__MAIN_TEXT__
feature-image

Page 1

Volume 3 • Issue 1

January 8, 2021

San Jose Mayor Calls for Trump to be Tried for Sedition Today, San Jose Mayor Sam Liccardo released the following statement in reaction to the violent mob storming the U.S. Capitol building in Washington D.C. during the Electoral College ballot count: “For this atrocious, dismaying display in our Capitol Building, Donald Trump should be tried for sedition. As a former federal prosecutor, I refer our next U.S. Attorney General to 18 USC Sections 2384 & 2385. Under the Supreme Court’s holding in Nixon v. Fitzgerald, the President is not immune from criminal prosecution, and this President has violated Section 2384 of Title 18 of the United States Code by publicly inciting the use of unlawful means to undermine the will of the electorate. This is a nation of laws, and no person is above that law.

Goodbye 2020! Hello 2021! Volume 2 • Issue 6

March 28, 2020

Governor Newsom and Mayor Liccardo to Tour Bloom Energy Ventilator Refurbishing Site

TBAR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95008 95032 95037 95051 95118 95119 95123 95124 95125 95126 95128

World of Pinot Noir 2020

Democracy will continue to prevail in the greatest country in the world. This is a moment for all of us--Republican, Democrat, and people of all ideologies-- to stand up for our country. The peaceful transfer of

#LoveMy Roomie See Page 20

TBAR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95008 95032 95037 95051 95118 95119 95123 95124 95125 95126 95128

power constitutes the very foundation of democratic rule, and free and fair elections comprise the most sacred democratic institution. May God bless and bring peace to our nation.”

Governor Gavin Newsom

KR Sridhar, CEO

Mayor Sam Liccardo

Getting the Facts

Governor Gavin Newsom visited the Bloom Energy ventilator refurbishing site in Sunnyvale on Saturday, March 28 with San Jose Mayor Sam Liccardo. Through a partnership with the state, the company has transformed its production facility to quickly refurbish lifesaving ventilators that the state had held in storage. The Governor and the Mayor toured the site and met with company leadership before hosting a pooled press conference. [Continued on Page 9]

Fine Gardener Time to plant!

Boyd’s Tree Service

See Page 6

See Page 8

[Continued on Page 12]

See Page 8

Our Year in Review See on page 10

Boyd’s Tree Service

Live I-5 Radio

See Page 9

See Page 6


January 8, 2021

When... Where...

Minority Owned Business

VIRTUAL EVENTS Land and People: Conversation with Dolores Huerta & Luis Valdez

Publisher: Brigitte Jones Brigitte@thebayareareview.com

In this special talk on January 26 moderated by Jose Gonzalez, Dolores Huerta and Luis Valdez will reflect on their work for social and environmental justice. The conversation is a free, virtual event offered as part of POST’s 2021 Wallace Stegner Lectures.

Graphic Design Director: Amanda McElroy Graphics@thebayareareview.com Editor at Large: Pearl Baeni Editor - public Affairs Liaison: Pamela Gustava Curry

To Join, go to https://openspacetrust.org/wsls-dolores-huerta/

Photographer: Andy Nguyen http://intramuralaffairs.wixsite.com/andyphoto

TBAR welcomes letters to the Editor Please limit content to 200 words or less. Submissions are subject to scrutiny for content and grammar but all effort will be made to retain intended meaning of such letters. Anonymous letters will not be printed. Articles so published reflect the views of the authors - not necessarily those of The Bay Area Review. All submissions become the property of Triple e Media Group, LLC and cannot be acknowledged.

January 8: Birds of Bair Island

Join this entertaining and educational webinar that will help you connect with the migrating ducks and birds of Bair Island’s baylands habitat. To Learn More/, Go to https://openspacetrust.org/event/birds-of-bair-island/

February 12: Biodiversity in the Bay Area with Mary Ellen Hannibal

The acclaimed author will discuss our region’s hotspot designation and share stories about the physical features, native species and interconnected landscapes that make our home beautiful and wild. To Learn More/, Go to https://openspacetrust.org/event/hotspot-in-a-hotspot-biodiversity-inthe-bay-area/

February 23: Erin Brockovich – The Power of Community The famed environmental activist will talk about the power of community to bring change. The conversation is part of POST’s 2021 Wallace Stegner Lectures. To Learn More/, Go to https://openspacetrust.org/wsls-erin-brockovich/


Page 4

January 8, 2021

Public Health

COVID-19 Response and Recovery

San José is under a State-mandated stayat-home order. Do your part to stop the spread of COVID-19 and protect our health care system: Stay at home as much as possible and do not gather with people outside your household. If you run essential errands or perform essential work, wear a face covering and keep six feet apart from others. Updates on City of San José Services and/or Operations • Revised County Mandatory Directive for Construction Projects: Contractors and subcontractors are required to comply with the December 16, 2020 Revised Santa Clara County Mandatory Directive for Construction Projects. The directive is available in English, Spanish, Vietnamese, Chinese, and Tagalog. Under the directive, contractors/subcontractors are responsible for submitting a jobsite-

specific social distancing protocol; providing personal protective equipment; reporting COVID-19 positive cases and complying with contact-tracing efforts; designating and supporting the work of a jobsitespecific COVID-19 supervisor; and more. Violations are subject to civil and/or criminal enforcement. For more details, visit www.bit.ly/ ConstructionGuidelines. • Parking Enforcement Resumes in Street Sweeping Zones: After a 10-month suspension, the City will start enforcing street sweeping parking restrictions again. Since November, parking compliance officers have placed over 47,000 warning flyers on vehicles parked in street sweeping zones. Vehicles in those zones have received flyers at least twice. Street sweeping is an important service that keeps fine particulates and small debris out of our

local creeks and rivers. Street sweepers may pass through an area more than once, so please keep your vehicles off the streets during the times listed on street signs. For more details, read our recent blog post: https://www. sanjoseca.gov/Home/ Components/News/ News/2159/5104. • Get Up to 35% Off Your Electricity Bill: If you are experiencing lower wages or lost your job due to COVID-19, you may qualify for a discount on your electricity bill. The California Alternate Rates for Energy Program (CARE) is a state-funded program that offers a monthly discount of 3035% on electricity and 20% on gas. The Family Electric Rate Assistance Program (FERA) is another state-funded program that offers a monthly discount of 18% on electricity for households of three or more people. Eligibility for these programs is based on current income and you may qualify even if you receive unemployment benefits. Learn more at www. sanjosecleanenergy.org/ discount-programs or call

0

833-432-2454. • Grants for Small Businesses Available: The State of California has established a grant program to help small businesses, and the applications are being accepted through January 13, 2021. Small businesses in San José can apply for California Relief Grants in $5,000, $15,000 and $25,000 amounts, to help with the costs of the COVID pandemic, help for applicants: - You can view a recording of a seminar the City hosted at https:// youtu.be/4kJFNL0k3rs, to help with applications. Free help with your application is available from the local partners listed on the fund’s website: https:// careliefgrant.com/partner/ santa-clara/. For more information, visit California Relief grants website (https:// careliefgrant.com), which contains detailed information and FAQ (https://careliefgrant. com/50440-2/). COVID-19 Testing, Tracing, and Support

Services If you need a COVID-19 test, don’t wait! A high rate of testing helps identify and stop the spread of COVID-19 cases, and is one of the factors that is helping our county reopen under the new State regulations. Some testing sites are listed below, but there are many more throughout the county. For a full list of COVID-19 testing sites in Santa Clara County, go to www.sccfreetest.org or call 2-1-1. The County offers support options for people who test positive or have been in contact with someone who is COVID-19 positive. If you need help with food, bills, or a place to stay while you isolate or quarantine, please call 408-808-7770 to learn about support services from the County of Santa Clara.

(? Bayside Pavers hardscape company -----------­ lie. #933876

Walkways & Steps Driveways Retaining Walls• Patios Pool Decks• Artificial Grass

FREE

r--------------- ,-------------------•

Demolition

and removal of your existing concrete (min. 300 sq.ft.)

$500 OFF:: Any proJ· ect

1 1 I I Must present coupon at time of bid. Cannot be combined with ott1er offers. : Expires 2/29/� 1 700 sq.ft. or more

-----------------------------------4

408.617.9337 • Accredited Contractor• BaysidePavers.com


January 8, 2021

COVID-19 Testing: Appointments Only at Fairgrounds

Page 5

Public Health

Week of January 11, Testing Available in Seven Cities in Santa Clara County

The Santa Clara County Fairgrounds site continues to be a popular and robust testing location, testing 3,000 to 5,000 people a day. However, visitors must make appointments in advance of arrival, whether they are arriving by car, bike or on foot. “Appointment-based testing helps us to accommodate the high volume of visitors at our Fairgrounds site for COVID testing,” said Dr. Marty Fenstersheib, County of Santa Clara Testing Officer. “To keep our operation running smoothly as demand continues to increase, only those who have appointments for the day can be tested, and, unfortunately, all others will be turned away.” To make an appointment, visit www. sccfreetest.org and click on Schedule an Appointment Today. Tests are also available at Pop-Up sites throughout the County, which do not require appointments.

For the week of January 11, testing opportunities will be available throughout Santa Clara County, in San José, Sunnyvale, Morgan Hill, Santa Clara, Saratoga, Milpitas and Gilroy. The County would like to remind people that hospital emergency departments are not the appropriate venue for a COVID-19 test when symptoms are not present and there is no emergency medical issue. Emergency Departments are for people who need emergency care and are currently overwhelmed. Next week, appointment-only County COVID-19 testing will be conducted at sites in San José, Sunnyvale, Morgan Hill, Santa Clara, Saratoga and Milpitas. Appointments can be made starting seven days in advance of the testing date until all slots are reserved at www.sccfreetest. org. Appointmentbased testing is also available in San José

at the Fairgrounds, with appointments available five days in advance. Testing is free at all these sites. Appointments are essential for reserving a testing slot. APPOINTMENTBASED TESTING SITES For a complete list of testing sites, please visit www.sccfreetest. org. Text message results are available at appointment-based County of Santa Clara testing facilities and an influenza test is included. San José: Santa Clara County Fairgrounds Parking Lot A (across from the blue arch) Drive-through, bike, and walk-up appointments Across the street from the Fairgrounds main entrance, 344 Tully Road, San José, CA 95111 Appointment hours: • Monday, January 11, 7 a.m. to 3 p.m. • Tuesday through Thursday, January 12 through January 14, 7 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. • Friday, January 15, 11 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. • Saturday, January 16, and Sunday, January 17, 9 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Sunnyvale: Sunnyvale Murphy Park, 260 Sunnyvale Ave., Sunnyvale 94086 Monday, January 11, 9:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. Morgan Hill: Morgan Hill Council Chamber

Building, 17555 Peak Ave., Morgan Hill 9503 Tuesday, January 12, 9:30 a.m. to 4 pm. Santa Clara: Santa Clara Central Park Library, 2635 Homestead Road, Santa Clara 95051 -Wednesday, January 13, 9:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saratoga: Saratoga Prospect Center Friendship Hall, 19848 Prospect Road, Saratoga 95070 -Thursday, January 14, 9:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. Milpitas: Milpitas Sports Center, 1325 East Calaveras Blvd., Milpitas 95035 - Friday, January 15, 9:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. In order to facilitate the testing process and reduce waiting times, staff may distribute wristbands that will correspond to specific testing time windows. When patients receive a wristband, they may be asked to return during their assigned testing window. Once all wristbands have been handed out, the testing site can no longer take additional patients for the day. The County test sites provide COVID-19 tests free of charge, regardless of immigration status, and no doctor’s note is needed. At some County test sites, people with insurance may be asked to provide their insurance information,

so that payment from the insurance company can be collected. However, patients will not be billed for any co-pay, deductible, or any other cost for testing. Those without health insurance or those who do not provide insurance information can still get a test at those sites. For people without COVID-19 symptoms, the County currently offers indoor and drivethrough sites. People with symptoms are directed to drive-through sites to reduce the chance of getting others sick. For more information on testing rights, see our Frequently Asked Questions page at https://www.sccgov.org/ sites/covid19/Pages/ order-health-officerfaq-06-15-20.aspx?mc_ cid=4fa86f0116&mc_ eid=c4fcc9a7b1. The County also collects and publishes data on testing by large healthcare systems: https://www. sccgov.org/sites/covid19/ Pages/dashboard-testing. aspx#hstesting. All test sites are mapped on the County’s website at www. sccfreetest.org. The site is available in English, Spanish, Vietnamese, Chinese, and Tagalog. Information is also available by calling 2-1-1.


Page 6

January 8, 2021

..What? Statement on State Extension of Regional Stay at Home Order in Bay Area In a statement issued by the California Department of Public Health, the State has extended its Regional Stay at Home Order, which was originally set to expire on January 8, due to the region’s ICU bed capacity remaining below 15%. All current restrictions will remain in place until the Bay Area’s four-week ICU projection shows a capacity of greater than or equal to 15%. The Bay Area’s current ICU capacity is 3%. In Santa Clara County, the current ICU Bed Capacity, including surge capacity ICU beds, is 6%. With the current surge of COVID-19 cases, deaths and hospitalizations, the County expects to be under the restrictions of this State order for some time. It is more critical than ever to stay at home, wear a mask if you must leave home for essential activities, and keep a distance from those outside your households. Follow our Twitter for updates: @HealthySCC County of Santa Clara Website: www.sccgov.org/coronavirus Public Health Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/sccpublichealth

POSTscript With creeks filling from recent rains, endangered steelhead trout are now migrating up some of our local streams to give birth to the next generation. Remarkably, many will return to the very pools they themselves were born. It’s the beginning of a new chapter. Steelhead are unique in that they depend on the entire watershed, from the shallow upstream waters where they lay their eggs to the stream’s mouth where they enter the ocean. For millennia, they have depended on our clear, cold, wild waters. Peninsula Open Space Trust will host Richard Tejeda, Founder of Saved By Nature, for an overview of the native fish we have in our local watersheds on the SF Peninsula and in the South Bay, including local salmon and trout species. An avid angler, fish conservationist and environmental educator, Richard will share the characteristics and ecology of our most common native fish species. We’ll discuss where these fish live, where they used to live, and why many of their populations have sadly deteriorated due to

historical and current-day environmental impacts. But there are also signs of hope for many of these populations. Richard will share some stories of the restoration work that is underway by a variety of great local organizations so that these important parts of our local watershed ecosystems will continue to exist into the future. Richard may also share some of his favorite local fishing stories along the way! This event is part of POST’s community event series, which is open to the general public as well as POST donors. We hope you’ll join us! We

also curate a separate series of private events for our donors. Learn how you can support POST here: openspacetrust.org/ support-post

March 5, 2021 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM PST To Register, Go to https://openspacetrust.org/event/fish-of-thepeninsula-and-the-south-bay-watersheds/


January 8, 2021

Newsom Announces $5 Billion ‘Golden State Stimulus’ with Cash and Rent Relief for Low-Income People Sunita Sohrabji | EMS Contributing Editor

California Governor Gavin Newsom announced the $5 billion ‘Golden State Stimulus’ proposal Jan. 6, with $2.4 billion in direct payments to low-income families and an additional $2.6 billion to help renters facing eviction amid the COVID-19 pandemic. Newsom also announced a possible extension of the state’s eviction moratorium — AB 3088, authored by Assembly member David Chiu, a Democrat representing San Francisco — which is set to expire Jan. 31. At least 1 million families in the state will face eviction if

Yes! WE’RE

OPEN

Business Directory

the moratorium is allowed to expire. “People are dealing with the anxiety and distress of being evicted. They are tired of fighting long lines at the local food bank. A sense of urgency is required at the moment,” said Newsom

range Sunrise Juices and Smoothies (408) 677-4144

during a press briefing. More than 4 million people who currently use the state’s Earned Income Tax Credit will receive $600 direct payments; the funds will be distributed through the EITC architecture. Newsom said he

Page 7

Golden State News is aiming to help both renters and small landlords with the stimulus proposal. The stimulus package will be tacked on to the state’s new budget, expected to be released January 8. Assembly member Eloise Reyes, a Democrat who represents portions of the Inland Empire, said at the press briefing, California’s EITC program has a “proven track record of lifting people out of poverty.” “We are addressing the inequality in our state, and

helping people pay past due rent,” she said. Jacqueline Martinez Garcel, CEO of the Latino Community Foundation, said: “This money is essential to people on the front lines who are working to feed us.” Sen. Mike McGuire, a Democrat representing Ukiah, noted that millions of California families are “on the ropes” amid the pandemic. “For some families, no matter how hard they work, it just isn’t enough.” “But relief is on the way,” he said. The press conference can be viewed here: https://bit.ly/2XeuQJp

Become a Published Author with Dorrance. We want to read your book! Trusted by authors for nearly 100 years, Dorrance has made countless authors’ dreams come true.

Complete Book Publishing Services www.intero.com

www.losgatoschamber.com

www.sanjoseca.gov

www.premieronecu.org

Contact us to be listed @ (408) 898 -7534

Our staff is made up of writers, just like you, and we are dedicated to making publishing dreams come true.

FIVE EASY STEPS TO PUBLICATION: 1. Consultation

4. Distribution

2. Book Production

5. Merchandising and Fulfillment

3. Promotion

Call now to receive your FREE Author’s Guide 844-855-6613 or www.dorranceinfo.com/bayarea


Page 8

January 8, 2021

Agent of Change

California Big City Mayors Meet with U.S. Senator-Designate Padilla Electeds congratulate California’s first Latino Senator

Yesterday, the Big City Mayors coalition, representing 13 of California’s largest cities and 11 million residents, met virtually with U.S. Senator-Designate Alex Padilla, to discuss issues such as pandemic response, housing and homelessness, economic recovery, and receiving vital federal assistance for local governments. They offered their heartfelt congratulations to Senator-Designate Padilla for his historic appointment as the first Latino senator in California history. With his decades of experience and extraordinary service to Californians, SenatorDesignate Padilla will be an appreciated partner in advocating for solutions to the most pressing issues in California cities. “I look forward to Alex Padilla’s leadership on behalf of millions of Californians who need a strong advocate in Congress to achieve greater federal engagement in supporting each of our cities tackle our multiple crises relating to the pandemic, joblessness, homelessness, affordable housing shortage, and climate change,” said San Jose Mayor Sam Liccardo, who chairs the Big City Mayors coalition. “We congratulate Senator-

Designate Padilla, and we thank him for reaching out to California’s Big City Mayors in a spirit of partnership.” The Big City Mayors is a coalition of Mayors across California’s 13 largest cities. Members include Mayors from Los Angeles, San Diego, San José, San Francisco, Fresno, Sacramento, Long Beach, Oakland, Bakersfield, Anaheim, Riverside, Santa Ana, and Stockton.

Mayor Eric Garcetti, Los Angeles “California will be well represented in the United States Senate by Alex Padilla, an Angeleno, a son of the San Fernando Valley, and an extraordinary public servant. He got his start on our City Council and he understands the immense challenges facing local governments -- and we look forward to having such a strong partner representing us in Washington D.C. and working with us to strengthen our COVID-19 response, deliver economic relief to our families, confront our housing and homelessness crisis, and build a state and country defined by justice and equity for all.” Mayor Todd Gloria, San Diego “Senator Designate

Padilla has long been a strong champion for California and I am looking forward to his partnership with California’s big cities to ensure we can take action on pressing issues like pandemic response and recovery, housing and homelessness, and investing in sustainable infrastructure. The Big City Mayors look forward to supporting the work of California’s newest Senator as we work together to bring much-needed relief and services to the families, small businesses, and communities we were elected to represent.” Mayor London Breed, San Francisco “Congratulations to Senator-Designate Alex Padilla on his appointment to the United States Senate. We have a lot of work to do to provide financial relief to local governments, help our economies recover, build more affordable housing, offer services to support our unsheltered populations, and ensure that we advance the rights of immigrants and people of color in this country that were significantly hurt over the last four years under the outgoing administration.” Mayor Jerry Dyer, Fresno “I want to congratulate

Alex Padilla, former CA Secretary of State

Senator-designate Alex Padilla on his appointment to the U.S. Senate and I look forward to working with him in the coming months and years. His appointment to the Senate comes at a time when cities like Fresno are looking to the federal government for help in securing badly needed resources to help us recover from the Covid pandemic.” Mayor Darrell Steinberg, Sacramento “Senator Padilla and I served 8 years together in the State Senate and in fact were seatmates. Alex was one of the most effective and able members I ever worked

with. On behalf of the City of Sacramento, I extend my heartfelt congratulations and look forward to continuing our work together.” Mayor Robert Garcia, Long Beach “We could not be more excited to have Senator Padilla represent us in Washington DC. He understands the COVID crisis and will ensure that our most vulnerable communities have access to housing, health care, and basic needs.” Mayor Libby Schaaf, Oakland “Alex’s story is the story of California. I’m proud to see the son of Mexican immigrants, and


January 8, 2021

Page 9

Agent of Change

Boyd’s Tree Service Landscaping Maintenance Since 1984

www.Boydstreeservice.com

boydstslm@gmail.com

Clear Away Fire Hazards Around Your House • Structural Pruning • Tree Trimming • Stump Removal We Specialize in Redwood Trees! such a devoted public servant, represent all of us in the U.S. Senate. I loved working with U.S. Senator Designate Padilla to increase voter access this year, I value our friendship, and I look forward to working with him to improve the lives of all residents, in all cities across California.” Mayor Karen Goh, Bakersfield “Along with our coalition of bipartisan mayors, I welcome the opportunity to work with Senator-Designate Padilla as he represents Californians. I appreciate his partnership to help guide our cities through the challenges of the pandemic. Together we look forward to collaborating to bring

sustainable solutions to the crisis of homelessness, housing, and the needs of local businesses and families throughout our State.” Mayor Harry Sidhu, Anaheim “As a former city council member, we welcome SenatorDesignate Padilla and the perspective he will bring representing California at the federal level. Cities are where Californians interact with government on a daily basis, and that relationship has never been as important as it is during the pandemic. Working with our federal partners, Anaheim has deployed relief assistance to keep people in their homes, feed families, and keep small businesses

alive. We look to future federal help to keep serving the basic needs of residents and to vaccinate all who call Anaheim home. We thank SenatorDesignate Padilla in advance for his advocacy on behalf of California’s cities.” Mayor Lock Dawson, Riverside “I congratulate Senator Designate Alex Padilla on his historic appointment to represent our state of California. I look forward to working with Senator Padilla as part of the Big City Mayors Group to bring critical federal funding and resources to our cities as we work towards recovering from this pandemic.” Mayor Vicente Sarmiento, Santa Ana

408-371-5040 Contractor License #665121 “I look forward to working with Senatordesignate Alex Padilla, who as the first Latino U.S. Senator from California will be an important voice for the people of Santa Ana in Washington, D.C. Together with the Big City Mayors, I will continue to advocate for issues important to our community, from housing and homelessness to improving transportation infrastructure and digital access as well as making the COVID-19 vaccine available for all of our residents as quickly as possible.” Mayor Kevin J.

Lincoln, Stockton “It is with great honor and excitement that I welcome Senator Alex Padilla into office. I am encouraged by his work as Secretary of State, and his service in the California State Senate. With decades of experience, Senator Padilla has consistently and fervently fought for working-class families, Latino and minority communities, and has been an advocate for the strengthening and reform of California public schools and universities. I am looking forward to working with Senator Padilla for the betterment of Stockton.”


Our Year in Review

Volume 2 • Issue 6

March 28, 2020

Governor Newsom and Mayor Liccardo to Tour Bloom Energy Ventilator Refurbishing Site

TBAR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95008 95032 95037 95051 95118 95119 95123 95124 95125 95126 95128

Volume 2 • Issue 8

April 26, 2020

Google Donates 49,000 Face Shields Will protect frontline COVID-19 healthcare workers throughout Silicon Valley. "We're feeling lucky," says Valley Medical Center Foundation CEO Chris Wilder

SJ Library Delivers 3D Printed Face Shields and Masks to Good Samaritan Hospital

World of Pinot Noir 2020

Governor Gavin Newsom

Mayor Sam Liccardo

KR Sridhar, CEO

Getting the Facts

Governor Gavin Newsom visited the Bloom Energy ventilator refurbishing site in Sunnyvale on Saturday, March 28 with San Jose Mayor Sam Liccardo. Through a partnership with the state, the company has transformed its production facility to quickly refurbish lifesaving ventilators that the state had held in storage. The Governor and the Mayor toured the site and met with company leadership before hosting a pooled press conference. [Continued on Page 9]

Fine Gardener Time to plant!

Boyd’s Tree Service

See Page 6

See Page 8

Responding to a national shortage of personal protective equipment (PPE) for healthcare workers, the Valley Medical Center Foundation announced today a donation of 49,000 face shields designed and assembled by teams at Google. The shields will be deployed at hospitals,

[Continued on Page 12]

See Page 8

TBAR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95008 95032 95037 95051 95118 95119 95123 95124 95125 95126 95128

clinics, skilled nursing facilities, and other high-risk environments throughout Santa Clara County during the COVID-19 crisis. “Google is stepping up in our most trying time in Santa Clara County,” said Cindy Chavez, president of the Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors. [Continued on Page 9]

Fine Gardener Time to plant!

Boyd’s Tree Service

See Page 6

See Page 8

Earlier today, the San José Public Library’s (SJPL) staff, volunteers and City Librarian Jill Bourne were joined by Mayor Sam Liccardo and District 9 Councilmember Pam Foley to officially

See Page 8

handover the donation of 3D printed face shields and masks to Good Samaritan Hospital’s CEO Joe DeSchryver and frontline staff. [Continued on Page 14]


Volume 2 • Issue 11

June 2, 2020

Black Youth Are Central Force in California George Floyd Protests

TBAR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95008 95032 95037 95051 95118 95119 95123 95124 95125 95126 95128

Antonio Ray Harvey | California Black Media

Open Mindset

By Perry Clark LMFT #110594

Protestors at the State Capitol

There are many aspects to the protests occurring in cities and towns up and down the state of California. One that stands out is the participation of young, Black people. Outspoken, courageous, and committed, these young African Americans have become, by default, the anchors in a mass movement sparked by the

brutal murder of George Floyd in Minnesota. Although they are diverse group of Black youth – by political identification, education, where they are from in the state, and more – they are all uniquely equipped to articulate and bear witness to the racial and economic injustices that a multiracial coalition of Californians have now

made their cause. “At the end of the day everybody here is united, and we all want justice for George Floyd. Period,” said Jamier Sale, 28, cofounder of Cell Block By Cell Block, a communitybased organization in Sacramento that focuses on criminal justice reform. [Continued on Page 14]

Fine Gardener Time to plant!

Boyd’s Tree Service

See Page 6

See Page 10

The presence of COVID-19 over the last few months has generated both fear and compassion in the world. It has also resulted in much change. These changes affect how we work, how we gather, and how we see ourselves. For many, these changes have exposed fear, doubt, anger, and ignorance. For others, it has brought opportunities, new skills, strength, and a sense of

[Continued on Page 7]

See Page 11

Volume 2 • Issue 21

October 28, 2020

Earthquakes, Hunger at Home Partner to Distribute Meals

TBAR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95008 95032 95037 95051 95118 95119 95123 95124 95125 95126 95128

Dinari Brown, CEO Hunger at Home, Andrew Le, Donna Le, Christian Le (oldest son), Ethan Le (youngest son), and Ewell Sterner, Founder of Hunger at Home

The San Jose Earthquakes has partnered with Hunger at Home to help feed those in need here in Silicon Valley. Hunger at Home is a leader in food collection and distribution, working with local convention centers, hotels, and sports stadiums to collect excess food and goods and distribute through its

connection. Why has this been the response? Is it due to business models that were never designed to include crises, greed, desire for power, or simply to us being uncomfortable in our own bodies and emotions? It is all a result of how we process change. What is the mindset (fixed or open) we operate from when the constant presence of change ebbs and flows in our lives?

large network of nonprofit partners. To date, Hunger at Home has distributed more than 3.5 million meals as well as various important household items. “We are extremely proud and excited to continue building on our partnership with Hunger at Home,” said Earthquakes Director of

Community Relations Rahul Devaskar. “They have a longstanding reputation of keeping food out of landfills and supporting inneed members of our community. Hunger at Home is also a founding member of our Pledge 74 campaign and have helped us identify the areas where our efforts would

Volume 2 • Issue 20

October 18, 2020

TBAR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95008 95032 95037 95051 95118 95119 95123 95124 95125 95126 95128

SF 49ers Convene Partnership to Drive Voter Awareness and Turnout in Upcoming Election

The San Francisco 49ers today announced a multilateral partnership to make Levi’s Stadium a voting center for the November 3rd election in conjunction with the team’s ongoing get out the vote efforts and the NFL Votes initiative to drive voter awareness and turnout. The 49ers have joined with California Secretary of State Alex Padilla, the Santa Clara County Registrar of Voters, More Than A Vote, and founding partner Levi’s® to ensure Santa Clara County residents have a safe and easily accessible location to drop off their ballots, participate in early voting, or vote in-person on election day. Through the support of each of the partners, Levi’s Stadium will fill a

need for another in-person voting center where any resident of Santa Clara County can vote in-person or deposit their ballot. The SAP Tower atrium within Levi’s Stadium will be open for early voting beginning on October 31st (9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.) and through Election Day on November 3rd

Second Round of Emergency Rental Assistance Available to Renters Impacted by COVID-19 Crisis On Sept. 1, the Santa Clara City Council approved an additional $1.5 million for the Emergency Rental Assistance Program and broadened the eligibility requirements allowing more households to prequalify for the program. The application process for the second round of funding will be available starting Monday, Oct. 5, 2020. In response to COVID-19 and its

(7:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.). Featuring free parking at the Great America parking lot adjacent to the stadium, Levi’s Stadium previously served as a voting center for the California primary in March.

[Continued on Page 12]

1500 Warburton Ave. Santa Clara, CA. 95050 santaclaraca.gov

[Continued on Page 11]

Fine Gardener Time to plant!

Boyd’s Tree Service

You Count Too!

See Page 3

See Page 17

See Page 20

Volume 2 • Issue 22

November 16, 2020

The Real Work Starts Now!

TBAR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95008 95032 95037 95051 95118 95119 95123 95124 95125 95126 95128

Proud Sponsor, Chuck Toeniskoetter points out his support

make the most impact.” The partnership was kicked off last week with ~120 families picking up semi-prepared meals in a COVID-compliant, drive-through format on Earthquakes Way, immediately adjacent to Earthquakes Stadium. In addition to serving as the host venue for the

economic fallout, the City of Santa Clara worked to provide rental assistance to support individuals and families impacted by the pandemic.

event, the Earthquakes also provided volunteers through their Pledge 74 campaign, which has contributed more than $100,000 and 500 hours of community service in the fight against food insecurity. [Continued on Page 4]

Fine Gardener Time to plant!

Boyd’s Tree Service

You Count Too!

Fine Gardener Time to plant!

Boyd’s Tree Service

You Count Too!

See Page 3

See Page 17

See Page 20

See Page 16

See Page 6

See Page 20


Page 12

January 8, 2021

District 1 News

2020 Year in Review Message from Mike

2020 has been a year unlike any other. Below are a few highlights of the past 12 months from Supervisor Mike Wasserman, incoming President of the Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors. COVID-19. On January 31, 2020 the first case of COVID-19 in Santa Clara County was announced. Since then there have been approximately 44,000 cases reported in our County. The crippling effects of the global COVID-19 pandemic include lost loved ones, lost jobs, lost businesses, lost learning and future impacts yet unknown. Communities pulled together in inspiring ways: restaurants, faith organizations, businesses and non-profits donating meals, supplies, childcare and other support to those in need. Board President. On December 8th, my colleagues elected me to serve as President of the Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors for 2021 and my colleague, Supervisor Susan Ellenberg, to serve as Vice-President. I am honored by the

trust placed in me for what we know will be a challenging year full of tough choices and new obstacles. I have learned in my 10 years as a County Supervisor that by working together as a Board and with our community, we can deliver vital services to our 2 million residents. New Supervisor. On November 3rd, voters elected Otto Lee to replace Supervisor Dave Cortese, who will now be representing Santa Clara County in the State Senate. Supervisor Lee previously served as Mayor and Councilman in Sunnyvale. He is a retired U.S. Navy Commander, who served in both reserves and active duty for 28 years, and currently works as an intellectual property attorney. Animal Center. Construction was completed in November on the County’s new stateof-the-art, 37,000 square foot Animal Services Center. Set on 4.5 acres in San Martin, the facility will allow for enhanced animal care as County pet populations continue to grow. The Center will also be a hub for South County activities, providing a

much-needed community public meeting space for up to 300 attendees. Budget Cuts. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the County was forced to begin making budget cuts. In August, the Board of Supervisors adopted a $8.3 billion Fiscal Year 20-21 General Fund budget. While the budget was balanced, $94.7 million in one-time funds were used to pay for ongoing General Fund costs in FY 20-21. With annual deficits expected to range from $200 million to $400 million, more cuts are expected at the

February 2021 budget session. Voting Turnout. Like much of the nation, voter registration and turnout for the November 3rd Presidential Election in Santa Clara County was record high. With nearly 85% of our more than 1 million registered voters casting their ballots, the County Registrar of Voters office performed extremely well. The election was certified on December 3rd with final Voter Turnout at 84.76% and 863,964 ballots cast out of the 1,019,309 registered voters.

Census 2020. In September, the Board of Supervisors approved $1 million in additional funding for 2020 Census canvassing and phone banking efforts that focused on hard-tocount, low-responding neighborhoods. The investment in the 2020 Census paid off: The response rate exceeded the 2010 rate and surpassed state and national averages. Accuracy matters: Congressional representation is based on the Census, as are significant amounts of funding; nearly $2,000


January 8, 2021

per person per year in federal money comes into California based on census-derived data. SVRIA Launch. In May, construction was completed on a fully interoperable emergency communications system, the project of the Silicon Valley Regional Interoperability Authority (SVRIA), which I chair, with final agencies coming on board in August 2020. The project cost $50 million, required 31 different sites, involved 22 public agencies and took 10 years to build. The system enables all 22 public safety agencies to communicate seamlessly with each other — a critical component of our public safety infrastructure. Homeless housing successes. A groundbreaking study by UCSF detailing the success of the Santa Clara County homeless housing program was released in September 2020. The study looked at Project Welcome Home, which was launched in 2015 to help homeless individuals who are the most frequent users of the County’s emergency services, mental health facilities and jails. The study found

that 86% of participants stayed housed, providing evidence that permanent supportive housing with supportive services is helping the county’s most difficult cases and further debunks the myth that chronically homeless people are beyond help. Wildfires. Santa Clara County was not spared the devastation of California’s 2020 wildfires: The SCU Lightning Complex Fire east of San Jose and Morgan Hill, and the CZU Lightning Complex Fire in the Santa Cruz Mountains each involved more than 1,600 fire personnel from around the State – more than 3,000 people total. Lives and homes were tragically lost, many were displaced and nearly everyone lost places of meaning and history. Thank you to all who helped. PG&E Outages. PG&E’s rotating power outages provided an extra challenge to communities already dealing with heatwaves, fires and the pandemic. To protect vulnerable residents from the results of extreme hot weather — including heatstroke — the County set up cooling centers at multiple locations throughout the County.

Parks, Trails and Open Space. The County partnered with multiple agencies to increase public access to trails and preserve open space. In August 2020, the newest segment of the San Francisco Bay Trail opened at the Ravenswood Open Space Preserve, connecting Menlo Park to Sunnyvale. In October, 1,861 acres of Tilton Ranch in Coyote Valley became permanently protected land with public access planned. The Saratoga to the Sea Trail was also completed in October extending to Waddell State Park in Santa Cruz. The Rusty Areias Community Garden at Martial Cottle Park was constructed, as well as an All-Inclusive Playground in Morgan Hill. Like all of you, I am looking forward to a healthier, more prosperous and calmer 2021 for everyone. - Mike Wasserman, 2021 President Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors

Page 13

District 1 News Nurse Builders Academy

Your first step towards a career in Healthcare.

www.nursebuildersacademy.org

Become a CNA (Nursing Assistant) (408) 972-5025


Page 14

January 8, 2021

Travel News

Boeing Charged With 737 Max Fraud Conspiracy, to Pay Over $2.5 Billion in Fines Harry S. Johnson | eTurbo News The Boeing Company (Boeing) has entered into an agreement with the Department of Justice to resolve a criminal charge related to a conspiracy to defraud the Federal Aviation Administration’s Aircraft Evaluation Group (FAA AEG) in connection with the FAA AEG’s evaluation of Boeing’s 737 MAX airplane. Boeing, a U.S.based multinational corporation that designs, manufactures, and sells commercial airplanes to airlines worldwide, entered into a deferred prosecution agreement (DPA) in connection with a criminal information filed today in the Northern District of Texas. The criminal information charges the company with one count of conspiracy to defraud the United States. Under the terms of the DPA, Boeing will pay a total criminal monetary amount of over $2.5 billion, composed of a criminal monetary penalty of $243.6 million, compensation payments to Boeing’s 737 MAX airline customers of $1.77 billion, and the establishment of a $500 million crash-victim beneficiaries fund to compensate the heirs, relatives, and legal beneficiaries of the 346

passengers who died in the Boeing 737 MAX crashes of Lion Air Flight 610 and Ethiopian Airlines Flight 302. “The tragic crashes of Lion Air Flight 610 and Ethiopian Airlines Flight 302 exposed fraudulent and deceptive conduct by employees of one of the world’s leading commercial airplane manufacturers,” said Acting Assistant Attorney General David P. Burns of the Justice Department’s Criminal Division. “Boeing’s employees chose the path of profit over candor by concealing material information from the FAA concerning the operation of its 737 Max airplane and engaging in an effort to cover up their deception. This resolution holds Boeing accountable for its employees’ criminal misconduct, addresses the financial

impact to Boeing’s airline customers, and hopefully provides some measure of compensation to the crash-victims’ families and beneficiaries.” “The misleading statements, halftruths, and omissions communicated by Boeing employees to the FAA impeded the government’s ability to ensure the safety of the flying public,” said U.S. Attorney Erin Nealy Cox for the Northern District of Texas. “This case sends a clear message: The Department of Justice will hold manufacturers like Boeing accountable for defrauding regulators – especially in industries where the stakes are this high.” “Today’s deferred prosecution agreement holds Boeing and its employees accountable for their lack of candor with the FAA regarding

MCAS,” said Special Agent in Charge Emmerson Buie Jr. of the FBI’s Chicago Field Office. “The substantial penalties and compensation Boeing will pay, demonstrate the consequences of failing to be fully transparent with government regulators. The public should be confident that government regulators are effectively doing their job, and those they regulate are being truthful and transparent.” “We continue to mourn alongside the families, loved ones, and friends of the 346 individuals who perished on Lion Air Flight 610 and Ethiopian Airlines Flight 302. The deferred prosecution agreement reached today with The Boeing Company is the result of the Office of Inspector General’s dedicated work with our law enforcement and prosecutorial partners,” said Special Agent in Charge Andrea M. Kropf, Department of Transportation Office of Inspector General (DOTOIG) Midwestern Region. “This landmark deferred prosecution agreement will forever serve as a stark reminder of the

paramount importance of safety in the commercial aviation industry, and that integrity and transparency may never be sacrificed for efficiency or profit.” As Boeing admitted in court documents, Boeing—through two of its 737 MAX Flight Technical Pilots— deceived the FAA AEG about an important aircraft part called the Maneuvering Characteristics Augmentation System (MCAS) that impacted the flight control system of the Boeing 737 MAX. Because of their deception, a key document published by the FAA AEG lacked information about MCAS, and in turn, airplane manuals and pilottraining materials for U.S.-based airlines lacked information about MCAS. Boeing began developing and marketing the 737 MAX in or around June 2011. Before any U.S.-based airline could operate the new 737 MAX, U.S. regulations required the FAA to evaluate and approve the airplane for commercial use. [...] Continue reading at https://eturbonews. com/2505228/boeingcharged-with-737-maxfraud-conspiracy-to-payover-2-5-billion-in-fines/


“Hi and thank you for stopping by to check us out here in this newspsper. My name is Zane Daugherty, certified personal trainer and CEO of ChiQuest Fitness. I’ve always been passionate about health and fitness and after working as a teacher and coach, I experienced and saw firsthand how busy professionals, caretakers, and educators often spend so much time taking care of others but not enough time taking care of their own health and fitness. I set out to find creative solution to maximize fitness results with time for busy people. After partnering with certified trainers and a health and wellness company for healthy, on- the-go exercise and nutrition solutions, we began to see lives transformed where hope was often nearly lost. I am excited and happy to say that in the last three years of starting ChiQuest Fitness, we have seen dozens of clients health and fitness completely transformed. Our mission is to inspire a transformation of lifestyle fitness where you are! We provide mobile personal training with customized workout and nutrition programs that truly bring lasting results. If you are looking for personal training solutions for your health and fitness, let us know! You can call, text, or email us. You can also visit our website and complete our Contact form with a good time to reach out to you. We look forward to hearing from you! We are only a phone call away!” - Zane Daugherty, Certified Personal Trainer and CEO of ChiQuest Fitness

1- 844-4GYMFIT (496348)

ChiQuestFit.com

instagram.com/chiquestfit/ m.facebook.com/chiquestfit


Page 16

January 8, 2021

Man About Town

San Jose to Rename Street Barack Obama Boulevard City Council unanimously approves proposal to honor 44th President

Today, Mayor Liccardo was joined by Vice Mayor Chappie Jones, members of the Barack Obama Boulevard Committee to announce the addition of “Barack Obama Boulevard” to San Jose’s streets. The proposal to rename portions of Bird Avenue, South Montgomery Street, South Autumn Street, and North Autumn Street to Barack Obama Boulevard, originated by the Barak Obama Boulevard Committee and aided by Mayor Liccardo and Vice Mayor Jones, was unanimously approved at last night’s council meeting. Renaming this prominent portion of San

Jose’s street will honor the service, leadership, and legacy of the 44th President. “The legacy of President Obama carries different messages to each of us-- to millions of children, a promise of America’s boundless possibility, to those of us with greying hair, a symbol of progress along the long arc from our CLOG-FREE GUT TERS

OR YOUR MONEY BACK

GUARANTEED! ER AFT E FOR

BE

ter

fFil

Lea

ter

fFil

Lea

15% OFF YOUR ENTIRE LEAFFILTER PURCHASE* Exclusive Offer – Redeem By Phone Today!

ADDITIONALLY

10% OFF SENIOR & MILITARY DISCOUNTS

CALL US TODAY FOR

A FREE ESTIMATE

1-866-580-0307 Promo Code: 285

Mon-Thurs: 8am-11pm, Fri-Sat: 8am-5pm, Sun: 2pm-8pm EST

PLUS!

THE FIRST 50 CALLERS WILL

RECEIVE AN ADDITIONAL

5% OFF

YOUR ENTIRE INSTALL! **Offer valid at estimate only

FINANCING THAT FITS 1 YOUR BUDGET! Subject to credit approval. Call for details.

1

*The leading consumer reporting agency conducted a 16 month outdoor test of gutter guards in 2010 and recognized LeafFilter as the “#1 rated professionally installed gutter guard system in America.” CSLB# 1035795 DOPL #10783658-5501 License# 7656 License# 50145 License# 41354 License# 99338 License# 128344 License# 218294 License# 603 233 977 License# 2102212986 License# 2106212946 License# 2705132153A License# LEAFFNW822JZ License# WV056912 License# WC-29998-H17 Nassau HIC License# H01067000 Registration# 176447 Registration# HIC.0649905 Registration# C127229 Registration# C127230 Registration# 366920918 Registration# PC6475 Registration# IR731804 Registration# 13VH09953900 Registration# PA069383 Suffolk HIC License# 52229-H

nation’s history of racial injustice,” said Mayor Liccardo. “From my own first meeting with thenSenator Barack Obama, he represented a model of leadership that rose above the petty politics of the moment and lifted the gaze of an entire nation in its darkest moments. Along with the many community members who urged that we rename this street, we hope that his legacy will inspire future generations as he has inspired our own.” The renaming celebrates the contribution former President Obama had on the country—a pioneer and leader on vital issues that affected all Americans including universal health insurance, climate action, marriage equality, and economic inclusion. President Obama led by example, through thoughtful, principled, and inspiring leadership. San Jose’s new boulevard will serve as a reminder to residents that there is hope in these trying times.

“Today, the leadership of our city, San Jose, joins with the community, with one voice, to recognize President Barack Obama for his outstanding leadership and service to all. Working together for the betterment of all is needed,” said Hellen Sims, Barack Obama Blvd Committee Chairperson. “Today, I’m also thinking of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., when he said ‘Injustice anywhere, is a threat to justice everywhere’.” The proposal came from the tireless efforts of the Barack Obama Boulevard Committee, including Hellen Sims, Milan Balinton, Alex Shoor, and Bill Melson, along with State Senator Jim Beall and in partnership with the Mayor and Vice Mayor Jones. The effort received unanimous support from residents and businesses along the proposed route. This boulevard plays a key role in revitalizing and reinvigorating the Downtown area, serving as a gateway welcoming visitors from the downtown transit center. “Today, by honoring President Obama, we demonstrate that while we still have work to do, we value equity and justice for all, and are willing to address tough issues and strive for that justice. Yes, we can and yes, we will!” concluded Hellen Sims. “Barack Obama, a personal hero of mine, served our country as

President with courage and humility while delivering hope and unity to the American people. I am deeply grateful that we are able to honor his legacy in this way,” said Vice Mayor Chappie Jones. Cost for the new signs will be paid for by the Barack Obama Boulevard Committee and direct donations from Council and Mayor offices. The historic references to T.S. Montgomery and Calvert T. Bird will be preserved through names of those portions of both Bird and Montgomery Streets north of 280 (Bird) and South of St. John (Montgomery). Many of the properties in this location are in transition, thus minimizing disruptive and costly address changes for current tenants. To donate to the Obama Blvd. costs visit https://www.sjaacsa.org/ donate and select “The Barack Obama Blvd.” To watch the full press conference, visit https:// www.facebook.com/ watch/live/?v=46764 8264243063&ref=wat ch_permalink. About the City of San José With more than one million residents, San José comprises the 10th largest city in the United States, and one of its most diverse cities. San José’s transformation into a global innovation center in the heart of Silicon Valley has resulted in the world’s greatest concentration of technology talent and development.


January 8, 2021

Barack Obama Blvd Comes to San Jose By Hellen Sims

San Jose has achieved a rare status to become the second major city in California, behind Los Angeles, to name a street for former President Barack Obama. On Tuesday, January 5, 2021, the San Jose City Council formally passed the proposal unanimously. Speaking to this action, Mayor Sam Liccardo said, “The legacy of President Obama carries different messages to each of us. From my own first meeting, he represented a model of leadership that rose above petty politics and lifted the gaze of an entire nation in its darkest moments. We hope that his legacy will inspire future generations as he has inspired our own.” “Today, the leadership of our city, San Jose, joins with the community, with one voice, to recognize President Barack Obama for his outstanding leadership and service to all. Working together for the betterment of all is needed,” said Hellen Sims, Chairperson of the Barack Obama Blvd Committee. “Today, I’m also thinking of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., when he said, “Injustice anywhere, is a threat to justice everywhere. By honoring President Obama, we demonstrate that while we still have work to do, we value equity and justice for all and are willing to address

tough issues and strive for that justice. Yes, we can and yes, we will!” concluded Hellen Sims. The Barack Obama Blvd Committee, is a community based organization, with Hellen Sims, Chairperson leading the effort. Since its inception three and a half years ago, the goal has been to get a street, that touched the core of the city and was worthy of being named for a President. The street selected includes portions of Bird Avenue, beginning at Interstate 280 at the Bird Avenue exit, South Montgomery Street, South Autumn and North Autumn Street as it passes the SAP Center to St. John Street. In the process of evaluating the street that was finally selected, the Committee met with businesses and residents along the affected streets, as well as four different homeowner associations. In addition, an outreach meeting was

required. Ultimately, all residents of the area were informed and had opportunity for extensive dialogue regarding the considered street name change. Total committee effort to secure the street name change was necessary. Committee members Cynthia Cooper, Secretary and Honorable Mary Noel, Treasurer, focus on fund raising and providing information to the wider community. All expenses for renaming city streets must be covered by private donations, secured by the petitioners. Milan Balinton serves as Publicity Chairperson. Joe Bass, former Director of Traffic Streets for City of San Jose, and Bill Melson, Project Manager, are key to managing the over all street processes for this project. Other committee members include: Tony Alexander, Ron Hansen, Melodi Masanini and Rich Robinson. Alex Shoor, Founder, wrote an op ed article for a local news outlet, in August 2017. Shortly there after, community members organized into a working organization. Street signs are expected to be installed by late spring. The Barack Obama Blvd Committee looks forward to planning future community wide, public dedication activities, that encompass COVID19 considerations for all.

Page 17

Man About Town Friends, The violence we are witnessing on Capitol Hill at this moment is the manifestation and culmination of reckless leadership, a pervasive misuse of power, and anarchy. This is not protesting or activism; this is an insurrection, an assault on our democracy, and a coup incited by President Trump. For the past four years, we’ve seen him chip away at the civility, integrity, and dignity of our nation. The pattern of President Trump’s misconduct is unmistakable and has proven time and time again that it is a grave threat and harm to the fragile fabric of our country. In the latest show of failed leadership, we witnessed the Capitol under siege by bad

actors who had no other objective than to disrupt the constitutional proceedings of a fair and rightful transition of power. At this moment, President Trump is silent and continues to perpetuate lies and disinformation for his selfish amusement and personal gain. We must not allow President Trump to continue to place our nation in peril. The NAACP calls for President Trump’s immediate impeachment so that he will never again be able to harm our beloved country, and more importantly, its people. Enough is enough. Sign our petition and join the NAACP’s call for the president’s immediate removal from office:

https://naacp.org/impeach-trump-immediately/

Call for Contractors! Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley is hiring local contractors to repair roofs, perform plumbing and electrical work, carpentry, flooring and other special projects in homes throughout Santa Clara County. If you are you a licensed contractor looking to expand your client base, please contact us! Minority and women-owned contractors are encouraged to apply. Learn more at:

http://contractors.rtsv.org Qualifications: • Licensed General Contractor, HVAC, Electrician, Plumber, or Roofer • General Liability Insurance and Worker's Comp (if applicable)

Contact: Kevin McCarthy 408.578.9519 ext. 1007, kevin@rtsv.org 1701 South 7th St., #10 San Jose, CA 95112

www.rtsv.org


Page 18

January 8, 2021

Congratulations

Congratulations to Monica Lozano as She Joins Apple’s Board of Directors Courtesy of Latina Style

Apple has announced that Monica Lozano, president and CEO of College Futures Foundation, has been elected to Apple’s board of directors. Lozano brings with her a broad range of leadership experience in the public and private sectors, as well as a long and storied track record as a champion for equity, opportunity, and representation. Prior to joining College Futures Foundation, Lozano spent 30 years in media as editor and publisher of La Opinión, the largest Spanishlanguage newspaper in the US, helping shine a light on issues from infant mortality to the AIDS epidemic. She went on to become chairman and CEO of La Opinión’s parent company, ImpreMedia. Lozano continues to serve on the boards of Target Corporation and Bank of America Corporation. “Monica has been a true leader and trailblazer

in business, media, and an ever-widening circle of philanthropic efforts to realize a more equitable future — in our schools and in the lives of all people,” said Tim Cook, Apple’s CEO. “Her values and breadth of experience will help Apple continue to grow, to innovate, and to be a force for good in the lives of our teams, customers, and communities.” “Monica has been a pioneer in every organization fortunate enough to benefit from her vision and expertise,” said Arthur Levinson, Apple’s chairman. “After a thorough and fruitful search, I couldn’t be more confident in the positive impact Monica will have on our board and Apple as a whole.” “I’ve always admired Apple’s commitment to the notion that technology, at its best, should empower all people to improve their lives and build a better world,” said Lozano. “I look forward to working with Tim,

Art, and the other board members to help Apple carry those values forward and build on a rich and productive history.” Throughout her accomplished career as a business leader, public servant, and philanthropist, Lozano has made an indelible impact on companies and communities in the US and around the world, earning awards from organizations like The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights and the United States Hispanic Chamber of Commerce. In her role as CEO of College Futures Foundation, Lozano has been a tireless advocate for expanding access to higher education, partnering with philanthropic organizations, state and local governments, and local communities to improve opportunity for low-income students and students of color. Lozano is a cofounder of the Aspen

SPACE: Keep safe distance

FACE: Don’t touch it

HANDS: Wash them often

Institute Latinos and Society Program, and a former chair of both the University of California Board of Regents and the board of directors of the

Weingart Foundation, a private philanthropic organization. Lozano is also a former board member of The Walt Disney Company.

www.latinastyle.com

ELBOW: Cough into it

HOME: Stay if you can


Call us today for a free consultation whether you are looking to buy, sell, rent or invest!

Whether you are thinking about

buying or selling a home ...the time to act is now.

We’ll list any home for $9,500*

Real estate prices have climbed and interest rates have fallen.

Agents: Join BRG Realty & Make More Money!

We have an in-house mortgage option.

RESIDENTIAL BUY & SELL COMMERCIAL BUY & SELL INVESTING & DEVELOPMENT

Shannon Farrell VP of Operations & Realtor Extraordinaire

408-896-5351

Get all of your real estate questions answered with our incredible team of experts!

BRG

Realty Corp CA DRE # 00984218

Gregg Bunker President/CEO Real Estate Executive 408-781-1725

1900 Camden Ave., San Jose 95124

Call us: 408-558-3600

*Restrictions apply. Talk with us to see if your property qualifies for this $9,500 listing offer.

VISIT US ONLINE AT BRGREALTYCORP.COM


ABOUT #LOVEMYROOMIE #LoveMyRoomie is a reboot of the digital sketch show, “#LoveMyRoomie Digital Sketches” (2016-2017). The eight-episode reboot follows Giselle, U’Moriah, and Yasmine - three roommates on the cusp of self-discovery within the first 36 hours of being catapulted into the realities of adulthood. As the women find themselves under pressure to navigate the wild roller coaster of life, they grapple with attempts to maintain their evolution.

crimson records PRESS KIT

# L OWHAT'S V EBEHIND M YYOUR RO OMIE MASK? A DIGITAL SERIES BY YHÁ MOURHIA WRIGHT www.YhaWrightProductions.com

Although the series has made its Amazon Prime debut, we are still raising funds to pay for the remainder of post-production! Your tax-deductible contribution would make all the difference and go directly toward the completion of this eight-episode series! Donate at https://fundraising.fracturedatlas.org/yhawright-productions

With “one month to get back on [their] feet,” unspoken struggles with sexual exploration, familial obligations, and mental health come to the surface, challenging the women’s bond.

Profile for The Bay Area Review

The Bay Area Review, January 8, 2021  

The Bay Area Review Encourage - Enlighten - Enrich The San Francisco Bay Area Volume 3, Issue 1

The Bay Area Review, January 8, 2021  

The Bay Area Review Encourage - Enlighten - Enrich The San Francisco Bay Area Volume 3, Issue 1

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded