we are to withstand such My husband and I had an event. What these packed a few to-go bags articles don’t tell you is of clothes and important how to prepare for the items (birth certificates, bombardment of fear and car titles, etc.) the night panic. before. That was our “be I was one of the prepared” and we thought thousands of people we were.. then we got the who had to evacuate Level 3 order to evacuate. during the Obenchain Level 3 is a “Get Out Fire event in Southern Now!” order. We packed Oregon. The Obenchain up the to-go bags, the is one of many fires that animals, and everything else we might need to care for them and ourselves and headed to a friends house away from the fires. That’s that. That’s the end.. right? Boy, was I wrong. That was just the beginning of an emotional rollercoaster I was not prepared for. The first night was alright.. but then I was “So scary packing belongings in denial of the that is most important (how do you choose?). Grabbed my 3-yearwhole situation. I old and 14-year-old and called it good. My husband stayed behind to wanted to believe protect our house but you can never it was simply prepare for the loss of material a precaution things. But you have your family.” and that I had - Stephanie Schoenberger By Amanda McElroy

Photo Courtesy of Alisha Hinkle

nothing to worry about. Unfortunately, worrying is what I do best. The next few days I had ups and downs going from really happy to unhealthily depressed. What made matters worse, is that I had to view myself through the eyes of my husband who was constantly asking if I was alright and if he could do anything to help me. It took me a while to actually open up to him and let him know what was going on in my mind. That made things harder on him. He knew something wasn’t right in my head, but he could do nothing. Fear. Panic. Sadness. More fear. And then guilt. As far as I knew, my house was still standing. The fire was getting close, but still wasn’t there yet. The Almeda fire south of us destroyed two towns. People living in Phoenix, OR and Talent, OR have lost their homes and business. Thousands of them. But here I was caring more about the impending doom rather than those who had to worry about where their next meal was coming from or where they are going to live. I got lost in my own head and, frankly,

it’s scary in there. I shut down. For the next few days, I frantically watched the news, googled information on the fire, and did everything I could to put my mind at ease. Something to end the fear and sheer panic. All the information I was getting was either outdated or vague. You can only get so much information from sources that don’t have any. So, I turned to the one source I thought I could rely on… community. I joined my town’s community page on Facebook and found that a few residents stayed

despite the evacuation order. There was updates and pictures by the hour. Those calling the fire department to get information posted what they heard, first hand. And finally… solace. Those still in my town posted videos of them driving through the streets, some of which by my house, and gave me a first hand look at the situation. My house was still standing. Immediately, I had a wave of relief and for the first time in days I could think clearly again. I couldn’t overcome my anxiety until I surrounded myself with those who

“Watching the glow of the approaching fire from our front porch on Tuesday night was unsettling. We didn’t sleep, constantly rising and checking on the progress through the night. After living through two major fires in San Diego in 2003 and 2007, we never considered that we would be facing a similar situation here in Oregon.” - Kim Thurman


September 20, 2020 were going through the same situation. That’s what these “be prepared” articles don’t prepare you for. They tell you to make a togo bag, grab important things like medicine and irreplaceable items, and make sure you have enough animal food to last. They don’t tell you that in these situations, it is human nature to panic. It’s easy to say you are prepared.. not as easy to actually live threw it. Even now.. back in the comfort of my home.. I am not prepared for it to happen again. We aren’t out of the woods yet and could be evacuated again should anything go wrong. I honestly believe that I will react in the same way as I did… but at least I know I have a community to help get me through it. I had a home to come back to… but some only have community left. “Packed up the trailer. Tried saving lots of sentimental belongings. We were going to be selfsufficient. Last minute leaving, the emergency

Page 15

Through the Flames

“ I am the Assistant Chief for the Butte Falls Volunteer Fire Department. I had to evacuate my special needs son who has Pantothenate-Kinase Associated Neurodegeration. He was the first child in Oregon diagnosed with it. It is a terminal disorder and it was hard to leave the town I love and protect. But I had a higher calling to take care of my son. We evacuated to Prospect Motel during the South Obenchain Fire.” - Blaire Anderson

brakes locked up on the trailer and we then just had to grab what we could with no idea where to stay with 2 dogs and a cat.” - Cheryl Marrow “I stood in my living room looking around

Unsung Heros! Photo Courtesy of Jan Weitman

trying to figure out what to grab that was “important” and all I could think was everything was important… it was a sobering feeling to know that so many people lost EVERYTHING!” - Dawn Gugliotta-Strawn “I manage a foster home and was on shift when we had to evacuate. Trying to stay straight faced and calm while gathering a few things for each of the guys while the fire was getting closer to my personal home and my fiancee calling me about it was one of the most stressful times of my life.” - Seth Russell “I was terrified. Not knowing when more fires would start, not knowing where to evacuate to.

“This was my 1st fire evacuation and I was terrified. I had 4 dogs and 2 cats to kennel up and a 89 year old mother in law with Alzheimers to get to safety.” - Zane Ainsworth

What to do with 15 chickens, 2 turkeys, a dog and cat and rabbits.” - Lorri Thomas “My animals were worried and confused.

I tried to comfort them, they tried to comfort me. We are grateful we got to return home.” - Nicole Witham

Photo Courtesy of Mike Coble


Page 16

September 20, 2020

District 2 News Dear District 2 neighbors, There are big challenges to cleaning up Monterey Road. As you know, this has been a priority for both me and our District 2 residents over the past four years since I’ve taken office (visit https://www.sanjoseca. gov/your-government/ departments/city-council/ members/district-2/d2clean-streets-initiative to learn more about projects I have committed to including spearheading a a Memorandum of Understanding with Union Pacific; Downtown Streets Team; Project Hope; neighborhood clean ups; and more). It is clear that keeping trash off our streets is a mighty effort and more needs to be done. I, along with Mayor Liccardo and Councilmembers Diep and Davis, are elevating attention to blight and litter clean ups across the City with our recommendation to: triple our resources with $3 million in additional funds dedicated to expedite addressing the issue. If approved, this $3 million would boost our budget between now and the end of the year. Our proposal in our memorandum will be discussed at the San Jose Council Meeting on Tuesday, September 22, 2020. Currently, City teams are picking up 45 tons of trash every single week.

In addition to working closely with property owners -- Union Pacific Railroad (which owns the property surrounding the railroad tracks along Monterey Road) and Caltrans (which owns the property adjacent to freeways and highways) -- we are taking responsibility on our end as City leaders and committing to: • Tripling our resources with $3 million in additional funds dedicated to addressing blight and trash along our freeways, highways, railroads, and waterways • Innovative strategies to scale our impact and achieve significant results • A consistent, concerted effort that includes the City’s Emergency Operations Center, the BeautifySJ program, the City Manager’s Office, Mayor and Council Offices, the City’s Code Enforcement Department, nonprofit organizations, local businesses, and volunteers • Wherever possible: deploying dumpsters and trash service, responding quickly to encampments and illegal dumping, hiring unemployed and homeless residents, and deterring future trespassing and other activity on Monterey Road View our press conference on Monday,

September 14, 2020 We need your help to combat this problem. How can you help keep our community safe and clean? If you see blight or homelessness in your neighborhood or around San José, report it to the appropriate agency. All reporting is tracked at each agency and forwarded to the appropriate response team for action. • Union Pacific (property around the railroad tracks): Please call 1-888-UPRRCOP (877-7267) to report hazardous materials releases, personal injuries, criminal activities, illegal dumping, or other environmental incidents. To report emergency grade crossing blockages or damage, please call 1-800-848-8715. • Caltrans (property surrounding / adjacent to freeways and highways): Fill out a Maintenance Service Request (MSR): csr.dot.ca.gov • Homeless Concerns (on City of San Jose property): homelessconcerns@ sanjoseca.gov • MySanJose App: report illegal dumping and request services on City property. 408-535-3500 sanjoseca.gov/mysanjose Download the app to your smartphone! DON’T DUMP YOUR TRASH ILLEGALLY. Schedule a FREE Large Item pick up, right in front of your home. Visit the San Jose Free Junk Pick Up website to learn more and schedule your

free appointment: sanjoseca.gov/ your-government/ environment/ recycling-garbage/ junk-pickup MONTEREY ROAD CLEAN UP PLANS For several weeks, the City of San José and Union Pacific Railroad have been planning and coordinating the cleaning of a large dump site and homeless encampments along the Union Pacific Railroad tracks and Monterey Rd. in south San José, north of Bailey Ave. Currently, Union Pacific Railroad is nearing the completion of a seven-week cleanup along its entire rail line in the city, generally going from north to south. This location will be one of final major clean-ups for this effort. The City will support and augment Union Pacific RR’s cleanup work. Date: 9/21/2020 (work will begin this week, and given the scope and scale of the effort may stretch beyond the 5-day workweek) Cleanup Partners: City of San José, Union Pacific Railroad Scope of the Cleanup • Address encampments at the site / Outreach services will work with unhoused residents to offer housing or other support services • Remove nonoperational vehicles • Secure the City of San José-owned facility that is located on property • Remove all trash, debris, and bio-waste at the site • Explore the

installation of deterrent and preventive measures near Emado Road • The City will continue to monitor the site in an effort to coordinate with partners to more proactively address dumping at the site Keeping our community safe and healthy is a priority for my District 2 Team, and the best way we can do that right now is by providing you with important resources. In this newsletter, please find valuable information and links about District 2 community updates, San José policy updates, Census 2020, and navigating COVID-19. My goal has always been to empower the community and make City Hall accessible to you -- to give you a voice in local government. I invite you to join me as I advocate for a more equitable San José and make our home a better place to live, work, and play. Let’s connect through my website (https://www. sanjoseca.gov/yourgovernment/departmentdirectory/city-council/ district-2) , Facebook (https://www.facebook. com/D2SergioJimenez/), Twitter (https://twitter. com/D2SergioJimenez) , and Nextdoor!

In community, Sergio Jimenez


Boyd’s Tree Service Landscaping Maintenance Since 1984

www.Boydstreeservice.com

boydstslm@gmail.com

Clear Away Fire Hazards Around Your House • Structural Pruning • Tree Trimming • Stump Removal We Specialize in Redwood Trees!

408-371-5040 Contractor License #665121

One solution for oxygen at home, away, and for travel Introducing the INOGEN ONE It’s oxygen therapy on your terms No more tanks to refill. No more deliveries. No more hassles with travel. The INOGEN ONE portable oxygen concentrator is designed to provide unparalleled freedom for oxygen therapy users. It’s small, lightweight, clinically proven for stationary and portable use, during the day and at night, and can go virtually anywhere — even on most airlines. Inogen accepts Medicare and many private insurances!

Reclaim Your Freedom And Independence NOW!

Call Inogen Today To Request Your FREE Info Kit

1-650-383-1866 © 2020 Inogen, Inc. All rights reserved.

MKT-P0108


Page 18

September 20, 2020

Travel News

COVID-19 Concerns and Confusion Over Resuming School in Italy Mario Masciullo | eTN Italy The main COVID-19 concerns getting attention in Italy are the lack of masks and a dispute regarding the detection of the temperature of students of all ages and the self-certification written in a diary by the parents as required by the health authorities. The dispute has arisen between Minister of Education Lucia Azzolina who imposed the regulation that provides for the measurement of fever at home and for safety even during the journey from home to school, and President of the Piedmont region Alberto Cirio who is challenging the regulation to measure fever upon arrival at school.

Cirio’s decision has split Italy into 2 pros and cons, a tug-of-war with Rome, but Cirio does not doubt his decision. Deniers, however, are saying “the association of the people of mothers” based on the outskirts of Turin which met in Rome are crying out “let’s set fire to the masks and save the children from the health dictatorship.” Cirio reassured his parents he understood their principles and the belief that it is wrong to delegate such a delicate task exclusively to families. Last but not least, is the question as to whether classrooms are equipped to welcome students safely. The government’s promise to equip schools

with 11 million masks a day has not yet been fulfilled despite the contract won by Mr. Elkam which ensured the production of 27 million per day. Thousands of mothers are refusing to send their children to preschools. This chaos is not reassuring to the population about the efficiency of protection services in schools. The schools of Rome without a daily stock of masks ask children to bring them from home. At the beginning of the lessons, masks are missing or not enough. The regional school office informed that “they are available, but there are delivery problems.”

The government is in a hurry to have the delivery dates of prefabricated wooden classroom modules repeated to accommodate students whose schools are still being structured. All this is followed by the decision of nurses in the RSAs to boycott them to accept the more attractive salary proposals from public hospitals, creating economic damage to the RSAs who no longer occupy their beds and the rush of families to public facilities who will not be

Airbus Foundation Delivers Humanitarian Aid to Beirut By Harry. S. Johnson

Immediately after the recent blast in Beirut, Lebanon, Airbus provided satellite imagery to analyse the damage and helped government analysts, NGOs and first responders gain visibility into the catastrophe. Now , the Airbus Foundation, together with its partners Association Les Amis Du Liban-Toulouse, Centre Hospitalier

Universitaire de Toulouse, the Municipal Council of Toulouse, the German Red Cross/Bayer AG and Aviation sans Frontières, sent a fully-loaded Airbus A350 XWB aircraft from Toulouse, France, to Beirut, Lebanon, with 90 cubic meter volume of humanitarian aid on board. The cargo, which will provide much needed relief to those affected by the Beirut explosion,

included medicine as well as visors and masks, school items, electrical products and ITequipment. The goods are destined for the Saint George Hospital University Medical Center in Beirut, the local association Arc de Ciel and the Lebanese Red

Cross. “We’ve all seen the devastation left in the wake of the explosion in Beirut and we, at Airbus, wish the people and the city of Beirut a speedy recovery,” said Julie Kitcher, Airbus EVP

able to support geriatric demand. For now, schools have to get by for themselves, buying masks with their own funds or asking parents to bring them from home. There are also those who rely on crowdfunding. However, school is in reality only starting halfway as many students who will see their classrooms are doing so only in person one day and from their own PC the next day.

Communications and Corporate Affairs. “I thank our partners and the A350 flight crew involved in this project for their logistics support and their dedication. Without their tremendous efforts, this special mission would not have been possible.” On the return journey, the A350 brought 11 Lebanese students to France to continue their studies, as part of an initiative organised by Les Amis Du Liban-Toulouse.


September 20, 2020

Hawaii Tourism in Panic After Quarantine for Visitors Extended By Juergen T. Steinmetz

Currently, visitors arriving in the Aloha State of Hawaii need to stay in their hotel rooms for 2 weeks. It means no visits to the pool, the restaurant, or the beach. This is checked by dozens of special agents by the Honolulu Police Department. Violators face a $5000.00 fine, arrest, and up to 1 year in jail. This has brought tourism to Hawaii to a stillstand. Most hotels are closed, most restaurants are doing take out only

or closed up. Waikiki appears to feel like a ghost town. After several extensions this regulation was supposed to be softened with an advance testing program the State developed and announced to be in place in August and again in September. The programs in place, the websites to facilitate this program are operational, but after a spike in COVID-19 infections Governor Ige told a panel arranged by the Honolulu Advertiser today, he will most likely extend the quarantine

requirement for everyone beyond October 1. This is a devastating blow to the travel and tourism industry, specifically to the ten thousand of hotel workers and airlines struggling to stay in business. It will most likely mean more closures, higher unemployment, and an exodus of people to escape the State for better opportunities on the US mainland. OPINION: On the other hand, Hawaii managed to stay resilient when it comes to COVID-19 and health

Page 19

Travel News

care. Such a decision is not an easy one but must be applauded. Following through with such strict restrictions may put the State on the winning stream in a long way. Today the State recorded 80 new

COVID-19 cases, down from the 200 or 300 range two weeks ago. Currently, there is the third week of a Stay at Home order for the County of Honolulu. This order by Mayor Kirk Caldwell is in place for another 10 days.

Governments Stick It to Hotel, Travel and Tourism Industries By Dr. Elinor Garely

The hotel, travel and tourism industries have been hammered by COVID-19. As strategic partners in the tourism paradigm, hotel executives have seen investments in this sector decline by 59 percent in the first half of 2020. McKinsey research suggests that the all industry segments will not see a recovery to preCOVID-19 levels until 2023 or later. In 2019, tourism

counted for approximately 10 percent of global GDP and was valued at almost $9 trillion. It is expected that international tourist arrivals will experience a 60-80 percent decline in 2020 and tourism spending is unlikely to return to pre-crisis levels into 2024 (mckinsey.com). Because the industry

is fragmented, rebooting tourism-related businesses and developing a sustainable model that is safe, meets tourists’ expectations and is economically feasible

will require public and private sector leadership, management cooperation and coordination that is unprecedented. Crazy Quilt of New Rules Consumers and industry partners are in a quandary because of the irrational restrictions elected officials have placed on this economic

rebuilding.travel Register to join the discussion on rebuilding.travel at https://rebuilding.travel/register/

sector. While most were willing to give the WHO (World Health Organization) and government leaders the benefit of the doubt at the beginning of the novel coronavirus, allowing them time to get themselves and policies in order..... To continue reading this article, go to https://www. eturbonews.com/583238/ governments-stick-it-tohotel-travel-and-tourismindustries/


Profile for The Bay Area Review

The Bay Area Review, September 20, 2020  

The Bay Area Review Encourage - Enlighten - Enrich The San Francisco Bay Area Volume 2, Issue 18

The Bay Area Review, September 20, 2020  

The Bay Area Review Encourage - Enlighten - Enrich The San Francisco Bay Area Volume 2, Issue 18