__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

Volume 1 • Issue 4

November 28, 2019

Rebuilding Together One Project at a Time

A new floor by the volunteers.

Asian Americans for Community Involvement

Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley hosted yet another much needed Rebuilding Day on October 19. Volunteers rallied together to help local facilities as well as a San Jose resident in need. This day, Rebuilding together and their volunteers did work to help three non-profit facitilies. [Continued on Page 7]

All Your Shoe Repair Needs!

See Page 14

See Page 12

From Our Family To Yours, May your Thanksgiving be peaceful and plentiful. We Thank You for continuing to support The Bay Area Review.

Come on in 3 Juice “Taste Sampler” $8.99 Hamilton/Meridian

See Page 7


November 28, 2019

Go to https://live.stanford.edu for more information, events, and to purchase Tickets. Hell’s Fury, The Hollywood Songbook

Dayramir Gonzalez Quartet

Dec 6 @ 7:30 pm Dec 7 @ 7:30 pm Bing Concert Hall

Dec 7 @ 7:00 pm Bing Studio

Holiday Heist with the Jazz Mafia

A Chanticleer Christmas

Dec 10 - 14 @ 7:00 pm or 9:00 pm Bing Studio

Dec 11 @ 7:30 pm Memorial Church

Kronos Quartet The 60’s, The Years that Changed America

Jason Danieley

Jan 15 @ 7:30 pm Bing Concert Hall

Selma, Film with Live Score: Jason Moran & Marvin Sewell Jan 25 @ 7:30 pm Memorial Auditorium

Jan 18 @ 7:00 pm Jan 18 @ 9:00 pm Bing Studio

Laurie Anderson The Art of Falling Jan 29 @ 7:30 pm Bing Concert Hall


1555 Monteval Lane Located in the popular Montevideo Track of Almaden Valley, situated on a beautiful 9,500 square foot corner lot awaits single story ranch style home. Pride of ownership is apparent in this well-kept home offering nearly 1,700 square feet of living space, four bedrooms and two full baths. Offered at: $1,325,000

Jackie Jones, Realtor

CalRE# 00595786 Coldwell banker Residential Brokerage (Office) 408.448.4488 jjones@cbnorcal.com

(Cell) 408.315.6186

1096 Blossom Hill Rd #200, San Jose, CA 95123 www.jackiejonessells.com

Have a Wonderful Thanksgiving!


November 28, 2019

Winter Wonderland

Snow? In Berkley? Take a Snow Day in North Berkeley! Bring your boots and mittens to play in the snow that is predicted to gently fall on Shattuck Avenue between Rose and Vine Streets on Sunday, December 8, 10AM-3PM. Santa drops the snow from his sleigh in the early morning hours as he flies over town. Visit with the Snow Queen who listens to all of your holiday dreams and will give you a special wish to put under your pillow. Ride the live ponies, make free DIY crafts for kids, and shop for one-of-a-kind holiday gifts from local art, craft, and artisan food vendors. Find the ‘ice’ in a snowball - one has a real diamond ring inside! –

donated by M. Lowe & Co. as a benefit for the Berkeley Schools. Warm up with a cup of free hot apple cider and ginger snaps. Nutcracker dancers, merry minstrels, tap dancing Christmas trees, and a balloon twister make the day super fun! This is a free event for children of all ages sponsored by the North Shattuck Association in conjunction with M. Lowe & Co., Safeway, Buy Local Berkeley, 510Families, East Bay Express, Berkeley Community Media, East Bay Loop and Yelp. North Shattuck is just 6 blocks north of the Downtown Berkeley BART station and has festive lights in over 50

trees. Free street parking on Sundays. This event is accessible to persons with disabilities. To request disability accommodations, please call the Disability Services Specialist at 1(510)981-6418 (voice), or 1(510)981-6347(TTY). At least one week’s notice will ensure availability.

Mahin Beauty Lounge Mahin offers a place of Tranquility to experience her Artistry

Microblading Eyelash Extensions Facial Service

Tuesday - Friday 10:00am - 6:00pm Saturday 10:00am - 4:00pm Closed on Sunday & Monday

Face and Body Massage Eyebrow Design and Treating

408.606.8989 1465 Bird Avenue, San Jose, CA 95125 Reserve Your Appointment Today!

More info? www.AnotherBullwinkelShow.com


November 28, 2019

Sweet Notes

Music For All Jazz on the Plazz , for 2019, offered up a refreshing and delightful array of music for its Summer Series of concerts. The town of Los Gatos throws a party every Summer out in the open to let the music drift through the warm breezes into the night air ...and OH WHAT GREAT MUSIC! A Chet Baker Summer Celebrating West Coast Cool, presented a lineup of accomplished performers to the eager crowds that numbered into, as much as, 2500 attendees each week. “Pretty solid numbers for us, don’t you think?” So Proudly asks Executive Producer, Michael Jacobi who also serves as Jazz Artistic Director, a man who truly enjoys his work to benefit Los Gatos Music & Arts. Each year there a finite number of

reserved VIP seats for purchase and these sell out in a blink. Because those in the know look forward to a line-up of performers with the likes of (Artist in residence) Paula West, who is Michael Jacobi’s “favorite Jazz singer on the planet.” Los Gatos Music & Arts provides opportunities for our community to enjoy and appreciate a full spectrum of fine arts through live performances, exhibitions and educational programs. LGM&A produces outstanding quality, free to-the-public concerts, featuring world-class local and internationally acclaimed musicians. Additionally, LGM&A sponsors youth workshops and provides funding for music and arts programs for people of all ages. Thanks to Gala Sponsor and serious

Page 5

Fundraiser, Linda Lester, the evening was a TOTAL SUCCESS ... the Gala Auctions raised over $30,000.

“How grateful we are to our Artists each year and especially to our community of music lovers who support us in so many ways to bring the joy of music to one and all.” - Terri Hope, President & CFO Jonathan Kowles, Chairman of the Board Los Gatos Music & Arts

jazzontheplazz.com


November 28, 2019

Rebuilding Together One Project at a Time

Helping Hands

[Continued From Page 1] The three nonprofits helped are Asian Americans for Community Involvement (2400 Moorpark Avenue #300, San Jose), The Live Oak Senior Center (111 Church Street, Los Gatos) and NextDoor Solutions to Domestic Violence (234 East Gish Road, Suite 200, San Jose). Volunteers also flocked to the home of a local San Jose Reisdent, E. Jean Herrell. E. Jean is 85 years years old and is originally from Oklahoma. Following her graduation from high school, her mother passed away, beckoning her move westward to Santa Barbara to live with her uncles. There, she worked at the county hospital and eventually married twice, raising a daughter with her first husband. She married her second husband in 1960 during his service in the Air Force, and knew little about his duties as he rarely shared about them with her. Following his discharge in 1967, the couple moved to Vandenberg by the Air Force base, where they adopted their newborn son. Shortly after, the family moved to San Jose in 1968, and into their current home a few years later. The homeowner now lives alone as her husband passed away in 1989, and her son currently lives in Corona working as a minister. When she was able, the

Orange Sunrise *We are Now Open*

FRESH FRUIT JUICES, SMOOTHIES & MILK SHAKES • YOGURT • ICE CREAM • SPARKLING TEA

Come in and try a little something delicious! 1590 Meridian Ave/Hamilton Phone: 408-347-1951 2652 Alum Rock Ave, #F Phone: 408-677-4144 E. Jean Herrell, proudly stands in front of her freshly painted home. She says a BIG THANK YOU to her wonderful volunteers for the recent Rebuilding Day.

homeowner spent much of her time volunteering at convalescent homes, hospitals, and Antioch Baptist Church, but today struggles with her routine activities due to the daily pain of a slipped disk in her spine. Without financial need and no family nearby, repairs

and safety modifications would greatly benefit her fundamental day-today life. Our fabulous team of volunteers from CBRE will be cleaning the gutters, Painting the exterior and repairing access doors and Foundation vents.

Nextdoor Solutions’ clients and suppoters

Sprucing up for Nextdoor Solutions to Domestic Violence


Page 8

November 28, 2019

In The Holiday Spirit

CityTeam and The SJ Earthquakes Come Together to Aid Low Income Families

School holidays and vacations are especially tough for children when their main nutrition comes from the school meal program, often going hungry at night. A family of four with an income of $105K per year is considered “low income� in the most expensive place in the U.S. to live. A full time job at $15 minimum wage nets $31,300. and families working 2-3 jobs still need to choose between being

homeless or having a roof over their heads with no food in the fridge. Single family households are the hardest hit with it being near impossible to afford the most basic needs. CityTeam and the San Jose Earthquakes took the initiative on November 23 at the PALPolice Activities League Stadium in the heart of East San Jose. Toghether, they handed out 1,500 food boxes with turkeys and fresh produce to

hard working families in the Poco Way, Mayfair, Alum Rock, Gramercy, Virginia and La Pala neighborhoods so they may enjoy a hearty and healthy Thanksgiving dinner. About CityTeam: CityTeam is a nonprofit organization serving people experiencing poverty, hunger and homelessness in the Bay Area since 1957. CityTeam has provided life-saving hot meals, fresh groceries, safe shelter, clothing, residential housing programs, learning & career skills, counseling and other essential care 365 days a year for men, women and children who are in desperate need of finding hope that leads to lasting change. For more information, visit www. cityteam.org.

Promote Your business with Us! Email The Bay Area Review at advertising@thebayareareview.com or call Brigitte Jones at (408) 898 - 7534.


November 28, 2019

UNCF Celebrates 75 Years

The United Negro College Fund (UNCF) Northern California Gala, was held recently in San Francisco, to celebrate 75 years of supporting our nation’s historically black colleges and the 60,000 students who directly benefit from that fund. “My name is Akehnji AchiriMofor, a resident of Laurel, MD, Prince George’s County. I am a junior at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County where I am studying to attain my Bachelor of Science in Information Systems. I am a dedicated student and leader who has demonstrated excellence and perseverance in

multiple sectors, beyond academia. For the past three summers, I have held internship positions as a Business Analyst and an IT/Asset Management intern at Pepco Holdings in Washington, DC and as an IT Governance, Risk and Compliance intern at Symantec in Mountain View, California. Notably, at Symantec, I created a Technology Continuity Plan for key technology services to ensure their continuation when a business disrupting impact occurs. I have grown personally and professionally, from learning how to effectively manage others, to working with executives, to even working cross-nationally, communicating with managers in Pune, India to complete my daily

assigned tasks. I have become a more wellrounded professional due, in part, to these experiences which have helped me grow into the person that I am today, as I work better with diverse people and I know how to work efficiently in a fastpaced environment. In addition, I am a Cohort 2 FUND II Foundation/UNCF STEM Scholar. This program has been a big factor in my success, not just financially, but also emotionally and academically by providing top math tutors, which have helped me excel. Seeing the impact on others and myself, I realized how I could also help and became a mentor. I have served as a mentor of Cohort 3 and 4 of the program and now serve as a mentor of the HBCU Innovation Summit, where I’ve helped with logistics and execution of programs during the conference. With much gratitude and appreciation, I want

Page 9

Making A Difference

Left: Akehnji AchiriMofor

to wholeheartedly thank UNCF and FUND II Foundation. A big special shoutout to Lu, Paige, Courtney, Candace, and team, Ms. Linda Wilson,

and most importantly, CEOs Dr. Michael Lomax and Mr. Robert Smith, for making all of this possible. Enjoy the rest of your evening.”

Satellite Internet That is Unlimited With No Hard Data Limits! 2

FREE Standard Installation

3

Limited Time Offer! Restrictions may apply.

25 Mbps Download Speed 25mbps download and 3mbps upload1

“You can get High-Speed Internet wherever you live!”

No Hard Data Limits

2

5

Wi-Fi Built-In

Connect your wireless devices at home

Call For Special Offers In Your Area Pricing varies by region

CALL TODAY - LIMITED SPECIAL OFFERS IN YOUR AREA!

1-877-695-7948

HughesNet is a registered trademark of Hughes Network Systems, LLC, an EchoStar Company. 1 The HughesNet Gen5 service plans are designed to deliver download speeds of 25 Mbps and upload speeds of 3 Mbps, but individual customers may experience different speeds at different times of the day. Speeds and uninterrupted use are not guaranteed and may vary based on a variety of factors including: the configuration of your computer, the number of concurrent users, network or Internet congestion, the capabilities and content of the Websites you are accessing, network management practices as deemed necessary, and other factors. When you connect to the HughesNet service using Wi-Fi, your experience will vary based on your proximity to the Wi-Fi source and the strength of the signal. 2 If you exceed your monthly plan data, you will experience reduced data speeds until the start of your next billing period. Reduced speeds will typically be in the range of 1 – 3 Mbps and may cause Web sites to load more slowly or affect the performance of certain activities, such as video streaming or large downloads/uploads. 3. Free standard installation applies to new Lease subscribers only. Not valid with Purchase option. Limited-time offer. Restrictions may apply. 5. Per the “5th, 6th, 7th and 8th FCC Measuring Broadband American Reports.”


November 28, 2019

49ers, One Love Foundation and YouthHype on Relationships

Taking Initiative

(Left to Right) DL Sheldon Day, LB Azeez Al-Shaair, OL Ben Garland, RB Raheem Mostert, and Devon Mostert (Raheem’s wife)

The 49ers partnered with One Love Foundation and YouthHype to provide local students a workshop on healthy relationships. The event opened with a brief panel with the players, followed by an

engaging discussions about how to play an active role in making relationships more positive – both romantic and friendship. 49ers players, students, YouthHype educators, One Love ambassadors

and staff benefited from the event, held on November 19 at Downtown College Prep.

Call for Contractors! Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley is hiring local contractors to repair roofs, perform plumbing and electrical work, carpentry, flooring and other special projects in homes throughout Santa Clara County. If you are you a licensed contractor looking to expand your client base, please contact us! Minority and women-owned contractors are encouraged to apply. Learn more at:

http://contractors.rtsv.org Qualifications: • Licensed General Contractor, HVAC, Electrician, Plumber, or Roofer • General Liability Insurance and Worker's Comp (if applicable)

Contact: Kevin McCarthy 408.578.9519 ext. 1007, kevin@rtsv.org 1701 South 7th St., #10 San Jose, CA 95112

www.rtsv.org


November 28, 2019

Get Some Doggone Good Wine at Silicon Valley Pet Project’s Holiday “Yappy Hour” and Help Save Lives Silicon Valley Pet Project (SVPP) and Mutt Lynch Winery are hosting a fun and festive Holiday Yappy Hour on Sunday, December 8, 2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. Wine tasting, along with holiday shopping, snacking and socializing with fellow animal lovers will take place at SVPP’s Pup Plaza location in Cambrian Park Plaza Shopping Center, 14408 Union Ave., San Jose. Funds raised at the event will help SVPP continue it’s life-saving work of rescue, care, foster, and adoption of homeless pets. “We are inviting the community to celebrate the holiday season and the love we have for our pets,” said Melissa

Lisbon, SVPP President. “We are very grateful to be partnering with Mutt Lynch on our first Yappy Hour with them.” Mutt Lynch Winery, based in Sonoma, has been supporting animal rescues — local, national and international — since its inception in 1995. SVPP is participating in the winery’s “Wines That Give Back” program, an initiative owners Brenda and Chris Lynch launched in 2017. A custom label is created for an animal rescue and used on a Mutt Lynch release. The owners donate 25% of wine sale proceeds back to the rescue group. SVPP’s wine is an elegant 2017 North Coast Chardonnay which is for sale at the

winery and on the Mutt Lynch website, and will be available for purchase at the Holiday Yappy Hour event. The event fee includes a beautifully etched wine glass and a full tasting flight of Mutt Lynch wines. Tickets are $25 in advance and $30 at the door. For more information and tickets, go to svpetproject.org. The Holiday Yappy Hour is a dog-friendly event (on leash, please).

About Silicon Valley Pet Project Silicon Valley Pet Project (SVPP) is a nonprofit animal

Page 11

Night Out welfare organization committed to saving local at-risk shelter pets through rescue, foster, community involvement and education. Since its 2015 inception, SVPP has rescued more than 1,100 dogs, cats and kittens through its partnership with the San Jose Animal Care and Control Center. SVPP is a certified Best Friends Animal Society Network Partner and has joined Best Friends’ mission to Save Them All. For more information, go to www.svpetproject.org. To become a fan of Silicon Valley Pet Project, go to https://www.facebook. com/svpetproject. Follow SVPP on Twitter and Instagram (@ svpetproject).

Patrician Dry Cleaning Best Quality • Best Service • Best Prices In the Area! Proud to offer Non-Toxic, Eco-Friendly dry cleaning.

2306 Almaden Rd #115 Willow Glen Plaza San Jose, CA 95125 (408) 269 - 2207

Dry Cleaning/Garments - $3 Dresses/Jackets - $6 Button Front Shirts - $1.75 Comforters - $20

Not Valid with other Offers. Mention this Ad for these Prices. Expires 12/31


November 28, 2019

In Remembrance Bernard James Tyson was born January 20, 1959, in Vallejo, California, to Billie Jean Tyson, a homemaker, and Moses Tyson, a minister. After graduating from Vallejo High School in 1977, Bernard enrolled at Golden

Gate University in San Francisco. His passion for health care began while still in college, when Bernard worked as an administrative analyst for Vallejo General Hospital. He earned a bachelor’s degree in health services management and a

Master of Business Administration in health services administration from Golden Gate University. He earned an advanced leadership certificate from Harvard University. Bernard’s career at Kaiser Permanente

spanned more than 3 decades. After a 6-month internship, he was hired into a full-time administrative position. Over the next 30 years, he successfully managed all major aspects of the organization, serving in numerous leadership

Recent articles by Bernard Tyson on LinkedIn Food for Life: No one in America should go hungry Destination Health: Solving Homelessness Reducing Stigma This Minority Mental Health Month

Music Lessons Only $15 per lesson!! Call (408)268-6703 dmusic123@aol.com

roles from hospital administrator to division president. In 2013, Bernard was appointed chief executive officer, and in 2014 he was named chairman of the board of directors. His influence was felt both nationally and internationally. He was named by TIME, Fast Company, Modern Healthcare, and so many others as one of the most influential people in health care. Bernard served on the boards of directors for the American Heart Association and Salesforce. He was a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, served as deputy chairman of the Americas of the International Federation of Health Plans, was the former chair of America’s Health Insurance Plans, and a steward of the World Economic Forum’s Global Future Council on Health and Healthcare. He was also a member of The Business Council and chair of the Bay Area Council.

Lincoln Shoe Repair Most Complete Shoe Repair Service in the South Bay

• Piano • Guitar • Drums • Bass • Flute

2208 Lincoln Ave, San Jose, CA 95125

408-978-2589


November 28, 2019

This Turkey Trot Benifits the Following:

Gobble Gobble

A treasured tradition, the Applied Materials Silicon Valley Turkey Trot is celebrating its 15th anniversary. From elite runners to family strolls, we have become a tradition for everyone. Be a part of a community of over 25,000 trotters making a difference. Founded and produced by the Silicon Valley Leadership Group Foundation, the Turkey Trot has raised $8.7 million for five local charities: Healthier Kids Foundation Santa Clara County, Housing Trust Silicon Valley, Second Harvest of Silicon Valley, Second Harvest Food Bank of Santa Cruz County and The Health Trust. With your support, we can reach this year's goal of raising $1 million dollars for our beneficiaries to continue providing our community with health, hope, and a home. This isn’t your typical hometown Turkey Trot — we’re the largest Thanksgiving Day race in the United States. We offer a 5K run/walk, 10K run, and a Kids Fun Run. Runners, joggers, and walkers will enjoy a flat and fast course going through the heart of Downtown San Jose. Join us in celebrating our 15th annual Silicon Valley Turkey Trot on Thursday, November 28, 2019. Register, donate, volunteer, or learn more at svturkeytrot.com.

Boyd’s Tree Service Landscaping Maintenance Since 1984

www.Boydstreeservice.com

Clear Away Fire Hazards Around Your House • Structural Pruning • Tree Trimming • Stump Removal We Specialize in Redwood Trees!

boydstslm@gmail.com

408-371-5040 Contractor License #665121

Local Fresh Cuisine Your Table is Ready Breakfast • Lunch • Dinner 6944 Almaden Expy San Jose, CA 95120 408-622-5835


November 28, 2019

To The Residents of District 4

District 4 News

County of Santa Clara Supervisor Susan Ellenberg District 4 The fall season is upon us and there’s a lot going on at the County. Here’s a quick summary of my office’s work over the last month, in case you missed it: • At the October 22 Board of Supervisors meeting, my colleagues unanimously approved my

we can identify ways to promote mental health equity across school districts, parity with the physical health system and flexibility to meet the varied needs of school districts across our diverse community. • The Board of Supervisors

referral to bring mental health services to every school district in the county -- that’s 31 school districts. It’s my hope that through partnerships between the County, the County Office of Education, our school districts and the many community partners,

/ -up ! k c Pi ivery l De

Benson’s Cleaners Services

• Full Service Dry Cleaning and Alterations • Wedding Gowns Special *Stored with Care* • Convenient Wash N Fold *We Sort, Launder, and Fold* • It’s Getting Cold! *Bring in Your comforters and blankets* • Ask about Rug Cleaning *Hand Made Persian Style* • Drapery Cleaning 408-997-6144 bensonscleaners.com

5965 Almaden Expressway #160 Mon - Fri 6:30 am - 6:30 pm Saturday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

unanimously approved a ban of the sale of e-cigarette (vaping) devices and associated products, including flavored and menthol products, in unincorporated areas of the County. This ban applies to all residents, including adults. Several cities within the County are taking steps to protect our County’s youth. • My office is participating in the 100-Day Challenge, which aims to provide housing solutions for unhoused college students in 100 days through partnerships with the Bill Wilson Center, West-Valley Community College District, San Jose State University, County Office of Supportive Housing, Community Solutions, Foothill College and Catholic Charities. No student should

live in a car, on someone’s couch, or under an overpass, especially when they’re working toward fulfilling their dreams and beginning their careers. Of course, our work to house all of our county residents will not stop at 100 days. I highly encourage everyone to participate in the 2020 Census. You matter. An under-count could mean less funding to county programs and resources from the federal government. You can find more information about the 2020 Census here. While we’re on the topic of civic engagement, I encourage youths ages 16 and 17 to preregister to vote. It’s a great way to make sure you are registered by the time you turn 18 and a great way to have your voice heard. Your voice matters. You can preregister and register to vote in California online at https://registertovote. ca.gov.


COUNSELING November 28, 2019

Perry D. Clark

The DR Is In

LMT #110594 Holiday Stress or Expectations…. Special Assignment Perry D. Clark

The Holiday Season is here and so is Holiday Stress. With the season, comes many things, some troublesome and others bring pure delight. All of which can affect both young and older individuals. Yet there are those who seem to take it in stride. Why, what makes them so different and able to find enjoyment in this time of year - while so many others seem to crumble under the weight of perceived expectations. Well, it would seem to be something very simple and - thereby- available to us all year long -live in the moment. But especially important during the Holiday season, so not to be swept up in the feelings of “life is

out of control.” A simple commitment to managing and understanding that all expectations cannot be met to others. Consider what are some of the triggers to feeling stressed at this time of the year. And let’s focus on just a couple of these here:

408.890.7554 Perry D. Clark LMT #110594 25 North 14th. St, #505 (408) 890 - 7554 San Jose, Ca 95112

pclark@untangleandgrowcounseling.com

pclark@untangleandgrowcounseling.com

25 North 14th. St, #505, San Jose, Ca 95112

UNTANGLE AND GROW COUNSELING

1. Finances 2. Family and/or Holiday Gatherings There is a definite anxiety surrounding Holiday Financial expectations. These can range from those expectations we take on personally or those imposed by society. From those who decide, “I have to find extra work to ensure that I can give everyone ‘the perfect gift,’ to those who feel “If I don’t have the house totally decked out, I have failed at my Holiday preparation, organization and possible hosting

duties. Even kids are prone to Holiday stress of expectation with their desire to have the right toys/clothing to showoff to their peers. They may not be wage earners but kids are aware of how financial pressures have an impact on family relationships. During the Holidays we are expected to display a powerful level of Financial Excess and our kids are not immune to this. Certainly, family and Holiday gatherings come with a measure of stress related to expectations based in deep seated feelings of acceptance vs. judgement. When we return home for the Holidays we are often subject to being confronted with fulfilling a role; we no longer identify with. And yet we are expected for the sake of family harmony to fall right into a once familiar role with those former relationships - in tact. So to combat Holiday Stress based in expectations -

Perry D. Clark

1. Allow Fewer 3. Make Peace... with the reality of the Expectations LMT #110594 situation. This too to drive you. shall pass. Expectations will Everyone has always exist, so focus on what’s truly expectations they not be to important in the 25 North will 14th. St,able #505 fulfill. Nor are all moment. San Jose,these Ca expectations 95112 worthy of genuine 2. Be honest. What pclark@untangleandgrowcounseling.com consideration. is realistic and possible or even Help is here if you desirable? It’s important to your want, just ask. Holiday Stress doesn’t have to stop overall health and you from enjoying this general well being to be responsible for time of year. your feelings.

408.890.7554

23 Skidoo Vintage and Retro Clothing VISIT 23 SKIDOO FOR WHAT YOU DON'T KNOW YOU NEED. FUN, FABULOUS, AND AFFORDABLE FASHION!

2082 S. Winchester Blvd. Campbell, CA 95008 408.540.7781 23SKIDOOVINTAGE.COM FACEBOOK.COM/23SKIDOOVINTAGE


We’re new to the neighborhood but not tomembers banking. For over 80 years,new we’ve helped across Northern California and ready to help you save. We recently opened a branch at Almaden Ranch Forwe’re over 80 years, we’ve helped members across Northern California and we’re ready in San Jose and invite you to join our 350,000+ community members. to help you save. Wewe recently opened a branch in the Cherry OrchardofShopping Center in Sunnyvale and we invite you to join our 350,000+ community of members. Membership is free.

Membership is free.1

For a limited time only, take advantage of

How It How Will It Will Save You Money Save You Money

Loan LoanType Type

Auto AutoLoan Loan¹ 3

Receive 0.50% APR2APR Receive 0.50% discount when you you discount when refinance your auto refinance your auto loan from another loan from another financial institution

financial institution

Personal Loan 4

Personal Loan²

Mortgage Loan5

Mortgage Loan³

Home Equity Line of Credit 6

Home Equity Line of Credit⁴

Refinance and and Refinance lower your monthly payments with with payments a rate as low as a rate 2.74% APR as low as

To take advantage of these exclusive offers, please visit our Sunnyvale Branch at 332 W El Camino Real or call toschedule an appointment at 408.541.3700 M-Th 10 AM – 6 PM, Fri 9 AM - 6 PM, Sat 10 AM - 2 PM

2.94% APR

loans or credit cards Our already low rates a personal loan areOur evenalready lower with a low rates with rate as low as 0.50% APR discount are even lower with a 4.90% APR

0.50% APR discount

rate as low as 5.40% APR

Rates are the lowest since 2016. Now’s the time to refinance and keep more cash in No closing costs on your pocket

No closing costs on your home purchase or refinance

your home purchase or refinance Rate of Prime minus 1% for the first 12 months

Rack up your savings. 82

Holl enb eck Ave

For a limited time only, take advantage of

El Ca mino Real

SM ath ild aA ve

keep more cash in

today’s low rates Withyour pocket and our generous , you won’t need

With Rate of Prime minus remodel any longer 1% for the first 12 months

Learn more at patelco.org/Sunnyvale.

Insured by NCUA

NMLS ID#506373

remodel any longer 1.There’s no fee to join and your membership includes a free savings account. Patelco will deposit $1 in your savings account upon qualified account opening. 2. APR = Annual Percentage Rate. All offers below are limited time offers and subject to change without notice. Offers are limited to new members originating at the Sunnyvale branch and are all subject to credit approval. For more information, visit the Sunnyvale Branch at 332 W El Camino Real, Sunnyvale or call 408.541.3700. 3. Rate discount of 0.50% APR off current auto loan rates and valid on auto loan refinances only. Cannot be combined with other offers. Auto rates as low as 2.64% APR effective 9/5/2019; subject to change without notice. Lowest rate quoted includes special Sunnyvale branch discount. Patelco offers a range of base rates and discounts that depend on factors such as credit history, loan term, Patelco account, and loan balances, program designation and vehicle age. Actual rates are disclosed to approved applicants in writing prior to loan consummation and may be as high as 11.89% APR. To learn more about rates, terms, and available discounts, call 800.358.8228, visit patelco.org, or visit any Patelco branch. 4. Rate discount of 0.50% APR off current personal loan rates. Personal Loan rates offered effective 9/5/2019; and lowest rate quoted includes special Sunnyvale branch discount. Patelco offers a range of base rates and discounts based on factors including credit type, loan term, Commitment Household/account relationship, and applicant credit worthiness/score. Loan terms are based on various factors, including the amount financed. Actual rates are disclosed to approved applicants in writing prior to loan consummation. Offered rates subject to change. 5. No Closing Costs offer available for owner occupied primary residential purchases and external (payoff of a non-Patelco originated lien) refinance only with loan amounts of $1.5 million or less. Offer not available on new Patelco brokered FHA, VA or other government-insured loans. Subject to approval. Patelco Credit Union will pay customary closing costs including: lender’s title insurance, title/escrow services, appraisal, tax service, credit report, flood certification, and recording fees. Paid closing costs do not include pre-paid interest, homeowners insurance, initial escrow deposit, owner’s title insurance, or city and/or county transfer taxes. Borrower may select escrow and/or title company. Other restrictions apply. 6. The Introductory APR of Prime (5.25%) minus 1% and other terms as shown are accurate as of September1, 2019 and apply to a HELOC for the most qualified applicant at CLTV up to 80% on applications. Not all applicants will qualify for the lowest rate. Rates vary based on property value, line amount and other factors, and will vary for second or vacation homes. The minimum periodic payment is interest-only for the first ten years (“draw period”) followed by fully-amortizing payments to repay the balance over the final fifteen years. No draws will be allowed during the repayment period. Payments and rate can adjust monthly. Payments will increase if rates increase. The rate is calculated using an index plus a margin. The index used is the Prime Rate as published in The Wall Street Journal Western Edition on the last business day of the month prior to the change. The current prime index is 5.25%. Maximum interest rate is 17%. The variable Introductory APR is based upon The Wall Street Journal Prime Rate (“Prime”). Prime may change at any time and is subject to change without notice. If Prime increases or decreases during the Introductory Period, the variable Introductory APR and minimum required payment will correspondingly change. The Introductory Period begins on the date of account opening and lasts for the first twelve (12) billing cycles. After the Introductory Period ends, any and all remaining balances will automatically convert to the variable APR, and minimum required payment per the terms of the HELOC agreement. The variable APR is based on Prime plus a margin, and will vary with Prime. The minimum credit line amount is $10,000 and the maximum is $500,000. Patelco Credit Union will pay customary closing costs on lines up to $250,000 in second lien position. Borrower is responsible for closing costs on lines in first lien position or over $250,000. Closing costs range from $0 to $2,500. This offer does not include escrow or recording fees that may result from changes in title or vesting.

Profile for The Bay Area Review

The Bay Area Review November 28, 2019  

The Bay Area Review Encourage - Enlighten - Enrich The San Francisco Bay Area Volume I, Issue 4

The Bay Area Review November 28, 2019  

The Bay Area Review Encourage - Enlighten - Enrich The San Francisco Bay Area Volume I, Issue 4