Page 1

Volume 2 • Issue 23

November 25, 2020

We are Grateful for You, Our Neighbors, for Your Support in 2020. Be Safe while Giving Thanks.

TBAR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95008 95032 95037 95051 95118 95119 95123 95124 95125 95126 95128

Fine Gardener Time to plant!

Boyd’s Tree Service

You Count Too!

See Page 16

See Page 6

See Page 20


November 25, 2020

Breaking News

County Leaders Urge Vigilance, Strict Compliance with Health Orders Amidst New Highs in Santa Clara County Case Counts and Hospitalizations

Minority Owned Business Publisher: Brigitte Jones Brigitte@thebayareareview.com Graphic Design Director: Amanda McElroy Graphics@thebayareareview.com Editor at Large: Pearl Baeni Editor - public Affairs Liaison: Pamela Gustava Curry Photographer: Andy Nguyen http://intramuralaffairs.wixsite.com/andyphoto

TBAR welcomes letters to the Editor Please limit content to 200 words or less. Submissions are subject to scrutiny for content and grammar but all effort will be made to retain intended meaning of such letters. Anonymous letters will not be printed. Articles so published reflect the views of the authors - not necessarily those of The Bay Area Review. All submissions become the property of Triple e Media Group, LLC and cannot be acknowledged.

Santa Clara County leaders are urging members of the public to abide by the State and local health orders and exercise extreme caution as the County continues to see surging COVID-19 case counts and record hospitalizations “As we head into the holiday season, the way to show family, friends and fellow Santa Clara County residents that you care about them is to not hold large gatherings with them that can easily spread the virus,” said Cindy Chavez, President of the Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors. “We are reaching a tipping point with COVID-19 numbers and we need to change course now.” Available Intensive

Care Unit beds in the county, including Santa Clara Valley Medical Center and private healthcare providers, now number just 68. Yesterday, on November 24, the County recorded its highest individual new case count for a single day with 512 cases reported and saw its highest number of COVID-19 hospitalizations of 197 patients. “The ability for our hospitals to care for the

most critical patients is a critical concern when dealing with COVID-19,” said Dr. Marty Fenstersheib, COVID-19 Testing Officer for the County of Santa Clara. “The more we protect ourselves and our families from COVID-19, the less likely we will be filling up hospital beds.” With Thanksgiving week kicking off the holiday shopping season, the County is utilizing additional resources to ensure stores follow the current State purple tier guidelines. Currently, grocery stores must limit capacity to 50% and clothing and retails stores

City of San Jose Statement on Employee Injured in Attack The City of San José has released the following statement regarding a City colleague who was injured in the attack at Grace Baptist Church on Sunday, November 22: The San Jose Police Department is actively investigating the tragic attack that occurred on Sunday night at Grace Baptist Church. We have confirmed that one of three victims who survived the attack is a City of San

José employee. The City employee is an active member of the community and was volunteering at the church that night. They are a valued member of our City family and we have been in touch with them since the attack. We can share that our colleague has requested privacy, both for themselves and their family members, and we ask that this wish be respected. A

GoFundMe page has been set up by members of the community to help with expenses during recovery. All of us in City Hall wish our teammate and the others who were hurt a full recovery. We offer our deepest condolences for the two individuals that passed and their families. About the City of San José With more than one million residents, San José is one of the most diverse

(including malls) must limit capacity to 25%. The Santa Clara County Fire Department, which has a traditional role in enforcing capacity issues for fire codes, will provide much needed support to the Business Compliance Unit’s efforts. “Businesses have a legal, ethical, and moral obligation to protect their employees and the public,” said Michael Balliet, Director of Community and Business Engagement for the County of Santa Clara. The media session will be available on the County of Santa Clara Public Health Department Facebook page: https:// www.facebook.com/ sccpublichealth. large cities in the United States and is Northern California’s largest city and the 10th largest city in the nation. San José’s transformation into a global innovation center has resulted in one of the largest concentrations of technology companies and expertise in the world. In 2011, the City adopted Envision San José 2040, a long-term growth plan that sets forth a vision and a comprehensive road map to guide the City’s anticipated growth through the year 2040.


Page 3

November 25, 2020

Into the future

CARB and California Electric Utilities Partner to Offer Consumers up to $1,500 off Electric Cars California electric utilities are teaming up with the California Air Resources Board (CARB) to offer the California Clean Fuel Reward (CCFR), a point-of-sale price reduction of up to $1,500 for the purchase or lease of any eligible new Battery Electric or Plugin Hybrid vehicle from a participating automotive retailer. Starting on Nov. 17, 2020, consumers will be able to purchase an eligible vehicle from an enrolled retailer and receive an instant reduction in the purchase price. “The goal of the program is to accelerate the number of electric vehicles on California’s roads and highways,” said CARB Vice-Chair Sandy Berg. “The instant pointof-sale price reduction of up to $1,500 will help make these ultra-clean cars more affordable, especially for lowincome families or those living in disadvantaged communities.” For consumers, taking advantage of the reward is easy. When making an EV purchase at an enrolled retailer in California, the retailer will simply include the reward in the transaction at the point of sale. There is no need for the customer to do any paperwork after the sale to receive the reward.

The CCFR is one of the most straightforward and inclusive rewards in the market, as it is available to everyone in California. The lists of enrolled retailers and eligible vehicles are available at www.cleanfuelreward. com and will be continually updated as the new retailers and EV models are added. Southern California Edison is administering the program on behalf of, and in collaboration with, all participating utilities. The CCFR is available to all California residents, regardless of utility provider and participation. “We are excited to partner on the California Clean Fuel Rewards program as it aligns with the City of Santa Clara – Silicon Valley Power’s efforts to increase adoption of electric vehicles,” said Manuel Pineda, assistant city manager and chief electric utility officer. The California Clean Fuel Reward can also be combined with existing post-sale federal, state and local incentives, such as the Clean Vehicle Rebate Project, Clean Cars 4 All, and the Clean Vehicle Assistance Program, to make EVs even more affordable. The CCFR is funded by electric utilities participating in

CARB’s Low Carbon Fuel Standard (LCFS) Program. From its beginning in 2011, the LCFS has helped cleaner fuels displace more than 16 billion gallons of liquid petroleum fuels. The program allows producers of clean fuels, such as electric utilities, to generate credits they can sell to producers with more carbon-intense products. Sales of those credits fund programs such as the California Clean Fuel Reward program. About the City of Santa Clara Located at the heart of Silicon Valley about 45 miles south of San Francisco, the City of Santa Clara truly is “The Center of What’s Possible.” Incorporated in 1852, Santa Clara covers an area of 19.3 square miles with an estimated population of 129,498. Santa Clara is home to an extraordinary array of high-tech companies, including Applied Materials, HewlettPackard, Intel, Nvidia, Oracle, and Ericsson. The City of Santa Clara is also home to Santa Clara University, California’s Great America Theme Park, and Levi’s® Stadium, home of the San Francisco 49ers and SB50. For more information, go to

SantaClaraCA.gov. About Silicon Valley Power Silicon Valley Power (SVP) is the trademark adopted for use by the not‑for‑profit electric municipal utility of Santa Clara, CA, serving residents and businesses for over 120 years. SVP provides power to nearly 55,000 customers, at rates 25 to 48 percent below neighboring

communities. SVP is the only full-service, vertically integrated publicly owned utility in Silicon Valley, owning generation, transmission and distribution assets. See more at: SiliconValleyPower.com.

FREE Shipping* & 33% OFF

Rich In Vitamin C

Mixed Fruit Medley WAS $29.99

1999

$

NOW ONLY

Send a box full of Winter Sunshine. 3 unique varieties + FREE Shipping!*

These healthy, hand-picked, snack size fruit are specially nurtured and treasured for their ultra-sweet flavor. These will delight everyone on your list and for a very special price.

• 6 Rio Ruby™ Red Gems • 8 Tiny Tim Navels • 4 Mini Fuji Apples

1-855-451-2249

Visit PittmanDavis.com/MN266 Order Item #MXSP, mention Code PNVH-N266 and Save 33%

Only $19.99 (reg. $29.99), plus FREE Shipping.* Satisfaction completely guaranteed. Order by December 17, 2020 for GUARANTEED Christmas delivery.

Call Now or go Online and SAVE 33% with FREE Shipping* Limited time offer, good while supplies last. Not valid with any other offer. Limit 5 boxes per customer.

* Free standard shipping to the 48 contiguous states.

Pittman & Davis, Harlingen, TX 78552

IC: PNVH-N266


Public Advisory Deadline to Seek Federal Disaster Assistance Extended SACRAMENTO, Calif. – The deadline to register for FEMA assistance has been extended for those impacted by the August Fires. WHO:

Federal Emergency Management Agency

WHAT:

Individual Assistance registration deadline extension

WHEN:

Deadline to register is Dec. 11, 2020.

WHERE:

Butte, Lake, Lassen, Mendocino, Monterey, Napa, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Solano, Sonoma, Stanislaus, Trinity, Tulare and Yolo counties.

Applicants may register in the following ways: • Go online to DisasterAssistance.gov. • Download the FEMA Mobile App for smartphones. • Call 800-621-3362 (TTY: 800-462-7585) between 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. PST, seven days a week. Multilingual operators are available. For the latest information on wildfire recovery, visit https://www.fema.gov/disaster/4558 and follow the FEMA Region 9 Twitter account at https://twitter.com/femaregion9. ###


November 25, 2020

Voters Overwhelmingly Approve Measure S, a Renewal of the Safe, Clean Water and Natural Flood Protection Program Voters in Santa Clara County overwhelmingly approved Measure S, making it clear that safe, clean water, natural flood protection and caring for the environment are priorities now and for future generations. The measure needed 66% to pass and has garnered more than 75% of votes in an election that saw a recordsetting number of ballots cast. “I am grateful for the trust voters have shown in Valley Water,” Valley Water Board Chair Nai Hsueh said. “This program was built by the people, for the people. Tens of thousands of residents, community partners and stakeholders told Valley Water what they wanted to see in Measure S. Those priorities will guide us for

years to come.” Thanks to the voters’ support, the program will continue to provide $45 million annually for local projects, which includes the Coyote Creek Flood Protection Project, the Anderson Dam Seismic Retrofit Project and pipeline upgrades. The voters also made it clear they want Valley Water to move quickly on the encampment issue. Measure S provides $38.7 million over the next 15 years to work with

local cities and agencies to clean up the large creekside encampments that contaminate waterways and damage Valley Water facilities. We will also partner with local municipalities, social services, and nonprofit advocacy groups that will help provide housing alternatives to the unhoused population. “With their votes the community has spoken, and we heard it loud and clear,” Valley Water CEO Rick Callender

0

Page 5

Safety First

said. “Measure S will provide much needed local funding to better meet the needs of all communities we serve, including our most vulnerable neighbors. We are proud to provide support to disadvantaged and underserved communities. The voters have given us the green light, and we are ready to go.” Measure S is a renewal of Valley Water’s Safe, Clean Water and Natural Flood Protection Program that voters also overwhelmingly passed in 2012. More information on the Safe, Clean Water and Natural Flood Protection Program, the priorities and the complete Community Preferred Program Report, can be found at safecleanwater.org. The Santa Clara Valley Water District

manages an integrated water resources system that includes the supply of clean, safe water, flood protection and stewardship of streams on behalf of Santa Clara County’s nearly 2 million residents. The district effectively manages 10 dams and surface water reservoirs, three water treatment plants, an advanced recycled water purification center, a state-of-the-art water quality laboratory, nearly 400 acres of groundwater recharge ponds and more than 275 miles of streams. We provide wholesale water and groundwater management services to local municipalities and private water retailers who deliver drinking water directly to homes and businesses in Santa Clara County.

(? Bayside Pavers hardscape company -----------­ lie. #933876

Walkways & Steps Driveways Retaining Walls• Patios Pool Decks• Artificial Grass

FREE

r--------------- ,-------------------•

Demolition

and removal of your existing concrete (min. 300 sq.ft.)

$500 OFF:: Any proJ· ect

1 1 I I Must present coupon at time of bid. Cannot be combined with ott1er offers. : Expires 2/29/� 1 700 sq.ft. or more

-----------------------------------4

408.617.9337 • Accredited Contractor• BaysidePavers.com


Page 6

November 25, 2020

San José Youth Artists Design Signs for Recycling and Garbage Trucks

Child’s Play

Yes! WE’RE

OPEN

Business Directory

www.intero.com

www.losgatoschamber.com

range Sunrise Juices and Smoothies (408) 677-4144

www.sanjoseca.gov

www.premieronecu.org

Contact us to be listed @ (408) 898 -7534

Boyd’s Tree Service Landscaping Maintenance Since 1984

www.Boydstreeservice.com

boydstslm@gmail.com

Clear Away Fire Hazards Around Your House

The City of San José Environmental Services Department (ESD) is pleased to announce the winning designs in its student truck sign design contest. The winning designs promote a critical recycle right message: No Food. No Liquid. No Problem. These signs will help to inform residents about the importance of keeping food and liquid out of the recycling cart. Recycling right converts existing materials into new packaging and keeps recyclable materials out of landfills. Moreover, recycling right helps the City meet its Zero Waste Plan goals, stringent state diversion requirements, and meet restrictive standards set by the China Sword Policy. The three winning truck sign designs will be enlarged and prominently displayed on the sides of San José’s recycling and garbage trucks in 2021. “The art contest gives a voice to our youth about the importance of recycling right,” said Kerrie Romanow, City of San José chief

K-5 Winner: Taizo Honda

sustainability officer and ESD director. “It’s critical for all of us to keep materials clean in the recycling cart, and it’s awesome that our youth helps lead the way.” From September 18 through October 30, ESD staff solicited submissions from K-12 students in San José schools, with youth from across the city submitting creative designs to promote key recycle right messages. A total of forty-five works of art were submitted. Here are the winners and honorable mentions: Grades K-5 Winner: Taizo Honda, 4th Grade,

• Structural Pruning • Tree Trimming • Stump Removal We Specialize in Redwood Trees!

408-371-5040 Contractor License #665121

6-8 Winner: Sophia He

Forest Hill Elementary School Grades 6-8 Winner: Sophia He, 7th Grade, Piedmont Middle School Grades 9-12 Winner: Hannah McCarthy, 9th Grade, Branham High School Honorable Mentions • Sarah Osmond, 11th Grade, Summit Tahoma Charter School • Carly Ann Bundalian, 8th Grade, Morrill Middle School • Claire Janse, 5th Grade, Virtual School Program, Cambrian School District To view all the submissions, please visit www.bit.ly/Truck-ArtWinners. For more information on what goes where, visit SanJoseRecycles.org. For recycling resources for students, visit bit. ly/35F69ux. About the City of San José With more than one million residents, San José is one of the most diverse


November 25, 2020

Page 7

Child’s Play

Prepare for power outages with a Generac home standby generator SCHEDULE YOUR FREE IN-HOME ASSESSMENT TODAY!

650-900-9379

FREE

9-12 Winner: Hannah McCarthy

large cities in the United States and is Northern California’s largest city and the 10th largest city in the nation. San José’s transformation into a global innovation center has resulted in one of the largest concentrations of technology companies and expertise in the world. In 2011, the City adopted Envision San José 2040, a long-term growth plan that sets forth a vision and a comprehensive road map to guide the City’s anticipated growth through the year 2040. About the Environmental Services

Department The San José Environmental Services Department leads Climate Smart San José and manages garbage and recycling services; watershed protection and pollution prevention; municipal drinking water and recycled water; sustainability initiatives; and the operation and infrastructure improvements of the San José-Santa Clara Regional Wastewater Facility. ESD’s mission is to deliver world-class utility services and programs to improve our

7-Year Extended Warranty* A $695 Value! Offer valid August 24, 2020 - December 31, 2020

Special Financing Available Subject to Credit Approval

health, environment and economy.

*Terms & Conditions Apply

Follow us on Facebook (@ SJEnvironment), Twitter (@SJEnvironment) and Instagram (@ SJEnvironment)

Orange Spectacular

For ESD news and information, go to www. sanjoseca.gov/yourgovernment/environment/ blog.

ONLY

$1999

*

Special limited time offer!

SAVE $15! Reg. Price $34.99

WOW! Healthy, handpicked fresh from the grove! 3 unique varieties. 12 delicious oranges!

Call 1-866-547-0228 to order item 442X or Visit HaleGroves.com/MN282 Order Item #442X, mention Code HNVH-N282 for your $15 savings.

Only $19.99* (reg. $34.99), plus $5.99 shipping & handling. Satisfaction completely guaranteed. This gift ships in December at the peak of freshness. Order by Dec. 18, 2020 for GUARANTEED Christmas delivery. AZ, CA, TX & LA order by Dec. 15, 2020.

Call now and

Since 1947. Hale Groves, Vero Beach, FL 32966

Notable submissions from talented young minds.

IC: HNVH-N282

SAVE 43%! *Plus $5.99 handling per pack to the 48 contiguous states. Limited time offer, good while supplies last. Not valid with any other offer. Limit 5 boxes per customer.


Page 8

November 25, 2020

Global Travel Industry News

Thanksgiving Holiday Will Not Offer Instant Boost for US Domestic Tourism Harry S. Johnson | eTurbo News Domestic tourism has been referred to as the ‘lifeline’ for tourism recovery during COVID-19 and as Thanksgiving is now upon the US, this would have been thought of as a ‘light’ for the US tourism sector. However, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has advised against domestic travel during this period, and the latest

consumer survey shows that this is feeding into consumer attitudes, with many travelers uncertain on their travel plans this year. Thanksgiving is therefore unlikely to offer a much-needed ‘lifeline’ for tourism related businesses. The percentage of those who ‘strongly disagree’ that they will book a domestic trip this year has remained fairly constant

across the 10-week consumer COVID-19 recovery surveys. Respondents who selected they will book a domestic trip this year, however has made a slight increase. In week 1 (10th -14th June) only 15% stated they would book a domestic trip in 2020 but by week 10 in early November, with Thanksgiving on the horizon, this increased to 21%. This still belies a

lack of confidence. 42% of total domestic trips in the US were for ‘visiting friends and relatives’ (VFR) in 2019. Thanksgiving is one of the most popular times of travel for domestic tourism with 167 million trips taken in November 2019. Although, as the country continues to hold its status as having the highest number of cases and deaths due to COVID-19, it is clear domestic demand remains significantly lower than in previous years, but some are more confident than others. While there are clearly mixed responses

in domestic travel preferences during this time, destination marketing organizations (DMOs) and tourism businesses should be forward looking. VFR is a significant contributor to the US tourism sector and while many are not likely to travel for this period, there will be more pentup demand when this pandemic eases and tourists opt to catch up with loved ones in a safer environment.

Experts Cast Doubt on Safety of Boeing 737 MAX Ungrounding Harry S. Johnson | eTurbo News

November 25, 2020 FlyersRights filed a Reply in its Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) case against the FAA. (Flyers Rights Education Fund v. FAA, (D.D.C. CV-19-3749 (CKK)). FlyersRights.org seeks the public disclosure of a limited set of documents related to the changes and testing of the Boeing 737 MAX to enable independent experts to

SPACE: Keep safe distance

evaluate the safety of the MAX. The two Boeing 737 MAX crashes that claimed the lives of 346 passengers have damaged the reputations of the FAA and Boeing and have sparked many investigations, including by Congress, into the FAA aircraft certification process, Boeing’s behavior, and the FAA-Boeing

FACE: Don’t touch it

relationship. FlyersRights. org, the largest passenger organization advocating for the interests of airline passengers, has observed plummeting levels of passenger confidence in the FAA, Boeing, and the 737 MAX. It filed the Freedom of Information Act case in December 2019 to enable independent safety experts to evaluate the proposed changes to the grounded

HANDS: Wash them often

737 MAX. FlyersRights.org argued that the FAA improperly invoked exemptions for trade secrets and proprietary information to shield entire documents from

ELBOW: Cough into it

disclosure. Continue reading at https://www.eturbonews. com/1934716/expertscast-doubt-on-safetyof-boeing-737-maxungrounding/

HOME: Stay if you can


“Hi and thank you for stopping by to check us out here in this newspsper. My name is Zane Daugherty, certified personal trainer and CEO of ChiQuest Fitness. I’ve always been passionate about health and fitness and after working as a teacher and coach, I experienced and saw firsthand how busy professionals, caretakers, and educators often spend so much time taking care of others but not enough time taking care of their own health and fitness. I set out to find creative solution to maximize fitness results with time for busy people. After partnering with certified trainers and a health and wellness company for healthy, on- the-go exercise and nutrition solutions, we began to see lives transformed where hope was often nearly lost. I am excited and happy to say that in the last three years of starting ChiQuest Fitness, we have seen dozens of clients health and fitness completely transformed. Our mission is to inspire a transformation of lifestyle fitness where you are! We provide mobile personal training with customized workout and nutrition programs that truly bring lasting results. If you are looking for personal training solutions for your health and fitness, let us know! You can call, text, or email us. You can also visit our website and complete our Contact form with a good time to reach out to you. We look forward to hearing from you! We are only a phone call away!” - Zane Daugherty, Certified Personal Trainer and CEO of ChiQuest Fitness

1- 844-4GYMFIT (496348)

ChiQuestFit.com

instagram.com/chiquestfit/ m.facebook.com/chiquestfit


Page 10

November 25, 2020

Travel News

Visiting Hawaii No Longer Possible for Americans? By Juergen T. Steinmetz | eTurbo News Japanese and Canadians are in the process to select Hawaii again as a holiday destination. Visitors from Taiwan and South Korea may be welcomed back to Hawaii beaches, but fellow Americans are left behind – and there is a sad reason for this. Getting an appointment for a COVID-19 test in California for a Hawaii vacation has become a difficult if not often impossible task. Checking every single day for the last 7 days, no appointments anywhere in California for CVS were available. Calling the appointment line for Walgreens is impossible with 6 hours of waiting and no answer. Costco and some other trusted test stations send a test kit, and a video conference cannot be scheduled until this prepaid kit arrives. The State of Hawaii added several additional trusted providers, but the line or non-availability for the test doesn’t appear to change. It appears US mainland testing locations are simply overwhelmed and needed for instate testing. A Hawaii vacation is becoming less of a priority. It appears the Hawaii Governor sees this

clearly but has a different approach he cannot openly say. He said he was responding to the dramatic increase of infections on the US mainland and around the world. The around the world part may not be the reason, because Hawaii just made an agreement with Canada to allow passengers to arrive under the same pretesting conditions. Only in Canada COVID-19 are dramatically lower, and

testing is widely available. The same now counts for Japan, and the Hawaii Tourism Authority CEO told a community meeting on the Island of Hawaii, such agreements are in the final stage with Taiwan and South Korea. This was also confirmed today by Honolulu Mayor Kirk Caldwell. Caldwell knows the impact this order by the governor will make for the Hawaii tourism industry. Therefore, the Mayor wants the new

airport testing facility to allow tourists to be tested upon arrival and released from quarantine once a negative results posts. In the meantime, Hawaii Governor Ige ordered that starting on Nov. 24, travelers wanting to bypass Hawaii‘s 14-day mandatory quarantine must have COVID-19 test results from a trusted travel partner prior to departure to the islands. The key words are “prior to departure.” This seems to be impossible for most travelers due to the testing availability on the US mainland. “We’re taking this added safety precaution now in response to the dramatic increase in COVID-19 cases on the mainland and around the world. The health of our residents and visitors is our primary concern, particularly with more people traveling to Hawaii over the holidays,” said Gov. Ige. “If a traveler’s test results are not available before boarding their final flight segment, the traveler must quarantine for 14 days or the length of their stay, whichever is shorter,” the Governor explained. The new policy applies to domestic transpacific flights and international flights departing from locations in which the State of Hawaii has pretesting programs in place. In the meantime, Honolulu Mayor blasted Governor Ige and the State for not following

through on spot surveillance testing as it was a condition for Oahu to allow tourism to restart on October 15. The Mayor said at a press conference on November 20th: “Almost a little over a month ago, Oahu and Hawaii opened up to visitors from the continent under the state’s pretesting program, and as you know there is a lot of discussion among all the mayors of the 4 counties on whether there should be a mandated second test and whether if we can’t get a mandated second tes,t then perhaps a voluntary second test. The other counties – 2 of the counties – required a voluntary second test or asked for a voluntary second test – the island of Hawaii, the county of Hawaii, imposed a second test on everyone when they came off the plane in the initial days. For me on Oahu, I supported the Governor’s pre-travel testing program – one test is better than no test, but I also was willing to take some risk in terms of health and safety of the population of Oahu, because there was a guarantee – a promise made – to all of the mayors that the state would put in place a robust surveillance testing program. What did that mean? What they told us in a written memo is that they would test 10 percent of all arrivals – visitor arrivals – 4 days after arriving on the island and that the 10 percent would be selected at the airport,


November 25, 2020

here at Daniel K. Inouye International Airport and the other airports where you fly into from the continent like Kona, Maui, and Kauai. We’ve been waiting since for the results of that surveillance test. We’ve relied on the promises made and took risk, and that risk now is greater because of the number of cases on the continent and the raging wildfire of COVID-19 and positivity rate of over 10 percent compared to ours below 3 percent. We’ve asked for the numbers. The response is there’s about 17,000 people that have been pre-tested, and they share this information not broken down by county. Now, we support the methodology that was put in place; no disagreement on the methodology, the scientific basis on which to do this surveillance testing program. But when they say 17,000 pre-tests have been done, they don’t say where they’ve been done, was it 10 percent pre-selected at the airport 4 days after arrival? But in that number of 17,000, are all the tests done on the island of Hawaii where Mayor Kim mandated a second test upon arrival? We know at some point it was over 12,000 tests, so if the 12,000 are dumped into the 17,000, so the total of 17,000 with the 12,000 – that is not a random pre-selected group of people at every airport where people are coming in from the continent. And that is a test done immediately upon arrival in Hawaii, and we know that

people coming from the continent got tested at the airport – LAX, SFO, and others. The flight takes about 5 hours, so you get a test and 5 hours later you arrive and get a second test – that is not a 4-day later surveillance test. It would be like any of you or all of you watching, if you got a test and you were negative and said I’ll come down here to the airport and get a test 5 hours later… Eh, look, I’m still negative. Well, duh, you’re going to be negative, because it takes 4 to 7 days to start shedding. That’s not surveillance of anything, and it’s misleading if you’re using that number and saying here’s the results of the surveillance test, and we show a low positivity rate. We’ve been told for Oahu, 2 days ago, when it was asked by our Communications Director, by the Lieutenant Governor, that about 1,000 tests have been done on Oahu, but we knew 2 days ago that Oahu received about 117,000 visitors. Ten percent of 117,000 visitors if they’re pre-selected at the airport is what – 11,700; 1,000 is 1 percent not 10 percent. This is not a scientific study of surveillance test results that tell me as the Mayor what kind of risk we’re taking on. Now, I am hoping that the rate is very low, that the pretest – there’s a couple of things. One, you self-selected; you only get the test because you feel you’re safe and people who get tests probably are safer.

And two, people who get the test who are positive, don’t come. So I’m not hoping for a higher result, I just want what was promised, because health and safety is the most important thing. As Mayor, I’m not the most popular guy – did stay at home, work at home orders twice, because it was about health and safety. Our tier system is holding a hard line, because it’s about health and safety, and we need to get scientific results about the positivity rate particularly as we see more higher level of positivity on the continent. Every day they should be saying, we’ve tested 10 percent 4 days later, and here’s what we see yesterday and tomorrow just like we give you our numbers every day on a 7-day average. We should know is the positivity rate going up or down? Now, why do I want to know this? Because I want to take further action if necessary. Perhaps we put in a place a voluntary second test 4 days later. Perhaps we go to the Governor and say we don’t want to shut down our visitor industry again, but maybe we need a mandatory second test 4 days later. If we see a higher level of positivity, and we start infecting those that work in our visitor industry, we need to know that. We just want the information to protect the health and safety of the million residents of this island. I think it’s a fair thing to ask, and we’re not getting it.”

Page 11

Travel News Nurse Builders Academy

Your first step towards a career in Healthcare.

www.nursebuildersacademy.org

Become a CNA (Nursing Assistant) (408) 972-5025


Page 12

November 25, 2020

Courtesy of Variety

L.A. County Suspends Outdoor Dining at Restaurants Amid Near-Statewide Curfew Ellise Shafer | Variety

As COVID-19 cases continue to climb across California, Los Angelous county has suspended outdoor dining at restaurants beginning 10:00 p.m. on Wednesday, November 25th. The order also includes breweries, wineries and

bars. Takeout and delivery from these establishments will still be allowed. The restriction will remain in place for at least three weeks. This follows Gov. Gavin Newsom’s announcment Thursday, November 19th, that he

has instated a “limited stay-athome order” that took effect on Saturday November 21st. The curfew affects all counties in the purple tier, which currently includes 41 out-of-state’s 58 counties. Though it is not a full lockdown, the order is aimed to pause all non-essential work and gathering from 10:00 p.m. to 5:00 a.m each night. In addition, movement and gatherings during the hours have been

Become a Published Author with Dorrance. We want to read your book! Trusted by authors for nearly 100 years, Dorrance has made countless authors’ dreams come true.

Complete Book Publishing Services Our staff is made up of writers, just like you, and we are dedicated to making publishing dreams come true.

FIVE EASY STEPS TO PUBLICATION: 1. Consultation

4. Distribution

2. Book Production

5. Merchandising and Fulfillment

3. Promotion

Call now to receive your FREE Author’s Guide 844-855-6613 or www.dorranceinfo.com/bayarea

prohibited. The order will remain in effect until December 21st in an attempt to halt rising COVID-19 cases across the state. On November 16th, California broke its record for the highest COVID-19 cases reported in a single day, with 13,412 cases. In addition, over the last two weeks, COVID-19 hospitalizations have increased more than 60%. In a tweet on Thursday, Newsom outlined the basics of the order, writing that “Non-essential work and gatherings must stop from 10 p.m. - 5 a.m. in counties in the purple tier. This will take effect at 10 p.m. on Saturday and remain for 1 month. Together - we can flatten the curve again.” During a press briefing on Thursday, California Health and Human Services Secretary Dr. Mark Ghaly helped to define what is and is not prohibited during the curfew period. According

to Ghaly, activities such as a late-night grocery run or picking up takeout from a restaurant are allowed, as those businesses are still deemed essential. Although all gatherings should be avoided during the curfew hours, residents can still partake in outdoor physical activities, uch as walking a pet or going for a run. Though Ghaly admitted it will be hard to police everyone’s whereabouts, he said he is hoping that this curfew can be a “partnership” between state officials and citizens. “We know that’s hard to imagine how to enforce. Some of you may say ‘Well, how am I ever going to be known if I’m doing that at home?’” Ghaly said during Thursday’s press briefing. “We’ve depended on a partnershop with all of you and this is about coming together.”


November 25, 2020

US Could Lose 9.2 Million Jobs in 2020 Due to COVID-19 and Travel Restrictions Harry S. Johnson | eTurbo News According to the latest data, 7.2 million jobs in the U.S. have been impacted. If there is no immediate alleviation of restrictions on international travel, as many as 9.2 million jobs – more than half of all jobs in the sector in the U.S. in 2019 – would be lost. WTTC has identified the four top priorities which should be addressed, including the adoption of a comprehensive and cost-effective testing regime at departure to avoid transmission, the re-opening of key ‘air corridors’ such as between New York and London, and international coordination. The challenge of restoring safe travels in the new normal is one of the biggest issues facing the U.S. as it grapples with a depressed economy devastated by the COVID-19 pandemic, which has hit the Travel & Tourism sector particularly hard. The WTTC Economic Impact Report for 2019 revealed that Travel & Tourism contributed $1.84 trillion to the U.S. economy and was responsible for more than one in 10 (10.7%) American jobs. Gloria Guevara, WTTC President & CEO, said: “Firstly, we would like to take

this opportunity to congratulate Presidentelect Joe Biden and Vice President-elect Kamala Harris and we wish them every success in these challenging times. The U.S. government has a real opportunity to lead the international coordination and save millions of jobs globally and across the U.S. “In 2019, Travel & Tourism was responsible for almost 17 million jobs, which is more than one in every 10 jobs across the U.S., so it’s vital we recover as many as possible to power the economic recovery of the country. “Globally, eight out of 10 businesses within Travel & Tourism are SME’s, employing millions of people around the world, and all of which rely on a thriving Travel & Tourism sector. It is also

one of the most diverse sectors, employing people from all socio-economic backgrounds regardless of age, gender or ethnicity, with almost 50% of whom are women and up to 30% youths. “WTTC, has been at the forefront in leading the private sector in the efforts to restore international travel and rebuild global consumer confidence with several major initiatives. We launched our ‘Safe Travels’ stamp, to enable travellers to recognise destinations around the world which have adopted health and hygiene global standardised protocols.” “We offer to work closely with the U.S. government to recover international travel whilst avoiding transmission, through a four-point list of top priorities.

Page 13

COVID-19 News “We need to learn to co-exist with this virus and measures should be in place to reactivate both inbound and outbound travel responsibly and avoid further economic and social hardship.” Across North America, WTTC research shows that between 10.8 million and 13.8 million jobs within Travel & Tourism are at serious risk. Roger Dow, U.S. Travel Association President and CEO, said: “The numbers show that restarting global travel is an absolute must from an economic and jobs standpoint, and it can be done safely by embracing health and safety guidance and technologies, which have been widely deployed across the travel industry. “Moving away from quarantines and implementing the practices that we know will work—chief among them rapid, reliable and efficient testing, the universal wearing

of masks in public, and the use of contactless technologies—will help restore confidence and growth.” The resumption of international travel will act as a catalyst to re-energise the global economic recovery. According to WTTC, the four main priorities for the new U.S. administration should be: • The re-opening of ‘air corridors’ on vital routes, especially those across the Atlantic to reestablish crucial business travel between major economic hubs • The introduction of a testing regime at airports, with globally recognised standards to avoid exporting and importing the virus • A commitment to ensure safe and seamless travel, with enhanced health and hygiene measures as well as contactless touchpoints • Ensure international coordination to adopt standards that will allow international travel to restart and rebuild consumer confidence. During 2019, the report detailed how Travel & Tourism was responsible for one in 10 jobs (330 million in total), making a 10.3% contribution to global GDP and generating one in four of all new jobs.


Page 14

November 25, 2020

Keep the Seat

Women Leaders on Sen. Harris Replacement: “One Is Not Enough, Zero Is Unacceptable.” Antonio Ray Harvey | California Black Media The California Democratic Party Black Caucus (CDP Black Caucus) joined hands with other women organizations this past weekend. Their goal: to turn up the pressure on California Gov. Gavin Newsom to appoint a Black woman to replace outgoing Sen. Kamala Harris in the U.S. Senate. During the virtual “Keep The Seat” news conference, which representatives from the National Organization for Women (NOW) and Black Women United (BWU) attended, the organizers explained why Gov. Newsom should appoint a Black woman. They also gave reasons why he should narrow his options to U.S. Representatives Karen Bass (D-CA-37) and Barbara Lee (D-CA13). “This is a pivotal time in California history. I hope together we can bend the moral arc of history towards justice, together, by ensuring that the most underrepresented and marginalized community retain a significant representation in California by appointing a Black woman to replace Kamala Harris,” said Taisha Brown,

chairperson of the CDP Black Caucus. Brown continued, “Our call is for all of you to join us in saying to Gavin Newsom, our governor, that we are not going to accept anything but a Black woman. I think it’s critical that we emphasize that.” Currently there are three African Americans serving in the United States Senate. Two of them are men (Cory Booker, a Democrat from New Jersey, and Tim Scott, a Republican from South Carolina). Harris, the junior Senator from California, is the only African American woman with a seat in the upper house of the United States Congress. But with Harris’s imminent ascendency to the Vice Presidency of the United States, there will

be no African American woman in the US Senate after Jan. 20, 2021. In response, the CDP Black Caucus has put out a call to action under the slogan “One is not enough, and zero is unacceptable.” “We have a Thanksgiving message for Gov. Gavin Newsom. Our goal is to have 250 every day until Thanksgiving. We need you to speak up. Make a call and let Gov. Newsom know that Black women have been the backbone of the Democratic Party as voters, organizers, and we deserve representation in the United States Senate,” said Kendra Lewis, a representative for the CDP Black Caucus. Dr. Maulana Karenga, professor and chairman of Black Studies at California State

University Long Beach, was also one of the “Keep The Seat” speakers. Karenga, who is also the founder of the annual spiritual and cultural celebration Kwanzaa, said he “stands strong” with the CDP Black Caucus’s push to keep a Black woman from California in the U.S. Senate. “First of all, no one is more qualified than the two women mentioned -- Bass and Lee. It’s not a gift. It’s recognition overdue. It’s also a service to the Democratic party. Black women have been the backbone of this party. So, it is debt owed to them,” he said. Over the weekend, several top women Democratic Party donors in California also urged Newsom to select a woman of color. About 150 of them have placed a letter in full-page ads in two newspapers -- the LA Times in Southern California and the San Francisco Chronicle in Northern California -- making their request known to Newsom. “Women of color are the core drivers of electoral progress in our country, and their voices should be heard in the nation’s highest governing body. California is fortunate to have a strong pipeline of women of color in elected office who are prepared to serve; as Californians and political supporters, we look forward to you selecting

one of them,” the letter read. The California Legislative Black Caucus (CLBC) and other Black leaders in the state have also called on Gov. Newsom to fill the seat with an African American woman. The CLBC members also sent a letter to Gov. Newsom making their case for why Bass and Lee should be at the top of his shortlist of candidates. They cited the women’s lengthy legislative experience coupled with their broad foreign policy knowledge. Before the election on Nov. 3, Newsom said that he was getting pressure from different groups in the state about who he should appoint to replace Harris. He also acknowledged that he feels the weight of making that important decision and predicted that his choice would not please everyone. “The stress of having to choose between a lot of friends, to choose between quality candidates, and the fact that whoever you pick, there are going to be a lot of people who are going to be upset, disappointed, that it wasn’t this or that, I don’t even want to get my arms around that until I have the privilege of having to make that decision,” Newsom said in an interview with Los Angeles’ FOX 11. Gov. Newsom can either decide to make an appointment to complete Harris’s term or he can call a special election.


November 25, 2020

CinemaCon 2021 Delayed to August as Theaters Face Existential Crisis

Page 15

Lights, Camera, Action

Rebecca Rubin | Variety

What is the Community Advocates Leadership Academy? CinmeCon, the movie theater exhibition industry’s annual trade show, has been rescheduled. The National Association of Theatre Owners, the organization behind the event, cited ongoing international travel restrictions and limits on large gatherings due to coronavirus as the reason behind the delay. The yearly gathering of cinema lovers, which occurs at Caesars Palae in Las Vegas, is usually held in late March. In 2021, CinemaCon will take place four months later than expected on August 23-26. “With all the travel,

logistical, and capacity concerns for the convention, our 7,500 attendees, vendors, and studio distribution partners, we couldn’t guarantee we could present the kind of show the undustry expects in April,” said CinemaCon’s managing director Mitch Neuhauser. “In close consultation with our studio and industry partners, we are rescheduling CinemaCon for August, when we think we can put on the kind of showcase we do best, and celebrate the moviegoing eperience with the entire industry.” The movie theater

business has been ravaged by the pandemic, which forced cinemas to close for months and prompted studios to postpone nearly all of their upcoming movies. Theaters in North America, with the exception of New York City and Los Angelous, have mostly reopened. But moviegoing in the U.S. has yet to rebound, especially with the death of new product. Some European cinemas have closed down again as England, France and Italy are grappling with significant spikes in the virus. Only China and Japan have seen the release of bona fide blockbusters, like “The Eight Hundred” and “Demon Slayer,” amid the pandemic. CinemaCon 2020 was suppoed to take place March 30-April 2, but it was called off as cases of coronavirus started to rapidly spread across the globe.

We are still accepting applications for next year’s Community Advocates Leadership Academy (CALA)! The 2021 cohort starts in January. Would you or someone you know like to become a more effective, well-connected advocate for the environment and equity in our region? Join us on Thursday, December 3, 2020 6:00pm - 6:30pm for a short informational session and learn what’s in store for CALA 2021.We will explore CALA’s three pillars: the 8-month training program, the collaborative capstone project, and the alumni network. Launched in 2013, CALA has served as the training ground for over 200 graduates who make a difference in the environmental and social challenges of our time. CALA provides participants with the foundation to run and participate in successful campaigns for conservation and environmental justice. Can’t go but interested in learning more about or applying to the program? Visit https://www.greenfoothills.org/ leadership-academy/ or email me at andrea@greenfoothills.org. RSVP Today! https://www.greenfoothills.org/ events/cala-info-night/


CLOG-FREE GUTTERS

OR YOUR MONEY BACK

GUARANTEED! ER AFT

Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley is hiring local contractors to repair roofs, perform plumbing and electrical work, carpentry, flooring and other special projects in homes throughout Santa Clara County.

ter

fFil

a E Le

OR

BEF

er

Filt

f Lea

Call for Contractors!

15% OFF YOUR ENTIRE LEAFFILTER PURCHASE*

If you are you a licensed contractor looking to expand your client base, please contact us! Minority and women-owned contractors are encouraged to apply. Learn more at:

http://contractors.rtsv.org

Exclusive Offer – Redeem By Phone Today!

ADDITIONALLY

10% OFF SENIOR & MILITARY DISCOUNTS

CALL US TODAY FOR

A FREE ESTIMATE

1-866-580-0307 Promo Code: 285

Mon-Thurs: 8am-11pm, Fri-Sat: 8am-5pm, Sun: 2pm-8pm EST

PLUS!

THE FIRST 50 CALLERS WILL

RECEIVE AN ADDITIONAL

5% OFF

YOUR ENTIRE INSTALL! **Offer valid at estimate only

FINANCING THAT FITS 1 YOUR BUDGET! Subject to credit approval. Call for details.

1

Qualifications: • Licensed General Contractor, HVAC, Electrician, Plumber, or Roofer • General Liability Insurance and Worker's Comp (if applicable)

Contact: Kevin McCarthy 408.578.9519 ext. 1007, kevin@rtsv.org 1701 South 7th St., #10 San Jose, CA 95112

*The leading consumer reporting agency conducted a 16 month outdoor test of gutter guards in 2010 and recognized LeafFilter as the “#1 rated professionally installed gutter guard system in America.” CSLB# 1035795 DOPL #10783658-5501 License# 7656 License# 50145 License# 41354 License# 99338 License# 128344 License# 218294 License# 603 233 977 License# 2102212986 License# 2106212946 License# 2705132153A License# LEAFFNW822JZ License# WV056912 License# WC-29998-H17 Nassau HIC License# H01067000 Registration# 176447 Registration# HIC.0649905 Registration# C127229 Registration# C127230 Registration# 366920918 Registration# PC6475 Registration# IR731804 Registration# 13VH09953900 Registration# PA069383 Suffolk HIC License# 52229-H

FINE GARDENER (408) 423 - 9488 www.finegardener.net

www.rtsv.org Embrace the warmth of family and create

PERFECT HOLIDAY

oments

Send gifts they’ll love, make meals they’ll remember... with Omaha Steaks, Christmas this year will be worth the wait.

Design • Build • Irrigate Smaller Projects Welcome! THE BUTCHER’S DELUXE PACKAGE

Spring is for planting: flower and veggie beds, drought tolerant/pollinator gardens, uncommon trees and shrubs. We serve the Sunnyvale, Cupertino, Saratoga, Monte Sereno, Los Gatos, Campbell, West San Jose, and Santa Clara areas.

TRY THE EXCLUSIVE OMAHA STEAKS

BUTCHER’S CUT TOP SIRLOIN Taller, thicker steaks, expertly hand-cut. Double-trimmed for 100% flawless bites. Aged 21 days for the most tenderness. The best steaks of your life or your money back.

4 (5 oz.) Butcher’s Cut Top Sirloins 4 (4 oz.) Boneless Pork Chops 4 Boneless Chicken Breasts (1 lb. pkg.) 8 (4 oz.) Omaha Steaks Burgers 8 (3 oz.) Gourmet Jumbo Franks 8 (3.8 oz.) Individual Scalloped Potatoes 8 (4 oz.) Caramel Apple Tartlets Steak Seasoning (1 oz.)

FREE PORK CHOPS & CHICKEN BREASTS Get even more for the holidays when you buy this package today!

$298.87* separately

INTRODUCTORY PRICE $129.99

Shop Now! OmahaSteaks.com/dinner725 or call 1.855.520.1196 and ask for free pork chops and chicken breasts with offer 66762SYH *Savings shown over aggregated single item base price. Photos exemplary of product advertised. Limit 2. 4 free (4 oz.) pork chops and 4 free chicken breasts (1 lb. pkg.) will be sent to each shipping address that includes (66762). Free product(s) may be substituted. Standard S&H added per address. Offer available while supplies last. Items may be substituted due to inventory limitations. Cannot be combined with other offers. Other restrictions may apply. All purchases acknowledge acceptance of Terms of Use. Visit omahasteaks.com/termsof-useOSI or call 1-800-228-9872 for a copy. Expires 1/31/21.


November 25, 2020 Dear District 2 neighbors, My team and I wish you a safe and healthy Thanksgiving week with your loved ones. We know it’s been a year full of changes for everyone. We also know that there are local District 2 community members who have gone above and beyond to help those around them -- by connecting people to resources and information, initiating community improvements / beautification efforts, or simply reaching out to say hello as a friendly neighbor. At our annual District 2 Community Awards (this time a Virtual Celebration), let’s celebrate and recognize these outstanding

community members for their work in our neighborhoods. Nominate someone who deserves an award for making a positive impact in District 2: tinyurl.com/ D2AWARDS2020 Keeping our community safe and healthy is a priority for my District 2 Team, and the best way we can do that right now is by providing you with important resources. In this newsletter, please find valuable information and links about District 2 community updates, San José policy updates, Census 2020, and navigating COVID-19. My goal has always

been to empower the community and make City Hall accessible to you -- to give you a voice in local government. I invite you to join me as I advocate for a more equitable San José and make our home a better place to live, work, and play. Let’s connect through my website (https://www. sanjoseca.gov/yourgovernment/departmentdirectory/city-council/ district-2), Facebook (@ D2SergioJimenez), Twitter (@D2SergioJimenez), and Nextdoor! In community, Sergio Jimenez

Page 17

District 2 News

El número de casos de COVID-19 aumenta a cifras alarmantes en el Condado de Santa Clara y camas de cuidado intensivo en hospitales se escaseen Líderes comunitarios urgen a los residentes a cambiar sus planes de Dia de Acción de Gracias y cancelar todo viaje de día festivos Citando preocupaciones con respecto a un aumento repentino de casos de COVID-19 y hospitalizaciones, oficiales de salud y lideres comunitarios dan un fuerte aviso a residentes de celebrar el Dia de Acción de Gracias de manera diferente este año. Los números de casos los últimos días promedio de 328 a lo

largo de los últimos 7 días, con la cifra más alta de 512 nuevos casos de COVID-19 reportados el día de ayer. El aumento de casos de COVID-19 se ve conectado a las reuniones

entre familiares y amistades que traspasan de numero de invitados de lo que es permitido bajo la orden estatal de solo reunirse con un máximo de tres hogares. En adición, con el cambio de clima, estas reuniones se realizan en situaciones de alto riesgo en interiores de casas o otras locaciones.

Al aumentarse el numero de casos, se disminuyen la capacidad disponible en los hospitales. A la cuente de ayer, los hospitales locales solo contaban con 68 camas disponibles en cuidado intensivo. Los Latinos siguen siendo los mas impactados, representando un 58.4% de todos los casos cuando so son el 25.8% de la población en el Condado

de Santa Clara. Lideres del Condado de Santa Clara urgen a los residentes a que se abstengan de viajar, incluso durante las vacaciones de Acción de Gracias, de reunirse con personas fuera de su hogar solo al aire libre con el máximo de tres hogares en total y evitar lugar comerciales aglomerados y otras actividades no esenciales.

Este al día en Twitter: @HealthySCC Sitio web del Condado: http://www.sccgov.org/cv19-es Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/sccsaludpublica


Page 18

November 25, 2020

Community

Strong Community Support Continues the Process of ReEnvisioning Reid-Hillview Airport On Tuesday, November 17th, the Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors voted 4-1 to begin the process for a community engagement plan that could result in closing all or part of the county-owned ReidHillview Airport in East San Jose and reusing the land. Green Foothills strongly supported this possible re-envisioning process and, at the invitation of the local community, we mobilized,

co-authored and cosigned a letter with over 40 other community leaders supporting moving forward, as well as providing public comment at the Board hearing. The vast majority of 150 people commenting at the hearing was also in support of continuing the process. The 180-acre ReidHillview parcel could include significant open space, parks, and nature components along with affordable housing

while also addressing environmental justice issues in an area with lower-than average incomes and with a predominantly Vietnamese and Latinx population. Long-Running Environmental Problems With ReidHillview Airport Reid-Hillview is one of three general-aviation airports for small planes like Cessnas in Santa Clara County (the other two are in Palo Alto and San Martin).Small

planes like those at ReidHillview generally use a fuel called aviation gas, which contains lead that is dangerous to breathe but prevents engine problems in flight. The airport and surrounding residences have been there for decades, long before people understood the health problems from lead, and airborne lead contamination from the airport has now increased in relative importance to other lead sources. It now ranks 25th out of 3400 general aviation airports in the United States in high levels of airborne lead emissions. Moreover, the surrounding community must endure noise and safety concerns as several small planes have

crashed in residential neighborhoods. Because of these issues and the potential for more fitting and optimal uses of the land, the community in Evergreen – East San Jose has fought to close the airport for years. In 2018, County Supervisors voted to stop accepting federal grants that mandate further extensions of the airport’s operation, but no decision has yet been made whether to close it.

Continue reading at https://www. greenfoothills.org/ re-envisioning-reidhillview-airport/

People who give us hope: Darlene Tenes and the Farmworker Caravan Darlene Tenes cares deeply about the community and she knows how to get things done. When she saw a social media post by Assemblymember Robert Rivas in April about a Farmworker Relief Drive in Watsonville, Tenes quickly mobilized her large network to bring critical donations to agricultural workers who have been impacted by COVID-19. In less than 2 days, almost 100 cars had registered causing her to shut down registration. In 48 hours, she organized a donation drive at the San Jose Women’s Club that required three large box trucks.

As an organization that has for decades advocated for the protection of farmland and a healthy food system, Green Foothills is thankful for Darlene’s work in support of farmworkers. The 400,000+ farmworkers who call California home are critical to the state’s agricultural economy,

ensuring the harvest and processing of the United States’ more than onethird vegetables and two-thirds fruits and nuts grown in California. “We need to recognize that farmworkers are essential workers, probably the most essential workers,” says Tenes. “They are making

$10,000-$15,000 annually putting food on our tables every day. They have the stress all of us have suffered in 2020, they make almost no money, their families are struggling with limited to no internet access or cell phone service, and on top of this they have been working outside in pesticides, heatwaves, and wildfire smoke.” This grassroots effort is now called the Farmworker Caravan and it has been collecting donations and bringing supplies to farmworker families in Santa Clara, Monterey, Santa Cruz, San Benito and San Luis Obispo Counties ever

since April 2020 “It is beautiful to see people from all different walks of life come together for good in unity. It’s an emotional experience for everyone. Especially during this stressful time and the pandemic.” “We can all support farm workers. Whether or not you get involved with the Farmworker Caravan, I encourage everyone to think about farmworkers when you eat or go to the grocery store” Continue reading at https://www. greenfoothills.org/ darlene-tenes-and-thefarmworker-caravan/


Call us today for a free consultation whether you are looking to buy, sell, rent or invest!

Whether you are thinking about

buying or selling a home ...the time to act is now.

We’ll list any home for $9,500*

Real estate prices have climbed and interest rates have fallen.

Agents: Join BRG Realty & Make More Money!

We have an in-house mortgage option.

RESIDENTIAL BUY & SELL COMMERCIAL BUY & SELL INVESTING & DEVELOPMENT

Shannon Farrell VP of Operations & Realtor Extraordinaire

408-896-5351

Get all of your real estate questions answered with our incredible team of experts!

BRG

Realty Corp CA DRE # 00984218

Gregg Bunker President/CEO Real Estate Executive 408-781-1725

1900 Camden Ave., San Jose 95124

Call us: 408-558-3600

*Restrictions apply. Talk with us to see if your property qualifies for this $9,500 listing offer.

VISIT US ONLINE AT BRGREALTYCORP.COM


Profile for The Bay Area Review

The Bay Area Review, November 25, 2020  

The Bay Area Review Encourage - Enlighten - Enrich The San Francisco Bay Area Volume 2, Issue 23

The Bay Area Review, November 25, 2020  

The Bay Area Review Encourage - Enlighten - Enrich The San Francisco Bay Area Volume 2, Issue 23

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded