__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

South Valley Review

VOL. 2, NO. 17

October 5, 2018

Better at knowing what matters to you Page # 3

Taste of Vietnam

Worship Directory

Page # 4 Community Seva Gala Recap

Page # 12 Jeff Vo, President of VNARP

“Taste of Vietnam” is an annual extraordinary gala recognizing the achievements of accomplished Vietnamese real estate producers, distinguished members and non-profit organizations.

Continued on Page 6 SVR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95119 95123 95124 95125 95032 95008 95126 95128 *COMING SOON* 95037 95051 Y1Z

Rotary Club’s 32nd Annual Auction


When...Where SVR South Valley Review 2059 Camden Avenue Suite 219 San Jose, CA, 95124 (408) 898 - 7534 Minority Owned Business President: Richard Pugh Richard@southvalleyreview.com Publisher: Brigitte Jones Brigitte@southvalleyreview.com Executive Editor: Sonya Ruffin Editor@southvalleyreview.com Operations/Accounting: Dorothy Pugh Accounting@southvalleyreview.com Graphic Design Director: Amanda Faris Graphics@southvalleyreview.com Photographer Andy Nguyen Editor at Large: Pearl Baeni Editor, Public Affairs Liaison: Pamela Gustava Curry

SVR welcomes letters to the Editor Please limit content to 200 words or less. Submissions are subject to scrutiny for content and grammar but all effort will be made to retain intended meaning of such letters. Anonymous letters will not be printed. Articles so published reflect the views of the authors - not necessarily those of South Valley Review. All submissions become the property of B & R Media Group, Inc. and cannot be acknowledged.

Benjamin Grosvenor and Charlie Albright Highlight Steinway Society Season 24 A line-up of international piano stars awaits classical music lovers in the 24th season of Steinway Society - The Bay Area. The season launches on September 15 and includes a concert each month through May 11, 2019. “This season’s artists are all top international performers who are widely praised for their depth of artistry as well as their audience appeal,” said Lorrin Koran, MD, President of the Board for Steinway Society — The Bay Area. “They are artists that add greatly to the luster of the classical music coming to Silicon Valley next season.” THE CONCERT LINE-UP: • October 13 (Saturday) - Vladimir Ovhinnikov • November 11 (Sunday) - Henry Kramer

• December 8 (Saturday) – Sandra Wright Shen • January 12, 2019 (Saturday) - Kate Liu • February 10 (Sunday) – Vyacheslav Gryaznov • March 12 (Tuesday) – Benjamin Grosvenor • April 6 (Saturday) – Nikolay Khozyainov • May 11 (Saturday) – Charlie Albright PERFORMANCE LOCATIONS: All performances in the 2018-19 season will be held at the Trianon Theatre, 72 North 5th Street in downtown San Jose, with the exception of the October 13 and March 12 concerts which will be held at McAfee Performing Arts Center at 20300 Herriman Avenue (just off Saratoga Sunnyvale Road) in Saratoga.

International piano star Benjamin Grosvenor

TICKETS/INFO: www.steinwaysociety.com or (408) 990-0872 Season Subscriptions (8 concerts): $225-$360 Mini-Series Subscription (4 concerts): $125-$200 Single Tickets: $40-$60. Senior/Student Discounts Available

Save up to $111/month* on your Medicare supplement insurance plan.

Music Lessons Only $15 per lesson!!

Call 1-855-669-8212 Call for a fast and free rate quote today. No cost. No obligation. *Source: Savings are the monthly premium difference between the plan with the highest premium and the plan with the lowest Plan F premium for women age 65 in certain ZIP codes on the eHealth platform, according to an October 2017 eHealth analysis. Medicare.com is a non-government resource operated by eHealthInsurance Services, Inc., an insurance agency. This is a solicitation of insurance. Not connected with or endorsed by the U.S. government or federal Medicare program. Savings are not guaranteed.

Y2Z

Call (408)268-6703 dmusic123@aol.com • Piano • Guitar • Drums • Bass • Flute


Worship Directory First Congregational Church of San Jose United Church of Christ 1980 Hamilton Ave., San Jose, CA 95125 (At the corner of Hamilton and Leigh) (408) 377-7121 www.firstccsj.org

We are a progressive, Open and Affirming, welcoming congregation of faithful people who seek to wrestle with scripture, and live out our faith, in the real world. We are far from perfect, but we try to offer as wide a welcome as possible, and invite you to join us on the community path, wherever it takes us. We offer lively, multi-generational worship on Sunday mornings at 10:00 AM (nursery care provided). We have regular educational programs for all ages, children through adults, and a variety of groups and offerings for spiritual development and service. Come check us out and find a community for the journey.

Santa Teresa Hills Presbyterian Church 5370 Snell Ave, San Jose, CA 95123 (2 blocks north of Blossom Hill Rd on Snell) (408) 629-5906 Email: santateresahills@gmail.com

We are a friendly, progressive, multicultural church striving to understand and apply the teachings of Jesus Christ. All are welcome!! Come visit us and participate in opportunities for spiritual growth, fellowship, and community outreach. We can pursue our faith journeys together! Sunday services are at 10:00AM with children’s Sunday school and nursery care available on site. Handicapped and hearing impaired services available. Visit our website for sample sermons, photos and a lot more information www.sthpc.org We look forward to meeting you!!

Hillside Church San Jose 545 Hillsdale Avenue San Jose, CA 95136 (408) 269-4782 www.hillside.org

At Hillside Church, we take God and His Word seriously. We are a growing congregation of friendly people who are taking the hope of the Gospel to a world that desperately needs it. Join us in our mission to change this world one soul at a time. Our Sunday services are at 9:00 AM (acoustic/quiet) and 10:45 AM (more high energy). Make a difference in the live of people in our community. Help us as we point others to Jesus Christ, teaching them to live for Him. Visit our website, listen online, or join us this Sunday!

Sunrise Valley Baptist Church

5860 Blossom Avenue (at Blossom & Calero) San Jose, CA 95123 (408) 225 - 0200 www.sunrisevbc.org “Rejoice in the Lord always! And again I say rejoice!” Come join us in a traditional worship service that is steeped in the old hymns of our faith and rooted in expository Bible preaching. A friendly congregation will encourage your heart. Our Wonderful Savior, Jesus Christ, offers peace, love & joy. On Sunday we have Sunday School at 9:30 am; Sunday Morning Worship at 10:45 am; and Sunday Evening Worship at 6:00 pm. On Wednesday Evening we have Awana at 7:00 pm (Children’s Bible Clubs K-6; Sept May) and Wednesday Night Prayer Meeting at 7:00 pm.

Advertise Your place of Worship with the South Valley Review! Contact us at advertising@southvalleyreveiw.com.


Hunger At Home Martha’s Kitchen hosted their Bridging the Gap Gala on Friday, September 7th. “We grossed $770K including in-kind donations!” Edita Cruz, Executive Director of Martha’s Kitchen. For more from Edita, view her interview with Salvation Army, Home First, etc. on their collaboration with Hunger at Home https://www.facebook.com/pg/hungerathomesv/ videos/?ref=page_internal. “When I was hungry, you gave me to eat.”    Matt 25:35   Please consider including Martha’s Kitchen in your will. Thank you.

http://www.marthas-kitchen.org

Edita Cruz, Executive Director Martha’s Kitchen

Ewell Sterner, Founder Hunger at Home

Y4Z

https://hungerathome.org


Community Seva I am at a loss for words. Community Seva was recently moved and astounded as we witnessed your unbelievable generosity, love and caring. Our inaugural gala was a remarkable success because of you. If you had to leave early or arrived late, please do take a few moments to watch our Community Seva Gala video on You Tube at: https://youtu.be/ rT3ZI40wJ4w. Please take this opportunity to subscribe to our channel. I take this opportunity to thank all the businesses and individuals who generously sponsored the event at various levels. I would like to thank all the elected officials who took the time to attend our event in spite of their busy schedules and honored Community Seva with their Commendations.  On behalf of all the volunteers who put their heart and soul, working day and night into organizing the gala, I would like to give our special appreciation to Asssemblymember Ash Kalra and his father Mr Kalra, for the spark that created this thunder of giving. Without all of your support we could not have come this far.  Thank you ! Thank you !! Thank you!!! - Nathan Ganeshan Founder & President Community Seva Inc www.communityseva.org

Y5Z


Andy Nguyen

Special Assignment http://intramuralaffairs.wixsite.com/andyphoto Taste of Vietnam

It is hosted by the Vietnamese National Association of Real Estate Professional (VNARP). It is held at San Jose City Hall, Rotunda on Saturday, Sept. 29th, 2018. The VNARP opens this event is to benefit the children worldwide and help end world hunger, partnering with the Outreach Program. Inc. To volunteer or donate, please visit: bit.ly/ fighthungerwithvnarp

Silicon Valley Organization Executive Vice President Madison Nguyen (pictured right) said, “As a former Vice Mayor of San Jose and Vietnamese American I am extremely proud of all the wonderful work that VNARP has done to contribute to the Vietnamese community. I am proud to support them and wish them much success in all of their endeavors.”

Former San Jose Mayor Ron Gonzales

Downtown Street Team’s 2nd Annual Downtown Drop Down event raised more than $234,000 for the organization this year. We are thrilled with the outcome, and the tremendous support from our community! http://streetsteam.org Y6Z


TechConneXt Not Too Late! Here’s Why You Need to Attend TechConneXt Black Enterprise is back at the San Francisco Marriott Waterfront Oct 8-9 for TechConneXt – the premiere tech conference for people of color. This is not a music festival or mixer-only event. This is the place to be for tech job seekers, techpreneurs, enthusiasts, as well as the tech curious. There will be companies on-site looking to hire programmers,

developers, engineers and more! Plus, some of the most successful and distinguished people of color in tech (or those who used tech to build their brands) will be on hand speaking on panels, giving advice, and taking your questions.

Your attendance is one step closer to: • Solving the black tech

diversity issue • Building the tech pipeline • Bringing black tech professionals together to learn from one another There will be fantastic panel discussions, keynotes, and “BE Talks,” covering a wide range of topics: making it big in podcasting; building a real Wakandan city from

Y8Z

cryptocurrency, discussing the latest in artificial intelligence, making money in eSports; and of course, presenting the latest and greatest black and brown innovators in tech. You will also want to attend the inaugural Black Tech Awards; see the finalist tech entrepreneurs vie for $10,000 in the TCX Pitch competition; and

support the future of tech by rooting on the brightest computer science minds from 16 HBCUs as they compete in the BE Smart Hackathon (sponsored by American Airlines). Finally, there will be opportunities for networking, kicking back and relaxing, while enjoying great food and beverages (family-friendly and adult!).


TechConneXt

Biltmore Hotel and Suites 2151 Laurelwood Road | Santa Clara, CA 95054

The Industry Council is Silicon Valley’s single source for all inclusive Diversity Business Networking. We facilitate collaboration, leadership, education and procurement opportunities for the advancement and development of supplier excellence.

icsbd.org

Y 10 Z

DON’T MISS THESE INNOVATIVE SESSIONS AT NBAA-BACE With a decreasing supply of used aircraft, demand for new aircraft is heating up and the industry is sitting on the precipice of many new and exciting innovations. The future of business aviation is growing and changing very rapidly and we want you to ensure you are ahead of the curve. In addition to the incredible operations, safety, and security sessions taking place from Oct. 16 to 18.

With 50+ education opportunities, there truly are sessions for everyone. For the full program schedule, including descriptions and speakers, please visit https://www.nbaa.org/events/bace/2018/


Playtime Sometimes... It’s Okay to Be a Kid Special Assignment Amanda Faris

The Santa Clara Fairgrounds has a lot of events to offer that brings a lot of different people together. I had the privilege of attending Silicon Valley’s longest running Toy and Comic Book Convention on September 30 at the Fairgrounds, and man, I wasn’t disappointed.

250 tables of toys galore; vintage to modern. Everything a nerd would want from Marvel to Disney; key Chains to figurines; movies to comics. There was even a giant Godzilla figure. From the moment I walked through the doors, I was in nostalgia heaven. There was a stack of collectible plates from the Disney movie Hercules that reminded me of the

times my older sister and I would argue over who got what character plate. The entire time, I had a smile on my face. If you get a chance to go to this event next year, I highly recommend that you do. This convention is great for all ages and is especially good for collectors of vintage toys, figures, comics, and even Funko Pops!

Y 11 Z


32nd Annual Auction September 29, 2018 was the 32nd Annual Auction for the Rotary Club of San Jose Silicon Valley. Primary beneficiaries of this year’s auction are Grant School Science Camp and Shop With a Cop. The auction raised over $33,000 to be used for charitable activities, including $4,400 for the Grant School Science Camp Fund A Need. Over the 32 years of the auction, approximately $750,000 has been raised and used for charitable purposes, a significant accomplishment for a club of 30 members. The auction was attended by over 100 people and many positive comments were received from guests who plan to attend again in 2019. Rotary SJSV meets every Friday at 12:15pm at the Four Points Sheraton San Jose Airport. Visitors and potential members are always welcome.

Y 12 Z


32nd Annual Auction

Y 13 Z


0 0 . 9 9 1 $

Silicon Valley Business Center

per month for 6 months with agreement to rent for 6 months

25 Workstations Available http://www.siliconvalleyworkspace.com 1-408-558-3600

1900 Camden Ave, San Jose, CA 95124

20% Blossom Hill First Your Ord Printing Company er!

For more information visit BHPrinting.com or email dave@BHPrinting.com Blossom Hill Printing Company is all about creating exactly what you want, customized to fit your needs, at really low prices. We pride ourselves on our commitment to quality and the best service anywhere. We are a full service commercial print design & brokerage serving South Bay Area businesses for over 42 years.

Business Cards • Folders • Fliers Catalogs • Product Sheets Brochures • Forms • Labels Specialty Items • And More

BOOK YOUR VACATION NOW – CALL FOR LIMITED TIME SAVINGS

500

Hawaiian Islands $Save 500

12 days from $1,749* $1,499*

12 days from $2,249* $1,999*

Grand Alaskan Cruise & Tour

Save

$

per couple

Cruise & Tour

per couple

Departs June - September, 2019

Departs year-round

Enjoy a spectacular cruise & tour between Seattle and Alaska including 7 nights aboard Holland America Line’s ms Westerdam and 4 nights on land. You’ll cruise the Gulf of Alaska and the Inside Passage—a breathtaking sea lane teeming with marine wildlife, where you’ll pass glaciers, towering mountains, and lush forests, with stops in Ketchikan, historic Skagway and magnificent Glacier Bay. On land, you’ll go deep into Denali National Park, tour Anchorage, and see the Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center.

Discover Hawaii on this island-hopping cruise tour. Spend 7 nights aboard Norwegian Cruise Line’s renovated Pride of America and enjoy freestyle cruising at its finest. Experience the lush Iao Valley on Maui, the beauty and charm of Hilo, Kona’s coffee-rich “Gold Coast,” and Kauai’s spectacular Na Pali coast and Waimea Canyon. Your land tour includes Pearl Harbor and Honolulu city tours, and time to relax on world-famous Waikiki Beach. Escorted on Oahu by our friendly Tour Directors—your local experts.

FREE ONBOARD CREDIT

FREE SPECIALTY DINING PACKAGE

YMT Vacations – the escorted tour experts since 1967! All tours include hotels, sightseeing and baggage handling. TM

Promo code N7017

1-877-818-2936

*Prices are per person based on double occupancy plus up to 299 taxes & fees. Cruise pricing based on lowest cabin category after savings; upgrades available. Single supplement and seasonal surcharges may apply. Add-on airfare available. Free Specialty Dining Package requires purchase of Ocean View Cabin or Balcony Cabin. Onboard credit with Ocean View or Balcony cabin purchase. For full Set Sail terms and conditions ask your Travel Consultant. Offers apply to new bookings only, made by 11/30/18. Other terms and conditions may apply. Ask your Travel Consultant for details. $


OUT WITH CABLE. IN WITH SAVINGS. Get a $100 AT&T Visa® Reward Card† when you sign up for DIRECTV SELECT ™ Package or above. MUST MAINTAIN SVC & REDEEM W/IN 75 DAYS (CARD IN 4 WKS). Ends 9/30/18. Restrs apply. See below for offer details.

SELECT

INCLUDES: ™

All Included Package

35

$

00

MO. Plus taxes.

For 12 Months w/ 24-mo. agmt. Autopay & Paperless bill req’d. $78/mo. in months 13-24 (subject to change).*

Over 155 channels Monthly fee for a Genie® HD DVR

PLUS: Stream shows anytime on up to 5 screens simultaneously – no add’l equipment, no extra cost with the DIRECTV App.^

FOR CHILDREN AGES 2–8

Content/channels/functionality varies. Data charges may apply.

“This site is amazing! My children are excited to learn and they don’t want to stop. Thank you so much! ”

—Mother of 3- and 5-year-old girls

*$35 ACTIVATION, EARLY TERMINATION FEE OF $20/MO. FOR EACH MONTH REMAINING ON AGMT., EQUIPMENT NON-RETURN & ADD’L FEES APPLY. Price incl. SELECT All Included Pkg. , and is after $5/mo. autopay & paperless bill discount for 12 mo. Pay $40/mo. + taxes until discount starts w/in 3 bills . New approved residential customers only (equipment lease req’d). Credit card req’d (except MA & PA). Restr’s apply.

Ask me how to Bundle and save. CALL TODAY!

Special Offer

IV SUPPORT HOLDINGS LLC

855-532-1951 SELECT ALL INCLUDED PACKAGE OFFER: Ends 9/30/18. Available only in the U.S. (excludes Puerto Rico and U.S.V.I.). 1st & 2nd Year Pricing: $35 for first 12 mos. only. After 12 mos. or loss of eligibility then-prevailing rate applies (currently $78/mo. for SELECT All Included) unless canceled or changed prior to end of the promo period. Pricing subject to change. $5/mo. Discount: Must enroll in autopay & paperless bill within 30 days of TV activation to receive bill credit starting in 1-3 bill cycles. First-time credit will include all credits earned since meeting offer requirements. Must maintain autopay/paperless bill and valid email address to continue credits. No credits in 2nd year for autopay/paperless bill. Includes: SELECT All Included TV Pkg, monthly service & equipment fees for one Genie HD DVR, and standard pro installation. Exclusions: Price excludes applicable use tax expense surcharge on retail value of installation, custom installation, equipment upgrades/add-ons (min. $99 one-time fee & $7/mo. fee for each extra receiver/DIRECTV Ready TV/Device), and certain other add’l fees & charges. Different offers may apply for eligible multi-dwelling-unit and telco customers. DIRECTV SVC TERMS: Subject to Equipment Lease & Customer Agreements. Must maintain a min. base TV pkg of $29.99/mo. Programming, pricing, terms and conditions subject to change at any time. Some offers may not be available through all channels and in select areas. Visit directv.com/legal or call for details. Offers may not be combined with other promotional offers on the same services and may be modified or discontinued at any time without notice. Other conditions apply to all offers. †$100 REWARD CARD: Requires purchase of qualifying TV package (min. $35/mo promo price after discount that start w/i 3 bills & may req. AutoPay) through card fulfillment. Qualifying Packages: SELECT or above. Select locations. For new residential customers in the U.S. (excludes Puerto Rico and U.S.V.I.). Residents of select multi-dwelling units are not eligible for this offer. Reward Card: Will be sent letter with redemption requirements. Redemption req’d w/in 75 days from reward notification mail date. Reward Card delivered within 3-4 weeks after redemption to customers who maintain qualifying service from installation date and through reward fulfillment. Card expires at month-end 6 mos after issuance. No cash access. For cardholder agreement, go to rewardcenter.att.com/myrewardcard/agreement_FSV.pdf. AT&T Reward Card issued by U.S. Bank National Association, pursuant to license from Visa U.S.A. Inc. May not be combined with other promotional offers on same services and may be modified or discontinued at any time without notice. Offer ends 9/30/18. ©2018 AT&T Intellectual Property. All Rights Reserved. AT&T, Globe logo, DIRECTV, and all other DIRECTV marks contained herein are trademarks of AT&T Intellectual Property and/or AT&T affiliated companies. All other marks are the property of their respective owners.

FREE

More Than

9,000

F OR 3 0 D A Y S !

LEARNING GAMES AND ACTIVITIES

On Computer or Mobile Devices!

Visit ABCmouse.com/gift24 to redeem this offer.

Senior Market Sales_MB_5.0 x 6.0_AW18-1008

TM & © 2018 Age of Learning, Inc.

ADVANCED HEARING AID TECHNOLOGY

“I was amazed! Sounds I hadn’t heard in years came back to me!” — Don W., Sherman, TX

For Less Than $200

We Cover What MEDICARE Does Not

How can a hearing aid that costs less than $200 be every bit as good as one that sells for $2,250 or more?

At last! Affordable coverage1 for the important health services2 that Medicare does not cover. Dental: Use any dentist – including your own! Cleanings,

evaluations, x-rays, fillings, extractions crowns, bridges, dentures & more! Up to $2,500 annual benefit.

Vision: Our plan helps with exams, lenses, frames, contacts,

The answer: Although tremendous strides have been made in Advanced Hearing Aid Technology, those cost reductions have not been passed on to you. Until now... MDHearingAid® uses the same kind of Advanced Hearing Aid Technology incorporated into hearing aids that cost thousands more at a small fraction of the price. Over 300,000 satisfied MDHearingAid customers agree: High-quality, FDA-registered hearing aids don’t have to cost a fortune. The fact is, you don’t need to spend thousands for a hearing aid. MDHearingAid is a medical-grade hearing aid offering sophistication and high performance, and works right out of the box with no time-consuming “adjustment” appointments. You can contact a licensed hearing specialist conveniently online or by phone — even after your purchase at no cost. No other company provides such extensive support. Now that you know...why pay more?

fittings & more!

Can a Hearing Aid Delay or Prevent Alzheimer’s and Dementia?

Hearing: Hearing exam and hearing aids up to $500 annually

A study by the National Institute on Aging suggests older individuals with hearing loss are significantly more likely to develop Alzheimer’s and dementia over time than those who retain their hearing. They suggest that an intervention — such as a hearing aid — could delay or prevent this by improving hearing!

as part of your policy-year maximum benefit.

Get more information at:

TAKE ADVANTAGE OF OUR 45-DAY RISK-FREE TRIAL!

www.WeCoverDVH.com/valley 1. Policy provisions and benefits may vary from state to state. Some benefits may not be available in all states. 2. Dental and Vision plans may be purchased individually. Hearing plan available as part of a Dental/Vision package.

AW18-1008

Hearing is believing and we invite you to try this nearly invisible hearing aid with no annoying whistling or background noise for yourself. If you are not completely satisfied with your MDHearingAid, return it within 45 days for a FULL REFUND. Use Code HQ99 and get

For the Lowest Price Call

1-855-993-3921

FREE Batteries for 1 Year Plus FREE Shipping


Profile for The Bay Area Review

The Bay Area Review October 5, 2018  

The Bay Area Review, formerly South Valley Review Volume 2, Number 17

The Bay Area Review October 5, 2018  

The Bay Area Review, formerly South Valley Review Volume 2, Number 17