__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

South Valley Review

VOL. 2, NO. 2

January 30, 2018

Better at knowing what matters to you.

In Numbers Too Large to Ignore

Page # 6 Rebuilding Together Teams Up with Sharkie

Page # 11 Historical 40 Years of Service and Fifth Annual Purple Ribbon Awards Gala

Page # 12

MLK Luncheon

SVR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95119 95123 95124 95125 95032 95008 *Coming Soon* 95037 + 95051

Continued on Page 14 Y1Z


When...Where sjDANCEco’s ChoreoProject Spring Edition

SVR South Valley Review 2059 Camden Avenue Suite 219 San Jose, CA, 95124 (408) 898 - 7534 Minority Owned Business President: Richard Pugh Richard@southvalleyreview.com Publisher: Brigitte Jones Brigitte@southvalleyreview.com Executive Editor: Sonya Ruffin Editor@southvalleyreview.com Operations/Accounting: Dorothy Pugh Accounting@southvalleyreview.com Graphic Design Director: Amanda Faris Graphics@southvalleyreview.com Assistant to Publisher: Kal-el R. Pugh Editor at Large: Pearl Baeni

SVR welcomes letters to the Editor Please limit content to 200 words or less. Submissions are subject to scrutiny for content and grammar but all effort will be made to retain intended meaning of such letters. Anonymous letters will not be printed. Articles so published reflect the views of the authors - not necessarily those of South Valley Review. All submissions become the property of B & R Media Group, Inc. and cannot be acknowledged.

sjDANCEco’s ChoreoProject Spring Edition focuses on Youth Dance Bay Area wide program offers opportunities for dancers/ choreographers. Since it’s inception in 2005, sjDANCEco has given opportunity to more than 100 choreographers from the Bay Area(and beyond) the chance to present their dances to audiences in the ChoreoProject programs. This year’s Spring edition of the ChoreoProject is geared toward Youth Groups. “For Youth - By Youth.” Young dancers (age 13 18) from around the Bay are brought together in an unique program dedicated to the future of dance in an opportunity to share vital and vibrant dance by aspiring youth dancers and choreographers. More Information: Groups are still be added but the following are currently confirmed: Independence High School (San Jose), New Ballet School (San Jose), Los Lupenos Juvenil (San Jose), Lin HH Dance/San Jose Dance Theatre, Roco Dance (Mill Valley), Northern CA Conservatory of Dance (Roseville). Other groups expressing interest are from San Francisco, Berkeley, Monterey, Dublin, Los Gatos, and Oakland. Photo courtesy of sjDANCEco

Friday, March 23 @ 8:00 pm and Saturday, March 24 @ 10:30am, 4:30pm & 8:00pm Tickets $20 (students), $25 (seniors), $30 (general) Location SJSU Dance Theatre. One Washington Square, San Jose, CA The theater is located in the Spartan Complex building on the San Jose State University Campus near 4th Street and San Carlos. (Nearby parking at City of San Jose garage, San Carlos Street between 2nd and 3rd Streets.)

Y2Z


Breaking Boundaries C.L.A.S.S. OUTreach Community of Latinos & African Americans for Student Success OUTreach are hosting the 100 Black Men of Silicon Valley, inc. & the “CuBu” 100 Young Warriors, for our 3rd “CuBu Technology Tour 2.018!!!” at LAM Research, Fremont, CA on Thursday, February 15th, 2018 from 9:00 to 3:30. The Vision of “C.L.A.S.S. OUTreach!!!”, and our hope is that by

collaborating internally, and eterally with organizations from the African American and

Latino Communities in the Bay Area, we’re exposing and introducing broader student base to the

Senator Beall’s Reaction to the State of the State Address Senator Jim Beall, D-San Jose, chairman of the Senate Transportation and Housing Committee, issues this statement regarding Gov. Brown’s State of the State address: “I really appreciate the Governor Brown’s support of SB 1. We are going to launch a strong campaign to fight off any repeal of SB 1. We need to keep the roads in good repair. It only makes the cost go up if we don’t repair our roads.  “The Governor let us know the policies that we all worked

infinite potentials and careers that become available through eucation in STEM programs. The Tours are designed to foster and mentor the creative imaginations of our Youth, through “CuBu TECHNOLOGY TOURS 2.018!!!”, we’re creating opportunities that would lead to possible internships here at Lam, and BETTER YET, to them forming brand new technologies and their own

companies!!! The mission of “C.L.A.S.S. OUTreach!!!” is to display a positive message that encourages our Students in the African American and Latino communities, to reach for higher standards of education and careers in STEM, through exposure to Lam’s Technology. The “CuBu TECHNOLOGY TOURS 2.018!!!”, are conducted by our African American and Latino Colleagues, exposing the Students to persons of Color who look like them, in High Technology positions.

Rainbow Funding & Realty • 1% Down * • Conventional Financing 30 year, 20 year, & 10 year • Reverse Mortgage • Cash out refinance • FHA, VA, USDA, ARM • Investments, multi-unit loans

on the last several years that deal with the environment. He laid out the environmental future of California, which (he) distinguished from that of the United States President, who has gone backward on all the work that has helped the environment at the national level. The Governor is moving ahead with California’s environmental quality improvements that address air quality, water, land use, open space, and forests.’’

(800) 782 - LOAN

www.rainbowfunding.com Conditions apply

Y3Z

Call today!

NMLS 340458 BRE 206510215


Entertainment Campbell’s Heritage Theatre Presents One Night of Queen

2018 gets off to a rockin’ start, as Campbell’s historic Heritage Theatre continues its 2017-2018 Season with ONE NIGHT OF QUEEN performed by Gary Mullen & The Works on Friday, February 16, at 8:00pm. ONE NIGHT OF QUEEN is a spectacular live concert, recreating the look, sound, pomp, and showmanship of arguably the greatest rock band of all time. They have been hailed as the World’s Premiere Queen Tribute Band, and have received rave reviews from over 650 Performing Arts

Centers, Casinos, Fairs, Festivals, and Corporate buyers in the USA since 2008. In 2000, lead vocalist Gary Mullen won ITV’s “Stars in Their Eyes” grand finale with a record poll of 864,838 votes, the largest number of votes ever received in the TV show’s history. Queen guitarist Brian May was quoted on national television as saying; “Gary shares ‘more than a likeness’ to Freddie.” In 2002 Gary formed his band “The Works,” comprised of Davie Brockett on guitar, Jonathan Evans on drums,

Billy Moffat on bass, and Malcolm Gentles on keyboards. Over the past 12 years, Gary Mullen & The Works have performed their show ONE NIGHT OF QUEEN to sold-out audiences throughout the UK, USA, Europe, South Africa, and New Zealand, to name but a few. They have also twice rocked the prestigious BBC Proms in the Park, in front of a very enthusiastic crowd of 40,000. Gary Mullen & The Works brings the spirit and passion of rock icon Freddie Mercury to life on stage with this spectacular rock tribute. Fans of Queen will delight in this note-fornote experience of megahits such as “Bohemian Rhapsody,” “We are the Champions,” “Killer Queen,” “You’re My Best Friend,” “Crazy Little Thing Called Love,” “Radio GaGa,” “Under Pressure,” “Another One Bites the Dust,” and many

others. ONE NIGHT OF QUEEN will ROCK YOU! Individual tickets are now on sale for $55 through the Box Office, or by phone at 408-8662700. Tickets can also be purchased online at HeritageTheatre.org. Following ONE NIGHT OF QUEEN, the remainder of the Heritage Theatre’s 2017-2018 Season features: CELTIC

NIGHTS – Oceans of Hope on March 2; LOS LOBOS on March 24; and SARA EVANS on April 19. All 2017-2018 Season performances are in Campbell’s historic Heritage Theatre located at the Campbell Community Center at: 1 W. Campbell Avenue, Campbell, California, 95008.

Place Your Ad Here! Email South Valley Review at advertising@southvalleyreview.com Promote Your business with Us! Y5Z


Helping Hands Rebuilding Together Teams Up With Sharkie January 17, 2018 marked the start of Rebuilding Together’s good works for the communities they service. In partnership for the 2nd year in a row Rebuilding Together and the San Jose Sharks showed up early (8 am) at a Military Veteran’s home - and went to work on it. Terry Gallo, title “what an unbelievable day. Everyone was on-site at 8 am and just started in on the work and pitched in where ever they were needed”. “That meant work on the exterior of the home and specifically the interior, because both homeowners are disabled and required safety modifications around the house”. Barbara, one of the recipients of all this attention was quick to point out that her husband was so proud of his time serving with

the military. But had no idea anyone even considered him eligible for such a wonderful gesture of generosity and appreciation. The Sharks Foundation had partnered with Rebuilding Together last year to honor a local veteran with a home upgrade and really liked what they saw. According to John Tortora, CEO of the San Jose Sharks organization ... and a man who knows how to use a paint brush. “This is a great opportunity to honor a local Veteran through our combined efforts and attention, people might become aware of their neighbors in need”. The Sharks Foundation was so proud and eager to help out this year after such a successful experience last year refurbishing a home for one of our Veterans”. For over 20 years now, we at the Sharks

April 28 - Rebuilding Together Scheduled to Refurbish 40 Homes Seeking Sponsors and Volunteers https://rebuildingtogethersv.org Foundation have sought out opportunities to be of service to our communities. Our owners have emphasized the importance of getting back to basics - we have raised millions of dollars on behalf of our South Bay communities - it’s the people that matter”. “And a more recent emphasis is directed toward our veterans - as the need became apparent. All around us Veterans are living in what some people may not realize as struggling circumstances; with mental, physical and economic hurdles”. A great day for all concerned.

Y6Z


Helping Hands

Y7Z


Four Chaplains Interfaith Memorial Service Join us as we celebrate the 75th anniversary commemorating the heroism of the Army’s Four Chaplains during the sinking of the USAT Dorchester in World War II.  This free one-hour event begins with a bagpipe led procession of American and veteran service flags, with some veterans dressed in historical uniforms from the American Revolution and Scottish American Military Regiment.  Hear the Story of the Four Chaplains, all different faiths, who gave up their life jackets so others could survive the disaster.  The ceremonial tribute includes the laying of life jackets and helmets, and concludes with the Navy 2-Bell Service.  This is a great educational and family event! 

Saturday, February 3, 2018 from 10 to 11 am St. Frances Cabrini Parish, 15333 Woodard Rd, San Jose  Contact the American Legion at eventsAL A419@yahoo.com or (650) 219-1041

20% Blossom Hill First Your Ord Printing Company er!

For more information visit BHPrinting.com or email dave@BHPrinting.com Blossom Hill Printing Company is all about creating exactly what you want, customized to fit your needs, at really low prices. We pride ourselves on our commitment to quality and the best service anywhere. We are a full service commercial print design & brokerage serving South Bay Area businesses for over 42 years.

Business Cards • Folders • Fliers Catalogs • Product Sheets Brochures • Forms • Labels Specialty Items • And More

Denied Benefits? Unable To Work?

We Can Help!

Helping Helping 1000’s Get 1000’s Get The Benefits Benefits The They They Deserve Deserve

Fighting For Your

SOCIAL SECURITY BENEFITS For Over 35 Years!

1

Do You Qualify For Disability Benefits? Call For A FREE Evaluation

2

Assisting With: - Initial Applications - Denied Claims - Hearings

3

We Simplify The Process & Strive For Quick Claim Approval.*

You Could Be Eligible To Receive: • Steady Monthly Income Depending On Your Paid In Amount • A Lump Sum Payment Of Benefits Owed From Back-pay • Health Insurance (Medicare, Medicaid Or Both) • Annual Cost Of Living Increases

Call Now For A FREE Evaluation

(855) 454-9395 Bill Gordon & Associates, a nationwide practice, represents clients before the Social Security Administration. Member of the TX & NM Bar Associations. Mail: 1420 NW St Washington D.C. Office: Broward County, FL. Services may be provided by associated attorneys licensed in other states. * The process for determining each applicant’s disability benefits varies greatly, and can take upwards of two years.


LO VERSION

REVERSE MORTGAGE PROGRAMS u IT SOUNDS TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE, HOW DOES THIS

{ DO I NEED TO BE SUFFERING A FINANCIAL HARDSHIP TO

v DO MY CHILDREN/FAMILY MEMBERS LOSE THEIR

| ARE THERE ANY RESTRICTIONS ON HOW I CAN SPEND

WORK? There are many misconceptions about reverse mortgages, so it is important to know the facts. A reverse mortgage, or HECM (Home Equity Conversion Mortgage) is a federally insured loan that allows you to tap into the equity you have built up in your home. INHERITANCE? No. A borrower may designate an heir of their choosing. The heir(s) will inherit the home after the last surviving borrower passes away and may then choose to keep (by paying off the amount of reverse mortgage balance) or sell the home. Should they choose to sell, any remaining equity after paying off the loan (minus interest and/or fees) would be theirs.

QUALIFY? No. It is another common misconception that reverse mortgages are only available to those who are struggling financially. In fact, many affluent borrowers who work with financial planners are using this as a tool to better their quality of life during retirement.

MY LOAN PROCEEDS? There are no restrictions once any existing mortgages or liens are paid off. Many reverse mortgage borrowers use their cash payments to delay their Social Security payments, pay medical bills, travel or simply supplement their retirement income.

} HOW DO I QUALIFY?

w IF I HAVE AN EXISTING MORTGAGE, CAN I GET A

REVERSE MORTGAGE? Yes. Many borrowers use a reverse mortgage to pay off their existing mortgage and eliminate their monthly mortgage payment. In many cases, there is a line of credit left over for the borrower.

x HOW MUCH DO I QUALIFY FOR? The amount you can

• Be 62 years or older • Must be living in home as primary residence; vacation homes and investment properties do not qualify • Complete a HUD-approved counseling session • Must be able to pay homeowners taxes, insurance and any applicable HOA fees

borrow is dependent on several factors including: age, home appraisal value and current interest rates.

y WILL A REVERSE MORTGAGE AFFECT MY SOCIAL

SECURITY OR MEDICARE BENEFITS? You should always check with your tax specialist before applying, however, in general, a reverse mortgage does not affect Social Security and/or Medicare.

Linda Weilert Reverse Mortgage Professional

NMLS #719190 | NMLS #1074463

z WILL THE BANK OWN MY HOME? The bank does not

take ownership of your home, they simply extend a loan to you. You continue to own and live in your home and are responsible for payment of property taxes, required insurance and any applicable HOA fees.

OPENMORTGAGE .COM Rev. 04/17

NMLS#2975

nmlsconsumeraccess.org

408-647-7600 | 408-656-3751 LindaWeilert@openmortgage.com http://lindaweilert.openmortgage.com CA CA-DOC719190 Licensed by the Department of Business Oversight under the California Residential Mortgage Lending Act, #4170030


Worship Directory Santa Teresa Hills Presbyterian Church

Hillside Church San Jose

We are a friendly, progressive, multicultural church striving to understand and apply the teachings of Jesus Christ. All are welcome!! Come visit us and participate in opportunities for spiritual growth, fellowship, and community outreach. We can pursue our faith journeys together! Sunday services are at 10:00AM with children’s Sunday school and nursery care available on site. Handicapped and hearing impaired services available. Visit our website for sample sermons, photos and a lot more information www.sthpc.org We look forward to meeting you!!

At Hillside Church, we take God and His Word seriously. We are a growing congregation of friendly people who are taking the hope of the Gospel to a world that desperately needs it. Join us in our mission to change this world one soul at a time. Our Sunday services are at 9:00 AM (acoustic/quiet) and 10:45 AM (more high energy). Make a difference in the live of people in our community. Help us as we point others to Jesus Christ, teaching them to live for Him. Visit our website, listen online, or join us this Sunday!

5370 Snell Ave, San Jose, CA 95123 (2 blocks north of Blossom Hill Rd on Snell) (408) 629-5906 Email: santateresahills@gmail.com

545 Hillsdale Avenue San Jose, CA 95136 (408) 269-4782 www.hillside.org

First Congregational Church of San Jose United Church of Christ 1980 Hamilton Ave., San Jose, CA 95125 (At the corner of Hamilton and Leigh) (408) 377-7121 www.firstccsj.org

We are a progressive, Open and Affirming, welcoming congregation of faithful people who seek to wrestle with scripture, and live out our faith, in the real world. We are far from perfect, but we try to offer as wide a welcome as possible, and invite you to join us on the community path, wherever it takes us. We offer lively, multi-generational worship on Sunday mornings at 10:00 AM (nursery care provided). We have regular educational programs for all ages, children through adults, and a variety of groups and offerings for spiritual development and service. Come check us out and find a community for the journey.

Advertise Your place of Worship with the South Valley Review! Contact the editor at editor@southvalleyreveiw.com.


Making a Difference Historical 40 Years of Service and Fifth Annual Purple Ribbon Awards Gala The Lupus Foundation of Northern California is pleased to announce the 5th Annual Purple Ribbon Awards will be hosted on Saturday, February 10, 2018 at the Marriott Downtown San Jose. The evening, looking back at the historic 40 years of service to the lupus community, will feature dinner and dancing, live and silent auctions, and a cocktail hour. To commemorate LFNC’s founding in 1978, this year’s Purple Ribbon Awards will take on a 1970s theme. The Purple Ribbon Awards honor individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the lupus community. These individuals personify LFNC’s vision of bridging the gap between life with lupus today and life without lupus tomorrow. The 2018 Purple Ribbon Awards are sponsored by The Terasaki Foundation. Lupus is a chronic autoimmune disease that can cause inflammation of the joints, severe fatigue and internal organs like the kidneys, lungs, heart, brain and blood vessels. There is no cure; treatment options range from anti-inflammatory and immunosuppressive

medications to chemotherapy and kidney replacement, depending on the severity of the disease in a given patient. Of the estimated 1.5 to 2 million Americans living with lupus, 90% are women, and the disease disproportionately affects women of color. The Lupus Foundation of Northern California, established in 1978, is the only lupus-specific nonprofit organization in the region. The LFNC promotes awareness, educates patients, family members and caregivers, and advocates for lupus research. The 2018 Purple Ribbon Awards: Face of Lupus and Outstanding Youth Leader: Elizabeth Beck. Elizabeth Beck, now 16, was first diagnosed with lupus at age 13.When she was first taken to the doctor for a possible ear infection, her parents were also concerned about her rapid weight loss: she had gone from 100 lbs to 65 lbs in just two months. After extensive medical tests, Elizabeth was finally diagnosed with stage four Lupus Nephritis. The following months consisted of getting used to new medication regimens, constant doctors’ visits, inexplicable pain and the

feeling of hopelessness. Being a normal teenager is difficult enough, but Elizabeth faced an experience and responsibilities no child should have to. But Elizabeth persevered, getting back to a semi-normal routing with the advice of doctors and family. Two years after her diagnosis, her lupus was in medicated remission, where she is today. Although her lupus has been a tough struggle, Elizabeth credits her experience with lupus for making her a stronger person. Outstanding Commitment to Treatment and Research: R. Elaine Lambert, M.D. Dr. Lambert earned her medical degree from the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School at Dallas. She completed her internship and residency in internal medicine, as well as her fellowship in rheumatology at Santa Clara Valley Medical Center. Dr. Lambert also completed a fellowship in clinical research at Stanford University Medical Center. She is board certified in both Internal Medicine and Rheumatology. Dr. Lambert has been a well-published author and an invited presenter at national medical Y 11 Z

conferences. Dr. Lambert is a fellow at the American College of Rheumatology, and a past chair and board member of the Arthritis Foundation of Northern California. She enjoyed working with Stanford athletes as a team physician from 1992-2012. She was on the faculty at Stanford University School of Medicine from 19901996 before moving to private practice and was a volunteer teaching faculty member at Stanford from 1996 until May 2017. Dr. Lambert received the highest award given to a clinician in 1994 at Stanford Medical School, the Rambar Award for Excellence in Patient Care as well as numerous teaching awards. Dr. Lambert also served on LFNC’s Scientific Review Committee for many years, and has given presentations to lupus support groups. Outstanding Community Service: Jason Rodriguez. “You can walk in the door in May and other volunteers who haven’t

seen you for a year will remember your name, and make you feel like you’re home,” It is this welcoming feeling and atmosphere of being home that has brought Jason, now a young man of 25, back to the LFNC to volunteer year after year since he was in grade school. When Jason was in grade school, he started volunteering at the LFNC for community service hours. Soon, though, he’d grown attached to the staff, other volunteers, and most importantly the patients and the cause of LFNC. In 2009, Jason started volunteering at the 5K and soon became not just one of the event’s constant and star volunteers but a key part of the team organizing the annual 1,000-person event. Jason has quite literally grown up with LFNC, and we are thankful for his outstanding service.

The Gala is SOLD OUT!!!!


I Have a Dream MLK Luncheon Emmet D Carson, Ph.D. is the founding CEO of Silicon Valley Comunity Foundation. An international thought leader in the field of philanthropy. In 2006 he led the unprecedented merger of two community foundations, creating SVCF. With a growth in assets from $1.4 billion to over $8.2 billion, SVCF’s 2,000 family and corporate donor funds support a wide range of causes in the Bay Area, across the nation and around the world.

The African American Community Service Agency presents the 38th Annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Luncheon in San Jose

Rainbow Funding and Realty More than 35 years of experience. Call the office that knows where the deals are.

www.rainbowfunding.com

1 (800) 782 - LOAN

NMLS 340458 BRE 206510215

Morgan Hill $799,495

Hayward $519,000

Pleasanton $295,000

4 bed 3 bath 1900 sq feet

4 bed 2 bath 1800 sq feet

3 bed 2 bath 1,296 sq feet

Y 12 Z


Call to Action

Y 14 Z


Call to Action

MORE HD CHANNELS, FASTER INTERNET AND UNLIMITED VOICE.

• Speeds up to 60Mbps • Unlimited data – no data caps

SPECTRUM INTERNET™

29

AS LOW AS

$

99 /per mo. for 12 mos when bundled*

Blazing fast Internet is available and can be yours with Spectrum Internet™ With speeds starting at 60 Mbps

125+ CHANNELS UP TO 60MBPS UNLIMITED CALLING

SPECTRUM TRIPLE PLAYTM TV, INTERNET AND VOICE

89

$ from

97 /mo each for 12 mos when bundled*

CONTACT YOUR LOCAL AUTHORIZED RETAILER

866-799-2094 *Bundle price for TV Select, Internet and Voice is $89.97/mo. for year 1; standard rates apply after year 1. Available Internet speeds may vary by address. WiFi: Equipment, activation and installation fees apply. Services subject to all applicable service terms and conditions, subject to change. Services not available in all areas. Restrictions apply. All Rights Reserved. ©2017 Charter Communications.

Y 15 Z


Profile for The Bay Area Review

The Bay Area Review January 30, 2018  

The Bay Area Review, formerly South Valley Review Volume 2, Number 2

The Bay Area Review January 30, 2018  

The Bay Area Review, formerly South Valley Review Volume 2, Number 2