__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

South Valley Review

VOL. 2, NO. 9

June 22, 2018

Better at knowing what matters to you. Selfless Service

Page # 4 Los Gatos Events

Page # 8

Zurich Pride Festival By Pearl Baeni

Page # 14 Nathan Ganeshan, Founder & President recieving the Non-Profit of the Year Award from Ash Kalra

In brief, Community Seva Inc., is a US registered 501 (c) (3) organization, founded and incorporated in California. We are an official certifying organization for the U.S. President’s Volunteer Services Award Program. “Seva” in Sanskrit simply means “selfless service.” Our mission is to serve and feed the homeless in our community. We have served, so far, 55,000 meals as well as distributed thousands of blankets, winter backpacks, and hygiene kits. We are a completely volunteer driven organization with a team of 1500+ volunteers. Our organization is very transparent and obtained “Seal of Transparency-Gold” from GuideStar and we are awarded

Continued on Page 6 Y1Z

District 2 News

SVR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95119 95123 95124 95125 95032 95008 95126 95128 *COMING SOON* 95037 95051


When...Where Stanford Live Goes Outdoors This Summer

SVR South Valley Review 2059 Camden Avenue Suite 219 San Jose, CA, 95124 (408) 898 - 7534 Minority Owned Business President: Richard Pugh Richard@southvalleyreview.com Publisher: Brigitte Jones Brigitte@southvalleyreview.com Executive Editor: Sonya Ruffin Editor@southvalleyreview.com Operations/Accounting: Dorothy Pugh Accounting@southvalleyreview.com Graphic Design Director: Amanda Faris Graphics@southvalleyreview.com Assistant to Publisher: Kal-el R. Pugh Editor at Large: Pearl Baeni

SVR welcomes letters to the Editor Please limit content to 200 words or less. Submissions are subject to scrutiny for content and grammar but all effort will be made to retain intended meaning of such letters. Anonymous letters will not be printed. Articles so published reflect the views of the authors - not necessarily those of South Valley Review. All submissions become the property of B & R Media Group, Inc. and cannot be acknowledged.

Series includes a return by Classic Albums Live and the Merola Opera Program, co-presentations with the Stanford Jazz Festival, HBO star Lucia Micarelli and KQED Silicon Valley Conversations After the success of last year’s Woodstock concert with Classic Albums Live, Stanford Live returns this summer with more outdoor performances in anticipation of the re-opening of Stanford’s Frost Amphitheater in 2019. Audiences are invited to pack a blanket, come early and soak up the summer sun. “Our summer lineup offers a tip of the hat to a few of next year’s programs,” says Stanford Live Executive Director Chris Lorway. “Classic Albums Live returns to the lawn outside the Bing with music by artists who have played Frost to whet the appetite for its re-opening next summer.” Known for their faithful note-for-note re-creations, Classic Albums Live will offer two nights of rock favorites: Fleetwood Mac’s Rumours on July 20 and Creedence Clearwater Revival’s Chronicle Volume 1 on July 21. Stanford Live kicks off its outdoor concert series the previous weekend, on July 13, with a copresentation by Stanford Jazz Festival entitled Jazz on the Green: Miles to Hip-Hop. Three bands

will perform including the Miles Electric Band, several of whose personnel performed with Miles Davis during his electric period; Kev Choice, a musician, emcee and hip-hop artist; and Sidewalk Chalk, a horndriven unit that blends elements of jazz, funk, hip-hop and R&B. The next night, July 14, Grammy Award-winning rapper Mala Rodríguez and Mexican electronica band Sotomayor take the stage for Musica en el Jardin: Latinas Take Over!— an evening of Latin hip-hop and dance. Then on July 15, indie family music all-star Justin Roberts and his Not Ready for Naptime Players dish out intelligent and whimsically rocking music for kids and their parents. As for the indoor shows, Stanford Live

Y2Z

welcomes Lucia Micarelli to the Bing stage on July 8. The young violinist, whose influences range from classical and jazz to traditional fiddle music and Americana, is best known for her collaborations with Chris Botti and her role in the HBO series Treme. Also that weekend, San Francisco’s acclaimed Merola Opera Program returns with another Schwabacher Summer Concert. The evening will feature young artists performing staged scenes from Samuel Barber’s Vanessa, Puccini’s Il tabarro, Bizet’s The Pearl Fishers and Mozart’s Don Giovanni with full orchestra. Stanford Live teams up with the Stanford Jazz Festival again with four additional shows at the Bing. The festival opens June 23 with

Grammy-nominated saxophone master Joshua Redman and his quartet on the mainstage. Also in the lineup are the Or Bareket Duo (July 1) and Terrence Brewer Acoustic Jazz Quartet (July 27) in the Bing Studio and Andrea Motis Quintet with Wycliffe Gordon and the Stanford Jazz Workshop 50/50 Jazz Orchestra (August 4) on the mainstage. On July 19, discover how A.I. and machine learning technologies are creating radical new possibilities for music making in the 21st century and beyond with KQED Silicon Valley Conversations at the Bing. Hosted by Tonya Mosley, KQED’s Silicon Valley Bureau Chief, this evening of conversation and performance will feature classicallytrained composer Amy X Neuberg, Doug Eck, a research scientist working on Google’s Magenta project, and Stanford associate professor of music Ge Wang, director of the Stanford Laptop Orchestra. In addition, as part of its annual summer seminar, Stanford’s prized St. Lawrence String Quartet is joined by internationally renowned artists for a celebration of chamber music with four free concerts at the Bing on June 25, 27, 29 and 30.


LIBRARY TOURS Discover the hidden treasures of the

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Library

Level Babel - Lower

Fiction/Fic

tion - First Floor

Owl of Minerva - Seventh Floor

FREE DROP-IN TOURS AVAILABLE Thursdays • 11:30 a.m. Groups of 10+ should register in advance by visiting: sjpl.org/Tours Become a Library Tour Guide: sjpl.org/Volunteer


Los Gatos Events June 28th at Hotel Los Gatos.

Y4Z


Bill to Restrict Gun Possession for People at Risk of Harming Themselves or Others Passes Assembly Assemblymember Evan Low’s (D-Silicon Valley) legislation to restrict firearm possession among people admitted under multiple 5150 holds, an involuntary psychiatric hold for individuals at risk of harming themselves or others, passed the Assembly yesterday by a bipartisan vote of 64-1. AB 1968 would remove the firearms of someone who has been placed on a 5150 hold twice in one year and prohibits the admitting facility from filling out the petition form on the individual’s behalf. The individual could still petition the court for a hearing to have his or her

guns returned. “People at risk of harming themselves or others should not have easy access to firearms,” said Assemblymember Low. “AB 1968 tightens our laws to keep firearms out of the hands of people who may be suicidal or violent. Restricting their access to firearms will save lives.”  A 5150 hold is named after the section of the California Welfare and Institutions code that authorizes people who are deemed to be a danger to themselves or others to be placed on an involuntary psychiatric hold for 72 hours.  Under current law,

people who are admitted under one 5150 hold have their firearms taken away for five years but the law allows for them to petition the court for a hearing to have their guns returned. Anecdotal evidence indicates that some mental health institutions fill out the petition on behalf of the individual upon release. Under current law, hearings must take place within 30 days of the petition’s submission, which is often not enough time to obtain the necessary medical and psychiatric records and prepare for the hearing. Assembly Bill 1968 indefinitely removes the firearms of an individual

who has been placed on a 5150 hold twice in one year, with the option to petition the court every five years for a hearing to have them returned. The admitting facility would be prohibited from filling out the petition form on the individual’s behalf, and the petition would include an authorization for the release of the person’s mental health records to the appropriate district attorney. The hearing would take place within 60 days of receipt. The bill is supported by the California District Attorneys Association, the California Association of Psychiatric Technicians, the California Federation

of Teachers, the California Psychological Association, the California State Sheriffs Association, the Santa Barbara Chapter of the Coalition Against Gun Violence, and the Police Officers Research Association of California (PORAC). The 5150 statute deals particularly with people having acute mental health episodes and allows the state to evaluate the individual in question. In addition, according to the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention mental health afflictions are a leading contributor to suicide, and 51% of suicides are committed with firearms.

Place Your Ad Here! Email South Valley Review at advertising@southvalleyreview.com Promote Your business with Us! Y5Z


Serving Well Selfless Service Cont’ “2017-Top Rated Nonprofit” by GreatNonprofits. We have secured a Commercial Kitchen working with City of San Jose and Parks & Recreation department of San Jose. We recently held our opening Ceremony on June 2nd. Congratulations Community Seva Inc. for your great achievement. Keep up the good work! - From Your Neighbors at South Valley Review

20% Blossom Hill First Your Ord Printing Company er!

Home. Cooked.

GOODNESS The taste of togetherness.

Save 75%* on Omaha Steaks

For more information visit BHPrinting.com or email dave@BHPrinting.com Blossom Hill Printing Company is all about creating exactly what you want, customized to fit your needs, at really low prices. We pride ourselves on our commitment to quality and the best service anywhere. We are a full service commercial print design & brokerage serving South Bay Area businesses for over 42 years.

Business Cards • Folders • Fliers Catalogs • Product Sheets Brochures • Forms • Labels Specialty Items • And More Y6Z

The Family Gourmet Buffet 2 (5 oz.) Filet Mignons 2 (5 oz.) Top Sirloins 2 (4 oz.) Boneless Pork Chops 4 Boneless Chicken Breasts (1 lb. pkg.) 4 (3 oz.) Kielbasa Sausages 4 (4 oz.) Omaha Steaks Burgers 4 (3 oz.) Potatoes au Gratin 4 (4 oz.) Caramel Apple Tartlets OS Seasoning Packet (.33 oz.) 51689FLA $ $199.90* separately Combo Price

Plus, get 4 more Burgers and 4 more Kielbasa

FREE!

4999

*Savings shown over aggregated single item base price. Limit 2 51689 pkgs. Your 4 free burgers and 4 free kielbasa will be sent to each shipping address that includes 51689. Standard S&H will be added per address. Flat rate shipping and reward cards and codes cannot be used with this offer. Not valid with other offers. Expires 7/31/18. All purchases acknowledge acceptance of Omaha Steaks, Inc. Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. Visit omahasteaks.com/terms-of-useOSI and omahasteaks.com/info/ privacy-policy or call 1-800-228-9872 for a copy. ©2018 OCG | Omaha Steaks, Inc. | 18M0094

1-866-778-0901 ask for 51689FLA www.OmahaSteaks.com/like82


ATTENTION RETIREES

French up

Your Summer

It’s not too late to register

Alliance Française A bientôt! 11 week French classes @ the Willow Glen Community Center, starting the week of July 2018 12 students per class max. Call 305-877-2938 Shivani.Sharma@afscv.org to reserve your spot. Registration & more information at www.afscv.org

MEDICARE RECIPIENTS

FREE

LUNCH Join us for this informative event regarding potential gaps in your Medicare or Insurance coverage. For retirees or those age 60 and up attending, RESERVE EARLY! (Space Limited) 888-614-4217 or visit www.masaseminars.com BY MASA MTS AT THE FOLLOWING LOCATION:

Mandarin Gourmet Restaurant

5560 Santa Teresa Blvd, San Jose, CA 95123

Wednesday June 27th

Starts at 11:30 AM

Thursday June 28th

Starts at 11:30 AM

Reserve Early (Space Limited)

(888) 614-4217

Mark your calendar and join us for this brief, important discussion followed by the lunch. MASA Members also welcome to attend.

Discover the MASA MTS Peace of Mind Since 1974 with millions of members MASA provides full service for: • Ground Ambulance To & Between hospitals

• Minor Children/Grandchildren Return

• Helicopter Ambulance To & Between hospitals • Fixed Wing Air Ambulance Between hospitals

• Return Transport Home • Spouse/Companion Transport

• Vehicle Returned to Your Home • Mortal Remains Transport

• Transports to Specialized Care In Case Of Emergency

...And More

Any Ground. Any Air. Anywhere. AT HOME OR AWAY FROM HOME | WORLD WIDE COVERAGE | NO DEDUCTIBLES OR CLAIM FORMS | NO HEALTH QUESTIONS TO JOIN


Have Pride Zurich Pride Festival Special Assignment : Pearl Baeni, Editor at Large

Gay Pride Week In Zurich June 8th - 16th Pride week in Zurich kicked off to a festive start. Zurich is the home of the most liberal and accepting of people whom most society and religions consider not the norm. On the 10th of June events kicked off with a peaceful demonstration. The path the parade takes is unique, it passes Political offices, through neighborhoods and businesses even on the world famous Banhofstrasse. This is to make their presence felt by those who are still homophobic , this is their choice and they are proud of it. In the old town in Zurich (Niederdorf) is the Oldest LGBT Bar. (Barfüsser) in the entirety Europe In the land of Neutrality, it is still forbidden to adopt children if you are a gay couple, but they working on it. The Swiss believe in talking things over first and that could take awhile. Participants come from all over Europe to this event. The costumes are very colourful and creative. The theme NO FEAR TO BE YOU. Seeking rights for LGBT refugees as well as political asylum. This event is 23 years old, it started back in 2009 and this year record numbers attended. There was also an after party where you could dance your shoes off! Photos Courtesy of Pearl Baeni.

BOOK YOUR VACATION NOW – CALL FOR LIMITED TIME SAVINGS upto 2 FOR 1 Ultimate Hawaii Save $ New England & SAVINGS 900

Canadian Maritimes Cruise

15 days from $3,798* $1,899*

Departs September 11 & 25, 2018

Starting in Boston, explore the highlights of New England and the Canadian Maritimes. Visit an historic mansion in Newport, Rhode Island before enjoying the famous shores of Cape Cod. Board the Norwegian Dawn and sail to Portland, Halifax, Charlottetown, Gaspésie and La Baie. Following your cruise, explore Quebec City, Montreal and the Green Mountains of Vermont, all bedecked in vibrant fall colors. Port stops vary for the southbound cruise.

OR

Tour with Pearl Harbor Experience

per couple

13 days from $2,249* $1,799*

Departs weekly year-round

Enjoy a fully-escorted four island Hawaiian vacation with beachfront lodging on Kauai, Maui, and the “Big Island” of Hawaii, and in gorgeous Waikiki on Oahu. Includes a Pearl Harbor experience with stops at the USS Arizona Memorial and Battleship Missouri, historic Lahaina, Volcanoes National Park, plus our Farewell Feast with authentic Hawaiian entertainment and food. Price includes three interisland flights, baggage handling, and sightseeing.

FREE BEVERAGE PACKAGE OR INTERNET

YMT Vacations – the escorted tour experts since 1967! TM

Promo code N7017

1-877-818-2936

*Prices are per person based on double occupancy plus up to $299 taxes & fees. Cruise pricing based on lowest cabin category after 2for1 savings; upgrades available. Single supplement and seasonal surcharges may apply. Add-on airfare available. Free Beverage Package or Internet requires purchase of Ocean View Cabin or Balcony Cabin (and applies to 1st and 2nd guests occupying a cabin, for the cruise portion of the tour only). Free Beverage Package or Internet requires additional service charges and is subject to NCL terms & conditions and are subject to change. For full Set Sail terms and conditions ask your Travel Consultant. Offers apply to new bookings only, made by 7/31/18. Other terms and conditions may apply. Ask your Travel Consultant for details.

Y8Z


Have Pride

Y9Z


Worship Directory Santa Teresa Hills Presbyterian Church

Hillside Church San Jose

We are a friendly, progressive, multicultural church striving to understand and apply the teachings of Jesus Christ. All are welcome!! Come visit us and participate in opportunities for spiritual growth, fellowship, and community outreach. We can pursue our faith journeys together! Sunday services are at 10:00AM with children’s Sunday school and nursery care available on site. Handicapped and hearing impaired services available. Visit our website for sample sermons, photos and a lot more information www.sthpc.org We look forward to meeting you!!

At Hillside Church, we take God and His Word seriously. We are a growing congregation of friendly people who are taking the hope of the Gospel to a world that desperately needs it. Join us in our mission to change this world one soul at a time. Our Sunday services are at 9:00 AM (acoustic/quiet) and 10:45 AM (more high energy). Make a difference in the live of people in our community. Help us as we point others to Jesus Christ, teaching them to live for Him. Visit our website, listen online, or join us this Sunday!

5370 Snell Ave, San Jose, CA 95123 (2 blocks north of Blossom Hill Rd on Snell) (408) 629-5906 Email: santateresahills@gmail.com

545 Hillsdale Avenue San Jose, CA 95136 (408) 269-4782 www.hillside.org

First Congregational Church of San Jose United Church of Christ 1980 Hamilton Ave., San Jose, CA 95125 (At the corner of Hamilton and Leigh) (408) 377-7121 www.firstccsj.org

We are a progressive, Open and Affirming, welcoming congregation of faithful people who seek to wrestle with scripture, and live out our faith, in the real world. We are far from perfect, but we try to offer as wide a welcome as possible, and invite you to join us on the community path, wherever it takes us. We offer lively, multi-generational worship on Sunday mornings at 10:00 AM (nursery care provided). We have regular educational programs for all ages, children through adults, and a variety of groups and offerings for spiritual development and service. Come check us out and find a community for the journey.

Advertise Your place of Worship with the South Valley Review! Contact us at advertising@southvalleyreveiw.com.


Andy Nguyen Special Assignment YWCA Silicon Valley’s Walk A Mile In Her Shoes


Home Sweet Home

Great Job, ladies, showcasing Tiny Treasures to the South Bay! Renee McLaughlin, Tiny Fest, CEO Hilari Kaczetow, Tiny Fest CA, Event Coordinator

Y 14 Z


Last Dance Rainbow Funding & Realty • 1% Down * • Conventional Financing 30 year, 20 year, & 10 year • Reverse Mortgage • Cash out refinance • FHA, VA, USDA, ARM • Investments, multi-unit loans

Last Time For Dancin’ on the Ave in Willow Glen

(800) 782 - LOAN

www.rainbowfunding.com Conditions apply

Call today!

NMLS 340458 BRE 206510215

Your Family Deserves The

BEST

Technology... Value... TV!...

America’s Top 120

190 Channels

Plus More!

CALL TODAY - SAVE 20%

Savings with 2 year price guarantee with AT120 starting at $59.99 compared to everyday price. All offers require credit qualification, 2 year commitment with early termination fee and eAutoPay. Prices include Hopper Duo for qualifying customers. Hopper, Hopper w/ Sling or Hopper 3 $5/mo. more. Upfront fees may apply based on credit qualification. Fees apply for additional TVs: Hopper $15/mo., Joey $5/mo., Super Joey $10/mo.

Add High Speed Internet

14.95 1

$

• FREE Standard Installation in up to 6 rooms

/mo.

Subject to availability. Restrictions apply. Internet not provided by DISH and will be billed separately.

Where available.

• Smart HD-DVR Included! • FREE Voice Controlled Remote

Upgrade to the Hopper® 3 Smart HD DVR • Watch and record 16 shows at once • Get built-in Netflix and YouTube • Watch TV on your mobile devices

Requires internet-connected Hopper

Hopper upgrade fee $5/mo.

CALL TODAY - SAVE 20%

1-855-399-7535 Se Habla Español

Call 7 days a week 8am - 11pm EST

Offer for new and qualifying former customers only. Important Terms and Conditions: Qualification: Advertised price requires credit qualification and eAutoPay. Upfront activation and/or receiver upgrade fees may apply based on credit qualification. Offer ends 7/11/18. 2-Year Commitment: Early termination fee of $20/mo. remaining applies if you cancel early. Included in 2-year price guarantee at $59.99 advertised price: America's Top 120 programming package, local channels, HD service fees, and Hopper Duo for 1 TV. Included in 2-year price guarantee for additional cost: Programming package upgrades ($69.99 for AT120+, $79.99 for AT200, $89.99 for AT250), monthly fees for upgraded or additional receivers ($5-$7 per additional TV, receivers with additional functionality may be $10-$15). NOT included in 2-year price guarantee or advertised price (and subject to change): Taxes & surcharges, add-on programming (including premium channels), DISH Protect, and transactional fees. Premium Channels: 3 Mos. Free: After 3 mos., you will be billed $55/mo. for HBO, Cinemax, Showtime, Starz and DISH Movie Pack unless you call to cancel. Other: All packages, programming, features, and functionality and all prices and fees not included in price lock are subject to change without notice. After 6 mos., if selected you will be billed $8.99/mo. for DISH Protect Silver unless you call to cancel. After 2 years, then-current everyday prices for all services apply. For business customers, additional monthly fees may apply. Free standard professional installation only. HBO®, Cinemax® and related channels and service marks are the property of Home Box Office, Inc. SHOWTIME is a registered trademark of Showtime Networks Inc., a CBS Company. STARZ and related channels and service marks are property of Starz Entertainment, LLC. All new customers are subject to a one-time, nonrefundable processing fee.

Y 13 Z


District 2 News City of San José 2018-2019 Budget: How I propose we invest resources in District 2 On Tuesday, June 12, the City Council approved the Mayor’s June Budget Message for Fiscal Year 2018-2019. This budget provides direction for how the City of San Jose and District 2 will allocate money in the upcoming fiscal year. Each year, Councilmembers submit funding requests for community programs and capital improvements. I am thrilled to share that my following budget priority requests were approved:  1. $1.5 million for the San José Police Department South Substation: The Mayor has agreed to allocate $1.5 million from the Essential Services Reserve for commencing the transition to a fully operational San Jose Police Department South Substation. This is a major victory for public safety in South San Jose. During the next few months, the City Manager is directed to complete an analysis to determine whether a new training facility should be purchased or leased. The City Manager will bring forward the results by Fall 2018. I have been very vocal about my desire to open the Substation for many reasons, including the fact that our community approved it -- and has been paying

for it for years -- through the 2002 Bond measure. A key step in opening the Substation is to relocate the Police Academy and Training Unit so that we can free up the Substation for its original intended use and find a more suitable location for recruits and cadets. I am happy that we are making the investments necessary to initiate a phased approach for activating the Substation. 2. $32,500 for District 2 Fire Station Improvements: In addition to securing funds to support the SJPD Substation, we will be receiving money for two of our District 2 Fire Stations. Station 35 will receive 2 new ovens, 1 refrigerator, and 4 recliners; and Station 27 will receive 4 recliners. These enhancements will contribute to a better work environment for our local firefighters. 3. $90,000 for the Downtown Streets Team (DST) Monterey Road Clean-Up: Like many residents, I know Monterey Road is a notoriously blighted stretch of road in District 2. We have committed to change this by enlisting DST to clean up Monterey Road while engaging homeless and at-risk individuals. This project

lead by DST would be a one-year agreement with them to clean-up illegal dumping, litter, and graffiti three times a week along Monterey Road from Branham Lane to Ford Road. 4. $915.00 for Signage for Identification of Wildlife Crossing on Monterey Road: Monterey Road, in particular the intersections at Metcalf Road and Bailey Avenue (a stretch approximately 1.7 miles long), are documented “hotspots’’ for roadkill. Because there is no safe wildlife crossing at these intersections, there are several wildlife deaths that are impacting traffic safety. We have dedicated funds for the installation of 4 signs leading up to Bailey Avenue to alert drivers about the wildlife crossing in the area. 5. $250,000 for Census 2020 in San José: An accurate census count is imperative in San José. $700 billion in Federal Programs and $76 billion in State Programs are on the table for local communities to benefit from. The City will hire a full-time Senior Executive Analyst and an Office Specialist to lead the census work at the City for Fiscal Year

Y 14 Z

2018-2019 and expand the work in 2020 with additional contract support and resources as needed to meet key milestones. While I am certainly excited to share with you our successes this budget season, there were three proposals I pushed for that unfortunately did not make it into the final budget. I will continue working hard to create more funding for community engagement, senior transportation, other district improvements.   1. District 2 Movie Nights: Park activations with movie showings and energetic activities to reach our diverse population and provide a

safe place for families to play. 2. District 2 Bike Ride Share Subsidy: A 6-month pilot project to provide free dockless ride share bikes to District 2 residents and visitors. 3. Driver for Southside Community Center: A driver to transport seniors to social activities, community events, and open space around the Southside Community Center. Thank you for your continued engagement through this and other City processes. Your voices are important to all of us here at City Hall, and we highly value the input you have given us.


District 2 News Transforming D2 Parks by Bringing Free, Fun & Safe Activities to the Community All Summer Long We are rolling, bouncing, playing, and running around District 2 parks, and everyone is invited! At our District 2 Viva Parks events, we are embracing the meaning of summer fun and transforming our local community. Viva Parks provide free food, games, entertainment, and resources at local parks on 9 different weekday evenings from June - August 2018. View our flyer for exact dates, times, and locations.

Join your neighbors for great company and activities, including: Inflatable Obstacle Course, Bike Track, Zorb games, Dart Soccer, Sumo Suits, Extreme Air, Arts & Crafts, and more! I would like to thank the Parks, Recreation and Neighborhood Services Department, our sponsors Astrid Tromp and Amanda Newlove, and community leaders who make it possible for neighbors to gather in a safe and fun space.

Artistic Achievements

Hannah Cho, a talented Santa Teresa High School senior, was one of 20 San JosÊ students selected for the 2018 Downtown Doors exhibition to have their art added to the downtown landscape. We were so proud to join the reception honoring her work and then finding it on a Digital Realty Downtown Door! Congratulations to all winners, who received funding for their schools’ art program!

Y 15 Z


June 1 - July 31

Get Smarter

at your library!

Read to LEARN and WIN prizes. Plus, attend 100s of FREE events.

Get started June 1 Open to all ages.

Profile for The Bay Area Review

The Bay Area Review June 22, 2018  

The Bay Area Review, formerly South Valley Review Volume 2, Number 9

The Bay Area Review June 22, 2018  

The Bay Area Review, formerly South Valley Review Volume 2, Number 9