__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

South Valley Review

VOL. 1, NO. 19

November 17, 2017

Better at knowing what matters to you. Page # 4

Gala for Good

Invite, Ignite, Unite!

Page # 8

City National Civic was the place to be Friday, November 10 in San Jose. Hunger at Home held their “Bridge the Gap” fundraiser to benefit Martha’s Kitchen with a Cocktail Party and concert. This event is meant to honor everyone; volunteers, corporate sponsors, partner businesses, nonprofits, staff and yes including those served and benefit from these programs - daily - in San Jose and surrounding  communities.   (Left) Edita Cruz Executive, Director; Martha’s Kitchen (Right) Madison Nguyen, Executive Director; Hunger at Home

Continued on Page 10 Y1Z

Recipes for You to Try for This Year’s Thanksgiving Feast

Page # 7 Not a Bank - Better SVR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95119 95123 95124 95125 95032 95008 95037 95051 *COMING SOON* 95126 95128


When...Where Carols in the California

SVR South Valley Review 2059 Camden Avenue Suite 219 San Jose, CA, 95124 (408) 898 - 7534 Minority Owned Business President: Richard Pugh Richard@southvalleyreview.com Publisher: Brigitte Jones Brigitte@southvalleyreview.com Executive Editor: Sonya Ruffin Editor@southvalleyreview.com Operations/Accounting: Dorothy Pugh Accounting@southvalleyreview.com Graphic Design Director: Amanda Faris Graphics@southvalleyreview.com Assistant to Publisher: Kal-el R. Pugh Editor at Large: Pearl Baeni

SVR welcomes letters to the Editor Please limit content to 200 words or less. Submissions are subject to scrutiny for content and grammar but all effort will be made to retain intended meaning of such letters.

Symphony Silicon Valley Chorale presents “Carols in the California”, Saturday, December 9, 2017 at 7pm at The California Theatre, 345 South First Street in downtown San Jose A Family Holiday Tradition! The Symphony Silicon Valley Chorale under the baton of Michael DiGiacinto presents the 13th Annual “Carols in the California”, an exciting and festive program of holiday cheer. Come for a traditional singalong of your favorite carols and prepare to be dazzled by performances

of John Rutter’s Gloria, Giovanni Gabrieli’s Hodie Christus natus est, Michael Praetorius’ In dulci jubilo, and Benjamin Britten’s A Ceremony of Carols, all in the warm glow of the beautiful California Theatre. And while downtown, enjoy Christmas in the Park, have a skate at the outdoor Ice Rink Under the Palms, and play at Winter Wonderland with it’s family-fun rides and games just two blocks from the theater. Downtown San Jose is amazing during the Holidays!

All submissions become the property of B & R Media Group, Inc. and cannot be acknowledged.

a capella, in San Jose and peninsula locations in the San Francisco Bay area. Maestra Elena Sharkova, who directs the Symphony Silicon Valley Chorale and the the Cantabile Youth Singers, is an internationally recognized conductor, lecturer and master teacher.

Saturday, December 9, 2017 at 7pm The California Theatre, 345 South First Street Tickets: $26 and $36 BOX OFFICE: 408.286.2600 or www.symphonysiliconvalley.org

FREMONT DERMATOLOGY

39210 State Street #218, Fremont CA 94538

Anonymous letters will not be printed. Articles so published reflect the views of the authors - not necessarily those of South Valley Review.

About the Chorale Symphony Silicon Valley Chorale performs masterworks and more contemporary music with the symphony, as well as a wide range of pieces, from jazz to liturgical and everything in between, with smaller instrumental groups and

David C. Gorsulowsky, M.D.

Music Lessons Only $15 per lesson!! Call (408)268-6703 dmusic123@aol.com • Piano • Guitar • Drums • Bass • Flute

Y2Z

Certified American Board of Dermatology Assoc Cln Prof Univ California at San Francisco Cln Assoc Prof Standford Univ School of Medicine Phone: 510-790-0477 Fax: 510-790-1835 By Appointment Only


WWW.MYACTIONSPOT.COM

OUR NOVEMBER EVENTS November 21, 2017 - ActionSpot Demo Day. You are cordially invited to the exclusive pitch and demo event at ActionSpot. Come and see our members take center stage to pitch their companies and demonstrate their products. See the next Big Thing in Virtual Reality, Artificial Intelligence, Data Science, Solar Energy, and Digital Health. Afterwards, enjoy refreshments, meet the teams, and get a personal demo. Showcase Events and Reception 4:00pm to 9:00pm. Please check the ActionSpot website for parking instructions. We look forward to seeing you there! Do you have a startup? Would you like the opportunity to show off what you do to seed & pre-seed capital investors? We have a limited number of demo tables available for $75. If you have any questions, please email info@myactionspot.com. November 28, 2017 - Turning Action into Results Workshop. Discover your nest level: Your Peak Performance Strategy Session with Scott Gass. Improve your performance by integrating a three-step process for creating lasting change. Clearly identify what is holding your back from reaching your true potential by closing the gap between where you are and where you want to be.


A Giving Heart Invite, Ignite, Unite!

Pear Theatre is taking its “Invite, Ignite, Unite” mission seriously with new initiatives to connect with the community. Kicking off “Giving Tuesday,” the Pear is raising funds for a new youth theatre

program, with the hope of offering classes as early as January 2018. The Pear Playwrights Guild members will work with the program to create new works, giving young people a voice and a platform to speak

their truth. Over time, the program seeks to develop a company of young actors that will perform full length plays at the Pear. Theatre arts are shown to increase compassion and empathy in young people, as well as boosting selfconfidence, improving public speaking and interpersonal skills. Donations are currently being accepted at Razoo (https:// givingtuesday.razoo.com/ story/Z2eqff). Donated funds will go towards hiring teachers and support staff, and offering scholarships to students!   And during performances of The

NMLS 340458 BRE 206510215

Rainbow Funding and Realty www.rainbowfunding.com

8 Bedroom 6 Bath Magnificent newly refurbished home with hardwood floor and lots of natural lighting. $1,234, 492

More than 35 years of experience. Call the office that knows where the deals are.

1 (800) 782 - LOAN Y4Z

Millionth Production of A Christmas Carol, an original play running December 1 through 17, Pear Theatre will be collecting toys for Sunday Friends, a San Jose nonprofit providing multiple services to lowincome families. New, unwrapped toys (value $5.00 to $30.00) can be deposited in the box located in the Pear lobby.  Since 1997, Sunday Friends has been offering day-long programs on Sundays that invite very low-income families to work together, learn together, earn together, make spending decisions together and share in the healthy, warm, productive,

mutually supportive community. Family members engage in handson learning activities, create gifts for children in hospitals and for nursing home residents, and prepare and serve healthy meals. They attend classes on financial literacy, parenting effectiveness, English literacy, health, nutrition, violence prevention, computer skills, and STEM education. Through their participation, family members earn “tickets”, the currency of Sunday Friends, redeemable for essential goods from the Treasure Chest.


Teamwork Rebuilding Together “We are committed to helping homeowners in need maintain their housing, ensuring not just housing but a safe and healthy home”, said Beverley Jackson, Executive Director, Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley. “We do more than fix houses – with the help of our volunteers, we rebuild lives,” Rebuilding Days embodies the best in collaborative partnerships, with the community coming together to help their neighbors in need through willing hands and hearts and the important financial resources to make this transformational work possible.

Place Your Ad Here! Email South Valley Review at advertising@southvalleyreview.com Promote Your business with Us! Y5Z


Good Deeds Not a Bank - Better An introduction to the philosophy behind one of our biggest financial institutions here in the Bay Area is also a good neighbor. Peter Diaz, Community President at CEFCU West, was eager to discuss the key merits of important relationships with even the youngest members of our community - CEFCU has a long standing program that encourages grade school children to become familiar with a savings account. On each visit, when the child entrusts their money with the people managing it, that child would choose a toy from a treasure chest. This is meant to familiarize the child with coming into a financial institution and building a rapport with “financial literacy” - as an ultimate goal. CEFCU has expanded upon those early relationships into a program for eligible 10 - 15 year olds, who now can participate in the Milestone Challenge to encourage scholastic activity within a set period of time. Peter sees all of this as the objective in helping young people become comfortable with handing their money. The core of community outreach by the savvy credit union is to focus what’s best for their members. CEFCU is continuously looking for opportunities to partner with neighbors,

whether they be individuals, businesses or organizations, in order to “support people helping people better impact their environments”. CEFCU also provides tools for teachers to introduce “financial literacy” even at the Elementary school level. A partnership with Alum Rock School District has proven a beneficial relationship to both the students and parents exposed to the information through a series of presentations on credit management, checking and savings accounts. Because CEFCU is not for profit, they aren’t solely focused on pushing products to their members, and are not driven by expectations of shareholders. To have a better banking experience - look to them as a credit union. The programs they make available to children and people in under served areas of our communities is at the heart of their commitment to financial education and thereby financial empowerment. Case in point, their new relationship with Goodwill Industries of Silicon Valley aligns closely with the mission to support organizations assisting people in their

journey to betterment in life. “We are offering a unique set of programs to include Goodwill’s employees and their various program participants - ideally to provide a broad range of financial presentations or even behind the scenes help where needed” says Peter. “One of our more recent partnerships is with San Jose State University, sponsoring the Sports Program, which was culminated by the christening of CEFCU stadium last year. We increased our support after a 5-year relationship that has allowed both institutions to look towards the bright future. As it turns out we have been a sponsor of Hilltoppers Academy for a couple of years, as well. And due to the great reputation that Coach Shaw and his team have earned with hosting the All Star/World Games, CEFCU looks forward to the opportunity in expanding our relationship for the 2018 event.” Based on all of this participation; Hilltoppers Academy, Goodwill of Silicon Valley, Alum Rock School District, and San San Jose State University, CEFCU is in favor of creative ways to be your financial Home.

www.CEFCU.com Y7Z

Hilltoppers Academy Moment of Praise

“Steve Shaw (Coach Shaw) has been instrumental in providing life coaching and college preparedness to the various youth he works with at Hilltoppers Academy. My son attends Harker High School in San Jose and through the

relationship of Hilltoppers Academy sponsoring a football skills camp at Harker, Coach Shaw has provided some of those positive life lessons to my son, and our relationship has grown from there.” - Deryk Clark

THIS IS BIG! We are going to the Home of the NBA Warriors to play the All-Star Game March 25th, 2018!! STACY SEYMOUR (408) 960-9416 www.stacyseymour.com

stacy.seymour@cbnorcal.com


RECIPES FOR YOU TO TRY FOR THIS YEAR’S THANKSGIVING FEAST Twice Baked Potato Casserole with Bacon Prep 15m, Cook 1h 10m, Ready In 1h 30m

2 large baking potatoes 1/2 Pound lean bacon 3/4 cup shredded mild cheddar cheese 1/2 cup sour cream 1/4 cup milk 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted 1 teaspoon dried chives 1/2 teaspoon salt 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder 3/4 cup shredded mild cheddar cheese 1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Grease a 9x13-inch casserole dish. 2. Poke a few holes into each potato using a toothpick. 3. Bake potatoes in the preheated oven until fully cooked, about 1 hour. Cool for about 15 minutes. 4. Place the bacon in a large skillet and cook over medium-high heat, turning occasionally, until evenly browned, about 10 minutes. Drain the bacon slices on paper towels and crumble.Cut a thin slice from one side of each potato; carefully scoop out the flesh and transfer to a bowl. Discard skins. Mix 3/4 cup Cheddar cheese, sour cream, milk, butter, chives, salt, black pepper, and garlic powder with potatoes. Spread potato mixture into the prepared casserole dish; top with 3/4 cup Cheddar cheese and crumbled bacon. 5. Bake in the preheated oven until just bubbling, 10 to 15 minutes. Cool for at least 5 minutes before serving.

Candied Yams

Prep 15m, Cook 25m, Ready In 40m

1 (29 ounce) can sweet potatoes 1/4 cup butter, cut into pieces 1/2 cup brown sugar 1 1/2 cups miniature marshmallows 1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). 2. Place sweet potatoes in a medium baking dish. Distribute butter pieces evenly over the sweet potatoes. Sprinkle with brown sugar. Layer with miniature marshmallows. 3. Bake in the preheated oven 25 minutes, or until sweet potatoes are tender and marshmallows have melted.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole Prep 30m, Cook 30m, Ready In 1h

4 cups sweet potato, cubed 1/2 cup white sugar 1/2 teaspoon salt 4 tablespoons butter, softened 1/2 cup milk 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract 1/2 cup packed brown sugar 1/3 cup all-purpose flour 1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C). Put sweet potatoes in a medium saucepan with water to cover. Cook over medium high heat until tender; drain and mash. 2. In a large bowl, mix together the sweet potatoes, white sugar, eggs, salt, butter, milk and vanilla extract. Mix until smooth. Transfer to a 9x13 inch baking dish. 3. In medium bowl, mix the brown sugar and flour. Cut in the butter until the mixture is coarse. Stir in the pecans. Sprinkle the mixture over the sweet potato mixture. 4. Bake in the preheated oven 30 minutes, or until the topping is lightly brown.


RECIPES FOR YOU TO TRY FOR THIS YEAR’S THANKSGIVING FEAST Gluten Free Thanksgiving Stuffing Prep 15m, Cook 50m, Ready In 1h 5m

1 (1 pound) loaf gluten-free bread (such as Udi’s® Millet-Chia bread) 3 tablespoons olive oil 2 onions, diced 3 stalks celery, diced 1 teaspoon chopped fresh sage 1 teaspoon dried thyme leaves 3/4 teaspoon salt ground black pepper to taste 2 cups gluten-free chicken broth 2 large eggs 1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C). Grease a 3-quart baking dish. 2. Cut bread into cubes about 3/4-inch square and spread onto a baking sheet. 3. Bake in the preheated oven until crisp, 12 to 17 minutes. 4. Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Cook and stir onions and celery in the hot oil until soft, 8 to 10 minutes. Stir sage, thyme, salt, and black pepper into the vegetables. Mix toasted bread crumbs, chicken broth, and eggs into vegetables. Spoon dressing into the prepared baking dish and cover dish. 5. Bake in the preheated oven for 30 minutes, uncover, and bake until top of dressing is crisp and lightly browned, about 10 more minutes.transfer to a 9x12 inch baking dish. 6. Bake, covered, for 45 minutes or until well set and cooked through.

Cornbread stuffing with sausage Prep 10m, Cook 1h, Ready In 1h 10m

1 pound ground sausage 2 cups chopped celery 2 large onions, chopped 5 cups crumbled cornbread 5 cups seasoned bread crumbs 2 3/4 cups chicken broth 1 1/2 teaspoons poultry seasoning 1 teaspoon sage 1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C). 2. Place sausage, celery and onions in a large, deep skillet. Cook over medium high heat until evenly brown. Drain, crumble and set aside. 3. In a large bowl combine sausage mixture with cornbread, bread crumbs, chicken broth, poultry seasoning and sage. Mix well and transfer to a 9x12 inch baking dish. 4. Bake, covered, for 45 minutes or until well set and cooked through.

Butternut Squash with Onions and Pecans 3 tablespoons butter 1 large onion, diced 2 1/4 pounds butternut squash 1 cup chopped pecans 3 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley salt and pepper to taste 1. Place pecans on an ungreased baking sheet. Toast at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 5 to 8 minutes. 2. Peel the squash, and remove the seeds. Cut into 1/2 inch cubes. There will be about 6 cups squash. 3. Melt butter or margarine in a heavy large skillet over low heat. Add onion and saute until very tender, about 15 minutes. Add squash and toss to coat. Cover. Cook until squash is tender but still holds it shape, stirring frequently, about 15 minutes. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Can be prepared 4 hours ahead. Let stand at room temperature. Rewarm over medium heat before continuing. 4. Stir in half of the pecans and half of the parsley. Transfer mixture to bowl. Sprinkle with remaining pecans and parsley. Serve.


Common Cause Gala for Good Cont

t n e m e v o r p m I e Hom inting a P & n a m y d Han

Madison Nguyen, Executive Director at Hunger at Home, states “In addition to our daily operation of collecting excess food and surplus items from our business donors and delivering to our nonprofit partners who serve those in need, we have been taking an active role in helping with community emergencies. On February 22nd, we all watched as one of the worst floods in San Jose’s History swept through some of our poorest neighborhoods. As American Red ross staff and volunteers worked around the clock to place impacted families in rescue shelters, Hunger at Home collaborated with our nonprofit partners such as HomeFirst, The Salvation Army, and

Free Estimates (408) 646 - 8907 • Dry Rot Wood Repairs • Carpentry & Stucco • Fence Repairs • Sheet Rock & Texture • Painting & Match Touch-ups • 25 Years Experience

Y 10 Z

Martha’s Kitchen to provide food and needed items for hundreds of families. Additionally, with the help of our business partners, Hunger at Home provided food on an “as needed” basis

for volunteers. It was exhilarating to participate in the amazing joint effort of businesses and nonprofits to provide immediate assistance to flood victims and volunteers with food


Common Cause

delivery, monetary donations, distribution of household items and other generous gifts. So successful in fact were our efforts in helping flood victims that we were able to successfully replicate our approach in helping the victims of Oakland’s Ghost Fire with similar aid. Lets bridge the gap between where the food is and where it needs to go. “The incredible support and enthusiasm we have

received from colleagues and partners have been overwhelming. In the past 20 months, Hunger at Home has already donated over 2 million meals. The surplus that is donated to these charities lessens that financial burden for them and so they can focus on casework and permanent housing. I am so thankful for everyone who has helped us get to this day. We believe the vision Hunger at Home belongs in every

city in need. This is just the beginning.” - Ewell Sterner, Hunger at Home President Co-Founder

South Valley Review is on the hunt for sales staff! If you are interested, please contact Us at editor@

southvalleyreview.com!

Awarded Best Mortgage Broker 2016

Rainbow Funding & Realty • 1% Down * • Conventional Financing 30 year, 20 year, & 10 year • Reverse Mortgage • Cash out refinance • FHA, VA, USDA, ARM • Investments, multi-unit loans

(800) 782 - LOAN www.rainbowfunding.com Conditions apply

Y 11 Z

Call today!

NMLS 340458 BRE 206510215


EVENTS The Flamenco Society - Christas Juerga Saturday December 9, 2017 at 7:00 PM. Historic Hoover Theatre 1635 Park Avenue San Jose, CA 95126 The admission charge for this event is only $25 general, $20 for students/senior citizen and $15 for Children The Flamenco Society of San Jose will host “Christmas Juerga” (Flamenco Jam Session) with musical arrangements composed of dance, song, guitar, and percussion. This is a performance of traditional Flamenco festival style with a Christmas spirit. Showcasing a great cast of flamenco artists; Koko de la Isla, Flamenco Dance Company and a special guest appearance by the Flamenco Society Dance Academy. This promises to be a very special event. Feel the passion, power and emotion of flamenco with a flamenco intimate setting. Come see and hear the wonderful singing and beautiful dance of great artists.

(408) 264 - 7500

BHPrinting.com

Blossom Hill Printing Company

Quality • Service • Graphic Design Banners • Magnetics • Forms • Brochures Business Cards • Specialty Items • And More Blossom Hill Printing Company is all about creating exactly what you want, customized to fit your needs, at really low prices. We pride ourselves on our commitment to quality and the best service anywhere. We are a full service commercial print design & brokerage serving South Bay Area businesses for over 42 years. What can we deliver for you?

Y 12 Z

Sports Brief WESTMONT WARRIORS hosted SANTA TERESA SAINTS Thursday, Nov 9 Santa Teresa scored first.  Westmont was able to take the lead in the 3rd quarter and hold that lead through to the end. Westmont won. 38-27 Final Score  


Worship Directory Santa Teresa Hills Presbyterian Church 5370 Snell Ave, San Jose, CA 95123 (2 blocks north of Blossom Hill Rd on Snell) (408) 629-5906 Email: santateresahills@gmail.com

We are a friendly, progressive, multicultural church striving to understand and apply the teachings of Jesus Christ. All are welcome!! Come visit us and participate in opportunities for spiritual growth, fellowship, and community outreach. We can pursue our faith journeys together! Sunday services are at 10:00AM with children’s Sunday school and nursery care available on site. Handicapped and hearing impaired services available. Visit our website for sample sermons, photos and a lot more information www.sthpc.org We look forward to meeting you!!

First Congregational Church of San Jose United Church of Christ 1980 Hamilton Ave., San Jose, CA 95125 (At the corner of Hamilton and Leigh) (408) 377-7121 www.firstccsj.org

We are a progressive, Open and Affirming, welcoming congregation of faithful people who seek to wrestle with scripture, and live out our faith, in the real world. We are far from perfect, but we try to offer as wide a welcome as possible, and invite you to join us on the community path, wherever it takes us. We offer lively, multi-generational worship on Sunday mornings at 10:00 AM (nursery care provided). We have regular educational programs for all ages, children through adults, and a variety of groups and offerings for spiritual development and service. Come check us out and find a community for the journey.

To showcase your listing in our Worship Directory or if you have any questions, please email editor@southvalleyreveiw.com.


Give Thanks A Moment With God By Dave Faris

About 4 years ago, I had a battle with Prostate Cancer. I went through prostate surgery for radioactive gold seed implants. The seeds are active for only about 3 to 4 weeks, and then 8 weeks, 5 days a week of focused radiation. All the time I was on huge amounts of anti testosterone meds. Testosterone feeds prostate cancer, that’s why we men get it. The meds, the radiation, diet change, are all designed to kill Prostate cancer cells. About 9 months after these procedures were done, my PSA score had dropped from a 57 (dangerously high) to a 0.1. The doctors wanted the score to be below 1, so they were very pleased. But! Fast forward 3 years later. My Pastor, Derek, and I went to help someone move into his apartment and I almost immediately tried to move something big and stubborn. I Heard a pop and felt something go really wrong in my upper back. Two weeks later, the Doctors finally determined I had a compression fracture at my T7 and T8 vertebra, caused by prostate cancer attacking the bone and weakening it. That area happens to be the most used part of our backs. Almost every upper body movement involves T 6-7-8. My PSA count had

gone back up to 10. The good news is that it was caught early. It was like God had taken a 2 x 4 and lacked me along side the head. I was in extremely excruciating pain like I have never experienced before. My Doctor put me on 10mg Oxycodine pills every 5 hours. I was mostly on my back (God bless Temperpedic) and taking the pills for about 6 months. The side affects of the Oxycodine started to get bad quickly. I had a lack of focus, which made it hard to run my business from my home office 2 to 3 hours per day, and increasingly horrific constipation. My pain levels had been dropping very gradually over the last couple of months, so I decided (without calling my Doctor) to see if I could stand spacing out my pain meds. I really didn’t know that the Oxycodine pills were almost pure cocaine. OOPS! I went from every 5 hours to every 6 for a day. No problem. Every 8 still good. Then 10 for a day and 12 hour apart. Still doing fine. I was handling the extra pain ok. That’s when I decided to get off the pain meds entirely. Sounds reasonable - right? Not so much! The last pill was at 4pm. Next morning I woke up at around 10am (18 hours later) coming out of what I can only

describe as 3 overlapping terrifying nightmares at the same time. I woke up in a TOTAL Panic. My mind was in total confusion, I was panting like a dog because it felt like I could not get enough air into my lungs. My eyes had trouble focusing and nothing in the room was stable. I started to bawl like a little child. I was so scared. All I wanted was my wife to come home and just hold me. I thought that if I turned on the TV I could find something to help keep my mind distracted. I had lost control and was freaking out. I scanned the channels. Mostly all daytime junk, but I flipped (by shear accident) to a Christian channel that just happened to have a program just starting. The host was introducing his guest who was (just by accident) a Messianic Jewish teacher who was, (just by accident) teaching how the Jewish Testament (our Old Testament) is the foundation of the Christian Church. By the way, a Messianic Jew is a Jewish person who has accepted Jesus, his Yeshua ( He saves, delivers, rescues) HaMashiach (The Anointed one), as his Lord and Savior. He was teaching on the very close connection between King David’s 23rd Psalm and the New Testament’s Lord’s Prayer. Matthew 6:9-13. Both show very plainly the sovereignty

Y 14 Z

and Holiness of God and His commitment to His provision, His forgiveness, His protection, and His love. All of this and more, His contract with His creation that guaranties His help to help all of humanity but especially those who belong to Him. I have studied and taught through both of these a number of times. I love the connection between the Old & New Testaments. And although the mental confusion, the panic, the panting and bawling were still there, the teacher’s words (God’s words) were still getting through and I was excited to have tuned into the program. Then he said something that really hit home. That all 4 Gospels (Matthew, Mark, Luke & John) record that Jesus healed all who came to Him. Not just fellow Jews, not just his followers, but ALL who come to Him. I realized in my confusion that I had not even thought about asking for help. I needed to ask. I was on my back & couldn’t get out of bed to get on my knees, so I reached straight up with my left hand and closed my fist like I was grabbing someones hand. I started

saying “Help me Lord, please help me”. I don’t know how long I did that, and it may have been something the teacher said, but after a while I started saying “Thank You, Thank You”. Again, I don’t know how long I did that for, but after a while, I lowered my hand down and opened my eyes. The room was stable, the panting was gone, and my mind was clear. I was still bawling like a little baby but this time it was because I was so excited that God had actually reached down and physically touched me. WOW!! Me.. David Faris! Touched me! The withdrawal symptoms never returned, even a little bit. Totally mind blowing!. The experience was so personal, so beautiful, it has changed me. I could tell that the back wasn’t healed, but I still lied there saying “It is done”.


Whatever God wanted to do for me is done. Thank You Jesus. Have not had one of those nasty pain meds since. The back has been getting stronger, less problems ever since. I can feel it’s better and stronger each week. Is that a Thank You Lord, AMEN or what? Originally the Doctors had me scheduled for back/spine re-build surgery. Very dangerous. But the Doctors were seeing such a good healing and the dropping of pain levels, they took the surgery off the table saying what little help a re-build might be. It wasn’t worth the risk. Yeah. So! Here is what I’m sure of. God knows each one of us personally. He Loves each one of us because He created each one of us as a one of a kind son or daughter. Perfectly unique for a reason. We live in an age where forensics can tell each one of us apart from all the other 8 billion or so other humans on this rock called earth. The common tests are finger prints, retinal scans, thermo brain scans, DNA and the list is still growing. But why?? God created you and I perfectly unique because He wants each one of us in his family... Forever. As a father and grandfather, I know each of my kids are unique individuals. And I want the very best for them. I’m willing to invest time, resources, and any wisdom I have because I love them. I’m imperfect, but God is perfect and His love is perfect, soooo much better at it than any one else.

Give Thanks

So if He knows each one of us, can touch any one He wishes, and heals all who come to Him: What is our part? Obviously we need to approach God (i.e. Jesus). The Word says in Matthew 7:7-8 “Ask and it will be given to you. Seek and you will find. Knock and the door will be opened to you, For every one who asks receives, he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks, the door WILL be opened”. God put a plan in place for every one of us so he could adopt us into His personal family. Why? Because he loves each one of us so much. I have accepted Jesus Christ as my Lord an Savior. He has made me a son of God. Jesus is my older brother, my Lord, my all & all. He proved His love for me and mine over and over again and again. And I’m so thankful for all He has done. And this touch by Him I have just shared is so very personal, so inspirational, so overwhelming, that I feel different. All I wanted was my wife to come home and hold me. She couldn’t and didn’t even know, but God did, and he wrapped me in his arms and let his Love pour into me, and I know Him. I know Him, Amen & Amen. Take this moment to let God into your life so He can wrap you and yours up in His love. Do it today. Jesus has the door open, His invitation is open to all. Jesus is waiting for you to knock so He has permission to wrap you up in His arms and welcome you into His family, forever!

We have a mens Bible study on Thursdays from 8 pm to 9 pm and then some open pool table time. Snacks will be served

Ask about our 3.5% Total Commission!!! Kids are back to school and it is a great time to list your home!!!

Tom Merigan Realtor/Altas Realty

Office: (408) 559 - 1069 Cell: (408) 329 - 3150 Email: tmerigan@yahoo.com BRE# 01319061

Tom is your 95123 Area Specialist!!

For more information or if you have any questions: dave@bhprinting.com Cell # 408-687-7761 Y 15 Z


THE

GOSS

REAL

E S TAT E

GROUP

FOR SALE

FOR SALE

PRESENTS

FOR SALE

627 Morse Street, Rose Garden

1680 Grace Avenue, Willow Glen

20665 View Oaks Way, Almaden Valley

5 Bedrooms | 3 Baths | 4,851 SF | $2,698,500

4 Bedrooms | 3 Baths | 3,142 SF | $2,100,000

5 Bedrooms | 5 Baths | 5,002 SF | $2,799,000

NOW IS THE RIGHT TIME TO SELL! Inventories are at historic lows! CALL US TODAY to find out your home’s new value!

COMING SOON

16185 LOS GATOS BLVD, SUITE 205 LOS GATOS, CA 95032 CalBRE #01526679

3/2-1,209 SF Cambrian Townhome $725,000 3/1-1,441 SF Willow Glen Single Family $995,000

EACH OFFICE IS INDEPENDENTLY OWNED AND OPERATED

THINKING OF SELLING YOUR HOME? Call me today at (408) 234-0417 or go online to

www.DougsHomeValues.com

I Don’t Just List Homes...I Sell Them!

for a quick, no hassle online home valuation!

FOR SALE

FOR SALE

FOR SALE

1578 Robsheal Drive, Willow Glen

811 Colleen Drive, Blossom Valley

2175 Pettigrew Drive, Evergreen

3 Bedrooms | 3.5 Baths | 2,813 SF | $2,099,888

4 Bedrooms | 2.5 Baths | 2,124 SF | $1,050,000

3 Bedrooms | 2.5 Baths | 1,494 SF | $838,888

DOUG GOSS

BROKER ASSOCIATE CRS,CRP,GRI,ABR 408-267-4663 DGOSS@KW.COM CalBRE #01182111

LOS GATOS OFFICE

16185 LOS GATOS BLVD., SUITE 105 LOS GATOS, CA 95032

ALMADEN VALLEY OFFICE

TheGossRealEstateGroup.com

5671 SANTA TERESA BLVD., SUITE 103 SAN JOSE, CA 95123 CalBRE #01526679

Profile for The Bay Area Review

The Bay Area Review November 17, 2017  

The Bay Area Review, formerly South Valley Review Volume 1, Number 19

The Bay Area Review November 17, 2017  

The Bay Area Review, formerly South Valley Review Volume 1, Number 19